About Southend Brewery and Smokehouse

161 East Bay St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the historic Charleston Peninsula, Southend Brewery & Smokehouse specializes in regional cuisine & exquisite, custom-crafted beers, served in a rustic, kid-friendly setting to the tune of great, live music. We provide our guests with the Charleston restaurant experience for lunch, dinner and beyond with a variety of American foods, such as wood-oven pizzas, fresh fish and specialty in-house smoked barbecue ribs.



Southend Brewery & Smokehouse has been rated the #1 Microbrewery in the South, and this is manifested in the beautiful glass encased "brewhouse" in the center of the building. We also feature Charleston's only indoor glass elevator, which you can take to the 3rd floor bar for darts and billiards, or the 2nd floor banquet hall, perfect for your Charleston event. The Brewery frequently hosts reunions, receptions, wedding rehearsal dinners and birthdays complete with a variety of menus and catering to suit the occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Low Country

Hours of Operation:
Downtown Dining Hours:
Sunday-Thursday, 11:30 a.m. 10:00 p.m.
Friday and Saturday 11:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
Bar Hours until 2:00 a.m

Cross Street:
Queen St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 853-4677

Website:
http://www.southendbrewery.com/

Entertainment:
Latin Groove Night - Thursday 10pm & Saturday 10:30pm
Live Music See Website for details.

Catering:
Not only do we cater the private events at Southend Brewery and Smokehouse - we are also available for your off-site catering needs. Please contact our event coordinator, Jana Hodge, at (843) 853-4677 or events@southendbrewery.com for more details.

Parking Details:
On-Street Parking and close public lots

Executive Chef:
Shawn Humble

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pulled Pork And Pear
Fried Green Tomatoes
Shecrab Soup
Blackened Mahi Mahi Tacos
Fried flounder
Garlic Chicken Mushroom Risotto
Southern Burger
Margarita
York Peppermint Patini
Wood Grilled Hawaiian Pizza
Chicken Pepperoni Pizza
Mixed Vegetable Sandwhich
Home-Style Chicken Fried Steak
Carolina Bbq
Nachos
Grilled Salmon Salad
Pot Roast Hoagie
Meatloaf - Mac & Cheese - Collard Greens
Fried Green Tomato Stacks
Smoked Brisket With Mashed Potatoes And Collard Greens
Shrimp and Grits
Bloody Mary
BBQ Chicken Pizza
Black Angus Burger
Fried Catfish
Shrimp Margarita Pizza
Mojito

Private Dining

Charleston’s premier event venue is located in gorgeous Historic Downtown Charleston, South Carolina. The perfect venue for rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, birthdays, anniversaries, and corporate events. Our private, customizable and affordable event spaces book quickly so come check us out!

Southend Brewery and Smokehouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
South Carolina
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

good for groups (31)
great for lunch (27)
fit for foodies (17)
See All
kid-friendly (15)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (12)
special occasion (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (5)
romantic (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious, craft brews good, g ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined a day ago

Food was delicious, craft brews good, good selection on menu. Nachos were fabulous! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Margaritas Pizza and Smokehouse salads w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Margaritas Pizza and Smokehouse salads with Salmon were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was not good. Food was mediocre ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Service was not good. Food was mediocre and beer was just alright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

My family and I went to Southend Brewery ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My family and I went to Southend Brewery for dinner during our family vacation to Charleston. I went to school in Charleston and told my family we had to go to Southend since it was so good. I wish that I had never taken my family to Southend last Thursday. First of all, it had a B rating and it smelled horrible! The food was cold and not edible. Total waste of money. Do not go to Southend! There are a ton of better establishments for less in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The crab and artichoke dip appetizer was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The crab and artichoke dip appetizer was good but was too cheesy. It seemed there was more cheese than crab or artichoke. This is my second time there. Service this time was less attentive than my first experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The smoky flavor of the chicken and bris ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The smoky flavor of the chicken and brisket was excellent. The portions were well accompanied by the local beers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a delightful meal here & have eat ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a delightful meal here & have eaten at the brewery several times. The only complaint I had it was it took the waitress about 10 minutes to come to our table but after that she was a great waitress.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

