About Southern Prime Steakhouse

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner Open at 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Private Room (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Out to dinner with a friend. Perfect choice. Steaks were very good, could have been a little thicker and we like our ribeye steaks bone in. It was perfectly cooked, the calamari appetizer was very good. Our server was very attentive.

Next time we're in town , we'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived a few minutes early, but were still shown quickly to our table. Our server was prompt and polite. He knew the specials and the menu. Our drinks arrived promptly and the ticket time on our food was good. The noise level was low enough that my guest and I could have a conversation without difficulty. Overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 6 days ago

The overall experience was good. The temperature of our selections were perfect. Our steak could have been seasoned more, but it was a quality cut. Our table was not set for the correct amount of people in our party. The place settings were corrected promptly, but two of the participants were not given menus. They had to take them off of another table. The decor and restaurant appeared clean and very nice.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We truly appreciated the pleasantness of the owner. This was my first experience and surly we will come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was excellent. Waiter Ryan was knowledgeable about the menu and specials, gave wonderful service. All of the dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were celebrating Valentine's Day Anne enjoyed our meals. The food was quite expensive, but we don't mind paying for quality especially for special occasions. However, we made a reservation in hopes of being seated in the actual dining room. Instead, we were seated at a table in the bar. That was very disappointing. When we made the reservation we did not know this was the case.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Once again Southern Prime doesn't disappoint. Early Valentines dinner for me and my wife, the food was awesome, Ryan did a great job serving us and the atmosphere was great. One of our favorites in SP. And the bartender knows what a good pour is .....

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Southern Prime Steakhouse is beautifully decorated. I loved the color scheme. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was delicious! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that appreciates a fine dining experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Pricey, ok selection, but will go back. Hamburger is the best deal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The atmosphere was of good taste and the food well prepared. As for our waiter, the service was good. Recommendations for visiting this establishment would be highly advised.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, Scenic View, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice restaurant and great food and service. A little loud when very busy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic service and the restaurant itself is beautiful. Their namesake rings true because the steaks were excellent. However, the meal fell short as a whole for us as far as the extras/side items are concerned. Not that they were bad by any means just not super exceptional compared to the steaks. Also, our food was served lukewarm at best (no fault to our waiter as he did not bring it out). All in all, a great place for a romantic date just not our favorite for the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We were very disappointed with our experience Monday evening. One of the orders seemed not to be what was ordered, a steak which was ordered, was not what was brought to the table.Our waiter was outstanding, and very solicitous. The restaurant was almost empty, so we were quite surprised with the quality of our food. We had dined at SP several times with great satisfaction, and chose SP because we were celebrating a birthday. However, we were very disappointed with the quality of our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Loved this place! Absolutely gorgeous interior, waiter and manager were very professional! The food was incredible and was beyond expectations. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Took my 93 year old mother there for her birthday. Food was excellent as was the service. One of the best in Southern Pines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I asked for a quiet location and they gave us a table in a corner so there was only speaking on the outer two sides and it was reasonably quiet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I wanted to take my husband somewhere we had never been for his birthday. After looking at the menu and pictures of the restaurant I decided to book a reservation. We were in the wine room which only had three tables so it was very quiet and romantic. The interior is upscale and it felt like fine dining. Our dinners were exceptional and we look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent Staff, Atmosphere and food. Will definitely be going back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding service from our waiter Shane, food was excellent, this was our first visit and we plan on trying it again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went for wife's birthday. Very nice quiet atmosphere. The restaurant placed some birthday graffiti on the table. That was a nice surprise for my wife. It was obvious the restaurant was ready for us. Service was outstanding. Southern Pine is a high class restaurant. Wine and food were excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great location, lovely ambiance, with friendly and helpful servers. The food was delicious and the even though our food took a bit to come out, they made sure they let us know they didn't forget about us the entire time. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was gourmet . The portions were very small and very expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I was really impressed with our waiter William. Very pleasant and knowledgeable. Our food was delicious. The only thing I would comment negatively is the music that was playing. Jazz music playing when you go out for a nice dinner in this type of setting and the loudness of it I was not happy with. We had to Dk to turn it down. Otherwise very nice!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This was our first dining experience at Southern Prime. Atmosphere was very nice. Our appetizer was excellent (Lobster Rangoon), entries: 1) Lobster dinner was perfectly cooked and both sides were very tasty, 2) 14 oz. Rib-eye was cooked as ordered but had a little too much fat for my liking. Both sides were good. Prices were appropriate for the overall experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I live in DC and this is one of my favorite restaurants. We make a point to have dinner here when we are in NC several times a year. This time we went on Christmas Eve and was disappointed to see that they had a special menu with only beef and seafood. I love their roast chicken and it was unfortunate that they didn't have it. Please post any special menus in advance, like on OpenTable, so that your customers are not disappointed with their overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were here for Christmas Eve dinner, and it was lovely. Service was prompt, friendly and attentive. The food was excellent, with the small exception of the squash in the risotto not being quite cooked through. My son particularly enjoyed the bison/wild boar chili. I particularly enjoyed that the noise level was not excessive, and we were able to enjoy our conversation. We certainly will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Very special restaurant. Absolutely superb food and great service. Wish we had a Southern Prime in Fayetteville. We had a chance encounter with the proprietor, Jerry. First class.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Everything was handled beautiful and the food was great!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 9, 2016

One steak was undercooked while the second one was overcooked. Half lobster tail was overcooked and way over priced. Over all this place is over rated and very pricey.

