Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

About Southside Bistro

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 20 years in a row.
Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 9:00pm.
Fridays and Saturdays: 4:00pm to 10:00pm.
Closed on Sunday and Monday.

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (17)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (9)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
782 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This is the restaurant that the locals love; the south side haven for good food and wine. The menu focuses on fresh preparations interesting sauces and lovely presentations my steady favorite are the hangar steak and the scallops. But their local fish specials are great. But the duck should not be missed either

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant was nice and service great, but the food was over priced and not that great, also not a very big selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place. Always the best service and food. Such a great place to meet up with friends or have a couples night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The service and food was excellent. We could not have asked for anything more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Terrific little spot for an upscale dinner. I had the duck breast and it was delicious. I have now been twice and will definitely be back.

The reason for four stars on dinner - mine was slightly over cooked (medium well). I was hungry and didn't want to send it back. Love the overall menu here.

Oh, they have a quality wine list and reasonable prices.

This is one of my favorites in Anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Oysters were outstanding. Great service. Great neighborhood spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Southside Bistro always delivers with great food and wonderful service. It's one of our favorite restaurants in Anchorage and it is great to have a such a wonderful restaurant in south Anchorage.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 3, 2017

A nice neighborhood place. The menu is mundane but suited to the clientele; solid, middle of the road, recognizable. It's a good place to take you're Grandma and Grandpa for their anniversary. Nothing too exciting, nothing too challenging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our last night of our Alaska vacation could not have been better thanks to Southside Bistro. What s fabulous dinner!! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 28, 2017

For a last night dinner before our daughter moved to Asia for a year, Southside Bistro is difficult to beat for such good food in a relaxed setting. It is always a treat to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We always enjoy the cuisine and great service provided at South Side Bistro.
It is our favorite Anchorage restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Superb halibut, perfectly cooked. Waiters are too busy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always enjoy SSB but that night it was extra noisy for a Tuesday - our meals were sup par from previous times - portions were smaller it seemed and meat dishes were over done. Ambiance is nice but the noise level is way UP there.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent food. Service started slow but eventually picked up. Did I say excellent food? Yes!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Fun, Disabled Access, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We love this place. Order the blue cheese custard appetizer, it's the best thing on the planet ; Seriously, the food is always fantastic, menu has a lot of diversity. Kerry, our server, really knew his wine and made some great suggestions. It's just a wee bit loud, but not terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Probably one of the top three kitchens in Anchorage - perhaps in the State!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 13, 2017

My wife and I normally like to sit on the casual dining side and split a burger and salad but tonight we thought we'd go to the adult side since it was our anniversary. We both had pasta dishes and they were incredible. We've had homemade pasta in Italy and this certainly rivaled that experience. Fantastic wine selection and our server was delightful. She used to be the receptionist and received a promotion and did a wonderful job. This place has never been pretentious and has always been a staple when we are thinking of dining out. Now that I've tried their pasta, Southside Bistro will be my choice if I'm in a pasta mood.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 12, 2017

What can I say. I eat here 3 or 4 times a week. They cook seafood better than almost anyone else in th city. Bartender is the best. The staff have all been there for years They are great. Eat here. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Best place for a date in Anchorage. Food is good, service is good. What more could you ask for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food is always excellent with friendly and helpful staff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Consistently good cuisine in a pleasant setting, nice for a special occasion or just want to have a better-than-at-home meal with a little upscale flair. Reservations recommended.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was good; however, once seated the service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My mom and I enjoyed another great meal here. She had the veal and I had the skirt steak. Service was great, staff were all friendly. Great wine list. We left full and happy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I thought it would be slow being a Tuesday night. It was very busy, loud, with slow service. I ordered a second drink and never got it. By the time the waitress noticed, we were about ready to leave. The appetizers came out quick but we waited a long time for our entrees and dessert. I think it is better to come in before 6 pm or after 8. Great food otherwise

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Always good!!! Fresh items on the menu, great wine selection

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 17, 2017

SSB never disappoints. Food and service is the best.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Definitely a disappointment. My husband's entree was really good, but overall the rest of the food for the price we paid was not impressive at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was delicious. My husband had the filet migon.
I had the fish special.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Good food good servixe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Four of us had the salmon and it was amazing. I asked for a glass of Cabernet. Not sure what I got but it was great too. We haven't eaten here in years because we live on the other side of town but I'm committed to going back again soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Recently moved here from Maryland and SB has become a staple. All around great place to dine, good for a business meal, good for special occasions, good for an everyday meal with very attentive staff. Definitely a recommended visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Without a doubt, I was served the best Filet Mignon I have ever eaten - very tender and perfectly grilled. My wife had the rack of Lamb which was also delightful and oh so tender. The sides are always prepared in a healthy way and decent for the size of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 3, 2017

What a delight!
The waiter was attentive and knew his food and wine. His recommendations were spot on and we had a delicious meal. I had the veal with Brie and lingonberry and it was outstanding. The meat was cooked to perfection and the scalloped potatoes were divine. For desert, the tiramisu was uniquely prepared and oh so good. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food & service were great - as usual. Always our favorite anniversary place to go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My friend and I had a casual get together. Everything was perfect. Our waiter was very professional and attentive. We had locally sourced shrimp and were delighted with our dinners.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We've had better experiences at Southside Bistro. Namely, when it was just my wife, myself, and our four day old infant. This time around we came to the restaurant as a party of four adults and four children. We were automatically charged the 18% gratuity fee because our party was "8 or more people." Never mind that two of the children were three and two and sat on their mother's laps most of the dinner. It was apparent that one waitress was being trained during our dinner; however, it was lackluster service regardless -- not very good outlook as far as training for future solo dinners for the newer waitress. We had to ask for refills and a second service of beer and wine after continually not being asked. One of the hamburgers was ordered medium and one medium rare, but both burgers were rare (which wasn't necessarily bad, but not how we ordered them). As three of our party members were still eating only the water boy came back to refill water glasses; neither waitress came around to ask if we wanted refills or more beverages.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 9, 2017

we truly enjoyed the experience. it had been several years since the other member had dined at the bistro. this was my first experience. i thought the menu was well presented; and the entree was very good! the server was attentive without being overly so. overall..........i look forward to the next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The pasta was inedible- gummy, flavorless, overcooked egg, lacked ingredients. We each didn't take more than a few bites (after adding 4 rounds of salt and dousing it in cheese, still terrible). Still paid for it, even after telling the waiter we did not like it at all.

The bread pudding was dried out and tasted moldy, there was a lack of flavoring there too.

We received the check before we were done eating with a 'no rush.' This is annoying. If it's no rush, then don't give us the check yet. Train your waiters.

The blue cheese appetizer was amazing, so we may be back just to eat that and drink wine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great wood fired nacho! I wish my wine glass had a little more wine and that they offered a corona beer

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.