About Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar

450 North Spring Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar located in Winston-Salem, the Piedmont region of North Carolina, is a destination for New American cooking and artisan cocktails creatively prepared by Chef Timothy Grandinetti. The distinctive menu is inspired by the seasons and served with true Southern hospitality in a restored 1920's landmark residence. Spring House features gracious private rooms, outdoor patios, and a lawn terrace for celebrations and gatherings of all types.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 293-4797

Website:
http://www.springhousenc.com/

Executive Chef:
Timothy Grandinetti, C.E.C.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu

Restaurant Photos

steak tartare
Thai Herb Pork Burger
"The Works" Bread Service
BLT
Garlic Herb Chicken, Under A Brick
Char-Grilled Sirloin Steak
Foie Gras
Kobe Beef Cheeks
garden salad
Garlic Ginger Salmon Salad
Trio Of Shrimp Cake Sliders
The Best Burger In Winston
Bread
Fried Mushrooms
Pizzette
Cucumber Gazpacho
It's My Fav New Place To Eat!
Turkey Burger w. Roasted Mushrooms & Melted Pepper Jack Cheese
Pork Belly With Pimiento Cheese Grits

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
9 More
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (30)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant was holding a private eve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The restaurant was holding a private event for approximately 50 guests, with live music, when we arrived. There looked to be another large party inside (a photographer was taking photos of several people while waiters tried to deliver food).

A phone call alerting us to this would have been welcomed. Instead, every restaurant employee we encountered told us how busy they were, making us feel like uninvited guests showing up for a handout. Dirty dishes and glasses sat on tables for too long, the hostess made us wait until she finished typing something before she welcomed us, then she pointed out critically that we were 15 minutes early. We were seated 15 minutes after our reservation. The bartender came over after about 10 minutes and said, "So, are you waiting on me to take your order?"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great for lunch or dinner.. View was ama ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great for lunch or dinner.. View was amazing! Our food was wonderful.. Service and our waiter couldn't have been more attentive..Absolute GEM!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside near the herb garden whic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We sat outside near the herb garden which is beautiful. The inside and outside space is gorgeous and has a very homey feel. We had the tomato gazpacho and salads which suited the warm weather perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious! It was my daughter' ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was delicious! It was my daughter's 45th birthday. She had never been to the restaurant. She loved the food, the waitress was excellent and inside and outside setting was beautiful.

She will want to go back and so will I. I will take my granddaughter for brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The creativity of the dishes is exceptio ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The creativity of the dishes is exceptional with their Southern flair!!!!!The charm prevails in the food w lovely presentations, in the waitstaff, and most importantly the owner/chef!!!! Bravo to the establishment for exceptional menu offerings with their Southern flair !!!

A treat not to be missed in this historical, Winston-Salem home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met the chef as we were leaving, very ni ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Met the chef as we were leaving, very nice. Our server was good but I think she got too many tables seated at once. We still had good service and enjoyed the food, wine and atmosphere. The bread plate was good and sundried tomato spread was outstanding. I had the chef special (crab and lobster cake) and it was great. My wife enjoyed the hanger steak. It was a little loud because two wedding receptions were taking place, but still a nice dinner and really nice meeting the chef on the way out. He was genuinely happy for us to be eating there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was top notch, would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fancier, night out, spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really very good, definitel ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was really very good, definitely southern with a gourmet twist. Service was...less than desirable. My husband had to order our drinks from the bar after our waitress didn't come back for about ten minutes after we told her we'd like to take a quick look at the menu.

Then, my husband had to pick the drinks up from the bar about 10-15 minutes after he was told they would bring the drinks to us. Keep in mind, the restaurant was nowhere near slammed, busy maybe, but not slammed. The service improved about half way through the meal because I think they could tell that things were not going well with our experience, but still not what it should be for a restaurant with this one's swanky reputation and price tag. I would return but with the knowledge that I will likely receive subpar service in exchange for delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Very good experience in every way. Serve ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very good experience in every way. Server was very pleasant & efficient, could have used a bit of training - wasn't familiar with one item & tried to pour a stout to avoid the head. Not cheap but good enough to be a good value. Needs a better beer selection - more locals please

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice ambiance with spacious room be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice ambiance with spacious room between tables. Has a good wine menu. Service was friendly, timely and with appropriate checking to see if all was well. Menu seemed a little limited as to entrée choices. Prices are on the higher end, but the overall dining experience was very good. May be more of a special occasion venue. Only minor complaint was that substitution of vegetable was made on one entrée without informing diner ahead of time and was not a preferred vegetable for that diner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was exceptional! The house i ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Everything was exceptional! The house is beautiful and the food was scrumptious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was really good. Patient and know ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Waiter was really good. Patient and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful atmosphere! Gourmet food / men ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere! Gourmet food / menu , but fair pricing! The service was a bit slow, especially for a non-busy weeknight. Food portions were very small. I ordered the steak and it was barely 4 ounces. Hardly enough for a grown man. But for the price I can't really complain. All in all it was a great place for a romantic date night. My wife enjoyed very much so we will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome food and service! Loved the plac ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Awesome food and service! Loved the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked everything about the restaurant ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I liked everything about the restaurant but the prices were a little higher than I expected. I like to be prepared when I'm going to be paying a little more. I will be next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Springhouse several times ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been to Springhouse several times and the food is always top notch. Their dishes are such a mix of flavors and nothing is "ordinary". The only difficult part is choosing between all the things I'd like to try! It is not cheap - but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Something different

