About South City Kitchen Midtown

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (55)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Special Occasion (45)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Business Meals (37)
Great for Lunch (37)
Casual (35)
Great for Brunch (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Authentic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Cozy (29)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
Romantic (27)
Good for Groups (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Fun (20)
Hot Spot (16)
People Watching (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Seasonal (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Family Style (7)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Historic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tapas (3)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
3858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Had the braised lamb and it was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Brunch eggs over hard and cold....wait staff didn't check in on meal..,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Took a colleague from the UK who misses authentic southern biscuits - she loved it all. The pork an bean stew was just scrumptious. We enjoyed it enormously.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and food--everything was delicious. The server also made sure we were out in time for our class concert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

SCK is always a great choice for delicious comfort food. Our service was very good. Parking in the lot across the street is $10; this lot is your best (and often only) parking option.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food and friendly service. Pork stew with collards and field peas was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good-ish. I feel like the food here used to be better. I remember the first time I went here, I left raving about the fried chicken and macaroni-and-cheese. This time, the fried chicken was ok and the mac-n-cheese was missing from the menu :(. The service was not good at all, it was a Sunday night with a decent crowd, not crowded by any means and the server was still quite slow. Food was nothing to write home about, but it's not a bad meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to eat. I've had the chicken and the shrimp and grits. Both were amazing. It's a very cozy spot, kinda small. Tables are close together, but they do a good job of not getting other tables too close to where it feels like you are dining with strangers. Bar selection was great, craft cocktails are good. Wish they had valet parking, but there is a garage across the street that is easy to park in. I would definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

You have to try the chicken dish. It's absolutely amazing. Sit up stares when you go, it's quieter than downstairs and a lot more intimate. I really enjoyed my visit.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday Brunch! The food was delicious as usual. The service was above and beyond. We add two people to our reservation and everyone was very accommodating. I love this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Angelique was phenomenal! The food was awesome! We will be going back to dine soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went for Sunday Brunch on 2/19. We parked in the paid lot across the street. We had reservations for 10 AM. There was a line of people waiting to get in. The hostess was nice and seated us on lower level patio area. Seems that area is not as loud as the main and second floor. Our waiter was not friendly but he did provide good service. (Maybe he worked the late shift the night before and was tired? ) We started brunch with the spicy pimento cheese with pickles. That was the time we had tried that combination. We loved it! We were given some biscuits and sweet corn muffins with apple butter. I could had made a meal off the corn muffins. My husband got the crab cake hash and I got the chicken and waffles. I didn't think I would like hash but after one bite I was asking my husband to save me some of his dish! It was excellent! It had friend potatoes with bacon peppers, crab cake, and fried egg. The chicken and waffles was ok. I didn't think the waffles were sweet enough and the chicken was not seasoned enough. We were too full to eat dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food. Try the fried chicken and the cornbread

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Authentic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delightful as usual. We had a brunch before a matinee play. I got the smoked beef brisket benedict, the smoked salmon appetizer, and a limoncello sorbet. My sweetheart got eggs benedict and the pineapple upsaide down cake (which we both thought was excellent). We enjoyed everything a lot which is just what we expected.

It's pretty noisy so brace yourself. If you can tolerate it it's well worth the meal.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had t been here in quite some time maybe 10 years . Food was ok. Service was fine. Biggest issue is it does not look like they have spent a dime on the decor since it opened, very run down, which really detracted from the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for a late business lunch. The new southern cuisine was excellent. The list of wines by the glass was interesting and had several options per varietal. Overall this was a very satisfactory experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

So disappointing. Service was outstanding however the food was not. Sent an appetizer back. Another one was well presented but too tiny to share. Dinner itself was terrible. This place has really diminished in quality of food over time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great time. The short rib was delicious. The lamb shank was also very good. Great compliments with the meats. We had the wheatberry salad.... very unusual, but very good. Service was great . Wine and beer lists are good. Pricey, so good for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is our second time to South City Kitchen, and the restaurant continued to impress with its foodie menu, great handcrafted cocktails and excellent service (attentive without being overbearing). Love the atmosphere and location!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great lunch before the show! Easy walking distance from the Woodruff.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good date night nothing romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Staying at a hotel about two miles away for a conference. Walked here for dinner. Had the oysters, fried chicken, and pineapple upside down cake. Oysters was a lot of breading and very little oyster. For four oysters, not worth the $15. Fried chicken was moist and delicious! Definitely worth the $19. Pineapple cake was a bit too sweet and overpowered the taste of the pineapple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Overall it was another great dining experience. The food was great, three of us had the chicken and the other dined on the shrimp and grits, and everyone enjoyed their meal. Thankfully we had a reservation because the place was packed and loud which made it a little difficult to hear across the table. Other than it being chilly in the restaurant everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was great,atmosphere was great, food was good but came out Luke warm. It can be hit or miss at times but overall not too bad.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great service, upscale but not too pricey.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was above and beyond, especially our server. The food was delicious, and some of the best fried chicken I have eaten. Great atmosphere for friends lunch. A little noisy if someone is hard of hearing and not great access for handicapped - just a note for those visiting.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great food and service but any elderly or disabled patrons beware---the only rest rooms are up two flights of stairs!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Got so loud that we were having to shout at each other to be heard. Grilled Ham and Cheese was ok, but not at all what I expected. Would not order again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our attendant was wonderful from the beginning to the end. I wish I could remember her name. We were there this past Saturday evening table of 7 at 5:00 pm.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our food was very yummy and although we had to wait for a kitchen error to be corrected on one dish, it was worth it. Crab cakes are to die for. Fried green tomatoes, as well. And the pecan pie was ridiculously good. Our server, Evangeline, was phenomenal. She didn't just have the menu memorized, she knew each dish's unique characteristics, flavors and ingredients. Her recommendations were spot on and her personality sparkled. We were never rushed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Classic and lovely environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I was out of town on business and live up in the Philadelphia area. I wanted to enjoy local cuisine. The restaurant came highly recommended so I decided to give it a try. Amazing Southern Cuisine. Everything was wonderful!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Went for a business meal and the client was very pleased. Very good food and the service was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

