About Spencer's For Steaks and Chops

Hilton Salt Lake City
255 S. West Temple
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
View Larger Map

Spencer's is the original USDA Prime steakhouse in Salt Lake City. Our Certified Executive Chef Pleines continues to deliver contemporary and seasonal dishes that keep the locals coming back for more. Whether it's to unwind after a long day in the lounge over locally-crafted beers or to enjoy an evening dinner with friends and family - guests will enjoy hand cut steaks and fresh seafood, classically inspired cocktails and an award winning wine list.

As a 2016 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining rest assured your whether it's dining, tasting fine wine with the wine vintner, cooking demonstrations or winemaker dinners, there is always something happening at Spencer's Steakhouse and Chops in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The bar requires guests to be 21 years of age. Anyone under the age of 21 can join us in the restaurant when accompanied by a guest that is 21 years of age.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Open daily, Lunch: 11:30am - 5:00pm; Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Lounge serves food until 11:00pm daily

Cross Street:
On the east side of W. Temple between 200 & 300 South, in the Hilton Hotel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 238-4748

Website:
http://www3.hilton.com/en/hotels/utah/hilton-salt-lake-city-center-SLCCCHH/dining/spencers.html

Parking Details:
Spencer's for Steaks & Chops offers complimentary parking to all of our guests - valet or Self Park.

Public Transit:
TRAX - Gallivan Plaza

Executive Chef:
Chef Michael Pleines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Spencer's is also available for special events - parties, meetings and socials are just a few of the ways we can WOW your guests. Give us a call and we will help you plan and execute that unforgettable event so that you can just sit back, relax and enjoy.

Restaurant Photos

Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's Steaks And Chops - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Assorted Appetizers - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Bananas Foster Creme Brulee - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Seafood Platter for our party! - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
USDA Prime 22oz Bone-in Ribeye  - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Porterhouse Steak and family style sides! - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT
Sea Bass with Lobster Ravioli and Lobster Cream Sauce - Spencer's For Steaks and Chops, Salt Lake City, UT

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Spencer's will be serving our dinner menu all day, starting at 11:30am. Please make reservations as we will sell out! We will also be featuring a special al a carte menu created by our Executive Chef that is perfect for the holiday season!
Happy Holidays!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Spencer's will be serving our dinner menu all day, starting at 11:30am. Please make reservations as we will sell out! We will also be featuring a special al a carte menu created by our Executive Chef that is perfect for the holiday season!
Happy Holidays!

Private Dining

Spencer's eight private rooms can accommodate the smallest party up to 150 guests and will leave a lasting impression. As a 2016 Best of State Award Winner in American Traditional Fine Dining rest assured your private dining experience will be something to remember.

Spencer's For Steaks and Chops Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Utah
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fireplace (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Spencers is one of the few really good s ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Spencers is one of the few really good steak houses in Salt Lake (the New Yorker is the other IMO). Although its located in a hotel, it has the dark wood interior, superior steaks, and great wine list that steak lovers look for. I typically like more adventurous menus, but if you're looking for a good steak and the accompanying ambiance this is a great choice. I have found the food and service here to be reliably top notch.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Our party of 4 went before a concert. W ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our party of 4 went before a concert. We had an hour and 45 minutes to eat and head to our show.

We were there for an hour and 20 minutes before they tried to take our main course order. By that time, it was too late. We had our salads for 20-30 minutes without the server coming back.

Someone important had come in the restaurant, we saw the server go to his table multiple times, while we sat a few tables away without any food. The manager also stopped by his table 2-3 times during the same period.

Definitely disappointing. The food was great, we were just simply forgotten. Probably won't go back. I was there taking business clients, so to not feed them dinner wasn't the best experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was amazing. Food not so much. B ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Service was amazing. Food not so much. Better steaks elsewhere for a whole lot less. When I drop $200+ on I meal I shouldn't feel like I can cook it better at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Our Thanksgiving dinner away from home w ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our Thanksgiving dinner away from home was wonderful!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow! What a culinary experience! We star ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wow! What a culinary experience! We started with the Slab Bacon, which is TO DIE FOR!! I could probably order 4 of these next time and make this my entree, YUMMMMMM!! Our steaks were cooked to perfection and everything on our plate was delicious. We ended the night with the homemade ice cream/sorbet trio- another heaven in your mouth experience! The wait staff was exceptional. John, our waiter, was super attentive, helpful with suggestions, and just made our evening top-notch! This was our first time to Spencer's, and we cannot wait to go back! Looking at my calendar now! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience has always been superb. ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our experience has always been superb. The service and food is always excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencer's has always delivered on the qu ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Spencer's has always delivered on the quality of food and the ambiance. Our waiter (Kevin) has served us many times and doesn't an outstanding job making our meal amazing. The Chef is outstanding in his soups, entrees and desserts.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was cooked to order but was dry. A ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Steak was cooked to order but was dry. Also, the salad was mediocre. Wine selection was only just okay, but cocktails were made well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Best steak in the US. Also a very good w ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

Best steak in the US. Also a very good wine list. A lot of very good picks at a reasonable cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So disappointed with this place. Wagyu s ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

So disappointed with this place.

Wagyu steaks terribly chewy @med rare.

Pushy waiter and Sommelier was good but also pushy

Sides were lacking,no lobster in the lobster mac

Giant Large potato croquet,you might want to rethink that recipe ,tasted horrible and runny inside

30years in fine dining not really sure what's going on here ,I Should of went to Ruth Chris and just dealed with it after all it's SLC.

I will leave out the price tag because I was embarrassed as it is/was whatever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

I had not been to Spencer's for a long t ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

I had not been to Spencer's for a long time and had forgotten how good their steaks are. I will certainly be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My 10 oz. Filet medium rare was die for ...

