About South City Kitchen Midtown

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 5pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Celebrating its 15th year as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Southern
Atlanta
1 More
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

fit for foodies (202)
neighborhood gem (132)
great for brunch (128)
See All
special occasion (113)
great for lunch (110)
good for groups (108)
hot spot (92)
great for outdoor dining (76)
romantic (58)
notable wine list (44)
vibrant bar scene (31)
kid-friendly (14)
late-night find (13)
scenic view (8)
Sort By:
Newest
3264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great place to go for special ...

Dined 2 days ago

This is a great place to go for special occasions or just because the food is so good!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So pleased I did a little research and f ...

Dined 5 days ago

So pleased I did a little research and found South City Kitchen for our first and best meal in Atlanta. Amazing food and service! The fried green tomatoes and fried chicken were scrumptious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Friends Were Right

Dined 5 days ago

Took Mom to Atlanta for her 86th birthday and SCK happened to be near the hotel, so I booked the reservation. Then friends informed me that I'd made an excellent choice. Man, were they right. Mom uses a wheelchair for all but very short walks, so we were met at the steps in front of the door by a hostess who helped tuck the chair out of the way and patiently led us straight to a perfect table in a cozy, light-filled nook. Our server was equal parts fun, informative, and smart - plus, she just radiated a great energy. My mom opted for a salmon salad which looked great to me, but I think she couldn't fully appreciate it once she saw me almost cry tears of joy over my fried chicken plate. What a thing of beauty. I'll never forget the perfect, light and crispy crust to succulent and flavorful meat ratio. The garlic collards and mashed potatoes were heavenly. The whole meal made me feel closer to God. I will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was my first visit to South City Ki ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was my first visit to South City Kitchen even though I stay in Midtown Atlanta frequently. As a southerner, the menu was perfect. The server was outstanding and able to help with the decision making. Scarlett Fever cocktail, pimento cheese app, smoked salmon salad, cauliflower with banana peppers and cilantro, and pineapple upside down cake with ambrosia ice cream. Oh my! It was all very satisfying. Best meal I had the whole trip. Love the tucked away location on Crescent Street.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Very good food and service, but sitting ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Very good food and service, but sitting near a large and very noisy group put a damper on our experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

True to its name

Dined on May 15, 2016

This restaurant was highly recommended for being a good example of southern cooking. Although the menu is limited, it certainly had all the traditional choices. We started with a shared appetizer of fried green tomatoes, which were quite good. Notably, this appetizer is served with three slices, but our waitress put a fourth slice on the plate so that we could each have one. She was similarly accommodating when one member in our party was disappointed by the small serving of vegetables that accompanied his entree - she came back with a beautiful (complementary) serving of mixed vegetables. Fried chicken was excellent, fish entrees pretty good, and the pork chop special was an enormous portion of very nicely prepared meat. We were too full for dessert.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite spot for southern cuisine an ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My favorite spot for southern cuisine and a can't miss whenever I come to Atlanta. Best fried chicken!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was amazing! We shared pimento ch ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch was amazing! We shared pimento cheese and I had the crab cake hash. Would definitely go back the next time I'm in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything! Great food and a fun ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved everything! Great food and a fun venue to take guests that need a Taste of Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South Town dining

Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding food, service and no wait time with reservations. Our waiter was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited this restaurant on a early Satur ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Visited this restaurant on a early Saturday evening a couple hours before the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra at 8:30 PM, indulging in table just offset from the main street. Wine and a cocktail as we discussed our dinner choices. Upstairs works great for us a window and a table for two. Corn bread biscuits cooked to perfection. We ate appetizers and shared everything. Fried green tomatoes are delicious. Maryland crab cakes are to die for. Wife thoroughly enjoys the perfectly cooked smoked pork chops. Personally I'm big on the Springer Mountain Farms Fried Chicken. The fried chicken is crusty on the outside yet juicy on the inside. Yummy. We finished our meal and left as the bar area was getting vibrant with people. Still a short line at the entrance and most the tables we passed were filled with people sipping wine and cocktails and laughter filled the restaurant had a delightful ambiance. Less than .3 of a mile two minute drive to the Woodruff Arts Center. Thank you

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Saturday brunch. The group of four ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Love Saturday brunch. The group of four ordered the chicken and waffle entrees. It was delicious. Great service and food. Definitely will return

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service!

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food, great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really good

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

From start to finish we had a great evening. We started by getting a glass of wine at the bar and Caroline took great care of us. She was clearly busy getting making drinks for the tables, but was attentive and helpful to us as well. Our server Corey was great - made some good suggestions on the menu. Our meals were elegantly presented and delicious. I would definitely go back and would recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent food and service

food4
ambience4
service4

One of the best spots in Midtown. Great ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

One of the best spots in Midtown. Great service and innovative southern food.

food4
ambience4
service4

The noise. It was very loud on the botto ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The noise. It was very loud on the bottom level. The food was good. The service was great. Probaby not the best for an occasion like Mother's Day.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic brunch spot!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Myself, my husband and our 2yr old son went here for Mother's Day brunch and it was amazing! I am always nervous trying new places but the reviews were great and I liked that they had reservations for brunch. The food was great, service was attentive and the price was totally fair for what you got. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service and quick turn around ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Attentive service and quick turn around despite the Mother's Day brunch chaos. Can't go wrong with the renowned fried green tomatoes appetizer, fried chicken entree and peach cobbler dessert. The Gouda fritters not normally on menu was exquisite! For the price, dishes were plentiful with leftovers to take home...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

South City Kitchen was an awesome venue! ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

South City Kitchen was an awesome venue! The food, ambiance, and service was impeccable! Thank you all for making it such a great Mother's Day brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great--as always.

