About South City Kitchen Midtown

1144 Crescent Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30309
View Larger Map

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist. Combining the energy of Atlanta with the warmth of a Southern home, the restaurant is nestled in an updated, historic bungalow on the city's famous Crescent Avenue.

Dine on local specialties such as shrimp and grits, buttermilk fried chicken, she-crab soup, fried green tomatoes and banana pudding while enjoying the view of our exhibition kitchen or the Atlanta skyline on one of the best patios in the city.

This truly is dining the way the New South intended. (Please note, the restaurant is not handicap accessible.)

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
DINNER NIGHTLY
Sunday-Thursday, 5-10pm
Friday-Saturday, 5-10:30pm

BRUNCH
Saturday-Sunday 10am-3pm

LUNCH
Monday-Friday 11am to 5pm

Cross Street:
14th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 873-7358

Website:
http://fifthgroup.com/

Catering:
South City Kitchen Midtown is owned by Fifth Group Restaurants which also owns Bold American Events & Catering. For more information on catering, please visit http://boldamerican.com.

Parking Details:
Immediately adjacent to South City Kitchen is a new 900 space parking deck. There are several other street lots within 1 block of the restaurant as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
MARTA Arts Center or Midtown stations.

Executive Chef:
Chip Ulbrich

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
South City Kitchen Midtown
Fried Green Tomatoes
Shrimp and Grits
Chicken and Waffles
Beef Brisket Eggs Benefict
 Fried Chicken
Crab Cake Hash
Cornbread And Biscuit Basket
Roasted Beet Salad
Pork BBQ
Banana Pudding
buttermilk fried chicken
Pimiento Cheese
fried chicken
She Crab Soup
Bread Pudding
Mac & Cheese
Pulled Pork Over Hoecakes
Cornbread Muffins
Eggs Benedict
Pimento Cheeseburger
Butter Lettuce Salad
Georges Bank Scallops
Chicken Livers
Apple Cobbler
Beet Salad
Homemade Biscuit
Pecan Pie
Bacon Mac 'n Cheese
Pork Belly & Grits
Pimento Cheese
Smoked beef brisket "cheese steak"
smoked pork belly
Chocolate torte
Four Cheese Mac
She-Crab Soup
Potato Dumplings
Sweet Potato Dumplings
Baby Gem Lettuce With Maytag Bleu Cheese
Fried Chicken Plate
Catfish Reuben
Jambalaya
Scallops
Beet With Blue Cheese Salad
Bread and Butter Pickles
Southern Style Banh Mi
Pork Belly
Bread Basket
Dorothy's Chicken Salad
Fried Green Tomatoes With Goat Cheese And Avocado
Country Thyme Lemonade
Country Fried Chicken
Crab Hash
Braised Duck Breast
Fried Green Tomato Blt With Baked Mac N Cheese
Dry Martini
Collard Green Kimchi
Smoked Pork Chop
Ginger Pimm's Cup
Low And Slow Pulled Pork
Grilled Amberjack
Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes And Collards
Grilled Salmon
Pan Seared Georges Bank Scallops, Sweet Onion Tomato Relish, Roasted Basil Polenta Cake
Southern Fried Chicken
Cosmopolition
Soup & Sandwich
Chicken & Waffle
Pork Belly with cheddar polenta grits
South City Breakfast & Fried Chicken
White Chocolate Cheesecake Bread Pudding With Blueberry Compote
Pork Chop
Grilled Mahi Mahi with roasted vegetables, ginger lime aioli

Private Dining

Celebrating over 20 years as one of Atlanta's favorite restaurants, South City Kitchen Midtown specializes in contemporary Southern cuisine with a sophisticated twist.

South City Kitchen Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Atlanta / Georgia
Southern
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

fit for foodies (170)
neighborhood gem (131)
special occasion (127)
See All
great for brunch (111)
great for lunch (109)
good for groups (88)
hot spot (84)
great for outdoor dining (78)
romantic (46)
notable wine list (28)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (16)
scenic view (7)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and service were INCREDIBLE.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service were INCREDIBLE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. The trout was de ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service. The trout was delicious, fresh and cooked to perfection and the grilled chicken to die for. Delicious sherbets for dessert. Highly recommended. Expect a lot of noise though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was very good and the service w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was very good and the service was spot on. We had some good food and drinks with family and it was completely enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent brunch! The chicken and waffle ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent brunch! The chicken and waffles was exquisite! The sever was quite attentive and very nice.

Will return again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Festive atmosphere, but overdone flounde ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 4 days ago

Festive atmosphere, but overdone flounder. Great crabcake.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Quaint place in the middle of the big ci ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

Quaint place in the middle of the big city for sure. Southern food, comfort food, and everything on the menu is fresh and is prepared daily. Everyone had enjoyable food and great service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Somewhat early reservation made on a Thu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Somewhat early reservation made on a Thursday evening. Table was ready, but we sat at

the bar for a few minutes to unwind. Once seated the service was great - nice beer selection with local stuff so got to try something I hadn't had before.

Food served promptly and place filled up while we were eating. Good server who knew her menu.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good shrimp and grits. Pleasantly busy a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Good shrimp and grits. Pleasantly busy at lunch. Friend's kid got chicken tenders that were huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The portion sizes were about 20% too sma ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The portion sizes were about 20% too small for the price charged.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This place never disappoints.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was attentive, the drinks wer ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our server was attentive, the drinks were great everyone loved the appetizers, mains and they brought our birthday guest cake. Great time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, unfortunately it was freezin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food, unfortunately it was freezing the night we were there with cold air blowing on us the whole meal!

