About Southside Bistro

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 10 years in a row. Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Duet of Maple Leaf Duck
  • Dark Chocolate Terrine
  • Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir
  • Pizza
  • Cobbler
Duet of Maple Leaf Duck
Dark Chocolate Terrine
Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir
Pizza
Cobbler

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
9 More
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Fit for Foodies
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

special occasion (40)
fit for foodies (36)
neighborhood gem (32)
See All
notable wine list (26)
romantic (23)
good for groups (19)
great for lunch (17)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Have been to this restaurant many times. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Have been to this restaurant many times. Had the scallops and prawns with rice. The rice was a mix of white and wild, and looked and tasted like a mix from a box. A little disappointed. (If the pilaf was made from scratch, I would recommend changing the recipe). My partner ordered the pork schnitzel which was a lot better than my entree.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and the food were top notch! ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The service and the food were top notch! Add the extensive selection of wines in various price ranges and you have the ultimate experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southside Bistro is amazing

Dined on June 4, 2016

The pistachio encrusted halibut with saffron cream sauce is delectable. Also the peach and raspberry cobbler is so delicious

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 11th ann ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 11th anniversary with dinner here and it was absolutely wonderful! We ordered the blue cheese custard for our appetizer, my husband got tomato cream soup as well. So tasty! The lamb and scallops were equally as tasty and my peach raspberry cobbler was the perfect ending to a perfect meal!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Southside Bistro is always a favorite fo ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Southside Bistro is always a favorite for lunch or a special dinner. Good value for money. Inventive dishes and food is always fresh and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quite delicious and great service

Dined on May 7, 2016

We got right in when we got to the restaurant - had reservations ahead of time, but was afraid that since it was a Friday night it'd a bit of a wait. But we got right in and our drinks and food were all delivered very fast and the servers were excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We always love coming here as the food i ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We always love coming here as the food is consistently good and they are creative with new recipes and preparation.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I celebrated Mother's Day and had a very good time. The service was very good and the food was excellent. We got the booth we wanted and the evening was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Southside Bistro Offers Good Value

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Southside Bistro offers a menu with good variety, pleasant ambience at a reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant I've experienced on ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The best restaurant I've experienced on Anchorage Open Table.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and able to have conversati ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Awesome food and able to have conversation without shouting

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 28, 2016

Conveniently got a reservation through Open Table. Service was most excellent and main course and desert were perfect.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Kerry was a great server! Very attentive ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Kerry was a great server! Very attentive but not over bearing. He and and cook staff made sure everything was out in perfect timing. I really have no complaints, I will definitely be back! The scallops are spot on

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner Special

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was delicious (rack of Lamb for my husband which he loved) (scallops for me- i would have liked them cooked just a bit more). I mentioned that it was my husband's birthday when reserving our table and the Staff remembered and did an excellent job catering to him and making him feel special. The desert presentation was the best with a large 'Happy Birthday' written in chocolate sauce on the plate of his Peach Bread Pudding!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu Changes with Season

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

We have been going to Southside Bistro for years and a wonderful thing is that they change the menu items with the seasons, and when the same season comes around it is not necessarily the same as it was previously, and its all good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was amazing- Obrien was great :)

Dined on April 14, 2016

Service was amazing- Obrien was great :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 6, 2016

Our dinner was perfect in every way, the wife likes the Bleu Cheese Cream Custard appetizer. The Rockfish was very fresh. I don't think you can ever have a bad meal there. Nice to Jen's there too. Our waiter Kelly is the best, 40 yrs experience. You have to go if you have never been there. The portions are unbelievably large for that scale of restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service2

The waiter really didn't check up on us ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The waiter really didn't check up on us at all. We had to ask for more water. Not sure if he just had too many tables but was not attentive at all.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A good place for quality dining.

Dined on March 31, 2016

On of the best restaurants in Anchorage. The only inconvenience is the space. Tables are close to each other. Recommend it to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

the whole experience was as good as it always is, it is worth coming to eat, even by ones self

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 23, 2016

Always great food and service, it has been too long! We tend to stick closer to home, but need to make the exception more often for Southside Bistro - and will!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice evening

Dined on March 6, 2016

Very friendly and inviting . We will definitely go back ! The food was great and good prices

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed the dinner. What a grea ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

I really enjoyed the dinner. What a great place! I had to change my reservations last minute they took care of us with a smile.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Menu diversity

Dined on March 3, 2016

I am a vegetarian and I do love and eat lots of fish. There were a couple items on the menu (shrimp and scallops) and also King salmon as a special but all came with very unusual sides or sauces. I would have liked to see a bit more leaning toward a vegetarian selection. I ordered an appetizer and a salad and they were both excellent. All our food (3 of us) was very good, I was just disappointed that there wasn't a simpler vegetarian selection.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Anchorage.

