About South Water Kitchen

225 N. Wabash Ave.
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

South Water Kitchen, adjacent to Chicago's hip Hotel Monaco, is a neighborhood restaurant offering American Midwestern cooking. Our local roots run deep, so on our menus you’ll find market-inspired Midwestern fare like pork loin with butternut hotcakes, wild mushroom pot pie, and deviled eggs with applewood smoked bacon—all made with fine ingredients from regional family farms.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 7:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Everyday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm. Tavern: 3:00pm-Close.

Cross Street:
W Wacker Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 236-9300

Website:
http://www.southwaterkitchen.com/

Catering:
Full Service menu created to order.

Parking Details:
South Water Kitchen discounted parking available after 5pm and out by 1am, with restaurant validation.

Regular Rates:
0-3hrs $22
3-6 hrs $28
6-12 hrs $32

Public Transit:
Red Line at the Lake St

Executive Chef:
Roger Waysok

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit our website for upcoming special events.

www.southwaterkitchen.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM

Fri 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

South Water Kitchen can accomodate groups of 10-50 in our spacious, newly remodeled River Room. Our large bay windows provide a breathtaking view of the Chicago River making this gorgeous space the perfect setting for any occasion, large or small.

South Water Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (19)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
See All
Comfort Food (11)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Waterfront (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Fireplace (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Romantic (3)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2103 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Varied brunch menu and gluten free menu ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Varied brunch menu and gluten free menu for one diner was great.

Server - Sean was fun and attentive without hovering.

First time we've eaten at South Water Kitchen . We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

SWK never disappoints. Great service. Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

SWK never disappoints. Great service. The reuben as an addition addition on the new menu is excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views of the Corn Cob buildings, n ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great views of the Corn Cob buildings, next to the Chicago River, conveniently connected to the Monaco Hotel. Great brunch menu. Loved the Bloody Mary Chicago style - nice and spicey! Check it out.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It's always perfect. One of the best bu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It's always perfect. One of the best burgers I've ever had.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Cozy, Waterfront, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the restaurant was good. The var ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Overall the restaurant was good. The variety of the appetizers and menu as a whole is not as broad as I would have liked, but the food they do have available was good. I would suggest the burger.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have passed this restaurant many time ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have passed this restaurant many times, and this was our first visit. We thought from the outside it would be a "dive" or at best very plain inside. We were wrong. This is a very nice restaurant - it looks upscale inide. And the food was delicious and very reasonably priced.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

South Water Kitchen is one of our favori ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

South Water Kitchen is one of our favorite go-to restaurants! The food, drinks and service are always personalized and outstanding! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We've been to the restaurant before and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We've been to the restaurant before and given the distance to my hotel and convenience on a cold day, thought we would go to the same place. We had a reservation for a Friday evening and it was not busy so were seated right away. I had the chicken with baby carrots as my entree and it was flavorful. We enjoyed our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

SWK was selected for a business dinner ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

SWK was selected for a business dinner due to flexible menu and location. SWK was conveniently located, has a great atmosphere, etc. The service was very good. Three of the five of us were very satisfied with dinner. One person didn't care for their meal at all. The drink menu and beer/wine selection was very good. 1/2 bottles of wine on Monday night is a nice benefit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Of the three dinners, one (Salmon) was g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Of the three dinners, one (Salmon) was great, one (Chicken) was good, but the other (scallops) was fair to poor. The Scallops taste was sweet and not as good as most other restaurants serving the same.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Absolutely brilliant! The food was perfe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely brilliant! The food was perfection and our waiter did an absolutely amazing job. Definitely coming back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Authentic, Family Style, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wished there'd been Christmas decoration ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wished there'd been Christmas decorations, or some sort of holiday recognition

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I attended a show in the theater distric ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I attended a show in the theater district and decided to look up reviews of restaurants in the area. The reviews were very good and so I decided to give South Water Kitchen a try. I have to admit this was very good experience. The decor, food, drinks and service were all very good. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great find - really good food and inte ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A great find - really good food and interesting drink and beer choices. Upbeat atmosphere, but not so loud that you can't have conversation. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was the first time we have been to ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was the first time we have been to South Water Kitchen. We had a large party of 9, with a couple of vegetarians and a picky pre-teen. Everyone enjoyed their meal (the best of our visit) and the service was awesome. This will become a regular stop when we are in Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice experience and service was fan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very nice experience and service was fantastic! Food was very good and portions were perfect. Had a really nice time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, and the waiter was nic ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was good, and the waiter was nice. The food was not great. We had to send my steak back because it was rare when I ordered medium and the deviled eggs tasted sour and not really like egg at all.

