Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Spencer's Restaurant

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast : 8:00am-11am Monday through Saturday
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm Monday through Saturday
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner Daily : 5:00pm-10:00pm
Special holiday hours varies


Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (142)
Special Occasion (126)
Good for a Date (120)
See All
Romantic (105)
Good for Anniversaries (104)
Good for Birthdays (88)
Neighborhood Gem (86)
Great for Lunch (82)
Great for Brunch (78)
Quiet Conversation (72)
Sunday Lunch (67)
Creative Cuisine (60)
Business Meals (54)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Casual (49)
Notable Wine List (48)
Cozy (47)
Live Music (43)
Good for Groups (42)
Worth the Drive (40)
Scenic View (32)
Fun (31)
People Watching (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Comfort Food (22)
Authentic (20)
Disabled Access (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Seasonal (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

We always enjoy a table on the patio for lunch. I always have the Lobster Club except when I have a Caesar Salad and the Mushroom Risotto. Today I went with the Risotto which was disappointingly oily, not warm enough to even melt the cheese and pretty tasteless. I didn't send it back as they were busy and so was I. Next time I'll go back to my favorite sandwich. I enjoyed everything else and so my guest.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a good place for any get together whether it be for friends or family or a special occasion. Food is outstanding and creative. Lunch special is a fantastic value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Everyone here is so nice and welcoming. We had a lovely breakfast of eggs (cooked perfectly) and waffles. Nick was our server and he was there ever time we needed something yet not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was fantastic and the onion soup outstanding. I though the Calamari appetizer was a bit over-breaded but it too was fresh. I think it would be a bit better if only dusted with flour before frying. The crab cakes were well cooked and served.

When you decide to put Rock Cornish Game Hen on the menu, let me know!

My one disappointment was that the coffee was not as warm as it has been in the past.

We always come to Spencer's to celebrate our special occasions: birthdays and anniversaries, in particular.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

There's flies around my food and I did not like it. It's all old people around and the noise level was high. Food was not bad, but I wont go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I am very disappointed from last day visit a year ago. The place is getting shabby. The walls are tired and carpet inside looks worn out. The food is nothing special...tired too. I won't be coming back to this place as it's not a winner anymore. Many better places in area. It seems others agree as it was not a sold out house. PS..watch or ask for bar prices as they take advantage if you are shy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Spencers is always nice. They went out of their way to make our Anniversary
Celebration special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Ultra romantic food is good but not a Michelin star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Pretty terrace, friendly staff, too much oil in the Pasta Carbonara.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Beautiful patio with great food and service. One of my favorites in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Pork chop was ordered medium rare and was well done. A beautiful piece of Halibut ($40.00) was overcooked more than my pork chop. Locals speak highly of Spencer's. I try and like it. Last night was my 5th and final visit. I have never had a good meal or experience there. Food is always overdone regardless of the category or how it was ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2017

You simply can't miss with time spent at Spencer's! Whether you're looking for breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner, the food is delicious, presented beautifully, GREAT waitstaff and super friendly and helpful management. You are made to feel special from beginning to end! Love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Extra treat is the pianist, Patrick, who plays soothing music to at lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend. I must say it was quite a find. The ambiance was great. The service was perfect and friendly. We sat outside and it was quite delightful. I will make sure I go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was okay, decent value for what you get but inconsistent with the glowing reviews we had read. Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This place is old and worn, the food was mediocre steak nothing to talk about fish was fair. The dining experience lacked the expectations from the reviews. Silverware had to be sent back. The price point is high and the overall experience not very enjoyable .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food and outstanding service made for a great evening. The filets were the best; perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This is an exceptional restaurant. If you want top class food, service and ambiance, this is the place. I will go there again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Overall love Spencer's. For early arrival the ambiance was not very friendly

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Lobster clubs for lunch with fruit, tell me where on can find a better lunch with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Try not to get Elias as your server. Otherwise this is s perfect place to dine. Pianist at lunch adds much to the experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Spencer's is our favorite Palm Springs restaurant for brunch or lunch. Spencer's has a Beautiful outdoor patio and a wonderful menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Love the patio. The food portions are very large so be prepared. Will definitely return. One of our favourite spots in Palm Springs

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I LOVE the soft shell crabs and the banana crème pie !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We have been to Spencer's many times but this time was to celebrate our son 21st Birthday
For he is shy and not want to draw attention to the fact, all staff from the time we entered to time departed made the most memorabilia eve by acknowledging in a understated way per my request.

