About Southern Rail

300 W. Camelback Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85013
View Larger Map

The people that brought you Beckett’s Table invite you to experience the Southern Rail. Soulful, warm and centered around community, the Southern Rail offers flavors of the American South elevated by Chef Justin Beckett’s inspired signature style. Diners will enjoy a journey of nostalgic flavors accented by a robust wine program in a genuinely comfortable setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tues -Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sun, Mon 5:00 pm-9:00 pm
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11-3 pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday 10-3 pm
Social Hour 7 days a week 3:00 pm - 6 :00 pm

Cross Street:
3rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 200-0085

Website:
http://www.southernrailaz.com/

Parking Details:
Self park parking lot.

Public Transit:
Light rail station (Central & Camelback)
Bus stop (Central Ave/Camelback Rd Transit Center)

Executive Chef:
Justin Beckett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in creating a wonderful experience for you and your guests: whether it is a bridal shower, business lunch or family gathering.
We have multiple options to choose from including our Private Dining Room, bar side Community Table, our East Garden Patio with fireplace, or the South Umbrella Canopy Patio. Please email us for details and pricing at events@Southernrailaz.com

Restaurant Photos

Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail Dining Room - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Camelback Salad - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Deviled Eggs - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Bbq + Bourbon - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Muffalata - Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ
Southern Rail, Phoenix, AZ

Specials

$20 BBQ & Bourbon (TUE & WED nights)

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

1/2 OFF BOTTLES Arizona Wine (SUN & MON nights)

Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

DAILY Social Hour (3:00-6:00pm)

Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

$20 BBQ & Bourbon (TUE & WED nights)

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

"Always something smoked" is the credo in the kitchen. Each week chef creates a generous platter of meats, stews, or seafood complimented with sides ranging from pickled veggies, slaw, or hoppin' john. Wash it down with (2) select bourbons for $20. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not valid with other discounts or promotions. Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for Christmas Eve Dinner. We will be featuring our regular seasonal menu and select chef specials for the evening. Reservations are strongly encouraged. Large family tables available.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for New Years Eve Dinner. We will be featuring our regular seasonal menu and select chef specials for the evening. Reservations are strongly encouraged. Large family tables available.

1/2 OFF BOTTLES Arizona Wine (SUN & MON nights)

Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us for half off all Arizona BOTTLES of wine every Sun & Mon evenings from 5:00-9:00pm anywhere in the Dining Room, Community Table or Bar. Support locally grown AZ Wines!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Sundays and Mondays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

DAILY Social Hour (3:00-6:00pm)

Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us for SOCIAL HOUR: discounts on select small plates (ex: gumbo, fried green tomatoes, blt salad), $4 draught beers, $5 select wines and $6 select specialty cocktails. (Dine-in only, not valid with to-go orders or other discounts or promotions). Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations are not accepted for this event. Special valid Oct 20, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Southern Rail Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Casual (13)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fireplace (8)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great Beer (3)
Live Music (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best restaurants in Phoenix! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best restaurants in Phoenix! The service and the food are both wonderful! It's the perfect place for celebrations! The deviled eggs and fried green tomatoes are top notch! Great Arizona wines offered as well! I'm becoming a regular!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great. It's ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were great. It's just like all the new restaurants' though - TOO LOUD to have a conversation. Why this is a trend I will never know. there were 6 of us and we had to yell at each other to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great place. Shared tastes and all was d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place. Shared tastes and all was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love introducing friends to this rest ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We love introducing friends to this restaurant. This is also our favorite brunch spot with the moms. Delicious food and the staff and management are 5 star!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Live Music, Authentic, Spicy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern Rail is a lovely place. Our se ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Southern Rail is a lovely place. Our server was wonderful. The food was very good. I had the brined pork loin which I really enjoyed. My husband had a burger which he was very happy with. Two people in our party ordered the gumbo; both really like it.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

the restaurant was gorgeous. our wines w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

the restaurant was gorgeous. our wines were great. our desserts were very good. our dinners were meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a great place if you like to be ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is a great place if you like to be in open dining concept. This restaurant is situated right on Camelback so if you do sit outside the noise level is quite high. I came here for a weekend brunch I ordered the eggs Benedict. My husband ordered the same. His eggs came out hot mine were freezing cold. Had to send them back. And I don't mean just slightly warm I mean freezing cold -was very odd

So they had to remake my order and by the time it came my husband was done with his food. The flavor was tasty but I will not be going back again just not worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

It is a beautiful restaurant and very co ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It is a beautiful restaurant and very comfortable. The menu is very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great, everyone was pleased wit ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was great, everyone was pleased with their dishes. The dirty rice ball dish probably should have 4 instead of 3 as an appetizer to be shared for $7.

