About Southerly Restaurant and Patio

730 Coleman Blvd
Mount Pleasant, SC 29464
View Larger Map

Southerly Restaurant and Patio at Southern Season provides fine-dining-quality food with the cost and accessibility of a neighborhood eatery. Boasting multiple seating options, patrons can grab a drink at the bar, converse over dinner in the main dining room, reserve private seating or relax under a cool sea breeze on the expansive outdoor patio. Operating with staunch dedication to use produce and products native to the area, our restaurants bring forth charming, delicious cuisine without fail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 7:30am-9pm
Friday-Saturday: 7:30am-10pm
Sunday: 9am-9pm

Meal Services
Breakfast:
Mon-Fri: 7:30am-11am

Lunch:
Mon-Fri: 11am-3pm

Afternoon Menu:
Mon-Fri: 3pm-5pm

Dinner:
Mon-Thurs: Sun: 5pm-9pm
Fri-Sat: 5pm-10pm

Brunch:

Saturday: 7:30am-3pm
Sunday: 9am-3pm

Cross Street:
Fairmont Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 416-3965

Website:
http://www.southernseason.com/restaurant/charleston/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday evenings 6-9, and Sundays during brunch 11-2.

Catering:
We offer off-site catering through our Southern Season Deli and Prepared Foods department. Visit www.southernseason.com and click on catering for information.

Parking Details:
45,000 square foot retail store attached to the restaurant so there is ample parking all around. Also a parking structure across the street and street parking on Coleman Blvd.

Public Transit:
Nearby/short walking distance

Private Party Facilities:
Fully private dining room can accommodate up to 80. Patio bar that is directly adjacent to private dining room can be privatized and dedicated solely to the private dining area to accommodate up to 125 persons and live music.
Visit www.southernseason.com for full details.

Private Party Contact:
Micka Robinson: 843-416-3967x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining Room available for special events. Call our special events staff to inquire about hosting your next event at Southerly. 416-3967 or visit www.southernseason.com for full details.

Restaurant Photos

Southerly Restaurant and Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
South Carolina
Great for Lunch
South Carolina
Best Restaurants in Mount Pleasant ›

great for brunch (48)
great for outdoor dining (34)
great for lunch (28)
See All
good for groups (27)
fit for foodies (27)
neighborhood gem (23)
special occasion (20)
kid-friendly (17)
romantic (11)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good restaurant and good food. We were ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good restaurant and good food. We were staying in Charleston for my friend's bachelor party and we were struggling to find restaurants downtown. There were not a lot of people at this restaurant (seems more like a lunch / brunch place) but the food was excellent, the menu had lots of options, and the drinks were very reasonably priced. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Would NEVER recommend Southerly

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Our server was either very inexperienced or having a really bad night. He had absolutely no sense of timing. He would stop by the table and then not come back for 20 minutes at a time. There were only a handful of tables that were seated with guests. Our dinner took almost two hours. Everyone in our group ordered an entree and one drink each. The swordfish entree was horrible. I had looked over the menu on the website and based on the description, I was very excited to order it. I had two bites of the fish to be polite. The rice was disgusting. I had also requested a table outside, weather permitting. The weather was great. We were seated inside. I am very embarrassed to have selected your restaurant. It won't happen again.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Mt Pleasant hidden gem

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had not been to this restaurant in 2 years so we decided to try it with another couple after looking at the menu. The food was exceptionally good and the value for the meal was one of the best in MP. My wife had the swordfish steak and I had the 48 hr braised short ribs. Both were excellent. We had the meat and cheese board for an appetizer and it was great. The 2 person size is plenty for 4 people! Will go back again as there are plenty of great choices on the menu to try.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

bill had added 20% gratuity for a buffet brunch

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I have loved Southerly for brunch in the past. And maybe i just didnt pay attention before. But the brunch is priced ok ($35 per person). But it includes no drinks (not even iced tea and soft drinks). But worse, it was a buffet and they added gratuity of 20% to the bill for our party of 4. That seemed steep to me. The waitress was fine, but she only got our drinks and cleared our plates. We served ourselves! If they are going to add in gratuity to ensure wait staff get some tips i would think 10-15% would be more than adequate. Sadly, i felt like they jipped us.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good but Expensive

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Brunch on Mothers Day. We did not know that we were obligated to the "Buffet" only but was satisfied because the Food was very good. The Buffet, however is expensive ($35) and they automatically include Gratuity to server who's only duties are to bring you drinks. Unless you go to some cheap buffet and you can eat a lot of food in one sitting, you typically do not "eat your money's worth" which is accurate for, here. If you have the money to spend, then the Sunday Brunch @ The Southerly is nice.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent choices of food. Dessert sizes could have been smaller for those who want to taste more than one dessert without wasting.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Bad Buffet Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was Mothers Day Brunch. The only option was a $35 mandatory buffet of lukewarm food with a mandatory 20% gratuity for a server that barely filled our water glasses and didn't replenish utensils, so my daughters had to use a knife to eat the dessert. The heated food was NOT hot. I would've never gone if I had known that we could not order from a menu of any kind. What a waste of money and entirely frustrating. It was a shame as I've eaten there several times for brunch and always enjoyed it. On principle, I don't think I will return.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Might be worth another try...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Saturday evening, mother's day weekend. Later heard that we didn't show which was not true. Hostess seemed clueless...not that busy. Service was slow at best, seemed distracted . Food was fine but nothing spectacular. Probably will give another try sometime. Local residents, enjoyed brunch there previously.

