About Spindletop

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/spindletop/index.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Restaurant Photos

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Houston
Romantic
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
3 More
Best Ambiance
Houston
Romantic
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

scenic view (115)
romantic (104)
special occasion (98)
See All
fit for foodies (20)
late-night find (19)
hot spot (17)
notable wine list (16)
great for lunch (14)
great for brunch (14)
good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (11)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband enjoyed himself! That's all t ...

Dined 3 days ago

My husband enjoyed himself! That's all that matters!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view and experience

Dined 7 days ago

The Spindletop employees were all very kind. We were running late and they offered to push back our reservation. The food was amazing and the view was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and our server wa ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was extremely attentive and competent. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Acknowledged our anniversary. The filet ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Acknowledged our anniversary. The filet was phenomenal. And the dessert has me at a loss for words.

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The spindletop is a great choice for a d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The spindletop is a great choice for a date or special occasion but not for Mothers Day! The menu was mediocre at best and had no variations. All in all, the Mothers Day brunch was a tab bit overrated but I would definitely go again. The view is ablsoluty the best!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and Lois was very friendl ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great and Lois was very friendly and provided great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is an amazing place to eat. The win ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is an amazing place to eat. The wine menu very wide variety to choose from and they food speaks for it's self. Overall fantastic place to eat and beautiful view of the city.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great view until $7 for instant potatoes?

Dined on May 5, 2016

Dessert come complimentary for special occasion. Seafood pot would have been better fit at a low-end joint somewhere on a bayou in Louisiana not an upscale restaurant. Cocktails are a bit expensive but they taste great! Let's just say I've had more uplifting servers at lower end restaurants... They sell plenty of seafood but our server said he didn't eat seafood so he couldn't recommend anything... Not fit for restauranteurs. But overall the place has redeemable qualities only because of the scenic view ( I recommend going right at sun set ). Wouldn't go again. But fun for a one time thing...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Spindletop

Dined on April 27, 2016

Appetizers was excellent. We had this avocado and crab plate. I had the lamb and my wife had the beef. Both meals were disappointing. We got a free desert tray for our anniversary which was very appreciated. It was really good. It is very fascinating to see the city but a lot is blocked off by older buildings.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Taste explosion

Dined on April 24, 2016

Definitely not your every day food. Dined with my family for my daughter's 17th birthday. The kids were open to trying new dishes and said the flavors were like a "taste explosion" in their mouths. It was a beautiful evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic and Elegant

Dined on April 24, 2016

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency hotel with my girlfriend and the Spindletop restaurant is a part of the hotel. This was my second time going to the restaurant. The views were great and we spun three laps around the city during our stay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

We felt like the waitress judged us. She ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We felt like the waitress judged us. She only stopped by to check on us about 4 times that's including the times she had to bring our food. She stopped by about 10 times 2 tables down ours.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I feel as if our service was a bit rushe ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I feel as if our service was a bit rushed; our reservation was at 9:15 so maybe that's why. I do feel like the server could've interacted with us a bit more and for the price the food is good but not great. The seafood Mac and cheese is definitely something you should try. The drinks tasted like just juice... It is very romantic and intimate for a cute date.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Date = Success

Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing view Great service Romantic atmosphere Delicious food Satisfied

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, staff was very friendly a ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great service, staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was only fair - the higher the restaurant is above street level, the less likely the food is to be outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view of the city . Service was ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Beautiful view of the city . Service was excelelent !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A WONDERFUL LOVELY TIME!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Had a very lovely time, from beginning to end. The staff was very attentive to us, (Lois and Ricardo). We had a beautiful sunset view. The food was present very well and tasted great. I ordered the polenta ravioli, (melted in my mouth), and my friend ordered the steak and was cooked almost to perfection. We saw a couple get engaged, very romantic. I look forward to coming back here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Place

Dined on April 7, 2016

The place was very nice and quiet. Great view of downtown, but the food was nasty and poor selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Seafood platter for two was astonish ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

The Seafood platter for two was astonishing! However, $5 for one side of rice is ridiculous. Rice should automatically come with the dish at that price. Other than that, I highly recommend this restaurant for any special occasion or big money meetings. Excellent service!

