About South City Kitchen Midtown

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
Fried Green Tomatoes
Shrimp and Grits
Chicken and Waffles
Beef Brisket Eggs Benefict
Smoked Pork Chop
 Fried Chicken
Dorothy's Chicken Salad
Ceasar Salad With Fried Chicken
Crab Cake Hash
Cornbread And Biscuit Basket
Roasted Beet Salad
Pork BBQ
Banana Pudding
buttermilk fried chicken
Pimiento Cheese
fried chicken
She Crab Soup
Bread Pudding
Mac & Cheese
Pulled Pork Over Hoecakes
Cornbread Muffins
Eggs Benedict
Pimento Cheeseburger
Butter Lettuce Salad
Georges Bank Scallops
Pecan Pie
Chicken Livers
Pork Belly & Grits
Homemade Biscuit
Bacon Mac 'n Cheese
Apple Cobbler
Beet Salad
Pimento Cheese
Smoked beef brisket "cheese steak"
smoked pork belly
Four Cheese Mac
Chocolate torte
She-Crab Soup
Potato Dumplings
Baby Gem Lettuce With Maytag Bleu Cheese
Sweet Potato Dumplings
Fried Chicken Plate
Catfish Reuben
Scallops
Jambalaya
Beet With Blue Cheese Salad
Bread and Butter Pickles
Southern Style Banh Mi
Pork Belly
Bread Basket
Fried Green Tomatoes With Goat Cheese And Avocado
Country Thyme Lemonade
Country Fried Chicken
Crab Hash
Braised Duck Breast
Fried Green Tomato Blt With Baked Mac N Cheese
Dry Martini
Collard Green Kimchi
Ginger Pimm's Cup
Low And Slow Pulled Pork
Grilled Amberjack
Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes And Collards
Grilled Salmon
Cosmopolition
Pan Seared Georges Bank Scallops, Sweet Onion Tomato Relish, Roasted Basil Polenta Cake
Southern Fried Chicken
Soup & Sandwich
Chicken & Waffle
Pork Belly with cheddar polenta grits
South City Breakfast & Fried Chicken
White Chocolate Cheesecake Bread Pudding With Blueberry Compote
Pork Chop
Grilled Mahi Mahi with roasted vegetables, ginger lime aioli

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Atlanta / Georgia
Southern
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

Fit for Foodies (140)
Neighborhood Gem (117)
Special Occasion (113)
See All
Great for Brunch (97)
Great for Lunch (96)
Great for Outdoor Dining (76)
Hot Spot (75)
Good for Groups (66)
Romantic (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Notable Wine List (20)
Kid-friendly (18)
Scenic View (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

SCK never fails to provide a great dinin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 2 days ago

SCK never fails to provide a great dining experience complete with service you'd expect at any fine dining establishment without the stuffiness. Casual is the attire, which is great for Sunday brunches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and the waiter wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent and the waiter was amazing (Anthony).The next time I dine there I would love to have him serve me again.The only complaint is the noise level was hard to talk, but otherwise a great experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is almost impossible to have a conver ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

It is almost impossible to have a conversation in this restaurant; the noise level is excruciatingly high. I have been several times for business lunches, but I will select somewhere else next time.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Excellent food and service, not our firs ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent food and service, not our first time there. Fried chicken entree, especially outstanding! If you are planning on carrying on a conversation over dinner, that will be very difficult; as the place is LOUD!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed wonderful hospitality and ups ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We enjoyed wonderful hospitality and upscale southern cuisine. It's a must visit in Midtown Atlanta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been making this one of our 'go ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have been making this one of our 'go to' destinations when we are in Atlanta, and they consistently deliver! We really like the Fried Chicken dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite places. The service i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of my favorite places. The service is always good and the food is consistently excellent. Sunday waffles are to die for, but next time I'm going to have to have the crab cake hash -- snagged a bit of my friend's and it was amazing!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I absolutely LOVE South City Kitchen! I ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I absolutely LOVE South City Kitchen! I was living in Atlanta when it first opened and have always recommended it to friends and business associates looking for a unique Atlanta restaurant. I moved to Griffin and still make the trek to dine with friends at South City Kitchen, The food is consistently fantastic and creative. It is always in my top 3 picks of restaurants in the metro area. The service at my last two visits was exceptional and ironically, it was the same server, Haley!! Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the duck,it would be nice if you of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love the duck,it would be nice if you offered the duck as a main course.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

All around great food. I'd call it South ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

All around great food. I'd call it Southern Elevated cooking. Attentive staff cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some nice updates on classic Southern di ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Some nice updates on classic Southern dishes like fried chicken and pimento cheese - really, if you haven't tried it, don't knock it. Also some lighter fare like flounder with a side of awesome vegetables. Nice atmosphere, laid back but service was very attentive. I was visiting Atlanta but if I lived in town I would definitely be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but occasionally loud on the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food but occasionally loud on the patio with trucks going by

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Would not recommend. We all ordered flou ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Would not recommend. We all ordered flounder, but received something else. Food was cold and bland.

