About Spindletop

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/spindletop/index.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Come join us at Spindletop for Valentine's Day where we will be featuring a limited menu starting February 11th - 14th for $160 per couple plus tax and gratuity.

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (50)
Special Occasion (49)
Scenic View (41)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (39)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Cozy (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Worth the Drive (11)
Historic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Business Meals (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Waterfront (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1609 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We decided to go here for 25th wedding a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We decided to go here for 25th wedding anniversary and wow that was a big mistake. All I can say is that servers should be trained better for a nice restaurant. It was bad enough that the dinner was comped. Won't return and will never recommend to anyone I know.

The manager was great and expressed the restaurants regrets for not making it a better experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Spindletop was absolutely worth the trip ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Spindletop was absolutely worth the trip! She had the rack of lamb, I had the beef filet. Both were very well-cooked, even though cooking lamb well is not an easy task. Since it was her birthday, the staff prepared a small cheesecake dessert plate for her with a chocolate "Happy Birthday" banner on it. They also included a birthday card, signed by everyone. I'm gluten-free, and my waiter was very knowledgeable about the food. He even surprised me with a plate of gluten-free bread, which was not on the menu. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

By far an amazing place. The view of the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

By far an amazing place. The view of the city was very romantic, which was a plus. The staff was very nice and attentive. Food was amazingly delicious. I will definitely go again!

Tags: , Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Private Room, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was exceptional! The servic ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The ambiance was exceptional! The service was excellent from our waitress to the manager introducing herself. My Wife and I enjoyed the experience at Spindletop!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place to take a date for a romantic ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Nice place to take a date for a romantic evening! Would recommend for that but not for a different occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Asked them to make my tablet romantic th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Asked them to make my tablet romantic they did just that with real rose petals love it! Great waitress ms.lois will definitely return

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique ambience and a spectacular view ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Unique ambience and a spectacular view of the city as the restaurant spins... but the menu really needs more options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a date night. Dinner ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I had a date night. Dinner and Theatre afterwards. The view was unique and fantastic. The prices on the entrees we reasonable around 40ish, sides included. Since we were going to the theater, we could not save leftovers, so we didn't want to over order. We decided to split the special which was 14oz sirloin with 2 grilled shrimp and get the scallops appetizer. The steak wasn't anywhere near 14oz, maybe 8-10oz pre cooked, about 1/2" thick. A bit under-seasoned, which isn't a big deal, just add salt and pepper. Scallops were $18 for 3. $6 each. Scallops and shrimp were pretty good. Did not expect the special to run $75, our fault for not asking, but it wasn't "$75 good". Possibly $50, maybe $55. Just seemed overpriced especially since it wasn't anywhere near 14oz.

Listed it as recommend purely on the view ... But beware the overpriced special.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great view and a wonderful experience. I ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great view and a wonderful experience. It's something different than your everyday go to spot. I loved everything about spindletol except I ordered a medium rare filet and it was one the most bland steaks I've had. I'll go back for the view and perhaps the fish next time!

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for a date/Birthday dinner an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Went there for a date/Birthday dinner and had a great time. The server understood that we wanted to be left alone and put us on our own and checked on us at regular intervals instead of constantly. Overall a great place for occasions and I would go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was extraordinary food could've ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Waitress was extraordinary food could've been better

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

It is mainly a seafood place. They shou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

It is mainly a seafood place. They should expand the menu since this restaurant is the only one in Thr Houston area and everybody wants come, including those who do not have preference for seafood.

Pros - Great atmosphere, fun to watch rotation of restaurant, excellent staff and service, Andy great food.

Cons- While food is good, it is way too expensive and does not match its price. Two people who get main course, desert, and maybe appetizers or drinks can easily reach price of $130+. Also expand the menu options

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

I came here for dinner with my boyfriend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I came here for dinner with my boyfriend to celebrate Christmas and we loved it. The food was delicious and the creme brulee was especially good. It was a wonderful experience and we'd love to attend again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night with wife.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Date night with wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent staff great dining experience ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent staff great dining experience made our special night memorable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dining experience. Absol ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a great dining experience. Absolutely no complaints, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at the spindle t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our first time at the spindle top and it was amazing had a great time celebrating our Anniversary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous! We all enjoyed!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fabulous!

