About Spasso Minnetonka

17523 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55345
View Larger Map

Spasso is a contemporary Italian/American restaurant with wood fired pizzas, pastas, entrees, and weekly specials. With a selection of over 140 wines by the bottle and 60 wines by the glass all at retail pricing. Full bar also available with a great happy hour from 3-6 and 8-close daily, 9-close Friday & Saturday. Sunday brunch from 10-4.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 3pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 224-9555

Website:
http://www.spassomn.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event. Our staff can work with you to plan out your perfect menu.

Parking Details:
Don't worry about parking, use our Free Round Trip Car Service. Call us at 952-224-9555 and we will pick you up in our Cadillac Escalade. Should you choose to drive we have a free parking lot.

Public Transit:
Free Round Trip Car Service in our Cadillac Escalade. It can accommodate groups up to 6 people!

Executive Chef:
Kevin Giffin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for Wine Dinners and Special Events must be made by calling the restaurant, NOT through Open Table.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Ideal for rehearsal dinners, business luncheons, intimate dinners, holiday parties, weddings, business meetings, luncheons, graduations, wine dinners, etc.

Spasso Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Great for Lunch
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Minnetonka ›

neighborhood gem (49)
notable wine list (41)
special occasion (30)
See All
kid-friendly (29)
great for lunch (27)
good for groups (26)
fit for foodies (24)
great for brunch (23)
great for outdoor dining (22)
hot spot (18)
vibrant bar scene (15)
romantic (11)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Of the 8 meals, 4 were cold

Dined 4 days ago

Of the 8 meals 4 were cold. Waiter never came by to check after service to see if everything was OK, if he had we would have told him about the temperature but since we were hungry we had to eat them cold. Beef shank was dry and no au jus. The wait for initial service was too long, then when we got salads, the entrees were served almost immediately giving us hardly anytime to eat the salads. When the waiter did finally appear (after flagging him down after initial service) we asked for another drink but the service for this order was very lengthy. When I approached the hostess to see if a manger was around they said yes but were likely busy. We never did see a manager. Not the best evening. The other 4 meals were good. 50% rating I suppose. No supervision was apparent when there.

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Our service was horrible, many things fo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our service was horrible, many things forgot though out the evening and never apologized. Split wine bottles between all of us even though one couple didn't drink any. terribly slow and infrequent trips to the table.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Chill

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was good. Not a great place for prom dinner though. Looked like it was senior night in there. Got a lot of weird looks from the old people and even a fist bump from an old dude who told us not to party to hard. Can't really ask for much more considering I only spent $45.... I wanted to fee like I balled harder than that so I had to leave a $30 tip. I bame my Jewish friend for not letting us go to a fancier place.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

pleased

Dined on April 30, 2016

Typically, I am not fond of the cuisine BUT this experience was very different. I chose a wedge salad with shrimp...very tasty - the shrimp was perfectly grilled (my pet peeve).'My friend's pizza was flavorful and not overly grilled - my typical experience is burnt and overcooked. I will return again

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Too noisy!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Literally could not carry on a conversation with our friends at the table. We got there early...5 ish...and ambiance was fine. By six we had to shout and at times was impossible to hear across the table. We will avoid this place in the future.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner with family and cousin

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Relatives live in Waconia, and chose Spasso to meet us for dinner, because it has been a while since being there. They love the wine, food and ambiance, as do we!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We had brunch at Spasso last weekend. Service was great! Our server was attentive and very helpful. Food was very good. It was fairly quiet for brunch which was nice as we were able to easily have a conversation.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner

Dined on April 3, 2016

Most was good, I had the Ribs and they got a little over done. I was looking for more of the tender fall off the bone Ribs but these had a crunch with every bite. Mentioned this to the server but he was not at all concerned with my exception to the meal. Too Bad...Will not order them again.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

From start to finish, an enjoyable evening. We were seated immediately, and our wait person was attentive throughout the entire meal. The wine list offers something for every taste and the widely varied menu accommodates both hearty and smaller appetites. The meat lasagna got a rave review, as did the grilled chicken and wild mushroom risotto.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Ok dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were partying for two of the people really enjoy their meals two of us thought they were just average

