About South End Buttery

314 Shawmut Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

South End Buttery is a neighborhood eat-in and take-away bakery/cafe by day and full bar/restaurant by night. The Buttery's award-winning food has a reputation for combining seasonal, local ingredients to create exceptional everyday food at everyday prices. The Buttery takes casual fine dining to new heights, with classic comfort food as well as dishes for the health and calorie conscious that pair beautifully with the affordable wine and beer selections. You'll feel like you're dining in your own home – but you won’t have to do the dishes!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0711

Website:
http://www.southendbuttery.com/

Catering:
We cater home and office events 7 days of the week. Check out our web site for our corporate catering menus.

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are also available one block away at the corner of Harrison Avenue and Waltham Street and at 505 Tremont Street, the Calderwood Pavilion.

Public Transit:
Back Bay Orange Line -- 5 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Andrea Nordby, Culinary Director

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to discuss large party reservations. We are a small restaurant, but we will do our best to accommodate your needs!

Private Party Contact:
Richard Gordon: 6175492776

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our cafe can accommodate up to 22 guests for a semi-private sit-down dinner or cocktail party. Because we are a small restaurant, we require a fixed rate per guest to offer your party our dining space for an entire evening. Rates depend on the day of the week booked and start at $125 per guest for weeknights and $150 per guest for Friday and Saturday nights. We offer a full bar and customized menus for special events based on our seasonal offerings. Please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcake
Reese's Pieces Peanut Butter Cookie
chocolate chip cookie
Caprese Sandwich
Veggie Burger
Coconut Cupcake With Iced Latte
Fully Loaded Organic Oatmeal
Shaved Ham & Manchego Eggs Benedict
Eggs Benedict
Cupcake
Red Velvet Cupcake
Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich
Pancakes and Fresh Berries
Almond Brioche
Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Biscuit Sandwich
Very Berry Smoothie
Turkey Burger
Juevos Rancheros
Smoked Salmon Bagel
Nanaimo Bars
Bagel with Lox
cranberry scone
Vegetarian sandwich
Spring Herb And Goat Cheese Omelet
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Homemade Scones
Eggs Salmon
Homemade Granola
pancakes
Smoked Salmon & Eggs
Cheddar, Bacon, Scallion Scone
New England Crabcake Sandwich
Ginger Scone
Prawn Curry
Bohemian Cooler
Buttery Meatloaf
Wild Mushroom Ravioli
Crab Cake Sandwich
California Blt
Buttery Banana Bread
butterscotch scone
Ham & Swiss
Cappuccino
Red Velvet Cupcake & Herb Roasted Chicken Sandwich
Red Velvet Cupcakes
Goodies
Bakery, Cafe, Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

South End Buttery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Boston
Best Restaurants in South End ›

Great for Brunch (42)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The menu didn't give enough selections a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The menu didn't give enough selections and they were very ordinary. We remembered their meatloaf but it wasn't offered.

It was very, very quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Absolutely perfect. Will be back soon! G ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Absolutely perfect. Will be back soon!

Great restaurant. Amazing food!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a later reservation here which I ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a later reservation here which I wouldn't recommend to others- they were out of several things we wanted.

We had some of their desserts which were disappointing after reading the reviews. The brownie sundae didn't really have a brownie in it and the strawberry shortcake lacked strawberries and sauce. We had the ravioli dish as well which was quite good as was the cheese dip. But everyone raves about the desserts so we were excited! It was a let down.

Service was not that great- waitress wasn't very educated on the menu and had to keep coming back to tell us they were out of something.

I don't know if I would try this again based on the tons of other choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was absolutely beautiful both t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was absolutely beautiful both to look at and devour. Remembering those potatoes makes me miss this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Casual dining spot with very good food a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Casual dining spot with very good food and service to match at reasonable prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This place lived up to its reviews. Food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This place lived up to its reviews. Food was creative and every dish was executed perfectly.

Cocktails were excellent. Nice choice of wines by the glass.

We ate outside at a sidewalk table. It was a lovely quiet tree lined side street.

We loved everything about this meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friends and I enjoyed the delicious f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My friends and I enjoyed the delicious food and great drinks! Very nice atmosphere and our waitress was pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely little spot in the South End. Cha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Lovely little spot in the South End. Charming. The food was very good, although no dish was amazing. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely neighborhood restaurant. Excellen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Lovely neighborhood restaurant. Excellent food, lively and fun, yet intimate ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at the bar on the first floor, is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We ate at the bar on the first floor, is a very small place, but cozy, we like it. The appetizers where great, the food took some time to come but it was ok. The Mac and chees where not good, the hamburguer was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A party of 4 who did not have a reservat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A party of 4 who did not have a reservation took my party of 4 reservation. As a result I ended up waiting a full hour, WHEN I HAD A RESERVATION. The hostess was incompetent at seating guests, a very simple task. She offered up no resolution nor thoughtful gesture such as coffee gratis for her wrongdoing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

A neighborhood gem providing exceptional ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A neighborhood gem providing exceptionally good food. Brunch is unrivaled!

Tags: People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the Parmesan garlic fries with the t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Get the Parmesan garlic fries with the truffle aoli, it was divine! Great pancakes, and quick service too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to South End Bu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was our first visit to South End Buttery estaurant. Our server was adorable. He was excellent. The food was very good. My friend enjoyed her wild mushroom omelette, two of us got the smoked salmon Benedict, and my husband got the huevos rancheros. I ordered a side of avocado, and it was perfectly ripe. I also got some berries, and they were fresh and delicious. However, everyone sits downstairs for brunch , and on a beautiful Sunday morning, I just didn't enjoy eating in a basement room. My husbandthought that his meal was just OK. Ours were very good, and I would certainly give this restaurant another chance.

