About Southern Prime Steakhouse

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner4:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:


Restaurant Photos

Bruschetta
Scallops
Organic Chicken
Lobster Dinner
Misto Chop Salad
Arugala Salad
Land And Sea
Salmon
Cheese Plate
Tomato And Mozzarella
Shrimp and Grits
Lobstertini
Lobster Rangoon

Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (34)
notable wine list (30)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
good for groups (21)
neighborhood gem (19)
hot spot (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable way to spend the evening ...

Dined 3 days ago

Very enjoyable way to spend the evening of our 47th anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sent my parents to Southern Prime for ...

Dined 5 days ago

We sent my parents to Southern Prime for their 45th wedding anniversary and the restaurant staff exceeded my expectations. They took an anniversary photo my that they then gave them to take home. They also gave them a complimentary dessert with "Happy Anniversary " written a dessert sauce and their table was decorated. My parents were very pleased with the whole experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

MY steak was a little over done. Wish t ...

Dined 5 days ago

MY steak was a little over done. Wish they didn't butterfly a small filet. Over all food was good, but not Ruth Chris's. Service was great as was the dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Steak, cooked perfectly. Hig ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Steak, cooked perfectly. Highly Recommend

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not nearly as good on this outing as we ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Not nearly as good on this outing as we have had in the past. The Shrimp and Grits was very salty and had liquid sitting around the sides that I wasn't sure wasn't fat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of, if not the best restaurant in th ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

One of, if not the best restaurant in the area. Impeccable service, brilliantly presented food, outstanding taste and quality to the food. You are never rushed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, great service and ambiance. p ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food, great service and ambiance. pricey, but good wine list. $atch out for the cocktail prices. $14.00 for a Manhattan. Yikes!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice for anniversary dinner. The ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great choice for anniversary dinner. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special and the food was great. We will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a great evening. Service and food ou ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Was a great evening. Service and food outstanding. Beautiful restaurants!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Southern Prime Steakhouse

Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I were very excited about trying out the Southern Prime Steakhouse. We had heard it was good but very expensive. We decided, after a very busy first half of the year, to splurge and try it out. Our first impressions was it had a phenomenal atmosphere. We started off with the Lobster Rangoon which was incredible. The steak fries with Parmesan & truffles and aioli sauce was also amazing. My wife remarked how great even the butter was. Our problem came with the main course. My wife's steak was cooked perfectly but my ribeye and lobster were slightly overcooked and a little dry. My plate was also much hotter than my wife's so my guess was it sat under the heat lamp for too long waiting on my wife's filet mignon. Normally I could easily forgive such a mistake but for the prices we were paying I was expecting close to perfection. Visually the steak also suffered. It looked chewed up and deformed. I'm not sure if this was due to the aging process or not but it wasn't what I was expecting. The flavor itself I would categorize as "good". I've had just as good of steaks at any chain steakhouse for half the price. The service was good. We were very happy with our server and overall it was a good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 9, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at Southern Prime. Great meal, great service, and they even provided a picture of our event. We will be going back more often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 miles from Pinehurst Carloina Inn

Dined on June 4, 2016

Southern Pines Steakhouse is worth the trip. Good food and service in a casual environment. We ate in the bar off the regular menu. They had a few specials and great steaks. The cocktails were made to perfection. I always eat here when I come to Pinehurst.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on May 28, 2016

Had a great waiter that provided reattach service. Very happy with everything was great and came out well prepared. Wouldn't recommend taking kids though as it's a very nice restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I do like the decor, particularly the pa ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I do like the decor, particularly the paintings. Went with my wife and the food (prime rib) and ambiance made a great evening meal for us on Friday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was my birthday and since we had dinn ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

it was my birthday and since we had dinner there on our anniversary last yr and really enjoyed it, we decided to celebrate my birthday (5/10/16) at Southern Prime. Actually our 3rd visit as we had been there once b4 w/friends--the same friends who came w/us this recent time. great food, wonderful ambiance and everyone so nice. Loved the complimentary funnel cake w/candles--such a special touch. we'll be back soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious -- although, I would have liked to have been able to select from their usual Brunch Menu (which is awesome !) They had a special Mother's Day menu instead --- while wonderful, their brunch is worth the trip !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Very disappointed ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We ordered The Lobster Rangoon as an app and it was way too fishy. I had ordered the scallop dish.... It was cold when I received it. The scallops were drenched in this salty lobster reduction sauce. Our bill was well over $100..... It is very hard paying that money when you aren't completely satisfied

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern jem

Dined on May 7, 2016

great atmosphere, great staff and great food! My wife and had dinner for our 19th year anniversary, it was a great place. I can't wait until I go back! we drove an hour just to get there

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food as usual. My mushrooms were c ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food as usual. My mushrooms were cold but I asked to have them warmed up and it was rectified right away. Great place

