About Spindletop

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/spindletop/index.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Restaurant Photos

  • Winter Green Salad - Spindletop, Houston, TX
  • Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup - Spindletop, Houston, TX
Winter Green Salad - Spindletop, Houston, TX
Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup - Spindletop, Houston, TX

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Romantic
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (57)
Scenic View (56)
Romantic (55)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for a Date (34)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Late-night Find (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Business Meals (9)
Historic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fun (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
1509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best bang for your buck. Exquisite as al ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Best bang for your buck.

Exquisite as always, 3rd time coming and won't be the last. $40 for a filet with sides, most steakhouses are $40+ and sides are extra. The ambiance is hands down the best in Houston you cannot get better.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was great and the food was delicious too. I appreciate the chief coming out to greet us as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Took my girlfriend here and she loved it ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Took my girlfriend here and she loved it, so did I. The service was great. All of the staff were pleasant. All had warm welcoming smiles on there faces. The chef came out and greeted us and all! Great place to dine a date while spinning in the nights Skies above downtown above downtown Houston.. Go check this place out if you haven't already!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wife and I shared our tenth wedding ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The wife and I shared our tenth wedding anniversary dinner. We had a terrific time. I had been at the Spindletop since it opened back in the seventies. It was still as modern today as it was back then. They have done a good job at keeping it classy. Our waiter was very nice and professional. The chef came out and spoke to us. It was a magical marvelous evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place to take your 'special date ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A great place to take your 'special date/significant other'. Romantic atmosphere, great service and great food. Not a place you might want to frequent on a weekly basis, a bit pricey, but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

First time at the restaurant. We select ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First time at the restaurant. We selected it mainly because of its novelty, which was of particular appeal for some out-of-town guests. The view really is pretty cool. Because we visited at Thanksgiving, the menu was basically a prix fixe, and the food was ample and acceptable. I don't think anyone thought their meal was transcendent, but for what it was, everyone was happy. Given the fact that this was a holiday meal, I expected to pay a premium, but the value for money was rather poor - close to $100/person without wine. I don't know if this is typical pricing for routine dining, but I'd expect considerably better quality food at this price point at any time other than a holiday.

The service was quite attentive, and we appreciated the fact that the staff was basically working on a holiday.

It was a good experience all around even allowing for the small-scale price gouging.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Went for Thanksgiving meal great present ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving meal great presentation and view. Would go again for sure

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing Food, View, and Service !!!!! Th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing Food, View, and Service !!!!! This place is a one to add to the Houston Bucket List, will definitely be dining at the Spindletop again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was beyond gorgeous. The staff ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The view was beyond gorgeous. The staff made the experience worth it. Our waiter was great and the chef even came out to speak with everyone and ask them how their experience was going. I loved it overall and Houston needs a place like this to stick around.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price of the food, I'd expect qu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

For the price of the food, I'd expect quality output. Pretentious meal with no substance. The restaurant's view was adequate though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was great, for the price I expe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was great, for the price I expected larger portions. A bit on the expensive side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were great! No complain ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service and food were great! No complaints. Reccomend

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my 10 year old son and his friend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I took my 10 year old son and his friend and they loved their steaks. My son is picky and they immediately took it back and remade it to include no garnish. Crab cakes were amazing, waitress was wonderful and chef came out to see how we liked everything. Great Houston classic.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a very nice place . I don't recomme ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It's a very nice place . I don't recommend if you have kids to take them. it's a super quiet romantic environment . The only thing was the price is high and the food not so great. Don't get me wrong the food was good but not good enough for that price .

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I took my wife for her birthday, it was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I took my wife for her birthday, it was the first time going, it was great! The food, the view, service, valet parking, our server she was super nice and great! The chef even stopped by our table to say hi, nice. My wife was sooo happy, we're definitely coming back to Spindletop.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

View was great, service was great... foo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

View was great, service was great... food ... not so much.

We had to send back the braised short ribs, the meal was served barely warm, the vegetables were tasteless and overcooked. Chef Joey & crew must have had a bad night.

I would recommend this place for dessert and drinks only

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Mario our waiter was top notch. Atmosphe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Mario our waiter was top notch. Atmosphere was elegant and the soft music was classy. Especially the Mexican music. Highly recommend the Salmon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service great view. I w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food great service great view. I would definitely recommend this place as well as be going back to dine once again. My wife loved it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we walked in,one of the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

From the moment we walked in,one of the waiters was more than obvious in checking out my wife and my cousins wife. He was talking to someone else that worked there about our spouses while he kept staring and it wasn't a comfortable feeling. I didn't want to stArt any problems so I let it slide. There's a difference between looking at someone because their attractive and staring to the point where it bothered me. That's that. We were seated and our glass cups were sticking from the outside with something green. The waitress offered us water but didn't give us a chance to say what we really wanted to drink. We she finally came back around we ordered some ice tea and liquor drinks. 10 minutes went by and nothing so we got up and left. Honestly your menu caters to a unique crowd only also but that's just my opinion.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

Great food and great waitress

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and great waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exellent flavors, perfect service and am ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Exellent flavors, perfect service and amazing place!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was almost great. What ma ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our experience was almost great. What made it bad was the obnoxious, discourteous, loud lesbian group of four who thought they were the only ones dining that night. But the great service, great food and scenery had a greater impact on our enjoyment and put them to shame.

