Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Spencer's For Steaks and Chops

Spencer's is the original USDA Prime steakhouse in Salt Lake City. Our Certified Executive Chef Pleines continues to deliver contemporary and seasonal dishes that keep the locals coming back for more. Whether it's to unwind after a long day in the lounge over locally-crafted beers or to enjoy an evening dinner with friends and family - guests will enjoy hand cut steaks and fresh seafood, classically inspired cocktails and an award winning wine list.

As a 2016 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining rest assured your whether it's dining, tasting fine wine with the wine vintner, cooking demonstrations or winemaker dinners, there is always something happening at Spencer's Steakhouse and Chops in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The bar requires guests to be 21 years of age. Anyone under the age of 21 can join us in the restaurant when accompanied by a guest that is 21 years of age.

Hilton Salt Lake City
255 S. West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Open daily, Lunch: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Lounge serves food until 11:00pm daily

Cross Street:
On the east side of W. Temple between 200 & 300 South, in the Hilton Hotel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 238-4748

Website:
http://www3.hilton.com/en/hotels/utah/hilton-salt-lake-city-center-SLCCCHH/dining/spencers.html

Parking Details:
Spencer's for Steaks & Chops offers complimentary parking to all of our guests - valet or self park.

Public Transit:
TRAX - Gallivan Plaza

Executive Chef:
Chef Sebasatian Lowrey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Spencer's is also available for special events - parties, meetings and socials are just a few of the ways we can WOW your guests. Give us a call and we will help you plan and execute that unforgettable event so that you can just sit back, relax and enjoy.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 12:00PM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 5:15PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Spencer's eight private rooms can accommodate the smallest party up to 150 guests and will leave a lasting impression. As a 2016 and 2017 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining, rest assured your private dining experience will be something to remember!

Spencer's For Steaks and Chops Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Business Meals (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Had a great dinner here with my wife. Steaks were very good and cooked right. Service was friendly if a bit slow and not as attentive as I'm used to at this price point. The wine list was very nice and I appreciate them having a half bottle selection, including a very good rioja.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I will start by saying that my wife's Wagyu steak was wonderful. However my prime ribeye tasted like it came from a cheap restaurant or as if they went to a grocery store to pick it up. It came out black on the outside and bloody on the inside; not at all how I had ordered it.
The waiter had an attitude of arrogance throughout the evening.
We dine at many high end restaurants when we travel and have enjoyed the other steak house style restaurants nearby to this one.
Was not an enjoyable experience for us.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The restaurant was FREEZING!! The waiter took our order and never checked back with us once we got our food to make sure everything was to our liking...For the price of the food it was not worth it at all. Plus my friend had several pieces of broken shell from the fish he ordered that almost broke his tooth!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I had the Chilean sea bass which was very good. My husband had the sea scalps which are also great and the lobster risotto was delicious. The service was attentive and the environment was fairly quiet and great for business meetings and romantic dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I really wanted to like this place and usually have had good experiences with the restaurants in Hiltons. This place was not that. It's very likely the worst meal I've ever had when spending $125. However, I will says the server and greeter were good and pleasant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Delicious steak and fish. Excellent service fulfilling all requests.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had to book for 3 and 4 separately, they were very accommodating by putting us together. The buffalo steaks were mouthwatering!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The wagyu filet was the best steak I have ever eaten!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is a great place for couples and special occasions. We went there for our 20th anniversary. Our meal was $200 so it's not cheap but it's so yummy. Best steaks ever. Service is great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The wait staff was attentive and the food was amazing. We were there for a business lunch and there were 10 of us. Everyone raved about their lunch.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was way below expectations. Our steaks came out charred and we ordered them medium rare. The cheese was burnt on my French onion soup. The drinks were great and server was attentive. The best part of the evening was the water boy and finally being able to leave. Check that off as a bad dinner experience and we will never go back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Spencer's was everything I'd hoped, excellent all the way around. Minor complaints would be the following, the margarita at the bar was poor, the AC kicked on mid-meal and was noticeably loud, and the background music was putting me to sleep...give me some Sinatra!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Incredible Experience! The GM introduced himself while I was in the bar for a pre dinner drink which was a perfect introduction to a perfect experience. Great bar staff and service, great service, great food. I highly recommend for a special business or personal meal!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was our first time at Spencer's and won't be our last. Great experience. Wonderful steaks, soup, salad, vegetables, dessert! Our waiter, Kevin was one of the best we've ever had!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I arranged three business lunches here during a conference. Attentive service and good food. Recommended.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everything was very good, but we were disappointed in our filet. The filet was not awful, but for how much we paid for it, it should have been much better. Overall, everything was great.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ordered two steaks. The filet was ordered medium and came almost rare. The New York was grislee and too thin. For the cost and the reputation we were disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fantastic service. Great steaks. Wonderful atmosphere. When they called to confirm the reservation earlier that day I mentioned it was my anniversary. When we got to the restaurant the hostess wished us happy anniversary. The morning hostess that confirmed the reservation made a note and passed the info along. The server did the same when taking our order. Later the manager on duty also did the same as he made his front of the house rounds.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We started with a special Octopus appetizer which couldn't have been any better. It was tender, grilled perfectly and flavorful. Next we had the Caesar salad, also delicious with white anchovies and parmesan chips. For our dinner entrée we ordered the lamb chops which were the best we've ever had: tender, tasty and again, prepared perfectly. Very nice wine selection. Server was well accomplished at his craft. We look forward to returning and would highly recommend this beautiful, quiet dining experience!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I had the Porterhouse and my son had a NY Strip. We split a Caesar salad and a side of mashed potatoes.

