About Spencer's Restaurant

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00am-11am
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: 7603252313x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
11 More
Great for Lunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Great for Lunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (311)
special occasion (248)
romantic (208)
See All
great for lunch (208)
fit for foodies (192)
great for brunch (182)
neighborhood gem (167)
good for groups (84)
notable wine list (73)
scenic view (66)
hot spot (60)
late-night find (14)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
2288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful brunch at Spencer's a ...

Dined 3 days ago

We had a wonderful brunch at Spencer's at the Mountain. We sat under the beautiful trees gazing up at the mountain. Great service and fabulous food. I recommend the lobster omelette or any of the eggs Benedict topped off with a mimosa.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch

vip
Dined 3 days ago

I've lived here for years and loved Spencer's as a go to spot for dinner for a long time. Not really a breakfast/brunch kind of person. But, we met friends out for brunch and what a lovely experience. Fantastic leisurely service (rare for breakfast meals) and an amazing menu to choose from. Will rethink going out to breakfast/brunch if this is what a nice breakfast/brunch can be!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food in a relaxing atmosphere.

Dined 4 days ago

Great food in a relaxing atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencer's is a gem. Great service, vibra ...

Dined 6 days ago

Spencer's is a gem. Great service, vibrant food and wonderful setting. Palm Springs at its best, a nod to its wonderful past, but very current.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely lunch....

vip
Dined 7 days ago

I was recently in Palm Springs on business and searched for best lunch spots. Spencers certainly lived up to it. I had a beautiful Chilean Sea Bass over mashed potatoes and spinach. First started with leek/potato soup with smoked salmon. It was awesome. Enjoyed it with a lovely glass of wine and it was a wonderful lunch! If I had more time, I would have returned. Service was lovely and sat outside to enjoy the beautiful day and people watching. Would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2

Food was good but with some telling flaw ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was good but with some telling flaws - blue cheese dressing on wedge salad was watered down, Caesar dressing copped out by putting two anchovies on top instead of in the dressing, fish was perfect but late to the meal. Piano music was outstanding, ambience is wonderful. Service last night was slooow.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always a wonderful experience. The s ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

As always a wonderful experience. The staff is truly outstanding! Terrific attentive service. Not intrusive. Great food! My all time favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service!

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is a place to have great food and service for a reasonable price considering the quality of the food. Locals and tourists love it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were offered inside or outside dinnin ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were offered inside or outside dinning and given it was a beautiful night, we chose outside. To my surprise, there was a celebratory greeting inside my menu. The staff was very pleasant and the dish I selected was delicious. We were there for our anniversary and at the end of our meal, they brought out a delicious decorated bowl of ice cream with a candle in it. The evening could not have gone better. We will definitely return. They have an inviting Appitizer menu which is an incentive to visit to have drinks and appitizers.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated a friends birthday at a lovel ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Celebrated a friends birthday at a lovely lunch. Our server was so fun and so nice, we very much appreciated his allowing us to take our time chatting. I had a turkey burger, a couple of ladies had the hamburger and one had a Reuben. All very good! I was good and had fruit instead of the fries I wanted but I snuck a few from the birthday girl. Yum! Everything was fantastic and they even brought out a little dessert treat for the birthday. Excellent experience!

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The server was generally abrupt and unfr ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The server was generally abrupt and unfriendly, and was sure quick to give the bill and collect the money. And she never returned with the change just assuming the balance was her tip.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place always my first choice ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I love this place always my first choice!!the food is gre

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent restaurant

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had excellent service and the food was excellent. I had the filet mignon and I thought it was better than Fleming's. My husband has the prix fix menu for $38 that included a large bowl of soup, the entree and dessert. Their carrot cake was one of the best I have ever had. I said it was a birthday celebration on open dine when I made the reservation and they had a large "Happy Birthday" greeting in my Dad's menu. They also gave him a free dessert. The service was excellent and the price overall was not bad. It was $200 for 4 people with 1 alcoholic drink.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Will definately return

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was my first time and this restaurant and my experience was very positive. I'm not someone who like Valet parking and the street parking was limited so we had to park a bit further away than I would have liked. Upon entering the restaurant I was definitely hit with the wow factor. Sitting out side was really quite nice. However they were very busy and it was hard to hear our guests in conversation even though they were just across the table. I will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencer's is our favorite Palm Springs r ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Spencer's is our favorite Palm Springs restaurant. We look forward to many more visits. Thank you for being our neighbor.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just excellent. Food was great. Service ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Just excellent. Food was great. Service was exceptional. Atmosphere is wonderful. All in all great evening

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Have dined here many times for breakfast ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Have dined here many times for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and we have never been disappointed. First, the food quality is high. If you watch their daily deliveries, almost everything from the produce to seafood comes fresh from local purveyors. Secondly, the ambiance is pure Palm Springs...dressy or casual. You're not out of place. (Note-people who still enjoy dressing up in the evening will look a lot classier than you if you show up for dinner in jeans and a T shirt!). Third, the service is usually spot on and not rushed. After dessert, walk over to the ajoining Palm Springs Tennis Club, go in the lobby, and have fun gazing at the large pictures of the old Hollywood crowd who frequented the historic place. It's a great meal out in the best of the real Palm Springs.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an anniversary dinner for us an ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner for us and the restaurant and our server did make note of that and provided us with special happy anniversary greetings and a very yummy complimentary dessert in recognition of that. The service was great and the food quality and quantity exceeded our expectations. Will definitely return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No doubt the best restaurant in Palm Springs.

