About Southend Brewery and Smokehouse

161 East Bay St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the historic Charleston Peninsula, Southend Brewery & Smokehouse specializes in regional cuisine & exquisite, custom-crafted beers, served in a rustic, kid-friendly setting to the tune of great, live music. We provide our guests with the Charleston restaurant experience for lunch, dinner and beyond with a variety of American foods, such as wood-oven pizzas, fresh fish and specialty in-house smoked barbecue ribs.



Southend Brewery & Smokehouse has been rated the #1 Microbrewery in the South, and this is manifested in the beautiful glass encased "brewhouse" in the center of the building. We also feature Charleston's only indoor glass elevator, which you can take to the 3rd floor bar for darts and billiards, or the 2nd floor banquet hall, perfect for your Charleston event. The Brewery frequently hosts reunions, receptions, wedding rehearsal dinners and birthdays complete with a variety of menus and catering to suit the occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Downtown Dining Hours:
Sunday-Thursday, 11:30 a.m. 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturday 11:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Bar Hours until 2:00 a.m

Cross Street:
Queen St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 853-4677

Website:
http://www.southendbrewery.com/

Entertainment:
Latin Groove Night - Thursday 10pm & Saturday 10:30pm
Live Music See Website for details.

Catering:
Not only do we cater the private events at Southend Brewery and Smokehouse - we are also available for your off-site catering needs. Please contact our event coordinator, Jana Hodge, at (843) 853-4677 or events@southendbrewery.com for more details.

Parking Details:
On-Street Parking and close public lots

Executive Chef:
Shawn Humble

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Charleston’s premier event venue is located in gorgeous Historic Downtown Charleston, South Carolina. The perfect venue for rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, birthdays, anniversaries, and corporate events. Our private, customizable and affordable event spaces book quickly so come check us out!

Southend Brewery and Smokehouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (28)
great for lunch (19)
kid-friendly (16)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
vibrant bar scene (13)
special occasion (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
late-night find (9)
hot spot (9)
romantic (3)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious food. Good beer. The creamy gr ...

Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food. Good beer. The creamy grits were especially good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met my sister and her husband there f ...

Dined 6 days ago

We met my sister and her husband there for dinner on 5/19/16. Seated right away, and drinks were brought promptly. Drinks were wonderful and the server was exceptional. We got a table full of appetizers and Savannah (our server) slid us over to a larger table to accommodate. This was my second time dining here (last time about 4 years ago) and both visits were great. We will definitely eat here again and ask for Savannah as our server!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Favorite!

Dined 7 days ago

This is definitely one of our favorite places to eat dinner, and we stop almost every time we're in Charleston. Unique, nostalgic building in the heart of downtown. Great food appealing to a wide variety of tastes. In house brewery with seasonal as well as standard favorites. A must when visiting the "Holy City"!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Cool looking place, but

Dined on May 16, 2016

Being a brewery, they were out of 3 of 6 of their beers they brewed. Burger was two quarter patties, not one solid. Wasn't asked temp of burger... Fries were good. Girlfriend liked the chicken dinner... No bottled craft beers at all. So was not impressed and rather disappointed. Guess I had high expectations. Cool looking place; but, must of been an off night for dinning for me. Music selection wasn't ideal for me.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Nachos were cheap and quickly thrown tog ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Nachos were cheap and quickly thrown together using cheese sauce...brisket was like shoe leather, and ribs tasted very gassy. After eating here many times, unfortunately I believe this was our last.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was good but...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The restaurant bills itself as a brewpub and has all the usual equipment displays etc. We were seated quickly but beyond that the service was pretty slow. When we got to the food everything was good. Not spectacular but better than usual and they had some interesting choices. As for the beer...I'm a very well traveled beer drinker having tried hundreds of brands and styles. Their beer was not true to style at all and frankly wasn't very good in general. My advice, skip the beer and order one of their drinks. The Mule was much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

I had the Hoagie sandwich and it doesn't ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I had the Hoagie sandwich and it doesn't come with any sauce. It was dry and really had no taste. The rest of my families food was great . Waiter was very attentive kept our drinks filled!

food4
ambience5
service4

BBQ and pizza are pretty good but the bu ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

BBQ and pizza are pretty good but the burger was delicious and went so well with their great craft beer.

