Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

About SpringHouse

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (29)
Worth the Drive (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Scenic View (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fireplace (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Seasonal (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (9)
Fun (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Organic (5)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Red fish was not the best . Had a strong after taste :-/ Dessert was absolutely delicious!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our waiter Jacob was excellent. Quality of food outstanding as usual.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great. Wait staff needs basic skill training.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Spring house is a pure GEM in the middle of nowhere. This was our second visit, once for dinner now brunch and both were superb!! Food and service great, prices very reasonable. As lake regulars it is nice finding a higher scale restaurant that we and our guests can enjoy!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Restaurant was beautiful, food was fantastic and service was outstanding. Highly recommended for anyone!

Tags: Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Seating was prompt. Service was good Food was different for a brunch menu with ingredients in traditional dishes changed. i.e. Beef instead of canadian bacon in Eggs Benedict. I felt a wider choice of selections would have been better, Especially if attempting to draw guest on a more frequent basis. Downside- Coffee poor for a 4.00 cost

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everything was outstanding. Our waiter Skyler was such a professional and pleasure o deal with.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was amazing!! The s'mores dessert was to die for!! Service is on spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Dinner with friends; two of us had shr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always great food and service. While the restaurant was full, always feel like you are the only group there. Also good wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Highly recommend. Food was outstanding. They have a new pastry chef and I had a strawberry soufflé. It was divine. Still thinking about it.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We have dined at Spring House several times. They always deliver. Great ambiance, excellent service and creative and delicious cuisine.
This was my first experience with cobia and it was amazing! We will return again and again...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Beautiful area and facilities with professional helpful, knowledgeable waiters with outstanding selections and specialty drinks.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

You can't beat a beautiful spring day and Sunday brunch at Springhouse. Fresh ingredients and wonderful spices make the dishes unique and flavorful! Our favorite spot to take the family for a treat at the lake!

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was amazing and surprisingly hearty portions. Great cocktails too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Spring House is a lovely experience. We will definitely be returning. The food was fresh, unique and suitable for varying palates.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tapas, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Springhouse is always amazing and I am never disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent friendly service from everyone. We were late for reservation due to weather and a long drive. We did give notice and they were very accommodating with the change of reservation. We were seated on the patio with others by the fireplace and this was very comfortable even on a rainy winter night. Great service from all of the wait staff. Compliments to the chef it was all delicious. We enjoyed the duck and beef entre. It is expensive but great value. Uncommon menu, service, atmosphere, and quality. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 8, 2017

My friends and I totally enjoyed the evening, food, service and atmosphere. The room was full yet we could carry on an enjoyable conversation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had an outstanding meal, and a fun time. The duck was super!!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our dinner as always was so good but the desserts were outstanding! Cheesecake and Smores desserts were so go yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Arrived on time for our reservation, our first time at this restaurant. We were led to a small two chair table and asked for a larger table. It took quite a while for them to "adjust" our seating. Throughout our meal, desert and coffee, there was always at least one vacant four chair table.

The meal was excellent, the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful during our dinner. WE have already recommended it to friends several times and plan to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our 8th consecutive visit to this restaurant. We come to the area annually for the Russell Forrest 5k/10k run. The food is superb, the ambiance is perfect. The servers know everything you need to know about the menu, and what wine pares best with what entree.
Already looking forward to next year!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A beautiful day with great friends and terrific food. All fun. It's what Sunday brunch is supposed to be.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As always-such attention to detail in every aspect of the service, food presentation, special requests.

Staff well informed and very personal.
Wonderful wine /cocktail offerings.

