About Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood

4801 S. Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
View Larger Map

Since opening our doors, Spezia has shared it's love of traditional Italian cuisine with friends and family in the Sioux Falls area. Spezia invites you to come enjoy a relaxed atmosphere as you choose items from an award-winning menu. Godere di buona salute!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
57th Street and Louise Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-7491

Website:
http://speziarestaurant.com/spezia/siouxfalls/

Executive Chef:
Owners Dave Thompson and Rick Thompson

Private Party Contact:
Nancy Schmeling: 605-334-7491x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Toffee Mousse Pie With Kahlua
  • Italian Bread w/oil & vinegar
  • Goat Cheese Salad
  • Chicken Piccata
  • Caesar Salad
  • Gnocchi Alla Gorgonzola
  • House Salad with Mango Pineapple Vinaigrette
  • Gorgonzola Gnocchi
Chocolate Toffee Mousse Pie With Kahlua
Italian Bread w/oil & vinegar
Goat Cheese Salad
Chicken Piccata
Caesar Salad
Gnocchi Alla Gorgonzola
House Salad with Mango Pineapple Vinaigrette
Gorgonzola Gnocchi

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
3 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Sioux Falls
Best Restaurants in Sioux Falls ›

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (17)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The location was good along with the int ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

The location was good along with the interior. The server seemed to have too many tables. Service was slow and he had help bringing the food. Two of the three steaks we ordered weren't cooked the way that we ordered them. One was sent back as a result. Overall it seemed like they were too busy or we caught them on a bad night. We have eaten there before and it was much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely amazing dining experience. Ou ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Absolutely amazing dining experience. Outstanding service, delicious food and the atmosphere was perfect! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great services, food, staff will go abov ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

great services, food, staff will go above and beyond to make sure you dining experience are excellent. Do wish the restaurant have a wine list and some higher end wine (Ice Wine, Sauternes)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food always. It was cold in th ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food always. It was cold in there and when we asked to be moved to a table not under the A/C vent we were told no! First negative thing in over 50 visits!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Put the salmon salad back in the lunch m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Put the salmon salad back in the lunch menu. Yum

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My birthday celebration at Spezia was wo ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My birthday celebration at Spezia was wonderful! We went specifically on a Tuesday night for lasagna, and it did not disappoint! The appetizer of lamb chislic and parmesan fries was equally delicious. When our server found out it was my birthday, she brought a candle to our table and a small but perfectly sized dessert of chocolate cake and ice cream to me after my meal. It was a great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had our niece (age 14) and nephew (ag ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had our niece (age 14) and nephew (age 10) for a special fun filled weekend. This was their first time to this restaurant, they both loved the food & the cream sodas.

My husband and I have eaten here several times but the kids wanted pasta--Spezia is our go to for pasta. It was a "hit". Our waitress was awesome, very knowledgeable, friendly but wasn't at our table every 10 minutes, which was great.

We had dessert to go--which we enjoyed later in the evening, oh and it was delicious!!

Thank you Spezia for making our special evening great!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Computer system was down so they could n ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Computer system was down so they could not use our gift card. Otherwise, lunch was very enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at your restaurant when we visit ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We eat at your restaurant when we visit Sioux Falls. My parents and family go there for years!! Wish your restaurant opens in Mpls :) we love eating at Spenzia! :)))

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food! Love the pizza as well as ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome food! Love the pizza as well as the pasta. Excellent waiter!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and great help. Everything ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Awesome food and great help. Everything was outstanding from salad to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service was great!!

vip
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and service was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening. Great service and fan ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful evening. Great service and fantastic food

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here often. Sometimes a large fa ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We eat here often. Sometimes a large family with kids can detract from the experience here, but overall the ambience is very "Italian", and the food is deliscious. In the fall their tomato fest dishes are extraordinary. Had a filet this time with a few great grilled shrimp. The fillet was tender and the taste was perfect. Not the absolute mouth-watering steak you get once in a while, but very, very good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday dinner for my 12 year old daugh ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Birthday dinner for my 12 year old daughter. Our waiter (Gary) was incredibly helpful and friendly. They were able to provide me with a safe gluten free entree and they gave my daughter a brownie dessert with a candle. The food was delicious and our family had an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spezia is a great place for friends to m ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Spezia is a great place for friends to meet and have a great time. Six of us were at dinner and we hadn't seen each other in years. Our waiter expertly handled separate checks and different orders for all of us. He was knowledgeable about the specials and kept our water glasses and the bread basket filled. The food was very good - I would not describe it as "gourmet" but the food quality was excellent. The menu had a wide selection - pasta, salads, steak, fish;and the prices were very reasonable. We were at our table for 4 hours and we were not rushed to leave. We went on a Monday evening so the restaurant was not busy. I definitely recommend Spezia to my friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day at Spezia

