Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.81mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.21mi
  4. Distance: 2.92mi
  1. Distance: 1.81mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.21mi
  4. Distance: 2.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.81mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.21mi
  4. Distance: 2.92mi
  1. Distance: 1.81mi
  2. Distance: 2.06mi
  3. Distance: 2.21mi
  4. Distance: 2.92mi

About Spasso Minnetonka

Spasso is a contemporary Italian/American restaurant with wood fired pizzas, pastas, entrees, and weekly specials. With a selection of over 140 wines by the bottle and 60 wines by the glass all at retail pricing. Full bar also available with a great happy hour from 3-6 and 8-close daily, 9-close Friday & Saturday. Sunday brunch from 10-4.

17523 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55345
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 3pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 224-9555

Website:
http://www.spassomn.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event. Our staff can work with you to plan out your perfect menu.

Parking Details:
Don't worry about parking, use our Free Round Trip Car Service. Call us at 952-224-9555 and we will pick you up in our Cadillac Escalade. Should you choose to drive we have a free parking lot.

Public Transit:
Free Round Trip Car Service in our Cadillac Escalade. It can accommodate groups up to 6 people!

Executive Chef:
Kevin Giffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for Wine Dinners and Special Events must be made by calling the restaurant, NOT through Open Table.

Private Dining

Ideal for rehearsal dinners, business luncheons, intimate dinners, holiday parties, weddings, business meetings, luncheons, graduations, wine dinners, etc.

Spasso Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (16)
Happy Hour (13)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Spasso has been a favorite of ours in the past - great service, great food. And we have always enjoyed Jeff the driver of the car service - he's always great!!

But this time, we were less than impressed. We had 8pm reservations on a friday night. The place was half empty, yet the service was beyond slow. We picked out two bottles of wine from the store - one a chardonnay that needed chilling. Our waiter arrived after waiting far too long. He saw we had wine and we asked for a bucket to chill the chardonnay. He disappered for over 10 mins., so we asked the hostess to find him. He returned with waters - but no bucket. He proceeded to take our food order.....our wine is still not chilled. We reminded him of a bucket and he responded with a very rude, "yea. I know. I'll get it: I'm very busy". WHAT?!?!? To say we were taken aback is an understatement! He FINALLY returned with a bucket, then FINALLY opened our wine....mmmm...warm chardonnay! We kept our exchanges brief after that. Besides, we really wanted to enjoy the ambience created by the waitstaff who were cleaning the restaurant around us. Nothing makes you feel more welcomed than waitstaff mopping floors around you. I'm sure they had a long day and wanted to get home, but 9pm on a Friday night shouldn't be the bewitching hour for a restaurant that closes at 10:30.

The overall experience was disappointing. My parents were in town, and my dad recalled liking Spasso, so we went for a nice relaxing dinner. Their food is wonderful, but not worth the experience we had. So unless Spasso trains their waitstaff on how to be more welcoming to their guests, I doubt we will be back anytime soon.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I ordered a dish with shrimp, lobster and scallops. Sounds good, right? The lobster was 1/4 of a lobster tail, the shrimp and scallops were so salty I had to try to rinse them off with my water. I left a shrimp, I never leave shrimp!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was my fathers birthday and the food nor the service couldn't have been better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We enjoyed our evening. The food was good and portions were appropriate. Maybe a little over priced so I'm uncertain about the value as nearly every dish is close to $20. At that price point my expectations begin to rise and this meal and service fell a little short. That said, we will likely be back at some point in time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

It can be a bit noisy with all the open space, but it is the meatballs that keep me coming back! I nearly got a second order for desert. The service was great and the lasagna is amazing.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great bruschetta and a friendly staff. Patio was nice and quiet. Overall had a great dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Took 15mins to get a server which we had to ask for, then our drinks took another 15mins and after waiting a 1/2hr we got incorrect drinks. Then ordered appetizers with meals and appetizers came last. Nobody cared that we were even there. Place wasn't even busy. What a joke. Don't go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great patio! Incredible service and value! Best tomato soup in town. Fabulous wine selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Nice local establishment. Good service and drinks. Take along a sweater as the air conditioning makes the place a bit cool for some.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Hamburger dry and tasteless, husband's ribs with an odd flavored sauce and friend's prime rib cold

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This restaurant is over priced for very small portions. Also, while some of our selections were tasty, most was pretty bland. A big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always love the food especially the Vegetarian Lasagna and Key Lime Pie!!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food is consistently good. Like having wine shop next door and ability to bring into restaurant and not incurring a corkage fee.
Service was slow on Saturday night before 4th of July.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The dining experience was good. Will definitely go again. Strongly recommend it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good brunch menu with good food and attentive service

