Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About South City Kitchen Midtown

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Menu will consist of a 2 course pre fixe featuring apps, salads, and entrees at $35pp & $17.50 for children 12 and under. Dessert is not included but we are going to provide each diner a Chocolate chip Pecan cookie as a sweet “Take Away”. Dessert will be available “a la carte” if guests desire

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Menu will consist of a 2 course pre fixe featuring apps, salads, and entrees at $35pp & $17.50 for children 12 and under. Dessert is not included but we are going to provide each diner a Chocolate chip Pecan cookie as a sweet “Take Away”. Dessert will be available “a la carte” if guests desire

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (56)
Good for a Date (56)
Fit for Foodies (49)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Great for Brunch (42)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Casual (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Business Meals (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Romantic (33)
Cozy (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Authentic (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Fun (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
People Watching (14)
Family Style (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Historic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Live Music (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
3891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience! Everyone in my group loved their food and the atmosphere. I recommend the shrimp and grits

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were excellent. We were seated upstairs which was a very painful climb for two of my guests. No elevator.
It was prom night, so the crowd was noisier than usual. Our server, Alicia, was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

South City was amazing! The food was utterly impeccable!! Our waitress was on point. Love this place. I will continue to back again..and again. My friends haven't stopped thanking me for the experience. My daughter, who's 12yrs old loved this place.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our 55th anniversary and this was an old favorite venue. We were not disappointed and will certainly return and bring friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoy dining at South City, this is my favorite brunch spot in Atlanta. We always bring our out of town guests as we can always count on a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Definitely a popular evening dining spot and highly recommend making reservation through open table. My business team was seated on the second floor away from the bar scene yet still quite loud and lively. The food was very tasty with fresh makeovers of Southern favorites. Portions were larger than expected. Would return if there was another business trip in town.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful, quaint spot in Atlanta offering fantastic food. Everything was top notch with a very friendly, knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Birthday for my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fried chicken is the best I've ever eaten - period.
Biscuit with sausage and gravy was absurdly food. All home made food. Would definitely go back again when in Atlanta. Fun spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My partner and I needed to catch up with another couple and we chose South City Kitchen for brunch.
I had the fried green tomatoes with goat cheese and the lump crab cake hash. Both were excellent. Cooked perfectly, presentation, and very flavorful.
Service was excellent as well.
Everyone had an excellent meal. I highly recommend them for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, fun atmosphere and reasonable priced. Highly recommend. Been there 4 times and every time has been great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding food and service but noise level too loud for a conversation (even at 6:30!) and the chairs are very uncomfortable. The Southern menu is interesting and the location is close to the Woodruff Arts Center, so it is convenient before a show. The receptionist tried hard to get us a quiet table, and it was quieter than most, but still too loud to chat comfortably. The chairs have hard wooden seats and would be appropriate in an elementary school classroom. It seems this place does not encouraged relaxed dining and does not want patrons to linger! Too bad, because the food and service would otherwise bring us back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I went to celebrate one of my very good friend's graduation. She obtained her Doctorate. She is an inspiration to all around her. Way to go Doctor Melissa Ford😘🎉. The atmosphere at SCK was absolutely amazing and the food "Tre magnifique" Can't wait for the next time.

Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First time at the restaurant. All four diners were happy with our selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great service and meal every time I visit Atlanta!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The noise in South City Kitchen has long been bad. If you want to hear someone you are going to dinner with at this restaurant, sit right next to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Wonderful food. Everything was delicious. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We were referred to South City Kitchen Atlanta by a local resident. What a fantastic neighborhood gem. We had the Fried Green Tomatoes, She Crab soup, their famous Fried Chicken and the Lamb Shank followed by the Mango Sorbet for dessert. This restaurant is a must for all foodies!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food, drink, service, as always! I'd recommend to anyone but want to keep it all to ourselves!!

Tags: Organic, People Watching, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fun, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and the service was great! I just wish it wasn't so expensive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Was amazing!!! This was the first time in Atlanta and will go back the next time I am in Atlanta. Great southern food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The she crab soup is impossible to pass up. It 's as good as anywhere in Charleston.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We enjoyed the experience and the service was excellent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I made a reservation since we had a show to attend and didn't want to run behind schedule. We were seated as soon as we arrived. We were there for Sunday brunch and the food was fantastic and they had a great selection to choose from. Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our waitress Alyssa was very personable and friendly. It was our first time there and she did an excellent job at providing us with recommendations from the wine to the entrée. She was descriptive, but brief. She made sure we were taken care of and content. We ordered the duck confit for appetizer. My husband ordered the Rabbit Pasta (he has never tried rabbit) it was exceptional. I ordered their Mountain Springer chicken, of which surely did not disappoint. I ordered their vanilla bean cheesecake with cherry compote... it was amazing. Their chocolate layered cake was a little dry, but not too rich. I highly recommend this restaurant and our waitress Alyssa.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great experience. Friendly staff. Manager nice. Overall great experience!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was my Birthday 🎉 Brunch. It was my first time and I will certainly be back. I had the Chicken, greens and red potatoes. The small basket of bread and peach jam was yummy. The curry sweet potato soup was a perfect balance too. The Bellini was not my favorite but I didn't complain. Next time I'll try the mimosa. Overall it was a great experience. Reasonable price point, location and parking.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was absolutely amazing! The service was awesome! I really have no complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great local cuisine. Been in business for a long time. Pablo our waiter was excellent. Helped pair a fantastic wine with our food. Would recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

With a group of 12 from all over the US for training. Took 2 locals that are business colleagues out to dinner. 2 reservations; 1 for 8 and 1 for 4, and the hostess seated us next to each other. Food was great and so was the service. Will be back in April!
Thanks for a great experience.
Bob Mack

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Had the braised lamb and it was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Brunch eggs over hard and cold....wait staff didn't check in on meal..,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Took a colleague from the UK who misses authentic southern biscuits - she loved it all. The pork an bean stew was just scrumptious. We enjoyed it enormously.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent service and food--everything was delicious. The server also made sure we were out in time for our class concert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

SCK is always a great choice for delicious comfort food. Our service was very good. Parking in the lot across the street is $10; this lot is your best (and often only) parking option.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Good food and friendly service. Pork stew with collards and field peas was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was good-ish. I feel like the food here used to be better. I remember the first time I went here, I left raving about the fried chicken and macaroni-and-cheese. This time, the fried chicken was ok and the mac-n-cheese was missing from the menu :(. The service was not good at all, it was a Sunday night with a decent crowd, not crowded by any means and the server was still quite slow. Food was nothing to write home about, but it's not a bad meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great place to eat. I've had the chicken and the shrimp and grits. Both were amazing. It's a very cozy spot, kinda small. Tables are close together, but they do a good job of not getting other tables too close to where it feels like you are dining with strangers. Bar selection was great, craft cocktails are good. Wish they had valet parking, but there is a garage across the street that is easy to park in. I would definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

You have to try the chicken dish. It's absolutely amazing. Sit up stares when you go, it's quieter than downstairs and a lot more intimate. I really enjoyed my visit.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Birthday Brunch! The food was delicious as usual. The service was above and beyond. We add two people to our reservation and everyone was very accommodating. I love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.