Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Spindletop

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://houston.regency.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/Spindletop.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

We require a 24 hour advance notice for dessert plates with a special message. Please contact the restaurant if you have any questions.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Specials

$70 - Chef’s Featured Dish with Wine Flight
$55 - Chef’s Featured Dish

Specials

$70 - Chef’s Featured Dish with Wine Flight
Details

Visit facebook.com/spindletophouston for details on our weekly Specials!

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: April 20, 2017

Ends: October 20, 2017

Availability: Tue-Thu 6:00PM-10:00PM

$55 - Chef’s Featured Dish
Details

Visit facebook.com/spindletophouston for details on our weekly Specials!

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: April 20, 2017

Ends: October 20, 2017

Availability: Tue-Thu 6:00PM-10:00PM

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (61)
Romantic (59)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Business Meals (16)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (11)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Historic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 2 days ago

Good place , but you guys should put some fries in your menu . It will be much better .

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food. Great atmosphere. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

35 years ago my husband and I were downtown to take care of some business. We had some spare time and he had heard about this restaurant that revolved. We found it and took the elevator up to check it out. It had an incredible view! Unfortunately at that time we were young marrieds and he was in college so we could not afford to eat there but always said we would try to come back. So 35 years later (on our 35th anniversary) we finally made it back! It was well worth the wait!
We had the Seafood Pot which was so delicious! For dessert we had the peach and blueberry cobbler. So Yummy! We took our leftovers home and have enjoyed them for a few days too! Our waitress Lois was very attentive without being intrusive which is important to me on date nights! She made good recommendations for both the food and wine. With the fabulous view
and great food and service it was an amazing night!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a great time celebrating a birthday at the restaurant. It was our first visit and was impressed. Never felt rushed and had a great table. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Overly expensive. Food was okay. I expected more for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The views, service and the outstanding menu for Mother's Day Brunch was excellent

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

View is terrific. Food was expensive and average, but served cold, with one plate missing part of the course. Service was good and they corrected the missing entree' but I wasn't going to send it back a second time because it was cold. We won't be going back. It is a good stop for anyone wanting to see the 360 degree view of Houston downtown and surrounding areas.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant was great. Our waitress, Lois, was a great help when we needed pictures. I would definitely like to come back in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My daughter, a couple of months ago, mentioned she wanted to do something totally different from the norm. When the opportunity presented I immediately suggested the Spindle Top for our date night. I've been once before in the past; but forgot how nice it is.
She loved it. The ambiance and view of the city lights for miles was all she could talk about. We had a great time and a great dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice service, great food, great view! Totally recommend

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First let me say that the waitress was very sweet...so the horrible experience was not her fault. This was my first time eating at spindletop. The food was only so so. But the real problem was that half way through the meal, the restaurant cut the music, turned on all the lights, and started closing. I understand that the restaurant closes at 10. But if they take reservations past 9--which they did in my case--they should allow the patrons to at lest finish this meal. The staff started clanging around, talking loudly, etc., etc. Our waitress was extremely apologetic about the situation and said that the rest of the staff didn't realize people were still eating. This might be true since there was hardly anyone eating in the restaurant when we arrived at 9. But nevertheless....a totally ruined date night. My date and I decided to leave halfway through our entree....about 10 minutes after it was served to us. This is entirely the managers fault. Once again, waitress was sweet. Will never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

everything was good except I told them it was for my wifes bday and they never sang or brought a piece of cake, I would of paid for it but nothing special for bdays there.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lovely 360 views of Houston. Nice atmosphere for a special occasion. Nice food. Friendly and efficient service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is one of Houston's well kept secret. I thought the service was one of the best I have experienced at any restaurant and I dine out quite often. The food was of great quality, hat off to the Chef and his staff. I must say from the time we entered the restaurant until the time we left, we experienced nothing but great service. If you are looking for a great place to dine, I highly recommend the Spindletop.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style, Business Meals, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Fun, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I had a friend visit from NYC & the experience from the elevator to actually dinning was great, cant wait to visit the Spindle Top family again, I say that because that's how they made us feel.

Wonderful job thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Dancing, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was faster than expected and the fish was delicious. Meals weren't small either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The service was good, but found the flood a little bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

the ambiance of the restaurant is like no other, unfortunately we had a waiter who ruined the experience by providing the worst service I've ever had at a fine dinning restaurant. His name is Cesar, he never refilled our drinks, we had to ask for a refill, never removed our appetizer plates, never took away the empty drink glass from my date, appetizer plates sat dirty on the table the entire meal, didn't write down our order, when our food came out, one of the dishes was the wrong one, and he tried to blame it on the person that delivered the food, we had to eat and share one of our dishes for 15-20 minutes before the correct dish came out, and not once did he come out to apologize or say "the food is on the way" or anything, I would go back, but definitely make sure to not have him as my waiter

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Nice view of the City. Food was ok, just not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Spindletop Restaurant has an unbelievable view. However, our waiter was not very attentive and menu plain. I would visit again if they changed the menu and waiters were professional and mindful.

Tags: , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Cesar was our waiter, and he was amazing. He didn't rush us, was very friendly and helped in making it a very special night for my boyfriend and I.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Family Style, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good was outstanding... the maze trip to the btrm not so much fun... this place does not want you to drink.. you'd get lost going to btrm after some wine.. but overall I enjoyed my dinner

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is the best place to celebrate birthdays because they give their clients birthday cake celebrations as a surprise and a birthday card signed by the staff . The other time I came here they also gave me a special dessert for a promotion. Overall, I highly recommend this place for celebrating special occasions. I really love the taste of their seafood pot. The chef also made his rounds to make sure the guests are happy with the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Family Style, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

ITS SO KEWL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Exceptional meet and greet from Chef Joey which we all enjoyed in celebrating my sister's birthday was a pleasure! Wait staff could have been a little more prompt and energetic. The scene was by far, the best experience of the evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food and service! We Celebrated a birthday and they gave him a Birthday card with everyone's signature. We will def be back

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was great! Our server was amazing, she gave us a card and free dessert. I feel awful, I forgot to take my anniversary card which made the gf a little unhappy.. But as far as the restaurant itself, and the food, definitely an anniversary to remember!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner here. The staff were great and the revolving view were fun. And although the food was solidly good, it was something that lingered with us. Nothing set it above other experiences.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The staff couldn't have been better. The helped me pull off my proposal. Tremendous job. Very professional in all matters. They went out of their way to make our evening special. Even put Rose pedals on our table. AWESOME PLACE.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome views. Food was good. Limited menu entrees. You are definitely paying for the views / ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 7th year anniversary and the occasion was very special. The table was decorated with rose petals and the service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

estuvimos ahí mi esposo y yo por su cumpleaños, excelente comida, excelente servicio, en general muy recomendable el lugar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was great. This was our first time and I was very impressed. We definitely will be returning.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was absolutely amazing!! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Authentic, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was not worth the price, you aren't paying for the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The view is definitely the best in town. It's a great place for romantic dinners. We went around 9pm on a Thursday and it was completely quiet so our waiter was always there to help and talk to us. The food is good but definitely pricey. On top of the scenery our waiter Cesar was the best part of Spindletop. He was very friendly and outgoing and on top of all of our requests. If you go there any time soon be sure to request him, he'll make your visit that much better.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

As fine as wine, I'll return was an occasion I'd never forget 5*

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This place was perfect for our wedding anniversary! Great view!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The view was spectacular, the food was amazing, and their service was awesome! My friends and I had an amazing experience and we are looking to go back soon! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.