About Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar

450 North Spring Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar located in Winston-Salem, the Piedmont region of North Carolina, is a destination for New American cooking and artisan cocktails creatively prepared by Chef Timothy Grandinetti. The distinctive menu is inspired by the seasons and served with true Southern hospitality in a restored 1920's landmark residence. Spring House features gracious private rooms, outdoor patios, and a lawn terrace for celebrations and gatherings of all types.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 293-4797

Website:
http://www.springhousenc.com/

Executive Chef:
Timothy Grandinetti, C.E.C.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Historic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fireplace (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best pork chop I have ever had!!!! A ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

The best pork chop I have ever had!!!! Amazing service, wine, and bread as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Historic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Organic, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. The best fine dinin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as always. The best fine dining experience in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to celebrate Valentine's Day. T ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to celebrate Valentine's Day. The menu was crafted especially with a Valentine's theme, which was nice. Our server was good. However, the menu was limited to a few selections and for those who do not eat pork or beef, there were few choices.

The food was not good and was extremely overpriced. Likewise, the wine list was relatively limited to expensive wines. My partner's lobster tail was dry and stringy and most of the dish was very bland pasta. My fried chicken was nothing special and again, overpriced.

We will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Our favorite restaurant! Staff is very a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Our favorite restaurant! Staff is very accommodating and service oriented. Bar has very special and unusual drinks which are excellent.

Food is extremely tasty and always enjoy their every changing menu.

Can't say enough good things about Springhouse 👍

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

AS always Spring House doesn't disappoin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

AS always Spring House doesn't disappoint. This is our go to place for our birthdays, anniversary and Christmas. Great handcrafted cocktails and the food is always awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was nice, food was ok, bread was superb. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was nice, food was ok, bread was superb. I just thought it was a little lackluster food wise for the pay. Paid almost 20 dollars for my salad and you only get 4 pieces of shrimp and barely anything my romaine and heavy dressing. Wasn't bad or anything just not something I'd feel worth going for again. My boyfriend felt the same.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went with a group of 6 for a Wednesda ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We went with a group of 6 for a Wednesday night dinner. The service was awful and there were several mishaps. I will not be returning or recommending this place to anyone. We were seated promptly and then immediately ignored by the server. When she finally appeared she told us their Wednesday special "any glass you can get by the glass is 1/2 off" so we all ordered a glass instead of a bottle like we planned. There was a much too long wait for our food. It was not a busy or crowded at all since it was a cold Wednesday night. Everyone's food was delivered except one with the explanation that it had been dropped by the kitchen and a bowl of soup was offered while he waited. The gumbo was bland and the rice was uncooked and crunchy. After everyone has finished eating, and then 13 minutes after that, his food arrived. We just asked for it to be boxed up to go. The checks arrived and none of the wine was marked down and when pointed this out the server nonchalantly replied "well except for what you ordered". This made us furious because no exclusions were mentioned or printed on the menu. They even made us pay for the dinner that did not arrive until everyone was sitting there awkwardly waiting for the last person to eat. They had the gall to charge gratuity to our bill. We were so ready to get out of there and will not be returning. Bernardins located down the street is a far superior option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Absolutely wonderful

