About South Water Kitchen

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Midwestern cooking. Our local roots run deep, so on our menus you’ll find market-inspired Midwestern fare like pork loin with butternut hotcakes, wild mushroom pot pie, and deviled eggs with applewood smoked bacon—all made with fine ingredients from regional family farms.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
W Wacker Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Red Line at the Lake St

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bread Pudding - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Amuse Bouche - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Cornish Hens - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Red Zinfandel - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pea & Asparagus Soup - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Jerky - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Stuffed Pepper - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Lemon Pound Cake - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Hot Dog And Chips - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Beer Battered Onion Rings - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Truffle Fries - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Burger - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
White Cheddar Burger - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Scallops - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
French Toast - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fresh Juices - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Half Acre Beer from Chicago - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Deviled Eggs - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
charcuterie - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Lemon Poundcake - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
egg sandwich - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Charcuterie Board - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Veggie Hot Dog - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Baileys And Coffee - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Kettle Chips - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
German Chocolate Cake - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
watermelon cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Martini - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Colorful Cocktails - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Baked Beans Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fish and Mussels - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Appetizer - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Chicken - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Cheddar Potato Soup - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Madiera - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pb&J Grilled Cheese - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Ham And Gouda Panini With An Egg On Top - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Juicy Lucy - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Challa French Toast - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Grilled Coho Salmon With Roasted Root Vegetables - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Koval Ginger Sidecar - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pecan Pie With Candied Bacon  - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Roasted Chicken W Corn Souffle - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Lemon Pound Cake With Blueberry Thyme Chutney - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Smores Brulee - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Brunchbox - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Mocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fade To Black Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Cubano Sandwich - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Arugala Salad With Goat Cheese - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Challah French Toast - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Chicago Style Hot Dog - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Watermelon Salad - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Potato Leek Soup - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Grilled Salmon - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Maple Glazed Pork Chop - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Steak Salad - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Braised Pork Belly With Fig Pizza - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pan Seared Walleye, Blue Hill Bay Mussels, Wild Rice, Tomato Garlic Broth - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Spiced Bread Pudding With Pumpkin Ice Cream - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Roasted Chicken - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fallen Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Bread Pudding With Peppermint Ice Cream  - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Jungle Bird Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Snagletooth Beer - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Manhattan - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pulled Pork Sandwich - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Buffalo Breakfast Flip Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Roast Duck For Two - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Beef Carpaccio - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Molasses Bbq Pork Loin - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Loaded Grilled Cheese Sandwich - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Seared Sea Scallops - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Red and golden beets with goat cheese and blood orange vinaigrette - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fresh Water White Fish With Portabella Mushrooms - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Buffalo Short Ribs - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Seafood Stew - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Skirt Steak With Shrimp And Pineapple - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Strawberry & Blueberry Yogurt Parfait - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Juicy Lucy Burger - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Grilled Rabbit Sausage  - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Seared Ahi Tuna - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Beef tenderloin - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Cozy By The Fire Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Beet Salad - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Strawberry-Duck Flatbread - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Mac & Cheese With Peas - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pan Seared Tilapia - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Stuffed Baby Pumpkin - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Lamb Belly - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Foiegras - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
pan seared duck breast - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Sauteed White Fish - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Braised Pork Belly With Spelt Porraige & Peach Glaze - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Vegetable Stuffed Red Pepper - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Mac & Cheese - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Parppardella Pasta With Braised Lamb - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Whitefish With Wild Rice - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Grilled Cheese - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Sea Scallop - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

South Water Kitchen can accomodate groups of 10-50 in our spacious, newly remodeled River Room. Our large bay windows provide a breathtaking view of the Chicago River making this gorgeous space the perfect setting for any occasion, large or small.

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Groups (11)
See All
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Casual (10)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great Beer (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Healthy (4)
Fireplace (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Fun (3)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have passed this restaurant many time ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We have passed this restaurant many times, and this was our first visit. We thought from the outside it would be a "dive" or at best very plain inside. We were wrong. This is a very nice restaurant - it looks upscale inide. And the food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

South Water Kitchen is one of our favori ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

South Water Kitchen is one of our favorite go-to restaurants! The food, drinks and service are always personalized and outstanding! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We've been to the restaurant before and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been to the restaurant before and given the distance to my hotel and convenience on a cold day, thought we would go to the same place. We had a reservation for a Friday evening and it was not busy so were seated right away. I had the chicken with baby carrots as my entree and it was flavorful. We enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

SWK was selected for a business dinner ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

