About South on Main

1304 Main St
Little Rock, AR 72202
View Larger Map

South on Main is a revolutionary cultural experience that brings the Oxford American magazine to life with the best food, literature, music, and film of the South. The multi-discipline programming will provide a forum for established as well as unknown artists to perform in front of a sophisticated and appreciative audience.

Chef Matthew Bell will lead a team of chefs to serve Southern cuisine that’s both reflective and innovative, making patrons’ experience a full culinary, artistic, and educational immersion in Southern culture.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, American, Soul food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(501) 244-9660

Website:
http://www.southonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Free concerts every Wednesday night. Ticketed concerts once or twice a month. Check www.southonmain.com to see our full calendar of entertainment.

Parking Details:
Large parking lot across the street, intended for South on Main customers only.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Bell

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Burnette - laurel@southonmain.com: (501) 244-9660x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • South on Main
South on Main

South on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Little Rock
Best Ambiance
Little Rock
Best Value
Little Rock
5 More
Most Booked
Little Rock
Best Overall
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Best Ambiance
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Best Value
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Most Booked
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Best Restaurants in Little Rock ›

neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (20)
good for groups (15)
See All
special occasion (15)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (11)
romantic (10)
notable wine list (6)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed it!!! The food was DELICIOUS. ...

Dined 5 days ago

I enjoyed it!!! The food was DELICIOUS. I had the Rib entrée and it was everything...I will definitely be back to try the steak!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was absolutly fantastic!!! W ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our dinner was absolutly fantastic!!! We saw Ruthie Foster ,so entertainment was great!!! Loved the whole experience. We saw Doug Duffy this time. He is an old friend, and he is so very talented. I am very happy with our whole experience. I intend to become a regular patron. Love it !!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Five stars

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food and service. Neat atmosphere. A/c working too well but otherwise excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique and outstanding.

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Seeing the catfish on the menu is what brought us in. But I ended up ordering the trout , my husband had the burger and my daughter had the ribs. All of them sere delicious. You must try the boudin balls! And the fries are the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

What a pleasure

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great menu that was accompanied by wait staff that placed no pressure on time or need to order. Food was creative using unique ingredients like rabbit and boudin. The ambience was conducive to good conversation without being loud. Of course, we ate dinner before the live music that would have made it difficult to converse.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious. The pork chop ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was delicious. The pork chop was so juicy and flavorful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing food in a weird town

Dined on May 7, 2016

Little Rock, Arkansas is a really weird town that doesn't have much going for it. South on Main, though, was incredible for any location. Probably the best meal that I have ever had in a restaurant. As an added bonus, it is part of the Oxford American...great magazine!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Southern Cooking

Dined on May 7, 2016

In town visiting our son and his fiancee, so it was our first time here. Had reservations on a Friday night and were promptly seated. Waiter was attentive but not overbearing - we were enjoying good conversation and he let us do so. Drinks arrived as needed. Enjoyed the appetizers of boudin balls and bbq shrimp. Both men had the rabbit; both women had the trout. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will return.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food, slow service

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and drinks are both great here. We were very disappointed in the slow service. When we arrived there were less than 10 other patrons but it took us flagging down our waiter for him to take our order and that was after we waited for 10 minutes. This trend continued through the night. Would question visiting this establishment in the future.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Return Visit

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

A pre-show dinner with similar results as before included good food, good service and atmosphere. One thing was outstanding: The amount of food! The rib plate was MASSIVE as was the three pot dip appetizer. Dishes were prepared as describe, we hot and prompt. Attentive service with appropriate interest and good knowledge of the menu. Quick in and out dinner that did not disappoint.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. Great blend of tra ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was amazing. Great blend of traditional food with modern elements.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible eats! A must for foodies, hi ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Incredible eats! A must for foodies, hipsters, young professionals and peppered professionals alike.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accomadating

Dined on April 16, 2016

Made a reservation for a Friday meal and needed to change the party number a night before dinner. Staff was very helpful and more than willing to accommodate. Food, service, and atmosphere were superb; always are!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite food, cocktails, and service!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We went to SoM for my wife's birthday dinner. It was recommended by a local, and she was right on the money. We went at around 5:45pm on a Saturday, and had no trouble bring seated before our 6:15pm reservation. We ordered a couple of classic cocktails and skillet bread first. The drinks were fabulous and the skillet bread was topped with bleu cheese and buffalo chicken. It was delicious! Our main courses were delivered after we finished our appetizer and they were hot and perfectly cooked. I had the striped bass and my wife had the "double." (Look it up) Our waitress was never pushy and our glasses were never empty. After dinner we had a piece of authentic strawberry shortcake to round off the meal. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at South on Main and will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

NO VEGAN CHOICES!!!!very disappointed!! ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

NO VEGAN CHOICES!!!!very disappointed!!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South on Main rocks!

