About Spindletop

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/spindletop/index.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Restaurant Photos

  • Winter Green Salad
  • Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup
Winter Green Salad
Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Best Ambiance
Houston
2 More
Romantic
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

scenic view (107)
special occasion (100)
romantic (99)
See All
great for lunch (17)
fit for foodies (17)
notable wine list (16)
late-night find (15)
hot spot (14)
great for brunch (13)
good for groups (13)
neighborhood gem (10)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Restaurant was great and the view wa ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

The Restaurant was great and the view was amazing. The food and the service made me feel welcome. If you arrive to early you could enjoy a nice drink at the bar downstairs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was overpriced and the decor was da ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was overpriced and the decor was dated. Nice experience. Probably won't go back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for a special anniversary and th ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We came for a special anniversary and the staff was wonderful: wrote Happy Anniversary in chocolate on our dessert and gave us a card. The food was excellent, the wine perfect and it was just a lovely evening for us both.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time at spindle top a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time at spindle top and it was great! Really nice view but little pricey on the meals.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect restaurant for our 20th wedding ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect restaurant for our 20th wedding anniversary dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

There were noisy kids banging on the win ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

There were noisy kids banging on the windows at the table ahead of us. The martini's were over priced and we were given half a glass. The ribeye special was way over priced at $75, plus the meat was very fatty and not seasoned at all. Service was excellent, however, it could never make up for the taste of the food and outrageous prices. My bill was 213.16 for two ribeye specials 2 drinks and 2 bowls of chowder.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. Great hospitality. T ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Awesome experience. Great hospitality. The chef was an all around pleasure to meet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience was first class from the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The experience was first class from the start. We met the hostess, waiter, chef, and general manager. We left saying we have never been treated like that before. We will definitely be back.

food4
ambience4
service3

High-end food, prepared adequately with ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

High-end food, prepared adequately with views of some of Houston's most unremarkable buildings. Service was friendly, but hardly high end. One of the saddest beer selections I've seen in years, but the cocktails were good. We don't regret going, but don't plan on going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff -- chef, manager and ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Very friendly staff -- chef, manager and waiters/waitresses. The restaurant ambience and friendliness of the staff are worth the money spent on dining.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

I've always wanted to have dinner at thi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I've always wanted to have dinner at this place, my anniversary was this past Friday so I figured it'd be a good place for me and my wife to try out. The scenery was great. I ordered a grilled chicken served with risotto. it was horrible, it was so plain and dry, rubbery, I could barely cut it with the knife that was given to me. Even the size of it was ridiculous. The waiter didn't come till another 20 minutes later, by then I just wanted to leave. I honestly could have gone to Lubys for a third of the price I paid and left with a full stomach and money's worth.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Nice place to dine for special occasions

Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife an I had a lovely dinner while in town doing some sight seeing for the weekend. The food was tasty and delicious. I recommend to anyone visiting this place to do their own due diligence on the wine list. They tend to rip you off by over charging you for cheap bottles of wines. For example if you look at the white zinfandel wines which cost less than $10. One is marked up all the way out to $50. Talk about ripping their customers. We didn't order any white zinfandel but it just speaks poorly at how much they even care to properly price these bottles. The same goes for the majority of them. We ordered an Erath Pinot Noir which was reasonable price. Other than that be careful in not getting ripped off. The service is just ok. I had to pour our own wine after the first pour. We didn't feel the waitress was attentive or cognoscent that our wine glasses were empty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We love the Spindle Top. The food the dr ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We love the Spindle Top. The food the drinks are always top notch. Our server was fun and friend.... We can't wait to return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Two thumps up!

Dined on June 9, 2016

First time here for our 5 year anniversary. Everything was great, these guys were on point! Very proffecional, great service, great food, really neat place and of course great view !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining spot

Dined on June 8, 2016

This was a special place to view the city as well as dine . The staff from the hostess, servers, chef and manager seemed to try their hardest to make our dining experience the very best. Every attention to detail was made in food presentation and quality. We would highly recommend Spindletop.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service!!!!!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our phone batteries died so we could take pictures. The manager was kind enough to take pictures with his phone and send us the pictures! Our server was excellent as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Experience it at least once

Dined on June 5, 2016

It wasn't the best meal I've ever had, but it was fun & the view is awesome.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great view, not much else.

Dined on June 5, 2016

it seems they try too hard to be different, muddling the flavors into a strange mix. I would order the steak but that's it. And even that was fairly bland. I would go there once just for the experience, but we will likely not return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

