About Spasso Minnetonka

17523 Minnetonka Blvd
Minnetonka, MN 55345
View Larger Map

Spasso is a contemporary Italian/American restaurant with wood fired pizzas, pastas, entrees, and weekly specials. With a selection of over 140 wines by the bottle and 60 wines by the glass all at retail pricing. Full bar also available with a great happy hour from 3-6 and 8-close daily, 9-close Friday & Saturday. Sunday brunch from 10-4.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: 3pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 101

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 224-9555

Website:
http://www.spassomn.com/

Catering:
Let us cater your next event. Our staff can work with you to plan out your perfect menu.

Parking Details:
Don't worry about parking, use our Free Round Trip Car Service. Call us at 952-224-9555 and we will pick you up in our Cadillac Escalade. Should you choose to drive we have a free parking lot.

Public Transit:
Free Round Trip Car Service in our Cadillac Escalade. It can accommodate groups up to 6 people!

Executive Chef:
Kevin Giffin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Reservations for Wine Dinners and Special Events must be made by calling the restaurant, NOT through Open Table.

Restaurant Photos

Gnocchi
Archery Summit Pinot Noir
2 4 $10 Ceasar And Margarita Flatbread
polenta fries
Tenderloin Tip Fondutta
Black And Blue Cobb Salad
Penne Bolognese
Meatsa Pizza
Farfalle Di Mar
Tonka Blue Martini
Fried Calamari
Chioppino
Truffle Fries
Field Greens Salad
New York Strip
Mojito
Wild Mushroom Ravioli
Five Cheese Mac N' Cheese
3 Meat Lasagna

Private Dining

Ideal for rehearsal dinners, business luncheons, intimate dinners, holiday parties, weddings, business meetings, luncheons, graduations, wine dinners, etc.

Spasso Minnetonka Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Neighborhood Gem
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Minnetonka ›

neighborhood gem (42)
notable wine list (34)
kid-friendly (26)
See All
special occasion (24)
great for lunch (22)
good for groups (21)
great for outdoor dining (21)
fit for foodies (16)
great for brunch (13)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
romantic (6)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Bloody Mary Bar and nice setting. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Bloody Mary Bar and nice setting. Good pricing! Especially if you buy your wine in their wine shop next door and they waive the corkage!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My friends and I came to Spasso to celeb ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

My friends and I came to Spasso to celebrate a birthday. We'd been there several times before and always enjoyed it but this time the food we chose wasn't quite up to par. We all ordered the chicken parmesan and definitely must not have read closely enough as we were all shocked when it came with white sauce instead of red sauce. Also, the chicken seemed rather thin and dry. Frankly, none of us thought it was spectacular. We were quite disappointed. Also, very disappointed that the mushroom ravioli with goat cheese was gone. That was our favorite! I'll be back again but hope it's more satisfying!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my absolute favorite neighborhoo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This is my absolute favorite neighborhood haunt. They have a great seasonal menu

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A gem hidden in plain sight

Dined on June 5, 2016

Spasso is my favorite, uncrowded outdoor Minnetonka dining spots. Weeknights/Weekends, it seems as if there is almost always a table for two on the patio at Spasso. A superb wine selection, well chosen beer choices (tap & container), and a myriad of food choices whether you are there for dinner, or just to enjoy a beverage and an appetizer. The table umbrellas provide shade if that's what you prefer, and your server is always willing to help you collapse it if you are there to get your daily dose of vitamin D by sitting and enjoying the late afternoon sun. Easy parking, better food & beverage choices, and even though you are sitting a few yards from 101, it is still quieter than the boat/jet ski traffic you have to endure if you're dining alfresco on Excelsior Bay.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good meal but too loud!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a nice meal and a bottle of wine with another couple on Saturday evening. All the meals were good, but some of the side dishes were a bit salty. Excellent wine prices. We were seated at a small table but couldn't hear each other over the noise. This is not our first visit and I don't recall this problem in the past, but we would definitely choose other restaurant before going back due to the noise level. I would recommend to friends for the good (not excellent) food but give a warning on the potential noise problems.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Decent

Dined on May 29, 2016

We came early for dinner on a Sunday, and let them know it was my mother's birthday. Nothing was done to acknowledge this by the waiter and he he was a bit groggy seeming. Slow service but food (wood-fired pizzas) was decent. I would not recommend the corn cake. Underdone and just a strange dish--not like corn bread at all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Family friendly

