Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Spindletop

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://houston.regency.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/Spindletop.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

We require a 24 hour advance notice for dessert plates with a special message. Please contact the restaurant if you have any questions.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Specials

$70 - Chef’s Featured Dish with Wine Flight
$55 - Chef’s Featured Dish

Specials

$70 - Chef’s Featured Dish with Wine Flight
Details

Visit facebook.com/spindletophouston for details on our weekly Specials!

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: April 20, 2017

Ends: October 20, 2017

Availability: Tue-Thu 6:00PM-10:00PM

$55 - Chef’s Featured Dish
Details

Visit facebook.com/spindletophouston for details on our weekly Specials!

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: April 20, 2017

Ends: October 20, 2017

Availability: Tue-Thu 6:00PM-10:00PM

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (62)
Romantic (57)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Cozy (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (14)
Fun (14)
Authentic (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Casual (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Healthy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Live Music (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
 (1)
Dancing (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1760 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very pricey but awesome view. Would only go every once and a while for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The view was nice, but service mediocre. Slow, errors, and Busboy spilled drops of marinara sauce on my friends pink leather purse with barely a "sorry", and no help to try to get it off. Food ok. I have to say the dinner i had at shulas was better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Poor quality service, low to average quality of food.
Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was really good, the views and experience was amazing. We only felt that the service wasn't good, the waiter took too long to came back with the check, and we never got the chance to order another drink, because he didn't came.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The view was perfect, our server was very good and helpful. We had a great time!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

I attended the restaurant for my birthday. The restaurant was a bit more intimate than I anticipated so I would Recommend going with a date versus a group. The food had a lot of potential however my crab, fish, and shrimp were rubbery from being overcooked. My dish had a great amount of seafood but that was all. The description said it would come with potatoes but there were so few in the pot. Our waiter was nice but he was distracted by an upset table for a good while, which was understandable but it also prevented him from making an impression. I almost felt like the restaurant relied on its reputation and scenery too heavily.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

FAIR! The pork chop was cooked well but had no flavor. No salt and pepper on table. I asked for a Crown and Coke - you do not have Coke. The BBQ sauce was squirted into a cup - cold. I had the berry cake - it was totally raw in the middle. The mashed potatoes were cold - actually ice box cold. The cream corn was great - all two ounces. The bread was great - warm with special butter. The mac and cheese - was top notch. I should have made a total meal of the mac. The service was good - I tipped well. Price was fair.

It was really an observation place for the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food tasted great and the view was awesome. It was a great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Restaurant was great. View is incredible. Food was solid, but not spectacular.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and location. The restaurant is on the 31st floor and makes one revolution about every 40 minutes. My wife and I made it almost 2 times around while dining. Service was great. Valet parking is included.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was amazing. Top 5 favorite places I've ever been to in Houston.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Attentive staff made us feel welcome. Food was tasty and nicely presented. Noise level was low and seating was spaced for privacy. This was a pre-show meal and the staff remained considerate of our desired departure time. We will go back again for a more casual evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was a nice place. You're paying for the ambiance and view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very nice view of Houston, friendly staff and excellent food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The views were spectacular and will definitely be coming here more often. The food was very flavorful and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday and it was fantastic! We got there at 7:30 so it was perfect because we got to see the city in daylight, at sunset, and at nighttime. The food was really good, especially the seafood mac n' cheese and seafood pot. It was very filling though so we didn't have room for dessert. I definitely suggest only get the mac n' cheese if you have 3+ people. The service was great too. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful but didn't hover. It was a great experience overall! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My husband and I celebrate birthdays a day apart. This year we stayed downtown for a few nights in a nice hotel and made dinner reservations at the SpindleTop. I have always seen and heard of this restaurant, but have not been until this week. Parking was easy, as we valeted, and finding the restaurant was easy as well. The hotel elevator clearly marked the SpindleTop floor. At first glance, the restaurant is nice, more intimate setting. It does spin slowly took a few minutes to get used to, but that to me was the best part. The views as the sun was going down, although out of direct view of the sunset, which I was hoping to see. Service was nice, but not exceptional. The menu seemed very promising, looked like really good, quality food. It was ok. We had a steak and a Spindle top pot. The flavors were good. We probably will not go back, but would recommend to others for a special occasion to say you've been. Its pretty and you get to see a lot of downtown that you would not normally see.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Overall I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions. The atmosphere is phenomenal. The server we had was a bit sensitive. There was a miscommunication and we mentioned it and the server clearly ignored us the rest of our dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My overall dining experience was great. My guest is a restaurant owner and he was complimentary.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Mario our server did an excellent job, however we asked for a window table and was told that they couldn't due to the reservations which we understood. We were there for a couple of hours and during that time, there were a lot of empty window seating and I was a bit disappointed with the hostess and the Manager Richelle for not accommodating our request especially when it was my fiance's birthday. The ambiance was a bit outdated and I was distracted by the clanging noise from the kitchen . Overall it was okay. I'll probably not return when I come back to Houston.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was delicious and the city view from the 32nd floor was beautiful. It was a unique way to see miles and miles of the Houston landscape. Amazing place to take visitors to the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were looking for a place to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary to make it special. The Spindletop, put the evening over the top... literally!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My waitress wasn't helpful , acted as if she didn't want to serve us . I can say that the manager was wonderful she did accommodate me and my guess sadly not enough room for large party.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I loved our meal at the Spindletop restaurant. Admittedly, the food was only OK, but the atmosphere was so much fun. I definitely would recommend it. Even though it is in the heart of downtown, the view is fun all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We were absolutely delighted to spend our 44th wedding anniversary at Spindletop. My youngest daughter set up the reservation and told them it was our special day and they did not disappoint. We ended up having to switch tables because my wife is scared of heights, but the 2nd table was just as elegant as he first one by the window with the view was. All tables have an excellent view! We will definitely return and recommend anyone to this restaurant. It was well worth the cost, this memory will last a lifetime!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This place was amazing. From the host to the view. The food was delicious. My wife had the lamb and I had the seafood pot. Flavor, delicacy, presentation 5 out of 5. Definitely coming back!!! Couldn't ask for a better place to celebrate our anniversary than Spindletop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