Dined on March 31, 2016

Finally went to South on Main last week and cannot recommend it highly enough. Interesting, diverse menu, exquisitely executed. Very cool atmosphere. Excellent service. Can't wait to try the brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Unique restaurant, poor execution

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

We were very excited about this place when we looked at the menu. All of the unique and interesting items were inviting. The kitchen didn't execute on our ordered items and the service is absent, A LOT. The rabbit was dried out and over cooked. The pork shank was also over cooked dried out and full of fat. There are better options out there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our new favorite place

Dined on March 4, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant what an amazing gem, and we didn't even go on a night with life music ! Has such a comfortable feeling atmosphere with such a great customer service team. Delicious food for different appetites, with wonderful drink selection to match. Will most definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Different choices of entree , excellent ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Different choices of entree , excellent rabbit plate , nice southern food!!

food1
ambience3
service2

When the food is good... It's good... Wh ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

When the food is good... It's good... When it's bad... It's horrible.... My first experience was good... the second one was horrible... maybe a different chef...

food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We were very disappointed in the food. M ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. My wife had a prior visit there with a girlfriend and they did not rave about it. We wanted to give it a second try. The people were nice. The food was cold, poorly seasoned ( bland) and not properly cooked. The cuts of meat were very cheap but the dinner cost us $90.00 with tip. A big disconnect. The place was packed, so I'm sure our experience was not the norm. Perhaps the regulars know what to order.

food2
ambience5
service5

Great location, excellent ambiance & entertainment

Dined on December 12, 2015

I received a friendly follow-up call to confirm my reservations, my table was outstanding, and the price for entertaintment was a great value for a star line-up of Rodney Block and TRML , Dee Dee Davis, M Melodious Tucker, Judson Spillyards, King's Tower, Bijoux Pighee, and Damarcus Thememusiq Pettus.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, Great music!

Dined on November 29, 2015

SOMA was a new experience for me. I took my two adult children (age 25) for a post-Thanksgiving night out on the town. The music was terrific, the service was attentive but not intrusive, and the food was delicious! I had the rib-eye entree with kale and potatoes -- every bite was to die for. My two children had the pork chop and the rabbit entrees, and they were very happy with their choices. Our portions were plentiful, and I thought the food and the presentation were well worth the price. I will be back with more out-of-town visitors!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I've never been disappointed

Dined on November 29, 2015

I can't count the number of times I've been to South on Main, but I van tell you that not only have I never been disappointed, but each time I've been there, I've left glad that I had chosen that spot. Great food. Great owners. Great staff. And the bartender makes the best sidecar in Little Rock.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Family birthday dinner

Dined on November 14, 2015

Because we were at a family get-together, celebrating a birthday, this restaurant was a little too noisy for us to honor the birthday girl. We really couldn't hear what everyone was sharing. Otherwise, the food was delicious, especially the appetizers. I would definitely go back, but not with a group.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Great but noisy.

Dined on November 13, 2015

I loved the food and the service was great, but it was a little noisy for me. I know that's a plus for some folks but not for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Pre Event Find

vip
Dined on November 3, 2015

First time trip was prior to an evening event and started the night in fine fashion. Arriving early, there was no problem with seating or service so all was good. Prompt and efficient service delivered a rustic menu in a somewhat rustic, yet comfortable dining area. Dark wood, relatively dim lighting, a large bar and even larger stage area hinting a multi-use establishment. We were here to eat. A somewhat short but varied menu offered decent number of options. When requested, the server made some confident recommendations some of which we chose. The trout dip and flatbread was quite tasty and most assuredly smoked yet sweet. It went down well. We had the Cauliflower and the Rabbit entree. Both were plentiful, well prepared and tasty. The side (Brussels sprouts) were VERY good with a firm texture and hearty taste. The rabbit was quite tender, fall off the bone, yet didn't quite "taste just like chicken." That's good; it wasn't chicken! A rather nondescript brownie and ice cream was shared and rounded off the meal well. I know it might be a significant watering hole but a more varied dessert menu would be appreciated. Observations: No bread of any kind with the entree; rather strange in our neck o' the woods. I didn't ask; maybe it would be granted. Also, lending to the rustic atmosphere, water was served in Mason Jars. Just be prepared. If you are going for a "fine dining" experience, this isn't the place. But, it is good and a fairly good value. We will return to try a few more of the options.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Unusual, interesting, and really good

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

I had the roasted rabbit. Need I say more? Haven't had rabbit in years, and theirs was really excellent. They don't have an extensive menu, but there was enough choice, and they seemed to do things a little out of the ordinary. Had a Sazerac from the bar - also not something you can find everywhere, and it was 100% perfection. Only 2 things I would fault them for: it took forever to get my drink (and the bar wasn't that busy), and the roasted Brussels sprouts that came with the rabbit were too oily. They have live music some nights, but not while I was there. I'd go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Ambiance

Dined on September 27, 2015

We decided to try South on Main for our twentieth anniversary. It was a wonderful experience. The waitress was knowledgeable. Her suggestions were impeccable. We will definitely return. We are hoping to catch a night when the restaurant offers live entertainment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Dinner before show

Dined on September 19, 2015

My wife and I ate before a show there. The food was great, and we had attentive service.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

It's all Good.

