Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About Southern Prime Steakhouse

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner Open at 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (0)
Sort By:
S
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Stephanie did a fantastic job as our waitress. Her personality was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great martinis! The fresh baked bread and butter are winners! And the shrimp scampi is awesome. The small plates look like a full meal to me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

In general okay. They way the Bruschetta was served with bread stacked and stuck together the cheese and toppings on the side made it difficult to share . Never saw it done this way. We come for the lobster Rangoon. The burger we had was mini-sized. Have had strip steak in past and was pleased. We would return for the steak although I have been told they are not primed steak??

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food, attentive waiter with great demeanor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Birthday celebration after days of golf in and around Southern Pines. Waiter Van was exceptional! A true professional of the highest order. Food was excellent-an overall terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent service... a good place for an occasion or date however... Steaks were cooked to order but accompaning vegtables left a lot to be desired. Prices are premium which should indicate everything being top notch, unfortunately that wasn't the case.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The Staff are very professional within all that they do...very mission focus. To be honest I would give this place 10 stars from booking to serving. My fiancee had quite the night💘💘💘. Very ravishing atmosphere!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The music, the staff, and the ambience were all great. However, the food was very bland and tasteless. Coffee dusted salmon had no taste - literally.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Birthday was a great experience at Southern Prime. Every detail from food, server, hostess made the night great. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Southern Prime is always a fantastic experience and tonight was no exception

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always love the ambiance but the old magic was gone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine with them! Food is unbelievable! Best steak in town with excellent service. Husband is gluten-free, and they are quick to make sure he is taken care of with great food options.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Immaculate establishment, excellent wait staff and wonderful menu - to include spirits and wine list.

Food preparation: Seasoning in general, left me desiring and yearning for our Ruth/Chris Steak dining experiences. Nevertheless, the steaks were well cooked and sides dishes were adequately proportioned.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Second visit, food was excellent. Great value. Special place in Southern Pines.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very okay. The meal itself was rather bland, but the service was excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This was my fourth visit. Service was inconsistent on this visit. Knowledge of menu (how items were prepared) was poor. Orders were missed, 3 steaks where not cooked to requested temperature. While I will visit again, this visit did not meet expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The name is Southern Prime yet the Steak is CHOICE. I had the filet which was tender but lacked flavor. Husband has swelling.. same.. all was ok .. nothing special.
Love Morton's or Ruth Chris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary on 7/6 at Southern Prime, everything was delicious !
The table with the heart confetti to the anniversary dessert. Thank you for making our evening so special!
We live in NJ and when we come to NC we love to have dinner with you.
Awesome as always

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Celebrated my son and daughter-in-law's wedding anniversary. They had special table decorated for them which was very nice touch and appreciated. We all had steaks - ribeyes and filets and the steaks were cooked to perfection and we enjoyed them. Great restaurant to have conversation over dinner and received excellent service from the staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was great! The only changes I would have made is picking a better table--ours wasn't located right in a walkway, and dimmer lighting in the main room. Very reasonably priced steaks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My husband and I had Southern Prime for my birthday dinner. The food was absolutely amazing. Steaks were cooked perfectly and the lobster rangoons app and lobster Mac & cheese were to die for. The best part of the experience was the service. Our server was Van and he was stellar. He gave great recommendations for steak and wine and made sure we had a fabulous experience. Totally worth it for a special occasion/date night!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Nice place with good people. Staff was genuinely concerned about us having a satisfactory experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Our dinner at Southern Prime was amazing. Our waiter Ryan was professional, courteous, polite and efficient. The food was cooked to perfection and the wine selection was great. We will definitely return when we are in town again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Our 2nd visit and checking for potential post wedding dinner. Checking for vegan options; accommodations can be made. Our dinners were both very good; we split a salad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Stunning food in great surroundings. The service is excellent without being overbearing. The place to eat in Southern Pines, a beautiful North Carolina setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Took my special lady out for her 30th birthday and everything was wonderful. Food was fresh and absolutely fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always great food and service. Wonderful mac and cheese and ages steaks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I treated my significant other for a pre-Father's Day dinner. The service was phenomenal! The food was great & I would recommend SP to anyone. There are spaces for groups to celebrate special occasions, spaces in the bar for meet and greet & cozy tables & booths for romantic dinners. I have dined at SP numerous times & I have never been disappointed. Some may find the menu a little pricy, but I find it very affordable...not just for special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food, great service and a beautiful atmosphere! Had dinner in celebration of our wedding anniversary we were blown away by everything, especially our table in the, for lack of a better description, "wine room".

