About Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha

102 South 10th Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Thank you for your interest in Spencer's for Steaks and Chops of Omaha! Spencer's offers prime steaks, lamb chops, pork chops, veal chops, fresh seafood, pastas, as well as an array of fresh, homemade desserts.
Spencer's invites you to experience "Prime" beef pure and simple. Our wine list has just received the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence" for the sixth year in a row.
Weekend Prix-Fixe Dinners start at $35 for a three course meal. Call or make your reservation today.
Spencer's is very proud to have been voted Diners‘ Choice; “Best Service” “Best Ambiance” , and “Best Overall”. Please stop by and see why.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room: Monday-Sunday 5pm-10pm
Lounge: Monday-Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 5pm-9pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4pm-6pm

Cross Street:
10th & Dodge St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 280-8888

Website:
http://www.spencersomaha.com/

Entertainment:
Come join us on Friday or Saturday night for our 3 course prix fixe menu. We offer a 3 course meal for $35. You can also add wine pairings for an additional $20. We hope to see you soon!

Catering:
We are very proud of the Spencer's private dining experience.
We do not do "Banquet" service. Our private Dining is designed to mirror the same dining experience you will find in our main dining room.

Spencer's has two rooms for private dining. The "PDR" is completely private and will accommodate up to 50-guests comfortably, and the "Chef's Table" is a semi-private area that will seat up to 16-guests.

Please call us at (402) 280-8888 to reserve your date.

Parking Details:
Spencer's welcomes you to park in the Hilton Garden Inn's parking structure located off the hotel lobby on Dodge Street. Spencer's will validate your parking.

Executive Chef:
Glenn Wheeler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out spencersforsteaksandchops.com/omaha for upcoming special events.

Restaurant Photos

Truffled Mac and Cheese - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
Seared Ahi Tuna - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
Grilled Asparagus - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
Scallop With Pulled Pig Tail - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
Spencer's Steak - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
Bacon Crusted Soft Shell Crad - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
Naughty Chocolate Cake - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
Meat Loaf - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
French Onion Soup - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
New York Cheesecake - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
Grilled Goat Cheese, Carrott Shooter - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
House Salad - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE
Beet Salad - Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha, Omaha, NE

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Our private dining room is perfect for corporate meetings, wedding rehearsal dinners, and private parties accommodating up to 55 people.

Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Nebraska
Steak
Nebraska
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Romantic (18)
Business Meals (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Spencer's provided a great dinning exper ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

Spencer's provided a great dinning experience. Our steaks were cooked to our liking, our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu, wine list, desserts, etc. His recommendations were spot on. I would recommend Spencer's to anyone for a special night out.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for a special night ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a reservation for a special night out. We arrived on time. The bar was busy with a large and loud party. While the side of the restaurant we were seated in was almost empty. We were promptly seated as close to the noisy bar as possible and right out in the walkway. I looked at the seating host and asked for a quiet table back in the corner. No dice as all the tables were reserved. So if you want a "special" table be sure to ask. Maybe they need a numbering system so you can request a certain table. We ignored this and moved on . We ordered a good bottle of red wine. The wine list is decent here. A passerby knocked my arm while I was drinking and I spilled all over the white linen. The staff ignored this. We ordered and had great prime rib cooked medium rare, just perfect. Also the spinach and mac and cheese are great sides. So the back of the house is run well. The front plays by some very strange rules. So enjoy the food and hope they replace the front manager because everyone deserves better. Especially at Spencer's prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Best dining experience my wife and I hav ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 7 days ago

Best dining experience my wife and I have had in ages.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful knowledgeable f ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food and wonderful knowledgeable friendly service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have had better experiences at this r ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have had better experiences at this restaurant, but this particular evening was not spectacular. The ambiance suffered due to the boisterous groups of Creighton fans dining there before the game. We were celebrating a special occasion and felt rushed through as if we were going to the game ourselves. Our soup came before we barely had started on the cocktails and the main course soon after that. In the end by the time we got to each course it was lukewarm. Usually enjoy the brussels sprouts, but on this occasion they seemed quite greasy. Our waitress seemed defensive when we mentioned these problems to her. Not what we expected at a high end restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent meal!! Excellent service!! A ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent meal!! Excellent service!! Avery good value for some super steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely a high quality steak house. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Definitely a high quality steak house. Food was great - we all had steaks.

