Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Spencer's Restaurant

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00am-11am
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: (760) 325-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (146)
Special Occasion (120)
Good for a Date (105)
See All
Romantic (105)
Neighborhood Gem (95)
Great for Lunch (87)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Quiet Conversation (68)
Great for Brunch (66)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Business Meals (52)
Worth the Drive (51)
Sunday Lunch (51)
Scenic View (45)
Casual (44)
Cozy (43)
Notable Wine List (42)
Historic (35)
Live Music (34)
People Watching (32)
Good for Groups (29)
Fun (28)
Comfort Food (28)
Authentic (26)
Fireplace (24)
Gluten Free Options (24)
Outstanding Value (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Healthy (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Seasonal (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Disabled Access (11)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Family Style (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Private Room (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
3017 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I always try to get to Spencer's when we are on our annual trip to Palm Springs.
It was the last night of our vacation and we had dined out for dinner at about 8 other restaurants during our most recent stay. Without hesitation, I can say that the evening at Spencer's was the best dining experience we had while in Palm Springs. Impeccable service, great piano music, excellent food and drinks. There are many fine restaurants in the C. Valley, but we consider Spencer's the best of the lot.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Spencer's is one of our favorite restaurants.
Wonderful for all our special events with family and friends or just a wonderful dining experience!
We enjoy all the employees along with the wonderful piano player.
Thank you for always accommodating us.
Sincerely,
Lilo Cooper

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Ask for outside seating. Great food and atmosphere. Make reservations even for lunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Our survey was pleasant and gracious. The food was good but a little pricey. Ambiance was wonderful and the main reason we will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Life does not get any better than a lobster club at Spencer's! Great service, beautiful location and wonderful food makes this place a Palm Springs treasure!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Upon arrival the hostess could barely take time to say hello to us, and even with a reservation, and several open tables in view, we were seated at the nobody wants that teeny table table against the wall. That's how the rest of the service was also. The guy bringing bread to the table just about tossed it from 3 feet out and mumbled something about butter coming. And he was not in a hurry - just inattentive. I think the butter hit the table from either farther away; literally with a clang. The onion soup tasted mostly like beef bullion cubes. The crab cakes were very tender and had a nice crispness, but were flavorless. No spices or seasoning at all. The grilled cheese and reuben sandwiches were very good, as well as the potato chips. After the main course, the waiter did not offer a desert menu and in fact said, "Are you done?", as in, you're ready to leave right? Next time I want to spend $55 for lunch I will go to someplace where the help is friendly and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

ALWAYS a pleasure!! This was a special birthday dinner for my husband...we just love this wonderful place...special but welcomed every time!! We live in PS and often visit here...just ourselves, as tonight, or with friends or family!! I DREAMED of the Rack of Lamb all day...exquisite... and my husband loved the spare ribs (as usual!!)... We are extraordinarily fortunate to be able to dine so comfortably and elegantly in a restaurant like Spencer's...to always return...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday dinner for my wife, excellent food only exceeded by the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was less then great. Steak was cooked perfectly & was delicious but grilled portabella mushroom meal & all other entrees were not good & way beyond too salty. Garlic mashed potatoes not only looked awful, but were not even close to good. Hard to mess up a mashed potato. Had the texture an of instant mashed potato, with a yellow color & nasty taste. Second visit & same result. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Spencer's never disappoints. It is a delightful place for Sunday brunch with a broad menu to please everyone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Three of us in our five persons party ordered the eggs Benedict and all three dishes were like warm in temperature. The kitchen really missed the boat on these dishes! Very disappointing. It was also hard to flag down our server at various times. We always had to ask another staff member to find her. Great place to try once but Palm Springs has so many other places to go to.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Ambience of this place, from the entry to the inside feels of Beverly Hills. Service was great, atmosphere is good. Even the pre-fix menu is a decent value. The let down was the food itself. Relatively bland, basic, and forgettable unfortunately. We were hoping that a place like this, with its history and location would be special, but everything we tried- from the Calamari, to the salads, to the salmon and beef, even the desserts, not a single item was "very good". So we left a little disheartened.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

It may be the 'place to be seen' but for us was massively disappointing for food and service for breakfast. The server seemed disinterested. Ordered two items; one was correct one incorrect. Long delay to get the correct order and no apologies. Blueberry pancakes were not cooked enough, hence soggy in the middle. Coffee was lukewarm and fairly tasteless. Had to request butter for the pancakes and brought to the table hard and unspreadable. For the price this was not value. It is always busy and hard to get reservations. Amazing how long a stalwart reputation can last when it is not deserved; from our perspective.We were so looking forward to this dining experience and left very unsatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome place and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

We were allowed to extend our reservation time by 1/2 hour when we called and let the desk know we were running late. Our server was kind and attentive, and brought another server over to talk about how delicious the meat was. Meat was cooked exactly as ordered! Bouquet for 25th Anniversary was waiting on the table when we sat down.

