About Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar

450 North Spring Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar located in Winston-Salem, the Piedmont region of North Carolina, is a destination for New American cooking and artisan cocktails creatively prepared by Chef Timothy Grandinetti. The distinctive menu is inspired by the seasons and served with true Southern hospitality in a restored 1920's landmark residence. Spring House features gracious private rooms, outdoor patios, and a lawn terrace for celebrations and gatherings of all types.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner
Tuesday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 293-4797

Website:
http://www.springhousenc.com/

Executive Chef:
Timothy Grandinetti, C.E.C.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining

Restaurant Photos

steak tartare
Thai Herb Pork Burger
"The Works" Bread Service
BLT
Garlic Herb Chicken, Under A Brick
Char-Grilled Sirloin Steak
Kobe Beef Cheeks
Foie Gras
garden salad
Garlic Ginger Salmon Salad
Trio Of Shrimp Cake Sliders
The Best Burger In Winston
Fried Mushrooms
Bread
Cucumber Gazpacho
Pizzette
It's My Fav New Place To Eat!
Turkey Burger w. Roasted Mushrooms & Melted Pepper Jack Cheese
Pork Belly With Pimiento Cheese Grits

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
9 More
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (34)
fit for foodies (34)
See All
neighborhood gem (24)
great for outdoor dining (19)
good for groups (19)
great for lunch (17)
notable wine list (14)
great for brunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice ambiance with spacious room be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice ambiance with spacious room between tables. Has a good wine menu. Service was friendly, timely and with appropriate checking to see if all was well. Menu seemed a little limited as to entrée choices. Prices are on the higher end, but the overall dining experience was very good. May be more of a special occasion venue. Only minor complaint was that substitution of vegetable was made on one entrée without informing diner ahead of time and was not a preferred vegetable for that diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was exceptional! The house i ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Everything was exceptional! The house is beautiful and the food was scrumptious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was really good. Patient and know ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Waiter was really good. Patient and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful atmosphere! Gourmet food / men ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere! Gourmet food / menu , but fair pricing! The service was a bit slow, especially for a non-busy weeknight. Food portions were very small. I ordered the steak and it was barely 4 ounces. Hardly enough for a grown man. But for the price I can't really complain. All in all it was a great place for a romantic date night. My wife enjoyed very much so we will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome food and service! Loved the plac ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Awesome food and service! Loved the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing experience. We have dined ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Disappointing experience. We have dined at the Spring House many times and this was an uncustomary disappointment. We were celebrating our 29th anniversary and it was not a pleasant evening. The restaurant was nearly empty, however, we constantly waited on our server to attend to our needs. We ordered two entrees. Mine was inedible and while I waited to order something else, my husband tried to eat slowly, but didn't want to eat his seafood dish cold. By the time I received my replacement entree, he had completed his meal. The food was not memorable and the experience was unsatisfactory. I am not sure if and when we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I liked everything about the restaurant ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I liked everything about the restaurant but the prices were a little higher than I expected. I like to be prepared when I'm going to be paying a little more. I will be next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Springhouse several times ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been to Springhouse several times and the food is always top notch. Their dishes are such a mix of flavors and nothing is "ordinary". The only difficult part is choosing between all the things I'd like to try! It is not cheap - but you get what you pay for.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Something different

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything in Winston-Salem is the same old types of food with just a different name. This place is different and the food is unique and delicious. Given that its in a huge historical house turned restaurant really makes it appealing also. Very worth going to, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food poorly prepared. Vegetables inedibl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food poorly prepared. Vegetables inedible. Entre better, but only average. Table service very good, but long wait for food and no sommelier in sight for wine options. Better than average wine list saved us from total disappointment. Will probably avoid this restaurant in the future unless substantial improvements are made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Top 3 Winston Restaurants

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

have eaten here numerous times, lunch and dinner. Food is consistent, fresh with a changing menu. Our party has steak, fresh fish and lamb dishes. Not one complaint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday lunch

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The food was different and good, but very expensive. We had lots of good laughs and great company. The view from our enclosed porch was delightful. I imagine it would be even better at night when you don't see the construction next door.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dining experience. Al ...

 
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Although they were out of the David Bruce Pinot (my favorite) the server recommended a Pinot that I had never tried and it was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Winston Salem for 5 years ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

I have been to Winston Salem for 5 years. This is hands down the best restaurant. It is a level above all else. Relaxing, amazing cocktails and bartender. Service was very good and the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. Always interesting opti ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful meal. Always interesting options, well prepared and presented. This is becoming my go-to place when entertaining out-of-town guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible and the waitstaf ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was incredible and the waitstaff was attentive but not bothersome and made adjustments for several of our diners due to dietary restrictions. The soups were divine and Gertrude's Pannini is a gem! Lovely old house in which to eat!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent!! I don't normally like crab c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent!! I don't normally like crab cakes but after eating a bite of the ones my wife ordered, I ordered my own. They were great. We will return again-- soon I hope.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Too expensive for what it is (food and s ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Too expensive for what it is (food and service)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Have been to Spring House many times. Fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Have been to Spring House many times. Food is always great, service excellent and fantastic atmosphere to have a relaxing dinner with friends and family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Southern comfort food

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Never disappointed at the Spring House! Southern comfort food at it's very best!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Fabulous evening all around. Greeted by the owner, Lynnette, and was warmly welcomed. Had fantastic service in bar area while a rehearsal dinner was happening on the patio. Impressive service even with a crowd. Great food recommendation by our waiter, Drew. Impeccable service all around.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining prices; sports bar experienc ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Fine dining prices; sports bar experience.

