About Spencer's For Steaks and Chops

Hilton Salt Lake City
255 S. West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Spencer's is the original USDA Prime steakhouse in Salt Lake City. Our Certified Executive Chef Pleines continues to deliver contemporary and seasonal dishes that keep the locals coming back for more. Whether it's to unwind after a long day in the lounge over locally-crafted beers or to enjoy an evening dinner with friends and family - guests will enjoy hand cut steaks and fresh seafood, classically inspired cocktails and an award winning wine list.

As a 2016 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining rest assured your whether it's dining, tasting fine wine with the wine vintner, cooking demonstrations or winemaker dinners, there is always something happening at Spencer's Steakhouse and Chops in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The bar requires guests to be 21 years of age. Anyone under the age of 21 can join us in the restaurant when accompanied by a guest that is 21 years of age.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Open daily, Lunch: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Lounge serves food until 11:00pm daily

Cross Street:
On the east side of W. Temple between 200 & 300 South, in the Hilton Hotel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 238-4748

Website:
http://www3.hilton.com/en/hotels/utah/hilton-salt-lake-city-center-SLCCCHH/dining/spencers.html

Parking Details:
Spencer's for Steaks & Chops offers complimentary parking to all of our guests - valet or Self Park.

Public Transit:
TRAX - Gallivan Plaza

Executive Chef:
Chef Michael Pleines

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Spencer's is also available for special events - parties, meetings and socials are just a few of the ways we can WOW your guests. Give us a call and we will help you plan and execute that unforgettable event so that you can just sit back, relax and enjoy.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Spencer's eight private rooms can accommodate the smallest party up to 150 guests and will leave a lasting impression. As a 2016 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining rest assured your private dining experience will be something to remember.

Spencer's For Steaks and Chops Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (22)
romantic (17)
fit for foodies (8)
See All
notable wine list (8)
neighborhood gem (5)
good for groups (5)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Though tasty, the pricing is exceeding t ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Though tasty, the pricing is exceeding the value now. I'll only go there now when I'm on expense account...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was amazing!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The setting was wonderful and the staff was very pleasant and attentive! My girl and I had a very pleasant evening together and I would definately go again! I totally recommend this restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best French onion soup in Utah and alway ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Best French onion soup in Utah and always amazing steaks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Never Disappoints

Dined on May 2, 2016

I've said it before, I'll say it again. A steak at Spencer's is everything a steak should be. USDA Prime, properly cooked. Sides are generous and family style.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service for my daughter and me. ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing service for my daughter and me. We were looking for a quiet evening with some great food and they delivered. Everyone was very helpful and great : quick service.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Pricey, the food was good but .....

Dined on April 10, 2016

there are several good steak places. I did not think this was a stand out restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Masterfully-cooked steaks!

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

I come in from out of town often, and always try and have one dinner at Spencer's. Jerry at the bar always seems to know what the best thing to order will be for that evening. And the kitchen always cooks the meat perfectly. I vary my specifications from rare to medium rare to medium and occassionally, "Pittsburgh Rare" and they always nail it. Many other options and great sides, but this is an old-guard (and hence less crowded) place to come for a perfect steak.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious & Pampered

Dined on March 5, 2016

You get what you pay for. This a high end resturant and it is somewhat pricey. Delicious scallops and filet both perfectly prepared.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to Dine.

Dined on March 4, 2016

My husband enjoyed one night in Salt Lake and thoroughly enjoyed our elegant meal at Spencer. The food was amazing and it was an old fashion and cozy atmosphere, which is inviting once again since most restaurants are going modern. We will defiantly be back.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Cold food

Dined on February 20, 2016

Ordered duck and lamb chops. Both had bland flavor and was served cold. Server stated this has happened before. No mint jelly for the lamb chops. Service was slow Only two other couples being served besides us.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great steaks

Dined on February 20, 2016

The steaks were excellent. The oven they used really kept the flavor in and didn't need anything added to it. We also got the Mac and Cheese, which was delicious. That was just the right amount of food for the two of us. The atmosphere was great and it was very quiet. We went at 5:30 pm and it seemed like we had the restaurant to ourselves pretty much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and comfortable atmosphere

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

The service was great. The food was really good. Noise level was good so it was a really nice place to visit and catch up with friends.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Overpriced, food is fine, seated beside loud group

