Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Spencer's Restaurant

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast : 8:00am-11am Monday through Saturday
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm Monday through Saturday
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner Daily : 5:00pm-10:00pm
Special holiday hours varies


Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (146)
Special Occasion (118)
Good for Anniversaries (113)
See All
Good for a Date (112)
Romantic (99)
Good for Birthdays (99)
Neighborhood Gem (82)
Great for Brunch (76)
Great for Lunch (71)
Quiet Conversation (67)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Casual (61)
Sunday Lunch (61)
Business Meals (56)
Worth the Drive (51)
Cozy (50)
Fun (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for Groups (40)
Scenic View (36)
Live Music (35)
People Watching (32)
Comfort Food (30)
Hot Spot (30)
Authentic (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Disabled Access (24)
Healthy (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Bar Seating (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Happy Hour (10)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
3438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Been here many times. Old-school menu and vibe, great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

As visitors to the Palm Springs area, we are always looking for good places for evening dining, and this restaurant certainly qualifies. The menu is extensive and varied. The 3 course specials were great value and the selection was good. Service and ambience were great. One of our group was disappointed in his entree (the chicken was tough) and the hostess responded by adjusting the bill with no problem - classy. Highly recommended for anyone who is looking for a restaurant which is above average. Go early to get a table on the patio, it's neat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Best quality and value in Palm Springs. I've been coming here for 15 years and it is always consistent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Wouldn't hesitate to return. Lovely setting and service. Husband loved vegetarian portobello entree. Salmon was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Spencer’s always delivers exceptional food and service. A comfortable and cozy place to dine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a lovely Sunday brunch at Spencer's. We opted for the prix fixe, and were surprised that the waiter brought our desserts without talking with us about them. C is gluten-free, so she couldn't eat the apple strudel; I am allergic to walnuts, so couldn't eat mine. I was surprised that didn't tell us what the desserts were so we could decline them rather than wasting the food we couldn't eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

It was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Its always a pleasure to have Saturday lunch at Spencers, have been doing it for years and will continue to. Michelle is one of the kindest servers I have ever known. We ALWAYS sit in her section.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

We had breakfast here - great food, lovely ambiance, lots of selections.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our favorite Palm Springs restaurant. The outside dining area is magical, food is consistently excellent, service is efficient and never rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

One of the best restaurants I’ve ever eaten at! The ambiance, the service, the choices, & the quality of the meal, was A#1😜

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 10, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. We have sat inside and outside on the beautiful patio. Food is always delicious and great service. We will continue to come here for years.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Fabulous service, excellent food. The portions are large, so we split the main entrée. Great wine list. My favorite Palm Springs restaurant for gracious dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Loved this restaurant. Great covered courtyard. A great busy atmosphere and amazing food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Delightful indoor/outdoor setting. We went for the steak and lobster, and it was perfect - 8 oz. of each, perfectly cooked. Michelle was our delightful server. We did not find it $$$$, even for the steak and lobster. But we brought our own wine - corkage $25.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 6, 2017

The exceptional service started from the moment that we walked in the front entrance & were greeted bythe front end staff, thru the piano entertainment(and special requested songs), and continued all the way thru our dessert service, and Our final goodbyes!
Thank You Spencer’s Team for a truly memorable dining & entertainment experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Everything was absolutely wonderful. The waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the food and wine menu and made us feel comfortable as first time visitors. We had a lovely dim private corner to ourselves, which proved very romantic. The food and wine was delicious with portion sizes on par with the price. The only thing I found bothersome was the waiters constantly checking on us. It made us feel slightly rushed, but they may have been checking just to make sure they brought our prix fixe three course meal in a timely manner. Otherwise they were excellent and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food and service were very good. Restaurant is a good special occasion place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2017

