About Southside Bistro

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 10 years in a row. Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duet of Maple Leaf Duck - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
  • Dark Chocolate Terrine - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
  • Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
  • Pizza - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
  • Cobbler - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
Duet of Maple Leaf Duck - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
Dark Chocolate Terrine - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
Merry Edwards Russian River Pinot Noir - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
Pizza - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK
Cobbler - Southside Bistro, Anchorage, AK

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Food
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Service
Anchorage / Alaska
11 More
Best Ambiance
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Value
Anchorage / Alaska
Special Occasion
Anchorage / Alaska
Most Booked
Anchorage / Alaska
Best Overall
Anchorage
Best Food
Anchorage
Best Service
Anchorage
Best Ambiance
Anchorage
Best Value
Anchorage
Special Occasion
Anchorage
Most Booked
Anchorage
Best Restaurants in Anchorage ›

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Casual (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Your food and service is consistently of ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Your food and service is consistently of high quality.

I get the ceasar, pizza, and wine every time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and outstanding food with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great service and outstanding food with an ambience that makes a lunch or evening meal memorable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is always amazing! Service is e ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food is always amazing! Service is excellent! Always a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was outstanding----Food exc ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding----Food excellent --Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time eating, socializing and celeb ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great time eating, socializing and celebrating! Service was superb, and the meals were all excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Waiter was nice and help ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great. Waiter was nice and helpful. Will go back. The menu might need an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dining experience. C ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Carry our server was great and the chef handled our vegan requests beautifully!

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was very good, great service ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 11, 2016

everything was very good, great service as always and food cooked to perfection

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here many times. This time, not en ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Been here many times. This time, not enough servers. Even though we had a highly experienced and professional waiter, there was no way for him to succeed. Waiter forgot one of our starters. Didn't remind him because the whole thing was so slow. Service is usually very good, but not this time. A lot of waiting. This restaurant is not cheap, and we expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was amazing!

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I guess I did not look at the price befo ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I guess I did not look at the price before I ordered, so I had a little sticker shock at the end. But, I have to say that I was overall very happy with the experience. Good food. Good service.

Mark

Tags: Outstanding Value, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely delicious. The service was f ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Absolutely delicious. The service was fantastic and the Blue Cheese Custard appetizer was awesome. My friend has the filet mignon and I had the scallops and tiger prawns. Everything was cooked to perfection. It was a great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood restaurant with good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant with good food and relaxed atmosphere. The service is always friendly and attentive. Good wine list.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a nice meal. The food was tasty ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a nice meal. The food was tasty and service good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I always eat at the bar here. Full dinin ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 12, 2016

I always eat at the bar here. Full dining service. Excellent and friendly bartenders always willing to share a taste of wine before a full pour. Friendly customers. Good price point on the food. Reccomnded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fresh, Fun Food at its finest! A great ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Fresh, Fun Food at its finest! A great place to wine and dine with a very creative menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, although I asked for ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was good, although I asked for dressing on the side and my salad came with dressing on it. The server did not remember my request. Other than that, it was a good meal, nice restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When our waiter brought the dessert we h ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 7, 2016

When our waiter brought the dessert we had ordered (one to share), she had put a candle in the whipped cream and had written a beautiful "Happy Birthday" in chocolate ganache on the plate. What a lovely touch! I'm not too hold old yet to appreciate a little coddling on my birthday.~~Kathleen Zamora

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, our waiter was e ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was very good, our waiter was excellent and very attentive. He recommended a very nice and moderately priced wine to go with our meal. I didn't expect to be seated in the bar since I had a reservation. I expressed my dismay to the hostess and she offered to reseat us in the dining room, which was empty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Tables too close to one another. The fr ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Tables too close to one another. The fresh oysters would have been better without the seasoning, the cheve salad with added chicken was blah (chicken should have been hot, just off the grill). All in all, I like SSB but it's too pricey and frankly, I was disappointed. By the way, I had lunch a week ago and ordered the Burger and asked for veggies instead of French fries, the burger tasted as though it had been warmed up, the bun was so-so and the veggies were blanched in very salty water. Come-on SSB you can do better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Everything was great except after we wer ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Everything was great except after we were done with dinner I felt a little bit forgotten by the waitress and I did want to be offered some dessert. Once we called her, she took care of us right away but it felt weird that she passed by a few times by our table seeing that no one is eating anymore and did not ask us anything. Other than that, great atmosphere, very cozy, great food (all of us loved what we got). The Napoleon desert though did not taste as good as it was described but crème brulee tasted great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food - loved the convenience of be ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Great food - loved the convenience of being able to make reservations on-line! Very convenient.

