About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: 515-244-5686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Key Lime Cheesecake - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Mixed Grill - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Pan Seared Big Eye Tuna - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Creme Brulee - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Escargot - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Creole Penne - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Sesame Seared Blue Fin Tuna - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Pei Blackberry Oysters - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Chocolate Truffle Cake - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Bavarian Dark Chocolate Mousse - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Calamari And Shrimp - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Splash Mahi Mahi - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Seared Sea Scallops - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Shrimp and Calamari - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA
Miso Salmon - Splash Seafood Bar and Grill, Des Moines, IA

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (25)
Romantic (24)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Healthy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1009 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Splash was fantastic as always -- we wen ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Splash was fantastic as always -- we went for our 20th Anniversary and they made us feel very special. Food quality and presentation are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got engaged after going here! It was del ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

Got engaged after going here! It was delicious and the service was amazing!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service ... very c ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, excellent service ... very convenient to the Des Moines Civic Center!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was pretty good but for the pri ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was pretty good but for the price I was expecting phenomenal. The drinks, however, were not good at all. My boyfriend and I each tried two...and two of them were supposed to be their best....I was not impressed at all. For example, I ordered a "Pain Killer" and it was basically just pineapple juice but then I ordered a dirty martini (for $18!!) and it was almost straight vodka. We both decided that we're glad that we can say we've been there now but with all the other options downtown we probably won't be making a return trip.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We celebrated my wife's birthday there o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday there on a Saturday night before a show at Civic Center. It still remains our favorite restaurant in Des Moines! The food is wonderful, the service is excellent, and the ambiance of the restaurant is very appealing. They also printed special menus for my wife's birthday and decorated her plate with birthday wishes as well. The location is very convenient too if you're going to the Civic Center afterwards! I would highly recommend Splash to anyone wanting to go out for a special dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined as Splash prior to a show at the C ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Dined as Splash prior to a show at the Civic Center because we had a gift card and it is right across the street. Everything we had was good but I wouldn't call it exceptional. In fact, there are places in Des Moines to get better seafood at a lower price. Would go back in the future if attending a Civic Center show but probably not otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wait staff and Sommelier are great. I ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wait staff and Sommelier are great. I had a very nice steak. Great wine at a great price

Our party really enjoyed ourselves.

A perfect spot for dinner before a civic center concert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making our 25th wedding an ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Thank you for making our 25th wedding anniversary special!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

App was very easy to use. It would be gr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 12, 2016

App was very easy to use. It would be great if we could see a layout of Restaurant so we could choose seating locations

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Never ever disappointed with Splash! Ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Never ever disappointed with Splash! Service is always excellent and the seafood fresh and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had called ahead and used the online o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I had called ahead and used the online options to book reservations however there was no response to my online request. When I did speak to someone I asked for something special as we brought a set of twins for their bday and nothing was done for them. It was a table of 6 and the steak wasn't cooked to their liking. One meal came out with a huge pile of garlic mashed potatoes that was actually embarrassing to see and have no idea how anyone would serve that plate in such a high end restaurant. My salmon had no flavor to it. We easily spent $600 between all the couples that evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Splash was our Grandsons choice to celeb ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Splash was our Grandsons choice to celebrate his birthday! Appetizers crab cake and calamari were excellent. Entrees were inconsistent: our Grandson loved his steak and lobster mac & cheese, his mom's sea bass was undercooked and pink inside. Our son's salmon was great, but my husband had the special lobster ravioli and he couldn't distinguish much lobster for $36.

They were out of watermelon sorbet, which is what our Granson wanted for dessert.

We have been to Splash for many special occasions and this is the first disappointment.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Celebrating 2 birthdays and was great as ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Celebrating 2 birthdays and was great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! They had a speciall ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was great! They had a specially printed menu for us for our anniversary dinner. The server was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time ever going to Splash. We'll b ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 21, 2016

First time ever going to Splash. We'll be back the atmosphere and the staff were amazing. The good top notch well worth spending every cent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place but it digs way to deep into ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Nice place but it digs way to deep into your wallet based on the value for food and drink

