About Spinners Rootop Revolving Bistro & Lounge @ Grand Plaza Hotel-St Pete Beach

5250 Gulf Blvd
St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
View Larger Map

Experience the awe-inspiring panoramic view as the restaurant slowly revolves 360 degrees. Located on the 12th floor of the hotel, Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro & Lounge is the only Revolving Restaurant on the West Coast of Florida. Every table has a view!! Savor fresh seafood, beautifully prepared hand cut steaks and signature pasta dishes for dinner and specialty sandwiches, fresh seasonal salads and classic burgers for lunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 360-1811 ext. 39

Website:
http://www.spinnersrooftop.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, View, Wine

Spinners Rootop Revolving Bistro & Lounge @ Grand Plaza Hotel-St Pete Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Ambiance
St. Petersburg
Romantic
St. Petersburg
3 More
Scenic View
St. Petersburg
Special Occasion
St. Petersburg
Most Booked
St. Petersburg
Best Restaurants in St. Pete Beach ›

scenic view (240)
special occasion (181)
romantic (151)
See All
great for lunch (63)
fit for foodies (50)
hot spot (44)
neighborhood gem (40)
good for groups (35)
great for outdoor dining (31)
notable wine list (29)
vibrant bar scene (28)
great for brunch (20)
kid-friendly (15)
late-night find (14)
 (6)
 (6)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
644 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service4

Worth a visit to experience the panorami ...

Dined a day ago

Worth a visit to experience the panoramic view

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined 3 days ago

Had a wonderful dinner with drinks at the lounge before and after dinner, great food, good service and a beautiful sunset. Will surely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service1

Busy Memorial day weekend. We were wait ...

Dined 3 days ago

Busy Memorial day weekend. We were waiting a while to try this place. Very enjoyable view of sun setting from level 11 rooftop then we proceeded to Spinners for dinner afterwards. Service was poor, food was old school. Scallops and shrimp entree were the only thing we found acceptable. Wine list not at all comprehensive. Spinning rooftop with expansive views of the beach, harbor, and city were very impressive, but the decor was dated. Entrees were pricey for the food quality. This is not fine dining. Maybe better for drinks and cool lunch? Anyway, we tried. Probably won't go back.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

service was good the rest was average. ...

Dined 4 days ago

service was good the rest was average. The bar area one floor below seemed to better a better place to have been. The décor is a bit out dated. with prices that compared to Salt Rock and Middle grounds the restaurant level of service could not compete.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spinners had great atmosphere, the view ...

Dined 4 days ago

Spinners had great atmosphere, the view was absolutely amazing, it was a great experience & the food/service (David was our server) was great too. My boyfriend & I were celebrating our 3 year anniversary & had lunch here it was great ! Would definitely come back

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

The only thing worth a darn was the view ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The only thing worth a darn was the view. The interior looks to be untouched since the 70s. The food was terribly overpriced and my chicken parmigiana was really sub par. Chicken was really tough, pasta was way over cooked. Not good... Staff was fine. We were immediately seated and our server was attentive enough.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We usually think of Spinners as a romant ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We usually think of Spinners as a romantic place with a fantastic view. This time the noise level was terrible; our table of 3 had difficulty hearing each other over the roar. The food was good and the specialty drinks are always a good choice. Another bonus was that parking was set aside for those with reservations.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was really delicious. However, both ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was really delicious. However, both steak entree's we selected were not cooked to order. Very tender and flavorful just the same. Cork fee is very high, compared to other restaurants...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant

Dined on May 20, 2016

First the view is spectacular, then the service was great, and then the food was absolutely delicious. Our waitress Evelyn was funny, informative and very helpful. She had us laughing and loving our meal. From the drinks to dinner, everything was more than we expected. Just wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Food was average at best - strange porti ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was average at best - strange portions (massive) and not much for flavour. Service was slow. Ambience... It could really use a refresh. Time for a new chef and an overhaul! A place like this deserves it with a view like that.

