About Spotted Dog Cafe

428 Zion Park Blvd
Springdale, UT 84767
View Larger Map

The Spotted Dog Cafe & Pub is a casual American Bistro with cozy art filled dining rooms, and a Euro-Style sidewalk Cafe. Service is relaxed...
The food is pleasing to the eye and satisfying to the palate. The cuisine is handcrafted using fresh local ingredients and homemade sauces.
Open daily for a hearty breakfast and gourmet dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7 Days a Week : 7:00am - 11am
Dinner: 7 Nights a Week : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Lion Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 772-0700

Website:
http://www.zion-national-park-flanigans.com/Dog/index.html

Public Transit:
Seasonal free shuttles throughout Springdale with access to and from every hotel, as well as world class art galleries and local shops.

Executive Chef:
Robert Teta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private modern dining room with spectaculars views of Zion National Park. Able to accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
James Wolken: 4357720700x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spotted Dog Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Romantic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fireplace (5)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
292 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is just okay. Nothing fancy in the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food is just okay. Nothing fancy in the plates... the pomodoro pasta were watery, the southwest chicken was okay and the Guinness BBQ ribs were good (not the fries...). It was too pricey for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Only tried for breakfast. We went there ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Only tried for breakfast. We went there both mornings we were at Zion. Granola stuffed pancakes are fabulous! The only complaint I had was the blast of cold air we would get when someone came in! Wear warms clothes. GREAT place for breakfast!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meatloaf and light fish. Loved the ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great meatloaf and light fish. Loved the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Met with 2 people from Pittsburgh. I'd ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Met with 2 people from Pittsburgh. I'd worked with one of them but had never met. This was an opportunity to met her and her spouse and to share our part of the county with them. They absolutely loved Zion and the Spotted Dog. They came back to the restaurant for another meal before they left. They will be back and will share their experience with others in Pittsburgh. Thanks for making their visit special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the service a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious and the service and ambience was great.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated our wedding ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in Zion. We dined at Spotted Dog our second night at Zion and we enjoyed it so much that we spent another evening there! The food was fabulous and the staff very attentive. The amazing food was very reasonably priced - another plus. Highly recommended!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food option among the many in Spri ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great food option among the many in Springdale. The food is similar to home cooking - not super fancy but hearty and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First night in Springdale/Zion - delicio ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

First night in Springdale/Zion - delicious, surprising, and reasonable!

I found this place recommended, booked it, and hubby and I were very glad we did.

Attentive, smart staff, great varied menu, and local finer art-filled decor with views of the red mountains of Zion either inside or on covered patios. Took a chance on crabcakes and they were XLNT, placed on a two-color sauce. I opted for wild game meat loaf perched on a rustic mashed potato and light gravy mountain, plus broccolini! Spouse had the slow roast lamb shank and loved it. Chencho, our guy, was polite and knowledgeable, and even the young woman who gave us dessert options was professional and lovely to deal with. Congrats to the owners for running such a great find. Canyon Vista Lodge may have tipped us off to come here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate here every night while visiting Z ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We ate here every night while visiting Zion! Loved the excellent menu and service. Lovely environment and large size. Resv were easy on Open Table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really outstanding food as usual. Have ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Really outstanding food as usual. Have eaten here every time I visit Zion and am never disappointed. Very creative chef, and a nice atmosphere to relax in after a day in the National Park.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and surprisingly good food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great service and surprisingly good food, given how far off the beaten path Springdale is. Fair prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We reserved a table for our 29th anniver ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We reserved a table for our 29th anniversary, was very busy, but the minute we walked in the door our table was ready, they had acozy table in the back against the big windows and next to the fireplace, service was great and the food was amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We both had the trout and Caesar salad w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We both had the trout and Caesar salad which were great! Wonderful ambience and a charming waitress made our experience very enjoyable. We sat in the back room which is smaller and quieter than the front area where the bar is. Would definitely return if we find ourselves in Springdale again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I didn't care for the cosmo martini. St ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I didn't care for the cosmo martini. Stick with a glass of wine.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent last minute choice. The staff ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent last minute choice. The staff was very accommodating to our last minute reservation.

The food was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

After a long day of hiking we enjoyed fi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 17, 2016

After a long day of hiking we enjoyed fine drinks and an excellent dinner only a few steps from our lodging--it doesn't get any easier or better than that. And the next morning we enjoyed a great buffet breakfast and very friendly and personable staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Spotted Dog was a welcoming place fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The Spotted Dog was a welcoming place for a weary pair of day hikers. Located just outside Zion National Park it provided excellent food, service, and ambiance without being stuffy or pretentious. Everyone was upbeat and inviting. The service was only surpassed by the quality of the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red trout was good but a little dry; wil ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Red trout was good but a little dry; wild game meatloaf very tasty with rich sauce; ceasar salad just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great spot in Springdale. Fantastic vie ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great spot in Springdale. Fantastic view. Creative superb food. Brownie cake dessert best ever.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, one of the best places in to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food, one of the best places in town. The real gem is Kate the waitress. She was attentive and friendly. I watched as she bounced from table to table filling water, offering suggestions, and generally creating a welcoming experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great location and kind staff. We were s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great location and kind staff. We were seated quickly which was a plus. It seemed like the cafe didn't quite have their identity down. Menu didn't have any particular theme, confusing decor. I found the options overpriced for the quality. You have to pay even to add cheese to your burger. The "American cheese" was looked like a piece of the orange Kraft stuff from kids lunches.

