About South Water Kitchen

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Midwestern cooking. Our local roots run deep, so on our menus you’ll find market-inspired Midwestern fare like pork loin with butternut hotcakes, wild mushroom pot pie, and deviled eggs with applewood smoked bacon—all made with fine ingredients from regional family farms.

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
W Wacker Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Red Line at the Lake St

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

South Water Kitchen can accomodate groups of 10-50 in our spacious, newly remodeled River Room. Our large bay windows provide a breathtaking view of the Chicago River making this gorgeous space the perfect setting for any occasion, large or small.

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
See All
Casual (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Business Meals (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Cozy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Healthy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great Beer (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
2174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined a day ago

Prompt service, food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was horrible way understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Half Marathon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful service and food. The certified gluten free menu was also wonderful. There were many great tasting options. Will definitely eat here when in Chicago.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good for just eating - not memorable - not special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great for a delicious, quick, sit down lunch on a weekday with friends or clients

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Was close to the hotel. Largely empty on a Saturday night except foralarge loud private party. Food was mediocre, not worth the price.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food! Wonderful attentive service! Loved eating right out on the street in Chicago. Barbecue sliders were delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Just a hotel bar, small menu with a mediocre food quality., nothing special. Outside sitting is the only positive point to mention

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent menu selections overall. Portions adequate and food was fresh with a nice presentation and use of colors on plate. Loved the cast iron skillet for the Mac and cheese.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

SWK Burger is great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

There were four people in our party, with each of us choosing a different entree, and each person's choice was excellent. The mojitos were fabulous also!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had brunch on a Sunday morning. My wife had the french toast. She is very picky on what is good French toast. As good as her own which is quite the compliment. My buttermilk pancake was melt in your mouth delicious.

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Bad experience. We left after appetizers to eat elsewhere. Restaurant practically empty at 8 pm on a Saturday night. Understandable. Mediocre to inedible food. Over-smoked bitter shiitakes in pea soup that was too starchy. Inedible plastic-like hard cheese bits in the mac and cheese -- we are still wondering what they were, or if it was a mistake. Deviled eggs were decent, but honestly it's hard to mess up a hard boiled egg. Don't understand the positive reviews, we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Wonderful place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Highly recommend! Great location and food was outstanding. We came on a Sunday morning for brunch with a total of 9 and service was outstanding too. Thank you! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Seafood prep was excellent, and out sever was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Late-night Find, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Their $22 prix fixe lunch menu is a great value for choice of deviled eggs, romaine salad, or sweet pea soup; chicken or pulled pork sandwich; and German chocolate cake or bourbon pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We ate here for our anniversary and prior to attending Hamilton. My wife has a variety of food allergies and they addressed all of them. We returned the following day for lunch and the Maitre dess obviously remembered us and simply gave my wife the gluten free menu. This was impressive because the night before was a pretty busy Saturday dinner night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Came here for my friends 21st birthday brunch with a group of 15 girls and everything was great! Fast service, great food, and they even brought out a round of mimosas (on the house!), bowls of fruit and treated us to cake at the end for the birthday. Will be back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was a great place for a laid back, team (business) dinner. We sat right below the window and got to wave to everyone walking by. Food was delicious. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great salmon and spring succotash! Restrooms are upstairs, so challenging if someone had limited mobility.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The restaurant was accommodating for our large party of 13. Service was phenomenal, prompt, knowledgeable of the menu to provide details of what it is to make recommendations, and all the food was brought out at the same time. There were some inconsistency with the way some of the dishes were seasoned. For example we ordered 2 garlic fries, 2 sweet potato fries, and 2 pretzels. Pretzels were great, however one batch was harder than the other. Same with the two sets of fries, one set was very well seasoned and the other was not. We had 2 sets of slider as well and one set was covered in sauce, to the point the bottom buns were soaked, and the 2nd set was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Overpriced. Small portions, unless you order the burgers. Lots of other much better choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great service and good! Very knowledgeable about gluten allergies and had a great gluten free menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was very good. The chef has created an outstanding house burger.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was ok, not great and the prices for the quality were outrageous. I don't like to bad mouth restaurants. I know how hard it is to get things right. But this place was just an awful all around experience. Maybe this is just a Sunday thing. I have read other bad reviews from people dining her on Sundays. But that's no excuse. If you want blah food from a tired, unenthusiastic wait staff that's overpriced, then take your chances with this place. Otherwise you can go to just about any other place in the neighborhood and fair better. Seriously, I don't understand the open table ratings on this one. At best this is a solid one to two stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Sat outside for brunch. Food was quick and delicious. Service attentive. Bloody Mary way too spicy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I love Southwater. The food is out of this world! And priced right!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Attentive service. Ordered salads and were in and out quickly. Consistently good food at reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was great. We had the salmon which was paired well with fresh vegetables and the oven roasted chicken which just melted in your mouth. The presentation was also creative. We enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Loved the creative menu! The olives were delicious, would definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Limited menu but food is very good and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Chose this location for convenience and availability. Turned out that it was a perfect choice. Service and food were outstanding. Facility a little worn and dated but didnt affect our dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was excellent!
Service was very good!
Had a great time!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a wonderful Mother's Day here. Food was delicious and the gluten free mac and cheese was amazing! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food good, but pricey and small portions. Ordered butter pecan ice cream for dessert, got something different...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very pleased. Large portions of lovely food! Professional service and friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This is a solid restaurant. Good food, good service. We went here before a show at the Oriental theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've been to the South Water Kitchen quite a few times, but this was the best breakfast I've ever had there. Not sure what changed or if it was just my lucky day... but I'm quite pleased!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.