About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: 515-244-5686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mixed Grill - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Key Lime Cheesecake - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Pan Seared Big Eye Tuna - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Creme Brulee - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Escargot - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Creole Penne - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Sesame Seared Blue Fin Tuna - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Pei Blackberry Oysters - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Chocolate Truffle Cake - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Bavarian Dark Chocolate Mousse - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Calamari And Shrimp - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Splash Mahi Mahi - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Seared Sea Scallops - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Shrimp and Calamari - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill
Miso Salmon - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Iowa
Romantic
Iowa
Special Occasion
Iowa
6 More
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (36)
Notable Wine List (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
977 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food. Service was a little like Den ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good food. Service was a little like Denny's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I've eaten at Splash twice and both expe ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

I've eaten at Splash twice and both experiences were exceptional. If I lived in Iowa, I would definitely go more often for special occasion meals.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food we had was good, salmon and sca ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food we had was good, salmon and scallops, but this was for special occasion with lobster in mind, only to be told there was no lobster. Guess should have called day of to check. The service was good. Wine suggestion was good.

Restaurant needs to update decor a bit. Has looked the same for a long time. Do not care for basement area, kind of dark and damp feeling.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I always love going to Splash to have wi ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I always love going to Splash to have wild caught fish and veggies, I wish it was lighter inside instead of so dark, but the food doesn't disappoint.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We have eaten at Splash three times in t ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We have eaten at Splash three times in the last several months. Only once was it acceptable.

The best way to describe our experience is.....I do not mind the high price of quality. I do not care for the high price of mediocrity. It is highly unlikely we will be dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The food, service, ambiance were all exc ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food, service, ambiance were all excellent. The Chilean sea bass was outstanding, are waitress (Kathleen) was phenomenal. Thanks for the evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food has been awesome for years, and the ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food has been awesome for years, and the wine list is one of the best in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my boyfriend to Splash to celebra ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I took my boyfriend to Splash to celebrate his birthday. He had never been to Splash before. The staff went to extra special effort to acknowledge his birthday. He said it was even nicer than he had expected. Definitely glad I made the reservation ahead of time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, ambience, but our waitress ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good food, ambience, but our waitress had a terrible attitude.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I took my girlfriend here for a special ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for a special date night. Everything was delicious and our server was wonderful. I am gluten free and had no problems whatsoever. Highly recommended for any occasion.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had appetizers, salad or soup, main c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had appetizers, salad or soup, main course and desert. All wasp outstanding, especially shrimp and calamari appetizer and swordfish and tuna main course. We are from Texas and took my son and his wife, who are local during our visit, we definitely will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Two visits now and both disappointing in ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Two visits now and both disappointing in nearly all respects .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We always enjoy the dining experience at ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We always enjoy the dining experience at Splash. It is truly a great place for an evening out with friends and special occasions!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

ALWAYS a delicious meal. No corkage fee ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

ALWAYS a delicious meal. No corkage fee is a bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Heard about this restaurant several year ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Heard about this restaurant several years ago and finally made it there. So very glad we did. First of all, I want to say how great our bartender was. Unfortunately we didn't get his name but we'd visit again just for him. Very knowledgeable about drinking recommendations and local attractions.

Went for the food but the start in the bar really highlighted our overall experience. Moving on to the meal, what can I say? Would go back in a heartbeat!!!! On par with fine dining in Chicago.

Thanks to all of the staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as our usual experience at S ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Not as good as our usual experience at Splash. It was restaurant week and I received an email for $25 3 course meal. When we ordered, the waitress ask my girl friend if she would like lobster macaroni as one of her sides. When we got the bill, I was charged $12 for the lobster macaroni. Also the meals were $28 and not $25. The wine stewart just laughed when told of the error. He said there was a mistake in the email. We thought it was deceptive that the waitress did not mention the additional charge for the lobster macaroni. Also the advertised price of the meal should have been the price we paid. We go to Splash about 6 times a year. This experience will curtail our Splash frequency.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was poor. They claim the seafoo ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was poor. They claim the seafood is flown out daily, but the taste suggests otherwise. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent seafood with great atmosphere ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent seafood with great atmosphere for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waitress was great. She picked up wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our waitress was great. She picked up without prompting that we were celebrating my wife’s birthday and made the evening special. My sword fish was disappointingly thin and over grilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A near perfect birthday celebration. Th ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

A near perfect birthday celebration. The only off key note was our bottle of wine arriving after we were done with our entrees. But it was delicious and went well with dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Well I was in town on business and doing ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Well I was in town on business and doing a little Geocaching on the side. Went downtown to do an Earthcache checked out Opentable and found this gem of a restaurant. The food was great and I loved all the fish tanks, very cool.

