About Spencer's Restaurant

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00am-11am
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: 7603252313x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rack of Lamb
Bread Pudding
Vicchycois
Ahi Nicoise
Mussels
El Jeffe
Bone-In Ribeye
Naked Tuna Roll
Peach Cobbler
Ribeye
Chocolate Pot De Crème & Cookies
Dirty Vodka Martini
Australian Rock Lobster Tail & Filet Mignon
Salad Nicoise
Caprese Salad
Seafood Pasta
Trio Sorbet
Ahi Tartare
Shrimp Cocktail
Smoked salmon
Lobster Potstickers
mushrooms
Créme Brulé
Morrocan Chicken
Triple Decker Club
Cappuccino
Banana Split
Bone In Filet Mignon
Braised Beef "Wellington" Sandwiches.
Live Main Lobster And Filet Mignon
Filet Mignon
French Onion Soup
Brsised Short Ribs
Prime Rib Eye 20oz
Spencer's Appetizer Sampler
Ketel One Martini
Lobster and Shrimp Ravioli
Banana Creampie
Huevos rancheros
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese
Roasted Tomato Gaspaco & Endive Salad

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
11 More
Great for Lunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Great for Lunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (240)
special occasion (215)
romantic (168)
See All
great for lunch (158)
neighborhood gem (151)
fit for foodies (151)
great for brunch (146)
good for groups (80)
notable wine list (69)
scenic view (61)
hot spot (41)
late-night find (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
kid-friendly (10)
Sort By:
Newest
2380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. It is wonderful and always an enjoyable evening.

Superb.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been a reliable, consist ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

This has always been a reliable, consistent restaurant establishment. The food, service and ambiance is phenomenal. All of our meals were sensational from the Rack of Lamb to the Rib Eye Steak. You must try you will not be disappointed. The breakfast and brunch is just as special as the dinner meals.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch experience, as usual. W ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful brunch experience, as usual. We can on count them, 9 times out of 10. They changed our request from patio to indoors, no problem. All orders brought at same time. Everyone enjoyed their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Both of our dinners were excellent and t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Both of our dinners were excellent and the service impeccable. The ambiance is very special. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS GREAT! Always perfect - setting, ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 7 days ago

ALWAYS GREAT! Always perfect - setting, staff and food. Make sure you try the banana split; it will blow your mind.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, beautiful location and fa ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service, beautiful location and fantastic food. What more could one want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flies in the restaurant Windows buzzing ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Flies in the restaurant Windows buzzing around the food entire meal. When asked to be moved was told that the flies are in the restaurant, it was that time of year. Food was nothing special would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

We came out to Palm Springs to take clie ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We came out to Palm Springs to take clients out for dinner. Spencer's was their choice since they had been there previously and really liked it. After our experience, I can see why.

We had a quiet location out on their air conditioned patio which was perfect for relaxing conversation. Our server Simon and the support staff were very professional, attentive yet not intrusive. Simon gave us some great dinner and wine suggestions, making our dining experience one that makes us wanting to dine there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant right next to the m ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful restaurant right next to the mountain. The food and ambience...great!

A must for anyone coming to Palm Springs...and, it's pet friendly

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Just another outstanding dining experien ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Just another outstanding dining experience, accompanied by the superb service provided by Michelle.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The business express lunch for $20 is a ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The business express lunch for $20 is a steal; great good, gray summer cocktail specials and attentive service. A wonderful dining experience always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You guys rock! Love the place and love ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

You guys rock! Love the place and love the food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and exceptional service. Ha ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Awesome food and exceptional service. Having a pianist added to the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Meh...to just bad. We had the price fix ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Meh...to just bad.

We had the price fixed 3 course special dinner. $39 seemed like a good deal, until:

Course 1: Caesar Salad. VERY small (like 3 leaves of romaine, with a sliver of tired anchovy and a giant crouton.

Course 2: Crispy White Fish. Again, small portion. This felt like a bad wedding reception dinner. Too much butter. It was just emollient. yuk.

Course 3: Carrot cake. Just bad. It was grainy (almost mealy), with lots of sugary granules in the icing. I had one bite.

When the bus person took the desert plates from my partner and I (we both did not eat them) he asked if we would like to-go boxes, and we said 'just toss it'. And, that was that. No other mention followed.

I've been to Spencer's several times, and am done suffering their mediocre quality. I will not return and suggest you spare yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I eat at Spencer's every year when we vi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I eat at Spencer's every year when we visit Palm Springs. we always loved it for brunch. But this time the food was very mediocre. It was lukewarm and tasteless. My companion also thought it to be below average. Very disappointing.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food and ambience!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing food and ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mike was fantastic!!!! He helped make m ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Mike was fantastic!!!! He helped make my wife's Birthday

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We often go Palm Springs and am glad to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We often go Palm Springs and am glad to find a restaurant away from the strip. Food was good, so is the service.

The only setback was there were too many flies when dining outdoor during summer.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Andres is a true professional ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our server Andres is a true professional and would be worth another visit alone. He was very personable, knowledgeable, and went above and beyond to make our special occasion fabulous. The food was awesome as always. The ambience and overall atmosphere is relaxing and inviting with the pianist, natural elements and perfect lighting. It is a one-of-a-kind experience in Palm Springs and definitely a must if you are celebrating a special occasion or just want to feel special for an evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only decent things were our cocktail ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The only decent things were our cocktails. We shred a hot appetiser, the shrimp was good, the calamari like rubber and the lobster potstickers tasteless. We followed this with two very Ho Hum sandwiches

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Food, Service and was outstanding! We w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food, Service and was outstanding!