The local craft beers choices were excep ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The local craft beers choices were exceptional and the ability to sample many different was great.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter seemed like we were bothering ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our waiter seemed like we were bothering him. Asked 3 times for water finally received after a 1/2hour. Otherwise food is average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Food was very good. Waitress attentive b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was very good. Waitress attentive but not overbearing. My husband left his hat and glasses behind. When we called they had them safely put away.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We dined at Southend twice during our we ...

vip
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We dined at Southend twice during our week in Charleston. On the first visit, we were walk-ins but got a good seat by the windows. Our server was very good as well. We had the pimento cheese dip appetizer and then pizza. Both were good but not remarkable. The second visit, we did have reservations and were seated at a small two topper table right by the front door. Every time the door opened, in came the 90 degree air and sometimes the rain. The server was very good but the food was disappointing. We had the hush puppy appetizer which was over fried. Our entree was the beef brisket platter which was the worst meat platter we have ever gotten in a restaurant. The beef was sliced paper thin and was 60% fat. Being from Texas, we're pretty good judges of smoked meats and this just wasn't good food or a good dining value. We will not choose this restaurant in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

This was my second visit to South End. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was my second visit to South End. It has a fun atmosphere and good food. I was a little disappointed in the nachos this time because they were a little cold, but still very good. Many choices of beers to pick from.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The beers were too warm for our taste. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The beers were too warm for our taste. The brisket was extremely fatty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

They were very accommodating to our grou ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

They were very accommodating to our group of 9 girls. The food was delicious and the hot crab dip appetizer is the best crab dip ever. All of the BBQ was phenomenal. If I'm ever back in Charleston, I'm coming here !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp and grits were out of this world, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Shrimp and grits were out of this world, as was the brisket and ribs. My only complaint was the beer was WARM!! We got a sampler and only one was cold!!! Chill up that beer and the place would be 5 stars!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great beer selection! Dined with a group ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great beer selection! Dined with a group of friends who all ordered a different entree, everyone was pleased. Personally I loved the pimento cheese burger and fries!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our 10 year anniversary di ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Went here for our 10 year anniversary dinner. The atmosphere is great. The food is wonderful. I ordered the BBQ sandwich and it was some of the best I have had in awhile. My wife got a burger and she said it was wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Well worth the experience. Food came out ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Well worth the experience. Food came out hot and tasty.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food. Good beer. The creamy gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Delicious food. Good beer. The creamy grits were especially good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We met my sister and her husband there f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We met my sister and her husband there for dinner on 5/19/16. Seated right away, and drinks were brought promptly. Drinks were wonderful and the server was exceptional.

We got a table full of appetizers and Savannah (our server) slid us over to a larger table to accommodate. This was my second time dining here (last time about 4 years ago) and both visits were great.

We will definitely eat here again and ask for Savannah as our server!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Favorite!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This is definitely one of our favorite places to eat dinner, and we stop almost every time we're in Charleston. Unique, nostalgic building in the heart of downtown. Great food appealing to a wide variety of tastes. In house brewery with seasonal as well as standard favorites. A must when visiting the "Holy City"!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool looking place, but

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Being a brewery, they were out of 3 of 6 of their beers they brewed. Burger was two quarter patties, not one solid. Wasn't asked temp of burger... Fries were good. Girlfriend liked the chicken dinner... No bottled craft beers at all. So was not impressed and rather disappointed. Guess I had high expectations.

