About Southern Prime Steakhouse

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner Open at 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Restaurant Photos

Bruschetta
Scallops
Organic Chicken
Lobster Dinner
Misto Chop Salad
Cheese Plate
Tomato And Mozzarella
Shrimp and Grits
Land And Sea
Salmon
Arugala Salad
Lobster Rangoon
Lobstertini

Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good service, food was very good al ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good service, food was very good also. My wife's filet was a little bland but my prime rib was freikin' awesome. Great wine selection and very nice bar drinks. Only draw back was that a large party got sat next to us with a table of 10 kids so it became a little more noisy. The wait staff for that large party was doing a great job especially with the table of 10 kids in explaining the menu and getting them items that they would actually enjoy....bravo, well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had 16 in Pinehurst for a High School ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had 16 in Pinehurst for a High School reunion golf weekend.

Southern Prime offered to us a room so we could be ourselves and not interrupt other customers in the main dining area of the restaurant. The service was outstanding, we never had to ask for anything.

The food arrived all together and met our expectation.

You can tell this restaurant understands and caters to these type of large groups as well as offering a nice main dining experience for a couple enjoying dinner together.

Job well done.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was totally unacceptable. Sh ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Our server was totally unacceptable. She started out offering us drinks, which we ordered. Then said, "You want to order now?" No specials offered until we asked what they were. One steak came back Medium to Medium Well not Medium Rare (the manager refunded the cost or the steak.) When the checks came they were totally incorrect. My dinner and one glass of wine was charger to our friends check. She had to go back and redo it and still had it incorrect, but we settled in among ourselves.

We (both couples) have been to Southern Prime numerous times and we have never run into a server like this young lady. Service has always been excellent. She boardered on being rude besides incompetitent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

For our wedding anniversary in June our ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

For our wedding anniversary in June our son and daughter-in-law gave us a gift card. We decided to use it to celebrate my wife's birthday last week, and sure glad we did. We had a wonderful meal, and the service was great! Really liked the atmosphere and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great experience at Southern Pri ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Another great experience at Southern Prime, my wife and I went to celebrate our 1st anniversary and the staff took great care of us. The food was amazing and Ryan our server was attentive and knowledgeable. We could have done without the loudmouth in the booth behind us but otherwise a great experience. One of our favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service which is the way ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food and service which is the way it is every time we have dinner here.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our steaks were not cooked to order and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our steaks were not cooked to order and although the staff was nice and attentive, their timeliness could have been better. We ate here for our parents 50th anniversary. They did make a special dessert for them; however, they brought their dessert out and then took the rest of our family's dessert order. So we were all eating desserts at times. For their specialty being steak, i would expect them to know how to properly cook it. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated my Birthday with a my Mom ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We celebrated my Birthday with a my Mom and a few friends. There were many choices on the menu that were helpful since I brought Vegetarians to a Steak House! Everyone loved the food and the service was wonderful! We had a great evening out! Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten here a few times in the last ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Have eaten here a few times in the last year, but this time I was disappointed. The server seemed infatuated with the table next to us, the wedge salad was chopped or they sent the wrong thing. . We never received our sides and no one checked if we were pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

were seated next to a very loud talking ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

were seated next to a very loud talking table, even tho the restaurant was practically empty!

service efficient , tho not terribly friendly.

our medium well steaks were well done and very dry, tasteless....not a fan of broccolini.

not exactly the warm cozy romantic feeling we had hoped for on a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love everything about this restaurant fr ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love everything about this restaurant from the exceptional service to my mouth watering steak. The ambiance was perfect and made everything great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No need to go to Raleigh for a great ste ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

No need to go to Raleigh for a great steak. Southern Prime is our favorite go to place in the samdhills.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy spending our special occ ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We always enjoy spending our special occasion dinners at Southern Prime. It cannot be surpassed in food, professional staff, and ambiance. One of our most favorites in Moore County to be sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not good. Waited 10 minutes ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was not good. Waited 10 minutes for water to be refilled, and had to ask to have done.

Only one other table with customers in there. Asked for steaks to be done medium rare and medium, both were over cooked. The amount of money we spent for the service and meal was out of balance. I would expect that type of bad food experience from a low budget restaurant not one that is $30/$40 per plate. Will NOT go back and have already recommended that people not go. No wonder there was only one other couple there at 6pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Extremely professional staff, courteous, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Extremely professional staff, courteous, friendly and efficient. Food was delicious. Best restaurant in town !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall service was more of a group ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The overall service was more of a group of high school kids playing at what they thought was a high end restaurant than actual service. The food was mediocre and not worth the premium paid. My ribeye had more gristle and fat than actual meat. My wife and I were on a date and had a business dinner placed right next to us when most of the room was still empty. Ruined the rest of our dinner. Would not recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

After celebrating my birthday here on ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

