Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

About Southside Bistro

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 20 years in a row.
Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 9:00pm.
Fridays and Saturdays: 4:00pm to 10:00pm.
Closed on Sunday and Monday.

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (20)
GoodForDates (19)
NeighborhoodGem (19)
See All
Birthdays (17)
Romance (16)
Anniversaries (16)
Foodies (15)
QuietConversation (15)
Casual (15)
NotableWineList (14)
Lunch (12)
CreativeCuisine (12)
Groups (10)
Cozy (10)
BusinessMeals (9)
OpenKitchen (8)
PrePostTheatre (8)
LocalIngredients (7)
Healthy (7)
WorthTheDrive (6)
Authentic (5)
BarSeating (5)
HappyHour (4)
Fireplace (4)
Fun (4)
PaleoFriendly (3)
DisabledAccess (2)
GreatBeer (2)
TastingMenu (2)
WoodOven (2)
GlutenFree (2)
ChildFriendly (2)
AfternoonCoffee (2)
ComfortFood (2)
SundayLunch (2)
HandcraftedCocktails (1)
QuickBite (1)
Seasonal (1)
PeopleWatching (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
HotSpot (1)
LateNightFind (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
Organic (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
Brunch (1)
ModernDecor (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
Sort By:
S
754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Always good!!! Fresh items on the menu, great wine selection

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 18, 2017

SSB never disappoints. Food and service is the best.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Definitely a disappointment. My husband's entree was really good, but overall the rest of the food for the price we paid was not impressive at all.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was delicious. My husband had the filet migon.
I had the fish special.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Four of us had the salmon and it was amazing. I asked for a glass of Cabernet. Not sure what I got but it was great too. We haven't eaten here in years because we live on the other side of town but I'm committed to going back again soon!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Recently moved here from Maryland and SB has become a staple. All around great place to dine, good for a business meal, good for special occasions, good for an everyday meal with very attentive staff. Definitely a recommended visit.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Without a doubt, I was served the best Filet Mignon I have ever eaten - very tender and perfectly grilled. My wife had the rack of Lamb which was also delightful and oh so tender. The sides are always prepared in a healthy way and decent for the size of the meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food & service were great - as usual. Always our favorite anniversary place to go!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My friend and I had a casual get together. Everything was perfect. Our waiter was very professional and attentive. We had locally sourced shrimp and were delighted with our dinners.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We've had better experiences at Southside Bistro. Namely, when it was just my wife, myself, and our four day old infant. This time around we came to the restaurant as a party of four adults and four children. We were automatically charged the 18% gratuity fee because our party was "8 or more people." Never mind that two of the children were three and two and sat on their mother's laps most of the dinner. It was apparent that one waitress was being trained during our dinner; however, it was lackluster service regardless -- not very good outlook as far as training for future solo dinners for the newer waitress. We had to ask for refills and a second service of beer and wine after continually not being asked. One of the hamburgers was ordered medium and one medium rare, but both burgers were rare (which wasn't necessarily bad, but not how we ordered them). As three of our party members were still eating only the water boy came back to refill water glasses; neither waitress came around to ask if we wanted refills or more beverages.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 10, 2017

we truly enjoyed the experience. it had been several years since the other member had dined at the bistro. this was my first experience. i thought the menu was well presented; and the entree was very good! the server was attentive without being overly so. overall..........i look forward to the next time!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The pasta was inedible- gummy, flavorless, overcooked egg, lacked ingredients. We each didn't take more than a few bites (after adding 4 rounds of salt and dousing it in cheese, still terrible). Still paid for it, even after telling the waiter we did not like it at all.

The bread pudding was dried out and tasted moldy, there was a lack of flavoring there too.

We received the check before we were done eating with a 'no rush.' This is annoying. If it's no rush, then don't give us the check yet. Train your waiters.

The blue cheese appetizer was amazing, so we may be back just to eat that and drink wine.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great wood fired nacho! I wish my wine glass had a little more wine and that they offered a corona beer

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 22, 2017

When ever I want to experience a special evening out this is the place. No hard booze is a good thing too, enjoy a glass of wine with friends.
Our server was one of the best.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent! The food and service are always first rate. I come here almost daily

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent and prompt service. Wonderfully delicious food beautifully presented. Our first visit which will result in others when we come into town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good - the fresh halibut dish was fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went there for 11th wedding anniversary. Pleasantly surprised. Initial confusion as there is another restaurant with a similar name and we went there first. Overall a nice experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Always receive great food and service at southside Bistro.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food and service was great as always! Ambience was rated a little low because our table was close to the door and kitchen, so there was more traffic and noise than most other tables would have experienced. Next time we'll just ask for a different table.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything about the place is wonderful, including staff.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Appetizer: The fresh mussels sauteed in a saffron cream were excellent. We had to order more bread to soak up the delicious broth. Suggestion: provide a soup spoon with this appetizer, the better to finish off the broth!