Restaurant was too noisy to talk with guests. Waiter seemed too busy to wait on us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Excellent discovery of southern cuisine. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent discovery of southern cuisine. Well guided all the way.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Second visit to South City Kitchen was e ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Second visit to South City Kitchen was even better than the first. A friend and I made our way to South City Kitchen on a Sunday night after a long flight in to Atlanta and it did not disappoint. We started with the pimento cheese and then split the fried chick and hangar steak. I absolutely love the fried chicken, especially the crispy, flavorful crust, but I must say that the hangar steak is my new favorite. I will absolutely return to South City Kitchen, most likely on my next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place in a generally nice area of m ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Nice place in a generally nice area of midtown. Has an upscale feel but is still casual. Decent bar, and a nice spin on traditional Southern cooking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time here. I had the f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was my first time here. I had the fried chicken. It was excellent, crispy on the outside, moist and juicy on the inside. The ambience was good but noisy. They were super busy but the service was not rushed. I will definitely be back. Just a note, if you do not want to wait a long time make a reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, terrific and professiona ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic food, terrific and professional service, and located in a very cool spot downtown. Definitely recommend this cool venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South City is my daughter and son-in-law ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

South City is my daughter and son-in-law's so when I asked for a recommendation for dinner for a group of friend's coming to Atlanta to see a play, South City Kitchen was it. Our party of six enjoyed every bite of our meal. The service was attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The chicken may be the best ever and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The chicken may be the best ever and the biscuits are like grandma use to make. I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic fried green tomatoes and shrim ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic fried green tomatoes and shrimp with grits! To die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SCK is our go to place for brunch, espec ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

SCK is our go to place for brunch, especially before seeing a matinee at the FOX. Food is really top notch, service is great, and cocktail menu is varied and interesting. Slice of upscale southern comfort food in midtown

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience. Food was delicious, s ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great experience. Food was delicious, server was very attentive.

A little loud where we sat. I think that, though, is sometimes and in some locations to be expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

South City is one of my favorite ATL res ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

South City is one of my favorite ATL restaurants. I only wish they all carried the Gouda Fritters and Bourbon Salmon salad...those are delicious dishes.

The Midtown location didn't have those to dishes when I went but it was still a good meal! Not to mention their bread basket is superb:).

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not enough healthy options for a lunch m ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Not enough healthy options for a lunch menu. And the parking is terrible. The service is excellent though, and I did enjoy my catfish ruben.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Too loud. No AC. Food just average.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Too loud. No AC. Food just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Food was amazing. Fried green tomatoes ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was amazing. Fried green tomatoes and fried chicken were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had the shrimp and grits and they were s ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had the shrimp and grits and they were so heavily spiced you could not tell what anything was.

Overpowering!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

The chicken and waffles was the best I'v ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The chicken and waffles was the best I've ever had !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Beautiful space, its a renovated old bun ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful space, its a renovated old bungalow. We had a nice table overlooking the downstairs portion of the restaurant. Our server Anthony was very gracious and prompt, he took the time to suggest some of the favorite dishes and drinks. The food was fine, not bad but certainly not worth a second trip.

We ordered the baked oysters, which seemed a little dry, and the portion was small (only 4 oysters, most places do 6/order). They weren't separated from the "foot" either, so that was a messy endeavor. The she crab bisque was really good, the only complaint was that it was topped with cheap, stringy backfin meat instead of lump (which obviously would make it more expensive, so I understand). For entrees we ordered the steak and the fried chicken, neither of which were remarkable. Nothing was really wrong with anything that we ordered, but nothing was worth going back for (except that bisque).

Plenty of other options for innovative, fresh, and delicious southern food in the city, don't waste your time here! If someone else suggested South City (and they were paying) we would go back with no problems, but it wouldn't be on our radar again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Old friends and a great brunch - did not ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Old friends and a great brunch - did not feel rushed. Food was terrific and we ended up getting the peach dessert - wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very kind and helpful. W ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The waiter was very kind and helpful. Wonderful options for someone looking for gluten free foods in Atlanta. The food was fresh and delicious. The space is a little loud, not a place to go if you need to have a serious or deep conversation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food and service were outstanding. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. It was noisy, but I think that is because it is such a popular spot. I plan on returning, maybe for brunch next time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my mother and daughter to South Cit ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Took my mother and daughter to South City for a mid-week dinner. Restaurant is very busy and bar is for dining customers, so weighting is awkward. Even with a reservation, we waited about 15 minutes. Once seated upstairs, we ordered drinks from a good selection of cocktails, wine and beer. They arrived relatively soon. The Manhattan was excellent with a special cherry. My Practically Perfect gin concoction was a bit strange, and the mojito was great. The fried green tomatoes were awesome. The fried chicken is the house dish and was delicious with mashes potatoes. My trout was good, but not as good as the chicken. The peach cobbler Ala mode was very tasty. All in all, very good. But also very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The dishes described by Manny, the waite ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The dishes described by Manny, the waiter, were spot on. Smoked pork chop and the fried chicken were excellent and the Chocolate cake was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the atmosphere in this restaurant ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I love the atmosphere in this restaurant, and the food is amazing. I had the Springfield chicken and it was cooked to absolute perfection. Oh, don't forget to indulge in the biscuits and cornbread, as they are both scrumptious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

South City Kitchen never disappoints. E ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

South City Kitchen never disappoints. Excellent service and excellent food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Server, food, staff, ambience, everythin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Server, food, staff, ambience, everything was wonderful. We were in town for one night and I am so glad we decided to give this place a try. Better than expectations and better than word of mouth. Will be telling people this is a must spot. Good was great - flavorful, affordable, and delectable. Was there with several people and no one left not satisfied with everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great and the area was nice ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was great and the area was nice.

The server know the menu which helps out on your first time. I told all my co-workers about it and I am going back.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.