About Spindletop

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/spindletop/index.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (54)
Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Scenic View (39)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Historic (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Waterfront (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1629 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was very disappointed in the ambience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

I was very disappointed in the ambience and experience for the price. The wait staff treated us as if we were at chili's and the ambience for Valentines Day was very sub par. The food was very good but still did not live up to $250 for two people.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

Great place for Valentine's or special o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great place for Valentine's or special occasions. Not sure how well the seating accommodates more than 4, but 4 or less is the bottom row seating that puts you right near the view while you eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience for the both o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a great experience for the both of us. Nice views , waiter was everything we could have asked for. The food was really good. I didn't enjoy the dessert. by me being a pastry chef I would have liked a better presentation. But the flavor was right on.. Definitely coming back again!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I ate here for Valentin ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I ate here for Valentine's Day. At first, we were disappointed when we were informed that there would be a price-fixed menu...but we found that we were pleasantly surprised by the squash soup and the lavender mint dessert. We would have never thought to order them on our own but everything was truly delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a romantic date, or for anyone in the mood for an aerial view of Houston and some fantastic food.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant!!! Looking forward ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic restaurant!!! Looking forward to my next visit!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was poor it could have been bett ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Service was poor it could have been better ( no refills or attention to order) burned the steak and wrong side order. The place or location and experience is great just was tarnished with the service provided on that night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

The staff was friendly, attentive and ma ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The staff was friendly, attentive and made great recommendations. Amazing views of the city-absolutely beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed this first time visit. The atmos ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Enjoyed this first time visit. The atmosphere and professionalism of the staff was exceptional. The food was delicious and value for the money.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, , Comfort Food, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best night date restaurant! Impressive

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best night date restaurant! Impressive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was overpriced and not good. Se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was overpriced and not good. Service was fine but they forgot to stick a candle in the dessert we ordered, after I had asked multiple times because we were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

My significant other and I came to enjoy ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My significant other and I came to enjoy my birthday. It was perfect because it was during the week and it was not crowded at all. The staff were very attentive and the view was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great dinner and drinks with my da ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a great dinner and drinks with my date. Beautiful place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view of our fine city! A nice ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Beautiful view of our fine city! A nice place for newcomers to Houston. Easy to reserve at convenient times. The chairs were somewhat uncomfortable and a bit low to the ground, especially for those who are of short stature. Fish and filet were superbly prepared! Veggies were cold and difficult to chew. Dessert was delish! All in all, we will dine here again in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had one order of lamb shank and it wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had one order of lamb shank and it was not lamb. It was roast. My veggies appeared to have food coloring on them. My drink was absolutely delicious and the serve was pretty good. Although, we never received refills on our water. It seemed as though we were being rushed, we were asked four times if we done and they clear our plates and we all had at least half of our food on our plates. Unfortunately we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Waitress' recommendation - the crab stuf ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Waitress' recommendation - the crab stuffed trout was overcooked and still had the skin under the corn crust, did not taste very good at all. Came with soggy rice pilaf, almost raw brocoli, and a two pieces of beet. We have never had such a poor meal in such an expensive restaurant. The view was good but alot of the time you are looking at the sides of all the taller buildings around you. We were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Great place had good time and fun and my ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great place had good time and fun and my wife enjoyed her birthday

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My fiancé and I were celebrating our fou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My fiancé and I were celebrating our fourth year of dating at Spindletop and the ambience was

amazing. Ms. Lois was our waitress and she catered to us with such care. Thank you Ms. Lois!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had great birthday experience for my wif ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Had great birthday experience for my wife and I ... especially for her... Thankyou

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We decided to go here for 25th wedding a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We decided to go here for 25th wedding anniversary and wow that was a big mistake. All I can say is that servers should be trained better for a nice restaurant. It was bad enough that the dinner was comped. Won't return and will never recommend to anyone I know.

