About Spencer's Restaurant

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00am-11am
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: 7603252313x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rack of Lamb
Bread Pudding
Vicchycois
Ahi Nicoise
Mussels
El Jeffe
Bone-In Ribeye
Naked Tuna Roll
Peach Cobbler
Ribeye
Salad Nicoise
Seafood Pasta
Trio Sorbet
Caprese Salad
Shrimp Cocktail
Ahi Tartare
Créme Brulé
Morrocan Chicken
Smoked salmon
Lobster Potstickers
mushrooms
Chocolate Pot De Crème & Cookies
Triple Decker Club
Cappuccino
Banana Split
Bone In Filet Mignon
Australian Rock Lobster Tail & Filet Mignon
Dirty Vodka Martini
Braised Beef "Wellington" Sandwiches.
Live Main Lobster And Filet Mignon
Filet Mignon
French Onion Soup
Prime Rib Eye 20oz
Brsised Short Ribs
Spencer's Appetizer Sampler
Ketel One Martini
Lobster and Shrimp Ravioli
Wedge Salad w/ Blue Cheese
Banana Creampie
Huevos rancheros
Roasted Tomato Gaspaco & Endive Salad

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Great for Brunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Great for Lunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
9 More
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Great for Brunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Great for Lunch
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
American
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (194)
Special Occasion (188)
Romantic (147)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (128)
Great for Lunch (126)
Fit for Foodies (118)
Great for Brunch (116)
Notable Wine List (66)
Good for Groups (59)
Scenic View (45)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Cozy (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Live Music (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Casual (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Historic (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful experience and great food. Th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful experience and great food. This dining experience is right up there with some of our best experiences.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great patio with old Hollywood feel. Th ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great patio with old Hollywood feel. The food quality is not as good as the patio. Our 3 salads and 1 eggs benedict was just OK. Definitely not our first visit. Rain closed the patio and the inside seating near windows was hot and stuffy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

excellent brunch, great value, c;classy ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

excellent brunch, great value, c;classy place, public parking difficult, but valet.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and nice ambience. Would reco ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and nice ambience. Would recommend to others! I had the Moroccan chicken which was prepared like I had it in Morocco. My husband had the surf and turf and enjoyed his meal as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We where enjoying the evening until the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 5 days ago

We where enjoying the evening until the young kids showed up.They ruined my 50th birthday celebration with my spouse.Will not eat there again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Great Service..... Superb Food...... Exc ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great Service..... Superb Food...... Excellent Customer Service...... Beautiful Setting....... One of my Favorite Restaurants in Palm Springs.........

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Felt like I was a valuable customer; wel ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

Felt like I was a valuable customer; well taken-care of...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon arriving at Spencer's, we were seat ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 7 days ago

Upon arriving at Spencer's, we were seated within 30 seconds. We were seated by the back wall and had a great view of the entire outdoor seating area. Our waiter was great as my date had never been to Spencer's. After looking at the menu, we ordered. Neither of us had alcohol, so we had our tea, bread and butter in no time. Our meals were great. Be prepared that some of the plates have large servings. I was lucky to have finished my meal.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Spencer's many times. Th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have been to Spencer's many times. The food is always delicious and well prepared. You have to try the lobsters club, simply fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went for a Birthday dinner and from t ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went for a Birthday dinner and from the minute we walked in we were warmly greeted. Our server, Betty, was perfect, we never felt rushed, but we never had to wait for service. Started with the tower of calamari, shrimp and lobster potstickers-delicious and a hefty portion. Wonderful mushroom soup, dover sole, crispy whitefish---all really good. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Came here for dinner with my boyfriend f ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Came here for dinner with my boyfriend for a weekend getaway and LOVED this restaurant. Great food (We got: Ceasar Salad, Mushroom Soup, Lamb, and White Fish..all YUM) We also got a bottle of wine. We will definitely be returning. Loved the live piano playing. Great ambiance

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice Dinner at Spencer's a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a very nice Dinner at Spencer's and enjoyed the food and service. Unfortunately they discontinued BUTTER Chardonnay.

I also wished they had more organic and vegan meals on their menu. I ordered the grilled Portobello mushroom but I left hungry and $24 for a small hand full of vegetables is rather ridiculous.

I will come back but it wasn't what I expected and I will most likely try other restaurants before I come back to Spencer's

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Spencer's is the best restaurant in the ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Spencer's is the best restaurant in the Valley. Simon is without question the best waiter in the business.

