About Spaghetti Warehouse - Dayton

36 West Fifth Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

We are proud a place for friends and families that want to spend time together. We offer handmade/homemade Italian food with a bit of American abundance thrown in. We are most famous for our homemade Incredible 15-layer Lasagna and our famous sourdough bread with house made garlic butter spread.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Ludlow & Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 461-3913

Website:
http://www.meatballs.com/

Catering:
Call for catering menu.

Parking Details:
During Lunch hours only pay parking available, at meters and surrounding lots. After 5:30pm street parking and public lots around us become free and available for our guests.

Public Transit:
Bus stops right in front of our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Larry Bellah

Private Party Facilities:
Certain rooms can be private with enough people in the reservation. Must be a minimum of 45 people to get private and only when available.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Byrd: 9374613913

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Spaghetti Warehouse - Dayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Dayton ›

Casual (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Family Style (7)
Cozy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (6)
Historic (6)
Authentic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Romantic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the Feast for Two which was for t ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had the Feast for Two which was for the most part delicious. Our son and his wife also had this platter and everything on it was superb. My husband and I had a dried out piece of chicken parmigiana, but everything else was great. The only problem was our salads came out quickly and our entrees came out right away after the salad without a break which made for a crowded table and no time to enjoy the salad. The cheesecake with strawberries is incredible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Been to diffrent warehouse but this one ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Been to diffrent warehouse but this one was best of all

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived early for our reservation and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and they seated us right away. However that was about as good as it got. We sat for about 10 minutes before anyone came by and that was the hostess. She got our drinks but couldn't get alcohol for us. It took the server 5 more minutes to even come to our table. When we finally got our food, it was ok at best. It was pretty unorganized and chaotic. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Always a special treat. Consistently goo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always a special treat. Consistently good food: renowned Italian recipes for lasagna and spaghetti.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, really like the Sangria. Oft ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Good food, really like the Sangria. Often have coupon values to take advantage of.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Art did a pretty good job. The hostess w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Art did a pretty good job. The hostess was a little rude at the front but the food made up for it. Thanks Art for your patience and professionalism.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Waiter was excellent. Not sure how he d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Waiter was excellent. Not sure how he dealt with and remembered the "likes" of all 15 of us, but he did. He was waiter, bartender, and check-out staff. (Thursday night, September 29th)!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate our daughter's 17th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went to celebrate our daughter's 17th birthday as a party of five. Our server was very sweet, and the food was abundant and tasty. The peach sangria was so yummy! We love the old time atmosphere and the food is always fresh and well prepared. We will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Historic, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great. Portions very small for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was great. Portions very small for the price. We had a group of nine the table was too small.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and good service! We enjoyed ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food and good service! We enjoyed it very much ! Loved the food and such a nice Made a great night out for my granddaughter birthday!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spaghetti Warehouse never lets me down. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Spaghetti Warehouse never lets me down. The restaurant continues to impress me. Our reservation was for 6:30 and my party was seated promptly. Although we were in the bar area, it was not loud and only a few other people were eating in that area. We were able to converse easily among 9 people. The food was good and hot, the waiter was prompt, the prices very reasonable. All in all it was a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Family Style, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated right away and initial se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were seated right away and initial service as good then she became hard to find and forgot one of our request. Then she came back and gave good service, so just a lapse in service

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have been there many times...place nee ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I have been there many times...place needs an update but food is cheap and good...but this time wait was so long we almost left and service was terrible...made me what to think twice about going back...would not recommend this place at this time...will give them another chance when I'm up for the task... and when you make reservations, why do you ask for special accommodations if the hostess doesn't even read them.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

A great place to go with family and for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 29, 2016

A great place to go with family and for group celebrations. The staff has always been friendly and helpful! The prices are good and they have coupons!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a fun place to go for a date wit ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is a fun place to go for a date with your spouse or to take friends! Good food and plenty of it!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal. Decent service. Gent ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding meal. Decent service. Gentleman making balloon animals for children popped at least 12 balloons in the 90 minutes we were there. Sounded like gun shots. Very disruptive

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value5

Great service, excellent food and quiet ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great service, excellent food and quiet environment for business meetings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great experience! This is the b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always a great experience! This is the best bread and butter around and the menu is just as good!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us had the lasagna. It was exce ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Three of us had the lasagna. It was excellent- some of the best I have ever tasted. An excellent blend of cheeses and sauce. The fourth member in our party had the salad with grilled chicken and it was quite good also.

Even though it was busy, our server really hustled and was very friendly. We hadn't been to the SW for years, but we enjoyed our visit very much.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner at Spaghetti Warehouse is not a m ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Dinner at Spaghetti Warehouse is not a major event, but it's not every-day dining either. The interior decor pulls from the era of streetcars (Classic Americana signage everywhere), and is matched by the dining car inside. Good for Birthdays, and with a staff that goes the extra mile for lactose-intolerant patrons.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a party of 11 for a vow renewal d ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a party of 11 for a vow renewal dinner. Our table was ready for us when we arrived and service was amazing! As far as I know, no one had to ask for anything and we were all fed without any issues. GREAT experience for our 20 year anniversary!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a good quick lunch. Food is alway ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 13, 2016

