About South End Buttery

314 Shawmut Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

South End Buttery is a neighborhood eat-in and take-away bakery/cafe by day and full bar/restaurant by night. The Buttery's award-winning food has a reputation for combining simple and few ingredients to create exceptional everyday food at everyday prices. The Buttery takes casual fine dining to new heights, with classic comfort food as well as dishes for the health and calorie conscious that pair beautifully with the affordable wine and beer selections. You'll feel like you're dining in your own home – but you won’t have to do the dishes!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0711

Website:
http://www.southendbuttery.com/

Catering:
We cater home and office events 7 days of the week. Check out our web site for our corporate catering menus.

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are also available one block away at the corner of Harrison Avenue and Waltham Street and at 505 Tremont Street, the Calderwood Pavilion.

Public Transit:
Back Bay Orange Line -- 5 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Andrea Nordby, Culinary Director

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to discuss large party reservations. We are a small restaurant, but we will do our best to accommodate your needs!

Private Party Contact:
Richard Gordon: 617-549-2776x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our cafe can accommodate up to 22 guests for a semi-private sit-down dinner or cocktail party. Because we are a small restaurant, we require a fixed rate per guest to offer your party our dining space for an entire evening. Rates depend on the day of the week booked and start at $125 per guest for weeknights and $150 per guest for Friday and Saturday nights. We offer a full bar and customized menus for special events based on our seasonal offerings. Please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for seasonal dinner and brunch specials from Chef Andrea for Fathers Day all weekend!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

South End Buttery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Boston
Contemporary American
Boston
Best Restaurants in South End ›

neighborhood gem (74)
great for brunch (66)
fit for foodies (56)
See All
romantic (27)
special occasion (19)
great for lunch (17)
hot spot (12)
good for groups (9)
kid-friendly (6)
notable wine list (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The hostess was extremely rude. We were ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The hostess was extremely rude. We were about 10 minutes late but had called in advance to see if they could hold the table. They said yes but when we got there she rudely explained that our table had been given away and then we had to wait 30 minutes. We know we were late but there are better ways to communicate with guests. The food was great though.

food5
ambience3
service5

Eggs benedict was amazing!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Eggs benedict was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buttery Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 12, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner, on a number of levels. I took two friends to dinner, for their birthdays which are 10 days apart - they are a couple. The atmosphere was wonderful - our table location downstairs was private enough to enjoy the conversation, even though there was a large party nearby. The meal itself was delicious, starting with a basic bread/cheese plate. Our entrees were well prepared and presented, and desserts (we each had the brownie bite sundae) delectable. On top of that, the service was simply perfect. Alex (I hope I'm getting her name right) was extremely attentive and engaging.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The turkey burger with parmesian fries w ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The turkey burger with parmesian fries was excellent, but of all things the meatloaf with butter peas was outstanding. Our server was very personable and kind, and answered every question we had about the food perfectly. We ate in the downstairs dining room, which was quite cozy on such a chilly night. All in all it was a great experience on our first trip to South End.

food4
ambience4
service4

Had a great time

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Had a great time

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I usually go to the Buttery Cafe and alw ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I usually go to the Buttery Cafe and always have a great experience. The restaurant is a hidden gem! We had an amazing server who went above and beyond to make sure we were all happy and satisfied. Also, the downstairs dining room is so comfortable and perfect for Boston's cold winter season. The burger was unbelievable as well as, of course, the dessert! We will definitely be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal!

Dined on May 2, 2016

We happened to go on a Monday which was Burger Night. Hamburgers were delicious! Other meals were great too. Lovely intimate room with fireplace on a rainy night. Recommend!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We really enjoyed this little brunch spot. It was busy on a Sunday afternoon so make sure to make reservations. The pancakes were amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Long wait despite having a reservation

Dined on May 1, 2016

I made a Sunday brunch reservation for 1:45 p.m. We arrived a bit early to check in. Upon checking in, the host said "Okay, it'll be a little while... maybe ten minutes." No problem. While we waited, more and more groups came in, whether it be for a 2 p.m. reservation, 2:15, etc. And all the while I'm thinking to myself, "These groups will have to wait forever if it's already 2:15 and we're not even seated for our 1:45 p.m." Needless to say, we weren't seated until around 2:20, which was pretty frustrating. It pretty much defeated the purpose of making a reservation. I'm pretty sure the table that had a 2:30 reservation wasn't seated until close to 3:15.

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Basically, the food is fine but not wow.

