About Spindletop

1200 Louisiana Street
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Spindletop, Houston's first and best-known revolving restaurant, has been a favorite seafood restaurant since its opening in 1972. Our glass-walled restaurant makes one revolution every 45 minutes, ensuring you'll enjoy 360-degree views of the city and all of its famous landmarks. Multiple levels ensure that everyone has a perfect view.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Polk

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 375-4775

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/spindletop/index.html

Catering:
If you would like to order flowers to be placed at your table.
Please contact these two recommendations for florists: http://www.breensflorist.com and http://www.flowers-n-more.net .When placing your order, please make a notation to the florist that the delivery will be going to Spindletop. Also, a courtesy call to inform us of delivery is appreciated.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is offered to all Spindletop guests. Valet tickets will be validated by the Spindletop host or server.

Executive Chef:
Frank Majowicz

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of 5-8 people, please call 713.375.4741 and we will be happy to assist you.

Restaurant Photos

  • Winter Green Salad
  • Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup
Winter Green Salad
Chilled Texas Watermelon Soup

Spindletop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Romantic
Houston
1 More
Special Occasion
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Scenic View (115)
Romantic (112)
Special Occasion (104)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nothing spectacular on the food....it wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Nothing spectacular on the food....it was just OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

One of our special spots to go observe H ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

One of our special spots to go observe Houston from above while we dine. Very great food and service as well

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some newer, taller buildings have obstru ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Some newer, taller buildings have obstructed some of the view, but overall, Spindletop provides a beautiful 360 view of the city. The food is excellent. The kitchen only uses fresh, organic ingredients. And the service is fantastic. I went for Houston Restaurant Weeks, and everyone was super friendly, especially the waitress. She's an older person, and from what I could tell, she'd been working there for a while. She's the sweetest person you'll ever meet, and she was super helpful in describing the menu choices and the wine list. If you're looking for a romantic night out or you just want some excellent food with a gorgeous view of the city, make a reservation to Spindletop at the Houston Hyatt.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you've never been, it's a must. A fu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

If you've never been, it's a must. A fun experience and perfect romantic evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is type of place where you will pop ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is type of place where you will pop the question. It is very a romantic place to splurge.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great atmosphere, good food, and fabulou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great atmosphere, good food, and fabulous service. We will definitely return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

very good service, and the spindletop ma ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

very good service, and the spindletop manager is very helpful and he made everything to make us fell like home

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You made my mom's 60th extra special . T ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

You made my mom's 60th extra special . Thank you and Tracy and Adrian were amazing!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Ann ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Everything was great, It was my hubby's first time there; he really enjoyed himself. Looking forward to coming back again. The service was outstanding. Thanks for the beautiful card!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The great service we got from every one, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The great service we got from every one, the amazing view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to splurge for a special occ ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place to splurge for a special occasion. We ate from the Restaurant Week menu which offered good choices. The taste was great and they put a nice piece of chocolate reading "Happy Anniversary" on our delicious desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Heard great reviews of this restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Heard great reviews of this restaurant and had to check it out!Food was delicious and the view of downtown was beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food solid average but service and ambia ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food solid average but service and ambiance is why you go to Spindletop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great place , we celebrate our 5 wedding ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great place , we celebrate our 5 wedding anniversary

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food friendly ppl I will let m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good food friendly ppl

I will let more ppl no bout this place..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing. View at night is great. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Disappointing. View at night is great. View during day light is unattractive looking at dirty roofs.

The food was well below average.

I would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Service was prompt. Food was delicious. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was prompt. Food was delicious. Ambiance was amazing. If I had to criticize one thing it would be the smaller tables on the upper level of the seating area. I'm not a big guy but I felt a little cramped. The tables on the lower deck were larger. I would have liked to have been seated on the lower deck But that's just me being really picky about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall elegance of Spindletop and o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The overall elegance of Spindletop and of course the breathtaking view of the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great experience and a completely ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Such a great experience and a completely unique view of the city for dinner. Service and food were excellent. We had the scallops for an appetizer and shared the Seafood Pot for 2 as an entree and recommend both dishes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience, 1st class service, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent experience, 1st class service, able to see 360 degree view of the city multiple times during day sunset and night, 3 course meal for Houston restaurant week. Romantic time for anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at Spindl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our first time dining at Spindletop. We were not disappointed. The friendly service we received started from the hostess to the the waitress, servers and managers. We were celebrating an Anniversary. We were surprised by a lovely anniversary card and dessert treated to us which was a thoughtful touch. Views were nice. Our waitress was kind enough to take several pictures of us without hesitation. Food and drinks were delicious. Thank you Spindletop for a memorable evening!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

