HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Spiegel

4.0
16 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Middle Eastern
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (15)
  • Great for Lunch (14)
  • Great for Brunch (13)

Similar Restaurants

About

Spiegel, which is in the Lower East Side of New York City, is a great place to go if you are looking for casual, laid-back dining. The restaurant offers hearty, delicious foods that are sure to please your taste buds. The interior at Spiegel offers a simplistic design of bar seating around the counter and simple wood tables, chairs, and booths where you can dine and chat with your friends and family.

There is a deliciously inviting breakfast menu that beckons for you to start your day off right with organic eggs. Breakfast menu options include a tomato omelet, spinach omelet and a scramble croissant to name a few. Lunch and dinner meals that you should try include the grilled Portobello sandwich, classic burger, or the fish tacos. If you are a vegetarian, try the veggie burger, couscous, or the schnitzel sandwich. No matter your choice, you are sure to enjoy dining at Spiegel.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Middle Eastern, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 228-2894
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
What 16 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0
  based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Dylan8Dylan (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on July 11, 2015

I enjoy lunch at Spiegel once or per week. I really love the Tunisian sandwich made from marinated tuna, chick peas, harissa, preserved lemon, potato on brioche. Also the spicy chicken burger. They also have a nice selection of coffees from all over the world including Turkish.

Report
Helpful
RedTiop (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on June 26, 2015

We discovered this eatery on First Ave. last week We decided to give it a shot and we were glad we did. As a vegan there were plenty of choices for my girlfriend. But there were also an assortment meat items that I like. I enjoyed the schnitzel and a side of fire roasted eggplant. She had the spinach bureka along with a side of jasmine rice which she said were both excellent. For anyone who wants to eat healthy and not spend a lot of money, Spiegel is an excellent choice.

Report
Helpful
Salty (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on May 16, 2015

I chose this restaurant based on the reviews, plus the fact that it was near the Off Broadway theater we had tickets for. We were a group of four and were given the cozy corner table. The food was outstanding: I love vegetables, and the Spiegel chopped salad was perfection. Other members of the group had the Portobello burger, the Tunisian tuna sandwich and the classic hamburger. For sides we tried the sweet potato fries and the fennel. Everything was fresh and delicious. We didn't have time for the tempting desserts because of our showtime, but we plan to return for breakfast (and dessert) soon. In addition to amazing food, the service was wonderful: friendly and welcoming. We had a Restaurants.com coupon, and the owner (Avital) did what owners are supposed to do but never do - reduced the bill before the tax. I was very happy to leave a 20+% tip on the original bill, the dinner was that good.

Go. You will not be sorry.

Report
Helpful
HaroldTreZ (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on March 27, 2015

We found this place on First Ave. last week when we were out walking. We decided to give it a try and we were pleasantly surprised. As a vegetarian there were plenty of choices for me. But there were also meat items that my partner prefers. He had the schnitzel and a side of jasmine rice and he raved about it. I had the spinach bureka and a side of fire roasted eggplant which were both excellent. I would recommend Spiegel to anyone who wants to eat healthy and not spend a lot of money. The quality and value are very good.

Report
Helpful
Cesar (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on February 12, 2015

Came here with my girlfriend with an Amazon deal. Had the seared tilapia with asparagus. We also had the eggplant side as well. I had three of my favorite foods all on the same plate. Will come back soon.

Report
Helpful
KathynMcIntosh (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on January 13, 2015

We really needed a place like Spiegel in the neighborhood. It is a place where I can come anytime day or night and know that there will be a delicious selection of appetizers and main dished to choose from. They have a nice happy hour also. Being a vegetarian I often order the fire roasted eggplant or the vegetable couscous both of which are very delicious. They have specials all the time and many are vegetarian dishes also. I love their wine selection too. This café will definitely become my new place to eat on a regular basis.

Report
Helpful
Joseph (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on December 22, 2014

When my wife and I were in New York we discovered this place one afternoon. It was the best dining experience we had during our visit. I had a fish taco that was as good as any I have had in LA. My wife loved the knockwurst sandwich which she washed down with a weissbier. We shared a side of zucchini fritters which came with tzatziki and which were absolutely unlike anything we have ever tasted. We can’t wait until our next visit next year.

Report
Helpful
David (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on December 15, 2014

I love this place. The food is eclectic and prepared very thoughtfully and the service is friendly and attentive. I first came for breakfast and tried the Shakshuka which is a flavorful combination of poached eggs in a Moroccan tomato pepper sauce with eggplant and pita. Since then I have sampled several other dishes and they were all great especially the salads and the couscous which was very satisfying and tasty. This place is a dining adventure every time I come because I never know what I am going to order next.

Report
Helpful
RickyF (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on December 9, 2014

Our visit to Spiegel one night last week was a very pleasant surprise. It is a nice clean place with a very friendly staff. The food is a blend of cuisine samplings from all over including Moroccan, Israeli, Greek and even some standard American. I tried the fish tacos which were as good as I have ever had. There were crisp pieces of mahi-mahi served on a corn tortilla with a harissa aioli. My friend had the Tunisian sandwich which is an unusual combination of several ingredients including marinated tune, chick peas and preserved lemon. She raved about it. They have a nice by the glass wine selection and also many different types of coffee. We will definitely be back for breakfast one morning to try the Bureka.

Report
Helpful
MitrisHka (New York Area)
5.0
Dined on October 30, 2014

Spiegel is great find thanks to the reviewers on Google and Yelp! Love this Middle Eastern restaurant very much. I tried Stuffed Mushroom and Fish Tacos - beer battered mahi mahi, corn tortillas, pickled onions, shredded cabbage, and harissa-herb aioli. Very, very good. Nice cozy place. It’s located on 26 1st Avenue New York, NY 10009. If you're tired of the same old stuff like I usually was, give this place a try! You won't regret it!

Report
Helpful
1
2

Hours, Transportation, and Details

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Middle Eastern, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00am
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
Price range
$30 and under
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 228-2894
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.