Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Spencer's Restaurant

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast : 8:00am-11am Monday through Saturday
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm Monday through Saturday
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner Daily : 5:00pm-10:00pm
Special holiday hours varies


Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: (760) 325-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (178)
Special Occasion (141)
Good for a Date (124)
See All
Romantic (109)
Good for Anniversaries (102)
Neighborhood Gem (97)
Good for Birthdays (88)
Great for Lunch (85)
Great for Brunch (84)
Quiet Conversation (68)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Cozy (60)
Worth the Drive (58)
Business Meals (56)
Sunday Lunch (56)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Notable Wine List (55)
People Watching (48)
Scenic View (45)
Casual (44)
Historic (39)
Good for Groups (37)
Comfort Food (36)
Fun (32)
Authentic (31)
Live Music (31)
Gluten Free Options (28)
Hot Spot (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Healthy (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Disabled Access (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Seasonal (11)
Fireplace (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Private Room (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Organic (4)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
 (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
3145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Have never had a bad meal at Spencer's. The food is always top notch and the staff is always professional and friendly.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

We've enjoyed Spencer's in the past and return frequently; however, the last few experiences have been disappointing. The consistency is lacking in food quality and wait staff have become a bit removed. Our lunch this time was the porkchop which was tough and dry. The waiter was either too busy to check in with us or, as it seemed, just an order- taker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite places in Palm Springs. I love the atmosphere. Service is terrific.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

The halibut special on Sunday night was incredible! Two of us ordered it and we couldn't of been happier.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our server Michelle is wonderful!!! We always request her. She's the best in the desert!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Spencer's is a great restaurant. Food at lunch was outstanding, and the service was fantastic. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great service and ambiance. The food is always outstanding. I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass and it was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Lovely ambiance. I love their tuna melt and their fresh fruit is the always best and freshest of any place we go. The patio is gorgeous. One of the best restaurants in the valley.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Lobster bisque was weak and thin, with no bits of lobster or sherry. Soft shelled crabs were tasty but over-seasoned. A local place for a dismal lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We enjoyed a beautiful evening with good service and good food. The Dover Sole was a bit overcooked but the Chilean Sea Bass was excellent. The other items we ordered were also very good. The menu is very expansive plus specials. We found that a bit distracting. The bread is an opportunity to upgrade the overall experience for those of us who still consume it. The portions are generous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always great food More than 50 characters always great food always great food always great food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Everything was very nice, the food was good, the only complaint I have is we had to wait quite a long time to be served, everyone around us, that has come in after us were all served before us.
Minor detail, overall I love Spencer's and always enjoy my time there.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very special lunch. Nice atmosphere. Very relaxing.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Spencer's is a must selection for a great experience while in Palm Springs. Although contemporary in decor, there is a feeling of the throw-back days of Palm Spring movie colony royalty here too. Located in the heart of the historic Tennis Club district, Spencer's has the elegance and ambience of an upscale restaurant while still maintaining fair market pricing. And Spencer's is dog friendly which makes it perfect for those of us who travel with our four-legged companions (the outdoor patio area actually trumps the indoor dining). Service is attentive but not overbearing and the food selections are vast and tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Amazing ambiance and service, but double amazing that it has the best crab cake we've found not on the east coast! Thought that was impossible. Don't miss if you are in Palm Springs!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Exceptional food and service as always. Love this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful, as always. The consistently good food, outstanding wait staff, and wonderful al fresco dining make it one of the best restaurants in Palm Springs and the entire Coachella Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great overall dinner. We had a perfect corner outside table. Our waiter was very knowledgable, wasn't afraid of giving us his favorites and knew how to serve our wine correctly. Value for dinner was very good with nice size portions. Floor supervision was a little unnecessary, as it was redundant and they weren't as knowledgable as the wait staff.
We left satisfied and would definately return again

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Spencer's is consistently one of the best restaurants in the valley for high quality, well prepared, non-fussy food. Steaks, fish, seafood and pastas are all great. Highly recommend the Dover Sole. Rarely, very rarely, am I disappointed with something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was not pleased when we were sat in a corner looking out over the chairs from the
tennis courts, I asked for outside when making the reservation and was told I had not asked for outside.
They sat us down without any regard to making me feel as if I was at least given a decent table
with some open area, they were very haughty with an attitude. The hostess staff gave us the impression we were lucky to get a table at all, I did have a reservation.
It will be a while before we return.
They need to know they are not the only restaurant in town.....

