About Southern Rail

300 W. Camelback Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85013
View Larger Map

The people that brought you Beckett’s Table invite you to experience the Southern Rail. Soulful, warm and centered around community, the Southern Rail offers flavors of the American South elevated by Chef Justin Beckett’s inspired signature style. Diners will enjoy a journey of nostalgic flavors accented by a robust wine program in a genuinely comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11-3 pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday 10-3 pm
Social Hour (limited area of bar & community table)7 days a week 3:00 pm - 6 :00 pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 200-0085

Website:
http://www.southernrailaz.com/

Parking Details:
Self park parking lot.

Public Transit:
Light rail station (central & camelback)
Bus stop (Central Ave/Camelback Rd Transit Center)

Executive Chef:
Justin Beckett

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Southern Rail Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (49)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Notable Wine List (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Romantic (10)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place has potential

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

This place has potential

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Came here for my son-in-law's birthday.. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Came here for my son-in-law's birthday...I don't think he was disappointed!

Although, I thought the cauliflower appetizer was disappointing (really needed more oven roasting to enhance the flavor; was a bit bland!)

I really liked the new veggie potato/leek/mushroom enchilada offering! And my daughter & I loved the beautiful watermelon salad!

Brioche & apple butter were a crowd pleaser as usual.

However, NONE of us were fans of the collard greens which came with my husbands pork & sweet potatoes...(& my daughter & I usually love all things green)! I wonder is there would be an allowable substitution?!

A very nice plate of complimentary powdered beignets were presented to my son-in-law for his birthday : )

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome, as always from start to finish.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome, as always from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another outstanding meal. Cider brined p ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Another outstanding meal. Cider brined pork was great, and chicken was perfect!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for an early dinner before a con ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We went for an early dinner before a concert. Their happy hour was fantastic and we pretty much filled ourselves up with deviled eggs, fried green tomatoes, and dirty rice balls. My wife skipped dinner to save room for the beignets. I had the gumbo, it was good but I would try something else next time. The beignets were outstanding and could serve 4. Not knowing how big they were I also ordered desert, a German chocolate cake. The cake was served in a jar and had mouse on the bottom. It was tasty but extremely rich. I would suggest splitting deserts or plan on taking home a bunch of food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience & excellent service!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great experience & excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for fried green tomatoes and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place for fried green tomatoes and specially crafted comfort foods. This restaurant has a fun vibe and the service is good. I've been three times now and I have always enjoyed it. Save room for the beignets!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, wonderful service from Seth.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food, wonderful service from Seth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect place for friends to meet and ca ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Perfect place for friends to meet and catch up over a bottle of wine and a great meal. We chose to order three small plates which more than fed us (fried green tomotoes, smoked trout with pea cakes, and avocado toast) followed by beignets and coffee. The service was really tops with our server knowledgeably helping us choose a bottle of wine and the menu. Finally, the ambiance was such that we were able to talk. It was a great girls night out for two busy Moms.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome awesome! Loved everything about ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome awesome! Loved everything about it; server was great. Food was simply delicious

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect and delicious! I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was perfect and delicious! I loved the fried chicken and dirty rice balls in particular! I would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Great food and se ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything was great. Great food and service. Did a nice job remodeling a long standing building. Would go back again. A little pricey but not to bad.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

When there is a birthday (like for this ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

When there is a birthday (like for this meal) or other special occasion in our household, Peg and I look long and hard for places that serve not only wonderful food but personable, professional service. Anything that Chef Justin Beckett creates works out to be pretty much be in our wheelhouse. Ty, our server, was knowledgeable, efficient and had an extraordinary sense of timing. I tried the muffaletta burger (of course I did, SR is heavily influenced by the South, specifically NOLA) and my wife had the barbecue and bourbon (substituted wine) feature which was absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend this place (or its sister restaurant, Beckett's Table) for anything special.... or for that matter, anytime you would like to feel special. Dr. B

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was well informed and gave us rec ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Server was well informed and gave us recommendations for our brunch. The Bloody Mary was deliciously spicey. Meaty Gumbo and catfish po boy were outstanding. I had the fried green tomatoes Benedict and can't wait to return and have it again. It was quiet when we first got there but was filled with people when we left.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was extremely unimpressive. T ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The dinner was extremely unimpressive. Their breakfast and lunch menus are much more "southern." In addition, the food that we did get wasn't the best and lacked flavor. Try this place for brunch or lunch rather than spending on dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We ordered the gumbo and the salmon, wit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We ordered the gumbo and the salmon, with cocktails. Everything was delicious! Best Sazerac I've ever had! The beignets for dessert were crispy on the outside and light and airy on the inside...perfection. It's a little noisy and our table had a very sticky finish on it, but service was great and we had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I went to Southern Rail with 9 others to ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I went to Southern Rail with 9 others to celebrate my birthday. It was perfect!!! The food was amazing, and the wait staff courteous and attentive. I would recommend this place to large groups. I have been to Southern Rail on a double date 2 years prior and it remains the same in a good way. Consistentcy is always good!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern Rail was a great find on my rec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Southern Rail was a great find on my recent trip to Phoenix. A friend and I went on a Monday night and shared a number of dishes during happy hour. It was really nice to be able to try so many delicious items and enjoy a nice bottle of Arizona wine at a reduced price. Our server, Alison, was friendly and knowledgeable. Be sure to try the fried okra. I'm not big on veggies but this dish was top notch. SR was our favorite restaurant of the trip. Great atmosphere, food, service and drinks at a very reasonable price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined on July 9th. The ribs and brio ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We dined on July 9th. The ribs and brioche rolls with apple butter were delicious! Service was excellent. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had higher expectations for the food, es ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had higher expectations for the food, especially at this price but overall it was very good. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to the restaurant for the fried c ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I went to the restaurant for the fried chicken but it tasted like it was cooked in last nights grease.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner with friends. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends. We chose meals that were new to us and enjoyed every bite! This is a great place to explore new tastes. Owner, Justin Beckette, never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Deviled eggs and fried chicken are delic ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Deviled eggs and fried chicken are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SR is one of our neighborhood faves! Th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

