About Spencer's For Steaks and Chops

Hilton Salt Lake City
255 S. West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Spencer's is the original USDA Prime steakhouse in Salt Lake City. Our Certified Executive Chef Pleines continues to deliver contemporary and seasonal dishes that keep the locals coming back for more. Whether it's to unwind after a long day in the lounge over locally-crafted beers or to enjoy an evening dinner with friends and family - guests will enjoy hand cut steaks and fresh seafood, classically inspired cocktails and an award winning wine list.

As a 2016 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining rest assured your whether it's dining, tasting fine wine with the wine vintner, cooking demonstrations or winemaker dinners, there is always something happening at Spencer's Steakhouse and Chops in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The bar requires guests to be 21 years of age. Anyone under the age of 21 can join us in the restaurant when accompanied by a guest that is 21 years of age.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Open daily, Lunch: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Lounge serves food until 11:00pm daily

Cross Street:
On the east side of W. Temple between 200 & 300 South, in the Hilton Hotel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 238-4748

Website:
http://www3.hilton.com/en/hotels/utah/hilton-salt-lake-city-center-SLCCCHH/dining/spencers.html

Parking Details:
Spencer's for Steaks & Chops offers complimentary parking to all of our guests - valet or Self Park.

Public Transit:
TRAX - Gallivan Plaza

Executive Chef:
Chef Michael Pleines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Spencer's is also available for special events - parties, meetings and socials are just a few of the ways we can WOW your guests. Give us a call and we will help you plan and execute that unforgettable event so that you can just sit back, relax and enjoy.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Assorted Appetizers - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Bananas Foster Creme Brulee - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Seafood Platter for our party! - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
USDA Prime 22oz Bone-in Ribeye  - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Porterhouse Steak and family style sides! - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Sea Bass with Lobster Ravioli and Lobster Cream Sauce - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 1:30PM 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 12:00PM - 1:30PM 4:00PM - 5:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Spencer's eight private rooms can accommodate the smallest party up to 150 guests and will leave a lasting impression. As a 2016 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining rest assured your private dining experience will be something to remember.

Spencer's For Steaks and Chops Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (5)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ambience is great! Reminds me of Steakho ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ambience is great! Reminds me of Steakhouses in Chicago. Server had incredible skills, one of the best I have had. Steak was perfect, crisp on outside, perfectly cooked medium rate.

Not cheap, but worth it for an occasional night on the town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was friendly, seated on time, se ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Service was friendly, seated on time, server was very personable and prompt, etc.

The wine prices were very high compared to competitors in the area, as much as 50% higher, at least on those I knew on the wine list. Food pricing about average.

Most of our meals were good, but some of the steaks were not hot, inconsistent. The sides were better.

They should also tell you when they include the gratuity for larger parties, understand their right to do so, but they should tell you when presenting the bill.

It was during a busy convention time, but I don't believe they adjusted pricing due to this?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Spencer's: the BEST in Utah. Seriously. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Spencer's: the BEST in Utah. Seriously.

We eat every special occassion meal here, and many others just because. The steaks are AMAZING, the sides prepared perfectly, and they have the BEST. Creme. Brûlée!

The ambiance is just right, the service is spectacular, AND there is valet service to top it all off! There is no excuse to not try it. Trust me!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance and service was amazing!!! Very ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ambiance and service was amazing!!! Very attentive and friendly waitstaff. Massive selection of wines.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Foia Gras was fantastic ! Was not expect ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Foia Gras was fantastic ! Was not expecting to find such a delicate dish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everyone was exceedingly friendly, knowl ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everyone was exceedingly friendly, knowledgeable, and committed to providing amazing service. They treated us like family and gave amazing recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the booths. Great steaks. Wonderf ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love the booths. Great steaks. Wonderful sides, large enough to share. Would recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This will not be a restaurant that we wi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This will not be a restaurant that we will be returning. The food was rather expensive especially when it was not that tasty. Regardless of whether the food was a steak, smashed potatoes, potatoes au gratin, or the ribs, it was ALL COLD. Nothing was served warm.

