About Spotted Dog Cafe

428 Zion Park Blvd
Springdale, UT 84767
View Larger Map

The Spotted Dog Cafe & Pub is a casual American Bistro with cozy art filled dining rooms, and a Euro-Style sidewalk Cafe. Service is relaxed...
The food is pleasing to the eye and satisfying to the palate. The cuisine is handcrafted using fresh local ingredients and homemade sauces.
Open daily for a hearty breakfast and gourmet dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7 Days a Week : 7:00am - 11am
Dinner: 7 Nights a Week : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Lion Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 772-0700

Website:
http://www.zion-national-park-flanigans.com/Dog/index.html

Public Transit:
Seasonal free shuttles throughout Springdale with access to and from every hotel, as well as world class art galleries and local shops.

Executive Chef:
Robert Teta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private modern dining room with spectaculars views of Zion National Park. Able to accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
James Wolken: 4357720700x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Spotted Dog Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Utah
Most Booked
Southwest Utah
Best Restaurants in Springdale (Zion National Park) ›

scenic view (49)
fit for foodies (44)
great for outdoor dining (41)
See All
neighborhood gem (29)
notable wine list (27)
special occasion (26)
romantic (20)
good for groups (14)
hot spot (12)
kid-friendly (11)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and wonderful food. Was r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and wonderful food. Was recommended to try it and we were glad we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place to relax and dine before or ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lovely place to relax and dine before or after a day hiking Zion National Park. Great choice of menu options, many beer choices and extensive wine list. Staff is attentive and friendly. Great views of the park from the restaurant. Casual enough for families but still good choice for couples.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We've gotten much better meals elsewhere ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We've gotten much better meals elsewhere in Springdale. We left Spotted Dog feeling ripped off. Beware of ordering drinks without confirming the price with your waiter. Each of our margaritas were $12 (other restaurants charge $6-$7 per drink) because the restaurant "added Patron" to our drinks/bill without notifying us and upcharged us! These Patron margaritas don't taste any different than the ones from other restaurants either. The food was passably good. There's nothing worse than leaving a restaurant feeling gouged, though. You'll be a lot happier at the Bit & Spur and Oscar's. Overall, Springdale has great dining options and amazing views everywhere.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Very nice restaurant located in northend ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very nice restaurant located in northend of Springdale. Food was acceptable but waiter could have been more attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was not great. Felt rushed and u ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was not great. Felt rushed and uncomfortable. Staff needs better training. Food was good but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We had a wonderful meal on our last nigh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a wonderful meal on our last night of vacation at Scion. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Anna, was a delight. We had ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our server, Anna, was a delight. We had a great time chatting with her. The food and wine list was excellent, as well. We will definitely be eating here again if our travels bring us back to Springdale and Zion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Popular in town dining spot Food was fre ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Popular in town dining spot

Food was fresh and good but nothing to write home about

Hostess had an attitude and was dismissive which set the tone of my personal dining experience

When in Springdale visiting Zion national park this place was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious fresh ingredients food. The g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Delicious fresh ingredients food. The glazed Salmon was among the best I ever tasted. Great views of he mountains outside.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The flat bread was good, and came with a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The flat bread was good, and came with a tasty sauce of tomato, olive oil, roasted garlic, and one other ingredient that I can't recall. Also had a ceasar salad that was very fresh and had a good dressing on it. The pumpkin seed encrusted red trout was very good and the portion size was excellent. The wild game meatloaf was fantastic--I'd definitely have it again, as would both of my kids. The spaghetti with meatballs was disappointing, especially for the price. I'd certainly recommend this place for the meatloaf and trout, though.

Service was attentive, but not overbearing.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Probably our best meal during our time a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Probably our best meal during our time at Zion. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our experience with the Spotted Dog was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our experience with the Spotted Dog was for a birthday. From the moment we arrived our server Jessie was outstanding. She was helpful with our menu choices & made our experience a memorable one. Loved the ambience

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! Recommended by Zion shuttle ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What a find! Recommended by Zion shuttle driver. Beautiful and delicious! Nice wine list and a couple of good craft beers. Loved it!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Good food at reasonable prices, especial ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Good food at reasonable prices, especially for a resort area. Nice ambiance. I would consider it upscale casual dining.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant experience was great. Ou ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The restaurant experience was great. Our waitress was very attentive and had provided good direction on a perfect wine pairing. The food was excellent, a surprise given we were staying at the inn. The pork chop special was killer and even my daughter's spagetti and meatballs were great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Food Great Wine List

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Very good food at reasonable price. Our party had the trout and the wild game meatloaf. Both were excellent and came with starch and vegetable. The wine list is 16 pages and has good selections from all the world's wine regions. We had a pinotage from S. Africa.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful patio. Good food. Wished servi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful patio. Good food. Wished service was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

I had the barbecued short ribs and my wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I had the barbecued short ribs and my wife had the pumpkinseed crusted trout - both were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had two wonderful meals and the servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had two wonderful meals and the service was perfect!

We had clams as a starter and both of us ordered the trout!