SR is one of our neighborhood faves! The food and service are always superb and the new menu items are off the chain! If you have not been in a while, go back. If you have never been, you have got to try this place! Sure to please even the most fickle eater.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined at the Southern Rail on many ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I've dined at the Southern Rail on many occasions during brunch, lunch and dinner. My favorite appetizer is the fried green tomatoes and being originally from Mississippi, I "know" excellent friend green tomatoes! Each visit I've had a companion and we have always been pleased with the food and service at Southern Rail! Management (Josh) and each server have always made me feel welcomed! Most importantly, to begin my pleasant experience at Southern Rail, they have always honored my request for a specific seating location. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. Casey, our s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent. Casey, our server, was very attentive and patient. The food was wonderful. Though the kids' meal was a bit slow in coming, my son, who's not picky but a small eater, finished everything! The wine list could do with a little better variety, otherwise, everything was commendable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoy the eclectic menu and the f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Really enjoy the eclectic menu and the food is always good. Didn't notice they only serve brunch during Saturday and Sunday - wished we could have brunch AND the regular lunch menu as there are things there we love. But over all very good - and always great service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I found the menu to have several interes ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I found the menu to have several interesting variations on traditional southern fare. Not all of the ideas work but enough do that it keeps me coming back to try them. The menu changes frequently so I think it is a waste of time to describe individual dishes. If fried green tomatoes are included on the menu or as part of a dish, give it a try as they do a terrific job with these. On the other hand, I would avoid green tomato soup as it was very bland and watery.

Overall, the food is carefully prepared. The dishes are creative. More ideas work than do not. The service is excellent. It is worth at least a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, ambience and presentatio ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food, ambience and presentation. Everything we ordered was fabulous, but the ribs and fried chicken were especially good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was excellent and made severa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server was excellent and made several recommendations regarding menu choices. We tried the highly touted Fried Chicken and found it to be a little too greasy for our taste. The beets, brussel sprouts, and butternut squash dish was shared by everyone at the table and we enjoyed it. I was anxious to try the German Chocolate cake for dessert since that's my favorite, but I was underwhelmed by the offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Perfect Date Night Dining for Book Lovers!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I surprised my wife with a mystery date night. She loves books, and Southern Rail shares a building with Changing Hands, her favorite bookstore, so it was an easy choice. The menu is interesting and full of pleasant surprises. We enjoyed everything, and the service was outstanding (thank you Ty!) We'll be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sweet potatoes were amazing!! The restau ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Sweet potatoes were amazing!! The restaurant week menu was a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Pig Out at the Southern Rail

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had never been to Southern Rail before because we don't live in the area. We went there for Restaurant Week and to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We love Southern cuisine and they didn't disappoint. We liked the special RW menu and felt it was an excellent value. Our server, Ashley, brought us complimentary champagne to celebrate our anniversary. Ashley was very attentive all night and gave us excellent service. We really loved the food - especially the gumbo and the shrimp and grits. We were also given a complimentary dessert and even though we were stuffed, we ate the delicious bourbon bread pudding! We will definitely go back, when we are in the area, because the menu looks wonderful. Thank you Southern Rail!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love those grits

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was the third time I have eaten at Southern Rail. The food is excellent, but I wish Fried Chicken was on the menu at all times. I tried the Restaurant Week menu and had the fried green tomatoes. They were wonderful, did not care for the pimento cheese. The pork was excellent and the corn chowder was to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Having tried small bites from the Southe ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Having tried small bites from the Southern Rail kitchen at the annual Devoured! events in Phoenix, I had high hopes that a complete meal would live up to the potential. I was not disappointed! Great service on top of well-prepared dishes will keep us coming back again, particularly when there are wine specials on Sunday and Monday evenings. As for the menu, the pork chop dish - although it sounds boring - was smoky, moist and flavorful. We also had a salmon dish that was better than anything I've had in Alaska. Shrimp and grits has wonderfully creamy grits (although I think this dish could use some hot sauce that was not provided or suggested) and it was the first dish finished on the table. The gumbo is also very hearty and tasty and packs some heat that was missing from the shrimp and grits. Finally, we were very happy that we saved space for beignets for dessert. Fluffy and coated with powdered sugar, they reminded me of what sopapillas used to be before they got Americanized. The dining room is large here and the walls are open if the weather is good - but your view is of Camelback Road, not Camelback Mountain, so this is definitely an urban experience. Parking can be tight, particularly if there is an event at the bookstore next door, so prepare to park on sidestreets when the lot is full. At the moment, there is plenty of unrestricted street parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spin on traditional Southern food ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great spin on traditional Southern food and open yet intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Always fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizer and salad were great. Main co ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Appetizer and salad were great. Main course was pretty bland, could have had more seasoning. Presentation was very nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Having heard about Southern Rail as a fa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Having heard about Southern Rail as a fan of Beckett's Table, we checked it out for Arizona Restaurant Week. A trendy vibe and open atmosphere provide a great backdrop to the amazing food. Southern comfort food done with subtle updates. The food is the center of attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Arizona wine suggested by server was exc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Arizona wine suggested by server was excellent. Okra was delightful and grits were a treat. The greens had some explaining to do; they were hot and dry/tough in places and tender in others. Corn chowder arrived in the form of a yummy corn broth. Good and disappointing at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.