Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.99mi
  2. Distance: 1.27mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

About Southside Bistro

We are a great neighborhood secret on the south end of town. We offer a variety of fresh fun food from our open display kitchen. We have a hardwood oven for great appetizers and flatbreads. Fresh Alaskan seafood and produce arrives daily and Chef Travis creates great innovative daily specials. Save room for our fantastic home-made desserts. We are proud recipients of the "Wine Spectators" Award of excellence 10 years in a row. Southside Bistro offers the "Restaurant" side with the complete dinner menu available, and the more casual "Bistro" side with an additional Pizza-burger menu available. Please go to our web site and see our complete menu selections.

1320 Huffman Park Drive
Anchorage, AK 99515
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Huffman Carrs

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(907) 348-0088

Website:
http://southsidebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We offer plenty of parking on the front lot, with additional spaces available across the street

Public Transit:
Public People mover bus service stops right in front.

Executive Chef:
Travis Haugen

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Southside Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Open Kitchen (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fireplace (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great wood fired nacho! I wish my wine glass had a little more wine and that they offered a corona beer

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

When ever I want to experience a special evening out this is the place. No hard booze is a good thing too, enjoy a glass of wine with friends.
Our server was one of the best.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent! The food and service are always first rate. I come here almost daily

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent and prompt service. Wonderfully delicious food beautifully presented. Our first visit which will result in others when we come into town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good - the fresh halibut dish was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went there for 11th wedding anniversary. Pleasantly surprised. Initial confusion as there is another restaurant with a similar name and we went there first. Overall a nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Always receive great food and service at southside Bistro.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food and service was great as always! Ambience was rated a little low because our table was close to the door and kitchen, so there was more traffic and noise than most other tables would have experienced. Next time we'll just ask for a different table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything about the place is wonderful, including staff.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Appetizer: The fresh mussels sauteed in a saffron cream were excellent. We had to order more bread to soak up the delicious broth. Suggestion: provide a soup spoon with this appetizer, the better to finish off the broth!

The fresh spaghettoni and the fresh rigatoni were served too al dente. Better than too soft, however. The sauce base was identical for each dish, though each had different and interesting add-ins.

The pork schnitzel breaded cutlet was served overly browned, with the breading near-burnt. It was cheerfully and promptly re-served with properly golden breading, but the pork itself was dry and tasteless.

The Pacific cod special was excellent.

The beef tenderloin was good.

Wine: Chateau Ste. Michelle Indian Wells, Columbia Valley, at $39.00/bottle, was the least costly Cab on the wine menu, unless we missed a page. Excellent wine (our table of 6 had two bottles), but out of place given the level of the evening's cooking.

Dessert: Peach & raspberry cobbler: excellent. Classic vanilla crème brûlée with fruit sauces: great caramelized crust, but the crème itself was rather thin and bland. The fruit sauces were artfully arranged, in Etch-a-Sketch fashion, on the plate holding the ramekin, which meant that they were all intertwined and difficult to apply separately to the crème, plus most of the sauces remained on the plate. A pretty presentation, but a waste of good fruit sauce.

Service: uniformly attentive, friendly and responsive.

Ambiance: moderate noise, softly lit, with beautiful, full-size copies of 1930's posters for various French aperitifs on all the walls. A very nice feature.

We've been to the Southside Bistro when the cooking has been better. The service and ambiance, however, have always been unwaveringly excellent.

We'll be back, tho', and hope for better cooking!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I've always had great food here, but have developed some allergies and had to order the pasta with duck sausage, as I'm allergic to tomato. I imagined nice grilled chunks of crispy duck sausage . . .but was disappointed to have tiny bits of "hamburger" like meat that was not all that flavorful, and the sauce was pretty boring. First time I've been disappointed and everyone else in our party enjoyed their order. My point being, a great restaurant should never have a bad menu item. I'm sure they could come up with a better pasta dish, even with duck sausage. Otherwise, everything else was good.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Consistently a very good place to dine with the family or for a special occasion.
The menu includes fresh local options. I particularly like the soups.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Waitress could only handle one table at a time. Forgot to enter our order, did not service our table. Waited 45 mins for less than half full restaurant, salads & sandwiches.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The Southside Bistro is one of my favorite restaurants in Anchorage. The food is exceptional, the service is professional, and the ambiance is relaxed. I try to dine at the Southside Bistro whenever I am in Anchorage.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent as always, Dan, Kerry, Michael consummate professionals!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Tomato Bisque Excellent
Spinach Salads ok. Caesar --small ordered but it was Giant size.
Blueberry sorbet--excellent