food4
ambience3
service5

Wonderful food and outstanding service. ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wonderful food and outstanding service. Located in a small shopping center, Southerly has a large dinning room that we were surprised to see mostly empty at 7:45 on Friday night. However, the bar was packed, the drinks were strong, service impeccable and food delicious. Did I mention everything was plated beautifully, even with substitutions for some of the sides? Batter for fried calamari was excellent, benne tuna was prepared perfectly with high quality fish and the mac & cheese was the best I've had. Table-mates said short ribs and flounder were both very good. Was a little disappointed by the she crab soup and crab & fried green tomatoe stackers. Lots of crab, but it over powered the tomatoes and the soup seemed like it was missing something; maybe the sherry. As far as desert goes, we all loved the chocolate mousse, but if you think there is such a thing as too much chocolate you may want to try something else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

birthday dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

The Food was excellently prepared with great flavors. This is a very nice and upscale restaurant with a dress code.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Third time and still meh...

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is my third visit and the food is still just ok. I want so badly to like this place more than I do, but sadly the food just doesn't stack up to what we've come to expect in Charleston. This time I had the fried green tomatoes with lump crab cake. It was fine. There was nothing to set this apart from all of the other same dishes in Charleston. It was pretty much unmemorable. It was garnished with a corn medley and the corn was not crisp at all (like canned corn, if you know what I mean) which would have added a nice texture to the dish. My friend had the Chorizo Quesadilla and she also said her meal was, "Meh". We're spoiled here in Charleston. There are so many fabulous places to eat, that "Meh" just doesn't cut it. On the up note, I do like their Sunday morning music. That's a really nice touch.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just good food- served Southerly style!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

New restaurant for me- quiet Saturday evening. Had the Ahi Tuna and Pimento cheese fritters as appetizers, Salmon, Vegetable Tower and the Swordfish as entries. All was delicious. Nice short wine list- nothing pretentious but tasty wines. Will look forward to a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2

This place has the potential to be outst ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

This place has the potential to be outstanding. The decor and outdoor setting are gorgeous. The food however was mediocre at best. I was so disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brunch priced well & portions were very generious

Dined on April 24, 2016

The chicken and waffles were delicious, chicken had a nice crust and chicken was cooked and not dried out. the waffles were light a fluffy with a sinful butter that had brown sugar and pieces of pecans in it (the added touch was the maple syrup was served warm). Tantalizing!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Sunday brunch on patio with musical ente ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Sunday brunch on patio with musical entertainment is very enjoyable. Good menu choices reasonably priced. Requested patio but was seated inside. Friend requested no onions, yet dish arrived garnished with scallions and had to be remade. A couple of misses...but will return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

It was ok, better the last time

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a great time last time when we sat on the patio. We came for my birthday. The server seemed to take extra long in getting us taken care of. He was polite but didn't seem to want to take care of our table for some reason. I did have a great experience the last time I was here.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice dinner with the family

Dined on April 15, 2016

Had a very enjoyable meal with family members here. Pleasant staff and good food.

food4
ambience4
service4

What a delightful brunch we had at Sout ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

What a delightful brunch we had at Southerly's last Sunday! We were promptly seated and were seated near the live music. Our food was very good and the service also.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Slow service, average food

Dined on April 9, 2016

We went there on Saturday with friends. The food was average (three of the five orders were not cooked as ordered). My potatoes were cold, and my chicken was tepid. The place was very busy, as it seems as though there were a lot of prom couples, but we waited at least 20 minutes from the time we were ready to order until the time we actually ordered.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not great!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Very disappointed in the simplicity of my meal and presentation for a substantial price. Drinks however were great and a good price.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service4

Not what I expected from a Southern Seas ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Not what I expected from a Southern Season restaurant. We love the weathervane brunch but were disappointed by the Southerly Easter brunch. The baked goods were very generic for example - I've had better muffins and scones from Starbucks. The biscuits didn't taste southern or even homemade. Will not be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Gem!

Dined on March 23, 2016

I found this great restaurant by accident while visiting the area several months ago. Recently, I returned to Charleston to celebrate my father's 71st birthday. There was a total of 8 people in our party--ranging in ages from 18-71. There was something for everyone on the menu. The service was amazing and the food was even better. The service staff was very accommodating. We visited on a Wednesday evening and it was rather quiet, which was great for us. Highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love at first visit

Dined on March 20, 2016

My first brunch experience ever, and I'm glad I "gave it up" to Southerly's. I was hounded to try them since I moved here in August. I will now be a regular! Don't wait like I did... Just do it!! All the cool kids are doing it...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

The place was a madhouse. So loud one co ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The place was a madhouse. So loud one couldn't hear the guitarist. After waiting over a half hour to be served the food was so bad my wife sent her breakfast back and was refunded the cost. Never again there are too many alternatives for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my go to spot

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

love this place.....it is convenient, great service and always consistent.....very reasonable prices and good selection of menu items for every meal and taste.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great BSunday Brunch

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Fantastic food and service. A special thank you to Demmie and other staff for accommodating high chair and special requests. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

ENJOYMENT!!

