About Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood

4801 S. Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
View Larger Map

Since opening our doors, Spezia has shared it's love of traditional Italian cuisine with friends and family in the Sioux Falls area. Spezia invites you to come enjoy a relaxed atmosphere as you choose items from an award-winning menu. Godere di buona salute!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
57th Street and Louise Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-7491

Website:
http://speziarestaurant.com/spezia/siouxfalls/

Executive Chef:
Owners Dave Thompson and Rick Thompson

Private Party Contact:
Nancy Schmeling: 605-334-7491x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Toffee Mousse Pie With Kahlua - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Italian Bread w/oil & vinegar - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Goat Cheese Salad - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Chicken Piccata - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Caesar Salad - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Gnocchi Alla Gorgonzola - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
  • House Salad with Mango Pineapple Vinaigrette - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Gorgonzola Gnocchi - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
Chocolate Toffee Mousse Pie With Kahlua - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
Italian Bread w/oil & vinegar - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
Goat Cheese Salad - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
Chicken Piccata - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
Caesar Salad - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
Gnocchi Alla Gorgonzola - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
House Salad with Mango Pineapple Vinaigrette - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD
Gorgonzola Gnocchi - Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood, Sioux Falls, SD

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Sioux Falls
Best Restaurants in Sioux Falls ›

Good for a Date (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous food and fabulous service! a pe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fabulous food and fabulous service!

a perfect place for a family outing for Sunday brunch!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Say hi! to Dave T. The server was excell ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Say hi! to Dave T. The server was excellent, but he made a comment on the tip that was puzzling. I think he meant it as a compliment, but puzzling anyway. However, again, he was excellent for us.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Spezia came highly recommended. We arriv ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Spezia came highly recommended. We arrived 10 minutes late and they gave our table away. We waited and were given a booth in the bar. Service was good, but bit great; the waitress wasn't sure how to open and serve a bottle of wine properly. The wine list was good, the food good, and the meal served at the appropriate pace. I had the ducking which was good and my wife had the lamb sirloin, which was fair. Overall the food and service was good, but not great, for the Midwest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Quick service. Delightful and attentive ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Quick service. Delightful and attentive waitress. Delicious food. Noise level appropriate. Very enjoyable overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good, and what I was expecting. ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good, and what I was expecting. Prices were a little high for me, but not terrible. It was a pleasant night out. Our waitress was great!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, served at an appropriate pac ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, served at an appropriate pace. Great wine service and options on the wine list. You can enjoy anything from a pizza to a filet. A "go-to" restaurant in Sioux Falls--always a good meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mandy our waitress was excellent!

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Mandy our waitress was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The diver scallops with risotto was deli ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The diver scallops with risotto was delish, the seasonal squash risotto with chicken loved by all 3 that ordered it, good wine choices and an excellent waitress!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful. After dinner coffee ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was wonderful. After dinner coffee was a disappointment but they did go back to the kitchen and try making it again. Wine list was very good. We noticed that the coziness or intimacy that we had remembered was gone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Seated quickly, slightly before our rese ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Seated quickly, slightly before our reservation time

Featured wine wasn't available

Service a bit slow, but otherwise good

Food was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. Love going t ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. Love going to Spazias.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We decided to try Spezia based upon othe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We decided to try Spezia based upon other online ratings and made the reservation through Open Table. When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly people and taken to our table. The atmosphere reminded us of Macaroni Grill, including the crayons, paper table covers, and wait staff who wrote their name backwards so we could read it. The service and food were very good. They only serve beer and wine, but that was fine for us. When we arrived, there were a lot of empty tables that filled quickly. The noise level was about what one would expect - and not enough to interfere with our conversations. The food was nicely prepared and very good. Our waiter was friendly and professional. He was there whenever we needed anything, but did not hover or make us feel rushed. It was a relaxing and pleasant experience. If I am staying in that area again, I would definitely consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was terrible and the service ev ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was terrible and the service even worse. We stopped going to Spezia a while ago for the same reasons but thought we would try again since it's used to be a special place for us. Nothing has changed. The food lacked any presentation -- the formerly delicious tomato basil soup was barely warm and the Italian Beef Burgundy was in s a cereal-like bowl that contained just egg noodles and broth - and no meat -- which the server thunked down unceremoniously on the table. There should have been some kind of charger or plate beneath it -- and even more important, some meat in it. Additionally, the gnocchi was burned. When I showed the server the burned gnocchi she said, 'that's how we serve it here.' Ummm - no, it's not. It's just not. We were ultimately compensated after the manager got involved very late in the process. Spezia should give the servers the authority to make those adjustments rather than argue with the customer about the quality or lack thereof. Just terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

Still wish you served a better balsamic ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Still wish you served a better balsamic for dipping!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We used an open table gift award tonight ...

