About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: (515) 244-5686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Key Lime Cheesecake - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Mixed Grill - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Pan Seared Big Eye Tuna - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Creme Brulee - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Escargot - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Creole Penne - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Sesame Seared Blue Fin Tuna - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Pei Blackberry Oysters - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Chocolate Truffle Cake - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Bavarian Dark Chocolate Mousse - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Calamari And Shrimp - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Splash Mahi Mahi - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Seared Sea Scallops - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Shrimp and Calamari - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Miso Salmon - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fun (8)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Private Room (5)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1076 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice, simple, and lots of butter!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice, simple, and lots of butter!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splash is simply one of the best restaur ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

Splash is simply one of the best restaurants in Des Moines. Everything about the dining experience at Splash is terrific.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the ambiance and we had a wond ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed the ambiance and we had a wonderful waiter named Jamie. The fancy cheese platter was really fun and the mussels were very tasty for our appetizers. We had the surf & turf fettuccine alfredo, which was appropriately priced and amazingly delicious! Friend had some very good martinis. Our entire experience was very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food...phenomenal Service...phenomenal ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Food...phenomenal

Service...phenomenal

Atmosphere...phenomenal

I think you get the picture. :-)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal for all in our group and exce ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great meal for all in our group and excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Splash with another couple f ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at Splash with another couple for a late night dinner New Year's Eve. It was perfect. We had such wonderful food and conversation that we were at the table 2 1/2 hours and were never rushed or made to feel we should vacate. Excellent experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful dining experience for New Years Eve. Loved it -- will return

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy dinner at Splash. The ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We always enjoy dinner at Splash. The food is stellar and the presentation is outstanding. The wine list is substantial and the staff is knowledgeable. Service has always been excellent. Dinner at Splash is a pleasure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was great! Great food, se ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our experience was great! Great food, service, and atmosphere. I didn't like seeing the lobster tank, but I am vegetatian, that probably doesn't bother most. It was a nice clean restaurant without feel too upscale or stuffy. I would go again and recommend friends to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered my salmon cajun/blackened. Al ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I ordered my salmon cajun/blackened. Although I didn't send it back (I just don't send food back), it was entirely too blackened. I worked my way through it, but was sick later that evening.

I would have expected that since "Cajun/blackened" was a standard option, it should have been a much more "middle of the road" blackened versus my salmon, which was 100% blackened, to a fault.

FYI, I routinely order my food either Cajun or blackened so I don't think it was a function of lack of familiarity. I think Splash is the preeminent seafood place in DSM and, based on this fact, I would have expected much better.

Thanks.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great evening ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food, great service, great evening! x

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had an excellent dinner. Cocktails we ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had an excellent dinner. Cocktails were spot on, appetizers were wonderful, entrees bountiful, and the dessert drinks very good. Only complaint would be it was dark, needed to use a flashlight to see the cocktail and menu items. Also, I like to see what Im eating! Other than that though, well definitely go back, sooner rather than later.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great experience as always! Great food, ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great experience as always! Great food, good service and not too busy that night (bad weather)

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Surprisingly, the best filet mignon I've ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Surprisingly, the best filet mignon I've ever had!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is my favorite seafood restaurant a ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This is my favorite seafood restaurant anywhere. Who would have thought it would be in Iowa after I spent most of my life in California, New York, and Maryland, but it's true. The fish and shellfish taste fresh (although they must have been frozen) and super importantly, it is very well prepared and perfectly seasoned. The waitstaff is friendly and engaged and very knowledgeable. Be prepared to spend, but it's so worth it on special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great time. Thanks Ben for the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a great time. Thanks Ben for the wine recommendation and great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent seafood, great place to meet, ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent seafood, great place to meet, accommodating service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Scallops and the Butternut Squ ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Loved the Scallops and the Butternut Squash soup. The soup had a lot of spice so a good balance of sweet and spicy. We were disappointed in our wine selection. In hindsight we should have sent it back when we didn't like it. Paid to much for wine that we didn't care for. Splash did have a nice selection of fresh seafood which is hard to find in Des Moines.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food, wine and service!!!

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Amazing food, wine and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Setting Service Food were all excellent.

