About Southern Rail

300 W. Camelback Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85013
View Larger Map

The people that brought you Beckett’s Table invite you to experience the Southern Rail. Soulful, warm and centered around community, the Southern Rail offers flavors of the American South elevated by Chef Justin Beckett’s inspired signature style. Diners will enjoy a journey of nostalgic flavors accented by a robust wine program in a genuinely comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tues -Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sun, Mon 5:00 pm-9:00 pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11-3 pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday 10-3 pm
Social Hour 7 days a week 3:00 pm - 6 :00 pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 200-0085

Website:
http://www.southernrailaz.com/

Parking Details:
Self park parking lot.

Public Transit:
Light rail station (Central & Camelback)
Bus stop (Central Ave/Camelback Rd Transit Center)

Executive Chef:
Justin Beckett

Private Party Facilities:
We specialize in creating a wonderful experience for you and your guests: whether it is a bridal shower, business lunch or family gathering.

Private Party Contact:
our Private Event Coordinator: 6022000085

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in creating a wonderful experience for you and your guests: whether it is a bridal shower, business lunch or family gathering.
We have multiple options to choose from including our Private Dining Room, bar side Community Table, our East Garden Patio with fireplace, or the South Umbrella Canopy Patio. Please email us for details and pricing at events@Southernrailaz.com

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Southern Rail Dining Room - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Camelback Salad - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Deviled Eggs - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Bbq + Bourbon - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Muffalata - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Southern Rail Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Authentic (14)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Fun (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fireplace (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Romantic (3)
Spicy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Family Style (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Music (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Since this was our first visit to SR for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Since this was our first visit to SR for brunch, we tried a few things- all were great! Service was excellent- attentive, but not over-bearing. Loved the ambience, including elements of the old Beefeater's restaurant, which gives it a lot of character.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Experienced our first Southern Rail brun ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Experienced our first Southern Rail brunch fair. Excellent and unique french toast, egg dishes, biscuits and gravy, and beignets! You need to try them all...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu has matured nicely. Some of the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The menu has matured nicely. Some of the original dishes remain, along with interesting new choices.

Before dinner, we enjoyed the deviled eggs and rice balls. The deviled eggs are good... But the rice balls are unique and more memorable.

As an entree, I ordered the mushroom, leek and potato enchiladas. They are filled also with corn and poblanos and covered in a wonderful guajilo Chile sauce. Awesome.

You can't eat here without a dessert. We chose bread pudding. So rich, and tasty. I paired it with a cocktail made with rye, mescal maple syrup, lemonade and figgy pudding and orange bitters. Yum.

This has become a favorite of the midtown and uptown crowds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had the BBQ and Burbon special, best ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had the BBQ and Burbon special, best duck confit we have ever had. Everything was delicious, unique, and presented well. Make sure you save room for desert! We had the German chocolate cake and bread pudding...great finish to a scrumptious meal!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great NYE Dinner! We had a great dinner ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great NYE Dinner!

We had a great dinner at a very reasonable price. All of us at the table (6 of us) highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Went for lunch the other day. Great ser ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for lunch the other day. Great service and friendly atmosphere. Best hamburger I've ever had in my life. Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Southern Belle envisioned a contempo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Old Southern Belle envisioned a contemporary dining take on her roots! We enjoyed a belated anniversary dinner and the food was delicious. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful! There was lots of energy but a little too loud for our taste--looking for a lower vibe for a relaxing dinner together. Overall it is definitely worth checking it out!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for Christmas eve dinner with my fa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas eve dinner with my family. We had only a fair experience. The restaurant is too loud. We couldn't hold a conversation. Also we had a party of 5 and they put a chair at one end of a booth table and Backes up against a 6 top. Uncomfortable and one diner was in the walking path.

Both my mother and I, we are from Georgia, chose the chicken and dumplings. It was not good at all. Smoked chicken, overcooked and mealy, and terrible biscuits as dumplings. Not seasoned well. My mother had to ask for more biscuits because she only received 2 tiny ones in her bowl. I spent alost $250 including tip, and I feel it was a poor use of my money. The other diners had better food experiences but we're not wowed.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Our wait staff was very attentive and fr ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our wait staff was very attentive and friendly. Their Creole Lemonade was really tasty. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived during Happy Hour and thus we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We arrived during Happy Hour and thus were able to get 4 appetizers and a bottle of wine to share - half price. Great. The only downer was the loud music. There were a couple of large parties and the music made them shout at each other to be heard.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful gumbo! Be sure you ask for a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful gumbo! Be sure you ask for a booth! Love their booths!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the predictably great food and s ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Enjoyed the predictably great food and service. Good wheelchair access.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to Southern Rail shortly afte ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had been to Southern Rail shortly after they opened and at that time they still needed to work out some kinks in their service. On this vist the service was excellent. Server offer suggestions and was enthusiastic. Food came out in a timely manner. Two thumbs up for the corn soup and the muffuletta burger. Salads were also tasty. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Phoenix! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Phoenix! The service and the food are both wonderful! It's the perfect place for celebrations! The deviled eggs and fried green tomatoes are top notch! Great Arizona wines offered as well! I'm becoming a regular!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. It's ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food and service were great. It's just like all the new restaurants' though - TOO LOUD to have a conversation. Why this is a trend I will never know. there were 6 of us and we had to yell at each other to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great place. Shared tastes and all was d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great place. Shared tastes and all was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love introducing friends to this rest ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We love introducing friends to this restaurant. This is also our favorite brunch spot with the moms. Delicious food and the staff and management are 5 star!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Live Music, Authentic, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern Rail is a lovely place. Our se ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Southern Rail is a lovely place. Our server was wonderful. The food was very good. I had the brined pork loin which I really enjoyed. My husband had a burger which he was very happy with. Two people in our party ordered the gumbo; both really like it.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the restaurant was gorgeous. our wines w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

