Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.96mi
  2. Distance: 1.01mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About Southern Prime Steakhouse

We are a fresh breath of class and style in the Sandhills of North Carolina. Located in Southern Pines, we offer an atmosphere of relaxed elegance and sophistication, where steak is our specialty. We have an extensive wine cellar featuring 3500 bottles, 20 of which we are pouring by the glass. Please join us between 5pm and 6pm to receive $3 off all entrees and steaks.

270 SW Broad St
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday Open at 5:00pm
Sunday Brunch 11:30am - 2:00pm
Dinner Open at 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 693-0123

Website:
http://www.southernprimesteakhouse.net/

Executive Chef:
Jon Kowal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:


Southern Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Would recommend this awesome restaurant for an anniversary or birthday date. Extremely pleased, exceptional service, catered to our needs and even inserted special gifts throughout the dinner. Make sure you let them know it's your anniversary, you'll be impressed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We greatly enjoyed our Easter lunch. Everything was wonderful and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because our steak selections weren't quite cooked to order. We had 4 selections ordered, 3 medium and one medium rare. The medium rare was medium and one of the mediums was perfect, one was medium rare and one was medium plus. Definitely will not keep us from going again. Food quality, service and ambience were great and enjoyable. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Southern Prime is fabulous! It's the only place in Southern Pines/Pinehurst where the acoustics allow for an intimate conversation. The food is delicious and prepared to perfection. Our server, William was very attentive without being intrusive. The dining room manager, Brandon, stopped by to make sure everything was to our liking. Even the owner, Mike, checked on us. This is a great place for high end dining on a special occasion, but not so expensive that we can't visit more often. This meal was a special menu for the Easter lunch, and it was outstanding. There were several tables of family groups, but the noise level was very low. We are looking forward to our next meal at Southern Prime!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and ambiance was great, however the price of the meal was such that I can only come occasionally. I had 7 people total and the cost with tip was well over $200.00. Only the very rich could afford this regularly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place to entertain a golf outing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Let me start with the food was amazing. Our waiter, Connor, was attentive and polite. However, the table they sat us at was very close to the staging area for all the kitchen and wait staff. Not to be unreasonable, I wasn't annoyed with the conversations until they became social and about sports. If the staff isn't busy then they need to be respective off the customers they do have. The volume kept getting louder and louder. A head waiter or boss keep coming back and asking them to stop talking. He did so over 3 times. It ruined the ambience of our special evening. I will go back but I will refuse this table if they offer it to us again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Usually good food and service but just mediocre this visit.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was our 5 year anniversary. We had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday and had such a nice evening at Southern Prime. The food was delicious. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly. We especially liked the elegant atmosphere. And to top it off, we received a lovely picture.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Our service was excellent and our dinner was wonderful.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our service was outstanding. Anything that we wanted was promptly provided except for a little slowness in seating us. The tilefish was a feature and very good except entirely too salty. One of my friends had the ribeye and he was very disappointed that it wasn't as good as he expected. If this restaurant tightens up on their food a little I would recommend it. The service and ambiance of the restaurant were excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My husband's request for the $30. steak he ordered to be cooked "medium" was pretty much
raw. The 2nd steak they delivered looked like a piece of charcoal...and still pretty rare. My mussels were okay...not a very good broth. Won't be back for quite some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I had filet mignon. My husband had tilefish. Both were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were there for my birthday and Van made sure my wife and I enjoyed ourselves. The food was very good and the atmosphere was relaxing. We sat in the bar area, at our request, had our picture taken and enjoyed the evening. Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fantastic service. Favorite part of the night were the sides for two. Delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed our visit to Southern Prime. The service was outstanding!! The food, if we're being honest, is average though given the above average prices.
The appetizer, fried calamari, was not your typical rings of calamari but was instead long meaty portions, while good and extremely different, it just tasted like fried food. Nothing spectacular, no distinct taste.
My filet was great, while a little on the smaller side. It was the side dishes though, which you are charged individually for (they don't come with your meal!) that left me disappointed. So for something I had to pay extra for I would hope they would not disappoint. Brussels Sprouts reminded me of the disgusting boiled version my mother forced us to eat growing up...bitter, not much seasoning whatsoever and just disgusting. I wanted to spit it back into my napkin but refrained. The creamed spinach wasn't appealing either. It had a stronger type cheese (sorry I forget which kind) but just overall bitter and stinky, like stinky cheese. I took one bite of each and the rest of my family didn't touch either...
Great service though and our waiter was extremely professional and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Portions small...and poor value for price but meager portion of food was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Went there for my birthday and the staff and service was excellent. Food was very good but seemed a little pricey. Also ordered a Jameson's on the rocks and was charged $10, which wasn't too bad given that it was a well more than just a single shot but was charged $2 for the ice. Really!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Southern Prime is an excellent restaurant, with fantastic food, great service that knows when to serve you and when to leave you alone, and an ambience that is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Out to dinner with a friend. Perfect choice. Steaks were very good, could have been a little thicker and we like our ribeye steaks bone in. It was perfectly cooked, the calamari appetizer was very good. Our server was very attentive.
Next time we're in town , we'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We arrived a few minutes early, but were still shown quickly to our table. Our server was prompt and polite. He knew the specials and the menu. Our drinks arrived promptly and the ticket time on our food was good. The noise level was low enough that my guest and I could have a conversation without difficulty. Overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The overall experience was good. The temperature of our selections were perfect. Our steak could have been seasoned more, but it was a quality cut. Our table was not set for the correct amount of people in our party. The place settings were corrected promptly, but two of the participants were not given menus. They had to take them off of another table. The decor and restaurant appeared clean and very nice.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We truly appreciated the pleasantness of the owner. This was my first experience and surly we will come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was a great date

