Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar located in Winston-Salem, the Piedmont region of North Carolina, is a destination for New American cooking and artisan cocktails creatively prepared by Chef Timothy Grandinetti. The distinctive menu is inspired by the seasons and served with true Southern hospitality in a restored 1920's landmark residence. Spring House features gracious private rooms, outdoor patios, and a lawn terrace for celebrations and gatherings of all types.

450 North Spring Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 293-4797

Website:
http://www.springhousenc.com/

Executive Chef:
Timothy Grandinetti, C.E.C.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Historic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We have always enjoyed our meals at Spring House. The service is always attentive. The atmosphere is casual but upper scale. The food has been consistently excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

First time customer. Updated old house, renovated into restaurant , kitchen & bar.
Summer menu excellent. Menu changes by season.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Used a Birthday as our motivation to try Spring House. The menu is varied and creative. The Gazpacho was unique and Very good as was the bread and entrees. Recorded music was too loud upon arrival but was lowered by the time dinner was served. We will return. Liked the setting, personal service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 7, 2017

I've reviewed Spring House before, always giving it 5 stars... this time was no different.

I had the special (hangar steak, risotto, asparagus) and she had some sort of seafood dish... crab? shrimp?

Before dinner we spent a few minutes outdoors on the patio unwinding with a glass of wine. The patio has a nice little fountain for calming ambiance. The patio's view is protected by the looming (new) public library on the next block, but there isn't an urban-canyon feel because the patio is surrounded by nice, tall shrubbery.

The entrees were spectacular as always. We ordered the bread service, and had we not consciously set it aside we might have stuffed ourselves before the entrees arrived, but thankfully had plenty of room for them.

This is one of our favorite restaurants in this quadrant of the state. You will not be disappointed (unless you're one of those who seeks disappointment in everything ;-)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We found the huge portions and over saucing off putting. Our waiter might have mentioned the heavily breaded fried green tomatoes were enough for a whole meal. The salmon was delicious after freeing it from a cup of sauce and the skin. The tiny portion of tuna came on a huge bed of black rice not mentioned on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our dining experience was wonderful. We had excellent service and the food was wonderful! Highly recommend the bread appetizer (White Chocolate bread). Beautiful restaurant - definitely a Downtown Winston Salem favorite!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything about the Spring House was fabulous, but especially the featured dishes we enjoyed. It's at the top of our list for a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had out of town guests who are very interested in unique and special food. We chose Springhouse because of the creative and varied menu. They loved everything and we had a great time. Service was well timed adn outdoor seating was super comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything was executed well but I do feel that a lot of the plates have too many ingredients or mismatched ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I loved it. The atmosphere and the service was top notch. The food was reasonably valued and the size was good. I will be back again, but I will try the different appetizers that restaurant offers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We tried this restaurant while in town for the National Black Theater Festival. Our waiter was particularly attentive to our need to leave the restaurant in time for our evening performance. The food was very good - everyone in our party was torn between more than one entree. We were seated in the front parlor which was very nice. This room would be perfect for a group of 16 who want to dine together but still have an opportunity for intimate conversation. We will definitely book another visit on our next trip to Winston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had a very nice experience. Our server was very knowledgeable which helped us decide from the varied selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great place for a date. Flexible enough for fine dining or casual dressing, too, which is hard to pull off but the do easily. Great restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Finding this gem on the internet was a pure stroke of luck! The waitress was knowledgeable, courteous and attentive! She helped to make a very special one year romance celebration even greater. The food was to die for! The beef rib and the salmon were both prepared spectacularly. My bride to be was surprised and phenomenally impressed! It was a fabulous night and a marvelously romantic evening!
Thank you so much. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We went for our wedding anniversary, but didn't realize there was a class reunion on the first floor and we'd need to walk up a staircase to get to the second floor; hubby has mobility problems, but he made it! Very tricky finding parking, too. But we adored the ambiance of this restored mansion! Duncan, our server, was fantastic, and Re food was bland without the sauces. Yet everything was fresh and organic!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was such a treat, a supreme experience to say the least. My friend and I felt very spoiled and cared for by our awesome server Leslie, Chef Tim and Heidi. As someone who used to work in the service industry, and bringing someone from Charleston who has eaten at so many great restaurants, we were overwhelmed by the generosity we received from the staff at Spring House...and of course the incredible food. So often you have to sacrifice one to get the other, not here my friends. We are quite lucky to have this in Winston-Salem, take advantage!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 22, 2017

nice ambiance, good menu unless you can't eat fish/seafood. 3 of us had the salmon and really liked it. We also had soup, different kinds and liked it. My friend who can't eat seafood had a salad and it was good, but not the best. But the bread deal is odd. You have to order and pay for a plate of breads--interesting and good tasting breads. it is way too much bread for 1 person. And they have some great spreads that are additional, beyond the cost of the bread plate.

so if you don't want bread, definitely try it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My husband and I were looking for a new date place, and this was a hit. Great service, quiet atmosphere and delicious food. My husband ordered a cocktail that was so refreshing and good. Our food was so good we both commented on it. Would recommend and will be going back to take friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Once again, the Spring House did not disappoint! The staff is so friendly and seems genuinely glad and grateful people are there. The food is excellent - beet/watermelon/goat cheese salad, bread service, including white chocolate bread, lobster and smoked gouda cheesecake - just outstanding. Service was excellent. Already looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We definitely enjoyed the meal and will return to the spring house. The menu is thoughtful, and the modern southern theme works well. The setting is also very nice. From the start, we were a bit annoyed because we were seated in a small room with two other parties. The tables were close and we could easily hear their conversations. This was puzzling because there was another dining room adjacent, that was completely empty and would have made for a more comfortable experience. I found it a little lazy and just not the service you would expect.

