Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

About SpringHouse

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (40)
CreativeCuisine (35)
WorthTheDrive (34)
See All
Anniversaries (32)
GoodForDates (29)
LocalIngredients (28)
Romance (27)
Foodies (27)
NotableWineList (26)
ScenicView (24)
HandcraftedCocktails (20)
NeighborhoodGem (17)
QuietConversation (17)
Birthdays (16)
Brunch (16)
Seasonal (14)
Fun (13)
Casual (13)
BarSeating (13)
Authentic (12)
OutdoorDining (12)
Cozy (11)
Groups (10)
Healthy (10)
BusinessMeals (10)
OpenKitchen (10)
SundayLunch (9)
VegetarianOptions (8)
ComfortFood (6)
Fireplace (6)
PrivateRoom (5)
GreatBeer (5)
Lunch (4)
FamilyStyle (4)
Organic (4)
PeopleWatching (4)
HotSpot (3)
PaleoFriendly (3)
PrePostTheatre (2)
WoodOven (2)
Tapas (2)
ChildFriendly (2)
TastingMenu (2)
Vegan (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
ModernDecor (1)
LateNightFind (1)
HappyHour (1)
Sort By:
S
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

It always such a treat coming here! My husband, and our kids love Springhouse. Food is simply amazing!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went to SpringHouse for Father's Day Brunch. We had been for Mother's Day as well and wanted to return. We took some friends with us and will return again soon. Great food and service that is very reasonably priced. Good wine and craft beer selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful as always. Love to take family and friends.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Sorry to complain this time :-/ Trey is always wonderful so service gets a A+
Kitchen gets a D :-( not only did it take over a hour to get our food but my order came out wrong. To correct the issue, the kitchen took my fish off the tomato set on to the squash set with some tomato still on it... mixing the sets made my fish not as desirable. Also 1/2 of my fish was lost in the transfer... not a good move for an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of Alabamas best kept secrets! You won't be disappointed! Exceeds our expectations every time!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Head Chef Rob McDaniel and his gang of sous knocked it out of the park again. Never disappointed in my dinner in 10+ visits. There is a reason that the chef is celebrated far and wide. His local garden right behind the restaurant is stock full of goodies now through the summer. A Vegetable plate offering is all organic, local and lightly seasoned the good old fashion way without the heavy stuff. Have to mention the baby butter beans (not limas!) in light mayo or buttermilk dressing, onions and crumbled cornbread on top is how my Mama! used to serve us butter beans to get us to eat them...darn good! Bone in pork chop was ridiculous and all I left was a bone that was gnawed on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Head and shoulders above every other option in Alexander City.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Love the atmosphere!! The menu selection was not good. Oysters were FABULOUS

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Springhouse never disappoints! Fabulous food. The service is always outstanding. Cocktail and wine menu is always interesting and choices are exceptional. I had the Mr. Jim's veggie plate. It is always so good with the best seasonal vegetables. Husband had pork chop and liked it as well.

Do not miss the dessert menu! Wow. I had the homemade s'mores and I'm still thinking about it. Husband had the mason jar sundae and he could have licked the jar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This place was great overall. The food was exceptional for sure and I'll admit that when reservations are recommended two weeks in advance I really expect to be completely blown away. This is why I left my rating as Very Good as opposed to outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 11, 2017

A bit noisy on a Saturday night, so I would recommend a table away from the bar area if conversation is desired. Food and service was very good. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable, the quality of the food and wine very good. Prices are in line with most other restaurants of this caliber.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great place to eat. Wonderful creative food and excellent service. Rob McDaniel is a great chef.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always a special treat. Never been disappointed. Food, atmosphere, service-all impeccable.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Always superb!!! Love coming with the fam/kids for Sunday brunch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Had a wonderful time with our 2 teenage boys. Food as always delicious, service was great... always a good time at Spring House.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Sunday brunch never disappoints! Redfish was so good. Also, the quiche was tasty. I always love the Bloody Mary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

