About Spindletop

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/spindletop/index.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Restaurant Photos

  • Winter Green Salad
  • Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup
Winter Green Salad
Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
3 More
Romantic
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Special Occasion
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

scenic view (105)
romantic (98)
special occasion (94)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
notable wine list (15)
great for lunch (13)
late-night find (13)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was ok. I thought it have a little ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was ok. I thought it have a little more taste and food portions were limited for the price.. But service was overall very Good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Gimmicky restaurant, good view, acceptab ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Gimmicky restaurant, good view, acceptable service. Big disapointment on food and the follow up service after they made a mistake. I was served raw potatoes, like crunchy potatoes, like my fork could not penetrate the potatoe...potatoes.

Server left us for at least 10-15 minutes, could not inform her until I already ate the rest of the plate. I was no longer interested in more potatoes. I told her I did not want more potatoes, they sent me mashed potatoes from the kitchen...didnt eat it. Chef came out to 'check' on things after he already knew we had raw potatoes served...no effort was made to help or clarify the error.

No value here. Food does not compare to it's competitors. Perry' s steakhouse runs laps around this place, and they dont have a spinning dining room. I get better service from the cheap movie theaters that serve food.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Complained about a very, very noisy and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Complained about a very, very noisy and loud group of people and the waitress did nothing about it. Left no tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Chef Joey's cuisine was excellent and he ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Chef Joey's cuisine was excellent and he even came to each table to speak to his guests. Very nice down to Earth guy.

Our server Melissa was excellent.

She explained the variety of dishes and recommended some great choices.

Our daughter is a picky eater and she ate everything they brought out lol.

We were very pleased with her service.The view was spectacular!!!

We loved everything about our experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to have a spe3cial experience.

The staff went out of their way to make sure things were memorable for us.

Food was great as was the service. Great evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were extraordinary. There were ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The staff were extraordinary. There were kind and caring and catered to our every request. Our waiter was the best. We were not rushed or felt as if we had to leave quickly. The chef came to our table and introduced himself and asked if all was good. The food was great and prepared as we asked. The staff even stood at the table to be certain that the food was prepared to our liking. We came for our first wedding anniversary. We couldn't have asked for better. The staff gave us a card with all of their signatures. We felt that this was so personalized. They even brought us a dessert with a happy anniversary wish. One of the best nights ever. The view was great while the sun was up. I can't say how enjoyable our evening was. I would highly recommend a evening like we had. Thanks to all the staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience! Enjoyed a late night ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awesome experience! Enjoyed a late night desert and drinks with a friend visiting from Illinois. Perfect location, atmosphere and view! Free valet parking was a great plus. Will be back soon with other visitors!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a little outdated but the view is s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It's a little outdated but the view is still great. The menu is limited and not as creative as some newer places but the food was cooked perfectly. Wines are reasonable. Our server was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The manager was amazing and all personne ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The manager was amazing and all personnel! Made it special, couldn't ask for more!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were there for our last night for the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

we were there for our last night for the Elks convention and had an amazing time. we were able to share in and engagement. thanks for a memorial night

Dennis & Judie Dionne from Maine

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great, except for that I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was great, except for that I was still hungry after I left & for the price I don't think I should have been hungry.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waiter was rude. He should go to a c ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our waiter was rude. He should go to a customer service training!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Beautiful views,outstanding food and exc ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Beautiful views,outstanding food and excellent service !!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my wife here for our Anniversary ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brought my wife here for our Anniversary. The food was great however when we asked for the rest of our food to be packaged to take with us we were informed that someone in the back had spilled something on it so we either had to wait for it to be cooked again or leave without it. Also, the liquor tax on the one drink that we ordered was the same price as the drink, turning a $13 drink into a $26 drink. I'm glad we only go here about once a year because we wouldn't be able to afford it going much more than that.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

I must admit I was somewhat skeptical ha ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I must admit I was somewhat skeptical having read various mixed reviews but never one to just pass on experiencing something for myself and formulating my own opinion I figured at least I can scratch this off my to do list. However, I must admit I was pleasantly surprised the food was wonderful the chef stopped by our table to greet us overall my experience was perfect and my date loved it even more so a great birthday dinner! I should add that this was a week night the place was far from busy so the staff was able to be more attentive this might not be the case on a busier night just an FYI.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful veiw, beautiful scenary, awsom ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Beautiful veiw, beautiful scenary, awsome chef joey

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner we were treated so nice her ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great Dinner we were treated so nice here I highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. The views were good ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was delicious. The views were good but not breathtaking but that has a lot to do with the location in downtown Houston. Definitely a place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The Restaurant was great and the view wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The Restaurant was great and the view was amazing. The food and the service made me feel welcome. If you arrive to early you could enjoy a nice drink at the bar downstairs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was overpriced and the decor was da ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was overpriced and the decor was dated. Nice experience. Probably won't go back.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We came for a special anniversary and th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We came for a special anniversary and the staff was wonderful: wrote Happy Anniversary in chocolate on our dessert and gave us a card. The food was excellent, the wine perfect and it was just a lovely evening for us both.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at spindle top a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time at spindle top and it was great! Really nice view but little pricey on the meals.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect restaurant for our 20th wedding ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Perfect restaurant for our 20th wedding anniversary dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were noisy kids banging on the win ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

