About South Water Kitchen

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Midwestern cooking. Our local roots run deep, so on our menus you’ll find market-inspired Midwestern fare like pork loin with butternut hotcakes, wild mushroom pot pie, and deviled eggs with applewood smoked bacon—all made with fine ingredients from regional family farms.

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
W Wacker Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Red Line at the Lake St

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

South Water Kitchen can accomodate groups of 10-50 in our spacious, newly remodeled River Room. Our large bay windows provide a breathtaking view of the Chicago River making this gorgeous space the perfect setting for any occasion, large or small.

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Casual (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Healthy (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
People Watching (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fun (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Waterfront (4)
Great Beer (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 18 hours ago

The food was ok, not great and the prices for the quality were outrageous. I don't like to bad mouth restaurants. I know how hard it is to get things right. But this place was just an awful all around experience. Maybe this is just a Sunday thing. I have read other bad reviews from people dining her on Sundays. But that's no excuse. If you want blah food from a tired, unenthusiastic wait staff that's overpriced, then take your chances with this place. Otherwise you can go to just about any other place in the neighborhood and fair better. Seriously, I don't understand the open table ratings on this one. At best this is a solid one to two stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Sat outside for brunch. Food was quick and delicious. Service attentive. Bloody Mary way too spicy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

I love Southwater. The food is out of this world! And priced right!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Attentive service. Ordered salads and were in and out quickly. Consistently good food at reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Loved the creative menu! The olives were delicious, would definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was great. We had the salmon which was paired well with fresh vegetables and the oven roasted chicken which just melted in your mouth. The presentation was also creative. We enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Limited menu but food is very good and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was excellent!
Service was very good!
Had a great time!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a wonderful Mother's Day here. Food was delicious and the gluten free mac and cheese was amazing! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food good, but pricey and small portions. Ordered butter pecan ice cream for dessert, got something different...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Very pleased. Large portions of lovely food! Professional service and friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This is a solid restaurant. Good food, good service. We went here before a show at the Oriental theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've been to the South Water Kitchen quite a few times, but this was the best breakfast I've ever had there. Not sure what changed or if it was just my lucky day... but I'm quite pleased!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food & Service were very good. Too much noise & light.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and service, but the main seating area was closed because it was a Sunday. So we were in a small dining area on the main floor that wasn't nearly as nice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We made a reservation for 16, were seated immediately, were able to add NINE more people to our group with no fuss and our waiter never so much as cringed. In fact, he broke up the bill into individual checks before we even started to figure out among us how to pay with the least trouble. The food came out all at the same time, the bloody mary was spicy and delicious, and everyone left well satisfied. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

You can definitely get a seat. No need to make a reservation. The food was so so. The experience was so so. The water was so so. Nothing bad mind you, but we won't be racing to go back or return at all for that matter. It just wasn't anything other than a medium place. Even the martini was so so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had dinner here before a CSO concert. We each had a well-prepared cocktail, neither of which was on the menu. Salmon with succotash was very good. My friend made a meal from appetizers and was quite happy. Key Iime panna cotta was too firm, and not much lime flavor, but was pretty good anyway. Quite loud in the area where we sat because of many after work parties. Bar scene is pretty lively. Sun setting created *very* bright reflection from the building across the street into the room. I've been to this restaurant before, but it was a long time ago. I would say it has improved.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had the small plates and share items. All were good. The pretzels were my favorite. Jalapeño salt was a nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was so so good. The service was awesome . It was a nice restaurant and quiet to talk. They were willing to accomodate all our request. It was one of the best restaurants I ate at while in Chicago,

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Real good food / liked the pre-fix lunch choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wait staff was great and very informative. Good suggestions on house-made cocktails. Food presentation was excellent to match taste. Great restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Really appreciated the wait staff's attention to detail regarding allergies alerted in my Open Table reservation. Service overall was top notch. Ability to get food with gluten allergy, dairy allergy, and sesame allergy is most welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food quality was lower than usual for South Water and server was slow and not attentive which was surprising since they only had a few tables in on Sunday evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The recommendations made by our server, Victoria, were spot on. Attentive, friendly staff and great food. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was top notch. Only complaint was were seated in a section that was crowded with very loud, 40 somethings, reminiscing their college days and drinking the night away. Not a good choice for seating our family of 5 with young teens there.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Service was just okay and not alot of options on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great service! The risotto was delicious. The scallops were fantastic and made the plate, but the rice and sweet potatoes were very bland. Drinks were very good as usual! Will definitely be back. One of our favorite spots!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Amir was a great waiter. Nice spot to chillax!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I was attending a conference in Chicago and was looking for a restaurant that wasn't overflowing with people and wasn't ear-splitting in noise level, like much of Chicago's vibrant restaurant scene. I was attracted first to South Water Kitchen's interesting cocktail list; their plethora of gluten-free options sealed the deal.

The restaurant did not disappoint. It was cozy and had a serene vibe, where one could really appreciate the dining experience without it being stuffy. I had the Cabin by the Sea cocktail which was delicious, and also a Midwestern hard cider that I had not tried before. For starters, I had the deviled eggs which were quite good, and I had the gluten-free burger for my main dish. It was a huge burger, so I didn't need any sides with it. The smoked tomatoes were delicious, and the burger was of good quality meat. I might suggest the restaurant consider one of the many gluten-free buns available, instead of bread, because it did fall apart quite easily, but that's a minor quibble.

Service was just fine and I had a good table for people watching the street scene outside, which included a brief thunderstorm. If I'm in the Chicago area again, I would definitely revisit.

Tags: People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So accomodating for my food allergies. Great service, great atmosphere...loved this place!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This was a dinner for one. The food and service we're good. I found them through open table and liked what I saw. Great place! No complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food quality was not what I would expect for the price I paid. SWK burger was massive but lack on taste.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Romantic dinner. Great ambiance, service was outstanding - really accommodated our needs. Food was wonderful and abundant!! Short ribs were excellent and flourless chocolate cake... to die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The waiter was extremely rude and it really took a toll on the dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I ordered from the gluten free menu , informed server I was gluten free and was served something with gluten nonetheless. It was either the sauce on the pork shoulder or the 'flourless' chocolate cake. I suspect the former based on the timing of the onset of my symptoms. I was very ill. I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Went there because of the location. Food was good but not something I would have to go back for. I know it is a high rent area but the wine and food was pricey.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Delicious food! Great service! Definitely satisfied with overall experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Place was fairy empty, kind of run down, not a very attractive interior. Kids food was fine but hard to mess up chicken fingers. Salad was gritty for some reason, soft pretzels were a bit stale, short rib was a dry, burger was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.