About Splash Seafood Bar and Grill

303 Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50309
View Larger Map

DiRoNA award winning Splash Seafood Bar & Grill serves only the freshest seafood flown in daily and expertly prepared in both traditional and contemporary styles. Splash Seafood bar and Grill also serve the Midwest's finest cuts of steaks and chops with the same care as they give the seafood. Be pampered by the highly experienced wait staff in one of Des Moines most unique and elegant dining rooms surrounded by whimsical wall murals as well as 9 large salt water aquariums. Splash Seafood offers an extensive wine list, recognized with an Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator, as well as a full bar specializing in tropical drinks. Also enjoy a more laid back atmosphere in the raw bar, Splash Oyster Bar & Seafood Market, just across the hallway from Splash Seafood. Enjoy all the fresh oysters and shellfish that the raw bar has to offer as well as the full menu from Splash Seafood. Also be sure to take advantage of the raw bars Seafood Market to enjoy the freshest seafood at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
3rd & Locust

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 244-5686

Website:
http://www.splash-seafood.com/

Parking Details:
Free street parking after 6pm or park in the public ramp adjacent to the building which is accessible from 4th Street.

Executive Chef:
Dominic Iannarelli

Private Party Contact:
Mike Holms: 515-244-5686

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mixed Grill
Key Lime Cheesecake
Pan Seared Big Eye Tuna
Escargot
Creme Brulee
Creole Penne
Sesame Seared Blue Fin Tuna
Pei Blackberry Oysters
Splash Mahi Mahi
Chocolate Truffle Cake
Miso Salmon
Seared Sea Scallops
Bavarian Dark Chocolate Mousse
Calamari And Shrimp
Shrimp and Calamari

Splash Seafood Bar and Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Ambiance
Iowa
11 More
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Romantic
Iowa
Special Occasion
Iowa
Most Booked
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Most Booked
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in Downtown Des Moines ›

special occasion (111)
romantic (86)
notable wine list (74)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
good for groups (29)
hot spot (21)
neighborhood gem (19)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (8)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great evening and warm response by the S ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great evening and warm response by the Splash team!! When they learned it was our anniversary, they had a special menu, glitter on our table and the flowers I bought on our table waiting for us!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The only thing that brought us back to S ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The only thing that brought us back to Splash for a 3rd time was the excellent food. That being said, this was probably our last visit. The food was again wonderful, excellent even. But for the last two visits, the service was terrible. Our second to last visit we sat in the bar due to a private party taking up the entire restaurant. Our server was very nice and spot-on with her recommendations but was unable to serve us well as she had way too many tables to attend. Exact same situation this time, server was very nice and personable but not at all attentive. Our water was not refilled until 2 minutes before we left (and by a hostess), never offered a second cocktail, and saw a visible look of relief when we said we would pass on dessert. For over $200 for four people, you expect better...much better. Splash MUST hire more staff, the current table to server ratio is not fair to your servers and much less your customers. One random food note: we ordered the shrimp and calamari appetizer for a 3rd time and it was probably half the size of what we were previously served, maybe 3-4 strips of calamari and 3-4 shrimp. Not nearly enough to warrant the price tag.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing meal, best we've had in some tim ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Amazing meal, best we've had in some time. I had the swordfish, blackened style which was excellent, but the real stars were the side dishes. Crab cake appetizer was delicious, and both the kale with mushrooms in a wine sauce and the mashed sweet potatoes were just fantastic --really made the meal. My wife had lobster mac and cheese which was as good as it sounds.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice atmosphere, enjoyed the waiter and ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Nice atmosphere, enjoyed the waiter and wine list. A little pricey but great for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Was table was not ready; table was in th ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Was table was not ready; table was in the hall; had to remind the staff me needed to be served. Sound system speaker was by us so we could not hear or talk. Very disappointed in the evening...

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic experience!

Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I had a terrific meal with tremendous service! It was a unique dining experience. We will definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Fish selection sparse (for a seafood restaurant)

Dined on June 4, 2016

I've been disappointed in their limited selection of fish . For example, they do not offer trout, flounder, snapper. I'm not a huge fan of swordfish, which I ordered because there are not that many other options. They do offer salmon; however, I prepare that at home so much that I'm not motivated to eat it when dining out. I strongly recommend they diversify their seafood selection by adding several more option.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food, service, and ambiance

Dined on June 4, 2016

I have eaten at Splash on several occasions for my birthday or my husband's birthday and the service it top-notch. They print menus just for us with "happy birthday...." on the top and decorate your table. Waiters are knowledgable and excellent. Food is excellent every time we've eaten there. One of our favorite restaurants in Des Moines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, wine was great. The bart ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was great, wine was great. The bartender was very knowledgable about the different wines.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

We celebrated a Birthday and enjoyed our excellent meal and service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

The food that was good was phenomenal, b ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food that was good was phenomenal, but the salads came out at least 15 minutes apart so we couldn't eat together, and the main courses were hot and cold so we had to send food back. Even worse, to warm the food up, it was clear they put a beautiful piece of tuna in the microwave, ruining the dish completely. It was clear the kitchen was greatly struggling. I was so disappointed to see a phenomenal dinner ruined by kitchen incompetence.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Seafood in Mid-America

Dined on May 26, 2016

Splash offers great seafood brought in daily. The shrimp and calamari appetizer was the best I've ever had. The staff is knowledgeable, welcoming, and always on top of all your needs. The surf and turf was excellent as was the salad with grilled shrimp that we had. The aquariums around the room bring home the seafood atmosphere. Medium priced if you're used to a Chicago rather than an Iowa menu. Good medium priced wines available. Downtown location makes it a must stop for travelers and locals alike.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Good food, waitress not engaged

Dined on May 25, 2016

I treated my wife for our 8th anniversary. Food was great, although very pricey. Seafood, meat and sides perfectly cooked. Server was polite, but distant: maybe she had too many tables or was just having a bad personal day. She was just missing that easy repartee that comes naturally to good servers and endears them and their establishment to customers

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ihad thehalibut special,it was to die fo ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Ihad thehalibut special,it was to die for. Itcame with peach risotto. Just wish prices were a little lower so I could go more often

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were in town for a convention and picked Splash as a place we had walked by, it's near the convention center), but never ate at. The whole experience was amazing. The menu had many choices, the food was fantastic, and the ambiance was delightful. Will definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The service was a little slow going, but ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The service was a little slow going, but everything was delicious. The staff is always knowledgeable of the food they serve.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. We had been waiting ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was great. We had been waiting for the halibut and we're pleased to finally have the fresh Halibut. We have been in your resturant several times and always had a first experience.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We've generally had somewhat mixed exper ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We've generally had somewhat mixed experiences at this venue, but this one ranked the lowest. Given the relatively high cost of dining here, it would be nice to know that the food and service would be good/exceptional rather than poor/fair. In this case, the service was very slow, and the food was sub-par. To that point, if the kitchen is unable to procure healthy asparagus, perhaps they should tell their diners that this is not available rather than serving a few tiny inedible sprigs.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were not rushed and that's important ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We were not rushed and that's important when you want to have a great dining experience. The restaurant was very busy the night we were there with our friends before an event at the local Civic Center. The wine list and various wine offerings from glass, to 1/2 carafe and pricing is a very nice way to allow one individual to enjoy their own choice of wine and very much appreciated given that each person in our party chose something different. The seafood is always fresh and presented in lovely offerings. The potato/leek soup was excellent as was the entire set of entrees we each had. The sashimi tuna was really nice! And, the coffee and creme brûlée was excellent! Thanks for a wonderful dining experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go experience

Dined on May 17, 2016

A beautiful venue, a fine renovation of American architecture. Excellent cuisine and lots of atmosphere, go!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an early dinner at Splash because we were headed to a concert. We had reservations and were seated immediately upon arrival. The staff was friendly, helpful and attentive -just the right amount. The wine suggestions were perfect. The food was delicious. And, if you have dessert, I would recommend the creme brûlée! We had a wonderful meal. A great dining choice in the downtown area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great and we go there reg ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was great and we go there regularly

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must for dsm dining

Dined on May 7, 2016

I couldn't be more pleased with Splash! Our service was EXCELLENT and the food was amazing!! I had the Sashimi Tuna and the Bday girl had the Northern Salmon and both were absolutely amazing!! The ambiance couldn't have been better! Glen our server was incredible and a true professional. His attention to detail truly made our dining experience fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and awesome service!

