About South Water Kitchen

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Midwestern cooking. Our local roots run deep, so on our menus you’ll find market-inspired Midwestern fare like pork loin with butternut hotcakes, wild mushroom pot pie, and deviled eggs with applewood smoked bacon—all made with fine ingredients from regional family farms.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
W Wacker Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Red Line at the Lake St

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Restaurant Photos

Bread Pudding - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Amuse Bouche - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Cornish Hens - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Red Zinfandel - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pea & Asparagus Soup - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Jerky - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Stuffed Pepper - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pb&J Grilled Cheese - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Lemon Pound Cake - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Hot Dog And Chips - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Beer Battered Onion Rings - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Truffle Fries - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Burger - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
White Cheddar Burger - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Scallops - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
French Toast - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fresh Juices - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Half Acre Beer from Chicago - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Deviled Eggs - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
charcuterie - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Lemon Poundcake - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
egg sandwich - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Charcuterie Board - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Veggie Hot Dog - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Baileys And Coffee - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Kettle Chips - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
German Chocolate Cake - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
watermelon cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Martini - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Colorful Cocktails - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Baked Beans Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fish and Mussels - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Appetizer - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Chicken - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Cheddar Potato Soup - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Madiera - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Ham And Gouda Panini With An Egg On Top - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Juicy Lucy - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Challa French Toast - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Grilled Coho Salmon With Roasted Root Vegetables - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Koval Ginger Sidecar - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pecan Pie With Candied Bacon  - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Roasted Chicken W Corn Souffle - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Lemon Pound Cake With Blueberry Thyme Chutney - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Smores Brulee - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Brunchbox - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Mocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fade To Black Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Cubano Sandwich - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Arugala Salad With Goat Cheese - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Challah French Toast - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Chicago Style Hot Dog - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Watermelon Salad - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Potato Leek Soup - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Grilled Salmon - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Maple Glazed Pork Chop - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Steak Salad - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Braised Pork Belly With Fig Pizza - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pan Seared Walleye, Blue Hill Bay Mussels, Wild Rice, Tomato Garlic Broth - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Spiced Bread Pudding With Pumpkin Ice Cream - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Roasted Chicken - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fallen Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Bread Pudding With Peppermint Ice Cream  - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Jungle Bird Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Snagletooth Beer - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Manhattan - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pulled Pork Sandwich - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Buffalo Breakfast Flip Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Roast Duck For Two - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Beef Carpaccio - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Molasses Bbq Pork Loin - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Loaded Grilled Cheese Sandwich - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Seared Sea Scallops - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Red and golden beets with goat cheese and blood orange vinaigrette - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Fresh Water White Fish With Portabella Mushrooms - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Buffalo Short Ribs - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Seafood Stew - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Skirt Steak With Shrimp And Pineapple - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Strawberry & Blueberry Yogurt Parfait - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Juicy Lucy Burger - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Grilled Rabbit Sausage  - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Seared Ahi Tuna - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Beef tenderloin - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Cozy By The Fire Cocktail - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Beet Salad - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Strawberry-Duck Flatbread - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Mac & Cheese With Peas - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Pan Seared Tilapia - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Stuffed Baby Pumpkin - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Lamb Belly - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Foiegras - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
pan seared duck breast - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Sauteed White Fish - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Braised Pork Belly With Spelt Porraige & Peach Glaze - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Vegetable Stuffed Red Pepper - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Mac & Cheese - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Parppardella Pasta With Braised Lamb - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Whitefish With Wild Rice - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Grilled Cheese - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL
Sea Scallop - South Water Kitchen, Chicago, IL

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join SWK Christmas Eve for a seasonal brunch 7a-3pm

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Bubbles & Cheers at SWK to ring in the New Year!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

South Water Kitchen can accomodate groups of 10-50 in our spacious, newly remodeled River Room. Our large bay windows provide a breathtaking view of the Chicago River making this gorgeous space the perfect setting for any occasion, large or small.

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (14)
Casual (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice breakfast place to catch up with a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Nice breakfast place to catch up with a friend. Sat for 1.5 hours, no hassles, unobtrusive and pleasant service, generous portions. Not noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Adjacent to the Hotel Monaco at Wabash a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Adjacent to the Hotel Monaco at Wabash and Wacker. Comfortable with dark wood and white tile floors. Rest rooms are on the second floor of the hotel, so not particularly low mobility-friendly. Fantastic brunch cocktails and mocktails; I had a lavender soda with blackberries, lavender syrup and lemon juice that was delicious. My breakfast burger made with a beef and port patty, bacon and egg with hollandaise on a bun was very tasty and just a skosh dry. Cost for brunch for two was around $50 without a tip. Excellent, attentive service and a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The appetizer pretzels were very dry, al ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The appetizer pretzels were very dry, although the mustard for said pretzels was great, very spicy. We ordered 2 SWK burgers and kid sliders. The burgers were good. I ordered the burger medium rare and it was cooked to perfection. The mac and cheese was awesome as were the garlic fries! We also ordered the carrot cake twinkies and they were also very dry. I did not send anything back, not my style unless there is something floating in a drink or a foreign object on the plate.

