About Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar

450 North Spring Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar located in Winston-Salem, the Piedmont region of North Carolina, is a destination for New American cooking and artisan cocktails creatively prepared by Chef Timothy Grandinetti. The distinctive menu is inspired by the seasons and served with true Southern hospitality in a restored 1920's landmark residence. Spring House features gracious private rooms, outdoor patios, and a lawn terrace for celebrations and gatherings of all types.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 293-4797

Website:
http://www.springhousenc.com/

Executive Chef:
Timothy Grandinetti, C.E.C.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining

Restaurant Photos

steak tartare - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Thai Herb Pork Burger - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
"The Works" Bread Service - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
BLT - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Garlic Herb Chicken, Under A Brick - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Char-Grilled Sirloin Steak - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Foie Gras - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Kobe Beef Cheeks - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
garden salad - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Garlic Ginger Salmon Salad - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Trio Of Shrimp Cake Sliders - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
The Best Burger In Winston - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Bread - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Fried Mushrooms - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Pizzette - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Cucumber Gazpacho - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
It's My Fav New Place To Eat! - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Turkey Burger w. Roasted Mushrooms & Melted Pepper Jack Cheese - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC
Pork Belly With Pimiento Cheese Grits - Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar, Winston-Salem, NC

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
5 More
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Historic (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fireplace (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Casual (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My first time here, the ambiance is very ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

My first time here, the ambiance is very nice. The problem was the food. The fried pork was beyond dry and was inedible. The scallops were good and the other entree of filet was decent, a little under for medium but was flavorful and pleasant. After telling the waiter the food was inedible he said OK, and took it away. Never offered a replacement despite it was obvious that only a small bit was taken. Might be worth it sometimes but I will not be going back.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

We sat for 20 minutes with no service. I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We sat for 20 minutes with no service. I finally had to go to the host to ask what was going on. We were given free appetizers to compensate but we were not asked what we wanted or if we had dietary restrictions. The appetizers were heavy - e.g. French fries drowned in bacon gravy - and all in all the food was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We had a great time eating there with fa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great time eating there with family that was visiting from out of town. There were 6 of us including grandparents and grandkids.

Loved the setting and ambiance and we had a great meal and a great time and wonderful service and food. Appetizers were great, food was great, and dessert (we got just one) was great. I did not mind too much, but thought a $3 upcharge for substituting a side item on a dish was a bit strange for such a nice restaurant. Also, asked for a wedge and got a caesar salad but its ok as well, it was still good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was most excellent. Be ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service and food was most excellent. Be sure to ask for server Leslie!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing! Especially recommend ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was amazing! Especially recommend the chicken/gravy and the appetizers were all great!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed the ambiance and the service ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance and the service was very good. We have had some outstanding meals in the past but this time our meals were very average and below expectations. Would not recommend Spring House based on this experience.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Sprin ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Spring House. My wife is Celiac and requires Gluten-Free dining and our waiter was very knowledgable and respectful of this fact. He guided us through the menu on the best GF options for our meal. The building itself is extremely unique and charming and the atmosphere was inviting. We did go a little early in the evening, so the noise level was minimal, but by the time we left a larger group had come and the sound was picking up. Overall, a great experience and we will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was excellent. The food wa ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The ambiance was excellent. The food was well prepared and tasty. However, it seems impossible to eat out at a restaurant without receiving food which is prepared to be very high in caloric intake. i.e. brussels sprouts were deep fat fried in a batter, and while tasty, I would have preferred them prepared without the added fat.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best meals I have had in a lo ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in a long time. I tried Spring House when it first opened and was underwhelmed. However, this evening was much better. I had the pork chop and my husband had the meatloaf. Both were interesting and new in the way they were prepared but comforting and satisfying. This may well be my new favorite restaurant in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my first time eating here & was ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my first time eating here & was blown away by my dish. We ordered an appetizer that was excellent. My main course had such a vibrant mixture of flavors that complimented each other well. Definitely will not be my last visit. Also, old fashioned cocktail special on Friday night made for a special delight.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was really delicious and the desert ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was really delicious and the deserts decadent. But couldn't they come up with a better name for the cheese cake than "The Irish Car Bomb" - seems a bit insensitive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

After many trips to the "Dash" we finall ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

