Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About South City Kitchen Midtown

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (42)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Great for Lunch (31)
See All
Great for Brunch (30)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Casual (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fun (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Authentic (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Groups (14)
People Watching (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Romantic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
4138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary by eating at south city kitchen because ate dinner here on our 1st date as husband and wife. We had a excellent time and the waiter was very very nice and helpful
He was cordial and humble.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Too noisy for us. Hard to hear and screeching music for totally unnecessary!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

We ordered a lot -- fried green tomatoes, chicken livers, fried chicken, beef sandwich, pineapple upside down cake. And that was for lunch. Wish we lived in town. Wish we could have ordered more. Everything was so delicious. And Lauren, our server, was lovely. What a great start to our weekend! Next time we are in town, we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Was a good experience, but not awesome. Likely was time of day, we didn't arrive for our late lunch till around 3:00. Was still pretty busy! Meal was good. Wife had Salmon, I had their signature fried chicken. Mine was good, hers was ok. I think if you went at night they would probably step it up a notch. Came highly recommended by some foodie friends, so we'll likely go back and is why I would recommend to friends but didn't give it 5 stars.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

I took a colleague there for a "welcome to the firm" lunch. The service was great and, as usual, the food was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It's a fun place! BEST fried green tomatoes!!!

I'll be back next time I hit Atlanta.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Had an awesome time hosting my "Welcome Back Brunch" with my girlfriends! Great service, food, and staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Phenomenal food on a quirky street. Interior design and views not great, but the amazing from-scratch food and hospitable service more than make up for that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Fantastic Shrimp & Grits and the service was incredible!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Lunch on my wife's birthday. Seated immediately. Server made great suggestions. Fried green tomatoes were delicious. Crab cake was very good with lots of lump crab meat with little filler. The potato hash and over easy egg were great compliments to the dish. The pimento burger was very tasty and very filling. Great staff and drinks were delicious (Peach Next Door). Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2017

well known resto in Atlanta. decent southern food, but quality nothing special.
its always busy and friendly atmosphere.
fine service.
price - quality a 2/5.
noise level impossible.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The food was very good, well prepared, the service was excellent, but the pricing was high for the ingredients.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

We always enjoy dining at South City Kitchen Midtown! The chef staff is outstanding and the service is very attentive. Menu selections are great. A bit noisy for conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The food was well seasoned! Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Was in town visiting friends so had a group for brunch. Had to add 1 to the reservation, and SCK was very accommodating. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Went for Saturday brunch at 2pm. It was the third time there and the first time that the hostess was rushed and rude. Brunch ordered was ordinary and not hot when served. Every other time for dinner the experience was great. This time it wasn't. I might go back for dinner but doubt I'll try brunch again. Oh and hostess failed to notify OpenTable that we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food and service was very good, however the place was very noisy, making it hard to have a quiet conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Not the best date place, but some pretty good food (on the pricier side).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

AWFUL!! Bad food. so loud you cant have a conversation. Id like my time back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Hostesses= great, very helpful. Food= solid, great flavor (southern but not soul food). Ambiance= super cute. Waitress= THUMBS DOWN (not sure if she had a bad day or she was just a condescending jerk but if I went back and she was my waitress, then I would opt for another restaurant).

Overall, our waitress was such a wet blanket that I didn't enjoy my experience. I enjoyed my food better once I reheated it in the privacy of my own home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is very vibrant and inviting.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great food and tasty drinks. We split everything and it came out pre-portioned. Love the attention to service this indicates. Thank you for a great meal!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This was my first time to South City Kitchen after having it recommended to me for years, and it did not disappoint. Our waiter was wonderful! We started with Peach cocktail with vodka and prosecco that was delicious, and things just got better from there. We shared the pimento cheese - I recommend that for 4 people rather than just 2 :) - the fig salad, the BBQ pork app and the signature shrimp and grits that had a wonderful smokiness to it. There were several other items on the menu that I would recommend, and I look forward to going back. We were in one of the "rooms" off the main dining area where the bar is, and our noise level was perfect. The main dining area is quite a bit louder, so you may want to note that in your reservation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Chicken and waffles were delicious. I’ve been here three times and that’s the only thing I’ve ordered. The ambience is nice but it’s been cold inside when I go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food and atmosphere!! I highly recommend the Drum Fish, it was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2017

South City Kitchen has always been a strong go-to restaurant to help me welcome newcomers to Atlanta. I hosted a new client for lunch and he thoroughly enjoyed his meal and the restaurant vibe.

The effort it takes to infuse creativity into southern food does not go unnoticed and leaves us a bit happier every time we leave. Kudos for a long-standing tradition of serving up food with southern charm.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The fried chicken is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Good southern food gourmet style

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great service, great food, and the salmon appetizer was unforgettable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was delicious and worth the trip down to Midtown from Gwinnett. Value was good also. If you sit on the main floor, it's pretty tight and loud with servers walking around. Didn't bother us, but thought I will matter to someone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had an amazing anniversary dinner here. I noted it was our anniversary on our open table reservation and they surprised us with two gratis glasses of prosecco and again at the end of the meal with a small dessert treat. Service was excellent and food and wine always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Very, very good dinner. We had peppered cheese, watermelon salad, fried chicken, Carolina trout and succotash. Everything was absolutely delicious. The service fast and efficient, the restaurant cozy and nice. Very good prices. Fantastic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Ambiance and service were good, but it was way to loud for my taste - hard to carry on a conversation at our table. My steak was very average and the potatoes and onions were average as well. I doubt that I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Every dish we order was delicious & worth our visit! All dishes were made with great culinary care. We came from California to try them out & it was well worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great good in a modern clean atmosphere. A little loud but not so much that you at hear conversation. Chicken and waffles and fried green tomatoes were delicious! Wait staff was very friendly but didn't check on us perhaps quite as often as was needed but was still overall great service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Was quick and good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great dining experience for celebrating a special occasion with family and friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Two thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was decent but the noise level was overwhelming.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 29, 2017

I think South City Kitchen is definitely the standard for Southern dining in Atlanta. The food was perfect! The biscuits and cornbread served as the bread starter were delicious and a perfect "southern" intro. We ordered the Pickled Shrimp and Fried Green Tomatoes as apps and the Fried Chicken and Shrimp and Grits and I wouldn't hesitate to order any of these again (though I'm definitely want to try the Salmon Tartare and Pork Chop next time too!)

The most notable part of our experience was the incredible service! We dined on the patio, so I expected service to be a bit slower, but our server was extremely attentive and helpful in explaining the menu and his favorite dishes. The highlight for me was when he served the dishes that we were "splitting" on separate plates for us so we did not have to go through the awkward plate swapping dance!

We will definitely be back soon :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.