Dined on May 1, 2016

I was surprised to be charged $1.00 for jam for my toast although it was delicious jam. The problem for me on this particular day is that the restaurant was crazy busy and crazy noisy. Do not go if you intent is to have a leisurely relaxing time. Too much of a happening place and if you want to hear the conversation at your own table you just have to up the volume yourself. I think the food is good but not exceptional and the atmosphere is just too charged for a lazy Sunday brunch.

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent food, poor service

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The brunch at South End Buttery is always delicious, but the service is poor. We experienced a long delay before ordering, and a longer delay before receiving our food. Our server seemed unfamiliar with the menu and made all of us at the table fear that our orders would be garbled. Also, unique to this restaurant, you won't receive a copy of your credit card receipt; you'll sign the only copy. (If you want a copy, I'm sure you can ask and then wait 10 minutes for it to arrive.) But in the end, the food was excellent. The Buttery has the best pancakes in town, and the "home fries" are fantastic. We'll put up with the bad service and return, although not soon.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch Ever!!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I've been trying to get Brunch reservations here for the longest time - I always call too late and they're all booked. This time I called several weeks in advance and finally got reservations. It was well worth the wait.....great food and service!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a flawless experience. As we appr ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a flawless experience. As we approached we notice groups entering the restaurant and thought we'd be kept waiting but we were taken immediately to our table downstairs in the most comfortable and appealing room. Our server was excellent and food was perfect. Couldn't have been better.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food and ambience, but received poor service

Dined on April 16, 2016

I made a reservation for 5:30pm for dinner (very early I know, but we had time constraints). They were not prepared to seat us at 5:30pm and made us wait until 5:45pm. They took us downstairs and sat us among all the empty tables. Then the waiter proceeded to forget about us for the next 15 minutes, not even serving us water. I had to call the manager over to be attended to. I've been there many times before and have had no problems, so I hope this was a one time error. I would recommend that South End Buttery pay more attention to their early dining customers.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great Brunch!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fabulous food.

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was delicious. The kale and brussels sprout salad was amazing. I had the pork, which was delicious. My friends both enjoyed the salmon. We shared a lemon mousse dessert, which was terrific and interesting. Unfortunately the service wasn't great that evening. Perhaps our waiter was having an off night. We were seated for at least 10 minutes before he came over with water, and the rest of the service was consistently slow. I will return and hope for better service next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Great atmosphere and amazing food, but i ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great atmosphere and amazing food, but it was shocking how many items the kitchen was out of. They were out of the drink that we wanted to try, ran out of the mussels appetizer, and only had one available dessert....even though there is a bakery right upstairs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buttery Good Vibes

Dined on April 10, 2016

We met as a group of six for brunch and to celebrate a family birthday. Reserve ahead, it's small! Lovely brunch foods, including the buttery bread basket. Sasha is undoubtedly one of the most personable servers ever. Great neighborhood feel here, too. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great pancakes

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Came here on Christopher's recommendation and it was very good for brunch. South End Buttery was very busy and had a full line waiting. The service was excellent . I had the pancakes and Christopher and Kathy had the French toast. We had aside of kale and Brussels sprout salad. A little to tart. All in all it was a very good meal.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Neighborhood Restaurant

Dined on April 3, 2016

I've been living in the South End for two years now, and this is absolutely my favorite restaurant. My boyfriend and I are regulars, and we've brought our family and friends on occasion, as well. The food and the scene are exquisite and comfortable without being pretentious. The menu is filled with familiar classics that are executed to perfection. We've always had impeccable service. It feels like a real neighborhood gem that only the locals know about. I'd highly recommend it to anyone.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Charming and cozy with a fantastic menu!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Charming and cozy with a fantastic menu!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the espresso martini - perfect way ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Loved the espresso martini - perfect way to end the meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best pancakes in Boston. Favorite brunch ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Best pancakes in Boston. Favorite brunch spot hands down.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome place

Dined on March 26, 2016

I didn't give it 5 stars because the tables are just a tad too close to each other, and the noise level (for brunch, at least) is quite high. But it definitely is a great place. Staff is extremely professional and quite friendly; food is superb. One caveat: if you plan on driving there, it is TOUGH to find parking, so be sure to get there with time to spare.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great

Dined on March 18, 2016

Went there with 2 others, had a great time. Service was friendly and excellent. Food was wonderful. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Love the Buttery but....

