About Spotted Dog Cafe

428 Zion Park Blvd
Springdale, UT 84767
View Larger Map

The Spotted Dog Cafe & Pub is a casual American Bistro with cozy art filled dining rooms, and a Euro-Style sidewalk Cafe. Service is relaxed...
The food is pleasing to the eye and satisfying to the palate. The cuisine is handcrafted using fresh local ingredients and homemade sauces.
Open daily for a hearty breakfast and gourmet dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7 Days a Week : 7:00am - 11am
Dinner: 7 Nights a Week : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Lion Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 772-0700

Website:
http://www.zion-national-park-flanigans.com/Dog/index.html

Public Transit:
Seasonal free shuttles throughout Springdale with access to and from every hotel, as well as world class art galleries and local shops.

Executive Chef:
Robert Teta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private modern dining room with spectaculars views of Zion National Park. Able to accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
James Wolken: 4357720700x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spotted Dog Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Utah
Most Booked
Southwest Utah
Best Restaurants in Springdale (Zion National Park) ›

Scenic View (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Romantic (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great views from the dining room in the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great views from the dining room in the rear. Lamb shank was delicious. Service was very good. Good menu selection.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wouldn't eat here again. The steaks wer ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wouldn't eat here again. The steaks were so over-seasoned, they burned our mouths. Plus, one steak was overcooked and the other was full of fat and gristle. Lamb always comes with mint jelly but not at this place. It came with a brown sauce. The potatoes served with the lamb came out cold. And, the waiter didn't know what "au jus" was to accompany the steak!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing view from front outdoor dining. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing view from front outdoor dining. Had dinner there x2 of 3 nights. My husband ordered their smoked trout and elk/buffalo meatloaf both nights as it was well presented, delicious and incl. healthy vegetables. I can't say the same about their Cesar salad - pale chopped lettuce with dry bread squares. Was offered anchovies to go with it and an extra charge was on our bill for 2 tiny fillets. We loved our visit and in spite of the up charge for anchovies the restaurant offers a good value considering location, popularity and excellent staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Recommend reservations. We were warmly g ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

Recommend reservations. We were warmly greeted by manager. Staff was prompt and attentive. Our waiter was very sweet and helpful. Food was excellent and great one list. Second visit and we will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. After a full day of hikin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding. After a full day of hiking in Zion, then a comfortable dinner. Casual dining, great atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. We loved the outdoor ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great atmosphere. We loved the outdoor dining. The service was super friendly and efficient. Dishes were explained well, staff not afraid to make recommendations. Extra bread offered and drinks refilled without asking. We opted for Shrimp with Pasta and Meatballs and Spaghetti, both delicious, wth generous portions. Crème Brulee was outstanding.

Went to Breakfast Buffet twice-reasonable, well prepared, especially the eggs, good variety, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, etc. Only thing I would add is toast!

Would go back again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food! The lamb shank was as ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding food! The lamb shank was as good as any I've ever had. This would have been a 5-star overall experience however our server forgot our order (there were 4 in our party) and had to come back to the table to ask for our order again. This was the only flaw in our evening. Otherwise outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Negatives-felt they were very stingy wit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Negatives-felt they were very stingy with the amount of wine we got. Bread on table was awful and we asked for some other bread for dipping, which we got..Our seating outside was in a parking lot with bugs and bees around and I would not recommend outside seating.

Positives- lots of choices for lighter bites as well as main courses. Mushroom appetizer was delicious, which is why we wanted decent bread to dip with. My salad, which I asked to be made with Romaine lettuce rather then mixed greens was very good. My friend's tuna was excellent. Service was good.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We enjoyed the Mexican selection Outdoor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We enjoyed the Mexican selection

Outdoor dining overlooking great Zion landscape

Tags: Scenic View, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice food was very good

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Very nice food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. The server was indiff ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was good. The server was indifferent. He seemed most interested in getting us out of there as quickly as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Spotted Dog Cafe. This is a well run establishment with very good food. We enjoyed dinner very much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable restaurant with friendly ser ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Comfortable restaurant with friendly service, good menu with interesting specials and oustanding views. Have been many times bbefore and would happily recommend to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful restaurant in Springdale Utah ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful restaurant in Springdale Utah just outside Zion National Park. We ate outside with nice views but noticed they also have large indoor restaurant. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Service was excellent. We enjoyed everything we had (mozzarella and heirloom tomatoes, red trout, chicken mornay and Creme brûlée for dessert. Reasonably priced. Highly recommend if you are visiting Springdale.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent deserts. Libby was excellent. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Excellent deserts. Libby was excellent. Very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our food was excellent: meat loaf and t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Our food was excellent: meat loaf and trout. Large portions, well-cooked, and great service. The ambiance was very nice. We were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very convenient for dining after ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

It was very convenient for dining after our Zion hike!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten here many times and the fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have eaten here many times and the food has always been of highest quality. We visit Zion National Park often and always eat at the Spotted Dog Cafe. Excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Possibly one of the best restaurants in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Possibly one of the best restaurants in Springdale. So delicious and we were extremely in awe of the wine list.

