About South City Kitchen Midtown

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
Fried Green Tomatoes
Shrimp and Grits
Chicken and Waffles
Beef Brisket Eggs Benefict
Smoked Pork Chop
Veggie Plate
 Fried Chicken
Dorothy's Chicken Salad
Ceasar Salad With Fried Chicken
Crab Cake Hash
Cornbread And Biscuit Basket
Roasted Beet Salad
Pork BBQ
Banana Pudding
buttermilk fried chicken
Pimiento Cheese
fried chicken
Bread Pudding
She Crab Soup
Pulled Pork Over Hoecakes
Mac & Cheese
Cornbread Muffins
Eggs Benedict
Pimento Cheeseburger
Butter Lettuce Salad
Georges Bank Scallops
Pecan Pie
Chicken Livers
Pork Belly & Grits
Homemade Biscuit
Bacon Mac 'n Cheese
Apple Cobbler
Beet Salad
Pimento Cheese
Smoked beef brisket "cheese steak"
smoked pork belly
Four Cheese Mac
Chocolate torte
She-Crab Soup
Potato Dumplings
Baby Gem Lettuce With Maytag Bleu Cheese
Sweet Potato Dumplings
Fried Chicken Plate
Catfish Reuben
Scallops
Jambalaya
Beet With Blue Cheese Salad
Bread and Butter Pickles
Southern Style Banh Mi
Pork Belly
Bread Basket
Fried Green Tomatoes With Goat Cheese And Avocado
Country Thyme Lemonade
Country Fried Chicken
Crab Hash
Braised Duck Breast
Fried Green Tomato Blt With Baked Mac N Cheese
Dry Martini
Collard Green Kimchi
Ginger Pimm's Cup
Low And Slow Pulled Pork
Grilled Amberjack
Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes And Collards
Grilled Salmon
Cosmopolition
Pan Seared Georges Bank Scallops, Sweet Onion Tomato Relish, Roasted Basil Polenta Cake
Southern Fried Chicken
Soup & Sandwich
Chicken & Waffle
Pork Belly with cheddar polenta grits
South City Breakfast & Fried Chicken
White Chocolate Cheesecake Bread Pudding With Blueberry Compote
Pork Chop
Grilled Mahi Mahi with roasted vegetables, ginger lime aioli

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Atlanta / Georgia
Most Booked
Atlanta / Georgia
Southern
Atlanta
1 More
Most Booked
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

Fit for Foodies (118)
Neighborhood Gem (100)
Special Occasion (97)
See All
Great for Brunch (83)
Great for Lunch (83)
Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
Hot Spot (58)
Good for Groups (48)
Romantic (41)
Comfort Food (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Casual (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
People Watching (12)
Fun (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Scenic View (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Historic (4)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not impressed. The flavors in my meal we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 14 hours ago

Not impressed. The flavors in my meal were such that I couldn't eat more than a few bites - pretty bad. The waiter, while polite, was rather pushy about coming by the table a million times asking if we were ready to order yet and grabbing plates off the table. It was so loud in the outside patio I could barely hear the person across from me. I don't understand why people rave about this place. When I get to choose the restaurant we go to in the future, it won't be this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Always good food. Fried chicken and shr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always good food. Fried chicken and shrimp and grits.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent, knowledgeable server. Food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent, knowledgeable server. Food was excellent. As it got later, it got noisier and harder to talk. Most of the tables are set close together, so not conducive to private conversation. Would recommend to anyone looking for good southern-style food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Brunch items and creative sout ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious Brunch items and creative southern variety. The noise level is excessive and really hampered the meal. We were just a party of four and really struggled to speak to each other. Enjoyed the food and it was a third visit to the restaurant, but the loudness took away from the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I love South City Kitchen. This last tim ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

I love South City Kitchen. This last time was a tad disappointing. We went for brunch. They under cooked the bacon. When requested for a re fry, they overcooked it. They started all over and got it right. They were very accommodating. My husband did not enjoy the sausage biscuit at all. My chicken and waffles were excellent though! I don't think we will be back for brunch but definitely dinner!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Reliably delicious. Have been going for ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Reliably delicious. Have been going for over 20 years. Never disappoints. Favorite restaurant in ATL!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection the end.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Perfection the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the last night that my friend f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

This was the last night that my friend from California would be here in Atlanta, and I wanted her to experience the great food at South City Kitchen. She thoroughly enjoyed her dinner. It was a great dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service walking in the door to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