We all enjoyed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance, food (meh) overpriced. Pa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Nice ambiance, food (meh) overpriced. Pasta portions are large. 1 entree enough for 2. Overall, good experience. No complaints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time at Spindletop and it was an a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

First time at Spindletop and it was an amazing experience! We will definantly visit again!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time and we enjoyed it on our ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our first time and we enjoyed it on our 17th anniversary.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, , Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Honestly, my party of three felt the res ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Honestly, my party of three felt the restaurant is overrated. The food was okay, but not a place to go if you don't like seafood. The beef filet was cooked perfect, but had zero flavor...not even salt and pepper. We will not go back as I felt it was not worth $192, for 3 people. The view is exceptional and our waiter was good so that made our trip to Spindletop enjoyable.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was great, the food was decent a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was great, the food was decent and some great views.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Thank you Spidle Top and Staff, you made ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Thank you Spidle Top and Staff, you made our 20 year Engagement Night so special. Our family was so enchanted and full of positive memories. The food was Excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice place to be at along with the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Very nice place to be at along with the complimentary valet. My experience was very nice from the food and hostess staff, waitress was a bit inattentive but the food was still great and my date had a nice time. I was amazed by the chef who came to our table and asked us if everything was which left me with a lasting impression. This will be my go to spot for a nice evening out in the town and i want to thank everyone in your staff for making it a very nice experience.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The staff was awesome They made the ex ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The staff was awesome They made the experience top notch. Loved em

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, , Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best bang for your buck. Exquisite as al ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Best bang for your buck.

Exquisite as always, 3rd time coming and won't be the last. $40 for a filet with sides, most steakhouses are $40+ and sides are extra. The ambiance is hands down the best in Houston you cannot get better.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, , Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The service was great and the food was delicious too. I appreciate the chief coming out to greet us as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Took my girlfriend here and she loved it ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Took my girlfriend here and she loved it, so did I. The service was great. All of the staff were pleasant. All had warm welcoming smiles on there faces. The chef came out and greeted us and all! Great place to dine a date while spinning in the nights Skies above downtown above downtown Houston.. Go check this place out if you haven't already!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wife and I shared our tenth wedding ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The wife and I shared our tenth wedding anniversary dinner. We had a terrific time. I had been at the Spindletop since it opened back in the seventies. It was still as modern today as it was back then. They have done a good job at keeping it classy. Our waiter was very nice and professional. The chef came out and spoke to us. It was a magical marvelous evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at the restaurant. We select ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First time at the restaurant. We selected it mainly because of its novelty, which was of particular appeal for some out-of-town guests. The view really is pretty cool. Because we visited at Thanksgiving, the menu was basically a prix fixe, and the food was ample and acceptable. I don't think anyone thought their meal was transcendent, but for what it was, everyone was happy. Given the fact that this was a holiday meal, I expected to pay a premium, but the value for money was rather poor - close to $100/person without wine. I don't know if this is typical pricing for routine dining, but I'd expect considerably better quality food at this price point at any time other than a holiday.

The service was quite attentive, and we appreciated the fact that the staff was basically working on a holiday.

It was a good experience all around even allowing for the small-scale price gouging.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

A great place to take your 'special date ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A great place to take your 'special date/significant other'. Romantic atmosphere, great service and great food. Not a place you might want to frequent on a weekly basis, a bit pricey, but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Went for Thanksgiving meal great present ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving meal great presentation and view. Would go again for sure

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing Food, View, and Service !!!!! Th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Amazing Food, View, and Service !!!!! This place is a one to add to the Houston Bucket List, will definitely be dining at the Spindletop again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was beyond gorgeous. The staff ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The view was beyond gorgeous. The staff made the experience worth it. Our waiter was great and the chef even came out to speak with everyone and ask them how their experience was going. I loved it overall and Houston needs a place like this to stick around.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price of the food, I'd expect qu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

For the price of the food, I'd expect quality output. Pretentious meal with no substance. The restaurant's view was adequate though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was great, for the price I expe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was great, for the price I expected larger portions. A bit on the expensive side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were great! No complain ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service and food were great! No complaints. Reccomend

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my 10 year old son and his friend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I took my 10 year old son and his friend and they loved their steaks. My son is picky and they immediately took it back and remade it to include no garnish. Crab cakes were amazing, waitress was wonderful and chef came out to see how we liked everything. Great Houston classic.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a very nice place . I don't recomme ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It's a very nice place . I don't recommend if you have kids to take them. it's a super quiet romantic environment . The only thing was the price is high and the food not so great. Don't get me wrong the food was good but not good enough for that price .

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.