I give Spencer's a five star rating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great décor. Great wine list. Great serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great décor. Great wine list. Great service and food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took some out of town guests to Spenc ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We took some out of town guests to Spencer's for an awesome meal. Because it was not that hot, we decided to sit on the patio and had a great table along the sidewalk-felt like a special private area. All selected the pan roasted sole which was ***** and cooked to perfection. Service was perfect...there when we needed it and away when we just wanted to talk. Highly, highly recommend Spencer's!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an end of the day Wanna hava ste ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had an end of the day Wanna hava steak date night here and it was a wonderful dinner house throwback . Quiet, piano music, professional waitstaff and good food . What could be better.a perfect got lucky date night .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outdoor heated and cooled patio perfect ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Outdoor heated and cooled patio perfect for Anniversary dinner. Ordered two of the specials parmesan encrusted ribeye, sole, risotto were delicious and some of the best asparagus I have ever eaten. Excellent service. We will visit Spencer's again and will recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining in a historic tennis club i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great dining in a historic tennis club in the colony! We eat here every time we visit Palm Springs and have never been disappointed by the food or service. We especially enjoy their short ribs and liver and onions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Spenser's many times and ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I have been to Spenser's many times and have always enjoyed the food and service is always great. Their staff is so well trained that when a friend of mine had a heart attack, they were quick to get the paramedics and handled everything efficiently. This is one of the finest restaurants in the valley, and I mention this to people all the time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd time at Spencer's in my vacation. Wo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

3rd time at Spencer's in my vacation. Wonderful place, beautiful outdoor patio and the best food in PSP. Tuna tartar, filet mignon, truffle fries, seasonal veggies and desert, all of high quality. Love this place! I will come back from Amsterdam next year.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I cannot say enough good things about th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I cannot say enough good things about this place. Food, Service and ambiance all great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still my favorite place in Palm Springs ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Still my favorite place in Palm Springs for the food, value and overall enjoyment ! I came back the day after for a late lunch on the patio with my girl not even with a reservation on opentable like I usually do. So its not just about points or my open table profile ! Ha. We love it at Spencers. The piano music is wonderful, the food a great value and lovely environment.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely room for outdoor dining. Service ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Lovely room for outdoor dining. Service and menu was excellent. Live music added to the experience. Prix fixe was good value. Simple yet beautiful plating which complemented the wonderful food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old school. The charm of elegant Palm Sp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Old school. The charm of elegant Palm Springs. Service was attentive and unrushed. Food was as expected in both taste and presentation.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Dario, was attentive and kno ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our server, Dario, was attentive and knowledgeable. A wonderful place to go when we're in Palm Springs. Best filet I've had in a long time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always feel so special when dining at ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I always feel so special when dining at Spencer's. The service, atmosphere and food is just wonderful. Love Sunday breakfast on the patio. All the staff is so friendly and efficient.

Just celebrated my 74th BD and they made my day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having been at Spencers forany years, it ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Having been at Spencers forany years, it is always a treat.

However i did have to ask the waiter, do they still clean the able with one of those little brushes. He acted if i did not know what I was talking about but then a light happened and out of the bottom of his pants he pulled a little brush out and clean the table.

Spencers food is good, the place is very pretty and very will taken care of. The managers, day and eve are a dream and worth every cent they get.

But to me, the little things that make a restaurant stand out and funny I think cleaning the table with one of those little brushes adds the whipped cream to the dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great. Service lacked a bit in ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was great. Service lacked a bit in that we were waited on after a couple who came in after us. The dogs allowed in the dinnig area were a bit of a trun off, especially if you are allergic dogs. We had to leave and not finish our meals due to this. It may be a good idea to state that dogs are allowed in dining area so that those who are allergic to them can decide if this is a place that they want to dine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Always great

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The calamari were among the finest I've ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The calamari were among the finest I've ever tasted. We also were very pleased with the White fish.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, nice ambience, always enjoyab ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good food, nice ambience, always enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience at Spencer's. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Always a great experience at Spencer's. It was a relaxing and casual lunch on the patio on a beautiful Labor Day. A perfect Palm Springs afternoon. One of my favorite restaurants in PS.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Did not get a good table using Open Tabl ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Did not get a good table using Open Table. Will call directly next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Perfect Brunch! Our out of town guest ra ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Perfect Brunch! Our out of town guest raved about brunch at Spencer's! The food was hot and yummy cooked perfect for each of us! Our meal was topped off with Spencer's bloody Mary's! Staff was great and took extant care of our table! To Spencer's staff again 10 out 10! Thank YOU!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here several times and love ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I have eaten here several times and love this place. I was disappointed in the dish I ordered. The pasta was not cooked properly it's was as if they just dunked it into hot water for a minute. On trying to order a second glass of wine I made every attempt to flag our waiter finally the bus boy took my tables second round of drinks. This was very disappointing as it was a birthday dinner and my guest had never been to Spencers. I will continue to frequent the restaurant however I believe they should be made aware of my encounter. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The foo ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The food was great. We sat outside on the patio which is very nice. Our waiter was very professional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of my graduate students recommended ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of my graduate students recommended Spencer's and decided to take my wife there to celebrate her birthday. It was a great dinner with a special touch by Spencer's for putting a "Happy Birthday Laura" announcement in her menu and the manager stopping by to wish her a Happy Birthday as well as to thank us for celebrating Laura's birthday with them. We'll definitely be back and will highly recommend them to our friends. Bravo Zulu!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time for my lady's birthd ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a great time for my lady's birthday. The service towards the end got quite slow. Other then that is was fine.

Chuck

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The server was patient, food was served ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The server was patient, food was served quickly and the atmosphere pleasant

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute top restaurant in Palm Sprin ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

An absolute top restaurant in Palm Springs located downtown within walking distant of

most shops.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Historic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.