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Hostess was great

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Hostess was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were in the basement and it was way t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were in the basement and it was way too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

I asked questioned about the meals and i ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I asked questioned about the meals and it fell on dead ears

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I have now been to the Buttery three tim ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have now been to the Buttery three times, and this time I brought my parents from out of state. We all loved our breakfast, enjoyed the decorations and atmosphere, and our waiter was great. Overall extremely pleased with our experience again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place. So charming, so pleasant ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing place. So charming, so pleasant and so much fun! The decor is very easy and comfy and the food is simple and delicious.

Definitely "hip" without the attitude.

Love it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a cool vibe. Great interior. Food ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What a cool vibe. Great interior. Food and service were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 of us came here for Brunch. The Butte ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

5 of us came here for Brunch. The Buttery had great reviews and i felt lucky to be able to make a reservation. Upon arrival we were promptly seated (we arrived 15 min early). The dining room is very small, a few seats at the bar and very few tables (about 20 people max). There's also a downstairs area, really cool too. Each dish was AMAZING delicious, cooked to perfection, and excellent portions! We were completely stuffed! Great neighborhood place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought overall it was a nice place an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I thought overall it was a nice place and I would probably go back. Food was pretty good. Simple but executed well and nice portions. The ambiance is very nice and cozy. Very clean and maintained well with comfortable decor. It's a little bit tight in the restaurant so beware. We had a newborn in addition to our party of 6 and it was quite difficult to navigate with a baby carrier. Tables are very small as to accommodate as many people as possible, but even 3 put together for our party of 6+ was tight. The one piece I would say that needed some work is the service. It was definitely mediocre at best. Very genial server but we felt a little abandoned. We were all almost completely out of coffee and had to ask. We had two kids with us-asked for extra napkins and got two. Would usually expect enough for the table, but we made do by using every clean spot on the ones we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

My friends and I made a 12:15 reservatio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My friends and I made a 12:15 reservation for blunch on Saturday. We were immediately sat downstairs which luckily had big bright windows to cut the dungeon ambiance. Our server was nice except, we waited about 15 minutes for 3 cocktails so we had plenty of time to make our meal choices. We immediately ordered but then waited almost an hour for our food to actually arrive. I wish our server would have at least acknowledged our wait or offered our side or fries to come out to keep us from getting too hangry. Overall it was a pleasant experience and I would recommend a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great waitress, understandably took a bi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great waitress, understandably took a bit longer to be seated because it was a bit crowded and busy on a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Neighbor Brunch but.... I would not go o ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Neighbor Brunch but....

I would not go out of my way to just to have brunch although it is a neighbor gem, a small local,eatery, freshmfoormfriendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Food took an hour and a half. Steak came ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food took an hour and a half. Steak came out medium rare when I asked for medium well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Wonderful food, presentation and staff. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful food, presentation and staff. There was a large party that was too noisy. Manager helped move us to a more comfortable space; however we ended up in a high bar table which is not what we wanted. Took away from the ambience of a delightful restaurant experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was abosolutely incredible pair ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was abosolutely incredible paired with amazing service. We had causally mentioned it was my friends birthday and our waiter surprised us with a cup cake with a candle it for her. Everything tastes amazing and it was all and all a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food was enjoyable, the ser ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Although the food was enjoyable, the service was terrible.

The host took ages to seat us, although we had booked to not waste time waiting.

The bus boy who was setting up the table had greasy hands all over the cutlery, which we had to change once we sat down.

The waitress, who was super sweet, was EXTREMELY SLOW.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was great, server was very rude and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was great, server was very rude and never came back to ask us how our food was or check in. We'll go back to the bakery part but never to sit down and eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Loved the sweet pea and mint hummus, and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved the sweet pea and mint hummus, and the strawberry shortcake was totally worth pre-ordering. It was perfect. Service was only ok though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

South End Buttery is a perpetual favorit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

South End Buttery is a perpetual favorite among my friends and I. Stop by on a Friday night after a SoWa excursion (be sure to make a reservation, though!) or celebrate a family member's birthday on a quieter week night - South End Buttery never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The price is a bit pricey for what you g ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The price is a bit pricey for what you get. The pancakes were on the thicker side . Overall good not great room for improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our GBO (Girls' brunch out) was fantasti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our GBO (Girls' brunch out) was fantastic. The all of our meals were delicious! The scones were so good we got some to go!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious. Interesting food b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely delicious. Interesting food but still basic enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South End Buttery is a breakfast lovers ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

South End Buttery is a breakfast lovers dream come true!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The home fries at brunch are amazing!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The home fries at brunch are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

LOVED the baked goods, particularly thei ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

LOVED the baked goods, particularly their scones and muffins! Brunch was fine, but did not wow. I would recommend just going for coffee and scones from the front counter, and then munching on them as you stroll around the neighborhood. Same great baked goods, same great neighborhood atmosphere, but a fraction of the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Smaller portions then before. Really lou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Smaller portions then before. Really loud music so you couldn't hear others at your table. Four people at table three were served food fourth persons food came out ten min later. Waitress was tough to work with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We had a reservation but had to wait in ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a reservation but had to wait in a cramped space getting jostled by other cramped unhappy people for 10 minutes. Then they put us at one of the many crummy spots in the basement. Salad yummy, pancakes TOUGH. They were obviously overwhelmed. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.