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

NY style meets Souther Prime!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Overall a good, not great dining experience. We arrived and were promptly seated for our reservation. Not very crowded for a Sunday evening, but it did pick up as the evening progressed (we had an early evening reservation). The cheese plate appetizer is highly recommended although the ricotta was a bit dry. Ordered the Ribeye au-Poivre and felt it would be the first test as to whether or not this was a true steak house. Would the server ask how I wanted it cooked? Any steak connoisseur knows that au-Poivre is only cooked medium rare in a steak house. The young lady asked, so a few style points were lost here. Requested it med-rare, as any respectable meat eater would. My wife ordered the burger and requested it cooked the same. When the meals arrived they smelled and looked amazing. Only one issue with the ribeye was it was an au-Poivre sauces and not the traditional coffee/peppercorn crust I was used to. The steak and the burger were both slightly over cooked. The server did offer to have new portions prepared, but we were famished from a long hard day. The manager made his rounds and promptly apologized for the oversight and offered a desert for our trouble. We obliged him and tried the Crème Brule with fresh seasonal berries. The sugar crust was perfect and the custard was spot on. We were not blown away, but will definitely be giving this neighborhood gem another go around.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything great first two visits. Server seemed very slow and one serving (a waffle) had to be redone. This was our third visit but look forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Southern Prime a prime eating experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed a dinner at Southern Prime with a visitor from out of town. He had dined there before and requested a return reservation. While the first experience was not perfect (meals came out at different times after a long wait), the ambience was such that made us try again. This time it was great - food, timing of service, etc. Wait staff very sensitive to our desire not to rush but to be diligent about when we were ready.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Careful on how you order the temperature ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Careful on how you order the temperature of your steak. Seems like the chefs need a refresher course on Rare, Med Rare, Med. everything else was good. Service was a bit inattentive.

food4
ambience4
service5

Very professional server and a pleasant ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Very professional server and a pleasant atmosphere made for a delightful meal. My filet mignon was tasty and prepared correctly. I recommend it.

food3
ambience4
service5

Our server was outstanding. The lobster ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our server was outstanding. The lobster bisque was very good as was the salmon , veal and NY Strip. However the ribeye was disappointing - very fatty. I expected better quality from a prime steakhouse.

food5
ambience5
service5

The aged steak (I had the ribeye) was to ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The aged steak (I had the ribeye) was to die for. Never tried it before , but given the flavors and texture and presentation , I will be ordering this again whenever it is on the menu.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The atmosphere was better than the food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The atmosphere was great, a nice romantic feel. Our waiter seemed new and nervous but overall gave good service. We had the calamari as an appetizer and it was OK, nothing special. The main entrées were good but the steak was served with mediocre veggies and potatoes.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

service excellent, Talia attentive, enga ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

service excellent, Talia attentive, engaging and attentive. Food overall very good. I did have to return my ribeye as it was med well instead of med rare. came back at the right temp but under seasoned. nice cut and the rest of our table enjoyed their prime rib.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Excellent Meal & Gracious Service

Dined on April 12, 2016

We truly enjoyed our experience at Southern Prime. The decor is charming, the seating comfortable, and the food choices varied. Our server Genevieve was well informed, gracious and accommodating. We were celebrating a birthday and they had pre-decorated out table with subtle birthday confetti - nice touch. We found no faults at all with our experience at Southern Prime and will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner last week and Brunch today was ve ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Dinner last week and Brunch today was very good food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Southern Pines Welcome!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Right off the bat I loved that the color of the restaurant was blue - not the typical dark rustic red of the traditional Chicago steakhouses I am accustomed to. We were here on my first night upon moving to Southern Pines. From the service, to the side dishes, and my steak - everything was spectacular! I will be back upon my next big celebration! This endorsement is coming from a girl who was raised on Chicago steakhouses - big thumbs up!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice steakhouse in a quiet town

Dined on March 31, 2016

Very nice steakhouse in a quiet town

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is what Pinehurst area has been lac ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

This is what Pinehurst area has been lacking for years. A high quality Steak House for the golfers to relax in after golf. The only problem is that it is a 15 minute drive from Pinehurst proper. But if you have a DD, it's totally worth it. Check this place out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superlatives Rule

Dined on March 12, 2016

Where superlatives are indeed the rule rather than the exception . . .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Very Disappointing

Dined on March 4, 2016

I had envisioned a quiet dinner without our kids, which doesn't happen very often. Well, that didn't happen here. We had a babysitter for our kids and we get seated beside a table with two very energetic children and an even louder parent. The place was empty and we could have been seated in a dozen of different tables. Our sweet tea was so sweet that we could not drink it. Finally after asking 3 different people we were brought some unsweetened tea, which was not what we wanted. We wanted a normal glass of sweet tea that didn't contain enough sugar that it would choke a horse. Our waitress informed us that she tried the sweet tea and that it was not made properly. We ordered steaks. My wife always orders well done; half of one side was well done and the other half was oozing blood. How do you do that? I can only guess that half of the grill was not on. I ordered a ribeye (medium well) and it was medium at best and had a lot of blood. Anyway, we were disappointed in the evening and dinner at Southern Prime Steakhouse.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place. Great for date night.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Enjoyed dinner. Great wine list the steaks were prepared as ordered and tasted great Service was good but could have been better considering the staff on hand. Polite staff and great ambiance. Would recommend for adult date night. Ok for older teen kids but not good for younger ones

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice for a special occasion. Will go back.

Dined on February 13, 2016

First time dining here. Very good meal, nice restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasant staff and great food.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Very pleasant staff and great food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great evening!

Dined on February 12, 2016

My wife and I had a great evening! She has several diet restrictions and they were very accommodating. We will defiantly be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience!

Dined on February 11, 2016

We had an excellent experience from start to finish at this upscale steakhouse! The service was top notch and the food was good. My wife ordered the ribeye and I had the fillet mignon. Both meals were prepared properly and served well. We also had the lobster rangoon appetizer which was quite good. We did not order wine. Neither of us are "foodies," and we can only afford this type of dining once in a while, but we both enjoyed our romantic evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.