Dined on May 10, 2016

We visit from Oklahoma each year and this is our absolute most favorite restaurant in town. We try to come to Spencer's at least 5-6 times during the month we're here....and quite frankly I would eat here every night if I could convince my wife!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and atmosphere.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Outstanding meal and atmosphere.

food4
ambience5
service4

Always a nice meal

Dined on May 9, 2016

Always a nice meal

food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dinner. Great food and service ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Great food and service,

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Big Hit!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Mother's Day - well...one day short to beat the crowds. Lunch at 2:00 was perfect - almost everyone left and we felt as if all of you were there just to take care of US! And what a great job you did. It really was one of those "special" moments I will remember - everything was perfection. We were seated immediately, in the patio as requested. Outstanding, but unobtrusive server, excellent price point, and beautifully presented food that was to die for. Enjoyed it the second day. The weather could not have been more perfect. We decided if there had been Hawaiin music playing, we would have sworn we were in Hawaii. You really know how to do it just right. It truly was a memorable moment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Monday thru Saturday one of the best bre ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Monday thru Saturday one of the best breakfast places in the valley.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special experience

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a wonderful, classic restaurant. The servers are very professional. The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. Everything is really delicious. The portions are huge and most patrons seem to take home a "doggy bag" with them as they leave. High quality, fresh ingredients in a wonderful environment. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a special place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Just pass go, don't collect $200 hurry t Spencers.

Dined on May 7, 2016

What a lovely evening. Everything about Spencer's is fabulous. It truly is an excellent indoor/outdoor setting. Food was superb, lots of nice wines to choose from, attentive and yet not overbearing server. A great place to celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary. We won't wait for a special occasion to return we'll be back many times.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond Five Stars!!!

Dined on May 6, 2016

We loved every minute of our dining experience at Spencer's. The cuisine, staff, atmosphere and style far exceeds a Five Star restaurant. We give Spencer's Six Stars.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

We each (3) ordered different salads, ea ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We each (3) ordered different salads, each salad used warm, very soggy tired lettice. One sent back, the replacement just as poor, no change.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business dinner at Spencers

Dined on May 5, 2016

The braised short ribs were to die for. Everyone's food was great and atmosphere very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Spencer's was lovely, we had a great eve ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Spencer's was lovely, we had a great evening. The service was lively, welcoming and attentive! The food was excellent and the portions sensible. The ambiance was delightful and we felt relaxed and at ease sharing a special occassion with dear friends! This is our go to for fun and festive oxccasions until we move closer and can do weekly brunch! They are amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

brunch at Spencer's

Dined on May 3, 2016

Spencer's is great for brunch. The atmosphere is wonderfully tropical.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat to dine at Spencer's. Ev ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Always a treat to dine at Spencer's. Everything food, service, ambience is always on point. I look forward to each dining experience here.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere. Staff was great. It ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great atmosphere. Staff was great. It was our anniversary and they went out of their way to make it memorable. Prix Fix menu was great.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Just "OK"

Dined on May 2, 2016

Scallop and Calimari appetizers decent but the main course of Short Ribs and Shrimp Rissotto were bland and boring. Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered 2 business specials Of sea ba ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We ordered 2 business specials Of sea bass, 1 Reuben and 1 club house. All were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant A Must to Visit

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent service, food, presentation and ambiance. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A Palm Springs staple. Love this place.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

A Palm Springs staple. Love this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Spencer's is one of the all-time best restaurants. The environment is lovely. The people are helpful, knowledgeable, professional and welcoming. The food is superb. Spencer's is an institution of fine dining and enjoyment in Palm Springs. We have had small dinners and large events over the years at Spencer's and each has been fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a top notch restaurant with high ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

This is a top notch restaurant with high quality cuisine. We love this restaurant and go every time we are in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy Spencers

Dined on April 24, 2016

I had out of town guests and they had not been to Spencers in awhile. Their visit was built around a tour of the wonderful Annenberg Estate, Sunnylands. They also wanted a place to meet up with another of their long time friends. The patio at Spencer's was the perfect setting to end our bucolic weekend. It is a lovely setting and the service was excellent. There was an issue with our drink order and I was reluctant to bring it to the attention of the server. One of my guest's insisted and it was handle beautifully and without any discussion. Just the way it should be in every establishment and rarely is anymore. We loved the setting the food and the service. A treat start to finish.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.