After celebrating my birthday here on our first visit to this restaurant earlier this month we returned this time with out-of-town guests. All four of us loved every aspect of the food, service and ambiance. It was Sunday night and very quiet--the restaurant was crowded on the Friday night of our first visit but on both occasions Service, food and ambiance were great. We especially enjoyed the Lobster Rangoon appy and the ribeye and filet steaks that come with your choice of toppings/sauces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a group of 8 guys while on a g ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went with a group of 8 guys while on a golf trip. Steaks and seafood were all very good, as well as the sides. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We dined at Southern Prime on a Tuesday ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We dined at Southern Prime on a Tuesday evening with good friends. We weren't disappointed with the food or service. Austin was our waiter and did a wonderful job! I ordered one of the specials, the veal chop which was out of this world! Everyone seemed very happy with their choices. We sat in the main dining room at a round table. It was a slow evening for the restaurant but we didn't care as we all very satisfied. The manager came over as well to see if

everything was satisfactory. Well worth the trip.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Prime Rib with a side of Lobst ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I had the Prime Rib with a side of Lobster Mac and Cheese. The Lobster Mac and Cheese was good, however it came out so hot, it was watery in texture and could have had more lobster. The steak I would have said was good, however it unfortunately interrupted my shower hours later three times. While its partly my fault for having ordered it rare, I've had steaks that rare and not gotten sick. So thats why I'm going down the middle with 3 stars. My BF ordered the Cioppino and the sauce for it was divine. Very complex and garlicky. The creme brulee was also good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We went her to celebrate our 6th wedding ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went her to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary and the evening was perfect. The food and drinks were wonderful and the staff was so welcoming and sweet. Our table was decorated with heart confetti and we were given a complimentary desert. I will definitely be back as well as recommend Southern Prime to all my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently moved to the area and heard ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We recently moved to the area and heard great things about Southern Prime so we figured we would give it a try for a birthday dinner!! They went above and beyond and can't say enough great things about this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Joey and I celebrated his success at win ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Joey and I celebrated his success at winning a tournament at Pinehurst. I had the "special" Halibut and he had the Ribeye. Both were fantastic. The service was superb. It was a great dining experience and we would recommend the Southern Prime Steakhouse to anyone visiting the Southern Pine/Pinehurst area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food -- very attentive service ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good food -- very attentive service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious filet and special attention fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Delicious filet and special attention for my birthday dinner with extra surprises!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been many times and bar-area is our favo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Been many times and bar-area is our favorite. You get the whole menu but it's at tall wood tables instead of white-cloth ones in main dining room. Usually a great bartender (the woman who manages it is the best).

Appetizers can be good and are often generous; I know several people who order one with a salad as their whole meal. Lobster Rangoon is popular though I don't care for it; must be me. Salads can be good especially the Caesar which is the real deal. Soups are always good (Lobster Bisque!). We never order beef here as my husband does it far better. But their fish dishes are their best anyway! Creative and usually just the right size. (This time mine got pretty salty as it cooled, which I'll mention to them the next time I order it.)

Also don't care for the desserts, but I very rarely do desserts anywhere.

All in all I continue to recommend Southern Prime as it's one of the best in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

For my husband's birthday celebration we ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

For my husband's birthday celebration we had brunch for four adults and two young children. The service was wonderful. The restaurant scattered birthday confetti on the table and took a complementary photo of our group that they gave us in a cardboard frame. Everyone had something different, and everyone loved their food, even the youngsters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable way to spend the evening ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very enjoyable way to spend the evening of our 47th anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sent my parents to Southern Prime for ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We sent my parents to Southern Prime for their 45th wedding anniversary and the restaurant staff exceeded my expectations. They took an anniversary photo my that they then gave them to take home. They also gave them a complimentary dessert with "Happy Anniversary " written a dessert sauce and their table was decorated. My parents were very pleased with the whole experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MY steak was a little over done. Wish t ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

MY steak was a little over done. Wish they didn't butterfly a small filet. Over all food was good, but not Ruth Chris's. Service was great as was the dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Steak, cooked perfectly. Hig ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent Steak, cooked perfectly. Highly Recommend

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not nearly as good on this outing as we ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Not nearly as good on this outing as we have had in the past. The Shrimp and Grits was very

salty and had liquid sitting around the sides that I wasn't sure wasn't fat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

One of, if not the best restaurant in th ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of, if not the best restaurant in the area. Impeccable service, brilliantly presented food, outstanding taste and quality to the food. You are never rushed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great service and ambiance. p ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food, great service and ambiance. pricey, but good wine list. $atch out for the cocktail prices. $14.00 for a Manhattan. Yikes!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great choice for anniversary dinner. The ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great choice for anniversary dinner. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special and the food was great. We will return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great evening. Service and food ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Was a great evening. Service and food outstanding. Beautiful restaurants!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Southern Prime Steakhouse

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I were very excited about trying out the Southern Prime Steakhouse. We had heard it was good but very expensive. We decided, after a very busy first half of the year, to splurge and try it out. Our first impressions was it had a phenomenal atmosphere. We started off with the Lobster Rangoon which was incredible. The steak fries with Parmesan & truffles and aioli sauce was also amazing. My wife remarked how great even the butter was. Our problem came with the main course. My wife's steak was cooked perfectly but my ribeye and lobster were slightly overcooked and a little dry. My plate was also much hotter than my wife's so my guess was it sat under the heat lamp for too long waiting on my wife's filet mignon. Normally I could easily forgive such a mistake but for the prices we were paying I was expecting close to perfection. Visually the steak also suffered. It looked chewed up and deformed. I'm not sure if this was due to the aging process or not but it wasn't what I was expecting. The flavor itself I would categorize as "good". I've had just as good of steaks at any chain steakhouse for half the price. The service was good. We were very happy with our server and overall it was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at Southern Prime. Great meal, great service, and they even provided a picture of our event. We will be going back more often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 miles from Pinehurst Carloina Inn

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Southern Pines Steakhouse is worth the trip. Good food and service in a casual environment.

We ate in the bar off the regular menu. They had a few specials and great steaks. The cocktails were made to perfection. I always eat here when I come to Pinehurst.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Had a great waiter that provided reattach service. Very happy with everything was great and came out well prepared. Wouldn't recommend taking kids though as it's a very nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.