The only 2 negatives were road noise was terrible when dining on the open patio and the chairs had arms on the side that were too narrow for a "large" person. open-sided chairs should be mixed among the seating so those who are not slender are not forced to either sit on the edge of their seat or have a metal arm rail embedded in their hip all meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Southern rail was a great new spot. The ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Southern rail was a great new spot. The food was better than the typical BBQ in Phoenix, which is admittedly not great. The service was great, and the ambiance is very nice. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic comfort food at stratospheric pr ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Classic comfort food at stratospheric prices in a hip atmosphere clouded by slow uninspired service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Very awesome meal and service. I ordered ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Very awesome meal and service. I ordered the salmon and it was outstanding. I'll be going there again without a doubt.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant near the financial dist ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great restaurant near the financial district of Phoenix. One of our favorite spots for great food and casual dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waiter, wonderful ambiance, food.. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great waiter, wonderful ambiance, food....meh -my burger bun was soaked on the bottom -variety not the greatest - change the menu from time to time. Brunch is your best bet and best food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Seth was not the best waiter ever, just ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Seth was not the best waiter ever, just not customer service trained, no real problems. An infant was crying on the patio dining area, so not great for a date, but hard for a restaurant to control such things.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Took a fried for her first time...she wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Took a fried for her first time...she was so impressed!!!!! Thoroughly enjoyed her "birthday beignet". Thank you.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love taking first timers to SR! Trul ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We love taking first timers to SR! Truly a must go if you haven't tried it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Our server was super att ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was great. Our server was super attenitive. Then you can browse bookstore and garden store. Delightful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was like an icebox, so we had ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Restaurant was like an icebox, so we had to sit outside. My husband who considers 65 degrees to be ideal was in agreement to my surprise.

I did not care for the entree selections at all. Too hoity-toity to be southern comfort food. I did, however, love the banana pudding! It was sooo tasty. Somewhat pricey 2 people= 2 drinks, 2 entrees, and 1 dessert equals $ 115.00

May be back for desserts and drinks at another time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I love Southern Rail! The restaurant is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I love Southern Rail! The restaurant is beautifully decorated and has a fantastic patio area.

Their fried chicken is the best I've ever had! We went two weekends in a row and I believe we will keep going as long as they'll have us! My new favorite restaurant in town AND it's locally operated.

Tags: Seasonal, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drinks, service, and ambiance were p ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The drinks, service, and ambiance were pretty good here. Unfortunately, the food fell short on flavor especially considering the theme of southern style of cooking

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

They had an impressive list of Arizona w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 23, 2016

They had an impressive list of Arizona wines. The food was innovative. We enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

As usual, we were seated quickly and had ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2016

As usual, we were seated quickly and had a very amicable server. Overall the food was very good... but the salmon was absolutely fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We ere there during AZ restaurant week. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We ere there during AZ restaurant week. We chose the 3 course meal which included a glass of wine or beer for $33. The food was excellent. Additional glasses of the wine came for $5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly . The manage ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The staff was very friendly . The manager was visible and made sure that all the guests were taken care of. I had trouble with the new Open Table gift but he called and made sure I was able to use it . Thank you to him!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic food and service, we really en ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fantastic food and service, we really enjoyed ourselves :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a rare date night for my wife a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was a rare date night for my wife and I. We couldn't have picked a better place. Our waiter was awesome. Food was amazing. The whole evening was just one fabulous dining experience.