For the price we paid, the value isn't there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

When visiting Chicago at Christmas we se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 23, 2016

When visiting Chicago at Christmas we search out restaurants that are within walking distance of our motel as we ride the train in from Michigan. This was close to our motel. We had a great unique breakfast and actually liked it so well we returned for lunch the next day. Will be on our list for the next visit to the city.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food choices had excellent variety. Were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food choices had excellent variety. Were able to accommodate all types of palettes, including vegan, vegetarian, and meat lovers. Nice spin on classic dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was excellent. Friendly, attenti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Waiter was excellent. Friendly, attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Took a client to a late dinner at SWK af ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Took a client to a late dinner at SWK after unable to get a rez at Petterino's. My client was in from South Carolina & not used to Chicago weather. My client is a vegetarian & loved everything about SWK. Our meals were reasonably priced, the service was well paced & friendly, and we did not feel rushed in any way. My only quibble was the lack of valet parking on a cold night. SWK is in the Hotel Monaco; when I contacted the hotel about valet parking I was advised that the service is provided to hotel guests only. Other than that, the evening was perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was very good. A great location for a meal before or after the theater.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a group of 10 and it was very hel ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a group of 10 and it was very helpful to be able to make a reservation for breakfast (which can be hard to do in the Loop on a weekend). Our server, Sean, was great - super friendly and efficient in taking care of our large party. Most of us stuck with the classic Two Eggs breakfast and the food was tasty and plentiful and they have a kids menu (including crayons!).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Who knew deviled eggs could be SO delici ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Who knew deviled eggs could be SO delicious! Hot drinks, hit the spot on a cold winter's night. Wait staff was friendly and very attentive! We appreciated the complimentary desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent but food just so s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service was excellent but food just so so. Everything seemed under cooked--Brussels, acorn squash and risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Love this place

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and location for pre-theater. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Good food and location for pre-theater. Bourbon Pecan Bread Pudding a must!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy this restaurant and go with fri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We enjoy this restaurant and go with friend groups fairly often. Nice Place!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

SWK is a perennial favorite! My husband ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

SWK is a perennial favorite! My husband and I go to The Christmas Carol at the Goodman Theatre with a good friend every year. Dinner at SWK has been a wonderful part of that tradition for six or more years now. We were inside all cozy and warm...watching the first snow of the season fall outside...enjoying each others' company...and enjoying an excellent meal. Perfect!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately I wasn't impressed by my b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Unfortunately I wasn't impressed by my breakfast at the South Water Kitchen. I have eaten there before. But , this time I was rather disappointed. I took friends there because of past experiences. Although the food came quickly, it wasn't really hot. Our order was mixed up and the toast was burnt. There were lipstick stains on several coffee cups. I will try the Kitchen again. Hopefully, it will be a better next time.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Some friends and I got together here for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Some friends and I got together here for lunch and a pre-holiday gathering. The atmosphere was great, our waiter was charming and knowledgeable of the menu, service was good, food was fresh and tasty; love this establishment. A touch of class with some casual spice. It was great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South Water Kitchen is a fine place to e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

South Water Kitchen is a fine place to enjoy conversation over a meal or drink. Early 20th century barroom décor (lover the hexagonal floor tiles). Menu is combination of comfort and some creative dishes. Great bar. Courteous, efficient but unobtrusive servers. Very good value. Definitely a place to visit regularly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice breakfast place to catch up with a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Nice breakfast place to catch up with a friend. Sat for 1.5 hours, no hassles, unobtrusive and pleasant service, generous portions. Not noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Adjacent to the Hotel Monaco at Wabash a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Adjacent to the Hotel Monaco at Wabash and Wacker. Comfortable with dark wood and white tile floors. Rest rooms are on the second floor of the hotel, so not particularly low mobility-friendly. Fantastic brunch cocktails and mocktails; I had a lavender soda with blackberries, lavender syrup and lemon juice that was delicious. My breakfast burger made with a beef and port patty, bacon and egg with hollandaise on a bun was very tasty and just a skosh dry. Cost for brunch for two was around $50 without a tip. Excellent, attentive service and a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The appetizer pretzels were very dry, al ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The appetizer pretzels were very dry, although the mustard for said pretzels was great, very spicy. We ordered 2 SWK burgers and kid sliders. The burgers were good. I ordered the burger medium rare and it was cooked to perfection. The mac and cheese was awesome as were the garlic fries! We also ordered the carrot cake twinkies and they were also very dry. I did not send anything back, not my style unless there is something floating in a drink or a foreign object on the plate.

This was my first time at SWK and I would definitely go back although I'd skip the pretzels and carrot cake. To be clear I'd likely go back out of convenience of the location more than "I have to go back because the food is to die for!" It's not to die for but good. There are definitely far better burgers out there for $20.

The ambiance was great as is the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was outstanding. Service was great. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was outstanding. Service was great. Probably will go back again tonight. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed. That about sums it up. I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Disappointed. That about sums it up. I had not been to the South Water Kitchen in years, so I thought it was time to see what I have been missing. What I found is that I have not missed anything. The atmosphere is nice enough and we were seated promptly, but the attitude of the waiter left a lot to be desired. The restaurant was not that busy - there was no waiting for a table, but the waiter acted like he could not get rid of us fast enough. We saw him three times during our visit: To order drinks, to order food and to pay the bill. When we ordered coffee, he returned with a lukewarm cup of coffee that had obviously been sitting around for hours. I won't be returning again anytime soon, if ever.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Monday night was a half off wine special ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Monday night was a half off wine special so we treated ourselves to an excellent Syrah. Nice treat. Fall menu was very good but I suggest you avoid the buffalo osso bucco. The meat needed another day or two to simmer as it was too tough for my taste. Fortunately, the waiter immediately suggested that I send it back and returned with an excellent duck breast. I really appreciated this as I would have struggled though with the buffalo and not enjoyed the meal. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed 1/2 off bo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed 1/2 off bottle of wine on Sundays. Food was excellent! I had the salmon which was cooked perfectly and my friend said her burger was delicious. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting menu with great food. A nice ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Interesting menu with great food. A nice place to get a great meal at a fair price. Really good deviled eggs!! Service is really good as well. I'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.