Service was OK, but could have been better. Overall an excellent place for a business dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was delicious. The wine excelle ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was delicious. The wine excellent. Our server his name was Nathan wasn't really that great he kept forgetting about thing we needed it took him a long time to come order our food. I just think he wasn't on his A game. Although he had server assistants who where very well on their A game George and Fernando if I'm not mistaking great service. Overall because of great food and the server assistant they made it a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was good and there seemed to be ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was good and there seemed to be a good variety. However, the sides are served ala cart and family style. The sides that we chose were not very large, especially to be shared among multiple people. For the prices charged, I think the sides should be larger. The Brussel sprouts were under-cooked - a little too al dente for my taste. But the desserts were excellent and the service very good. Our bill, with wine, dessert and coffee, came to two hundred dollars for three people. This is not outrageous but I would recommend Spencer's for special occasions only.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our compliments to the chef! A pleasant ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our compliments to the chef! A pleasant wait staff, generous servings, authentic flavors and creative presentation made our dining experience most enjoyable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for our Anniversary and was t ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Went there for our Anniversary and was treated so well. Was given an amazing table, break down the menu so well, and though expensive, food quality and portion size was pretty great. Our server was always making sure we were taken care of, the setting was very special. Will def go back often and try and work out way through the amazing menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at Spencer's is traditional ste ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food at Spencer's is traditional steak house done exceptionally well. The porterhouse was tender, grilled perfectly, and cut from the bone precisely. The sides were fresh and prepared deliciously. The wine list is extensive. Our server was not great. She appeared to be distracted and, for instance, never came back after the wine was opened. Otherwise, it was quite a nice evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

By far, amazing! Will be returning again ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 14, 2016

By far, amazing! Will be returning again and again. The staff was super sweet and generous. Thank you so much.

Tags: Private Room, Disabled Access, Family Style, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the special - Surf and Turf; the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Ordered the special - Surf and Turf; the steak was excellent but the Lobster was not cooked enough - it was still spongy and stringy. If it would have been cooked just a few more minutes it would have been good - as it was, I did not finish my lobster. When this was mentioned to the waiter and subsequently the manager, they were very apologetic and offered a dessert. Overall the experience was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Kyle was excellent in sharing specials & ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Kyle was excellent in sharing specials & making our first time guests feel perfectly at home. Steaks were prepared impeccably. The service and ambiance added to the first class dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, authentic style. Nice ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great atmosphere, authentic style. Nice menu variety (not too much choice, just the right stuff). Great food, terrific crew. Top!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we went there because it was close to ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

we went there because it was close to our hotel. When we got there, we were sat at a very small table for two. The server took our drink order, and delivered drinks and asked if she could take our order for our meal. Since there was a large (and very LOUD) group in the private room behind us we ordered. Fresh bread came out with our drinks. Before we finished our drinks and a slice of bread our food was delivered. This was less than 15 minutes after we arrived. I asked why the rush as we intended to have a second glass of wine, the server said that she would be happy to hold our plates in the kitchen!!!. We answered that we would rather enjoy our steaks hot. The serving spoon on one of our sides fell off the plate (remember the table size). Two waiters walked by it until I asked if someone was going to pick it up.

Don't waste an opportunity to visit one of Omaha's fine restaurants by eating at Spencers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

At this last visit the server seemed to ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 24, 2016

At this last visit the server seemed to hurry us a bit. Otherwise, everything was agreeable and as expected.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

While driving thru Omaha, Nebraska, we r ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 14, 2016

While driving thru Omaha, Nebraska, we really wanted a good steak dinner. After all, Omaha is known for their great steaks. After researching restaurants online we settled on "Spencer's For Steaks & Chops" located at 102 S. 10th Street, and we were not disappointed.

My husband had the lobster bisque and we shared a 24 oz. porterhouse steak which came with their signature chopped salad. We were told that sides came in half sizes enough for sharing, so we ordered risotto and their creamy blue spinach. The meal was quite tasty, with special mention about the steak, creamy blue spinach & their merlot wine. Our server, Kyle Walpus, was very welcoming, engaging, & courteous.

