Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About Southern Prime Steakhouse

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner Open at 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Business Meals (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Private Room (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (0)
Sort By:
S
664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 3 days ago

Stunning food in great surroundings. The service is excellent without being overbearing. The place to eat in Southern Pines, a beautiful North Carolina setting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great food and service. Wonderful mac and cheese and ages steaks!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 5 days ago

I treated my significant other for a pre-Father's Day dinner. The service was phenomenal! The food was great & I would recommend SP to anyone. There are spaces for groups to celebrate special occasions, spaces in the bar for meet and greet & cozy tables & booths for romantic dinners. I have dined at SP numerous times & I have never been disappointed. Some may find the menu a little pricy, but I find it very affordable...not just for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service and a beautiful atmosphere! Had dinner in celebration of our wedding anniversary we were blown away by everything, especially our table in the, for lack of a better description, "wine room".

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 5 days ago

We had dinner at Southern Prime for the first time and had a WONDERFUL Pre-Fathers Day dinner. Service was fantastic and only topped by the meal. We've already planned to return on 6/25/2017 for our Anniversary Brunch. I've already recommended it to everyone I've run into since Saturday night! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 6 days ago

Got together with friends to celebrate a birthday and anniversary. Were seated at a noisy booth adjacent to a group dinner and asked to have the piped in music turned down, which they did. My wife opted for a Misto Chopped Salad and Shrimp and Grits. Her salad greens (cabbage) were full of tough stems and the portion was quite small for $9. The grits in her entree were tasteless. I ordered the special "Bacon wrapped Monkfish" and the fish was tasty, but the burre blanc sauce and potatoes were likewise tasteless.
FInally, we thought a dessert was in order to finish our celebration and we chose the seasonal berry cobbler, which was awful. Looked like canned blueberries with a soft crust that had no crunch whatsoever. Very disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Went here for our anniversary. Meat was perfectly cooked (medium rare), sauces were very tasty, and didn't feel rushed at all.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent service and fantastic meal. We have dined here frequently over the last five years. Each time we enjoy the experience even more. We highly recommend Southern Prime for date night or special occasion dining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I should learn. Have never had a good experience here. The steaks are disappointing for a supposedly first rate steak house. The service is slow, maddeningly so. The kitchen even slower. Should be the perfect place to take out of town guests for a sophisticated dining experience in the Sand Hills but so far has never ( 4 times) worked out this way. Should learn. Have. Never again. Next time Walcott's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I cannot honestly say that the quisine at Southern Prime quite matched the wonderful ambiance. I feel the meat entrees were without full flavor. In addition, the five adult meals were not served right off the grill. They were cold. Although he was very proper, knowledgeable regarding the menu, and professional, I would also suggest that Conner loosen up just a little and interact with his guests more.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We started off thinking that this would e a great evening and a great restaurant, boy it couldn't have been farther from the truth. Initially the host was very friendly and acomidating. It went down from there. The waiter never told us about specials. Only after we ordered did we hear another table being offered them. The wines are very overpriced. My fiancé had to send her sirloin ( that we don't think was sirloin at all and not aged as advertised) back 3 times and then it was overlooked. My 10oz lobster tail was 2 fives and undercooked. After paying we called the GM (Grant) to the table. He never offered any adjustment to the bill, only a give certificate towards another meal, like I would go back. Stay away especially if you are trying to impress someone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 27, 2017

From the second we walked in and were virtually ignored (the guy at the counter told us to wait as he obviously struggled with a computer screen while three young people stood around him as statues), to when our waiter took my empty entree plate off the table while my wife still worked on hers (not appropriate waiter etiquette), we have decided to forego any future trips to Southern Prime Steakhouse. My double-cut pork chop came with a repulsive sauce that sounded good from the menu, but when I asked for over 1/2 of it to be boxed (hoping our 5-month old puppy at home might be interested), our otherwise friendly waiter took no interest in asking me how it was - it was as if he knew. My wife's 8oz filet was a nice cut, but quite flavorless for some reason. The double vegetable for her side (the ever bland summer squash medley) was equally lacking.

Over the past 4+ years of dining here, the service and food quality has consistently slipped to the point where we are going to try Ironwood. Even the manager's "check-in" was lackluster and robotic. The two good items were the pineapple martinis we each had, and our salads were above average (a wedge and a green salad). We also got to sit in the wine room for the first time, and the atmosphere in there was cozy, quiet, and lovely (an 8-person table was sitting down as we were leaving, so I don't know how delightful it would have remained in that small space). Sorry to see Southern Prime get struck off our list, but they've had plenty of chances to wow us.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This is the place to go for your anniversary!! The food was outstanding, the ambience and music made it very relaxing. We were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary and our waiter, Van, a true professional, arranged for a special surprise and a photo to remember our special day! I would highly recommend this special place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We were visiting the Pinehurst area for golf and catching up with good friends. We had received the recommendation for the restaurant from the concierge at The Carolina Hotel. Fabulous food, great ambience (we sat at a table in the "wine room") and terrific waiter (Cameron). The owner, Mike, stopped by the table and we chatted about the history of the area and the restaurant. Made our last night in Pinehurst very special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 22, 2017