Out of the party of four in our group

one meal was fixed without complaint. Will not be going back anytime soon. Really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food and service in classic elegant ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Went back to celebrate a retirement with a dear friend and was not disappointed. Food was exceptional, service was great and the atmosphere was terrific. The waitress was very attentive, but not disruptive, she timed her appearance so as not to disrupt our conversation and we did not have a mouthful of food when she checked on us. Great place, great food and always great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The friends that I invited were very much impressed with the food and atmosphere and the outstanding service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was my second visit. The first was a party in a private room which was lovely. This time there were only three of us and we all had a wonderful time. The food was outstanding and the service was top notch! We will definitely be back during our next visit to the area.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner - awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place exceeded my expectations in every way. The appetizers and entrees that my party ordered were all outstanding. The server was knowledgeable and appropriately attentive. He went above and beyond to accommodate us - splitting items that we wanted to share. I thought that the prices were very reasonable for the quantity and quality. I loved the old school ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was amazing and the environment is spacious and comfy. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Filets were excellent as always; perfectly cut and cooked. Prime rib dinner surprisingly was over salted. In retrospect appears someone may have inadvertently spilled salt onto plate as sections were shared. Would have sent back immediately were it not for the fact that initially the individual ordering felt the dish was ok. However, after finally eating from the saltier area shared with others did the issues become fully apparent. Mentioned to waiter who politely responded that he wished he had known before much of the dish was eaten. Not that this should occur again as I remain convinced this was a likely salt spill. however will without hesitation send back immediately in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our table was the nearest one to the main entrance and every time the door was opened, we felt the cold air rushing in. The noise was a bit much and rivaled the ambience that the restaurant attempts to set. The food, although pricy for the quality we received, was absolutely delicious and well flavored. Our waiter was courteous and attentive. Just that little bit was enough to distract us so that we enjoyed our night. Reading the reviews, it seems that the restaurant struggles with consistency but try it for yourself and maybe you'll like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great atmosphere and great food. They really made our group feel welcomed. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Eggs Benedict were absolutely delicious! I can't wait to come back again for this dish! Everyone else had the French toast and seemed to enjoy. The people at the door were wonderful when we first came in and even went the extra step to open the door on our exit. Very nice touch. The actual service was a little lackluster. We were one of two tables in the restaurant which was why I thought the service from our waiter was a touch subpar. We went a long time without being greeted and a long time without receiving waters or menus. We were there right at 11:30, which excuses the menus, but not being greeted and asked about beverages was not a good sign. It took far too long for our server to come back and take the order after we finally received our menus and throughout the meal, we sat with empty water glasses. All in all, great food but slow service. Brunch took over an hour for a party of 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great ambiance, beautiful interior, good service, and delicious steaks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I found Southern Prime on a whim. We were celebrating our 1st anniversary and found it on Open Table. We were very pleased. We decided to sit at the bar so we could watch our football games (yes, very romantic) and the entire experience was very enjoyable. We got soup, wine, ordered the filet and lobster and two sides it was really good and seemed like a great value for all of the food and wine that we received.

Our waiter was very well informed and friendly! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nice local restaurant. Great service and good food. However the wine list was a bit limited and the wines were extremely overpriced. Still, we weren't disappointed in the meal, which is a change of pace! I would certainly recommend it to friends and may use t in the future for business meetings. We're definitely looking forward to trying their brunch!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The restaurant is amazing. The food was great. You feel like you are in a beautiful wine cellar. The way the tables are set up you feel as if you are dining alone. The waitstaff is amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our second special occasion going there and it never disappoints. Our two favorite menu items are the crème brulé and lobster gouda mac and cheese. Everything is always cooked perfectly and the staff is always wonderful! We recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first trip to Southern Prime and we were highly impressed. It's a classy place and everything was wonderful. Our server, Ryan, was very personable and very helpful regarding food and wine choices. Our filets were cooked perfectly. We will definitely go back to try other menu items. A bit pricey, but we thought well worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Loved the ambiance..cozy yet spacious. Fabulous steaks...great plate presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food is always great but the service is poor for what they charge. We have been eating hear since they opened, unfortunately this will be our last time. Can't continue to reward a business with such poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our group of 16 does an annual golf trip and the other part of our trip is finding good food especially a good steak dinner. Southern Prime Steakhouse lived up to their name. Steaks (ribeye, filet or sirloin) were excellent and cooked to perfection. The seafood and chicken dishes were also excellent. For serving a large group the food items were brought out timely and hot. The wine list was excellent and drinks from the bar were perfectly made. The group enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere so much the first night that we did something that we have never done in the 12 years of this group-we returned to a restaurant for a second night. Excellent on both nights. Southern Prime Steakhouse is highly recommended

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

service was good. food came out of kitchen very quickly

high quality meal, nice decor, overall very good experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.