overpriced for the limited menu and tired ambiance

Dined on June 4, 2016

My girlfriend and I had previously dined at the Tower of the Americas in San Antonio so I guess we were expecting something of a similar caliber coming to Spindletop. In a nutshell, service and ambiance was good. The food? Overpriced for what was offered. I chose to take advantage of the Chef's special that night....an 8oz ribeye, with potatos and asparagus. Your typical "meat and potatos" meal for a restaurant. That one plate alone was $75! And yes, I understood where I was, that this was not a "chain" establishment, so the prices were going to be significantly higher. But with a nitche restaurant like Spindletop, I would expect the quality of the food to be top notch...definitely for a $75 plate. The steak was small...fattier than meaty. I have no problem paying that amount of money for QUALITY, but this was substandard. As with the other items on dinner, also could have been done better. I'm no food critic, but it seems like Spindletop is just an old establishment riding on the coattails of it's reputation from long ago...not necessarily trying to keep up with the times. If you want to go to a great place for food with a great view, I would suggest Tower of the Americas in SA. The tower overlooks all of the city and riverwalk. Definitely worth every penny of your hard earned money. The Maitre'd visited every table to welcome all the guests. I appreciated that, but I would say he could do well with putting a little more personality to his conversations. He welcomed us and as soon as he was done, went to the table next to us and I could hear him saying the exact same thing...line for line. I understand things are scripted. But maybe start a small conversation...talk about something...anything...it will go a long way. I will give props to our server, who was very sweet. I lived in Houston all my life and always wanted to try Spindletop out. Well, I guess I did...check off the bucket list...time to move on...nothing more about that memory...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom-Daughter event in Heaven

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was a great experience. I didn't know H town had such a gem right in the middle of downtown. My bday celebration was amazingly well done in a breath taking atmosphere with a remarkable scenic view. The lady who attended our table was outstanding and the food was excellent. Whenever I called people were very kind and professional over the phone. I'll sure come back some day for more. Well done!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on May 26, 2016

I loved, I love the staff it was a pleasure. They were able to meet my request, it was quiet and the view was beautiful

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We were here to celebrate our anniversar ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We were here to celebrate our anniversary and it was a great night. We had the seafood pot which was definitely enough for 2 people.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband enjoyed himself! That's all t ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

My husband enjoyed himself! That's all that matters!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view and experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

The Spindletop employees were all very kind. We were running late and they offered to push back our reservation. The food was amazing and the view was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and our server wa ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was extremely attentive and competent. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Acknowledged our anniversary. The filet ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Acknowledged our anniversary. The filet was phenomenal. And the dessert has me at a loss for words.

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The spindletop is a great choice for a d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The spindletop is a great choice for a date or special occasion but not for Mothers Day! The menu was mediocre at best and had no variations. All in all, the Mothers Day brunch was a tab bit overrated but I would definitely go again. The view is ablsoluty the best!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and Lois was very friendl ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great and Lois was very friendly and provided great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is an amazing place to eat. The win ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is an amazing place to eat. The wine menu very wide variety to choose from and they food speaks for it's self. Overall fantastic place to eat and beautiful view of the city.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great view until $7 for instant potatoes?

Dined on May 5, 2016

Dessert come complimentary for special occasion. Seafood pot would have been better fit at a low-end joint somewhere on a bayou in Louisiana not an upscale restaurant. Cocktails are a bit expensive but they taste great! Let's just say I've had more uplifting servers at lower end restaurants... They sell plenty of seafood but our server said he didn't eat seafood so he couldn't recommend anything... Not fit for restauranteurs. But overall the place has redeemable qualities only because of the scenic view ( I recommend going right at sun set ). Wouldn't go again. But fun for a one time thing...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Spindletop

Dined on April 27, 2016

Appetizers was excellent. We had this avocado and crab plate. I had the lamb and my wife had the beef. Both meals were disappointing. We got a free desert tray for our anniversary which was very appreciated. It was really good. It is very fascinating to see the city but a lot is blocked off by older buildings.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Taste explosion

Dined on April 24, 2016

Definitely not your every day food. Dined with my family for my daughter's 17th birthday. The kids were open to trying new dishes and said the flavors were like a "taste explosion" in their mouths. It was a beautiful evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic and Elegant

Dined on April 24, 2016

I stayed at the Hyatt Regency hotel with my girlfriend and the Spindletop restaurant is a part of the hotel. This was my second time going to the restaurant. The views were great and we spun three laps around the city during our stay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

We felt like the waitress judged us. She ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We felt like the waitress judged us. She only stopped by to check on us about 4 times that's including the times she had to bring our food. She stopped by about 10 times 2 tables down ours.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I feel as if our service was a bit rushe ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I feel as if our service was a bit rushed; our reservation was at 9:15 so maybe that's why. I do feel like the server could've interacted with us a bit more and for the price the food is good but not great. The seafood Mac and cheese is definitely something you should try. The drinks tasted like just juice... It is very romantic and intimate for a cute date.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Date = Success

Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing view Great service Romantic atmosphere Delicious food Satisfied

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, staff was very friendly a ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great service, staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was only fair - the higher the restaurant is above street level, the less likely the food is to be outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view of the city . Service was ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Beautiful view of the city . Service was excelelent !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A WONDERFUL LOVELY TIME!

Dined on April 8, 2016

Had a very lovely time, from beginning to end. The staff was very attentive to us, (Lois and Ricardo). We had a beautiful sunset view. The food was present very well and tasted great. I ordered the polenta ravioli, (melted in my mouth), and my friend ordered the steak and was cooked almost to perfection. We saw a couple get engaged, very romantic. I look forward to coming back here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Place

Dined on April 7, 2016

The place was very nice and quiet. Great view of downtown, but the food was nasty and poor selection.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.