It was an awesome experience with my wife.The food was on time and tasty.I will definitely do this again..

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our anniversary was unforgettable!!. our waitress was so nice, she care about us!.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The view was amazing, I'd recommend going in the evening to watch the sunset. The service was a bit lacking. Started off very good, but it became busy and I don't think they had enough waitstaff. The new manager Rolicia was very accommodating and gave us a discount on the check.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

the place was really amazing, but i did no like my food, i expected more......

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I went here to take my boyfriend for his birthday. It was his first time in a really nice restaurant since he's been in Houston. The view was amazing and the seafood mac n cheese was phenomenal. The entrees that we ordered, however were not. I order the lamb and he order the snapper. The snapper was dry and the lamb was under seasoned. I was really disappointed considering this was a surprise and my birthday gift to him. I was here for my birthday about 5 years ago and things have definitely declined since then.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Amazing place. The view was outstanding and the dinner was great. Also the custom dessert with happy anniversary and a custom little 1 on the top was amazing and for what your getting, the price is right. Would love to go there alot more, the cheif and other people who had worked there including the manager to ask if the night and food was well was great. All in all. Great good and service and would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I have worked/ been to many restaurants in my life, but nothing like Spindletop! The food is fantastic and the view is unbeatable. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First of all I would like to thank them for accommodating us. I had to move my reservation so many times and they took care of it for me. I was very pleased with that. Food was really good, and we enjoyed it very much. The only thing that left me wondering was when my husband did not get something for his birthday, he was greeted by the front desk as well as the waitress. It was very nice, but as I was going through reviews some would get a card or a dessert with "Happy birthday" on it. It's not a big deal but I thought they could have done something extra special for him. Overall, it was an enjoyable and pleasant dinner. Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Awesome experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Definitely romantic! Food is fantastic and service is even better, a winner in my book!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We took our seven year old granddaughter from Memphis for a special night out. (They have a nice kids menu.) Our server, Cesar, was attentive and particularly sweet with Joy. The fish dishes we had were cooked well and the soups we're both delicious. All in all, it was a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

First time dining here, amazing views/location. Service was below average for a place that was empty during our visit. Main courses were delicious, went to order the creme brûlée dessert, that was very clearly store-bought.
Expected a lot more quality from a place in which the bill approaches $200 for 2 people.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

it was expensive, and the food and service didn't live up to my expectation, although the view is perfect and the free 3 hr valet ticket is great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Went to Spindletop for our anniversary and it was great. I haven't been there in years and was pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious, they had a great special on a bottle of wine and service was impeccable.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.