Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Spotted Dog Cafe

The Spotted Dog Cafe & Pub is a casual American Bistro with cozy art filled dining rooms, and a Euro-Style sidewalk Cafe. Service is relaxed...
The food is pleasing to the eye and satisfying to the palate. The cuisine is handcrafted using fresh local ingredients and homemade sauces.
Open daily for a hearty breakfast and gourmet dinner.

428 Zion Park Blvd
Springdale, UT 84767
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7 Days a Week : 7:00am - 11am
Dinner: 7 Nights a Week : 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Lion Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 772-0700

Website:
http://www.zion-national-park-flanigans.com/Dog/index.html

Public Transit:
Seasonal free shuttles throughout Springdale with access to and from every hotel, as well as world class art galleries and local shops.

Executive Chef:
Robert Teta

Private Party Facilities:
Semi private modern dining room with spectaculars views of Zion National Park. Able to accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
James Wolken: (435) 772-0700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spotted Dog Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (28)
Notable Wine List (26)
Casual (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (14)
Healthy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Cozy (8)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Totally disinterested server. Mediocre food for a high price. Resting on it's by gone laurels! Have come here for several years would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined 4 days ago

What a pleasant surprise to find such a nice place in the National Parks! Our server, Sebastian, was professional yet friendly. Food was great. We are very tempted to return again during our short stay in Zion. Best plate of the evening was the Smoked Trout starter. Truly fantastic. All sauces and dressings mad in-house. Tremendous wine list. And a menu that has something for everyone including vegan and gluten-free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

A great restaurant in town with exceptional views, food, service! Made our trip to Springdale worth it and very memorable.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a unique cafe with creative offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and staff. We had been traveling through out AZ and Utah for two weeks. Staying at great hotels and eating in some very nice restaurants. The Spotted Dog had great food, but the service by Anna was outstanding aspect of our visit. The very best service we received on our trip. She is a gem!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food - fresh, delicious, beautifully plated, nice options,
lovely setting with great views of surrounding cliffs
Interior well designed, spacious, spotless, good art
Great service by Jess - clear explanations, service never rushed
No background music - thank heavens - an atmosphere that lets you slow down, enjoy your company and your excellent meal

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

80's dining throwback, from menu to ambience. Food good, though disappointed that the restaurant didn't acknowledge my husband's birthday, which I not only noted on my open table reservation, but also discussed (with the table to our left in front of the waiter. Is ordering a dessert mandatory these days for a birthday wish?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Terrific spot in the heart of Zion Canyon. Great location, food and ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Waited over 15 min for waitress to acknowledge table; 3 other tables that had been seated after us were waited on. No listing of specials. When attempted to order items were told out of. Rude attitude. Forgot to bring drinks/coffee until prompted; and still didn’t bring till meal mostly done. Food was subpar, especially for cost—fish was dry, lamb was bland, “mixed” salad consisted of mostly one type of greens, and not much else; also took about 20 min. arrive at table. In short, crappy service and well below quality of food (especially for price). Would NOT recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We have been coming to Zion National Park for six years and always dine at the Spotted Dog. We have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner, but my favorite is the the trout! Request outside dining on your Open Table reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

This was a fantastic restaurant. We are at the end of week two of three week road trip and this has been the best restaurant hand down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Perfect place to watch sunset! Food was superb as was the service! Don't miss on a trip to Zion National Park!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We enjoyed a very good meal after a day of hiking in Zion. Service was very good. Our sever gave us hood suggestions for entrees We would definitely dine here again if we were in Springdale.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Had 2 excellent meals-ricotta and pear pasta pockets and rib eye with Parmesan cheese fries. Desert -an amazing chocolate brownie.
Lots of glass to view the rocks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

This is a great restaurant with a large menu. Many of the restaurants in Springdale offer Southwestern food options or sandwiches. The spotted Dog offered large selection and a good price. Don't be fooled by the modest exterior. The inside is beautiful

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Wonderful place to have a nice dinner in good company at Zion National Park. We had great service and really good food. It was really nice to move beyond the burgers, sandwiches and salads for one meal in Springdale.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2017

After eating several other places in Springdale we found this the best.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Food was fine but service felt somewhat rushed and impersonal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