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had dinner at Southern Prime for the first time and had a WONDERFUL Pre-Fathers Day dinner. Service was fantastic and only topped by the meal. We've already planned to return on 6/25/2017 for our Anniversary Brunch. I've already recommended it to everyone I've run into since Saturday night! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Got together with friends to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. Were seated at a noisy booth adjacent to a group dinner and asked to have the piped in music turned down, which they did. My wife opted for a Misto Chopped Salad and Shrimp and Grits. Her salad greens (cabbage) were full of tough stems and the portion was quite small for $9. The grits in her entree were tasteless. I ordered the special "Bacon wrapped Monkfish" and the fish was tasty, but the burre blanc sauce and potatoes were likewise tasteless.
FInally, we thought a dessert was in order to finish our celebration and we chose the seasonal berry cobbler, which was awful. Looked like canned blueberries with a soft crust that had no crunch whatsoever. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Went here for our anniversary. Meat was perfectly cooked (medium rare), sauces were very tasty, and didn't feel rushed at all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The calamari for appetizer were good without being great. The cast iron seared scallops were out-of-the-world delicious: tender and tasty. However, the "surf and turf" was wanting. The filet mignon was only "O.K.," and the smallish lobster tail likewise lacked flavor. The service was superb: friendly and efficient. The entire staff was smiling, accommodating, and impressively professional. But I'd rather the food - at least this small sample size - were as good as the service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent service and fantastic meal. We have dined here frequently over the last five years. Each time we enjoy the experience even more. We highly recommend Southern Prime for date night or special occasion dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I should learn. Have never had a good experience here. The steaks are disappointing for a supposedly first rate steak house. The service is slow, maddeningly so. The kitchen even slower. Should be the perfect place to take out of town guests for a sophisticated dining experience in the Sand Hills but so far has never ( 4 times) worked out this way. Should learn. Have. Never again. Next time Walcott's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I cannot honestly say that the quisine at Southern Prime quite matched the wonderful ambiance. I feel the meat entrees were without full flavor. In addition, the five adult meals were not served right off the grill. They were cold. Although he was very proper, knowledgeable regarding the menu, and professional, I would also suggest that Conner loosen up just a little and interact with his guests more.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We started off thinking that this would e a great evening and a great restaurant, boy it couldn't have been farther from the truth. Initially the host was very friendly and acomidating. It went down from there. The waiter never told us about specials. Only after we ordered did we hear another table being offered them. The wines are very overpriced. My fiancé had to send her sirloin ( that we don't think was sirloin at all and not aged as advertised) back 3 times and then it was overlooked. My 10oz lobster tail was 2 fives and undercooked. After paying we called the GM (Grant) to the table. He never offered any adjustment to the bill, only a give certificate towards another meal, like I would go back. Stay away especially if you are trying to impress someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 27, 2017

From the second we walked in and were virtually ignored (the guy at the counter told us to wait as he obviously struggled with a computer screen while three young people stood around him as statues), to when our waiter took my empty entree plate off the table while my wife still worked on hers (not appropriate waiter etiquette), we have decided to forego any future trips to Southern Prime Steakhouse. My double-cut pork chop came with a repulsive sauce that sounded good from the menu, but when I asked for over 1/2 of it to be boxed (hoping our 5-month old puppy at home might be interested), our otherwise friendly waiter took no interest in asking me how it was - it was as if he knew. My wife's 8oz filet was a nice cut, but quite flavorless for some reason. The double vegetable for her side (the ever bland summer squash medley) was equally lacking.

Over the past 4+ years of dining here, the service and food quality has consistently slipped to the point where we are going to try Ironwood. Even the manager's "check-in" was lackluster and robotic. The two good items were the pineapple martinis we each had, and our salads were above average (a wedge and a green salad). We also got to sit in the wine room for the first time, and the atmosphere in there was cozy, quiet, and lovely (an 8-person table was sitting down as we were leaving, so I don't know how delightful it would have remained in that small space). Sorry to see Southern Prime get struck off our list, but they've had plenty of chances to wow us.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Wonderful dinner, great presentation, delicious and wonderful service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This is the place to go for your anniversary!! The food was outstanding, the ambience and music made it very relaxing. We were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary and our waiter, Van, a true professional, arranged for a special surprise and a photo to remember our special day! I would highly recommend this special place.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.