Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About South City Kitchen Midtown

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Menu will consist of a 2 course pre fixe featuring apps, salads, and entrees at $35pp & $17.50 for children 12 and under. Dessert is not included but we are going to provide each diner a Chocolate chip Pecan cookie as a sweet “Take Away”. Dessert will be available “a la carte” if guests desire

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (67)
Comfort Food (62)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Great for Brunch (42)
Casual (35)
Business Meals (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Authentic (32)
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Cozy (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Open Kitchen (23)
Fun (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
People Watching (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Family Style (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Happy Hour (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Historic (7)
Seasonal (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tapas (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Music (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Our party of six were energized by the exuberance of fellow Sunday Brunchers. Fun atmosphere. Good service. Best of show dishes were chicken liver starter, side of collards, City Benedict and Brûlée Banana Pudding dessert. Also showing well was the South City Breakfast. Only slight disappointment was Shrimp and Grits where strong flavor of ham sauce overwhelmed all other flavors. Overall, jolly ambiance and tasty food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

We were seated on time, but took a while for us to meet our waiter, and it was a birthday occasion and we were charged a $20 desert fee regardless of whether or not we decided to keep our cake with us at the table, or if they took it to their kitchen until we were finished eating our dinner.

It was a nice place to say we've been there, but probably not the first place on the list to go back to. Overall, we enjoyed our time and the food was really good and unique.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

We went with a group of 9 for my sisters 40th. They were a little late seating us but we had a great time. Not a lot of options for vegetarians but the meat eaters loved it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

I love this restaurant! I lived in Atlanta for many years and recently moved to Miami. I miss Creative Southern Food and always enjoy eating at South City Kitchen when I am back in town. The service is friendly and attentive, the food is wonderful and it is fairly priced.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Another great meal. So happy the catfish Ruben is still on the menu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

South City Kitchen went above and beyond to accommodate my mother's dietary restrictions/food allergies on her birthday. Grateful for the special attention from the servers and chef, which is what we customarily experience any day of the year. A winner, every time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

It was good but pricy. I had the fried chicken and it was good, very good. My wife had the rabbit ravioli and she liked it. The service was excellent. Friendly staff. Bright cherry atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

GREAT southern nouveau dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Average. A little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had late Easter brunch before a show. Great food, good price and overall pleasant experience. Sorry that I forget the waiters name, he was pleasant, funny and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our server was great! Cant remember his name. White guy w/ glasses. worked patio easter brunch. He was amazing. Great time had by all. My first time back at SCK in 6 years and they did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing as always!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We eat here at least once weekly and decided to do Easter brunch. I can honestly say I've never been disappointed by the service or the food. We typically get the same thing so decided to try something new; I thoroughly enjoyed the brisket Benedict. My partner always gets the fried chicken but decided upon the crab cake dish. He likes simple taste so the mixture of items in the crab cake dish was too much. Our wait staff, Koren was so attentive and immediately picked up on his disappointment in his choice! She quickly returned to the table with his favorite, making our brunch truly special. The staff and manager always strive to make our experience satisfying. I love the restaurant but the staff are the real magic at South City!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place. Location was an interesting little area . Food was very good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We found this restaurant through a Google search, so glad we did. Awesome food and great service!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The old house has been transformed into a beautiful, modern space which created a lovely (albeit a little loud) atmosphere. Our servers were excellent and provided strong recommendations. The food was good and I would return to keep trying new dishes.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food and service but a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I only made a reservation after waiting and hour and fifteen because they literally sat everyone else and we were just sitting there trying to have an awkward conversation with the front end manager. The young women that we were waiting to seat us was very unorganized because she was appalled at a Monday night crowd for a 5th Group restaurant. She was literally trying to detour people from being placed on the wait list by telling us there was a forty-five minute to and hour long wait they would probably be closed before we would be seated. We were made to wait an hour and forty-seven minutes. Her manager did not make it any better by telling us that because we did not have a reservation that we could not get patio seating because he was waiting on a guest to arrive from the Four Seasons. The only thing positive was our waiter. The food was horrible. All of the food was had no flavor at all, my regular dish the chicken was cold, the greens were tough and the appetizers were dreadful.
Not what I normally expect from 5th Group. I will probably never return nor recommend to anyone.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our meal and service was outstanding! The only let down was I was hoping for the Lamb. I was politely informed by the server and the General Manager that it is a seasonal item. I was completely ok with that, so I ordered the pulled pork. Best collards I've had besides my own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went there for brunch. Liked everything except the main course (stick to simple stuff She-crab soup was delicious, biscuits and cornbread was delicious, fried green tomatoes was delicious, banana pudding was delicious). I wish I had gotten the waffle I think I would have enjoyed more than Country Ham Benedict (ham was super salty - I know some people like that but be warned). Otherwise great ambiance and atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I love eating here and next time I will try the location in Buckhead. The midtown location is a little cramp, but very cozy.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service and food were both excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The fried chicken dinner is a must have! I'm not a huge fried chicken fan but this is so moist & delicious! Our server Anthony was very attentive and fun! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We needed a good option for a late dinner after attending a play and this was one of the nearby suggestions that Open Table listed. I'm glad we took the advice.

From the time we walked in, the staff was friendly and attentive. The aesthetic is warm and inviting and we both enjoyed our meals.

I would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The food was really good but it is LOUD in there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Delicious food in a really warm and hospitable setting!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Mediocrity at its best. There are too many good restaurants in Atlanta to waste your your time and money on mediocre food,service and high prices.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Crab cakes hash was recommended by the wait staff and it was delish! A little cramped in there, but the patio was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food, reasonable price, service was on point.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Had the shrimp and geechi boy grits. Best shrimp and grits I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fresh local food. Fried green tomatoes and the pork chop was fabulous!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 30, 2017

A bit too loud to speak to someone at the other end of the table. The food was fabulous!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fantastic food as always and personal super professional service. A bit loud for a business lunch but the business was not as important as the food! Maybe 5 minutes too long for first course and between first and entree. Whoever invented the Catfish Reuben is a genius.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Some of the best fried chicken I have ever tasted. My friends highly recommended the she crab soup. By the end of the meal, the restaurant had become so noisy that it was difficult to talk among our table. I would recommend the open air tables as being quieter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Since I loved to Atlanta in 2003, South City Kitchen set the bar for Southern food. The service has remained consistently high, and the food consistently delicious. Whenever I have people visiting from out of town, South City Kitchen has been my go-to restaurant and I have never been let down. The only negative I can find is noise level, likely due to hardwood floors that bounce sound rather than absorb it. Other than that, stellar!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This was the best meal that I had during my recent visit to Atlanta. The restaurant has a great vibe and the outside seating was perfect. As a vegetarian, I am always a little nervous about the vegetable plate, but this was amazing. My friend had the short rib which he enjoyed as well. The service was great and the food was wonderful. I cannot say enough good things.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Everything I've tried there is delicious. The fried chicken is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was good and was served promptly. Our server was funny and engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food and service excellent. I would highly recommend reservations be made.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

South City is an institution in ATL. Their food and service are consistently good. I hadn't been in some time, and it was my boyfriend's first time. We had a nice table in the corner and enjoyed everything we tried. I had a homemade pasta with rabbit ragu, and he had shrimp and grits. You cannot go wrong with any of their tried-and-true specialties. They have been menu favorites for years and years!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.