Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.43mi

About Spencer's Restaurant

Spencer's Ambience is the perfect blend of stylish elegance and comfortable informality. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or Brunch in our newly expanded indoor dining room or our award winning temperature controlled patio. Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, Spencer's offers a popular Palm Springs tradition of culinary excellence featuring a fresh approach to classic American cuisine. Locally voted Best Breakfast, Best Sunday Brunch, Best Outdoor Dining, Best Gluten Free, Best Power Lunch, Best Wine List, Best Chef, Best Caterer and Most Romantic, Spencer's is Palm Springs' "it" place for any occasion.

701 W. Baristo
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast : 8:00am-11am Monday through Saturday
Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm Monday through Saturday
Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner Daily : 5:00pm-10:00pm
Special holiday hours varies


Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 327-3446

Website:
http://www.spencersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Piano AM & PM as well as live entertainment on most holidays.

Catering:
Full service catering with custom designed menus for every conceivable special occasion on or off-site. Contact Leslie Lombino-Ridge (760) 325-2313 for your special event needs.

Parking Details:
Guests are welcome to use our valet service or parallel park on the street.

Public Transit:
Palm Springs BUZZ Stops Here.

Private Party Facilities:
Spencer's offers special attention to private parties of all sizes. Did you know we cater, onsite and off-site events.

Private Party Contact:
Leslie Lombino-Ridge: (760) 325-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Spencer's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (158)
Special Occasion (134)
Good for a Date (121)
See All
Romantic (110)
Good for Anniversaries (103)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Good for Birthdays (87)
Great for Brunch (84)
Great for Lunch (76)
Cozy (61)
Quiet Conversation (60)
Sunday Lunch (60)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Notable Wine List (52)
Business Meals (51)
People Watching (45)
Worth the Drive (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Live Music (37)
Casual (37)
Scenic View (32)
Gluten Free Options (27)
Comfort Food (26)
Fun (24)
Healthy (21)
Authentic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Historic (17)
Disabled Access (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Seasonal (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Modern Decor (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for our anniversary again this year. Went for brunch and it was excellent. Chose to sit inside as it was very hot but live to sit outside usually. Had the eggs benediction. Was very good. Love the ambiance. Service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for brunch! The lobster omelette and French toast were amazing! We will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Our go to restaurant for a consistently great meal. Everyone that works here enjoys it and it shows. (We were told of 10-15 yr employees very common!). Had the Australian Lobster and was fabulous. It tasted fresh and sweet....such a treat. The wine list is the best in Palm Springs. So nice to have a fine dining restaurant open all summer here for us desert dwellers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

We eat here often because we live in
Palm Springs. We had breakfast this time. The only complaint was my
Eggs were not cooked the way I
Ordered them. They were overlooked. My wife had the nova and eggs which she enjoyed
This place may look fancy but for
Breakfast it is very reasonable so
If you are visiting the area and looking for a good breakfast place
Give Spencers a try. And for dinner
It's one of the best restaurants in
Palm Springs

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Classic clubby feel steakhouse...dark, banquets, pianist. Food, calamari, veal chop, chilean sea bass all very good. Surprised at the poor cocktail. In Palm springs you would think good restaurants would make a fantastic Manhattan. Too sweet and Maraschino cherries. Service was efficient and fine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I love everything about Spencers! The food, cocktails, ambience, and service. The scallop appetizer is to die for! The vanilla ice cream is my favorite desert! Spencers is consistent and never disappoints!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I've been to Spencer's on a few occasions and it always delivers! Have the Ahi Tuna Tartar. It's yummy!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We decided to enjoy a lazy summer Monday by having lunch at one of my favorite restaurants. Spencer's has THE best service than any restaurant in town. The food was exceptional as always. Even the piano player plays loud enough to enjoy but the sound is low enough to carry on a conversation at the table. Another outstanding experience at Spencer's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was not quite as good as usual. Same menu, same dish chosen. Did you loose your chef?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The chef did a fantastic job - presentation and meal was perfect.
The service was wonderful. The Banana Split is amazing. Lovely evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. Wine list the most extensive in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Spencer's is our first choice for a quiet, romantic meal - lunch or dinner. good food, great staff, and beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was just not good. Eggs Benedict was not even very good. How can you not prepare a good Benedict? Also, the crab cake with my friend's Benedict was extremely fishy. Not ever coming back. This was our third time and last. One other thing- I realize that this is an old Palm Springs restaurant but the front desk acts like they are doing a favor letting you eat there. There are so many other great restaurants I think the owner really needs to pay attention to the food and friendliness of the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Piano was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Life is great when one gets to start the day with Sunday Brunch at Spencer's. It gets even better when it's lobster Benedict.

