Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About South on Main

South on Main is a revolutionary cultural experience that brings the Oxford American magazine to life with the best food, literature, music, and film of the South. The multi-discipline programming will provide a forum for established as well as unknown artists to perform in front of a sophisticated and appreciative audience.

Chef Matthew Bell will lead a team of chefs to serve Southern cuisine that’s both reflective and innovative, making patrons’ experience a full culinary, artistic, and educational immersion in Southern culture.

1304 Main St
Little Rock, AR 72202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, American, Soul food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Sun 10:00 am–2:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:00 am–2:30 pm
Dinner
Tue–Sat 4:30 pm–10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(501) 244-9660

Website:
http://www.southonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night. Ticketed concerts once or twice a month. Check www.southonmain.com to see our full calendar of entertainment.

Parking Details:
Large parking lot across the street, intended for South on Main customers only.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Bell

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Burnette - laurel@southonmain.com: (501) 244-9660

Additional:
Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve
Ring in the New Year with Arkansas' beloved Amasa Hines! Enjoy some tasty snacks off a menu collab from Joshua Asante & Chef Matt. Count down to midnight with a complimentary champagne toast. Boogie into the New Year as Chef Matt will spin records following the concert.
Show starts at 10 PM with a $30 cover. Reservations made for 9 PM or later will guarantee a table and tickets to the show >> Reservations made before 9 PM will not hold a table for the show. Wristbands will be sold as doors open at 4 PM the day of the show.
Credit Card Guarantee required.
Reservations cancelled on or after 12/30/16 will pay a cancellation fee of $30 per person.

South on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Live Music (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort by
S
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Had bone in pork chop. Meat was dry. Service was chaotic and Mia most of the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was really good and the atmosphere was nice. They sat 4 of us at a 2-top because we made the reservations online, even though they called that day to confirm the reservation. And there were lots of empty tables throughout the restaurant. But we were fine with it. Our waiter was knowledgeable but very slow. They had live music starting at 9:00 but told us each that we would have to pay $15 for the show. After we had already spent quite a bit on food and drinks! The straw that broke the camels back was that the hostess came and asked if we would leave because there were people waiting on our table. And we informed him that we would love to leave but we were waiting on our extremely slow waiter to bring our tickets back!! I won’t be paying to be treated like that anymore, I don’t care how good the food is!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

The mezcal negroni is definitely worth a try. Quail app. Was amazing! Also, fabulous bourbon list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Drink menu is creative and innovative. Dishes are well prepared and delicious. Catfish hoppin john was A+ as were the shared apps - curried cauliflower, clams and shrimp. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Best charred grilled oysters PERIOD!
The drinks were amazing - ask for the drink in which they set the rosemary on fire -outstanding.
The Poutin and brisket melt hit the spot as well.

Great friendly bar service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

Really enjoyed the meal. Flavors really surprised me, did’t expect the experience. Very recomendable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I keep going back to south on main when I’m in town because the food is just that good. I’ve never had a bad meal, it’s always exceptionally prepared and flavored. However, the service is consistently not up to par. Service is slow, drink orders take 15 mins to receive, food takes FOREVER, even when the restaurant is not crowded (and by not crowded i mean REALLY not crowded - as in only 5-6 other tables). I’d love to see the staff step it up so i don’t have to beg my friends to commit to hours of dining and help this place get the reviews it deserves - because it’s some of the best food in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 13, 2017

It was great. Good was good, atmosphere was great. Overall, a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We have been there in the past and while they always have had interesting and fun combinations of food, this last time the level of salt was totally OFF THE CHART. I don't fault the service. I fault the kitchen. My wife had a steak and she said it was borderline inedible (and she loves salt).

I ordered the ribs and they had a horrible flavor - also inedible. I couldn't even eat my french fries either as they were WAY too salty. Again, the wife sampled, and even SHE couldn't eat them.

In defense of the place, they tried to make things right by sending out some onion rings and the bottle of wine we ordered was fantastic. The waiter was charming, attentive, and got things right. Too bad they burned the onion rings. Wow.

When I come back, it will be for a few drinks but not for the food. No thanks guys. What in the world happened to your food?

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

South on main was wonderful. The drinks were amazing and the food was even better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

great venue for bands and other performances. Cozy, not too big. Friendly staff

Tags: Vegan, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

It was an experience, however, I would not go back. The menu is interesting, eclectic, and small. My husband would probably love it.

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Casual, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My spouse and I rarely have a date night. Since one was long overdue, we decided to eat somewhere we could feel like grown ups (no crayons, no nuggets, no 20 page cocktail menu with souvenir cups). I'm SO glad we found SoM.
Service- outstanding (you rock, Chris)
Food- spectacular (try the rabbit reuben!)
Drinks- dreamy (lavender honey, omg)
I loved our experience there. If you're ready to go out on a limb and try something you've only seen on food network, this is the place. You won't regret it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I loved it! Incredible food, drinks and certainly the live entertainment is always a commodity at South on Main! Though I got there late the seats I reserved weeks ago, were waiting and I loved it!! Also, Bijoux has got to return one more time to end out the year, I love her music and remarkable energy! South on Main, its hard to get my buy-in - you guys have certainly, earned mines!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We always enjoy coming for the live entertainment! Great ambiance & mature crowd!!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful value, delicious food and stellar service. Food was not terribly inventive but delicious and fairly priced considering the great ambience of the place. Go for the green risotto and a Bluewing from Flyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The wait staff was perfect...very attentive and knowledgeable but not intrusive. The cocktails were fun and very tasty, and the food was fantastic. It was both creative and familiar...well played! It was the perfect place to celebrate a special event. We will definitely be back soon. I can't wait to try brunch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our food at lunch was good. Not great. I got the burger and wanted some jalapeños to make it spicier - the waiter not only forgot them but did not tell me they were pickled (um, yuck!). The others liked their food ok. One loved the special po' boy sandwich. I think for the money it isn't worth it when there are other restaurants nearby that have really good food for the same or less. The attraction to South on Main is the live music and the bar scene at night.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Service was fast and friendly. The food was excellent. THE VOCALIST GENINE LATRICE PEREZ WAS OFF THE CHAIN. Great job!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I would recommend going at night if you're taking someone on a date. Seems like a fun place to hangout with live music, but wasn't a great location for a date at 5:30. The waiter was slow and unenergetic, and the food left much to be desired, considering the price. I think we just got unlucky, because it seemed like a decent place to be, just not a great night for them.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Service was slow, portions small and my bass was more fishy than other bass dishes I've had. Not worth the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

