About Southside Bistro

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 10 years in a row. Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duet of Maple Leaf Duck - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
  • Dark Chocolate Terrine - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
  • Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
  • Pizza - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
  • Cobbler - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK

Report a photo problem

Duet of Maple Leaf Duck - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
Dark Chocolate Terrine - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
Pizza - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
Cobbler - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Casual (14)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Arrived for special occasion dinner with ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Arrived for special occasion dinner with reservation. Requested quiet table. Got worst table in restaurant next to kitchen and walk way to bathrooms. Asked for iced bucket for wines at call in reservation and received a non-iced crock. Wine I ordered was expensive and opened properly and I tasted properly and waiter poured first glass. Had to pour wine myself from then on and was never asked if I wanted another wine with entree. Ordered appetizers, wedged romaine salad, veal medallions. Appetizer was melted brie cheese on flat bread. Received one step above cold. Romaine salad was spot on with very good blue cheese dressing. Veal medallions were uneatable, cooked extra well done and butterflied, sauce was horrendous, side of scallop potatoes under cooked with terrible crust and white cream sauce and again entree was one step above ice cold. Also do not believe the veal was veal and was going to send back but decided not to. Had chocolate cake for dessert which was fine, paid my bill with generous tip and left.

I've eaten at this restaurant six times and have had good meals. It is expensive to eat here and I expected much more then I received on this past visit. Things have changed here since they opened the non-reservation area up for dinners by the bar. If I'm going to spend hundreds of dollars for supposedly fine dining I don't want to eat next to patrons who don't dress properly or bring children who don't behave properly. The menu is also aged and definitely needs updating. Service staff needs a lot more training in conversation techniques and attention to added service with wines. I am generally not a complainer and I also hold three restaurant culinary degrees and spent a full decade in four star kitchens in the San Francisco Bay area back in the 70 and 80's so I hope my suggestions will be taken as a plus and SSB can improve it's service and food delivery.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Always excellent. Great location for us. ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

Always excellent. Great location for us. No need to drive downtown. They have a taste of everything on the menu for the entire family and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were four guests in our party. Ev ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

There were four guests in our party. Everyone was served in minimum time and the food was perfectly done and nice and hot. Service was excellent even though the restaurant was quite busy. The menu offered some really nice choices; meat or fish. Worth going back again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic place. We are frequent diners.

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fantastic place. We are frequent diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I've had in a while. My girlf ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best steak I've had in a while. My girlfriend had the duck and it's got to be the best in town. Service was professional and warm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant for depe ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant for dependably great food and service. We dined here on New Year's Eve and we're very pl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we arrived we were treated like VIP ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we arrived we were treated like VIPs and felt so welcome. The service is always great, but this being New Year's Eve, everyone was in a festive mood. I had the duck breast and it was wonderful. They had a shaved Brussels sprouts salad that two of us had and enjoyed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service, and nice ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Delicious food, great service, and nice wine selection...I recommend South Side Bistro wholeheartedly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of. Y favorite restaurants. The foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of. Y favorite restaurants. The food is delicious, the place has a romantic ambiance but also great for friends to get together. Wait staff is professional and knowledgeable. Worth giving this restaurant a try!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We order steak and pork chop and steak w ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We order steak and pork chop and steak was tough and the pork chop was literally country fried chicken pork. The food is not as good as other fine dinning places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value4

I love this place! The food is consiste ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I love this place! The food is consistently great and the staff is wonderful. I find it unique that the restaurant has two sides offering a little more casual vibe on one side which is inviting to families with younger children while the other side for people who are looking for a little more intimate setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great service & great prices!

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always great service & great prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The owner is great and it shows in his s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The owner is great and it shows in his staff. We enjoy the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your food and service is consistently of ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Your food and service is consistently of high quality.

I get the ceasar, pizza, and wine every time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and outstanding food with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great service and outstanding food with an ambience that makes a lunch or evening meal memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is always amazing! Service is e ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food is always amazing! Service is excellent! Always a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was outstanding----Food exc ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding----Food excellent --Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Waiter was nice and help ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great. Waiter was nice and helpful. Will go back. The menu might need an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great time eating, socializing and celeb ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great time eating, socializing and celebrating! Service was superb, and the meals were all excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience. C ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Carry our server was great and the chef handled our vegan requests beautifully!

