About Spasso Minnetonka

17523 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55345
View Larger Map

Spasso is a contemporary Italian/American restaurant with wood fired pizzas, pastas, entrees, and weekly specials. With a selection of over 140 wines by the bottle and 60 wines by the glass all at retail pricing. Full bar also available with a great happy hour from 3-6 and 8-close daily, 9-close Friday & Saturday. Sunday brunch from 10-4.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 3pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 224-9555

Website:
http://www.spassomn.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event. Our staff can work with you to plan out your perfect menu.

Parking Details:
Don't worry about parking, use our Free Round Trip Car Service. Call us at 952-224-9555 and we will pick you up in our Cadillac Escalade. Should you choose to drive we have a free parking lot.

Public Transit:
Free Round Trip Car Service in our Cadillac Escalade. It can accommodate groups up to 6 people!

Executive Chef:
Kevin Giffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for Wine Dinners and Special Events must be made by calling the restaurant, NOT through Open Table.

Restaurant Photos

Archery Summit Pinot Noir - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
2 4 $10 Ceasar And Margarita Flatbread - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
polenta fries - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Gnocchi - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Tenderloin Tip Fondutta - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Black And Blue Cobb Salad - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Penne Bolognese - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Meatsa Pizza - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Fried Calamari - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
New York Strip - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Farfalle Di Mar - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Truffle Fries - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Chioppino - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Mojito - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Wild Mushroom Ravioli - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Field Greens Salad - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Tonka Blue Martini - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
Five Cheese Mac N' Cheese - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN
3 Meat Lasagna - Spasso Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN

Private Dining

Ideal for rehearsal dinners, business luncheons, intimate dinners, holiday parties, weddings, business meetings, luncheons, graduations, wine dinners, etc.

Spasso Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Wood Oven (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Fun (7)
Family Style (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Romantic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food at great prices. Friendly and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food at great prices. Friendly and courteous host staff and attentive waitstaff. Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Large, open, fairly casual space; menu p ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Large, open, fairly casual space; menu pretty broad; food was very good (especially lasagna and the filet of beef). Reasonable pricing. Recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Went for a prime rib. Received a lukewar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went for a prime rib. Received a lukewarm piece of meat draped over a pile of lukewarm mashed potatoes. Sent the plate back to the kitchen to get reheated. Came back in same lukewarm to cool condition. Like eating next days leftovers, but not warmed up enough from the refrigerator. Called the manager, told him I would not pay for the three bites of prime rib but paid for the salads and a side of spinach.

Service was poor, too. Waited over ten minutes just for the waiter to bring glasses and open the bottle of wine sitting on our table.

All in all a very bad experience .

Spasso used to be good. What happened?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We really enjoy Spasso's menu and ambian ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We really enjoy Spasso's menu and ambiance. Having the wine shop next door is a great addition. We have never been disappointed with our food selections!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food but we miss the mushroom ravio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good food but we miss the mushroom ravioli and the artisan cheese plate!

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Arrived and were seated immediately (we' ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Arrived and were seated immediately (we'd made a reservation) service was great, food was great, staff friendly. The only thing is it's VERY noisy so those with hearing issue need to be prepared.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Crazy noisy, hard to have a conversation ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Crazy noisy, hard to have a conversation. Food was marginal. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Another great Spasso experience. Love ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Another great Spasso experience. Love the energy and ambiance. The food doesn't ever surprise you. It's just good comfort food. We'll keep going back. The manager even stopped by our table to see how our night was going. Thanks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We had dinner with friends (party of 8) ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had dinner with friends (party of 8) and got stuck in the private dining area. The ambience in this area is lacking and we were disappointed we were not in the main area, given that the restaurant was not that busy. Service was just ok, our server must have had other tables in the main room, because we ended up feeling a little neglected. Food was decent. Overall, we probably won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

One of the best overall restaurants in t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

