About Southern Rail

300 W. Camelback Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85013
View Larger Map

The people that brought you Beckett’s Table invite you to experience the Southern Rail. Soulful, warm and centered around community, the Southern Rail offers flavors of the American South elevated by Chef Justin Beckett’s inspired signature style. Diners will enjoy a journey of nostalgic flavors accented by a robust wine program in a genuinely comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11-3 pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday 10-3 pm
Social Hour (limited area of bar & community table)7 days a week 3:00 pm - 6 :00 pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 200-0085

Website:
http://www.southernrailaz.com/

Parking Details:
Self park parking lot.

Public Transit:
Light rail station (central & camelback)
Bus stop (Central Ave/Camelback Rd Transit Center)

Executive Chef:
Justin Beckett

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Southern Rail Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (49)
great for outdoor dining (40)
neighborhood gem (39)
See All
good for groups (27)
great for lunch (24)
great for brunch (23)
special occasion (23)
vibrant bar scene (14)
notable wine list (14)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (10)
romantic (9)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Southern Rail was a great find on my rec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Southern Rail was a great find on my recent trip to Phoenix. A friend and I went on a Monday night and shared a number of dishes during happy hour. It was really nice to be able to try so many delicious items and enjoy a nice bottle of Arizona wine at a reduced price. Our server, Alison, was friendly and knowledgeable. Be sure to try the fried okra. I'm not big on veggies but this dish was top notch. SR was our favorite restaurant of the trip. Great atmosphere, food, service and drinks at a very reasonable price!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined on July 9th. The ribs and brio ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We dined on July 9th. The ribs and brioche rolls with apple butter were delicious! Service was excellent. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had higher expectations for the food, es ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had higher expectations for the food, especially at this price but overall it was very good. Service was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to the restaurant for the fried c ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I went to the restaurant for the fried chicken but it tasted like it was cooked in last nights grease.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner with friends. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends. We chose meals that were new to us and enjoyed every bite! This is a great place to explore new tastes. Owner, Justin Beckette, never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Deviled eggs and fried chicken are delic ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Deviled eggs and fried chicken are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SR is one of our neighborhood faves! Th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

SR is one of our neighborhood faves! The food and service are always superb and the new menu items are off the chain! If you have not been in a while, go back. If you have never been, you have got to try this place! Sure to please even the most fickle eater.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined at the Southern Rail on many ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I've dined at the Southern Rail on many occasions during brunch, lunch and dinner. My favorite appetizer is the fried green tomatoes and being originally from Mississippi, I "know" excellent friend green tomatoes! Each visit I've had a companion and we have always been pleased with the food and service at Southern Rail! Management (Josh) and each server have always made me feel welcomed! Most importantly, to begin my pleasant experience at Southern Rail, they have always honored my request for a specific seating location. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. Casey, our s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent. Casey, our server, was very attentive and patient. The food was wonderful. Though the kids' meal was a bit slow in coming, my son, who's not picky but a small eater, finished everything! The wine list could do with a little better variety, otherwise, everything was commendable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really enjoy the eclectic menu and the f ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Really enjoy the eclectic menu and the food is always good. Didn't notice they only serve brunch during Saturday and Sunday - wished we could have brunch AND the regular lunch menu as there are things there we love. But over all very good - and always great service.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I found the menu to have several interes ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I found the menu to have several interesting variations on traditional southern fare. Not all of the ideas work but enough do that it keeps me coming back to try them. The menu changes frequently so I think it is a waste of time to describe individual dishes. If fried green tomatoes are included on the menu or as part of a dish, give it a try as they do a terrific job with these. On the other hand, I would avoid green tomato soup as it was very bland and watery.

Overall, the food is carefully prepared. The dishes are creative. More ideas work than do not. The service is excellent. It is worth at least a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, ambience and presentatio ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food, ambience and presentation. Everything we ordered was fabulous, but the ribs and fried chicken were especially good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was excellent and made severa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server was excellent and made several recommendations regarding menu choices. We tried the highly touted Fried Chicken and found it to be a little too greasy for our taste. The beets, brussel sprouts, and butternut squash dish was shared by everyone at the table and we enjoyed it. I was anxious to try the German Chocolate cake for dessert since that's my favorite, but I was underwhelmed by the offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Perfect Date Night Dining for Book Lovers!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I surprised my wife with a mystery date night. She loves books, and Southern Rail shares a building with Changing Hands, her favorite bookstore, so it was an easy choice. The menu is interesting and full of pleasant surprises. We enjoyed everything, and the service was outstanding (thank you Ty!) We'll be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sweet potatoes were amazing!! The restau ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Sweet potatoes were amazing!! The restaurant week menu was a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Pig Out at the Southern Rail

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had never been to Southern Rail before because we don't live in the area. We went there for Restaurant Week and to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We love Southern cuisine and they didn't disappoint. We liked the special RW menu and felt it was an excellent value. Our server, Ashley, brought us complimentary champagne to celebrate our anniversary. Ashley was very attentive all night and gave us excellent service. We really loved the food - especially the gumbo and the shrimp and grits. We were also given a complimentary dessert and even though we were stuffed, we ate the delicious bourbon bread pudding! We will definitely go back, when we are in the area, because the menu looks wonderful. Thank you Southern Rail!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love those grits