For a special occasion or just out-about this is one of the to go's in PS
Who could ask for anything more

Cheers
Kaco

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always a lovely and delicious experience!
Love both the inside and outside dining!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Spencer's has so many desirable features, it is unique among most restaurants: casual yet romantic; wonderful ambiance inside and a great terrace too; excellent food; friendly without being annoyingly casual. Top notch in every conceivable category.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Spencer's has been our favorite restaurant in the entire desert for the last 12 years especially for special occasions. Sitting outdoors in the tree lined, air cooled or heated patio is absolutely delightful. We have been there in the middle of summer, the middle of winter, for breakfast, lunch, dinner and we always sit in the patio which is very conducive to good conversation and is always comfortable. The food is excellent and the menu varied and vast. We especially like their Chilean Seabass, filet mignon, braised short ribs and veal chop for dinner. No matter when you go or what you order, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We celebrated a birthday at Spencer's with dinner on 9/8/17. We've enjoyed Spencer's numerous times before, and last night was no exception. Everything was great as usual, and the level of service was impeccable. We are locals who will definitely return and recommend Spencer's to anyone who enjoys excellent food, service and ambience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Could not believe the quality of the food, the wine list, and the service. We had to bring our two large (well behaved) dogs with us because we could not leave them alone in our timeshare units. We've don it before, but we've never experienced such fine dining in such a beautiful outdoor patio setting like this one. There were plenty of other friendly patrons around us who probably had no idea that Spencer's was dog friendly. In fact when we walked in through the lobby with our two "children" someone coming out remarked with astonishment "This place takes dogs?" If you're looking for an upscale night out with fido do not hesitate to go here. It was the best ever for my wife and I after a whole week of staying in and cooking for ourselves.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 6, 2017

One of our favorite spots because of the ambiance, beautiful but easygoing atmosphere , great food and service. Hard to beat this place especially for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We were seated on the beautiful outdoor patio and enjoyed a romantic dinner overlooking the historic Tennis Club. The service was incredible and we'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Service was amazing. Michelle is the best server in the Desert. She's amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 4, 2017

There are a lot of great restaurants in the Palm Springs area, and Spencers is truly one of the greatest - food, service, ambiance -- and gracious attention to detail in "all of the above."

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent as always and would recommend Spencer's to all of my good friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 3, 2017

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. We were celebrating some birthday's and they did such an amazing job in personalizing and really make us feel special. The Moroccan Chicken and Salmon were excellent. This is our place when we travel to the Palm Springs area never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Spencer's never disappoints. Great selection. Wonderful service. Lively atmosphere. Great fun!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time in Palm Springs and received recommendation from a local person in Palm Springs. Spencer's did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and courteous. Our meal was excellent and the cocktails chilled to our liking. Wine menu offer a very good variety of wines in all price ranges. The restaurant is off the main street and tucked back in a neighborhood on the side of a mountain. Great get away and wonderful piano player.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Spencers! The food and ambiance was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were there to celebrate a friends 65th birthday. The table was ready early, piano player was playing and we started our celebration on a wonderful note.

Our waiter was engaging and made the "birthday boy" feel special. In fact, most of the staff would come by and say "Happy Birthday" to him. We never had to ask for refills, our food was delicious and the staff brought out some ice cream with candle to the birthday boy.

Spencer's is a great place to go for a great meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.