Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 96 times today

South City Kitchen Midtown

4.7
4470 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Top Tags:
  • Comfort Food
  • Good for a Date
  • Fit for Foodies
Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(404) 873-7358
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chip Ulbrich
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
14th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

View Private Dining Details
What 4470 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I have eaten at South City Kitchen on several occasions and I am never disappointed. This was my first time having the Brisket Benedict and they good but I still think the Fried Chicken is better. My brunch guest had the frittata and "inhaled" it and noted how great it was. It was very busy due to graduation weekend but I would always encourage reservations. Drinks were great and service was on point.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

The ONLY reason I didn't give this five stars is because it got SO LOUD in there that I had to walk out. The noise level was over-the-top ridiculous! They have the tables crammed in there so tightly that the we couldn't hear each other talk because of the loud people next to us. The louder everyone got, the louder they spoke. It nearly made for a miserable experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Food was good, waitress was very sweet, only complaint was our bread was pretty dry

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great service, great cocktails, fantastic overall

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Traveling to Atlanta for a conference and a friend recommended this place. My husband and I dined on the porch. The food from start to finish was excellent. Our waitress Heather was great- made excellent suggestions. She recognized our Boston accent as she lived up our way years back. Fried green tomatoes with goat cheese were great. She-crab soup and peach salad outstanding. Our meals, fried chicken bad the pork chop were incredible. This was the best part of our stay in Atlanta. CN you give ten stars to a restaurant? ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Super friendly server! Great food that was beautifully plated!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Disappointing experience. The trout was a flop and when one of the staff offered to get us the red fish instead, they charged us for the full amount!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Very busy, very LOUD place. Conversation is difficult. Food is mostly prepared ahead and nuked when ordered. Not bad, just not great. There are better options in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We came here because we liked the reviews on Open Table and we were not disappointed. Our server was Daniel and he had great recommendations. Martinis were excellent as was the biscuits and cornbread. My date had the trout and I had the shrimp and grits. Both plates were ample servings and tasted wonderful. Dessert was warm pecan pie with ice cream. We had a very enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We visited for our honeymoon! The food was amazing and our waiter Mannie was perfect. He even gave us a complimentary dessert for our special day. I would recommend to anyone visiting Atlanta.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Meeting in Atlanta with peers from Portland, Dallas, and LA - looking to show them all-around southern hospitality and authentic cuisine and South City Kitchen did not disappoint!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The food was great, even better than I expected. The service was good, the waiter was very attentive and friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We were initially disappointed that chicken and waffles wasn't on the Mother's Day brunch as we had looked at the reviews and the website and came especially for that. We were sad we missed the chicken and waffles as we came from out of town and specifically chose this restaurant for that item. However what we had was good. And we enjoyed our experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Besides the food, Our waiter Pablo made out dining experience extra enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Surprise Mother’s Day Brunch. Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The fried chicken and greens were absolutely delicious. Will visit again the next time I am in Atlanta.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Mother’s Day outing with my mom and aunts. We had a wonderful time and food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Celebrated an early Mother’s Day with my wife and parents. Our reservation was for 915 on a Friday which meant the bar scene would start to come alive by the end of our dinner. Our table was outside with a view of The Opera House night club and, indeed, the people watching was fun while guys and gals exited out of their respective car services.

But the food and service did it disappoint. We started with the she-crab soup. Amazing flavor and surprisingly filling. For dinner my wife and mother had the pork chop. I had the jerk spiced quail and my dad the trout. My dad was the only one who seemed envious of our choices but even he enjoyed his selection overall.

The service was outstanding. The server was very knowledgeable about the menu selections and what to expect in terms of flavor experience and portions.

Our table all selected from the seasonal menu but I plan to go back soon for one of their legendary staples.