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We had dinner at Spezia to celebrate Mothers Day. We appreciated the fact we could reserve online. Many other restaurants won't take a reservation or will only reserve for a party of five or more. We were seated immediately. The service was outstanding, and the food was lovely. Desserts were very reasonably priced (and delicious). We will definitely be visiting Spezia again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bland Food

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had the eggplant parm and I thought it lacked taste. I had better eggplant parm at the Olive Garden for several dollars cheaper. No veal offered at this so called Italian restaurant? Sioux Falls is hurting for a real Italian restaurant! Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Seating

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Would have given a better review but even though we had reservations, we had to sit in their large room they usually reserve for large parties.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Love their Sunday Brunch!!

vip
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Love their Sunday Brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love their Sunday Brunch!

vip
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Love their Sunday Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Mediocre

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

At best. Nothing of much note though the room is pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Ourstanding

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The brunch & dinner selections are awesome. Never go away hungry!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old feel. Bland food. We're not going ba ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Old feel. Bland food. We're not going back anytime soon… for a good Italian food will head to Johnny Carino's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Great night out

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Very friendly staff. The bread is delicious! This is one of our go-to places for pasta. Definitely a great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sun brunch

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Very nice. My husband thought it was the best brunch buffet ever. My kid actually ate stuff - which is a resounding endorsement. More communication from wait staff would have been nice - reserved for 12:15 & didn't even know they HAD brunch. Joined my mom who had already sat down - then waited 20 min trying to figure out why wait staff only wanted to get us beverages & nobody would give us menus. Food was great - nice variety.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

B'day dessert

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

A 13 yr tradition, I've treated my niece to tiramisu on her B'day every year. It's not a common menu item at restaurants in our community, so was pleased to find it at Spezia several years ago. The cake is excellent - really delicious! Seems though, our table waited longer to be served 'ready made' dessert than neighboring tables who waited to be served multiple dinner menu items. Somewhat disappointing. I've recently learned that tiramisu is now available at at least one alternate location, so, inclined to give them a try next birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Good food but there was a mix-up in our reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

recent visit

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Most visits have been very good. We felt a bit rushed on this visit where the waitress really didnt pay much attention.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Girls day out

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a group of 6 for a family girls day out. We were seated right away as we arrived. The waitress was very nice and helpful with our selections. She was attentive but not hovering. We all enjoyed our food, no complaints from anyone. We will go back, would like to try the Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nothing Special at Spezia

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Food had clearly sat under a heating lamp, so the sauce on the ravioli had hardened.

And they don't serve liquor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Vday

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Had reservation and still had to wait 15+ minutes before being seated. Service was slow, yes, I know it was valentine's day. We were at the restaurant for 2 hours in total. Had the lobster and steak dinner for 2, food was ok, service fine. Waiter told us he is a bartender not a waiter, and apologized for the service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great pick fit Valentine's Day

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I were in town for valentine's day and had a great diner here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

a little pricey, but worth it

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Spezia for Valentine's Day. It was a great experience, but then it always is. Our server was great, very attentive, but not intrusive. The wine list and menu are very extensive. My boyfriend is vegetarian, almost vegan, and he was able to find something to eat, which isn't always the case when we go out to eat.

There are rooms for groups to rent for events.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine's Brunch

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I went to Spezia for a Valentine's brunch. I was surprised to find out their lunch was a buffet style, instead of ordering off menus. Everything I tired was delicious, and went back for thirds! I wish they had this posted clearer it was a buffet, but it turned out okay since everything was still delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Esquisite Food

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

There was a good variety of items on the menu, pretty extensive wine list, and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion dinner!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food at average prices. Service was ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Good food at average prices. Service was good. Family friendly restaurant, almost every table had children, however, noise level was low.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The best!!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Great place for a quiet dinner! The service was fast and timely. We have enjoyed many of the items on the menu. The gnocchi is my favorite. We look forward to returning soon!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diver Scallops- WOW

 
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Excellent food, the portion was just right. Risotto wonderful, Walleye done perfectly and my husbands steak was perfection as well. Great wine list - we asked for a flight because we couldn't decide. For Saturday night at 8pm it was pretty empty so it was a quiet relaxed setting and we were not rushed. This would be a "must stop" if we ever returned to Sioux Falls!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.