About Southern Prime Steakhouse

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner Open at 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Restaurant Photos

Bruschetta - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Scallops - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Organic Chicken - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Lobster Dinner - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Misto Chop Salad - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Cheese Plate - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Tomato And Mozzarella  - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Shrimp and Grits - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Land And Sea - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Salmon - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Arugala Salad - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Lobster Rangoon - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC
Lobstertini - Southern Prime Steakhouse, Southern Pines, NC

Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (12)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The friends that I invited were very muc ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 6 days ago

The friends that I invited were very much impressed with the food and atmosphere and the outstanding service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit. The first was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was my second visit. The first was a party in a private room which was lovely. This time there were only three of us and we all had a wonderful time. The food was outstanding and the service was top notch! We will definitely be back during our next visit to the area.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner - awesome!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner - awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place exceeded my expectations in e ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place exceeded my expectations in every way. The appetizers and entrees that my party ordered were all outstanding. The server was knowledgeable and appropriately attentive. He went above and beyond to accommodate us - splitting items that we wanted to share. I thought that the prices were very reasonable for the quantity and quality. I loved the old school ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and the environment is ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was amazing and the environment is spacious and comfy. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Filets were excellent as always; perfect ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Filets were excellent as always; perfectly cut and cooked. Prime rib dinner surprisingly was over salted. In retrospect appears someone may have inadvertently spilled salt onto plate as sections were shared. Would have sent back immediately were it not for the fact that initially the individual ordering felt the dish was ok. However, after finally eating from the saltier area shared with others did the issues become fully apparent. Mentioned to waiter who politely responded that he wished he had known before much of the dish was eaten. Not that this should occur again as I remain convinced this was a likely salt spill. however will without hesitation send back immediately in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Our table was the nearest one to the mai ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our table was the nearest one to the main entrance and every time the door was opened, we felt the cold air rushing in. The noise was a bit much and rivaled the ambience that the restaurant attempts to set. The food, although pricy for the quality we received, was absolutely delicious and well flavored. Our waiter was courteous and attentive. Just that little bit was enough to distract us so that we enjoyed our night. Reading the reviews, it seems that the restaurant struggles with consistency but try it for yourself and maybe you'll like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and great food. They re ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great atmosphere and great food. They really made our group feel welcomed. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Eggs Benedict were absolutely delici ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Eggs Benedict were absolutely delicious! I can't wait to come back again for this dish! Everyone else had the French toast and seemed to enjoy. The people at the door were wonderful when we first came in and even went the extra step to open the door on our exit. Very nice touch. The actual service was a little lackluster. We were one of two tables in the restaurant which was why I thought the service from our waiter was a touch subpar. We went a long time without being greeted and a long time without receiving waters or menus. We were there right at 11:30, which excuses the menus, but not being greeted and asked about beverages was not a good sign. It took far too long for our server to come back and take the order after we finally received our menus and throughout the meal, we sat with empty water glasses. All in all, great food but slow service. Brunch took over an hour for a party of 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great ambiance, beautiful interior, good ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great ambiance, beautiful interior, good service, and delicious steaks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My husband and I found Southern Prime on ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I found Southern Prime on a whim. We were celebrating our 1st anniversary and found it on Open Table. We were very pleased. We decided to sit at the bar so we could watch our football games (yes, very romantic) and the entire experience was very enjoyable. We got soup, wine, ordered the filet and lobster and two sides it was really good and seemed like a great value for all of the food and wine that we received.

Our waiter was very well informed and friendly! We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice local restaurant. Great service and ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nice local restaurant. Great service and good food. However the wine list was a bit limited and the wines were extremely overpriced. Still, we weren't disappointed in the meal, which is a change of pace! I would certainly recommend it to friends and may use t in the future for business meetings. We're definitely looking forward to trying their brunch!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant is amazing. The food was ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The restaurant is amazing. The food was great. You feel like you are in a beautiful wine cellar. The way the tables are set up you feel as if you are dining alone. The waitstaff is amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second special occasion goi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our second special occasion going there and it never disappoints. Our two favorite menu items are the crème brulé and lobster gouda mac and cheese. Everything is always cooked perfectly and the staff is always wonderful! We recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first trip to Southern Prim ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first trip to Southern Prime and we were highly impressed. It's a classy place and everything was wonderful. Our server, Ryan, was very personable and very helpful regarding food and wine choices. Our filets were cooked perfectly. We will definitely go back to try other menu items. A bit pricey, but we thought well worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance..cozy yet spacious. ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Loved the ambiance..cozy yet spacious. Fabulous steaks...great plate presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always great but the service is ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food is always great but the service is poor for what they charge. We have been eating hear since they opened, unfortunately this will be our last time. Can't continue to reward a business with such poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Our group of 16 does an annual golf trip ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our group of 16 does an annual golf trip and the other part of our trip is finding good food especially a good steak dinner. Southern Prime Steakhouse lived up to their name. Steaks (ribeye, filet or sirloin) were excellent and cooked to perfection. The seafood and chicken dishes were also excellent. For serving a large group the food items were brought out timely and hot. The wine list was excellent and drinks from the bar were perfectly made. The group enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere so much the first night that we did something that we have never done in the 12 years of this group-we returned to a restaurant for a second night. Excellent on both nights. Southern Prime Steakhouse is highly recommended

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was good. food came out of kitc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

service was good. food came out of kitchen very quickly

high quality meal, nice decor, overall very good experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

short rib appetizer not worth it, just a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

short rib appetizer not worth it, just a few shreds of beef on lots of bread! They used to serve it on mashed potatoes and it was a meal in itself. Disappointing but rest of meal excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Healthy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This a great restaurant for special occa ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This a great restaurant for special occasions. It was our wedding anniversary so we wanted to try something new. The food was excellent. The steak is highly recommended, but my wife had a shrimp dish and she loved it, too. The wait staff was great, too. Our main waitress was very knowledgeable, friendly, and gave service with a smile. She was also able to make recommendations and answer all questions about different meal options.