This was my first time at SWK and I would definitely go back although I'd skip the pretzels and carrot cake. To be clear I'd likely go back out of convenience of the location more than "I have to go back because the food is to die for!" It's not to die for but good. There are definitely far better burgers out there for $20.

The ambiance was great as is the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was outstanding. Service was great. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was great. Probably will go back again tonight. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed. That about sums it up. I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Disappointed. That about sums it up. I had not been to the South Water Kitchen in years, so I thought it was time to see what I have been missing. What I found is that I have not missed anything. The atmosphere is nice enough and we were seated promptly, but the attitude of the waiter left a lot to be desired. The restaurant was not that busy - there was no waiting for a table, but the waiter acted like he could not get rid of us fast enough. We saw him three times during our visit: To order drinks, to order food and to pay the bill. When we ordered coffee, he returned with a lukewarm cup of coffee that had obviously been sitting around for hours. I won't be returning again anytime soon, if ever.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Monday night was a half off wine special ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Monday night was a half off wine special so we treated ourselves to an excellent Syrah. Nice treat. Fall menu was very good but I suggest you avoid the buffalo osso bucco. The meat needed another day or two to simmer as it was too tough for my taste. Fortunately, the waiter immediately suggested that I send it back and returned with an excellent duck breast. I really appreciated this as I would have struggled though with the buffalo and not enjoyed the meal. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed 1/2 off bo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed 1/2 off bottle of wine on Sundays. Food was excellent! I had the salmon which was cooked perfectly and my friend said her burger was delicious. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting menu with great food. A nice ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Interesting menu with great food. A nice place to get a great meal at a fair price. Really good deviled eggs!! Service is really good as well. I'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tasty food...not a big menu but what we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Tasty food...not a big menu but what we ate was savory and exquisite.

Love the cuscus and the duck mixed within it was soft and meaty.

The pork belly was a little on the grease side but juicy.

The salmon was a little overdone but eatable.

The salad was fresh and good.

The desserts were delicious...we asked for the bread pudding and the german chocolate with coconut the latter one superb.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We requested a table near the windows th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We requested a table near the windows through open table. There were many tables open by the windows, but they sat us in the lower level- a little disappointing.

We had a great server and the PBJ sandwich was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was bland, with no flavor. Had brea ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was bland, with no flavor. Had breakfast on the weekend and was looking everywhere for something to add flavor to the eggs such as Cholula or hell, even ketchup. Server took our order and never came back until I asked him for the check. Not worth the high cost either. Definitely do not recommend this place for breakfast. Does have nice ambiance, not too loud, but that's really the only good thing I can say about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Pro: superb cocktails. Excellent, creat ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Pro: superb cocktails. Excellent, creative food, perfectly cooked. Great value on the prix fixe menu. Only criticism food-wise is that some bread with the soup would have been appreciated (soup was good enough to clean the bowl, but no bread to do it with).

Con: Service was a little scattered and inattentive. First course arrived before drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great menu that's fairly priced. Salmon, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great menu that's fairly priced. Salmon, deviled eggs, mango sorbet and pumpkin pie were outstanding. Very easy to get to/find.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were greeted properly. The waiter was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were greeted properly. The waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu. My only concern is that they advertised dessert wine and it wasn't sweet according to the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience. Our waitr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Our waitress was probably the best waitress I ever had. She was informative and helpful and very pleasant. The food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waitress. Helpful but not pushy. P ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great waitress. Helpful but not pushy. Pre Fix was a good deal

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

It was generally good, but all a bit off ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

It was generally good, but all a bit off. The fish a bit salty, the risotto a little undercooked. So, pretty good, but could have been a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This restaurant rocks! Try the flat bre ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This restaurant rocks!

Try the flat bread appetizers. Tomato heirloom and buffalo chicken.