Thanks so much for the hospitality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice oysters. Good selection fro ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Really nice oysters. Good selection from east and west coast. Server was very knowledgeable. Had a very nice curry sweet potato soup. Different atmosphere. convenient location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always love the scallops but this time t ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always love the scallops but this time they were small and chewy. Totally missed expectations this visit. Not sure if we will try again for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

This was not a very good restaurant. I h ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was not a very good restaurant. I had a bone-in Ribeye and honestly the flavor was poor. The service was extremely poor. It was just 3 people eating (Wife, son and myself) and bill was $279.00, which if the food is good, I don't mind, but the food was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great dinner on our girls weekend! Food ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great dinner on our girls weekend! Food was excellent-Service outstanding. It was our first time and the server was attentive and very helpful. Great Job Splash!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a great place for seafood. Best in ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What a great place for seafood. Best in Des Moines. Go here every year for my Birthday or special occasion. The service is always outstanding. Thanks Jamie for making my belated birthday more special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking was awful, after driving around ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Parking was awful, after driving around for 15 minutes looking for parking I almost left. Parking garage nearby was cash only, no parking available on the street, and every available parking spot was reserved for someone specific. After a short walk in the Iowa humidity to splash, I was greeted with a smile from the beautiful hoistist, as another gentlemen walked out after asking where parking was. Food and service was amazing, our waitress was friendly and helpful. My beautiful date ordered the special (Alaskan salmon) we had to send it back because it was undercooked for her liking (fresh salmon arrives at the table medium rare). Our waitress was understanding and friendly and the salmon was back at our table in less then 10 minutes. My steak was juicy and tender, and the king crab was outstanding. Although Splash can be pricey, we managed to only spend $150 without drinks and desert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had the cold shellfish platter and it wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had the cold shellfish platter and it was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding as always and I ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was outstanding as always and I really appreciate the no corking fee on the wine, always a pleasure to enjoy a real fine bottle wine with your delicious options on your menu .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening. Excellent f ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. Excellent food and a very friendly server!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous food and great atmosphere! Re ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Marvelous food and great atmosphere! Reserving 1.5 to hours before a Civic Center show is a must. Two hours before is best to avoid stressed service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was fantastic. Services was ok. Th ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was fantastic. Services was ok. There was an event downtown and the staff was trying to rush us through. Also felt the staff judged us based on our casual/semi-casual clothing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was great. The service was go ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was great. The service was good.

I do fell that there is an aloofness in the ambiance that I found off putting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

After a less than favorable experience i ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

After a less than favorable experience in December we decided to give Splash a second try. The food was okay. The wait staff is very impersonal and "stuffy". We indicated we were celebrating a birthday and this was mentioned upon confirmation of the reservation earlier in the day. However, there was no mention of it by wait staff. Not a big deal, but acknowledging it would elevated the experience significantly. Not a place we will go back to, unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Splash always satisfies. Food was amazi ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Splash always satisfies. Food was amazing, staff was polite. Great time had by all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Majority of food was amazing except stea ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Majority of food was amazing except steak was awful. Interior wasn't nearly as nice as well expected. It was my birthday &

it was awesome

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in centra ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in central Iowa. Disappointed in this trip though; not sure if they were short-staffed or not but, the food was average. If you are going to have a surf and turf pasta you have to have trimmed meat (steak). The steak was fatty and gristly, the shrimp was overcooked and the sauce needed seasoned.

Had RSVP, asked for a quiet setting, was seated in the oyster bar.

We will go back but...not anytime soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great evening and warm response by the S ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great evening and warm response by the Splash team!!

When they learned it was our anniversary, they had a special menu, glitter on our table and the flowers I bought on our table waiting for us!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The only thing that brought us back to S ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The only thing that brought us back to Splash for a 3rd time was the excellent food. That being said, this was probably our last visit. The food was again wonderful, excellent even. But for the last two visits, the service was terrible. Our second to last visit we sat in the bar due to a private party taking up the entire restaurant. Our server was very nice and spot-on with her recommendations but was unable to serve us well as she had way too many tables to attend. Exact same situation this time, server was very nice and personable but not at all attentive. Our water was not refilled until 2 minutes before we left (and by a hostess), never offered a second cocktail, and saw a visible look of relief when we said we would pass on dessert. For over $200 for four people, you expect better...much better. Splash MUST hire more staff, the current table to server ratio is not fair to your servers and much less your customers. One random food note: we ordered the shrimp and calamari appetizer for a 3rd time and it was probably half the size of what we were previously served, maybe 3-4 strips of calamari and 3-4 shrimp. Not nearly enough to warrant the price tag.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.