About Spindletop

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/spindletop/index.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Restaurant Photos

  • Winter Green Salad
  • Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup
Winter Green Salad
Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Romantic
Houston
2 More
Scenic View
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Romantic (104)
Scenic View (104)
Special Occasion (96)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The view was fantastic. Tres Leches Chee ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The view was fantastic. Tres Leches Cheesecake was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I chose this venue to propose to my fian ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

I chose this venue to propose to my fiance and she accepted. The view was great, the food was fantastic, the view is the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were treated with such special care b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were treated with such special care by our waiter and the chef. We enjoyed our special time so much!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking for a great place to t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

If you're looking for a great place to take your date this would be the spot! just make sure you take enough money the price is high but well worth it.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Really loved this place!!! Would definit ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Really loved this place!!! Would definitely recommend & be back myself. The service was great from the time we walked in til the time we left. Not to mention the view!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food options were inconsistent with onli ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food options were inconsistent with online advertising. There was no lamb or duck options as advertised.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service was outstanding. We ha ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. We had the filet and stuffed snapper. The menu items were a bit pricey. Overall lovely birthday dinner with friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place blew me away with the amazing ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The place blew me away with the amazing view and the friendly chef. An experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You're paying (a lot) for the view and t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

You're paying (a lot) for the view and the experience of slowly rotating while you eat. This is what we expected and what we were going for. But I did not expect the food to be as bad as it was, or the restaurant itself so lackluster. We're not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Wait staff was good. The food preparatio ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wait staff was good. The food preparation was excellent. Meeting the chef was outstanding. Unfortunately, there was a table next to ours with kids crying and the noise level was not pleasant. We were our anniversary and I was truly hoping for a cozier atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Awesome and Amazing place with great foo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Awesome and Amazing place with great food! The view is amazing and your staff is above par! Excellent time had by all.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Scenic View, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lois was a wonderful, kind waitress and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Lois was a wonderful, kind waitress and the Chef was so courteous to say hello while we were there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Our server Ceasar was awesome. It was my ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server Ceasar was awesome. It was my fiancé's birthday. It was our first time there. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the view was n ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The service was great and the view was nice but the restaurant is very dated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Sooo I booked them for my 1st wedding an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Sooo I booked them for my 1st wedding anniversary and requested roses at the table as a joke but to my surprise they had rose petals laid out on the table! The view of downtown Houston at night was perfectly romantic with the smooth rotating rooftop restaurant. The food was awesome from the seafood Mac & Cheese to the wonderful seafood dinner for two. Also, there was great fine wine to compliment the food. Lastly, it was the staff and customer service that put the icing on the cake with a card signed by the staff! They get 5 stars and an A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall had a great time celebrating our ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall had a great time celebrating our anniversary, only that my steak was overcooked, I ordered it Medium, and my wife veg. were under cooked(carrots, Brussels sprouts)too hard. An due to her braces she unable too, hurted her mouth, however Bbq glazed salmon was delicious to her.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and view is wonderful the food i ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service and view is wonderful the food is ok. Not worth the $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

The soup and seafood were pretty good, b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The soup and seafood were pretty good, but the salad was terrible and the meat and cheese tray was old. I will probably not return to this establishment

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The worst steak I have ever eaten

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The worst steak I have ever eaten

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The food was just absolutely awful, ove ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was just absolutely awful, overpriced waste of money!

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Very good food and the concept of revolv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Very good food and the concept of revolving was a real treat. Gluten free options and ability to modify items was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food wasn't 5 star but very good. Y ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food wasn't 5 star but very good. You go for the view and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exciting place, scenic views, rotating f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Exciting place, scenic views, rotating floor, and delicious food. The service was excellent. I was bummed that I did not order the correct champagne bc I didnt know better. The waitress said she had it for her wedding so I went with it. But it was a sparkling type red wine. It was not "champagne" to me. No matter my GF loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Historic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing spectacular on the food....it wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nothing spectacular on the food....it was just OK

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

One of our special spots to go observe H ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

One of our special spots to go observe Houston from above while we dine. Very great food and service as well

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some newer, taller buildings have obstru ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Some newer, taller buildings have obstructed some of the view, but overall, Spindletop provides a beautiful 360 view of the city. The food is excellent. The kitchen only uses fresh, organic ingredients. And the service is fantastic. I went for Houston Restaurant Weeks, and everyone was super friendly, especially the waitress. She's an older person, and from what I could tell, she'd been working there for a while. She's the sweetest person you'll ever meet, and she was super helpful in describing the menu choices and the wine list. If you're looking for a romantic night out or you just want some excellent food with a gorgeous view of the city, make a reservation to Spindletop at the Houston Hyatt.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you've never been, it's a must. A fu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

If you've never been, it's a must. A fun experience and perfect romantic evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is type of place where you will pop ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is type of place where you will pop the question. It is very a romantic place to splurge.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great atmosphere, good food, and fabulou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great atmosphere, good food, and fabulous service. We will definitely return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

very good service, and the spindletop ma ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

very good service, and the spindletop manager is very helpful and he made everything to make us fell like home

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You made my mom's 60th extra special . T ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

You made my mom's 60th extra special . Thank you and Tracy and Adrian were amazing!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Ann ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Everything was great, It was my hubby's first time there; he really enjoyed himself. Looking forward to coming back again. The service was outstanding. Thanks for the beautiful card!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The great service we got from every one, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The great service we got from every one, the amazing view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to splurge for a special occ ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place to splurge for a special occasion. We ate from the Restaurant Week menu which offered good choices. The taste was great and they put a nice piece of chocolate reading "Happy Anniversary" on our delicious desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Heard great reviews of this restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Heard great reviews of this restaurant and had to check it out!Food was delicious and the view of downtown was beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food solid average but service and ambia ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food solid average but service and ambiance is why you go to Spindletop

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great place , we celebrate our 5 wedding ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great place , we celebrate our 5 wedding anniversary

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food friendly ppl I will let m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food friendly ppl

I will let more ppl no bout this place..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. View at night is great. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Disappointing. View at night is great. View during day light is unattractive looking at dirty roofs.

The food was well below average.

I would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Service was prompt. Food was delicious. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was prompt. Food was delicious. Ambiance was amazing. If I had to criticize one thing it would be the smaller tables on the upper level of the seating area. I'm not a big guy but I felt a little cramped. The tables on the lower deck were larger. I would have liked to have been seated on the lower deck But that's just me being really picky about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.