About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: (515) 244-5686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Quiet Conversation (30)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Romantic (26)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Cozy (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Healthy (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Returned to this restaurant after a 15 year period. Better now than ever. Excellent well-rounded menu specializing in a wide range of seafood. Everything was fresh and well-prepared. Server was excellent. I would return to Des Moines just for the opportunity to dine here again.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

Though our server was very good, the food was subpar. Such a disappointment for such an expensive meal. I had grilled shrimp and asparagus. The shrimp tasted fishy and was over cooked. Not fresh! The asparagus was tasteless. The rice, uninspiring. And, that was the best part of the meal.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

Took my Father for his 90th birthday and he loved it!! It was my second time and both times were excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 16, 2017

It had been a while since I had been to Splash. Excellent service, paired with a wonderful seafood menu and creative special dishes. Food arrived quickly, and was hot and tasty. Will dine there again soon!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent experience, everything was outstanding! My wife and I celebrated a wedding anniversary event with a great location, excellent service and attention, a outstanding meals from starters through dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Splash was our choice for celebrating our anniversary and it was the right one. We were greeted with a custom menu wishing us a happy day and a little celebratory confetti on our table. The dining room is beautiful with a number of fish tanks. Our server Taralee was attentive at just the right level. She listened to our menu requests and helped us to put together memorable dinners. Thanks to Splash for a great evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Loved it. Go there about every 2 months for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wonderful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This was an excellent dining spot for the special birthday occasion it was selected for. It had a cozy feel with a great ambiance. The atmosphere was warm with a more mature dining clientele. The food was absolutely wonderful!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent seafood, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I've only been here twice and both times I received great service and food. I'll definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very nice atmosphere. Food is outstanding. A little pricey, but we pay it for the experiences. Nice waiters and waitresses.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

have been to splash many times and usually its predictably very nice, this time my friend and i came in a bit later than usual, our waiter was brief, acted as if he was put out to wait on us, and seemed like he was just anxious for us to leave.

I won't mention his name however.
Might have been an off night for him but regardless he was rude and condescending.. Other than that the cuisine was great like usual.

Mr. Chas Leonard

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My husband and I celebrated my birthday at Splash. This a tradition each year and I look forward to it. The meal was fantastic and our service was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I can't say enough about our experience. I dine at Splash regularly and the greatest review I can give is the fact that I dine there frequently. Mara was our waitress and she is very attentive and she provides great service because she likes to, not because she has to.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We were seated in the bar area because my wife cannot do stairs. The table was really small and the chairs too short for the height of the table. I will not agree to a table in the bar if we return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Well the food was good. Service was almost spot on that find to be very good it is as much as the food or sometimes more . The only thing I had concerns about was the fact both plates that can for the shells and to use as a plate for the appetizer where both dirty. The bowl for the shells you can see the food. On it still so someone didn't check them very well

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Splash has great food. Pricey, but worth it for that special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food. We had the special which was Alaskan halibut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The staff was pleasant and attentative without being pushy. The food was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Delicious food! Wait staff was appropriately scarce; not in a way that was inconvenient, and not there to refill your water glass every 5 minutes, either. Music was a little strange; modern for a hip urban neighborhood, but it would have been nice to hear some jazz standards mixed in. Overall, an experience that left me planning our next visit as this one was wrapping up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day dinner. Our waiter was great, had a wonderful time; food (as always) was fantastic!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The calamari and shrimp appetizer was excellent. Our entrees (ciopinno & shrimp risotto) were very good. The ambiance is not great - just seems kind of old and tired. The restaurant is a bit expensive as well, but if you want good seafood this is a great spot.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It's easy to forget how good the seafood is here, but each time I visit, I remember. And I vow to come back more often! Great service, too. And frankly, there's no reason to order oysters anywhere else in town: This is the spot!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We don't get to Des Moines often, but when we do hitting Splash is always a treat. Not cheap, but the food and service is fantastic. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Appetizer was amazing, mains were good, but not stellar. We were full and content at the end of our meal. Coffee was refilled frequently while we waited for our food. There were lulls in service that were awkward...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