Dined on February 18, 2016

My husband and I took a chance on Spencer's as we had never been to the area and were looking for a nice place to get a good steak. I looked at the menu online and it appear to be expensive but not overly extravagant. We made reservations ahead of time through Open Table, which turned out to be unnecessary as it was a weeknight and not very crowded. When we arrived there were only a few tables occupied, yet the hostess seated us right next to a large table with a large with a very loud group. When our server brought our menus he informed us that the steaks were priced a la cart, and therefore, much higher than initially anticipated. The service was just ok, we were overlooked, as his attention was deferred the large group beside us. My salad was the standout, a mixed green salad with balsamic vinaigrette, walnuts, and fresh pears! That being said, the rest of our food was just average, not worth the outrageous bill we ended up with, even though we drank water and shared 1 side. We don't mind paying good money for a nice meal, but this was an average meal, and poor service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great date night

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We were visiting on Valentine's Day this year. The menu and food were very good. Service was good but possibly a little too attentive. Deserts were absolutely beautiful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was cooked perfect and delicio ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The steak was cooked perfect and delicious.

food4
ambience5
service5

Went for a valentines dinner and have be ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for a valentines dinner and have been here before. Everything was as expected, great service, great appetizer, GREAT steaks but the only problem was one of the sides (au gratin potatoes) was very bland and not up to the normal for this restaurant. Other than that this place is very good

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Avoid the Winter Vegetables

Dined on February 13, 2016

The steaks were delicious but they had quite a lot of fat. The winter vegetables were a horrible decision so I would choose any other side than those. We weren't going for the high ticket items or drinks so we were kind of neglected by our server. Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful, but for what I paid, I would have expected a better experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant had a terrific atmosphere and the staff were wonderful. Very thoughtful service with solid knowledge of their products.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

great steaks

Dined on February 6, 2016

went for a client dinner and it was the perfect place for this type of meal in SLC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the meats lived up to the ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The quality of the meats lived up to the restaurant's reputation. The atmosphere and service was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was nice restaurant. The food was ama ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

It was nice restaurant. The food was amazing.

food2
ambience4
service4

Great looking place. Great wait staff. G ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Great looking place. Great wait staff. Great wine list. Small, thin, overcooked steaks. An embarrassment for a supposedly top their Steak House.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Above avarage steak phenominal dessert

Dined on January 24, 2016

Ruths Chris, Tiburon, Tree Room, all had equivalant or better steaks far above Christophers and Hoof and Vine. The dessert creme brulee, naughty chocolate, and vanilla ice cream.... They could have served a sizzler steak and would have left impressed with the meal because of that dessert. Dark wood, dim lighting, beautiful walnut table nice ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2

The food was delicious. I would eat ther ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

The food was delicious. I would eat there again but only if we had a different waiter. The service was anything but desirable and the food took a long time to come out.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent care from a very knowledgeable ...

Dined on December 7, 2015

Excellent care from a very knowledgeable server. We held a working business dinner, and he found the right balance between being present and leaving us alone.

food3
ambience2
service2

Everything mediocre

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

Everything mediocre

food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving Day

Dined on November 27, 2015

My husband and I didn'the want the traditional dinner so we both had steak, foie gras, Brussels sprouts and mushrooms. The dinner was delicious and the service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

holiday meal

Dined on November 27, 2015

We had our Thanksgiving dinner here. The service was very attentive. We had the sommelier pair the wine with our meals. He made great choices and kept in mind my need for gluten free. The food was delicious. We enjoyed the cheese plate prior to our main course. The plate presented with several selections. I ordered from the menu and my filet was prepared perfectly and the sprouts were mild and tender. The family had the holiday meal and all were accommodated with their turkey meat preferences. The presentation of the turkey meal was not fussy. The pumpkin creme brulee looked elegant and I was told it was delicious. I was accommodated with fresh strawberry sorbet, a nice end to my meal. I plan to return to Spencer's again and would recommend the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Thankfully I had many other things I am thankful 4

