About South City Kitchen Midtown

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 5pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
Fried Green Tomatoes
Shrimp and Grits
Chicken and Waffles
Beef Brisket Eggs Benefict
 Fried Chicken
Crab Cake Hash
Cornbread And Biscuit Basket
Roasted Beet Salad
Pork BBQ
Collard Green Kimchi
Banana Pudding
buttermilk fried chicken
Pimiento Cheese
fried chicken
She Crab Soup
Bread Pudding
Mac & Cheese
Pulled Pork Over Hoecakes
Cornbread Muffins
Eggs Benedict
Pimento Cheeseburger
Butter Lettuce Salad
Georges Bank Scallops
Chicken Livers
Apple Cobbler
Beet Salad
Homemade Biscuit
Pecan Pie
Bacon Mac 'n Cheese
Pork Belly & Grits
Pimento Cheese
Smoked beef brisket "cheese steak"
smoked pork belly
Chocolate torte
Four Cheese Mac
She-Crab Soup
Potato Dumplings
Sweet Potato Dumplings
Baby Gem Lettuce With Maytag Bleu Cheese
Fried Chicken Plate
Catfish Reuben
Jambalaya
Scallops
Beet With Blue Cheese Salad
Bread and Butter Pickles
Southern Style Banh Mi
Pork Belly
Bread Basket
Dorothy's Chicken Salad
Fried Green Tomatoes With Goat Cheese And Avocado
Country Thyme Lemonade
Country Fried Chicken
Crab Hash
Braised Duck Breast
Fried Green Tomato Blt With Baked Mac N Cheese
Dry Martini
Smoked Pork Chop
Ginger Pimm's Cup
Low And Slow Pulled Pork
Grilled Amberjack
Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes And Collards
Grilled Salmon
Pan Seared Georges Bank Scallops, Sweet Onion Tomato Relish, Roasted Basil Polenta Cake
Southern Fried Chicken
Cosmopolition
Soup & Sandwich
Chicken & Waffle
Pork Belly with cheddar polenta grits
South City Breakfast & Fried Chicken
White Chocolate Cheesecake Bread Pudding With Blueberry Compote
Pork Chop
Grilled Mahi Mahi with roasted vegetables, ginger lime aioli

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Southern
Atlanta
1 More
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

fit for foodies (185)
neighborhood gem (140)
special occasion (134)
See All
great for brunch (125)
great for lunch (120)
good for groups (100)
hot spot (89)
great for outdoor dining (84)
romantic (54)
notable wine list (36)
vibrant bar scene (25)
kid-friendly (17)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (8)
Sort By:
Newest
3316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lively atmosphere, fabulous food. South ...

Dined 5 days ago

Lively atmosphere, fabulous food. Southern menu cooked modern style.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress was phenomenal. She made our f ...

Dined 5 days ago

Waitress was phenomenal. She made our first visit fantastic. We ran into one problem with our food but she took care of it and us!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! My friends and I had a great experi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Wow! My friends and I had a great experience at South City! Our servers were awesome. I can't remember their names (the girl had full sleeves of tattoos including a Red Sox one and the guy was being trained by her), but they were awesome. So nice and attentive, great senses of humor, and made us feel at home. The food was amazing. We ordered the fried green tomatoes and pimento cheese to share. Amazing. The lemonade was delicious. And the COMPLIMENTARY BISCUITS AND CORNBREAD AND PEACH PRESERVES?! Are ya'll trying to kill me? So good. I was a little disappointed in my chicken and waffles. I found the waffle to be way too sweet, but the chicken was flavorful and moist. The ambiance is very nice for a Sunday brunch, but it was crazy busy so make a reservation. Definitely one of my best dining experiences in Atlanta.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food with the only negative be ...

