Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About South City Kitchen Midtown

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (76)
Comfort Food (67)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Business Meals (48)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Authentic (41)
Great for Brunch (41)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Great for Lunch (40)
Good for Groups (36)
Local Ingredients (34)
Casual (33)
Romantic (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Cozy (27)
Fun (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Open Kitchen (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
People Watching (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Family Style (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Seasonal (9)
Historic (9)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Live Music (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3988 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service. The atmosphere was amazing as well, but it was extremely loud and a couple people in our party had trouble hearing. That is a minor complaint and this should definitely make your ATL Brunch list!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We met here for lunch on a Saturday because I had read very good reviews. The noise level was so high we couldn't hear each other talk. A couple of friends ordered fried chicken and were happy with their meal. Another person ordered a salad, not much can go wrong with a salad so he was pleased. A friend who loves crab cakes made this choice her meal. It was barely okay, with not much flavor and it came with cubed potatoes that tasted pretty bad. I ordered breakfast. The grits were the best I've ever had but the scrambled eggs had no taste and the bacon was mostly fat. Desserts were very good. However, we ordered coffee and never got it but were charged for it. They had to issue a new bill after I pointed out about the coffee. I treated my friends and paid $160.00 for a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Both the fried chicken and the braised rabbit ravioli were very delicious entrees! Our server was attentive without being overbearing and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Atlanta Restaurant during vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic service from a true professional - thank you, Pablo!!!

Everything was fantastic; must haves were Fried Green Tomatoes, Beets, & fingerlings with salsa verde!

Restaurant was quite loud but the food and service made up for that.

Will definitely go back if I'm ever in Atlanta again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Highly recommend the patio. Inside it was super-loud (don't know about upstairs).
Food and service was great. For sure I have to go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My Canadian friend wanted to try Southern foods and loved every bite of her friend green tomatoes, pimento cheese, fried chicken, greens and pecan pie. All very southern, but with elegant touches. A new favorite for me too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We continue our experience of trying restaurants new to us through open table searches. Once again we were very pleased. The service was awesome and the food was delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

This place was really good. The food was great! I will definitely return. However, the hostess with the one side shaved head was not pleasant and welcoming. I asked her if she was the hostess but I did not get a response. The manager, Vanessa was more than accommodating and really made up for our first impression of this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had an awesome time for my wife's mother day celebration. We been to South City on multiple occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food not bad not impressed with service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fabulous as always. Can't go wrong with this Atlanta staple.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Alisha is great. This was my second time and she took time to check to make sure my son and I was doing well each time she passed. Everything we ordered was sent out just as ordered. The hostess at the door was also awesome she made sure we had a table. Thanks SCK see you next time hope the next time is better than the first and second. High expectations 👍😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great Mother's Day Brunch. The pecan waffles are excellent and so is the lemon thyme lemonade!!! Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place is amazing. I didn't too much care for the pulled pork but my boyfriend had the fried chicken over mashed potatoes and collard greens and his was delicious. Our waitress had Great customer service this is a great place for a date. I would recommend my friends to come here and I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful fried chicken,sides, and shrimp and grits. Extensive wine list. Attentive service. Cozy atmosphere. One of my favorite restaurants in Atlanta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very pricey for the amount of food you get. Service is good. A bit pretentious. I ordered the salmon with quinoa and kim chi. Quinoa was too sweet and kim chi was too spicey. The salmon was small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I always love going to South City Kitchen. The food, wine and service is always excellent!

