About Spaghetti Warehouse - Dayton

36 West Fifth Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

We are proud a place for friends and families that want to spend time together. We offer handmade/homemade Italian food with a bit of American abundance thrown in. We are most famous for our homemade Incredible 15-layer Lasagna and our famous sourdough bread with house made garlic butter spread.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Ludlow & Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 461-3913

Website:
http://www.meatballs.com/

Catering:
Call for catering menu.

Parking Details:
During Lunch hours only pay parking available, at meters and surrounding lots. After 5:30pm street parking and public lots around us become free and available for our guests.

Public Transit:
Bus stops right in front of our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Larry Bellah

Private Party Facilities:
Certain rooms can be private with enough people in the reservation. Must be a minimum of 45 people to get private and only when available.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Byrd: 9374613913

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Spaghetti Warehouse - Dayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Value
Dayton
Special Occasion
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Dayton ›

Good for Groups (21)
Kid-friendly (21)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Family Style (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Casual (3)
Romantic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
96 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to celebrate our daughter's 17th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went to celebrate our daughter's 17th birthday as a party of five. Our server was very sweet, and the food was abundant and tasty. The peach sangria was so yummy! We love the old time atmosphere and the food is always fresh and well prepared. We will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Historic, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great. Portions very small for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. Portions very small for the price. We had a group of nine the table was too small.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and good service! We enjoyed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food and good service! We enjoyed it very much ! Loved the food and such a nice Made a great night out for my granddaughter birthday!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spaghetti Warehouse never lets me down. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Spaghetti Warehouse never lets me down. The restaurant continues to impress me. Our reservation was for 6:30 and my party was seated promptly. Although we were in the bar area, it was not loud and only a few other people were eating in that area. We were able to converse easily among 9 people. The food was good and hot, the waiter was prompt, the prices very reasonable. All in all it was a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Family Style, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated right away and initial se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were seated right away and initial service as good then she became hard to find and forgot one of our request. Then she came back and gave good service, so just a lapse in service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have been there many times...place nee ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I have been there many times...place needs an update but food is cheap and good...but this time wait was so long we almost left and service was terrible...made me what to think twice about going back...would not recommend this place at this time...will give them another chance when I'm up for the task... and when you make reservations, why do you ask for special accommodations if the hostess doesn't even read them.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

A great place to go with family and for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

A great place to go with family and for group celebrations. The staff has always been friendly and helpful! The prices are good and they have coupons!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a fun place to go for a date wit ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is a fun place to go for a date with your spouse or to take friends! Good food and plenty of it!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal. Decent service. Gent ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding meal. Decent service. Gentleman making balloon animals for children popped at least 12 balloons in the 90 minutes we were there. Sounded like gun shots. Very disruptive

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value5

Great service, excellent food and quiet ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great service, excellent food and quiet environment for business meetings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience! This is the b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a great experience! This is the best bread and butter around and the menu is just as good!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us had the lasagna. It was exce ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Three of us had the lasagna. It was excellent- some of the best I have ever tasted. An excellent blend of cheeses and sauce. The fourth member in our party had the salad with grilled chicken and it was quite good also.

Even though it was busy, our server really hustled and was very friendly. We hadn't been to the SW for years, but we enjoyed our visit very much.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner at Spaghetti Warehouse is not a m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Dinner at Spaghetti Warehouse is not a major event, but it's not every-day dining either. The interior decor pulls from the era of streetcars (Classic Americana signage everywhere), and is matched by the dining car inside. Good for Birthdays, and with a staff that goes the extra mile for lactose-intolerant patrons.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a party of 11 for a vow renewal d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a party of 11 for a vow renewal dinner. Our table was ready for us when we arrived and service was amazing! As far as I know, no one had to ask for anything and we were all fed without any issues. GREAT experience for our 20 year anniversary!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a good quick lunch. Food is alway ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It was a good quick lunch. Food is always good. Always. Service was just ok. Nothing terrible but not outstanding by any stretch. It's a favorite Dayton pasta stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We were seated right away, we had reserv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were seated right away, we had reservation, right at opening@11. Although we had the worst, slowest waitress. The group of 13 who were all 70 - 80 that I brought could've walked faster. It took 15 minutes to get drinks & an hour to get our food. The food was very good. Also all the tables around us were in and out the restaurant in 30 minutes! A bus of 150 was seated right after us, all over in the back and they left 30 minutes before us! We were 2 tables 1 with 13 & 1 with 5.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We were seated right away, we had reserv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were seated right away, we had reservation, right at opening@11. Although we had the worst, slowest waitress. The group of 13 who were all 70 - 80 that I brought could've walked faster. It took 15 minutes to get drinks & an hour to get our food. The food was very good. Also all the tables around us were in and out the restaurant in 30 minutes! A bus of 150 was seated right after us, all over in the back and they left 30 minutes before us! We were 2 tables 1 with 13 & 1 with 5.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

I requested a booth and reserved in adva ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I requested a booth and reserved in advance but we got stuck in the back corner right next to the bar. It was pretty dusty and we were sitting right under a big tube television. It's like they almost forgot that we were coming and didn't have any other place to sit us but there. The waitress was very nice and the bread and ravioli appetizer were good, but we both got chicken Alfredo and it wasn't that great. My chicken was kind of pink and the pasta was overly creamy. I'm not the type of person to complain about a restaurant but I thought we would get a better seat than that. It was dark and very unromantic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Our waitress was a bit flaky not real at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waitress was a bit flaky not real attentive - didn't bring plates for bread and didn't fill water glasses without being asked. Food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