the food was good but cold, the waiter just said oh I'm soory about that nothing was done to rectify it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The atmosphere was nice when we first arrived, but it became very loud as the band set up. Took a while to get drinks and food as it seemed there was not enough wait staff. Drinks were GREAT, but cannot say the same for the food; ribs were tough, duck was undercooked and chewy, fish was ah, but the pork chop was good. I do not think that we will be returning any time soon. Our waiter was great, just spread thin as he had 8-10 tables. More wait staff is needed and new cooks in the kitchen. Wanted desert but didn’t want to have to pay the $10 cover for the band just to eat a sweet treat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was the best meal yet, it's not often you can say a restaurant is getting better a few years from opening! Our waiter was outstanding. We had a great evening.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went with friends and it was great. The service was impeccable. The chef came out tho greet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great time with friend before the Rep. We enjoyed the food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 7, 2017

When I first moved to LR a year ago SOM was one of my favorite restaurants. The ribs had too much pepper and were tough as boot leather. My dates meal was slightly better. Pecan crusted trout. The green veggie in the dish was soaked in butter and salt. It's gone down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I had the chicken livers appetizer and the soft shell crab steamed buns appetizer and a house salad for dinner. Quite good and adequate portions. I went really early for dinner. There were maybe 3 other tables in the place. It was really personalized service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

This is supposed to be modern southern food but really is it modern esoteric obscure contents food. I had to ask "What is this" for at least 1-0 items. So it has a affection for fancy ingredients which in and of itself is not bad but the outcome of all this was simply a "meh" meal. The service was casual to the point of being hippy dippy. I thought it was neat that they were having music but it was similar to the food, some guys who should have been home noodling in their basements making cd's for their friends because like the food the music was simply neither here nor there. I'v had modern takes on southern food in many cities but this was not worth the bother.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Oh! What a wonderful treat a meal is at South on Main! My chicken spaghetti was delicious and the Lemon Fritter with Blueberry sauce was to die for! South on Main is one of my favorite places to eat! Yummy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great experience. We were visiting Little Rock and were pleasantly surprised to find this little hidden gem. The menu was far from ordinary. Food ans service were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I'm never disappointed with my experience here. I am looking forward to my next experience either as a patron or as a performer

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was not very impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Gourmet southern cuisine. Creative dishes that please the palate.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We've dined here several times and until this visit always had very good experiences. But on this occasion they were obviously understaffed. We were seated for at least five minutes before our server showed up, but if that were the worst of it it would have still been a very nice experience. We ordered drinks and decided to wait for them before placing our food order. It took a very long time before our server brought our drinks, and then he only had three of the four and said the bar was out of one ingredient needed for the drink that was ordered by my wife. So, she then picked something different and the rest of us had our drinks while she waited what had to be at least 15 minutes more to get hers. When her drink finally arrived, we noticed it had been almost an hour since we were seated. She mentioned that to the server who simply commented that surely it had not been that long. We then ordered food which was all great as usual and the rest of the evening was enjoyable. I expected something to be offered such as the one drink that took so long to be comp'ed but no, nothing. Very disappointed in the service! Great food but lousy service on this evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was amazing, but the red snapper should have come with some vegetables since it was $22. My husband ordered it and had to order vegetables separately to have something to go with it. I had the pan seared catfish with brussel sprouts and grit sticks, all of which were packed with flavor. It will be a regular for us!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 8, 2017

South On Main is absolutely my most favorite restaurant in Little Rock. I can always go here for excellent service, delicious food, and a stout drink. The ambiance is always super chill- MY FAVORITE

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Peanut humus delicious, kale salad is especially good, livers best I have had, get the stuffed pepper

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My wife and I had a pre-theatre dinner at South on Main. It was our first visit to the restaurant. Our server greeted us promptly, and was knowledgeable about the menu. He had several recommendations, which we mostly followed. I would describe the menu as "Upscale Southern," and quite varied. We shared Spaetzle with burned tips for the appetizer, and it was great! Just spicy enough, and a large enough portion to share. Spouse had duck breast for the main course, and I had rabbit leg. Both were very good. The Chef came by our table several times just to check. Dessert (strawberry shortcake in a jar) was complimentary since we were headed to the theatre. The restaurant is just a few blocks south of the Arkansas Rep, so we'll definitely be back again for pre-theatre dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great meal, great drinks, and great server! Daniel was awesome! We took issue with asking for a cover charge ($20 dollars for both of us) for the band we didn't enjoy on top of our $81 dollar bill (before top). Asinine at best. We cut our Friday night at SoMa short to avoid paying and strolled over to finish up at Raduno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.