About South on Main

1304 Main St
Little Rock, AR 72202
View Larger Map

South on Main is a revolutionary cultural experience that brings the Oxford American magazine to life with the best food, literature, music, and film of the South. The multi-discipline programming will provide a forum for established as well as unknown artists to perform in front of a sophisticated and appreciative audience.

Chef Matthew Bell will lead a team of chefs to serve Southern cuisine that’s both reflective and innovative, making patrons’ experience a full culinary, artistic, and educational immersion in Southern culture.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, American, Soul food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(501) 244-9660

Website:
http://www.southonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Free concerts every Wednesday night. Ticketed concerts once or twice a month. Check www.southonmain.com to see our full calendar of entertainment.

Parking Details:
Large parking lot across the street, intended for South on Main customers only.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Bell

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Burnette - laurel@southonmain.com: (501) 244-9660x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • South on Main, Little Rock, AR
South on Main, Little Rock, AR

South on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Little Rock
Most Booked
Little Rock
Best Value
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
1 More
Most Booked
Little Rock / Central Arkansas
Best Restaurants in Little Rock ›

Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
See All
Live Music (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had a blast at South on Main! There wa ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 2 days ago

I had a blast at South on Main! There was a great turnout for John's birthday show. My order was delicious! Although I was bummed that there was no Pisco for my usual Pisco Sour, my Palomas did not disappoint. I had the butternut squash soup and the fried oyster steamed buns and could have easily doubled that order, it was so tasty! Our server was amazing and brought out an extra chair because I had an extra friend show up. Overall a stellar experience and I can't wait to come back!

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, delicious food, fabulous cock ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

As always, delicious food, fabulous cocktails and lots of fun! We were so excited to see live music for the first time here, too, but we were disappointed with our service (the music was outstanding). We went on a Wednesday night when they begin their "Sessions" live performances at 8:30. As our reservation was at 7:30, the music began playing at the end of our main courses. I had previously asked to host if we'd be able to stay for the music - she said there was a cover for the show but if we were already there for dinner we could stay, which I (wrongly) assumed meant that we would be able to stay without paying cover as long as we were continuing to eat and drink. After spending $200+ on dinner and drinks, our server informed us that if we wanted to stay, we would have to pay a $10 cover each, or $40 total for our table of four. We deliberated for a bit, then our waiter returned telling us he was going home and would bring us a last round of drinks and the check. He seemed less than interested in keeping us there. Had we not been ushered out so abruptly, we would have gladly stayed and spent $50+ more on drinks and desserts, but instead we went home, leaving the restaurant completely empty save for one table of two at the back. Sadly, this experience soured us a bit on what had previously been our favorite date night spot. We will be back eventually, but probably not for live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Overall, not the best venue for live mus ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overall, not the best venue for live music. Wait staff totally unprepared for rush, don't think I successfully received anything I ordered without going to the bar myself to get it. Additionally, there was no room to dance or comfortably watch the band that we drove 45 minutes to see.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value4

Great food good service great cocktails ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food good service great cocktails nice atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reading the mixed reviews regardin ...

 
 (Thailand)·Dined on September 2, 2016

After reading the mixed reviews regarding service and amount of food, I was nervous but had a game plan... We ordered drinks as soon as we could (as soon as the server returned to take our order, that is) and told him we had to be out by a certain time to make a play. From that point on, everything came out within a reasonable time,except for the cocktail I ordered, which took too long for as few of patrons as they had.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was really over priced for what ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was really over priced for what I got. I ordered the soaked salad to start $7 for just Romaine lettuce chopped up with some carrots, tossed in vinegar. My entree was delicious but very small for almost $20. I was really disappointed and will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Had a quiet, early dinner here with a fr ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a quiet, early dinner here with a friend. What a wonderful find in Little Rock! The food and cocktails were delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They substituted pulled pork for the rib ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 3, 2016