Dined on March 11, 2016

The South End Buttery is great. Very tasty food, pleasant and attentive wait staff. But the space is small and there are simply too many tables crammed into too small a space. It makes an otherwise charming spot uncomfortable.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic brunch!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Brunch at the buttery never disappoints! The food is always delicious -- the pancakes and eggs benedict cannot be beat!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The parmesan-garlic fries with the truff ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

The parmesan-garlic fries with the truffle aioli were delicious.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Brunch Fail

Dined on February 28, 2016

My husband has been talking about South End Buttery's brunch so needless to say I was excited when we went. As they say "B1t€#E$ love brunch". We walked in and the restaurant itself is cute. They have the pastry side, restaurant side and the walk out deli next door, which we stopped by after. Drinks were good. My husband enjoyed his Bloddy Mary. My mimosas were on point. My husband ordered French toast and I ordered eggs Benedict and we both ordered a side of home fries. When the server delivered our food he said "oh my" like he was judging all the food we ordered. The home fries serving is LARGE. You really only need one side for 2 people. Had he informed of us that when we were ordering we would have only ordered one of them as we are not OBESE. My husbands French toast was delicious! My eggs benedict.... AWFUL. They arrived cold, too much ham, the English muffin was too soft and the eggs were over cooked. The home fries were plain as day. No seasoning and nothing special. Probably just olive oil some S&P and then fried or baked for an hour. We'll probably go back in a few months but I would not order the eggs Benedict again. Until that time 3 stars, and that's being nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a very nice time. This place is bus ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Had a very nice time. This place is busy. Good food & coffee. Waiter, table were all good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Solid Neighborhood Brunch Spot

Dined on February 27, 2016

This place is always a solid brunch/lunch option whether it's for a sit down meal or you're just ordering from the cafe. In my opinion, their baked goods like the scones and buttery basket are their specialty.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is fantastic and the food is ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

This place is fantastic and the food is outstanding! The only thing better is the service...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super Fun, Elegant yet Quirky.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Amazing experience, everything was perfect from the hostess who was so kind even though we were late, our server, the food, the atmosphere. It was a great environment, definitely would please a wide variety of people. Will be back for sure

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Good Pancakes; Everything else was mediocre

Dined on February 14, 2016

In line with the subject, the pancakes were delicious! BUT (and a big BUT) the restaurant was FREEZING. All women patrons were wearing their winter jackets, and the oddest thing was they waitstaff pretended like it wasn't strange, or an uncomfortable to dine. Further, I had spoken with the hostess to guarantee a table downstairs, but then on the day they put us upstairs, and again, they didn't even apologize and it didn't phase them that this wasn't our request.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Decent food, but very poor service.

Dined on February 14, 2016

If you like to have someone refill (even once) your coffee or water during the 1.5 hours you are there for brunch, then the South End Buttery is NOT for you. Other negatives: Lobster Benedict had no seasoning/flavor. If you order the Lemon Ricotta Fritter with the Fresh Berry Compote, they will give you the fritters without any berry compote. If you ask about the compote, they will tell you that the menu changed. They will Not apologize or offer to change your order if you only ordered it because you wanted to try the compote. If it's negative 10 degrees outside, expect it to be negative 5 degrees inside because they will not turn on the heat. Your waiter will only come by twice. Once to take your drink order, once to take your food order. Nobody will offer to refill drinks (even if you plan to pay for refills) and you can expect to have to flag someone down to get your check. Overall, you are better off going to any number of better restaurants in the South End that has food that's just as good, as well as service that isn't horrendous.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great, cozy atmosphere. Delicious brunch ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Great, cozy atmosphere. Delicious brunch!

food3
ambience3
service2

We have been to the Buttery many times e ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We have been to the Buttery many times enjoying every one. However we found our most recent visit very disappointing. Coming in on a very cold evening we hoped to be seated in the cozy bar or basement instead we were seated in the impersonal cafe with our table practically touching the tables on eater side. This was made much worse by the woman sitting next to us whose normal mode of talking was yelling. In terms of the food we enjoyed the polenta fries and affagato. However the hanger steak which was ordered medium rare came out what could only be described as rare. On top of that the service left a lot to be desired. We will return to the buttery however it will not be for several months as this visit left a bad taste in our mouth.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Classic South End Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Stop in for a drink, whether coffee or something stronger. Great menu, cozy fireplace seating downstairs, great patio for warmer months. Worth a visit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch place

Dined on February 7, 2016

My partner and I tried to book a table here for weeks, but the wait was worth it. There is not that much variety in the brunch menu, but what they have is tasteful and you can feel in every bit the quality of the ingredients. Moreover, the pastry basket is big and enough for like 4 people. I ordered an extra foam cappuccino, and it was well done. Our waiter was very polite and attentive. In general, was a great experience. I recommend it for a friends brunch day out. Not ideal for big families as the place is not big, but cozy.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little place

Dined on February 7, 2016

This is a great little place we found. We had Sunday brunch which was wonderful. Sat down stairs which had stone walls, a fire place and great ambiance. Would recommend highly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.