Spencer's For Steaks and Chops

4.4
720 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Spencer’s for Steaks and Chops, the original USDA Prime steakhouse celebrates its 20th anniversary. A Salt Lake City staple, Spencer’s delivers contemporary and seasonal dishes, hand-cut steaks, fresh seafood, local produce and cheeses as well as classically inspired cocktails, local craft beers and an award-winning wine list.

Headed by Certified Executive Chef, Sebastian Lowrey, Spencer’s continues to innovate to meet the changing and discerning taste of today’s foodies. An expert butcher, Chef Sebastian combines his love of meats, organics and French/Italian influences in an exciting array of creations.

Recognized in 2017 with Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence and Best of State in America's Traditional Fine Dining, Spencer's is one of only five restaurants in Utah to boast this wine honor. Other awards include TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence and OpenTable Diner's Choice.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open daily, Lunch: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Lounge serves food until 11:00pm daily
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(801) 238-4748
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Sebasatian Lowrey
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
On the east side of W. Temple between 200 & 300 South, in the Hilton Hotel
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Spencer's for Steaks & Chops offers complimentary parking to all of our guests - valet or self park.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
TRAX - Gallivan Plaza
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Spencer's is also available for special events - parties, meetings and socials are just a few of the ways we can WOW your guests. Give us a call and we will help you plan and execute that unforgettable event so that you can just sit back, relax and enjoy.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Spencer's eight private rooms can accommodate the smallest party up to 150 guests and will leave a lasting impression. As a 2016 and 2017 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining, rest assured your private dining experience will be something to remember!

View Private Dining Details
What 720 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Steak was great. service was ok at best. The main course came 2 minutes after our salad and the appetizer came with the meal. They also brought a wrong side dish. Food was great but for $50 for a steak a la carte, the service needs to be on par with the price. Would not take a customer there. Typically at this type of a restaurant the manager would come by and ask how everything was...that never happened and they were not busy. I would have told the manager but they never asked. I ate at an Olive Garden today for lunch and the manager came by, asked how everything was and even gave me his card.
Spencer’s should give better service than Olive Garden. Step it up!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Oh What a Night! Thank you for a wonderful after theater experience. We went to see the production Jersey Boys. Our experience at Spencer's was the encore act to our evening. The table location, the server (along with service) and the food all excellent! I was there with my best friend/my wife. Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Our server, Kevin, was so helpful and professional. He really made our anniversary feel special. The food was delicious as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Food was just okay for being a very expensive restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Food was good but overpriced. Service was OK and the greeter looked cross the entire time we were there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Wonderful, attentive waiter! Best steak in Utah!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

First time to visit this classic SLC steakhouse. The steak was VERY good, but also quite pricey for just a steak. Everything else on the menu is a la carte', so be prepared for an expensive meal.
Also afterwards I had to ask, but you can get smaller size side dishes which would have been helpful to know ahead of time. As it was I felt we wasted more food than I would have liked.
The service was excellent!

It's a good classic steak restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Dinner was fabulous, service was excellent and food was fantastic. Had a great meal and enjoy the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Good food. Great service

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I've had far better steaks at Outback for a third of the cost, the other food items we ordered were good but did not equal their price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Expensive but worth it. Great steak and sides!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Great Steak Place, been coming here for years, also great ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The service and food were excellent. The atmosphere is very nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Service was excellent and ambiance was great - like an old style New York restaurant. Very classy. The steak and the lamb chops were excellent cuts of meat but WAY too overly salted. For that price, preparation should be perfect. Everything else was very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Great steak house! You will not be disappointed. Onion soup was outstanding and strawberry salad was very tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

