About Spencer's Restaurant

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00am-11am
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: (760) 325-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (120)
Special Occasion (113)
Romantic (93)
See All
Great for Lunch (91)
Good for a Date (87)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
Good for Birthdays (77)
Quiet Conversation (65)
Great for Brunch (62)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Sunday Lunch (47)
Worth the Drive (43)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Business Meals (42)
Cozy (41)
Casual (37)
Notable Wine List (37)
Scenic View (35)
Good for Groups (30)
Live Music (30)
People Watching (30)
Historic (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Hot Spot (25)
Fun (23)
Outstanding Value (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Fireplace (19)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Authentic (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Family Style (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Healthy (13)
Seasonal (12)
Disabled Access (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2844 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

6 friends, 3 couples. Sunday brunch at S ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

6 friends, 3 couples. Sunday brunch at Spencer's. Socially, reasonably good to solidly good. Server, efficient and at least there was a joke or 2. Refilled Arnold Palmer with ice tea, not a BIG deal. I'm the only one who takes a doggie bag, woof, woof. But they gave me the wrong doggie. Same meal but with ham instead of lox. Ugh. I called. The totally professional, personable, caring manager Rebecca immediately offered me a gift card or credit on my card. I took the credit & left with a good taste in my mouth. You may, too. Thanks, I needed that.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Spencer's was recommended to us, and we ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 4 days ago

Spencer's was recommended to us, and we were so glad it was. What a great place! The patio is the best we've seen--plenty of heaters to keep you warm in the cooler months, and having trees throughout adds to the ambiance. Had the twin lobster tails, and they were ideal. I also had the corn bisque, which was very delicious. Added to our list of favorites. We've also been told that lunch there is also wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencer's is a well-oiled machine with a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Spencer's is a well-oiled machine with an excellent reputation, but they have screwed up something each of my last three visits. I am growing less inclined to go there anymore - all three situations are staff-related issues rather than food quality or ambiance, which is usually great. As Trump would say: "sad".

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great dinner as always; sole was outstan ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dinner as always; sole was outstanding Simon was an outstanding wait person.

Spencer is one of the best places for dinner in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the steak and it had zero flavor and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Had the steak and it had zero flavor and gross. Ambiance is always amazing though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love going to Spencer's because it's So ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Love going to Spencer's because it's So Palm Springs. I like the valet parking to start with, sitting outside whether it's warm (they have outdoor AC!!) or cool (heaters) it's a pleasant

atmosphere. Service is friendly and food is good. Nice to do after visiting the Palm Springs

Museum. The one thing I love the very best is that the patio is Dog Friendly although we

had to chuckle at the list of Dog Manners that we should observe. Any place that's dog

friendly gets a real thumbs up with me!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding Service: Waiter was attentiv ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Outstanding Service: Waiter was attentive and came to the table at all the right moments. The food was exquisite in taste and presentation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencers is always on our Restaurant Age ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Spencers is always on our Restaurant Agenda when we visit Palm Springs. The service, food, music, ambiance is always stellar. Breakfast, lunch, dinner....the best on all counts!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencer's made our birthday celebration ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Spencer's made our birthday celebration one to remember! The service, the ambiance, the food... everything was impeccable! Thank you so much!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just love Breakfast at Spencer's...Food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Just love Breakfast at Spencer's...Food is wonderful...Service is the very best....We make a reservation and never have to wait....

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View and enjoy yourselves the food was v ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

View and enjoy yourselves the food was very good unfortunately I couldn't have your potato pancakes this week we were there on Sunday

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was looking forewards to my meal at Sp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I was looking forewards to my meal at Spencer's to celebrate my 50th birthday. My main comment relates to food. This restaurant clearly lives off their rich history, but in the process stopped making gr at food. It was so astonishing mediocre, I could have made it. The clientele were generally old school Palm Springs folks who seemingly know no better about what's "good food" vs average. True, the place had a certain ambiance from yester-year that was quite nice-the main dining room was lovely, with a piano player. The service was old school, but not particularly attentive nor sophisticated. If you live in a time bubble from 1960 when was just not quite as good as it is today, and you want the feel from that era, then go to Spencer's. If you want great food and somewhat not quite as dated, then pick one of the other many choices in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Superb as always in every respect. Frien ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Superb as always in every respect. Friendly staff, great food, excellent service and wonderful ambience. Classy. 👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is exceptional. The pat ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This restaurant is exceptional. The patio Ambienvice is the best in town. The food is superb. The service is usually top notch but not always. But the value is no longer..well good value. I think $15 for a martini is excessive. And I think the price increases on most dishes are excessive. For example, the breakfast corn beef hash is now more expensive yet the bagel is no longer included. To have one is now a $4 surcharge. Four dollars

for a bagel? Really? Seriously ?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

The sampler appetizer was like having re ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The sampler appetizer was like having reheated frozen food very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Fine restaurant associated with the Palm ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fine restaurant associated with the Palm Springs Tennis Club has many choices for all meals. The manager was especially accommodating and the staff is efficient and pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was really bad. Had to wait ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The service was really bad. Had to wait and wait to get a drink and she looked like she could careless. Have eaten there before but this was not good at all. Very poor waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

We often take visitors here for the ambi ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We often take visitors here for the ambiance, however we also find business lunches here hassle free an enjoyable. You cannot beat the ever changing business lunch prix fixe which is always creative and quick.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was very special but service inatte ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was very special but service inattentive and not the level you would expect for an upscale restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Spencers was an excellent choice for our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Spencers was an excellent choice for our wedding anniversary dinner in Palm Springs. Their ratings are excellent, and we saw why first hand the evening of 1/9/17. Drinks at the bar with the charming bartender was the start of a perfect evening. Sitting outdoors in their patio area and being treated like royalty was exceptional. Thank you, Spencers for a memorable anniversary date!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AS ALWAYS, SPENCERS IS A WONDERFUL PLACE ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 9, 2017

AS ALWAYS, SPENCERS IS A WONDERFUL PLACE TO DINE. THIS IS ALWAYS ONE OF MY FAVORITES TO GO TO. I HAVE BEEN GOING FOR YEARS AND THIS IS ALWAYS 1ST TO RECOMMEND.