Everything came out hot and presentation was very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food in a pleasant atmosphere. The ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food in a pleasant atmosphere. The view from the rear of the dining area is better than up front. Our waiter was a bit stand-offish, but otherwise we had a pleasant experience. Restaurants tend to be a little pricey in this tourist type town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic every time!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We've eaten here several times for dinner and breakfast. This trip we had dinner three nights in a row. The Spotted Dog never disappoints! Fabulous staff, wonderfully interesting food and fantastic wine list!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual fine dining

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Perfect place to enjoy a relaxing dinner after a day of hiking in Zion!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five of us ate there. One trout..... Fab ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Five of us ate there. One trout..... Fabulous. I ordered the tuna. It comes blackened. Which I do not like.

They fixed it to order, rare . It was tender, flavorful...

Waiter was attentive and accomodating on all counts. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good value good food

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great ambience centre. Not too noisy. Lovely food. Conveniently located.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent food, service, & ambiance. We ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food, service, & ambiance. We had eaten there before & had a great experience, so we chose it as the place where we would commemorate the 40th anniversary of our 1st date. It did not disappoint. We were seated quickly, served promptly & professionally, & treated to amazing food--in a quiet & picturesque setting. A very special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server, Katelyn, was absolutely wonderful. She was warm and attentive, and made our dining experience so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Great find just outside of the entrance ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great find just outside of the entrance to Zion National Park! We were really pleased with the entire evening. Our server Kate was amazing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely the most tender chicken we've ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Absolutely the most tender chicken we've ever tasted. Almost as soft as butter. Not a spot for private conversations, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Being that my wife and I had no expectat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Being that my wife and I had no expectations on our first trip to Zion, we were pleasantly surprised when we were given recommendation to dine at the Spotted Dog. The food was delicious and well prepared. The ambiance can not be beat. We will definitely dine here again. P.s. Make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

After a long day at Zion we decided to visit this local eatery. What a great choice. From the fresh salad, the flatbread, and the citrus dressing the restaurant shined. I was not expecting the fresh moist short ribs, perfectly seasoned. Such a pleasure. Truly luscious panna cotta and fresh berries topped off this meal. The service was excellent and the cocktails were perfect. Prices were very reasonable and you cannot get a view like this from anywhere except Zion. I loved the added attention by everyone that worked in this establishment.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very good. However, service ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was very good. However, service was fairly disappointing. There were some missing bottles on the wine list and we were only told so quite after having ordered. Then, the new order took a while to come. Further, we were charged with a compulsory 18% gratuity, as the waitress alleged that it was the rule in a touristic place. Eventually, in front of our request for relevant rationale, this so called mandatory percentage was cancelled and we came back to a regular rule - gratuity depending on the service and its assessment by the client ; gratuity was left anyhow.

As a summary, good food within a nice place - can be recommended for that - but holes in the wine list and a fairly weird experience regarding the service. Something should be changed on that respect, so that tourists can get a fair experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Best meatloaf ever

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant and a menu with some interesting items so we decided to check it out. We had the meatloaf made with elk and buffalo. It was the best meatloaf we've ever had. We will definitely return for the meatloaf. We also got pasta pockets filled with rocatta and apricots, served on a olive oil, sage and almond sauce. This was good and we enjoyed it but its not even close to how delicious the meatloaf is.

The acoustics of the restaurant are horrible. Every time a server spoke with guests anywhere in the same room, it seemed like the server was right next to us talking.

Overall a good restaurant but not one for a romantic evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Incredible views from outside seating in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Incredible views from outside seating in front. Great wine list. Very good selection of entrees and very reasonable pricing. Definitely would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Did not disappoint. Wonderful place!

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We booked accommodation at Flanigans Inn and since the Spotted Dog was on site, had a good sounding menu and good reviews, we thought it would be a convenient choice given that we would be arriving late. We are so glad that we made that decision! The food was delicious, the wine list was impressive and the restaurant itself was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine list rival big time Las Vegas Servi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Wine list rival big time Las Vegas

Service and food top notch

VacationingZion...??? Don't miss

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Surprise

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Wasn't expecting a large, bright and inviting restaurant by the name. Thought it was going to be a dark pub-like atmosphere. The food was excellent. I had the buffalo burger and and my husband had the elk, buffalo and beef meatloaf. Both were excellent. Very large portions. Great after a day of hiking Zion. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great find in Springdale after touring Zion!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We enjoy good food and avoid the fast food places. Spotted Dog has a great menu and my husband and I both had the crusted trout for dinner. Yummm! We lived in Seattle for over 20 years before retiring and love fish and have high expectations. The trout was wonderful. The service was great and attentive. We would be regulars here if we lived near by!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service staff was wonderful. Engaging, k ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Service staff was wonderful. Engaging, knew the menu well and welcomed as if we were neighbors. Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Spot on at the Spotted Dog

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was fresh and perfectly cooked. Menu had a nice selection and the overall experience was better than anticipated.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

From the food to the service, everything was fantastic. The desserts were delicious, the appetizers filling (Brie wedge) and our main meals on spot. Would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Zion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.