About South Water Kitchen

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Midwestern cooking. Our local roots run deep, so on our menus you’ll find market-inspired Midwestern fare like pork loin with butternut hotcakes, wild mushroom pot pie, and deviled eggs with applewood smoked bacon—all made with fine ingredients from regional family farms.

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
W Wacker Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Red Line at the Lake St

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Romantic (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
2193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

I've never been disappointed at South Water Kitchen -- whether it's been for dinner, lunch, drinks, brunch, whatever -- food and service have been terrific, and it's all been very reasonably priced. Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and the service were excellent!! Ambiance was a little quiet, but we were there quite early.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Cocktails were amazing. Just had apps - mac and cheese was great. Sweet potato fries were good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Slightly limited and somewhat pricey lunch menu. I had a hamburger - cooked as ordered and cheese was put on burger just long enough to melt and still discernibly taste. Good local ingredients. Mac n cheese with white cheddar was a bit too "white-cheddary" for my taste. Everybody's trying to doctor up Mac n cheese, but baked with comfort (not artsy) cheese and big macaroni noodles always hits the spot. No matter what else you put in it.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Have to try tbe deviled eggs and PBJ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I was looking for a good meal on my own near Millennium Park on a Sunday, and liked what I saw of the menu and reviews. I chose the prix fix menu, which gave you a choice of several items in each column (appetizer, entree, dessert). The food was good, although not great. What was really unpleasant was how long each course took to reach me. The restaurant was nearly empty, and the servers seemed to spend their time chatting with each other. They were friendly enough, but I don't understand why everything took so long. If you're in company and enjoying speaking to each other in a leisurely meal, then this might be just the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 18, 2017

I don't usually write reviews but our dining experience was so exceptional that I need to give feedback. Our table was ready when we arrived and were given a friendly welcome. It was our anniversary and we were treated like royalty. The chef offered a special appetizer. Our waiter, Emir, was knowledgeable, helpful and always responsive but also gave us our space. Other staff were attentive AND THE FOOD WAS INCREDIBLE! Everything was served hot and delicious! We look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The deviled eggs, garlic fries with aioli and bourbon bread pudding were all exquisite. The chicken Caesar salad as well as the poached salmon salad were both very good but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Easy to get a table at 8:00 on a Saturday evening after pre-theatre crowd. Food is small-plates and very unique...so were drinks! Even thought the restaurant wasn't busy they tried to seat us right by front door and hostess stand. We table-hopped 3x.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Few choices. Salads are not really salads but come w a mountain of starch and (mostly tasteless) protein.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Perfect spot for a group meeting with shareable bites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was good but service from hostess and waiter was lacking: they forgot to seat us even though we had a reservation and then the waiter was very slow bringing food (it was lukewarm at best) and the silverware we needed to eat!

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We ordered some small plates to share and everything was just average, but the pretzel bites were TERRIBLE! Hard as a rock, I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Salmon potion huge, mou st, flavorful. Walleye portion delicious, but small. Bourbon pecan bread pudding awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went for lunch prior to a theater show. They were attentive and made sure we were out in plenty of time to get to the show.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Nice location, quiet spot. Food is overpriced (i.e., rest of Loop), but tasty. Needs to have a separate gluten free menu in order for our group to frequent more often.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Solid Loop dining option. Has been in business 15 years. Good burgers. Nothing my party ordered was special or spectacular, but it was tasty. Portions not too big or too small. Service was good until the waitstaff kept asking me if I was done, repeatedly, apparently because others in my party has finished eating their meals. There were plenty of open tables and was not the when there would be a staff shift, so I found that just annoying. Especially once I was done, and clearly signaled I was by moving my empty dishes to side of the table for clearing & waited & then had my credit card out, then waitress took off before I could hand credit card to her.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Prompt service, food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

The cocktails were interesting and some of the menu items were unique, such as a vegan pea soup that was light, creamy, and absolutely delicious. Perhaps the best salmon I have ever had in a restaurant. The service had just the right blend of attentiveness without disruption. It was an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The service was horrible way understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Half Marathon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Delicious! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful service and food. The certified gluten free menu was also wonderful. There were many great tasting options. Will definitely eat here when in Chicago.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good for just eating - not memorable - not special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great for a delicious, quick, sit down lunch on a weekday with friends or clients

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Was close to the hotel. Largely empty on a Saturday night except foralarge loud private party. Food was mediocre, not worth the price.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food! Wonderful attentive service! Loved eating right out on the street in Chicago. Barbecue sliders were delicious!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Just a hotel bar, small menu with a mediocre food quality., nothing special. Outside sitting is the only positive point to mention

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent menu selections overall. Portions adequate and food was fresh with a nice presentation and use of colors on plate. Loved the cast iron skillet for the Mac and cheese.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

SWK Burger is great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

There were four people in our party, with each of us choosing a different entree, and each person's choice was excellent. The mojitos were fabulous also!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had brunch on a Sunday morning. My wife had the french toast. She is very picky on what is good French toast. As good as her own which is quite the compliment. My buttermilk pancake was melt in your mouth delicious.

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Bad experience. We left after appetizers to eat elsewhere. Restaurant practically empty at 8 pm on a Saturday night. Understandable. Mediocre to inedible food. Over-smoked bitter shiitakes in pea soup that was too starchy. Inedible plastic-like hard cheese bits in the mac and cheese -- we are still wondering what they were, or if it was a mistake. Deviled eggs were decent, but honestly it's hard to mess up a hard boiled egg. Don't understand the positive reviews, we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Wonderful place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Highly recommend! Great location and food was outstanding. We came on a Sunday morning for brunch with a total of 9 and service was outstanding too. Thank you! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Seafood prep was excellent, and out sever was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Late-night Find, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Their $22 prix fixe lunch menu is a great value for choice of deviled eggs, romaine salad, or sweet pea soup; chicken or pulled pork sandwich; and German chocolate cake or bourbon pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We ate here for our anniversary and prior to attending Hamilton. My wife has a variety of food allergies and they addressed all of them. We returned the following day for lunch and the Maitre dess obviously remembered us and simply gave my wife the gluten free menu. This was impressive because the night before was a pretty busy Saturday dinner night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Came here for my friends 21st birthday brunch with a group of 15 girls and everything was great! Fast service, great food, and they even brought out a round of mimosas (on the house!), bowls of fruit and treated us to cake at the end for the birthday. Will be back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This was a great place for a laid back, team (business) dinner. We sat right below the window and got to wave to everyone walking by. Food was delicious. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.