The manager was great and expressed the restaurants regrets for not making it a better experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Spindletop was absolutely worth the trip ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Spindletop was absolutely worth the trip! She had the rack of lamb, I had the beef filet. Both were very well-cooked, even though cooking lamb well is not an easy task. Since it was her birthday, the staff prepared a small cheesecake dessert plate for her with a chocolate "Happy Birthday" banner on it. They also included a birthday card, signed by everyone. I'm gluten-free, and my waiter was very knowledgeable about the food. He even surprised me with a plate of gluten-free bread, which was not on the menu. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

By far an amazing place. The view of the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

By far an amazing place. The view of the city was very romantic, which was a plus. The staff was very nice and attentive. Food was amazingly delicious. I will definitely go again!

Tags: , Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Private Room, Modern Decor, Casual, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was exceptional! The servic ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The ambiance was exceptional! The service was excellent from our waitress to the manager introducing herself. My Wife and I enjoyed the experience at Spindletop!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place to take a date for a romantic ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Nice place to take a date for a romantic evening! Would recommend for that but not for a different occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Asked them to make my tablet romantic th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Asked them to make my tablet romantic they did just that with real rose petals love it! Great waitress ms.lois will definitely return

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique ambience and a spectacular view ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Unique ambience and a spectacular view of the city as the restaurant spins... but the menu really needs more options

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a date night. Dinner ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I had a date night. Dinner and Theatre afterwards. The view was unique and fantastic. The prices on the entrees we reasonable around 40ish, sides included. Since we were going to the theater, we could not save leftovers, so we didn't want to over order. We decided to split the special which was 14oz sirloin with 2 grilled shrimp and get the scallops appetizer. The steak wasn't anywhere near 14oz, maybe 8-10oz pre cooked, about 1/2" thick. A bit under-seasoned, which isn't a big deal, just add salt and pepper. Scallops were $18 for 3. $6 each. Scallops and shrimp were pretty good. Did not expect the special to run $75, our fault for not asking, but it wasn't "$75 good". Possibly $50, maybe $55. Just seemed overpriced especially since it wasn't anywhere near 14oz.

Listed it as recommend purely on the view ... But beware the overpriced special.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great view and a wonderful experience. I ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great view and a wonderful experience. It's something different than your everyday go to spot. I loved everything about spindletol except I ordered a medium rare filet and it was one the most bland steaks I've had. I'll go back for the view and perhaps the fish next time!

Tags: People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for a date/Birthday dinner an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Went there for a date/Birthday dinner and had a great time. The server understood that we wanted to be left alone and put us on our own and checked on us at regular intervals instead of constantly. Overall a great place for occasions and I would go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was extraordinary food could've ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Waitress was extraordinary food could've been better

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

It is mainly a seafood place. They shou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

It is mainly a seafood place. They should expand the menu since this restaurant is the only one in Thr Houston area and everybody wants come, including those who do not have preference for seafood.

Pros - Great atmosphere, fun to watch rotation of restaurant, excellent staff and service, Andy great food.

Cons- While food is good, it is way too expensive and does not match its price. Two people who get main course, desert, and maybe appetizers or drinks can easily reach price of $130+. Also expand the menu options

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

I came here for dinner with my boyfriend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I came here for dinner with my boyfriend to celebrate Christmas and we loved it. The food was delicious and the creme brulee was especially good. It was a wonderful experience and we'd love to attend again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night with wife.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Date night with wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent staff great dining experience ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent staff great dining experience made our special night memorable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dining experience. Absol ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a great dining experience. Absolutely no complaints, highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at the spindle t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was our first time at the spindle top and it was amazing had a great time celebrating our Anniversary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous! We all enjoyed!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fabulous!

We all enjoyed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance, food (meh) overpriced. Pa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Nice ambiance, food (meh) overpriced. Pasta portions are large. 1 entree enough for 2. Overall, good experience. No complaints.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time at Spindletop and it was an a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

First time at Spindletop and it was an amazing experience! We will definantly visit again!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time and we enjoyed it on our ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our first time and we enjoyed it on our 17th anniversary.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, , Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Honestly, my party of three felt the res ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Honestly, my party of three felt the restaurant is overrated. The food was okay, but not a place to go if you don't like seafood. The beef filet was cooked perfect, but had zero flavor...not even salt and pepper. We will not go back as I felt it was not worth $192, for 3 people. The view is exceptional and our waiter was good so that made our trip to Spindletop enjoyable.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.