About Sotto Sotto

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cacio & Pepe With Black Truffle
Panna Cotta
Caesar Salad
Zuppa Ai Chocolatti
Poletto
mushroom risotto.
Linguini Ala Vongole
Cape Sante
Spaghetti A La Vongole
Antipasto Misto
Veal
Chocolate Soup
Cacio e pepe @eataly 
Perfectly al dente pasta with cheese and black pepper. Perfecto!
Salmon
 Vongole
Beet Salad
Vitello
Cape San
Veal Chop
Risotto ai Frutti di Mare
Papardelle With Wild Boar
Risotto ai Funghi
The Best Italian Food In Atlanta
Bietole Salad
Pesce Arosto
Desserts
Bread Pudding
Dolce Al Mascarpone
Buffala De Peperoni
Pesce A Rosto
Peppa Di Cozze
Tortelli Di Michelangelo
Pappardelle Al Sugo D' Anatra
Strawberry Risotto
Seared Jumbo Scallops, Cannellini Beans, Arugula And Truffle Oil
Budino di Pane

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Atlanta / Georgia
Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
1 More
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Inman Park ›

fit for foodies (107)
special occasion (99)
neighborhood gem (99)
See All
notable wine list (82)
romantic (81)
great for outdoor dining (48)
hot spot (32)
good for groups (31)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently wonderful! The food and ser ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Consistently wonderful! The food and service are impeccable!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Such a great restaurant all the way arou ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Such a great restaurant all the way around. With so many new options, it is easy to forget such a treasure like Sotto Sotto. One of my all time favorites. Some of the best service in the city to match the amazing cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant! Great food, service, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing restaurant! Great food, service, wine list... Everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Sotto Sotto is an excellent Italian rest ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Sotto Sotto is an excellent Italian restaurant with fresh pastas and delicious appetizers and salads. My dish, the tagliatelle de funghi, came out slightly behind my mother in laws, caciode pepe, I tried my first bite and thought it was quite under cooked, I tried another bite and knew it was underdone. I LOVE al dente pasts but, this had a crunch. The waiter immediately resolved the situation and while my new pasta was slightly overdone the flavors were all on point and delicious. The server made an amazing impression on the two of us and saved the dinner when the meal didn't live up to expectations. I've been to Sotto Sotto many times and never had a dish issue. I am thrilled to report the restaurant made the experience right as soon as I mentioned my issue. Another great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I had reservations for @ 3 wks and yet w ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I had reservations for @ 3 wks and yet we were seated on the patio in 90' weather. The patio has no ambience. The food was not as good as I had remembered in years before. I would not dine here again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in Atlanta. Consistently am ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Best Italian in Atlanta. Consistently amazing food, wine, and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, food was so outstanding I hat ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

As always, food was so outstanding I hated finishing. The steak was the best I ever had. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best Italian restaurant we ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was the best Italian restaurant we have tried in Atlanta in the eight years we have been here. The spicy seafood pasta was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as Always

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Once again Sotto Sotto was outstanding in every was. The server was wonderful, the app(fava bean and pecorino) was outstanding and the entrees were exceptional. Great wine and great choices on the list. My only suggestion is the martinis should really be served in a martini glass, not a tumbler, but that is a minor complaint in an otherwise exceptional dining experience. Kind os a pet peeve of mine and I see it more and more in restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on May 30, 2016

This is one, if not my favorite, Italian restaurant in Atlanta. This restaurant never disappoints and is consistently great. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Atlanta!

Dined on May 29, 2016

I've long said that Sotto Sotto is the best restaurant in Atlanta, and this visit proved me right yet again. I went with cousins from Dallas, GA, and they loved it! The food is simply outstanding. And the service is a cut above! Once again, I had the Tortelli di Michaelangelo, and once again, I wasn't disappointed. It's like I'm in Italy -- the pasta is that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Almost Flawless Experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I were quite pleased with our experience. The food was excellent and priced reasonably. The ambience just right for elegant yet informal dining, and the service quite attentive. All the food items, from the bread to salad to appetizer to the main course were excellent. Drinks and water were filled as soon as they reached close to bottom, and the waiter kept us informed of the readiness of our order. The only slight shortcoming was that the waiter was somewhat brusque at the beginning - he had could explained the menu a bit more clearly, and did not quite address my questions, but the was competent and friendly towards the end, describing to us some history of the area. I would highly recommend this for special occasions, and simply for good Italian food. The area of Inman Park is also very charming, with a young crowd, and a great walking trail just close-by to work off the extra calories, as we did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It never disappoints

Dined on May 28, 2016

As always, Sotto Sotto delivers great food and service. Our meal was outstanding with a great bottle of reasonably priced wine. Never had a bad meal at this spot and highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in Atlanta

Dined on May 25, 2016

I had the sea scallops as an appetizer and the lasagna as an entree with blueberry crisp ice-cream for dessert. It was a fabulous meal! Everything was perfect, recommend highly!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

Nice setting, but overall not too impres ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Nice setting, but overall not too impressed. Clams had nice flavor, mozzarella was nothing special. We ordered three pasta dishes to try. One was great - mushroom, one was good - ravioli and one was bland. In fact not done even remember what I ordered. Chocolate soup was just warm chocolate sauce. No skill. Marscapone/amaretti dessert was wonderful! May or may not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divine!

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We had the best meal, and the best server. Sat outside on the patio, recommend that 1,000%. Had a mixture of small plates since we could not decide on entrees, and recommend that also ... it was great to have a variety of risotto, lasaganette, and two completely different types of pasta. Cocktails were delicious ... have the Lovely Day. Or two.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful outdoor dining experience

Dined on May 22, 2016

Beautiful outdoor dining experience

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A few oops.....

