About South End Buttery

314 Shawmut Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

South End Buttery is a neighborhood eat-in and take-away bakery/cafe by day and full bar/restaurant by night. The Buttery's award-winning food has a reputation for combining seasonal, local ingredients to create exceptional everyday food at everyday prices. The Buttery takes casual fine dining to new heights, with classic comfort food as well as dishes for the health and calorie conscious that pair beautifully with the affordable wine and beer selections. You'll feel like you're dining in your own home – but you won’t have to do the dishes!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0711

Website:
http://www.southendbuttery.com/

Catering:
We cater home and office events 7 days of the week. Check out our web site for our corporate catering menus.

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are also available one block away at the corner of Harrison Avenue and Waltham Street and at 505 Tremont Street, the Calderwood Pavilion.

Public Transit:
Back Bay Orange Line -- 5 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Andrea Nordby, Culinary Director

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to discuss large party reservations. We are a small restaurant, but we will do our best to accommodate your needs!

Private Party Contact:
Richard Gordon: (617) 549-2776

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our cafe can accommodate up to 22 guests for a semi-private sit-down dinner or cocktail party. Because we are a small restaurant, we require a fixed rate per guest to offer your party our dining space for an entire evening. Rates depend on the day of the week booked and start at $125 per guest for weeknights and $150 per guest for Friday and Saturday nights. We offer a full bar and customized menus for special events based on our seasonal offerings. Please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcake - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Reese's Pieces Peanut Butter Cookie - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
chocolate chip cookie - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Caprese Sandwich - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Veggie Burger - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Coconut Cupcake With Iced Latte - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Fully Loaded Organic Oatmeal - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Shaved Ham & Manchego Eggs Benedict - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Eggs Benedict - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Cupcake - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Red Velvet Cupcake - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Pancakes and Fresh Berries - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Almond Brioche - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Biscuit Sandwich - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Very Berry Smoothie - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Turkey Burger - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Juevos Rancheros - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Smoked Salmon Bagel - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Nanaimo Bars - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Bagel with Lox - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
cranberry scone - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Vegetarian sandwich - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Spring Herb And Goat Cheese Omelet - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Fried Chicken and Waffles - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Homemade Scones - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Eggs Salmon - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Homemade Granola - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
pancakes - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Smoked Salmon & Eggs - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Cheddar, Bacon, Scallion Scone - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
New England Crabcake Sandwich - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Ginger Scone - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Prawn Curry - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Bohemian Cooler - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Buttery Meatloaf - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Wild Mushroom Ravioli - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Crab Cake Sandwich - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
California Blt - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Buttery Banana Bread - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
butterscotch scone - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Ham & Swiss - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Cappuccino - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Red Velvet Cupcake & Herb Roasted Chicken Sandwich - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Red Velvet Cupcakes - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Goodies - South End Buttery, Boston, MA
Bakery, Cafe, Restaurant - South End Buttery, Boston, MA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

South End Buttery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (30)
Cozy (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Casual (15)
Good for a Date (12)
Fun (12)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Romantic (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fireplace (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Authentic (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Came here for anniversary dinner, both o ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Came here for anniversary dinner, both of us were blown away by the delicious food. The wedge salad was amazing as well as the salmon and hanger steak. Would go again

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely South End gem!! Try the South End ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Lovely South End gem!! Try the South End Buttery for dinner or brunch or even just a quick bite and some coffee! It's a fabulous place with great service!!!! Make a reservation though; it gets busy!!! Thanks.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and atmosphere. We will b ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not expect the atmosphere to be so c ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Did not expect the atmosphere to be so cozy or the food to be so delicious. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food and drinks were delicious!!!

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and drinks were delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Salad came with no dressing. Looked dead ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Salad came with no dressing. Looked dead. Slow, inattentive service. Very tiny table for three people, knocking knees underneath. Felt sick later from Brussels sprouts appetizer. No one happy. Food fair to poor. Also, parking is a nightmare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything was top notch; food, service, ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Everything was top notch; food, service, noise level. However there was a terrible stench that day we were there (sitting downstairs).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A Must return... It is a cozy and intima ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

A Must return... It is a cozy and intimate dinner treat for small group or couples. The little fireplace adds to the comfortable ambiance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, , Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. Our only feedback ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything was great. Our only feedback is that there should be more fish and vegetarian options on the menu. The staff was more than happy to accommodate us but since we stay away from pig and shellfish, there were limited options.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been there many times. Seems diff ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We've been there many times.