Dined on February 26, 2016

Southside Bistro is, hands-down, the Best Restaurant in Anchorage. :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not the Best

Dined on February 20, 2016

My wife and I went here for our first time for her Birthday. Very difficult to find a parking spot but we did find one. Ive got a nice little ding in my door to prove it. We ere seated quickly and the person seating us told my wife happy birthday as I had mentioned that upon making reservations. Our waiter was not the most friendly. Didn't say a word about my wifes birthday and kept asking us if we wanted wine or cappuccino. The food was decent and our water was always filled promptly but not from our waiter. I'd rather spend the money to go to crowns nest, 7 glaciers or Simon and Seaforts. We've never gone wrong there. I wont recommend this place nor will I go back

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best menu in South Anchorage

Dined on February 15, 2016

Very well thought out menu with a selection of modern and traditional entrees. Great appetizers, Large quality wine selection. The staff is professional, polite and knowledgeable from the hostess, waiter, chef and servers. Kudos to the management & owners. Also, on a side note Southside Bistro has the BEST lamb in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

As a vegan, I was truly impressed with Chef Travis' creativity and appreciated his phone call the day before to confer with me on my likes and dislikes. The food was AMAZING!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an awesome dining experience. Tha ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Always an awesome dining experience. Thank you a wonderful evening with wonderful food, wine, beer and a relaxing atmosphere.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy as always

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great dinner again at the Bistro. The food was fantastic and our waiter was friendlier than ever. Matt? I think that was his name. Anyway, steaks were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. High quality food

Dined on February 11, 2016

Great service. High quality food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Culinary Creativity!

Dined on February 11, 2016

Chefs Jens and Travis really know how to cook. A wonderful place for FRESH, FUN Food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Value of the entire dinner for two I tho ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Value of the entire dinner for two I thought was very pricey. Our appetizer of roasted eggplant was very salty - too many peppers that took over the eggplant and it ruined my tastebuds for the entree of my pasta dish. The pasta with duck sausage of leftovers was very good however the following day! My husband's ribs were average as well. We cook at home and make wonderful and clean dishes but venture out to experience restaurants eateries. I would think this would be a great burger and fries joint.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An Anchorage Hidden Gem

Dined on February 4, 2016

Great food, service and ambiance in a quaint south Anchorage shopping center setting. A true hidden gem and one of those "must go to" establishments for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

great food, not so great service

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food at Southside Bistro was great. The service started out great and our waiter was excellent at wine recommendations and he was very professional for the most part. A few thing the three of us didn't like were, how fast the food came out. It made for a feeling of being rushed and didn't give us a comfortable amount of time to visit. One of my friends just wanted to have wine and not order food, he kinda meant it in a joking way but he was giving her a hard time for not ordering something, and that bothered her. But the cherry on top was when we asked if he could split the check for us and he replied "we don't really do that here, but I guess since I'm not busy at the moment I can do it for you, but don't expect it in the future." I serve tables at two restaurants in anchorage and we split checks for people everyday and this is the first restaurant I've been to where they supposedly don't split checks. He at least could have approached the manor in a more professional manor. The food was great but the three of us will not be going back.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was wonderful!!! Flank Steak ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Our server was wonderful!!! Flank Steak was delicious!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why South Side Bistro has my loyalty

Dined on January 29, 2016

I have been a patron of South Side Bistro since Jens Nannestad opened the doors 20 years ago. I believe he has a true gift for hiring the best people. They represent what a great restaurant is all about. For me to say that the food is amazing, the service is outstanding, or that the wine list is spectacular, does not do this place justice. What makes SSB different from any other restaurant is how it is run. In order for a place to be successful for so long, it needs to stay consistent or competitive. South Side Bistro consistently provides menu items beautifully prepared and presented by a staff whose faces are so familiar that many patrons know them by name. Every patron is treated as an MVP from the moment they enter the restaurant until the time they leave. Kindness, patience, enthusiasm and smiles are what you can expect from the staff, day in and day out. The award winning chef, Travis Haugen loves what he does, and has been known to seek out the freshest and best ingredients for his exemplary dishes, on his own, either in the early hours of a morning or on a day off. The exposed kitchen is a delightful feature of the restaurant. Watching the talented and well orchestrated team led by Travis and Jens is a real treat. The dining experience at SSB is made all the more enjoyable due to the expertise in which manager Amanda Haugen makes everything flow so seamlessly. The restaurant is divided into two areas: the Dining side, and the Bistro side. Both sides offer the same menu, and same nightly specials, however the Bistro menu offers selections the Dining side does not, such as hamburgers and a larger selection of wood fired pizzas. The bar is Beer and Wine only, but don't let the word "only" fool you. SSB is well known for its extensive wine cellar and artisan crafted beer selections. South Side Bistro has my loyalty due to the way they consistently create the extraordinary out of the ordinary for each and every person in the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great wine list

Dined on January 28, 2016

One of my favorite places but service was slow tonight. Wasn't very busy and didn't have a waiter we typically see there. Food was not its best either. I think it was just an off night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Friday dinner

Dined on January 23, 2016

Took my fiancé out for her birthday. We both had the filet mignon, and it was excellent. The service was good and the dining experience was good overall. A bit noisy due to the open air of the restaurant. But we could talk to each other with out raising our voices. If you go on a Friday, be sure to make a reservation a few days in advance. Our reservation was four 7 PM, and our table was only slightly delayed. But it was a very good eating experience overall. Four stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice but not worth the money

Dined on January 22, 2016

Nice restaurant, younger staff with not a lot of experience but way over priced.

Tags: late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.