Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Spencer's For Steaks and Chops

Spencer's is the original USDA Prime steakhouse in Salt Lake City. Our Certified Executive Chef Pleines continues to deliver contemporary and seasonal dishes that keep the locals coming back for more. Whether it's to unwind after a long day in the lounge over locally-crafted beers or to enjoy an evening dinner with friends and family - guests will enjoy hand cut steaks and fresh seafood, classically inspired cocktails and an award winning wine list.

As a 2016 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining rest assured your whether it's dining, tasting fine wine with the wine vintner, cooking demonstrations or winemaker dinners, there is always something happening at Spencer's Steakhouse and Chops in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The bar requires guests to be 21 years of age. Anyone under the age of 21 can join us in the restaurant when accompanied by a guest that is 21 years of age.

Hilton Salt Lake City
255 S. West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Open daily, Lunch: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Lounge serves food until 11:00pm daily

Cross Street:
On the east side of W. Temple between 200 & 300 South, in the Hilton Hotel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 238-4748

Website:
http://www3.hilton.com/en/hotels/utah/hilton-salt-lake-city-center-SLCCCHH/dining/spencers.html

Parking Details:
Spencer's for Steaks & Chops offers complimentary parking to all of our guests - valet or Self Park.

Public Transit:
TRAX - Gallivan Plaza

Executive Chef:
Chef Michael Pleines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Spencer's is also available for special events - parties, meetings and socials are just a few of the ways we can WOW your guests. Give us a call and we will help you plan and execute that unforgettable event so that you can just sit back, relax and enjoy.

Private Dining

Spencer's eight private rooms can accommodate the smallest party up to 150 guests and will leave a lasting impression. As a 2016 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining rest assured your private dining experience will be something to remember.

Spencer's For Steaks and Chops Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Business Meals (19)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (16)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (5)
Historic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was our first time at Spencer's and won't be our last. Great experience. Wonderful steaks, soup, salad, vegetables, dessert! Our waiter, Kevin was one of the best we've ever had!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I arranged three business lunches here during a conference. Attentive service and good food. Recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everything was very good, but we were disappointed in our filet. The filet was not awful, but for how much we paid for it, it should have been much better. Overall, everything was great.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ordered two steaks. The filet was ordered medium and came almost rare. The New York was grislee and too thin. For the cost and the reputation we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fantastic service. Great steaks. Wonderful atmosphere. When they called to confirm the reservation earlier that day I mentioned it was my anniversary. When we got to the restaurant the hostess wished us happy anniversary. The morning hostess that confirmed the reservation made a note and passed the info along. The server did the same when taking our order. Later the manager on duty also did the same as he made his front of the house rounds.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We started with a special Octopus appetizer which couldn't have been any better. It was tender, grilled perfectly and flavorful. Next we had the Caesar salad, also delicious with white anchovies and parmesan chips. For our dinner entrée we ordered the lamb chops which were the best we've ever had: tender, tasty and again, prepared perfectly. Very nice wine selection. Server was well accomplished at his craft. We look forward to returning and would highly recommend this beautiful, quiet dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I had the Porterhouse and my son had a NY Strip. We split a Caesar salad and a side of mashed potatoes.

Meat was cooked well (medium rare) but lacked flavor. My Porterhouse had more than normal grizzle which made the chore of navigating around the bone difficult. My son's Strip was "just ok."

Our waiter was very good.

For $200 with tip, including 2 glasses of wine, I would try other SLC steakhouses before I returned.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Never had a bone-in filet before. Wonderful steak, beautiful woodwork, excellent waiter

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was great, our server and staff did a great job. The table next to us was a little noisy(drunk) but other than that it was a great evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Had read great reviews of the restaurant so I was very disappointed to have such a poor experience at every level. Worn out decor, mediocre (at best) service, and food that was prepared and presented so poorly you would have thought you were at Sizzler. My plate was full of half cooked vegetables with my steak dumped on top as an after thought. No room to even cut up the steak. The steak was so salty I had to send it back. Usually if a customer at a high end establishment does this the manager will at the very least come over to apologize. Not a word from our waiter or manager. They did take my meal off the bill, but the overall experience left a literal and figurative bad taste in my mouth. Got to be a better a better place for steak in SLC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We had 10 business people for a casual dinner. Service was fantastic as was the food. While it was a bit pricey for the average budget is well worth the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was incredible, our server, Dutch, was incredible, the ambiance was incredible. Very romantic atmosphere if you're on a date. It's not a family restaurant so it's relatively quiet and sophisticated. Just overall a wonderful experience and we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent steak and recommendations from server. A bit pricey with only 2 scallops for an appetizer. Asparagus brought out was charred but was promptly replaced by server.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Huge surprise... great for dinner before and event at Vivint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I feel like the quality of Spencer's has decreased dramatically. Their Onion soup is still amongst the best in the country, but the steaks are disappointing.

The Spencer Steak used to be a thick, juicy ribeye that was professionally prepared. We had three at our table, and they arrived on a cold plate, burned charcoal on the outside. They were cooked to the right temperature, but it appeared as if they were trying emulate other steak houses that have high temperature ovens. Only problem is, if you do not have enough temperature, you just burn the outside before the rest is finished.