A fantastic restaurant and food, enjoyed by all. Service was wonderful as well.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our dinner and bar and table service was outstanding. We always dine at Southern Prime when visiting my sister who lives in the area. Absolutely worth a visit!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great place in a very unassuming downtown Southern Pines! Second time eating there both were great! One on Easter and this time for new friends! We are from out of town and have told everyone!
Need to let people know about this

spot!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 15, 2017

WAITED 10 MIN. FOR SOMEONE TO COME TO OUR TABLE. DRINKS ORDERED ; TOOK QUITE SOME TIME. 1ST COURSE WAS EXCELLENT . BREAD NEVER CAME ; THEN ASKED FOR SOME. FINISHED OUR DRINKS NEVER ASKED IF I WOULD LIKE ANOTHER. MAIN COURSE CAME WAS VERY GOOD. OUT OF BREAD NEVER REPLACED.FINALLY ASKED A STAFF PASSING BY IF WE COULD KINDLY HAVE MORE BREAD.THIS WAS TO BE A SPECIAL NIGHT MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY AND IT WAS SUB PAR!! I HAVE TOLD SOME OF MY FRIENDS OF THE EXPERIENCE AND THEY SAID THEY HAD THE SAME.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I really enjoyed the experience. We had the halibut and steak and enjoyed every bite of it. We also had a wonderful blueberry cobbler which was melt in your mouth. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was good, but the food did not live up to the price point.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful, very masculine feeling. I reserved on opentable for Mother's Day Brunch, which looked delicious and perfect for my mother. After driving an hour, we were given the special mother's day menu which was their normal dinner menu. It was a very heavy menu, leaning toward red meats and potatoes. I would not have picked this menu for my mother or for me, but by the time we got there, it was too late to make any other plans. The last time I reserved on open table for a holiday and the restaurant changed the menu, they called and verified I would still want the reservation with the changes. I will say the food and service were impeccable; and with the large serving we were able to take home enough for my mom to get another meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall the experience was fine, however I expected better food. The lobster bisque did not taste fresh, and the brussel sprouts were not braised as stated on the menu. Restaurant seems like they are still trying to fill big shoes to me.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great steaks and excellent service. The warm fresh bread was outstanding as well.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had an amazing time at this restaurant. The Mac and cheese was divine and the steak perfect. I enjoyed the kindness and hospitality of the servers and our waitress. I truly had a great experience here and I would be quick to come again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We eat here every time we are in Southern Pines. It never disappoints! Food was great and our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The steaks were cooked to perfection. My husband had the scallops and were exquisite. We were seated in the wine room which had over 900 bottles of wine. Our waitress was very attentive. The host Matt, was extremely professional and knowledgeable. We will definitely try this restaurant again on our next visit to the area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service and ambiance. The staff was very attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The food is good. I won't say it is the best steak that I have had but for the area it is definitely one of the best restaurants.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I was very pleased with everything this evening. It was my parents anniversary and they did amazing helping celebrate it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fantastic service and good food. Lobster mac as an app is highly recommended. I would recommend for any special occasion or whenever you are looking for a nice steak.

Note.. I found medium rare was Cooked more to the medium side. Take this into consideration when ordering.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved it and was comparable to the best in NYC. The wine list is very impressive and fantastic steaks

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Would recommend this awesome restaurant for an anniversary or birthday date. Extremely pleased, exceptional service, catered to our needs and even inserted special gifts throughout the dinner. Make sure you let them know it's your anniversary, you'll be impressed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I treated my father to dinner at the end of our golf trip in Southern Pines, NC. It was the best possible way for us to conclude our golf vacation. Hands down the best dirty martini I've ever had poured and served by the classy and charming bartender Britney (Brittany?) It was also nice to talk sports with her, mostly hockey as she's an avid Washington Capitals fan. So our conversation wasn't the usual clichéd fanfare.
Regarding our dinner? Phenomenal. My steak was cooked perfectly with a beautiful char on the outside and a warm, tender and slightly pink inside. I devoured it but savored every bite.
Occasionally the host - my apologies I forgot his name - would stop by and talk to my dad and me and it was very pleasant and humorous conversation. Sometimes when the staff stops by to chat with you it can get boorish or awkward, but this was neither of those.
I had a truly great experience at Southern Prime. The ambiance was great, the company was better and the drinks were fantastic. I highly recommend this restaurant, especially for the out-of-towners who go there on golf vacations and are looking to enhance their trip with truly fine dining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We greatly enjoyed our Easter lunch. Everything was wonderful and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because our steak selections weren't quite cooked to order. We had 4 selections ordered, 3 medium and one medium rare. The medium rare was medium and one of the mediums was perfect, one was medium rare and one was medium plus. Definitely will not keep us from going again. Food quality, service and ambience were great and enjoyable. We look forward to our next visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Southern Prime is fabulous! It's the only place in Southern Pines/Pinehurst where the acoustics allow for an intimate conversation. The food is delicious and prepared to perfection. Our server, William was very attentive without being intrusive. The dining room manager, Brandon, stopped by to make sure everything was to our liking. Even the owner, Mike, checked on us. This is a great place for high end dining on a special occasion, but not so expensive that we can't visit more often. This meal was a special menu for the Easter lunch, and it was outstanding. There were several tables of family groups, but the noise level was very low. We are looking forward to our next meal at Southern Prime!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and ambiance was great, however the price of the meal was such that I can only come occasionally. I had 7 people total and the cost with tip was well over $200.00. Only the very rich could afford this regularly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place to entertain a golf outing

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Let me start with the food was amazing. Our waiter, Connor, was attentive and polite. However, the table they sat us at was very close to the staging area for all the kitchen and wait staff. Not to be unreasonable, I wasn't annoyed with the conversations until they became social and about sports. If the staff isn't busy then they need to be respective off the customers they do have. The volume kept getting louder and louder. A head waiter or boss keep coming back and asking them to stop talking. He did so over 3 times. It ruined the ambience of our special evening. I will go back but I will refuse this table if they offer it to us again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Usually good food and service but just mediocre this visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was our 5 year anniversary. We had a wonderful experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.