About SpringHouse

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Eggs Benedict - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Pork Belly, Qual Egg, Noodles In Miso Soup - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Pecan Pie With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Pimento Cheese - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Irish Coffee - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Coconut Cake - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Pimmiento Cheese And Crackers - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
s'mores - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Shrimp and Grits - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Freshly Baked Bread Loaves - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Cornmeal Pancakes - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Meyer Lemon Tart - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Fried Green Tomatoes W/ Shrimp Remoulade - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Springhouse Carbonara - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Roasted Tanglewood Chicken - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Cookie Plate & Chocolate Martini - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Fried Oyster Sandwich - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Roasted Fig And Goat Cheese Flatbread - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
Blackberry And Blueberry Cobbler - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL
PAN SEARED SNAPPER - SpringHouse, Alexander City, AL

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Food
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
3 More
Best Ambiance
Alabama
Best Value
Alabama
Contemporary American
Alabama
Best Restaurants in Alexander City ›

Special Occasion (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Scenic View (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Great for Brunch (15)
Romantic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fireplace (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Authentic (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Private Room (10)
Seasonal (9)
Cozy (7)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (0)
Sort By:
S
474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful way to spend our 35th Wedding ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful way to spend our 35th Wedding anniversary!!! Staff outstanding, personal touch and positive responses to our many questions about the menu. We will return for other special occasions, because the costs is a little high for a regular customer. It was NOT over priced for what you get, just something we have to save up for... Thank You for making this anniversary special!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Organic, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was impeccable. One of ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service and food was impeccable. One of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From beginning to end, our experience at ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

From beginning to end, our experience at Spring House was phenomenal! We arrived early to have a specialty drink and great conversation at the bar. We moved to the chef's counter and watched the staff prepare our meals. I had the best pork chop ever! It was a perfect way to end our holiday weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were spectacular as alw ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Service and food were spectacular as always! Thanks again to the Springhouse team for a lovely meal and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Based on a friend's recommendation, we d ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Based on a friend's recommendation, we decided to make the 1 ½ hr drive on a Sunday afternoon and were so impressed. We will do it again! Make sure you check the times of service and, even though, a reservation was not necessary, it made it easier to do so on Open Table. Also, map carefully, as the directions on Apple Maps didn't get us directly there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the chicken dish with white beans--c ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had the chicken dish with white beans--chicken was excellent but white beans too saltly

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Once again ... perfection! Staff very a ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Once again ... perfection! Staff very accommodating to our vegetarian guest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was aloof, servings were tiny, ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The staff was aloof, servings were tiny, other than the steak, the "table" we were first seated in was obviously a half-booth bar table, which seated us much too close to the people next to us, and too far apart from each other to conversate. I was very disappointed, as I expected to enjoy it at least as well as much lower priced restaurants. I think the ownership would be well served to observe the operation of Garferick's in Oxford, AL for what they seem to be wanting to obtain. The business is obviously there, and being a long time local lake inhabitant, it is obviously due to the location and support from Russell Lands, which does an excellent job aesthetically. If this restaurant were located near more competition, I feel it would not be as successful. Good luck in future business, as I am proud to see businesses do well on Lake Martin, regardless of my taste for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

This restaurant has the consistency, and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This restaurant has the consistency, and quality of food and employees, of a top NY restaurant but with a local relaxed attitude.

For Birmingham locals, I would compare it to Hot& Hot, Highland's and Botega's, but a little more relaxed

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant on Lake Martin for Sunda ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Best restaurant on Lake Martin for Sunday brunch! Professional, inviting ambiance with outstanding service and food. I'm a regular customer at Springhouse for a reason--it's wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an overall great experience. The ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was an overall great experience. The food, the people, the setting always makes it a meal to remember.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good - especially the ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was very good - especially the hush puppy appetizer. The service was great - our server was very friendly, prompt, and helpful. The restaurant and its surroundings were beautiful. We had a very good dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

great food, great service, beautiful dec ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 2, 2016

great food, great service, beautiful decor and setting and boat accessible in season

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

All 3 of us loved our wine and food choi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 24, 2016

All 3 of us loved our wine and food choices. We had florida fosh that you don't find everywhere. Liked the ambience and it was easy to have conversation. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Great evening!

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Spring House several ti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have dined at Spring House several times, we continue to have excellent service and meals. Spring House is always a must dine when we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spring House is the total experience, fr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Spring House is the total experience, from the beautiful setting and building to the ambience, service, and of course the inspired food and drink which whisk the lucky diner off to new heights of contentment and appreciation of the chef's art. Long may it flourish!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Springhouse was an excellent choice for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Springhouse was an excellent choice for a nice night out. From the minute we walked in the door, until the minute we left, perfection all the way. Food was great. Service we perfect. Atmosphere is awesome. Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first time at Spring Ho ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was not our first time at Spring House but as always the menu offered a great selection that met everyone's individual preferences. We particularly enjoy the diverse Starter items. There is always something that WOWs everyone. This time it was the chicken liver parfait with the peach preserve and the pimento cheese is always a favorite. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere and meal!

