About Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha

102 South 10th Street
Omaha, NE 68102
View Larger Map

Thank you for your interest in Spencer's for Steaks and Chops of Omaha! Spencer's offers prime steaks, lamb chops, pork chops, veal chops, fresh seafood, pastas, as well as an array of fresh, homemade desserts.
Spencer's invites you to experience "Prime" beef pure and simple. Our wine list has just received the "Wine Spectator Award of Excellence" for the sixth year in a row.
Weekend Prix-Fixe Dinners start at $35 for a three course meal. Call or make your reservation today.
Spencer's is very proud to have been voted Diners‘ Choice; “Best Service” “Best Ambiance” , and “Best Overall”. Please stop by and see why.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room: Monday-Sunday 5pm-10pm
Lounge: Monday-Saturday 4pm-11pm
Sunday 5pm-9pm
Happy Hour: Monday - Friday: 4pm-6pm

Cross Street:
10th & Dodge St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 280-8888

Website:
http://www.spencersomaha.com/

Entertainment:
Come join us on Friday or Saturday night for our 3 course prix fixe menu. We offer a 3 course meal for $35. You can also add wine pairings for an additional $20. We hope to see you soon!

Catering:
We are very proud of the Spencer's private dining experience.
We do not do "Banquet" service. Our private Dining is designed to mirror the same dining experience you will find in our main dining room.

Spencer's has two rooms for private dining. The "PDR" is completely private and will accommodate up to 50-guests comfortably, and the "Chef's Table" is a semi-private area that will seat up to 16-guests.

Please call us at (402) 280-8888 to reserve your date.

Parking Details:
Spencer's welcomes you to park in the Hilton Garden Inn's parking structure located off the hotel lobby on Dodge Street. Spencer's will validate your parking.

Executive Chef:
Glenn Wheeler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out spencersforsteaksandchops.com/omaha for upcoming special events.

Restaurant Photos

Seared Ahi Tuna
Truffled Mac and Cheese
Grilled Asparagus
Scallop With Pulled Pig Tail
Spencer's Steak
Bacon Crusted Soft Shell Crad
Naughty Chocolate Cake
Meat Loaf
French Onion Soup
New York Cheesecake
Grilled Goat Cheese, Carrott Shooter
House Salad
Beet Salad

Private Dining

Our private dining room is perfect for corporate meetings, wedding rehearsal dinners, and private parties accommodating up to 55 people.

Spencer's for Steaks and Chops - Omaha Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Food
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
12 More
Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Best Value
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Old Market ›

special occasion (44)
romantic (33)
notable wine list (25)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I thought the atmosphere was great. It m ...

Dined 6 days ago

I thought the atmosphere was great. It may have been a little pricy but I am also not used to spending that much for 2 people. My steak was a little charred on some of the edges but the rest of the steak was very well prepared! My fiancé's Filet and Truffle Mac and Cheese were outstanding. The wait staff was very friendly and we were well taken care of. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We love Spencer's. The management, waite ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We love Spencer's. The management, waiters and bartenders are excellent. Always have had great meals but the last 2 times we have had not great food. So bummed. We had to send the lobster back 2 times and then on our last visit both us and our guests had to send the steaks back as well as the baked potato. The steaks ended up being fine but the second baked was still cold. Still love the place and staff. Hopefully these were isolated incidents.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating 3 birthdays at our t ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We were celebrating 3 birthdays at our table and our service was top notch. Made our day the best!! Our food was delicious and we were treated like royalty.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencer's Steak House Completely Remarkable!

Dined on June 11, 2016

Cannot say enough about this resturant. We arrived shortly before our reservations however were seated immediately. The wait staff were impeccable to say the least. The wine selection is also remarkable. The food was absolutely made to perfection, as I have eaten at resturants throughout the United States. To say the least, we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary supper

Dined on June 9, 2016

We had a very nice evening. Our meal was excellent and the wait staff were ALL very professional, courteous and attentive. Have recommended Spencer's to friends for a special evening out. Prices for the meal will not permit myself or my friends to dine there on a regular basis.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Choose Carefully

