Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About Southern Prime Steakhouse

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner Open at 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Business Meals (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Staff was very helpful and accommodating to our large group!

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

This was our first visit to Southern Prime and it was wonderful. The calamari, ribeye, vegetables and sangria were absolutely amazing. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

The food and service have always been great but this time our waiter Dan made this a truly memorable dining experience. The service was outstanding and complimentary dessert and photo for our anniversary were a special touch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 30, 2017

A great steakhouse! They prepare steak perfectly and you have the option for a variety of toppings. My wife chose a bernaise sauce, I went with a Gorgonzola crust. Both were delicious. Our server, Megan, was perfect, giving us just the right mix of being there for us while letting us keep our privacy. This was as good as any of the big steakhouses in Chicago?

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Thanksgiving dinner ... our first holiday not cooking at home !! We will certainly return next year !! The service was fantastic and the turkey was delicious !! All in all ... a wonderful experience at Southern Prime !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 21, 2017

Meh, pass on it. Overpriced for the quality of the meal. Had a steak. Wouldn’t ever go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Had dinner while on a golf trip with friends, exactly what we were looking for in a dinner near Pinehurst. Steak, wine, etc. Absolutely wonderful place to go and unwind.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Had a reservation for a Saturday night. Arrived on time. The table they offered was in a separate room where there was party of 14 already dining.
I requested another table and was informed that they could not accommodate my request because there were no other tables. I was literally looking at 4 empty tables. I pushed a bit more and the hostess told the manager who visibly displayed his annoyance, not aware that I was standing right there and could see him.
Finally seated in a nice booth. Comfortable. I would recommend the booth if you are a group of 4. Nice to the watch the goings on.
We were steered to the lobster Rangoon to share, which was a mistake. No lobster noticeable. Cream cheese inside a fried wonton. Shouldn't be served.
The rest of our meals were just ok. My daughter's fillet came out under cooked. It's a steakhouse, how do they screw up the steak?
My pork chop was ok. Rather boring. The side of sweet potato and corn hash was the best thing in my plate.
My wife's salad and salmon were, ehhh.
To top it off our waiter forgot to bring items and then told us, "it has been a pleasure of my life serving you." What? Who speaks like that? Very forced.
There's nothing wrong with the place, just nothing that good either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary last weekend at the Southern Prime Steakhouse. The staff was very friendly and attentive (What more could you ask for?). I ordered the Prime Rib and my wife ordered the Sea Scallops. I have to say that the prime rib was sub par. Also, the Au Jus wasn't very exciting. It was pallatable, but I didn't want to complain. My wife's sea scallops were absolutely phenomenal. We have every intention of visiting this establishment again.

Also, our waiter's name was Rami. Very good waiter. Everything else about the visit was exceptional down to every detail. We have every intention of visiting this establishment again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

We were very disappointed in the quality of our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I'm a local and had a bad experience over a year ago, so I hadn't been back until now. I decided to give it another try because we were meeting friends who wanted to dine at the bar at a nice restaurant. So. Prime is well-suited (has a large bar) plus has great atmosphere. It took a while for anyone to take our drink order and even longer for our meals to be delivered, neither of which was a huge issue since we were enjoying catching up with our friends. The biggest disappointment was that I'd ordered an appetizer as a meal, and mine was served 45 minutes before everyone elses. Our bartender/waiter who hadn't been very attentive to us all night, seemed oblivious to our situation. The food and service have never been great, and prices are high relative to other fine dining options in the area so I'll go elsewhere for fine dining
- Ironwood, Chef Warren's, 195, Elliotts - all offer better food and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Wonderful from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 8, 2017

We dine at this restaurant often for special occasions. The food is good and the wine selection is superb. The only negatives are the portion sizes - neither of us can eat a full meal. Half sizes or 'small plates' would be great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 7, 2017

We went to Southern Prime for a special occasion and we found the food, wine, service, atmosphere to be fantastic. Details were all covered, great service from Rami, attention and check-in's from the Manager, Adam. 12 on a 10-scale.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Wife's steak was bland and asked for medium well, but received medium . Salmon needed some type of sauce. Cheesy grits look more like yellow rice. Was not impressed with the food at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 4, 2017

OK... Not the best steak house I ever visited. Menu was typical... food was good.. not great... wine list was weak and the server was not knowledgeable, yet was professional and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Everything was better than expected, will definitely return next time we’re in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 26, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in all of North Carolina. We were celebrating his retirement from the military and the evening could not have been more special. From the food to the ambience, this restaurant always does it right! We will see them again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great atmosphere, excellent service, and the food is outstanding. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Went here to celebrate my boyfriends birthday with another couple and had a great time! They put birthday confetti on the table and brought him a delicious surprise dessert. The service was great and they did a nice job of going over the menu with us since it was everyone’s first time dining with there. Food was delicious! We would definitely go back again for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Always enjoyable. Very attentive . Truly a great place to celebrate a special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Great atmosphere food was very good Aviance was good steak was cooked perfectly nice tender and juicy Lobster was excellent would recommend this dining establishment to anyone especially for special occasions well worth the price