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Loved Spencer's! We'll be back again on our next trip to Palm Springs!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful anniversary dinner at Spencer 's. The crusted white fish and kung pao calamari stood out. The atmosphere is very romantic...perfect for our anniversary dinner. Service was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Always a great place to meet business contacts over lunch. Service and Food are Excellent!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had the rib-eye steak. It was prepared to perfection. But the potatoes served with it were dry and tough and no vegetables were served with it except for a small grilled tomato. Such a nice piece of meet, but the sides were disappointing.
The complimentary birthday desert was lovely and a very generous serving- more than adequate for two.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Wonderful food, service a little sloppy given the amount of staff on. Would recommend this wonderful experience of dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Prix fix menue was reasonable at $38. Chicken marsala was delicious. Braised shortribs a little dry. Very nice ambience in a garden setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had flown-in from Australia on our way to La Quinta and needed a place to eat before "hitting the sack". This restaurant ended up being just what we needed; good fresh meal, great service in a welcoming atmosphere. All four of us enjoyed the experience and the value.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very good as usual. Seated outside, started to rain, moved inside. Nice ambience, there for brunch, great lobster omelet. Really enjoy eating at this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Impeccable service and delicious well plated food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The venue was beautiful however the food was a disappointment for the price. We each had the filet on the dinner menu. Just average. Personally, one disappointment was that dogs were allowed in the dining and bar area. These were not service dogs. Just pets. We are dog lovers and have had dogs for many years, however, when we are out for an evening at a restaurant we don't appreciate having dogs around. We leave our dogs at home. We checked above that we would recommend this restaurant to a friend, but would advise them of what we deemed as negatives.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was extremely good, food was okay, not as good as previous visits. Creamed Spinach left a lot to be desire, sent back. Enjoin lunch at Spenser's,

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good service and food. Be prepared for big portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Absolutely delicious food, great service, and a wonderful atmosphere. The manager even remembered our name as we left and Betty our server was great as well. Highly recommended!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It's rare to find a restaurant that actually listens and does their best to accommodate their guests, but every time, Spencer's delivers for me and my guests. I ask for a corner table outside and I get it. I tell them it's a birthday and they nail it for my guest with a wonderful desert and a lit candle (ok, other restaurants do that too, but it usually takes me pointing it out in front of my guest which is awkward). The food is always exquisite, and all of the wait staff are helpful, cheerful, and ready to grant our every wish. We NEVER go wrong with anything at this wonderful place.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We went to Spencer's twice while in PS. Once for dinner and once for lunch for my husband's birthday. Both occasions were excellent food and outstanding friendly and attentive service. We were so impressed we bought a $100 gift card for our friends who visit PS regularly. Overall great customer service in PS. Keep up your excellent reputation.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food would definitely return next time we are in Palm Springs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food is always excellent! We had the lamb chops and it was delicious as always. We like to sit in the indoor outdoor room with the tree. We will be back next year too!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Had breakfast here and it was wonderful. The food was delicious with very generous portions -- we both came home with left-overs! Service was excellent and the outdoor dining area was delightful in the warming day. Loved all the greenery and shadows. Just a super relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My Husbands birthday dinner and just the two of us. He was pleasantly surprised to find a special message inside his menu for his birthday!
We enjoyed martinis made to our liking and wonderful steaks that were cooked to perfection. The outdoor seating on a warm evening was beautiful. Raul our waiter was so attentive and made the evening extra special. We had a great time and very good meal.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always a consistent treat to dine there. Food is properly prepared and beautifully presented. Some servers are better than others but the staff is generally top notch. Still the best lunch in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.