The fresh spaghettoni and the fresh rigatoni were served too al dente. Better than too soft, however. The sauce base was identical for each dish, though each had different and interesting add-ins.

The pork schnitzel breaded cutlet was served overly browned, with the breading near-burnt. It was cheerfully and promptly re-served with properly golden breading, but the pork itself was dry and tasteless.

The Pacific cod special was excellent.

The beef tenderloin was good.

Wine: Chateau Ste. Michelle Indian Wells, Columbia Valley, at $39.00/bottle, was the least costly Cab on the wine menu, unless we missed a page. Excellent wine (our table of 6 had two bottles), but out of place given the level of the evening's cooking.

Dessert: Peach & raspberry cobbler: excellent. Classic vanilla crème brûlée with fruit sauces: great caramelized crust, but the crème itself was rather thin and bland. The fruit sauces were artfully arranged, in Etch-a-Sketch fashion, on the plate holding the ramekin, which meant that they were all intertwined and difficult to apply separately to the crème, plus most of the sauces remained on the plate. A pretty presentation, but a waste of good fruit sauce.

Service: uniformly attentive, friendly and responsive.

Ambiance: moderate noise, softly lit, with beautiful, full-size copies of 1930's posters for various French aperitifs on all the walls. A very nice feature.

We've been to the Southside Bistro when the cooking has been better. The service and ambiance, however, have always been unwaveringly excellent.

We'll be back, tho', and hope for better cooking!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I've always had great food here, but have developed some allergies and had to order the pasta with duck sausage, as I'm allergic to tomato. I imagined nice grilled chunks of crispy duck sausage . . .but was disappointed to have tiny bits of "hamburger" like meat that was not all that flavorful, and the sauce was pretty boring. First time I've been disappointed and everyone else in our party enjoyed their order. My point being, a great restaurant should never have a bad menu item. I'm sure they could come up with a better pasta dish, even with duck sausage. Otherwise, everything else was good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Consistently a very good place to dine with the family or for a special occasion.
The menu includes fresh local options. I particularly like the soups.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Waitress could only handle one table at a time. Forgot to enter our order, did not service our table. Waited 45 mins for less than half full restaurant, salads & sandwiches.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The Southside Bistro is one of my favorite restaurants in Anchorage. The food is exceptional, the service is professional, and the ambiance is relaxed. I try to dine at the Southside Bistro whenever I am in Anchorage.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent as always, Dan, Kerry, Michael consummate professionals!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Tomato Bisque Excellent
Spinach Salads ok. Caesar --small ordered but it was Giant size.
Blueberry sorbet--excellent

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Never a bad meal. We take all our visitors here for their "welcome to Anchorage" meal and have never been disappointed or had to apologize for not good food. The service is quick and friendly and the time between ordering and receiving our meals is always faster than expected. We like this restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

When planning a night out Southside Bistro is always at the top of our list. Our family always feels welcomed, always has great service and always leaves having had a great food and dining experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Poor service this visit. Usually service is spot on.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A southern Anchorage gem that competes and even bests some of the downtown dining. To make a comparison I feel my two experiences at Sullivan's Steakhouse were overpriced and did not meet my palate like Southside Bistro. Many spots in Anchorage over salt food. The cuisine at Southside Bistro had a harmonic balance where my date and I's palates could fully indulge and savor each course. The service was attentive yet had a wonderful flow to not interrupt like the question "how is your food" was at a time we weren't conversing and had taken pause from eating. Our hosting staff were cheerful and friendly. My special occasion went well, and so did two other birthdays in other groups nearby-yet the noise level was minimal. Each of us had separately enjoyable evenings. I'm excited to return and enjoy with other groups/ occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Organic, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful as Always!
Great People and Great Service!
Food Beyond Awesome!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always a pleasure!! So happy that the Southside Bistro is right in the neighborhood!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Had a booth in the back of the dining room so was quiet. One of the best restaurnat meals we have had in Anchorage.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Steaks were way under cooked and kinda tuff for a filet.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent service and very good food. Fine dinning for adults, dates, business or romance. Average price, per person for wine, apps, and main entrée was $45-50.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We look forward to the next time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The scallop & crabcake starter in sauce americain was outstanding. For a main course, I selected the veal special , which on that day was medallions of veal loin, seared and served in a veal jus with melted Brie and lingonberries. A very creative & heavenly combination. Melted in my mouth. For dessert I had the warm blackberry cobbler with homemade vanilla ice cream, which was also delicious. I had a Pinot Gris with the scallops and a Syrah with the veal. A spectacular meal, can't wait to return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.