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall outstanding experience. Went in ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall outstanding experience. Went in early to enjoy some drinks at the beautiful bar. Very nice table near the fire place. Server was very attentive. Food was amazing. Enjoyed the salmon and ramen special.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most incredible dining experience in ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The most incredible dining experience in Winston Salem! The Brussel sprouts with Potk chop was out of this world!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Had the BBQ bis ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food and service. Had the BBQ bison meatloaf and it was great!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was slow, took fifteen minutes f ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Service was slow, took fifteen minutes for us to be told a gin was 86ed. Took longer for the martinis to come out. Food took forever. The menu looked good but preparation was lacking. We didn't feel value for the money for this restaurant. Wine list was lacking as well, very one-dimensional. A good menu needs to be supported by a good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Very very good food! My lamb was a tiny ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very very good food! My lamb was a tiny little bit too salty but other than that is was absolutely fantastic. A little more pricy than other places in Winston-Salem, but for sure worth it! Southern food but with a very creative touch to it. Excellent service!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance. We have been he ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food and ambiance. We have been here several times and never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Attended the Pop up Ramen event. It was ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Attended the Pop up Ramen event. It was hyped in local paper. Underwhelmed since the soup was not hot when served and the ramen was a bit too tough. Broth was very good and presentation was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I so wanted to enjoy an experience that ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I so wanted to enjoy an experience that has given this restaurant so many high ratings. The house is impressive, less so upstairs where we were seated. But the bar & rooms downstairs looked wonderful. Our problem started when we were given a table upstairs, and assigned a server who was tending to a very large party (20+) in an adjoining room. 15 minutes went by before she was able to take our drink orders. (The server herself was good when she could be with us; I blame management for stretching her too thin.) She recommended a local gin for me; otherwise we ordered a glass of wine, scotch on the rocks & a water. 10+ minutes later the drinks arrived, minus the gin which was out of stock. I don't blame her for not knowing that, but one would think she could have come back immediately for a replacement order. And why 10 minutes for wine & scotch? I ordered an alternate gin. We also ordered starters. 15 minutes went by before I went downstairs to speak to the manager. My drink arrived shortly thereafter, 45 minutes after we were seated. Of course, the food came at the same time. Ugh.

All that could be excused if we had a wonderful food experience, but it was very hit & miss, with more misses than hits. Starters: shrimp beignets - light and tasty. General Tso sweetbreads - why bother using sweetbreads? Completely overwhelmed by the sauce and over fried. Bread service: (yes, they charge) Fine, but not worth the extra cost. Not enough butter for half the bread choices. Entrees: Pan roasted lamb loin: far & away the winner of the night. Lamb was cooked perfectly, the flavorings in the couscous were intense. Cauliflower wonderfully roasted. Everyone said they should have ordered it. Grits and Greens: ok. Slash and Burn chicken salad: bizarre. The menu said it was served over wilted southern greens, but it came out over chopped lettuce. The plate literally looked like a super sized version of a McDonald's chicken salad. Tasted like it too. Overall, a real disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Celebrated my 73rd birthday and overall ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Celebrated my 73rd birthday and overall was very pleased with my dinner - venison was tender and delicious as were the accompanying seasonal vegetables. Best venison dinner in years. My son had salmon which was very good. My wife had the 3 course price fix dinner which was not well done. She did not like 2 of the 3 courses. Oysters were overpower by pimento cheese. Soup was tasteless. Scallops were good but only 2 were on the plate. My summary: excellent skilled chef with very creative menu. Most dishes are well done with superb taste and quality ingredients. Occasional misses such as the 3 course dinner. I would happily return to this superior restaurant which is reasonably priced for the caliber of food. Thanks for a nice BD dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went to Spring House as part of the Big ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Went to Spring House as part of the Big Eat. Excellent food, good-sized portions and tasty. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable. Only down-side is the parking lot. It is extremely small and a tight fit--after dinner, I had to wait 30 minutes to leave because another car had blocked me in. In the future, if I return, I will definitely park elsewhere, and walk to the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Three of us went to the Spring House dur ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Three of us went to the Spring House during Winston-Salem's Big Eat and had the featured entree, Bison Meatloaf. It was fantastic. I would love to have the recipe. It came with mashed potatoes, creamed spinach and a fried cheese ball. All three of us were very pleasantly surprised. We did also order a bread plate and when it came, there were several very generous helpings of four kinds of bread, all of them were delicious and fresh. We also ordered bacon-honey jam, which was rich and thick. It was a terrific meal and we will all definitely return. I would also like to mention that the wait staff is probably the best in Winston-Salem.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best big eats meal we've had! The bison ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Best big eats meal we've had! The bison meatloaf was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Had the Big Eat ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great food and service! Had the Big Eats special and it was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The bison meatloaf was too spicy, and wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The bison meatloaf was too spicy, and was very dense in consistency as if it had been prepared earlier and rewarmed. The pho was gloppy, and the protein meats and scallops in the pho were all overcooked. We did not indicate anything to our server in that we had a guest and I do not like to "spoil" the occasion, by being the puler. I have had better meals there, but this one was inconsistent. We also did not take it out on our server, because she did not prepare the food. The appetizers were much better than the entres.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We attended for the Umani Tsunami ramen ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We attended for the Umani Tsunami ramen event! It was...fine. I personally felt the broth and noodles were under seasoned, which was disappointing. We were surprised when we asked the server which ramen she liked best, and she said she hadn't tried them all. How can she sell the food if she hasn't even tasted it? But it was still an enjoyable meal with friends. The apps were really good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and beautiful restaurant

