About Southern Rail

300 W. Camelback Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85013
View Larger Map

The people that brought you Beckett’s Table invite you to experience the Southern Rail. Soulful, warm and centered around community, the Southern Rail offers flavors of the American South elevated by Chef Justin Beckett’s inspired signature style. Diners will enjoy a journey of nostalgic flavors accented by a robust wine program in a genuinely comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11-3 pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday 10-3 pm
Social Hour (limited area of bar & community table)7 days a week 3:00 pm - 6 :00 pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 200-0085

Website:
http://www.southernrailaz.com/

Parking Details:
Self park parking lot.

Public Transit:
Light rail station (central & camelback)
Bus stop (Central Ave/Camelback Rd Transit Center)

Executive Chef:
Justin Beckett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail
Southern Rail

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Southern Rail Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (37)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Great for Lunch (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for a Date (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (4)
Scenic View (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The drinks, service, and ambiance were p ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

The drinks, service, and ambiance were pretty good here. Unfortunately, the food fell short on flavor especially considering the theme of southern style of cooking

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

They had an impressive list of Arizona w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

They had an impressive list of Arizona wines. The food was innovative. We enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

As usual, we were seated quickly and had ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

As usual, we were seated quickly and had a very amicable server. Overall the food was very good... but the salmon was absolutely fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ere there during AZ restaurant week. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

We ere there during AZ restaurant week. We chose the 3 course meal which included a glass of wine or beer for $33. The food was excellent. Additional glasses of the wine came for $5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly . The manage ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

The staff was very friendly . The manager was visible and made sure that all the guests were taken care of. I had trouble with the new Open Table gift but he called and made sure I was able to use it . Thank you to him!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic food and service, we really en ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food and service, we really enjoyed ourselves :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a rare date night for my wife a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was a rare date night for my wife and I. We couldn't have picked a better place. Our waiter was awesome. Food was amazing. The whole evening was just one fabulous dining experience.

So thank you and see you soon

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the taste of my dish but it did ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I loved the taste of my dish but it did come out quite a bit heavier than I would have liked. The enchiladas made no mention of cheese, which it is probably understood that it includes cheese but I felt that it dominated the dish. I have had the other veg entrée option which is the casserole, also very heavy on the cheese/cream. I would love to see a lighter vegetarian/vegan option other than salads. I think I read that the approach of this restaurant is supposed to not be typical fried/heavy Southern fare, but let's the vegetables shine. Please let them do it!

Our waiter was great!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose Southern Rail during Restaurant ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We chose Southern Rail during Restaurant Week for a night out with friends. The food was sub par. There are too many good restaurants choices, we apologized to our friends and will not be returning.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It doesn't matter if it is Beckett's or ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It doesn't matter if it is Beckett's or Southern Rail - food and service are always outstanding. Many thanks to Justin, Michelle, Scott and Katie, and Pam - we love you and your outstanding staff. Always an honor to call ourselves your loyal customers. We will ALWAYS recommend you!! Kathy & Jim

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken was mostly breading. Not g ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fried chicken was mostly breading. Not good! Much too loud. Not sure will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was great as always. The only p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was great as always. The only part that was not great was when they boxed up our leftover food and then only gave us part of what was on the plate. My husband ordered the fried chicken which came with corn and I had given him the rolls from my plate. He only ate a piece of chicken and did not eat the rest. We asked for the remaining food to be boxed up. When we got it back we were surprised how so much food could fit in a small box. We looked and the chicken was broken apart and smashed into the small box and the corn and roll were not in there. My sides from my leftovers were discarded as well. I paid for all of the food. I would like to take all of my leftovers too. We were disappointed and we told the server what happened and she gave us an ear of corn and a roll. That being said, we still love Southern Rail, but next time we will ask to box our own food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Amazing time! Excellent service and del ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing time! Excellent service and delicious food! We had a group of eight, so we were able to sample a variety of the menu items. All very good! Atmosphere is lively and fun! Cannot wait to go back in a couple of weeks for another birthday dinner. Southern girl approved!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostesses seemed disorganized and a bit ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Hostesses seemed disorganized and a bit aloof--it took 10 minutes before someone acknowledged us. We required a high chair which was brought out but the hostess left the other chair so our table was awkwardly crowded. Hostess staff acted like they had other places to be. The menu could use a refresher, too many heavy dishes or others that were simply unappealing. Please add a grilled chicken option, the smoked chicken has an off flavor to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We have eaten at Southern Rail in the pa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have eaten at Southern Rail in the past & were celebrating 3 couples' anniversaries. One couple had come in from Houston & seemed to enjoy themselves & remembered when it used to be "Beefeaters." We did have a few issues, however. While we were waiting for our friends to arrive, we ordered bread to "tide us over" & we needed to remind our server at least twice before it arrived almost 15 min. after it was ordered. There was also a lengthy wait for the wine & food & it didn't seem the restaurant was especially busy. The food, as usual, was wonderful & our server was very solicitous & friendly. We just didn't remember waiting as long as we did on our previous visits. We will be back, though. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waiter was awesome. Food was excelle ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our waiter was awesome. Food was excellent. Mimosa could have been a little bigger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place has potential

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

This place has potential

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Came here for my son-in-law's birthday.. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Came here for my son-in-law's birthday...I don't think he was disappointed!