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2

The server was annoying. He couldn't und ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The server was annoying. He couldn't understand that we didn't want to be rushed event after we told him several times. The food is just average. It is an OK place to meet friends, but good for a romantic date.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice! Not loud so you're able to h ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Very nice! Not loud so you're able to have conversation. Wait staff did an excellent job. I had chicken mushroom risotto. It was wonderful. Serving size just right. Expressing martinis were also very good! Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic brunch with excellent ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a fantastic brunch with excellent service. Food was served hot and at just the right speed.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We dine at Spasso often because the food ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

We dine at Spasso often because the food and service are usually good and is reasonably priced. The last time there it was extremely loud and we could not carry on a conversation without yelling. Acoustic changes to improve the noise level are needed. Carpet on the concrete floor would be helpful.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Has been better

Dined on March 2, 2016

The service was very slow, maybe a new server. I ordered steak to be medium rare. It was served well done. I only took one bite and had to send it back. Second steak was better. Server was very apologetic and offered soup while I waited. A desert was provided as a comp which was nice. My wife enjoyed her seafood meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Neighborhood Restaurant

Dined on February 29, 2016

It was a quiet Sunday night but the service was friendly and efficient. The food was good and the place was clean and pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Never fails to have amazing wine

Dined on February 26, 2016

Met a friend for happy hour that ended up going into dinner. Asked for wine descriptions and waitress was very knowledgeable. Wine prices are amazing! Enjoyed wine, split salad and crab cakes. Each had soup. Everything tasted wonderful! Waitress let us visit. No constant pestering. Even let us sit after we paid bill. I was somewhat disappointed with poor parenting by individuals sitting near us so next time I may ask to sit in an area that they don't typically sit families.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

disappointed

Dined on February 24, 2016

I always look forward to going but I am typically disappointed with the food...inconsistent quality and taste...I am usually much happier when I go for a glass of wine....then it is ALWAYS superb..I like the ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Food was ok. It smelled better than it t ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was ok. It smelled better than it tasted. Super basic, could get anywhere kind of dishes. Service was HORRIBLE! Waiter asked what the side options were and then had to read the menu himself. NOTE TO WAITER: WHEN PEOPLE ASK FOR MORE COFFEE WHEN YOU DELIVER THERE FRENCH TOAST, THEY MEAN ASAP, NOT AFTER THE BREAKFAST IS GONE! It wasn't even busy! About 40% full. No excuses for not having water and coffee with our meal

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Spasso is a favorite neighborhood eats

Dined on February 15, 2016

We spent our Valentine Day celebration at Spasso - a local favorite of ours. While we frequently visit for happy hour, we always grab some of their specials. Valentine's was no exception and they had some great mains for the special evening. We had to make reservations as in previous years they were totally booked out. Open Table made it easy to secure a table and they had it ready when we walked in. Another benefit of Spasso is the door to door car service that they provide, in case you enjoy your night just a little bit too much. We haven't used that yet - but who knows...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made Our Valentine's Day !

Dined on February 14, 2016

Staff worked with us with concerns with special requests, prior to making reservations staff members answered our emails in a timely manner. Tracey our Server, was outstanding, knew the menu, was willing to work with us with substitutions, even though it was a busy night, we were constantly looked after!! Looking forward to another excuse to dine at Spasso's

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every plate, delicious!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for a last minute early slot on Valentine's Day and were treated to a lovely night. The waitress was knowledgable and took her time explaining favorites from the menu and wine list.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Valentines brunch!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Valentines brunch!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paul

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great meal and service. We were also able to buy a nice bottle of wine at the wine shoppe next door and bring it in. That contributed to a nice restaurant experience. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentines Day Review

Dined on February 12, 2016

We have been to Spasso several times, and have entertained folks there, and always enjoyed. The only draw back, is that it is rather loud on the dining side. I wouldn't describe the noise level as 'energetic', rather- distracting. So, if you go- you'll get great service, great food- but the noise level is loud. Sad to say- it's not the restaurant fault- it's that for some reason, parents bring their terrible behavior kids, that don't know how to behave in public that potentially ruins it. Nothing Spasso can do- but there's something we can do- and sadly, that is- NOT return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very noisy

Dined on February 11, 2016

We were told a large group gets together on Thursday nights for several hours of drinking g, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Lunch with friends

Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a great time. It's a good place to get together to catch up with friends. Our food was excellent and our waiter was attentive but not hovering. We did not feel rushed to eat and run. It is in my neighborhood of dining so an easy choice for me to make.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Out with a college friend

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

A friend was in town and staying in Minnetonka, so we decided to meet at Spasso. We were able to get a nice booth on the bar-side, shared a healthy entrée and a happy hour appetizer. We both had the house red and white wine, so reasonably priced and yet still tasty. I Will keep coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food, Awesome Service

Dined on February 7, 2016

This is not my first visit to Spasso's, however this is my first time with a larger group. I was very impressed; Inspite of the busy scene at the restaurant, we were seated quite smoothly, the server was very knowledgeable with the menu and all the different suggestions were extremely delicious. We had a different variety of tastes on the table, and everyone was just intrigued with the high quality of the food. Keep it up!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We decided at last minute to grab some dinner close by home since our son was having some friends over. We had a very nice dinner, saw many of our friends at Spasso, and were home at a decent time. Will keep coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

It was overall a good experience. The se ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

It was overall a good experience. The service was great. The food was a little basic they could use a update on cooking practices. Overall worth the visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never tried Spasso's brunch before...good stuff!

Dined on January 31, 2016

I have only gone for dinner, didn't know what to expect for brunch. The ABC (avocado, bacon, cheddar) omelet was amazing! All members of my party loved what they ordered.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Restaurant has taken a slide

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

I have eaten at this restaurant before and was excited to go back. When I arrived, I was waiting for my friend to arrive. I don't agree with the policy that I cannot order my friend a drink if I am of age. So is she - in fact I am 50. I had to wait for the poor service several times to have a glass of wine with my friend, and I was not able to have a friendly glass waiting for her when she arrived. That being said - the food and service were marginal. We received no water and waited a long time to order a second glass of wine (which is all we would drink, ever). Why can you order a bottle - and not two glasses when they could easily card her upon her arrival? It's stupid. I won't go back.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Had heard positive things about this res ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Had heard positive things about this restaurant, so decided to give it a try. Unfortunately, disappointed with food quality. Prime rib was cold, server did replace it; corn cake served with short ribs was very dry. Maybe we should have ordered something more like "bar food".

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on January 24, 2016

We showed up early for our reservation, planning on having a drink first. When we sat at a table in the bar area (yes, it was open seating) instead of being asked what we would like we were told " You can only sit there if your are ordering something". Great start. Then we were told that they were " in between" drink menu's, I guess the old ones spoiled, not sure why you would discontinue one if its replacement was not ready. Finally about 10 mins after our reservation time, I asked the 16 year old host if he knew when our table would be ready. His reply, " Oh, are you ready to be seated now?" It was the inmates running the asylum. Our sever in the restaurant did a nice enough job, but the host and bar area servers were very, very bad.

food5
ambience5
service5

Mussels were delicious. Spiendino lived ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Mussels were delicious. Spiendino lived up to its billing. And, you can buy a bottle of wine next door and bring it in!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Repeat Diner

Dined on January 17, 2016

Our family frequents Spasso about 2-3 times per month. While it is very convenience for us from a location standpoint, the food and service is always very good and we have never left the restaurant disappointed. My kids especially love watching their pizza's being baked in the wood burning oven and picking out their complimentary gelato flavor from the daily list of gelato's. Great and dependable food and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

decent for happy hour

Dined on January 9, 2016

The place is loud and seemed a bit disorganized with the staff. Our server was great and she did her best with us, I'd go back for the meatsa pizza and green been appetizer.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a Favorite but typically better service

Dined on January 3, 2016

Spasso is an absolute favorite of ours, we love that we can grab wine next door without inflated bottle prices and have it corked while we dine. The food is fantastic and a great value for the quality. Their atmosphere is also very nice in that you can dress up or in jeans, either one works. It is an upbeat atmosphere not too casual yet not too fancy. We typically have wait staff that is very helpful engaging etc, this last time for our holiday party we did not receive the service I am used to. A little disappointing when we spent over $300 between the wine shop and restaurant. I would still go back and highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Not impressed!

Dined on January 1, 2016

I would not recommend Spasso. Had the worst service. The server was a major part of my negative review. She seemed annoyed with us, put out and was not knowledgable about the food. Not impressed with the the food either.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.