Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

Spotted Dog Cafe

4.6
503 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
The Spotted Dog Cafe & Pub is a casual American Bistro with cozy art filled dining rooms, and a Euro-Style sidewalk Cafe. Service is relaxed...
The food is pleasing to the eye and satisfying to the palate. The cuisine is handcrafted using fresh local ingredients and homemade sauces.
Open daily for a hearty breakfast and gourmet dinner.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Daily 7:00 am–11:00 am
Dinner
Daily 5:00 pm–8:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(435) 772-0700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jeremy Hatch
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Semi private modern dining room with spectaculars views of Zion National Park. Able to accommodate up to 50 guests.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
James Wolken: (435) 772-0700
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lion Blvd.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Seasonal free shuttles throughout Springdale with access to and from every hotel, as well as world class art galleries and local shops.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 503 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

He food was great!!! Artichoke special was delicious!!! Wine suggestion was also good. We got the lamb shank, salmon, trout and shrimp and asparagus pasta. All were very good but the lamb and trout were the standouts! We split two desserts... creme brulee and a chocolate cake with ice cream. Both were phenomenal!!!! I give this establishment very high marks!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

To help enhance a visit to Zion National Park, dinner at the Spotted Dog should be part of your itinerary.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Our favorite restaurant in Springdale! Excellent menu, reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We we're outside on the patio. Lovely.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Beautiful spot close to Zion entrance -- great views to dine outside. Short ribs a notable menu item...great service and food. Very good value -- reasonable proces

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Wine list is really good, especially given its remote location. Service was great. Smoked trout, salad & duck were delicious. Only suggestion would be to offer maybe a rice w/the duck vs fingerling potatoes?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Salad, main courses and deserts are super yummy. The service is also good, especially the waiter delivered the flat bread and took our desert order. Price is reasonable for the quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

This was the best meal we had while on our two-week vacation through the Utah National Parks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

2nd night dining at this establishment during vacation. Cold, rainy night-glad we had reservations. Had crab cake appetizer(shared). Elk, bison meatloaf. I had grilled chicken with sauce not at & Parmesan. Delicious.

Watched sun go dine on mountains.

Topped off with cheesecake/topped raspberry.
Delightful evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

We had made reservations-glad we did as town crowded. Given the option eating outdoors with views of sunset and peaks. Attentive service. Extensive wine offerings. Had brie/topped orange marmalade and Granny Smith apples. Scrumptious. Pasta bundles/pear/toasted almond. Finished with lemon chiffon cake.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Fabulous dinner. Especially long, lots of physical activity in Zion NP! Three men had the wild game meatloaf and were very satisfied! Our server was outstanding, professional yet personal.
Can highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

SO impressed with the service and food here. I went with three friends and we ended up sharing everything we ordered and were basically drooling the whole time over how amazing it was. Next time I am back in Zion I will definitely stop again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Endroit charmant, service ultra rapide. Magnifique vue sur le Parc National ZION.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We were visiting Zion & wanted a nice birthday dinner with a view, good food and service. We were very happy with the romantic ambiance. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed a delicious dinner with a relaxing mountain view. All the food we had was excellent! The cheese cake is a must have dessert!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Friends had recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I love Springdale snd my favorite restaurent is the Spotted Dog. Their food is unique and healthy with many great selections. After a day of enjoying the beauty of Zion, this is the place to eat and recharge. zi love tgrir crab cakes, some of the best O have eaten. 1 of their specials was Ahi tuna with risotto cake. It was wonderful, a nice size portion. Their desserts are fantastic, the perfect ending to their food. When visiting Zion Natl Park you must eat here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Hiking Zion and what a great dining experience! We went two nights and it was equally consistent; excellent! The only thing better than the Mountain View was the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great breakfast buffet.
Great dinner menu with lots of options including lots of gluten free options. Make a reservation for dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Everything was excellent, very happy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Very nice staff and tasty food. Loved the citrus vinaigrette and the warm, soft flatbread. I never order meatloaf but I was curious. Really enjoyed it. Thanks Freddy and Jerey for your fine service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Absolutely delicious. We ate there two out of our three nights in Zion. Food was great! Service was excellent...not too attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The red trout was outstanding and not a bone in sight!
Dessert menu is also worth a shout. Make reservations if you know you're going on a weekend. It was very busy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Wonderful fillet steak, maybe the best I have ever had. Great wine selection. They were very accommodating to our dietary needs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Nice place. Good service and food. Worth the visit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