They know how to do it right! Our third night's dinner in Palm Springs was at Spencer's. Finally, we found a place that gets it right! Cozy, intimate outdoor setting at a quiet table with extremely friendly and efficient service. From beginning to end, the courses were moderately priced, well prepared, of innovative fare. We decided on the three-course prix fixe dinner just because it had such nice choices. Started with the General Tso's Calamari, which is light, tangy and portioned as a full entree`. We also agreed on both having the braised beef short ribs which were very tender and thick London Broil pinwheel style accompanied by mash potatoes, asparagus, baby carrots, and rich mushroom gravy. WOW! Again, way more than an average human being can consume in a sitting. Final course had to be carrot cake with creme cheese frosting. Again, WOW, oh, WOW. Both having sweet tooth's, this was accompanied by an exceedingly nice Moscato de Asti that was so good we had them research the label for us, for which they graciously complied. This is a wonderful place that won't break your budget, but is quiet and elegant. Food is simple and well prepared. Too often at other restaurants we had encountered entree`s that had been over-thought. Not here. They keep it simple and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We both thought the food was a bit "off" from past visits. Nothing terrible but just not as good as we remember. Caesar salad wasn't completely tossed, leaving a lot of bare leaves, and the onion soup was light on cheese, although the broth was good. Service was good when it was there, but often not available. The setting is perfect, as ever, and we hope they just had a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2017

This was our first visit. Now we can't wait to come back. Great service and ambiance. Server Mike was awesome. Portions are very big so don't fill up too much on appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We had never been to Spencer's.....what great place. Very nice menu, a reasonable, prix fixe menu and nice service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Haven’t been here in years & it’s not the Tennis Club adjacent restaurant I remember. Decor, food & service were outstanding! Live music in the bar kept us humming all night. The vintage Bentley parked at the entrance was a nice farewell treat. We look forward to returning!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, People Watching, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 31, 2017

One of our favorite venues in our beautiful valley...always good food and great service! We have been here many times and always totally enjoyed ourselves.
Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner is always a wonderful experience...
On this occasion we enjoyed a bottle of Prosecco, Lite-Lunch with their fabulous French Onion Soup and my favorite...Eggs Benedict with exceptionally good Hollandaise sauce.
What are YOU waiting for??

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 31, 2017

On vacation in Palm Springs and tried at recommendation of Open Table reviews. What a gem. Lovely atmosphere, great service , excellent wine list, fabulous food. Make sure that Spencer’s is on your list if in Palm Springs!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Food has been better. One persons appetizer was cold and it was suppose to be hot. Calamari.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 30, 2017

It is always a treat to go to Spencer's for lunch or dinner. I take the whole
family there for a holiday celebration. I love it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The four of us enjoyed a lovely birthday celebration on Saturday night! Everything was perfect!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2017

One of our top favorites when visiting Palm Springs

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The outside patio is very nice. Took some friends out for a nice dinner. All the staff was fantastic and the night was very enjoyable. I do wish there was at least two Vegetarian options to choose from. But the over all ambience of the place makes up for the fact that every time I come here I have Portabella mushroom of some sort.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2017

My favorite place in Palm Springs. The remarkable ambiance, that setting under the trees is matched by the superb food and the polished service. Elegant setting but never pretentious and let’s hear it for the valets. They’re having fun with their job The place is stylish. And you can wear shorts, guys!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Have dined there quite often. This time however, it wasn't all that exiting. My Asian salad had no Asian flair to it at all other than the cabbage. No hint of anything Asian in the dressing, quite bland and the chicken was hard to find. The bread was hot but no crispy crust ( I am a bread fanatic).
All in all it is just a great setting for lunch on the patio.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 27, 2017

A lobster club, fruit salad and a glass of wine makes for a perfect lunch on the patio at Spencer’s. Life does not get better!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 27, 2017

The food was like pre-cooked, nothing was made fresh. The desert was like one week old.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Our table was outside by the kitchen and we can smale the trash. Would recommend to select a table that is far from kitchen.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Excellent meal, perfect service, lovely ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Great service however corned beef sandwich terrible, meat dried out and tough. Husbands meal good. Should have sent sandwich back😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2017

One of our favorite eateries. Consistent, great ambiance and reasonable prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Happy Diners
The Service was great. The food was wonderful.
The atmosphere is terrific. Simply ~ it works!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 24, 2017

As always: THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.