Dined on May 22, 2016

We brought friends who were celebrating their 45th anniversary . Soto Soto was kind enough to bring them each a flute of presesco. A nice gesture, but so odd that they didn't bring us a glass.......we "toasted" with our water! The service and food were very good except too much dressing on the salad, too much sauce on the lamb and the wrong flavor gelato served ( not corrected or complemented). We will go back eventually for another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very interesting menu with delicious foo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Very interesting menu with delicious food. Had a great piece of halibut and delicious risotto. Very nice wine list.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my fiancee there for her birthday a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Took my fiancee there for her birthday and was not disappointed. One of the better meals we have had in a while as well as great service. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quaint Place with Great Food & Wine

Dined on May 20, 2016

What a hidden gem. This was my first time to Atlanta and was looking for a good Italian Restaurant for a work dinner . I found this restaurant on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The food was MARVELOUS and the wine was SPECTACULAR. We started with the Buffalo Mozzarella and then for our entrees we chose-Tortelli di Michelangelo Buonaroti (Everyone's Favorite), Cacio, Pepe, e Pancetta ( Spaghetti with Pancetta), the third person in our party had a type of tortelloni (Large tortellini) stuffed with artichoke hearts and some other things. The portion sizes were small - or maybe the size they should be, and we all decided we could have ordered another round of the Tortelli di Michaelangelo Buonaroti. I will definitely return and refer others that will be visiting Atlanta in the near future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Italian food experience.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Outstanding Italian food experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent meal! Would be happy to go bac ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent meal! Would be happy to go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sotto Sotto is hard to spot from the str ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Sotto Sotto is hard to spot from the street until after dark, but it's well worth the effort (next door to Friti on Highland). Always good food, always friendly staff. On the expensive side, but not too. It's small so you'll want to get reservations well in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding! Great food, great service, ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding! Great food, great service, not too loud. Especially terrific pasta and risotto.

food4
ambience4
service1

Bad Service

Dined on May 15, 2016

Bad Service

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was great as usual. However, o ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was great as usual. However, our waiter was extremely slow and inattentive to our table. This was interesting, because he was quite attentive to the tables around us. However, there were multiple times he would speak with all tables around us then leave without even looking at us even while we tried to get his attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Kristina and the service was amazing!! ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Kristina and the service was amazing!! The food was amazing!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Quiet Atmosphere for Superb Food

Dined on May 10, 2016

When the time of our 20th Anniversary came, I thought my wife would enjoy a trip to Atlanta to dine at Sotto Sotto; long a favorite of ours. Before I could spring the idea on her, she mentioned that it would be nice to eat at Sotto Sotto again. Great minds think alike! Our meal was the usual superb event that it always is. My wife's artichoke and mascarpone tortellini were out of this world. I had the Risotto Mantecato. If I'm going to eat a risotto, this is the restaurant that I'm going to do it at. The desserts were also incredible. The pistachio gelato tasted as if the toasted pistachios had been rendered into luscious cream itself. The flavor was incredible. And the Panna Cotta was the usual taste of heaven. We traveled several hours to eat at this restaurant, and in five years of patronage, it's never failed us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was all very nice!

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was all very nice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Sotto Soto never disappoints! The service is always top cabin and the food is savory. They also have an excellent wine list. Our server was Chris, he was on top of everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian restaurant in Atlanta! Uniq ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Atlanta! Unique dishes, superbly prepared, and expertly served.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly recommend!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Small bistro neighborhood restaurant. 3rd visit over a couple of years when in Atlanta on business. Each time has been better than previous. Antipasto appetizer for the table a good way to start. Pasta outstanding... Priest Strangler with creamy meat sauce and fresh baked bread. Amazing Veal chops then ended with outstanding gelato. Only positive comments for the entire group! Service was outstanding!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

As always, the service was terrific and ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

As always, the service was terrific and the food was delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic date spot

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff are wonderful and the back patio is surprisingly serene for being in the middle of bustling Inman Park. The food is also fantastic.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A foodie find

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is very creative and well prepared. The menu offers plenty of choices and not just the usual fare. We enjoyed the favas with romano and evoo & a farro salad. We ordered 3 different pastas which were wonderful. Dessert was tasty. Server was knowledgeable . Prices were reasonable for the high quality. It was a memorable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good dinner date place

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was great. Little salty to my palate, but it was full of flavors. Risotto was cooked right. The complimentary bread was really good. Crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. The restaurant is cozy. The waitress was friendly. We chose her recommendation on menu and we were satisfied with the choices.

food4
ambience5
service4

We ate in the garden on a beautiful even ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

We ate in the garden on a beautiful evening. It was a very romantic setting. The hot bread was especially good. The food was delicious with fresh high quality ingredients. Noise level very acceptable. I would definitely return.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Terrible hostess

Dined on April 22, 2016

Out of 6 people, we 4 arrived first. Howtess said either we wait at the bar or we should order food if we sit at the table right away even before our guest arrives. We had to order few appetizers and drinks, and it came out almost immediately, and we had to wait for rhw guest watching the appetizers... Food was good. However, for a restaurant that we spent over $500, the reception was very cold, impersonal and unprofessional. Even the cloethes that the hostess wore was not suitable at all. Bad feeling at the entrance lasts until the end.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best food. Best service in to ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Always the best food. Best service in town. A go-to spot for intimate celebrations. Go.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.