Seems different! No space between tables! Not comfortable!

Great food , but , not enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent service Fireplace area is supe ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent service

Fireplace area is super COZY, welcoming

Limited menu and $$$ for portion size

Well seasoned dishes and beautifully plated

Had a signature cocktail (don't recall name) which is more like a dessert (that is why we ordered) tasted as if it sat in the ice too long 👎🏻

Wine is reasonable

Will definitely try burger or brunch next time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved our dinner. My third or fourth din ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Loved our dinner. My third or fourth dinner at the Buttery. I always love it. Delicious and cozy. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was really excited to give this restau ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

I was really excited to give this restaurant a try - I had been told repeatedly that the brunch was amazing. I made a reservation with a friend of mine for noon on Saturday. We arrived to a line and no one seemed to know what was going on. Instead, the host was feverishly working on a tablet attached to the wall - so much so that he did not pay attention to the line at all. I finally went up to him and realized I was meant to check in for my reservation. We stood next to him as he worked on the tablet - for a full 30 minutes after our reservation was meant to start. Three parties went in front of us with 12:15 or 12:30 reservations because they were either larger (3 people rather than 2 - same size table with slightly more room for an extra chair), or to sit at the bar (after 30 min. of waiting I would have taken that too). By the time we sat down we were so frustrated with the lack of service that it was really hard to have a good experience. The food was good - but not the "oh my god" caliber I was expecting based on reviews. Not a place I would go back to based on my experience.

Tip to the house - taking care of customers should be higher priority than new gadgets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We are only in Boston once a year but th ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

We are only in Boston once a year but this is a must hit for weekend breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favs and we don't often go to ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of our favs and we don't often go to the same restaurant twice! on top of a delicious meal, and yummy drinks, our server was wonderful with a great personality that enhanced the whole experience.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the beautifully presented buttern ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had the beautifully presented butternut/white bean hummus (delicious) with grilled naan and cumin roasted carrots (delicious, but they were refrigerator-cold; we would have preferred at least room-temp). I had the salmon with chorizo/corn cake (gorgeous and delicious) and my husband had the chicken parm (good, but he admits he should have gotten one of the many more interesting options). We had the apple crisp (delicious, but again, we should've tried something more interesting). And our fabulous server, Sasha, made sure we had decaf! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took a little while to get someone to ta ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Took a little while to get someone to take our drinks order, but after that, service was smooth and wonderful. Delicious food, cozy atmosphere - perfect for date night, or any night. Reasonable prices, and good value. Butternut squash white bean hummus was not too heavy on the butternut, and wonderfully creamy - roasted carrots was delicious, simple touch. We each ordered the half chicken Giannone. They were very accommodating and subbed out the cheesy polenta for the chorizo and corn cake on my order; wise decision for me. Absolutely loved the chorizo-corn cake. If I was hungrier, I would have attempted to sample even more. Happy with my order, and my wine, every time I come here.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The cafe for breakfast is outstanding. G ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

The cafe for breakfast is outstanding. Great casual atmosphere with excellent coffee and breakfast type food. For dinner, I found the food and experience solid and good but not outstanding. I'll come back for breakfast and coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

South End Buttery never fails to please. ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

South End Buttery never fails to please. All their dishes are great, but their pancakes are one of the best I've ever had. Make sure to order a dish with pancakes or even just have them as a side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we reserved a table well in adv ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Although we reserved a table well in advance we still had to wait 30 minutes. For the rest the place is great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A delicious menu with tasty brunch stapl ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

A delicious menu with tasty brunch staples, cooked to perfection. The service is excellent. Reservations for Sunday brunch are a must!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New chef is brilliant. Before it was go ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

New chef is brilliant. Before it was good, now it's fabulous. Bravo.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service, tasty dinner and nice din ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service, tasty dinner and nice dining area. Perfect place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The brunch food was very good. I was a l ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

The brunch food was very good. I was a little disappointed in the Buttery Bakery Basket, though, because it was all sweets, no regular bread or rolls. They were delicious, don't get me wrong, but I would have liked a better assortment and/or maybe smaller pieces of more different things. I ordered a side order of crisp bacon and it came out perfectly; and there were more slices than I've ever seen in a side order. One friend had the brioche french toast and it looked marvelous. So all in all, very good.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

First time there. Don't shun the basemen ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

First time there. Don't shun the basement as it's actually quite charming!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We came to the Buttery before seeing a p ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

