About Spencer's Restaurant

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00am-11am
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: 7603252313x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rack of Lamb
Bread Pudding
Vicchycois
Ahi Nicoise
Mussels
El Jeffe
Bone-In Ribeye
Naked Tuna Roll
Peach Cobbler
Ribeye
Salad Nicoise
Seafood Pasta
Trio Sorbet
Caprese Salad
Shrimp Cocktail
Ahi Tartare
Créme Brulé
Morrocan Chicken
Smoked salmon
Lobster Potstickers
mushrooms
Chocolate Pot De Crème & Cookies
Triple Decker Club
Cappuccino
Banana Split
Bone In Filet Mignon
Australian Rock Lobster Tail & Filet Mignon
Dirty Vodka Martini
Braised Beef "Wellington" Sandwiches.
Live Main Lobster And Filet Mignon
Filet Mignon
French Onion Soup
Prime Rib Eye 20oz
Brsised Short Ribs
Spencer's Appetizer Sampler
Ketel One Martini
Lobster and Shrimp Ravioli
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese
Banana Creampie
Huevos rancheros
Roasted Tomato Gaspaco & Endive Salad

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
9 More
Great for Lunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Value
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Great for Lunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (218)
Special Occasion (207)
Romantic (160)
See All
Great for Lunch (149)
Neighborhood Gem (145)
Fit for Foodies (137)
Great for Brunch (133)
Good for Groups (73)
Notable Wine List (73)
Scenic View (55)
Hot Spot (38)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always the BEST. Wonderful food and wond ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 3 days ago

Always the BEST. Wonderful food and wonderful servers and staff!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At brunch, the service by Eduardo was g ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 3 days ago

At brunch, the service by Eduardo was good; food has always been hit or miss. The best thing is the piano music! The dining room needs to be cleaned up a bit. And the hostesses need to be more friendly. Eaten here many times but it just never gets any better. It was also disappointing that you could not order a smoothie (which is on the menu) because the blender was broken!! Really, buy a new one!! My Mom has swallowing problem and was looking forward to that. I will say the mushroom soup is good! Also to note you cannot order off the breakfast menu at brunch...why not?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful Lunch Special-stuffed Ravoli w ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful Lunch Special-stuffed Ravoli with mushroom

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Food was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Food was excellent. Atmosphere and ambulance perfect. Loved the piano music. Will be back soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed it with family on a once ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Really enjoyed it with family on a once in a long time get together. They loved it also. We were inside, prob ably less noise outside, but still excellent on everything! JH

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and very good food. My hus ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great service and very good food. My husband had the venison which was delicious and I had a mushroom risotto with grilled shrimp. Everything was perfect! The atmosphere is beautiful and I especially enjoy the outdoor dining area. It was very warm but they had misters on and a swamp cooler out doors so it made it nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delightful on the patio.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely delightful on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two visits so far and the food has been ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Two visits so far and the food has been outstanding both times as well as the service. I was jealous of someone in our party that orders the Lobster Club Sandwich. It looked out of this world. This is a true find worth going to for year to come I'm sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was disappointed in the food as I've bee ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Was disappointed in the food as I've been there many times but the service was great from everyone. Won't order the Gazpacho with Lobster ever again....I prefer a chunkier version with Lobster you can actually see instead of tiny bits mixed with some diced cucumber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Excellent Anniversary dinner. My wife an ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent Anniversary dinner. My wife and I were treated to an excellent night out. Manager and staff were extremely hospitable. Food was perfect - Naked Tuna Roll, 3 Onion Soup, and a Bone-In Ribeye with the perfect combination of char and rareness. 3rd time here for a special occasion and it will continue to be high on my list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mostly for old timers. Our food was goo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Mostly for old timers. Our food was good. Can't talk without shouting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a GREAT dinning experience at Spe ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a GREAT dinning experience at Spencer's . We had another favorite restaurant that we went to for special occasions and thought it was time to try something new. We were greeted by a very welcoming hostess and was seated immediately. Our very friendly waiter then greeted us. In opening the menus I found a very nice Happy Birthday greeting inside (let them know ahead of of time ). He took our drink orders and let us enjoy and take in the perfect setting on the outside patio. The meals were cooked to perfection (NY strip and filet mignon). The deserts were very good also. It is now on our list of favorites!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding in all regards. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Absolutely outstanding in all regards. On a par with the best restaurants we have enjoyed over the years - anywhere. Having recently purchased a home in Rancho Mirage - we have found our "go to" restaurant when friends and family visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss the softshell crabs now in se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Don't miss the softshell crabs now in season. Server Michele is the best, attending to our every need.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our anniversary lunch was made special b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our anniversary lunch was made special by delicious and beautifully plated food plus excellent service from Michelle and the wait staff. The calamari appetizer was perfectly fried and coated with just the right amount of sauce. My husband had the crab cake special, and they were some of the best crab cakes I've tasted in years...very little filler and lots of sweet crab meat. I very much enjoyed the grilled soft shell crabs...a treat remembered from my years on the east coast. The apple torte with ice cream, whipped cream, caramel sauce and fresh berries was excellent (included as part of the lunch special) as was the assorted sorbet sundae presented in honor of our special occasion. We look forward to returning to explore more of the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Spencer's is a wonderful place for a qua ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Spencer's is a wonderful place for a quality lunch. We had the lobster club which was excellent. Service is always great and the setting is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The garden setting even in August was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The garden setting even in August was a delight and not too hot as there was a misting spray. Tucked in under the mountain at the end of the street with views of tennis and a pool, the restaurant is one of the best locations for outdoor dining. I had a fabulous halibut and a delightful salad - both were fresh, perfectly prepared and attentively served.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spencer's is a marvelous restaurant agai ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Spencer's is a marvelous restaurant against the foothills of Palm Sprimgs. The food is superb. Lunch prefixed menu is the best value. It is the businessmen's 45 minute lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Good food. Nice ambiance. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great place. Good food. Nice ambiance. Highly recommend for a nice night out. Lunch is also nice. The piano entertainment was nice

