About Southern Prime Steakhouse

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Thursday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner4:00pm - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:


Restaurant Photos

Bruschetta
Scallops
Organic Chicken
Lobster Dinner
Misto Chop Salad
Arugala Salad
Land And Sea
Salmon
Cheese Plate
Tomato And Mozzarella
Shrimp and Grits
Lobstertini
Lobster Rangoon

Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

special occasion (53)
romantic (42)
notable wine list (31)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (20)
good for groups (17)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After celebrating my birthday here on ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

After celebrating my birthday here on our first visit to this restaurant earlier this month we returned this time with out-of-town guests. All four of us loved every aspect of the food, service and ambiance. It was Sunday night and very quiet--the restaurant was crowded on the Friday night of our first visit but on both occasions Service, food and ambiance were great. We especially enjoyed the Lobster Rangoon appy and the ribeye and filet steaks that come with your choice of toppings/sauces.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a group of 8 guys while on a g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Went with a group of 8 guys while on a golf trip. Steaks and seafood were all very good, as well as the sides. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We dined at Southern Prime on a Tuesday ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We dined at Southern Prime on a Tuesday evening with good friends. We weren't disappointed with the food or service. Austin was our waiter and did a wonderful job! I ordered one of the specials, the veal chop which was out of this world! Everyone seemed very happy with their choices. We sat in the main dining room at a round table. It was a slow evening for the restaurant but we didn't care as we all very satisfied. The manager came over as well to see if

everything was satisfactory. Well worth the trip.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Prime Rib with a side of Lobst ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I had the Prime Rib with a side of Lobster Mac and Cheese. The Lobster Mac and Cheese was good, however it came out so hot, it was watery in texture and could have had more lobster. The steak I would have said was good, however it unfortunately interrupted my shower hours later three times. While its partly my fault for having ordered it rare, I've had steaks that rare and not gotten sick. So thats why I'm going down the middle with 3 stars. My BF ordered the Cioppino and the sauce for it was divine. Very complex and garlicky. The creme brulee was also good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We went her to celebrate our 6th wedding ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went her to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary and the evening was perfect. The food and drinks were wonderful and the staff was so welcoming and sweet. Our table was decorated with heart confetti and we were given a complimentary desert. I will definitely be back as well as recommend Southern Prime to all my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently moved to the area and heard ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We recently moved to the area and heard great things about Southern Prime so we figured we would give it a try for a birthday dinner!! They went above and beyond and can't say enough great things about this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Joey and I celebrated his success at win ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Joey and I celebrated his success at winning a tournament at Pinehurst. I had the "special" Halibut and he had the Ribeye. Both were fantastic. The service was superb. It was a great dining experience and we would recommend the Southern Prime Steakhouse to anyone visiting the Southern Pine/Pinehurst area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food -- very attentive service ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good food -- very attentive service. Will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious filet and special attention fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Delicious filet and special attention for my birthday dinner with extra surprises!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been many times and bar-area is our favo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Been many times and bar-area is our favorite. You get the whole menu but it's at tall wood tables instead of white-cloth ones in main dining room. Usually a great bartender (the woman who manages it is the best).

Appetizers can be good and are often generous; I know several people who order one with a salad as their whole meal. Lobster Rangoon is popular though I don't care for it; must be me. Salads can be good especially the Caesar which is the real deal. Soups are always good (Lobster Bisque!). We never order beef here as my husband does it far better. But their fish dishes are their best anyway! Creative and usually just the right size. (This time mine got pretty salty as it cooled, which I'll mention to them the next time I order it.)

Also don't care for the desserts, but I very rarely do desserts anywhere.

All in all I continue to recommend Southern Prime as it's one of the best in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

For my husband's birthday celebration we ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

For my husband's birthday celebration we had brunch for four adults and two young children. The service was wonderful. The restaurant scattered birthday confetti on the table and took a complementary photo of our group that they gave us in a cardboard frame. Everyone had something different, and everyone loved their food, even the youngsters.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable way to spend the evening ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very enjoyable way to spend the evening of our 47th anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sent my parents to Southern Prime for ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We sent my parents to Southern Prime for their 45th wedding anniversary and the restaurant staff exceeded my expectations. They took an anniversary photo my that they then gave them to take home. They also gave them a complimentary dessert with "Happy Anniversary " written a dessert sauce and their table was decorated. My parents were very pleased with the whole experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MY steak was a little over done. Wish t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

MY steak was a little over done. Wish they didn't butterfly a small filet. Over all food was good, but not Ruth Chris's. Service was great as was the dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Steak, cooked perfectly. Hig ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent Steak, cooked perfectly. Highly Recommend

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not nearly as good on this outing as we ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Not nearly as good on this outing as we have had in the past. The Shrimp and Grits was very

salty and had liquid sitting around the sides that I wasn't sure wasn't fat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

One of, if not the best restaurant in th ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of, if not the best restaurant in the area. Impeccable service, brilliantly presented food, outstanding taste and quality to the food. You are never rushed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great service and ambiance. p ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food, great service and ambiance. pricey, but good wine list. $atch out for the cocktail prices. $14.00 for a Manhattan. Yikes!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great choice for anniversary dinner. The ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great choice for anniversary dinner. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special and the food was great. We will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great evening. Service and food ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Was a great evening. Service and food outstanding. Beautiful restaurants!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Southern Prime Steakhouse