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food and beautiful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very scarce options for anyone who isn't ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Very scarce options for anyone who isn't an omnivore - not even a salad on their restrictive menu. The one vegetarian item that was offered, forcing me to choose it, was bland, subpar, and left me hungry. I picked this for my "special" thirtieth birthday dinner and it was a huge disappointment - you can find a much cheaper meal, that will be so much more delicious, at many other places in Winston. We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

My fiancé and I had NYE dinner here. The ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My fiancé and I had NYE dinner here. They have delish, unique cocktails and great, seasonal main courses. We loved it... it's just a bit on the pricey side!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent quality and service. Interes ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Consistent quality and service. Interesting renovation of home on "Millionairs' Row" in downtown Winston-Salem is local favorite for fine dining in a casual atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband, son and I came to Spring Hou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband, son and I came to Spring House for New Year's Eve dinner. It was so nice! The atmosphere is so pretty - welcoming - just a little drafty in places (old house) which adds to the charm, in my opinion. Our waitress was very sweet - attentive. The kids meal could've been better - with better choices. My husband and I shared a salmon dish - they split it for us without charge - it was definitely plenty for two people to share! We will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great experience tonight. The chef greet ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great experience tonight. The chef greeted us at the door with a warm welcome and a Happy New Year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at Spring House f ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I dined at Spring House for NYE. We had one of the earliest reservations for the evening and were fortunate enough to be seated in front of a fireplace in one of the upstairs dining rooms. We had the crab beignets, lobster bisque, chicken fried chicken with grits and greens, and grilled pork chop with sweet potatoes and roasted vegetables. It was all amazing and to quote my husband, "This is one of the best meals out we've had in a long time." Every staff member was welcoming and courteous. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most delicious food I've ever had th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The most delicious food I've ever had the pleasure of eating! Every dish is unique and extremely well prepared. We are definitely making this our go-to restaurant for all special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the New Year's menu. My salm ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed the New Year's menu. My salmon was prepared perfectly with lobster mashed potatoes and broccoli. It was outstanding. My spouse's filet was slightly over cooked and just a bit salty to keep it from being outstanding. The flavor was so good otherwise, we did not want to complain. The service was as good or better than any we have had in the area, and the chef's contact with the diners was very enjoyable. It was a cold night, and we were seated next to French doors. At first all seemed well, but before the evening was over, the temperature became quite cool in our little corner. I gave it 4 stars, but I would assume the next time we go, it will be a 5! I do wish to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall nice ambience. Our server howeve ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall nice ambience. Our server however was New and undertrained which made the experience less than stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

It was a superb experience in every way. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 22, 2016

It was a superb experience in every way.

Initially our seating was changed at our request and our fireside table essentially for us was none better. Our waitress was sweet, knowledgeable, and responsive. Or decision to share three first courses plus a salad gave us our chance to savor much of what the chef was doing. It was a terrific way for us to prepare for/ enjoy the season with each other. We will remain grateful for your consummate hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have eaten here before but I thought ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have eaten here before but I thought the entrees weren't quite as good this time. The atmosphere and service was excellent but we were somewhat disappointed in the flavor or the entrees.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious! One of the best meals I've ha ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Delicious! One of the best meals I've had in Winston-Salem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Spring House ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was our first time at Spring House Restaurant- it will not be our last. The soups, salad, and bison meatloaf were outstanding, as was the service. The value was 4-star because I always discourage high restaurant prices, but it wasn't bad, especially considering the quality.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice pre-theater dinner. Getting ou ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice pre-theater dinner. Getting out of the parking lot was nearly impossible. Next time, we will park in the street.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Such a wonderful experience and food! U ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Such a wonderful experience and food! Uniquely prepared food, that is absolutely delicious! Great service and friendly staff. Just a wonderful part of this city!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was delighted by my Vegan meal. We ate ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I was delighted by my Vegan meal. We ate at the bar due to time restraints, and our server/bartender was great. Our meals were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.