the restaurant was gorgeous. our wines were great. our desserts were very good. our dinners were meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a great place if you like to be ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is a great place if you like to be in open dining concept. This restaurant is situated right on Camelback so if you do sit outside the noise level is quite high. I came here for a weekend brunch I ordered the eggs Benedict. My husband ordered the same. His eggs came out hot mine were freezing cold. Had to send them back. And I don't mean just slightly warm I mean freezing cold -was very odd

So they had to remake my order and by the time it came my husband was done with his food. The flavor was tasty but I will not be going back again just not worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

It is a beautiful restaurant and very co ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It is a beautiful restaurant and very comfortable. The menu is very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great, everyone was pleased wit ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was great, everyone was pleased with their dishes. The dirty rice ball dish probably should have 4 instead of 3 as an appetizer to be shared for $7.

The only 2 negatives were road noise was terrible when dining on the open patio and the chairs had arms on the side that were too narrow for a "large" person. open-sided chairs should be mixed among the seating so those who are not slender are not forced to either sit on the edge of their seat or have a metal arm rail embedded in their hip all meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Southern rail was a great new spot. The ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Southern rail was a great new spot. The food was better than the typical BBQ in Phoenix, which is admittedly not great. The service was great, and the ambiance is very nice. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic comfort food at stratospheric pr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Classic comfort food at stratospheric prices in a hip atmosphere clouded by slow uninspired service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Very awesome meal and service. I ordered ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Very awesome meal and service. I ordered the salmon and it was outstanding. I'll be going there again without a doubt.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant near the financial dist ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great restaurant near the financial district of Phoenix. One of our favorite spots for great food and casual dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter, wonderful ambiance, food.. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great waiter, wonderful ambiance, food....meh -my burger bun was soaked on the bottom -variety not the greatest - change the menu from time to time. Brunch is your best bet and best food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Seth was not the best waiter ever, just ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Seth was not the best waiter ever, just not customer service trained, no real problems. An infant was crying on the patio dining area, so not great for a date, but hard for a restaurant to control such things.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Took a fried for her first time...she wa ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Took a fried for her first time...she was so impressed!!!!! Thoroughly enjoyed her "birthday beignet". Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love taking first timers to SR! Trul ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We love taking first timers to SR! Truly a must go if you haven't tried it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Our server was super att ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was great. Our server was super attenitive. Then you can browse bookstore and garden store. Delightful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was like an icebox, so we had ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Restaurant was like an icebox, so we had to sit outside. My husband who considers 65 degrees to be ideal was in agreement to my surprise.

I did not care for the entree selections at all. Too hoity-toity to be southern comfort food. I did, however, love the banana pudding! It was sooo tasty. Somewhat pricey 2 people= 2 drinks, 2 entrees, and 1 dessert equals $ 115.00

May be back for desserts and drinks at another time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I love Southern Rail! The restaurant is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I love Southern Rail! The restaurant is beautifully decorated and has a fantastic patio area.

Their fried chicken is the best I've ever had! We went two weekends in a row and I believe we will keep going as long as they'll have us! My new favorite restaurant in town AND it's locally operated.

Tags: Seasonal, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drinks, service, and ambiance were p ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The drinks, service, and ambiance were pretty good here. Unfortunately, the food fell short on flavor especially considering the theme of southern style of cooking

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

They had an impressive list of Arizona w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 23, 2016

They had an impressive list of Arizona wines. The food was innovative. We enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

As usual, we were seated quickly and had ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2016

As usual, we were seated quickly and had a very amicable server. Overall the food was very good... but the salmon was absolutely fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ere there during AZ restaurant week. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We ere there during AZ restaurant week. We chose the 3 course meal which included a glass of wine or beer for $33. The food was excellent. Additional glasses of the wine came for $5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly . The manage ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The staff was very friendly . The manager was visible and made sure that all the guests were taken care of. I had trouble with the new Open Table gift but he called and made sure I was able to use it . Thank you to him!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic food and service, we really en ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fantastic food and service, we really enjoyed ourselves :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a rare date night for my wife a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was a rare date night for my wife and I. We couldn't have picked a better place. Our waiter was awesome. Food was amazing. The whole evening was just one fabulous dining experience.

So thank you and see you soon

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.