About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: (515) 244-5686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Romantic (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Healthy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Private Room (6)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. We had the special which was Alaskan halibut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 2 days ago

The staff was pleasant and attentative without being pushy. The food was outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food! Wait staff was appropriately scarce; not in a way that was inconvenient, and not there to refill your water glass every 5 minutes, either. Music was a little strange; modern for a hip urban neighborhood, but it would have been nice to hear some jazz standards mixed in. Overall, an experience that left me planning our next visit as this one was wrapping up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day dinner. Our waiter was great, had a wonderful time; food (as always) was fantastic!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The calamari and shrimp appetizer was excellent. Our entrees (ciopinno & shrimp risotto) were very good. The ambiance is not great - just seems kind of old and tired. The restaurant is a bit expensive as well, but if you want good seafood this is a great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It's easy to forget how good the seafood is here, but each time I visit, I remember. And I vow to come back more often! Great service, too. And frankly, there's no reason to order oysters anywhere else in town: This is the spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We don't get to Des Moines often, but when we do hitting Splash is always a treat. Not cheap, but the food and service is fantastic. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Appetizer was amazing, mains were good, but not stellar. We were full and content at the end of our meal. Coffee was refilled frequently while we waited for our food. There were lulls in service that were awkward...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

While known for their seafood, they didn't have a two pound lobster (broken tank, they said), so had to put two tails together. Mussels were inconsistent, and my wife's tuna overcooked. I ordered a steak (I know - seafood place), which was dry and overcooked as well. Good server - did her best. All in all - very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The seafood was amazing. Fresh and well presented. The steak was average. We did enjoy the lobster bisque and the calamari and shrimp appetizer. The Halibut and lobster tail were excellent. Very good wine list as well. Be prepared to spend some money as you are paying for quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a reservation for dinner for 6 people before a performance at the Civic Center. It was a Friday night and the reservation was early.

Our server was not attentive to the details of our meal that would have made it a pleasurable experience. Asked for ice 3 times and never received it. Ask for bread and received it just as our meals arrived.

Two of our party had the halibut special and both remarked that it was under seasoned (specifically salt and pepper).

Finally the restaurant added an automatic 20% tip (which had been clearly stated). The group concurred that we all would have made a different choice if it had been up to us.

As we were leaving I mentioned our disappointment to management who was willing to bring out the bills, and rerun them without the tip added. We could have then returned after the performance to resign.

Frankly not the experience I was hoping for, and will be reluctant to return in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was just an awful meal in all respects. The wedge Louie salad with lump crab meat had no lump crab meat al all. Just stringy, shredded pieces of what seemed like tasteless crabmeat out of a can. The Louie was liquid but bore no resemblance to actual Louie dressing. The sea bass with Mueniere sauce was atrocious. Again, the "Mueniere" sauce was not Mueniere sauce but a tasteless cream colored liquid. Avoid this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Appreciated the staff recognizing my husband 's bday . We both had seafood , it was very good . But my husband's side dishes , the rice and eggplant were not tasty at all . We felt the dishes were way overpriced for the servings we received .

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I had dinner with my family & dinner was FANTABULOUS!! Our waitress was knowledgeable & attentive. I was apprehensive about the calamari & shrimp as an appetizer & she assured me that it wasn't as spicy as I was suspecting & I should order it. IT WAS GREAT!! OMG! The sea bass!!! When my father visits Des Moines, we are taking him to Splash!