It was a good quick lunch. Food is always good. Always. Service was just ok. Nothing terrible but not outstanding by any stretch. It's a favorite Dayton pasta stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We were seated right away, we had reserv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were seated right away, we had reservation, right at opening@11. Although we had the worst, slowest waitress. The group of 13 who were all 70 - 80 that I brought could've walked faster. It took 15 minutes to get drinks & an hour to get our food. The food was very good. Also all the tables around us were in and out the restaurant in 30 minutes! A bus of 150 was seated right after us, all over in the back and they left 30 minutes before us! We were 2 tables 1 with 13 & 1 with 5.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We were seated right away, we had reserv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were seated right away, we had reservation, right at opening@11. Although we had the worst, slowest waitress. The group of 13 who were all 70 - 80 that I brought could've walked faster. It took 15 minutes to get drinks & an hour to get our food. The food was very good. Also all the tables around us were in and out the restaurant in 30 minutes! A bus of 150 was seated right after us, all over in the back and they left 30 minutes before us! We were 2 tables 1 with 13 & 1 with 5.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

I requested a booth and reserved in adva ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 29, 2016

I requested a booth and reserved in advance but we got stuck in the back corner right next to the bar. It was pretty dusty and we were sitting right under a big tube television. It's like they almost forgot that we were coming and didn't have any other place to sit us but there. The waitress was very nice and the bread and ravioli appetizer were good, but we both got chicken Alfredo and it wasn't that great. My chicken was kind of pink and the pasta was overly creamy. I'm not the type of person to complain about a restaurant but I thought we would get a better seat than that. It was dark and very unromantic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Our waitress was a bit flaky not real at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waitress was a bit flaky not real attentive - didn't bring plates for bread and didn't fill water glasses without being asked. Food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

My only complaint is that our table was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2016

My only complaint is that our table was very small for four people. It was in a corner and against a wall. Not good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I have lived in Dayton my entire life an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have lived in Dayton my entire life and gone to Spaghetti Warehouse many times, however not for some years, until recently. The first noticeable thing was the smell. It can only be described as moldy. Very strong and almost sickening. We ate in the trolley car and had a wonderful waitress. Food and service was very good. Prices about what I expected. My complaint is that the owners of this restaurant need to spend some money fixing the place up. First the smell then the next shock was the bathrooms. I of course did not see the mens room, but the ladies room was disgusting, so bad that even a good cleaning would not have helped much. All of the chairs seemed to be falling apart and tables leaning. I will not return until I hear of some updates being done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Food was disappointing. Service ok. Just ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was disappointing. Service ok. Just over all a disappointing time compared to previous experiences.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We went for Father's Day because they ha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day because they had a father's eat free special. The restaurant looked busy but not overly crowded. The food was good. Our waiter seemed very preoccupied and didn't listen well at all. I asked for bruschetta to be delivered instead of a salad for me but at the same time as the other salads at the table. It was delivered on soggy bread about 15 minutes after the salads. He didn't check to see how it was so I just picked at it. The waiter couldn't remember who ordered what when our meals came - we told him at the table and he still set the plates down in front of the wrong people. Our drinks ran out and he left them empty for at least 35 minutes. We tried to signal him several times because we were thirsty but he just kept walking right past our table, about 5-6 times. Our daughter finally had to stick her arm out in front of him and block his path to get his attention because we were so thirsty. He pretty much spent the entire time mooning over a table with 2 older couples and ignoring everyone else in his section. I'm not planning on ever going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

waitress was great..went there for fathe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 19, 2016

waitress was great..went there for father's day... Fathers eat free and there was no hassle and the prices are always good with good food...

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. They were slammed; ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent. They were slammed; so, the service was a little less than excellent but still OK. They get many large groups.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I took 6 family members to eat here befo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 15, 2016

I took 6 family members to eat here before going to see a show at the Schuster Center. We had reservations for 6pm which worked out great I thought. We didn't get our food until 7:15pm and I was very concerned about getting to the 8:00 pm show on time. Not sure I'd take a chance on going there again if I had to be someplace at a certain time downtown. Not very happy overall.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Reservations

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 8, 2016

We used the online reservation & when we got there they didn't have it, said it rarely works. They were able to seat us but had to wait 15 mins

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I love going here. It's one of my favori ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I love going here. It's one of my favorite places to go but only every so often. I love the inside of the place it's really beautiful. I took my nephew who is only a month old and he was looking around at the ceiling and walls. Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Appealing meal

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always enjoy pasta and salad prior to the ballgame

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My most recent experience was very disap ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 8, 2016

My most recent experience was very disappointing. I came with a group and from the moment we sat down we felt very rushed and the waitress was quite rude. I received the wrong entree and when I told the waitress she was not apologetic- in fact she acted inconvenienced. After my bad experience I would not return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Our experience at Spaghetti Warehouse wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our experience at Spaghetti Warehouse was fair or average. We had to wait a long time for our meal when the restaurant was not very busy at all. This was at 3:00 pm on a Saturday. Our waiter was friendly and nice. However, the rest of the staff didn't seem to provide the same quality of service. The table next to us was a large table and was left un-bussed the duration of out time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

It was all good!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2016

It was all good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place literally smells, not the smel ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 19, 2016

The place literally smells, not the smell of food, but something like a combination of musty basement and garbage. It hits you when you enter the door and lingers ruining any appetite.

They wedged five of us into a table for four despite having multiple empty tables. Our server was overworked and bordered on rude. We were rushed through ordering and then waited forever for food and the check wait was even longer. The food was below average and made me wish for Fazolis and I am not a Fazolis fan. This location fails on all levels. Avoid it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.