About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: (515) 244-5686

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Notable Wine List (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Business Meals (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Cozy (14)
Healthy (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Authentic (8)
Private Room (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Absolutely awesome place, fresh seafood, amazing food! Will be coming back

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great place for a special occasion dining experience. Staff very knowledgeable on menu and what is good. BUT---it is VERY dark in there and the menu has very small print!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fish was not thoroughly cooked (charbroiled wahoo) and no offer of recompense for obviously raw middle. We didn't push it.
Nice ambiance, but meal was not up to par.
Spouse had shrimp risotto which was pretty good.
No bread offered with meal.
Dessert was Key Lime cheesecake which was also subpar for those of us like to taste lime in it.
Everything kind of disappointing for what we paid for it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service and great atmosphere. Great place to team with a night out at the Civic center.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This was my second visit to Splash. It's one of the finest restaurants I've ever dined in -- and I say that as someone who lived in New York City and now lives part time in Santa Fe. The food is superb. On this last visit, I started with a Caesar salad and then had Norwegian salmon. Both were nicely prepared, beautifully presented and delicious. (The only false note was the bread.) Anyone who persists in believing that Des Moines is a backwater either has never been there or has not visited recently. Downtown Des Moines is booming with arts, recreation and a restaurant scene that competes with any mid-sized American city. Splash is among the best. It holds it own with any restaurant I've visited in Chicago or New York or Santa Fe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have been a couple times they alayse have good food we will be back .

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fantastic food – best Chilean sea bass I've ever had anywhere. The pineapple upside down cake was wonderful, our waitress was also excellent. I do agree with other comments that it is a little overpriced, but in my experience it's the best seafood in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great fresh seafood entrees coupled with extraordinary sides.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Kelly our server was AWESOME! Best service we have had in Des Moines in a long time. Made our dining experience even better. The salmon and the seared tuna was delicious and portions were enough that we felt full after dining. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a wonderful time for my 30th birthday. Ambiance was wonderful and the food amazing! I had the splash salad, shrimp risotto, and husband had lobster Mac and cheese. I think the shrimp was better than the lobster but husband disagrees! So we were happy. We had creme brûlée for dessert and it was perfect. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The ambiance was great and our waiter was outstanding. My husband had the lobster and it was way too rubbery, hard to chew and very little taste. I had the filet and all I could taste was the charcoal grill, the meat was very tender but little or no flavor at all.
We also ordered desserts, creme brule and key lime cheesecake. The cheesecake was a very different texture for cheesecake. The creme brule was passable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The restaurant had a great ambiance amazing music and phenomenal food.. they made my Birthday extra special.
I would recommend this place especially if you love seafood.
The desserts were amazing too!
Just all around a great experience

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Enjoyed our date night. Food was amazing.. service was great. Unfortunately, they seated a group of very loud obnoxious women next to us that were very distributing and loud. There lauguage was not appropriate given the environment they where in. Swearing loudly and kind of put a damper on our romantic evening.. but as far as the food and service we received it was wonderful, just as it's always been when we dine here.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The staff had confetti on the table, gave us great seating, and wrote Happy Birthday on my mom's entree. On top of all of this, the service was fantastic. Made for a very enjoyable experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service was amazing and the Chilean Seabass was delicous. Also A++ on the Oyster Rockefeller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentines Day...great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the best seafood restaurants in the midwest with a award winning wine list. Keep it up Splash!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was as though we tasted oysters for the first time! They have an amazing sampler platter. The Seattle oysters were the best! Like drinking water off a mountain. Everything and I mean everything was perfect! Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. A bit pricey, but we're saving up to do it again soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We understand that it was very busy, but that was no excuse for the greeters to be so rude and short. Food was good, but everything was definitely overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We ate before going to see show at Civic Center and the wait staff was very attentive to help us be on time for our show. The lettuce with the iceberg salad was perfectly cold! The crab bisque was delicious! Splash is a fun atmosphere for romance or for friends and always quiet enough for conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was very friendly. Food was excellent. The atmosphere could use a touch-up, decor felt very dated for the food quality and price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 10, 2017

100/100, wonderful service, everything was phenomenal.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Have been to Splash many times so know how great it can be, this visit was
not among them. Service was poor, we were neglected and practically had to
beg for service. Neither of us felt our food was Splash quality. If this had been my first visit I would not return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Awesome night!! Thank you so much!! My daughter turned 22 and she had such a good night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My wife and I had a great time on our first time there and the food was very good thank you

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very good experience. We tried to reserve a table for earlier on the website, but not available due to musical playing across the street. Called and they got us in at 6:45 which worked very well for us. Thank you for being accommodating!
Salads were huge and delicious! Maybe we will order as an entrée next time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was outstanding. Most notably-we loved the shrimp with asparagus, mushroom and goat cheese risotto...delicious. Everything was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The melt in your mouth scallops with meuniere sauce were out of this world and crab cake was smoky and excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Splash has the best seafood in town! Service couldn't get any better and it is perfect for a nice night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I have traveled a great deal, and found it hard to find really good seafood, along with a great menu, Splash is one of the best seafood restaurants anywhere in the US. The menu is one that makes it hard to decide what to order for the variety and great items. Chef there is one of the best anywhere; Ambiance and atmosphere is one where you can actually hear a dinner conversation. Simply a fabulous restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Splash is our favorite restaurant before the Symphony; it didn't disappoint... it was another delicious meal again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great experience with the food and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 26, 2017

It was a very nice experience...food was great and very creative...service was spectacular. I brought 9 people in who had never been to Splash before...they will be returning. My family and I have been customers for years and it seems to just keep getting better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The meal was very good, we had tickets for a show across the street so location was very good.

Two beers, a glass of wine and two entree's shouldn't cost over $100 in Des Moines. Waitress was just okay, she was more into the large table across the room.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great time and food both before and after the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The food was good, but I was expecting exceptional. The sides were served cold, while the fish was warm. So I guess the sides sat out waiting for the fish to be ready. The waitress quickly gave me another plate of the warm sides. All and all very nice place. Great service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Splash did a great job of recognizing my wife's birthday. They had a special menu and the table decorated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice, simple, and lots of butter!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Splash is simply one of the best restaurants in Des Moines. Everything about the dining experience at Splash is terrific.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I enjoyed the ambiance and we had a wonderful waiter named Jamie. The fancy cheese platter was really fun and the mussels were very tasty for our appetizers. We had the surf & turf fettuccine alfredo, which was appropriately priced and amazingly delicious! Friend had some very good martinis. Our entire experience was very good!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.