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was very good, great service ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2016

everything was very good, great service as always and food cooked to perfection

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here many times. This time, not en ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Been here many times. This time, not enough servers. Even though we had a highly experienced and professional waiter, there was no way for him to succeed. Waiter forgot one of our starters. Didn't remind him because the whole thing was so slow. Service is usually very good, but not this time. A lot of waiting. This restaurant is not cheap, and we expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was amazing!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I guess I did not look at the price befo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I guess I did not look at the price before I ordered, so I had a little sticker shock at the end. But, I have to say that I was overall very happy with the experience. Good food. Good service.

Mark

Tags: , Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely delicious. The service was f ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Absolutely delicious. The service was fantastic and the Blue Cheese Custard appetizer was awesome. My friend has the filet mignon and I had the scallops and tiger prawns. Everything was cooked to perfection. It was a great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood restaurant with good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant with good food and relaxed atmosphere. The service is always friendly and attentive. Good wine list.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always awesome

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice meal. The food was tasty ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a nice meal. The food was tasty and service good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I always eat at the bar here. Full dinin ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I always eat at the bar here. Full dining service. Excellent and friendly bartenders always willing to share a taste of wine before a full pour. Friendly customers. Good price point on the food. Reccomnded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fresh, Fun Food at its finest! A great ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Fresh, Fun Food at its finest! A great place to wine and dine with a very creative menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, although I asked for ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was good, although I asked for dressing on the side and my salad came with dressing on it. The server did not remember my request. Other than that, it was a good meal, nice restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When our waiter brought the dessert we h ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 7, 2016

When our waiter brought the dessert we had ordered (one to share), she had put a candle in the whipped cream and had written a beautiful "Happy Birthday" in chocolate ganache on the plate. What a lovely touch! I'm not too hold old yet to appreciate a little coddling on my birthday.~~Kathleen Zamora

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, our waiter was e ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was very good, our waiter was excellent and very attentive. He recommended a very nice and moderately priced wine to go with our meal. I didn't expect to be seated in the bar since I had a reservation. I expressed my dismay to the hostess and she offered to reseat us in the dining room, which was empty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Tables too close to one another. The fr ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Tables too close to one another. The fresh oysters would have been better without the seasoning, the cheve salad with added chicken was blah (chicken should have been hot, just off the grill). All in all, I like SSB but it's too pricey and frankly, I was disappointed. By the way, I had lunch a week ago and ordered the Burger and asked for veggies instead of French fries, the burger tasted as though it had been warmed up, the bun was so-so and the veggies were blanched in very salty water. Come-on SSB you can do better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Everything was great except after we wer ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Everything was great except after we were done with dinner I felt a little bit forgotten by the waitress and I did want to be offered some dessert. Once we called her, she took care of us right away but it felt weird that she passed by a few times by our table seeing that no one is eating anymore and did not ask us anything. Other than that, great atmosphere, very cozy, great food (all of us loved what we got). The Napoleon desert though did not taste as good as it was described but crème brulee tasted great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food - loved the convenience of be ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great food - loved the convenience of being able to make reservations on-line! Very convenient.

DB

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place for a date night. Friendly s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great place for a date night. Friendly staff and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived with a reservation and we wer ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We arrived with a reservation and we were seated within minutes. The service allowed us time to talk and enjoy each others company. The food was very well presented, and tasted amazing. I have been wanting to bring my wife here a couple of years, and being from the Kenai we were not disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group enjoyed the food and the resta ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our group enjoyed the food and the restaurant's ambiance.

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't mine, and my husbands, first ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This wasn't mine, and my husbands, first time at Southside Bistro. We have been frequenting this establishment for quite sometime. The wait staff is always very friendly upon our entrance. We always seem to get the same waiter! Very polite, knowledgeable, and fantastic at getting our order in and our food to our table in a more than timely manner. Desserts are out of this world, we stick with the Crème Brule, however, we have tried several of the other options. All of which have been most outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.