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food with the only negative being that there is no valet.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal. Vegetable options were excep ...

vip
Dined on June 24, 2016

Great meal. Vegetable options were exceptional.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was amazing, service was excellent, ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was amazing, service was excellent, dessert was delish. Cocktails were mainly whiskey/bourbon/gin-and for me, this was the only less than positive part of the dining experience. Fyi-There was a good wine list if you're wanting an alternative. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only had crab cake and fried green tomat ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Only had crab cake and fried green tomatoes. The service, as well as the appetizers were excellent. Great atmosphere, and staff very attentive. Will return

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great fried chicken, crab cakes and wine ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Great fried chicken, crab cakes and wine collection! Also,

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for a business lunch. Had a ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Went there for a business lunch. Had a couple of appetizers and entrees, and everyone loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent fried chicken! Waiter said it ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent fried chicken! Waiter said it was probably the best around, and I would have to agree. Also loved the cornbread and mashed potatoes. We ate outside on the patio as inside was a bit noisy for us. It did get rather warm outside (mid-June around 8:00 p.m.). Excellent cocktails, especially the "Peach Next Door." Glad we made reservations, as there was a one hour wait for walk-ins. Walked to the restaurant from our hotel. Area felt safe for late evening walking.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in A ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Atlanta. The food is excellent every.single.time. This restaurant is a must , if you are in Atlanta. The pork chop, fried tomatoes, and fried chicken are favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Could not have been better!! The fried c ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Could not have been better!! The fried chicken alone is worth the trip. Friendly professional staff. Only wish they'd open in Jacksonville!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visit Atlanta two or three times a yea ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I visit Atlanta two or three times a year but have never eaten at South City before. After having lunch there this past Saturday I plan on making it a "must go" place for all my future trips to midtown Atlanta. Our server was terrific ...knew everything about the menu, the neighborhood and loved working at South City!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and food. Had flounder whi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service and food. Had flounder which was outstanding. Wait staff attentive but not over bearing. You have to have the peach cobbler

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

The food I thought was excellent. I had ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food I thought was excellent. I had the fried chicken. The batter was thin, crispy and full of flavor. My date had the rabbit and it was exceptional. The fried greed tomatoes are for sure a meal in itself!

food5
ambience4
service5

Fried chicken & Chicken livers

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fried chicken & Chicken livers

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service were very good but my ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Food and service were very good but my portion was small (trout) was small and accompanied side was disappointing

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Eaten here for dinner and brunch on seve ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Eaten here for dinner and brunch on several occasions. First time for lunch during the week. Food was just ok, service was disappointing and not up to par. Wait staff seemed too stretched. I will return, but probably not again for lunch during the week.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent menu and a delightful ambience ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent menu and a delightful ambience. My daughter and I enjoyed our dinner on the second floor overlooking the bar area. Great midtown atmosphere. The fried chicken is the best I've tasted in many moons and the fried green tomato appetizer is a must-have!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Southern comfort fo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was excellent. Southern comfort food with a contemporary flair. Service was excellent as well. Waitress was knowledgeable, super friendly and offered to make an addition to a dish to suit my preference.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had brunch before a Braves game on Su ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We had brunch before a Braves game on Sunday, so no chance to comment on the wine list and bar scene. It was quite full by the time we left for the ball game, so my guess is it is a vibrant bar scene! The food was excellent, but the most impressive thing was to accommodating and friendly service from our server, Chris. We arrived first and when the second couple was having trouble finding the entry door, he actually went outside to help them! It's a place I'll patronize again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking forward to our next visit... whi ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Looking forward to our next visit... which will be soon.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Food and service awesome. Though pretty ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food and service awesome. Though pretty bummed we got stuck sitting outside.

food5
ambience5
service5

Unusual and unique food at very reasonab ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Unusual and unique food at very reasonable prices!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time we can have a Saturday or Sun ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Every time we can have a Saturday or Sunday brunch in Atlanta, we go here. South City Kitchen will not disappoint. The waffles are amazing, melt in your mouth.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

True South Dining

Dined on June 10, 2016

My family and I enjoyed a "fresh off the plane from Illinois" dinner and thoroughly enjoyed our visit!! The staff gave us marvelous Southern food and hospitality, and even though the place was bustling, we did not feel hurried to leave. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food Great Service

Dined on June 6, 2016

Met here for a business lunch. Reservations were waiting and honored on time. Food was great. Can't beat their Fried Chicken, Bliss Spuds and Collards. Server was quick and attentive, didn't wait long at all for food. Great Place Highly recommend

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of the better spots in midtown