While known for their seafood, they didn't have a two pound lobster (broken tank, they said), so had to put two tails together. Mussels were inconsistent, and my wife's tuna overcooked. I ordered a steak (I know - seafood place), which was dry and overcooked as well. Good server - did her best. All in all - very average.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The seafood was amazing. Fresh and well presented. The steak was average. We did enjoy the lobster bisque and the calamari and shrimp appetizer. The Halibut and lobster tail were excellent. Very good wine list as well. Be prepared to spend some money as you are paying for quality.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a reservation for dinner for 6 people before a performance at the Civic Center. It was a Friday night and the reservation was early.

Our server was not attentive to the details of our meal that would have made it a pleasurable experience. Asked for ice 3 times and never received it. Ask for bread and received it just as our meals arrived.

Two of our party had the halibut special and both remarked that it was under seasoned (specifically salt and pepper).

Finally the restaurant added an automatic 20% tip (which had been clearly stated). The group concurred that we all would have made a different choice if it had been up to us.

As we were leaving I mentioned our disappointment to management who was willing to bring out the bills, and rerun them without the tip added. We could have then returned after the performance to resign.

Frankly not the experience I was hoping for, and will be reluctant to return in the future.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was just an awful meal in all respects. The wedge Louie salad with lump crab meat had no lump crab meat al all. Just stringy, shredded pieces of what seemed like tasteless crabmeat out of a can. The Louie was liquid but bore no resemblance to actual Louie dressing. The sea bass with Mueniere sauce was atrocious. Again, the "Mueniere" sauce was not Mueniere sauce but a tasteless cream colored liquid. Avoid this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Appreciated the staff recognizing my husband 's bday . We both had seafood , it was very good . But my husband's side dishes , the rice and eggplant were not tasty at all . We felt the dishes were way overpriced for the servings we received .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great food and service

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I had dinner with my family & dinner was FANTABULOUS!! Our waitress was knowledgeable & attentive. I was apprehensive about the calamari & shrimp as an appetizer & she assured me that it wasn't as spicy as I was suspecting & I should order it. IT WAS GREAT!! OMG! The sea bass!!! When my father visits Des Moines, we are taking him to Splash!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I brought my husband to celebrate your very special birthday! They did not disappoint us, he was wished happy birthday from the moment we walked into the restaurant until we left everything was absolutely exquisite we cannot wait to return and will visit the oyster bar next time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was great and the drinks we're wonderful. The service was friendly and helpful in suggesting food and drinks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful and delicious meal at Splash. We were in Des Moines for a convention and there was a small group of us that wanted to try this restaurant. We were greeted with friendly staff and seated promptly. Our server was friendly and was patient in answering any questions we had in regards to the menu and the fantastic wine list. Our food was prepared to perfection! Everyone loved the entre they had. Thank you Splash!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My wife and I got engaged at Splash 14 years ago and we make a special trip back every year. We get a personalized menu every time to commemorate our special evening. The food is amazing and has never let us down. The service is top notch. This is the second year we have had Mara and she is wonderful. I would highly recommend!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Splash is our favorite Des Moines restaurant for seafood and we have yet to be disappointed. Our most recent visit was to celebrate a special occasion before a concert at the Civic Center. Our server helped us by taking our picture and was attentive to our needs throughout the evening. She was even a step ahead in suggesting a second spoon for our desert. We had some food left and she suggested a take home box. When we said we were going to the concert she offered to hold it for us. It was another great night at Splash.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was amazing! The glow from the fish tanks and quite atmosphere makes it the perfect date night spot. And I can't forget the smashing food! My mouth water just thinking of it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was amazing! The wait staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Food comes out hot and fresh tasting. You are able to talk or just relax and enjoy your food. Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.