Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.53mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar located in Winston-Salem, the Piedmont region of North Carolina, is a destination for New American cooking and artisan cocktails creatively prepared by Chef Timothy Grandinetti. The distinctive menu is inspired by the seasons and served with true Southern hospitality in a restored 1920's landmark residence. Spring House features gracious private rooms, outdoor patios, and a lawn terrace for celebrations and gatherings of all types.

450 North Spring Street
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
5th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 293-4797

Website:
http://www.springhousenc.com/

Executive Chef:
Timothy Grandinetti, C.E.C.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Historic (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Seasonal (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Cozy (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Spicy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding dinner and world class attentive, educated and un-rushed service. Perfect evening for dining al fresco in a beautiful quiet garden setting..

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Delicious, unique food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Hands down the best restaurant experience I've had in years

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Chef Tim always amazes! The special salmon with pork belly was the bomb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Spring House is a beautiful restaurant. It has a wonderful outdoor area attached to the bar for drinks. The rooms are very nicely decorated. The food is excellent, large portions.
Our server was also very good and knowledgeable. Overall wonderful experience!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The ambience for this restaurant is wonderful! This food exceeded my expectations it was absolutely fabulous, highly recommend the duck confit pot pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The food is delicious and portions are huge! The ambiance is nice but it's a little too quiet with no vibe or music or buzz. The service is friendly and detailed but painfully slow. We had to wait an extraordinarily long time for our check to be brought to the table, then for the check to be processed and finally for the to-go boxes to be packed and brought out. The manager should help train servers on how to read their tables and speed up/slow down the pace of the meal. It felt like we ended on a low note with the slow ending as everyone was full and anxious to go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Beautiful old house with really nice ambiance. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The lamb, in particular, was delicious and the specialty cocktails were creative and tasty. Would have liked a few more options for non-red-meat eaters, as even the salmon had pork in the sides. Substitutions were offered, but it's never quite the same. Small quibble though! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent meal & service. The crab ball & disco fries were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Leslie was an awesome server! I had the salmon feature and my friend had a pear salad with grilled salmon. We also split beignets and bread pudding. We both loved everything!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 23, 2017

This is my second business to this restaurant. They do so much REALLY well and a few things not so well.

Service was good although our server had her shirt hiked up and you could see her stomach on the side the whole time...A bit uncomfortable to say something? Maybe wear longer shirts for staff?

My iced tea glass got to the empty point a couple times which was shocking considering the type this restaurant is.

They were wonderful with the free dessert, it was a pleasant and nice surprise. I hate bread pudding but it was wonderful and warm. The bread was really generous and good as always. I didn't think the butter tasted like honey but I can live with that.

I had chicken and it was good, I'm not a fan of pickled veges but they were nicely done. My grits were stone cold which didn't matter much because I'm not a grit fan. They were really rich and tasted good though.

My daughter had a steak which was cooked perfectly.

Overall super yummy. My asparagus soup was NOT good. I love asparagus so maybe this was just me. I have had their onion soup and would get that again and highly recommend it.

I will come back ...not regularly but every so often. I also want to say GREAT JOB to the hostesses. They were polite and professional and still remained personable and warm. Good job ladies. I also liked that the manager spoke to us.

It was super low key and not busy....

Tags: Vegan, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This restaurant had stand out good and great service-make sure to book well in advance for any graduations in town-well worth every penny. The homemade breads and spreads were exceptional! One of my definite favs in Winston

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is a lovely place to have dinner. The atmosphere is quite pleasant. Perfect for a date or for a special occasion. The food is delicious and beautifully presented. Customer service is outstanding. We will return.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One if the best meals I've EVER had! Tell everyone you know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellant - as always. We've never had a bad meal, here. This has become one of my all time favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was really good, I would recommend ordering something that is a "favorite" dish on their menu.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Comfort Food, Spicy, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Casual, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful place to celebrate our 26th Wedding Anniversary! Great Atmosphere, with several Prom parties in progress.

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My daughter used this reservation for a Prom date, everything was perfect. Food was excellent and ambience was wonderful. Thanks so much for an excellent experience

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and beautiful patio for a Spring dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 25, 2017

we were sort of bummed because we were not offered the specials. we heard our server list them off to the table next to us and we were like, "why didn't we get to hear about them?" Sort of ruined the mood the rest of the night. When you go to a nice restaurant and spend $100 on a meal, you expect to be a little catered to, in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Hands down, Spring House is my favorite place to eat in Winston Salem. Just the right mix of delicious food, great service and a beautiful historic home in downtown Winston Salem makes for a wonderful dinner for a special occasion. Don't miss out on the bread service with the Bacon Jam or any entree that enlists the Pimiento Cheese infused Grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very nice atmosphere in what appears to be an old house but not sure. Attentive but unobtrusive service. Menu had many unique choices, everything we tried was very good. It was raining the evening we went but there is patio seating which I am sure is lovely on a summer evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We were on a date after having a new baby. Springhouse is a special occasion place for us. It was a very quiet and romatic evening to get away. We really enjoyed the oyster appetizer with pimento cheese. I had the pear and goat cheese salad with salmon while my husband had the salmon entree. We finished with coffee and dessert. We love Spring House and will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best food in Winston Salem, hands down! I think we tasted everything on the menu in one sitting!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Beautiful patio. Wait staff was very accommodating. We mentioned sharing a salad and they split it into two plates for us. Food was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As usual our meal was delicious. We have been to Spring House a number of times. The only negative was the price for a drink purchased at the bar before dinner. We were charged $17 for a Manhattan made with bullit rye. We have never paid this much for a Manhattan ever. Even in Chicago. We initially thought it was an error