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was excellent. Waiter Ryan was knowledgeable about the menu and specials, gave wonderful service. All of the dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were celebrating Valentine's Day Anne enjoyed our meals. The food was quite expensive, but we don't mind paying for quality especially for special occasions. However, we made a reservation in hopes of being seated in the actual dining room. Instead, we were seated at a table in the bar. That was very disappointing. When we made the reservation we did not know this was the case.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Once again Southern Prime doesn't disappoint. Early Valentines dinner for me and my wife, the food was awesome, Ryan did a great job serving us and the atmosphere was great. One of our favorites in SP. And the bartender knows what a good pour is .....

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Southern Prime Steakhouse is beautifully decorated. I loved the color scheme. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was delicious! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that appreciates a fine dining experience!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Pricey, ok selection, but will go back. Hamburger is the best deal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The atmosphere was of good taste and the food well prepared. As for our waiter, the service was good. Recommendations for visiting this establishment would be highly advised.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, Scenic View, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very nice restaurant and great food and service. A little loud when very busy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic service and the restaurant itself is beautiful. Their namesake rings true because the steaks were excellent. However, the meal fell short as a whole for us as far as the extras/side items are concerned. Not that they were bad by any means just not super exceptional compared to the steaks. Also, our food was served lukewarm at best (no fault to our waiter as he did not bring it out). All in all, a great place for a romantic date just not our favorite for the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We were very disappointed with our experience Monday evening. One of the orders seemed not to be what was ordered, a steak which was ordered, was not what was brought to the table.Our waiter was outstanding, and very solicitous. The restaurant was almost empty, so we were quite surprised with the quality of our food. We had dined at SP several times with great satisfaction, and chose SP because we were celebrating a birthday. However, we were very disappointed with the quality of our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Loved this place! Absolutely gorgeous interior, waiter and manager were very professional! The food was incredible and was beyond expectations. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Took my 93 year old mother there for her birthday. Food was excellent as was the service. One of the best in Southern Pines.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I asked for a quiet location and they gave us a table in a corner so there was only speaking on the outer two sides and it was reasonably quiet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I wanted to take my husband somewhere we had never been for his birthday. After looking at the menu and pictures of the restaurant I decided to book a reservation. We were in the wine room which only had three tables so it was very quiet and romantic. The interior is upscale and it felt like fine dining. Our dinners were exceptional and we look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent Staff, Atmosphere and food. Will definitely be going back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding service from our waiter Shane, food was excellent, this was our first visit and we plan on trying it again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went for wife's birthday. Very nice quiet atmosphere. The restaurant placed some birthday graffiti on the table. That was a nice surprise for my wife. It was obvious the restaurant was ready for us. Service was outstanding. Southern Pine is a high class restaurant. Wine and food were excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.