My only complaint is that our table was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My only complaint is that our table was very small for four people. It was in a corner and against a wall. Not good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I have lived in Dayton my entire life an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have lived in Dayton my entire life and gone to Spaghetti Warehouse many times, however not for some years, until recently. The first noticeable thing was the smell. It can only be described as moldy. Very strong and almost sickening. We ate in the trolley car and had a wonderful waitress. Food and service was very good. Prices about what I expected. My complaint is that the owners of this restaurant need to spend some money fixing the place up. First the smell then the next shock was the bathrooms. I of course did not see the mens room, but the ladies room was disgusting, so bad that even a good cleaning would not have helped much. All of the chairs seemed to be falling apart and tables leaning. I will not return until I hear of some updates being done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Food was disappointing. Service ok. Just ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was disappointing. Service ok. Just over all a disappointing time compared to previous experiences.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We went for Father's Day because they ha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day because they had a father's eat free special. The restaurant looked busy but not overly crowded. The food was good. Our waiter seemed very preoccupied and didn't listen well at all. I asked for bruschetta to be delivered instead of a salad for me but at the same time as the other salads at the table. It was delivered on soggy bread about 15 minutes after the salads. He didn't check to see how it was so I just picked at it. The waiter couldn't remember who ordered what when our meals came - we told him at the table and he still set the plates down in front of the wrong people. Our drinks ran out and he left them empty for at least 35 minutes. We tried to signal him several times because we were thirsty but he just kept walking right past our table, about 5-6 times. Our daughter finally had to stick her arm out in front of him and block his path to get his attention because we were so thirsty. He pretty much spent the entire time mooning over a table with 2 older couples and ignoring everyone else in his section. I'm not planning on ever going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

waitress was great..went there for fathe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

waitress was great..went there for father's day... Fathers eat free and there was no hassle and the prices are always good with good food...

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. They were slammed; ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent. They were slammed; so, the service was a little less than excellent but still OK. They get many large groups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I took 6 family members to eat here befo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I took 6 family members to eat here before going to see a show at the Schuster Center. We had reservations for 6pm which worked out great I thought. We didn't get our food until 7:15pm and I was very concerned about getting to the 8:00 pm show on time. Not sure I'd take a chance on going there again if I had to be someplace at a certain time downtown. Not very happy overall.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Reservations

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We used the online reservation & when we got there they didn't have it, said it rarely works. They were able to seat us but had to wait 15 mins

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I love going here. It's one of my favori ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I love going here. It's one of my favorite places to go but only every so often. I love the inside of the place it's really beautiful. I took my nephew who is only a month old and he was looking around at the ceiling and walls. Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Appealing meal

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always enjoy pasta and salad prior to the ballgame

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My most recent experience was very disap ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My most recent experience was very disappointing. I came with a group and from the moment we sat down we felt very rushed and the waitress was quite rude. I received the wrong entree and when I told the waitress she was not apologetic- in fact she acted inconvenienced. After my bad experience I would not return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Our experience at Spaghetti Warehouse wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our experience at Spaghetti Warehouse was fair or average. We had to wait a long time for our meal when the restaurant was not very busy at all. This was at 3:00 pm on a Saturday. Our waiter was friendly and nice. However, the rest of the staff didn't seem to provide the same quality of service. The table next to us was a large table and was left un-bussed the duration of out time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

It was all good!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

It was all good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place literally smells, not the smel ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The place literally smells, not the smell of food, but something like a combination of musty basement and garbage. It hits you when you enter the door and lingers ruining any appetite.

They wedged five of us into a table for four despite having multiple empty tables. Our server was overworked and bordered on rude. We were rushed through ordering and then waited forever for food and the check wait was even longer. The food was below average and made me wish for Fazolis and I am not a Fazolis fan. This location fails on all levels. Avoid it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

I had requested to have the Box Car for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I had requested to have the Box Car for a dinner with my daughter for a father/daughter dance. We had a great time and had plenty of room and great service from our server. Thanks again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I loved this place. I will be back soon.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I loved this place. I will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent but lacking on gluten-free food

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Very good. But my wife is gluten-free and the menu said gluten free options - meaning two gluten free options that are related to Italian. You have gluten free spaghetti, shouldn't you be able to make any spaghetti dish to be gluten-free?

Otherwise - so delicious! Little pricey, so delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a great meal here. There were so many people waiting for a table, but our reservation got us one in fifteen minutes. Sure glad we booked our table with "Open Table". We were really early for our show and the dinner was not rushed. Our server, Shawn, was terrific and a real comedian. Great service! Great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

All together we had a good time. But, I requested a table away from the kitchen and we ended up right by the kitchen. Very busy area, which is why I request a table away from the kitchen. When there were two tables open around the corner. My chair was hit by a waiter 4 times. I asked for a different table but was told they couldn't move us. My chair was about to fall apart. The host got me another one but it had two rips in the seat. My husband and friend chair were so short they keep saying how short they felt.

Our food was really great! The chocolate cake was amazing.

I do think the restaurant could do some up dates. New chairs and the restaurant could use a deep cleaning.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

First time I've been to Spaghetti Wareho ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

First time I've been to Spaghetti Warehouse for about 25 years. 15 Layer lasagna is just the same...terrific. Ate in the trolley car...terrific! Place hasn't changed a bit. Not the cleanest or most romantic place, but tasty food and an entertaining environment for kids, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A Meetng Place

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

An early evenng meal for a group and a group meeting place. It filled the bill and the service was great and the food was excellent. The noise was a little loud at first, but they turned down the music to accomodate our meetng. It made the difference. We will defintely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.