About Spasso Minnetonka

17523 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55345
View Larger Map

Spasso is a contemporary Italian/American restaurant with wood fired pizzas, pastas, entrees, and weekly specials. With a selection of over 140 wines by the bottle and 60 wines by the glass all at retail pricing. Full bar also available with a great happy hour from 3-6 and 8-close daily, 9-close Friday & Saturday. Sunday brunch from 10-4.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 3pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 224-9555

Website:
http://www.spassomn.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event. Our staff can work with you to plan out your perfect menu.

Parking Details:
Don't worry about parking, use our Free Round Trip Car Service. Call us at 952-224-9555 and we will pick you up in our Cadillac Escalade. Should you choose to drive we have a free parking lot.

Public Transit:
Free Round Trip Car Service in our Cadillac Escalade. It can accommodate groups up to 6 people!

Executive Chef:
Kevin Giffin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for Wine Dinners and Special Events must be made by calling the restaurant, NOT through Open Table.

Restaurant Photos

Gnocchi
Archery Summit Pinot Noir
2 4 $10 Ceasar And Margarita Flatbread
polenta fries
Tenderloin Tip Fondutta
Black And Blue Cobb Salad
Penne Bolognese
Meatsa Pizza
Fried Calamari
New York Strip
Farfalle Di Mar
Truffle Fries
Chioppino
Mojito
Wild Mushroom Ravioli
Field Greens Salad
Tonka Blue Martini
Five Cheese Mac N' Cheese
3 Meat Lasagna

Private Dining

Ideal for rehearsal dinners, business luncheons, intimate dinners, holiday parties, weddings, business meetings, luncheons, graduations, wine dinners, etc.

Spasso Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Neighborhood Gem
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Minnetonka ›

Neighborhood Gem (38)
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
See All
Kid-friendly (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Brunch (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Romantic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was not as good as I remember w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was not as good as I remember which was unfortunate. A drink was forgotten when we first ordered, then a meal was forgotten later on. It was a somewhat busy night, but we felt like our waitress kept disappearing on us for long periods of time - not her fault I'm sure, but perhaps they need more staff for busy weekend dinner rush, especially on Homecoming weekend! Atmosphere is really nice so it's a shame the food wasn't good and service was lacking.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Very poor service that evening. Typicall ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very poor service that evening. Typically it is very good. The server in particular was terrible.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

superb service ...friendly great appetiz ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

superb service ...friendly

great appetizers during happy hour

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I rated it energetic. For me that means ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I rated it energetic. For me that means loud. The opposite of quiet. Energetic is not really a good descriptor. A bit too loud for our taste, but we'll keep coming back, perhaps earlier in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I was very disappointed, our server was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I was very disappointed, our server was inattentive, we couldn't get milk, we couldn't get bread, you were out of 2/6 desserts. We are not high maintenance but you seemed to struggle w/ the basics. The restaurant was pretty quiet so I'm not sure why it was so difficult...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

A couple of good things on the menu, but ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

A couple of good things on the menu, but the menu needs something new.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The service was very nice, and I enjoyed ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The service was very nice, and I enjoyed the crab cakes. The caesar salad had very little flavor. Chicken parmesan was very good, not at all dry like at many restaurants, actually quite saucy. Chocolate cake for dessert wasn't great, but it could be because I wasn't told that it was "gluten free", which I'm assuming means it was flourless. Either way, it was pretty dry, but the fresh berries served with it were delicious. Overall, I had a nice experience, even if the food was only ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

This is a neighborhood restaurant with s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This is a neighborhood restaurant with slightly wider ambitions. The wines by the glass list is extraordinarily comprehensive and extremely well priced (I note the bottles are priced at around retail, without the usual huge markup). The menu is somewhat limited, uneven, and, we think, priced at 10% more than it should be. We were all satisfied with our meals, but they lacked even an attempt at finesse. It is also very noisy when full. We return because of location, wine list, and some very good dishes.