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I brought my husband to celebrate your very special birthday! They did not disappoint us, he was wished happy birthday from the moment we walked into the restaurant until we left everything was absolutely exquisite we cannot wait to return and will visit the oyster bar next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was great and the drinks we're wonderful. The service was friendly and helpful in suggesting food and drinks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a wonderful and delicious meal at Splash. We were in Des Moines for a convention and there was a small group of us that wanted to try this restaurant. We were greeted with friendly staff and seated promptly. Our server was friendly and was patient in answering any questions we had in regards to the menu and the fantastic wine list. Our food was prepared to perfection! Everyone loved the entre they had. Thank you Splash!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My wife and I got engaged at Splash 14 years ago and we make a special trip back every year. We get a personalized menu every time to commemorate our special evening. The food is amazing and has never let us down. The service is top notch. This is the second year we have had Mara and she is wonderful. I would highly recommend!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Splash is our favorite Des Moines restaurant for seafood and we have yet to be disappointed. Our most recent visit was to celebrate a special occasion before a concert at the Civic Center. Our server helped us by taking our picture and was attentive to our needs throughout the evening. She was even a step ahead in suggesting a second spoon for our desert. We had some food left and she suggested a take home box. When we said we were going to the concert she offered to hold it for us. It was another great night at Splash.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was amazing! The glow from the fish tanks and quite atmosphere makes it the perfect date night spot. And I can't forget the smashing food! My mouth water just thinking of it.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was amazing! The wait staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Food comes out hot and fresh tasting. You are able to talk or just relax and enjoy your food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were greeted politely and seated promptly. Our server was another story. He had an unprofessional demeanor, from discussing our $40 bottle of wine with the wine steward over the rest of the dining room to clearing too soon and letting us know if we paid the check (so he could leave?) we could stay and enjoy our wine and after dinner drinks. We were two guests and we're only there for an hour and a half on a tab of over $150. Hardly expected the bums rush. Also the dining room was not full on a Saturday night, so no excuse to rush us or be rude. The food was good. We might have enjoyed it better with a different waiter.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I listed that our reservation was for an anniversary and they added nice touches to make us feel special for our celebration. The food was all very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food, great service. Increased the already high prices, but for fresh seafood it's expected.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I enjoyed sitting upstairs near the bar as I was alone. The bartender was very attentive and
I had fun and the Bonnie Doone Sauvignon Blanc was delicious. However, the beef carpaccio appetizer was disappointing. It was a bit dry..probably plated the day before. The soup, though tasty, was a bit thick like it had been on the warmer too long.
All in all I enjoyed myself but the quality of the food wasn't memorable except for the oysters.
It had just been flown in that day and it was the freshest & tastiest I ever had anywhere! I did
not have a main entree so I can't comment there. I would definitely go there again though and order something else.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was delicious, well-presented, and well prepared. Server was very professional; we dined prior to attending a show at the Civic Center and she coached us through getting our orders in promptly without us feeling rushed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Overall great experience and reasonable prices. The wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Hadn't been here since last summer, but stopped in before a civic center event for dinner. The ambiance is very nice with multiple levels and rooms with unique themes. There are only a couple of places in Des Moines that I've found tasty seafood and this is one of them. I've always had fresh selections and they are prepared to enhance their flavor. Service is very good, and there is an extensive wine list with expert help if you need it.

On our recent visit my wife and I each ordered a glass of wine and dove into the menu. While there are other options, I always stick to seafood items, and after opting for other choices in the past, my wife generally sticks with seafood now. On this night she opted for the Shrimp Risotto, which was a creamy concoction of asparagus, goat cheese, mushroom, and of course shrimp and risotto. It was fantastic and a generous sized portion. I decide on a halibut dish that was the night's specialty. It was very good, with a beautiful piece of fish, served on a hot mushroom salad. It was very good, but I should have asked the price when the server described it as it came in at $42. While I liked it, I'm not sure it was quite worth that price tag to me vs. some of the other items I might have opted for, but again, I should have asked.

Service is great, good is consistently excellent, and there are great wines to enjoy. If you're looking for seafood in downtown Des Moines, I haven't found a better option.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

While the sea food was relatively fresh for the midwest, the food was mediocre at best. I had a Cioppino that was not a soup and the sauce tasted like is came out of a jar. The shelfish were quite small. The one bright spot was the single scallop which was well grilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a very good meal. The server was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had never been there before and were pleasantly surprised. Good food, good selection, and the service was solid.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Seafood was average in quality at best. Felt like we paid a premium for location instead of food quality. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was great!! Our server asked us in the beginning if we were going to the symphony, we told her no we wanted to take our time and we did not feel rushed, each course was brought at the perfect time. Great food. Great atmosphere. Great service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent service from our waitress. I had Norwegian Salmon, wife had Swordfish. Both prepared well and delicious. Started the meal with Mussels also prepared well. Garlic mashed potatoes done right, nothing special. Priced similar to some many restrauants throughout the metro. Worth a visit if you haven't been there.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Absolutely awesome place, fresh seafood, amazing food! Will be coming back

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great place for a special occasion dining experience. Staff very knowledgeable on menu and what is good. BUT---it is VERY dark in there and the menu has very small print!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fish was not thoroughly cooked (charbroiled wahoo) and no offer of recompense for obviously raw middle. We didn't push it.
Nice ambiance, but meal was not up to par.
Spouse had shrimp risotto which was pretty good.
No bread offered with meal.
Dessert was Key Lime cheesecake which was also subpar for those of us like to taste lime in it.
Everything kind of disappointing for what we paid for it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service and great atmosphere. Great place to team with a night out at the Civic center.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was my second visit to Splash. It's one of the finest restaurants I've ever dined in -- and I say that as someone who lived in New York City and now lives part time in Santa Fe. The food is superb. On this last visit, I started with a Caesar salad and then had Norwegian salmon. Both were nicely prepared, beautifully presented and delicious. (The only false note was the bread.) Anyone who persists in believing that Des Moines is a backwater either has never been there or has not visited recently. Downtown Des Moines is booming with arts, recreation and a restaurant scene that competes with any mid-sized American city. Splash is among the best. It holds it own with any restaurant I've visited in Chicago or New York or Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.