Meat was cooked well (medium rare) but lacked flavor. My Porterhouse had more than normal grizzle which made the chore of navigating around the bone difficult. My son's Strip was "just ok."

Our waiter was very good.

For $200 with tip, including 2 glasses of wine, I would try other SLC steakhouses before I returned.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Never had a bone-in filet before. Wonderful steak, beautiful woodwork, excellent waiter

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was great, our server and staff did a great job. The table next to us was a little noisy(drunk) but other than that it was a great evening.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Had read great reviews of the restaurant so I was very disappointed to have such a poor experience at every level. Worn out decor, mediocre (at best) service, and food that was prepared and presented so poorly you would have thought you were at Sizzler. My plate was full of half cooked vegetables with my steak dumped on top as an after thought. No room to even cut up the steak. The steak was so salty I had to send it back. Usually if a customer at a high end establishment does this the manager will at the very least come over to apologize. Not a word from our waiter or manager. They did take my meal off the bill, but the overall experience left a literal and figurative bad taste in my mouth. Got to be a better a better place for steak in SLC.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We had 10 business people for a casual dinner. Service was fantastic as was the food. While it was a bit pricey for the average budget is well worth the experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was incredible, our server, Dutch, was incredible, the ambiance was incredible. Very romantic atmosphere if you're on a date. It's not a family restaurant so it's relatively quiet and sophisticated. Just overall a wonderful experience and we can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent steak and recommendations from server. A bit pricey with only 2 scallops for an appetizer. Asparagus brought out was charred but was promptly replaced by server.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Huge surprise... great for dinner before and event at Vivint.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I feel like the quality of Spencer's has decreased dramatically. Their Onion soup is still amongst the best in the country, but the steaks are disappointing.

The Spencer Steak used to be a thick, juicy ribeye that was professionally prepared. We had three at our table, and they arrived on a cold plate, burned charcoal on the outside. They were cooked to the right temperature, but it appeared as if they were trying emulate other steak houses that have high temperature ovens. Only problem is, if you do not have enough temperature, you just burn the outside before the rest is finished.

Also, their famous hashbrowns are no more.

I may not be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

You won't be disappointed. Outstanding food, cocktails and service. Expect to pay but worth the money. Best steak in Utah.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Late-night Find, Private Room, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Spencer's is a great place for Steaks. The bar is first class as well. When you order your steak they come out more rare than other places so ask for one level up on doneness.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Steaks were preared perfectly.
Service was top notch
The staff was attentive and friendly.
Overall a great experience

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fantastic. Spencer's is one of my favorites. If you're budget conscience stay away but if budget isn't a concern this is the best steakhouse in town.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They were 40 minutes late seating us despite a reservation. The food was slow. The steak was cold when it finally arrived.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, impressive wine list. I love the ambience at Spencer's. Great for date night, groups, or a quick bite in the bar area. The manager, Jeremy Gao is personable, impeccable with his service, and extremely knowledgeable with his wines. Always a win!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great service as usual. Spencer's delivers consistency and delicious food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Spencer's has always been my favorite place to eat for a special occasion. The corn souffle was marginal and they removed it from the tab. I always enjoyed their creamed spinich, which wasn't available.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I had a good time at Spencer's for my 25th work anniversary with my boss and a few co-workers. Great food and great service. Reasonable prices.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Ribeye was excellent. Recommended wine paired well. Sides were delicious. Service consistently attentive without being obtrusive.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Very enjoyable. Attentive service and nice wine list

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.