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Nice upscale restaurant with great filets. The garlic mushrooms were outstanding. Service was good. Decor/ambience excellent for a night out with that special someone. Will go there every time we are in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Our golf group has a great meal, good drinks. Will return on next trip.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 2, 2017

As always, Southern Prime did not disappoint us. The only reason we gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was that the meal was very heavy. I had the Bruschetta followed by the Halibut special. The appetizer was too big for 1 person! (5 pcs when if could've been 3.) It was so good it was hard not to eat it (gave 1 to husband and just ate the topping off another) but it was still too big. The Halibut was the same way; delicious but too much. Husband had the Caesar followed by the Prosciutto wrapped Shrimp over Scampi. The salad was too anchovy'ish for me but he liked it. The shrimp was also delicious but could've had 1 less shrimp. You hate to leave a beautiful shrimp behind, so he ate it but it was too much. We did not have dessert (no surprise).
BTW, the martini and Cosmo were excellent, albeit a little pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Service was initially a little slow, but once our waiter got to us, he was quick and very attentive. The lobster bisque was amazing. Lobster tail was wonderful and not overcooked. I got the halibut special and it was perfect. The homemade sangria cocktail was the best I've ever had. It is expensive, but worth every penny.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Positives
- Dined here for a special occasion. Restaurant staff noted that and consistently tried to make it special.
- Lovely ambience, especially wine room.
- Generally beautiful food presentation.

Negatives
- Cuisine did NOT meet expectations based on look and feel of the establishment. The food was mediocre, both in quality of product and preparation. In general, somebody is too heavy handed in the kitchen. (Scallops were chewy/rubbery; steak was over-cooked and tasteless; bisque had too much sherry; etc. These are missteps expected of a novice chef.)
- Wine selection, especially those offered by the glass, could be much broader. If you love California wines, this is your place. Otherwise I'd venture elsewhere.
- While the surprise dessert was a wonderful gesture, I'd recommend asking the individual what dessert they'd like and offering that one. My bf hates flourless cake but felt compelled to eat it to be nice.
- Coffee was weak, watery, and easily the worst my bf has ever had. (I did not try it.) A refill was also never offered. My bf would not return to this establishment due to the coffee alone; he says it was that horrible.
- Staff (both hostess and servers) could use additional training on professionalism in higher class establishments if that experience is, in fact, what management would like to create. (Assuming so based on the ambiance.) In that case, mgmt. might also want to consider a dress code for patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food and a professional staff. When the waiter found out it was our birthdays he brought out two great complimentary deserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Overall a good place but I'm sometimes underwhelmed by the quality of the food when compared to similiarly priced steakhouses. I've never had anything bad, but also not anything spectacular. Drinks are good. Service is consistently very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Definitely one of the best restaurants in Southern Pines. If you are looking for steak, this is the place to go. Great drinks too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We always like sitting in bar area for a more casual atmosphere and this experience did not disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Dinner at Southern Prime was superb! The waitstaff were extremely professional; our waiter, Van, is a credit to his profession. The atmosphere is great and the food was top notch. The calamari is the best you will ever have and of course the filet mignons cut like butter and were cooked to perfection. If it's a special occasion, let them know, they don't do any cheesy singing but they will make you feel special. We will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

We really had a wonderful experience, and it will be a night my Fiancé will never forget for his 40th birthday. The atmosphere was romantic, upscale and a spirit of joy the entire night. Our waiter Van/plus assistant did an awesome job, and gave us a feeling of royalty for one night.

Thanks,
Monique & Julius

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food and service was excellent, always stop in when I am in the area

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Exceptional experience and lovely service. Thank you Meghan for making our evening memorable!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

First time at Southern Prime Steakhouse and the food was excellent. My wife and I had a Great anniversary dinner. The restaurant, staff and food were Outstanding. I will be returning and will most definitely recommend this establishment to all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We were two couples celebrating my birthday. It was Monday but I waited for Friday for the prime ribs. My order was the only complaint. My prime ribs was grizzly and tasteless. The sides were good and since everyone else was satisfied I didn't feel comfortable sending it back. I was also disappointed that we are used to slices of prime ribs cut from a roast both orders of prime rib seemed to be grilled. Disappointed! Service and ambiance great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Very nice place, great service and food. I have been twice now and I have recommended to friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I've had the privilege of eating here twice. Both times the food was great. Service from the wait staff was very attentive to us. The prices were great and very reasonable. Their lobster tail and braised ribs was heavenly and I believe the next time I visit, I will be ordering these dishes again. My husband's Rib eye was awesome as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Stephanie did a fantastic job as our waitress. Her personality was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.