After many trips to the "Dash" we finally discovered Springhouse. What a treasure! Service is outstanding, with genuinely warm and friendly servers (and bartenders). The food is outstanding, and while it won't help my waistline, it's clearly fresh and chef-driven. The location is terrific and the quaint, historical home is classic, warm and inviting. Love the small rooms and throwback to a time when you actually wanted to hear the person sitting across the table from you. Love Springhouse and can't wait for our next chance to dine there.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my parents here. We are from Atlant ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Took my parents here. We are from Atlanta originally so we can be "restaurant snobs" toward originality, decor, ambiance, food, and wine. We were impressed with this place, but wish the server had told us a little more history on the house--we had to stop by the history wall upstairs on the way out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

What a lovely spot to spend our 43 weddi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

What a lovely spot to spend our 43 wedding anniversary! The range of food options, presentation and quality were first rate and the service person attentive, helpful and not overbearing. In a word: superb! Although we did not sit there, the bar area and outside terrace were lively and inviting. Try to get there, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here for my 2 year anniversary wi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I went here for my 2 year anniversary with my boyfriend. If you get the bread appetizer, you get SO MUCH bread for $5, so that was a great value. I got the Colonel chicken dish and the breading on the chicken was Perfect. I also got the apple cake for dessert and that may very well be my favorite restaurant dessert EVER. It was warm and homey tasting, with crispy brown sugar on top. Our waiter knew all about the menu and was very helpful. The atmosphere is homey and pretty. Great for special dates.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fun, Historic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon arriving 45 minutes before our set ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Upon arriving 45 minutes before our set reservation time, we intended to have a couple of drinks at the bar before sitting down for dinner. The bar was full (large seating party) and the hostess graciously seated us before our actual reservation time (Great!)

The waiter was spot on! He was informative (he knew the menu well) and did not pressure us to order quickly.

My wife and I started with the Steak Tartare. The starter was under-seasoned and nothing special. I had the Colonel for my main dish. Again, under-seasoned and overall completely unimpressive. My wife had "Steak and Eggs". The dish was under-seasoned and bland.

Perhaps the Chef was having a difficult night due to the large party that was seated just after us. Anyway, we'll never know if the Chef just had an "off night". We won'y go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Somewhat underwhelming. Setting/ambiance ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Somewhat underwhelming. Setting/ambiance is nice. Food was good. Dish presentation was good. But nothing stood out. Service was Ok. Forgot an after dinner beverage.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This was a great find. Enjoyed everythin ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was a great find. Enjoyed everything about this restaurant with two exceptions. First, the table we sat at was a little small which made our dishes and glasses cramped. Second, my date did not enjoy her salmon (because of the sauce, not the fish). With all that said, I loved dining at Spring House and would and will most definitely eat there again. My date feels the same and knows her displeasure with her dish was because of the sauce, not the fish. I will also recommend this to anyone looking for a neat place to eat. The staff was as good as you could ask for, although our waitress could have been faster refilling our drinks. We loved the appetizers we had and look forward to trying more on our return visits.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

First visit. New seasonal menu - small ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 27, 2016

First visit. New seasonal menu - small selection of entrees. Ended up with a salad and added shrimp. Autumn bisque was flavorful, but barely warm. Had an unusual spice combination but went well with the pear salad. Service was good - no dairy free dessert options. Parking is very tight and they do not enforce the no parking lane so my car was stuck with no way out and another patron had to leave his group and move the car. Certainly not a first time issue and the restaurant seemed OK with displacing customers from their meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fabulous I was so proud to take our frie ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fabulous I was so proud to take our friends there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here several times and the hos ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I've been here several times and the hostess is rarely at the stand. Several people walked by without acknowledging our group until the hostess finally showed up. She was pleasant but a bit miffed that we were late.

Food was good. Giving it a four as the consistency of the soup wasn't right; it was thick and not runny. The soup would not drip if you tilted your spoon for example. The first courses were tasty. My guests were pleased with their mains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Our dinner was very good. I particularly ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our dinner was very good. I particularly liked to tuna tartar appetizer. Andrew, our waiter was attentive and helpful. The room was comfortable. Overall it was a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, service and ambience. The sc ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food, service and ambience. The scallops special was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food. Best meal ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Best meal I have ever had in North Carolina (grew up in NYC).

Would not miss next time in area.

Menu innovative and contemporary.

Wish I lived in the areas and could eat there every week.

Prices very reasonable for what you get.

Each dish was cooked to perfection (my father was a chef)

Wait staff very well trained.

Had a number of wedding and other parties but work my date and I in well.

Outdoor dining is nice (I don't do that) but people eating outside seemed comfortable

My date is handicapped so we appreciated the handicapped entrance.