We came to the Buttery before seeing a play at the Speak Easy. Was very convenient. The food was great. We sat downstairs and enjoyed the fireplace. The food was great. I had the salmon and shared the iceberg wedge. The only thing was that the main dishes took a while to come out. Might have been because it was a Sat nite and had gotten crowded. We'd go back.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I had heard great things About this rest ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

I had heard great things

About this restaurant but the food very disappointing for the price. The wedge salad was at best mediocre and needed more dressing. The food was very bland and not only was there no salt and pepper on the table. We had to ask you a couple of times. The potato

also not seasoned and skimpy on sour cream not what you expect on loaded bake potato. The hanger steak was good and the cheeseburger was average. The

Parmasean truffle fries were bland as well. Definitely don't spend the

Money for truffle oil. I would not recommend this restaurant. They should stick with pastries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Loved it - just wish the portions were a ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved it - just wish the portions were a bit more ample- especially for the guys in our party...but I would def go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We went to South End Buttery for brunch ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

We went to South End Buttery for brunch on a Saturday. Our service from Joanna was absolutely amazing! She made the morning perfect for all of us with her humor and service.

We were so very happy that we choose South End Buttery and we will return next time we are in Boston!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Family Style, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and cozy environment. Plenty ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and cozy environment. Plenty of options to choose from. Straightforward dishes that are done just right - I'm looking forward to coming back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The south and battery has been a favorit ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

The south and battery has been a favorite but on this visit we were disappointed.

The noise level in the downstairs room prevents any conversation. The floor and ceiling are made of wood and there is nothing in the small room to absorb sound. Perhaps it was that there were two very loud parties cheated on either side of us, but we were uncomfortable because we could not speak and be heard. And then, in the middle of dinner, the volume on the music was turned up! It was lowered once we called it to our servers attention.

One of our favorite dishes isThe bacon wrapped dates but on this visit, the bacon was so overdone has to fall apart. My companions enjoy their meals of shrimp diavolo and A salad with shrimp, but my meal, the chicken Parmesan, was good but not spectacular.

Initially, we were offered seats at a high table in the bar room which they thought might be quieter but because our party did not want to sit at a high table we moved downstairs.

As we were leaving, we were told that a quieter meal could've been had in the café section of the restaurant, which is set up for find dining after 7 o'clock. But because we had Theater Tickets at eight, that wouldn't have worked for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

This is a place that never disappoints. ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is a place that never disappoints. Our go to in Boston. Breakfast and dinner are our favorites.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and a very nice ambiance ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very good food and a very nice ambiance in the upstairs bar areas dining. Food is terrific and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Totally worth going! Warm basement scen ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Totally worth going! Warm basement scene. Very cozy. Food was between good and great; The salmon and Brussels were a hit; the lobster Mac and cheese had too much of a soupy cheese texture and the lobster flavor was lost. Small but value minded wine list. Server was warm and charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I came here for my birthday with my fami ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

I came here for my birthday with my family which included my adult children and my 90 year old father. We all enjoyed ourselves. The food was delicious. We started with a pastry basket and then had a variety of items off the brunch menu, pancakes, eggs, falafel burger, eggs benedict. Everything delicious and the service and atmosphere were wonderful. I always appreciate when the servers are extra nice to my dad who doesn't see or hear well but is otherwise very friendly and outgoing. I've eaten here numerous times for dinner but this was my first brunch. Definitely a thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess told us we could sit outside ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

The hostess told us we could sit outside, but when we arrived at our table, there was only one chair. The hostess then stood quietly while my friend and I had to awkwardly ask another party to give up a chair. Our server seemed to be having a rough day - he was not outside often. The food runner brought me the wrong dish and then appeared frustrated with me when I told him it wasn't what I ordered. The sever graciously comped my meal, but it was not the experience I've heard others rave about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Amazing service and the best breakfast / ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing service and the best breakfast / brunch in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hearty food portions, great and friendly ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Hearty food portions, great and friendly staff, a cozy/quiet downstairs area. Great for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I do not go to South End Buttery enough ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

I do not go to South End Buttery enough I always enjoy the food, service and the cocktails. I love the setting fo the upstairs dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We've eaten breakfast a couple of times ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

We've eaten breakfast a couple of times now at the South End Buttery. It's a nice, low-key, local place to meet friends. Our out-of-town guests always enjoy it. The food is good and simple. There isn't a kids menu per se, but there is a sides menu that works great for kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.