About Southside Bistro

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 10 years in a row. Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duet of Maple Leaf Duck - Southside Bistro
  • Dark Chocolate Terrine - Southside Bistro
  • Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir - Southside Bistro
  • Pizza - Southside Bistro
  • Cobbler - Southside Bistro
Duet of Maple Leaf Duck - Southside Bistro
Dark Chocolate Terrine - Southside Bistro
Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir - Southside Bistro
Pizza - Southside Bistro
Cobbler - Southside Bistro

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
14 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Romantic
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (43)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was great except after we wer ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was great except after we were done with dinner I felt a little bit forgotten by the waitress and I did want to be offered some dessert. Once we called her, she took care of us right away but it felt weird that she passed by a few times by our table seeing that no one is eating anymore and did not ask us anything. Other than that, great atmosphere, very cozy, great food (all of us loved what we got). The Napoleon desert though did not taste as good as it was described but crème brulee tasted great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food - loved the convenience of be ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food - loved the convenience of being able to make reservations on-line! Very convenient.

DB

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place for a date night. Friendly s ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for a date night. Friendly staff and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived with a reservation and we wer ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We arrived with a reservation and we were seated within minutes. The service allowed us time to talk and enjoy each others company. The food was very well presented, and tasted amazing. I have been wanting to bring my wife here a couple of years, and being from the Kenai we were not disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group enjoyed the food and the resta ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our group enjoyed the food and the restaurant's ambiance.

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't mine, and my husbands, first ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

This wasn't mine, and my husbands, first time at Southside Bistro. We have been frequenting this establishment for quite sometime. The wait staff is always very friendly upon our entrance. We always seem to get the same waiter! Very polite, knowledgeable, and fantastic at getting our order in and our food to our table in a more than timely manner. Desserts are out of this world, we stick with the Crème Brule, however, we have tried several of the other options. All of which have been most outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is consistently delicious. Waiters ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food is consistently delicious. Waiters are experienced, professional and knowledgeable. Great ingredients. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've visited South Side Bistro several ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We've visited South Side Bistro several times and each time the table has been waiting for us, the food very good to excellent, the service great, so we keep coming back. Looking forward to the menu + wine offering for this Sunday's fall dinner. They have a large wine selection too. And even when busy, one senses that your needs are at the top of their staff's list to accommodate. We will be coming back often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went here to celebrate ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I went here to celebrate both of our birthdays. The food was amazing. The hostess was beautiful and very sweet. She said happy birthday to both of us. However, our server was having a very sad night. No smiles, no "happy birthday", No birthday dessert. She served our drinks and dinners and thats all she did. No small talk or how is your evening. She definitely had an attitude of i dont care. I politely talked with the manager and He just couldnt believe she would act like that! Sooo, needless to say we will NOT be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Southside Bistro continues to offer exce ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Southside Bistro continues to offer excellent Alaska seafood in a pleasant setting in South Anchorage. The wait staff is excellent and the wine list superb. We always come to celebrate anniversaries with a couple down the street because it is that memorable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Carey was awesome. He told aw ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waiter Carey was awesome. He told awesome jokes :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want good food, you will have to ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

If you want good food, you will have to pay a bit more, but it is so good you will find it a great value for the money. The staff are helpful and friendly. If you don't know what to get, listen to their suggestions. If they say it's good, I found their recommendations spot-on.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

South side is one of my favorite lunch s ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

South side is one of my favorite lunch spots. When I recently dined with a friend on crutches, staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs without being obvious about it. Also important, the noise level is low enuf that we could comfortably converse. Food was also great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best overall place in anchorage.

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best overall place in anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

always awesome service and cuisine. will ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

always awesome service and cuisine. will need a reservation, but using open table makes it easy and seamless.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This being a signature event I was not h ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This being a signature event I was not happy my reservations garnered a non while tablecloth table but a cafe like plastic booth. I discussed it with a marvelous person who reseated me where I enjoyed a marvelous menu and wine. Special thanks to the professional staff and kitchen of this gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food options even for the pick ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food options even for the picky eater. We had a table of all ages and everyone raved about their dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food in nice proportions. Our wai ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food in nice proportions.

Our waiter, like all of your waiters, was a pro. Friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

We didn't wait long for our table even though it was a busy Thursday night.

