About Spaghetti Warehouse - Dayton

36 West Fifth Street
Dayton, OH 45402
View Larger Map

We are proud a place for friends and families that want to spend time together. We offer handmade/homemade Italian food with a bit of American abundance thrown in. We are most famous for our homemade Incredible 15-layer Lasagna and our famous sourdough bread with house made garlic butter spread.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Ludlow & Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(937) 461-3913

Website:
http://www.meatballs.com/

Catering:
Call for catering menu.

Parking Details:
During Lunch hours only pay parking available, at meters and surrounding lots. After 5:30pm street parking and public lots around us become free and available for our guests.

Public Transit:
Bus stops right in front of our restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Larry Bellah

Private Party Facilities:
Certain rooms can be private with enough people in the reservation. Must be a minimum of 45 people to get private and only when available.

Private Party Contact:
Kelly Byrd: 9374613913

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Spaghetti Warehouse - Dayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Value
Dayton
Best Restaurants in Dayton ›

good for groups (22)
kid-friendly (22)
special occasion (16)
See All
great for lunch (14)
fit for foodies (7)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
romantic (2)
Sort By:
Newest
82 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a good quick lunch. Food is alway ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

It was a good quick lunch. Food is always good. Always. Service was just ok. Nothing terrible but not outstanding by any stretch. It's a favorite Dayton pasta stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We were seated right away, we had reserv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were seated right away, we had reservation, right at opening@11. Although we had the worst, slowest waitress. The group of 13 who were all 70 - 80 that I brought could've walked faster. It took 15 minutes to get drinks & an hour to get our food. The food was very good. Also all the tables around us were in and out the restaurant in 30 minutes! A bus of 150 was seated right after us, all over in the back and they left 30 minutes before us! We were 2 tables 1 with 13 & 1 with 5.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We were seated right away, we had reserv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were seated right away, we had reservation, right at opening@11. Although we had the worst, slowest waitress. The group of 13 who were all 70 - 80 that I brought could've walked faster. It took 15 minutes to get drinks & an hour to get our food. The food was very good. Also all the tables around us were in and out the restaurant in 30 minutes! A bus of 150 was seated right after us, all over in the back and they left 30 minutes before us! We were 2 tables 1 with 13 & 1 with 5.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

I requested a booth and reserved in adva ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I requested a booth and reserved in advance but we got stuck in the back corner right next to the bar. It was pretty dusty and we were sitting right under a big tube television. It's like they almost forgot that we were coming and didn't have any other place to sit us but there. The waitress was very nice and the bread and ravioli appetizer were good, but we both got chicken Alfredo and it wasn't that great. My chicken was kind of pink and the pasta was overly creamy. I'm not the type of person to complain about a restaurant but I thought we would get a better seat than that. It was dark and very unromantic.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Our waitress was a bit flaky not real at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waitress was a bit flaky not real attentive - didn't bring plates for bread and didn't fill water glasses without being asked. Food was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

My only complaint is that our table was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My only complaint is that our table was very small for four people. It was in a corner and against a wall. Not good!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I have lived in Dayton my entire life an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have lived in Dayton my entire life and gone to Spaghetti Warehouse many times, however not for some years, until recently. The first noticeable thing was the smell. It can only be described as moldy. Very strong and almost sickening. We ate in the trolley car and had a wonderful waitress. Food and service was very good. Prices about what I expected. My complaint is that the owners of this restaurant need to spend some money fixing the place up. First the smell then the next shock was the bathrooms. I of course did not see the mens room, but the ladies room was disgusting, so bad that even a good cleaning would not have helped much. All of the chairs seemed to be falling apart and tables leaning. I will not return until I hear of some updates being done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Food was disappointing. Service ok. Just ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was disappointing. Service ok. Just over all a disappointing time compared to previous experiences.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We went for Father's Day because they ha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day because they had a father's eat free special. The restaurant looked busy but not overly crowded. The food was good. Our waiter seemed very preoccupied and didn't listen well at all. I asked for bruschetta to be delivered instead of a salad for me but at the same time as the other salads at the table. It was delivered on soggy bread about 15 minutes after the salads. He didn't check to see how it was so I just picked at it. The waiter couldn't remember who ordered what when our meals came - we told him at the table and he still set the plates down in front of the wrong people. Our drinks ran out and he left them empty for at least 35 minutes. We tried to signal him several times because we were thirsty but he just kept walking right past our table, about 5-6 times. Our daughter finally had to stick her arm out in front of him and block his path to get his attention because we were so thirsty. He pretty much spent the entire time mooning over a table with 2 older couples and ignoring everyone else in his section. I'm not planning on ever going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