Cool looking place; but, must of been an off night for dinning for me. Music selection wasn't ideal for me.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Nachos were cheap and quickly thrown tog ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Nachos were cheap and quickly thrown together using cheese sauce...brisket was like shoe leather, and ribs tasted very gassy. After eating here many times, unfortunately I believe this was our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Food was good but...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The restaurant bills itself as a brewpub and has all the usual equipment displays etc. We were seated quickly but beyond that the service was pretty slow. When we got to the food everything was good. Not spectacular but better than usual and they had some interesting choices. As for the beer...I'm a very well traveled beer drinker having tried hundreds of brands and styles. Their beer was not true to style at all and frankly wasn't very good in general. My advice, skip the beer and order one of their drinks. The Mule was much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I had the Hoagie sandwich and it doesn't ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I had the Hoagie sandwich and it doesn't come with any sauce. It was dry and really had no taste. The rest of my families food was great . Waiter was very attentive kept our drinks filled!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

BBQ and pizza are pretty good but the bu ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

BBQ and pizza are pretty good but the burger was delicious and went so well with their great craft beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server, Clayton, was attentive and p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Our server, Clayton, was attentive and professional. He was especially respectful of our 8-yo son, and checked with us (with eye contact only) when he ordered to make sure it was parent- approved. Beer was good, although not the only/main reason we chose the place. Nice to have a family-friendly place to grab a beer. Thx for having beer house with kid's menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere and bar food. We ordere ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great atmosphere and bar food. We ordered the flight of beers, the smokehouse salad and the Big Pig pizza. All were great! We'd recommend for a quick bite and a beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant! Food was great and ou ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great restaurant! Food was great and our server was wonderful! Will definitely come back next time we are in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was outstanding and the wait for a table was minimum time. Both of our meals were excellent and came out in a timely manner. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we came back two days later for lunch and were not disappointed at all. Our servers were friendly, knowledgeable and checked on us frequently to see how everything was and if we needed anything else. Great experience and have already recommended to friends and we will be back next time in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing as usual!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Im a regular at Southend and it's always a joy to dine there. The ambience and historic feel mixed with the amazing service just does it for me. The shrimp and grits are hands down the best in Charleston and being that's Charleston's signature dish- they blow the competition away! Gerry, the owner, runs a great establishment with a courteous staff! I'll continue to dine at Southend and sing its praises!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Good food and drink ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Excellent service. Good food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bridge run weekend visit

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

She crab soup and hush puppies were great! I liked the peach seasonal beer also. The fried green tomatoes were okay, kinda underdone, but I liked the chow chow on top. Food was fairly quick. It was good overall...I would return again to try other menu items.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Barely a Smokehouse

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The service staff here was good. However, for the price the food wasn't quite up to expectations. The she crab soup was good, but the smokehouse platter, which you would expect to be good since smokehouse is in the name, was not. The brisket looked like something that was just cheap microwave meat. The pulled pork was at least appetizing and luckily it was what was given most of on the plate. The brews were ok given my expectations weren't that high, since it's not a well established brewery. Overall, I'm not that interested in returning. I came here for a rehearsal dinner a few years ago and it was delicious, not sure what happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Good Place, Good Food

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Very nice staff, very cool view of the brewing area behind a glass wall. It was a little loud but it is a bar/brewery so that was to be expected. Good food and pretty large portions. Very good wait staff. Would definitely go back

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun and lively spot for causal dining. T ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Fun and lively spot for causal dining. The grilled chicken BLT was delicious and the service was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The shrimp and grits are amazing!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The shrimp and grits are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The Smokehouse platter was really good. The waitress split the platter for us and it easily fed two people.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great historic setting and awesome food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food. I had the shrimp and grits! The setting and staff was also very good

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Just ok!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

My six year old son and I had dinner at Southend on a Friday evening. I made a reservation for 5:45pm through Open Table and showed up to a half empty restaurant at around 5:30. We were promptly sat and then waited, and waited and waited for a server to come and take our drink order. Since we had plenty of time to review the menu we went ahead and placed our order. My six year old had the Grilled Cheese and french fries and I ordered the Old South Burger. Our food was delivered quickly and was just ok. We ate quickly and made our way out for our Ghost Tour that evening.

Overall the experience was positive. Southend is good for a quick and inexpensive (for this area of town) meal and they have a decent menu for kids. I will more than likely get something other than the Old South Burger if and when we return.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.