About Spencer's Restaurant

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00am-11am
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: (760) 325-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (138)
Special Occasion (122)
Good for a Date (107)
See All
Romantic (100)
Good for Anniversaries (95)
Neighborhood Gem (94)
Great for Lunch (88)
Good for Birthdays (81)
Quiet Conversation (67)
Great for Brunch (67)
Worth the Drive (53)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Business Meals (52)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Sunday Lunch (47)
Casual (45)
Cozy (44)
Notable Wine List (41)
Scenic View (39)
Live Music (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Comfort Food (32)
Historic (31)
People Watching (29)
Outstanding Value (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Gluten Free Options (25)
Fireplace (24)
Fun (23)
Authentic (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Healthy (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Family Style (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Seasonal (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Disabled Access (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2928 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistently good at almost everything. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently good at almost everything. Highly recommend their steaks, veal chop, sole and salads. Above average wine list, moderately priced. Inside can be somewhat loud, sit outside if you can! A Palm Springs Gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

overall, good food and good value, but t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

overall, good food and good value, but this was second time I was unhappy with an item on plate. this time, I had eggs benny with potatoes...potatoes were way overdone, very dark, dry, some inedible. I am amazed they made it onto plate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Spencers is always a class act.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Spencers is always a class act.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spencer's is our favorite restaurant in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Spencer's is our favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. This time I had the Sea Bass special that was out of this world! My friends who came from LA with us loved the food, the service and the atmosphere. A reliably great dining experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is always my first choice to dine w ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

This is always my first choice to dine when in the area... food quality, service and friendliness of staff never fails. Quiet enough to have marvelous dinner conversations! We'll be back, of course!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Didn't feel rushed.

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great. Didn't feel rushed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally made it to a great restaurant in ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Finally made it to a great restaurant in Palm Springs. It outdoes its reputation for ambience and good food. Great lunch for my birthday.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made dinner reservations for two on li ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

I made dinner reservations for two on line days in advance. Having just asked my long time girlfriend for her hand in marriage. This was to be our first romantic dinner. It was a lot of trust to put in a restaurant. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for not disappointing. Special thanks to Tony the bartender for his amazing service and all of the staff. We will never forget that evening and the part that Spencer's played in making it an unforgettable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bread basket was quite good. The ses ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

The bread basket was quite good. The sesame crisp included with the rolls was truly interesting.

We then shared the spinach salad (from the salad menu) and the tomato tartare (from the appetizer menu). The salad was excellent and could have been a meal by itself. The tomato tartare was good but was definitely not what we expected. I assumed it would be a broiled beef steak tomato cut in half with a cheese and ?? filling. I would not order it again as there are probably better choices from the appetizer menu.

As our main course we ordered the sesame crusted salmon fillet and the Chilean sea bass. Both were cooked perfectly. We were quite impressed.

The carrot cake desert was not at the level of the rest of the meal. It was satisfactory but we both thought it was closer to being a run of the mill spice cake.

We have eaten lunch at Spencer's multiple times after tennis. We we will be back for dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorites in Palm Springs. Al ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

One of our favorites in Palm Springs. Always a great meal and wonderful service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I live in Victoria, BC, Canada. My siste ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

I live in Victoria, BC, Canada. My sister in law and I were visiting Palm Springs and decide to try Spencer's after reading some reviews. We were very pleased to be able to make a reservation with the option of seating inside or on the patio.

The patio setting is beautiful, elegantly decorated. Inside there was a piano player and we could enjoy the music while dining on the patio ambience.

The staff were very pleasant and friendly, very professionaly dressed.

I ordered the three course meal for $38. Price was fair for the quality and portion size. The portions were very generous and the food was amazing. I was not aboe to eat the entire dinner and took the desert with me. Next time I will try the appetizer sampler plate.

I would definitely dine at Spencers again if I return to PS.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Been to Spencer's many times - never had ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Been to Spencer's many times - never had a single bad dish. This time was discomforting due to an extremely rude couple who sat 2 tables over and complained loudly about our heat lamp being on (low) - the desert in February calls for a bit of warmth. They finally got up and insisted on being moved - but not before the man berated me loudly and profanely. BTW - it was my husband who was cold - somehow he chose me to pick on. Our server and the manager both came by after they'd moved - apologized profusely and thanked me for my "grace" in handling it. Their care and concern showed just how professional this place is. Go there!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My all time favorite breakfast and lunch ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

My all time favorite breakfast and lunch restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere and great patio din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and great patio dining. Delicious food and nice variety.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seated outside, our request. Placed in r ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Seated outside, our request. Placed in rear close to the tennis court. Table was under a large tree. Tree was dropping bloom and all kind of small debris onto the table , on us ,and in the food. Both ordered large salads , quantity was fine ,but flavor was bland. Waitress was very nice and did try to provide the necessary attentiveness but had a language barrier and had difficulty in translation some menu items into English

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Great place for a date! The white fish w ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place for a date! The white fish was delicious.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I had the short rib and my spouse had th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I had the short rib and my spouse had the risotto. Both were excellent. The short ribs are some of the best anywhere. The French onion soup is fantastic! The bartender could not make an old fashioned.

Service was way off on this visit. Staff was slow in all aspects. Long waits for water refills, food delivery, clearing dirty plates, getting check, etc. Yes, it was pretty bad.

Love the patio dining or the romantic dining room. Great ambiance.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Very average food with poor service. Our ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Very average food with poor service. Our reservation was for 2PM and our food didn't arrive until 3PM. Our waiter was irritating and borderline inappropriate. We had far better meals at less expensive restaurants in Palm Springs. The ambience is quite nice however - if you can sit outside.