So thank you and see you soon

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the taste of my dish but it did ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I loved the taste of my dish but it did come out quite a bit heavier than I would have liked. The enchiladas made no mention of cheese, which it is probably understood that it includes cheese but I felt that it dominated the dish. I have had the other veg entrée option which is the casserole, also very heavy on the cheese/cream. I would love to see a lighter vegetarian/vegan option other than salads. I think I read that the approach of this restaurant is supposed to not be typical fried/heavy Southern fare, but let's the vegetables shine. Please let them do it!

Our waiter was great!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose Southern Rail during Restaurant ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We chose Southern Rail during Restaurant Week for a night out with friends. The food was sub par. There are too many good restaurants choices, we apologized to our friends and will not be returning.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It doesn't matter if it is Beckett's or ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2016

It doesn't matter if it is Beckett's or Southern Rail - food and service are always outstanding. Many thanks to Justin, Michelle, Scott and Katie, and Pam - we love you and your outstanding staff. Always an honor to call ourselves your loyal customers. We will ALWAYS recommend you!! Kathy & Jim

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken was mostly breading. Not g ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fried chicken was mostly breading. Not good! Much too loud. Not sure will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was great as always. The only p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was great as always. The only part that was not great was when they boxed up our leftover food and then only gave us part of what was on the plate. My husband ordered the fried chicken which came with corn and I had given him the rolls from my plate. He only ate a piece of chicken and did not eat the rest. We asked for the remaining food to be boxed up. When we got it back we were surprised how so much food could fit in a small box. We looked and the chicken was broken apart and smashed into the small box and the corn and roll were not in there. My sides from my leftovers were discarded as well. I paid for all of the food. I would like to take all of my leftovers too. We were disappointed and we told the server what happened and she gave us an ear of corn and a roll. That being said, we still love Southern Rail, but next time we will ask to box our own food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Amazing time! Excellent service and del ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing time! Excellent service and delicious food! We had a group of eight, so we were able to sample a variety of the menu items. All very good! Atmosphere is lively and fun! Cannot wait to go back in a couple of weeks for another birthday dinner. Southern girl approved!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostesses seemed disorganized and a bit ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Hostesses seemed disorganized and a bit aloof--it took 10 minutes before someone acknowledged us. We required a high chair which was brought out but the hostess left the other chair so our table was awkwardly crowded. Hostess staff acted like they had other places to be. The menu could use a refresher, too many heavy dishes or others that were simply unappealing. Please add a grilled chicken option, the smoked chicken has an off flavor to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The sampler platter on the social menu w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The sampler platter on the social menu was great, not the typical meat and cheese board. The dirty rice balls was also tasty and unique for appetizer menu. The meals were overpriced but everyone enjoyed their dishes and portions. Service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten at Southern Rail in the pa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have eaten at Southern Rail in the past & were celebrating 3 couples' anniversaries. One couple had come in from Houston & seemed to enjoy themselves & remembered when it used to be "Beefeaters." We did have a few issues, however. While we were waiting for our friends to arrive, we ordered bread to "tide us over" & we needed to remind our server at least twice before it arrived almost 15 min. after it was ordered. There was also a lengthy wait for the wine & food & it didn't seem the restaurant was especially busy. The food, as usual, was wonderful & our server was very solicitous & friendly. We just didn't remember waiting as long as we did on our previous visits. We will be back, though. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waiter was awesome. Food was excelle ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our waiter was awesome. Food was excellent. Mimosa could have been a little bigger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place has potential

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2016

This place has potential

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Came here for my son-in-law's birthday.. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Came here for my son-in-law's birthday...I don't think he was disappointed!

Although, I thought the cauliflower appetizer was disappointing (really needed more oven roasting to enhance the flavor; was a bit bland!)

I really liked the new veggie potato/leek/mushroom enchilada offering! And my daughter & I loved the beautiful watermelon salad!

Brioche & apple butter were a crowd pleaser as usual.

However, NONE of us were fans of the collard greens which came with my husbands pork & sweet potatoes...(& my daughter & I usually love all things green)! I wonder is there would be an allowable substitution?!

A very nice plate of complimentary powdered beignets were presented to my son-in-law for his birthday : )

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome, as always from start to finish.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Awesome, as always from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.