About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: (515) 244-5686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
See All
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (7)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

This was a spectacular experience. My wife and I enjoyed our time, food, and spectacular waitress (Jamie). The Miso Salmon is a must have, along with the great Creme Brûlée. I had the pleasure of experiencing the Chef’s featured dish, which was a great Halibut dish. Everything was plated nicely, and I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Splash is a great place for celebrations, if money is no object. I wouldn't recommend it if you're short on cash. The atmosphere is conducive to conversation. There is a wide range of seafood dishes, fewer of red meat. This time the server seemed somewhat stressed, but generally it is topnotch. I like the fact that a 20% tip is included, as it helps avoid faulty math skills!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy Splash. The food is great, the staff helpful and the ambiance pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Nick was our waiter and did an excellent job. The food and atmosphere was fantastic ! I ordered scallops and they were perfect .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Love their Splash Salad!! Disappointed in the crab cake--almost too moist and less flavorful than in the past. We had to ask or bread, rather than the bread automatically being brought to the table. Always a lovely place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 12, 2017

ROCK STAR SERVICE and great for business lucheon ❗️

WAYCOOL

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2017

It was a great tasting food and sleek ambiance inside but service is little on the slower side considering there were not many guest on a Monday evening dinner. Felt it is pricy compared to the portion of the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I was in town for a couple of days and someone suggested that I try out Splash. It did not disappoint. I had a very fresh shrimp Louie salad followed by a perfectly prepared steak with blue cheese. Had to try the creme brûlée and was reminded again why that is my all time favorite dessert! Great selection of wines as well. I'm from Dallas and I would say that this restaurant could easily rub elbows with the top of the line restaurants in my home town.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Nice celebration. Great server. Welcoming staff and delicious food!

Sommelier was standoffish and did bare minimum. Felt we were imposing on him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

The food and service were great. It was a little too dark so I had to use my phone to read the menus. I would have to limit my visits to Splash for special occasions simply due to the cost.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We had dinner here on our way home from a road trip to the West. The décor was fun - fish tanks and fun graphics on the walls. My dining partner started with a rich lobster bisque that included nice chunks of lobster, followed by "on ice" seafood including lobster and shrimp (called for crab legs but he opted for extra jumbo Gulf shrimp) that he loved. I started with a luscious tomato soup, and followed with the special halibut with tomato relish and "hash" that included squash and sausage that was very good. Seafood flown in fresh daily.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Little disappointed with the wine list. It has been 8 months since we were there and the list wasn't as impressive. Everything else was great

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always a treat. We are proud to have such wonderful dining in Des Moines, so bring out of town visitors when we can.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Healthy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We love Splash. It's a great restaurant with terrific food. It's always a special place we enjoy visiting periodically!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Wonderful staff and food. They were very accommodating. Great wine selection also.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The place needs to be updated big time. Where we sat wasn't romantic at all. We had our waitresses switch on us. Which was annoying. The second lady we had, was very helpful and nice. Our drinks we ordered from the bar were good. The food was ok. Not very accommodating to people with very common food allergies. Scallops were good except the crazy amount of shell I kept getting in my bites. Kinda ruined it for me. I probably won't go back. Not worth the money.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food and service was excellent. Our dinner was perfect and our server was very nice.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Always perfectly cooked seafood. Great wine menu. NIce venue and quiet. Perfect service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Birthday dinner-from out of town. Initially had reservations at Baru 66, but switched. Went primarily for the oysters (hence the restaurant switch) and was very disappointed they were out.
Other than that, the experience was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 20, 2017

For restaurant week very disappointed with the entire experience. It appeared the server wanted to turn tables as quick as possible and the food so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food, the wine, the ambiance, and our server (Jamie) was outstanding. We have always been delighted every time we dine here. You can't go wrong. Jamie gave us the perfect level of attention-always anticipating, never intrusive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Special spot to come back to whenever we're in town.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 17, 2017

When we arrived and were shown to our table, the restaurant had decorated it with festive metallic sprinkles. We were given ample time to read the menu and make selections. We chose salmon miso which was a blend of sweet and salty spices. When the dish was presented to us, "Happy Birthday" was written in decorative lettering on our plates.
This restaurant is always a good choice for special celebrations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fantastic! The Rockefeller oysters are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

This is our favorite fish restaurant ever and worth the drive from Council Bluffs. We lived in
San Diego California for many years and they have nothing to match this restaurant. Has to be the best chef in Des Moines. Service outstanding. It was my wife's birthday celebration and, boy, did I win major brownie points.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We went to Splash to celebrate birthdays. Very accommodating. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Worth every penny. Fantastic food, great service, unique decor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our wait staff was experienced and the table set aside downstairs where it was quieter. Food was serviced in appropriate courses and hot. Pricing for seafood, specifically lobster, was way overpriced. Desserts were lovely and overall a good place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Splash was recommended very highly online and by several people. My fiance and I went there for a two year anniversary. Our service was horrible. There was long waiting time for order's, apps, and drinks. A general neglect of us as customer's. The decor hasn't been updated in 10-15 years and it shows. Food was good, but not even close to enough for the experience and price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Loved my specialty oysters & shrimp risotto. Thank you sommelier for that 'special" bottle of vino! Always enjoy the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I had such high hopes for this place! We went in on our anniversary and my husband ordered steak and was very impressed with that as well as his sides. But my tuna was disappointing and I felt like I was eating at Bikini Bottom the whole time. The ambiance definitely doesn't match the price point here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Never a disappointment. We love it here! We wouldn't change a thing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Lobster was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was amazing! The service was only mediocre. The waitress didn't seem invested in us as customers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The restaurants ambiance was relaxing and charming in a nautical way. Everyone including the hostess, server and manager were extremely professional. The appetizer, a chauterie was very good. The halibut and salads were fresh and delicious. The wine list was exhaustive and another professional was at hand to lend his expertise. An overall very good experience before heading across the street to see American in Paris.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great experience. Especially convenient location right across the street from the Civic Center where we were headed after dinner to see a show. The entire staff, greeters, Maitre 'd, wait staff, were very courteous and efficient. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list and made an excellent recommendation for our dinner wine. The waitress was also very good through the meal, being invisible until we had a question and then magicly right there.

Great food, cooked just right. The julienned vegetable base under the calamari was superb with a wonderful tangy spiced flavor. The grilled asparagus with my lobster was wounderfully crisp and seasoned to perfection. My wife's giant shrimp dinner and my grilled lobster were both excellently done.

All in all, a grand evening which we will repeat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We haven't been to Splash for quite awhile. We're retired folks, and can't afford to enjoy this restaurant very often. The food was wonderful. The service, not as good as we would have liked. We asked for bread and it was quite sometime before it arrived. I do like the ambiance here and we will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Truly an awesome experience! I consider Splash to be the Premier Dining Experience in Des Moines! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 11, 2017

A very eligent restaurant for those special occasions. We where there at lunch time and basically had the place to ourselves. The menu had everything we wanted or they could get it for us. Perfect!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.