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had eight people with us and they provided seating along the glass windows for us which was great! They also provided us with the bar menu since the bar was full. Everyone had a great time. The food was fantastic: shrimp tacos, fish tacos, chicken livers, hamburger, etc. all were fantastic. The only problem we had was that service was slow, it took a long time to get our checks, but she was busy and very friendly with us. Thanks! We will return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Sunday brunch !

Dined on February 28, 2016

I have eaten here several times but only for brunch and the food is always spot on ! I also love that they have live music.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is amazing. I wish I could a ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

This place is amazing. I wish I could afford to come here more often even though it was well worth every penny. There was a jazzy band that was so adorable and quite entertaining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch with Friends

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a group of 4 for Sunday Brunch. We lucked out and had beautiful weather for the end of February and were able to sit on the patio with the sun shining. Menu was great and a good selection to choose from. Everything looked so fresh! Loved everything about the food and atmosphere! Can't wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Neighborhood restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had dinner on Velentines day. Fixed menu. Good food. Did not serve bread with the dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My brunch go-to!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been here several times for brunch and it can't be beat. They have southern/lowcountry inspired dishes and the best mimosas I've had in a while. Not to mention the price is on the lower end for the area. It is family friendly and inviting, yet at the same time an upscale dining experience. I recommend the Fried Green Tomato Cackalacky and hashbrown casserole :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

A Valentine's day brunch was wonderful- fine food and service- try the duck hash!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lowcountry Delight

Dined on February 14, 2016

We came in for brunch on Valentine's Day. Started out with Bloody Mary's made with zing zang and a hint of siracha to spice it up. The Lowcountry Eggs Benedict were a wonderful twist on seafood meets southern cuisine meets breakfast. A fried green tomato topped with a crab cake, perfectly cooked poached egg, and hollandaise sauce. Others on the table were Oyster Eggs Benedict. Traditional Eggs Benedict meets a fried oyster done right. The Duck Confit Hash was presented in a cast iron pan, the only was hash should be served. The prices were seemingly fitting. This was hands down one of the better places that I have tried in Mt Pleasant for Brunch. Jen our server is one of the best and has a honest and very accurate depiction of the menu and she made amazing suggestions for what to order. As a former server myself, I love when a server knows their menu!!!!! Thanks Jen for some of the best service in town. We will be back for the Fried Chicken and Waffle!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service was great. The plates were hot along with the food. The server was very nice, and checked on us frequently.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

go to place

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

good food...consistent....good service......go there frequently

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occassion Dinner

Dined on February 9, 2016

Our favorite restaurant was booked so we decid d to try SOUTHERLY'S for a Special Occassion dinner for 2 on a Tues night. Restaurant was not crowed and so we had great table away from busy bar scene. Excellent and attentive waiter, Drew. Flowers on table were dead as stems had not been placed down into the water. As tables nearby were empty week changed them for some live ones at another table. Who wants dead flowers on dinner table. Food was very good. One order for medium rare steak was a bit overdone. Recipient felt it might have "over cooked" due to the hot component added to the top of steak dish which kept it cooking. Vegetarian cauliflower dish was excellent as were tomatoe bisque soup. Very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best go to restaurant

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

consistent food and service, can always depend on an excellent meal and good time

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We will NEVER return to Southerly

Dined on January 30, 2016

We will not be back to Southerly. Kyle , the manager was the most unprofessional I've ever come across. After our friends told Demmi (our wonderful server) that their filet was well done instead of medium rare, the manager , Kyle came to our table. He told our friend that he would give him half off his entree. Respectfully, our friend said he wasn't sure why he needed to pay half of an entree that he didn't get. Kyle preceeded to say that the kitchen usually gets the steaks right 90% of the time and they just happen to get one that was wrong (Have you ever heard such a thing?!)! Our friend said that he didn't think he should have to pay for something that he didn't even get. Kyle, instead of agreeing and apologizing, told our friend that he didn't appreciate the way he was talking to him and they could take it outside!! We were in complete SHOCK! Our friend never used fowl language, raised his voice, etc! Kyle is flat out NUTS! Needless to say we didn't order the coffee and desserts that we were planning to order. We paid our bill and left. NEVER to go back! I'm still shocked!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Sunday brunch

Dined on January 24, 2016

We made a reservation and were very glad we did so. Both the shrimp and grits and the Lowcountry Benedict were exceptional. Service was good, and we enjoyed the atmosphere as well. We will go back once the weather warms up to enjoy the patio dining. Definitely would recommend this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.