About South Water Kitchen

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Midwestern cooking. Our local roots run deep, so on our menus you’ll find market-inspired Midwestern fare like pork loin with butternut hotcakes, wild mushroom pot pie, and deviled eggs with applewood smoked bacon—all made with fine ingredients from regional family farms.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
W Wacker Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Red Line at the Lake St

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Restaurant Photos

Bread Pudding
Pb&J Grilled Cheese
Amuse Bouche
Cornish Hens
Red Zinfandel
Pea & Asparagus Soup
Jerky
Stuffed Pepper
Scallops
Burger
Deviled Eggs
French Toast
Fresh Juices
charcuterie
Charcuterie Board
German Chocolate Cake
Lemon Pound Cake
Hot Dog And Chips
Beer Battered Onion Rings
Truffle Fries
White Cheddar Burger
Half Acre Beer from Chicago
Lemon Poundcake
egg sandwich
Veggie Hot Dog
Baileys And Coffee
Kettle Chips
watermelon cocktail
Martini
Colorful Cocktails
Baked Beans Cocktail
Fish and Mussels
Appetizer
Chicken
Cheddar Potato Soup
Madiera
Ham And Gouda Panini With An Egg On Top
Juicy Lucy
Challa French Toast
Grilled Coho Salmon With Roasted Root Vegetables
Koval Ginger Sidecar
Pecan Pie With Candied Bacon
Roasted Chicken W Corn Souffle
Lemon Pound Cake With Blueberry Thyme Chutney
Smores Brulee
Brunchbox
Mocktail
Fade To Black Cocktail
Cubano Sandwich
Arugala Salad With Goat Cheese
Challah French Toast
Chicago Style Hot Dog
Watermelon Salad
Potato Leek Soup
Grilled Salmon
Maple Glazed Pork Chop
Steak Salad
Braised Pork Belly With Fig Pizza
Pan Seared Walleye, Blue Hill Bay Mussels, Wild Rice, Tomato Garlic Broth
Spiced Bread Pudding With Pumpkin Ice Cream
Roasted Chicken
Fallen Cocktail
Chocolate Bread Pudding With Peppermint Ice Cream
Jungle Bird Cocktail
Snagletooth Beer
Manhattan
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Buffalo Breakfast Flip Cocktail
Roast Duck For Two
Beef Carpaccio
Molasses Bbq Pork Loin
Loaded Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Seared Sea Scallops
Red and golden beets with goat cheese and blood orange vinaigrette
Fresh Water White Fish With Portabella Mushrooms
Buffalo Short Ribs
Seafood Stew
Skirt Steak With Shrimp And Pineapple
Strawberry & Blueberry Yogurt Parfait
Juicy Lucy Burger
Grilled Rabbit Sausage
Seared Ahi Tuna
Beef tenderloin
Cozy By The Fire Cocktail
Beet Salad
Strawberry-Duck Flatbread
Mac & Cheese With Peas
Pan Seared Tilapia
Stuffed Baby Pumpkin
Lamb Belly
Foiegras
pan seared duck breast
Sauteed White Fish
Braised Pork Belly With Spelt Porraige & Peach Glaze
Vegetable Stuffed Red Pepper
Mac & Cheese
Parppardella Pasta With Braised Lamb
Whitefish With Wild Rice
Grilled Cheese
Sea Scallop

Specials

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $36.00

Special valid Jul 28, 2016 - Nov 28, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $36.00

Special valid Jul 28, 2016 - Nov 28, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $36.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. our three course menu featuring Chef Roger Waysok's favorite seasonal selections. Special valid Jul 28, 2016 - Nov 28, 2016 all week from 4:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

South Water Kitchen can accomodate groups of 10-50 in our spacious, newly remodeled River Room. Our large bay windows provide a breathtaking view of the Chicago River making this gorgeous space the perfect setting for any occasion, large or small.

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (25)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Romantic (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Water Street Kitchen never disappoints. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Water Street Kitchen never disappoints. Great food and outstanding service. Thanks much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We loved the black rice - very tasty & m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We loved the black rice - very tasty & memorable!

The restaurant is on a prominent ground floor corner of the Hotel Monaco in the loop. It would be convenient for anyone going to a show. We had no problem seating a large group here as there are several good options. It wasn't very busy for a Friday night at 8 pm and we were not sure why so the atmosphere was not as lively as it could have been. The decor is modern and fresh and the prices were what you'd expect but not outrageous.

