About South End Buttery

314 Shawmut Avenue
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

South End Buttery is a neighborhood eat-in and take-away bakery/cafe by day and full bar/restaurant by night. The Buttery's award-winning food has a reputation for combining seasonal, local ingredients to create exceptional everyday food at everyday prices. The Buttery takes casual fine dining to new heights, with classic comfort food as well as dishes for the health and calorie conscious that pair beautifully with the affordable wine and beer selections. You'll feel like you're dining in your own home – but you won’t have to do the dishes!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Union Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 482-0711

Website:
http://www.southendbuttery.com/

Catering:
We cater home and office events 7 days of the week. Check out our web site for our corporate catering menus.

Parking Details:
Private parking lots are also available one block away at the corner of Harrison Avenue and Waltham Street and at 505 Tremont Street, the Calderwood Pavilion.

Public Transit:
Back Bay Orange Line -- 5 minute walk

Executive Chef:
Andrea Nordby, Culinary Director

Private Party Facilities:
Please call to discuss large party reservations. We are a small restaurant, but we will do our best to accommodate your needs!

Private Party Contact:
Richard Gordon: 6175492776

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Our cafe can accommodate up to 22 guests for a semi-private sit-down dinner or cocktail party. Because we are a small restaurant, we require a fixed rate per guest to offer your party our dining space for an entire evening. Rates depend on the day of the week booked and start at $125 per guest for weeknights and $150 per guest for Friday and Saturday nights. We offer a full bar and customized menus for special events based on our seasonal offerings. Please call for details.

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcake
Reese's Pieces Peanut Butter Cookie
chocolate chip cookie
Caprese Sandwich
Veggie Burger
Coconut Cupcake With Iced Latte
Fully Loaded Organic Oatmeal
Shaved Ham & Manchego Eggs Benedict
Eggs Benedict
Cupcake
Red Velvet Cupcake
Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich
Pancakes and Fresh Berries
Almond Brioche
Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Biscuit Sandwich
Very Berry Smoothie
Turkey Burger
Juevos Rancheros
Smoked Salmon Bagel
Nanaimo Bars
Bagel with Lox
cranberry scone
Vegetarian sandwich
Spring Herb And Goat Cheese Omelet
Fried Chicken and Waffles
Homemade Scones
Eggs Salmon
Homemade Granola
pancakes
Smoked Salmon & Eggs
Cheddar, Bacon, Scallion Scone
New England Crabcake Sandwich
Ginger Scone
Prawn Curry
Bohemian Cooler
Buttery Meatloaf
Wild Mushroom Ravioli
Crab Cake Sandwich
California Blt
Buttery Banana Bread
butterscotch scone
Ham & Swiss
Cappuccino
Red Velvet Cupcake & Herb Roasted Chicken Sandwich
Red Velvet Cupcakes
Goodies
Bakery, Cafe, Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

South End Buttery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Boston
Best Restaurants in South End ›

Great for Brunch (54)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (16)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1252 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A neighborhood gem providing exceptional ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

A neighborhood gem providing exceptionally good food. Brunch is unrivaled!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get the Parmesan garlic fries with the t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Get the Parmesan garlic fries with the truffle aoli, it was divine! Great pancakes, and quick service too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to South End Bu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit to South End Buttery estaurant. Our server was adorable. He was excellent. The food was very good. My friend enjoyed her wild mushroom omelette, two of us got the smoked salmon Benedict, and my husband got the huevos rancheros. I ordered a side of avocado, and it was perfectly ripe. I also got some berries, and they were fresh and delicious. However, everyone sits downstairs for brunch , and on a beautiful Sunday morning, I just didn't enjoy eating in a basement room. My husbandthought that his meal was just OK. Ours were very good, and I would certainly give this restaurant another chance.

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Hostess was great

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Hostess was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were in the basement and it was way t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were in the basement and it was way too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

I asked questioned about the meals and i ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I asked questioned about the meals and it fell on dead ears

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I have now been to the Buttery three tim ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have now been to the Buttery three times, and this time I brought my parents from out of state. We all loved our breakfast, enjoyed the decorations and atmosphere, and our waiter was great. Overall extremely pleased with our experience again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place. So charming, so pleasant ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing place. So charming, so pleasant and so much fun! The decor is very easy and comfy and the food is simple and delicious.

Definitely "hip" without the attitude.

Love it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a cool vibe. Great interior. Food ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

What a cool vibe. Great interior. Food and service were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

5 of us came here for Brunch. The Butte ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

5 of us came here for Brunch. The Buttery had great reviews and i felt lucky to be able to make a reservation. Upon arrival we were promptly seated (we arrived 15 min early). The dining room is very small, a few seats at the bar and very few tables (about 20 people max). There's also a downstairs area, really cool too. Each dish was AMAZING delicious, cooked to perfection, and excellent portions! We were completely stuffed! Great neighborhood place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought overall it was a nice place an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I thought overall it was a nice place and I would probably go back. Food was pretty good. Simple but executed well and nice portions. The ambiance is very nice and cozy. Very clean and maintained well with comfortable decor. It's a little bit tight in the restaurant so beware. We had a newborn in addition to our party of 6 and it was quite difficult to navigate with a baby carrier. Tables are very small as to accommodate as many people as possible, but even 3 put together for our party of 6+ was tight. The one piece I would say that needed some work is the service. It was definitely mediocre at best. Very genial server but we felt a little abandoned. We were all almost completely out of coffee and had to ask. We had two kids with us-asked for extra napkins and got two. Would usually expect enough for the table, but we made do by using every clean spot on the ones we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

My friends and I made a 12:15 reservatio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My friends and I made a 12:15 reservation for blunch on Saturday. We were immediately sat downstairs which luckily had big bright windows to cut the dungeon ambiance. Our server was nice except, we waited about 15 minutes for 3 cocktails so we had plenty of time to make our meal choices. We immediately ordered but then waited almost an hour for our food to actually arrive. I wish our server would have at least acknowledged our wait or offered our side or fries to come out to keep us from getting too hangry. Overall it was a pleasant experience and I would recommend a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great waitress, understandably took a bi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great waitress, understandably took a bit longer to be seated because it was a bit crowded and busy on a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Neighbor Brunch but.... I would not go o ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Neighbor Brunch but....