They substituted pulled pork for the ribs and it was extremely fatty and tough. The waiter was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I always enjoy South On Main . Their foo ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I always enjoy South On Main . Their food is good and they have always treated us nicely. From concerts to date night, it's great to have a place like this in town.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here was absolutely delicious. ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food here was absolutely delicious. However, the portion size was completely inadequate. It could not be considered a meal. My dinner portion of the roasted chicken with dumplings was smaller than most places' lunch portion. It was incredibly delicious, but simply lacking in quantity. On the other hand, the drinks were delicious and strong.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

I have tried at least 3 times to eat at ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I have tried at least 3 times to eat at south on main and was never successful due to it either being full or we came when it was not open. My husband and I made a reservation and finally made it there! However a storm had just passed so there was no electricity , but they were still serving. The ambiance with all the candles turned out to be very romantic and the food was great! Looking forward to going back with the lights on to get the full experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We have loved this restaurant and the la ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have loved this restaurant and the last visit lived up to our expectations. Every year we are traveling through Little Rock, and after a day on the road are looking for relaxing atmosphere and really good food. This restaurant offers both, as well as lovely, personalized service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food selection was incredible. The d ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food selection was incredible. The drinks from the bar were even better! Check out the music venue ahead of time to enjoy as part of the experience. Will def be back....soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

South on Main was a great surprise. Styl ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 12, 2016

South on Main was a great surprise. Style of food got our curiosity. We left very pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great concert venue as well as a marvelo ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great concert venue as well as a marvelous dining spot with excellent food and a wonderful wine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great dinner with cauliflower popcorn an ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great dinner with cauliflower popcorn and seared pork chop! Simple preparation with fresh ingredients and in a very funky atmosphere. Definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Little Rock for the weekend a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were in Little Rock for the weekend and wanted something interesting and local. We found it at South on Main. One of their specialties are the "jar" appetizers. We ordered their special smoked trout spread-just delicious! I had the sea bass which was perfectly prepared and complemented by a squash side. My husband had the cauliflower "risotto" which he really enjoyed. Nice selection of wine and beer as well. Only down side was that we weren't there on a night that they had live music. Will make it a point to go back for a later dinner and show.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed it!!! The food was DELICIOUS. ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 25, 2016

I enjoyed it!!! The food was DELICIOUS. I had the Rib entrée and it was everything...I will definitely be back to try the steak!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was absolutly fantastic!!! W ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our dinner was absolutly fantastic!!! We saw Ruthie Foster ,so entertainment was great!!! Loved the whole experience. We saw Doug Duffy this time. He is an old friend, and he is so very talented. I am very happy with our whole experience. I intend to become a regular patron. Love it !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great food and service. Neat atmosphere. A/c working too well but otherwise excellent experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique and outstanding.

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Seeing the catfish on the menu is what brought us in. But I ended up ordering the trout , my husband had the burger and my daughter had the ribs. All of them sere delicious. You must try the boudin balls! And the fries are the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a pleasure

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great menu that was accompanied by wait staff that placed no pressure on time or need to order. Food was creative using unique ingredients like rabbit and boudin. The ambience was conducive to good conversation without being loud. Of course, we ate dinner before the live music that would have made it difficult to converse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was delicious. The pork chop ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was delicious. The pork chop was so juicy and flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

amazing food in a weird town

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Little Rock, Arkansas is a really weird town that doesn't have much going for it. South on Main, though, was incredible for any location. Probably the best meal that I have ever had in a restaurant. As an added bonus, it is part of the Oxford American...great magazine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Southern Cooking

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2016

In town visiting our son and his fiancee, so it was our first time here. Had reservations on a Friday night and were promptly seated. Waiter was attentive but not overbearing - we were enjoying good conversation and he let us do so. Drinks arrived as needed. Enjoyed the appetizers of boudin balls and bbq shrimp. Both men had the rabbit; both women had the trout. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, slow service

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and drinks are both great here. We were very disappointed in the slow service. When we arrived there were less than 10 other patrons but it took us flagging down our waiter for him to take our order and that was after we waited for 10 minutes. This trend continued through the night. Would question visiting this establishment in the future.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Return Visit

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 28, 2016

A pre-show dinner with similar results as before included good food, good service and atmosphere. One thing was outstanding: The amount of food! The rib plate was MASSIVE as was the three pot dip appetizer.

