Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha

Thank you for your interest in Spencer's for Steaks and Chops of Omaha! Spencer's offers prime steaks, lamb chops, pork chops, veal chops, fresh seafood, pastas, as well as an array of fresh, homemade desserts.
Spencer's invites you to experience "Prime" beef pure and simple. Our wine list has just received the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence" for the sixth year in a row.
Weekend Prix-Fixe Dinners start at $35 for a three course meal. Call or make your reservation today.
Spencer's is very proud to have been voted Diners‘ Choice; “Best Service” “Best Ambiance” , and “Best Overall”. Please stop by and see why.


102 South 10th Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room: Monday-Sunday 5pm-10pm
Lounge: Monday-Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 5pm-9pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4pm-6pm

Cross Street:
10th & Dodge St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 280-8888

Website:
http://www.spencersomaha.com/

Entertainment:
Come join us on Friday or Saturday night for our 3 course prix fixe menu. We offer a 3 course meal for $35. You can also add wine pairings for an additional $20. We hope to see you soon!

Catering:
We are very proud of the Spencer's private dining experience.
We do not do "Banquet" service. Our private Dining is designed to mirror the same dining experience you will find in our main dining room.

Spencer's has two rooms for private dining. The "PDR" is completely private and will accommodate up to 50-guests comfortably, and the "Chef's Table" is a semi-private area that will seat up to 16-guests.

Please call us at (402) 280-8888 to reserve your date.

Parking Details:
Spencer's welcomes you to park in the Hilton Garden Inn's parking structure located off the hotel lobby on Dodge Street. Spencer's will validate your parking.

Executive Chef:
Glenn Wheeler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out spencersforsteaksandchops.com/omaha for upcoming special events.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Our private dining room is perfect for corporate meetings, wedding rehearsal dinners, and private parties accommodating up to 55 people.

Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Quiet Conversation (20)
Business Meals (18)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was delicious- I regret getting the blue cheese on my steak- it was outstanding on its own. The table location was noisy and the service was disengaged and generally lackluster.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

Not only was the food excellent in terms of flavor and presentation, but we also appreciated the timing of the different courses and the relaxed manner in which the server attended to our needs. He was neither pushy or overbearing and had a good sense of timing his attention and leaving us to enjoy each other and the occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Cost was excessive for what we received additionally when we ordered it was presented that the salads came with the meal, but we where charged 16.00 dollars for salads we really did not want, but where lead to believe they where included.
Furthermore the French onion soup was over done and slightly burnt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We had an excellent waiter who was able to answer all questions and make great recommendations. The food was amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

This was an exceptional dinner. My husband had scallops that were very tasty and he's not a big red meat eater, but I had to practically fight him off my filet. My steak was one of the top 3 filets I've ever eaten, thanks! Our waiter was just right, great service and explained the menu but not intrusive. Just an all around amazing dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food and a really solid steakhouse. The lamb was perfect. I would put this up against any chicago steak house.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This was my second visit to Spencer's. The service from the bartender to our server was totally on point. Me and my 2 colleagues order a different cut of steak and 3 different sides to share. Our steaks and side orders arrived in a very timely fashion and prepared to our liking. I will return whenever I'm in the Omaha area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The bone-in ribeye was excellent, but cooked slightly above medium rare. Prime rib and pork chop were very good. Our server reported that the vegetables sides enough for two. The spinach was, and was delicious. But the roasted Brussels sprouts were not even one serving, and had no flavor other than that of the sprouts themselves. The meat loaf was very disappointing, with French onion flavor overwhelming the flavor of the loaf. Desserts were awesome. We should have started with those.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Outstanding food and service. A little less music volume would make it perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

I went to dinner with two work friends while attending a conference in Omaha. We were given a very nice booth and started with cocktails. I had a wonderful Lemon Drop and we also had a bottle of wine with dinner. I ordered the petit filet which was cooked perfectly. All entrees came with their signature salad which was very good. Both of the other folks had steaks that they said were excellent too. We also shared creamed spinach, fries and macaroni and cheese. I think next time two sides would have been plenty for three people. We had excellent service and the whole meal was great. We made the mistake of ordering two desserts to share and the apple pie is slice as huge and almost too much for three people! We also had a lemon crème brule which as wonderful. Overall one of the best meals I have had in Omaha over the past few years and I visit twice a year.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Awesome service great meal. One of the best steaks I have had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The service was ungodly slow and no apologies until the end of the meal when they admitted they were short staffed. We were literally here for 3 hours with a party of 6 because we waited so long between each course. After we had been finished for 10 mins with our salads, our server came to us to say she was going to put our order for food in and they were out of one of the entree items (that we had ordered 45 mins ago.) The hardest thing is having to tip on such poor service because 20% is included with parties of 6 or more. Would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Steaks were on point! Great service, enjoyable evening!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food was very excellent. I felt price was steep for a salad and a steak, but it was comparable to other places in the area. Service was great. I may not eat there often because of price, but it was special occasion so it was all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food and service here! It was highly recommended and it did not disappoint. If you are looking for a good steak house look no farther. We enjoyed Kyle, the Beverage Manager and his expert advice on wine choice. The wait staff was efficient and we enjoyed our experience greatly. Best of all we were able to enjoying a relaxed pace and make it to the concert on time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were there on a 98 degree night and the air conditioning wasn't working properly so it was quite warm in the restaurant. No one came over to apologize or anything so we made the best of an expensive dinner despite the heat. I think Spencer's is highly overrated for the price. I would expect better in Omaha as they are known for great steaks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food, great service. Overall, really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent in all respects! Highly recommend. Food, service and ambiance will not disappoint. Great for business travelers. Weekends better for quieter more intimate experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and we enjoyed our meal as well as the service. Jay was knowledgeable, pleasant & attentive without being intrusive. We will DEFINITELY be back!

