About Spasso Minnetonka

17523 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55345
View Larger Map

Spasso is a contemporary Italian/American restaurant with wood fired pizzas, pastas, entrees, and weekly specials. With a selection of over 140 wines by the bottle and 60 wines by the glass all at retail pricing. Full bar also available with a great happy hour from 3-6 and 8-close daily, 9-close Friday & Saturday. Sunday brunch from 10-4.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 3pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 224-9555

Website:
http://www.spassomn.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event. Our staff can work with you to plan out your perfect menu.

Parking Details:
Don't worry about parking, use our Free Round Trip Car Service. Call us at 952-224-9555 and we will pick you up in our Cadillac Escalade. Should you choose to drive we have a free parking lot.

Public Transit:
Free Round Trip Car Service in our Cadillac Escalade. It can accommodate groups up to 6 people!

Executive Chef:
Kevin Giffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for Wine Dinners and Special Events must be made by calling the restaurant, NOT through Open Table.

Private Dining

Ideal for rehearsal dinners, business luncheons, intimate dinners, holiday parties, weddings, business meetings, luncheons, graduations, wine dinners, etc.

Spasso Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (19)
Happy Hour (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Wood Oven (9)
Fun (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Romantic (2)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had made an online reservation about 10 days before Valentines Day. So far so good. Reservation for 7:00pm.

During the week I received a myriad of confirmations and reminders of my 7:00 reservation.

When we arrived a few minutes prior to our reservation, a bit chaotic. Rather than 7:00 we were directed that it would be a few minutes. They suggested we go to the liquor store for some wine tasting as table was not ready.

Finally at 7:25 table was ready.

I may be wrong but a 25 minute wait was not what I had in mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful meal. Took my mom and the kids there for Valentine's Day. We had a wonderful meal and agrarian time together as a family.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always good food, great service, good location, welcoming and comfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

For the very first time, we were unable to get the seating we requested on OpenTable. My wife kept reminding me it was Valentines Day and the waitress kept telling us the couple in our booth were taking their time in leaving. We ended up sitting at the pizza bar in the back. Not romantic but over all good food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first and last visit to Spasso. We were interested to try something new for our early Valentines Day date and Spasso had decent review scores. For us, Spasso did not deliver.

Our appetizer (the wild mushroom fritters) came on the lukewarm side; definitely not hot. The sauce was very thick/sort of congealed on the plate. Looked as it was sitting under the heat lamp for too long. Definitely not very appetizing.

We ordered two different entrees, the lasagna and vodka sausage ravioli. Like the appetizer, neither was very hot and both were served on fairly cold plates. While the taste wasn't terrible, it wasn't anything memorable, either.

For our beverages; the beer glass was a little sticky/not clean. The wine glass was acceptable.

Given the above; Spasso falls short. It's not the worst Italian meal you'll have but you could do far better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Another great experience at Spasso. The Short Ribs were plentiful and extremely tasty!

We'll be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Spasso is always a lively atmosphere and fun for a night out with friends or family. Their great advantage is the next-door Wine Shop, and the diversity of wines available by bottle or glass, priced the same as next door (no mark up!). Also a terrific beer list. All of these options pair well with their menu, and servers are very knowledgeable about beverage-food pairings.

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We go there at least once a week but are questioning ever going back. Certain staff wants to rush you out at 10:00 PM even though they are open until 11:00. We have come to the conclusion that it is a management problem versus the wait staff. It's too bad as they have a lot going for them but this is becoming their reputation across town.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Wines by the glass are overpriced overall - happy to see one less than $7 for a small pour.

Food is okay.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great setting for a business meeting. The menu had something that matched each of our tastes. The only disappointment was the Ribeye steak is no longer available.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

It is loud, but the food and service was good. We had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

30th birthday for my hubby

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Spasso is very nice, absolutely wonderful service. First time visiting before the Old Log Theater.

The food was very good, drinks were good. A few different requests at our table and all came with perfection.

A little nosier than I expected, but not to bad. I thought it would be quite, but there were families there and that was okay, good to see little ones with parents.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We go to Spasso as a family and we consider it a second home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Reservation sat us in bar. Server very inattentive and was cut finally and handed us over to new server who was a bit better. Still had to flag for needs rather then stopping by to check on us.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Had dinner with the grandparents on both sides after our son's hockey game. Great food, beer and reasonable and great wine from the Wine Shop! Our server was was great!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Spicy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first trip to Spasso for an early New Year's Eve dinner. No. 1 we were glad we could make a reservation - check. We were seated in a wonderful booth, perfect for talking and being close - check. Our drinks came quickly and actually tasted like they had some whisky in them - check. Dinner was amazing...we both enjoyed our meals of lasagna and the seafood pasta - check. We had leftovers! - check. All in all it was a perfect meal and we'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Friday date night...my husband says it's the best lasagna he's ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been here a few times, and it's always very consistent - the place is hopping, the food is tasty, and the family leaves happy. Love the wine / beer / cocktail list too. Short ribs are a winner, as is the vodka sausage ravioli. Lasagna is awesome but bring your appetite for that one. I always look forward to the gelato selection. Overall Spasso is a nice neighborhood option in Minnetonka, not fancy exactly but a well-run restaurant with options to satisfy everybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We ranked it a C+, menu was not very creative and food was above average.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food. Holiday gathering for many that night so noise level higher than normal. Love being able to buy our wine net door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food is always good there. The short ribs are phenomenal. I love that you can purchase wine next door and bring it in to the restaurant. Great idea! We had very good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Thanks for having safe gluten free tasty options. Also, you lasagna is amazing. That will be my only pick from now forward!!!