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great--as always.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible experience. Great food as al ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Incredible experience. Great food as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, big portions. Very helpful w ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Good food, big portions. Very helpful waitstaff and excellent brown liquor cocktails. We were a little older than the rest of the diners, but it was OK.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

recipe changed??

Dined on May 3, 2016

I dine here several times a year over the past 5 yrs. the food is always good, I always order the fried chicken with mashed potatoes & greens. This time the chicken wasn't as flavorful as it normally is and the portion of greens & mashed potatoes was much less than normal. I think maybe the seasoning has changed for the chicken... it should go back to how it was in my opinion and the portions should be consistent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my go to restaurant when in Atlanta.

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Quality of food and service has remained a step above the competition over the years and glad this trip continued to hit that expectation. if you are looking for a place with southern charm I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and even better service~

Dined on May 1, 2016

My friend and I were craving fried chicken. We Yelped "best fried chicken" in Atlanta, and South City Kitchen had the highest reviews. The chicken was delicious (although a bit pricey at $19). Our server was terrific, and didn't bat an eye when my friend asked that her dessert come before her main course! LOL. We sat upstairs, and it was really cold even though we asked the staff to turn the air down. Bring a sweater. The food was delicious, so it was almost worth freezing our "you-know-whats" off.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great meal in southern states

Dined on May 1, 2016

Best meal I have had in all my trips to USA, actually cooked as you wait,real plates, not just piled on. The staff really helpful in recommending menu options. A great experience all in all. I would defiantly recommend to one an all if ever in Atlanta

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lemonade, anyone? ;-)

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I stopped in before Beyonce's concert in the A-T-L on 5/1/16. The lemonade at both were incredible! :-) The restaurant's shrimp 'n grits and fried green tomatoes are outstanding!! I absolutely loved the ambiance and can't wait to visit again!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet friends

Dined on April 30, 2016

The brunch was awesome. The food and service were excellent. Made reservation online and was seated upon arrival.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived early and were seated immedia ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We arrived early and were seated immediately. We enjoyed a salad, the trout appetizer, and the fried chicken, which was extremely hot & juicy. Service was prompt and friendly.

food5
ambience4
service5

Started the meal with fried green tomato ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Started the meal with fried green tomatoes that were wonderful. I had smoked pork chop that was cooked to perfection and my date had the trout which she enjoyed. It was a fantastic meal. It was a bit noisy though. Service was excellent.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Maybe we were too young

Dined on April 24, 2016

I have dined here before have always enjoyed the food, service, and ambiance. However, this time around South City Kitchen lost some major brownie points. Unfortunately, our server was very inattentive and stopped by maybe once or twice after our food came. I was able to snag her to get a cup of coffee before she asked if we were ready for our check. I worked in the service industry for over 10 years at Concentrics and Rocket Farm restaurants and am well aware of the standard of service one should provide to all guests, regardless of age, race, etc. She didn't seem too invested in our dining experience and it felt rushed which can leave a bad taste in anyone's mouth. I'm going to chalk it up to a busy Sunday lunch crowd and will obviously be back but felt compelled to write a review anyway.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, great service, delicious food, exce ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wow, great service, delicious food, excellent wine and cocktails. 100% will return!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food, service

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food and service were both excellent. We also like the ambiance (one-time house turned into trendy eatery) and Midtown location. But the noise level is extreme. We could barely talk across the table. Next time, we'll specify seating on the open-air porch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

Dined on April 22, 2016

My first dining experience here was nothing short of AMAZING!!! The food and service more than exceeded my expectations! Can't wait until next time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pretty durn good southern cuisine

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were a group of 4 and everyone was satisfied with their meals. The standout was the chicken liver appetizer and their butter beans. Their specialty is fried chicken, which I had planned to order. Unfortunately, they only offer fried breasts which most of our party don't care for. The manager said it was a business decision as most of their customers prefer white meat. Most restaurants touting themselves as "southern" offer both white and dark. Oh well..... Their pineapple upside down cake was killer.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved it. One of us us vegetarian an ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We loved it. One of us us vegetarian and one is not. We were both VERY happy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Recommendation

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were only in Atlanta for a day and South City Kitchen was recommended by a friend in Atlanta. It was pretty noisy inside but we were able to get a table out on the charming patio. We went traditional with green fried tomatoes and we loved having complimentary biscuits and cornbread. A really fun treat for us be able to try. Our server was really sweet and professional too. Best salad ever with roasted tomatoes and pickled banana peppers. Yum!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, food and service is excellent ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

As always, food and service is excellent and the staff at SCK Midtown never fail to impress me. Whenever I bring my out of town guests to this establishment, their immediate reaction is always "Wow!! This restaurant is incredible and the food delicious". Special mention to Michael and Bobby, who never fail to make my dining here an experience. So, what's good here? Well, all is I can is whatever they have on the menu, they do it really well. My favourites? The fried green tomatoes, she-crab soup, Southern Fried Chicken which is best in this part of the world, porkchop, and trout. Desserts - pineapple upside down cake, chocolate cake and the coconut tart.

food3
ambience5
service3

Overall a great restaurant for a working ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Overall a great restaurant for a working lunch....but the server got everyone's order wrong. If we had received the food the way we would have asked it would have been very good....but had to rate it average because it wasn't done the way I would have liked.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.