We'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4 person tables are not enough room for ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

4 person tables are not enough room for a party of 4 ordering drinks, appetizers, water glasses & bread plates. We all felt crammed the entire meal.

Service was excellent. Timing on each course was great. Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere was nice as well as the s ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The atmosphere was nice as well as the service. However the expensive $36 filet minion I ordered got over cooked to the point where it was burnt, the server did take it off the bill and asked if I wanted another one cooked, to which I declined. This is a restaurant for special occasions or foodies.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and better service. We are in ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food and better service. We are in Anchorage on vacation. This is by far the best dining we have experienced. I had their bone in rib eye. It was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I came here for my birthday lunch with f ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I came here for my birthday lunch with friends. I already knew I loved the food at Southside Bistro, and I was not disappointed. The mussels are out of this world good. The service was excellent and prompt. I did see families coming in with kids for lunch and the restaurant is kid-friendly. I have also been to more formal business meeting dinners here. I highly recommend Southside Bistro!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad meal here. Staff is ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I've never had a bad meal here. Staff is always friendly and helpful and provide great service. Food is always top notch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You'd never know what a gem it is from t ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

You'd never know what a gem it is from the outside - A high-end restaurant hidden in a strip mall with a rooster on their sign.

The service was excellent as was the food. They gladly accommodated our request to be seated farther from the bar. A subtle hint that it was my wife's birthday brought us a beautifully prepared dessert plate - but no awkward singing. Our glasses were never left empty and plates not removed until all were finished eating - just like my mother taught me at home.

The prices make it a special occasion eatery for us, but the quality and preparation accurately reflecte the price. The many fresh seafood offerings are a standout.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place always great food and fu ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love this place always great food and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good food and wine selectio ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Consistently good food and wine selection for a date night with the wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We were celebrating out 47th anniversary ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were celebrating out 47th anniversary and were not disappointed. My steak was flavorful and sufficiently large that I had leftovers for lunch the next day. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his scallops and prawns. We shared a salad and were glad that we hadn't ordered one for each of us - our shared salad was just the right amount and we weren't too full from that and our entrée to have desert. The desert menu hasn't changed for a long time and isn't very exciting - even the fact that there are daily specials among the deserts wasn't helpful. We ended up sharing a dish of ice cream and were happy with it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a special day. And ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were celebrating a special day. And it didn't seem like that matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had not been here in years however it ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had not been here in years however it won't be as long until our next meal there. The seafood chowder was the best we have had and the Caesar salad was yummy. We had seafood for our main courses and both were great. Our server was knowledgable and friendly. We enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Southside Bistro never lets me down! The ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Southside Bistro never lets me down! The food and service is always top-notch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants - food i ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants - food is good - service is always good. And it's really close to our house, making it really easy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful like always

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wonderful like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been to this restaurant many times. ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Have been to this restaurant many times. Had the scallops and prawns with rice. The rice was a mix of white and wild, and looked and tasted like a mix from a box. A little disappointed. (If the pilaf was made from scratch, I would recommend changing the recipe). My partner ordered the pork schnitzel which was a lot better than my entree.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The service and the food were top notch! ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service and the food were top notch! Add the extensive selection of wines in various price ranges and you have the ultimate experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Southside Bistro is amazing

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The pistachio encrusted halibut with saffron cream sauce is delectable. Also the peach and raspberry cobbler is so delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 11th ann ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 11th anniversary with dinner here and it was absolutely wonderful! We ordered the blue cheese custard for our appetizer, my husband got tomato cream soup as well. So tasty! The lamb and scallops were equally as tasty and my peach raspberry cobbler was the perfect ending to a perfect meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southside Bistro is always a favorite fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Southside Bistro is always a favorite for lunch or a special dinner. Good value for money. Inventive dishes and food is always fresh and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Quite delicious and great service

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We got right in when we got to the restaurant - had reservations ahead of time, but was afraid that since it was a Friday night it'd a bit of a wait. But we got right in and our drinks and food were all delivered very fast and the servers were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always love coming here as the food i ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We always love coming here as the food is consistently good and they are creative with new recipes and preparation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I celebrated Mother's Day and had a very good time. The service was very good and the food was excellent. We got the booth we wanted and the evening was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.