SWK was selected for a business dinner due to flexible menu and location. SWK was conveniently located, has a great atmosphere, etc. The service was very good. Three of the five of us were very satisfied with dinner. One person didn't care for their meal at all. The drink menu and beer/wine selection was very good. 1/2 bottles of wine on Monday night is a nice benefit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Of the three dinners, one (Salmon) was g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Of the three dinners, one (Salmon) was great, one (Chicken) was good, but the other (scallops) was fair to poor. The Scallops taste was sweet and not as good as most other restaurants serving the same.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Absolutely brilliant! The food was perfe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely brilliant! The food was perfection and our waiter did an absolutely amazing job. Definitely coming back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Family Style, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wished there'd been Christmas decoration ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wished there'd been Christmas decorations, or some sort of holiday recognition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I attended a show in the theater distric ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I attended a show in the theater district and decided to look up reviews of restaurants in the area. The reviews were very good and so I decided to give South Water Kitchen a try. I have to admit this was very good experience. The decor, food, drinks and service were all very good. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find - really good food and inte ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A great find - really good food and interesting drink and beer choices. Upbeat atmosphere, but not so loud that you can't have conversation. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was the first time we have been to ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was the first time we have been to South Water Kitchen. We had a large party of 9, with a couple of vegetarians and a picky pre-teen. Everyone enjoyed their meal (the best of our visit) and the service was awesome. This will become a regular stop when we are in Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice experience and service was fan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very nice experience and service was fantastic! Food was very good and portions were perfect. Had a really nice time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, and the waiter was nic ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was good, and the waiter was nice. The food was not great. We had to send my steak back because it was rare when I ordered medium and the deviled eggs tasted sour and not really like egg at all.

For the price we paid, the value isn't there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

When visiting Chicago at Christmas we se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

When visiting Chicago at Christmas we search out restaurants that are within walking distance of our motel as we ride the train in from Michigan. This was close to our motel. We had a great unique breakfast and actually liked it so well we returned for lunch the next day. Will be on our list for the next visit to the city.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food choices had excellent variety. Were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food choices had excellent variety. Were able to accommodate all types of palettes, including vegan, vegetarian, and meat lovers. Nice spin on classic dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was excellent. Friendly, attenti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Waiter was excellent. Friendly, attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Took a client to a late dinner at SWK af ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Took a client to a late dinner at SWK after unable to get a rez at Petterino's. My client was in from South Carolina & not used to Chicago weather. My client is a vegetarian & loved everything about SWK. Our meals were reasonably priced, the service was well paced & friendly, and we did not feel rushed in any way. My only quibble was the lack of valet parking on a cold night. SWK is in the Hotel Monaco; when I contacted the hotel about valet parking I was advised that the service is provided to hotel guests only. Other than that, the evening was perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was very good. A great location for a meal before or after the theater.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a group of 10 and it was very hel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a group of 10 and it was very helpful to be able to make a reservation for breakfast (which can be hard to do in the Loop on a weekend). Our server, Sean, was great - super friendly and efficient in taking care of our large party. Most of us stuck with the classic Two Eggs breakfast and the food was tasty and plentiful and they have a kids menu (including crayons!).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Who knew deviled eggs could be SO delici ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Who knew deviled eggs could be SO delicious! Hot drinks, hit the spot on a cold winter's night. Wait staff was friendly and very attentive! We appreciated the complimentary desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent but food just so s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service was excellent but food just so so. Everything seemed under cooked--Brussels, acorn squash and risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Love this place

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and location for pre-theater. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Good food and location for pre-theater. Bourbon Pecan Bread Pudding a must!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy this restaurant and go with fri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We enjoy this restaurant and go with friend groups fairly often. Nice Place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

SWK is a perennial favorite! My husband ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

SWK is a perennial favorite! My husband and I go to The Christmas Carol at the Goodman Theatre with a good friend every year. Dinner at SWK has been a wonderful part of that tradition for six or more years now. We were inside all cozy and warm...watching the first snow of the season fall outside...enjoying each others' company...and enjoying an excellent meal. Perfect!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately I wasn't impressed by my b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Unfortunately I wasn't impressed by my breakfast at the South Water Kitchen. I have eaten there before. But , this time I was rather disappointed. I took friends there because of past experiences. Although the food came quickly, it wasn't really hot. Our order was mixed up and the toast was burnt. There were lipstick stains on several coffee cups. I will try the Kitchen again. Hopefully, it will be a better next time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Some friends and I got together here for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Some friends and I got together here for lunch and a pre-holiday gathering. The atmosphere was great, our waiter was charming and knowledgeable of the menu, service was good, food was fresh and tasty; love this establishment. A touch of class with some casual spice. It was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South Water Kitchen is a fine place to e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

