Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

About Southside Bistro

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 20 years in a row.
Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 9:00pm.
Fridays and Saturdays: 4:00pm to 10:00pm.
Closed on Sunday and Monday.

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (30)
Romantic (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Casual (19)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Fun (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (9)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Filet mignon was the best I've had in Anchorage! It was cooked perfect. I usually have to sent it back but not this time. Ribeye was cooked to perfection as well. Bread was good but some butter or even flavored olive oil would have been good with it. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 7 days ago

We visited the place of our original date for our seven year wedding anniversary. The place hasn't changed and their service was excellent as usual. Perfect place for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 7 days ago

A hidden gem in south Anchorage is worth visiting for a bistro style or fine dining experience. Worth walking to if necessary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We havent been to Southside in over a year but have always liked it. However, this time the menu was fresh and creative with many excellent new appetizers, salads & main dishes. Excellent seafood optionsand perfectly done.

One of our all around favorites tonight was one of the specuals, cajun grits with poached for example and fresh Alaskan spot shrimp. Amazing!

...and for dessert? Look at this great presentation:

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I'd never been here and was anxious to try it. I was underwhelmed. The waitress was good and attentive. The steak ordered medium was rare. Offer to put it back on the grill halfway through the meal was weak. The meat was over sauced. The duck was ok but also overseasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Eric Wassell was the best waiter. We enjoyed our evening so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always good food well prepared and presented. Friendly environment. Has a more formal side and a more casual side depending on the occasion. Very good with kids on the casual dining side.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Food was great and the service was excellent. Wine selection was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The service was very poor by the waiter, never asked for refills on drinks, also brought out our bread at the end of our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always great food, great service!! Excellent choice for small or bigger get togethers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Carey was our server, as he has often been there. His service is consistently friendly and fabulous!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Nice place and delicious dinner. We celebrated my best friend birthday with her kids and everyone had a great time. Staff was very pleased and highly recommended!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great place to take out of town friends for a delicious meal!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always love this place! The food is fantastic, the staff is always great. Love their wine. Very comfortable environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Always top shelf, wait staff are the best in Anchorage. Specifically Linda, Michael & Kerry.

Our favorite place for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Wonderful service, never felt rushed, quiet enough to hold comfortable conversations, great food- as usual!. Thanx

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Been a patron of South Side Bistro for over a decade. They've consistently come through withhigh quality, diverse fare that delivers in both presentation and vivid flavors! Of course great service as well..

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was great but service needs to improve. .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Southside cuisine features fresh, well-matched ingredients. A sublime favorite is the grilled scallops and risotto in truffle cream (appetizer or light entree).. Many entrees come with a generous serving of fresh vegetables. The desserts were a highlight: a perfect espresso mousse, a thoroughly banana-chocolate-infused bread pudding, and a fruit cobbler. The cobbler was served with eye-catching artistry: a colorful "painting" of sabayon, kiwi, raspberry, mango, and chocolate sauces. Regarding ambience, it was lively with interesting French accents, except for the feeling of descending dusk created by the black, nearly opaque, window blinds. The only culinary downside was that the salad vinaigrettes were acidic and over-applied: order your salad with a side of dressing if this is a concern. In general, this is an upscale, cheery restaurant with high-quality, thoughtful cuisine that sometimes transcends to artful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Elegant dining without overstatement, excellent wine and beer selections, diverse menu and comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Best place to have a special meal especially black bean soup and eggplant mediterranean

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Vegan, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Never been disappointed here...always a wonderful experience. It's a neighborhood gem!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

This is the restaurant that the locals love; the south side haven for good food and wine. The menu focuses on fresh preparations interesting sauces and lovely presentations my steady favorite are the hangar steak and the scallops. But their local fish specials are great. But the duck should not be missed either

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Restaurant was nice and service great, but the food was over priced and not that great, also not a very big selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Love this place. Always the best service and food. Such a great place to meet up with friends or have a couples night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The service and food was excellent. We could not have asked for anything more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Terrific little spot for an upscale dinner. I had the duck breast and it was delicious. I have now been twice and will definitely be back.

The reason for four stars on dinner - mine was slightly over cooked (medium well). I was hungry and didn't want to send it back. Love the overall menu here.

Oh, they have a quality wine list and reasonable prices.

This is one of my favorites in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Oysters were outstanding. Great service. Great neighborhood spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Southside Bistro always delivers with great food and wonderful service. It's one of our favorite restaurants in Anchorage and it is great to have a such a wonderful restaurant in south Anchorage.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2017

A nice neighborhood place. The menu is mundane but suited to the clientele; solid, middle of the road, recognizable. It's a good place to take you're Grandma and Grandpa for their anniversary. Nothing too exciting, nothing too challenging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our last night of our Alaska vacation could not have been better thanks to Southside Bistro. What s fabulous dinner!! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 28, 2017

For a last night dinner before our daughter moved to Asia for a year, Southside Bistro is difficult to beat for such good food in a relaxed setting. It is always a treat to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We always enjoy the cuisine and great service provided at South Side Bistro.
It is our favorite Anchorage restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Superb halibut, perfectly cooked. Waiters are too busy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always enjoy SSB but that night it was extra noisy for a Tuesday - our meals were sup par from previous times - portions were smaller it seemed and meat dishes were over done. Ambiance is nice but the noise level is way UP there.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent food. Service started slow but eventually picked up. Did I say excellent food? Yes!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Fun, Disabled Access, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We love this place. Order the blue cheese custard appetizer, it's the best thing on the planet ; Seriously, the food is always fantastic, menu has a lot of diversity. Kerry, our server, really knew his wine and made some great suggestions. It's just a wee bit loud, but not terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Probably one of the top three kitchens in Anchorage - perhaps in the State!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 13, 2017

My wife and I normally like to sit on the casual dining side and split a burger and salad but tonight we thought we'd go to the adult side since it was our anniversary. We both had pasta dishes and they were incredible. We've had homemade pasta in Italy and this certainly rivaled that experience. Fantastic wine selection and our server was delightful. She used to be the receptionist and received a promotion and did a wonderful job. This place has never been pretentious and has always been a staple when we are thinking of dining out. Now that I've tried their pasta, Southside Bistro will be my choice if I'm in a pasta mood.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.