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved indoor ambience. Great food and se ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Loved indoor ambience. Great food and service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved Spencer's Our fo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We have always loved Spencer's Our food was not cooked as ordered, it was over cooked and not hot. We will try it again... Hoping it was just this one time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Love the food the best always Great serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love the food the best always

Great service , very charming and sweet

Great drinks and deserts

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought this place was gorgeous howeve ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I thought this place was gorgeous however the food and the service did not match my experience there. I paid well over 100$ for two people for a very special occasion and had this booked in advance for this special day. I was unhappy with my food and I could have made it myself a lot better. It was a 2/10 star rating for me. With valet parking and all I expect service to be outstanding but that also did not match. I had a great time but I can say the food should be a lot better. The alcohol drinks tasted like water. For that reason I do not reccomend this place for a special occasion but for a quick cheap lunch I would.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Service at Spencers was excellent. Our s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service at Spencers was excellent. Our server Simon, was friendly and provided excellent service. The restaurant had a great wine menu, and fast bar service. The food was excellent and worth price. All in all you get what you pay for when dining at Spencers. Money well spent.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my second visit to Palm Springs ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is my second visit to Palm Springs from Seattle and no trip would be complete without dinner at Spencer's! Excellent all around.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to dine. Wonderful service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place to dine. Wonderful service. Thank you Darío...our personable wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was very enjoyable ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our dining experience was very enjoyable, the waitstaff and hostess were very accommodating and attentive. We enjoyed our food and the presentation. If it wasn't for the cicadas the noise level would have been fine. We know you can't control them but they are annoying! Overall we enjoyed our experience and would return. It was also nice to be recognized for our special occasion without any prompting.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful - greeting when we arrived, se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful - greeting when we arrived, service, food, ambience. everything.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fun to dine at spencers We love t ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always fun to dine at spencers

We love the food and service

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another perfect evening here with close ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Another perfect evening here with close friends...this time TWO birthdays!!! Great food (loved the duck breast!!), wonderful service (thank you, Simon...again!!) and beautiful place for an outdoor dinner...misters make the patio SO comfortable!! We have spent numerous evenings (and lunches!!) at Spencer's...it is outstanding...one of the MANY reasons we live in and love Palm Springs...

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Spencer's. And the salmon eggs b ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love Spencer's. And the salmon eggs benedict is outstanding!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We live in Las Vegas, and visit Palm Spr ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We live in Las Vegas, and visit Palm Springs a few times a year. When we do so, we always make a point to eat at Spencer's. The food is always great and we enjoy the ambiance of eating there. We have always had great service at Spencer's--this time it was below the expected standard. However, this will in no way affect our eating again at Spencer's--just a glitz this time out of many, many times of eating there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was our second visit to Spencer's t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our second visit to Spencer's to celebrate my wife's birthday, and after our delightful first experience 2 years ago we were really looking forward to this visit. The staff went above and beyond to acknowledge the birthday occasion and the manager took the time to greet us personally and make sure our experience was satisfactory. The food was excellent as we expected from the first visit. My wife had the rack of lamb and I had the filet mignon, both were cooked perfectly with artful presentation. We are always happy to share our best experiences with friends and family and you can be sure we will be back to Spencer's any time we are in Palm Springs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable & leisure dinner. Ou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had an enjoyable & leisure dinner. Our server did not rush us, and gave us opportunities to enjoy our cocktails, appetizers and entrees. Since our visit was during the off season for Palm Springs we were given added bonuses of summer specials on the menu items, cocktails and entrees

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

ALWAYS fabulous - always.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

ALWAYS fabulous - always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always. Great service and great break ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As always. Great service and great breakfasts. Wonderful waffles and fruit salad

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Air conditioning wasn't working...they s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Air conditioning wasn't working...they should have paid me for eating there...especially with the average quality food...but the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Outstanding service and food, and a beau ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding service and food, and a beautiful setting makes Spencer a great value. It is one of the best values for fine dining in Palm Springs. Our waiter made great recommendations and gave us service equal to some of best restaurants anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic Palm Springs elegant place for l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Classic Palm Springs elegant place for lunch or dinner tucked away off the beaten path. The fixed price menu is wonderful. Buy a bottle of wine and corkage for the second if you bring in your own bottle is no charge.

I was there for a small business gathering and they put us at a table in front of the grand piano. About 30 minutes into our dinner the player sits down and begins his entertainmen. It became difficult to hear each other. I would not accept that table again. Otherwise it was a thoroughly lovely evening. Service is always wonderful. They have valet and I recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a great time. Our wait ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife and I had a great time. Our waiter was amazing and gave great advice/recommendations. Live piano was a nice touch/set romantic mood. Cocktails and food were awesome. Will definitely come back when in Palm Springs. Couldn't have been a better evening -- thanks Spencer's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.