We were sad to miss out on the bread service, as they had run out. Instead we started with the crab beignet app, which was very tasty albeit a small portion for the price. My salmon entree was well prepared as was the my dates fried chicken. The portions were adequate. I thought her dish had a bit much going on, but did really like the m80 sauce. The food overall was well prepared and a fairly good value.

From the cocktail perspective, they missed the mark. The cocktails here are priced well above average. For a $13+ cocktail I would expect the quality of a craft cocktail bar. My old fashioned cloyingly sweet and really amateur at best. I drank it, but would certainly go with wine next time. I also had to ask the server to correct the bill after he did not apply the promotional price (the makers "old fashioneds" are on special on fridays).

Overall, the food works for me and that's why I will return. Service could use some polish and I would skip the cocktails based on my experience. 4 stars.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had high expectations because a friend recommended this restaurant to us. The main issue was how dirty everything was. The cushions were stained, as was the tablecloth. We had to discreetly clean the silverware and there was even film on my daughter's drinking glass. The food would have been okay but we were nervous to eat after seeing the state of the silverware and dishes. Maybe the dishwasher had quit the day we went but we were just not impressed. And the bread plate was a total waste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Cocktails, food and service were first rate. I look forward to visiting Spring House again soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

First time at restaurant. Had gift card from Father's Day. It was like walking into someone's house. Service was good although waiter did not know about some specials. Food came out hot and delicious. The only issue we had, maybe we are from the old school, but bread had to be ordered from menu. Found this odd, but our daughter said that how some restaurants are doing it now. Overall, we had nice meal and ambiance was good as well as service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had the 5:30 seating (1000 points!) and we were the only couple on in the sunroom. Nice atmosphere, great music (Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald). and good service. Food was good (salmon with risotto and grilled veggies) and reasonably priced although all steaks were over $30 and only about 9 entrees on the menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My husband and I tried this restaurant recently for our weekly date night, and we were far from disappointed. The atmosphere was cozy and private, I appreciate the home-like setup. The food was amazing and portions were generous considering the price tag. This was definitely a pricier option for us, so we will likely visit again for special occasions. I could not have asked for better service or a better experience.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Would have been 5 stars across the board. Our server was excellent, but it took too long to get our drinks. Delivered while into our salad after a small appetizer. The main course was served at least 15 to 20 minutes after our soup and salad. It wasn't our servrr, but the bar and the kitchen. The food when served was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Seated in timely manner despite being early. Food pairings unusual and good. Waitress was very nice. One negative was the small table. Granted, only two of us. But we ordered bread sampler appetizer and had eaten just three of eight pieces when the entrees came. With no room on the table we asked that the rest be boxed. The box was not returned to us and we just did not think about it after we dined. I remembered it when we were almost home and 11 miles is too far to go back. That ended up being a waste of money. Also our first time dining here. No street parks available. My husband parked illegally to go in (in the rain) to ask and find out there is a lot nearby. So, a couple of things that made it a bit less enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Went for an adult night out with the wife. Passing on the bread course was extremely difficult just from seeing in on other tables as well as knowing all the breads are made in house. But our intentions were to try as many things as possible. Long story short we tried most of the appetizer menu, a salad, and split an entree as well as both of us getting dessert. It was an amazing dining experience all around and we would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Organic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Outstanding dinner and world class attentive, educated and un-rushed service. Perfect evening for dining al fresco in a beautiful quiet garden setting..

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Delicious, unique food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Lovely setting, gracious service, delicious food. Crab cake small plate and hangar steak entree were both wonderful. Chocolate cake was dense, rich, just outstanding. Great choice for a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant experience I've had in years

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Chef Tim always amazes! The special salmon with pork belly was the bomb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Spring House is a beautiful restaurant. It has a wonderful outdoor area attached to the bar for drinks. The rooms are very nicely decorated. The food is excellent, large portions.
Our server was also very good and knowledgeable. Overall wonderful experience!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The ambience for this restaurant is wonderful! This food exceeded my expectations it was absolutely fabulous, highly recommend the duck confit pot pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food is delicious and portions are huge! The ambiance is nice but it's a little too quiet with no vibe or music or buzz. The service is friendly and detailed but painfully slow. We had to wait an extraordinarily long time for our check to be brought to the table, then for the check to be processed and finally for the to-go boxes to be packed and brought out. The manager should help train servers on how to read their tables and speed up/slow down the pace of the meal. It felt like we ended on a low note with the slow ending as everyone was full and anxious to go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Beautiful old house with really nice ambiance. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The lamb, in particular, was delicious and the specialty cocktails were creative and tasty. Would have liked a few more options for non-red-meat eaters, as even the salmon had pork in the sides. Substitutions were offered, but it's never quite the same. Small quibble though! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent meal & service. The crab ball & disco fries were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Leslie was an awesome server! I had the salmon feature and my friend had a pear salad with grilled salmon. We also split beignets and bread pudding. We both loved everything!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.