Dined on June 6, 2016

Despite all of the new restaurants popping up in midtown, South City Kitchen remains one of the better places to go for a business lunch. The food is always fresh and good. The menu has enough selections to give a variety of options, while remaining small enough to ensure that food doesn't sit around long waiting to be ordered. I went there a couple of days ago to welcome a new employee to the company. The service was fast, the food took an appropriate amount of time to come (I get nervous when food comes out a little too fast), and our beverage cups remained full. All in all, SCK is as good as it ever was. I really enjoyed it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

They seated us right away and the hostes ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

They seated us right away and the hostess was more than polite and accommodating. Our server was quiet and withdrawn but very attentive in a dry kinda way. Lol. The food was delicious and there was a great variety. We had the shrimp and grits and the crab cakes and they were very good. I'll be back. Hopefully was can sit by on the patio next time. Great ambiance.

food2
ambience2
service3

For those who say this is fine dining, t ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

For those who say this is fine dining, they need to get out more. This is a fancy meat and three. And I use fancy generously. Wife had the fried chicken and I had the rabbit cavatelli. Lots of bone fragments and not much flavor in the rabbit. Fried chicken at this quality level (and better) at any southern restaurant in the metro area. Service was okay but mood good to great. Average at best.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Tasty Food, Excellent Service, Some Low Class Cust

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had the fried green tomatoes and pickled shrimp for appetizers. Both were tasty and visually appealing. We also had the fried chicken which was perfect and the mashed potatoes were a 10. I asked for the kimchi collards as a sub for regular collards. Delicious! The servers were Johnny on the spot and quite friendly. The only criticism is that there were several customers that were dressed like they had worked in the yard that afternoon and didn't bother to change. One girl walked in with her Jean shorts cut off right below here bits. I really don't like seeing that kinda thing and we were on our way to the symphony. My note is that if South City Kitchen wants to be taken seriously like they were in the 90s they will implement a dress code like business casual.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience. Our server ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Our server was attentive and had a great sense of humor. The food was perfectly prepared and the portions were surprisingly generous. We will definitely return.

food1
ambience5
service5
value3

disappointment

Dined on June 4, 2016

Having been a long time patron of SCK Vinings (in Smyrna...) The food at SCKM was really a disappointment. The same dish, brisket Benedict, was barely recognizable. On top of that, 3 of 3 meals that should have been hot were luke warm at best. I strongly recommend against this locationlocation based on the food alone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best waffle & fried chicken

Dined on June 4, 2016

The lightest and juciest fried chicken breast I've ever had. take the bones off the breast was a nice touch too. The waffles was delicious on its own and didnt even need the syrup. The cocktail i had (Country Thyme Lemonade) was great and refreshing.

Tags: brunch, fit for foodies, outdoor eating
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Got together with family members for bru ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Got together with family members for brunch while in Atlanta to celebrate our son's wedding. Our waiter was friendly with suggestions and witty back and forth conversation. Several of us ordered the chicken and waffles which were fantastic! The waiter brought cornbread and biscuits for the table. Awesome!! It's a good idea to make a reservation as brunch can get quite busy. The space has an open and airy feel with lots of windows and seating on several levels. We would definitely go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Server made a cocktail suggests that was ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Server made a cocktail suggests that was perfect. Manger came by to make sure satisfied. Had duck confit appetizer and chicken liver appetizer. Both were generous portions.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good southern cooking but not incredible

Dined on June 3, 2016

I had a very nice meal at South City Kitchen. The place as very crowded for a Thursday night which I took as a good sign. Since I was in town on business with a colleague we opted for the traditional southern dishes. The meal started off very well with delicious fried green tomatoes, we also started with chicken livers which not everyone may like but I thought was excellent. We ordered their specialties, fried chicken and shrimp and grits. My colleague said the shrimp and grits were good but the shrimp was just okay. My fried chicken was juicy and well seasoned but I found the batter too thin and too crispy. Not the best I have had. For the desert the pecan pie was good but not memorable. Overall a nice meal and setting but I was a tad disappointed based upon the reviews and ratings.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always great. Fried chicken is wonderful ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Always great. Fried chicken is wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing culinary experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

I will return to South City Kitchen when next visiting Atlanta. The atmosphere, food, and our lovely server Dorothy made our Sunday brunch experience exceptional. The fried green tomatoes were out of this world , and the buttermilk fried chicken was exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken livers were exceptional, and I d ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Chicken livers were exceptional, and I don't even live chicken livers! Had the crab cake hash for brunch! Really good stuff!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.