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Waiter did not give refills. Service was ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Waiter did not give refills. Service was extremely slow. Salad did not have everything on it and no one came by to ask if everything was okay so did not get a chance to correct the salad. Waiter was rude. Told her at the beginning how the check should be split. She brought it at the end and it was one check and she told us "y'all can just figure it out."

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Josh was lovely and very info ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server Josh was lovely and very informative. The food was delishous.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved it. The atmospheres ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We absolutely loved it. The atmospheres was beyond wonderful. It made our night breathtaking

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Friends and I used to go to Spinners 15 ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Friends and I used to go to Spinners 15 or 20 years ago for tropical drinks and the incredible 360-degree bay and beachfront view, so my family and I were curious to see what the experience is like now. We were happy to get a dinner reservation prior to sunset on Open Table and thrilled to revisit that great view again. While I do have to say the staff was cheerful and very attentive and service very good, unfortunately our delight stopped there. Menu choices SOUNDED good, but we found our meals were so-so at best -- definitely a disappointment for entrees in the $25-$30 range. Tropical drinks were very tasty, but seemed lacking in the alcohol department (I rarely drink, so one pina colada normally gives me at least a little "buzz" -- but not this one, or any of the drink choices for our party of three). The final straw was that the noise level was very high -- so no dinner conversation possible! That's outside of management's control, of course, maybe something to do with building acoustics. But it's something I find important enough to mention (and oddly something I don't recall happening on my visits years ago when the experience was just drinks and conversation). Having said all this, I must admit that the revolving view is SO great that I'll probably make a lunchtime visit at some point to see if the food is a better value.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed a nice lunch with beautiful ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed a nice lunch with beautiful views and friendly staff.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server, Wanda, was simply the best. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our server, Wanda, was simply the best. Helpful when needed, attentive, yet not intrusive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and view

Dined on May 12, 2016

Like most people, when someone says revolving restaurant, I think great view bad food. Therefore, I was pleasantly surprised by the food. I had a seafood in puff pastry dish that was really good. The shrimp was a tad overcooked but other than that it was perfect. We made a reservation timed to see the sunset. The only problem is that we were facing the wrong way during sunset. Oh well, it was still pretty and we loved the food. Don't go for a walk on the beach afterwards, though. You park for free to dine but if you take advantage by going elsewhere, there's a big fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Evening

Dined on May 12, 2016

It was our first time at Spinners. The food was delicious and the service was great. Yvette was our server and she was always pleasant and helpful throughout the evening. The timing between courses was perfect. The scenery was beautiful. You hardly knew you were moving until there was something else to look at and enjoy. We'd recommend going for supper to enjoy the sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Server was fine until we asked if we cou ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Server was fine until we asked if we could stay 15 minutes more till sunset. We had just taken our last bites, there were 8 of us celebrating my moms 80th birthday, including some from out of town and some locals. She said I don't know we may have to have the table. We didn't have dessert but if we had, we most certainly would have been there 15 more minutes. For the amount we spent, I don't think that small amount of time was much to ask for. It certainly made us feel uncomfortable and left us with a bad last impression. We didn't stay, we left.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service4

The view was nice..drinks were awesome.. ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The view was nice..drinks were awesome..food not so good..

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The scenic view we had during dinner wa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The scenic view we had during dinner was exceptional , the friendliness of staff was also wonderful, our waitress was very attentive and friendly. The only issue I had was the quality of the food I had a Mahi Mahi dish with a coconut coating and it was extremely dry and tasteless , I feel for the money we paid for the dinner it was a little over priced. However it was worth doing once and the view was amazing I suppose you pay for the view as opposed to high quality food .

