Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Spencer's Restaurant

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast : 8:00am-11am Monday through Saturday
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm Monday through Saturday
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner Daily : 5:00pm-10:00pm
Special holiday hours varies


Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: (760) 325-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (162)
Special Occasion (127)
Good for a Date (112)
See All
Romantic (107)
Neighborhood Gem (100)
Good for Anniversaries (91)
Great for Lunch (85)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Great for Brunch (76)
Quiet Conversation (69)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Worth the Drive (56)
Business Meals (55)
Cozy (50)
Notable Wine List (50)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Casual (45)
Scenic View (43)
People Watching (42)
Fun (36)
Historic (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Live Music (29)
Comfort Food (29)
Gluten Free Options (29)
Authentic (28)
Modern Decor (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Healthy (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Fireplace (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Outstanding Value (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Disabled Access (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Seasonal (12)
Afternoon Tea (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Family Style (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Private Room (4)
Vegan (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3079 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Spencer's is always superb and special! Food is excellent in a beautiful setting and service is extraordinary! Can't wait to return!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

It was my husbands birthday, they made us feel very special, atmosphere was great, selection very good, I had steak and my husband had rack of lamb both excellent , our waitress was wonderful (Betty).

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a delicious lunch on the beautiful outdoor patio! Probably our favorite spot in Palm Springs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place. Have never had a bad experience eating there. Wonderful wait staff and very efficient.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely lunch venue with excellent service to boot!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Although this restaurant is lovely the food is mediocre. Menu is tired and could use a bit of creative updating. It is understandable that Spencer's would give some preference to "regulars" however the disparity in treatment with others is truly significant and uncomfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the most romantic restaurants with exceptional cuisine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Spencer's is one of The Places to go in Palm Springs. It consistently provides outstanding service, good food and a beautiful setting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Spencer's is one of the best places to eat...breakfast, lunch or dinner. Service is impeccable. Great value for the quality of food, linen table clothes and ambience with dining on the patio under huge ficus trees. I must!!! Ted

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

One cannot beat the location or ambiance. Nestled alongside the foot of the mountain, with the most beautiful setting, our experience was, once again, superb! From the warm greeting at both the valet and the hostess desk to the outstanding service and delicious food, our luncheon with a couple of first-timers was perfect. Stop by, have a cocktail, lunch or dinner. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Utterly spectacular! Such a divine find and the staff is wonderful including our amazing server Simon. Absolutely loved everything on the menu and the crab cakes are incredible. Also great classic cocktails as well. If I lived in Palm Springs I would go to this restaurant at least once a week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Our favorite in the desert

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Best breakfast monday - saturday in town! (Not Sunday)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Simon was a superb waiter who could answer any question including who starred in a particular Broadway show.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food, great service. My wife was happy with GF options. We both enjoyed our anniversary dinner. Will be a place to go when we are in Palm Springs.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Spencers is our favorite restaurant in Palm Springs and the entire Coachella Valley. Wonderful food at fair prices.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place for breakfast with friends. Great food and service, and an outside table is pure luxury.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved the ahi tuna, wedge salad, and white fish. Banana cream pie by far the best dessert of the three we tried. B st part is sitting outside under the tree. Love coming here.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I Always love the Cobb Salad with Roquefort, but with an added side of crispy bacon! YUM! Huge portions, guilt free. The Asian salad was great as well. Nice wines like Monkey Bay. Super sandwiches, including very indulgent Grilled Cheese sandwiches. Danger! Danger! Melty and rich. Great Iced Tea, and excellent sorbets. Lunch is never disappointing at Spencer's! Great people watching and exceptional wait staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We dined April 13.
Our lunch was fabulous. I had the grilled salmon that was cooked to perfection. It was so beautifully presented that I took a picture to show my foodie friends. My husband enjoyed his pepper sauce rib eye steak. We both had the mushroom soup appetizer and the banana cream tart for dessert. We wished we had shared the latter but we enjoyed the presentation as well as the taste of every bite.
One of the finest lunches we have enjoyed at Spencer's. I should also mention that our service was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I decided to return to Spencer's as my first meal there was great and it was still highly rated. I am glad we returned as it did not disappoint. We did ask to be re-seated to be moved away from the wait staff glass ware area (really loud and in high traffic area) which was accommodated really quick with no issues. I could easily find a few items I would like to eat off of the PF menu. Everything we ate was delicious, not super creative but really satisfying and huge portions! The banana cream tart you can do without.
I thought the staff was attentive and accommodating to people around us. This restaurant had people who were dressed up, in jeans, with kids and everyone seemed welcomed and comfortable. I would return if I wanted a fuss free and relaxed meal which I knew would be tasty and filling!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 3rd marriage anniversary (we are gay couple). In fact, we just dined there yesterday(3/10/2017) with some friends. As always, it was excellent and they have been very consistent. We had wonderful professional hostess/waitress Michelle. She's always been our favorite. Everything were superlative-reservation, how we were greeted, our table location, service, food, ambiance, staff cheerfulness, and so on. It was great celebrating there our 3rd marriage anniversary