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love dinner here. Great food, gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always love dinner here. Great food, great service, great fun.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Spring House when ever we a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Always enjoy Spring House when ever we are there. We have brought friends and attended reception and conferences there. All occasions were great. Loved the good food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. Relaxed setting s ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Relaxed setting since at "the Lake". Menu was unique and a change of pace. Well worth the trip since it is a little off the beaten path unless you are staying at the lake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My overall experience with your resterau ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My overall experience with your resteraunt was outstanding , from the host to the waitstaff Ann's especially the bartender. I would highly recommend your restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Springhouse and normally have ha ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We love Springhouse and normally have had a perfect experience. We had guests with us and they arrived first. They were seated at a table with the sun streaming across the table into one guest's eyes. After our waiter and his assistant came by we asked about the sun. There were no blinds in the door to block it and no solution was offered. We tried turning the table to avoid the bright and annoying sun. Our waiter offered no help. We finally asked to move to another table and that was accomplished. I felt like I should not have had to ask. Later, we ordered coffee and it was delivered in a french press. There was no offer to pour the coffee for us. Overall, the waiter and seating person made that dinner less than good. I normally would not complain, but this experience deserves a complaint as it is one that would keep me from going back if there is no fix nor offer of fix for a major distraction to a fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

After horseback riding at the Stables at ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 21, 2016

After horseback riding at the Stables at the Crossroads we enjoyed a lovely brunch at Springhouse. I proposed to my partner (he said yes!) and the staff was incredibly attentive, even providing a celebratory champagne on the house. Fabulous venue, a charming memory.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Seasonal, Private Room, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite possibly the finest Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Quite possibly the finest Sunday Brunch I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Flawless dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time coming to restaurant and it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Second time coming to restaurant and it wasn't as good as the first. Food was great but service/attention and seating was not great. First time was amazing; we were upstairs and the service was great and very intimate setting. This past time was downstairs, loud, service was not good and we were right on top of people eating next to us. Recommend upstairs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing every time. From the food and se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing every time. From the food and service... Shrimp and grits amazing, every dessert fab.... The grilled peaches with the cheese plate. I could go on and on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal food and service!

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Phenomenal food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent , fresh and local food. Highly ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent , fresh and local food. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a hidden gem. We went for ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This place is a hidden gem. We went for Sunday brunch and everything - food, drinks, waiter - was amazing. (The food prices were fairly reasonable, but add in drinks, and things got a little pricey!) Appetizers and entrees were perfect. Our waiter, Caleb, was a sweetheart and very knowledgeable about the menu. Even though it's an hour drive both ways for us, we cannot wait to go back; will probably have to wait for a special occasion to justify the expense, but that's okay! #worthit ;)

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed family dinner. Wonderful ser ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoyed family dinner. Wonderful service and excellent preparation of food. Vegetable plate was especially delicious. Grouper cooked to perfection-tender and moist. Banana pudding was scrumptious!!!!!! Coconut cake was good. Wine list very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice setting with excellent food, b ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very nice setting with excellent food, but a bit overpriced. Every morsel of food and dessert was a delight. Service was good and the staff was friendly. If you are a wine connnoisseur they have a massive wine collection with a cellar in the basement and they also have a large private dining area that can be reserved for groups. Nice place for our anniversary date - we plan to come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely fantastic as usual.. Brunch w ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Absolutely fantastic as usual.. Brunch was amazing. Biscuits and gravy, yellow fin, a cheeseburger... And do not miss the pimento cheese. It's the best I've ever had.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service and atmosphere were outsta ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were outstanding. A "little" pricey but for special occasion was well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent place to celebrate anniversary ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent place to celebrate anniversary dinner! Food was delicious, atmosphere romantic, and service was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The dining experience at SpringHouse was ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The dining experience at SpringHouse was top-shelf. I took my wife there for her birthday and I couldn't have been more pleased. Great food, great wines, great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten there 3-4 times best steak an ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Have eaten there 3-4 times best steak and one of the most disappointing steak, wife returned her food the duck.

Expensive but a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Outstanding evening. We have eaten here ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding evening. We have eaten here before, but this was the best yet. Chef Rob McDaniel did his usual great job and the Front of House Manager, Daniel Goslin made sure that all our needs were taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for an anniversary celebratio ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went there for an anniversary celebration and loved it. Food was excellent and the service was even better. A bit expensive but the wonderful service and surroundings made it worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.