Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

Southside Bistro

4.7
918 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Neighborhood Gem
We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 20 years in a row.
Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 9:00pm.
Fridays and Saturdays: 4:00pm to 10:00pm.
Closed on Sunday and Monday.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(907) 348-0088
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Travis Haugen
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Huffman Carrs
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The perfect place to celebrate a birthday with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My wife and I eat here all the time and this trip was as good as it always is. The fish specials are always amazing and the wine selection is unbeatable. Best service in town, hands down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food with great wine and our server made a great suggestion when ordering wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent service, typically and dependably good food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Awesome dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

As always, a wonderful experience. We have been visiting this restaurant regularly for 20 years and have never been disappointed. The food is always fresh and creative, the service is impeccable and the atmosphere is relaxing. Well done!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food is always amazing and the staff are true gems! Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great atmosphere, great food and great service. A perfect spot for a special occasion with a love one or with friends. Definitely, one of our best fine dining restaurants here in Anchorage, Alaska! Can't wait for our next visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

It was an unexpected surprise, I thought I had made reservations for another restaurant, I was wrong but I was very happy. Normally 5 stars, but the schnitzel was deep fried, at least tasted like it and it was covered in batter and not breaded, there is a difference. I loved it anyway!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Southside Bistro is rapidly becoming our favorite restaurant in Anchorage. We've been coming here more often, and it just gets better and better. Creative dishes-- the blue cheese custard appetizer is amazing! Nightly specials. Excellent service. Love it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Excellent as usual...it was the first time for our friends and they were very impressed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Consistently great food. One of the few restaurants with a truly professional service staff. Everything we wanted for a memorable bday celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Outstanding menu and service. Wine pours seemed a little light.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Awesome, as always. I recommend SSB to all my friends, and it is my first choice for a special evening whatever the occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 25, 2018

We enjoyed the service, company and food, but the noise level was amazingly high which made it almost impossible to carry on a conversation, even with the person sitting next to me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We are regulars at the Bistro. As always, it had a great atmosphere, with delicious food and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Great meals and good service. We always enjoy our visits to the Bistro---thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Once again Southside Bistro didn't disappoint. We had enough time between courses to casually eat and talk without the risk of interfering with the next course. Food was cooked to perfection. We had a great time!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Good appetizers, entrees, extensive wine list. Excellent customer service. Will definitely go there again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Appetizer of mussels was really good., wine good, service good.
Main course .. not so good.
Steak was too raw and vegetables were not cooked at all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

First time there. Service was excellent. The ambience is lively and a great place to get together with friends. Food is top notch with every element exhibiting highest quality. Service was prompt without being pushy. Given the excellent experience, the prices were well below what I would expect for this top notch meal. Definitely a return visit in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Nicest restaurant in anchorage

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Always a good choice. They changed their menu up a bit, so that was a nice surprise; however, my husband's rib eye looked more like a steak you might get at a diner as "steak and eggs" as opposed to being from a nicer restaurant. My halibut special was good, but I wondered where the rest of my meal was at $36. Food was good, service was excellent, but felt like we overpaid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Birthday dinner. Very memorable. Good food, great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Southside Bistro never disappoints. The food is always good as is the wine list. It is a comfortable place to eat - not to loud and fine to have a good laugh with your friends without upsetting anyone. This is a place to take your parents, or your spouse or a date or to meet your friends. Totally worthy, just wish they were still open for lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Food was perfect and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

As always, the service was prompt and the food delicious. I definitely recommend the grilled tiger prawns and scallops entree. Everyone was also very jealous of my chevre salad, which was fresh and wonderful, with warm pine nut crusted goat cheese, olives, red peppers and cucumbers.

I forgot that the bar does not serve liquor, only beer and wine (which is all my husband and I ever order anyway); so unfortunately, one of our friends was disappointed not to be able to order a gin and tonic - he did say that he enjoyed the Chuli Stout that our server recommended, on tap.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

This is one of the nicest restaurants in Anchorage. Have been there a number of times and the quality is always high. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Excellent food and service as always. New items on standard menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

southside bistro is always good and sometimes great if they have fresh king salmon it is great the mussels are the best in town rack of lamb also very good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We had a reservation for a party of 8 and I felt really bad for the server because the rest of the party was over 30 minutes late. He didn't seem to mind which was nice. He was constantly at our table refilling cocktails and seeing how we were. The food was great and the service was fantastic. My ONLY suggestions would be to make both menus (bistro and restaurant) available on both sides. Also, there were a lot of fancy words on the menu. It would be nice to have a short explanation so people know what they are ordering. Dumb it down for us non-foodie people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

We have been going to Southside Bistro for years and have never been disappointed. The staff is knowledgeable and helps with suggestions when asked. Jens know how to run a restaurant - both the front of the house and the kitchen. Only wish they would reopen for lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Eric is such an attentive waiter! We were so well taken care of by him. Food was great, but service was AMAZING!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Great food! Great staff and a great selection of food and wine to choose from...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Amazing as always!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Our book group appreciates the great food and excellent service as well as finding a perfect round table for us to enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Southside Bistro always delivers. We keep coming back because the food is always outstanding. Order the Blue Cheese Custard appetizer, it's the best in town! Last night our group had the Blue Cheese Custard and the Scallops appetizers. Mains were Ling Cod, the pasta special x2 and my wife had the steak that she is still raving about. Pretty good wine list. Excellent service as always from Kerry. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

They actually read the comments on the reservation. We were greeted with multiple “Happy Anniversary “. The service is beyond the scope of Anchorage. There are maybe 3 restaurants in town with this level of service. Attentive but not overbearing, they know the menu and the wine list. My wife had the shrimp and scallops and I had the rack of lamb. Both were perfectly cooked as were the side veggies that most restaurants steam until cremated. The bread pudding w/ Anniversary best wishes was fantastic. We will continue to come back again and again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23