About South Mountain Grille

One Soaring Eagle Lodge
Snowshoe, WV 26209
View Larger Map

The South Mountain Grille is the place for fine dining in the West Virginia Highlands. The South Mountain Grille offers exciting New American Cuisine in a casual and relaxing atmosphere. The Grille offers something for everyone from light bites to delicious entrees. Our eclectic menu is regionally inspired and locally sourced, in season. Chef Kim and the entire South Mountain Grille staff welcome the opportunity to provide you, your family and guests with a memorable dining experience. Whether you’re looking for après ski, a great meal, or a late night cocktail, the South Mountain Grille is your place for a little West Virginia hospitality, gracious service, and excellent cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 572-2990

Website:
http://www.southmountaingrille.com/

Entertainment:
Fridays, Saturdays, special events. Please check our entertainment calendar on www.southmountaingrille.com

Catering:
The South Mountain Grille offers onsite and offsite catering for 20-200+ guests. Please check our website for details: www.southmountaingrille.com

Parking Details:
It"s easy to get to the SMG ! Free Parking is available, the Snowshoe Shuttle provides convenient access and we're located at the top of the Soaring Eagle Lift !

Public Transit:
Take the Snowshoe Shuttle to Soaring Eagle Lodge !

Executive Chef:
Kim Guiden

Private Party Facilities:
The South Mountain Grille offers a private dining experience for 24-26 guests. Please check our website for details: www.southmountaingrille.com

Private Party Contact:
Emily: 3045722990

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
43 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a wonderful experience at this fi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at this fine-dining restaurant at the top of Snowshoe Mountain. The food was high-quality, beautifully presented; and the service was extremely kind and attentive. The edamame hummus was outstanding! And even though it was their last night for the end of ski season, everything on the menu was available which was impressive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for a ski resort

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We enjoyed the adult atmosphere and the space around the tables. It gave a romantic feel to our dinner. The duck was a great choice; the short ribs were good. Steven, our waiter, was very attentive and made suggestions as we ordered. We moved to the bar after our meal, and found the staff there friendly and attentive as well. We will probably go back, as this is one of the nicest meals we had while at Snowshoe.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best of Snowshoe

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

First, a shout out to our waiter Steven who was the best waiter I've ever had! He did not rush us, despite the crowd (though we did have a reservation). He was helpful with ordering suggestions that turned out good. And he was fun to talk to. The food was good. One person had the salmon special of the day, another the strip steak, and another the Mediterranean pasta. Everything was good, but being from a big urban area, I wouldn't say the best food I ever had. But that's not why you go to Snowshoe! I would definitely recommend going there if you don't mind a little higher prices than maybe other available places or are looking for a special occasion place. And, order the caramel crunch cake (I believe that was the name) for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

So good we dined there twice in one weekend!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We dined at the South Mountain Grille two years ago for the first time while vacationing at Snowshoe. We ate at the bar that time and ended up having a lovely conversation with the owner, who was very down to earth and made us feel so welcome. Our food was perfect too and we loved their craft beer selection. If you're more of a wine drinker, they had a very nice wine list, as well. This past weekend we were vacationing at Snowshoe again and remembering the great experience we had two year before, we made a reservation for Friday night when we were arriving. Our waiter was wonderful. Very polite and professional and took time to speak with us about the specials that evening and make sure we didn't have any questions. Our food was outstanding. My husband had the flank steak and I had the Louisianan shrimp. Everything came out cooked perfectly, as we requested. We also noticed that their craft beer and wine selection was even larger than we had remembered from two years ago. The entire experience from the time we walked in that evening until we got our check was top notch. In fact, we enjoyed everything so much that we came back Saturday night to dine there again. Our experience that night was just as good. They will blow your expectations away for mountain resort dining and we dine at various restaurants within ski resorts several times a year. None of them get it right as much as South Mountain Grille. Well worth the drive up to the top of the mountain or the short shuttle ride, if you're staying in the village, like we were. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food!

