Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About South on Main

South on Main is a revolutionary cultural experience that brings the Oxford American magazine to life with the best food, literature, music, and film of the South. The multi-discipline programming will provide a forum for established as well as unknown artists to perform in front of a sophisticated and appreciative audience.

Chef Matthew Bell will lead a team of chefs to serve Southern cuisine that’s both reflective and innovative, making patrons’ experience a full culinary, artistic, and educational immersion in Southern culture.

1304 Main St
Little Rock, AR 72202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, American, Soul food

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Main St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(501) 244-9660

Website:
http://www.southonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night. Ticketed concerts once or twice a month. Check www.southonmain.com to see our full calendar of entertainment.

Parking Details:
Large parking lot across the street, intended for South on Main customers only.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Bell

Private Party Contact:
Laurel Burnette - laurel@southonmain.com: (501) 244-9660

Additional:
Bar Dining, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve
Ring in the New Year with Arkansas' beloved Amasa Hines! Enjoy some tasty snacks off a menu collab from Joshua Asante & Chef Matt. Count down to midnight with a complimentary champagne toast. Boogie into the New Year as Chef Matt will spin records following the concert.
Show starts at 10 PM with a $30 cover. Reservations made for 9 PM or later will guarantee a table and tickets to the show >> Reservations made before 9 PM will not hold a table for the show. Wristbands will be sold as doors open at 4 PM the day of the show.
Credit Card Guarantee required.
Reservations cancelled on or after 12/30/16 will pay a cancellation fee of $30 per person.

South on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 7 days ago

I loved it! Incredible food, drinks and certainly the live entertainment is always a commodity at South on Main! Though I got there late the seats I reserved weeks ago, were waiting and I loved it!! Also, Bijoux has got to return one more time to end out the year, I love her music and remarkable energy! South on Main, its hard to get my buy-in - you guys have certainly, earned mines!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We always enjoy coming for the live entertainment! Great ambiance & mature crowd!!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful value, delicious food and stellar service. Food was not terribly inventive but delicious and fairly priced considering the great ambience of the place. Go for the green risotto and a Bluewing from Flyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The wait staff was perfect...very attentive and knowledgeable but not intrusive. The cocktails were fun and very tasty, and the food was fantastic. It was both creative and familiar...well played! It was the perfect place to celebrate a special event. We will definitely be back soon. I can't wait to try brunch.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Our food at lunch was good. Not great. I got the burger and wanted some jalapeños to make it spicier - the waiter not only forgot them but did not tell me they were pickled (um, yuck!). The others liked their food ok. One loved the special po' boy sandwich. I think for the money it isn't worth it when there are other restaurants nearby that have really good food for the same or less. The attraction to South on Main is the live music and the bar scene at night.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Service was fast and friendly. The food was excellent. THE VOCALIST GENINE LATRICE PEREZ WAS OFF THE CHAIN. Great job!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I would recommend going at night if you're taking someone on a date. Seems like a fun place to hangout with live music, but wasn't a great location for a date at 5:30. The waiter was slow and unenergetic, and the food left much to be desired, considering the price. I think we just got unlucky, because it seemed like a decent place to be, just not a great night for them.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Service was slow, portions small and my bass was more fishy than other bass dishes I've had. Not worth the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

the food was good but cold, the waiter just said oh I'm soory about that nothing was done to rectify it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The atmosphere was nice when we first arrived, but it became very loud as the band set up. Took a while to get drinks and food as it seemed there was not enough wait staff. Drinks were GREAT, but cannot say the same for the food; ribs were tough, duck was undercooked and chewy, fish was ah, but the pork chop was good. I do not think that we will be returning any time soon. Our waiter was great, just spread thin as he had 8-10 tables. More wait staff is needed and new cooks in the kitchen. Wanted desert but didn’t want to have to pay the $10 cover for the band just to eat a sweet treat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was the best meal yet, it's not often you can say a restaurant is getting better a few years from opening! Our waiter was outstanding. We had a great evening.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went with friends and it was great. The service was impeccable. The chef came out tho greet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great time with friend before the Rep. We enjoyed the food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 7, 2017

When I first moved to LR a year ago SOM was one of my favorite restaurants. The ribs had too much pepper and were tough as boot leather. My dates meal was slightly better. Pecan crusted trout. The green veggie in the dish was soaked in butter and salt. It's gone down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I had the chicken livers appetizer and the soft shell crab steamed buns appetizer and a house salad for dinner. Quite good and adequate portions. I went really early for dinner. There were maybe 3 other tables in the place. It was really personalized service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

This is supposed to be modern southern food but really is it modern esoteric obscure contents food. I had to ask "What is this" for at least 1-0 items. So it has a affection for fancy ingredients which in and of itself is not bad but the outcome of all this was simply a "meh" meal. The service was casual to the point of being hippy dippy. I thought it was neat that they were having music but it was similar to the food, some guys who should have been home noodling in their basements making cd's for their friends because like the food the music was simply neither here nor there. I'v had modern takes on southern food in many cities but this was not worth the bother.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Oh! What a wonderful treat a meal is at South on Main! My chicken spaghetti was delicious and the Lemon Fritter with Blueberry sauce was to die for! South on Main is one of my favorite places to eat! Yummy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great experience. We were visiting Little Rock and were pleasantly surprised to find this little hidden gem. The menu was far from ordinary. Food ans service were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I'm never disappointed with my experience here. I am looking forward to my next experience either as a patron or as a performer

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was not very impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Gourmet southern cuisine. Creative dishes that please the palate.