Also, their famous hashbrowns are no more.

I may not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

You won't be disappointed. Outstanding food, cocktails and service. Expect to pay but worth the money. Best steak in Utah.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Private Room, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Spencer's is a great place for Steaks. The bar is first class as well. When you order your steak they come out more rare than other places so ask for one level up on doneness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Steaks were preared perfectly.
Service was top notch
The staff was attentive and friendly.
Overall a great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic. Spencer's is one of my favorites. If you're budget conscience stay away but if budget isn't a concern this is the best steakhouse in town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They were 40 minutes late seating us despite a reservation. The food was slow. The steak was cold when it finally arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great service as usual. Spencer's delivers consistency and delicious food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Spencer's has always been my favorite place to eat for a special occasion. The corn souffle was marginal and they removed it from the tab. I always enjoyed their creamed spinich, which wasn't available.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I had a good time at Spencer's for my 25th work anniversary with my boss and a few co-workers. Great food and great service. Reasonable prices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Ribeye was excellent. Recommended wine paired well. Sides were delicious. Service consistently attentive without being obtrusive.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Very enjoyable. Attentive service and nice wine list

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We had a work dinner for a party of 5, with reservations. The hostess stand had a line because we waited at least 10 minutes before the hostess showed up. We were seated...the waiter was okay but didn't give any recommendations or discuss specials that I'd expect at a steakhouse. My steak was medium-rare but was served lukewarm, the oscar style was not flavorful. We did order the slab bacon with peanut butter & jelly which was a rather tasty combo, but that was definitely the highlight of dinner. I won't be dining here again, for the cost I'd go to Ruth Chris instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Fantastic gem downtown. We stopped in for dinner before the opera and changed our plans midstream because the ambiance and service were so spot on for our current mood. Our server Jared was astounding and exactly what we expected in this level of establishment. He picked up on that our plans had changed and did not rush our evening as so many servers do. I can not say enough about Jared and his timing and level of unseen attentiveness. He was present when we needed him to be and was otherwise alert enough to know to let us enjoy our evening without being a constant presence trying to turn a table.

As expected , the food was good, but not as outstanding as we had hoped, especially for the pricing. You can match the menu and quality elsewhere in town for less. This leaves the reason to go to Spencer's down to the ambiance and the service. Those two items made up for the less than mind blowing food. Seriously people...Jared saved the bacon here!

Our biggest disappointment was the dessert menu...It was as basic as it gets. Come on Spencer's, give me a reason to order dessert and spend more money on drinks. We were totally prepared and ready to keep our evening rolling with another round of drinks over a fantastic dessert, but there just wasn't one. I hate to compare it this way, but the dessert menu is what I would expect at Chili's, not a high end, high dollar establishment. I could be wrong here and the desserts could be mind blowing, but based off of the menu and their associated descriptions, it just didn't give us enough to extend the evening. Seriously, we were ready to give you another $50 in drinks and dessert if there was a reason to have done so...

We'll be back and will make sure that we're in Jared's section as he makes experience complete...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ambience is great! Reminds me of Steakhouses in Chicago. Server had incredible skills, one of the best I have had. Steak was perfect, crisp on outside, perfectly cooked medium rate.

Not cheap, but worth it for an occasional night on the town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service was friendly, seated on time, server was very personable and prompt, etc.
The wine prices were very high compared to competitors in the area, as much as 50% higher, at least on those I knew on the wine list. Food pricing about average.
Most of our meals were good, but some of the steaks were not hot, inconsistent. The sides were better.
They should also tell you when they include the gratuity for larger parties, understand their right to do so, but they should tell you when presenting the bill.

It was during a busy convention time, but I don't believe they adjusted pricing due to this?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Spencer's: the BEST in Utah. Seriously.

We eat every special occassion meal here, and many others just because. The steaks are AMAZING, the sides prepared perfectly, and they have the BEST. Creme. Brûlée!

The ambiance is just right, the service is spectacular, AND there is valet service to top it all off! There is no excuse to not try it. Trust me!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ambiance and service was amazing!!! Very attentive and friendly waitstaff. Massive selection of wines.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Foia Gras was fantastic ! Was not expecting to find such a delicate dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everyone was exceedingly friendly, knowledgeable, and committed to providing amazing service. They treated us like family and gave amazing recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love the booths. Great steaks. Wonderful sides, large enough to share. Would recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This will not be a restaurant that we will be returning. The food was rather expensive especially when it was not that tasty. Regardless of whether the food was a steak, smashed potatoes, potatoes au gratin, or the ribs, it was ALL COLD. Nothing was served warm.
Christmas night, the 6 of us did not feel well. It did seem as though the food was sitting well with any of us.
The atmosphere was nice, the hosts were alright, our server was ok. However, the gentleman refilling our drinks was wonderful. He was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is the second time we have been to Spencer's on a Holiday and we have thoroughly enjoyed the special holiday menu. Going to make this a family tradition for sure!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service by Scott at our late Xmas Eve dinner was SUPERB!!!! Much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Exquisite food and excellent service as always from Scott!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

First time here. Would return for sure. Great food and service. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.