We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to have lunch at Spencer's. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We decided to have lunch at Spencer's. We had an outstanding meal with awesome service. I tell everyone Spencer's has the best service in all of Palm Springs. Always professional and attentive. I really like their lunch menu - lots of salad and sandwich choices. I will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great ambiance & service as usual! Wait ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great ambiance & service as usual! Waiter was very attentive & efficient!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The recent update of the interior decor ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The recent update of the interior decor is very nice: sedate and sophisticated, but warm and comfortably social in feel. The "steak house" cuisine is exceptional, and the drinks are delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner outside. Great meal, outstand ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had dinner outside. Great meal, outstanding service, and most importantly, we were not rushed. Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always wonderful and perfect! The staff ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always wonderful and perfect! The staff is extraordinary.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Unfortunately, the servi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was great. Unfortunately, the service was not up to par. This is not the first time the service was inadequate. We sat there waiting quite a while before the waiter came over to ask if we wanted a drink. The restaurant was not crowded so there was no excuse. He took his time getting those as well. At the end of the meal he brought over a birthday dessert which was not for us. If not for the service it wouldn't have been too bad an evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Great menu, awesome service and a comfor ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great menu, awesome service and a comfortable ambiance. Food is always delicious. Nicely upscale but still a reasonable price. We love ad so do all the friends we take there

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Specner's was wonderful the food was ama ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Specner's was wonderful the food was amazing and service was great. We will tell our friends and we will be back

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I have vacationed in Palm ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My husband and I have vacationed in Palm Springs many times, and I don't know what took us so long to dine here. The restaurant was lovely, the service was fantastic, and the food and drinks were absolutely fabulous! The prices are very reasonable, and you definitely won't leave hungry. We will be making this one of our regular dining spots on future visits from now on!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time and it was a holi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This was my first time and it was a holiday so I would like to give Spencer's the benefit of the doubt and try again. As part of the hotel and tennis club, I was prepared for it to be a little more expensive for a similar menu to other establishments in PS. It is beautiful. We asked to sit outside on the patio. The misters were not on when we first arrived and it was hotter than I expected. They came on a little later and it cooled off, but they were very loud and were making a screeching noise so I wondered if that was part of it or was it just being drought conscious.

The food was amazing - we got the soft shell crab appetizer, the beef short ribs, the duck and sherbet/sorbet for dessert (house-made?). We also got coffee and a great cappuccino.

The service was mediocre. We waited a bit to be seated outside - this was not an issue and the hostess was apologetic about guessing a shorter wait time. It was once we sat down and no one acknowledged us for 5+ minutes that was irksome. We eventually got a hello and some water (needed to finish a big table first perhaps?) After a few minutes our server got our drink order - martini and an iced tea. The tea was not refilled nor were we asked if we wanted another one. Our waters got refilled once. We could have asked, but it just seemed weird. As far as our meal, there were pretty long lags between drinks and appetizers and a very long wait between app and main course. Our server checked in once after each course was delivered. It felt like something was going on, but we weren't kept "in the loop." No one was mean or rude, they just weren't very attentive. I kept thinking perhaps they gave most of the staff the night off for the holiday and we were being served by the banquet staff. Or maybe there was a big event in the other room and they were just keeping up with the restaurant. I couldn't quite put my finger on it, I just know that other restaurants in the area in this price range feel more welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice atmosphere & food was delicious. Be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Nice atmosphere & food was delicious. Beautifully prepared & very tasty! The shrimp cocktail was outstanding in both size & freshness of shrimp as well as the presentation-

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was well prepared and as expected. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was well prepared and as expected. There were no major unexpected moments of taste or texture. In fact, almost everything, including the Parmesan appetizer chips needed a little more salt. There were some things, as an old school food enthusiast that bother me...1. It should be called by its name and then description "vichyssoise" not "cold potato and leak soup." 2. I resented the wellington "inspired" appetizers. They are "Sliders." To include mushrooms (not a tapanade), beef and no pastry just makes it lazy, not inspiring. I will say they were delicious...just not what I was expecting.

I would dine there again with friends looking for something mellow and a nice place to have a conversation.

Oh! Kudos to the piano player. We threw him a couple of curve balls and he knew them all!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our favorite night out. Always Wonderf ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our favorite night out. Always Wonderful food, ambiance and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoy the atmosphere here. Food w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really enjoy the atmosphere here. Food was amazing. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great piano bar, outside dining, gazpach ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great piano bar, outside dining, gazpacho, burger, seared ahi salad, & Of course, el jeffe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food ,this place never let's ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent food ,this place never let's us down,been to spencers 3 times and theyalways make you so welcome

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Great service. Very fr ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful food. Great service. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars at Spencer's year round ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We are regulars at Spencer's year round and look forward to June and July for the soft shell crab. However this time the crab was overcooked and not at all what you would expect from Spencer's. Might of been a new cook (Thursday night) but whatever it was a poor meal. So Friday night we went to Newport Beach and had soft shell crab at one of our favorite restaurants and it was excellent. Long drive but we all love soft shell crab when prepared properly.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Our overall experience was excellent. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our overall experience was excellent.

It was our first time in town with first celebrating our 24th anniversary and the food, atmosphere and service was excellent. The hostess and waiter acknowledged our anniversary and made us feel special. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.