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was good but seems to gone down in taste and quality.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Birthday
Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I've dined here many times and enjoyed it, however, the server was inattentive and not friendly at all. Had to ask for a wine chiller several times and he never smiled once! Also I decided to try Spiendino, the menu (and the server) failed to mention how spicy it is. Even friends tasted and said it was way to spicy for them! I ate it because was hungry had to drink three glasses of water! I will NEVER order this again. We like to go here as we can buy wine next door and bring in for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My two children and I were seated at a table right by the waiter station. So annoying I asked to be moved. We were But then waited 15 mins before getting service. All in all a fairly forgettable evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service poor.....brought my wife's entre before salad while delivering my salad.....so they took her entre back and eventually brought her salad...once the entres were served mine was fine....hers was not....maybe it sat before being returned...just not what we expected

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

PLEASE TURN YOUR AIR CONDITIONING DOWN SPASSO!!! Keeping your restaurant at such a freezing cold level is wasteful, ridiculous, uncomfortable and a deterrent in my return. I did come back a week after this visit I am reviewing and I overheard 3 other parties complain to their groups about the cold temp. Such a dumb thing for a restaurant to get a bad review on. I won't come back without my parka...and so it won't be soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good food. Noisy. They weren't busy. We were seated in a booth by bar and TV. Would have preferred a window table. Waitress was very good. I made a reservation via open table. They could not find my reservation. It didn't matter because they were not busy.
I will go back. Perhaps the next time the experience will be better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great time once again at Spasso. All eight of us enjoyed our meals which tasted fresh, prepared to order and flavorful! Great service also.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Ordered a pizza with a Cesar Salad starter. the salad was wilted and the pizza was soggy. Very disappointed. We had not been there for a while. Guess they have to up their game back to where it use to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great wa atmosphere with patio dining. Service tends to be slow, mostly getting to the table. Food is ok but the portions have gotten really small. Great love location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Such a delight! Our entire family enjoyed every dish we ordered from crab cakes to lasagna to fresh mozzarella pizza it was phenomenal. A hidden treasure in the cities!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Lasagna was best in class. Bruschetta not so much.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We had a pleasant dining experience, enjoyed sitting outdoors and our server was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Just OK. Nothing to get too excited about. Sauce tasted like it came from a jar. Good fair priced wine list is a bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Our server was probably new...not the greatest. He didn't bring bread and when I asked he said they were told to only bring if people ask? Is this new? Big mistake in my opinion...he also brought food when we still had salads. Not much personality either.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I had the Pecan Crusted Chicken salad - chicken was served cold atop the salad, which made the crusted breading overwhelming. Salad lacked in dressing and toppings, despite the description seeming to be loaded with goodies, was mostly just field greens. Another in my party had the french dip served philly style and was very pleased. Normally a great dining place, the service this time around was not very attentive (never stopped to see how the food was or I would have asked for more dressing, but only had so much time for lunch so continued to eat my greens), so not a great experience overall.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Consistently good and friendly wait staff. Kids menu is attractive for grand children - especially the ice cream.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We came for dinner and never received our bread, the server was pretty inattentive (didn't check back with us if we wanted more wine until after I had finished my meal), the server didn't know what the cheesecake was currently, and we never got more water. I think if we had a better server the experience would have been great.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place. Went for Mother's Day brunch. Only negative is they charged us for our almost 1 yo who are very little.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I love this place, and think it's awesome how the wine shop next door is attached so you can pick out a great bottle and bring it to the restaurant with no corkage fee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is now the second time our service has been terrible. I knew from the beginning it was going to be a disaster because the waiter seemed to just be a complete airhead on everything. When he did order my salad, he ordered the wrong one and it was delivered to my table at the same time my wife's food was delivered. They of course took it back and my wife finished her meal and I just finally said let's just send it to go and they did comp me for it- but was terrible. Only go part is the cost of wine there. Otherwise- nope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our waitress, Susan, was very informative about the menu, attentive, and friendly. The food was of excellent quality, with a wide range on the menu. Each of us had something different, the appearance, quality, and taste were all you could ask for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It may have been the night (we went in late), but I felt we were an afterthought. Food was good, but high priced for the size. Dessert was AMAZING and fairly priced. Two of us, no apps, no drinks and 1 dessert was $50+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We enjoy Spasso because we enjoy their food and the fact that you can buy a bottle of wine at the adjoining wine shop and can bring it to the restaurant to drink. If you like your choice of wine, you can bring your receipt to the wine shop after dining and get a 10% discount on another bottle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great experience. Had the seafood risotto that was the special.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.