About Spencer's Restaurant

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00am-11am
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: 7603252313x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rack of Lamb - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Bread Pudding - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Vicchycois - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Ahi Nicoise - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Mussels - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
El Jeffe - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Bone-In Ribeye - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Salad Nicoise - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Seafood Pasta - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Trio Sorbet - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Caprese Salad - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Shrimp Cocktail - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Ahi Tartare - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Créme Brulé - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Morrocan Chicken - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Smoked salmon - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Lobster Potstickers - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
mushrooms - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Chocolate Pot De Crème & Cookies - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Naked Tuna Roll - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Peach Cobbler - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Ribeye - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Triple Decker Club - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Cappuccino - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Banana Split - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Bone In Filet Mignon - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Australian Rock Lobster Tail & Filet Mignon - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Dirty Vodka Martini - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Braised Beef "Wellington" Sandwiches.  - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Live Main Lobster And Filet Mignon - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Filet Mignon - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
French Onion Soup - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Prime Rib Eye 20oz - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Brsised Short Ribs - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Spencer's Appetizer Sampler - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Ketel One Martini - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Lobster and Shrimp Ravioli - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Banana Creampie - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Huevos rancheros - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA
Roasted Tomato Gaspaco & Endive Salad - Spencer's Restaurant, Palm Springs, CA

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
7 More
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Special Occasion (138)
Great for Outdoor Dining (138)
Romantic (102)
See All
Great for Lunch (102)
Good for a Date (96)
Good for Birthdays (90)
Neighborhood Gem (89)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Great for Brunch (73)
Quiet Conversation (69)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Sunday Lunch (51)
Notable Wine List (50)
Worth the Drive (47)
Cozy (46)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Casual (38)
Business Meals (38)
Scenic View (37)
Good for Groups (35)
Live Music (30)
Comfort Food (30)
Outstanding Value (29)
Historic (29)
People Watching (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Fun (21)
Authentic (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Healthy (16)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Disabled Access (12)
Family Style (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (9)
Fireplace (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I'm not a fan. Food was average. Tables ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

I'm not a fan. Food was average. Tables and setting were cramped and spaced in odd hallway walkway type situations. Our server was great and he tried to keep things pleasant. But food temps felt off. Taste reminded me of very average steak house. And I ordered a prime 12oz New York steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

There is no better place for lunch in Pa ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

There is no better place for lunch in Palm Springs than Spencer's outside garden. Try the crabcake and filet Benedict- perfection!!! Great service and food- highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect, the waiters were ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was perfect, the waiters were great and very polite, helpful. The hostess was most helpful since we got their 45 minutes early and she stated I will seat you instead of waiting in the lounge very nice. Lobster and steak quite good, we shared coconut shrimp, crab cakes, both were excellent. As it was a 43 yr anniversary we made a perfect choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I attended this restaurant for lunch dur ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

I attended this restaurant for lunch during a business conference. The steak and beet salad was absolutely delicious. Everything was cooked perfectly and it was very delicious & satisfying.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal. Ordered lunch prix fix, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious meal. Ordered lunch prix fix, which was delicious. The chicken was flavourful and tender, and service was pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great place to eat. We were ther ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall great place to eat. We were there several times and the consistent good food was impressive. Our waitress was fabulous ....she remembered our drinks when we came back the second time. The atmosphere was festive for the holidays upcoming.

This is a must visit when in Palm Springs .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Started with prompt Valet Parking and w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Started with prompt Valet Parking and was uphill from there. Sat in the courtyard under the warmth of a heater. The Martini's were perfect and the food exceptional. The portions were substantive and I thought quite reasonably priced. The service was attentive and friendly. I would highly recommend Spencer's when you are in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food, service and ambiance.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a wonderful and delicious din ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful and delicious dinner as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making our anniversary eve ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Thank you for making our anniversary even more special.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Spencer's!!! We are regular patron ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Love Spencer's!!! We are regular patrons. Open table did a great job with our reservations!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencer's is always a treat. I love goin ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Spencer's is always a treat. I love going for breakfast or lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is so good and it is just so c ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food is so good and it is just so comfortable and located in such a comfortable spot.

