Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About Southern Prime Steakhouse

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner Open at 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Business Meals (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Private Room (6)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place in a very unassuming downtown Southern Pines! Second time eating there both were great! One on Easter and this time for new friends! We are from out of town and have told everyone!
Need to let people know about this

spot!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 7 days ago

WAITED 10 MIN. FOR SOMEONE TO COME TO OUR TABLE. DRINKS ORDERED ; TOOK QUITE SOME TIME. 1ST COURSE WAS EXCELLENT . BREAD NEVER CAME ; THEN ASKED FOR SOME. FINISHED OUR DRINKS NEVER ASKED IF I WOULD LIKE ANOTHER. MAIN COURSE CAME WAS VERY GOOD. OUT OF BREAD NEVER REPLACED.FINALLY ASKED A STAFF PASSING BY IF WE COULD KINDLY HAVE MORE BREAD.THIS WAS TO BE A SPECIAL NIGHT MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY AND IT WAS SUB PAR!! I HAVE TOLD SOME OF MY FRIENDS OF THE EXPERIENCE AND THEY SAID THEY HAD THE SAME.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

I really enjoyed the experience. We had the halibut and steak and enjoyed every bite of it. We also had a wonderful blueberry cobbler which was melt in your mouth. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was good, but the food did not live up to the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful, very masculine feeling. I reserved on opentable for Mother's Day Brunch, which looked delicious and perfect for my mother. After driving an hour, we were given the special mother's day menu which was their normal dinner menu. It was a very heavy menu, leaning toward red meats and potatoes. I would not have picked this menu for my mother or for me, but by the time we got there, it was too late to make any other plans. The last time I reserved on open table for a holiday and the restaurant changed the menu, they called and verified I would still want the reservation with the changes. I will say the food and service were impeccable; and with the large serving we were able to take home enough for my mom to get another meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall the experience was fine, however I expected better food. The lobster bisque did not taste fresh, and the brussel sprouts were not braised as stated on the menu. Restaurant seems like they are still trying to fill big shoes to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great steaks and excellent service. The warm fresh bread was outstanding as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I had an amazing time at this restaurant. The Mac and cheese was divine and the steak perfect. I enjoyed the kindness and hospitality of the servers and our waitress. I truly had a great experience here and I would be quick to come again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We eat here every time we are in Southern Pines. It never disappoints! Food was great and our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The steaks were cooked to perfection. My husband had the scallops and were exquisite. We were seated in the wine room which had over 900 bottles of wine. Our waitress was very attentive. The host Matt, was extremely professional and knowledgeable. We will definitely try this restaurant again on our next visit to the area.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service and ambiance. The staff was very attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The food is good. I won't say it is the best steak that I have had but for the area it is definitely one of the best restaurants.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I was very pleased with everything this evening. It was my parents anniversary and they did amazing helping celebrate it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fantastic service and good food. Lobster mac as an app is highly recommended. I would recommend for any special occasion or whenever you are looking for a nice steak.

Note.. I found medium rare was Cooked more to the medium side. Take this into consideration when ordering.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved it and was comparable to the best in NYC. The wine list is very impressive and fantastic steaks