From the service walking in the door to the last words of our exceptional server, everything was wonderful! We love coming here for dinner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place. Never disappointed.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Awesome place. Never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! I very much enjoyed eating he ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Delicious! I very much enjoyed eating here! The biscuit and gravy was super tasty. The sausage patty was like a hamburger patty. Pickled shrimp was very good as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The upstairs area was very loud (music a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The upstairs area was very loud (music and chatter) and crowded which made it difficult to have a 1 on 1 conversation. We moved to the bar halfway through the meal which was much better. The food is good and the prices are reasonable. Would have been a 4 star experience with more secluded seating.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Our server Nadia was excellent! She was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our server Nadia was excellent! She was attentive and personable. We didn't have to ask her for anything. She was on top of her game and it was a really busy time at the restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous meal--excellent flavor, quality ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Fabulous meal--excellent flavor, quality & presentation!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been here many times while on bus ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have been here many times while on business trips to Atlanta. Whenever I want to show business associates from outside the South about Southern food, South City Kitchen is my first choice. Can be very noisy conversation, so book an early time to enjoy a quiet meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Visiting Atlanta for the first time, too ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Visiting Atlanta for the first time, took wife here on recommendation from co-worker. Excellent service, interesting drink options, nice take of fresh, local, southern dishes. Both of us loved the menu and our dishes. Had the chicken livers, fried green tomatoes, smoked pork chop, shrimp and grits, and banana bread brulee pudding. All solid/excellent dishes. No question, a great choice.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was great. We will defi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food and service was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertaining friends from Asia. Noise l ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Entertaining friends from Asia. Noise level so high it was hard to carry on decent coherent conversation. Will not be back - given you cannot enjoy your guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Our server was very friendly and attenti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our server was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. And presentation

very nice. A varied wine list. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Midtown Atlanta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was very businesslike; no per ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our waiter was very businesslike; no personality or smiles. I tipped 20% because service and food were good...but a nicer personality from server would have been welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great Restaurant Week menu. Food and coc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great Restaurant Week menu. Food and cocktails were top-notch. Can't wait to get back there!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was great the moment i walke ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The service was great the moment i walked in the door. They have great recommendations for first time visitors. The food came out fast and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

South City Kitchen is my favorite Atlant ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

South City Kitchen is my favorite Atlanta restaurant. The food is always delicious. The service and atmosphere is always great!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent all around. They've kept the c ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent all around. They've kept the constant food and service for over 15 years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always our experience was top notch. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

As always our experience was top notch. We had a reservation for group of seven for Sunday brunch. The table was ready and waiting for us, which is not always a sure thing in some restaurants even with a reservation. The service was excellent and the food delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dinninh at thid l ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was my first time dinninh at thid location decided to try during Restaurant Week it was a great choice the food was good and the service was even better would definitely go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The staff was very friendly and knew abo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The staff was very friendly and knew about the menu offerings. Food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking so forward to this meal an ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I was looking so forward to this meal and was incredibly disappointed. We arrived at 8 for our reservation on a Saturday night. We expected to dine but instead we were out of there by 845. We were rushed in and out. Our crab cake appetizer wasn't even hot and we hardly touched the pork chop which had absolutely no flavor. The fried chicken was good but not worth a return visit. The biscuits and cornbread were dry and old👎There are too many fabulous restaurants in Atlanta to give this a second try.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

It's refreshing when a restaurant has be ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It's refreshing when a restaurant has been around as long as this one and is still at the top of its game, from food quality to friendly service. I cannot emphasize enough: BEST FRIED CHICKEN. EVER.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for brunch. ~Lovely time wit ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great spot for brunch.

~Lovely time with gal pals.~

Staff could be a bit more friendly.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food, reasonable prices, excel ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very good food, reasonable prices, excellent service

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time at SCK. Waitress (A ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a great time at SCK. Waitress (Amber) was very friendly but didn't involve herself in our conversations. Amber didn't know a lot about different beers (brought me a pale ale when I asked for an IPA, not a big deal, it was a good beer anyway). Had the fried chicken and shrimp & grits, both very good. Amber is also a whiz at whisking away the crumbs with her little crumb getter thingy. It's a little clangy noise wise downstairs, maybe upstairs is better. Overall we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Fried chicken and beat greens in town!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fried chicken and beat greens in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place to eat. I heard this place fr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good place to eat. I heard this place from my ALT friend and looks like it owes its fame to fried chicken. However the fried chicken is not so good as expected. Surprisingly all other dishes are stunning . And kitchen remade the chicken for me. So it is overall a great restaurant and it could put some effort on chicken quality control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Took my boyfriend from Connecticut here. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Took my boyfriend from Connecticut here. He loved the fried chicken. Great meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were great. The no ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were great. The noise level is high as noted by others and parking was a chore. Valet on-site would be great!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was overprice and it wasn't good at ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was overprice and it wasn't good at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

Excellent service with professionally po ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service with professionally polished staff, food delivery timing, & presentation. Our server, Amber, was fantastic - sensitive to our timing needs, special occasion, and every request, all with a warm personality and smile of genuine care about our first experience at SCKM! The food was scrumptious - we tried multiple appetizers, entrees, and desserts - all first class! Yes, the acoustics of the place make for a little noise, but the buzz is positive with conversation and interactions of a happening restaurant, that is more than an acceptable trade-off vs an overall terrific dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The malted waffle is all I what I want t ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The malted waffle is all I what I want to return for. The mustard is overkill on the brisket Benedict otherwise I think it'd be a stellar dish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We wanted to try South City Kitchen sinc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We wanted to try South City Kitchen since it was so highly rated on Trip Advisor. The service was excellent, the food was very good but the noise level was excessive for conducting meaningful conversation. Restaurant is in need of some sound absorption material.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.