Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Family Meal - RichmondFamily Meal - Richmond
(182)
Contemporary American | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
Stella's Restaurant - RichmondStella's Restaurant - Richmond
(946)
Greek | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
American Tap Room - Richmond, VAAmerican Tap Room - Richmond, VA
(70)
Contemporary American | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
Taste at InfuzionTaste at Infuzion
(2)
American | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
East Coast ProvisionsEast Coast Provisions
(75)
Seafood | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
Cafe Caturra - Grove AveCafe Caturra - Grove Ave
(18)
American | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
The Franklin InnThe Franklin Inn
(9)
American | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
Social 52Social 52
(136)
American | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
Amour Wine BistroAmour Wine Bistro
(63)
French | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
Deco RistoranteDeco Ristorante
(35)
Italian | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
Stuzzi - RichmondStuzzi - Richmond
(312)
Italian | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
AzzurroAzzurro
(517)
Italian | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
Xtra's CafeXtra's Cafe
(95)
Contemporary American | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now
C StreetC Street
(136)
Contemporary American | Richmond, Richmond
Reserve Now

About Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond

2250 Staples Mill Road
Richmond, VA 23230
View Larger Map

Southerly Restaurant capitalizes on the abundance of local farmers and artisans across the state of Virginia, from the Tidewater region to the Shenandoah Valley. The Executive Chef designs menus for breakfast, lunch, dinner and weekend brunch that make the most of seasonal ingredients with a nod towards Richmond’s deep Southern roots. Echoing the inviting atmosphere of Southern Season, expect a casual yet refined feel fit for every occasion, whether an afternoon lunch or a special event.

Southerly is Richmond’s newest dining destination!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Small Plates: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday: 7:30am - 5:00pm, Sunday: 9:00am - 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Waller Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 292-3447

Website:
http://www.southernseason.com/restaurant/richmond/

Catering:
We offer off-site catering through our Southern Season Deli and Prepared Foods department. Contact us directly for more information.

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot for our customers.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Durante

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining Space seats 60 for full sit down dinner or can be split into two spaces for 30 people. Outdoor space also available.

Private Party Contact:
Naomi Conklin: 8042923447

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond
C.A.B. Cheeseburger

Southerly Restaurant and Patio - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (5)
great for lunch (5)
fit for foodies (4)
See All
special occasion (3)
great for brunch (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
romantic (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not memorable

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

In essence our food was fine but there were seasoning issues with all of our brunch meals. My fried green tomatoes were almost flavorless (unsalted) and tough. Individual elements of a couple of my guests meals were good but overall experience was underwhelming. Service was a little slow given that we had arrived before the church crowd. Prices were good but I had hoped for a better overall meal. Will return for dinner with hopes of a better experience.

food2
ambience4
service1

Service is slow, waiter is nowhere to be ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Service is slow, waiter is nowhere to be found. Forgot to bring a glass of wine ordered. Overall a bad experience.

food3
ambience5
service4

The Easter Brunch was a disappointment. ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The Easter Brunch was a disappointment. Their regular menu is much stronger, tastier with more options. The brunch price was reasonable but they up charged certain items (i.e. Lamb). Beverages were NOT included in the price. Perhaps there was fine print somewhere that there would be additional charges. If so, I missed it. I had eaten there three times before and had confidence in their food. This brunch would not have been a good first impression if our friends had joined us. Still, I love the "idea" behind the restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on March 1, 2016

Our family of four had a great experience. The food was excellent. I loved the shrimp and grits and my husband could live off of the pimento cheese poppers. A kids menu is available (kids meals come with a scoop of ice cream :) ) and the kids meal portion size was larger than many other restaurants. Our server, Jeffrey, was wonderful and did everything he could to make experience excellent. It was fun to shop at the Southern Seasons store after dinner. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service1

The service was terrible for a restauran ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The service was terrible for a restaurant that was empty. Our drink order took fifteen minutes. We received bread at the table twenty minutes after arriving. We waited so long for the appetizers that the main course came before we had a chance to finish the appetizers. Sorry for such a long wait the food was less than stellar. The steak was cooked beyond desired doneness requested and was dry without flavor. The sweet potato fries were flimsy and flavorless. The pork was cooked to the preferred temperature but again lacked flavor. Attention to the table, i.e., refilling of water and offering refills of drink orders was very disappointing. Restaurant did not live up to the expectations other reviewers shared.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

A nice dining experience.

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had been wanting to dine there for some time and finally found the time. The food tastes good, no doubt, but we felt that for the tiny portions versus what is charged for those portions, it is a bit over-rated. It isn't that good. Sees like you're paying for the experience, the overhead, and the chef's name, more so than the sheer quality of the food. Sorry, but that's the impression we left with.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service2

If you're going to name something on you ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

If you're going to name something on your menu "slap yo mama," your wait staff really needs to have a sense of humor. Our server was probably several decibels too snobbish for this restaurant. Food was okay. Nothing to go out of your way for.

food2
ambience3
service2

The food was very rich not my kind of f ...