A great dining experience. Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

I brought 2 friends who were visiting Palm Springs for the first time. I always try to include a meal at Spencer's as part of my friend's PS experience. They were here for the tennis tournament and it was the perfect place to spend the morning enjoying a delicious meal while watching the activity on the nearby tennis courts. They loved the food and the ambience of the patio. They already have plans to come back here on their next trip in October.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a lovely experience for breakfast.I was seated at a nice table outside I belive it was table 54. My server was Justin he had a very fun and quirky personality. I ordered the Grilled bacon and eggs with toast and an extra side of fruit it was oh so yummy.Following the breakfast I asked Justin to surprise me with one of two desserts that I couldn't decide on (Tiramisu or "24 Carrots"). He brought me the 24 carrot, it was a absolutely delicious carrot cake it was perfect with my coffee. The bussers were also very attentive and on point. The experience was just exceptional, will definitely be back for that tiramisu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Beautiful patio, amazing food. The tuna tartare was the best I've ever had. Great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I always love dining outdoors at Spencer's. The food is always good too, and a good value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had a wonderful breakfast with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful experience from where we were seated, to the meals, wine selection & service. Enjoyed the evening immensely.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Nestled against the rising mountains, Spencers is a warm and inviting venue offering both inside and terrace seating. The terrace, in particular, is special with tables situated under spreading trees lit at night. A generous full bar is offered with seating if desired. The menu is filled with creative cuisine including the usual fare. Start with the kung pao calimari or one of the special salads. Both fish and meat offerings are available as well as vegan items. It is a must stop while in Palm Springs. Service is top notch.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Lovely outdoor dining under large ficus trees. Special Mahi Mahi delicious. Excellent wine list and wide range of menu selections. [Lots of dogs (literally) inside restaurant - unsure why - did not seem to be service dogs. In any case they were mostly well behaved!]

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 15, 2017

lovely restaurant ...wonderful menu selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Got there around 2:00 and was able to get a table right away. There was a very save place to lock our bikes. Food and service were ok, not great. Still don't understand why they have to have very big advertising sections in the local paper.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Went here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. While our entrees were superb, our lobster gazpacho (pretty skimpy sprinkle of flavorless lobster on a tomato juice-like broth) and Ceasar salad were underwhelmingly flavorless. My husband ordered the 3 course $38 prix fix, which would be a good value if the appetizer and banana cream pie ( a skimpy smear of banana cream on a stale shortbread cookie) were well-prepared. I'd skip this and just order the entree of your choice. This is a very busy restaurant in the historic Tennis Club. Definitely worth the experience if you are selective about your food choices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Disappointing! Came to this restaurant based on a couple of referrals. The hunk ordered Ahi tuna appie which he said was excellent, followed by vealchop which took forever to get and was forgettable. I ordered from the price fix menu, started with French onion soup - excellent broth, followed by short rib which was like a prepackaged piece of flanks rolled up on a bed of watery potatoes. Dessert was banana cream pie that was just ok.
The biggest drawback to our meal was 3 people surrounding us were very loudly talking on their cell phones. The restaurant needs to acknowledge this as it is very distracting for other diners wanting to enjoy their evening. All in all - just ok. Won't rush back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Beautiful setting, Great Food. Ordered 3 course Prix Fixe for $38. I had the chicken breast, she had the salmon. My chicken was very good, with enough to take home. The salmon was a bit too moist for my taste (and her's) so possibly steamed? . I prefer cedar plank grilled so a bit of time on the grill to reduce the moistness would have been a good idea.
Overall, I would go again for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 13, 2017

One of the best in Palm Springs! I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I had mentioned when I made the reservation that it was my husbands birthday. When he opened his menu there was a printed sheet with greetings . All the staff from the entrance to our waiter wished him a Happy Birthday . Made it a more special time, and of course the food was great as usual!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Spencer's never disappoints! The best place to bring out of town guests because it's quintessential Palm Springs!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went for my birthday. The staff was friendly and efficient. The food was top notch. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Perfect in every way, as always. That's why we keep coming back.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My favorite restaurant in the Coachella Valley, especially for breakfast and lunch. A good value too!

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Love the outdoor ambiance and the service was patient and attentive -- we never felt rushed. Been to the area many times, but this was our first visit to Spencer's. We'll certainly go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our favorite restarurant in Palm Springs - always a first class experience. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Terrific good. Great Service. Very nice Ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had friends from out of town and they loved it. Great service and great food!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 8, 2017

A lovely venue for lunch or dinner (haven't tried breakfast). Menu is varied and reasonably priced. Service is excellent. The business lunch offers a soup/salad, entree and dessert for under $20. The seafood is delicious, as are the sandwiches -- to give you a varied idea of what's available. Just be aware this is not very handicapped friendly -- the seating is close and entry may be difficult.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Casual, Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

My husband was looking for a special restaurant for our 30th Anniversary and Spencer's delivered. Excellent selection of items on the menu, including Liver &Onions with a Raspberry sauce that was incredible. Carrot Cake for desert the best ever.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.