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We choice this location because it is mo ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We choice this location because it is more quiet than many other Des Moines restaurants. Splash did not disappoint. We were seated at a round six top in a corner that was perfect. Food and service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Splash was a lot bigger than thought it ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Splash was a lot bigger than thought it would be. Had an upscale romantic setting with nice decor. Honestly both my date and I came there with the intention of getting the Maine lobster only to be informed that they had run out. We got fried oysters and the New England clam chowder as an appetizer. The clam chowder was pretty disappointing but the oysters were pretty good. For the entrée I got scallops with lobster Mac and cheese and my date got the king crab legs. The scallops were good but I was not impressed with the lobster Mac. My dates crab was good but cracking the legs was a bit messy, not really what you want when we were both dressed nicely. For dessert we got the pineapple upside down cake which was delicious. Overall I would say it was definitely pricey for the quality of food that was served, maybe I would have been more satisfied if the lobster was available.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were greeted and seated right away. T ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were greeted and seated right away. The server was warm, patient and welcoming. She was knowledgeable about the menu, especially in relation to gluten free options. We really enjoyed the food especially the BBQ shrimp appetiser.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Splash has long been a favorite destinat ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Splash has long been a favorite destination when going out for a special dinner. It is not inexpensive, but then neither is seafood that has been brought in by jet. Indeed, the seafood was very fresh. There was an excellent selection of oysters, also a favorite of mine. One thing I particularly appreciate is the attention paid to side dishes. I had a side I can only describe as "adult cream corn" that was to die for. Also, there is a policy of no corkage fee, so bringing your own wine is a great way to hold the price down.

Service was very professional. Our server was pleasant, knowledgable and attentive without hovering. In other words, perfect.

On the down side, I thought some of the main dishes, while well-prepared, lacked the creativity I have come to associate with cuisine at Splash. I had a wonderful piece of swordfish smothered in a mustard sauce that was a bit heavy-handed.

Add in a decorative and somewhat formal setting and I rate the atmosphere a 10 for people wanting a specifically not-family-friendly dining experience. I definitely will return for a future special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was great, food was better. Gre ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Service was great, food was better. Great Selection of wines.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The food and service was outstanding. I ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. I have always been impressed with those two aspects of this place. The downfall of this place is that it desperately needs to be updated. The drop down ceiling is discolored due to water damage of some sort. The bathroom is not professional at all. The music is off taste for the food and service. The decor is great for the 1990's, but not for today's market.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We were crelebrating 2 birthdays and the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were crelebrating 2 birthdays and they helped make the night special. Awesome server

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food, drinks and service were all gr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food, drinks and service were all great! Our table was awful. We were by a wall next to a pillar in the basement. It was awkward and it felt like it was haphazardly placed. This is the last table that should be seated yet there were lots of open tables.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I ordered the special pasta of the even ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I ordered the special pasta of the evening based on it being in season . Very disappointed , as the mushrooms must not of been washed all the way as the dish tasted granie. Also disappointed in the use of bay scallops . So tiny and over cooked .

Waitress was not helpful and didn't seem to care to be there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

Somm Ben Nelson does a fabulous job and ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Somm Ben Nelson does a fabulous job and always makes my visit special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone in our group had different menu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everyone in our group had different menu items. The best was the mixed grill, followed closely by the pork chop. The grilled shrimp was not seasoned and it was also a little overcooked.

The cocktail selection and wine list were varied and reasonably priced.

We will go again, but just not order the shrimp.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for anniversary dinner. Staff ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Went here for anniversary dinner. Staff was good and food was excellent. Waitress recommendations were spot on!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again a fantastic meal. We had grea ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Once again a fantastic meal. We had great food and service in our favorite part of the restaurant. (The Oyster Bar)

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was top notch and very help ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our waitress was top notch and very helpful with selecting wine and food

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Service was a little like Den ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good food. Service was a little like Denny's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I've eaten at Splash twice and both expe ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I've eaten at Splash twice and both experiences were exceptional. If I lived in Iowa, I would definitely go more often for special occasion meals.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food we had was good, salmon and sca ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food we had was good, salmon and scallops, but this was for special occasion with lobster in mind, only to be told there was no lobster. Guess should have called day of to check. The service was good. Wine suggestion was good.

Restaurant needs to update decor a bit. Has looked the same for a long time. Do not care for basement area, kind of dark and damp feeling.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I always love going to Splash to have wi ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I always love going to Splash to have wild caught fish and veggies, I wish it was lighter inside instead of so dark, but the food doesn't disappoint.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We have eaten at Splash three times in t ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We have eaten at Splash three times in the last several months. Only once was it acceptable.

The best way to describe our experience is.....I do not mind the high price of quality. I do not care for the high price of mediocrity. It is highly unlikely we will be dining there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The food, service, ambiance were all exc ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food, service, ambiance were all excellent. The Chilean sea bass was outstanding, are waitress (Kathleen) was phenomenal. Thanks for the evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food has been awesome for years, and the ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food has been awesome for years, and the wine list is one of the best in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my boyfriend to Splash to celebra ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I took my boyfriend to Splash to celebrate his birthday. He had never been to Splash before. The staff went to extra special effort to acknowledge his birthday. He said it was even nicer than he had expected. Definitely glad I made the reservation ahead of time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, ambience, but our waitress ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good food, ambience, but our waitress had a terrible attitude.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

I took my girlfriend here for a special ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for a special date night. Everything was delicious and our server was wonderful. I am gluten free and had no problems whatsoever. Highly recommended for any occasion.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.