Great place to celebrate a special occasion or just have a fun date night in midtown.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Extremely noisy having a conversation was very difficult
I will not go there again, no parking in surrounding area other than $15 private lot

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Superb cocktails ... happy, talented an caring bartenders and wait staff ... food is as advertised; tasty but not gourmet (but salads are nearly gourmet)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Lunch was delicious! The fried green tomatoes and BBQ pork sandwich were so yummy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great food and service. The peach drink was so refreshing. Decent wine list. We had broiled oysters which were seasoned perfectly. The fried chicken, collards and potatoes hit the spot. The seasoning in chicken had rosemary and was not too overpowering. Be aware that the tables are close. Business dinner with lots of after dinner drinks next to us... I now know more about tile than I ever wanted to lol.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Got the fried chicken and it was moist, crispy crust, tender and not over seasoned with salt.
Greens and potatoes - simple but delicious and not salty, either. Friendly, efficient service. This is what we hope for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

My favorite place to take clients!
Food is always good-
It is a bit too loud in some areas of the restaurant for conversation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The food was good and the service was great but the restaurant was very loud. It was hard to have a conversation at our table and at times we couldn’t hear the servers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2018

This location does not provide Mac & cheese, cat fish, brussel sprouts, or kale like the other location in Vinings, which to me is the best location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Amazing food done southern style with a twist!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Manny was an excellent server. His recommendation of the ham benedict was delicious and the bellinis were very refreshing. Chicken and waffles were also very tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

First time visiting Atlanta, and this place characterized everything the city has to offer. Food was perfect, Drinks were great, and dining on the patio made for good people watching.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great food, atmosphere and service. I had the quail with succotash and asparagus. Absolutely delishish. My husband had the smoked pork chop with butter beans, leeks and cabbage. Yummy!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This was our first visit to South Main Kitchen (SMK). Based on our terrific experience it will be the first of many in the future! We arrived very early for our reservation since we were going to a concert at the Atlanta Symphony that evening. Hostess graciously seated us and took loads of time to acquaint us with SMK’s history, menu and specialties.
We selected the shrimp and she-crab soup for appetizers, and the fried chicken and trout for main course. All items were delicious, but the fried chicken (a specialty) was a real standout! My wife said it was the best fried chicken she had EVER had. Based on this, can’t wait to try their other specialties in the future.
The wait staff and management were exceptionally attentive but unobtrusive. They made sure that we were ‘on track’ for our concert commitment but did not rush us when we finished with plenty of time to spare. This was despite a VERY busy restaurant.
Overall assessment- loved it!!! Thank you to all who made our ‘date night dinner and concert’ so pleasant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We started with appetizers of Pimento Cheese and Fried Green Tomatoes. The pimento cheese was served with celery sticks and bread sticks which were good. The fried green tomatoes were "stuffed" with feta cheese and lightly fried. They were served on a base of some type of tomato sauce which I did not care for. At 5:15 PM there was only 1 steak left in the kitchen which my husband ordered. It was so tough that he could not eat it. I had the pork chop which was covered in some type of artificial smoke flavoring which overpowered the taste of the pork. Service was good, noise level was not that bad. However, we did not enjoy the food and won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We sat on the porch and it was delightful. Excellent service and food. Was a pre-graduation celebration and was perfect for conversation. I had a sheet cake that I was taking to a graduation party after our dinner and they were gracious enough to store in their refrigerator during our dinner. That's above and beyond service! Thanks for a fun evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Always a great time at South City Kitchen. Consistently great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

No joke - South City Kitchen is my favorite restaurant in Atlanta, even compared to some of the other Fifth Group restaurants. I always try something different, and I'm never disappointed. If you like strong drinks, interesting tastes, and awesome cornbread.. this place is for you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

We sat upstairs in the back which was very cold between being by an emergency exit door and air con. They also do not have still bottled water only sparkling. Outside of that the food and service was great! Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Best waffles I've ever had in my life

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

My third time visiting Atlanta and third time eating at South City Kitchen and each time I have enjoyed the meal and ambiance. Everything I have tried has been delicious!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
112