About South End Buttery

314 Shawmut Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

South End Buttery is a neighborhood eat-in and take-away bakery/cafe by day and full bar/restaurant by night. The Buttery's award-winning food has a reputation for combining seasonal, local ingredients to create exceptional everyday food at everyday prices. The Buttery takes casual fine dining to new heights, with classic comfort food as well as dishes for the health and calorie conscious that pair beautifully with the affordable wine and beer selections. You'll feel like you're dining in your own home – but you won’t have to do the dishes!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0711

Website:
http://www.southendbuttery.com/

Catering:
We cater home and office events 7 days of the week. Check out our web site for our corporate catering menus.

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are also available one block away at the corner of Harrison Avenue and Waltham Street and at 505 Tremont Street, the Calderwood Pavilion.

Public Transit:
Back Bay Orange Line -- 5 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Andrea Nordby, Culinary Director

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to discuss large party reservations. We are a small restaurant, but we will do our best to accommodate your needs!

Private Party Contact:
Richard Gordon: 6175492776

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our cafe can accommodate up to 22 guests for a semi-private sit-down dinner or cocktail party. Because we are a small restaurant, we require a fixed rate per guest to offer your party our dining space for an entire evening. Rates depend on the day of the week booked and start at $125 per guest for weeknights and $150 per guest for Friday and Saturday nights. We offer a full bar and customized menus for special events based on our seasonal offerings. Please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcake
Reese's Pieces Peanut Butter Cookie
chocolate chip cookie
Caprese Sandwich
Veggie Burger
Coconut Cupcake With Iced Latte
Fully Loaded Organic Oatmeal
Shaved Ham & Manchego Eggs Benedict
Eggs Benedict
Cupcake
Red Velvet Cupcake
Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich
Pancakes and Fresh Berries
Almond Brioche
Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Biscuit Sandwich
Very Berry Smoothie
Turkey Burger
Juevos Rancheros
Smoked Salmon Bagel
Nanaimo Bars
Bagel with Lox
cranberry scone
Spring Herb And Goat Cheese Omelet
Vegetarian sandwich
Fried Chicken and Waffles
pancakes
Homemade Scones
Eggs Salmon
Homemade Granola
Smoked Salmon & Eggs
Cheddar, Bacon, Scallion Scone
New England Crabcake Sandwich
Ginger Scone
Prawn Curry
Bohemian Cooler
Buttery Meatloaf
Wild Mushroom Ravioli
Crab Cake Sandwich
California Blt
Buttery Banana Bread
butterscotch scone
Ham & Swiss
Goodies
Bakery, Cafe, Restaurant
Red Velvet Cupcake & Herb Roasted Chicken Sandwich
Red Velvet Cupcakes
Cappuccino

South End Buttery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Boston
Contemporary American
Boston
Best Restaurants in South End ›

neighborhood gem (63)
great for brunch (60)
fit for foodies (50)
See All
romantic (18)
special occasion (17)
great for lunch (12)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food, presentation and staff. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food, presentation and staff. There was a large party that was too noisy. Manager helped move us to a more comfortable space; however we ended up in a high bar table which is not what we wanted. Took away from the ambience of a delightful restaurant experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was abosolutely incredible pair ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was abosolutely incredible paired with amazing service. We had causally mentioned it was my friends birthday and our waiter surprised us with a cup cake with a candle it for her. Everything tastes amazing and it was all and all a great dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food was enjoyable, the ser ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 4 days ago

Although the food was enjoyable, the service was terrible.

The host took ages to seat us, although we had booked to not waste time waiting.

The bus boy who was setting up the table had greasy hands all over the cutlery, which we had to change once we sat down.

