About South Water Kitchen

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Home cooking. As a tribute to the kitchen table, South Water Kitchen remembers the time when the kitchen was the center of the home and the family meal was the most important time of the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
Wacker

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Lake St. stop on the Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Restaurant Photos

Pb&J Grilled Cheese
Bread Pudding
Amuse Bouche
Cornish Hens
Red Zinfandel
Pea & Asparagus Soup
Jerky
Stuffed Pepper
Scallops
Burger
Deviled Eggs
French Toast
Fresh Juices
charcuterie
Charcuterie Board
German Chocolate Cake
Fade To Black Cocktail
Jungle Bird Cocktail
Snagletooth Beer
Manhattan
Half Acre Beer from Chicago
Lemon Pound Cake
Hot Dog And Chips
Truffle Fries
Beer Battered Onion Rings
White Cheddar Burger
Lemon Poundcake
egg sandwich
Kettle Chips
Baileys And Coffee
Veggie Hot Dog
watermelon cocktail
Martini
Baked Beans Cocktail
Colorful Cocktails
Appetizer
Fish and Mussels
Chicken
Cheddar Potato Soup
Madiera
Ham And Gouda Panini With An Egg On Top
Juicy Lucy
Challa French Toast
Grilled Coho Salmon With Roasted Root Vegetables
Koval Ginger Sidecar
Pecan Pie With Candied Bacon
Smores Brulee
Lemon Pound Cake With Blueberry Thyme Chutney
Roasted Chicken W Corn Souffle
Brunchbox
Mocktail
Cubano Sandwich
Arugala Salad With Goat Cheese
Challah French Toast
Chicago Style Hot Dog
Watermelon Salad
Potato Leek Soup
Grilled Salmon
Maple Glazed Pork Chop
Braised Pork Belly With Fig Pizza
Spiced Bread Pudding With Pumpkin Ice Cream
Pan Seared Walleye, Blue Hill Bay Mussels, Wild Rice, Tomato Garlic Broth
Steak Salad
Roasted Chicken
Fallen Cocktail
Chocolate Bread Pudding With Peppermint Ice Cream
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Buffalo Breakfast Flip Cocktail
Buffalo Short Ribs
Seared Ahi Tuna
Strawberry & Blueberry Yogurt Parfait
Red and golden beets with goat cheese and blood orange vinaigrette
Fresh Water White Fish With Portabella Mushrooms
Molasses Bbq Pork Loin
Seared Sea Scallops
Beef tenderloin
Beet Salad
Seafood Stew
Juicy Lucy Burger
Beef Carpaccio
Skirt Steak With Shrimp And Pineapple
Roast Duck For Two
Grilled Rabbit Sausage
Cozy By The Fire Cocktail
Loaded Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Strawberry-Duck Flatbread
Mac & Cheese With Peas
Vegetable Stuffed Red Pepper
Grilled Flat Iron Steak
Braised Pork Belly With Spelt Porraige & Peach Glaze
Lamb Belly
Alaskan Halibut
pan seared duck breast
Sea Scallop
Pan Seared Tilapia
Parppardella Pasta With Braised Lamb
Stuffed Baby Pumpkin
Mac & Cheese
Sauteed White Fish
Whitefish With Wild Rice

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

South Water Kitchen can accomodate groups of 10-50 in our spacious, newly remodeled River Room. Our large bay windows provide a breathtaking view of the Chicago River making this gorgeous space the perfect setting for any occasion, large or small.

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Loop ›

great for lunch (33)
good for groups (31)
fit for foodies (25)
See All
neighborhood gem (19)
great for brunch (19)
great for outdoor dining (17)
special occasion (11)
scenic view (10)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (2)
romantic (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1888 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were not the easiest to wait on. Ord ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were not the easiest to wait on. Ordered at different times. Server was great working with us. Food was amazing. The flavor combinations are sometimes unexpected but very tasty. This was my first visit in many years. Pleased to have chosen it again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lamb was amazing and they dealt with ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our lamb was amazing and they dealt with our food allergies beautifully. I only wish the greatness of their menu was reflected in the kids menu. Really baffling how restaurants like this feel the need to serve kids PBJ, Mac n cheese, chicken fingers, etc. at least they had multiple sides for kids to choose from. Service was excellent and beer, wine, cocktail menu impressive. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking for a restaurant close t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were looking for a restaurant close to our hotel and saw this restaurant with outdoor dining. Waiter was helpful and attentive. Food was just so so, average nothing to rave about. It was nice to eat outside. Apparently other people had the read on the restaurant as it was pretty empty inside and just a few tables occupied outside. Would not go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

All the food was too salty and not enjoy ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

All the food was too salty and not enjoyable. We had to contact open table to add our points as they had indicated we hadn't eaten although they acknowledged our reservation at check-in. Wait staff was inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very good food and attentive service. H ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very good food and attentive service. Huge sirloin cooked perfectly. Giant burger was a crowd pleaser to look at. Dinner for 4 including a few drinks was typical in price for downtown Chicago. Nice river sidewalk view. We were early so cannot comment on the bar scene as a hot spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From start to finish, our experience was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