Dishes were prepared as describe, we hot and prompt. Attentive service with appropriate interest and good knowledge of the menu.

Quick in and out dinner that did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was amazing. Great blend of tra ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was amazing. Great blend of traditional food with modern elements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible eats! A must for foodies, hi ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Incredible eats! A must for foodies, hipsters, young professionals and peppered professionals alike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Accomadating

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Made a reservation for a Friday meal and needed to change the party number a night before dinner. Staff was very helpful and more than willing to accommodate. Food, service, and atmosphere were superb; always are!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite food, cocktails, and service!

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We went to SoM for my wife's birthday dinner. It was recommended by a local, and she was right on the money. We went at around 5:45pm on a Saturday, and had no trouble bring seated before our 6:15pm reservation. We ordered a couple of classic cocktails and skillet bread first. The drinks were fabulous and the skillet bread was topped with bleu cheese and buffalo chicken. It was delicious! Our main courses were delivered after we finished our appetizer and they were hot and perfectly cooked. I had the striped bass and my wife had the "double." (Look it up)

Our waitress was never pushy and our glasses were never empty. After dinner we had a piece of authentic strawberry shortcake to round off the meal.

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at South on Main and will definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NO VEGAN CHOICES!!!!very disappointed!! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 7, 2016

NO VEGAN CHOICES!!!!very disappointed!!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

South on Main rocks!

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 31, 2016

Finally went to South on Main last week and cannot recommend it highly enough. Interesting, diverse menu, exquisitely executed. Very cool atmosphere. Excellent service. Can't wait to try the brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique restaurant, poor execution

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2016

We were very excited about this place when we looked at the menu. All of the unique and interesting items were inviting. The kitchen didn't execute on our ordered items and the service is absent, A LOT.

The rabbit was dried out and over cooked. The pork shank was also over cooked dried out and full of fat.

There are better options out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

our new favorite place

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 4, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant what an amazing gem, and we didn't even go on a night with life music ! Has such a comfortable feeling atmosphere with such a great customer service team. Delicious food for different appetites, with wonderful drink selection to match. Will most definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Different choices of entree , excellent ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 25, 2016

Different choices of entree , excellent rabbit plate , nice southern food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

When the food is good... It's good... Wh ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 14, 2016

When the food is good... It's good... When it's bad... It's horrible.... My first experience was good... the second one was horrible... maybe a different chef...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

We were very disappointed in the food. M ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 30, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. My wife had a prior visit there with a girlfriend and they did not rave about it. We wanted to give it a second try.

The people were nice. The food was cold, poorly seasoned ( bland) and not properly cooked. The cuts of meat were very cheap but the dinner cost us $90.00 with tip. A big disconnect.

The place was packed, so I'm sure our experience was not the norm. Perhaps the regulars know what to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Great location, excellent ambiance & entertainment

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on December 12, 2015

I received a friendly follow-up call to confirm my reservations, my table was outstanding, and the price for entertaintment was a great value for a star line-up of Rodney Block and TRML , Dee Dee Davis, M Melodious Tucker, Judson Spillyards, King's Tower, Bijoux Pighee, and Damarcus Thememusiq Pettus.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Great food, Great music!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 29, 2015

SOMA was a new experience for me. I took my two adult children (age 25) for a post-Thanksgiving night out on the town. The music was terrific, the service was attentive but not intrusive, and the food was delicious! I had the rib-eye entree with kale and potatoes -- every bite was to die for. My two children had the pork chop and the rabbit entrees, and they were very happy with their choices. Our portions were plentiful, and I thought the food and the presentation were well worth the price. I will be back with more out-of-town visitors!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.