Dined on June 9, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Spencer's on a Thursday evening while visiting Omaha. The atmosphere was relaxing and quiet. (except for an obnoxious salesman trying to close a deal at the table next to us). As a sales guy myself, I understand the situation. However, I always use my inside voice when indoors. Our server "Cat" was friendly and efficient. The staff are on top of things. The steak was over seasoned and filled with fat. Rib eyes are like that but mine was way over the top. My wife's filet was very good. All in all a good experience. I was disappointed in my Spenser's Steak. Choose your steak carefully.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as Always

Dined on June 6, 2016

I took my wife to Spencer's for our 29th wedding anniversary. My wife had never been there, but I had been there several times for work / business dinners. I have always found the food to be exceptional and priced a bit more reasonably than some of the other up scale dining establishments in downtown Omaha. Spencer's can now add my wife to their fan list. The food and service could not have been better. We will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our filet mignon was cooked to medium ra ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our filet mignon was cooked to medium rare perfection from end to end. The beet salad with goat cheese was yummy and the smashed garlic potatoes excellent. The wine list was extensive and our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wines, as well as welcoming and attentive. The ambience was quiet with the feel of an old time steak house. Highly recommend this gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner experience. Food was ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent dinner experience. Food was great, service top-notch. Everyone very attentive. Close to our venue for the evening entertainment and also to parking. Would and will recommend to others and we will definitely be returning. Thank you for starting our wonderful evening to a great start.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was impeccable. The food wa ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The service was impeccable. The food was excellent although not at quite a par for what you pay for the meal. It's not at the top of our restaurant list but definitely in the top five.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great dinner just extremely pricey.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great dinner just extremely pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We made a reservation here prior to a show. Wait staff were professional and knowledgeable about cocktails and all aspects of the menu. Service was impeccable. I had the Spence Steak, a 14 oz ribeye - great flavor, cooked perfectly. Grilled bok Choy was a great side Great "steakhouse ambiance". Will definitely come here again when we revisit Omaha!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed out dining experience very mu ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We enjoyed out dining experience very much, service was friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Date Night Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

We are still dreaming about the carrot risotto we had!! Fantastic meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Steakhouse

Dined on April 2, 2016

I love coming to Spencer's for dinner. I think they have the best stakes in town and the rest of the menu us just as top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

The steak was over-salted, and the scall ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The steak was over-salted, and the scallops were overlooked. It was a slow night and the service was nothing to brag about. We were incredibly disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on March 18, 2016

We had a great experience again and our waiter was outstanding!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, great service!

Dined on March 17, 2016

The steaks were fantastic, the waitress was helpful and friendly. Side dishes were also very good. Will for sure go back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spencer's is pure gold!

Dined on March 12, 2016

excellent experience from start to finish meal was perfect in every way! excellent filet mignon and loaded hash browns, their house salad was superb and the mousse for dessert! just fantastic. excellent servers and staff and the restaurant is just gorgeous.. they have Prix Fixe but my Prime steak dinner was reasonable enough to go back on its own! the parking is simple there is a parking garage attached and they validate with zero fuss. I highly recommend Spencers! tip the view of Downtown Omaha from the roof of the garage!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Anniversary

Dined on March 8, 2016

We had a great experience and they made us feel special! Had the bottle of wine I wanted on the table already when I arrived and our Waiter went out of his way to make our night wonderful! Also Hilton Garden Inn was fantastic and Joann at front desk was OUTSTANDING!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had some friends call and ask to join ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We had some friends call and ask to join us after we were seated. The table was quickly set to accommodate them and we all got to the symphony on time. We ordered the Prix Fixe which was sensational with baby octopus, tabouleh/cauliflower salad, smoked pork loin for me and steak for my husband followed by dessert! Fantastic dinner and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Spencer's for date ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

My wife and I went to Spencer's for date night and it was an extremely nice and romantic evening. Spencer's quality and value are the best I have experienced at any "high end" restaurant in Omaha.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Met the owner who was awesome! Best dini ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Met the owner who was awesome! Best dining experience we have had in a long time.

food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Service

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went in for dinner for our anniversary. We were treated well but the timing it took to get in and out was terrible. We had reservations at 7 and were seated about 10 till. Then it took 2 hours to get our food. We were glad we had nothing planned after as we would not have made it ontime. We finally got our check at 830 and were able to leave by 840p. I would not recommend if you are in a hurry or if you are eat in the bar

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place, even better food & great service

