About South Water Kitchen

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Midwestern cooking. Our local roots run deep, so on our menus you’ll find market-inspired Midwestern fare like pork loin with butternut hotcakes, wild mushroom pot pie, and deviled eggs with applewood smoked bacon—all made with fine ingredients from regional family farms.

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
W Wacker Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Red Line at the Lake St

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

South Water Kitchen can accomodate groups of 10-50 in our spacious, newly remodeled River Room. Our large bay windows provide a breathtaking view of the Chicago River making this gorgeous space the perfect setting for any occasion, large or small.

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (17)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Scenic View (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Romantic (4)
Waterfront (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Vegan (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
2116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Amir was a great waiter. Nice spot to chillax!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So accomodating for my food allergies. Great service, great atmosphere...loved this place!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This was a dinner for one. The food and service we're good. I found them through open table and liked what I saw. Great place! No complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food quality was not what I would expect for the price I paid. SWK burger was massive but lack on taste.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Romantic dinner. Great ambiance, service was outstanding - really accommodated our needs. Food was wonderful and abundant!! Short ribs were excellent and flourless chocolate cake... to die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The waiter was extremely rude and it really took a toll on the dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I ordered from the gluten free menu , informed server I was gluten free and was served something with gluten nonetheless. It was either the sauce on the pork shoulder or the 'flourless' chocolate cake. I suspect the former based on the timing of the onset of my symptoms. I was very ill. I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Went there because of the location. Food was good but not something I would have to go back for. I know it is a high rent area but the wine and food was pricey.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Delicious food! Great service! Definitely satisfied with overall experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Place was fairy empty, kind of run down, not a very attractive interior. Kids food was fine but hard to mess up chicken fingers. Salad was gritty for some reason, soft pretzels were a bit stale, short rib was a dry, burger was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Had great food, and loved the drink I had. I forgot the name but it was delicoius. It had lavender in it and blackberries....soooo good! Food was great too. Everyone enjoyed their food. Would go back for sure!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Nice spot in the city for a Sunday brunch. We appreciated the creative, fresh gluten free options.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I would love to see and eat more plant based foods

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Varied brunch menu and gluten free menu for one diner was great.

Server - Sean was fun and attentive without hovering.

First time we've eaten at South Water Kitchen . We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

SWK never disappoints. Great service. The reuben as an addition addition on the new menu is excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great views of the Corn Cob buildings, next to the Chicago River, conveniently connected to the Monaco Hotel. Great brunch menu. Loved the Bloody Mary Chicago style - nice and spicey! Check it out.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It's always perfect. One of the best burgers I've ever had.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Cozy, Waterfront, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Overall the restaurant was good. The variety of the appetizers and menu as a whole is not as broad as I would have liked, but the food they do have available was good. I would suggest the burger.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have passed this restaurant many times, and this was our first visit. We thought from the outside it would be a "dive" or at best very plain inside. We were wrong. This is a very nice restaurant - it looks upscale inide. And the food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

South Water Kitchen is one of our favorite go-to restaurants! The food, drinks and service are always personalized and outstanding! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We've been to the restaurant before and given the distance to my hotel and convenience on a cold day, thought we would go to the same place. We had a reservation for a Friday evening and it was not busy so were seated right away. I had the chicken with baby carrots as my entree and it was flavorful. We enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

SWK was selected for a business dinner due to flexible menu and location. SWK was conveniently located, has a great atmosphere, etc. The service was very good. Three of the five of us were very satisfied with dinner. One person didn't care for their meal at all. The drink menu and beer/wine selection was very good. 1/2 bottles of wine on Monday night is a nice benefit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Of the three dinners, one (Salmon) was great, one (Chicken) was good, but the other (scallops) was fair to poor. The Scallops taste was sweet and not as good as most other restaurants serving the same.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely brilliant! The food was perfection and our waiter did an absolutely amazing job. Definitely coming back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Family Style, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wished there'd been Christmas decorations, or some sort of holiday recognition

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I attended a show in the theater district and decided to look up reviews of restaurants in the area. The reviews were very good and so I decided to give South Water Kitchen a try. I have to admit this was very good experience. The decor, food, drinks and service were all very good. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A great find - really good food and interesting drink and beer choices. Upbeat atmosphere, but not so loud that you can't have conversation. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was the first time we have been to South Water Kitchen. We had a large party of 9, with a couple of vegetarians and a picky pre-teen. Everyone enjoyed their meal (the best of our visit) and the service was awesome. This will become a regular stop when we are in Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very nice experience and service was fantastic! Food was very good and portions were perfect. Had a really nice time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was good, and the waiter was nice. The food was not great. We had to send my steak back because it was rare when I ordered medium and the deviled eggs tasted sour and not really like egg at all.

For the price we paid, the value isn't there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

When visiting Chicago at Christmas we search out restaurants that are within walking distance of our motel as we ride the train in from Michigan. This was close to our motel. We had a great unique breakfast and actually liked it so well we returned for lunch the next day. Will be on our list for the next visit to the city.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food choices had excellent variety. Were able to accommodate all types of palettes, including vegan, vegetarian, and meat lovers. Nice spin on classic dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Waiter was excellent. Friendly, attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Took a client to a late dinner at SWK after unable to get a rez at Petterino's. My client was in from South Carolina & not used to Chicago weather. My client is a vegetarian & loved everything about SWK. Our meals were reasonably priced, the service was well paced & friendly, and we did not feel rushed in any way. My only quibble was the lack of valet parking on a cold night. SWK is in the Hotel Monaco; when I contacted the hotel about valet parking I was advised that the service is provided to hotel guests only. Other than that, the evening was perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was very good. A great location for a meal before or after the theater.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a group of 10 and it was very helpful to be able to make a reservation for breakfast (which can be hard to do in the Loop on a weekend). Our server, Sean, was great - super friendly and efficient in taking care of our large party. Most of us stuck with the classic Two Eggs breakfast and the food was tasty and plentiful and they have a kids menu (including crayons!).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Who knew deviled eggs could be SO delicious! Hot drinks, hit the spot on a cold winter's night. Wait staff was friendly and very attentive! We appreciated the complimentary desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service was excellent but food just so so. Everything seemed under cooked--Brussels, acorn squash and risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Good food and location for pre-theater. Bourbon Pecan Bread Pudding a must!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.