If you like steak we think it's one of the overpriced plates. If you like walleye, it's a bargain. The seafood is a mixed bag--skip the crab cakes and pasta with seafood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Extremely poor service. Waited very long ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Extremely poor service. Waited very long time for order to be taken and for food to arrive. When food arrived it was cold so we sent it back. We did not get an apology from server or manager. Again took very long time to arrive only to find our portion size had been halved. Ordered mushroom risotto and got 4 tablespoons worth - for main course!!!!! Server was unfriendly and borderline rude

We have visited Spasso prior to this visit and always enjoyed our experience. But, this visit has turned us away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We booked Spasso on the Internet. The fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We booked Spasso on the Internet. The food was delicious for brunch. .the decorwastoodarkduringtheday it. Overall itwasagoodbuyforqualityoffoodandservice

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Booked last minute reservations for a da ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Booked last minute reservations for a date night. Overall a good experience. Food was good, but hoped for slightly better given the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food, excellent service but no ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good food, excellent service but noisy ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was only my 2nd time here and I enj ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was only my 2nd time here and I enjoyed as much as the first. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list. There were 2 of us so we shared a couple of items and they split the salad dish in the kitchen which is really great. Trying to do this at a table is not fun. We sat on the patio on a beautiful day. Highly recommended. My next trip will be to experience dinner. I have to eat gluten free and they have a really nice menu with gluten free options that are easily noted.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been over a year so we decided to ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It had been over a year so we decided to try Spasso again since it's so convenient to our home. Sadly, we were once again disappointed and this time made the decision not to return in the future. Service was awful. Server literally rolled his eyes when asked if there were onions in one of the salads. And once the food was delivered he never came back to check on food and my grilled chicken on my risotto was so under-cooked it was inedible. I pushed it aside and the mushroom risotto itself was good. When he finally did come back, I explained when he went to clear the plate that the chicken was seriously under-cooked. No apology, just took it and walked away. Meatballs were tasty. Skip the truffle fries, salty and just oily and not truffle oil, no discernible truffle flavor. We eat out several times a week and the food is a lot more expensive then other similar restaurants in the area and there's simply no excuse for bad service. No manager stopped to see how things were. They have a beautify patio area, it's a shame really, it would be great to keep them in our rotation. Back to the Cov in Wayzata, which never disappoints!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

OK, not great. Meals very average. Pro ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

OK, not great. Meals very average. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Terrific risotto and lasagna. Creme brul ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Terrific risotto and lasagna. Creme brulee and key lime pie also very good. Lovely to sit on patio in padded booths. Some street noise but it did not distract from conversation. I've been to Spasso three times in the last month and a half. A great alternative to nearby lakeside eateries that are SO overcrowded.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Overall nice choice for casual dining. v ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Overall nice choice for casual dining. very affordable wine list but food is a bit high priced for what you get. Have been going for several years and have noticed a decline in overall quality and service. Still decent mid range choice for dinner and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The restaurant will allow you to go purc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The restaurant will allow you to go purchase a bottle of wine next door and not charge a corking fee. Excellent wine selection. Very good meal for our party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food continues to be sub-standard in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food continues to be sub-standard in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We often go to Spasso out of convenience ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We often go to Spasso out of convenience. Every time we go I ask myself why I got back. The service is horrible. So slow. It seems if they don't have enough people to wait properly on their tables. The food is good. I ordered a new item this time, as did my husband and it was the chicken and risotto and it was cold. Not even worth the money, and their prices aren't cheap. I didn't say anything because to be honest, it didn't seem like anyone cared. I think this may be our last time dining here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food and service. Very very noisy ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and service. Very very noisy. We wanted to sit outside but despite the weather having cleared the patio was not open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There's a ton of energy at Spasso. It ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

There's a ton of energy at Spasso. It has a very casual, family friendly feel. Understand going in, that you will experience a loud dinner. The food was just ok. Very small menu. Drinks were light for the price. We probably won't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

For lunch it had "dinner prices" by the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

For lunch it had "dinner prices" by the time you added a salad to the entre. The $10 side salad had too much dressing so I could not eat much of it. Not used to having to pay close to $40 (including tip) for a lunch. Probably will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Service was very poor, we sat with an un ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was very poor, we sat with an unopened bottle of wine for over 1/2 an hour (& he still wasn't going to open it we had to flag him down again) . Asked for bread to go with the caprese & finally gave up and ate it without. Both seafood pasta dishes were very good, the service was the reason for the lower rating...too bad because we really liked the food and atmosphere... poor service can ruin the entire experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

They dropped my favorite dish, Sausage w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

They dropped my favorite dish, Sausage w/ vodka sauce. Will not be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for Saturday dinner. Good food and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went for Saturday dinner. Good food and service. Great selection of wines. Busy but not an extended wait. Food came out in good time and we were not rushed/pushed to leave.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, another great Spasso experien ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

