About South Water Kitchen

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Home cooking. As a tribute to the kitchen table, South Water Kitchen remembers the time when the kitchen was the center of the home and the family meal was the most important time of the day.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
Wacker

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Lake St. stop on the Red Line.

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:00PM - 3:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:00PM - 3:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:00PM - 3:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:00PM - 3:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

South Water Kitchen can accomodate groups of 10-50 in our spacious, newly remodeled River Room. Our large bay windows provide a breathtaking view of the Chicago River making this gorgeous space the perfect setting for any occasion, large or small.

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.1

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (39)
fit for foodies (33)
great for lunch (31)
See All
special occasion (21)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for brunch (16)
romantic (11)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4

We came in shortly after the restaurant ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We came in shortly after the restaurant had trouble with their computer + a big crowd = chaos. Reception and our waiter both brought it up. They were obviously resilient as our service was great (he was a little wrung out but pulled it together with a smile), the food was great--LOVED the Caesar Salad, and even the manager stopped by to ensure all was well. Whether the earlier problems put everyone on their game or they're just good, it was a good food and service experience.

food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Without question the worst entree i've e ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Without question the worst entree i've eaten in a restaurant in recent memory. (Fries were OK, though.)

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Meh

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Nice decor. We went for Mother's Day Brunch. Another table was there, as well, with very loud screaming infants - and parents who should have taken them out to walk/calm down. Service was slow. Order was not taken correctly - ordered egg-white omelette with no cheese and it cam with cheese. So had to wait as my party went ahead with their Eggs Benedict platters. So - Meh.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 27, 2016

I had a terrific lunch that involved business conversation initially and the harried host was able to seat us in a quieter area when I made an urgent request. The menu was nicely updated and we enjoyed delicious lavender sodas, a creative surprise. I had been at the restaurant several years ago and was sassily mocked when I disliked my entree, it was way too salty for me to enjoy. Glad to have given it another chance. I will eat there again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Duck was very good

Dined on April 25, 2016

Duck was very good

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Very disappointing brunch.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were sat in the back of the restaurant near the noisy kitchen. I ordered the salmon benedict. The eggs were over cooked--almost solid yolks and the hollandaise sauce was the most bland I have every eaten anywhere. It was overall not a pleasant dining experience. The service was ok, however no one checked on me after my eggs came out overcooked.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great eggs benny selection.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great eggs benny selection.

food5
ambience5
service5

Really great food. Spring pea soup, pea ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Really great food. Spring pea soup, pea tendril salad, I short ribs, salmon with black rice were all delicious. Sean was our waiter, helpful in making decisions and recommendations, yet not at all intrusive. Delicious cocktails.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Pre theater

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a dinner Rez at a different place but stopped here for a drink. Sat in the bar - service and drinks were excellent so we cancelled our other Rez and decided to stay for dinner. The place was empty while all other open table restaurants in the theater district were booked. The food was ok. We were fine til we got the check. We two had shared the cheese board - 3 cheeses - two of which were cut into two small pieces. So perfect for 2 people to share - except there were 5 crostini. We asked for more crostini which the server happily brought. He did not tell us there would be a charge of $1 for additional crostini. The manager was very gracious when we expressed our dismay at the deception. We explained that the issue was not one dollar - it was the point. She comped the cheese board - which we said was not necessary. What is necessary is for the restaurant to act with honesty and integrity

food4
ambience4
service5

Deviled eggs and bread pudding are excel ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Deviled eggs and bread pudding are excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great find

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

this was a great spot to have dinner with work colleagues in from out of town. would definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and incredible atmosphere. T ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food and incredible atmosphere. The food was incredible and the client enjoyed the tasty burger and fries. The pickle on the side was a great compliment to the meal. Great experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always pleased -

Dined on March 31, 2016

My wife and I enjoy having a before theater lunch here. We enjoy the food and find the waitstaff exceptional.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Quick Business Lunch

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great location and decent service. However, like all restaurants in the Loop, waaaaay overpriced for a 45 minute lunch salad.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back