What can I say...these people know how to do fine dining well

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Vegan, Historic, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Spicy, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant! Always quie ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is a great restaurant! Always quiet so conversations can be heard. Food is always amazing and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Historic, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the atmospher ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was excellent and the atmosphere was as well. We ate outside and had a very nice experience. The waitress was very nice as well. I would highly suggest this restaurant to all my friends. I did think the $14 martini was high but, all was very nice.

Thanks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming spot on the National Historic R ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Charming spot on the National Historic Register. My husband loved the historical aspect. Of the creative cocktails, I highly recommend the BERRI-LICIOUS BRAMBLE. I enjoyed LAMB FILET MIGNON and HOUSE FLATBREAD for entree. Quite an interesting combination of flavors. PORK MEDALLIONS and SHALLOT MARMALADE is ideal for meat lovers. Only sorry we didn't have time for dessert. We'll put this on the repeat list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting. A great place for an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Beautiful setting. A great place for any occasion. Food was amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, People Watching, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Food...Best Wine...and Especially B ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Best Food...Best Wine...and Especially Best Service!

Always a Great Experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting in an historic house, ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Beautiful setting in an historic house, matched by food and service. Wine list was good, fairly reasonably priced. Was too hot to sit outside, but courtyard looked great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was holding a private eve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The restaurant was holding a private event for approximately 50 guests, with live music, when we arrived. There looked to be another large party inside (a photographer was taking photos of several people while waiters tried to deliver food).

A phone call alerting us to this would have been welcomed. Instead, every restaurant employee we encountered told us how busy they were, making us feel like uninvited guests showing up for a handout. Dirty dishes and glasses sat on tables for too long, the hostess made us wait until she finished typing something before she welcomed us, then she pointed out critically that we were 15 minutes early. We were seated 15 minutes after our reservation. The bartender came over after about 10 minutes and said, "So, are you waiting on me to take your order?"

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great for lunch or dinner.. View was ama ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great for lunch or dinner.. View was amazing! Our food was wonderful.. Service and our waiter couldn't have been more attentive..Absolute GEM!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside near the herb garden whic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We sat outside near the herb garden which is beautiful. The inside and outside space is gorgeous and has a very homey feel. We had the tomato gazpacho and salads which suited the warm weather perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious! It was my daughter' ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was delicious! It was my daughter's 45th birthday. She had never been to the restaurant. She loved the food, the waitress was excellent and inside and outside setting was beautiful.

She will want to go back and so will I. I will take my granddaughter for brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The creativity of the dishes is exceptio ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The creativity of the dishes is exceptional with their Southern flair!!!!!The charm prevails in the food w lovely presentations, in the waitstaff, and most importantly the owner/chef!!!! Bravo to the establishment for exceptional menu offerings with their Southern flair !!!

A treat not to be missed in this historical, Winston-Salem home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met the chef as we were leaving, very ni ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Met the chef as we were leaving, very nice. Our server was good but I think she got too many tables seated at once. We still had good service and enjoyed the food, wine and atmosphere. The bread plate was good and sundried tomato spread was outstanding. I had the chef special (crab and lobster cake) and it was great. My wife enjoyed the hanger steak. It was a little loud because two wedding receptions were taking place, but still a nice dinner and really nice meeting the chef on the way out. He was genuinely happy for us to be eating there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was top notch, would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a fancier, night out, spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really very good, definitel ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was really very good, definitely southern with a gourmet twist. Service was...less than desirable. My husband had to order our drinks from the bar after our waitress didn't come back for about ten minutes after we told her we'd like to take a quick look at the menu.

Then, my husband had to pick the drinks up from the bar about 10-15 minutes after he was told they would bring the drinks to us. Keep in mind, the restaurant was nowhere near slammed, busy maybe, but not slammed. The service improved about half way through the meal because I think they could tell that things were not going well with our experience, but still not what it should be for a restaurant with this one's swanky reputation and price tag. I would return but with the knowledge that I will likely receive subpar service in exchange for delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Very good experience in every way. Serve ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very good experience in every way. Server was very pleasant & efficient, could have used a bit of training - wasn't familiar with one item & tried to pour a stout to avoid the head. Not cheap but good enough to be a good value. Needs a better beer selection - more locals please

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice ambiance with spacious room be ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very nice ambiance with spacious room between tables. Has a good wine menu. Service was friendly, timely and with appropriate checking to see if all was well. Menu seemed a little limited as to entrée choices. Prices are on the higher end, but the overall dining experience was very good. May be more of a special occasion venue. Only minor complaint was that substitution of vegetable was made on one entrée without informing diner ahead of time and was not a preferred vegetable for that diner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.