A very nice, low-key place with good food and friendly ambiance. We tried the meatloaf, the ribs and the trout. Each dish was sizable and tasty. The service was friendly and the view hard to beat. A higher-end restaurant than most in Springdale, but still casual enough that you can eat here after a day of hiking or dress up for the evening and not feel out of place. There's an indoor, large dining room and a terrace for those who want to eat outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

This place is fabulous. The lamb shank and the duck were spot on. Best dining we have had in Utah.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The dinner her was the culinary highlight of our Zion trip. After a less than stellar dinner experience at another Springdale restaurant the night before, it was refreshing to discover this place. The food (our party had salad, salmon, duck breast, pasta with marinara and dessert) was either 9 or 10 out of 10 (definitely get the duck breast). Our server, Anna, was very friendly, engaged, attentive and welcoming. I can’t recommend this place enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Food was excellent and service was outstanding. We had the pear and ricotta pasta, trout and lamb shank. All were delicious! Extensive wine list available too. Our server was very helpful in entree selections. Patio dining was so relaxing with beautiful views of the red cliffs in the setting sun.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Very good food and efficient service

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food was ok, the service was AWFUL. We waited to give our drink order, again to place our food order, and than waited even longer for our food as the people next to us were seated (after us), served and departed. We waited so long for our food that a server brought the dessert tray to our table asking if we wanted to make a dessert selection and we told him that we'd like our entrees first. After we finished our meal, we waited again for someone to come back and take our plates. And than we waited even longer for our check and again for someone to come back to run our credit card.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Great friendly and quick service. Good was awesome. We had smoked trout appetizer, duck breast, salad with beats and mushrooms. Excellent on all fronts!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Traveling to national parks for spring break and was glad to be able to have a reservation somewhere. Service pleasant food fine but an entirely unremarkable dining experience overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

I brought my in-laws from France to this restaurant. I really did not know what to expect, but they loved it. It was a great way to end our visit to Zion. Great food and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Enjoyed Spotted Dog twice in three days. Lovely table linens, Frette napkins,; attentive, friendly servers. First visit, tolerable noise; second visit, unable to talk with my table mate. (Well, it was St. Parrick’s day.) Excellent cuisine, well-presented.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

We were there for my wife's 70th birthday and was nice but not what we had expected. Her steak was very good but my garden burger was less than stellar. The price was high for the area and what we got and will probably not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed my salmon dish and French onion soup appetizer. My husband had the bison meatloaf and have it high reviews.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Not quite as enjoyable as the first time I went. Decent food. Wine selection is nice but a bit pricey.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Just outside Zion so bit of a captive audience. 1st courses were excellent but trout was dry and meatloaf not a thriller. Wines were shockingly overpriced. Preparations described were sophisticated so should have great but was medium

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We understand it was only the second day of being back open after a 3 month hiatus. Both our main dishes, salmon and pasta were over cooked. Dessert was sub part. Best part of the evening was the company and the wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We dined here for New Years Eve dinner. The ahi was fabulous and so was their filet mignon/shrimp special. Our waitress was very responsive to our request to pace the meal, and the timing was perfect - never rushed. We ate early so there was still some light on the canyon walls that added to the ambiance. Would definitely return on our next trip to Zion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Great food and great service! Our waitress on Christmas Day was excellent. We enjoyed the food and service so much that we went back again on December 27.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13