Dined on April 30, 2016

One of our favorite places to go on special nights out - it is expensive, but for a once in a while treat it's amazing. Always great food - fresh seafood and great wine too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am part of your birthday club. Therefo ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

I am part of your birthday club. Therefore, on April 28, 2016, myself and 3 other friends ate at Splash to celebrate my 43rd birthday and the culmination of my doctoral degree program! When we arrived, we were immediately seated and realized that there was a nice note printed on our menus wishing me a happy birthday and congratulating me on finally earning my PhD! I forgot that I had mentioned these things when I made the reservation. I never realized that they would print nice messages on our menus! It continued to be a wonderful because our waitress was the same as least year! Her name is Jamie, and she is tremendous. She remembered us from last year, and tended to our every need! A nice message was also written on my dinner plate! Splash is definitely the place to go for excellent food and tremendous service! My friends and I are making our Splash visit an annual tradition! Thank you so much for making my visit so special! Alissa Stoehr, PhD

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splash indeed!

Dined on April 19, 2016

I had a small business meeting with some colleagues at Splash. I was familiar with the restaurant and its great seafood selection given the midwest location. The restaurant was very accommodating in that I needed a reservation about 1 1/2 hours prior to the event. They accommodated our group of 7. Wait staff were again, very accommodating. Food was excellent as always.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food, very disappointing service

Dined on April 17, 2016

Once again, the food was amazing. We were a party of six. All of us were highly disappointed with our service. Our server, Mara I believe, clearly had other things she would have preferred to be doing. One in our party heard her complaining to a Co-worker about question had asked about our bill. what spend there, we expect excellence and professionalism. We were disappointed. It will be some time before we choose to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We go to Splashes every chance we get. We have NEVER been disappointed with our service or our food. All I can say is "Wow." Love it!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 16, 2016

Splash was disappointing. Thought they would have great fish, but Bonefish and Waterfront are both superior to Splash at a much lower price. Two of the three in our party ordered Grilled Sea Bass, and the food was luke warm and there was not much flavor - no sauces or anything to give it more flavor. The fish looked barely grilled. The ambiance is dated, and the place is so big that we felt disconnected with the other patrons, as we were stuck on the lower level near the hallway that leads to the bathrooms. I will not go here again unless its a larger group and I don't have any control over it.

food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricey, but this is one of the ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

A little pricey, but this is one of the best seafood restaurants anywhere. The crab legs were the biggest I've ever seen, and steamed to perfection. The garlic mashed potatoes were creamy and delicious. Whatever you do, don't miss the lobster mac & cheese. Great atmosphere, fish tanks all around, not too loud. We took the kids, but it would definitely be a great place for date night.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service & special touches for ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent service & special touches for our birthday celebration!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splash Experience

Dined on April 3, 2016

This was our second time dining at Splash. We heard about it through my husbands boss and absolutely love it. The atmosphere and food are great. The service is phenomenal. Anyway,no complaints here.....only praise for a job well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Seafood Dining

Dined on April 2, 2016

Took my wife here for her birthday, as she is a seafood fan, and had a great experience. Cocktails are great quality and meal was excellent. Overall very pleased.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere with salt water fish ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Love the atmosphere with salt water fish, very relaxed, romantic. Food is always awesome. On of our favorites!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. First time there and had a ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent. First time there and had a wonderful time. Everything was really awesome!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A special place for dinner.

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were very pleased with our dinner. The waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. Our food arrive in good time, was the right temperature and most of all was delicious. The ambiance is a bit "cold" for our taste. While the prices are high, we did feel the quality was worth the price. We will be happy to return for another special event.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was super nice and helpful and ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Waitress was super nice and helpful and the food was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful Experience

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our afternoon/evening at Splash was a wonderful experience. Wait staff was particularly friendly -- as well as the bar staff and hostess. Food was moderately priced - certainly not a restaurant for someone looking for a bargain - but a gem if you want to enjoy fine dining and a finer atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sashimi Tuna

Dined on March 19, 2016

Beautiful dining experience! The ambiance was nice and romantic. The food from start to finish was delicious. It reminded us of dining on the beach in Honolulu,(except the 38 degree weather). Not cheap, but this is one of the times that the quality justified the expense. Definitely want to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our first time. Very unique

Dined on March 19, 2016

We thought the service was very slow, and waited along time for our food

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.