It is flawless

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended but somewhat disappoi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Highly recommended but somewhat disappointing. Food was good and nicely prepared, but we expected better - more taste, more gourmet. Large attractive dining room and patio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent restaurant, mountain base loca ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent restaurant, mountain base location, walking distance from downtown Palm Springs, outdoor setting if preferred with patio heaters, superb food and service, what more can I say.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service, not so good dri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Good food, good service, not so good drinks. Somewhat expensive, but we feel that for a nice night out Spencer's is well worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Again another fabulous dinning experienc ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Again another fabulous dinning experience at Spencer's! Justin the waiter was the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencers has great ambience. That's its ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Spencers has great ambience. That's its strength. It's tucked away in a residential neighborhood, and has a beautiful patio, dim lighting, and piano music playing in the background. They bring a pretty yummy basket of bread and cheese crisps to start. The French Onion soup is great, as is the wedge salad. The banana cream pie is really good, too. Where they fall short is on the entrees. The best thing I've had there is the New York Strip Steak. Perfectly cooked and well-seasoned. The absolute worst thing I've had was the short ribs. In fact, the short ribs were one of the worst meals I've had anywhere in a long time. It's a bizarre texture, and it's served rolled into a strange round coil. I should have sent it back, but for whatever reason, our waiter was nowhere to be found during dinner, and then someone took away my plate before he ever returned, so he didn't see that I ate about two bites of the meat. The Moroccan chicken was pretty good. As far as Palm Springs dining goes (which I think is pretty bad overall) this place is probably better than most, but definitely avoid the short ribs.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

We were there for my husband's 50th birt ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We were there for my husband's 50th birthday and had a great time!

Our server Eduardo treated us like royalty. Overall the experience was just perfect for what we were looking for!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't go wrong. Well priced, consis ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 27, 2016

You can't go wrong. Well priced, consistent, friendly with great views. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spencer's is a never fail place to eat f ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Spencer's is a never fail place to eat for breakfast lunch or dinner. Breakfast is a delight. Its reasonably priced and there is nowhere that equals the atmosphere

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the place was lovely, outdoor area was v ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

the place was lovely, outdoor area was very nice we had nice table in the courtyard. It started to rain , we sat for a few minutes and it started to rain harder we asked to be moved into the main dining room, hostess was annoyed , said we should stay and it would stop, we had to ask again, hostess was not happy, then moved us to a dark corner of the dining room as punishment. Then service was not great as they could not decide who would be our server.

Food was good but overall service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Spencer's came highly recommended to us. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Spencer's came highly recommended to us. We had been told how lovely the outdoor dining was, but unfortunately, there was wind and rain when we arrived, so outdoor dining was closed. We were seated inside in an area overlooking the patio and it was very comfortable.

Good attentions to detail on the food - I had the duck, C had the Filet mignon. Everything was cooked to perfection. They also have an extensive wine list. We will be back our next trip to Palm Springs.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Spencers was a restaurant we wanted to c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Spencers was a restaurant we wanted to check out in Palm Springs, as we were staying at the PS Tennis club. Excellent food, service and entertainment. Surf n Turf, Morracan Chicken and Truffle fries were absolutely Amazing!! Thank You!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a treat dining here. Service outs ...

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always a treat dining here. Service outstanding. Romantic and delightful outdoor dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite place for Breakfast and Lun ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our favorite place for Breakfast and Lunch. We eat here regularly.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time. Food was superb, s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a lovely time. Food was superb, service was excellent !!

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dress was too casual, service, food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The dress was too casual, service, food portions and patio way to noisy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My husband and I come to Spencers for ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My husband and I come to Spencers for our annual trip to Palm Springs to celebrate his birthday. This is our very special treat -- the Service, Food and Music is always superb. Huge thanks to GM Therese, and server Simon for making us feel like family!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ability to relax, dine and not be ru ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The ability to relax, dine and not be rushed out so they could seat someone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love EVERYTHING about SPENCER's. And, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I love EVERYTHING about SPENCER's. And, Simon is fab !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is exceptional every time we ta ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food is exceptional every time we take out of town guests for dinner. Our servers have been most attentive. Special thank you to Simon, again. He's been a delight throughout the years. The wines offered have never been a letdown. Our friends and family members have always been pleasantly surprised by Spencers!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high expectations for Spencer's bu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had high expectations for Spencer's but our food was so so and pretty pricey. Our server seemed in a hurry and never told us the specials. I would not go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Early Saturday lunch. Staff friendly an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Early Saturday lunch. Staff friendly and timely in taking the order and checking if we needed something. Fish special - trout was excellent... a big portion for lunch. Would order again. Spaghetti Carbonara and Chicken Sandwich were also quite good. Always a fun place to sit outside and enjoying a meal with friends. Will certainly be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

No place better for weekday breakfast an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 19, 2016

No place better for weekday breakfast and lunch! My Canadian friends loved it! Thank you for going the extra mile always!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and atmosphere!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Loved the food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Spencers (and Tropicale) have been our g ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Spencers (and Tropicale) have been our go-to restaurants in Palm Springs .... either for a casual dinner for the two of us, entertaining guests from out of town, or special occasions. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as usual. One of Palm Springs d ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Perfect as usual. One of Palm Springs dependable for great casual dining in a great setting

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I've had much better waiters at SPENCERS ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I've had much better waiters at SPENCERS ours was distracted and hardly made eye contact.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent setting but the tables are a b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent setting but the tables are a bit close together so privacy is limited. Food was very good but not outstanding. Service was also very good but not outstanding. Enjoyed the piano music in the background.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.