There were noisy kids banging on the windows at the table ahead of us. The martini's were over priced and we were given half a glass. The ribeye special was way over priced at $75, plus the meat was very fatty and not seasoned at all. Service was excellent, however, it could never make up for the taste of the food and outrageous prices. My bill was 213.16 for two ribeye specials 2 drinks and 2 bowls of chowder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Awesome experience. Great hospitality. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Awesome experience. Great hospitality. The chef was an all around pleasure to meet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was first class from the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The experience was first class from the start. We met the hostess, waiter, chef, and general manager. We left saying we have never been treated like that before. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High-end food, prepared adequately with ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

High-end food, prepared adequately with views of some of Houston's most unremarkable buildings. Service was friendly, but hardly high end. One of the saddest beer selections I've seen in years, but the cocktails were good. We don't regret going, but don't plan on going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very friendly staff -- chef, manager and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Very friendly staff -- chef, manager and waiters/waitresses. The restaurant ambience and friendliness of the staff are worth the money spent on dining.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've always wanted to have dinner at thi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I've always wanted to have dinner at this place, my anniversary was this past Friday so I figured it'd be a good place for me and my wife to try out. The scenery was great. I ordered a grilled chicken served with risotto. it was horrible, it was so plain and dry, rubbery, I could barely cut it with the knife that was given to me. Even the size of it was ridiculous. The waiter didn't come till another 20 minutes later, by then I just wanted to leave. I honestly could have gone to Lubys for a third of the price I paid and left with a full stomach and money's worth.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Nice place to dine for special occasions

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife an I had a lovely dinner while in town doing some sight seeing for the weekend. The food was tasty and delicious.

I recommend to anyone visiting this place to do their own due diligence on the wine list. They tend to rip you off by over charging you for cheap bottles of wines. For example if you look at the white zinfandel wines which cost less than $10. One is marked up all the way out to $50. Talk about ripping their customers.

We didn't order any white zinfandel but it just speaks poorly at how much they even care to properly price these bottles. The same goes for the majority of them.

We ordered an Erath Pinot Noir which was reasonable price. Other than that be careful in not getting ripped off.

The service is just ok. I had to pour our own wine after the first pour. We didn't feel the waitress was attentive or cognoscent that our wine glasses were empty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We love the Spindle Top. The food the dr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We love the Spindle Top. The food the drinks are always top notch. Our server was fun and friend.... We can't wait to return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Two thumps up!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

First time here for our 5 year anniversary. Everything was great, these guys were on point! Very proffecional, great service, great food, really neat place and of course great view !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dining spot

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was a special place to view the city as well as dine . The staff from the hostess, servers, chef and manager seemed to try their hardest to make our dining experience the very best. Every attention to detail was made in food presentation and quality. We would highly recommend Spindletop.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best service!!!!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our phone batteries died so we could take pictures. The manager was kind enough to take pictures with his phone and send us the pictures! Our server was excellent as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experience it at least once

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It wasn't the best meal I've ever had, but it was fun & the view is awesome.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view, not much else.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

it seems they try too hard to be different, muddling the flavors into a strange mix. I would order the steak but that's it. And even that was fairly bland. I would go there once just for the experience, but we will likely not return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

overpriced for the limited menu and tired ambiance

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My girlfriend and I had previously dined at the Tower of the Americas in San Antonio so I guess we were expecting something of a similar caliber coming to Spindletop. In a nutshell, service and ambiance was good. The food? Overpriced for what was offered. I chose to take advantage of the Chef's special that night....an 8oz ribeye, with potatos and asparagus. Your typical "meat and potatos" meal for a restaurant. That one plate alone was $75! And yes, I understood where I was, that this was not a "chain" establishment, so the prices were going to be significantly higher. But with a nitche restaurant like Spindletop, I would expect the quality of the food to be top notch...definitely for a $75 plate. The steak was small...fattier than meaty. I have no problem paying that amount of money for QUALITY, but this was substandard. As with the other items on dinner, also could have been done better. I'm no food critic, but it seems like Spindletop is just an old establishment riding on the coattails of it's reputation from long ago...not necessarily trying to keep up with the times. If you want to go to a great place for food with a great view, I would suggest Tower of the Americas in SA. The tower overlooks all of the city and riverwalk. Definitely worth every penny of your hard earned money. The Maitre'd visited every table to welcome all the guests. I appreciated that, but I would say he could do well with putting a little more personality to his conversations. He welcomed us and as soon as he was done, went to the table next to us and I could hear him saying the exact same thing...line for line. I understand things are scripted. But maybe start a small conversation...talk about something...anything...it will go a long way.

I will give props to our server, who was very sweet.

I lived in Houston all my life and always wanted to try Spindletop out. Well, I guess I did...check off the bucket list...time to move on...nothing more about that memory...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Mom-Daughter event in Heaven

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was a great experience. I didn't know H town had such a gem right in the middle of downtown. My bday celebration was amazingly well done in a breath taking atmosphere with a remarkable scenic view. The lady who attended our table was outstanding and the food was excellent. Whenever I called people were very kind and professional over the phone. I'll sure come back some day for more. Well done!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I loved, I love the staff it was a pleasure. They were able to meet my request, it was quiet and the view was beautiful

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here to celebrate our anniversar ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We were here to celebrate our anniversary and it was a great night. We had the seafood pot which was definitely enough for 2 people.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.