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was the third time I have eaten at Southern Rail. The food is excellent, but I wish Fried Chicken was on the menu at all times. I tried the Restaurant Week menu and had the fried green tomatoes. They were wonderful, did not care for the pimento cheese. The pork was excellent and the corn chowder was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Having tried small bites from the Southe ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Having tried small bites from the Southern Rail kitchen at the annual Devoured! events in Phoenix, I had high hopes that a complete meal would live up to the potential. I was not disappointed! Great service on top of well-prepared dishes will keep us coming back again, particularly when there are wine specials on Sunday and Monday evenings. As for the menu, the pork chop dish - although it sounds boring - was smoky, moist and flavorful. We also had a salmon dish that was better than anything I've had in Alaska. Shrimp and grits has wonderfully creamy grits (although I think this dish could use some hot sauce that was not provided or suggested) and it was the first dish finished on the table. The gumbo is also very hearty and tasty and packs some heat that was missing from the shrimp and grits. Finally, we were very happy that we saved space for beignets for dessert. Fluffy and coated with powdered sugar, they reminded me of what sopapillas used to be before they got Americanized. The dining room is large here and the walls are open if the weather is good - but your view is of Camelback Road, not Camelback Mountain, so this is definitely an urban experience. Parking can be tight, particularly if there is an event at the bookstore next door, so prepare to park on sidestreets when the lot is full. At the moment, there is plenty of unrestricted street parking.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spin on traditional Southern food ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great spin on traditional Southern food and open yet intimate atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Always fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizer and salad were great. Main co ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Appetizer and salad were great. Main course was pretty bland, could have had more seasoning. Presentation was very nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Having heard about Southern Rail as a fa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Having heard about Southern Rail as a fan of Beckett's Table, we checked it out for Arizona Restaurant Week. A trendy vibe and open atmosphere provide a great backdrop to the amazing food. Southern comfort food done with subtle updates. The food is the center of attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Arizona wine suggested by server was exc ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Arizona wine suggested by server was excellent. Okra was delightful and grits were a treat. The greens had some explaining to do; they were hot and dry/tough in places and tender in others. Corn chowder arrived in the form of a yummy corn broth. Good and disappointing at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Never a bad experience......

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I love heading down to the Southern Rail. Being from the south I love the upscale versions of southern staples that Chef Beckett has created. The meals are always consistant and never disapoint. We always ask for Ty as our waiter as his witt and knowledge of southern food is very pleasent and helpful. The only possible complaint for this location is that the patio can be a little loud at rush hour.....but sometimes you have to walk up a hill to see the view.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Southern Rail is one of my favorite rest ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Southern Rail is one of my favorite restaurants in the valley! The food is phenomenal and the service is always great! Would recommend the seared salmon and the red velvet cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern Rail hits the spot

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've dined at the Southern Rail several times and each time I walk away amazed at both the food and the service. My dinner companions had dietary restrictions and were able to enjoy their meals without any extreme modifications. I recommend the Southern Rail to anyone looking to have a great dining experience for a reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food great. It came hot and fresh. We ha ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food great. It came hot and fresh. We had a child with us and they were completely prepared with child's menu, plastic glass with lid and booster chair and very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Super atmosphere, charming service and l ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Super atmosphere, charming service and legit Southern food. The mac n cheese is bomb diggy and I look forward to going back to try brunch and make an attempt to leave enough room to taste from the dessert menu. A must visit if you like Southern cuisine or super cool locations in Central Phx

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Book Club

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Girl friends met for lunch to discuss our latest and great book. Great atmosphere. Nice selection of local brews. Thumbs Up!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Overall the experience was positive. My entrée came out undercooked which was a disappointment. That said, the team responded immediately and I had a new meal soon after.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were here for Jazz and Jambalaya on t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We were here for Jazz and Jambalaya on the Patio. Food was great. The Sazeracs were wonderful. And the Jazz music was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was a "corny" jazz Sunday for me and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

It was a "corny" jazz Sunday for me and my guests. We began with the wonderful corn muffins with fancy butter. I segued into the best corn chowder on the planet but not before downing a delectable deviled egg. Our motley crew had more food preferences and problems than a regiment of vegans but each of us scored the right entree with the help of our lovely, newly-graduated server. The music was great and, as always, the atmosphere homey and comfy. This place will continue to be a Phoenix treasure for many years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance was great. The fried chicken w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Ambiance was great. The fried chicken was as good as friends suggested. Also loved the red bean and rice dish. Great service. Our first order was sent to another table by mistake. The manager came over and apologize for the delay. We really had not noticed we were having such a great time. Must mention the Rob Roy was the best ever. We will go back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd visit, will return

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I brought some family members this time. The food is outstanding. The service was a bit slow and she forgot that I ordered salmon with pasta so I had to wait for it . Also it was served as a separate piece which I didn't expect. I had to mix it in with my pasta. I have had several items on their menu and everything was delicious. Their beignets are amazing and the decaf latte is the best. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything great but the food!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Hate to write this but you had to ask, didn't you! Server was great, patio nice, good for conversation, wine list pretty good but needs help. The food was luke warm (Croque w/egg)

friends sand was nothing notable. WHAT I CANNOT EXPLAIN IS WHY WITH SUCH A GREAT

LOCATION WOULD YOU SERVE SUCH A PALID, BORING LUNCH ON A SUNDAY????? Feel free to write me for suggestions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Brunch at Southern Rail

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We loved Southern Rail's brunch! The fried green tomato benedict and the croquet monsieur were both wonderful, and I would order either again in a heartbeat. The service was great, and the food wonderful. It's an attractive, vibrant place. I plan to make it a regular spot to eat when in Phoenix.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was wonderful accommodating al ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The staff was wonderful accommodating allergies and the food was fabulous! Loved the feel of the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always terrific service and great foo ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

As always terrific service and great food. Southern Rail never disappoints. This is truly a neighborhood gem that is a must for anyone who enjoys great meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Judy

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

we went to Southern Rail for the April Sunday's Jazz and Jambalaya. It was lots of fun--beautiful day, wonderful music, and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Food & Service are always on point! Definitely a favorite of my family's.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.