waitress was great..went there for fathe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

waitress was great..went there for father's day... Fathers eat free and there was no hassle and the prices are always good with good food...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. They were slammed; ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was excellent. They were slammed; so, the service was a little less than excellent but still OK. They get many large groups.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I took 6 family members to eat here befo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I took 6 family members to eat here before going to see a show at the Schuster Center. We had reservations for 6pm which worked out great I thought. We didn't get our food until 7:15pm and I was very concerned about getting to the 8:00 pm show on time. Not sure I'd take a chance on going there again if I had to be someplace at a certain time downtown. Not very happy overall.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Reservations

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We used the online reservation & when we got there they didn't have it, said it rarely works. They were able to seat us but had to wait 15 mins

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

I love going here. It's one of my favori ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I love going here. It's one of my favorite places to go but only every so often. I love the inside of the place it's really beautiful. I took my nephew who is only a month old and he was looking around at the ceiling and walls. Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Appealing meal

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always enjoy pasta and salad prior to the ballgame

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My most recent experience was very disap ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My most recent experience was very disappointing. I came with a group and from the moment we sat down we felt very rushed and the waitress was quite rude. I received the wrong entree and when I told the waitress she was not apologetic- in fact she acted inconvenienced. After my bad experience I would not return or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Our experience at Spaghetti Warehouse wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our experience at Spaghetti Warehouse was fair or average. We had to wait a long time for our meal when the restaurant was not very busy at all. This was at 3:00 pm on a Saturday. Our waiter was friendly and nice. However, the rest of the staff didn't seem to provide the same quality of service. The table next to us was a large table and was left un-bussed the duration of out time there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

It was all good!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

It was all good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place literally smells, not the smel ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The place literally smells, not the smell of food, but something like a combination of musty basement and garbage. It hits you when you enter the door and lingers ruining any appetite.

They wedged five of us into a table for four despite having multiple empty tables. Our server was overworked and bordered on rude. We were rushed through ordering and then waited forever for food and the check wait was even longer. The food was below average and made me wish for Fazolis and I am not a Fazolis fan. This location fails on all levels. Avoid it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

I had requested to have the Box Car for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I had requested to have the Box Car for a dinner with my daughter for a father/daughter dance. We had a great time and had plenty of room and great service from our server. Thanks again.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I loved this place. I will be back soon.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I loved this place. I will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent but lacking on gluten-free food

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Very good. But my wife is gluten-free and the menu said gluten free options - meaning two gluten free options that are related to Italian. You have gluten free spaghetti, shouldn't you be able to make any spaghetti dish to be gluten-free?

Otherwise - so delicious! Little pricey, so delicious.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a great meal here. There were so many people waiting for a table, but our reservation got us one in fifteen minutes. Sure glad we booked our table with "Open Table". We were really early for our show and the dinner was not rushed. Our server, Shawn, was terrific and a real comedian. Great service! Great food!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

All together we had a good time. But, I requested a table away from the kitchen and we ended up right by the kitchen. Very busy area, which is why I request a table away from the kitchen. When there were two tables open around the corner. My chair was hit by a waiter 4 times. I asked for a different table but was told they couldn't move us. My chair was about to fall apart. The host got me another one but it had two rips in the seat. My husband and friend chair were so short they keep saying how short they felt.

Our food was really great! The chocolate cake was amazing.