After reading the reviews on open table we wanted to try the wagyu beef. It was as good as we hoped. Very tender perfectly cooked. My younger son and I had the wagyu filet, my older son had the wagyu ribeye. My husband had the buffalo strip steak and he enjoyed it as well. We had the bacon scallops and ahi tuna appetizers.They were delicious. For sides we ordered smashed potatoes, potato au gratin,and burgundy mushrooms. My sons who dont like mushrooms said these mushrooms were delicious! The desserts were also great. The flourless chocolate cake and tuxedo sundae were perfect. My sons enjoyed the mango sorbet so much they had another serving. Service was great. They were very attentive. It was a great evening. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Spencer's is one of my favorites! The staff and food are amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food, great service, great wine, great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Food was Superb. Service was ...MEH. After being scrunched together at a table for four ALL five of us waited , and waited to be brought water. Or even asked to order a drink. I won't put a clock on it but 18 minutes later we met our waiter and were able to order drinks. another 7 minutes to get those drinks to us on a VERY slow tuesday afternoon. 15 minutes later we could finally put in our food order. I understand the wait time for food from the kitchen. Totally worth that wait. Food was great. But the service at lunch was...well what I expect from the lunch server..MEH.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Service was excellent. Bobbi was very attentive yet respected the fact that we were conducting business. One of my favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food was mediocre at best.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Reviews are subjective and jaded.
Great in house hotel restaurant. Found the steaks to be great, our servers engaged with excellent personal service . Will return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Good steak but expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We finished up a vacation by dining here. The buffalo steak was outstanding, as was the stuffed salmon. The salads were lovely. The wine selection was great. I would recommend to anyone who plans on being in Salt Lake City anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food is amazing cooked to absolute perfection with sauces that taste wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great steak great service

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 4, 2018

I made a reservation for my husbands birthday to celebrate and have a special dinner date while we were staying at the Hilton. Even made note of it in reservations request! Very disappointed! Food was cold when delivered. $350 dinner for 2 wasted! Had to ask for check after no service once food was delivered cold and waited almost 30 minutes only to have our cold dinner packed to go with no one ever checking to see if everything was okay at any point in the evening. Forget dessert or coffee. So disappointed that my plans to make my husbands 50th Birthday were ruined! Should have gone next door to Ruth’s Chris! As a Hilton Honors member, this has been one of the worst experiences I have had in a hotel and it’s accompanying amenities. Salt Lake City is not on a must return list with this experience! Don’t waste your money!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Food is consistently good at Spencer’s. Julio, our server is outstanding...very knowledgeable and nearly anticipates every need. I recommend the wagyu filet and Brussels sprouts. We love having a booth to ourselves on date night. Very quiet and intimate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Comfortable ambience, excellent food, good service. Perfectly cooked steak!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Dutch and team had seamless service, no glass was ever empty, our table was served and cleaned efficiently. Well done. Sides were superb, the Brussels sprouts are just outstanding, but all were excellent. Lamb lollipops, superb. Steaks were very good, I don’t compare to Gibson’s, Lugers etc, but they are very good.

Had reservation for 5,we had a sudden 6th, and even late 7 th person, they were very accommodating.

Overall, would absolutely return, our second time, and we’ll be back!

Neal

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Bartender too busy, to keep track of bar. Not her fault she was running her butt of and doing the best job any human could do. Steak was good not great. Noise level was too much for the price and feel of the place. Asparagus was not cooked and cold. That is the only complaint on food the rest was average to good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Overall was really good. Very pricy but good fosd and better service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food and service was excellent. Ten stars all around.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We made reservations for Spencer's based on the reviews we read. When we arrived it took 30 minutes past our reservation to seat us and when we sat down (7:30 on a Saturday) they told us they were out of filet and strip... the 2 major steaks any steak house should have available on a Saturday night. I tried to get our waiters attention to let him know that we were going to be going (I thought it was the polite thing to do) but he wouldn't return to our table so we had to walk out. We spoke with the receptionist who was very apologetic. We ended up next door at Ruth's Chris, a steak house that was not out of steaks on a Saturday night. We will not be going back to Spencers.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was just warm, not hot. Lamb chops too salty, fries came out after the rest of the food was served. Slow service, steaks were not done to the request of the patrons. Our expectations were higher based on having been twice before and the overall cost of dining there. Will not be back and will not recommend either. Very mediocre

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Steak was somewhat cold. It was overpriced for what you get. If I’m going to pay that much; Ruth’s Chris is way better quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

The service was stellar, as always. Even though we’d had to change our reservation twice because of travel delays, Spencer’s was more than accommodating and helped make our (belated) anniversary celebration an occasion to remember. The special dessert created just for us by the chef was the perfect finale to our evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Great all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Great waygu filet.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was delicious outstanding service!
Would definitely go again

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18