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

We were disappointed with our fish dinne ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were disappointed with our fish dinners...the Mahi had the texture of steak instead of a fresh cut of fish. We paid a decent amount for the dish and waited quite awhile to be served.Because of the long wait for our food to arrive we decided not to complain. I have been to that s restaurant before with a pleasant visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, fantastic view, but high noise level

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food wasn't on the cheap side, but was delicious. From the starter bread to dessert, everything was presented well and tasted wonderful. The view was fantastic throughout. Our server was also great. She was there when you need something and wasn't one of those who checks before you even get the chance to try your food and then disappear after that. My main complaint is the noise level - If it's more a casual get together and there's a big group of you, it might be okay. Although if you're looking for a relaxing, romantic dinner, this might not be the perfect place. The tables are a bit too close to each other. Our reservation was at 6:45 p.m. and were there probably around 8:45. Place got louder for sure as it got later. My husband and I had a hard time hearing each other talk.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great View

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a very nice dinner overall. Our server Wanda was very attentive. The views and novelty of rotating 360 degrees is what makes this restaurant worth going to over somewhere else in the area. The cocktail really need improvement. They are as far from "craft" as possible and definitely taste like the standard chemical mixers of the 90s. We had the cheese plate (average), clam chowder (fantastic!!) and the house salad with mango vinegrette (canned Mandarin oranges in a pile on the corner of the plate are NEVER appetizing) to start. Not the greatest beginning but the views kept us occupied. We didn't have high expectations for the main course, but were blown away by the salmon and house steak dishes. So good! They really made up for the starters. We ended with cheesecake (enjoyable, but not made on premises). Go because for the amazing view and old school novelty, but keep your food expectations tempered.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful View

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was great, outstanding views - overall a good time for relaxing and enjoying our friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

360 Degree Views

Dined on May 2, 2016

New must experience for visiting guest. We eaten here before on special occasions at sunset which is the best time to reserve but this time, we took guest for lunch. It was just as speculator with 360 views of St Pete Beach and area. We enjoyed the bake brie and drinks, the service was wonderful but the northern guests could stop talking about the views.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delightful birthday celebration!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great service, food, and the view outstanding. The only negative would be the parking lot. Three events that evening making it very difficult to find a spot to park. A few of the parking attendants were rude to guests.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Absolutely the best service we have foun ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Absolutely the best service we have found in the area- The food was delicious and absolutely worth going back for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

lunch

Dined on April 27, 2016

great, bright place for a really nice lunch... Food was great...appetizers, entree, desserts. service was good

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at Spinne ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

This was our first time dining at Spinners. My Aunt, Uncle and wife had a great time. The food was wonderful. The view is great. And, for, four (4) people, the bills wasn't bad..

food5
ambience5
service5

We have brought numerous friends to enjo ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

We have brought numerous friends to enjoy the great food, great service and incomparable views at Spinners. Open Table makes it easy, Spinners always makes it a memorable experience.

food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Price was extremely outrageous..

Dined on April 23, 2016

Hi went there on a Saturday nite, for a birthday. The vegetables And potatoes were cold. The meats were good. It was very pricey, much to much. Great views. Will not return , I was there 12 yrs ago and it didn't as bad.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

birthday date night

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was a great place to have dinner. The food was excellent, but just a little too salty. The resturant was also very loud. Overall had a nice experience but would not come here to have a quiet /romantic dinner. ☺

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great View, Went at Sunset !!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our daughter lives in St. Petersburg, told us about Spinners and said she would like to go there, so we flew in from Chicago to take her and her husband there for her 30th Birthday. It was a beautiful evening with a special view of the sunset. Appetizers were great, Dinner was great, Dessert was great !! We are returning this week with our son, who just flew in from Chicago, for the lunch-time experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Atmosphere great Service !

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great Atmosphere Awesome View ! Service was #1 Desert menu could be improved Overall impressed & would recommend this restaurant !

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Denise

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great food and location. This was the second time we have gone to Spinners. We were not disappointed! Wanda, our server was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This will be very Memorable every thing ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

This will be very Memorable every thing was wonderful

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Spectacular View

Dined on April 17, 2016

The view is why your there. Period, the end. The waiter was great, good personality, our drinks were poor, the salad was bottle dressing and the main course, ok at best. With that said the view is to die for and I would go back just for that . I count see where in summer it could be hot, but oh that view.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Most gorgeous setting, unique and beauti ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Most gorgeous setting, unique and beautiful view of the gulf, such a wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kathy Pecora

Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful evening in St. Petes Beach! Beautiful room, beautiful view, great food and service. Having dinner and sunset-fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.