As always, another great Spasso experience. Thank you!! We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall just ok. My chicken Alfredo was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overall just ok. My chicken Alfredo was very good but the spaghetti & meatballs was disappointing. My husband liked the meatballs but said the spaghetti was much too acidic for his taste. Our grandaughter also had spaghetti and said it was okay. Our son had the filet and Caesar salad which he said was good and our daughter in law had the risotto that she said was average. The Bar does makes a very good old fashioned but we think the cucumber watermelon margarita suffered from a bad brand of tequila. The key lime pie and the chocolate cake were excellent. Server provided acceptable service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Great Bloody Mary Bar and nice setting. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Bloody Mary Bar and nice setting. Good pricing! Especially if you buy your wine in their wine shop next door and they waive the corkage!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I came to Spasso to celeb ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My friends and I came to Spasso to celebrate a birthday. We'd been there several times before and always enjoyed it but this time the food we chose wasn't quite up to par. We all ordered the chicken parmesan and definitely must not have read closely enough as we were all shocked when it came with white sauce instead of red sauce. Also, the chicken seemed rather thin and dry. Frankly, none of us thought it was spectacular. We were quite disappointed. Also, very disappointed that the mushroom ravioli with goat cheese was gone. That was our favorite! I'll be back again but hope it's more satisfying!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is my absolute favorite neighborhoo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is my absolute favorite neighborhood haunt.

They have a great seasonal menu

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem hidden in plain sight

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Spasso is my favorite, uncrowded outdoor Minnetonka dining spots. Weeknights/Weekends, it seems as if there is almost always a table for two on the patio at Spasso.

A superb wine selection, well chosen beer choices (tap & container), and a myriad of food choices whether you are there for dinner, or just to enjoy a beverage and an appetizer.

The table umbrellas provide shade if that's what you prefer, and your server is always willing to help you collapse it if you are there to get your daily dose of vitamin D by sitting and enjoying the late afternoon sun.

Easy parking, better food & beverage choices, and even though you are sitting a few yards from 101, it is still quieter than the boat/jet ski traffic you have to endure if you're dining alfresco on Excelsior Bay.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good meal but too loud!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a nice meal and a bottle of wine with another couple on Saturday evening. All the meals were good, but some of the side dishes were a bit salty. Excellent wine prices. We were seated at a small table but couldn't hear each other over the noise. This is not our first visit and I don't recall this problem in the past, but we would definitely choose other restaurant before going back due to the noise level. I would recommend to friends for the good (not excellent) food but give a warning on the potential noise problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Decent

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We came early for dinner on a Sunday, and let them know it was my mother's birthday. Nothing was done to acknowledge this by the waiter and he he was a bit groggy seeming. Slow service but food (wood-fired pizzas) was decent. I would not recommend the corn cake. Underdone and just a strange dish--not like corn bread at all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Family friendly

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food, drinks and ambiance - yet, surprisingly kid/family friendly. I would go here on a date or with my kids.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed our dinner. Great food. Began ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. Great food. Began with slow service due to capacity of restaurant. Noise level made conversation challenging, unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My wife's salad was mediocre for the pri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My wife's salad was mediocre for the price. " It had an excessive amount of dressing- Chop Chop Salad-and the assortment of items such as chicken and olives were minimal if even present." My Walleye sandwich and Cesar salad were tasty. I think our grandson enjoyed his sandwich. This is our second time at Spasso and I think we would give it another chance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Of the 8 meals, 4 were cold

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Of the 8 meals 4 were cold. Waiter never came by to check after service to see if everything was OK, if he had we would have told him about the temperature but since we were hungry we had to eat them cold. Beef shank was dry and no au jus. The wait for initial service was too long, then when we got salads, the entrees were served almost immediately giving us hardly anytime to eat the salads. When the waiter did finally appear (after flagging him down after initial service) we asked for another drink but the service for this order was very lengthy. When I approached the hostess to see if a manger was around they said yes but were likely busy. We never did see a manager. Not the best evening. The other 4 meals were good. 50% rating I suppose. No supervision was apparent when there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Our service was horrible, many things fo ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our service was horrible, many things forgot though out the evening and never apologized. Split wine bottles between all of us even though one couple didn't drink any. terribly slow and infrequent trips to the table.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Chill

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was good. Not a great place for prom dinner though. Looked like it was senior night in there. Got a lot of weird looks from the old people and even a fist bump from an old dude who told us not to party to hard. Can't really ask for much more considering I only spent $45.... I wanted to fee like I balled harder than that so I had to leave a $30 tip. I bame my Jewish friend for not letting us go to a fancier place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.