Christmas night, the 6 of us did not feel well. It did seem as though the food was sitting well with any of us.

The atmosphere was nice, the hosts were alright, our server was ok. However, the gentleman refilling our drinks was wonderful. He was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

This is the second time we have been to ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is the second time we have been to Spencer's on a Holiday and we have thoroughly enjoyed the special holiday menu. Going to make this a family tradition for sure!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by Scott at our late Xmas Eve di ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service by Scott at our late Xmas Eve dinner was SUPERB!!!! Much appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food and excellent service as ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Exquisite food and excellent service as always from Scott!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time here. Would return for sure. ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 23, 2016

First time here. Would return for sure. Great food and service. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizers were very good. I would sugge ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Appetizers were very good. I would suggest the slab bacon appetizer. French Onion soup was awesome. Also, the truffle fries are very good. The steaks are quite the let down, especially if you are going to fork over $50+ for the steak alone. I got the bone in ribeye, which was just okay. My wife got the fillet, which was very hard to chew, which is pretty hard to do with a fillet.

If you are looking for a great steak, I would put Christopher's at the top, then Ruthe's Chris.

I would honestly say the food at Spencer's is worth about half as much as you pay. Adding to that, I don't know if I would go back even if it were half as much either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Great place for lunch too.

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great place for lunch too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was flavorless. Service was top not ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was flavorless. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Great service from Scott and Rene! Our ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great service from Scott and Rene! Our business group of 10 was no trouble for their service. Great food & drinks. Large cocktail, beer and wine list - some quite pricey but a great selection. Great place! We'll be back

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and amazing wine selection. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Amazing food and amazing wine selection. What else could you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was good. The Wagyu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food and service was good. The Wagyu steak was very tasty. Be warned though, this is a fairly expensive restaurant by SLC standards.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was great and the food was de ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our server was great and the food was delicious. The only problem we had was that when we arrived, we told our server that we were in a hurry and needed to be on the road no less than 90 minutes after we sat down in order to make it to a concert. We waited 45 minutes for our main courses and we ended up leaving 120 minutes after we sat down and we were not able to make it to the concert. That was very, very disappointing considering we made it a point to say that we were in a rush.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a very disappointing and overly ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was a very disappointing and overly expensive meal! We began the night with over cooked steaks, and over cooked shrimp and lobster that were tough to chew and rubbery. The crab had no flavor. The corn sufle was overflowing with too much garlic.. completley. We had eaten their with friends and we together discussed the meal, we will not go back to visit Spencer's . The overall experience was negative and I would never reccomend this place! I still can't believe we paid over $300 for that meal! The Chef needs to basic lessons on cooking steak and shrimp, and lobster! We will not be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Spencers is one of the few really good s ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Spencers is one of the few really good steak houses in Salt Lake (the New Yorker is the other IMO). Although its located in a hotel, it has the dark wood interior, superior steaks, and great wine list that steak lovers look for. I typically like more adventurous menus, but if you're looking for a good steak and the accompanying ambiance this is a great choice. I have found the food and service here to be reliably top notch.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Our party of 4 went before a concert. W ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our party of 4 went before a concert. We had an hour and 45 minutes to eat and head to our show.

We were there for an hour and 20 minutes before they tried to take our main course order. By that time, it was too late. We had our salads for 20-30 minutes without the server coming back.

Someone important had come in the restaurant, we saw the server go to his table multiple times, while we sat a few tables away without any food. The manager also stopped by his table 2-3 times during the same period.