SpringHouse is an treat for us in this area. We have eaten there several times and have always enjoyed our meals, and the cocktails have always been good and inventive. On our most recent trip, we had four different entrees from the menu, and they were all excellent. Both the s'mores and chocolate cake (at the waiter's suggestion) we shared for desert were good, but the tastes were too similar to do so again. We were well pleased with the bar service and the food, but were a little disappointed with the lack of attentiveness of our waiter, Scott. In his defense, it was later on a very busy night. But, with the prices and reputation, you expect a higher standard of service. Overall, we will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Trey makes sure all of your needs are met and that you have a wonderful dining experience. The scamp (white fish) is wonderful! The dish is light yet filling. Love the squash with a light lemon taste.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I still can't believe there's a restaurant of this caliber at the lake. We've never had a bad meal here, and this was no exception! Skyler was our server and he immediately recommended a great cocktail (The Oh "Mio" My), which I wouldn't have ordinarily ordered. I took his advice and didn't regret it. I had one of the best pork chops ever (with awesome white jalapeño gravy) and my wife had an amazing NY strip. Everything cooked perfectly. We'll keep coming back.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Overall was not impressed. First of all, I made a reservation and received multiple phone calls over the two days before our reservation time continuing to ask me to confirm my reservation. The day of, they called me twice, one of those calls was 30 minutes before the reservation time asking me to confirm AGAIN after I had already confirmed a couple hours before that. That was very off putting and made us almost not show up in the first place. The food was dissapointing, extremely tiny portions that were way overpriced for the quality. I ended up spending 100 bucks and left still hungry, went home and made a grilled cheese which I enjoyed way more than my 30 dollar piece of fish on some yellow squash that tasted sour and had a strong "fishy" smell and taste to it which made me think it wasn't very fresh. Overall, it was a waste of money and time. You really shouldn't call a potential customer four times in two days asking them to continue to confirm their reservation, it really comes across that you are hoping they won't show up. You guys need to get it together if you're going to charge what you charge, again, not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

SpringHouse failed to disappoint again. A gorgeous spring evening to celebrate Mothers Day and an anniversary resulted in a wonderful dinner at SpringHouse.

The quality, service and ambiance is a constant while enjoying @LakeMartinLife.

Looking forward to our next reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing from start to finish !!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have been at SpringHouse the past two weeks and plan on going back again this week. Always excellent. The soft shell crap was the best we have ever had as was the duck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was good and service from the server was great! They did mess up the reservation. I made a request to sit near a window and then called later that day to request porch dining for my wife's birthday! The lady said that wasn't a problem since the reservation was 12 days in advance. The day or two before our reservation I got a call to confirm reservation and was called wrong name and time. She cleared that up and confirm reservation. We get to the resturant and no room on the porch and we were put in the middle of the resturant with no view. I was very disappointed because I had made the reservation in advance and verified twice by phone( one my call and one they called me). Don't know if I will go back because of the whole experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have always loved Springhouse but this weekends menu was uninteresting, lacking creativity and severely overpriced for the offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our meal was outstanding. Service was great. The $40 deal is a great value. We have enjoyed wonderful meals and excellent service at Spring House.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Another fantastic experience - business vendors from Seattle were blown away. The weekday 3 course special was perfect at $40 a person. Soft shell crab, pork chop, everything was exceptional! Definitely recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Authentic, Private Room, People Watching, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was abysmal
We ordered biscuits and gravy
Not a very labor intensive meal
It took over an hour before the waiter mentioned they were still making biscuits
No excuse
If there was a delay on this entree we should have been told at the beginning
Manager was delightful
Apologized and comped our meal which was appropriate and very nice
Beautiful setting but they need serious serious work on meal prep and service
We were there with a big group to celebrate my daughters college graduation and it was hugely dissapointing to have this kind of experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great restaurant in a beautiful location. Chef Rob McDaniel is very creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Outstanding food and ambiance! Excellent presentation! Servers are superb....the water glass is never empty.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great brunch. Great service. Everything just as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Absolutely wonderful!!! The Dude Martini is fabulous and Cobia was to die for <3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Springhouse is the top dining destination in Alex City/Lake Martin area with outstanding service, beautiful setting, and a nationally recognized chef in Rob McDaniel. Always a pleasure to dine there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Red fish was not the best . Had a strong after taste :-/ Dessert was absolutely delicious!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our waiter Jacob was excellent. Quality of food outstanding as usual.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great. Wait staff needs basic skill training.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Spring house is a pure GEM in the middle of nowhere. This was our second visit, once for dinner now brunch and both were superb!! Food and service great, prices very reasonable. As lake regulars it is nice finding a higher scale restaurant that we and our guests can enjoy!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Restaurant was beautiful, food was fantastic and service was outstanding. Highly recommended for anyone!

Tags: Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Seating was prompt. Service was good Food was different for a brunch menu with ingredients in traditional dishes changed. i.e. Beef instead of canadian bacon in Eggs Benedict. I felt a wider choice of selections would have been better, Especially if attempting to draw guest on a more frequent basis. Downside- Coffee poor for a 4.00 cost

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.