I would not go out of my way to just to have brunch although it is a neighbor gem, a small local,eatery, freshmfoormfriendly service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Food took an hour and a half. Steak came ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food took an hour and a half. Steak came out medium rare when I asked for medium well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Wonderful food, presentation and staff. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful food, presentation and staff. There was a large party that was too noisy. Manager helped move us to a more comfortable space; however we ended up in a high bar table which is not what we wanted. Took away from the ambience of a delightful restaurant experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was abosolutely incredible pair ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was abosolutely incredible paired with amazing service. We had causally mentioned it was my friends birthday and our waiter surprised us with a cup cake with a candle it for her. Everything tastes amazing and it was all and all a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food was enjoyable, the ser ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Although the food was enjoyable, the service was terrible.

The host took ages to seat us, although we had booked to not waste time waiting.

The bus boy who was setting up the table had greasy hands all over the cutlery, which we had to change once we sat down.

The waitress, who was super sweet, was EXTREMELY SLOW.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was great, server was very rude and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was great, server was very rude and never came back to ask us how our food was or check in. We'll go back to the bakery part but never to sit down and eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Loved the sweet pea and mint hummus, and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved the sweet pea and mint hummus, and the strawberry shortcake was totally worth pre-ordering. It was perfect. Service was only ok though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

South End Buttery is a perpetual favorit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

South End Buttery is a perpetual favorite among my friends and I. Stop by on a Friday night after a SoWa excursion (be sure to make a reservation, though!) or celebrate a family member's birthday on a quieter week night - South End Buttery never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The price is a bit pricey for what you g ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The price is a bit pricey for what you get. The pancakes were on the thicker side . Overall good not great room for improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our GBO (Girls' brunch out) was fantasti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our GBO (Girls' brunch out) was fantastic. The all of our meals were delicious! The scones were so good we got some to go!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious. Interesting food b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely delicious. Interesting food but still basic enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South End Buttery is a breakfast lovers ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

South End Buttery is a breakfast lovers dream come true!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The home fries at brunch are amazing!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The home fries at brunch are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

LOVED the baked goods, particularly thei ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

LOVED the baked goods, particularly their scones and muffins! Brunch was fine, but did not wow. I would recommend just going for coffee and scones from the front counter, and then munching on them as you stroll around the neighborhood. Same great baked goods, same great neighborhood atmosphere, but a fraction of the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Smaller portions then before. Really lou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Smaller portions then before. Really loud music so you couldn't hear others at your table. Four people at table three were served food fourth persons food came out ten min later. Waitress was tough to work with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We had a reservation but had to wait in ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a reservation but had to wait in a cramped space getting jostled by other cramped unhappy people for 10 minutes. Then they put us at one of the many crummy spots in the basement. Salad yummy, pancakes TOUGH. They were obviously overwhelmed. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The basement dining section for DINNER w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The basement dining section for DINNER was, very, very loud. It's small, so one table starts to raise their voice over the next, and so on, and so on. Suddenly you are in this tiny room where everybody is screaming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always Great

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Never disappoints. Delicious food. Attentive service. Great cozy scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch!!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for Special or Informal Occasions!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Buttery is an interesting combination between neighborhood cafe and small, quaint restaurant that provides great service and even better food.

The rustic look creates a romantic backdrop for special occasions or an intimate vibe for a small group of friends. Because of limited seating, definitely book ahead.

So, whether you're looking to chill with a coffee and pastry in the cafe or find that gem of a brunch spot for your hungover friends on a Sunday, the Buttery fits the bill.

In short, absolutely freaking go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Buttery

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is my second time at the Buttery for brunch and, let me tell you, it's quite a deal. The food is sooo good that each time I've eaten enough food to last me through dinner and all the way into lunch the following day!

Do order the pastry basket--it's beyond yummy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a good casual meal.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Appetizers and new burger delicious. Negroni with cucmber delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed a very good dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went here before a play and enjoyed a nice dinner with Gnudi and a hand crafted Chicken 'burger'. Both were excellent. Drinks were a little slow - only knock i would have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Basic

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It was basic in all sense of the word. The service was average, the food was fine. I was okay with the price considering the neighborhood. I will likely be back, but more because it is a cute restaurant in a cute neighborhood, and not because the food or service was particularly impressive.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The good was disappointing! so bland.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The good was disappointing! so bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent breakfast place

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We enjoyed south end for the first time. From street level looks like a basic coffee place but has a nice dining level below. Great service and well thought out and executed menu. With nice interpretation of classic dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sunday brunch was great. Sat downstairs ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Sunday brunch was great. Sat downstairs, which could have been dark and small, but the windows and door to a sunken outside area combined with a nice interior design made a bright and comfortable atmosphere. The mid 90's R&B was at a level that made talking easy but kept a nice background to the meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.