Although, I thought the cauliflower appetizer was disappointing (really needed more oven roasting to enhance the flavor; was a bit bland!)

I really liked the new veggie potato/leek/mushroom enchilada offering! And my daughter & I loved the beautiful watermelon salad!

Brioche & apple butter were a crowd pleaser as usual.

However, NONE of us were fans of the collard greens which came with my husbands pork & sweet potatoes...(& my daughter & I usually love all things green)! I wonder is there would be an allowable substitution?!

A very nice plate of complimentary powdered beignets were presented to my son-in-law for his birthday : )

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome, as always from start to finish.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome, as always from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another outstanding meal. Cider brined p ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Another outstanding meal. Cider brined pork was great, and chicken was perfect!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for an early dinner before a con ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went for an early dinner before a concert. Their happy hour was fantastic and we pretty much filled ourselves up with deviled eggs, fried green tomatoes, and dirty rice balls. My wife skipped dinner to save room for the beignets. I had the gumbo, it was good but I would try something else next time. The beignets were outstanding and could serve 4. Not knowing how big they were I also ordered desert, a German chocolate cake. The cake was served in a jar and had mouse on the bottom. It was tasty but extremely rich. I would suggest splitting deserts or plan on taking home a bunch of food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience & excellent service!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience & excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for fried green tomatoes and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place for fried green tomatoes and specially crafted comfort foods. This restaurant has a fun vibe and the service is good. I've been three times now and I have always enjoyed it. Save room for the beignets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, wonderful service from Seth.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food, wonderful service from Seth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect place for friends to meet and ca ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Perfect place for friends to meet and catch up over a bottle of wine and a great meal. We chose to order three small plates which more than fed us (fried green tomotoes, smoked trout with pea cakes, and avocado toast) followed by beignets and coffee. The service was really tops with our server knowledgeably helping us choose a bottle of wine and the menu. Finally, the ambiance was such that we were able to talk. It was a great girls night out for two busy Moms.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome awesome! Loved everything about ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome awesome! Loved everything about it; server was great. Food was simply delicious

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect and delicious! I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was perfect and delicious! I loved the fried chicken and dirty rice balls in particular! I would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Great food and se ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was great. Great food and service. Did a nice job remodeling a long standing building. Would go back again. A little pricey but not to bad.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

When there is a birthday (like for this ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

When there is a birthday (like for this meal) or other special occasion in our household, Peg and I look long and hard for places that serve not only wonderful food but personable, professional service. Anything that Chef Justin Beckett creates works out to be pretty much be in our wheelhouse. Ty, our server, was knowledgeable, efficient and had an extraordinary sense of timing. I tried the muffaletta burger (of course I did, SR is heavily influenced by the South, specifically NOLA) and my wife had the barbecue and bourbon (substituted wine) feature which was absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend this place (or its sister restaurant, Beckett's Table) for anything special.... or for that matter, anytime you would like to feel special. Dr. B

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was well informed and gave us rec ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Server was well informed and gave us recommendations for our brunch. The Bloody Mary was deliciously spicey. Meaty Gumbo and catfish po boy were outstanding. I had the fried green tomatoes Benedict and can't wait to return and have it again. It was quiet when we first got there but was filled with people when we left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was extremely unimpressive. T ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The dinner was extremely unimpressive. Their breakfast and lunch menus are much more "southern." In addition, the food that we did get wasn't the best and lacked flavor. Try this place for brunch or lunch rather than spending on dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We ordered the gumbo and the salmon, wit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We ordered the gumbo and the salmon, with cocktails. Everything was delicious! Best Sazerac I've ever had! The beignets for dessert were crispy on the outside and light and airy on the inside...perfection. It's a little noisy and our table had a very sticky finish on it, but service was great and we had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I went to Southern Rail with 9 others to ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went to Southern Rail with 9 others to celebrate my birthday. It was perfect!!! The food was amazing, and the wait staff courteous and attentive. I would recommend this place to large groups. I have been to Southern Rail on a double date 2 years prior and it remains the same in a good way. Consistentcy is always good!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern Rail was a great find on my rec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Southern Rail was a great find on my recent trip to Phoenix. A friend and I went on a Monday night and shared a number of dishes during happy hour. It was really nice to be able to try so many delicious items and enjoy a nice bottle of Arizona wine at a reduced price. Our server, Alison, was friendly and knowledgeable. Be sure to try the fried okra. I'm not big on veggies but this dish was top notch. SR was our favorite restaurant of the trip. Great atmosphere, food, service and drinks at a very reasonable price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined on July 9th. The ribs and brio ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We dined on July 9th. The ribs and brioche rolls with apple butter were delicious! Service was excellent. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had higher expectations for the food, es ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had higher expectations for the food, especially at this price but overall it was very good. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to the restaurant for the fried c ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I went to the restaurant for the fried chicken but it tasted like it was cooked in last nights grease.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner with friends. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends. We chose meals that were new to us and enjoyed every bite! This is a great place to explore new tastes. Owner, Justin Beckette, never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Deviled eggs and fried chicken are delic ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Deviled eggs and fried chicken are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SR is one of our neighborhood faves! Th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

SR is one of our neighborhood faves! The food and service are always superb and the new menu items are off the chain! If you have not been in a while, go back. If you have never been, you have got to try this place! Sure to please even the most fickle eater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.