The lighting was a little bright. As this was a romantic meal, a dimly lit dining area would have been ideal. There also was a gathering in the back room that was a little loud with laughter at times. Neither of these are deal breakers and we definitely will be back again.

Overall this is a top notch restaurant. We went away pleased and are already making plans to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My steak was dry and over cooked. I let ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My steak was dry and over cooked. I let the waitress know and nothing was done about it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Very good service, food was very good al ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very good service, food was very good also. My wife's filet was a little bland but my prime rib was freikin' awesome. Great wine selection and very nice bar drinks. Only draw back was that a large party got sat next to us with a table of 10 kids so it became a little more noisy. The wait staff for that large party was doing a great job especially with the table of 10 kids in explaining the menu and getting them items that they would actually enjoy....bravo, well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had 16 in Pinehurst for a High School ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We had 16 in Pinehurst for a High School reunion golf weekend.

Southern Prime offered to us a room so we could be ourselves and not interrupt other customers in the main dining area of the restaurant. The service was outstanding, we never had to ask for anything.

The food arrived all together and met our expectation.

You can tell this restaurant understands and caters to these type of large groups as well as offering a nice main dining experience for a couple enjoying dinner together.

Job well done.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was totally unacceptable. Sh ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Our server was totally unacceptable. She started out offering us drinks, which we ordered. Then said, "You want to order now?" No specials offered until we asked what they were. One steak came back Medium to Medium Well not Medium Rare (the manager refunded the cost or the steak.) When the checks came they were totally incorrect. My dinner and one glass of wine was charger to our friends check. She had to go back and redo it and still had it incorrect, but we settled in among ourselves.

We (both couples) have been to Southern Prime numerous times and we have never run into a server like this young lady. Service has always been excellent. She boardered on being rude besides incompetitent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

For our wedding anniversary in June our ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 7, 2016

For our wedding anniversary in June our son and daughter-in-law gave us a gift card. We decided to use it to celebrate my wife's birthday last week, and sure glad we did. We had a wonderful meal, and the service was great! Really liked the atmosphere and will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great experience at Southern Pri ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Another great experience at Southern Prime, my wife and I went to celebrate our 1st anniversary and the staff took great care of us. The food was amazing and Ryan our server was attentive and knowledgeable. We could have done without the loudmouth in the booth behind us but otherwise a great experience. One of our favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and service which is the way ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food and service which is the way it is every time we have dinner here.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our steaks were not cooked to order and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our steaks were not cooked to order and although the staff was nice and attentive, their timeliness could have been better. We ate here for our parents 50th anniversary. They did make a special dessert for them; however, they brought their dessert out and then took the rest of our family's dessert order. So we were all eating desserts at times. For their specialty being steak, i would expect them to know how to properly cook it. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated my Birthday with a my Mom ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We celebrated my Birthday with a my Mom and a few friends. There were many choices on the menu that were helpful since I brought Vegetarians to a Steak House! Everyone loved the food and the service was wonderful! We had a great evening out! Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten here a few times in the last ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Have eaten here a few times in the last year, but this time I was disappointed. The server seemed infatuated with the table next to us, the wedge salad was chopped or they sent the wrong thing. . We never received our sides and no one checked if we were pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

were seated next to a very loud talking ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 17, 2016

were seated next to a very loud talking table, even tho the restaurant was practically empty!

service efficient , tho not terribly friendly.

our medium well steaks were well done and very dry, tasteless....not a fan of broccolini.

not exactly the warm cozy romantic feeling we had hoped for on a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love everything about this restaurant fr ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love everything about this restaurant from the exceptional service to my mouth watering steak. The ambiance was perfect and made everything great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No need to go to Raleigh for a great ste ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 11, 2016

No need to go to Raleigh for a great steak. Southern Prime is our favorite go to place in the samdhills.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy spending our special occ ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We always enjoy spending our special occasion dinners at Southern Prime. It cannot be surpassed in food, professional staff, and ambiance. One of our most favorites in Moore County to be sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not good. Waited 10 minutes ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was not good. Waited 10 minutes for water to be refilled, and had to ask to have done.

Only one other table with customers in there. Asked for steaks to be done medium rare and medium, both were over cooked. The amount of money we spent for the service and meal was out of balance. I would expect that type of bad food experience from a low budget restaurant not one that is $30/$40 per plate. Will NOT go back and have already recommended that people not go. No wonder there was only one other couple there at 6pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Extremely professional staff, courteous, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Extremely professional staff, courteous, friendly and efficient. Food was delicious. Best restaurant in town !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall service was more of a group ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The overall service was more of a group of high school kids playing at what they thought was a high end restaurant than actual service. The food was mediocre and not worth the premium paid. My ribeye had more gristle and fat than actual meat. My wife and I were on a date and had a business dinner placed right next to us when most of the room was still empty. Ruined the rest of our dinner. Would not recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

After celebrating my birthday here on ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 24, 2016

After celebrating my birthday here on our first visit to this restaurant earlier this month we returned this time with out-of-town guests. All four of us loved every aspect of the food, service and ambiance. It was Sunday night and very quiet--the restaurant was crowded on the Friday night of our first visit but on both occasions Service, food and ambiance were great. We especially enjoyed the Lobster Rangoon appy and the ribeye and filet steaks that come with your choice of toppings/sauces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a group of 8 guys while on a g ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went with a group of 8 guys while on a golf trip. Steaks and seafood were all very good, as well as the sides. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.