Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About South City Kitchen Midtown

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (75)
Comfort Food (69)
Fit for Foodies (61)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Special Occasion (56)
Authentic (47)
Business Meals (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Great for Brunch (41)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Local Ingredients (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Great for Lunch (38)
Casual (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Hot Spot (34)
Romantic (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Fun (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Cozy (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Open Kitchen (21)
People Watching (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Modern Decor (11)
Seasonal (10)
Historic (9)
Family Style (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Scenic View (6)
Organic (5)
Great Beer (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Spicy (3)
Live Music (3)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
4024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We left before dessert. The noise was intolerable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Always great food and great service ! Would highly recommend this place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food.. Very much a local treat..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Overall wonderful experience, delicious food, good wine selection, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The fried chicken dish at south city kitchen is fantastic! Full of flavor! The restaurant has the perfect southern feel. Very classy restaurant. The cornbread is delicious too! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The only thing that beat the food and drinks was the services provided by our server George. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great experience. The food was fantastic and pricing was very reasonable. The southern fried chicken was so moist and couldn't have been done better. The pappardelle pasta dish with homemade lamb sausage was so flavorful. The only help I could offer is that the amount of Tasso ham in the shrimp and grits dish overwhelmed the shrimp. The waiter was fantastic and very helpful. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Very loud and hard to hear friends. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great time, food and service. Fried green tomato's unexpectedly delicious, and the shrimp and grits left us wanting more...if only we could fill our belly's more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, great service. Surprised there was no valet. Parking dive down the back looked bad. so we went to a paid lot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Met friends new to Atlanta for dinner and reconnecting. Great dinner in a great atmosphere with great service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was great. Service great. High recommendations all around... except for parking. A nightmare in that area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was our third time at SCK, and we have never been disappointed! Love the unparalleled food, great service, delicious and creative drinks, and a most comfortable atmosphere. This cozy little spot has easily earned its way into our short-list of in-city favorites, and we're already looking forward to our next tasty visit. See you soon, South City Kitchen!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Dined before an event at Symphony. Terrific Southern Cooking with upscale twist. Good/attentive service and fun/easy place to dine & visit with friends. Manager gave us our desserts because HE thought they took a little long getting to table! We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Classic Southern with a progressive flare. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This is my 5th visit and it gets better each time. Wait staff is friendly and efficient. Food is good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Mediocre at best. It came highly recommended but I was NOT impressed. Had the fried chicken and it was just ok. It was ridiculously loud and I could not even hold a conversation with my business partner. There are better places to get GOOD southern food in the city!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food and service are always good at this neighborhood spot in midtown, even as midtown continually develops. Great wine list, too. I've enjoyed SCK for many years!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Amazing!! I love South City Kitchen. It's my favorite place for any occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great as always; however, more parking spaces are needed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

On a recent trip to Atlanta, we were on a quest for authentic southern food and South City certainly delivered! We started with fried green tomatoes, pickled shrimp and the pimento cheese and each one was more delicious than the other. Followed that with shrimp & grits, BLT and pulled pork sandwiches all of which we enjoyed tremendously. The portions are substantial so bring your appetite. My husband tried the Arguably Perfect cocktail and I had a hard to find bourbon off their extensive list. We were fortunate enough to be seated outside on the lovely covered patio which was quiet and cozy - exactly what we were looking for. The dessert menu was enticing but unfortunately the appetizer and lunch portions did us in...guess we will have to return...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Fried Chicken and Carolina Trout were both really good. It was a beautiful night and we sat on the patio, so the sound level would certainly be different with that. Anytime I am in Atlanta, I try to get in here for a meal. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Always our Go-2 place to bring Company and experience delicious southern cuisine

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great atmosphere and service. I had heard good things about this place and it did not disappoint. The fried green tomatoes were wonderful as well as the shrimp and grits. If you're looking for a nicer southern restaurant, this is it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent food and service. Would go there again on next visit

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went for Sunday Brunch. We had an excellent time. The Chef, John Spotkill, came over to our table to make sure everything was satisfactory and it was. I have no complaint about the food. However, our server was not the personable type at all. I've eaten here before on many occasions and the service has always been excellent so I'm counting this experience as a one time thing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

WE had a great time and the service was great as well!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

If you want to try some southern food, here is the place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

South City Kitchen Midtown - Nice, very nice. This location is definitely a popular spot albeit a little cramped. The noise level is kind of high. George our server was on point. We demolished the Fried Green Tomato Tomatoes with Goat cheese. This of course must be served hot. The breading/batter was delish. South City Breakfast was okay. The Jumbo Crab Cake was decent. It was prepared breaded but I wished the Crab Cake was done Maryland (MD) style. MD style would have taken it to another level with the Tasso - ham artichoke, over easy egg with chive hollandaise sauce and tomato relish. The coffee and Orange juice was good but the Bellini needs some work. I would definitely give South City Kitchen Midtown another go around or few to experience some of the other dishes on their lunch and dinner menus.

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

South City Kitchen never disappoints! Went there for a business lunch, and it was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We went and had lunch for my friend's birthday. The food and drinks were awesome.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I really enjoyed my time first time visiting from Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Awesome meal!! This is a place I will visit again!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food and service was amazing - truly southern hospitality. It was loud so it was hard to talk and hear one another.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Have been 4 times now and it is consistently excellent food and service

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food and service. The atmosphere was amazing as well, but it was extremely loud and a couple people in our party had trouble hearing. That is a minor complaint and this should definitely make your ATL Brunch list!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We met here for lunch on a Saturday because I had read very good reviews. The noise level was so high we couldn't hear each other talk. A couple of friends ordered fried chicken and were happy with their meal. Another person ordered a salad, not much can go wrong with a salad so he was pleased. A friend who loves crab cakes made this choice her meal. It was barely okay, with not much flavor and it came with cubed potatoes that tasted pretty bad. I ordered breakfast. The grits were the best I've ever had but the scrambled eggs had no taste and the bacon was mostly fat. Desserts were very good. However, we ordered coffee and never got it but were charged for it. They had to issue a new bill after I pointed out about the coffee. I treated my friends and paid $160.00 for a mediocre experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Both the fried chicken and the braised rabbit ravioli were very delicious entrees! Our server was attentive without being overbearing and we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Atlanta Restaurant during vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fantastic service from a true professional - thank you, Pablo!!!

Everything was fantastic; must haves were Fried Green Tomatoes, Beets, & fingerlings with salsa verde!

Restaurant was quite loud but the food and service made up for that.

Will definitely go back if I'm ever in Atlanta again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.