DB

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place for a date night. Friendly s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great place for a date night. Friendly staff and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived with a reservation and we wer ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We arrived with a reservation and we were seated within minutes. The service allowed us time to talk and enjoy each others company. The food was very well presented, and tasted amazing. I have been wanting to bring my wife here a couple of years, and being from the Kenai we were not disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group enjoyed the food and the resta ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our group enjoyed the food and the restaurant's ambiance.

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't mine, and my husbands, first ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This wasn't mine, and my husbands, first time at Southside Bistro. We have been frequenting this establishment for quite sometime. The wait staff is always very friendly upon our entrance. We always seem to get the same waiter! Very polite, knowledgeable, and fantastic at getting our order in and our food to our table in a more than timely manner. Desserts are out of this world, we stick with the Crème Brule, however, we have tried several of the other options. All of which have been most outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is consistently delicious. Waiters ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food is consistently delicious. Waiters are experienced, professional and knowledgeable. Great ingredients. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've visited South Side Bistro several ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We've visited South Side Bistro several times and each time the table has been waiting for us, the food very good to excellent, the service great, so we keep coming back. Looking forward to the menu + wine offering for this Sunday's fall dinner. They have a large wine selection too. And even when busy, one senses that your needs are at the top of their staff's list to accommodate. We will be coming back often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went here to celebrate ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 11, 2016

My husband and I went here to celebrate both of our birthdays. The food was amazing. The hostess was beautiful and very sweet. She said happy birthday to both of us. However, our server was having a very sad night. No smiles, no "happy birthday", No birthday dessert. She served our drinks and dinners and thats all she did. No small talk or how is your evening. She definitely had an attitude of i dont care. I politely talked with the manager and He just couldnt believe she would act like that! Sooo, needless to say we will NOT be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Southside Bistro continues to offer exce ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Southside Bistro continues to offer excellent Alaska seafood in a pleasant setting in South Anchorage. The wait staff is excellent and the wine list superb. We always come to celebrate anniversaries with a couple down the street because it is that memorable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Carey was awesome. He told aw ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waiter Carey was awesome. He told awesome jokes :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want good food, you will have to ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 27, 2016

If you want good food, you will have to pay a bit more, but it is so good you will find it a great value for the money. The staff are helpful and friendly. If you don't know what to get, listen to their suggestions. If they say it's good, I found their recommendations spot-on.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

South side is one of my favorite lunch s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 23, 2016

South side is one of my favorite lunch spots. When I recently dined with a friend on crutches, staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs without being obvious about it. Also important, the noise level is low enuf that we could comfortably converse. Food was also great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best overall place in anchorage.

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best overall place in anchorage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

always awesome service and cuisine. will ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 17, 2016

always awesome service and cuisine. will need a reservation, but using open table makes it easy and seamless.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This being a signature event I was not h ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 14, 2016

This being a signature event I was not happy my reservations garnered a non while tablecloth table but a cafe like plastic booth. I discussed it with a marvelous person who reseated me where I enjoyed a marvelous menu and wine. Special thanks to the professional staff and kitchen of this gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food options even for the pick ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food options even for the picky eater. We had a table of all ages and everyone raved about their dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food in nice proportions. Our wai ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great food in nice proportions.

Our waiter, like all of your waiters, was a pro. Friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.

We didn't wait long for our table even though it was a busy Thursday night.

We'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4 person tables are not enough room for ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 7, 2016

4 person tables are not enough room for a party of 4 ordering drinks, appetizers, water glasses & bread plates. We all felt crammed the entire meal.

Service was excellent. Timing on each course was great. Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere was nice as well as the s ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The atmosphere was nice as well as the service. However the expensive $36 filet minion I ordered got over cooked to the point where it was burnt, the server did take it off the bill and asked if I wanted another one cooked, to which I declined. This is a restaurant for special occasions or foodies.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.