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Setting Service Food were all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is pricey, but it's absolutely ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food is pricey, but it's absolutely wonderful. The chef does things with food that most people would not think of doing at home, and the flavours come out so wonderfully. I've had some of the best seafood, chicken, and vegetables here. Great atmosphere, and the servers are wonderful. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splash was fantastic as always -- we wen ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Splash was fantastic as always -- we went for our 20th Anniversary and they made us feel very special. Food quality and presentation are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got engaged after going here! It was del ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Got engaged after going here! It was delicious and the service was amazing!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service ... very c ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, excellent service ... very convenient to the Des Moines Civic Center!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pretty good but for the pri ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was pretty good but for the price I was expecting phenomenal. The drinks, however, were not good at all. My boyfriend and I each tried two...and two of them were supposed to be their best....I was not impressed at all. For example, I ordered a "Pain Killer" and it was basically just pineapple juice but then I ordered a dirty martini (for $18!!) and it was almost straight vodka. We both decided that we're glad that we can say we've been there now but with all the other options downtown we probably won't be making a return trip.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We celebrated my wife's birthday there o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday there on a Saturday night before a show at Civic Center. It still remains our favorite restaurant in Des Moines! The food is wonderful, the service is excellent, and the ambiance of the restaurant is very appealing. They also printed special menus for my wife's birthday and decorated her plate with birthday wishes as well. The location is very convenient too if you're going to the Civic Center afterwards! I would highly recommend Splash to anyone wanting to go out for a special dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined as Splash prior to a show at the C ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Dined as Splash prior to a show at the Civic Center because we had a gift card and it is right across the street. Everything we had was good but I wouldn't call it exceptional. In fact, there are places in Des Moines to get better seafood at a lower price. Would go back in the future if attending a Civic Center show but probably not otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wait staff and Sommelier are great. I ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wait staff and Sommelier are great. I had a very nice steak. Great wine at a great price

Our party really enjoyed ourselves.

A perfect spot for dinner before a civic center concert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making our 25th wedding an ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Thank you for making our 25th wedding anniversary special!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great quality seafood this far from a co ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great quality seafood this far from a coast. Flown in. Good chef. They had gone a bit down hill several years ago, but seem to be back in the game with the newer owners. Still sad the cashew encrusted fish of the day with tropical fruit salsa is gone. 😑 Great oysters, great cocktails, great wine selection, fresh seafood, professional servers. Right across from the civic center so fab before a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

App was very easy to use. It would be gr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 12, 2016

App was very easy to use. It would be great if we could see a layout of Restaurant so we could choose seating locations

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Never ever disappointed with Splash! Ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Never ever disappointed with Splash! Service is always excellent and the seafood fresh and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had called ahead and used the online o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had called ahead and used the online options to book reservations however there was no response to my online request. When I did speak to someone I asked for something special as we brought a set of twins for their bday and nothing was done for them. It was a table of 6 and the steak wasn't cooked to their liking. One meal came out with a huge pile of garlic mashed potatoes that was actually embarrassing to see and have no idea how anyone would serve that plate in such a high end restaurant. My salmon had no flavor to it. We easily spent $600 between all the couples that evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Splash was our Grandsons choice to celeb ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Splash was our Grandsons choice to celebrate his birthday! Appetizers crab cake and calamari were excellent. Entrees were inconsistent: our Grandson loved his steak and lobster mac & cheese, his mom's sea bass was undercooked and pink inside. Our son's salmon was great, but my husband had the special lobster ravioli and he couldn't distinguish much lobster for $36.

They were out of watermelon sorbet, which is what our Granson wanted for dessert.

We have been to Splash for many special occasions and this is the first disappointment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Celebrating 2 birthdays and was great as ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Celebrating 2 birthdays and was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! They had a speciall ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was great! They had a specially printed menu for us for our anniversary dinner. The server was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time ever going to Splash. We'll b ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 21, 2016

First time ever going to Splash. We'll be back the atmosphere and the staff were amazing. The good top notch well worth spending every cent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place but it digs way to deep into ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Nice place but it digs way to deep into your wallet based on the value for food and drink

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We choice this location because it is mo ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We choice this location because it is more quiet than many other Des Moines restaurants. Splash did not disappoint. We were seated at a round six top in a corner that was perfect. Food and service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Splash was a lot bigger than thought it ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Splash was a lot bigger than thought it would be. Had an upscale romantic setting with nice decor. Honestly both my date and I came there with the intention of getting the Maine lobster only to be informed that they had run out. We got fried oysters and the New England clam chowder as an appetizer. The clam chowder was pretty disappointing but the oysters were pretty good. For the entrée I got scallops with lobster Mac and cheese and my date got the king crab legs. The scallops were good but I was not impressed with the lobster Mac. My dates crab was good but cracking the legs was a bit messy, not really what you want when we were both dressed nicely. For dessert we got the pineapple upside down cake which was delicious. Overall I would say it was definitely pricey for the quality of food that was served, maybe I would have been more satisfied if the lobster was available.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.