About Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood

4801 S. Louise Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
View Larger Map

Since opening our doors, Spezia has shared it's love of traditional Italian cuisine with friends and family in the Sioux Falls area. Spezia invites you to come enjoy a relaxed atmosphere as you choose items from an award-winning menu. Godere di buona salute!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
57th Street and Louise Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 334-7491

Website:
http://speziarestaurant.com/spezia/siouxfalls/

Executive Chef:
Owners Dave Thompson and Rick Thompson

Private Party Contact:
Nancy Schmeling: 605-334-7491x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate with Dad! Reserve your seats today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Spezia - Steaks, Italian & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Sioux Falls
Best Restaurants in Sioux Falls ›

special occasion (31)
romantic (23)
good for groups (21)
See All
great for brunch (16)
fit for foodies (14)
notable wine list (13)
great for lunch (12)
kid-friendly (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spezia is a great place for friends to m ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Spezia is a great place for friends to meet and have a great time. Six of us were at dinner and we hadn't seen each other in years. Our waiter expertly handled separate checks and different orders for all of us. He was knowledgeable about the specials and kept our water glasses and the bread basket filled. The food was very good - I would not describe it as "gourmet" but the food quality was excellent. The menu had a wide selection - pasta, salads, steak, fish;and the prices were very reasonable. We were at our table for 4 hours and we were not rushed to leave. We went on a Monday evening so the restaurant was not busy. I definitely recommend Spezia to my friends.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day at Spezia

Dined on May 9, 2016

We had dinner at Spezia to celebrate Mothers Day. We appreciated the fact we could reserve online. Many other restaurants won't take a reservation or will only reserve for a party of five or more. We were seated immediately. The service was outstanding, and the food was lovely. Desserts were very reasonably priced (and delicious). We will definitely be visiting Spezia again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Bland Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had the eggplant parm and I thought it lacked taste. I had better eggplant parm at the Olive Garden for several dollars cheaper. No veal offered at this so called Italian restaurant? Sioux Falls is hurting for a real Italian restaurant! Service was very good.

food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Seating

Dined on April 30, 2016

Would have given a better review but even though we had reservations, we had to sit in their large room they usually reserve for large parties.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Love their Sunday Brunch!!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Love their Sunday Brunch!!

food5
ambience5
service4

Love their Sunday Brunch!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Love their Sunday Brunch!

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Mediocre

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

At best. Nothing of much note though the room is pretty good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ourstanding

Dined on April 3, 2016

The brunch & dinner selections are awesome. Never go away hungry!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service4

Old feel. Bland food. We're not going ba ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Old feel. Bland food. We're not going back anytime soon… for a good Italian food will head to Johnny Carino's

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on March 24, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Very friendly staff. The bread is delicious! This is one of our go-to places for pasta. Definitely a great value.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Sun brunch

Dined on February 28, 2016

Very nice. My husband thought it was the best brunch buffet ever. My kid actually ate stuff - which is a resounding endorsement. More communication from wait staff would have been nice - reserved for 12:15 & didn't even know they HAD brunch. Joined my mom who had already sat down - then waited 20 min trying to figure out why wait staff only wanted to get us beverages & nobody would give us menus. Food was great - nice variety.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

B'day dessert

Dined on February 28, 2016

A 13 yr tradition, I've treated my niece to tiramisu on her B'day every year. It's not a common menu item at restaurants in our community, so was pleased to find it at Spezia several years ago. The cake is excellent - really delicious! Seems though, our table waited longer to be served 'ready made' dessert than neighboring tables who waited to be served multiple dinner menu items. Somewhat disappointing. I've recently learned that tiramisu is now available at at least one alternate location, so, inclined to give them a try next birthday.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on February 28, 2016

Good food but there was a mix-up in our reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

recent visit

Dined on February 21, 2016

Most visits have been very good. We felt a bit rushed on this visit where the waitress really didnt pay much attention.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Girls day out

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a group of 6 for a family girls day out. We were seated right away as we arrived. The waitress was very nice and helpful with our selections. She was attentive but not hovering. We all enjoyed our food, no complaints from anyone. We will go back, would like to try the Sunday brunch.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Nothing Special at Spezia

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

Food had clearly sat under a heating lamp, so the sauce on the ravioli had hardened. And they don't serve liquor.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Vday

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had reservation and still had to wait 15+ minutes before being seated. Service was slow, yes, I know it was valentine's day. We were at the restaurant for 2 hours in total. Had the lobster and steak dinner for 2, food was ok, service fine. Waiter told us he is a bartender not a waiter, and apologized for the service