The waitress, who was super sweet, was EXTREMELY SLOW.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was great, server was very rude and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was great, server was very rude and never came back to ask us how our food was or check in. We'll go back to the bakery part but never to sit down and eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Loved the sweet pea and mint hummus, and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved the sweet pea and mint hummus, and the strawberry shortcake was totally worth pre-ordering. It was perfect. Service was only ok though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

South End Buttery is a perpetual favorit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

South End Buttery is a perpetual favorite among my friends and I. Stop by on a Friday night after a SoWa excursion (be sure to make a reservation, though!) or celebrate a family member's birthday on a quieter week night - South End Buttery never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The price is a bit pricey for what you g ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The price is a bit pricey for what you get. The pancakes were on the thicker side . Overall good not great room for improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our GBO (Girls' brunch out) was fantasti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our GBO (Girls' brunch out) was fantastic. The all of our meals were delicious! The scones were so good we got some to go!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious. Interesting food b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely delicious. Interesting food but still basic enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South End Buttery is a breakfast lovers ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

South End Buttery is a breakfast lovers dream come true!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The home fries at brunch are amazing!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The home fries at brunch are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

LOVED the baked goods, particularly thei ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

LOVED the baked goods, particularly their scones and muffins! Brunch was fine, but did not wow. I would recommend just going for coffee and scones from the front counter, and then munching on them as you stroll around the neighborhood. Same great baked goods, same great neighborhood atmosphere, but a fraction of the price.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Smaller portions then before. Really lou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Smaller portions then before. Really loud music so you couldn't hear others at your table. Four people at table three were served food fourth persons food came out ten min later. Waitress was tough to work with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We had a reservation but had to wait in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a reservation but had to wait in a cramped space getting jostled by other cramped unhappy people for 10 minutes. Then they put us at one of the many crummy spots in the basement. Salad yummy, pancakes TOUGH. They were obviously overwhelmed. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The basement dining section for DINNER w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The basement dining section for DINNER was, very, very loud. It's small, so one table starts to raise their voice over the next, and so on, and so on. Suddenly you are in this tiny room where everybody is screaming.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always Great

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Never disappoints. Delicious food. Attentive service. Great cozy scene.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch!!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for Special or Informal Occasions!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Buttery is an interesting combination between neighborhood cafe and small, quaint restaurant that provides great service and even better food.

The rustic look creates a romantic backdrop for special occasions or an intimate vibe for a small group of friends. Because of limited seating, definitely book ahead.

So, whether you're looking to chill with a coffee and pastry in the cafe or find that gem of a brunch spot for your hungover friends on a Sunday, the Buttery fits the bill.

In short, absolutely freaking go there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Buttery

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is my second time at the Buttery for brunch and, let me tell you, it's quite a deal. The food is sooo good that each time I've eaten enough food to last me through dinner and all the way into lunch the following day!

Do order the pastry basket--it's beyond yummy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a good casual meal.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Appetizers and new burger delicious. Negroni with cucmber delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed a very good dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went here before a play and enjoyed a nice dinner with Gnudi and a hand crafted Chicken 'burger'. Both were excellent. Drinks were a little slow - only knock i would have.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Basic

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It was basic in all sense of the word. The service was average, the food was fine. I was okay with the price considering the neighborhood. I will likely be back, but more because it is a cute restaurant in a cute neighborhood, and not because the food or service was particularly impressive.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The good was disappointing! so bland.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The good was disappointing! so bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent breakfast place

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We enjoyed south end for the first time. From street level looks like a basic coffee place but has a nice dining level below. Great service and well thought out and executed menu. With nice interpretation of classic dishes.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday brunch was great. Sat downstairs ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Sunday brunch was great. Sat downstairs, which could have been dark and small, but the windows and door to a sunken outside area combined with a nice interior design made a bright and comfortable atmosphere. The mid 90's R&B was at a level that made talking easy but kept a nice background to the meal.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The hostess was extremely rude. We were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The hostess was extremely rude. We were about 10 minutes late but had called in advance to see if they could hold the table. They said yes but when we got there she rudely explained that our table had been given away and then we had to wait 30 minutes. We know we were late but there are better ways to communicate with guests. The food was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Eggs benedict was amazing!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Eggs benedict was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Buttery Birthday Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner, on a number of levels. I took two friends to dinner, for their birthdays which are 10 days apart - they are a couple.