One of the best overall restaurants in the Twin Cities--great food, great service and great value.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Spasso especially for the wine s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We love Spasso especially for the wine shop next door. I enjoy going there before dining to pick a bottle and bringing it to the table with us. The wine staff are very helpful and know their wine and liquor. Good food, great service. Most recently I had the spiedino which was very good but the lobster was a little overdone otherwise I've never had a bad meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It's a fun local place...but IT'S SO LOU ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It's a fun local place...but IT'S SO LOUD that it makes dinner conversation hard. The menu hasn't changed in years, so if you're a regular, you don't get to try anything you haven't had a million times before. The salads are good, the wood-fired pizzas are good, and the gorgonzola burger is good (though it used to be better--they changed the cheese). I used to love their risotto, but the last two times it's been extremely extremely gummy. For the prices, the entrees really should come with a side salad or veggie. Great wine list and great prices. Get a bottle next door at the Wine Shop and take it to dinner--no fee. Service is friendly but spotty. PLEASE update the menu, Spasso! And surely there's something you can do about the noise level.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent pasta entrees and wine list. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Excellent pasta entrees and wine list. We eat here frequently.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my grand daughter there for dinne ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I took my grand daughter there for dinner before going to a show. The service was timely and accommodating. She ordered spaghetti and meatballs and I ordered a salad and soup. The food was fine, however the chicken on the salad was pretty dry. It was packed (Friday evening at 5:30) and noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We've been to Spasso several times and t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We've been to Spasso several times and the food/service has been somewhat uneven. During this particular visit, we were celebrating several birthdays in the group. Even though I made a point of mentioning this to the host upon arrival, absolutely no effort was made to recognize the celebrations..

Our server was either over-tasked or indifferent.. We had to flag him down several times and his approach could have been a bit more friendly and engaging as well. The food was good - we ordered the beef short ribs and steak with potatoes. The beer selection was a highlighted...maybe good to go just for happy hour at the bar. Opted not to stay for dessert. While a decent choice for a meal, given the selection of restaurants available in the Lake Minnetonka area, I might recommend others options ahead of this one...

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had shared the crusted Brie app and m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had shared the crusted Brie app and mushroom tetrazzini. Both were excellent. Service was perfect. Very noisy though. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Also the bir ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Also the birthday cake gelato is awesome!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to Spasso for years - f ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We've been going to Spasso for years - frequently a top pick for Friday night supper! We always visit the wine shop next door afterward - very helpful staff and excellent wines!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Great Beer, Fun, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Disabled Access, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came for lunch with friends and the Ch ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I came for lunch with friends and the Chop Chop salad was delicious as well as the trifle fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very few Gluten free options and prices ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Very few Gluten free options and prices were a little steep for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

It's still to loud to hear others at you ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It's still to loud to hear others at your own table. But the food is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Spasso is a great place to eat without g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Spasso is a great place to eat without going Downtown. The food and service is fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ordered the chicken flatbread and a C ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We ordered the chicken flatbread and a Caesar salad. They split the salad onto two dishes for us to share.

The chicken on the flatbread pizza was not as tender and juicy as the chicken on the salad, but both were flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

This place continues to draw a good crow ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This place continues to draw a good crowd when others are quite. Food quality is great with good variety. A very nice and affordable wine menu with a wine shop next door. Service was exceptional on this visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was not as good as I remember w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was not as good as I remember which was unfortunate. A drink was forgotten when we first ordered, then a meal was forgotten later on. It was a somewhat busy night, but we felt like our waitress kept disappearing on us for long periods of time - not her fault I'm sure, but perhaps they need more staff for busy weekend dinner rush, especially on Homecoming weekend! Atmosphere is really nice so it's a shame the food wasn't good and service was lacking.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Very poor service that evening. Typicall ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very poor service that evening. Typically it is very good. The server in particular was terrible.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

superb service ...friendly great appetiz ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2016

superb service ...friendly

great appetizers during happy hour

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I rated it energetic. For me that means ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I rated it energetic. For me that means loud. The opposite of quiet. Energetic is not really a good descriptor. A bit too loud for our taste, but we'll keep coming back, perhaps earlier in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I was very disappointed, our server was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I was very disappointed, our server was inattentive, we couldn't get milk, we couldn't get bread, you were out of 2/6 desserts. We are not high maintenance but you seemed to struggle w/ the basics. The restaurant was pretty quiet so I'm not sure why it was so difficult...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