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The best restaurant in Snowshoe! Great food. A hidden gem.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food considering the area

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food and service here were nothing short of amazing. Most of the restaurants on the mountain are mediocre at best, and somehow The South Mountain Grille has managed to excel. It's a little pricey. Not like Chicago steak house pricey, but much more than most things on the mountain. I had no problem paying for it, because everyone made the experience excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Even though I had made reservations thro ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Even though I had made reservations through Open Table, I had to wait 30 minutes to be seated while people who came in after me were seated. Food was good, but very slow to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Fantastic!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The foodies dining with us thought the Duck was to die for! The night ambience was very nice. Steven was very knowledgeable and helpful in making those tough dinner selections when everything sounds delicious! A must when dining on the mountain.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Greg Mueller

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Dinner was great, until the lodge staff rudely and steadfastly refused, after dinner, to let us wait for a shuttle back to the village in the lodge lobby. It was like they swiped our card and then booted us out into the freezing elements to stand and wait for the shuttle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was good, but a bit pricey

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My wife and two children had dinner here on Friday night. Our reservation was honored and we were seated quickly. We were seated near a window and it was a bit cold at our table, but not sure that could be helped given it was 15 degrees outside.

Our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable of the menu. I wish I could remember his name, but he provided us with quality service.

I ordered the halibut special, my wife ordered the cod, and my oldest daughter ordered a salad with grilled chicken, and my youngest ordered linguine with butter and parmesan. We also ordered the fried green tomato appetizer. The fried green tomato was battered and fried. Had I known this I wouldn't have ordered it. I am used to fried green tomatoes that are not breaded, and I felt the breaded version was just too greasy.

The bread for the table didn't arrive until after the appetizer was almost gone. I found this a bit late.

The halibut was very good, and I generally don't love halibut. The cod however was very bland and didn't have much flavor. The salad and linguine were good but these are pretty simple dishes.

We ordered the berry tart and pistachio cake to share for dessert. This were both very tasty.

Total bill with tip was close to $200. Even with desserts and two glasses of wine, this I felt was very expensive, given the kids ordered very simple dishes. I am sure part of this additional expense can be chalked up to the fact that any restaurant on a "resort" is going to charge a premium.

My family will likely not go back to South Mountain Grille in future trips to Snowshoe. It's just too expensive I feel, though the food was good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very disappointed

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Have eaten there every year for the last 2 and this year was very disappointing. Food just ok for my husband. I ordered seafood back and cheese and did not eat it. It was awful. Will not go there next year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Could be way better...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 16, 2015

The night we were there they were slow so there wasn't much ambient sound. A song came on about a helpless bird...the music continued to be a downer. I'm sure it's less noticeable when they're busy but when you're fine dining you shouldn't feel like you're at a dive bar slamming back Jack to drown your sorrows. Our server was very good and the food was what we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Best food on the mountain

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 6, 2015

A group of us decided to visit Snowshoe since we had never been there to ski. We were so impressed with the entire village and all of the food was very good to excellent! After reading online reviews, we knew South Mountain Grille had to be on our list for dinner. Everything on the menu looked so delicious, we ordered numerous dishes for each course and we were not disappointed. The duck wontons, brussel sprout salad, and shrimp dip were standouts. Prices were a bit high but it is worth it to get great food at a ski resort. We will definitely be back and South Mountain will again be one of our stops!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great dinner again

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 6, 2015

Ate here last year and again the food was outstanding. Sat at the bar and had an entertaining evening. The only two negatives were the wine inventory was severely depleted and how long it took to get our food in spite of it not being particularly busy. Neither would keep us from returning, though.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice dinner - host staff not that great

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 28, 2014

The hosts forget about us.. twice. We sat at the bar waiting for them for 30 minutes to get our table ready. They came up to use after 30 minutes and asked "did you have a reservation". I said yes - you saw my last name on the screen when we first walked in and then I showed them the email. We were really hungry so we told them we would just eat at the bar. The host said "oh cool." and walked away.