From start to finish, our experience was excellent. The service was impeccable. We were very early dinner guests and we thought we might be ignored, but we had amazing service. All 4 of our meals were delicious. We had our 2 kids with us and their kids meals were very tasty, unlike lots of kids meals. They also got special attention from the wait staff with their orange juice in wine glasses. My salmon was perfection. The ribs my husband had were equally good and tender. The wine was a little pricey for what it was, but that is just a small thing compared to the overall experience. It was our second time here and we will be back. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Other than reporting to Open Table that ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Other than reporting to Open Table that we had not arrived for our reservation and not knowing how to fix it, South Water Kitchen is a great spot for lunch. The menu options are diverse and the presentation never disappoints. Denise is an excellent and welcome server who is pleasant and really takes care of those who are seated at her tables!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place was pretty quite. But our wait ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The place was pretty quite. But our waiter seemed overwhelmed with the tables he had to care for. I ordered. Spinach salad, but the food runner brought soup. The flatbread was good but I wouldn't order again. The draft beer selection is too small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waitperson was wonderful, our food w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Our waitperson was wonderful, our food was mostly mediocre (especially for the price).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was great. Service not so much. Ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was great. Service not so much. Our waiter did everything on his own time. It shouldn't take 15 minutes to make/serve 4 drinks when there were only about 6 tables of customers at the time. AI ordered the SWK burger - medium. Looked great until I bit into it and it was mushy bloody raw, not the pink. Disappointed as the reviews I read looked great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Loved the food and service .. My steak w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved the food and service .. My steak was done improperly and it was handled right away and supervisor was a gem! Loved the experience and it was my first time looking forward to my return! Wait staff very nice folks ... The steak and eggs 😋😋😋loved!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As usual, the service, presentation,and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As usual, the service, presentation,and taste of our brunch was excellent. SWK never dissaponts!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch and each enjoyed our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for brunch and each enjoyed our food very much. In particular, my eggs Benedict were perfection. Though the menu lists just a handful of dishes, they offer a large variety of sides that we found more than adequate. The mimosas were spot on as well. You can eat outside, weather permitting, or inside in their attractive rooms. We recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We waited 10 minutes after being seated ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We waited 10 minutes after being seated with no waiter or waitress attending us so we left. Could be a good place, we don't know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Nothing really good to say about this spot

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Nothing really good to say about this spot, food was poor, service was poor- location was the best thing going for it

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

I had the prix fixe dinner here. The sal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I had the prix fixe dinner here. The salmon was cooked perfectly, and portions were big. The bread pudding dessert was my favorite. Service was very attentive. Decent place for a weekday meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Accommodated a large group for a Sunday ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Accommodated a large group for a Sunday breakfast. Everything was wonderful from the seating to the service to the food. Very happy with the choice of venue!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Very accommodating staff and management - group dinner reservation for 12 turned into party for 22. Great service

Pictures on web make it look fancier than reality - really casual place

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

The menu is short but has enough variety.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It was very quiet and empty for a Saturday night in downtown Chicago. The waiter was great, very attentive and hip. The menu is fairly short but has enough options for any casual diner, but certainly is not a gourmet place. Great choice for an every day dinner, though fairly pricey.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Good place for dinning before a show. T ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Good place for dinning before a show. The German chocolate cake was amazing but our meal was just average. We had good service and they met our needs of getting to our show on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Good for breakfast

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went for breakfast and had a very good quinoa scramble. Would love to get that recipe.

The service was acceptable, but not attentive.

Very convenient location.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

outdoor dining

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a lot of fun dining outside at this location. Even though we were close to the street, the plants that they have surrounded us from any fumes. The wait staff is very professional and prompt.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Customer Service was splendid

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

A friend's meal was not quite right: egg white omelet brought to her as a regular omelet. Side of bacon and English muffin were not on plate. The waiter brought out the proper omelet sans the bacon and English muffin. When the bacon finally debuted, after the omelet had been consumed, the bacon was not cooked properly. When the hostess stopped by to check on our meal, it was mentioned that the bacon was not cooked properly, so she was unable to enjoy it and asked that it be removed from our bill. Without prompting or complaint, the manager comped my friend's entire meal, which was the right thing to do. The other meals were delicious and prepared properly. We were impressed with the customer service experience and will definitely return to South Water Kitchen.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