FOODS GREAT. I LOVE THE SURF N TURF ON SUNDAY BRUNCH. AND ALWAYS THE SPECIAL 3 COURSE MENU FOR BRUNCH, LUNCH OR DINNER.

SALADS ARE FRESH AND SOUPS ALWAYS AMAZING.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great appetizers

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok food. We had to send back poached egg ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ok food. We had to send back poached eggs 3x in order to get them to the correct consistency.

We had asked for a courtyard table but didn't get one.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Overrated. Corned beef hash too salty. F ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overrated. Corned beef hash too salty. Fritatta too dry. Expensive. Gf options not significant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Love that New York style steak , really ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love that New York style steak , really juicy and good flavor !!

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

another wonderful lunch outside. The $20 ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 7, 2017

another wonderful lunch outside. The $20 business lunch is a true bargain. 3 courses plus coffee in beautiful surroundings with white linen and super service. The salmon was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was impressed with the courtesy extend ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was impressed with the courtesy extended by all the staff. The food and service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to Spencer's to celebrate my wif ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We went to Spencer's to celebrate my wife's birthday. The service was excellent, from making the reservation to enjoying our meal. Our server was very friendly and very funny. A great dining choice in Palm Springs!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Spencers for sever ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We have been going to Spencers for several years - love the interior seating as well as the open patio seating. Service is always spot on and the food and wine are at very reasonable prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Spencer's is always the place to go to w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Spencer's is always the place to go to with friends for any meal...great ambiance...good food...good value.

Lately the male waiters need an attitude adjustment. To much time is wasted standing at the bar and not being attentive to clients.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Arrived early for our New Years Eve dinn ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Arrived early for our New Years Eve dinner reservstion that I made a month in advance and reconfirmed. We were taken to the only table for 2 in the restaurant. A small table in the middle of the restaurant with a view of the bussing trays. Not wanting to start the evening off on a sour note we proceeded to select our menu items. And we waited. We took selfies and waited some more. Finally our server arrived, only to inform us that they were already out of items. (9pm second sitting). I explained that we wanted to spread our dinner over a few hours, yet we received 2 of 4 courses in 15 minutes. Sent back the 2nf course and the timing improved. Our fixed price of $95 per person was supposed to include wine and sparkling wine. Hmm. Might be OK if you could get your waiter's attention without waving like a crazy person. Oh, and the restaurant was maybe a quarter full all night, so why we got the worst table in the house is beyond me. We left at 11, disappointed that of all the good restaurants in PSP we chose Escena.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

After a wonderful lunch experience at Sp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

After a wonderful lunch experience at Spencer's during a visit to Palm Springs, we returned for a dinner. The service was amazing at lunch. So nice and attentive. At dinner, our waiter acted as if he was bothered to even be dealing with us. After taking our initial orders--and after our food was delivered--he ignored us, even while servicing tables all around us. It wasn't until other servers had completely cleared our dishes that he reappeared. The food was very tasty and nicely-prepared. My wife needs to be gluten free, which is a key reason we chose Spencer's. The GF menu items are clearly marked. At our lunch, everything was perfect. At dinner my wife had a slight Celiac reaction, apparently from kitchen cross-contamination. The setting is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Spencer's is always dependable for food ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Spencer's is always dependable for food and service. This particular luncheon, however, had a disappearing server at the end of the meal. A "pet peeve" of mine is waiting -- and waiting -- with credit card ready to settle the bill when we are all ready to leave. We finally took the bill up to the hostess ourselves. Otherwise, very nice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Visiting Palm Springs with family from t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Visiting Palm Springs with family from the UK, found Spencers on the Internet.

A lovely meal, with really good service, nice ambiance with gentle piano music playing in the background. An good choice on the menus plus a set menu on offer too. Well worth visiting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Again a very poor service in wonderful P ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Again a very poor service in wonderful Palm Springs... They do the job... ok but not more. The decor should be renewed. it looks like an old office from the 80's . Thanks to the very good lights it's still acceptable for dinner.

But please guys if you think it's so boring to do your job, do something else or try to learn what "service" means...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious in every way

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Delicious in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hi I been to Spencer's many times the fo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Hi

I been to Spencer's many times the food is excellent the waiters polite the front desk not so polite the decor great the only problem is that there is no music at the patio and it's kind of boring! I wish they had a classic guitar kind of music for the patio dining it would be great!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I write a review every time. There is no ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I write a review every time. There is not much to say except it is one of two restaurants I eat in Palm Springs. Waiter Justin he best in Palm Springs. Mgr amazing. Food perfect Just go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a pleasure. A special place.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a pleasure. A special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.