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food, drinks and ambiance - yet, surprisingly kid/family friendly. I would go here on a date or with my kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Enjoyed our dinner. Great food. Began ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. Great food. Began with slow service due to capacity of restaurant. Noise level made conversation challenging, unfortunately.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife's salad was mediocre for the pri ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

My wife's salad was mediocre for the price. " It had an excessive amount of dressing- Chop Chop Salad-and the assortment of items such as chicken and olives were minimal if even present." My Walleye sandwich and Cesar salad were tasty. I think our grandson enjoyed his sandwich. This is our second time at Spasso and I think we would give it another chance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Of the 8 meals, 4 were cold

Dined on May 20, 2016

Of the 8 meals 4 were cold. Waiter never came by to check after service to see if everything was OK, if he had we would have told him about the temperature but since we were hungry we had to eat them cold. Beef shank was dry and no au jus. The wait for initial service was too long, then when we got salads, the entrees were served almost immediately giving us hardly anytime to eat the salads. When the waiter did finally appear (after flagging him down after initial service) we asked for another drink but the service for this order was very lengthy. When I approached the hostess to see if a manger was around they said yes but were likely busy. We never did see a manager. Not the best evening. The other 4 meals were good. 50% rating I suppose. No supervision was apparent when there.

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Our service was horrible, many things fo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our service was horrible, many things forgot though out the evening and never apologized. Split wine bottles between all of us even though one couple didn't drink any. terribly slow and infrequent trips to the table.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Chill

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was good. Not a great place for prom dinner though. Looked like it was senior night in there. Got a lot of weird looks from the old people and even a fist bump from an old dude who told us not to party to hard. Can't really ask for much more considering I only spent $45.... I wanted to fee like I balled harder than that so I had to leave a $30 tip. I bame my Jewish friend for not letting us go to a fancier place.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

pleased

Dined on April 30, 2016

Typically, I am not fond of the cuisine BUT this experience was very different. I chose a wedge salad with shrimp...very tasty - the shrimp was perfectly grilled (my pet peeve).'My friend's pizza was flavorful and not overly grilled - my typical experience is burnt and overcooked. I will return again

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Too noisy!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Literally could not carry on a conversation with our friends at the table. We got there early...5 ish...and ambiance was fine. By six we had to shout and at times was impossible to hear across the table. We will avoid this place in the future.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner with family and cousin

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Relatives live in Waconia, and chose Spasso to meet us for dinner, because it has been a while since being there. They love the wine, food and ambiance, as do we!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We had brunch at Spasso last weekend. Service was great! Our server was attentive and very helpful. Food was very good. It was fairly quiet for brunch which was nice as we were able to easily have a conversation.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner

Dined on April 3, 2016

Most was good, I had the Ribs and they got a little over done. I was looking for more of the tender fall off the bone Ribs but these had a crunch with every bite. Mentioned this to the server but he was not at all concerned with my exception to the meal. Too Bad...Will not order them again.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

From start to finish, an enjoyable evening. We were seated immediately, and our wait person was attentive throughout the entire meal. The wine list offers something for every taste and the widely varied menu accommodates both hearty and smaller appetites. The meat lasagna got a rave review, as did the grilled chicken and wild mushroom risotto.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Ok dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were partying for two of the people really enjoy their meals two of us thought they were just average

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2

The server was annoying. He couldn't und ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The server was annoying. He couldn't understand that we didn't want to be rushed event after we told him several times. The food is just average. It is an OK place to meet friends, but good for a romantic date.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice! Not loud so you're able to h ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Very nice! Not loud so you're able to have conversation. Wait staff did an excellent job. I had chicken mushroom risotto. It was wonderful. Serving size just right. Expressing martinis were also very good! Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic brunch with excellent ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a fantastic brunch with excellent service. Food was served hot and at just the right speed.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We dine at Spasso often because the food ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

We dine at Spasso often because the food and service are usually good and is reasonably priced. The last time there it was extremely loud and we could not carry on a conversation without yelling. Acoustic changes to improve the noise level are needed. Carpet on the concrete floor would be helpful.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Has been better

Dined on March 2, 2016

The service was very slow, maybe a new server. I ordered steak to be medium rare. It was served well done. I only took one bite and had to send it back. Second steak was better. Server was very apologetic and offered soup while I waited. A desert was provided as a comp which was nice. My wife enjoyed her seafood meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Neighborhood Restaurant