food3
ambience4
service4

Our server, Clayton, was attentive and p ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Our server, Clayton, was attentive and professional. He was especially respectful of our 8-yo son, and checked with us (with eye contact only) when he ordered to make sure it was parent- approved. Beer was good, although not the only/main reason we chose the place. Nice to have a family-friendly place to grab a beer. Thx for having beer house with kid's menu!

food4
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere and bar food. We ordere ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great atmosphere and bar food. We ordered the flight of beers, the smokehouse salad and the Big Pig pizza. All were great! We'd recommend for a quick bite and a beer.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant! Food was great and ou ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Great restaurant! Food was great and our server was wonderful! Will definitely come back next time we are in town!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was outstanding and the wait for a table was minimum time. Both of our meals were excellent and came out in a timely manner. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we came back two days later for lunch and were not disappointed at all. Our servers were friendly, knowledgeable and checked on us frequently to see how everything was and if we needed anything else. Great experience and have already recommended to friends and we will be back next time in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as usual!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Im a regular at Southend and it's always a joy to dine there. The ambience and historic feel mixed with the amazing service just does it for me. The shrimp and grits are hands down the best in Charleston and being that's Charleston's signature dish- they blow the competition away! Gerry, the owner, runs a great establishment with a courteous staff! I'll continue to dine at Southend and sing its praises!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Good food and drink ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Excellent service. Good food and drinks

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Bridge run weekend visit

Dined on April 2, 2016

She crab soup and hush puppies were great! I liked the peach seasonal beer also. The fried green tomatoes were okay, kinda underdone, but I liked the chow chow on top. Food was fairly quick. It was good overall...I would return again to try other menu items.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Barely a Smokehouse

Dined on April 1, 2016

The service staff here was good. However, for the price the food wasn't quite up to expectations. The she crab soup was good, but the smokehouse platter, which you would expect to be good since smokehouse is in the name, was not. The brisket looked like something that was just cheap microwave meat. The pulled pork was at least appetizing and luckily it was what was given most of on the plate. The brews were ok given my expectations weren't that high, since it's not a well established brewery. Overall, I'm not that interested in returning. I came here for a rehearsal dinner a few years ago and it was delicious, not sure what happened.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Place, Good Food

Dined on April 1, 2016

Very nice staff, very cool view of the brewing area behind a glass wall. It was a little loud but it is a bar/brewery so that was to be expected. Good food and pretty large portions. Very good wait staff. Would definitely go back

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun and lively spot for causal dining. T ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Fun and lively spot for causal dining. The grilled chicken BLT was delicious and the service was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The shrimp and grits are amazing!

Dined on March 27, 2016

The shrimp and grits are amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Smokehouse platter was really good. The waitress split the platter for us and it easily fed two people.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great historic setting and awesome food

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food. I had the shrimp and grits! The setting and staff was also very good

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Just ok!

Dined on March 11, 2016

My six year old son and I had dinner at Southend on a Friday evening. I made a reservation for 5:45pm through Open Table and showed up to a half empty restaurant at around 5:30. We were promptly sat and then waited, and waited and waited for a server to come and take our drink order. Since we had plenty of time to review the menu we went ahead and placed our order. My six year old had the Grilled Cheese and french fries and I ordered the Old South Burger. Our food was delivered quickly and was just ok. We ate quickly and made our way out for our Ghost Tour that evening. Overall the experience was positive. Southend is good for a quick and inexpensive (for this area of town) meal and they have a decent menu for kids. I will more than likely get something other than the Old South Burger if and when we return.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service4

Pulled pork sandwich is great!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Pulled pork sandwich is great!

food5
ambience1
service3

Food was good. Service was initially del ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was good. Service was initially delayed. And I've never dined in such a cold environment. It was almost warmer outside. Probably will be summer before we consider dining there again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tasty!

Dined on February 14, 2016

It has a great location, great service, and very tasty food! We ordered pizza thanks to a great recommendation by a helpful waiter. The cooks did a really great job!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, but be warned

Dined on February 13, 2016

I've eaten at South End Brewery several times over the years and never had any issues. Normally the food is well prepared and tastes fine. For some unknown reason, I received food poisoning from the nachos though. I'm not blaming the restaurant nor our server, but it was either bad chicken or cross contamination. Thankfully my wife and 2 year old son did not eat much off e nachos, but it could have been bad. As I said, the food is normally right on for what you would expect for bar food but I'm just hoping this was a once of experience.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Ted

Dined on February 13, 2016

Atmosphere was great, the music was too loud to try and hold a conversation at the table. Food is always great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

This was great! We were craving burgers ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

This was great! We were craving burgers and this place hit the spot! We had the crab cake appetizer and it was delicious. We both got the burger and it was amazing! Cooked perfectly and you can choose the toppings you want! The service was incredible and the excellent sweet tea made it a great spot!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Been Away

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Had not eaten at South End in a while. Everything was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite Spot!