Great place for convenience and beautiful scenery, but didn't live up to my expectations.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great meal and atmosphere! A special mea ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great meal and atmosphere! A special meal type place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We arrived about 30 minutes early for ou ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We arrived about 30 minutes early for our reservation, we were seated no problem.

The staff were efficient and friendly. The apple,chicken,curry soup delicious. The red trout entree good but skin could have been crispier. We cut the fish away from the skin. It was tasty and flakey.

But, the soup although good, it was filling as it was a large bowl. We found the large portion of the fish and rice entree too much.

I saw salads that were served they seemed large.

However for taste I would recommend.

One main complaint we felt we should have asked for more time as the food courses were served very quickly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food, friendly service in beautiful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Good food, friendly service in beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined all over the country and this ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

I've dined all over the country and this was just an absolutely fabulous experience all around. First, it's a well-appointed structure in a gorgeous setting. Terrific views. Our waiter couldn't have been nicer or more attentive. Great menu. Excellent food. A wine list second to none. We were seated at 7pm and enjoyed ourselves so much we closed the place down - literally. The chairs were turned upside down on the other tables and they were vacuuming the place! What more can I say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was better than what I had expe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The food was better than what I had expected! The service was excellent and the entire dining experience was fantastic. I can not wait to visit Springdale again so that I may dine at the Spotted Dog Cafe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list, food was excellent

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Great wine list, food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Loved the food. Art and views were beaut ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Loved the food. Art and views were beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun, friendly and fresh! Great food and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Fun, friendly and fresh! Great food and service in gorgeous Zion Canyon.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Spotted Dog in Springdale Utah is an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The Spotted Dog in Springdale Utah is an excellent upscale restaurant basically across the street from the entrance to Zion National Park. Therefore the views are amazing. This is a great place to dine if you want to treat yourself after a day of hiking at the fantastic National Park. My husband had the Ahi Tuna and I had the sea bass so we could share. The creme brûlée was as promised by other reviewers...delicious.

The service was terrific. The place is large and many folks were eating outdoors so inside (where we were) was nice and quiet. We had an excellent and enjoyable meal in the beautiful surroundings of the room and the park.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Given that Spotted Dog is in Springvale, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Given that Spotted Dog is in Springvale, Utah, at the threshold of Zion National Park, it features a pretty sophisticated menu. And the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great views from the dining room in the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great views from the dining room in the rear. Lamb shank was delicious. Service was very good. Good menu selection.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wouldn't eat here again. The steaks wer ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Wouldn't eat here again. The steaks were so over-seasoned, they burned our mouths. Plus, one steak was overcooked and the other was full of fat and gristle. Lamb always comes with mint jelly but not at this place. It came with a brown sauce. The potatoes served with the lamb came out cold. And, the waiter didn't know what "au jus" was to accompany the steak!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing view from front outdoor dining. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Amazing view from front outdoor dining. Had dinner there x2 of 3 nights. My husband ordered their smoked trout and elk/buffalo meatloaf both nights as it was well presented, delicious and incl. healthy vegetables. I can't say the same about their Cesar salad - pale chopped lettuce with dry bread squares. Was offered anchovies to go with it and an extra charge was on our bill for 2 tiny fillets. We loved our visit and in spite of the up charge for anchovies the restaurant offers a good value considering location, popularity and excellent staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Recommend reservations. We were warmly g ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Recommend reservations. We were warmly greeted by manager. Staff was prompt and attentive. Our waiter was very sweet and helpful. Food was excellent and great one list. Second visit and we will be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding. After a full day of hikin ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding. After a full day of hiking in Zion, then a comfortable dinner. Casual dining, great atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. We loved the outdoor ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great atmosphere. We loved the outdoor dining. The service was super friendly and efficient. Dishes were explained well, staff not afraid to make recommendations. Extra bread offered and drinks refilled without asking. We opted for Shrimp with Pasta and Meatballs and Spaghetti, both delicious, wth generous portions. Crème Brulee was outstanding.

Went to Breakfast Buffet twice-reasonable, well prepared, especially the eggs, good variety, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, etc. Only thing I would add is toast!

Would go back again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food! The lamb shank was as ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding food! The lamb shank was as good as any I've ever had. This would have been a 5-star overall experience however our server forgot our order (there were 4 in our party) and had to come back to the table to ask for our order again. This was the only flaw in our evening. Otherwise outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Negatives-felt they were very stingy wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Negatives-felt they were very stingy with the amount of wine we got. Bread on table was awful and we asked for some other bread for dipping, which we got..Our seating outside was in a parking lot with bugs and bees around and I would not recommend outside seating.

Positives- lots of choices for lighter bites as well as main courses. Mushroom appetizer was delicious, which is why we wanted decent bread to dip with. My salad, which I asked to be made with Romaine lettuce rather then mixed greens was very good. My friend's tuna was excellent. Service was good.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.