I would not dine here again nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Simon is always wonderful and was very a ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Simon is always wonderful and was very appreciative that the ladies up front put us at our favorite table. Always a wonderful occasion when we are at Spencer's. Love it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Spencer's for brunch. We ordered ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went to Spencer's for brunch. We ordered the "House Favorite" corned beef hash and the eggs benedict. The hash was from a can. No doubt about it. Big turn off. The benedict was okay. Nothing special. The potatoes that accompanied both dishes were obviously frozen. They were not hot and were pretty bad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was delicious as always!! The ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was delicious as always!! The service was excellent. This is one of my favorite restaurants to go to every year when I visit Palm Springs. See you next year!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservations were for 8:30 outside s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our reservations were for 8:30 outside seating. After waiting for 30min. We were given a table in small room off piano bar.

So noisy we had to shout to one another

Around 9:45 people had cleared out somewhat and we were then able to hold a conversation

I ordered the duck Asked how I wanted it cooked I said med well. I could not finish it. It was rare Should have sent it back. Everyone was hungry. So I ate what I could.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Anniversary

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always reliable with excellent service a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always reliable with excellent service and interesting specials.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was an unfortunate experience. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was an unfortunate experience. The plan was to celebrate a friend's birthday. So I had reservations for him, his wife, and me for dinner. They had a nice Happy Birthday insert into his menu--very creative. But we learned later he was supposed to have received an ice cream sundae as a birthday treat. It never came. I ordered salmon, but they served me free range chicken and I was several bites into this "unusual" salmon before my friend's wife checked it out and informed me it was chicken. All in all, not up to their standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Spencer's is a wonderful choice when you ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Spencer's is a wonderful choice when you want delicious food, beautifully prepared and presented in an attractive adult-oriented setting. We generally request a patio table as it is very romantic with lights twinkling in the trees located throughout the patio. When I made the reservation I mentioned that I was celebrating a birthday, and from the moment we arrived all staff were aware and my special occasion noted. I had a congratulatory birthday sheet in my menu and was spoiled with a complimentary dessert complete with lighted candle for a finale. Thanks to Spencer's for making my special occasion so memorable!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my second visit for lunch, and i ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This is my second visit for lunch, and it was wonderful! Ordered the same spectacular Cobb Salad with a side of crispy bacon to add a little more crunch. Perfection! This and all salads, such as my guest's yummy Asian salad, are impossible to finish. It's The Bottomless Salad Bowl! I lean towards Sauvignon Blancs from New Zealand with salads, and we enjoyed the Monkey Bay. Close seating in the outside patio, but the chat level is low to zero. Will request this in the future, as on a warm day, the tree foliage cuts the sun and certainly adds to the ambiance! Spencer's is definitely a new favorite. Love the casual scene and the great staff.

Tags: Scenic View, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Historic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant, very good food with gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Nice restaurant, very good food with great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG the sampler appetizer , had to order ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 8, 2017

OMG the sampler appetizer , had to order two !!!!

great service at the table

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The gruff server, Everado, who seems to ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The gruff server, Everado, who seems to be a new man on Spencer's team, seemed to ridicule us

when nobody ordered a wine or a drink initially. We waited a long time before he came back

to take our order. I ordered coffee with my dessert, but the coffee never arrived.

Michelle, in my opinion, remains the top server during the day at Spencer's.

With Dario's departure, you lost the top server during the evening. Simon does

a good job, though.

With a few notable exceptions the servers and service do not measure up to the

food and reputation of Spencer's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Lovely! Staff particularly friendly, ch ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Lovely! Staff particularly friendly, cheerful and service-oriented!

We went back the next day!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Family Style, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food at reasonable pri ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Consistently good food at reasonable prices. Great ambience for a romantic evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for dinner on holiday and i ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We went here for dinner on holiday and it was a great place all around. I have multiple allergies and was well accommodated with a smile. Good price point too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose Spencer's for our first anniver ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We chose Spencer's for our first anniversary and were not disappointed. The staff were very gracious, and the food was superb, as always!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner at Spencer's. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Spencer's. I had the fried oysters appetizer and rib eye steak entree, both were prepared perfectly. Looking forward to going back and try other things on the menu. The staff was very friendly without being obtrusive and we really enjoyed our waiter Craig. Craig was very nice, informative and professional. We really enjoyed everything we ordered, the staff, the outdoor heaters, the beautiful trees and the lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The three courses for $38 is a steal. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The three courses for $38 is a steal. The wine list is extensive, with good selections for most pocketbooks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our evening at Spencer's was enjoyable a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Our evening at Spencer's was enjoyable and the ambience was lovely. Service was very good, and the server was attentive to my husband's need for a gluten free meal. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his house salad and Mediterranean chicken. My salad with apple and walnuts was excellent and FULL of delicious candied walnuts. I was disappointed in the two other starters that I ordered as my main course, however. The lobster potstickers were actually fried wontons (slight but significant difference) with a filling that appeared to be ground shellfish, instead of chunks of lobster that I had imagined. The "chili aioli" (drizzled under the wontons) seemed to be predominately chili, not much aioli making it VERY hot/spicy. The French onion soup was nice and cheesy, but the onions throughout were still crunchy (as opposed to soft from caramelization). So, overall, a bit hit/miss, which was a bit of a surprise for a fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a dinner celebrating my 81st bi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This was a dinner celebrating my 81st birthday. My children were with me and I had a wonderful experience. I love the ambiance of the patio. My waiter was just perfect. The food was awesome and the special b'day desert was exceptional. All in all, I had an outstanding night.

SS

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, , Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Tapas, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5th visit! Love it!

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

5th visit! Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and selection was quite good bu ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and selection was quite good but the service and ambience just didn't pull it together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.