It is great place for a romantic dinner. We plan to go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was nice. The hosts were e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My experience was nice. The hosts were extremely nice and apologetic about the menu that I had to say something special. I did specify in the email what I wanted it to say and the menu had what I asked for it not to say. The waitress seemed a bit irritated to wait on myself and my guests compared to my observation of her waiting on other tables. But the food was great, the atmosphere was great, and I would definitely come again. I just will not ask for any more special notes on the menu, you get the opposite of what you ask to be written.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried to go as a group(18) and could ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We tried to go as a group(18) and could not get reservations. we had to make 4 table reservations.

That was disappointing. We were told that the restaurant was full. It was not.

Our waitress was not friendly at all and seemed quite rude.

While the food was excellent and we all enjoyed that, we missed being with our friends.

I don't understand how or why your business is run but you need to take a look at how reservations are made.

You might also take a look at your waiting staff.

The other girls all express the same about their waitress.

I have been once and probably will not return.

Thanks for asking.

I

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The staff was good, but not great. A re ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The staff was good, but not great. A restaurant of this level should train their staff on how to serve in fine dining style. We also ate at 3 forks, and the staff knew what they were doing. The food was good, but yet dissapointing at the same time. I had the seared scallop appatizer. It was good, but I expected more. My wife had the mussels and it was the highlight of the meal. Her seafood soup didn't seem any different than many other chowders that we have had in our travels. My wife's cappuccino cream desert was good, but the oreo crust was so hard, you couldn't break it up with a spoon or fork and my apple galette was cold . Might come again for the view, but too many other places in downtown houston with more inspired food.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Waitress Tracy was attentive. Chef stop ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Waitress Tracy was attentive. Chef stopped by to greet n meet us and asked anything he can do. He created custom salad for my guest. It was his birthday so staff brought birthday card and cake. Atmosphere was nice and quiet with Houston skyline floating by. :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Server Mrs. Lois from New Orleans was ve ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Server Mrs. Lois from New Orleans was very helpfull and had great conversation skills. Chef Joey came out and spoke with us and made dinner off menu so a special thanks to him .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food and friendly service. The ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Loved the food and friendly service. The chef stopped by our table and was very open and friendly as well. I'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent , starting with the most court ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Excellent , starting with the most courteous valets when arriving to leaving. Great view as the tables flooring rotated giving a nice view. The meal was superb & the chef coming out to talk to everyone was really great. Looking forward to many more ding experiences here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. Especially my waite ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Outstanding service. Especially my waiter. He was amazing and hope to see him again if I return which I see no reason not to. Thank you for the amazing food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the greatest dinner date night ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was the greatest dinner date night ever! My wife and I had the best time. We both we're very pleased with what we had to eat. I liked it so much I wanted to lick my plate. I highly recommend this place for a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is average but the view is grea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The food is average but the view is great. Come here for the experience but not for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was good, just a bit over price ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was good, just a bit over priced for what you get. The atmosphere seemed outdated. The big hit was seeing Houston from a 360 degree view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice restaurant... steaks was not good s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Nice restaurant...

steaks was not good should have ordered something else for 200.00 it was not worth it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

My Redfish was very good. But, my date ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My Redfish was very good. But, my date ordered vegetable plate. On it, were Yellow carrots, halved Brussel sprouts and asparagus. My plate also had yellow carrots and have Brussel sprouts. All of those vegetables were absolutely disappointing and inedible. The carrots were hard, the brussel sprouts were hard and the asparagus were hard. I would not of expected this to happen in this top notch restaurant. It was a complete surprise and a complete disappointment. Each of those vegetables should've been cooked longer so that they would soften up and be edible. Neither of us ate any of our vegetables. I paid about $60 in Uber ride there and back to Katy. It was a big waste of money. And as I said above, other than the tremendous redfish, the rest of the meal was a complete disappointment. Unfortunately, I will not be going back to Spindletop. I Pains me to make this review, but I am just being honest.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

My wife and I have been wanting to eat h ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My wife and I have been wanting to eat here for awhile and finally made an excuse to go.

Food was excellent with healthy portions. The wine broth in the sea food pot is fantastic. We also ordered the seafood pasta which was loaded with sea food and sausage.

Our service was also top notch, not to mention the views are incredible. Recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the filet and lamb chops and they ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We had the filet and lamb chops and they were to perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We booked this for our 20th Wedding anni ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We booked this for our 20th Wedding anniversary and was extremely disappointed in the food and service. The service was not the professionalism you would expect fir a fine dining establishment. The food was very mediocre for fine dining also. I didn't even eat the dessert I ordered. The chef walked around to speak to customers but it seemed like his duty instead of him truly wanting to know our opinion. We will not be back.

The 2 positives, the hostess staff were very friendly and the view is absolutely breathtaking!

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

The best ending to a special weekend. Th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The best ending to a special weekend. The food was amazing and so were the drinks. Great service, very friendly and attentive. The night exceeded our expectations!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to take a date to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This is a great place to take a date to for a special occasion. The for was great and the chef came out to great every guest dinning in the restaurant. It has an awesome view of the city at night.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Historic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.