Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Spindletop

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://houston.regency.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/Spindletop.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Savor our Chef's Easter menu while enjoying a 360 degree view of downtown Houston. The Easter Bunny will be present as well for photo opportunities.

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (56)
Good for a Date (52)
Scenic View (45)
See All
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Modern Decor (10)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Historic (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Waterfront (3)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1665 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was average , the view was Ok
But all in all it was an extremely
Bad experience !
The valet parking people lost my car keys never to be seen again
And for 30 mins they were not helpful to stop what they are doing and look for the keys !
Working with the parking mgr now to get new electronic car keys made
Costing 500 usd each !
Never had this experience anywhere in my life, definitely not professionally handled

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here and we really enjoyed it. A little on the pricey side but great for special occasions. I Would highly recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

The best part of Spindletop is the view; the food quality is mediocre at best with a rather expensive price tag.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

good food, cool views
we had the chicken and the salmon, and both were good, especially the salmon
I loved how the building turns, highly recommend it at least once

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Seriously, one of the best high-class restaurants I've ever been too! Tracy, was so great. She made sure we were taken care of & answered all of our questions. The chef came out to speak with us before our food was delivered, when our food was delivered & after. The scene was gorgeous & the overall experience was outstanding! Would definitely recommended Spindletop to anyone!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

The view is hard to beat and the food equally as good. It is a little pricey so best reserved for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The view is great but the movement can be a little unsettling.
Server was helpful and not intrusive, it almost felt like a private dining experience.
The broth of the seafood pot is extraordinary, Chef Joey came out to greet us and recounted how it was made.
Pricey, but a unique and worthy experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

My wife and I go here every year for our anniversary. The view is scenic and the food is great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We picked Spindletop for the view and the view certainly delivered. Unfortunately, the food left us underwhelmed. I would recommend sticking to the seafood. We had the chorizo mussels for an appetizer and they were flavorful and yummy (although the portion was quite small). For our entrees, I ordered the filet and my boyfriend ordered the spare ribs and we were underwhelmed to say the least. My fillet initially came out way overcooked. There was no pink around the edges and I ordered a mid rare. I returned the steak and the recook came back a perfect mid rare--a warm red all the way through. However, the steak had little to no seasoning, as did the veggies. It appears they did not even salt the steak before firing it. My boyfriend's spare rib was perfectly tender but also suffered from next to no flavor. They don't put salt and pepper on the table, which I understand many fine dining restaurants also do but, in that case, they should really season their food. The drinks were good, the view was lovely, but there is no way this food was worthy of our $200 ticket.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The whole ambiance was great! Great food and Great service by Ms.Lois!! Very nice lady!

I would recommend this restaurant as the perfect place for anniversary dinner or date night!
👍🏿👍🏿

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent service, great staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is hands down the best restaurant in the city. Food is great, drinks are good, service is excellent and the view is breath taking. I recommend the spindletop for any hot date, anniversary, or special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Host was very friendly and helpful.
Waiter was attentive and nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything was excellent, will come back soon, with the rest of the family

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good food, good chef,good view, good service! Chef Joey came out and went table by table and talked and greeted everyone. Arturo was great and attentive with service. Wife and I enjoyed it!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 9, 2017

A very great place to take your significant other

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 8, 2017

View was great. Everything else sucked. I can't say one good thing about this place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great service and ambiance. Awesome views. Very cool place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great as usual. The staff and food never disappoint. Valet parking was a breeze.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Nice change of pace from the everyday routine. Easy in and out of downtown with the valet parking courtesy. A pleasant surprise for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were staying at the Hyatt Regency and had a broadway show to see, so Spindletop seemed like a convenient and unique restaurant to dine at before the show. Our experience was fine but nothing incredible. If you are going to enjoy the view of the city, then I would say go for it, but if you are looking for a dining experience with amazing food and great ambiance, then I would suggest elsewhere. The food was good, but not extraordinary, especially for the price. If you do go, get the Cappuccino Bliss dessert--it was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Spindletop is a nice Special Occasion location. It is definitely not your average fine dining spot. I had no high expectations, thought it would be overpriced for what they do, but I was positively surprised. We shared their signature seafood pot and it was delicious. Perfectly balanced flavors with a good selection of different seafoods. Enough for two.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful food, nice that chef comes out to patrons. Staff are attentive

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was a Christmas gift from me to my twin boys, 11. They are both interested in architecture and what a night to eat there and stay in the hotel!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great experience with my husband. I will tell my family and friends to go and visit to enjoy the city view, candle light dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My boyfriend and I went for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and came out timely. The staff was kind and professional. I would love to go back anytime.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and service were Great. Had some open tables and I didn't get that as when I was doing the reservation it said it was all booked. What we enjoyed the most was the view and that it wasn't the same every time we looked!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Since the restaurant revolves it was always a great view. The food was mediocre because it wasn't hot. We started with soup and it wasn't hot. Our entrees took a long time and the vegetables weren't hot. Hot vegetables were brought out after I complained. They did comp one dessert. For the money, I really want my food to be hot. The service wasn't horrible but it also wasn't great. Will not go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Came here to celebrate my loves birthday. Food was fabulous. Avacado dome was unique and favorable. Chowder unique and creamy. Rainbow trout was well done! My favorite was the shrimp and sausage with pasta. It was heavenly!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Ambiance is great! That's all I have to say that's good other than service was ok. Food is mediocre at best. At this price range there are so many batter choices in the city. Typical low quality hotel food. Vegetables were not even seasoned. The restaurant chefs could use some training at some of the other top restaurants in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

great restaurant but before ordering the chef's special ask for price seems $75.00 per plate is a little outrageous for steak that's not aged and 2 shrimp not prongs and a a few vegetables!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great view and location. Very attentive staff. The food needs more choices and more ethnic variety.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Menu very small food is overpriced guess you paying for the view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Ambiance was nice, noisey table near us but it died down alot once they left. very relaxing and romantic ambiance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I was very disappointed in the ambience and experience for the price. The wait staff treated us as if we were at chili's and the ambience for Valentines Day was very sub par. The food was very good but still did not live up to $250 for two people.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great place for Valentine's or special occasions. Not sure how well the seating accommodates more than 4, but 4 or less is the bottom row seating that puts you right near the view while you eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We had a special occasion on February 12 and wanted to enjoy the atmosphere and food along. Unfortunately, great view and good company didn't come with good food! For price we paid and our expectation it was a disaster! Tasteless meat and salads were aweful! Very small special holiday menu did not give us a choice in ordering what we wanted! I personally don't eat meat and the only option for me was Seabass that could be prepared better somewhere else!!!!
It's beautiful place to go for coffee or dessert which was excellent!!!!! However , we will not go there again!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a great experience for the both of us. Nice views , waiter was everything we could have asked for. The food was really good. I didn't enjoy the dessert. by me being a pastry chef I would have liked a better presentation. But the flavor was right on.. Definitely coming back again!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I ate here for Valentine's Day. At first, we were disappointed when we were informed that there would be a price-fixed menu...but we found that we were pleasantly surprised by the squash soup and the lavender mint dessert. We would have never thought to order them on our own but everything was truly delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a romantic date, or for anyone in the mood for an aerial view of Houston and some fantastic food.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic restaurant!!! Looking forward to my next visit!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.