Dined on February 29, 2016

It was a quiet Sunday night but the service was friendly and efficient. The food was good and the place was clean and pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Never fails to have amazing wine

Dined on February 26, 2016

Met a friend for happy hour that ended up going into dinner. Asked for wine descriptions and waitress was very knowledgeable. Wine prices are amazing! Enjoyed wine, split salad and crab cakes. Each had soup. Everything tasted wonderful! Waitress let us visit. No constant pestering. Even let us sit after we paid bill. I was somewhat disappointed with poor parenting by individuals sitting near us so next time I may ask to sit in an area that they don't typically sit families.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

disappointed

Dined on February 24, 2016

I always look forward to going but I am typically disappointed with the food...inconsistent quality and taste...I am usually much happier when I go for a glass of wine....then it is ALWAYS superb..I like the ambiance.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1

Food was ok. It smelled better than it t ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was ok. It smelled better than it tasted. Super basic, could get anywhere kind of dishes. Service was HORRIBLE! Waiter asked what the side options were and then had to read the menu himself. NOTE TO WAITER: WHEN PEOPLE ASK FOR MORE COFFEE WHEN YOU DELIVER THERE FRENCH TOAST, THEY MEAN ASAP, NOT AFTER THE BREAKFAST IS GONE! It wasn't even busy! About 40% full. No excuses for not having water and coffee with our meal

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Spasso is a favorite neighborhood eats

Dined on February 15, 2016

We spent our Valentine Day celebration at Spasso - a local favorite of ours. While we frequently visit for happy hour, we always grab some of their specials. Valentine's was no exception and they had some great mains for the special evening. We had to make reservations as in previous years they were totally booked out. Open Table made it easy to secure a table and they had it ready when we walked in. Another benefit of Spasso is the door to door car service that they provide, in case you enjoy your night just a little bit too much. We haven't used that yet - but who knows...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made Our Valentine's Day !

Dined on February 14, 2016

Staff worked with us with concerns with special requests, prior to making reservations staff members answered our emails in a timely manner. Tracey our Server, was outstanding, knew the menu, was willing to work with us with substitutions, even though it was a busy night, we were constantly looked after!! Looking forward to another excuse to dine at Spasso's

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every plate, delicious!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for a last minute early slot on Valentine's Day and were treated to a lovely night. The waitress was knowledgable and took her time explaining favorites from the menu and wine list.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Valentines brunch!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Valentines brunch!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paul

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great meal and service. We were also able to buy a nice bottle of wine at the wine shoppe next door and bring it in. That contributed to a nice restaurant experience. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentines Day Review

Dined on February 12, 2016

We have been to Spasso several times, and have entertained folks there, and always enjoyed. The only draw back, is that it is rather loud on the dining side. I wouldn't describe the noise level as 'energetic', rather- distracting. So, if you go- you'll get great service, great food- but the noise level is loud. Sad to say- it's not the restaurant fault- it's that for some reason, parents bring their terrible behavior kids, that don't know how to behave in public that potentially ruins it. Nothing Spasso can do- but there's something we can do- and sadly, that is- NOT return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Very noisy

Dined on February 11, 2016

We were told a large group gets together on Thursday nights for several hours of drinking g, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Lunch with friends

Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a great time. It's a good place to get together to catch up with friends. Our food was excellent and our waiter was attentive but not hovering. We did not feel rushed to eat and run. It is in my neighborhood of dining so an easy choice for me to make.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Out with a college friend

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

A friend was in town and staying in Minnetonka, so we decided to meet at Spasso. We were able to get a nice booth on the bar-side, shared a healthy entrée and a happy hour appetizer. We both had the house red and white wine, so reasonably priced and yet still tasty. I Will keep coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food, Awesome Service

Dined on February 7, 2016

This is not my first visit to Spasso's, however this is my first time with a larger group. I was very impressed; Inspite of the busy scene at the restaurant, we were seated quite smoothly, the server was very knowledgeable with the menu and all the different suggestions were extremely delicious. We had a different variety of tastes on the table, and everyone was just intrigued with the high quality of the food. Keep it up!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

We decided at last minute to grab some dinner close by home since our son was having some friends over. We had a very nice dinner, saw many of our friends at Spasso, and were home at a decent time. Will keep coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

It was overall a good experience. The se ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

It was overall a good experience. The service was great. The food was a little basic they could use a update on cooking practices. Overall worth the visit.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.