Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Spotted Dog Cafe

The Spotted Dog Cafe & Pub is a casual American Bistro with cozy art filled dining rooms, and a Euro-Style sidewalk Cafe. Service is relaxed...
The food is pleasing to the eye and satisfying to the palate. The cuisine is handcrafted using fresh local ingredients and homemade sauces.
Open daily for a hearty breakfast and gourmet dinner.

428 Zion Park Blvd
Springdale, UT 84767
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7 Days a Week : 7:00am - 11am
Dinner: 7 Nights a Week : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Lion Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 772-0700

Website:
http://www.zion-national-park-flanigans.com/Dog/index.html

Public Transit:
Seasonal free shuttles throughout Springdale with access to and from every hotel, as well as world class art galleries and local shops.

Executive Chef:
Robert Teta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private modern dining room with spectaculars views of Zion National Park. Able to accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
James Wolken: (435) 772-0700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spotted Dog Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Cozy (6)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Romantic (2)
 (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
 (1)
Fun (1)
 (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (0)
Sort By:
S
308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined 5 days ago

We requested our salmon be cooked medium rare but got well done. Very disappointed!☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful restaurant!! The food was excellent. I am a stickler to my steak cooked the way I want.. medium rare. It was perfect!! My wife ordered the trout and completely loved it. The service was great. Anna our server is an asset to this restaurant, she was gorgeous inside and out and knew everything about the food. Yes we loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Just outside Zion National Park is an absolutely wonderful place, small menu, large wine list, everything delicious. The desserts are even better than the entrees. Considering the remote location, there is no reason to dine anywhere else within 25 miles.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I am afraid that this place simply doesn't cut it. Soup was cold, and when it was sent back to be reheated it was colder. The main was poor: bad cuts of meat and overcooked tepid rice. Much better places around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

we ate here twice during our trip to Zion on both occasions the food and service excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We are staying at the Flanigans Inn located on the same property so walking to dinner was nice. I had the filet that was prepared perfectly and my daughter had the lamb shank which was also spectacular. The portions are on the large side. Dessert selection was great, we had the cream Brule which did not disappoint. We will definately return. The wine list is huge and a good many are available by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We very much enjoy the atmosphere and fine dining experience. The servers are particularly engaging and pleasant. We visit Zion once every five years or so and continue to come back to The Spotted Dog.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We eat at the Spotted Dog whenever we go to Springdale. The food is delicious and fresh. They always have a special that is unique. We love it!

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food and location were phenomenal. The service wasn't great. Overall good experience.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and wine. Our server Jess is very knowledgeable and gave us many good suggestions, highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Everything was just great, food, service, ambiance. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was good and our waitress was very knowledgeable. We were disappointed in where we were seated. There is a main dining room with a fireplace that is a much nicer space. We were seated near the door to the kitchen. Not much ambiance, considering I made the reservations over a month ago.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This restaurant used to be better. The ribeye was tasteless and not worth the money - only worth about 20 bucks but cost $39 - instead go to the Kings Landing which was awesome and down the street

Tags: Family Style, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We enjoyed our Christmas meal there, the great food and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Spotted Dog Café was a great ending to a wonderful week in Springdale, Utah and Zion National Park! The food was very yummy. The Pasta Purses with pear and ricotta cheese, sage butter sauce with slivered almonds was DELICIOUS!
It was funny watching the lovely waiter look at her reflection in the window next to our table as she explained the menu!🤗

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food is just okay. Nothing fancy in the plates... the pomodoro pasta were watery, the southwest chicken was okay and the Guinness BBQ ribs were good (not the fries...). It was too pricey for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Only tried for breakfast. We went there both mornings we were at Zion. Granola stuffed pancakes are fabulous! The only complaint I had was the blast of cold air we would get when someone came in! Wear warms clothes. GREAT place for breakfast!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great meatloaf and light fish. Loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Met with 2 people from Pittsburgh. I'd worked with one of them but had never met. This was an opportunity to met her and her spouse and to share our part of the county with them. They absolutely loved Zion and the Spotted Dog. They came back to the restaurant for another meal before they left. They will be back and will share their experience with others in Pittsburgh. Thanks for making their visit special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious and the service and ambience was great.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in Zion. We dined at Spotted Dog our second night at Zion and we enjoyed it so much that we spent another evening there! The food was fabulous and the staff very attentive. The amazing food was very reasonably priced - another plus. Highly recommended!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food option among the many in Springdale. The food is similar to home cooking - not super fancy but hearty and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