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

We chose Spencer's because we have had good meals there in the past. The staff was welcoming and universally courteous. However, the dining experience left a lot to be desired. We ordered cocktails and told the waiter that we were planning on the Thanksgiving special. He asked if we wanted white or dark meat. I said dark meat. The cocktails arrived and about 2 minutes later our food arrived. So much for a nice drink before dinner.... When I looked down, my dark meat was an entire turkey drumstick. When asked for a different cut of dark meat the waiter readily took the plate back and returned with a large helping of stringy meat... The desert was an additional charge and was too tough to cut. The saving grace was that it was all so funny we just had to laugh at our 45 minute banquet! I

food1
ambience3
service4

A very disappointing Thanksgiving

Dined on November 26, 2015

Here is useful advice: Something is wrong with the chef and kitchen staff. Don't consider until they make a change. Spencer's is expensive and so many quality ALTERNATIVES exist in SLC. Please take this to heart, the price and poor quality food will leave you with a sever case of buyer's remorse. Ruth's Chris is right down the street. As I can't fully describe a plate with one big mound of potatoes, mushy cold stuffing, misc turkey pieces all together topped with cold gravy.

food5
ambience5
service5

And all were happy !

Dined on November 26, 2015

" Our family did not want to cook for Thanksgiving so we decided to give Spencer's a try. Are we ever glad we did, all our entrees, including appetizers ( we shared the Truffle fries ) were simply outstanding. Our daughter and her husband are vegan and they were pleasantly surprised to find Vegan dishes on the menu ! My choice on the menu was the Sea Bass and Lobster Ravioli since I'm not a fan of Turkey I thought this would be a good option. Good, no....absolutely mouth watering fabulous ! My husband had the steak...done to perfection ! I could go on and on..... but Spencer's is going to be our restaurant from now on ! Service is excellent also, friendly and quietly observant to our needs ! Four stars **** "

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great and Getting Better every Day

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

There are plenty of steakhouses in SLC and I've been to all of them. Ruth's Chris is right next door, but you can't beat Spencer's for quality, variety, AND value. All the steaks at Spencer's are prime (When some other houses are offering USDA choice at prime prices,) and the seasonings are wonderful. What really stands out now though are some of the other offerings their chef has imagined-The Sea Bass and the duck are wonderful if you're not in the mood for beef. And the pork belly Mac and cheese is NOT TO BE MISSED! There really is something he for everyone. Lastly, the wine list that manager Jeremy Gow has put together is fabulous and fairly priced. Tell him what you like, what your budget is, and He'll give you some nice ideas. Ask if he has something that isn't on the list for a real treat. Give Spencer's a try-You won't be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Great location. Limited menu. Overpric ...

vip
Dined on November 2, 2015

Great location. Limited menu. Overpriced.

food2
ambience5
service5

I had been to Spencer's many times over ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

I had been to Spencer's many times over the years, but stopped when we moved away. First time back after several years. There was nothing special this time around. Steaks were cut much thinner than before. Still very well prepared. Prices much higher. We don't mind paying a premium for special food. This was nothing special. Overpriced vs. Ruth's, for example. However, great service and great ambience. Probably won't go back again.

food4
ambience4
service5

Overpriced luxury

Dined on October 15, 2015

One must pay exorbitantly for ambiance, good quality wine glasses and excellent service in order to get just quite good food. The markup on the wine is generally excessive. If you have money to burn for a special occasion, this is fine.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A great restaurant!

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

While there were a number of steak entrees to choose from, we opted for the lamb chops and seared scallops. Both were delicious and generous in size. We hope to go there again the next time we're in Salt Lake City.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, quick accurate service ...

Dined on September 30, 2015

Great atmosphere, quick accurate service and they have an excellent pork chop.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere

Dined on September 27, 2015

This restaurant is very upscale and the service is superb. We had someone coming by every ten minutes it seemed. But they were helpful every time with bringing napkins, bread, food, dessert menus. It's pricy but worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Met all expectations

Dined on September 27, 2015

When, I made the reservations they asked me if I needed or wanted anything spacific, all I told them was the dinner was a suprise for my wifes birth day. and they made it awsome even the food menu's said happy birth day with her name on them! the food was awesome, I will absolutely be back. and yes it was worth every penny!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

Disappointed!

Dined on September 21, 2015

We were disappointed to have steaks from a "steak and chops" restaurant that were chewy and filled with gristle!! The salads were great and so was the grilled asparagus! The ambiance was lacking due to annoying flickering lights also! Apparently- they had "non-dimming" lightbulbs put in. Sad to say- we expected much more!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.