The atmosphere was wonderful - our table location downstairs was private enough to enjoy the conversation, even though there was a large party nearby.

The meal itself was delicious, starting with a basic bread/cheese plate. Our entrees were well prepared and presented, and desserts (we each had the brownie bite sundae) delectable.

On top of that, the service was simply perfect. Alex (I hope I'm getting her name right) was extremely attentive and engaging.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The turkey burger with parmesian fries w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The turkey burger with parmesian fries was excellent, but of all things the meatloaf with butter peas was outstanding. Our server was very personable and kind, and answered every question we had about the food perfectly. We ate in the downstairs dining room, which was quite cozy on such a chilly night. All in all it was a great experience on our first trip to South End.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I usually go to the Buttery Cafe and alw ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I usually go to the Buttery Cafe and always have a great experience. The restaurant is a hidden gem! We had an amazing server who went above and beyond to make sure we were all happy and satisfied. Also, the downstairs dining room is so comfortable and perfect for Boston's cold winter season. The burger was unbelievable as well as, of course, the dessert! We will definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We happened to go on a Monday which was Burger Night. Hamburgers were delicious! Other meals were great too. Lovely intimate room with fireplace on a rainy night. Recommend!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We really enjoyed this little brunch spot. It was busy on a Sunday afternoon so make sure to make reservations. The pancakes were amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long wait despite having a reservation

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I made a Sunday brunch reservation for 1:45 p.m. We arrived a bit early to check in. Upon checking in, the host said "Okay, it'll be a little while... maybe ten minutes." No problem. While we waited, more and more groups came in, whether it be for a 2 p.m. reservation, 2:15, etc. And all the while I'm thinking to myself, "These groups will have to wait forever if it's already 2:15 and we're not even seated for our 1:45 p.m." Needless to say, we weren't seated until around 2:20, which was pretty frustrating. It pretty much defeated the purpose of making a reservation. I'm pretty sure the table that had a 2:30 reservation wasn't seated until close to 3:15.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Basically, the food is fine but not wow.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I was surprised to be charged $1.00 for jam for my toast although it was delicious jam.

The problem for me on this particular day is that the restaurant was crazy busy and crazy noisy. Do not go if you intent is to have a leisurely relaxing time. Too much of a happening place and if you want to hear the conversation at your own table you just have to up the volume yourself. I think the food is good but not exceptional and the atmosphere is just too charged for a lazy Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent food, poor service

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The brunch at South End Buttery is always delicious, but the service is poor. We experienced a long delay before ordering, and a longer delay before receiving our food. Our server seemed unfamiliar with the menu and made all of us at the table fear that our orders would be garbled. Also, unique to this restaurant, you won't receive a copy of your credit card receipt; you'll sign the only copy. (If you want a copy, I'm sure you can ask and then wait 10 minutes for it to arrive.) But in the end, the food was excellent. The Buttery has the best pancakes in town, and the "home fries" are fantastic. We'll put up with the bad service and return, although not soon.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Best Brunch Ever!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been trying to get Brunch reservations here for the longest time - I always call too late and they're all booked. This time I called several weeks in advance and finally got reservations. It was well worth the wait.....great food and service!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a flawless experience. As we appr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a flawless experience. As we approached we notice groups entering the restaurant and thought we'd be kept waiting but we were taken immediately to our table downstairs in the most comfortable and appealing room. Our server was excellent and food was perfect. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambience, but received poor service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I made a reservation for 5:30pm for dinner (very early I know, but we had time constraints). They were not prepared to seat us at 5:30pm and made us wait until 5:45pm. They took us downstairs and sat us among all the empty tables. Then the waiter proceeded to forget about us for the next 15 minutes, not even serving us water. I had to call the manager over to be attended to.

I've been there many times before and have had no problems, so I hope this was a one time error. I would recommend that South End Buttery pay more attention to their early dining customers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great Brunch!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great Brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.