First night in Springdale/Zion - delicious, surprising, and reasonable!
I found this place recommended, booked it, and hubby and I were very glad we did.
Attentive, smart staff, great varied menu, and local finer art-filled decor with views of the red mountains of Zion either inside or on covered patios. Took a chance on crabcakes and they were XLNT, placed on a two-color sauce. I opted for wild game meat loaf perched on a rustic mashed potato and light gravy mountain, plus broccolini! Spouse had the slow roast lamb shank and loved it. Chencho, our guy, was polite and knowledgeable, and even the young woman who gave us dessert options was professional and lovely to deal with. Congrats to the owners for running such a great find. Canyon Vista Lodge may have tipped us off to come here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We ate here every night while visiting Zion! Loved the excellent menu and service. Lovely environment and large size. Resv were easy on Open Table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Really outstanding food as usual. Have eaten here every time I visit Zion and am never disappointed. Very creative chef, and a nice atmosphere to relax in after a day in the National Park.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great service and surprisingly good food, given how far off the beaten path Springdale is. Fair prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We reserved a table for our 29th anniversary, was very busy, but the minute we walked in the door our table was ready, they had acozy table in the back against the big windows and next to the fireplace, service was great and the food was amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We both had the trout and Caesar salad which were great! Wonderful ambience and a charming waitress made our experience very enjoyable. We sat in the back room which is smaller and quieter than the front area where the bar is. Would definitely return if we find ourselves in Springdale again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I didn't care for the cosmo martini. Stick with a glass of wine.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent last minute choice. The staff was very accommodating to our last minute reservation.
The food was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 17, 2016

After a long day of hiking we enjoyed fine drinks and an excellent dinner only a few steps from our lodging--it doesn't get any easier or better than that. And the next morning we enjoyed a great buffet breakfast and very friendly and personable staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The Spotted Dog was a welcoming place for a weary pair of day hikers. Located just outside Zion National Park it provided excellent food, service, and ambiance without being stuffy or pretentious. Everyone was upbeat and inviting. The service was only surpassed by the quality of the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Red trout was good but a little dry; wild game meatloaf very tasty with rich sauce; ceasar salad just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great spot in Springdale. Fantastic view. Creative superb food. Brownie cake dessert best ever.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food, one of the best places in town. The real gem is Kate the waitress. She was attentive and friendly. I watched as she bounced from table to table filling water, offering suggestions, and generally creating a welcoming experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great location and kind staff. We were seated quickly which was a plus. It seemed like the cafe didn't quite have their identity down. Menu didn't have any particular theme, confusing decor. I found the options overpriced for the quality. You have to pay even to add cheese to your burger. The "American cheese" was looked like a piece of the orange Kraft stuff from kids lunches.

Great place for convenience and beautiful scenery, but didn't live up to my expectations.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great meal and atmosphere! A special meal type place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We arrived about 30 minutes early for our reservation, we were seated no problem.
The staff were efficient and friendly. The apple,chicken,curry soup delicious. The red trout entree good but skin could have been crispier. We cut the fish away from the skin. It was tasty and flakey.
But, the soup although good, it was filling as it was a large bowl. We found the large portion of the fish and rice entree too much.
I saw salads that were served they seemed large.
However for taste I would recommend.
One main complaint we felt we should have asked for more time as the food courses were served very quickly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Good food, friendly service in beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I've dined all over the country and this was just an absolutely fabulous experience all around. First, it's a well-appointed structure in a gorgeous setting. Terrific views. Our waiter couldn't have been nicer or more attentive. Great menu. Excellent food. A wine list second to none. We were seated at 7pm and enjoyed ourselves so much we closed the place down - literally. The chairs were turned upside down on the other tables and they were vacuuming the place! What more can I say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.