Definitely stop at Spencer's for a great steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Quality of food wasn't as good as other ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Quality of food wasn't as good as other visits. Steak was tuff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Treated very well for our anniversary di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Treated very well for our anniversary dinner. Complimentary champagne and dessert. Steaks were cooked as ordered and were delicious. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Would recommend Spencer's for a special dinner or celebration.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

If you want to find a bone-in-filet you ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2016

If you want to find a bone-in-filet you have to go here! Totally done to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time for our annivers ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a wonderful time for our anniversary and the chef send us glasses of champagne. The service was a little slow because they were short staffed.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We were a party of 4 two of which had sm ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were a party of 4 two of which had small appetites. We don't usually ask to split meals but we did Sunday evening. Our waiter Nathan was gracious to allow us to do that and didn't criticize at all. I am aware of what it means to the establishment (margin wise) when this happens. We were treated well even though that meant lower margin for Spencers. It was obvious even though the meals were split we received more food than if it were not split.

Next time we dine at Spencers we plan to order the full meals. The food and the atmosphere and the staff were all great!!! Thank You!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at Spencer's. I ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was our first time at Spencer's. I received a gift certificate and we ha a lovely dinner. I thought the food was excellent and affordable. Our server was excellent as was all of the staff there. We will definitely be back and will recommed this to others.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely caring and friendly manager. ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Extremely caring and friendly manager. Great food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to Spencer's many times and ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We have been to Spencer's many times and it never disappoints. From the atmosphere, to the staff, to the food, this is the best restaurant in Omaha. This occasion for for our 30th wedding anniversary and I can't think of a better place to spend it. We go out often and this is our favorite place to go for a special event.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The air conditioning system was broken w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The air conditioning system was broken which made dinner alittle uncomfortable but other than that it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything from the salad to the entree ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything from the salad to the entree to the sides to the dessert was to die for! Each item I tasted was so delicious. The steaks were perfectly prepared and it was so nice of the server to give us dessert to celebrate our anniversary. We were from out of town and it was well worth the drive. We will definitely go back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent dinner - great staff - superb ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent dinner - great staff - superb desert. Closeness to the Century Link added bonus. Ceasar salad best in Omaha. Adult atmosphere - very nice to enjoy our dinner without a lot of distractions!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Dan Watts and the Spencer's team al ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Chef Dan Watts and the Spencer's team always delivers a pleasurable experience. The steaks and food was fantastic as expected. All of the dining room staff was extremely hospitable and very accommodating. I would highly recommend Spencers for any special occasion or date with a special someone. The atmosphere, staff and food are perfect for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our initial table and location were terr ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our initial table and location were terrific.

However, a very loud group (6 individuals) arrived adjacent to our table.

Once the loud table arrived, my wife and I were barely able to have a conversation.

I was displeased. Large group was oblivious. Finished our meal and departed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Great meal and great service.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great meal and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

5 for dinner at an Omaha trade show. Gre ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 21, 2016

5 for dinner at an Omaha trade show.

Great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to dinner before going to a conc ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We went to dinner before going to a concert at the Holland Center. Very convenient. We odered a bottle of wine that it turned out they were out off so we were offered another more expensive wine at the same price and we were well pleased.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food was great and the v ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service and food was great and the visitors enjoyed their time at the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fine dining. While pricey, the ste ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very fine dining. While pricey, the steaks were excellent. They have an extensive wine list.

Their bar has less expensive sandwiches and specials that are great if you don't want the full dining experience.

Would go again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved the atmosphere, great ambiance. ...

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on July 12, 2016

I loved the atmosphere, great ambiance. Food was excellent, as was the service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son's name is Spencer and he has been ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 11, 2016

My son's name is Spencer and he has been wanting to try the steaks here for quite some time . Of course they were amazing and he found a new favorite with the Mac n cheese with lobster. My whole family enjoyed it and my oldest is planning on returning with her boyfriend for their anniversary. All the staff were amazing and took excellent care of us!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Honestly, the food was average. $25 for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Honestly, the food was average. $25 for a corkage fee is a bit high. Service was good. Steaks were just average. Not worth the high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.