It was recommended that I reserve ahead because it fills up quickly and it really does.

Upon arriving, I was greeted by a friendly host for my 7:30 reservation and seated fairly quickly despite how filled up it was.

Order EVERYTHING. The food is to die for. If heaven was a restaurant like this, I could forever eat happily.

Their biscuits and cornbread are seriously delicious, but try not to get full on them. Entrees are fairly large portioned, but I suppose that's normal when you're in the south.

I had the braised rabbit pasta and I honestly think I had a whole rabbit (jokingly) as with other restaurants you get maybe an oz of rabbit meat and they did not hold back.

Our waiter got my friend and I a side of their friend chicken and it is the best fried chicken in Atlanta.

The ambience was great, but fairly loud to be honest. It was hard to converse without having to raise our voices and well throughout the restaurant I think everyone was doing the same.

Definitely recommended asking what periods of the evening are less loud but it could be an everyday thing.

I would definitely come back again!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great food, atmosphere, and service. I will say that the reason we ate here was the professionalism and service of their manager, John. When I booked this reservation online, I made a note that we have a guest in a wheelchair and we needed the table to be accessible. The wheelchair guest is actually me. Within an hour of me booking the reservation, John called me and expressed that they did not have a wheelchair accessible table for more than a party of 5 in the main dining room. As I have never been a guest at this restaurant, I was unaware that there were 4 steps at the front to get into the main dining room. If John had not reached out and explained the situation, it may have turned into an unpleasant surprise for me personally and awkward for our group. Instead, John was extremely helpful, and mentioned that if we decided to cancel our reservation, he wanted to be a part of assisting us find an alternate solution. Due to his professionalism and service, I decided to keep our reservation for 10. A couple of guests in our party were able to lift me and my chair up the few steps into the main dining area to access our table. It was a great meal, and everyone came away enjoying the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food is excellent as is the service. Traditional Southern with a modern twist. While many places try that approach, few pull it off successfully. This one does. Compliments to the chef as well as the service staff.

My only complaint is that the music is a bit too loud (and extremely varied) which limits conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Delicious! Loved the fried chicken! Best pecan pie ever!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I just don't get it. One visit is really good, the next just ordinary. You'd think that after so many years they'd have it locked in. Not so. that's sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Staff was friendly & prompt.

Drinks & Food were refreshing & tasteful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great service, the food was delicious. Variety of classic southern flavor mixed with a brilliant chef's creativity. The rabbit pasta speaks to this. The food and wine is worth the higher price range.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed my food and my visit. When in Atlanta, I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Positive experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Two gluten free business associates go out to lunch.......... We couldn't have chosen a better place. There were LOTS of good options and many that, just by asking, could be made gluten free. I did not get the salad that I ordered (Dorothy's Chicken Salad), but got the Chopped Salad, which was excellent. A happy error. My friend got chicken livers and a side of vegetable. She was thrilled and declared them to be delicious. We sat upstairs, which was good and probably quieter. When I walked through the main part of the restaurant, it did seem very loud, so, I would suggest upstairs for easier conversation. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Drove from Charleston to Atlanta for my fiancé's birthday. Looked for a good brunch and was recommended this place. We have a 3 month old who was not in the best mood after the 5 hour drive but we were sat in a perfect corner place on the patio close to an exit so we could tend to him when needed. The food was excellent and the service was on point too. Very hospitable and the server even took my fiancé's plate back to stay warm while she was gone, changing and calming a cranky baby down after my efforts didn't work. I should mention again that the food was great. Would and will recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was soooo delicious. We made reservations and got in quickly despite the crowd. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everyone was super friendly. Service was fantastic so was the food. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I've had the opportunity to eat here several times. While my pork chop was prepared piping hot the accompanying brussel sprouts were bitter and not seasoned very well. Service was great and if you want to have a conversation you better sit upstairs because downstairs is LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Chicken and Waffles are amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Enjoyed a delicious short rib, high quality food - very nice place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Amazing food with attentive service! The fried green tomatoes are perfect and not to be missed!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.