Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Lil' Frankie'sLil' Frankie's
(174)
Italian | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
MezettoMezetto
(269)
Mediterranean | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
PalaPala
(632)
Italian | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
a casa foxa casa fox
(225)
Latin American | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Macondo EastMacondo East
(181)
Latin / Spanish | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Blue Ribbon Sushi IzakayaBlue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya
(262)
Japanese | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Yerba BuenaYerba Buena
(343)
Latin / Spanish | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Boulton and WattBoulton and Watt
(189)
Comfort Food | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Sweet Chick - LESSweet Chick - LES
(184)
American | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Dirty FrenchDirty French
(363)
French | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
The Late Late BarThe Late Late Bar
(1)
American | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
TreTre
(309)
Italian | Lower East Side, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Supper RestaurantSupper Restaurant
(205)
Italian | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Wasan East VillageWasan East Village
(172)
Japanese | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now
Rosie'sRosie's
(196)
Mexican | East Village, Manhattan
Reserve Now

About Spiegel

26 1St Ave
New York, NY 10009
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of 1st Avenue and 2nd Street with great views of the bustling East Village. We serve a wide selection of Middle Eastern and American favorites. We are open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Middle Eastern, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 228-2894

Website:
http://www.spiegelnyc.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Pan seared salmon over saffron risotto
  • Veggie Lasagna
  • Scrambled eggs in a fresh baked croissant and a capucino
Pan seared salmon over saffron risotto
Veggie Lasagna
Scrambled eggs in a fresh baked croissant and a capucino
Sort By:
Newest
16 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

I enjoy lunch at Spiegel once or per week. I really love the Tunisian sandwich made from marinated tuna, chick peas, harissa, preserved lemon, potato on brioche. Also the spicy chicken burger. They also have a nice selection of coffees from all over the world including Turkish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is such an amazing place!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2015

We discovered this eatery on First Ave. last week We decided to give it a shot and we were glad we did. As a vegan there were plenty of choices for my girlfriend. But there were also an assortment meat items that I like. I enjoyed the schnitzel and a side of fire roasted eggplant. She had the spinach bureka along with a side of jasmine rice which she said were both excellent. For anyone who wants to eat healthy and not spend a lot of money, Spiegel is an excellent choice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect meal in the East village

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

I chose this restaurant based on the reviews, plus the fact that it was near the Off Broadway theater we had tickets for. We were a group of four and were given the cozy corner table. The food was outstanding: I love vegetables, and the Spiegel chopped salad was perfection. Other members of the group had the Portobello burger, the Tunisian tuna sandwich and the classic hamburger. For sides we tried the sweet potato fries and the fennel. Everything was fresh and delicious. We didn't have time for the tempting desserts because of our showtime, but we plan to return for breakfast (and dessert) soon. In addition to amazing food, the service was wonderful: friendly and welcoming. We had a Restaurants.com coupon, and the owner (Avital) did what owners are supposed to do but never do - reduced the bill before the tax. I was very happy to leave a 20+% tip on the original bill, the dinner was that good.

Go. You will not be sorry.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Simply the BEST!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

We found this place on First Ave. last week when we were out walking. We decided to give it a try and we were pleasantly surprised. As a vegetarian there were plenty of choices for me. But there were also meat items that my partner prefers. He had the schnitzel and a side of jasmine rice and he raved about it. I had the spinach bureka and a side of fire roasted eggplant which were both excellent. I would recommend Spiegel to anyone who wants to eat healthy and not spend a lot of money. The quality and value are very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of my favorite foods on the same plate.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

Came here with my girlfriend with an Amazon deal. Had the seared tilapia with asparagus. We also had the eggplant side as well. I had three of my favorite foods all on the same plate. Will come back soon.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious vegetarian food. HIGHLY recommended!!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 14, 2015

We really needed a place like Spiegel in the neighborhood. It is a place where I can come anytime day or night and know that there will be a delicious selection of appetizers and main dished to choose from. They have a nice happy hour also. Being a vegetarian I often order the fire roasted eggplant or the vegetable couscous both of which are very delicious. They have specials all the time and many are vegetarian dishes also. I love their wine selection too. This café will definitely become my new place to eat on a regular basis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