Dined on February 27, 2016

We went to Spencer's with pretty high expectations given the feedback we had gotten in advance of our visit. Well let me tell you our experience was off the charts and then some. Incredible food, both in quality and preparation. The sides were fantastic and you simply have to try the Brussels sprouts. Definitely would rank the steaks here with anywhere else in Omaha and beyond! Great job Spencer's.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Had the bone in filet as recommended by ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Had the bone in filet as recommended by the server. Not as tender as it should have been. Good steak but not great. The service was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Night on the Town

Dined on February 20, 2016

Spencer's was everything I had hoped for and more in regards to a top of the line dining experience. The entire staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were provided with excellent service. The food quality was exceptional and generously portioned. I feel as though the chef's take great pride in their work and their passion is reflected in the presentation. The ambiance left a favorable impression as well, with it's clean and modern (yet timeless) appeal. I would definitely recommend this downtown restaurant to anyone who is searching for an intimate and memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food and service

Dined on February 15, 2016

booking was fast and easy, no wait for seating, fast friendly service, great recommendations, parking close and dry, quiet comfortable atmosphere, the prime ribeye was the best I've ever had lobster was great, this was my forth time in five years, I will return more often

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were quite upset that a 12 top was seated right behind us that would've been better suited in a sports bar. I made reservations a month in advance and this was the best seating we were given. We repeatedly advised our server, a manager, and anyone else that waited on us of our displeasure with the noise. All we received was, "yes they are loud". There was no offer to move us nor did we ever see the staff attempt to quiet them down. I picked Spencers because it was advertised as "romantic" and after all we're talking Valentines Day evening. My date and I were dressed appropriately and it really gave us a sour note. The food and wine were phenomenal. We also felt the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. But if we both reflect on the evening, the noise, really overshadowed a great meal and a very special time for the two of us.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Loved the lobster and porterhouse combo with rose petals on the table!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Dry, Dry, Dry

Dined on February 14, 2016

My daughter and I ordered the filet mignon and found it to be dry and flavorless (one was medium rare, and the other was rare). My other daughter ordered the Steak Frites and it had more flavor than the Filets! Very disappointed with our visit. I do not think we will return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent High End/Classy Place to go!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Was very impressed with the entire experience... from the matre'd, to Kat the server/waitress to the other two individuals who checked on how our experience was going....The staff, the cook (s), the decor, the food....EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT... started off with oysters on the half shell, followed by martinis, our dinner consisted of 8oz filet mineon, Brussel sprouts, mushrooms & mashed potatoes.... a perfect Valentine's night!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to go

Dined on February 14, 2016

Been going here for 6 years. Always celebrate special occasions here and a lot of times just go cause we want to!! The management and staff always treat us like gold!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Spencers

Dined on February 14, 2016

What a great experience! The food was excellent! The service was even better! They went out of their way to recognize my wife's birthday and make our night there special. We will undoubtedly go back and I have already shared my experience with quite a few friends. Thanks Spencers!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Valentine's Meal

Dined on February 13, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious Valentine's meal at Spencer's. Our server was pleasant, very attentive and knowledgeable of the food allergens in the meals. The special menu was perfect for Valentine's and there was even a great selection of gluten free items. Everybody at Spencer's seemed to go above and beyond to make this a great evening. I especially like the quiet atmosphere which is hard to come by.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our 3rd Valentine's dinner at Spencer's. Each experience has been different from the rest, and never disappoints. We even had some special details about a couple dishes and their orgins from the 1600's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Surprisingly Good!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were in town for the weekend and were looking for a good steak nearby out hotel as we did not have a car. Spencer's happened to be in our hotel and had great reviews so we tried it out. We've not had great experiences with restaurants within a hotel but this one was perfect. Good food, good atmosphere and reasonable prices.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere

Dined on February 13, 2016

Spencer's was a fantastic experience! The food was tremendous as well as the wine list. The restaurant staff was professional and polite. I will look forward to my next visit! Highly recommend Spencer's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steak I've ever had has been at Spe ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Best Steak I've ever had has been at Spencer's! Amazing sides and fantastic steaks. Must try the truffle Mac and Cheese!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

celebration

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Visited Spencer's to celebrate birthday and wedding. Very special attention and service. I was a little disappointed in my steak, but overall great pick. Our guests felt very "well-treated" Out of town, so won't be returning soon, but probably as good a Steak House as one could want.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.