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

The food was very rich not my kind of food. We were there for a business meeting lunch. The waitress was too pushy not with selling us food but to get out. When she presented us with our dishes she asked us if it is a one or separate check. Knowing that they use Micros system. I won't return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely dinner on Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was the best decision I've made thus far this year! My husband and I made reservations for Valentine's Day - our first dinner out for V-Day in over 12 years of marriage! It was a prix-fixe menu with three courses, and optional wine pairing. Delicious, good portions and the wine pairings were spot on. Service was gracious and on-point. Definitely will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentines' Day Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant was not promoting a special brunch for Valentines' Day; however, they were promoting an evening special -- therefore, it was a great time to come for brunch bas it was not crowded, service was excellent and food was delicious. The staff was very attentive, and our meal arrived quickly. Prices are very reasonable. Always fun to browse in the Southern Season shop after a meal. They have a lot of specialty items that are hard to fine elsewhere. They carry a lot of local products as well.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was nice and quiet for tw ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The restaurant was nice and quiet for two people we were seated in a booth meant for at least five people. Our waiter Geoffrey was very funny and polite which made dinner that much better. The food was amazing and the crab dip was the best I've ever had. I would recommend Southern Season to everyone!

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Went for a small plate of "etoufee" mac ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went for a small plate of "etoufee" mac & cheese. I also wanted to try the bacon and cheddar cornbread, but they were out already. I enjoyed the mac and cheese but it was 95% mac cheese and 5% etoufee. Tasted good, but for $13 it really should be a larger portion or at least more of the good stuff. There were many beers on special, it was difficult to pass up a $2 breakfast stout. Others in our party went for the Isley Stout, and only after they were drinking them a manager stopped by to explain our waiter made a mistake and those beers were not on special and she was really sorry. Yeah? Then comp them or eat the mistake. Instead, we got to pay full price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great place to have a celebrat ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

This is a great place to have a celebration and dine. Everything was delicious and after you dine, you can visit the store next door!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Not satisfied

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Dined here last Friday and had one of the worst meals I have had in Richmond. The service was slow, they were out of basic items like Miller Lite beer. The bill came and it was over $200 for four people, not worth it at all! SO many better places in Richmond to eat!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A "go-to" for a business lunch

Dined on January 20, 2016

Southerly does a great job with arranging a business lunch. I've dined there several times and the food is great, the atmosphere is quiet but cheerful, and in good weather, the outdoor patio is also a great choice. After lunch, a browse through the gourmet store is always a "must"!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Southerly never fails!

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

Southerly never fails!

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

We wanted to like this restaurant. It's attractive, and the menu is a little different from standard fare. Disappointment began with the hostess. Our reservation specified a booth. She asked if we wanted a booth or a table, not bothering to read the note. She led us to a booth in the bar which was being cleaned, and, rather than asking if we wanted to wait, led us to a small corner two-top in the corner of the bar. The waiter was fine--when he was there, but was also the bartender, and spent most of his time setting up the bar. The manager, when not talking to one table he apparently knew, stood at the bar talking to the bartender. We both ordered soup, which wasn't bad, although I was served the wrong soup, but since no one asked how it was, I ate it. We had no napkins or silverware--the person delivering the food brought napkins after we asked. Later, the waiter brought silverware. We both had sandwiches. My wife's Fried Green Tomato BLT had minimal bacon, and the basil aioli was so heavy she had to scrape some off. My chicken salad had big chunks of chicken, but not much more--a rare case of Southern food needing more dressing! My wife's fries were coated with salt. When she remarked about it to the waiter as he cleared a plate with two-thirds of them remaining, his response was that they're usually not that heavily salted, period. The manager was apparently too busy to come over after the comment, or at any other point.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Hostess and Servers were very accommodat ...

Dined on January 4, 2016

Hostess and Servers were very accommodating. We had to change time of reservation once we arrived and it wasn't a problem. Our server was excellent. Don't remember his name. The food was good...my tuna melt could have been better if the cheese had been a bit warmer.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2

We closed down the restaurant with a 3 P ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

We closed down the restaurant with a 3 PM reservation on Sunday. Burgers, fried green tomatoes BLT, chicken salad sandwich, and Cobb salads were delicious but we felt the food was pricey, particularly given the portion size. Service was excellent starting out but ended poorly with a 10+ minute wait for someone to pick up the bill with our credit card. My husband finally gave up and tracked down a different waiter when ours was nowhere to be found.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken & Waffles

Dined on December 27, 2015

Best chicken and waffles I have had in Richmond! Others in my party greatly enjoyed their grits and their biscuits. Our server was attentive and knowledge of the menu items. Have already recommended it to friends and will definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on December 26, 2015

Goat cheese fried green tomato was awesome, great food, great place and a wonderful store next to it. Would recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gr8 Lunch @ Richmond's Southerly @ Southern Season

vip
Dined on December 21, 2015

This was our first lunch at Southerly at Southern Season and we loved it...creatively Southern! And..."dessert" was shopping at Southern Season afterward...yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FAB

Dined on December 16, 2015

5 Ladies and myself have made going to Southery's for special occasions a must for birthdays, and holidays.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Only 1 minor negative

Dined on December 13, 2015

The experience here for our family Christmas gathering (only 5 people) was very good. We were seated quickly and were given enough time to look over the menu. The only slight disappointment was the 25 minute wait for our food after ordering (salmon, shrimp & grits, quiche). The food was really delicious as everyone remarked and helped to make up for what seemed like a longer than usual wait. The dining room is so spacious that even when full, it did not seem crowded, but there were a few empty tables nearby. Table conversation was easily heard, i.e. noise level was great! We definite will return!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and dining area

Dined on December 8, 2015

The food and staff were very good. Loved visiting the store next to the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Keep going back!!!