Dined on March 27, 2016

South Water kitchen is attached to Hotel Monaco and while I'm not sure they're "connected"; they're not a "typical" hotel restaurant. We ended up there on Easter Sunday and they had a lovely prix fix menu. We didn't chose anything from it, but there was a really nice assortment on the regular menu. They have a fun drink menu including non-alcoholic! Our servers were sooo nice and friendly (not always the case downtown). And the location, right at the foot of the bridge, is great! Now, that I know what is behind those doors, I look forward to eating there again. And getting good quality food in a good atmosphere for a fair price downtown!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Decent Restaurant

Dined on March 20, 2016

Out first experience at this restaurant was decent. The menu was small and kinda odd options to choose from. Not really a wide range of food to select. It took awhile to track down our waiter and we waited for our bill a decent amount as well. Overall, I probably wouldn't recommend it unless you just wanted to grab late night drinks with friends seeing as their alcohol menu seemed to be quite large.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service

Dined on March 19, 2016

I had a rather large reservation that ended up being less than projected, but the staff was very accommodating. All staff were super nice and provided great food recommendations. All of my guests had a great time and will definitely recommend to others.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We had dinner for 6, great food and deli ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

We had dinner for 6, great food and delicious craft cocktails. Our server was friendly, all the food was really good. Would definitely recommend if in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and location downtown!

Dined on March 15, 2016

This is my 5th time at this restaurant and I've done breakfast, lunch and dinner. I continue to be drawn back by it's location and the good food prepared! The service is good, ambiance is good for groups and small meetings with different options for seating. Bar is convienent place to wait for people. Only down side is that the restrooms are in the Hotel and up a set of stairs (there is an elevator too). I like that this restaurant is also w/c accessible with a lift that connects the upper/lower seating area too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

friendly,very prompt service.

Dined on March 11, 2016

We were a bit dissatisfied with the menu cho ices.most dishes featured pork,although the pork shoulderI ordered was very good.My husband was hoping for more steak choices. He ordered the sirloin but was not happy with the beef.It was pretty empty which made me think the quality of the menu has slipped.Our waiter however was very pleasant and attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Not worth the price

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The service was great - loved our server. Wish the food was even close. Was the worst we have ever had at a Kimpton Restaurant. Pre-fix Salmon and a Pre-fixed chicken were ordered. The soup on both were good, the salmon was OK, the chicken was DRY - nothing good was here, too much glaze and even under cooked potatoes. Very disappointed is the only thing to say. The deserts were chocolate cake but can you say chocolate muffins - again they were very disappointing. Our first time here but we really should have listened to the reviews we read and skip this restaurant. We so wanted to find a new place for in the loop but for $100 for 2 with drinks - I say SAVE your money!!!!!

food5
ambience4
service4

There was hardly anyone else in the rest ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

There was hardly anyone else in the restaurant when we were there. We asked our server why -- the room is nice, the service is great, and the food is delicious. He suggested the place was less than full because of the cold weather. We were in from out of town, so we felt like this place was our secret "find". We'll be back next time we're in Chicago!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service combined with great food.

Dined on February 27, 2016

One of our son's has food allergies. We looked at the menu options and felt there would be great options for him. We were extra impressed when we received a phone call prior to our reservation time checking to see if anyone in our party had a food allergy they should know about. Then, upon arrival, we were again impressed with the service and attention to our dining needs.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

I don't understand why this place isn't ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

I don't understand why this place isn't more crowded--good food, excellent service. Bistro prices.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Near theatres and excellent food

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our party consisted of two couples and we dined before a show at the Goodman Theater. The food was superb. The salads were fresh and not doused in dressing. The entrees were delicious. The pork shoulder and scallops were both excellent. Service was fine and the atmosphere was reasonably lively and decor was updated (we sat on the upper floor which had a better view.)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A waste of my Saturday night

