About Southside Bistro

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 10 years in a row. Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Business Meals (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Casual (10)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fireplace (7)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great Beer (4)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Wood Oven (4)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding food and service. Had a booth in the back of the dining room so was quiet. One of the best restaurnat meals we have had in Anchorage.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Steaks were way under cooked and kinda tuff for a filet.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and very good food. Fine dinning for adults, dates, business or romance. Average price, per person for wine, apps, and main entrée was $45-50.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 4 days ago

We look forward to the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The scallop & crabcake starter in sauce americain was outstanding. For a main course, I selected the veal special , which on that day was medallions of veal loin, seared and served in a veal jus with melted Brie and lingonberries. A very creative & heavenly combination. Melted in my mouth. For dessert I had the warm blackberry cobbler with homemade vanilla ice cream, which was also delicious. I had a Pinot Gris with the scallops and a Syrah with the veal. A spectacular meal, can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 7 days ago

South side Bistro is amazing! My only suggestion is they put their amazing chicken and wild rice soup and peanut butter pie on the regular menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Been here a few times, and had yet another great experience. Excellent wine selection, food, and service. Tried the Brussel sprout salad for the first time, it was awesome! Get it as an app to share, not as meal. We ordered it with the fried oysters, perfect compliment to each other.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best oysters we've ever had. Excellent steaks and perfectly done king salmon with many recipe variations!

Tags: Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always, a pleasant experience, even bing a very late Valentine reservation, 'cause the only table open a week in advance was near my bedtime.

Given that it was a busy night, though calming down, a couple items kept me back at the 15% tip level. Started with a wine 1st thing, I enjoyed it thru the appetizer, and when the waiter noticed the glass empty, he offered another. I requested the refill come when the main course was delivered. The main course was not delivered by him, and no wine ever came. He had checked how we were doing at a time before that, but really never came back until time for the check. Also after our main course, I'd have liked an espresso, but as I've mentioned, he never attended to us until the check (or checking for dessert).

Maybe it was just 'cause he was busy. But in that case, his tips should be ample anyway.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love this restaurant. The seafood is superb and my husband can get a fine steak or burger so we are both happy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Get the truffle fries! They are the best. The menu is varied but I really enjoyed the shrimp and feta salad. I appreciate the quiet atmosphere so we don't have to yell to talk to each other.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

South Side Bistro is an amazing restaurant. Great food, great service and wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We've never had a bad meal at the Bistro, and we've been coming here over 20 years! The food is always cooked to perfection. Our Favorite place to celebrate any special occasion or just an awesome meal!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is a place I can count on for great food and a wonderful staff and atmosphere.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great atmosphere and delicious food. Would like to see more vegan/vegetarian options. The service was wonderful with very courteous and capable waiters. The buser was outstanding and always kept the water glasses filled and removed plates when needed. The hostesses were very efficient and courteous.

The restaurant has been a longtime favorite for us and even though there is not a big selection for us to eat, it is still at the top of our list of eating establishments and is usually our first choice for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

$34.00 for a ribeye steak & fries, a bit overpriced!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious cuisine and an appropriate number of options. Excellent service. The filet and duck were excellent. The fried oysters were a rare treat for this southerner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was terrible. The presentation was nice, but the skirt steak tasted like shoe leather. The fresh cod was fried in so much batter that you couldn't even taste the cod. Only order this if you like eating greasy, deep fried batter with just a smidgen of fish inside. Our waitress was excellent, but her good service could not make up for the horrible food. We won't be going to this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Seafood is very well done. Had a generous serving of mussels in miso as an appetizer.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always my favorite place to eat and enjoy the company I am with.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent place to eat in South Anchorage. Always a nice place to eat for that special occasion. Wine list and menu have choices for everyone. Service is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I'd give a pass to the garlic tomato soup in a bitter. And the ribeye was not very flavorful although cooked to perfect temp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Had lunch with two girlfriends, everything was marvelous. They each had a salad, which they loved, I had a thin-crust pizza, also very good. Our server was very friendly and attentive. I like that there's two sides, one more casual, the other more formal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Arrived for special occasion dinner with reservation. Requested quiet table. Got worst table in restaurant next to kitchen and walk way to bathrooms. Asked for iced bucket for wines at call in reservation and received a non-iced crock. Wine I ordered was expensive and opened properly and I tasted properly and waiter poured first glass. Had to pour wine myself from then on and was never asked if I wanted another wine with entree. Ordered appetizers, wedged romaine salad, veal medallions. Appetizer was melted brie cheese on flat bread. Received one step above cold. Romaine salad was spot on with very good blue cheese dressing. Veal medallions were uneatable, cooked extra well done and butterflied, sauce was horrendous, side of scallop potatoes under cooked with terrible crust and white cream sauce and again entree was one step above ice cold. Also do not believe the veal was veal and was going to send back but decided not to. Had chocolate cake for dessert which was fine, paid my bill with generous tip and left.

