Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

About SpringHouse

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Local Ingredients (44)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Worth the Drive (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Romantic (31)
Scenic View (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Cozy (16)
Authentic (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Seasonal (14)
Fun (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Casual (12)
Healthy (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Private Room (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
People Watching (4)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating my wife's birthday with friends. Food was excellent. Our waitress was outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very impressed with the wait staff and how comfortable they made you feel.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Another great dinner at Springhouse. Thanks to the team for fantastic food, drink and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful, special place with fabulous food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Spring House is the best restaurant in central Alabama. The wait staff is outstanding - friendly, informative and skillful in anticipating needs of patrons while not being intrusive. The creativity and inventiveness of the chefs and mixologists continue to delight palates with appetizers, entrees and drinks that make the dining experience at Spring House an epicurean adventure highlighting the flavor potentials of local ingredients.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Spur of the moment, but very pleased! Mr. Jim's Vegetables were spot on! We also really enjoyed the thinly sliced catalope and the fig/cheese appetizers. Too full to fully enjoy dessert, so we went with the homemade ice cream. Very resonably priced for excellent dining mid week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We are regulars at the Springhouse but last Sunday the food was not up to their usual standards. I did not want to address the problem there as we had guests with us. They served 3 people at our table French Fries that were very cold and greasy. We were very disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great. Love it!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Alex was our server, she is exceptional. She was then when we needed her and she understood our needs.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My fav date night place <3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My family and I were excited and looked forward to come to Springhouse to celebrate my wife's 55th Birthday. However, we were very disappointed by the terrible service (our Server "Trey" was rude, slow, ignored us and our table, and did not take our dinner order until 1 hour and 20 minutes after we were seated!). In addition, our food was cold, under cooked, and down right disappointing! Our Server "Trey" did little to make our dining experience enjoyable as he was rude and short with us when we asked questions about the menu. What a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had. The attention to detail is extraordinary - right down to the restrooms. Worth the drive. Sunset is my favorite time to go. The view is fantastic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food and service in a beautiful location!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Always great food, great service, great fun. And in a spectacular building.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Spring House is an upscale fine dining experience in a beautiful setting. The staff was delightful- attentive and personable. Caleb was helpful with wine and menu recommendations. We started with peppadews stuffed with house made pimento cheese. Don't miss the opportunity to have their cheese plate! Our table selected red fish, wahoo and the vegetable plate. Each dish was delicious with an artistic presentation. Spring House is an exciting place to enjoy wonderful food with your family or friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The waitress and staff were so good. My water glass or wine glass was never empty. Great personal service. The food was wonderful. All of us were so pleased!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Lake Martin is foutunate to have a 5 star restaurant with great food,service and ambiance. Thank you Spring House Team for striving to be the best.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Superb! Chef Rob McDaniel has created a dining opportunity equal to any in NYC, Atlanta, New Orleans, Charleston, etc. Just excellent every time. Cocktails superb as well. Don't miss this one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I was just passing through, knew I could get a great meal, so I used Open Table the day before to get a reservation for one for early evening. Restaurant was full when I left at 6:30 on Saturday night. Vegetable plate was very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My husband and I stumbled upon SpringHouse while we were looking for a date spot. SpringHouse was more than we were expecting in every way! Everything about the night was really outstanding and we look forward to going back again and again. Make sure to leave room for dessert, it was by far the best dessert I've ever tasted.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

As a repeat customer , this was very unusual but services was lacking and my table ordered the cheese plate app, then our meal and before we even got our cocktails, everything came out at once, no real apology and never checked back with us until the end! Won't b back for a while!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Second visit, of what we ordered all was very good except pork was tough.
Will go again.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

A bit a drive, but so worth it. The food was excellent and honestly one the best meals we've ever had. Excellent wine selection. Wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Perfect Sunday Brunch! Casual, but elegant. Great Atmosphere with delicious fare. Food is unique in offerings and presentation.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Sonya (service) A+, kitchen A+.... beef carpaccio for appetizer is a must have and the scamp is always good no matter what sides it's served with .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Awesome place and the views were fantastic. The waiters/waitresses were professional and the food was fantastic. We plan on returning soon! Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

If you have never been here you have to! It is the best! The vegetable plate is killer! Daniel does a superb job pairing the wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great experience! We enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our mother turned 89 the week earlier, and since this restaurant is on the way to our lake house, we wanted to try it. Every person got a different dish for brunch and they were all excellent. We had a pimento cheese appetizer which was outstanding, with a bit of an unexpected kick of heat. Comfortable setting, and they were responsive to our need to have my mother close to the door since she is in a wheelchair, and it's cumbersome to maneuver through a crowded restaurant. The staff was exceedingly friendly from the hostesses to our servers. I hope to try it again the next time I'm back in Alabama.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Wonderful experience for Sunday brunch. Hope to return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The experience was outstanding, the service was great the staff was extremely accommodating and the food was delicious

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with excellent staff and the food is awesome!
It's hard to believe you are dining in the Alabama countryside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Absolutely the best food and atmosphere to be had in the Southeast by far. Can not wait to visit again. Thanks for the great experienced we had on our anniversary.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 30, 2017

As noted it was very noisy. Service was top rate but our entree was a bit dispointing for the price. Great small portion and desert, and coffee was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Upscale gourmet dining in a sophisticated rustic setting. Food, ambiance, and service all are wonderful. The creative signature cocktails are the perfect introduction to a relaxing meal. The wine list is amazingly diverse. The crabmeat and white corn remoulade appetizer was delectable. Both the redfish and rabbit entrees were perfectly prepared and creatively presented. The "blondie sundae" is a sinful culmination of an outstanding meal. It is always a pleasure to return to SpringHouse for dinner, especially with the Wednesday/Thursday $40 per person special. This is truly a Lake Martin and Alabama culinary gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Have always loved dining at Springhouse. Food has always been very good but this time the fish dishes were dry. No sauce on 2 out of 3 dishes. Peach dessert was also very dry.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 28, 2017

SpringHouse is one of our favorite restaurants when we are in the area. They always have something new on the menu and it is always delicious. Our waitress has several recommendations which we tried and were delighted. Great food and service makes for a great dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It always such a treat coming here! My husband, and our kids love Springhouse. Food is simply amazing!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went to SpringHouse for Father's Day Brunch. We had been for Mother's Day as well and wanted to return. We took some friends with us and will return again soon. Great food and service that is very reasonably priced. Good wine and craft beer selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful as always. Love to take family and friends.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.