Cory our waiter was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and great service

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal and fantastic service. No ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent meal and fantastic service. Noise level a bit high for a romantic meal but energetic and happy. Our server (Manny) took great care to describe the menu and offer suggestions. The food was a fantastic combination of flavors and styles. Tried the vegetarian main course only to sample the molasses/curry combination. Wonderful. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

the food is always delicious - great var ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

the food is always delicious - great variety of menu options - don't eat too many of the delectable biscuits and cornbread muffins that are served to the table prior to the meal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch. Great service. Sat up ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful lunch. Great service. Sat upstairs by the window. Server was very helpful. had the sauteed chicken livers for appetizer. these are the best in Atlanta in my opinion. had the in season heirloom tomato BLT sandwich very flavorful and not overly heavy. homemade potato chips cooked perfectly and crispy. my son had the pimento cheese burger and loved it - perfectly cooked and very flavorful. Great lunch. Great service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the fried chicken, salmon, and caesa ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Had the fried chicken, salmon, and caesar salad. All ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We really enjoyed South City Kitchen Mid ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We really enjoyed South City Kitchen Midtown. The service was friendly, professional and efficient. The food is amazing! Fried green tomatoes, it was my 1st experience and they were awesome. The fried chicken is absolutely the best I have ever tasted. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With every visit to Atlanta, I have din ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

With every visit to Atlanta, I have dinner at South City Kitchen. Looking forward to my next visit to Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience. The staff w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

What a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was fantastic. We had the fried chicken and shrimp and grits. The appetizers were great too. Fried green tomatoes were the bomb. Different desserts were had by everyone and shared and they were all awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing as always!!! Colleen, took such ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing as always!!! Colleen, took such great care of my family and I and of course the food was superb per usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was very delicious and the staff wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

food was very delicious and the staff was very accomodating. will visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Sunday brunch was excellent! The fried c ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sunday brunch was excellent! The fried chicken was outstanding. The brisket eggs Benedict was also very good! Great place for brunch- however, if you want a drink, wait until after 12:30 on a Sunday when they are allowed to serve alcohol.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed experience but food was MEGA sal ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Enjoyed experience but food was MEGA salty - which spoiled taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Lively atmosphere, fabulous food. South ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Lively atmosphere, fabulous food. Southern menu cooked modern style.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress was phenomenal. She made our f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Waitress was phenomenal. She made our first visit fantastic. We ran into one problem with our food but she took care of it and us!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wow! My friends and I had a great experi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wow! My friends and I had a great experience at South City! Our servers were awesome. I can't remember their names (the girl had full sleeves of tattoos including a Red Sox one and the guy was being trained by her), but they were awesome. So nice and attentive, great senses of humor, and made us feel at home. The food was amazing. We ordered the fried green tomatoes and pimento cheese to share. Amazing. The lemonade was delicious. And the COMPLIMENTARY BISCUITS AND CORNBREAD AND PEACH PRESERVES?! Are ya'll trying to kill me? So good. I was a little disappointed in my chicken and waffles. I found the waffle to be way too sweet, but the chicken was flavorful and moist. The ambiance is very nice for a Sunday brunch, but it was crazy busy so make a reservation. Definitely one of my best dining experiences in Atlanta.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with the only negative be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Delicious food with the only negative being that there is no valet.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal. Vegetable options were excep ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great meal. Vegetable options were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was amazing, service was excellent, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was amazing, service was excellent, dessert was delish. Cocktails were mainly whiskey/bourbon/gin-and for me, this was the only less than positive part of the dining experience. Fyi-There was a good wine list if you're wanting an alternative. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only had crab cake and fried green tomat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Only had crab cake and fried green tomatoes. The service, as well as the appetizers were excellent. Great atmosphere, and staff very attentive. Will return

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fried chicken, crab cakes and wine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great fried chicken, crab cakes and wine collection! Also,

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for a business lunch. Had a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Went there for a business lunch. Had a couple of appetizers and entrees, and everyone loved it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fried chicken! Waiter said it ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent fried chicken! Waiter said it was probably the best around, and I would have to agree. Also loved the cornbread and mashed potatoes. We ate outside on the patio as inside was a bit noisy for us. It did get rather warm outside (mid-June around 8:00 p.m.). Excellent cocktails, especially the "Peach Next Door." Glad we made reservations, as there was a one hour wait for walk-ins. Walked to the restaurant from our hotel. Area felt safe for late evening walking.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of the best restaurants in A ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Atlanta. The food is excellent every.single.time. This restaurant is a must , if you are in Atlanta. The pork chop, fried tomatoes, and fried chicken are favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have been better!! The fried c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Could not have been better!! The fried chicken alone is worth the trip. Friendly professional staff. Only wish they'd open in Jacksonville!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I visit Atlanta two or three times a yea ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I visit Atlanta two or three times a year but have never eaten at South City before. After having lunch there this past Saturday I plan on making it a "must go" place for all my future trips to midtown Atlanta.

Our server was terrific ...knew everything about the menu, the neighborhood and loved working at South City!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Had flounder whi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service and food. Had flounder which was outstanding. Wait staff attentive but not over bearing. You have to have the peach cobbler

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.