We enjoy the Chef's counter.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service was fantastic! We are from Birmingham and the drive was worth it!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Seating was too tight. We had reservations and had to wait 20 minutes before we were seated. I spent 130 dollars and left hungry. Service was very good, food was good but I won't be going back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Superb all around, as always! We started with two of the special cocktails, the French Blonde (vodka based) and the Rum Daisy, both wonderful with the warm fresh baked bread and delicious deviled eggs. Starters - the Pimento Cheese and White Bean and Ham Hock Soup, just great. We both loved the Redfish entree. The absolute hit of the meal was the Coconut Chess Cake, one of the absolute BEST desserts we have ever tasted, indescribably delicious and light and if they kept bringing them I would still be there, it was that good! One of the best things about living year round at Lake Martin is SpringHouse Restaurant. We will be going back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It is always a pleasure to dine at SpringHouse Restaurant. The entire meal is an experience enjoyed by all. My family loves the ambiance from the moment the moment we set foot into the facility. Thank you for always making our meal together a time to remember.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

SpringHouse represents a truly unique dining experience. The ambience, the views, the open kitchen and bar, and especially the food make this an unforgettable experience. Definitely looking forward to our next visit!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As usual, the food was fabulous. Each dish is made with seasonal items that result in similar dishes being delightfully different each time. Combined with fantastic cocktails, it is a special treat to dine at SpringHouse. Their caring about your having a wonderful experience shows.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic meal! Seasonal ingredients carefully prepared, many tempting options and great service and presentation. Sitting at the chef's counter is fun. The shrimp and carolina rice were delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My husband and I spent our 7th anniversary at the SpringHouse last Saturday. Our server, Skyler, was very friendly and not pretentious at all...which is sometimes the case at fancier restaurants which require reservations. He helped us choose our entree and was very knowledgeable about the menu. I had a generous pour of shiraz, and my husband had a very unique gin & tonic. We started with the pork belly appetizer and the citrus salad. We thought the pork belly would've benefited from a longer braise before searing it, but the flavor was amazing. The citrus salad was so bizarre, but we loved the tartness and the red onions gave it just the right punch of flavor. Our entrees were the made-from-scratch pasta carbonara. Wow!! The pasta was the perfect texture and was complimented by the house-cured bacon and delicate cream sauce. I had the steak coulottes, and I thought the flavor was incredible with the celery salad and potato sticks...unusual, but simply delicious. The steak was very difficult to cut, however. I ended up swapping my husband the steak for his pasta. In between we enjoyed some Alabama-made ice cold beers, which hit the spot. To finish the meal, we ended with an apple galette and house-made vanilla ice cream, and two after dinner drinks. WOW...the pastry was buttery and delicious. I loved this dessert because it wasn't overly sweet. Overall, we had a fantastic time. Service was exceptional and friendly. Food came quickly, but not too quickly...and we could tell that each bite we took had been thoughtfully crafted. We ate every single bite of everything...which in the end is the BEST review there is. Great job, SpringHouse!!!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A wonderful dish of celery salad with coulotte meat... was terrific😊

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always amazing to find such a great restaurant in the country.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had a late New Years celebration. The personalized service, phenomenal food and great cocktails left us wanting this as a weekly experience. Will definitely be back monthly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Springhouse has a delicious and very reasonably priced Brunch menu on Sundays. My wife and I both has the Southern Breakfast of Soft scrambled eggs smoked bacon and a huge biscuit with sawmill gravy. The eggs were Delicious and cooked perfectly. We also had a delicious bloody Mary to start the meal and finished with the "Coconut Chess Cake" Outstanding. Our waiter Trey could not have been nicer.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We always enjoy eating here! Chef Rob McDaniel is a wonder. He never fails to deliver a delicious meal that leaves you hoping for a return visit. The wait staff is well trained and the atmosphere is outstanding. Definitely worth the drive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience at Springhouse. Although the menu was limited, the food was excellent. Please consider expanding the menu to provide your patrons a better variety.
Service was decent but I feel in a restaurant of this caliber, I shouldn't have to flag down a server for a drink refill or service. That was disappointing. Also, we were seated in the middle of the lower floor level and throughout our meal, servers were constantly walking by our table and often times bumping into our chairs.
The noise level issue for us came from a party seated upstairs. Throughout our dining experience the noise was so bad, we couldn't hear each other talk at our table. Because of this, we left immediately after finishing our meal.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great night, recommendations were spot on, and service was friendly and attentive as always.

Happy new year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.