Tags: Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Open Table reservation process failed. I received a confirmation the day before and thought everything was in place. When we arrived (reservations for 6) they said there was only 1 reservation on the books and they had already been seated. This was a business function and had it been busy, our day and plans could have been delayed if not cancelled.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Celebrated a birthday. First experience was very positive. Food was great and they accommodated a custom order for a picky 7 year old. Excellent service.

Tags: Wood Oven, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It's unusual, but I don't have any suggestions for Spasso. Quality food, top notch presentation, and great service. Seafood items are always great, I had Spiendino, and not small portions. Fresh fish is properly cooked, Bolognese is authentic. Being able to buy your wine at the wine store gives you so many more options and your can bring it to dinner. That is great! Will make this a regular destination.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good food at great prices. Friendly and courteous host staff and attentive waitstaff. Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Large, open, fairly casual space; menu pretty broad; food was very good (especially lasagna and the filet of beef). Reasonable pricing. Recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went for a prime rib. Received a lukewarm piece of meat draped over a pile of lukewarm mashed potatoes. Sent the plate back to the kitchen to get reheated. Came back in same lukewarm to cool condition. Like eating next days leftovers, but not warmed up enough from the refrigerator. Called the manager, told him I would not pay for the three bites of prime rib but paid for the salads and a side of spinach.

Service was poor, too. Waited over ten minutes just for the waiter to bring glasses and open the bottle of wine sitting on our table.

All in all a very bad experience .

Spasso used to be good. What happened?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We really enjoy Spasso's menu and ambiance. Having the wine shop next door is a great addition. We have never been disappointed with our food selections!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food but we miss the mushroom ravioli and the artisan cheese plate!

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Arrived and were seated immediately (we'd made a reservation) service was great, food was great, staff friendly. The only thing is it's VERY noisy so those with hearing issue need to be prepared.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Crazy noisy, hard to have a conversation. Food was marginal. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Another great Spasso experience. Love the energy and ambiance. The food doesn't ever surprise you. It's just good comfort food. We'll keep going back. The manager even stopped by our table to see how our night was going. Thanks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had dinner with friends (party of 8) and got stuck in the private dining area. The ambience in this area is lacking and we were disappointed we were not in the main area, given that the restaurant was not that busy. Service was just ok, our server must have had other tables in the main room, because we ended up feeling a little neglected. Food was decent. Overall, we probably won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of the best overall restaurants in the Twin Cities--great food, great service and great value.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We love Spasso especially for the wine shop next door. I enjoy going there before dining to pick a bottle and bringing it to the table with us. The wine staff are very helpful and know their wine and liquor. Good food, great service. Most recently I had the spiedino which was very good but the lobster was a little overdone otherwise I've never had a bad meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It's a fun local place...but IT'S SO LOUD that it makes dinner conversation hard. The menu hasn't changed in years, so if you're a regular, you don't get to try anything you haven't had a million times before. The salads are good, the wood-fired pizzas are good, and the gorgonzola burger is good (though it used to be better--they changed the cheese). I used to love their risotto, but the last two times it's been extremely extremely gummy. For the prices, the entrees really should come with a side salad or veggie. Great wine list and great prices. Get a bottle next door at the Wine Shop and take it to dinner--no fee. Service is friendly but spotty. PLEASE update the menu, Spasso! And surely there's something you can do about the noise level.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Excellent pasta entrees and wine list. We eat here frequently.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I took my grand daughter there for dinner before going to a show. The service was timely and accommodating. She ordered spaghetti and meatballs and I ordered a salad and soup. The food was fine, however the chicken on the salad was pretty dry. It was packed (Friday evening at 5:30) and noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We've been to Spasso several times and the food/service has been somewhat uneven. During this particular visit, we were celebrating several birthdays in the group. Even though I made a point of mentioning this to the host upon arrival, absolutely no effort was made to recognize the celebrations..

Our server was either over-tasked or indifferent.. We had to flag him down several times and his approach could have been a bit more friendly and engaging as well. The food was good - we ordered the beef short ribs and steak with potatoes. The beer selection was a highlighted...maybe good to go just for happy hour at the bar. Opted not to stay for dessert. While a decent choice for a meal, given the selection of restaurants available in the Lake Minnetonka area, I might recommend others options ahead of this one...

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had shared the crusted Brie app and mushroom tetrazzini. Both were excellent. Service was perfect. Very noisy though. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Also the birthday cake gelato is awesome!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We've been going to Spasso for years - frequently a top pick for Friday night supper! We always visit the wine shop next door afterward - very helpful staff and excellent wines!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Great Beer, Fun, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Disabled Access, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I came for lunch with friends and the Chop Chop salad was delicious as well as the trifle fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Very few Gluten free options and prices were a little steep for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It's still to loud to hear others at your own table. But the food is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Spasso is a great place to eat without going Downtown. The food and service is fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We ordered the chicken flatbread and a Caesar salad. They split the salad onto two dishes for us to share.

The chicken on the flatbread pizza was not as tender and juicy as the chicken on the salad, but both were flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This place continues to draw a good crowd when others are quite. Food quality is great with good variety. A very nice and affordable wine menu with a wine shop next door. Service was exceptional on this visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.