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was a truly awful experience. Service was slow, our server was extremely rude. Our entree came out and we waited for 10 minutes to get silverware which at that point, our dinner was cold. When we sent it back the server took it away, then immediately dropped the check with an attitude. No manager came over, the lack of hospitality was astounding. We spent $80 on a cheese plate, a salad and three drinks. Overpriced, drab, and completely underwhelming. I will never return and discourage others from doing so.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolute Gem!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We are repeat customers to this fabulous eatery! We have enjoyed brunch here at least four times! The menu offers a variety and the ingredients are fresh and healthy!!! Our first visit was when we stayed at the adjacent Hotel Monaco! The ambiance is cozy and upscale -- no loud hard surfaces. The interior is contemporary with a touch of Craftsman style. We love that we can book an Open Table reservation and not have to stand in line as is the case at many of the downtown brunch spots! Our Bloody Marys and $5.00 Mimosas were delivered promptly. Our waiter was awesome and attentive!!! We have not had dinner here -- but may try it on our next trip! Loved the whole experience!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate there after Matinee

Dined on February 17, 2016

Sean was very attentive and knew the menu well . I had SWK burger and it was good . Polenta was dry . My friend had the salmon and was very pleased . We enjoyed the bread pudding and lemon mint panacotta.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3

I've been here quite a few times but it ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

I've been here quite a few times but it has been years since my last visit. It's definitely gone down. I ordered the lunch prix fixe menu and it wasn't good at all. The salad was bland and the chicken sandwich was simply a dry breast on a bun (it was supposed to come with a tomato jam but I didn't see or taste that at all on it). It wasn't pleasing to the eye either. My friend ordered a veggie burger and after tasting it, opted to just eat the salad that came with it. The burger was mushy and tasteless. What a disappointment!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fix it!

Dined on February 14, 2016

The hand rail was loose and unsafe and while we were told when we mentioned it that the management was aware, they made no attempt to divert traffic hang signs or fix the problem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfect pre-theater dinner spot

Dined on February 12, 2016

SWK was a great place to have dinner before going to the musical. Service was excellent, the food was wonderful. The salmon was outstanding. Though I did not have the SWK burger, it sure seemed like it was being ordered A lot. I would go back here whenever I am attending a play at the Oriental

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Springboard to downtown theater

Dined on February 12, 2016

South Water Kitchen served up the perfect mix of good food, great service, and tasty wines prior to attending theater on Randolph Street. It's just two blocks away, welcoming, and unpretentious. The food is well priced. The booth supported a wonderful conversation for 4 of us. Definitely going there again. A reliable restaurant that consistently delivers.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Convenient Pre-Theater Spot

Dined on February 10, 2016

Good food, close to Chicago theater district, server was very aware of our time constraints and got us out the door in plenty of time. Deviled egg appetizers were fabulous!

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

just ok

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

our lunch at south water kitchen was average. the burger was underwhelming. i ordered sweet potato fries and received regular fries instead--however, our server was quick to bring out an order of sweet potato fries. nothing special in terms of food and environment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch, attentive service

Dined on February 7, 2016

Plus: really good and creative creations. (Nicer than our usual fare.) Good coffee! The server was sensitive to our theatre time constraints, and got us served pronto. Nice. Negatives: not much really, but I thought the greasy fries were out of place for the elegant brunch. Hmmm...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great staff, they got us in and out in t ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Great staff, they got us in and out in time for the theater. Very accommodating!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Awesome breakfast and Bloody Mary's!

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Awesome breakfast and Bloody Mary's!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thursday Surprise

Dined on January 29, 2016

Went here for dinner at 8:30 after a long day of work and burgers were a mere $5 and sides an additional $1. And it was a good burger! I confess, we didn't go off the special and it was not a culinary experience, but it was a welcome meal after travel and work. Great location too.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Bartender and hostess were awesome. We a ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Bartender and hostess were awesome. We ate at bar

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

I hadn't been here in over a year and wa ...

Dined on January 25, 2016

I hadn't been here in over a year and was surprised how empty it was. I remembered it as very busy. The decor seemed to have been redone and was rather ordinary with an "off the shelf at Target" in appearance. My poached salmon salad was fine, but there was no bread basket, a welcome touch previously. Our waiter did not tell us that they were out of the soup special until after we ordered it. He checked in much more than necessary, probably because there were so few customers to serve. My tea came with hot water already in the cup, rather than in a tea pot to keep water hot for refills. My companion ordered deviled eggs and was surprised to get just 3 halves for $8. Seemed that 4 - i.e. two eggs - would have made sense.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.