The bartenders Kasie and another gentlemen from Ohio were great. He really knew the wine list and was quite helpful. Dinner turned out to be pretty good. Just wished we would have sat at the bar immediately.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

disappointed this time

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on December 22, 2014

Last year we eat here it was AWESOME! Food, service everything,. This time the waitress was lame and steak was tough. But we will try again next time going skiing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Grille

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2014

My wife's steak was good but my Wok pork dish not so hot. Maybe stay away from the Wok menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Wonderful

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

What a thoroughly wonderful experience! Spectacular Food, courteous and knowledgable staff and just an all around pleasant ambiance. We will definitely go back again and again. Well worth the trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another delicious diner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 29, 2014

Our annual tradition with another couple end the season with diner at South Mountain Grill, also birthday celebration for the wives. We have been doing this since 2005, all agree South Mountain Grill the best on the mountain since Red Fox Inn. Good thing we did have diner there as tradition this past Saturday night as Snowshoe announced not going to reopen for first weekend of April yesterday morning (3/31) on facebook. 7 months till next ski season! Will be up over the summer for at least one diner out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

George

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on March 22, 2014

Food was good, wait staff helpful and knowledgable

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Premium price, average food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 23, 2014

I don't know why there can't be a great restaurant around SnowShoe. My daughter's fish was overcooked and extremely dry. My wife's chicken wasn't very good. My rack of veal wasn't hitting on much. Great atmosphere though and probably the only place you can book reservations on the mountain. Our server was great.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Nice Break

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 22, 2014

This restaurant at Snowshoe Resort, in WV. It is a nice break from the crowded village area and the restaurants in the village. I would go back to this restaurant again, for sure

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Pretty bad food / rather expensive

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 17, 2014

Quality of the food varied from mediocre to poor. The $43 lamb loin was the worst part. Ordered it medium rare, it was well done. The flavor was a bit gamey (and I love lamb) and it was a poor cut of meat - tough and seemed to be cut along the grain. The flatiron steak was okay and the twice baked potato it came with was good. I don't mind the high prices since it's a resort restaurant but they really need to bring up the quality of the food if they want to maintain this kind of menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Good food, bad experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

I made a reservation over a month in advance for a Valentine's Day celebration (on 2/15). We arrived on time and were promptly seated right by the bathroom and the front door (which opened every 30 seconds or so, blasting cold air onto our table; why they refuse to close the curtains they have hanging there is beyond me!; we did ask that they be closed, and were granted our wish, for about 30 seconds, when the cranky hostess opened them again). How romantic!

We did ask to be reseated, but were not accommodated by the cranky hostess. Fortunately our server was excellent, as was the food. As one might suspect, the door/bathroom tables are somewhat lacking in ambience. Not exactly what we had in mind for celebrating Valentine's Day.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Perfect experience

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

The best place for dinner on the mountain. High end restaurant which is high end from service thru dessert. Highly recommend the cottage cheese bisque, mango scallops, mountain surf and turf along with the Carmel puff for dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great spot at Snowshoe

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

Great food, good service, vibrant scene... fit for foodies and wine afficianados

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

All food at Snowshoe is less

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

All food at Snowshoe is less than average. We had lunch and dinner at several spots. Service is also very average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Best food Snowshoe has to offer

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

We lived this place so much on our first night that we decided to come again for our last dinner. The food far exceeds any other restaurant at Snowshoe. It is priced accordingly but the portions are quite substantial. The wait was very reasonable unlike the restaurants in the village. Unless you are staying at the south mountain you will need to drive or shuttle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top of the World Dining

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

We recently dined at the South Mountain Grille for our Valentine's dinner while skiing at Snowshoe. We had reservations and were seated immediately. However, we were placed at a high-top, two person table that was against a side wall in the bar section. It felt very out of place and being in the bar area made for a noisy meal. Our food was good and was served promptly but with good spacing between our appetizers, main courses and dessert. Our waitress forgot to offer us bread and we had to ask for some once we saw another waiter bringing it out to his tables of guests. If we go back to Snowshoe in the future, I would not hesitate to make reservations at this restaurant again. (Although I would ask for a better table position.)