I got the ribs and truffle fries and was blown away at the quality. They turned a run of the mill dish into something gourmet. 10/10 will come back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I liked the relaxed feel of this restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I liked the relaxed feel of this restaurant. Great service without too much hovering - they kept the water glasses filled which is important to us. The food was excellent and a nice change from the other places in this area which are mainly focused on burgers and Mexican options. My ahi tuna was perfectly cooked and paired well with the risotto cake and vegetables. My husband had the lamb shank - also tasty and cooked to perfection. The wine list has many options, and while some selections were on the expensive side there were plenty of reasonably priced options. The lemon cake dessert was light and not too sweet - a good way to end our meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience just outside of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great dining experience just outside of Zion National Park. We made reservations and our table (with a nice view) was ready when we arrived. Creative cocktails and great menu, we had the trout and lamb shank, Both were wonderful! Staff was very attentive, we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was ok but breakfast the next mor ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Dinner was ok but breakfast the next morning outside before the sun was too bright was awesome!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and wonderful food. Was r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great service and wonderful food. Was recommended to try it and we were glad we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place to relax and dine before or ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lovely place to relax and dine before or after a day hiking Zion National Park. Great choice of menu options, many beer choices and extensive wine list. Staff is attentive and friendly. Great views of the park from the restaurant. Casual enough for families but still good choice for couples.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We've gotten much better meals elsewhere ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We've gotten much better meals elsewhere in Springdale. We left Spotted Dog feeling ripped off. Beware of ordering drinks without confirming the price with your waiter. Each of our margaritas were $12 (other restaurants charge $6-$7 per drink) because the restaurant "added Patron" to our drinks/bill without notifying us and upcharged us! These Patron margaritas don't taste any different than the ones from other restaurants either. The food was passably good. There's nothing worse than leaving a restaurant feeling gouged, though. You'll be a lot happier at the Bit & Spur and Oscar's. Overall, Springdale has great dining options and amazing views everywhere.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Very nice restaurant located in northend ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very nice restaurant located in northend of Springdale. Food was acceptable but waiter could have been more attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was not great. Felt rushed and u ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was not great. Felt rushed and uncomfortable. Staff needs better training. Food was good but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We had a wonderful meal on our last nigh ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a wonderful meal on our last night of vacation at Scion. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Anna, was a delight. We had ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our server, Anna, was a delight. We had a great time chatting with her. The food and wine list was excellent, as well. We will definitely be eating here again if our travels bring us back to Springdale and Zion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Popular in town dining spot Food was fre ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Popular in town dining spot

Food was fresh and good but nothing to write home about

Hostess had an attitude and was dismissive which set the tone of my personal dining experience

When in Springdale visiting Zion national park this place was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious fresh ingredients food. The g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious fresh ingredients food. The glazed Salmon was among the best I ever tasted. Great views of he mountains outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The flat bread was good, and came with a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The flat bread was good, and came with a tasty sauce of tomato, olive oil, roasted garlic, and one other ingredient that I can't recall. Also had a ceasar salad that was very fresh and had a good dressing on it. The pumpkin seed encrusted red trout was very good and the portion size was excellent. The wild game meatloaf was fantastic--I'd definitely have it again, as would both of my kids. The spaghetti with meatballs was disappointing, especially for the price. I'd certainly recommend this place for the meatloaf and trout, though.

Service was attentive, but not overbearing.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Probably our best meal during our time a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Probably our best meal during our time at Zion. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our experience with the Spotted Dog was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our experience with the Spotted Dog was for a birthday. From the moment we arrived our server Jessie was outstanding. She was helpful with our menu choices & made our experience a memorable one. Loved the ambience

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! Recommended by Zion shuttle ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What a find! Recommended by Zion shuttle driver. Beautiful and delicious! Nice wine list and a couple of good craft beers. Loved it!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food at reasonable prices, especial ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Good food at reasonable prices, especially for a resort area. Nice ambiance. I would consider it upscale casual dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant experience was great. Ou ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The restaurant experience was great. Our waitress was very attentive and had provided good direction on a perfect wine pairing. The food was excellent, a surprise given we were staying at the inn. The pork chop special was killer and even my daughter's spagetti and meatballs were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Food Great Wine List

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Very good food at reasonable price. Our party had the trout and the wild game meatloaf. Both were excellent and came with starch and vegetable. The wine list is 16 pages and has good selections from all the world's wine regions. We had a pinotage from S. Africa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful patio. Good food. Wished servi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful patio. Good food. Wished service was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

I had the barbecued short ribs and my wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had the barbecued short ribs and my wife had the pumpkinseed crusted trout - both were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.