We had a table of seven and everyone enjoyed their food overall and the service was spot on. Our food choices included the deviled eggs (mustard is very pronounced, which we liked but not everyone may), duck breast with cherry and the pork tenderloin.

Some of us tried some of their hand crafted cocktails, I liked The Professor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was awesome! Had to take photos of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was awesome! Had to take photos of each delicious dish. I especially liked the unique grilled salmon entree.

Fun atmosphere. Our server, Sean, was friendly & very professional. Great value for a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Somewhat dull. Food was over salted and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Somewhat dull. Food was over salted and lacked imagination

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Love the salmon with black rice. The br ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Love the salmon with black rice. The bread pudding is delicious. My favorite drink at this restaurant is the "professor".

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Quick service and the food was excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Quick service and the food was excellent. We truly enjoyed our servers, Denise and Alfredo! They made our experience outstanding by being both attentive as well as entertaining! Also a shout out to the bar tender of the year for making us some customized after dinner cocktails! We would definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was an off night so there were very f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

It was an off night so there were very few people dining. This allowed the staff to be very attentive to our needs. The food options were great and the flavors were delicious. We asked staff for their favorites and ordered some of their suggestions. One of the suggestions was The bread pudding. It was to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the lamb burger and it was perfect! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Had the lamb burger and it was perfect! Excellent portion sizes and they handled my gluten-free food perfectly! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails and menu are both innovati ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The cocktails and menu are both innovative...we enjoyed the pork roast and lamb shoulder...beautifully seasoned!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great dinner at the bar watching sports.

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great dinner at the bar watching sports.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good atmosphere but food was served cold ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good atmosphere but food was served cold and not great tasting. However we were not charged for some of the less desirable items which we appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We reserved a table for a Saturday at 7: ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We reserved a table for a Saturday at 7:30 based on the rating on Opentable and menu. We were concerned when we arrived to find the place deserted, despite the time of day and location of this restaurant just off Wacker. It became clear soon enough why this place is not making it. The food was very mediocre. I ordered the lamb shoulder, which they has amazingly sold out of, despite the fact there were only maybe three tables of patrons. I ended up with a steak which, while ordered medium well, was burned to a crisp. My daughter's risotto was chewy. My wife's flat bread was virtually uncooked. It had large clumps of cheese that had not even melted. It was largely inedible. This place is unlikely to make it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent food and service with a top no ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food and service with a top notch drink menu

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not very many people there but delicious ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Not very many people there but delicious food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I always enjoy the meals at the South Wa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I always enjoy the meals at the South Water Kitchen when I visit Chicago. My clients enjoy the convenience and the wonderful variety of excellent food!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our favorite brunch location was booked. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our favorite brunch location was booked. This was the first time for all 4 members of our party. When I gave the name on our reservation, was told we had already been seated, so glitch there. 10:30 am reservation and while restaurant not filled, service seemed slow. Windows dirty and menu nothing special for brunch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Our waiter, Sean, was pleasant, informat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter, Sean, was pleasant, informative and attentive. The special cocktails were as good as he said they would be. The food was excellent and it's presentation was beautiful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the grilled ham and cheese w/ scramb ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had the grilled ham and cheese w/ scrambled eggs on sourdough and it was amazing. Huge sandwich too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Dined as a group of 7. Service was on p ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Dined as a group of 7. Service was on point and it was a great time of year to eat on the patio! The sirloin was solid, but not 5-star. I would definitely eat at Southwater again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a delicious bloody mary and the serv ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had a delicious bloody mary and the service was great. Sat outside with some girlfriends and the ambiance was pleasant. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choices, including gluten free men ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great choices, including gluten free menu! The service was wonderful and the food fresh.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our food was terribly disappointing. I o ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our food was terribly disappointing. I ordered the chop salad and the chicken was rubbery and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Food came out wrong. Staff was great abo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food came out wrong. Staff was great about making it right and comped the incorrectly made meal....which actually tasted good (the risotto). The burger on the other hand was terrible. the meat was lacking any kind of seasoning. They touted having Gluten Free buns, but when the burger arrived it was on tiny pieces of gluten free toast that tasted terrible (lets be honest...gluten free bread products aren't great, but there are some that are better than others....would have expected a high end restaurant to find the good stuff....especially at the price of the burger). For being very quiet our waitress disappeared for long periods of time. I realize it's difficult not to hovering over your 1 table, but the opposite end of spectrum (disappearing) is even worse. On the upside everyone was VERY nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Extremely friendly staff and attentive s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Extremely friendly staff and attentive service. Great ambiance without being too stuffy or formal. Variety of interesting menu choices which emphasized creative local cuisine. I had the Romaine salad followed by the Risotto, both of which were excellent. My husband had the lamb shoulder and said it was wonderful. We ordered the beignets and bread pudding respectively for dessert, both were delicious. The restaurant also had an excellent selection of draft beers and wines. Would highly recommend this restaurant. I look forward to eating there again and perhaps trying their breakfast and lunch menus as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were not the easiest to wait on. Ord ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were not the easiest to wait on. Ordered at different times. Server was great working with us. Food was amazing. The flavor combinations are sometimes unexpected but very tasty. This was my first visit in many years. Pleased to have chosen it again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our lamb was amazing and they dealt with ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our lamb was amazing and they dealt with our food allergies beautifully. I only wish the greatness of their menu was reflected in the kids menu. Really baffling how restaurants like this feel the need to serve kids PBJ, Mac n cheese, chicken fingers, etc. at least they had multiple sides for kids to choose from. Service was excellent and beer, wine, cocktail menu impressive. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking for a restaurant close t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were looking for a restaurant close to our hotel and saw this restaurant with outdoor dining. Waiter was helpful and attentive. Food was just so so, average nothing to rave about. It was nice to eat outside. Apparently other people had the read on the restaurant as it was pretty empty inside and just a few tables occupied outside. Would not go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

