Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Spindletop

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://houston.regency.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/Spindletop.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

We require a 24 hour advance notice for dessert plates with a special message. Please contact the restaurant if you have any questions.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Specials

$70 - Chef’s Featured Dish with Wine Flight
$55 - Chef’s Featured Dish

Specials

$70 - Chef’s Featured Dish with Wine Flight
Details

Visit facebook.com/spindletophouston for details on our weekly Specials!

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: April 20, 2017

Ends: October 20, 2017

Availability: Tue-Thu 6:00PM-10:00PM

$55 - Chef’s Featured Dish
Details

Visit facebook.com/spindletophouston for details on our weekly Specials!

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: April 20, 2017

Ends: October 20, 2017

Availability: Tue-Thu 6:00PM-10:00PM

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (49)
Scenic View (44)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (13)
Fun (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the food! My husband and I really appreciated the restaurant manager coming by to check on us and Chef Joey speaking with us about the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing restaurant and view. Service was phenomenal and food was the the best I've had in Houston!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was great. The service could have been better. It was not a busy not and we were there to celebrate a birthday. The staff was very dry and did not do anything to make our birthday celebration great. The guest of honor was from out of town and I had spoken so highly of the place only to be embarrassed and have a high bill. The lady how called to confirm my reservations told me that they would not have the birthday cake, only to get there and have the host infront of the birthday girl ask if we still wanted the cake. No type of discretion so that it could still be a surprise. I was very disappointed in the service. And to add salt to it all, I was told staff does not sing happy birthday and as we were leaving, 4 staff members were just seating there on their phones. I understand you don't have to, but at least don't sit in my face and do nothing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Server, Lois, from New Orleans was great; she was very attentive and a pleasure to be around. I really enjoyed the Redfish entree and would recommend it to anyone that dines here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and definitely the best view in town. It allows for a comfortable meal and conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Awesome restaurant, I will recommend this to all of my friends and family. ❤️

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Tapas, People Watching, Waterfront, Authentic, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

This place was nice. Furniture was a little dated. The cushion in my chair sunk straight down and I could feel the frame of the chair against my butt. Besides that it was great. Great food, tasty drinks and the rotation was really cool. I got a little seasick at first but once I got used to it everything was fine.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food was great, service was good and the view of the city at night is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Ambience and service were exemplary. Food very disappointing
Land ordered medium rare came well done and replacement barely medium. Presentation very disappointing and drab- don't like Quinoi delivered with both meals
Needs serous revision to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

I give this place rate of four not bad but they messed up on my order, brought me fish when i ordered the ribs and the services was a bit slow even though it was a slow night at the restaurant. Atmosphere was nice, food was not bad. Had a bit higher expectation for the location of the restaurant .

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

My date and I had a great time enjoying the view and food at Spindletop. We dressed up for our date night and the setting was perfect. The food was good except one dish from our first course wasn't our favorite, but overall the food was good. The movement of the restaurant took a little bit to get used to but it goes so slow so it didn't give us motion sickness. Overall its a great restaurant for those wanting a view of downtown Houston especially for those like me who are just visiting.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

The view of the city was so gorgeous and every course seemed like if look up and I'm on a different side of Houston it was a great experience .. the food was very yummy and exciting to try some of the new things .. the only thing was the server was not real happy or she just wasn't a smiling person . She would just sit our plates down and walk away and didn't have any suggestions for us newbies and I love to ask what they like because I never know what I like/ want .. other than that the night was great got to eat the sunset it was a beautiful experience .

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was great! Food, service, view; such a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wasn't impressed with the food selection or taste. View was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was pretty good except for the stale chips they gave my son on a 15.00 kids meal that was'nt worth it!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I took my husband for his birthday this weekend. We drove in from Dallas and stayed the night. The romantic setting and attentive staff made for a great evening. We had the shrimp appetizer which was amazing. My stuffed Chicken Entree with au gratin potatoes was delicious. My husband had the lambs chops, he ordered medium but they were over done and at $52 for the meal we were slightly disappointed. The revolving view and friendly staff helped us get over it. Our server Lois was a Gem and made us feel like we were the only couple there. 45 mins to revolve and we made it around 2 times.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The person that I brought out for her birthday had an Awesome time. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Took my boyfriend for his 31st bday. He loved it and wouldn't stop talking about it. Can't go wrong with this place!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Awesome great experience would recommend to anyone

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very pleased with the place, food, service and fantastic view. Amazing I would definitely recommend this place!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food was good, ambiance was nice view of Houston was great!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Absolutely amazing ambiance. Beautiful. Scenic. Great food. Amazing times. Great service; especially from host stand.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had the best experience tonight. Our waitress Lois, was one of the kindest and funniest persons we have encountered. She brought us a dessert and two greeting cards. One for our anniversary and one one for my birthday. Chef Joey introduced hinself and gave us the amswers to our dining questions. Thanks to him, we made the perfect choice for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Tracy made our evening exceptional. Spindletop is lucky to have a member like her on their team!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The Spindletop is one of our very favorite restaurants as this is where my husband proposed many years ago. This evening we were celebrating the 25th anniversary of our very good friends. They had never dined at the Spindletop before and were very impressed with the food and service. They were presented a very beautiful dessert plate with anniversary wishs and their name in chocolate. I know they will remember this special evening for many years to come.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went for a friends birthday. Very nice. Amazing 360 view of the city. I will be taking my Mom there when she arrives in two weeks. She is going to LOVE it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very pricey but awesome view. Would only go every once and a while for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The view was nice, but service mediocre. Slow, errors, and Busboy spilled drops of marinara sauce on my friends pink leather purse with barely a "sorry", and no help to try to get it off. Food ok. I have to say the dinner i had at shulas was better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Poor quality service, low to average quality of food.
Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was really good, the views and experience was amazing. We only felt that the service wasn't good, the waiter took too long to came back with the check, and we never got the chance to order another drink, because he didn't came.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The view was perfect, our server was very good and helpful. We had a great time!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I attended the restaurant for my birthday. The restaurant was a bit more intimate than I anticipated so I would Recommend going with a date versus a group. The food had a lot of potential however my crab, fish, and shrimp were rubbery from being overcooked. My dish had a great amount of seafood but that was all. The description said it would come with potatoes but there were so few in the pot. Our waiter was nice but he was distracted by an upset table for a good while, which was understandable but it also prevented him from making an impression. I almost felt like the restaurant relied on its reputation and scenery too heavily.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

FAIR! The pork chop was cooked well but had no flavor. No salt and pepper on table. I asked for a Crown and Coke - you do not have Coke. The BBQ sauce was squirted into a cup - cold. I had the berry cake - it was totally raw in the middle. The mashed potatoes were cold - actually ice box cold. The cream corn was great - all two ounces. The bread was great - warm with special butter. The mac and cheese - was top notch. I should have made a total meal of the mac. The service was good - I tipped well. Price was fair.

It was really an observation place for the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food tasted great and the view was awesome. It was a great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Restaurant was great. View is incredible. Food was solid, but not spectacular.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and location. The restaurant is on the 31st floor and makes one revolution about every 40 minutes. My wife and I made it almost 2 times around while dining. Service was great. Valet parking is included.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was amazing. Top 5 favorite places I've ever been to in Houston.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Attentive staff made us feel welcome. Food was tasty and nicely presented. Noise level was low and seating was spaced for privacy. This was a pre-show meal and the staff remained considerate of our desired departure time. We will go back again for a more casual evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was a nice place. You're paying for the ambiance and view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.