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Never a bad meal. We take all our visitors here for their "welcome to Anchorage" meal and have never been disappointed or had to apologize for not good food. The service is quick and friendly and the time between ordering and receiving our meals is always faster than expected. We like this restaurant!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 5, 2017

When planning a night out Southside Bistro is always at the top of our list. Our family always feels welcomed, always has great service and always leaves having had a great food and dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Poor service this visit. Usually service is spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A southern Anchorage gem that competes and even bests some of the downtown dining. To make a comparison I feel my two experiences at Sullivan's Steakhouse were overpriced and did not meet my palate like Southside Bistro. Many spots in Anchorage over salt food. The cuisine at Southside Bistro had a harmonic balance where my date and I's palates could fully indulge and savor each course. The service was attentive yet had a wonderful flow to not interrupt like the question "how is your food" was at a time we weren't conversing and had taken pause from eating. Our hosting staff were cheerful and friendly. My special occasion went well, and so did two other birthdays in other groups nearby-yet the noise level was minimal. Each of us had separately enjoyable evenings. I'm excited to return and enjoy with other groups/ occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic, Organic, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful as Always!
Great People and Great Service!
Food Beyond Awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always a pleasure!! So happy that the Southside Bistro is right in the neighborhood!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Had a booth in the back of the dining room so was quiet. One of the best restaurnat meals we have had in Anchorage.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Steaks were way under cooked and kinda tuff for a filet.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent service and very good food. Fine dinning for adults, dates, business or romance. Average price, per person for wine, apps, and main entrée was $45-50.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We look forward to the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The scallop & crabcake starter in sauce americain was outstanding. For a main course, I selected the veal special , which on that day was medallions of veal loin, seared and served in a veal jus with melted Brie and lingonberries. A very creative & heavenly combination. Melted in my mouth. For dessert I had the warm blackberry cobbler with homemade vanilla ice cream, which was also delicious. I had a Pinot Gris with the scallops and a Syrah with the veal. A spectacular meal, can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 21, 2017

South side Bistro is amazing! My only suggestion is they put their amazing chicken and wild rice soup and peanut butter pie on the regular menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Been here a few times, and had yet another great experience. Excellent wine selection, food, and service. Tried the Brussel sprout salad for the first time, it was awesome! Get it as an app to share, not as meal. We ordered it with the fried oysters, perfect compliment to each other.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best oysters we've ever had. Excellent steaks and perfectly done king salmon with many recipe variations!

Tags: Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always, a pleasant experience, even bing a very late Valentine reservation, 'cause the only table open a week in advance was near my bedtime.
Given that it was a busy night, though calming down, a couple items kept me back at the 15% tip level. Started with a wine 1st thing, I enjoyed it thru the appetizer, and when the waiter noticed the glass empty, he offered another. I requested the refill come when the main course was delivered. The main course was not delivered by him, and no wine ever came. He had checked how we were doing at a time before that, but really never came back until time for the check. Also after our main course, I'd have liked an espresso, but as I've mentioned, he never attended to us until the check (or checking for dessert).
Maybe it was just 'cause he was busy. But in that case, his tips should be ample anyway.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love this restaurant. The seafood is superb and my husband can get a fine steak or burger so we are both happy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Get the truffle fries! They are the best. The menu is varied but I really enjoyed the shrimp and feta salad. I appreciate the quiet atmosphere so we don't have to yell to talk to each other.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 11, 2017

South Side Bistro is an amazing restaurant. Great food, great service and wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We've never had a bad meal at the Bistro, and we've been coming here over 20 years! The food is always cooked to perfection. Our Favorite place to celebrate any special occasion or just an awesome meal!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This is a place I can count on for great food and a wonderful staff and atmosphere.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great atmosphere and delicious food. Would like to see more vegan/vegetarian options. The service was wonderful with very courteous and capable waiters. The buser was outstanding and always kept the water glasses filled and removed plates when needed. The hostesses were very efficient and courteous.
The restaurant has been a longtime favorite for us and even though there is not a big selection for us to eat, it is still at the top of our list of eating establishments and is usually our first choice for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 5, 2017

$34.00 for a ribeye steak & fries, a bit overpriced!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious cuisine and an appropriate number of options. Excellent service. The filet and duck were excellent. The fried oysters were a rare treat for this southerner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.