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Special occasions

Dined on April 5, 2016

This is a good place for a special occasion. The food is alright, but you mainly come here for the view. Its a nice way to see Houston downtown. The service was excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Moms 80th

Dined on April 2, 2016

Fantastic!! Celebrated my Moms 80th and everyone was wonderful!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Monthly night out

Dined on April 2, 2016

The scenery was awesome!! My waiter was superb!! The only issue was the food my entree in particular. It was not horrible but I've had better. Other than that I'd give them two thumbs up.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Romance

Dined on March 31, 2016

The view was spectacular. Unfortunately at night the glare of the lights inside hamper the beautiful view. It was amazing to see how fast everything was served. No waiting time extremely pleasant staff

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great view!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Excellent view, good service. Scallops and salad were excellent, but the filet was alright. I definitely will get something else next time, but the dinner overall was a huge hit with the wife.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter Sunday lunch. The food was great and so was the service. The view was of course fantastic! I would recommend this restaurant for any special dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place ever!

Dined on March 26, 2016

If you have any friends from out of town that you would like to impress take them here!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice Restaurant

Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful place. Atmosphere is very nice. Food is a bit average, the ambiance makes that okay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From when we got off the elevator, being ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

From when we got off the elevator, being met by the host,to being sat down and handed our menus it was all very pleasant and made to feel welcome. Our server wasn't Mandy , cannot remember the servers name but she was happy and pleasant to deal with.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sweet 16 Spring Break

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a very special night for my 16 year old daughter and I to finish out Spring Break in our local city of Houston. She is learning how to become familiar with her neighbor City of Houston. It was perfect! The next morning we went back to the Galleria from Conroe. I think the next time we go we will try booking a room in this beautiful neighborhood gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

80th Birthday

Dined on March 17, 2016

Thank you to manager, chef and waitstaff for an unforgettable 80th birthday experience for my aunt. The view great too.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, friendly service, city view wa ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food, friendly service, city view was all very nice. My wife and I enjoyed the evening at spindletop for our anniversary...would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING

Dined on March 13, 2016

It was the best place hands down for our anniversary dinner. Thank you for making it an unforgettable experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Everything was excellent. incl ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent Everything was excellent. including the view & the people.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice if u want to propose

Dined on March 12, 2016

On 3/12/16 went there to propose to the love of my life and it couldn't have been the perfect place. Mr. Ricardo the restaurant manager called the day before to ask what he could do for me to make sure everything from the food to the atmosphere were perfect. He allowed me to arrive 30 minutes before opening. It was perfect! My fiancé loved it. The whole staff was amazing. Our waiter Mario was very helpful and always took care of us. I'll be back again soon. Thank you averyone...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daughter's 18th Birthday Dinner Celebration

Dined on March 12, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's 18th birthday the Spindletop and everything was amazing. Since she was turning 18 I wanted to treat her a very nice upscale restaurant. The service was great! The view was spectacular and the food was exceptional! We had an amazing time and my was extremely happy with our experience. The chef and staff came out to greet us and sang happy birthday to my daughter. They provided her with an autographed chef's at and a birthday card. What an awesome experience and night my daughter won't forget.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it and will return!!!

Dined on March 9, 2016

I went here for a night cap to celebrate my birthday with dessert and cocktails with high expectations and was not disappointed. This has been something I've been wanting to try for almost 2 years. I made reservations the day of, we arrived early and were seated immediately. The view of this city was gorgeous at night, especially since it was drizzling. the ambiance was perfect and everyone was friendly and helpful. The cocktails and desserts were amazing as well. They even signed a card for me as well. This place tends to be a bit pricey, but it's wonderful for celebrating a special occasion. I have no complaints what so ever and will be returning when I get the chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 3, 2016

My wife and I spent our anniversary here a few nights ago and it was amazing the food, the wine, and the service was tip top! Will be coming back and I would suggest this to anyone looking to celebrate a special occasion and who has some extra spending money haha

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Not worth the money

Dined on March 3, 2016

The venue is wonderful with a lovely rotating view of downtown Houston and the ambiance is perfect for a date. The food on the other hand is no where close to worth the price. I had the beef filet which tasted more like roast than steak. Any good steakhouse makes a better filet. The seafood pot my friend had was good but he said still not worth it. Quite sad as I used to consider this one of the best restaurants in Houston. Back then they served Italian though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great view, good food - Noisy and expensive.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food is good... not exceptional, but you will not be disappointed. The service is good. The view is what you came for. The check reminds you that you won't be coming often.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

AlmostPerfect

Dined on February 28, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating an anniversary and the experience was almost perfect. We enjoyed the attention we received including the Happy Anniversary topping for our dessert. The food was delicious except for the ribeye that was a part of the chef's special. My special included also shrimp and scallops which were delicious but the ribeye was very disappointing. There was nothing exceptional about the flavor or even the presentation of the steak. My wife's plate had an angus steak which was exceptional and far less costly than the special I chose. Other than the steak I had, it was still a unique experience and would be willing to give it another try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.