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Anyone who misses the Red

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 8, 2014

Anyone who misses the Red Fox Restaurant you will be very happy with the menu and food here. We were told the chef was the sous chef at the Red Fox. Yes on the higher side price wise but we find it well worth it, have been twice this season with friends and family just the other night, all agree much better than the previous restaurant. Now our two favorite places to eat on special occasions while at Snowshoe are South Mountain Grill and the Elk River restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Gourmet on the mountain

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 8, 2014

We have to make 2 reservations at SMG every trip to Snowshoe Mountain Resort. I had the potato gnocchi in cream sauce with crumbled blue cheese and walnuts, hubby had the filet, both delish! Good size portions as well. Desert is a must - the chocolate banana cake is perfect with coffee. Also a MUST is the cottage cheese bisque! YUMMo! See you next year SMG!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and a great atmosphere

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 5, 2014

Our group tried several of the appetizers, as well as the entrees and desserts. Everything was top-notch. The vegetarian of the group had no trouble finding something good on the menu as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Inconsistent / New bartender needed

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 30, 2014

We've eaten at this restaurant many times over the last 5 years. We can only describe its quality as inconsistent. This last and final visit (we won't be back) required me to send back my mojito as the lime juice appeared to be missing. They brought the drink back with some Roses' lime juice added. Since the lime slice on the side of the glass was embarrassingly old, I can only assume that someone forgot to order limes. I sent it back with a request for an old fashioned instead. It was acceptable but nothing special. The Greek bruschetta was actually very good. The gnocchi was too heavy to finish. The bill came to nearly $250 for four people. Overpriced for the quality. The bright lights over the table next to us was annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Great dining in the mountain

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 26, 2014

I took my girlfriend on a ski trip for her birthday and we enjoyed her birthday dinner here. I had pork tenderloin in a cherry balsamic reduction sauce and she had the filet mignon. Both dishes were cooked to perfection. The only complaint we had is our food was served a bit cold. The only parts of our meal that was warm enough were the potatoes. Clearly the meat station and veggie station were waiting on the potatoes to get done. Other than that, the food was very flavorful and welleexecuted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Experience!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 19, 2014

Had a great dining experience!! Food was great and the reservations were on time!! Will recomend to all my friends and family!! Hope to see you again in the future!! Thanks!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 2, 2014

The food was truly outstanding. Surprisingly so. The wok dishes are great and the flat iron steak was the favorite. Although the kitchen was a little on the slow side, the service was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Oasis on the Mountain

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2014

Heard about this restaurant from a friend......and am happy I tried it. Was at Snowshoe for several days and ate here twice/ drinks one night. 1) Make reservations! This is the only truly "nice" restaurant on the Mountain....and it does get crowded. I even noticed the management doing everything they could to accommodate very large groups that did not make reservations....

2) I'm not sure what I was expecting "food wise" but I was truly surprised by the quality and variety on the menu! Very high end. But then, the Brunch was just what we needed in "Comfort Food".... 3) if you can't get reservations, you can get food at the bar....which is fun too. For a new-ish place, it is making a positive mark on the Mountain!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent dining experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 31, 2013

Excellent dining experience. The food and service were both top notch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

could have been...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 31, 2013

The food was good. We had reservations and had to wait for our table that was set up in the foyer of the restaurant. Our waitress had a broken arm and was very confused with our group of 12. If they could step up their service and management, it would be a great place overall.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Start up

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 31, 2013

Our meal was good, but not great. We dined 12/27 and 12/30. This weekend was the beginning of ski season. They were very busy. They still need to work out the kinks. Usually by mid-season, things are much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.