I do think the restaurant could do some up dates. New chairs and the restaurant could use a deep cleaning.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

First time I've been to Spaghetti Wareho ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

First time I've been to Spaghetti Warehouse for about 25 years. 15 Layer lasagna is just the same...terrific. Ate in the trolley car...terrific! Place hasn't changed a bit. Not the cleanest or most romantic place, but tasty food and an entertaining environment for kids, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A Meetng Place

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

An early evenng meal for a group and a group meeting place. It filled the bill and the service was great and the food was excellent. The noise was a little loud at first, but they turned down the music to accomodate our meetng. It made the difference. We will defintely return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a nice meal. We have been many t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Always a nice meal. We have been many times and our expectations are always met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was a little disappointed that I made a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Was a little disappointed that I made a reservation and was given a table for 10 in the bar area. We had 4 children with us and we were celebrating a birthday and felt very crowded with the bar guests standing right next to us. Food was good. Spaghetti and meatballs had very little sauce. I took home leftovers but had to request more sauce for my leftovers or it would have just been noodles and a meatball. Service was fair. Server attended to us but wasn't very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Great but don't reserve online. Doesn't work.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We reserved 3 days in advanced and show up and they say we didn't. I had the email showing we did and they even sent another email the day of reminding us of our reservations. They still didn't show it. So we had to wait, and we didn't get a booth as requested because the wait was too long. The atmosphere was great, just don't reserve online.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My friend had lasagne and loved it. I h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

My friend had lasagne and loved it. I had spaghetti with marinara sauce. I thought the spaghetti was great but could have used more sauce, less tomato chunks. The wholemeal was very good though.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Date Night

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on November 18, 2015

My husband and I were having Date Night so we chose the Spaghetti Warehouse. Our waitress was a gem. The staff was excellent from beginning to end. Thank You for making Date Night incredible. My husband loved loved loved that 12 layer chocolate cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service and food

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

There were 8 of from work and we all enjoyed our meal. 2 of us shared the meal for 2 and we actually had enough left overs for 3

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great family restaurant.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

I loved being able to book a reservation on line. Our table was ready when we arrived. Our server,

Misty was most attentive and helpful. The food was great as always. We've been coming there for 30+ years and still love to come back especially for family celebrations.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All is good, lasagna sauce needs work

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Great service, server was above par, checked back often, met all our needs. The food was good, but the lasagna sauce needs work. This was agreed by all 6 of us at the table. Too heavy a tomato flavor without the benefit of herbs. It was like bland tomato sauce practically like just

out of a can. Portions on all meals were more than adequate, bread was great, love the garlic butter. Area was clean and so were utensils and plates. Very friendly atmosphere. All considered, good experience and I will return, but I will not have the lasagna.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Family dinner

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

I was very suprised and delighted that I was able to make a reservation on Open Table, very nice. I had a group of 11 including a little baby and small children so I didn't want to have to wait a long time for a table.

We walked right in and our table was ready!!

Our waiter was fabulous!!!!!!! Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Spaghetti Warehouse

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The food and service was great. The issue we ran into was our reservation not being available on their list. They told the first to arrive (we had a reservation for 15) that we had no reservation. They arrived a bit early and this caused a bit of concern until I was able to clear things up by showing them my email from open table. All in all a good experience once this was cleared up.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Spaghetti Warehouse

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Nice but inexperienced server. Lasagna was good but salads were wilted and tasted "moldy", bread was stale, and other entrees were just okay.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

One of my favorites

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on October 8, 2015

This is a great moderately-priced restaurant. The ambiance is eclectic. Has a broad menu of mostly Italian dishes. This restaurant seems to be popular with large groups.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

When we arrived they couldn't find our reservation, but they seated us right away even though the place was packed and the wait looked long. Our waitress was wonderful. I had the strawberry lemonade which was fabulous. My husband had the Arnold Palmer which was also great. I had the manicotti which was really tasty. My husband had the pasta with sausage--delicious. Even though the place was packed, we told our waitress that we were heading to a show and she had our food out quickly. The bread is so good--that herbed butter is incredible. Also the ranch dressing for the salad is excellent. The best part is the cost--so reasonable for a really good meal!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

My husband took me here for our 8 year wedding anniversary, we had never been. The food was good, didnt care too much for the bread but it was ok. Our server was awesome, I wish I could remember his name. We ordered the wedding cake martinis, those were delishious. We also had some fun with the games out front. All in all it was a good experience. We also had a bogo free coupon so that made the meal a little under $27 for us both, and with the drinks Id say that is a steal of a deal. We will be back for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.