Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

4.5
1348 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for Anniversaries
DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(515) 244-5686
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Dominic Iannarelli
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Mike Holms: (515) 244-5686
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
3rd & Locust
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1348 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Lobster mac and cheese is my go to, have never been disappointed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 6 days ago

Server was wonderful food was awful my swordfish was over cooked and over seasoned we also ordered Tuna very disappointing they didn’t know how to cook it sent it back the first time the second one was worse. They claim to be a seafood specialty restaurant but they are notI will never recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Excellent food and service!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Love this place!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Eh... It's been a few years since we've been but as soon as we walked in it smelled very fishy. Yes it's a seafood place but dang, it was strong. Anyhoo.. Server was great. Food Was ok... Pretty sure we won't go back again. Decor needs an update imo. Overall it was fine

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Great food and exceptional service. Our only complaint was the desert special the night we were there. The special was called a strawberry short cake. Not tasty and for some reason, very salty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Two people and scallops which were good, I had swordfish which was quite mediocre and the desserts were OK, however if I want to spend that much on a meal, I would go to Flemings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Splash was recommended by a friend of my son who used to live in Des Moines. What a gem. If you like aquariums and fish, this is your place. My colleague and I had our eyes on a pasta special, but it was not on the menu for the MOnday night. We both selected the halibut - I'm glad the pasta was not available. Perfectly cooked and highly seasoned on a potato cake. We both had salads and they were large (enough to share) and delicious. A great server and quiet for conversation. Very enjoyable and will go back if in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

great, fresh seafood. Cool interior. Nice find for Des Moines.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Dining experience at Splash was fantastic. Great food, excellent service (server was outstanding in providing information on various menu choices). The only reason I didn't give Splash a 5 star rating was I thought the domestic wine was overpriced. Excluding the wine pricing issue, one of the best dining experiences I've had in many years and the best I've had in Des Moines in the 4 years my son has been attending college. And we've eaten at many terrific restaurants in Des Moines. But Splash is at the top of my list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The seafood is always excellent at Splash. It is our favorite seafood restaurant in Des Moines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

One of my best dining experiences. Great food and atmosphere. Service was exceptional. A little pricey for everyday. But definitely worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The food was excellend and nicely presented. Our waiter was particularly helpful and unobtrusive. We never felt rushed or ignored. The only disappointment was the lack of an espresso machine, otherwise a wonderful way to celebrate our 50th anniversary! We would highly recommend this restaurant for someone seeking a quiet setting that lends itself to conversation.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Hostess was rude, she did not greet us. She grabbed two menus and walked away. We were not sure if we were supposed to follow her. When we asked she said she wasn’t talking because she had chocolate in her mouth.

We were seated, ordered wine and it took 25min to find out that the wine was not available. Our server asked if we wanted to put in and appetizer, so we did. The appetizer arrived and still no wine. After 40 min we had appetizers and no wine. Finally our server stopped by again, we ordered another wine and got it at about the 50min mark. Disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Always impressive there with all the aquariums. Service was flawless and the cuisine was more than amazing. Can hardly wait to return again!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Service and wine were spectacular. Food was under the standard I’ve learned to expect at Splash. Not sure if it’s a downwards swing in the chiefs area or just a bad night. The waiter went out of his way to help.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Shrimp and calamari appetizer, srirachi scallops, surf and turf linguini, and Splash chicken are all excellent. Very extensive wine list. Expensive, but worth it when you want a very special and memorable dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Service was perfect! Food was delicious! Wish the lobster bisque was smaller with less lobster. I was full from the soup. Thought it would be like an appetizer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great people, excellent food in a good atmosphere
Thanks, Monte, for awesome service and appropriate recommendations for our group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Perfect evening. There’s a reason Splash has longevity in the DesMoines location. Goss food and service.
A shout-out to our server, Zachary. He is excellent at his job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fab in all ways!!!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Our second trip within 2 months-the first was very good -great service and the food was outstanding. This time-not so. From asking for a lemon in my glass of water-receiving 2 lemon slices midway thru the mean; being served and charged for a poor quality salad that I did not order to our shrimp being significantly over cooked. They were busy, but the mark of a fine restaurant is to shine when they are pushed. Didn’t happen. The other negative reviews now make sense.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food was fair but it used to be amazing. It just seems the seasoning was not the same.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great service from our friendly waitress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The food was excellent ( Oysters Rockefeller, Garden Salad, Miso Salmon, Chilean Sea Bass Meuniere, Pineapple Upside Down Cake), wine and cocktails extremely good, and our waiter, Scott, was the perfect combination of friendly and professional. The birthday menu was a nice touch. Overall wonderful experience, well-worth the 2-hour round-trip drive and the price. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Amazing as always!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The menu with happy birthday on it was great idea.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

A very good meal with great presentation on our anniversary. Our waiter Monte was amazing and very knowledgeable. Well worth the price tag. This will be a annual event as we count our years together...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Service and food always top notch Great wine list Wait staff true professionals. My go to place in Des Moines before the theater or special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

We have dined here on multiple occasions but this time it seemed to be even better than previous visits! We both enjoyed our main dish of seafood but we shared some Lobster Mac and Cheese which was absolutely DELICIOUS! We had a large wine list to pick from, our waitress was attentive and helpful and never made us feel rushed. We were here before a show at the Civic Center and made for a perfect evening

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Our food was very good. Our service was less then good. Our server was only at our table 3 time the whole dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Our waitress was informative andvery helpful in detailing our meals to fit our food allergies. Food and atmosphere were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

If you love seafood then this place is a must. Everything was great from the online reservations to my last cocktail of the night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Amazing fresh seafood and excellent service… One on DesMoines best wine lists…

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Dined before going to a show at the Civic Center

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Really enjoyed our dinner. Was a Thursday night on a show night and our service was still good. Excellent seafood!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The food was good. My only criticism is that the restaurant was not very busy and we were given a small, cramped table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

We were there for a dinner before the Civic Center. Our waitress asked us before we ordered, so everything was delivered in a timely fashion. She was very attentive. The food is wonderful, but I think it's over priced for Des Moines.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34