Dined on September 18, 2015

Never had a thing that wasn't well prepared and delicious. Service has always been great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2

SOMA virgins

Dined on September 4, 2015

My husband and I are expecting our third child and some friends got us a gift certificate to South on Main, as it is there favorite restaurant. The atmosphere was fun but elegant and inviting to everyone. The food was to die for even though we couldn't pronounce most of the side dishes. The biscuits on the starter menu were amazing! However, our service was not that great. Our server was not friendly and only checked on us once after we received our main dishes. She got a big party and we waited for our check for over 30 minutes, ridiculous! Finally, another server came over and asked us if we needed anything. I would recommend this place on the food alone not for the service. I'm sure there are other great servers though!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service, and fun

Dined on August 29, 2015

The food, from appetizers to main course, was fantastic. The service was top notch. The cocktails and wine were great too

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb

Dined on August 16, 2015

Exceptional meal made even better by our server, Chris, who was knowledgeable, efficient and enthusiastic. Highly recommend the Crab/fried green tomatoes - one of the best appetizers that I've experienced. A gem of a place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1

Slow Service and OK Food

Dined on July 30, 2015

Once seated, the busboy brought water and told us our waiter would be "right with you". Twenty-five minutes later, and after avoiding eye-contact, and ignoring hand waving as much as is possible, he finally stopped by as asked if we were "Ready for a drink?". I held my tongue and did not answer with: "DUH!". The skillet flatbread is very good, and the black-eyed pea humus was good. (Tasted like what I do at home, by simply mashing my cooked black-eyed peas; nothing special.) The pimento cheese was very good, but, with some too-sweet bacon added to it. The "buttermilk bread toast" points were WAY to greasy to eat. Fried oysters were also good, but too much creativity (for lack of a better description) on the sauce. Slow it down, and let the oysters speak for themselves. Our company had the same complaint about the quail. The crab salad with fried green tomatoes turned out to be just that: crab (dip type) salad on top of fried green tomatoes. Had expected a salad with crab, and fried green tomatoes. Guess that one was my fault, but I found the cold crab salad atop the hot fried green tomatoes unappetizing and could not eat it. The rabbit was well cooked, so no complaints there. Our server brought the check without asking if we would like desserts. Overall, I get it two "Ho-Hums" and a mediocre. Definitely NOT my cup of tea.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fabulous place for a casual or ...

Dined on July 25, 2015

Always a fabulous place for a casual or special dinner. The food and drinks are perfection.

food4
ambience4
service5

always a pleasure

Dined on July 23, 2015

i've always had a wonderful experience at south on main. the ribeye and cauliflower steak are my two favorites - and pair together wonderfully. no matter how full you think you are - do not skip desert!! the jars are delicious and are often right on the pulse of the season's best flavors, but i can never resist chocolate ... HAVE THE CAKE! if you haven't tried south on main - go. go hungry. as a bonus, it were there for live local night - it was a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Favorite Place

Dined on July 18, 2015

South on Main has been our destination for anniversaries & birthdays, and we love it so much now it's also where we go for just a pre-weekend date night. No special occasion necessary. Now, we LOVE food, but admittedly we're not well-educated foodies -half the time I only know a couple of the listed meal ingredients for each dish- but we always just go with because we know this chef just can't go wrong. Every plate I've ever had here- I end up saying "no, that's the best dinner I've ever had," and this just repeats the next time we come in. The food is down home goodness, vibrant, flavorful, and everything is of the season. I just had the grilled ribeye, and it tasted like summer on a plate. We've gotten in the habit of requesting the comfy chaired tables by the window, and they've always accommodated us : ). Now we call it "our spot." Our server is awesome (we typically get the same guy since we're in the same spot), he always gives us the low down on what their specials are, and what he'd get - we went with his appetizer suggestion for the buffalo- type duck wings with buttermilk ranch sauce, it was so good...I was a little embarrassed by how quickly we devoured it... All in all, South on Main has everything we're looking for: great friendly atmosphere, fine dining without pretenses, fantastic food with a menu that is always updated so we can try new things, and service that is personable and just fun. We always have a great time here, and we can't wait to go back. Oh, and dessert jars. 'Nuff said.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Biscuit heaven

Dined on July 11, 2015

The biscuits were to die for, probably the best I've ever eaten and I grew up with women who knew how to make biscuits. My catfish was good but the cornbread served with it was just ok. The duck was very good but my daughter's pork was nothing special. However she loved the maque choux served with the pork. A little mixed review but I'd try it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Yum

vip
Dined on July 1, 2015

The food was amazing. Chris was our awesome server and he made the experience even more pleasant. Highly recommend this restaurant. Didn't have time to stay for the music, but it looked like a great venue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.