About Southside Bistro

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 10 years in a row. Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Duet of Maple Leaf Duck
  • Dark Chocolate Terrine
  • Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir
  • Pizza
  • Cobbler
Duet of Maple Leaf Duck
Dark Chocolate Terrine
Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir
Pizza
Cobbler

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
10 More
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (43)
fit for foodies (37)
neighborhood gem (37)
See All
notable wine list (26)
romantic (23)
great for lunch (20)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've never had a bad meal here. Staff is ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I've never had a bad meal here. Staff is always friendly and helpful and provide great service. Food is always top notch

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You'd never know what a gem it is from t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

You'd never know what a gem it is from the outside - A high-end restaurant hidden in a strip mall with a rooster on their sign.

The service was excellent as was the food. They gladly accommodated our request to be seated farther from the bar. A subtle hint that it was my wife's birthday brought us a beautifully prepared dessert plate - but no awkward singing. Our glasses were never left empty and plates not removed until all were finished eating - just like my mother taught me at home.

The prices make it a special occasion eatery for us, but the quality and preparation accurately reflecte the price. The many fresh seafood offerings are a standout.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place always great food and fu ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love this place always great food and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good food and wine selectio ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Consistently good food and wine selection for a date night with the wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We were celebrating out 47th anniversary ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were celebrating out 47th anniversary and were not disappointed. My steak was flavorful and sufficiently large that I had leftovers for lunch the next day. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his scallops and prawns. We shared a salad and were glad that we hadn't ordered one for each of us - our shared salad was just the right amount and we weren't too full from that and our entrée to have desert. The desert menu hasn't changed for a long time and isn't very exciting - even the fact that there are daily specials among the deserts wasn't helpful. We ended up sharing a dish of ice cream and were happy with it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a special day. And ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were celebrating a special day. And it didn't seem like that matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had not been here in years however it ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had not been here in years however it won't be as long until our next meal there. The seafood chowder was the best we have had and the Caesar salad was yummy. We had seafood for our main courses and both were great. Our server was knowledgable and friendly. We enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Southside Bistro never lets me down! The ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Southside Bistro never lets me down! The food and service is always top-notch!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants - food i ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants - food is good - service is always good. And it's really close to our house, making it really easy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful like always

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wonderful like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to this restaurant many times. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times. Had the scallops and prawns with rice. The rice was a mix of white and wild, and looked and tasted like a mix from a box. A little disappointed. (If the pilaf was made from scratch, I would recommend changing the recipe). My partner ordered the pork schnitzel which was a lot better than my entree.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service and the food were top notch! ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service and the food were top notch! Add the extensive selection of wines in various price ranges and you have the ultimate experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Southside Bistro is amazing

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The pistachio encrusted halibut with saffron cream sauce is delectable. Also the peach and raspberry cobbler is so delicious

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 11th ann ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 11th anniversary with dinner here and it was absolutely wonderful! We ordered the blue cheese custard for our appetizer, my husband got tomato cream soup as well. So tasty! The lamb and scallops were equally as tasty and my peach raspberry cobbler was the perfect ending to a perfect meal!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southside Bistro is always a favorite fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Southside Bistro is always a favorite for lunch or a special dinner. Good value for money. Inventive dishes and food is always fresh and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Quite delicious and great service

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We got right in when we got to the restaurant - had reservations ahead of time, but was afraid that since it was a Friday night it'd a bit of a wait. But we got right in and our drinks and food were all delivered very fast and the servers were excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always love coming here as the food i ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We always love coming here as the food is consistently good and they are creative with new recipes and preparation.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I celebrated Mother's Day and had a very good time. The service was very good and the food was excellent. We got the booth we wanted and the evening was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Southside Bistro Offers Good Value

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Southside Bistro offers a menu with good variety, pleasant ambience at a reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The best restaurant I've experienced on ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The best restaurant I've experienced on Anchorage Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and able to have conversati ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Awesome food and able to have conversation without shouting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Conveniently got a reservation through Open Table. Service was most excellent and main course and desert were perfect.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kerry was a great server! Very attentive ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Kerry was a great server! Very attentive but not over bearing. He and and cook staff made sure everything was out in perfect timing. I really have no complaints, I will definitely be back! The scallops are spot on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner Special

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was delicious (rack of Lamb for my husband which he loved) (scallops for me- i would have liked them cooked just a bit more). I mentioned that it was my husband's birthday when reserving our table and the Staff remembered and did an excellent job catering to him and making him feel special. The desert presentation was the best with a large 'Happy Birthday' written in chocolate sauce on the plate of his Peach Bread Pudding!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Menu Changes with Season

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We have been going to Southside Bistro for years and a wonderful thing is that they change the menu items with the seasons, and when the same season comes around it is not necessarily the same as it was previously, and its all good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing- Obrien was great :)

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Service was amazing- Obrien was great :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Our dinner was perfect in every way, the wife likes the Bleu Cheese Cream Custard appetizer. The Rockfish was very fresh. I don't think you can ever have a bad meal there. Nice to Jen's there too. Our waiter Kelly is the best, 40 yrs experience. You have to go if you have never been there. The portions are unbelievably large for that scale of restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter really didn't check up on us ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The waiter really didn't check up on us at all. We had to ask for more water. Not sure if he just had too many tables but was not attentive at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

A good place for quality dining.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

On of the best restaurants in Anchorage. The only inconvenience is the space. Tables are close to each other. Recommend it to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

the whole experience was as good as it always is, it is worth coming to eat, even by ones self

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Always great food and service, it has been too long! We tend to stick closer to home, but need to make the exception more often for Southside Bistro - and will!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice evening

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Very friendly and inviting . We will definitely go back ! The food was great and good prices

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the dinner. What a grea ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I really enjoyed the dinner. What a great place! I had to change my reservations last minute they took care of us with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu diversity

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

I am a vegetarian and I do love and eat lots of fish. There were a couple items on the menu (shrimp and scallops) and also King salmon as a special but all came with very unusual sides or sauces. I would have liked to see a bit more leaning toward a vegetarian selection. I ordered an appetizer and a salad and they were both excellent. All our food (3 of us) was very good, I was just disappointed that there wasn't a simpler vegetarian selection.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best restaurant in Anchorage.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Southside Bistro is, hands-down, the Best Restaurant in Anchorage. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the Best

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

My wife and I went here for our first time for her Birthday. Very difficult to find a parking spot but we did find one. Ive got a nice little ding in my door to prove it. We ere seated quickly and the person seating us told my wife happy birthday as I had mentioned that upon making reservations. Our waiter was not the most friendly. Didn't say a word about my wifes birthday and kept asking us if we wanted wine or cappuccino. The food was decent and our water was always filled promptly but not from our waiter. I'd rather spend the money to go to crowns nest, 7 glaciers or Simon and Seaforts. We've never gone wrong there. I wont recommend this place nor will I go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Best menu in South Anchorage

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Very well thought out menu with a selection of modern and traditional entrees. Great appetizers, Large quality wine selection. The staff is professional, polite and knowledgeable from the hostess, waiter, chef and servers. Kudos to the management & owners. Also, on a side note Southside Bistro has the BEST lamb in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding!

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

As a vegan, I was truly impressed with Chef Travis' creativity and appreciated his phone call the day before to confer with me on my likes and dislikes. The food was AMAZING!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an awesome dining experience. Tha ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Always an awesome dining experience. Thank you a wonderful evening with wonderful food, wine, beer and a relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy as always

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great dinner again at the Bistro. The food was fantastic and our waiter was friendlier than ever. Matt? I think that was his name. Anyway, steaks were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.