Dined on December 27, 2015

Upon arriving, we made a reservations for 5:30 but we were downtown with some family from PA and ended up being hungry before our reservations. So we stopped in an hour before our reservations and they were so accomaditing to set us early. Wow!!! Thank you. We were promptly seated and ordered in a timely fashion. My salmon was cooked perfectly. So much flavor and very moist. However, my husbands burger was a little on the dry side which he didn't want to complain about because this is our favorite spot here as locals and love to bring people to your restaurant when they come to visit. Our server, Tessa was so wonderful, very sweet lady and so friendly. Kept our drinks full and gave such great service. Thank you Tessa! And it was our sons birthday today and she surprised him with a brownie a la mode dessert. You made his day special! We love this place. Thank you again!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

Dined on December 27, 2015

My husband and I visited Charleston for the weekend and ate at Poogan's Smokehouse for Sunday dinner. Kudos to the decorators and chefs. The restaurant had a great feel and the food was top notch. This was our best meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

prices seem to be going up and plates ge ...

vip
Dined on December 13, 2015

prices seem to be going up and plates getting smaller. food was good, but not that good.

food1
ambience3
service4

Terrible

Dined on November 6, 2015

Our service was awesome but the food was absolutely terrible. My burger was dry, the fried green tomato that was on top wasn't done. Instead of complaining we boxed up our food and threw it away in the trash can outside. Needless to say we will not be returning.

food2
ambience3
service3

Good was disappointing Nice location.

Dined on October 31, 2015

Good was disappointing Nice location.

food3
ambience2
service2

So so southend

Dined on October 28, 2015

This place did little to impress us. The receptions wasn't that pleasant and when were seated we thought that the tables were sticky. The food was just alright and nothing to brag about. A little Caesars pizza is similar.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Do the Beer Flight!

vip
Dined on October 22, 2015

Amazing place, especially if you enjoy a good cocktail or beer! We hit up an early dinner at Southend and had a wonderfully cheerful waitress with great recommendations. While more on the casual side, this place is very nice and the open kitchen and brewing room makes for great decor. The pulled pork is amazing and a lot of food! You will not leave unsatisfied. The apple pork loin was also really enjoyed by my boyfriend, but he was still hungry after, FYI. I also highly recommend trying out one of their beer flights. A lot of beer for a low price, and it's all home-brewed. Also, the pizzas looked amazing. We didn't get to have one, but we plan to next time!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service2

WHAT?

Dined on October 16, 2015

That is what most of the people at dinner were having to say. We had wanted to sit somewhere where we could visit and talk, since we had guests from out of town. They took us and sat us right by the open kitchen with cooks shouting and waiters wondering where their orders were. I immediately said something before anyone sat down to see if we could move to another level or table, but the other levels were closed to parties which was fine but plenty of tables were open on our level and yet they said this was the only available. So we stuck it out. The food was pretty good but the atmosphere was not. Probably go somewhere else next time.

food3
ambience3
service4

Underwhelmed

Dined on October 16, 2015

The Smokehouse BBQ platter was underwhelming for $24.95. 4 slices of brisket, 1/2 slab of small ribs and a "scoop" of pulled pork. It was not warm. The pizza was adequate.

Tags: good for groups
food1
ambience5
service3

Disappointing

Dined on October 11, 2015

Great atmosphere but food was disappointing. Shrimp and Grits was OK but nothing special . The pork in the nachos was tough and the brisket was not tender at all the was brisket should be. Also our waiter seemed to want to be anywhere but waiting on customers

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Southern Gem!

Dined on October 9, 2015

This was our first visit to Charleston and I always like to try the local beer when I visit a new area. We'll this is the place in Charleston! Located in old coot warehouse the first thing you see as you walk in are the brewing kettles. We tried a sample flight that came with their five standards and two seasonal selections along with the BBQ and we could n't have been happier with our choices. The beer was excellent as was the pulled pork. I strongly recommend you try the Southend Brewery and Smokehouse the next time you are in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.