Tags: Historic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I had guests from South Ga in town who I wanted to take somewhere nice for lunch, but not too risky. South City was a great choice. They offer a wide selection, but the fried chicken is among the best in Atlanta. There are frequent celebrity sightings there because of its close proximity to the Four Seasons hotel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Was in ATL for conference that wound up around 8:30pm. Was able to get reservation for 9. Restaurant was about half full when we arrived. We were promptly greeted/seated. Waitress was incredibly knowledgeable around the menu and cocktails, made great recommendations. Highly recommend the fried green tomatoes and the fried chicken. Venison saltimbocca was also unique and very well prepared. Our meals were perfectly prepared and our waitress was attentive throughout. Very much recommend a trip here for special occasions or for just great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

South City never disappoints. They are consistently delicious. I especially like their fried green tomatoes, she-crab soup, fried chicken and shrimp and grits. I brought some work colleagues since I've bragged about the fried chicken and they agreed it was the best they'd had.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Really enjoyed our lunch at South City. This was a celebratory lunch for a work anniversary. Our server, Alisha was prompt and observant. She overheard this was an anniversary lunch and even brought out a little celebratory dessert! Overall, everyone was happy with the appetizers and entrees. I especially enjoyed the smoked brisket and she-crab soup.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The oil that the chicken was cook in seem to be old. Had better chicken there before. But other than that things was ok.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our waiter, Andy, was fabulous! He was so attentive, professional and courteous. Food was unique and flavorful. Only caveat is that it's very noisy. Do not go there if you want romance and/or quiet, private conversation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was poor the server only checked on us once😟

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Pablo our server made the great food even better. It was for a college grad celebration

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The appetizers were absolutely delicious. We had fried green tomatoes, livers, and pimento chees. Fantastic! Everyone that had the breakfast brunch (5 of us) was disappointed. Eggs were cold and the grits were cold and not great. The sausage and biscuits not great but one of our group had a delicious salad and another had the salmon and said it was delicious. Sad because I was entertaining my family for a celebration and was disappointed. I go here all the time for work functions and entertaining folks and have always been very impressed and happy to share southern cooking. Not happy this time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

All food was delicious. Fried Chicken was so good. Our server James was so nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

When we arrived there was a group of six one step ahead of us. It took 3 hostesses/servers over 10 minutes to check them in, put together menus and move them past the door to acknowledge or wait on us. The other half of our party was already seated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My wife and I tried the fried chicken and it was AMAZING .I would definitely recommend it , the portion was more that enough. The sides of mashed potatoes and collard greens were good also.We will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Stopped in with a friend for early dinner ahead of the opera. Found a lot on the menu I would have liked to try. My friend - who is a bit (ok, a lot) pickier - likes chicken but the only chicken on the menu was fried. Luckily, she settled on the vegetable plate which she really enjoyed. Been coming here since the 90's and like that they keep evolving. Always enjoy the atmosphere and service - sophisticated and hip but never stuffy or snooty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent farm-to-table style dishes with a southern twist. Welcoming atmosphere and top noych service for our large group. One of the sous chefs even cane to greet us! Nice personal touch. Stellar variety of dishes included fish, meats, gluten free, vegetarian options--all were equally enjoyed. Will return upon next opportunity!

Tags: Spicy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Fabulous crab cake w/hash- amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food is always consistent with healthy options to some of the best fried chicken around. Had a salad with grilled salmon and fried green tomatoes. One of the best places to bring friends and family when they are in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Awesome as always! I come here for all my business dinners and my guest are always impressed!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I have been to South City Kitchen before but this time I brought my 85 year old out for a "girls lunch". Anthony was our server and he was amazing...he provided great recommendations and was so friendly. We had the fried green tomatoes as an app which were delicious...and I am from Atlanta...these are real FGT! We both ordered the Turkey Hot Brown open faced sandwich and that was so good. Definitely comfort food for the day. It was lunch time in Midtown so it was really loud as there were a lot of business people have work lunches but it did not bother us. I love this restaurant and plan to go again! Service was fast and the manager greeted us and was lovely. It was yummy, Southern food :-)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My niece was visiting from San Diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

More upscale but still affordable. My family went after 5 but I would love to go back during the brunch hours...very well prepared food as well

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great atmosphere food is always delicious. Service was a little busy due to how busy it was on Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Second time to South City Kitchen. Our server looked mad at the world. Took about 20 minutes for him to take our order. The food took a long time to arrive and I was not impressed this time by my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.