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great pick fit Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I were in town for valentine's day and had a great diner here!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

a little pricey, but worth it

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Spezia for Valentine's Day. It was a great experience, but then it always is. Our server was great, very attentive, but not intrusive. The wine list and menu are very extensive. My boyfriend is vegetarian, almost vegan, and he was able to find something to eat, which isn't always the case when we go out to eat. There are rooms for groups to rent for events.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

I went to Spezia for a Valentine's brunch. I was surprised to find out their lunch was a buffet style, instead of ordering off menus. Everything I tired was delicious, and went back for thirds! I wish they had this posted clearer it was a buffet, but it turned out okay since everything was still delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Esquisite Food

Dined on February 13, 2016

There was a good variety of items on the menu, pretty extensive wine list, and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food at average prices. Service was ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

Good food at average prices. Service was good. Family friendly restaurant, almost every table had children, however, noise level was low.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great place for a quiet dinner! The service was fast and timely. We have enjoyed many of the items on the menu. The gnocchi is my favorite. We look forward to returning soon!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Diver Scallops- WOW

Dined on January 10, 2016

Excellent food, the portion was just right. Risotto wonderful, Walleye done perfectly and my husbands steak was perfection as well. Great wine list - we asked for a flight because we couldn't decide. For Saturday night at 8pm it was pretty empty so it was a quiet relaxed setting and we were not rushed. This would be a "must stop" if we ever returned to Sioux Falls!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always awesome

Dined on January 3, 2016

Hands down my favorite place in Sioux Falls the duck is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful evening at dinner. In ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at dinner. In fact, we were lucky enough to have our meal paid for by a local promotion that was taking place. Such a nice surprise! Delicious food too!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Wish there would have been bacon on the ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Wish there would have been bacon on the brunch tables.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Very Good!

Dined on November 29, 2015

I have always enjoyed Spezia. The cheese plate is the best in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice meal on the road

Dined on November 10, 2015

I had the seafood roast. I was impressed on how they tried to meet my nutritional requirements. That might have been the reason it wasn't quite an innovative as I had hoped.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Very Ordinary Brunch

Dined on November 8, 2015

Ate their Sunday brunch last weekend. We were not impressed. For around $20 after tax we expected more. There was no center-piece carvery, not even an on the bone Virginia ham ! - just a dish of rubbery sliced ham. There were lots of egg choices - but who needs 6 types of scrambled eggs? And no apple smoked bacon to boot. All of the food tasted okay - but nothing stood out - the fruit choices were the normal, no juice bar. This was a $12.99 brunch for $19.99 - not what I expected for Spezia.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

Love the ambiance, and service...food not so much

Dined on November 8, 2015

My husband's Chicken Parm was super dry and my Seaside Grouper was very oily. I've had great meals here and some that were not good at all. We love the ambiance, wine and service. I'd say the food is hit or miss.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Lamb

Dined on October 21, 2015

Spezia always has the best lamb entrees that are found in Sioux Falls. A liquor license would greatly enhance the dining experience here.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Date Night

Dined on October 16, 2015

My husband takes me here for special date nights. It is quite so long as there aren't too many kids around. I would recommend this for night dates because there are not normally kids around in the evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Spezia Italian Restaurant review

Dined on October 4, 2015

We chose Spezia based on reviews and were not disappointed! The menu has a good selection of traditional & gourmet Italian and steaks. We all chose something different and everything was delicious! Our server was knowledgeable and prompt, but did not hover. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and has a very nice ambiance. We definitely will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

Dined on October 3, 2015

Great food, great service! I will definately return when visiting Sioux Falls. I had the Butternut Squash risotto with the proscutto topped chicken breast. It was so flavorful and delicious!

food3
ambience4
service3

Good, but stay with the Italian dishes

Dined on September 21, 2015

Nice place with good--but not great--food. Service was good. There with a group and comparing notes; a) the filet was excellent, b) the Top Sirloin was disappointing, 3) the Salmon pasta was preferred by all, and 4) the gnocchi was respectable. Overall, worth the stop but not high on the return to list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1

not terribly impressed.

Dined on September 12, 2015

I made a reservation and still was not immediately seated which I found very unimpressive (as did my party). Service was slow. Probably will not go back. I enjoyed the music and the atmosphere. The food was good, but still not somewhere I will plan to dine at again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food and service

Dined on September 6, 2015

I wish there would have been bacon on the brunch Buffett. Not everyone likes just sausage to choose from.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday Fun

Dined on September 6, 2015

We went for my boyfirend's birthday, and had a wonderful dinner. We went all out- appetizers, soup/salad, entrees, and dessert. Everything was delicious and we got a LOT of food! Would definitely recommend, and we will go again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to Spezia's many times and hav ...

Dined on September 1, 2015

I've been to Spezia's many times and have never been disappointed...excellent food, service, and cannot think of anything lacking!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.