Service was slightly spotty when the waitress get bringing us the wrong items, but all in all, Spencer's is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I love Spencers though a bit disappointed that the weekly breakfast menu wasn't available on Sunday. I missed not being able to order the oatmeal and one of our guests couldn't get Spencer's great hash browns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday here. The food was fantastic, service was excellent. We were seated outside on the patio, which was quite comfortable with their misting and cooling system despite the temperature being upper 90s at night. Excellent experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I absolutely loved Spencer's! I made a reservation for my sister's Bachelorette Party dinner and Spencer's did not disappoint. They even made sure to accommodate my request for cute inserts in each of our menus that read, "Congrats to the Future Mrs. Tovar". That made the entire evening totally worth it! Not to mention the food was incredible!! Along with the service. I would highly recommend this restaurant to all in the Palm Springs area.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food, service and location. Best place in town for brunch. A classic standard.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Made a reservation and when we arrived they seated us outside on a day that reached 122, it was about 115 in the shade and when we first asked about inside they said they had no tables. When we said we were leaving they now had tables inside, not sure what the issue was, they were crowed but when I made the reservation never thought I would be seated outside.

I will say the outside was very nice and on any normal day would have been fine, giant shade tree, giant ducts blowing evaporate cooler air but just could not handle 122.

Once inside all was great, Richard our waiter was excellent would ask for him again. I had the 3 course dinner, great options. Salmon was the best, everything was very nice and would go there next time in Palm Springs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good menu, but food was bland and very much under seasoned. For bland food, not worth the price

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

disappointing; I have had nice meals here in the past. It won't happen again in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 6, 2017

It had been quite a while since I've been to Spencer's. But wanted to go someplace special for our anniversary.
We checked in at the host stand, where she saw it was our anniversary and offered a congratulations to us. We were seated and presented our menus and wine list. Inside one of the menus they printed a page saying "Happy Anniversary" which was a lovely touch.
We had an appetizer, one salad, one soup, entrees, and 2 desserts. Desserts that each came with a candle in it for our Anniversary. Another lovely touch.
The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. The pace of the meal was neither slow nor fast. It was just perfect for a celebratory dinner out.
If you're celebrating something special or just want a perfect dinner out, don't hesitate to come. It was really just perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 5, 2017

As usual it was a perfect evening with delicious food and service and a lovely setting!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Enjoyed an outstanding early evening at Spencer's. Everything was done with perfection! Spencer's printed a beautiful keepsake for a friend to remember her birthday at Spencer's, what a great surprise! Softshell crab was amazing! Pork chop was delicious. Spencer's surprised at the end of the meal with a beautiful piece of chocolate mousse! Nice touch!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 4, 2017

What makes this restaurant is the outdoor court coupled with above average food -- not Haute cuisine by any means, but a step above the norm. Overall, I enjoy this restaurant, it's a lovely setting with "good" food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great service, super outdoor patio. Comfortable even during the Palm Springs summer. Pet friendly and will visit when ever in the area. Delivered ice cream for a birthday, free of charge!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very good service, friendly, polite. Sat outside, a few flies were annoying. Caesar salad was a little limp, would prefer the romaine to be cut. No mention of anchovies in the menu description, would have asked to leave them off. Excellent rigatoni and excellent filet mignon. Good wine and lemon drop martinis. Waiter saw that I opened a couple of birthday cards and brought us an ice cream dessert with a candle in it. Nice touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This is my new favorite restaurant! Great food, service and atmosphere! I recommend for a Great lunch and Dinner!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Special $19.50 lunch menu - Fantastic! Hard to go wrong here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent food and service; enclosed atrium is very nice when the weather is comfortable. Some menu items and the wine list are a little pricey, but it's an ideal venue for a special occasion. Definitely 4+ stars

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Visited with friends for lunch. A great find! Food was delicious and a great selection too. It was a hot day and we were seated outside at a table not directly exposed to sun and under a mist maker - it was a bliss. Customer service was great too - I would come back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We go to Spencer's occasionally and always enjoy it. Service was perfect this time. Lovely food. however, alcohol overpriced. Ordered an extra shot for Bloody Mary - which was not inexpensive & didn't have much in it to begin with - and was charged $10- for that extra shot. Otherwise, no complaints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 1, 2017

overall experience was great. Had a wonderful meal, with great ambiance. Unfortunately we had a server that appeared to be at a different restaurant

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have always had good food and good service in a great environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 30, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the Valley for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Highly recommend.

Try to lobster roll or the lobster benedict. Both are outstanding.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Best restaurant in the Valley for consistency in fine dining and great service. Highly recommend! Dover Sole is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food quality seems to have diminished . Taste of the food was over salted and meat was not tender .

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I feel your wine prices are out of line. I can find better wine (by the glass) at numerous other locations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Always the best food, service and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.