I thought the food was excellent, and th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I thought the food was excellent, and the wait time was quick. It was my girlfriends birthday and the restaurant staff gave her a birthday card that they all signed. The manager came out to ask how we were doing, and made an effort to strike up conversation and wish my girlfriend a happy birthday. The view of downtown from the restaurant was amazing especially when all the buildings lit up. The only complaint I have is the waiter charged my card for the wrong amount, then had to charge my card again for the right amount and that was a little bit of an inconvenience, but overall the experience was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Got motion sick after ordering drinks. H ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Got motion sick after ordering drinks. Had to leave before we made a mess. Very helpful and understanding wait staff.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

A very unique experience. The food was a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A very unique experience. The food was amazing and the food presentation was gorgeous. I would love to return but it's a bit pricey to eat here often. Totally worth it for any special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Louis is the best she was so ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our server Louis is the best she was so patient, attentive and sweet, I will request her every time I visit. Chief Joey impressed my guest by visited the table....

Overall experience was impressive.

By far my favorite restaurant

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my birthday. Food was bland. I ha ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was my birthday. Food was bland. I had the special, which consisted of Steak and shrimp with vegetables. I asked for my steak to be medium well but it came out looking under cooked. So they put it back and it came back crispy and tasted like rubber. I asked to speak to a manager after we paid our bill. I explained what happen and he asked would i be back and i said NO but he gave his card to email him or call so that i can come have a entree and a couple of drinks on them.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Went to celebrate my boyfriend's new job ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Went to celebrate my boyfriend's new job with another couple. Service was great, but too pricey for what is was. Must have been beautiful before Houston was built up around it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice atmosphere and very romantic, but I ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice atmosphere and very romantic, but I thought it was very pricey. So I would say this is just a special occasion type of visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I went to Spindletop for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My husband and I went to Spindletop for a date night and it was an amazing dinner. The food was great, service was impeccable, and atmosphere was perfectly romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok. I thought it have a little ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food was ok. I thought it have a little more taste and food portions were limited for the price.. But service was overall very Good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Gimmicky restaurant, good view, acceptab ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Gimmicky restaurant, good view, acceptable service. Big disapointment on food and the follow up service after they made a mistake. I was served raw potatoes, like crunchy potatoes, like my fork could not penetrate the potatoe...potatoes.

Server left us for at least 10-15 minutes, could not inform her until I already ate the rest of the plate. I was no longer interested in more potatoes. I told her I did not want more potatoes, they sent me mashed potatoes from the kitchen...didnt eat it. Chef came out to 'check' on things after he already knew we had raw potatoes served...no effort was made to help or clarify the error.

No value here. Food does not compare to it's competitors. Perry' s steakhouse runs laps around this place, and they dont have a spinning dining room. I get better service from the cheap movie theaters that serve food.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

My first time there. Definitely differen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My first time there. Definitely different. Romantic it is. Food was ok. I wouldnt go necessary for the food. The menu can use more options. I would go again and invite others just because it will wow your mind. overall i loved it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Complained about a very, very noisy and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Complained about a very, very noisy and loud group of people and the waitress did nothing about it. Left no tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Chef Joey's cuisine was excellent and he ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Chef Joey's cuisine was excellent and he even came to each table to speak to his guests. Very nice down to Earth guy.

Our server Melissa was excellent.

She explained the variety of dishes and recommended some great choices.

Our daughter is a picky eater and she ate everything they brought out lol.

We were very pleased with her service.The view was spectacular!!!

We loved everything about our experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to have a spe3cial experience.

The staff went out of their way to make sure things were memorable for us.

Food was great as was the service. Great evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were extraordinary. There were ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The staff were extraordinary. There were kind and caring and catered to our every request. Our waiter was the best. We were not rushed or felt as if we had to leave quickly. The chef came to our table and introduced himself and asked if all was good. The food was great and prepared as we asked. The staff even stood at the table to be certain that the food was prepared to our liking. We came for our first wedding anniversary. We couldn't have asked for better. The staff gave us a card with all of their signatures. We felt that this was so personalized. They even brought us a dessert with a happy anniversary wish. One of the best nights ever. The view was great while the sun was up. I can't say how enjoyable our evening was. I would highly recommend a evening like we had. Thanks to all the staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience! Enjoyed a late night ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awesome experience! Enjoyed a late night desert and drinks with a friend visiting from Illinois. Perfect location, atmosphere and view! Free valet parking was a great plus. Will be back soon with other visitors!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a little outdated but the view is s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It's a little outdated but the view is still great. The menu is limited and not as creative as some newer places but the food was cooked perfectly. Wines are reasonable. Our server was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The manager was amazing and all personne ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The manager was amazing and all personnel! Made it special, couldn't ask for more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were there for our last night for the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

we were there for our last night for the Elks convention and had an amazing time. we were able to share in and engagement. thanks for a memorial night

Dennis & Judie Dionne from Maine

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.