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

My 10 oz. Filet medium rare was die for. The ladies filet was ordered 8 oz. medium well and consequently was 1/4" of unedible char on both sides. I shouldn't have to trim and season a $40 filet. The Mint Julip was 1 part whisky (maybe 1.5 oz.) And the 1 part water was MIA, consequently leaving half of it soaked in the mint leaves. The truffle fries are to die for. Skip the ketchup, ask for two peppercorn sauces. The bread pudding was ok. The Key Lime pie was ok. The noisy atmosphere was thanks to the one occupied table nearby. A customer must have drank half of his own flask before dining with his business party. He was loud and unintelligible, he should not have been served more booze...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Spencer's is my go to for steak in SLC. ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

Spencer's is my go to for steak in SLC. Presentation is nice, but not so ostentatious that you have to cover yourself with a napkin or apron. Was our 25th wedding anniversary and the environment and service for the bill perfect. Oh... The food was absolutely on target in the most delicious way. Will be returning soon.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is delicious, but the service i ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food is delicious, but the service is a little rush.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great spot for a good steak! great for a ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great spot for a good steak! great for a business dinner and conversation.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed. The waiter changed wines o ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

Disappointed. The waiter changed wines on me and insisted that was the one I ordered when I questioned him before he opened the bottle. I then showed him a picture of the wine I ordered from my cell. He apologized and then charged me the higher price for the wine I didn't order. I had to ask that he correct my bill, which he did. If you eat here, I highly recommend that you check your bill before you pay it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

Service was top notch. The appetizers we ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

Service was top notch. The appetizers were wonderful. The rib eye was ok, it was overcooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, fantastic service and desert ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food, fantastic service and deserts to die for❗️😋

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Spencer's. Always have. Underrated ...

 
·Dined on October 6, 2016

Love Spencer's. Always have. Underrated restaurant in SLC, and beats most steakhouses in SLC

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our date at Spencers was awesome. We cho ...

 
·Dined on October 4, 2016

Our date at Spencers was awesome. We chose Spencers for their great reputation for steaks, and were not disappointed. The calimari was phenomenal, and our steaks did not disappoint. Corey and Marco provided great service, without being obtrusive. We will definitely recommend to frirnds in the area, and will return next time we are in the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although the steaks were good, It did no ...

 
·Dined on September 26, 2016

Although the steaks were good, It did not quite meet with our high expectations. The wine list is extensive with many options. Side dishes are rather large and definitely more suitable for 3 or more dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Filet mignon was so tender, it melt in y ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Filet mignon was so tender, it melt in your mouth. Delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a business lunch with an important c ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Had a business lunch with an important client. The food was perfect, the service worked around our discussions, and the experience was great. Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worked hard to please. Food was good an ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Worked hard to please. Food was good and a really good wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful steaks. Surf and turf was grea ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful steaks. Surf and turf was great! Don't miss the corn soufflé and the hollandaise sauce with the surf and turf was the best I've ever had. I got the Au poive addition to my steak and it was good, but I wish I hadn't. I have a feeling the steak itself was wonderful without it. Mashed potatoes were wonderful too. Would go back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The best pork chop I have ever eaten.

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The best pork chop I have ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atomosphere, polite staff, food wa ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great atomosphere, polite staff, food was worth the price!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal - filet mignon was excellent. ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great meal - filet mignon was excellent. Service very good and was a quiet atmosphere. Overall would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

they did a great job for Marquels Birthd ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

they did a great job for Marquels Birthday

very sweet cake and decore

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I came to Spencers to celebrate my birth ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I came to Spencers to celebrate my birthday.......it was a wonderful experience from how great the waitress was to how delicious the food was!!!!!!!!! My first time eating with you and I definitely will dine with you again.........and I have already recommended you to friends and family in a facebook post!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks in the West.

 
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Best steaks in the West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is excellent and the service wa ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is excellent and the service was beyond excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

IN town for a business trip. The waiter ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

IN town for a business trip. The waiter was extremely helpful and not pushy. Recommendations were good but not insistent. We needed to kill a lot of time so spent about 2 hours dining which did not present a problem. The dining room is split into 3 distinct areas which helps lower the noise level, probably even on a busy evening. Overall it was a pleasant dining experience even if at the high end of price.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had so much fun They made us feel wo ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had so much fun

They made us feel wonderful.

We laughed and they took our picture I will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was excellent kust as it has t ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The steak was excellent kust as it has tobe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite when we stop in Salt L ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Always a favorite when we stop in Salt Lake City! Great food, great wine, great atmosphere and lots of family memories made in your restaurant. Thank you!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

After having an exceptional dinner two m ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

After having an exceptional dinner two months ago we found this nites meal objectionable as follows; Spencers salad dressing was very tart and drowned out the salad course. The large filet tasted a bit off. The filet while cooked as ordered was served cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

It was my first time dining here. I had ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was my first time dining here. I had an absolutely fantastic experience. I will definitely be going back soon. And, i would totally recommend to all of my friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was bland for the high prices. It l ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was bland for the high prices. It looked like the chef was in a hurry and forgot to add flavor. Service was subpar and they forgot I wrote a special note advising the occasion as a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

We absolutely loved our meal tonight! My ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We absolutely loved our meal tonight! My sister more than enjoyed the bone in rib-eye with smashed garlic potatoes and my vegan squash spaghetti entree, asparagus and truffle fries was amazing! Our cocktails were great and I am still in awe of the sorbet trio - each flavor was homemade and about the size of a tennis ball. The service was fantastic- Dutch was our server and a real pleasure. His suggestions were spot on. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.