The portions are large and flavorful. A perfect date night spot!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Fantastic food and tremendous service. Our waitress had excellent recommendations both for wine and sides. One of the best meals we've had in a long time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Steak was a little overdone. Sides were perfect

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We chose Spencer's because we were looking for a good steak. Once we saw Glenn Wheeler was the Executive Chef we knew we had to go. We loved Chef Wheeler's food when he had Wheeler's in Dundee so many years ago and even wen to the Liberty Tavern his first year there. So when we saw his name we knew the food was going to be wonderful (and it was!).
Everything we had was delicious! We started with the artisan sausage plate( curry sausage) and calamari fries followed by the lobster bisque and signature chopped salad. Wow! Everything was fresh, flavorful, and left us with a smile on our faces. For dinner we ordered the Moroccan Spiced Faroe Island Salmon, Seafood Pot Pie, and Spencer Steak. Now, I know we were looking for a great steak, and it was mouth watering, but my husband and son heeded to temptation and went for the seafood. Again, Wow! The salmon was perfect and the spiced lentils were a perfect combination. My son loved the seafood pot pie and was happily surprised at the size. We ended our meal with the Chocolate and Fudge Naughty Cake, Dark Chocolate Semifreddo, and Hot Cinnamon Apple Pie. Decadent and delicious!
I would highly recommend Spencer's to anyone and everyone who are looking for fresh, flavorful food made by one of our favorite Chefs.
P.S. The only thing missing was Chef Wheeler's cashew vinaigrette dressing!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The service was outstanding. The ribeye and the filet mignon were the best steaks I have ever eaten. Tender and the taste was awesome. Definitely will be back soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. There were 7 in our party and our waiter handled everything very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Service impeccable, steaks melt in your mouth, the sides that we ordered were outstanding. Expensive, but worth it occasionally.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food, great service. Cannot beat Nebraska beef, especially when it is done to perfection. Must try the cheesy spinach.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The steaks were outstanding as was the staff and the ambiance!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The best steaks in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We arrived @ 7:35pm and received our food a little after 9. The service was extremely slow, we had to wait for our drink order, and the wait to get our drinks was even slower. Very disappointed. The manager on duty in my opinion, knew our disappointment that he neglected to come to our table to see how our dinner/evening was... he went to every table but ours. In the end, our waitress did apologize but a little late and added that her tip was already included in our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

In a town rich with great steakhouses, this one is, sadly, entirely overrated. When you have to wait (after being seated) more than five minutes before being acknowledged, when the entree only comes with a funny-tasting, pre-mixed chopped salad, when you have send your NY Strip back, when your dinner partner gets a prime rib (ordered medium) that's tepid and rare (with au jus that's cold), and when the smashed Yukon Gold potatoes have the consistency of porridge (but with long strips of potato skins mixed in), you can't help but be disappointed. Do yourself a favor and choose a different steak place in Omaha. This one may be resting on its past reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 14, 2017

On-line reservation was easy. Service is always excellent. It was our 2nd time there. Our son brought us a few months ago and we were impressed with the steaks and side dishes. We came back to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. After ordering the waitress lead us to believe we would get a complimentary dessert. We finished our meal and waited a good 15 min. for her to return to let her know we needed the check. She asked "no dessert"? We said no we had to leave to make another appointment. We thought she should have brought us dessert to go.
But we will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We have eaten at Spencer's several times and have never been disappointed. The seared yellowfin tuna, pesto risotto, asparagus, and Brussels sprouts were delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Located downtown within walking distance from many hotels makes it very convenient and a good choice for steak lovers. I have a small appetite so the Spencer steak was all I needed since it comes with a wonderful house salad. Service was very attentive. Steak was cooked perfectly. The dark wood and quiet atmosphere make it a very relaxing place for a meal.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The food and service was so good. We were a party of 11 which was one more than reserved for and they were wonderful about making room. Unfortunately they calculated the gratuity and added it to the bill and therefore ended up with about $70 bucks less than I would have tipped. I understand the practice and also understand I could have added an additional tip but if they want to calculate it for themselves, then that is what they get!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Hands down the best food we have eaten in Omaha. Salads were divine. The steaks were cooked perfectly. Cat was a wonderful waitress, with a great explanation of the menu and willing and able to answer questions. Worth the splurge!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We went there on our anniversary and they made it very special by providing complementary champagne and dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The environment was nice for a date / special occasion. Mood lighting was nice and space was comfortable. Food is high quality, a little pricy though. Service was excellent, server was attentive, quite knowledgable and professional. Overall the delivery was a bit slow, the restaurant was not overly busy and it took about an hour and half start to finish after taking desert to go. Ended up being late for our next event, my only complaint.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We love going to Spencer's and have always had wonderful food there. Their wait staff is excellent and truly make your dining experience exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Their steaks are great, we assume Nebraska steaks (the best in the world). Very good overall menu. We also had a chicken dish that was great. Their house salad was good and a little different. A traditional steakhouse décor that ads to the experience. Our waiter was one of the best. Walking distance from the CenturyLink Convention Center, TD Ameritrade Stadium and major hotels. Not far from Old Town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The Waterstone Winemaker dinner was sensational!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.