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I were very excited about trying out the Southern Prime Steakhouse. We had heard it was good but very expensive. We decided, after a very busy first half of the year, to splurge and try it out. Our first impressions was it had a phenomenal atmosphere. We started off with the Lobster Rangoon which was incredible. The steak fries with Parmesan & truffles and aioli sauce was also amazing. My wife remarked how great even the butter was. Our problem came with the main course. My wife's steak was cooked perfectly but my ribeye and lobster were slightly overcooked and a little dry. My plate was also much hotter than my wife's so my guess was it sat under the heat lamp for too long waiting on my wife's filet mignon. Normally I could easily forgive such a mistake but for the prices we were paying I was expecting close to perfection. Visually the steak also suffered. It looked chewed up and deformed. I'm not sure if this was due to the aging process or not but it wasn't what I was expecting. The flavor itself I would categorize as "good". I've had just as good of steaks at any chain steakhouse for half the price. The service was good. We were very happy with our server and overall it was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at Southern Prime. Great meal, great service, and they even provided a picture of our event. We will be going back more often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 miles from Pinehurst Carloina Inn

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Southern Pines Steakhouse is worth the trip. Good food and service in a casual environment.

We ate in the bar off the regular menu. They had a few specials and great steaks. The cocktails were made to perfection. I always eat here when I come to Pinehurst.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Had a great waiter that provided reattach service. Very happy with everything was great and came out well prepared. Wouldn't recommend taking kids though as it's a very nice restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do like the decor, particularly the pa ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I do like the decor, particularly the paintings. Went with my wife and the food (prime rib) and ambiance made a great evening meal for us on Friday.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

it was my birthday and since we had dinn ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

it was my birthday and since we had dinner there on our anniversary last yr and really enjoyed it, we decided to celebrate my birthday (5/10/16) at Southern Prime. Actually our 3rd visit as we had been there once b4 w/friends--the same friends who came w/us this recent time.

great food, wonderful ambiance and everyone so nice. Loved the complimentary funnel cake w/candles--such a special touch.

we'll be back soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious -- although, I would have liked to have been able to select from their usual Brunch Menu (which is awesome !) They had a special Mother's Day menu instead --- while wonderful, their brunch is worth the trip !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We ordered The Lobster Rangoon as an app and it was way too fishy. I had ordered the scallop dish.... It was cold when I received it. The scallops were drenched in this salty lobster reduction sauce. Our bill was well over $100..... It is very hard paying that money when you aren't completely satisfied

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Southern jem

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

great atmosphere, great staff and great food! My wife and had dinner for our 19th year anniversary, it was a great place. I can't wait until I go back!

we drove an hour just to get there

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as usual. My mushrooms were c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food as usual. My mushrooms were cold but I asked to have them warmed up and it was rectified right away. Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NY style meets Souther Prime!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Overall a good, not great dining experience. We arrived and were promptly seated for our reservation. Not very crowded for a Sunday evening, but it did pick up as the evening progressed (we had an early evening reservation).

The cheese plate appetizer is highly recommended although the ricotta was a bit dry.

Ordered the Ribeye au-Poivre and felt it would be the first test as to whether or not this was a true steak house. Would the server ask how I wanted it cooked? Any steak connoisseur knows that au-Poivre is only cooked medium rare in a steak house. The young lady asked, so a few style points were lost here. Requested it med-rare, as any respectable meat eater would.

My wife ordered the burger and requested it cooked the same. When the meals arrived they smelled and looked amazing. Only one issue with the ribeye was it was an au-Poivre sauces and not the traditional coffee/peppercorn crust I was used to.

The steak and the burger were both slightly over cooked. The server did offer to have new portions prepared, but we were famished from a long hard day. The manager made his rounds and promptly apologized for the oversight and offered a desert for our trouble. We obliged him and tried the Crème Brule with fresh seasonal berries.

The sugar crust was perfect and the custard was spot on. We were not blown away, but will definitely be giving this neighborhood gem another go around.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything great first two visits. Server seemed very slow and one serving (a waffle) had to be redone. This was our third visit but look forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Southern Prime a prime eating experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Enjoyed a dinner at Southern Prime with a visitor from out of town. He had dined there before and requested a return reservation. While the first experience was not perfect (meals came out at different times after a long wait), the ambience was such that made us try again. This time it was great - food, timing of service, etc. Wait staff very sensitive to our desire not to rush but to be diligent about when we were ready.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Careful on how you order the temperature ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Careful on how you order the temperature of your steak. Seems like the chefs need a refresher course on Rare, Med Rare, Med. everything else was good. Service was a bit inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very professional server and a pleasant ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Very professional server and a pleasant atmosphere made for a delightful meal. My filet mignon was tasty and prepared correctly. I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our server was outstanding. The lobster ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our server was outstanding. The lobster bisque was very good as was the salmon , veal and NY Strip. However the ribeye was disappointing - very fatty. I expected better quality from a prime steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The aged steak (I had the ribeye) was to ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The aged steak (I had the ribeye) was to die for. Never tried it before , but given the flavors and texture and presentation , I will be ordering this again whenever it is on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was better than the food.

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The atmosphere was great, a nice romantic feel. Our waiter seemed new and nervous but overall gave good service. We had the calamari as an appetizer and it was OK, nothing special. The main entrées were good but the steak was served with mediocre veggies and potatoes.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

service excellent, Talia attentive, enga ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

service excellent, Talia attentive, engaging and attentive. Food overall very good. I did have to return my ribeye as it was med well instead of med rare. came back at the right temp but under seasoned. nice cut and the rest of our table enjoyed their prime rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

An Excellent Meal & Gracious Service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We truly enjoyed our experience at Southern Prime. The decor is charming, the seating comfortable, and the food choices varied. Our server Genevieve was well informed, gracious and accommodating. We were celebrating a birthday and they had pre-decorated out table with subtle birthday confetti - nice touch. We found no faults at all with our experience at Southern Prime and will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.