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything in Winston-Salem is the same old types of food with just a different name. This place is different and the food is unique and delicious. Given that its in a huge historical house turned restaurant really makes it appealing also. Very worth going to, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food poorly prepared. Vegetables inedibl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food poorly prepared. Vegetables inedible. Entre better, but only average. Table service very good, but long wait for food and no sommelier in sight for wine options. Better than average wine list saved us from total disappointment. Will probably avoid this restaurant in the future unless substantial improvements are made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Top 3 Winston Restaurants

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

have eaten here numerous times, lunch and dinner. Food is consistent, fresh with a changing menu. Our party has steak, fresh fish and lamb dishes. Not one complaint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday lunch

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The food was different and good, but very expensive. We had lots of good laughs and great company. The view from our enclosed porch was delightful. I imagine it would be even better at night when you don't see the construction next door.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dining experience. Al ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Although they were out of the David Bruce Pinot (my favorite) the server recommended a Pinot that I had never tried and it was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Winston Salem for 5 years ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

I have been to Winston Salem for 5 years. This is hands down the best restaurant. It is a level above all else. Relaxing, amazing cocktails and bartender. Service was very good and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. Always interesting opti ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful meal. Always interesting options, well prepared and presented. This is becoming my go-to place when entertaining out-of-town guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible and the waitstaf ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was incredible and the waitstaff was attentive but not bothersome and made adjustments for several of our diners due to dietary restrictions. The soups were divine and Gertrude's Pannini is a gem! Lovely old house in which to eat!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent!! I don't normally like crab c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent!! I don't normally like crab cakes but after eating a bite of the ones my wife ordered, I ordered my own. They were great. We will return again-- soon I hope.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Too expensive for what it is (food and s ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Too expensive for what it is (food and service)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Have been to Spring House many times. Fo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Have been to Spring House many times. Food is always great, service excellent and fantastic atmosphere to have a relaxing dinner with friends and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Southern comfort food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Never disappointed at the Spring House! Southern comfort food at it's very best!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Fabulous evening all around. Greeted by the owner, Lynnette, and was warmly welcomed. Had fantastic service in bar area while a rehearsal dinner was happening on the patio. Impressive service even with a crowd. Great food recommendation by our waiter, Drew. Impeccable service all around.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining prices; sports bar experienc ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Fine dining prices; sports bar experience.

I was really excited to see barrel aged cocktails, until I got mine: a shaken Manhattan with cheap bourbon and a generic maraschino cherry. Really sub-par. My buddy had it worse. A rye old fashioned, get this, $22!! And it wasn't good, not even average. Food .... The shrimp beinets? Not beinets and not good. So the fried chicken cutlets were good, it better be for $20+. Onion soup, acceptable, poutine fries good, but could feed a human family of 10 or an American family of 4. The bathrooms even had tacky advertising, the only thing that this place has over a chilli's is the lack of television.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Lovely setting and interior. Very creati ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Lovely setting and interior. Very creative menu, and I love the farm-to-table aspect with Southern flavors. Nice wine list. This was my first time and I selected it for a business dinner with my boss and two other colleagues. Service was a bit slow, but I will give them another chance soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful Dining Experience

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great meal and the service was very good. The fried green tomato appetizer was delicious, but also quite large - you could almost make it your entree, if not extremely hungry. We will be back, for sure, especially now that the patio is open.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu options are outstanding for lunch. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Menu options are outstanding for lunch. Restaurant is excellent location and setting for business or personal lunch. Parking is easy and atmosphere is pleasant and bright. Service was not up to standards of the quality of the other aspects of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Perfect Spring Lunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Have been here several times for lunch and dinner. Never disappointed and love the chef's creativity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallop gnocchi was divine

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The scallop gnocchi was divine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly Suprised

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Great service, outstanding food will return next time in town!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud. Food was subpar. Falls flat.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Initially seated near a noisy large group of college kids. Asked to be move and was put in a room with blaring music, and another patron who wouldn't stop interrupting my family's conversation and dining. Menu looked excellent, but the food did not perform. Wouldn't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

One of our favorite places to eat in Win ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat in Winston -Salem. Always great and this time was no different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Historic Charm

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Southern Historic charm with a story to be told by your server. The new spring menu is light and tasty. You must try the chicken biscuit for an appetizer. Yes, it's big enough for two. Service was very attentive too! Feel free to check out the history of the house on the 2nd floor.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I wish you had more dishes without goat ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

I wish you had more dishes without goat cheese and pimento cheese. Those two items eliminated quite a few dishes for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.