Definitely disappointing. The food was great, we were just simply forgotten. Probably won't go back. I was there taking business clients, so to not feed them dinner wasn't the best experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was amazing. Food not so much. B ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Service was amazing. Food not so much. Better steaks elsewhere for a whole lot less. When I drop $200+ on I meal I shouldn't feel like I can cook it better at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Our Thanksgiving dinner away from home w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our Thanksgiving dinner away from home was wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow! What a culinary experience! We star ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wow! What a culinary experience! We started with the Slab Bacon, which is TO DIE FOR!! I could probably order 4 of these next time and make this my entree, YUMMMMMM!! Our steaks were cooked to perfection and everything on our plate was delicious. We ended the night with the homemade ice cream/sorbet trio- another heaven in your mouth experience! The wait staff was exceptional. John, our waiter, was super attentive, helpful with suggestions, and just made our evening top-notch! This was our first time to Spencer's, and we cannot wait to go back! Looking at my calendar now! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience has always been superb. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our experience has always been superb. The service and food is always excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencer's has always delivered on the qu ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Spencer's has always delivered on the quality of food and the ambiance. Our waiter (Kevin) has served us many times and doesn't an outstanding job making our meal amazing. The Chef is outstanding in his soups, entrees and desserts.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was cooked to order but was dry. A ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Steak was cooked to order but was dry. Also, the salad was mediocre. Wine selection was only just okay, but cocktails were made well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Best steak in the US. Also a very good w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Best steak in the US. Also a very good wine list. A lot of very good picks at a reasonable cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointed with this place. Wagyu s ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

So disappointed with this place.

Wagyu steaks terribly chewy @med rare.

Pushy waiter and Sommelier was good but also pushy

Sides were lacking,no lobster in the lobster mac

Giant Large potato croquet,you might want to rethink that recipe ,tasted horrible and runny inside

30years in fine dining not really sure what's going on here ,I Should of went to Ruth Chris and just dealed with it after all it's SLC.

I will leave out the price tag because I was embarrassed as it is/was whatever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

I had not been to Spencer's for a long t ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I had not been to Spencer's for a long time and had forgotten how good their steaks are. I will certainly be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My 10 oz. Filet medium rare was die for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

My 10 oz. Filet medium rare was die for. The ladies filet was ordered 8 oz. medium well and consequently was 1/4" of unedible char on both sides. I shouldn't have to trim and season a $40 filet. The Mint Julip was 1 part whisky (maybe 1.5 oz.) And the 1 part water was MIA, consequently leaving half of it soaked in the mint leaves. The truffle fries are to die for. Skip the ketchup, ask for two peppercorn sauces. The bread pudding was ok. The Key Lime pie was ok. The noisy atmosphere was thanks to the one occupied table nearby. A customer must have drank half of his own flask before dining with his business party. He was loud and unintelligible, he should not have been served more booze...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Spencer's is my go to for steak in SLC. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Spencer's is my go to for steak in SLC. Presentation is nice, but not so ostentatious that you have to cover yourself with a napkin or apron. Was our 25th wedding anniversary and the environment and service for the bill perfect. Oh... The food was absolutely on target in the most delicious way. Will be returning soon.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is delicious, but the service i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food is delicious, but the service is a little rush.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great spot for a good steak! great for a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great spot for a good steak! great for a business dinner and conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed. The waiter changed wines o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Disappointed. The waiter changed wines on me and insisted that was the one I ordered when I questioned him before he opened the bottle. I then showed him a picture of the wine I ordered from my cell. He apologized and then charged me the higher price for the wine I didn't order. I had to ask that he correct my bill, which he did. If you eat here, I highly recommend that you check your bill before you pay it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Service was top notch. The appetizers we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Service was top notch. The appetizers were wonderful. The rib eye was ok, it was overcooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, fantastic service and desert ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food, fantastic service and deserts to die for❗️😋

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Spencer's. Always have. Underrated ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Love Spencer's. Always have. Underrated restaurant in SLC, and beats most steakhouses in SLC

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our date at Spencers was awesome. We cho ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Our date at Spencers was awesome. We chose Spencers for their great reputation for steaks, and were not disappointed. The calimari was phenomenal, and our steaks did not disappoint. Corey and Marco provided great service, without being obtrusive. We will definitely recommend to frirnds in the area, and will return next time we are in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.