For the price, I felt the food was very average.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I felt the service could have been better. Waiter was attentive but had to wait after being seated 5-10 minutes before a drink order was placed and our salads were served before my cocktail. We were in a booth and I could see the top of the wood separation with booths on other side and you could write your name in dust and the sconces with lamp shades are them were dusty. The kitchen help were spending more time with bantering back and forth then taking concern with my over cooked steak. Their dessert specialty of bread pudding was chewy and I just ate the ice cream and some of the sauce. I don't think for the two of us, it was worth anywhere near $140.00 even by Chicago prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good service (LOTS of iced tea refills! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Good service (LOTS of iced tea refills!) Nice to have bottle of water on table.BBQ Pulled pork sandwich was good, but sauce was sweeter than I prefer. Good fries and cole slaw though!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

food was fresh, just mostly tasteless

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We ate here before our night out at Chicago Theater. Sat outside, fun to do in the city. Wine list and cocktail list are very good, on Mondays bottles of wine are half off. The Pea soup was excellent, the deviled eggs were boring, despite a generous blob of "mustard grain caviar". The short ribs and the salmon were fresh, just plain. The salmon had a nice texture, and was fresh, but it just wasn't anything special. The German Chocolate cake was dry, straight out of a sheet pan, crusty edges and all, and wasn't worth the calories. We are Foodies and we've eaten some very good, well done dishes. This place just isn't excellent. It might be good if you don't frequent expensive, creative restaurants, they use some interesting ingredients but without that extra umph, which might be good for some people. It's a step up from some places, but it depends on what you are used too. Our waiter was a bit odd but knew the wine list and about the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Pleasant break from the office

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Food and service were very good. Our food came out quickly, which is always important during a lunch break. The day was beautiful, so we sat outside. The tables were nice and shaded, but there were a lot of mosquitos. Not sure the restaurant can do a ton to prevent that as that weather gets nicer, but it's worth mentioning.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Best mushroom risotto I ever had. Great ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Best mushroom risotto I ever had. Great earthy flavor from wild mushrooms and barley. Very creative, flavorful presentation with micro greens and crispy parmesan crisp.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We came in shortly after the restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We came in shortly after the restaurant had trouble with their computer + a big crowd = chaos. Reception and our waiter both brought it up. They were obviously resilient as our service was great (he was a little wrung out but pulled it together with a smile), the food was great--LOVED the Caesar Salad, and even the manager stopped by to ensure all was well. Whether the earlier problems put everyone on their game or they're just good, it was a good food and service experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Not a great experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We went before an 8:00 show. Waited 20 mins for a drink order to be placed, food was good, but by the time dessert came, we were running late. Waiter dropped off dessert with no silverware. Had to go to another table to get silverware. Certainly was not what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Pre theater easy meal

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Decor is nice... Kind of contemporary Irish pub; made reservations and got seated right away. Server was polished and friendly, but had too many tables and service slowed thru our meal. Wine by glass was pricey, but tasty. Flatbread wasn't seasoned well. Burger was great, but a la carte $20; short rib dinner was great. Menu wasn't huge, but good variety. Windows need cleaning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Without question the worst entree i've e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Without question the worst entree i've eaten in a restaurant in recent memory. (Fries were OK, though.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Meh

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Nice decor. We went for Mother's Day Brunch. Another table was there, as well, with very loud screaming infants - and parents who should have taken them out to walk/calm down. Service was slow. Order was not taken correctly - ordered egg-white omelette with no cheese and it cam with cheese. So had to wait as my party went ahead with their Eggs Benedict platters.

So - Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Wonderful!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

I had a terrific lunch that involved business conversation initially and the harried host was able to seat us in a quieter area when I made an urgent request. The menu was nicely updated and we enjoyed delicious lavender sodas, a creative surprise. I had been at the restaurant several years ago and was sassily mocked when I disliked my entree, it was way too salty for me to enjoy. Glad to have given it another chance. I will eat there again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck was very good

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Duck was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very disappointing brunch.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We were sat in the back of the restaurant near the noisy kitchen. I ordered the salmon benedict. The eggs were over cooked--almost solid yolks and the hollandaise sauce was the most bland I have every eaten anywhere. It was overall not a pleasant dining experience. The service was ok, however no one checked on me after my eggs came out overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great eggs benny selection.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great eggs benny selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Really great food. Spring pea soup, pea ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Really great food. Spring pea soup, pea tendril salad, I short ribs, salmon with black rice were all delicious. Sean was our waiter, helpful in making decisions and recommendations, yet not at all intrusive. Delicious cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre theater

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a dinner Rez at a different place but stopped here for a drink. Sat in the bar - service and drinks were excellent so we cancelled our other Rez and decided to stay for dinner. The place was empty while all other open table restaurants in the theater district were booked. The food was ok. We were fine til we got the check. We two had shared the cheese board - 3 cheeses - two of which were cut into two small pieces. So perfect for 2 people to share - except there were 5 crostini. We asked for more crostini which the server happily brought. He did not tell us there would be a charge of $1 for additional crostini. The manager was very gracious when we expressed our dismay at the deception. We explained that the issue was not one dollar - it was the point. She comped the cheese board - which we said was not necessary. What is necessary is for the restaurant to act with honesty and integrity

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Deviled eggs and bread pudding are excel ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Deviled eggs and bread pudding are excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.