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Would recommend this awesome restaurant for an anniversary or birthday date. Extremely pleased, exceptional service, catered to our needs and even inserted special gifts throughout the dinner. Make sure you let them know it's your anniversary, you'll be impressed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I treated my father to dinner at the end of our golf trip in Southern Pines, NC. It was the best possible way for us to conclude our golf vacation. Hands down the best dirty martini I've ever had poured and served by the classy and charming bartender Britney (Brittany?) It was also nice to talk sports with her, mostly hockey as she's an avid Washington Capitals fan. So our conversation wasn't the usual clichéd fanfare.
Regarding our dinner? Phenomenal. My steak was cooked perfectly with a beautiful char on the outside and a warm, tender and slightly pink inside. I devoured it but savored every bite.
Occasionally the host - my apologies I forgot his name - would stop by and talk to my dad and me and it was very pleasant and humorous conversation. Sometimes when the staff stops by to chat with you it can get boorish or awkward, but this was neither of those.
I had a truly great experience at Southern Prime. The ambiance was great, the company was better and the drinks were fantastic. I highly recommend this restaurant, especially for the out-of-towners who go there on golf vacations and are looking to enhance their trip with truly fine dining.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We greatly enjoyed our Easter lunch. Everything was wonderful and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because our steak selections weren't quite cooked to order. We had 4 selections ordered, 3 medium and one medium rare. The medium rare was medium and one of the mediums was perfect, one was medium rare and one was medium plus. Definitely will not keep us from going again. Food quality, service and ambience were great and enjoyable. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Southern Prime is fabulous! It's the only place in Southern Pines/Pinehurst where the acoustics allow for an intimate conversation. The food is delicious and prepared to perfection. Our server, William was very attentive without being intrusive. The dining room manager, Brandon, stopped by to make sure everything was to our liking. Even the owner, Mike, checked on us. This is a great place for high end dining on a special occasion, but not so expensive that we can't visit more often. This meal was a special menu for the Easter lunch, and it was outstanding. There were several tables of family groups, but the noise level was very low. We are looking forward to our next meal at Southern Prime!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and ambiance was great, however the price of the meal was such that I can only come occasionally. I had 7 people total and the cost with tip was well over $200.00. Only the very rich could afford this regularly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place to entertain a golf outing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Let me start with the food was amazing. Our waiter, Connor, was attentive and polite. However, the table they sat us at was very close to the staging area for all the kitchen and wait staff. Not to be unreasonable, I wasn't annoyed with the conversations until they became social and about sports. If the staff isn't busy then they need to be respective off the customers they do have. The volume kept getting louder and louder. A head waiter or boss keep coming back and asking them to stop talking. He did so over 3 times. It ruined the ambience of our special evening. I will go back but I will refuse this table if they offer it to us again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Usually good food and service but just mediocre this visit.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was our 5 year anniversary. We had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and had such a nice evening at Southern Prime. The food was delicious. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly. We especially liked the elegant atmosphere. And to top it off, we received a lovely picture.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Our service was excellent and our dinner was wonderful.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our service was outstanding. Anything that we wanted was promptly provided except for a little slowness in seating us. The tilefish was a feature and very good except entirely too salty. One of my friends had the ribeye and he was very disappointed that it wasn't as good as he expected. If this restaurant tightens up on their food a little I would recommend it. The service and ambiance of the restaurant were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My husband's request for the $30. steak he ordered to be cooked "medium" was pretty much
raw. The 2nd steak they delivered looked like a piece of charcoal...and still pretty rare. My mussels were okay...not a very good broth. Won't be back for quite some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I had filet mignon. My husband had tilefish. Both were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were there for my birthday and Van made sure my wife and I enjoyed ourselves. The food was very good and the atmosphere was relaxing. We sat in the bar area, at our request, had our picture taken and enjoyed the evening. Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fantastic service. Favorite part of the night were the sides for two. Delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed our visit to Southern Prime. The service was outstanding!! The food, if we're being honest, is average though given the above average prices.
The appetizer, fried calamari, was not your typical rings of calamari but was instead long meaty portions, while good and extremely different, it just tasted like fried food. Nothing spectacular, no distinct taste.
My filet was great, while a little on the smaller side. It was the side dishes though, which you are charged individually for (they don't come with your meal!) that left me disappointed. So for something I had to pay extra for I would hope they would not disappoint. Brussels Sprouts reminded me of the disgusting boiled version my mother forced us to eat growing up...bitter, not much seasoning whatsoever and just disgusting. I wanted to spit it back into my napkin but refrained. The creamed spinach wasn't appealing either. It had a stronger type cheese (sorry I forget which kind) but just overall bitter and stinky, like stinky cheese. I took one bite of each and the rest of my family didn't touch either...
Great service though and our waiter was extremely professional and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Portions small...and poor value for price but meager portion of food was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Went there for my birthday and the staff and service was excellent. Food was very good but seemed a little pricey. Also ordered a Jameson's on the rocks and was charged $10, which wasn't too bad given that it was a well more than just a single shot but was charged $2 for the ice. Really!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Southern Prime is an excellent restaurant, with fantastic food, great service that knows when to serve you and when to leave you alone, and an ambience that is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Out to dinner with a friend. Perfect choice. Steaks were very good, could have been a little thicker and we like our ribeye steaks bone in. It was perfectly cooked, the calamari appetizer was very good. Our server was very attentive.
Next time we're in town , we'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We arrived a few minutes early, but were still shown quickly to our table. Our server was prompt and polite. He knew the specials and the menu. Our drinks arrived promptly and the ticket time on our food was good. The noise level was low enough that my guest and I could have a conversation without difficulty. Overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The overall experience was good. The temperature of our selections were perfect. Our steak could have been seasoned more, but it was a quality cut. Our table was not set for the correct amount of people in our party. The place settings were corrected promptly, but two of the participants were not given menus. They had to take them off of another table. The decor and restaurant appeared clean and very nice.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We truly appreciated the pleasantness of the owner. This was my first experience and surly we will come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a great date

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.