About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: (515) 244-5686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for a Date (44)
Romantic (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Business Meals (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Healthy (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (9)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (8)
Private Room (7)
Casual (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant had a great ambiance amazing music and phenomenal food.. they made my Birthday extra special.

I would recommend this place especially if you love seafood.

The desserts were amazing too!

Just all around a great experience

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Enjoyed our date night. Food was amazing.. service was great. Unfortunately, they seated a group of very loud obnoxious women next to us that were very distributing and loud. There lauguage was not appropriate given the environment they where in. Swearing loudly and kind of put a damper on our romantic evening.. but as far as the food and service we received it was wonderful, just as it's always been when we dine here.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The staff had confetti on the table, gave us great seating, and wrote Happy Birthday on my mom's entree. On top of all of this, the service was fantastic. Made for a very enjoyable experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service was amazing and the Chilean Seabass was delicous. Also A++ on the Oyster Rockefeller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines Day...great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the best seafood restaurants in the midwest with a award winning wine list. Keep it up Splash!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was as though we tasted oysters for the first time! They have an amazing sampler platter. The Seattle oysters were the best! Like drinking water off a mountain. Everything and I mean everything was perfect! Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. A bit pricey, but we're saving up to do it again soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We understand that it was very busy, but that was no excuse for the greeters to be so rude and short. Food was good, but everything was definitely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We ate before going to see show at Civic Center and the wait staff was very attentive to help us be on time for our show. The lettuce with the iceberg salad was perfectly cold! The crab bisque was delicious! Splash is a fun atmosphere for romance or for friends and always quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was very friendly. Food was excellent. The atmosphere could use a touch-up, decor felt very dated for the food quality and price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

100/100, wonderful service, everything was phenomenal.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Have been to Splash many times so know how great it can be, this visit was

not among them. Service was poor, we were neglected and practically had to

beg for service. Neither of us felt our food was Splash quality. If this had been my first visit I would not return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Awesome night!! Thank you so much!! My daughter turned 22 and she had such a good night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My wife and I had a great time on our first time there and the food was very good thank you

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very good experience. We tried to reserve a table for earlier on the website, but not available due to musical playing across the street. Called and they got us in at 6:45 which worked very well for us. Thank you for being accommodating!

Salads were huge and delicious! Maybe we will order as an entrée next time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was outstanding. Most notably-we loved the shrimp with asparagus, mushroom and goat cheese risotto...delicious. Everything was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The melt in your mouth scallops with meuniere sauce were out of this world and crab cake was smoky and excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Splash has the best seafood in town! Service couldn't get any better and it is perfect for a nice night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I have traveled a great deal, and found it hard to find really good seafood, along with a great menu, Splash is one of the best seafood restaurants anywhere in the US. The menu is one that makes it hard to decide what to order for the variety and great items. Chef there is one of the best anywhere; Ambiance and atmosphere is one where you can actually hear a dinner conversation. Simply a fabulous restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Splash is our favorite restaurant before the Symphony; it didn't disappoint... it was another delicious meal again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great experience with the food and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was a very nice experience...food was great and very creative...service was spectacular. I brought 9 people in who had never been to Splash before...they will be returning. My family and I have been customers for years and it seems to just keep getting better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The meal was very good, we had tickets for a show across the street so location was very good.

Two beers, a glass of wine and two entree's shouldn't cost over $100 in Des Moines. Waitress was just okay, she was more into the large table across the room.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great time and food both before and after the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food was good, but I was expecting exceptional. The sides were served cold, while the fish was warm. So I guess the sides sat out waiting for the fish to be ready. The waitress quickly gave me another plate of the warm sides. All and all very nice place. Great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Splash did a great job of recognizing my wife's birthday. They had a special menu and the table decorated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice, simple, and lots of butter!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Splash is simply one of the best restaurants in Des Moines. Everything about the dining experience at Splash is terrific.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I enjoyed the ambiance and we had a wonderful waiter named Jamie. The fancy cheese platter was really fun and the mussels were very tasty for our appetizers. We had the surf & turf fettuccine alfredo, which was appropriately priced and amazingly delicious! Friend had some very good martinis. Our entire experience was very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food...phenomenal

Service...phenomenal

Atmosphere...phenomenal

I think you get the picture. :-)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great meal for all in our group and excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined at Splash with another couple for a late night dinner New Year's Eve. It was perfect. We had such wonderful food and conversation that we were at the table 2 1/2 hours and were never rushed or made to feel we should vacate. Excellent experience.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful dining experience for New Years Eve. Loved it -- will return

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We always enjoy dinner at Splash. The food is stellar and the presentation is outstanding. The wine list is substantial and the staff is knowledgeable. Service has always been excellent. Dinner at Splash is a pleasure!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our experience was great! Great food, service, and atmosphere. I didn't like seeing the lobster tank, but I am vegetatian, that probably doesn't bother most. It was a nice clean restaurant without feel too upscale or stuffy. I would go again and recommend friends to go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I ordered my salmon cajun/blackened. Although I didn't send it back (I just don't send food back), it was entirely too blackened. I worked my way through it, but was sick later that evening.

I would have expected that since "Cajun/blackened" was a standard option, it should have been a much more "middle of the road" blackened versus my salmon, which was 100% blackened, to a fault.

FYI, I routinely order my food either Cajun or blackened so I don't think it was a function of lack of familiarity. I think Splash is the preeminent seafood place in DSM and, based on this fact, I would have expected much better.

Thanks.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food, great service, great evening! x

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had an excellent dinner. Cocktails were spot on, appetizers were wonderful, entrees bountiful, and the dessert drinks very good. Only complaint would be it was dark, needed to use a flashlight to see the cocktail and menu items. Also, I like to see what Im eating! Other than that though, well definitely go back, sooner rather than later.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great experience as always! Great food, good service and not too busy that night (bad weather)

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Surprisingly, the best filet mignon I've ever had!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This is my favorite seafood restaurant anywhere. Who would have thought it would be in Iowa after I spent most of my life in California, New York, and Maryland, but it's true. The fish and shellfish taste fresh (although they must have been frozen) and super importantly, it is very well prepared and perfectly seasoned. The waitstaff is friendly and engaged and very knowledgeable. Be prepared to spend, but it's so worth it on special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a great time. Thanks Ben for the wine recommendation and great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent seafood, great place to meet, accommodating service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Loved the Scallops and the Butternut Squash soup. The soup had a lot of spice so a good balance of sweet and spicy. We were disappointed in our wine selection. In hindsight we should have sent it back when we didn't like it. Paid to much for wine that we didn't care for. Splash did have a nice selection of fresh seafood which is hard to find in Des Moines.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Amazing food, wine and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Setting Service Food were all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food is pricey, but it's absolutely wonderful. The chef does things with food that most people would not think of doing at home, and the flavours come out so wonderfully. I've had some of the best seafood, chicken, and vegetables here. Great atmosphere, and the servers are wonderful. Highly recommended for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Splash was fantastic as always -- we went for our 20th Anniversary and they made us feel very special. Food quality and presentation are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Got engaged after going here! It was delicious and the service was amazing!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, excellent service ... very convenient to the Des Moines Civic Center!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.