All the food was too salty and not enjoy ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

All the food was too salty and not enjoyable. We had to contact open table to add our points as they had indicated we hadn't eaten although they acknowledged our reservation at check-in. Wait staff was inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very good food and attentive service. H ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very good food and attentive service. Huge sirloin cooked perfectly. Giant burger was a crowd pleaser to look at. Dinner for 4 including a few drinks was typical in price for downtown Chicago. Nice river sidewalk view. We were early so cannot comment on the bar scene as a hot spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From start to finish, our experience was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

From start to finish, our experience was excellent. The service was impeccable. We were very early dinner guests and we thought we might be ignored, but we had amazing service. All 4 of our meals were delicious. We had our 2 kids with us and their kids meals were very tasty, unlike lots of kids meals. They also got special attention from the wait staff with their orange juice in wine glasses. My salmon was perfection. The ribs my husband had were equally good and tender. The wine was a little pricey for what it was, but that is just a small thing compared to the overall experience. It was our second time here and we will be back. Thank you for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Other than reporting to Open Table that ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Other than reporting to Open Table that we had not arrived for our reservation and not knowing how to fix it, South Water Kitchen is a great spot for lunch. The menu options are diverse and the presentation never disappoints. Denise is an excellent and welcome server who is pleasant and really takes care of those who are seated at her tables!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place was pretty quite. But our wait ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The place was pretty quite. But our waiter seemed overwhelmed with the tables he had to care for. I ordered. Spinach salad, but the food runner brought soup. The flatbread was good but I wouldn't order again. The draft beer selection is too small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waitperson was wonderful, our food w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Our waitperson was wonderful, our food was mostly mediocre (especially for the price).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was great. Service not so much. Ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was great. Service not so much. Our waiter did everything on his own time. It shouldn't take 15 minutes to make/serve 4 drinks when there were only about 6 tables of customers at the time. AI ordered the SWK burger - medium. Looked great until I bit into it and it was mushy bloody raw, not the pink. Disappointed as the reviews I read looked great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Loved the food and service .. My steak w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved the food and service .. My steak was done improperly and it was handled right away and supervisor was a gem! Loved the experience and it was my first time looking forward to my return! Wait staff very nice folks ... The steak and eggs 😋😋😋loved!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As usual, the service, presentation,and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As usual, the service, presentation,and taste of our brunch was excellent. SWK never dissaponts!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch and each enjoyed our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for brunch and each enjoyed our food very much. In particular, my eggs Benedict were perfection. Though the menu lists just a handful of dishes, they offer a large variety of sides that we found more than adequate. The mimosas were spot on as well. You can eat outside, weather permitting, or inside in their attractive rooms. We recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We waited 10 minutes after being seated ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We waited 10 minutes after being seated with no waiter or waitress attending us so we left. Could be a good place, we don't know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Nothing really good to say about this spot

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Nothing really good to say about this spot, food was poor, service was poor- location was the best thing going for it

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

I had the prix fixe dinner here. The sal ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I had the prix fixe dinner here. The salmon was cooked perfectly, and portions were big. The bread pudding dessert was my favorite. Service was very attentive. Decent place for a weekday meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.