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We used an open table gift award tonight. Thanks for the yummy meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We went for the Tomato Fest, which has b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went for the Tomato Fest, which has become a favorite over the years. They truly use excellent tasting, homegrown tomatoes and it can't be beat. We shared the Caprese Classico and the Grouper with heirloom tomatoes and a side of angel hair pasta with tomatoes and ate every bite. LOVE Tomato Fest. The booth for two is not overly comfortable, and lots of families in close proximity, but we were just there to enjoy the food so it was ok.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Private Room, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great dining experience fabulous service ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great dining experience fabulous service. Will recommend Spezia to our friends

Tags: Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was in-attentive; baked potatoes ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Waiter was in-attentive; baked potatoes were not cooked. When we told waiter, he just apologized. He was stretched with too many tables. Poor customer service overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

This restaurant is also able to take car ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on September 2, 2016

This restaurant is also able to take care of some food sensitivities as well as diabetic diets. This is so nice! Thanks!

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location was good along with the int ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The location was good along with the interior. The server seemed to have too many tables. Service was slow and he had help bringing the food. Two of the three steaks we ordered weren't cooked the way that we ordered them. One was sent back as a result. Overall it seemed like they were too busy or we caught them on a bad night. We have eaten there before and it was much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely amazing dining experience. Ou ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Absolutely amazing dining experience. Outstanding service, delicious food and the atmosphere was perfect! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great services, food, staff will go abov ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 13, 2016

great services, food, staff will go above and beyond to make sure you dining experience are excellent. Do wish the restaurant have a wine list and some higher end wine (Ice Wine, Sauternes)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food always. It was cold in th ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food always. It was cold in there and when we asked to be moved to a table not under the A/C vent we were told no! First negative thing in over 50 visits!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Put the salmon salad back in the lunch m ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Put the salmon salad back in the lunch menu. Yum

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My birthday celebration at Spezia was wo ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 2, 2016

My birthday celebration at Spezia was wonderful! We went specifically on a Tuesday night for lasagna, and it did not disappoint! The appetizer of lamb chislic and parmesan fries was equally delicious. When our server found out it was my birthday, she brought a candle to our table and a small but perfectly sized dessert of chocolate cake and ice cream to me after my meal. It was a great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had our niece (age 14) and nephew (ag ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had our niece (age 14) and nephew (age 10) for a special fun filled weekend. This was their first time to this restaurant, they both loved the food & the cream sodas.

My husband and I have eaten here several times but the kids wanted pasta--Spezia is our go to for pasta. It was a "hit". Our waitress was awesome, very knowledgeable, friendly but wasn't at our table every 10 minutes, which was great.

We had dessert to go--which we enjoyed later in the evening, oh and it was delicious!!

Thank you Spezia for making our special evening great!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Computer system was down so they could n ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Computer system was down so they could not use our gift card. Otherwise, lunch was very enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at your restaurant when we visit ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We eat at your restaurant when we visit Sioux Falls. My parents and family go there for years!! Wish your restaurant opens in Mpls :) we love eating at Spenzia! :)))

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food! Love the pizza as well as ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome food! Love the pizza as well as the pasta. Excellent waiter!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and great help. Everything ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Awesome food and great help. Everything was outstanding from salad to dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service was great!!

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and service was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening. Great service and fan ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful evening. Great service and fantastic food

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here often. Sometimes a large fa ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We eat here often. Sometimes a large family with kids can detract from the experience here, but overall the ambience is very "Italian", and the food is deliscious. In the fall their tomato fest dishes are extraordinary. Had a filet this time with a few great grilled shrimp. The fillet was tender and the taste was perfect. Not the absolute mouth-watering steak you get once in a while, but very, very good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday dinner for my 12 year old daugh ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Birthday dinner for my 12 year old daughter. Our waiter (Gary) was incredibly helpful and friendly. They were able to provide me with a safe gluten free entree and they gave my daughter a brownie dessert with a candle. The food was delicious and our family had an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Spezia is a great place for friends to m ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Spezia is a great place for friends to meet and have a great time. Six of us were at dinner and we hadn't seen each other in years. Our waiter expertly handled separate checks and different orders for all of us. He was knowledgeable about the specials and kept our water glasses and the bread basket filled. The food was very good - I would not describe it as "gourmet" but the food quality was excellent. The menu had a wide selection - pasta, salads, steak, fish;and the prices were very reasonable. We were at our table for 4 hours and we were not rushed to leave. We went on a Monday evening so the restaurant was not busy. I definitely recommend Spezia to my friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day at Spezia

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 9, 2016

We had dinner at Spezia to celebrate Mothers Day. We appreciated the fact we could reserve online. Many other restaurants won't take a reservation or will only reserve for a party of five or more. We were seated immediately. The service was outstanding, and the food was lovely. Desserts were very reasonably priced (and delicious). We will definitely be visiting Spezia again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bland Food

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had the eggplant parm and I thought it lacked taste. I had better eggplant parm at the Olive Garden for several dollars cheaper. No veal offered at this so called Italian restaurant? Sioux Falls is hurting for a real Italian restaurant! Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Seating

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Would have given a better review but even though we had reservations, we had to sit in their large room they usually reserve for large parties.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Love their Sunday Brunch!!

vip
 (South Dakota)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Love their Sunday Brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.