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Sit outside and have a lobster club for lunch. Life does not get better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food and service was excellent

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Consistently excellent! Service is excellent. We love our regular professional server waitress, Michelle. A must place to dine!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The fuss is delicious

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

It was our first night on a recent getaway to Palm Springs and based on yelp reviews I chose Spencer's to get the ball rolling. The ambience was lovely on the outside patio. The service was attentive and professional. The wine list was extensive and we were very pleased with our selection. Unfortunately, the menu could use a little updating, and we didn't feel that the creativity of the food matched the exquisite wine offerings. Apparently, they are known for their wine selection, which is one of the reasons I wanted to go there. The food was good, but a bit disappointing, as when you are enjoying a really fabulous bottle of wine on a special occasion, you want and should expect the food to be equally as enchanting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Went there for my birthday and the service was great! Definitely worth it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This is a fabulous restaurant that we visit every time we are in Palm Springs. Outdoor patio is shaded with huge Ficus trees adorned with lights. Food is fantastic and one of the few places I can get authentic Dover sole. Wait staff is unobtrusive and yet readily available. A real treat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Awful, 630 Reservation and not seated for 45 minutes thereafter with no acknowledgement by the hostess staff regarding how terrible this level of service was. Then not even a complimentary drink or dessert. I will NEVER go back here, nor would I recommend it to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This place was lovely and the food was quite delicious. Just understand you might have to wait a bit longer on the weekends even though you have a reservation because they don't believe in a rushed dining experience . So with that being said, book for an earlier reservation or plan on visiting the bar until your table is ready. This place is definitely worth the wait!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have enjoyed dinning all over the world but say with no reservations that Spencer's is one of the finest restaurants we have experienced. Everything was top flight!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The very best place in P.S. Server Michelle is the greatest. Food is high quality and everything is fresh and perfectly prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Spencer's never disappoints! My husband and I come here every time we come to Palm Springs. You cannot beat the romantic outside patio. Food, wine and service are always excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food and very gluten free friendly. House wine is excellent. The desserts also very gluten free friendly. We will be back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Caesar salad was Hughes pieces of lettuce with no dressing . Veal chop was raw. Ordered medium rare. Horrible loud DJ dance music from a party destroyed the ambiance. I don't want booming michael Jackson music with dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always awesome! Spencer's is consistently at the top of the Palm Springs restaurant scene. Excellent food, outstanding service, and the best outdoor dining venue anywhere. Spencer's always rates an A+!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I missed seeing in the menu that the Lobster Sandwich had bacon in it. I would have had them leave it out. Very disappointed that the lobster was sliced lobster claw meat. Would have much more preferred the flavor and texture of some lobster tail meat. Even a McLobster sandwich in Maine's McDonalds is better, as is Lulu's lobster rolls served on three buns. Really could not pick up the lobster flavor from Spencer's Lobster claws.

The other three in our group enjoyed their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We never visit Palm Springs without lunch at Spencer's. No place in town is a lovelier expression of desert resort living.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 29, 2017

So good. Our realtor took us here to celebrate our sale. Fried oysters w micro greens and a tasty tartar, chopped salad w grilled shrimp.
Lemony and fresh. The staff is all over you.
Perfect day, great lunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.