South Water Kitchen is a fine place to enjoy conversation over a meal or drink. Early 20th century barroom décor (lover the hexagonal floor tiles). Menu is combination of comfort and some creative dishes. Great bar. Courteous, efficient but unobtrusive servers. Very good value. Definitely a place to visit regularly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice breakfast place to catch up with a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Nice breakfast place to catch up with a friend. Sat for 1.5 hours, no hassles, unobtrusive and pleasant service, generous portions. Not noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Adjacent to the Hotel Monaco at Wabash a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Adjacent to the Hotel Monaco at Wabash and Wacker. Comfortable with dark wood and white tile floors. Rest rooms are on the second floor of the hotel, so not particularly low mobility-friendly. Fantastic brunch cocktails and mocktails; I had a lavender soda with blackberries, lavender syrup and lemon juice that was delicious. My breakfast burger made with a beef and port patty, bacon and egg with hollandaise on a bun was very tasty and just a skosh dry. Cost for brunch for two was around $50 without a tip. Excellent, attentive service and a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The appetizer pretzels were very dry, al ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The appetizer pretzels were very dry, although the mustard for said pretzels was great, very spicy. We ordered 2 SWK burgers and kid sliders. The burgers were good. I ordered the burger medium rare and it was cooked to perfection. The mac and cheese was awesome as were the garlic fries! We also ordered the carrot cake twinkies and they were also very dry. I did not send anything back, not my style unless there is something floating in a drink or a foreign object on the plate.

This was my first time at SWK and I would definitely go back although I'd skip the pretzels and carrot cake. To be clear I'd likely go back out of convenience of the location more than "I have to go back because the food is to die for!" It's not to die for but good. There are definitely far better burgers out there for $20.

The ambiance was great as is the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was outstanding. Service was great. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was great. Probably will go back again tonight. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed. That about sums it up. I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Disappointed. That about sums it up. I had not been to the South Water Kitchen in years, so I thought it was time to see what I have been missing. What I found is that I have not missed anything. The atmosphere is nice enough and we were seated promptly, but the attitude of the waiter left a lot to be desired. The restaurant was not that busy - there was no waiting for a table, but the waiter acted like he could not get rid of us fast enough. We saw him three times during our visit: To order drinks, to order food and to pay the bill. When we ordered coffee, he returned with a lukewarm cup of coffee that had obviously been sitting around for hours. I won't be returning again anytime soon, if ever.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Monday night was a half off wine special ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Monday night was a half off wine special so we treated ourselves to an excellent Syrah. Nice treat. Fall menu was very good but I suggest you avoid the buffalo osso bucco. The meat needed another day or two to simmer as it was too tough for my taste. Fortunately, the waiter immediately suggested that I send it back and returned with an excellent duck breast. I really appreciated this as I would have struggled though with the buffalo and not enjoyed the meal. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed 1/2 off bo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed 1/2 off bottle of wine on Sundays. Food was excellent! I had the salmon which was cooked perfectly and my friend said her burger was delicious. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting menu with great food. A nice ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Interesting menu with great food. A nice place to get a great meal at a fair price. Really good deviled eggs!! Service is really good as well. I'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tasty food...not a big menu but what we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Tasty food...not a big menu but what we ate was savory and exquisite.

Love the cuscus and the duck mixed within it was soft and meaty.

The pork belly was a little on the grease side but juicy.

The salmon was a little overdone but eatable.

The salad was fresh and good.

The desserts were delicious...we asked for the bread pudding and the german chocolate with coconut the latter one superb.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We requested a table near the windows th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We requested a table near the windows through open table. There were many tables open by the windows, but they sat us in the lower level- a little disappointing.

We had a great server and the PBJ sandwich was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was bland, with no flavor. Had brea ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was bland, with no flavor. Had breakfast on the weekend and was looking everywhere for something to add flavor to the eggs such as Cholula or hell, even ketchup. Server took our order and never came back until I asked him for the check. Not worth the high cost either. Definitely do not recommend this place for breakfast. Does have nice ambiance, not too loud, but that's really the only good thing I can say about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Pro: superb cocktails. Excellent, creat ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Pro: superb cocktails. Excellent, creative food, perfectly cooked. Great value on the prix fixe menu. Only criticism food-wise is that some bread with the soup would have been appreciated (soup was good enough to clean the bowl, but no bread to do it with).

Con: Service was a little scattered and inattentive. First course arrived before drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great menu that's fairly priced. Salmon, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great menu that's fairly priced. Salmon, deviled eggs, mango sorbet and pumpkin pie were outstanding. Very easy to get to/find.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.