About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: (515) 244-5686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Quiet Conversation (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Romantic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Business Meals (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Birthday dinner-from out of town. Initially had reservations at Baru 66, but switched. Went primarily for the oysters (hence the restaurant switch) and was very disappointed they were out.
Other than that, the experience was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

For restaurant week very disappointed with the entire experience. It appeared the server wanted to turn tables as quick as possible and the food so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

The food, the wine, the ambiance, and our server (Jamie) was outstanding. We have always been delighted every time we dine here. You can't go wrong. Jamie gave us the perfect level of attention-always anticipating, never intrusive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service. Special spot to come back to whenever we're in town.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

When we arrived and were shown to our table, the restaurant had decorated it with festive metallic sprinkles. We were given ample time to read the menu and make selections. We chose salmon miso which was a blend of sweet and salty spices. When the dish was presented to us, "Happy Birthday" was written in decorative lettering on our plates.
This restaurant is always a good choice for special celebrations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fantastic! The Rockefeller oysters are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

This is our favorite fish restaurant ever and worth the drive from Council Bluffs. We lived in
San Diego California for many years and they have nothing to match this restaurant. Has to be the best chef in Des Moines. Service outstanding. It was my wife's birthday celebration and, boy, did I win major brownie points.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We went to Splash to celebrate birthdays. Very accommodating. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Worth every penny. Fantastic food, great service, unique decor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our wait staff was experienced and the table set aside downstairs where it was quieter. Food was serviced in appropriate courses and hot. Pricing for seafood, specifically lobster, was way overpriced. Desserts were lovely and overall a good place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Splash was recommended very highly online and by several people. My fiance and I went there for a two year anniversary. Our service was horrible. There was long waiting time for order's, apps, and drinks. A general neglect of us as customer's. The decor hasn't been updated in 10-15 years and it shows. Food was good, but not even close to enough for the experience and price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Loved my specialty oysters & shrimp risotto. Thank you sommelier for that 'special" bottle of vino! Always enjoy the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I had such high hopes for this place! We went in on our anniversary and my husband ordered steak and was very impressed with that as well as his sides. But my tuna was disappointing and I felt like I was eating at Bikini Bottom the whole time. The ambiance definitely doesn't match the price point here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Never a disappointment. We love it here! We wouldn't change a thing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was amazing! The service was only mediocre. The waitress didn't seem invested in us as customers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The restaurants ambiance was relaxing and charming in a nautical way. Everyone including the hostess, server and manager were extremely professional. The appetizer, a chauterie was very good. The halibut and salads were fresh and delicious. The wine list was exhaustive and another professional was at hand to lend his expertise. An overall very good experience before heading across the street to see American in Paris.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great experience. Especially convenient location right across the street from the Civic Center where we were headed after dinner to see a show. The entire staff, greeters, Maitre 'd, wait staff, were very courteous and efficient. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list and made an excellent recommendation for our dinner wine. The waitress was also very good through the meal, being invisible until we had a question and then magicly right there.

Great food, cooked just right. The julienned vegetable base under the calamari was superb with a wonderful tangy spiced flavor. The grilled asparagus with my lobster was wounderfully crisp and seasoned to perfection. My wife's giant shrimp dinner and my grilled lobster were both excellently done.

All in all, a grand evening which we will repeat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We haven't been to Splash for quite awhile. We're retired folks, and can't afford to enjoy this restaurant very often. The food was wonderful. The service, not as good as we would have liked. We asked for bread and it was quite sometime before it arrived. I do like the ambiance here and we will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Truly an awesome experience! I consider Splash to be the Premier Dining Experience in Des Moines! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 11, 2017

A very eligent restaurant for those special occasions. We where there at lunch time and basically had the place to ourselves. The menu had everything we wanted or they could get it for us. Perfect!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic food! Love this place! They even decorated the table with fun confetti for my birthday!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

A pearl in the oyster! Yes, oysters in Des Moines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Have celebrated numerous anniversaries at Splash and all have been excellent. Personalized menus with the occasion at the top and the food is always superb! Fresh flown in seafood which is expertly cooked...never disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The Splash staff made for a great birthday celebration. We had a great table! They personalized the menu for the birthday guest which was a nice touch. Both the food and service were very good. Thanks for making the night memorable!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Team Dinner before Muay Thai Competition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great seafood. But, I tried to make a reservation for 9 at 5:30 and was "told" via your site that there was nothing available within two and a half hours of our requested time. We ended up not have family join us. My husband and I went at 5:30 and the place was almost empty. Wonder why they didn't want to set a table for nine? Missed out on a lot of revenue, and we missed out on a family dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Returned to this restaurant after a 15 year period. Better now than ever. Excellent well-rounded menu specializing in a wide range of seafood. Everything was fresh and well-prepared. Server was excellent. I would return to Des Moines just for the opportunity to dine here again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Though our server was very good, the food was subpar. Such a disappointment for such an expensive meal. I had grilled shrimp and asparagus. The shrimp tasted fishy and was over cooked. Not fresh! The asparagus was tasteless. The rice, uninspiring. And, that was the best part of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Took my Father for his 90th birthday and he loved it!! It was my second time and both times were excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2017

It had been a while since I had been to Splash. Excellent service, paired with a wonderful seafood menu and creative special dishes. Food arrived quickly, and was hot and tasty. Will dine there again soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent experience, everything was outstanding! My wife and I celebrated a wedding anniversary event with a great location, excellent service and attention, a outstanding meals from starters through dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Splash was our choice for celebrating our anniversary and it was the right one. We were greeted with a custom menu wishing us a happy day and a little celebratory confetti on our table. The dining room is beautiful with a number of fish tanks. Our server Taralee was attentive at just the right level. She listened to our menu requests and helped us to put together memorable dinners. Thanks to Splash for a great evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Loved it. Go there about every 2 months for special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Wonderful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was an excellent dining spot for the special birthday occasion it was selected for. It had a cozy feel with a great ambiance. The atmosphere was warm with a more mature dining clientele. The food was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent seafood, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I've only been here twice and both times I received great service and food. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very nice atmosphere. Food is outstanding. A little pricey, but we pay it for the experiences. Nice waiters and waitresses.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

have been to splash many times and usually its predictably very nice, this time my friend and i came in a bit later than usual, our waiter was brief, acted as if he was put out to wait on us, and seemed like he was just anxious for us to leave.

I won't mention his name however.
Might have been an off night for him but regardless he was rude and condescending.. Other than that the cuisine was great like usual.

Mr. Chas Leonard

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My husband and I celebrated my birthday at Splash. This a tradition each year and I look forward to it. The meal was fantastic and our service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.