I was really excited to see barrel aged cocktails, until I got mine: a shaken Manhattan with cheap bourbon and a generic maraschino cherry. Really sub-par. My buddy had it worse. A rye old fashioned, get this, $22!! And it wasn't good, not even average. Food .... The shrimp beinets? Not beinets and not good. So the fried chicken cutlets were good, it better be for $20+. Onion soup, acceptable, poutine fries good, but could feed a human family of 10 or an American family of 4. The bathrooms even had tacky advertising, the only thing that this place has over a chilli's is the lack of television.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Lovely setting and interior. Very creati ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Lovely setting and interior. Very creative menu, and I love the farm-to-table aspect with Southern flavors. Nice wine list. This was my first time and I selected it for a business dinner with my boss and two other colleagues. Service was a bit slow, but I will give them another chance soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful Dining Experience

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great meal and the service was very good. The fried green tomato appetizer was delicious, but also quite large - you could almost make it your entree, if not extremely hungry. We will be back, for sure, especially now that the patio is open.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu options are outstanding for lunch. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Menu options are outstanding for lunch. Restaurant is excellent location and setting for business or personal lunch. Parking is easy and atmosphere is pleasant and bright. Service was not up to standards of the quality of the other aspects of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Perfect Spring Lunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Have been here several times for lunch and dinner. Never disappointed and love the chef's creativity.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallop gnocchi was divine

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The scallop gnocchi was divine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly Suprised

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Great service, outstanding food will return next time in town!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very loud. Food was subpar. Falls flat.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Initially seated near a noisy large group of college kids. Asked to be move and was put in a room with blaring music, and another patron who wouldn't stop interrupting my family's conversation and dining. Menu looked excellent, but the food did not perform. Wouldn't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

One of our favorite places to eat in Win ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat in Winston -Salem. Always great and this time was no different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Historic Charm

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Southern Historic charm with a story to be told by your server. The new spring menu is light and tasty. You must try the chicken biscuit for an appetizer. Yes, it's big enough for two. Service was very attentive too! Feel free to check out the history of the house on the 2nd floor.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I wish you had more dishes without goat ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

I wish you had more dishes without goat cheese and pimento cheese. Those two items eliminated quite a few dishes for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Way overrated. Missing any sense of good food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Ruined an attempt at a Spring gnocchi dish by bizarrely inundating with a strangely tasting squid ink sauce. In the charred lamb dish the lamb was cooked a nice medium rare...but everything else about the dish was badly executed and included one ingredient that tasted stale. Even a simple beet, spinach and goat cheese salad was hopelessly wet and insipid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

They had just released the new spring me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

They had just released the new spring menu and it was amazing! We had the brisket and onion ring with Mac and cheese as an appetizer, and I had the grouper entree. The filet encrusted with pimento cheese was a highlight for my dinner partner. It was all delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding restaurant!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Can't say enough about this restaurant. The history of the building and location is captivating. The atmosphere is charming and contemporary. The food is positively delicious (chocolate cheesecake dessert was divine). But, it really is the service that will keep us as patrons and keep me referring others to go. Thank you to Lynette, Tim and our sever Marley, for making us feel so welcome!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

One of best all around meals I've had in ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

One of best all around meals I've had in a while. What a surprise for my first time to the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We sat at a table for two that was a little tight. Our waiter, Drew, was very helpful with wine pairings and drink choices. The carpet bagger filet and blackened grouper were both excellent. It is hard to describe how beautifully the flavors and presentation worked together. The service was attentive without being pushy, and the kitchen seriously knows what it is doing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a truly fabulous restaurant. At ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

This was a truly fabulous restaurant. Attention to detail at every turn. The food was exceptionally delicious and service was amazing. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the chicken and waffles and my ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I ordered the chicken and waffles and my waffles were burnt. My duck creppett, fried green tomatoes and hot and spicy shrimp soup was excellent. Service was excellent overall but I was pretty disappointed with my burnt entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great 1st Time Visit

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We had been wanting to try Spring House for some time and finally did on our recent visit to Winston-Salem. Wow, it was a wonderful experience. The staff was welcoming, the restaurant decor very inviting and warm, the food and service were all excellent. We would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.