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We've dined here several times and until this visit always had very good experiences. But on this occasion they were obviously understaffed. We were seated for at least five minutes before our server showed up, but if that were the worst of it it would have still been a very nice experience. We ordered drinks and decided to wait for them before placing our food order. It took a very long time before our server brought our drinks, and then he only had three of the four and said the bar was out of one ingredient needed for the drink that was ordered by my wife. So, she then picked something different and the rest of us had our drinks while she waited what had to be at least 15 minutes more to get hers. When her drink finally arrived, we noticed it had been almost an hour since we were seated. She mentioned that to the server who simply commented that surely it had not been that long. We then ordered food which was all great as usual and the rest of the evening was enjoyable. I expected something to be offered such as the one drink that took so long to be comp'ed but no, nothing. Very disappointed in the service! Great food but lousy service on this evening.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was amazing, but the red snapper should have come with some vegetables since it was $22. My husband ordered it and had to order vegetables separately to have something to go with it. I had the pan seared catfish with brussel sprouts and grit sticks, all of which were packed with flavor. It will be a regular for us!

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 8, 2017

South On Main is absolutely my most favorite restaurant in Little Rock. I can always go here for excellent service, delicious food, and a stout drink. The ambiance is always super chill- MY FAVORITE

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Peanut humus delicious, kale salad is especially good, livers best I have had, get the stuffed pepper

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My wife and I had a pre-theatre dinner at South on Main. It was our first visit to the restaurant. Our server greeted us promptly, and was knowledgeable about the menu. He had several recommendations, which we mostly followed. I would describe the menu as "Upscale Southern," and quite varied. We shared Spaetzle with burned tips for the appetizer, and it was great! Just spicy enough, and a large enough portion to share. Spouse had duck breast for the main course, and I had rabbit leg. Both were very good. The Chef came by our table several times just to check. Dessert (strawberry shortcake in a jar) was complimentary since we were headed to the theatre. The restaurant is just a few blocks south of the Arkansas Rep, so we'll definitely be back again for pre-theatre dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great meal, great drinks, and great server! Daniel was awesome! We took issue with asking for a cover charge ($20 dollars for both of us) for the band we didn't enjoy on top of our $81 dollar bill (before top). Asinine at best. We cut our Friday night at SoMa short to avoid paying and strolled over to finish up at Raduno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The menu was limited. The food was mediocre. The offerings were overpriced as compared to the quality and comparable restaurants/bars nearby. The live music was far too loud and of poor quality in my opinion, despite the fact that I usually enjoy this genre and certainly enjoy live music. Our server was very inattentive, we waited longer than acceptable for water refills and were not offered cocktail refills or dessert.

Despite my high hopes regarding this establishment; I'm fairly sure that I will not return.
Sadly South on Main was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2017

South On Main offers a menu of unique appetizers as well as fabulous entree choices. In our group our entrees included catfish, steak, port chops, snapper and duck. Each entree featured a side dish that complimted the main dish. The selection of creative cocktails was fun and interesting. Overall the experience was quite enjoyable and the service was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was great. We arrived at 6pm and had several drinks, appetizers, and main course. Bar service was alittle bit slow. We had 3 mixed drinks each and on two of them it took a good 15mins to get. We ordered another drink in replacement for dessert about 8:40, but were told at 9 a band was starting and there was a cover charge if we planned to stay. So we felt rushed to finish the drink we received at 8:55. At 9:20 we were told at 9:30 it would be considered we were enjoying the band and we would be charged the cover, so we got our check and left. I think it could have been handled differently. We should have been told when we sat down about the cover, so we could have planned our dinner accordingly...which would have meant we possibly would have spent much less ( not ordering the last round of drinks).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Amazing as always! Sever was friendly and accommodating. Food was spectacular!

Tags: Quick Bite, People Watching, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Live Music, Healthy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We love South on Main. The food is not only interesting but also very tasty. We particularly enjoy SOM as a music venue. There is not another place like it in Little Rock for such excellent, consistent quality artist for such a small amount of money. ($10 cover)The music is occasionally free, and as often as not there will be a featured artist with Arkansas roots. Great Place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good food. Our problem was with the service. Very very long wait for our meal and server although friendly, left us waiting much too long on many occasions. After we finished eating, we sat with empty plates for over 35 minutes waiting for him to come back by with the check. When he finally did come back, he informed us that it was nice having us but there was a reservation waiting for our table. Very rude parting words, especially after we sat and waited all night for HIM!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was incredible, one of the best places I've ever been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I love this place!!! EVERYTHING about this place is awesome!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A few of my girlfriends and I went here while in Little Rock. It was a great place to have a relaxing, laid-back meal, while still bringing a strong foodie game.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food, quite corner comfortable seat to catch up with a dear friend for a early dinner. It was my friend's first visit and waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu selections. Love, love South on Main!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great overall experience from initial arrival to bill paying.
Drink options were plentiful.
Meal options were exceptional, not only unique but looked and tasted great!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, excellent service from Chris. Good value and didn't break the bank.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I had a wonderful time! The restaurant was just opening up after the holidays which meant some items were not in stock, but the server, Chelsea, was wonderful, accommodating, and provided recommendations for anything that may not have been on hand. My partner and I always enjoy our experiences at South on Main and we can't wait to return for their Jazz series.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.