I've eaten at this restaurant six times and have had good meals. It is expensive to eat here and I expected much more then I received on this past visit. Things have changed here since they opened the non-reservation area up for dinners by the bar. If I'm going to spend hundreds of dollars for supposedly fine dining I don't want to eat next to patrons who don't dress properly or bring children who don't behave properly. The menu is also aged and definitely needs updating. Service staff needs a lot more training in conversation techniques and attention to added service with wines. I am generally not a complainer and I also hold three restaurant culinary degrees and spent a full decade in four star kitchens in the San Francisco Bay area back in the 70 and 80's so I hope my suggestions will be taken as a plus and SSB can improve it's service and food delivery.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Caesar salad tasted like it had Balsamic vinegar, lettuce was mostly dark, wilted, and uncrunchy, as if the salad was made a day before I ordered it.

The rigatoni dish would have been better if they added garlic "to taste" instead of "to feel". I don't dislike garlic. Just not that much.

I've heard of people who insist that a bulb of garlic Is a clove of garlic, thereby using 8x more than their unsuspecting guests expect. This may have been the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always excellent. Great location for us. No need to drive downtown. They have a taste of everything on the menu for the entire family and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 14, 2017

There were four guests in our party. Everyone was served in minimum time and the food was perfectly done and nice and hot. Service was excellent even though the restaurant was quite busy. The menu offered some really nice choices; meat or fish. Worth going back again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great food. Amazing atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food and service are always awesome!

Great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fantastic place. We are frequent diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best steak I've had in a while. My girlfriend had the duck and it's got to be the best in town. Service was professional and warm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant for dependably great food and service. We dined here on New Year's Eve and we're very pl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 1, 2017

When we arrived we were treated like VIPs and felt so welcome. The service is always great, but this being New Year's Eve, everyone was in a festive mood. I had the duck breast and it was wonderful. They had a shaved Brussels sprouts salad that two of us had and enjoyed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I come here almost every day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Delicious food, great service, and nice wine selection...I recommend South Side Bistro wholeheartedly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of. Y favorite restaurants. The food is delicious, the place has a romantic ambiance but also great for friends to get together. Wait staff is professional and knowledgeable. Worth giving this restaurant a try!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We order steak and pork chop and steak was tough and the pork chop was literally country fried chicken pork. The food is not as good as other fine dinning places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I love this place! The food is consistently great and the staff is wonderful. I find it unique that the restaurant has two sides offering a little more casual vibe on one side which is inviting to families with younger children while the other side for people who are looking for a little more intimate setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always great service & great prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The owner is great and it shows in his staff. We enjoy the place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Your food and service is consistently of high quality.

I get the ceasar, pizza, and wine every time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great service and outstanding food with an ambience that makes a lunch or evening meal memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food is always amazing! Service is excellent! Always a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding----Food excellent --Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great. Waiter was nice and helpful. Will go back. The menu might need an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great time eating, socializing and celebrating! Service was superb, and the meals were all excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Carry our server was great and the chef handled our vegan requests beautifully!

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2016

everything was very good, great service as always and food cooked to perfection

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Been here many times. This time, not enough servers. Even though we had a highly experienced and professional waiter, there was no way for him to succeed. Waiter forgot one of our starters. Didn't remind him because the whole thing was so slow. Service is usually very good, but not this time. A lot of waiting. This restaurant is not cheap, and we expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.