Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About South City Kitchen Midtown

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (62)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Business Meals (46)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Special Occasion (45)
Authentic (41)
Local Ingredients (40)
Great for Lunch (38)
Great for Brunch (37)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Casual (34)
Fun (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Cozy (22)
Romantic (21)
People Watching (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Bar Seating (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Seasonal (10)
Open Kitchen (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
4078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Love how this is set in the 1920s bungalow. What a great feel of Atlanta and the South with this Southern brunch meal it was amazing ...the pimento cheese and the chicken and waffles are a must.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was absolutely incredible, innovative but still familiar. The cocktails were next level. I had the purple rain and the peach next door. I actually had three of the peach next door. I had the pork chop with BBQ boiled peanuts, and I have no idea why it worked, but it worked. Spectacularly. Don't skip dessert either. The ambrosia ice cream that came with my pineapple upside down cake was indescribable. Just kidding, it was like the most delicious piña colada that I would have never thought to order.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

As usual - excellent meal! I went light with she crab soup and fried green tomatoes. My husband had the fried chicken dinner and it was big enough to share. Good service. Reservation is recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food was outstanding. Great fried chicken. Was a little loud, but probably because I was there around lunch time. It quieted down once the lunch crowd left. Excellent overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was slow and they seemed to want the table. My wine glass was removed without even asking if I would care for another glass. My meal was lukewarm. It was also very loud. Lots of people, though and seemed like a "happening place".

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

There was something very wrong with my fish dish. The meal 1. Looked unappealing - was literally 3 hunks of grey fish , on grey and black beans, with a dark red paste on top. 2. Tasted very smoky- like cigarette/ cigar smoke , not how a smoked fish dish tastes. 3. Beans were literally beans on a plate. No flavor. 4. Was not hot. My food was lukewarm and that is stating it kindly.
About 2 hrs after leaving I was very ill and feel it was directly related to the fish.
Our other dish was Shrimp and Grits. It was ok. Covered in a heavy gravy, also very smoky tasting in an unappealing way. More grits than anything.
We had pimento cheese as an appetizer and it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good food, but very very loud on a Sunday morning. The open design allows noise from all levels to permeate through the building. It's particularly bad on the first floor -- ask to be seated upstairs!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Good was good but I felt rushed. I thought the spirits were pricey but I ejouyed myself nevertheless.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Good Sunday dinner though unfortunately it was a bit loud. We were told it was a short term summer arrangement with the adjacent bar. Regardless, the meal was good - we had the Fried Green Tomatoes; the Pulled Pork; and the Fried Chicken. We'll definitely be back at some point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Birthday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I've been going to this restaurant for 20 years. I took a break for a few years and recently came back. My wife and I are big foodies and wanted to go somewhere different for brunch than our normal, so we went foe our 12:45 reservation, was seated 15 mins later, our waiter acted as if he didn't know the menu and timid like it was his first day. The NOIS LEVEL is off the chain too loud even 20 years later!!! It was a problem then and still is. Get it together. Oh, and my food came out wrong and it was the simplest thing on the menu. Scrambled eggs came fried, no bacon, came with bacon. Frustrating!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Fabulous food, great place for modern southern food. Service was warm, generous and spot on. We greatly enjoyed our meal. Having a reservation was key.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner. My friend, however, did not care for hers. She ordered duck and did not like the way it was cooked. Otherwise, everything was exceptional! The staff was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fabulous, creative cocktails and food. Reasonable portions. Great atmosphere and service. Worth the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Visited for Sunday brunch with a friend at Midtown location. Friend could not eat cheese and we were both disappointed that almost every appetizer on menu seemed to have been prepped before hand and they were unable to accommodate /serve fried green tomatoes without cheese or crab toast without cheese. We ended up NOT getting an appetizer because of this. Honestly expected more of a WOW factor with waffles - pecans added on top and also whipped topping. Wouldn't make a special trip to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

You can never go wrong with brunch at South City; the chicken and waffles are superb. This is the place to take skeptical non-Southerners to try this wonderful dish for the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The fried chicken was a full breast, seasoned perfectly and very moist. Atmosphere was open and light. Service was prompt and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Such an amazing experience! The food was fantastic, and the staff was too! I would definitely recommend this to anyone in the Atlanta area.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We included a note with our OpenTable reservation that it was our 15th anniversary. A glass of champagne and dessert were provided complimentary. We did ask to change tables once to a quieter location which was easily accommodated. Food and service both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Sat at the bar here and was treated to a great meal. Two bartendresses kept me in food and drink all evening. The smoked trout crostini and salad were fab enough but the star of the show was my Springer Farms Fried Chicken plate with greens and mashed.

I actually had to share one of trout crostini with the couple on my left as it was a lot of food for one.

Grabbed the signature, " all right, all right, all right" cocktail and it was........all right.

Energetic fun vibe and on my return trip list when in Midtown.

Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My best friend Cheryl celebrating her 60th birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Both the service and food was incredible!! We were in town from the Northeast for a conference and wanted to try some Southern food, and I picked this restaurant based on the Open Table reviews. All the food is local and nothing comes out of a can or jar! The biscuits and corn bread were to die for as was the fried green tomatoes and friend chicken were incredible! If I lived in Atlanta I would be a regular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My first experience was so wonderful, I immediately incited a friend who had never dined there to join me the next week. Wonderful food. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always a superior dining experience when I'm in Atlanta. Love this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food and staff are all consistent. From the time you enter the door, until you leave after eating a hearty meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Everything was very nice. The wines were only by the glass & limited. I would have liked to have option of bottle wines.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was great especially the fried chicken,ambiance was great,Andy our server was exceptional would definitely ask for him when we return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Best fried chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our experience was simply outstanding. Both, the food and service was great - I had to send my waffle back as it was not very hot. Our waitress was very apologetic. The manager quickly brought over a fresh, hot waffle but what was an example of exemplary service is when we were getting ready to go the waitress said she wanted to buy our dessert as a treat for me having a cold waffle initially. Now, that's customer service! A few other restaurants and establishments should take heed. Thanks SCK! We will be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our server was in a hurry to get us out of the restaurant. It was obvious that she was focused on turning the table for more brunch customers. We felt extremely rushed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very nice ambiance, wait staff was very friendly and professional. The hostess was very bubbly. The Fried Green Tomatoes were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Love this restaurant for its southern flavors. The fried green tomatoes are a must. I always have a good meal here and they honor their reservations promptly.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Our hostess and server were great! Our lunch was tasty and would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 3, 2017

All was good! Little loud with the group behind us singing happy birthday three times. Other than that I would rate this as top shelf!

Tags: Special Occasion, Spicy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Delicious biscuits--tasted freshly made. I had a crab cake which had an egg on top. While it was a bit fussy, it worked. I especially enjoyed the tomato mixture on top. The staff was very friendly. The atmosphere is very bright and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our server was fantastic. He took time to walk us through the menu and made excellent recommendations. When I described the profile of wine we were seeking, he pointed us in a great direction. After we were about halfway through the wine, he came back to get our take on it so that he could further refine his recommendations in the future- it was clear he was passionate about his work!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always the best. I consider SCK one of the best restaurants in Atlanta!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was amazing, the service was excellent and our server did a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our server at South City Kitchen was amazing!! She made great recommendations regarding the food and drink menu. The overall experience was amazing. They also brought out a dessert with a candle to help me celebrate my husband's birthday. Great evening!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

One of my favorite places. I love the food and service. My only complaint is that it is very noisy in the main dining room. However, I continue to go there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.