A couple of good things on the menu, but ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

A couple of good things on the menu, but the menu needs something new.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The service was very nice, and I enjoyed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The service was very nice, and I enjoyed the crab cakes. The caesar salad had very little flavor. Chicken parmesan was very good, not at all dry like at many restaurants, actually quite saucy. Chocolate cake for dessert wasn't great, but it could be because I wasn't told that it was "gluten free", which I'm assuming means it was flourless. Either way, it was pretty dry, but the fresh berries served with it were delicious. Overall, I had a nice experience, even if the food was only ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

This is a neighborhood restaurant with s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

This is a neighborhood restaurant with slightly wider ambitions. The wines by the glass list is extraordinarily comprehensive and extremely well priced (I note the bottles are priced at around retail, without the usual huge markup). The menu is somewhat limited, uneven, and, we think, priced at 10% more than it should be. We were all satisfied with our meals, but they lacked even an attempt at finesse. It is also very noisy when full. We return because of location, wine list, and some very good dishes.

If you like steak we think it's one of the overpriced plates. If you like walleye, it's a bargain. The seafood is a mixed bag--skip the crab cakes and pasta with seafood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Extremely poor service. Waited very long ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Extremely poor service. Waited very long time for order to be taken and for food to arrive. When food arrived it was cold so we sent it back. We did not get an apology from server or manager. Again took very long time to arrive only to find our portion size had been halved. Ordered mushroom risotto and got 4 tablespoons worth - for main course!!!!! Server was unfriendly and borderline rude

We have visited Spasso prior to this visit and always enjoyed our experience. But, this visit has turned us away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We booked Spasso on the Internet. The fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We booked Spasso on the Internet. The food was delicious for brunch. .the decorwastoodarkduringtheday it. Overall itwasagoodbuyforqualityoffoodandservice

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Booked last minute reservations for a da ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Booked last minute reservations for a date night. Overall a good experience. Food was good, but hoped for slightly better given the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food, excellent service but no ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good food, excellent service but noisy ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was only my 2nd time here and I enj ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was only my 2nd time here and I enjoyed as much as the first. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. There were 2 of us so we shared a couple of items and they split the salad dish in the kitchen which is really great. Trying to do this at a table is not fun. We sat on the patio on a beautiful day. Highly recommended. My next trip will be to experience dinner. I have to eat gluten free and they have a really nice menu with gluten free options that are easily noted.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been over a year so we decided to ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

It had been over a year so we decided to try Spasso again since it's so convenient to our home. Sadly, we were once again disappointed and this time made the decision not to return in the future. Service was awful. Server literally rolled his eyes when asked if there were onions in one of the salads. And once the food was delivered he never came back to check on food and my grilled chicken on my risotto was so under-cooked it was inedible. I pushed it aside and the mushroom risotto itself was good. When he finally did come back, I explained when he went to clear the plate that the chicken was seriously under-cooked. No apology, just took it and walked away. Meatballs were tasty. Skip the truffle fries, salty and just oily and not truffle oil, no discernible truffle flavor. We eat out several times a week and the food is a lot more expensive then other similar restaurants in the area and there's simply no excuse for bad service. No manager stopped to see how things were. They have a beautify patio area, it's a shame really, it would be great to keep them in our rotation. Back to the Cov in Wayzata, which never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

OK, not great. Meals very average. Pro ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

OK, not great. Meals very average. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Terrific risotto and lasagna. Creme brul ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Terrific risotto and lasagna. Creme brulee and key lime pie also very good. Lovely to sit on patio in padded booths. Some street noise but it did not distract from conversation. I've been to Spasso three times in the last month and a half. A great alternative to nearby lakeside eateries that are SO overcrowded.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.