Waiter recommended the dinner prix fixe menu...deviled eggs and pea tendrils as starters, salmon dish, lamb shoulder, and risotto (to die for) as main courses, and bourben bread pudding finished of a great meal. Decoy merlot washed it all down

We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prix fixe meal was a good deal (appe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The prix fixe meal was a good deal (appetizer, entree and dessert for $34), given the a la cart prices. The preparations were ok, but the salmon quality was mediocre. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was fine but not stellar. Mea ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Everything was fine but not stellar. Meat a bit overdone, everything a bit under seasoned. Wait staff was overly eager to be attentive and then disappeared for a while. Beware the trashy noisy drunks during happy hour. Not a bad experience but not really worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We had an nice breakfast on a sunday mor ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had an nice breakfast on a sunday morning. The service and food was very, and I would definitely recommend this place. The waitress was sweet and helpfull with our questions about the menu and served us fast and nice. The coffee (I had the cappuccino) wasn't exactly what I hoped, but it was okay

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The drinks were delicious. The SWK Burge ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The drinks were delicious. The SWK Burger was amazing I'd definitely get it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The street corner setting and warm exper ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

The street corner setting and warm experience plus the old town vibes were great. We knew right off our waiter was new to the job and nervous, but very friendly. All he needs is time. The food was fresh and flavorful. After reading your online menu about local family farm raised meats, was the reason you were chosen. But no mention of it on our lunch menu. Will go back again.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Had a fantastic meal here with a busines ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Had a fantastic meal here with a business associate. Our waiter Jack was AMAZING and took great care with our entire meal. The prix fixe menu was a stellar deal, and our cocktails were perfect. Would go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lunch pre fixe menu was great. Deviled ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Lunch pre fixe menu was great. Deviled eggs with bacon, pulled pork and a decadent German chocolate cake. Great service/help by Jesus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was atrocious. The waiter w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The service was atrocious. The waiter was completely inattentive. For context the restaurant was not slammed, he presumably had something better to do. The food was good but the service was lacking and I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Water Street Kitchen never disappoints. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Water Street Kitchen never disappoints. Great food and outstanding service. Thanks much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We loved the black rice - very tasty & m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We loved the black rice - very tasty & memorable!

The restaurant is on a prominent ground floor corner of the Hotel Monaco in the loop. It would be convenient for anyone going to a show. We had no problem seating a large group here as there are several good options. It wasn't very busy for a Friday night at 8 pm and we were not sure why so the atmosphere was not as lively as it could have been. The decor is modern and fresh and the prices were what you'd expect but not outrageous.

We had a table of seven and everyone enjoyed their food overall and the service was spot on. Our food choices included the deviled eggs (mustard is very pronounced, which we liked but not everyone may), duck breast with cherry and the pork tenderloin.

Some of us tried some of their hand crafted cocktails, I liked The Professor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was awesome! Had to take photos of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was awesome! Had to take photos of each delicious dish. I especially liked the unique grilled salmon entree.

Fun atmosphere. Our server, Sean, was friendly & very professional. Great value for a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Somewhat dull. Food was over salted and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Somewhat dull. Food was over salted and lacked imagination

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Love the salmon with black rice. The br ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Love the salmon with black rice. The bread pudding is delicious. My favorite drink at this restaurant is the "professor".

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Quick service and the food was excellent ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Quick service and the food was excellent. We truly enjoyed our servers, Denise and Alfredo! They made our experience outstanding by being both attentive as well as entertaining! Also a shout out to the bar tender of the year for making us some customized after dinner cocktails! We would definitely go back again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was an off night so there were very f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

It was an off night so there were very few people dining. This allowed the staff to be very attentive to our needs. The food options were great and the flavors were delicious. We asked staff for their favorites and ordered some of their suggestions. One of the suggestions was The bread pudding. It was to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the lamb burger and it was perfect! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Had the lamb burger and it was perfect! Excellent portion sizes and they handled my gluten-free food perfectly! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cocktails and menu are both innovati ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The cocktails and menu are both innovative...we enjoyed the pork roast and lamb shoulder...beautifully seasoned!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great dinner at the bar watching sports.

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great dinner at the bar watching sports.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good atmosphere but food was served cold ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good atmosphere but food was served cold and not great tasting. However we were not charged for some of the less desirable items which we appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We reserved a table for a Saturday at 7: ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We reserved a table for a Saturday at 7:30 based on the rating on Opentable and menu. We were concerned when we arrived to find the place deserted, despite the time of day and location of this restaurant just off Wacker. It became clear soon enough why this place is not making it. The food was very mediocre. I ordered the lamb shoulder, which they has amazingly sold out of, despite the fact there were only maybe three tables of patrons. I ended up with a steak which, while ordered medium well, was burned to a crisp. My daughter's risotto was chewy. My wife's flat bread was virtually uncooked. It had large clumps of cheese that had not even melted. It was largely inedible. This place is unlikely to make it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent food and service with a top no ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food and service with a top notch drink menu

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not very many people there but delicious ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Not very many people there but delicious food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.