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We stoped in for appetizers and drinks, both of which were awesome. The nights special was lobster cheese cake and it was phenomenal!!!! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had a couple of items from new menu - some of the best food we've ever had there! Loved the Thai chicken soup and the Romaine Salad with Oysters!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our service was very good and so was the food. However when I arrived at the restaurant, I went to the bar to wait on my friend, and wasn't treated very friendly by the bartender. He did not appear to be extremely busy however he ignored me as I stood waiting for him to take my order. Just a brief acknowledgment would have sufficed until he could take my order. He also never cracked a smile....in fact he looked angry. Maybe he was having a bad day? I think when one is in the service business you just have to suck it up and put on a happy face!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We had a great dinner. Meredith took good care of us. The food was fantastic. Will definitely go back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I was really looking forward to finally eating at this restaurant. Unfortunately, while the food was delicious (with some constructive criticism), the overall service (with the exception of our server Leslie) was seriously lacking. My mother and I arrived well before our reservation and went to the very inviting bar for a cocktail. We both ordered one of their special cocktails, which we very rarely do (I'm straight bourbon and she's a gin & tonic). My mother did not think hers had enough gin, upon asking the bartender about this, she seemed offended and unconcerned and never offered to remake my mother's drink or make her something else. And at $13 a pop, a cocktail not enjoyed is hard to swallow. We made it to our table and our server, Leslie, was completely amazing and kind to our questions and requests. But that's where any great experience ended. We ordered bread service with pimento cheese, first course of fried green tomatoes, and 2 entrées. We waited a solid 20+ minutes for the bread to arrive. The pimento cheese, while good had way too much sugar and the bread was cold and dry. Within 2 minutes of the bread arriving (sadly, no exaggeration) our entrées arrived! No sign of our appetizer. My fried chicken was absolutely delicious, though the gravy (I asked for it on the side) had so much pepper in it (I am pepper lover) I couldn't eat it without wanting to sneeze. My mother's steak was wonderful and perfectly seasoned. The food itself, was delicious. Well executed and thoughtfully prepared. But I'd say that the kitchen has some work to do as far as timing. We weren't given the opportunity to enjoy the food that was presented. It's a beautiful restaurant, but the music they played was jumbled and inconsistent. One moment they were playing beautiful jazz classics, the next some strange current whiny tune. I found it distracting. While I'd like to try this place again, I'll do so with better expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Wonderful restaurant in historic house , downtown Winston-Salem. Within walking distance of Stephens Center, Sawtooth Gallery, Hanesbrands Theatre and Aperture Theatre. Excellent wait staff. Delicious cocktails. Way above average food. Cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. They are very responsive to food preferences and willing to alter food to respond to these. Highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Always enjoy this restaurant. Excellent food and service. The atmosphere is wonderful for a romantic dinner or conversation with friends. Would recommend it highly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This place was great, food was awesome, drinks were great, and the service was great. My wife is Vegan and they were so accommodating. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

An excellent experience with a well maintained history of the Winston Salem that" was" in history. A private residence( The Bahnson Family) in its origin, serving delightfully inspired well- portioned Southern progressive food. The Agnew Bahnson House at 450 North Spring Street was built in 1920. It now features a Cozy full service bar with a vibrant modern tone in the center of a multi-dining room beautifully preserved home. Complete with a fireplace when seasonally appropriate. Service is attentive and gracious . The menu is seasonal and even has a few delightful vegan options. Several dining experiences have exceeded anything that can be currently found within the area. In short , unique variety with great appeal for most.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Creative southern cooking - local sourcing - nice presentations

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went for restaurant week and had the quinoa tomato chili, bison meatloaf with whipped garlic mashed potatoes and creamed spinach, and bread pudding. The food was exceptional and all that for $20 made for a great value. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Recently decided to give this restaurant a second look after loving their Italian place. Very glad we did. Half price wines by the glass on Wednesdays are a nice perk.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I've been to Spring House many times and generally enjoy it. The food is good and the ambiance/set-up is nice. The wait staff always seems a little young and inexperienced...so the service can be hit or miss.

One of my pet peeves that I really wish they'd change is their fixed price menu policy. Either everyone at the table has to order it or nobody. This makes it very awkward for combinations of people...if some want to do it and some don't. I cannot, for the life of me, figure out the reason for the policy, either. They stuck to this policy even with the restaurant week $20 menu offering...and the 3-course fixed price was cheaper than any entree. Why would it have hurt the restaurant if someone at the tabled wanted a different (more expensive) entree?!?!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Phenomenal food, sweetbread appetizer was great, mushroom toast heavenly. Fine craft cocktails and ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.