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

It was our third or fourth time there! Always great service and food! Specialty market conjoined so when you're through having your meal go over and get infused cheese av gourmet coffee beans and a Huge variety of spices wines and gift assortments!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Out of the Way Place

Dined on December 4, 2015

Southerly is located in a remove area off Staples Mill Road in Richmond. The restaurant is part of Southern Season's store. The lunch menu is limited but it does have a nice selection. Portions were ample and everything is very fresh. For a fun shopping-dining experience, don't miss this place.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Impressive! This was our first dining ex ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

Impressive! This was our first dining experience at Southerly. We found the dining area spacious, booths provided privacy & the ability to conduct quiet conversations. Service staff was attentive. Our appetizer, Collard Green Egg Roll with Bacon, was awesome! We stopped short of licking the plate. Both of our entrees were cooked perfectly. The pork tenderloin & Kentuckyaki flat iron steak were seasoned well & tender. While I didn't care for the broccolini, my onion rings were crispy. My husband's sweet potatoes were yummy. After dinner, we strolled through the adjacent store. Overall, it was a pleasant dinner experience. Now that we have found Southerly, we plan to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food was excellent.

Dined on November 23, 2015

The service was excellent and the food was delicious. We tried several entrees and appetizers and everyone in our group of 11 was very pleased.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Brunch

Dined on November 22, 2015

We were greeted with a smile by the hostess upon arrival, something you rarely see any more. As we made our reservations right at the start of the day, the restaurant was quiet, which was nice. We had a busy day ahead of us and it was nice to sit and sip on our coffee/tea in quiet. Our waitress was very helpful. Kept our water glasses full without being intrusive. The food was amazing. My French Toast had a wonderful crunch on the outside while being soft and moist on the inside. The Nutella spread across the plate along with the syrup was just enough of a sugar hit to be divine without being overly sweet. The fresh banana was a bright note. I ordered a side of fresh fruit. I was surprised to see fresh berries instead of the usual green melon. They were fresh and very good. I would definitely go back to Southerly again.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

So this was my first time at this restau ...

Dined on November 18, 2015

So this was my first time at this restaurant and I was excited to give it a try. Unfortunately the restaurant ran out of a lot of food and beverages and I couldn't get what I wanted. This restaurant closes relatively early at 9pm so I guess I was "late" scheduling a dinner at 7:30. The catch of the day - Rockfish- was unavailable. It was replaced with scallops (already available as a small plate). This might have been ok considering it was a special. However, we tried to order the Salmon which is a normal everyday large plate and they were also out of that as well. Finally one of the beers I was looking to get was also tapped and not available. Disappointed that 3 items I wanted were not available on my first trip to this restaurant. Guess it was bad luck but likely wouldn't go back

food5
ambience4
service4

Unique, Delicious Items

Dined on November 14, 2015

If it's something different you want to try, come here for a meal. The brioche french toast we had for brunch was to die for. Everything fresh & scrumptious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Love!

Dined on November 14, 2015

I cannot wait to try brunch and lunch! Dinner was awesome!!! The server was great and they were so nice to help me surprise my husband with a cake for his birthday! The manager was also excellent-Food was awesome and we are such a foodie group that it made our night!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Brunch

Dined on November 8, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful brunch of pancakes, French toast, and hot tea. The atmosphere was perfect and the food was delicious. I highly recommend Southerly for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Creative and Delicious

Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was very good and the portions were large. Nice selection of hot teas. People in our party loved the squash soup and the Nutella French Toast.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent patio lunch

Dined on November 4, 2015

This restaurant is off the beaten path and frankly has very low awareness, but very close to out corporate office. We had an excellent lunch on the patio last week. Fried green tomato appetizer was yummy and really loved the grilled pimento cheese and bacon sandwich(left off the greens & onions). Waitress was super attentive. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!!!!!

Dined on November 3, 2015

Visit was truly, truly wonderful. Food was great. Though the evening was made special by our server; Jeffery. He was awesome. Was a birthday dinner for me. This is becoming my favorite dining place.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on October 18, 2015

It is always a pleasure to enjoy Sunday brunch and lunch here. The food is so good and the staff is friendly and helpful .

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Braised collards greens were delicious

Dined on October 15, 2015

Braised collards greens were delicious

food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent experience

Dined on October 12, 2015

My business colleagues and I went to Southerly at the recommendation of a fellow businessman and had a great experience. Very hospitable (funny and relaxed, while professional) waiter and knowledgeable staff, high level for the quality of food, and excellent atmosphere for having an early business dinner. The management was excellent to come by our table to see how things were for us. We were very pleased with the level of food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.