That was amazing!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

When my wife and I were in New York we discovered this place one afternoon. It was the best dining experience we had during our visit. I had a fish taco that was as good as any I have had in LA. My wife loved the knockwurst sandwich which she washed down with a weissbier. We shared a side of zucchini fritters which came with tzatziki and which were absolutely unlike anything we have ever tasted. We can’t wait until our next visit next year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place for breakfast and brunch!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 15, 2014

I love this place. The food is eclectic and prepared very thoughtfully and the service is friendly and attentive. I first came for breakfast and tried the Shakshuka which is a flavorful combination of poached eggs in a Moroccan tomato pepper sauce with eggplant and pita. Since then I have sampled several other dishes and they were all great especially the salads and the couscous which was very satisfying and tasty. This place is a dining adventure every time I come because I never know what I am going to order next.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 9, 2014

Our visit to Spiegel one night last week was a very pleasant surprise. It is a nice clean place with a very friendly staff. The food is a blend of cuisine samplings from all over including Moroccan, Israeli, Greek and even some standard American. I tried the fish tacos which were as good as I have ever had. There were crisp pieces of mahi-mahi served on a corn tortilla with a harissa aioli. My friend had the Tunisian sandwich which is an unusual combination of several ingredients including marinated tune, chick peas and preserved lemon. She raved about it. They have a nice by the glass wine selection and also many different types of coffee. We will definitely be back for breakfast one morning to try the Bureka.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food gem!!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

Spiegel is great find thanks to the reviewers on Google and Yelp! Love this Middle Eastern restaurant very much. I tried Stuffed Mushroom and Fish Tacos - beer battered mahi mahi, corn tortillas, pickled onions, shredded cabbage, and harissa-herb aioli. Very, very good. Nice cozy place. It’s located on 26 1st Avenue New York, NY 10009. If you're tired of the same old stuff like I usually was, give this place a try! You won't regret it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 8, 2014

We had a warm welcome and service with a smile : ) the food was tasty and well presented. We would return when in the area again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tasty and Healthy Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2014

Best food I have had yet in New York. I'm a visitor to the state and I am very disappointed by the overwhelming amount of fast food joints. There are few private run restaurants in the area. Spiegel restaurant has tasty healthy dishes at reasonable prices. I had for breakfast great Bureka, coffee and freshly pressed orange juice. I'll be back for more!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommended!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2014

Spiegel is a wonderful gem located in NYC at the corner of 1st Avenue and 2nd Street. It’s an East Village neighborhood. Portions are huge, so bring an appetite, share, or prepare to ask for a to-go container. It's got great Middle Eastern and traditional American fare, so it's a great place to take friends with less adventurous palates. As others have mentioned, the vegetarian options are plentiful and delicious, while my husband says this is one of the best Fish Tacos places he's ever been to. The Tunisian sandwich is different from any I've ever had, and damn good too. The whole staff is friendly and generous. Do not finish your meal without trying the excellent coffee with a piece of delicious pastry. Both are truly excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Ok

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

30$ + for 2 small breakfast items plus 2 OJ, no meat, but OJ was great. Very young and inexperienced staff. It was just ok, and only because we had the groupon. It looks like they may have been popped by the Health Department too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

cute dinner spot but go with sides

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2014

My friend got 3 sides (chicken, eggplant with mayo, and cous cous) and they were good and a decent size. When I got the Tunisian with a side of Moroccan carrots, I wish I had followed my friend's lead. The Tunisian was just an odd mix of flavors that unfortunately were not to my liking. The carrots were drenched in the dressing which was completely overpowering — it was to the point that I couldn't have more than 3 which is a shame as I hate wasting food and am usually one with the cleanest of plates at the end of a meal. However, staff was attentive and polite. Looks like I just had bad luck with my choices...very disappointing but stealing some bites from my friend's sides and getting the delicious zucchini fritters made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

Nice people

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2014

The staff is amazingly nice, and the spot is beautiful. Only caveat is that the menu lacks an identity. It is a bit all over the place with various types of cuisine. Our food was food, not great, but we did like the place, and would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.