What a wonderful surprise. Was skeptical because of its "tourista" location but wow it was great. Servers were friendly and knowledgeable. Menu diverse. Trout had an unique pumpkin seed crust. Pasta purses an interesting departure from the norm. There is obviously an inventive chef in the kitchen. Bravo!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We spent a week in Springdale/Zion and ate at a different restaurant every night and the Spotted Dog was by far the best in town. Enjoy Zion and give the Spotted Dog a visit!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

My husband and I were surprised when we walked in thinking it was just a cafe. I found this place on trip advisor and it met all our expectations and even went beyond. Food was fantastic. We lived In Md 28 yrs and were spoiled by having the best crab cakes ever. Their crab cakes were a close second. Loved this place. We had Chencho was our waiter and he was always wanting to make our visit a great experience. Thanks again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Awesome service and delicious food. Went herw years ago and the food was awesome as we remember it.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food, but server had an attitude and seemed like she was doing us a favor. Otherwise, the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We didn't have a great experience at The Spotted Dog. I thought because we made a reservation we would be able to sit outside but we were told if we wanted to sit outside we would have to wait another 20 minutes. They have a fairly extensive and very reasonably priced wine list but that was about the only good part of our dinner. Overall the food was mediocre, veggies were overcooked, my husband had the steak burger which he said was the worst burger he had ever had. We thought it would be a steak on a burger but it was just ground beef, over cooked and bland. Why call it a steak burger? Our server seemed disinterested in her job and we saw the friendly busboy much more than our server. I realize dining options are limited in springdale but I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our server was very kind and gave great insight into the menu. Amazing filet and braised short rib. Great clam chowder. Delicious cheesecake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was excellent. The bread dip is very tasty. I had the lamb shank which was superb. Eating on the patio you have the extraordinary view of Zion Canyon. A wonderful location with superb food and excellent service. I recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Delicious food after a long hike

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great food, accurate service and nice views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday. Two of the four people were happy with their meals, the trout and shrimp and spinach pasta. I have a garlic allergy and my options were limited. I had the little purse pasta which was so mild, to be tasteless. My husband had the lamb shank which he said was not good. The sign of a good restaurant to me, is if they are willing to make up a salad dressing without garlic, which they were not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

EXcellent service from Libby! GReat food (lamb chop lollipops and lamb shanks- mmmm!) after a long day hiking in Zion National Park-- thank you Spotted Dog!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2017

A wonderful meal well presented. Service was attentive and the menu had many creative options.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We enjoyed Spotted Dog so much we went back the next night. Reliably tasty food and fair value. Cheerful, capable, hard working staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Un bon restaurant avec une préférence pour la terrasse plus agréable et surtout plus calme. Bon cheese burger. Accueil bar pas terrible et pas de choix de cocktails.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Fresh Ingredients, wonderfully prepared. Had shrimp and asparagus over pasta with a light, flavorful sauce. My husband had '3 game meatloaf'. Would also recommend the Tuna and crab cake appy's. Service was attentive but not intrusive, and the views of Zion were spectacular. We had to go back our second night it was so good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

This was my second time eating at the Spotted Dog. The food was once again excellent and the service is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Flanigans is back. Last two visits food marginal. Now back to superb at great value like 20 years ago. Huge wine selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was excellent, the service was outstanding, and the view spectacular. The one complaint I had was that when my party of five asked for separate checks, a 20% tip was automatically added to our bills. I don't object to the percentage, I would have tipped that anyway. What I wish is that our server informed us of that when we asked for the separate checks. I was the only one in our party who noticed that the tip had already been added when our checks arrived, and I informed my friends. Was the server hoping for 40%?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is a very good brasserie style restaurant, uses good local ingredients and has a extensive wine list. Not too expensive and quite upmarket. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we returned the next evening.
Thanks to our waiter, called Jesus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Spotted Dog Cafe is a great choice when visiting the Zion National Park. The food was fresh and creative. We had the smoke trout appetizer which I highly recommend. I had the filet mignon with blue cheese which was tender and flavorful. My husband liked the trout so much that he had it as a main course over the salad. We loved the fresh nan that they served as bread. Service was excellent and the value for the meal was great.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was delicious had the pork chop special perfectly cooked, tender. Sorry I didn't get a picture, very nice presentation. Extensive wine list something for every palate.
Lemon cake for dessert wish I had a piece now. Great coffee. Nice staff great service.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.