Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Sotto Sotto

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Neighborhood Gem (63)
Romantic (60)
See All
Special Occasion (53)
Authentic (52)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Notable Wine List (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Cozy (33)
Worth the Drive (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (23)
Local Ingredients (18)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fun (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Mixed feelings about this one. The food was really good, but the atmosphere was not conducive to conversation. The tables are so close together that my wife was closer to the person next to her than she was to me. And this was a tiny table for two, so I wasn't that far away. We had to get up several times during our meal to allow people in/out of the tables next to us. We were there for our anniversary, but it was hard to carry on a conversation with everyone on top of us. So, good food, but I can't recommend it for any kind of night out or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I loved everything about it. We were in from DC and looking for a great dinner in our favorite ATL neighborhood. Loved the pasta, wine, dessert (panna cotta I love your forever marry me)! Next time I want to try the "priest strangler"! But the tagliatelle with duck was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Sotto Sotto is best described as having "neighborhood elegance" with friendly well-trained waitstaff, a host who abides by requests0n Open Table, and out-of-the ordinary food. Nice back patio and table cloth environment makes Sotto Sotto worth the trip.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Looking forward to a quiet Anniversary dinner that was spoiled sitting next to a family with two very young bouncy kids on the bench. I am confident the website politely ask that children be left at home but this evening that was not the case. The tables are so close to one another (and no fault of the children) but the parents for thinking 3 and 4 year olds can sit quietly through an evening dinner. I left a note on the paper table cloth to our very nice waitress who showed it to someone at the bar who "shrugged his shoulders".

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Completely unimpressive. Most of all because of the service. I couldn't believe how bad it was. We sat down with drinks from the bar so I guess our server assumed he didn't need to greet us for about 15 minutes. When he did, he did not introduce himself, did not ask if we'd like anything else to drink, didn't ask if we'd ever been there before or offer to go over the menu, first thing out of his mouth was, "are you ready to order?" Big turnoff.

The mussels we did get were awful, not even edible. The entrees were okay and when we asked for a dessert menu the server said they were out of pretty much everything but we could get chocolate soup or tiramisu if we wanted.

I certainly wont go back or recommend to anyone.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fabulous. Love the staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there for Mother's Day, the waitress was a ghost. Takes our order for bread and olive oil. Brings it and leaves, no individual small plates . When we do get her attention she signals us to wait with the palm of her hand.

The appetizers were good BUT the mussels I ordered were warm not entirely opened and some were raw. In total I'd say 20 of the mussels were either closed or raw that we left off eating them.

My wife had seafood risotto again the mussels were unopened and the seafood took upmost of the room in the bowl including about 5 unopened mussels . I had seafood pasta my daughter spaghetti. The waitress puts down the dishes and walks away before we can ask for cheese.

Thankfully another of the waitstaff Afro American was kind enough at our request to provide the fresh grated cheese.

My wife and I both agreed the dishes were too salty.

Needless to say, there will not be another meal eaten there by us.

To be fair , this is the second time we've been here. The first time about 8-10 years ago and we were treated very well and the food superb.

However , I will not frequent this establishment again.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food but we waited quite a while for our food. The waitress did apologize for the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Still going strong after 15+ plus years. Top notch service from a knowledgeable staff coupled with a menu that never disappoints makes Sotto Sotto a must visit.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mushroom risotto and Michaelangelo tortollini both excellent. Low noise lecvel since all tables were not booked.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The staff are ruining a nice restaurant. Charming ambiance and good food, but the hostess, waitress and extra server all were cold and unfriendly. This is the second time I've been here, but probably will be my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Soto Soto had been nothing less than spectacular everyone I have been there - which has been often!

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I loved this place! Food was amazing, so was the service.

I would only change one thing, and that is the space in between tables. I couldn't have a romantic quiet dinner with my fiance because the seating is so close to the other guests you might as well join them for dinner. I could clearly hear all the other conversations going on around us, and felt I was sitting in on someone else dinner outing.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Every single item on their menu is made to perfection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I were in Atlanta for business and chose to dine here based on the glowing reviews on OpenTable and Zagat. Overall, we were disappointed in the meal. We shared the antipasto and Lasagnette. The lasagnette was bland and and dry. The noodle product was slightly over cooked. Two of the meats in the antipasto were slightly sour and the rest of the dish was ordinary.

We then had the whole roasted fish and the veal chop. The veal chop, which was ordered medium, was very rare and cold. The sauce was bland. The fish was fileted at the table and done so improperly that a significant portion of the fish was wasted.

Being disgusted with the meal, we skipped desert and picked up an order of nachos on our way back to the hotel.

The bottom line is I would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Delicious, as always! Great late weeknight dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As always we had a first rate experience at Sotto Sotto. We try to include a visit whenever we visit Atlanta.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Awful service! The waiter was visibly high on something and messed up our order. It took about 1.5h to get our food and he forgot to order one dish of one member of the party. Last time there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

So good. I had the pasta with braised duck ragu (amazing) and my wife had the bone-in veal chop that was incredible. Love this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very good overall experience. This place is a landmark restaurant in ATL that still delivers a great meal!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great meal and the quiet outdoor space is special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 20, 2017

As always, Sotto Sotto is a great Italian restaurant in Atlanta

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sotto Sotto, I would say, hits a lot of great notes--pleasant atmosphere, great food, attentive service, wonderful selection of Italian wines. It's not the easiest place to park/walk to for someone with a disability. Front entrance is understated, to a fault. In that sense, it would not be inaccurate to call it a "hidden gem." Would love to see a drop-off space out front and a little better identification. It is, though, a very satisfying dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We booked a table for four for Easter Sunday after Sunday services. We were so pleased that they were (1) open earlier than normal Sunday hours and (2) offered their traditional, full menu vs. the horrible brunch buffets or limited offerings that most top restaurants force upon you during this holiday. The favorites were absolutely superb -- from the plump, sweet, perfectly done Cape Sante sea scallops to the wonderfully creamy Risotto agli Asparagi (made with vegetable broth for my picky vegetarian daughter). The pasta list is so varied and wonderful, I wanted to try them all. My personal favorite, Strozzapreti was there --with its rough, hand made cuts of pasta, done al dente so it stands up so well to the rich, sweet sausage ragu . The Tortelli ai Carciofi was just the right portion featuring seven delicate pillows of mascarpone and artichokes... And the list goes on...there are no misses here. A special shout out to the wait staff. What marvelous energy and attentiveness you displayed even on this early Sunday when you should have been home sleeping. You all are the best!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always, everything at Sotto Sotto was fantastic. The food was delicious, the wine was perfect and the service was top cabin! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Real good Italian food.
Good service.
I enjoyed
Would go again

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

DEEE-LISH! The "naked ravioli and bufala appetizer are both must haves!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We sat outside on the patio our last time dining at Sotto Sotto and the ambience is perfect! The food and wine are excellent as well.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I don't know what happened to Sotto Sotto. It was one of my favorites.
My boyfriend took me there to celebrate my birthday. It was such a lovely evening we decided to sit out in the patio, something we've never done before. Maybe that was the problem.
Our waitress was rude, informal and non attentive. And our food was definitely lacking seasoning that night...pretty frustrating as our memory of that night is far from positive with a bill over $175 for a dinner for two. I hope it was just a bad Monday night for the staff...not sure I care to find out though...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Anniversary dinner with the usual superb food. Scallops appetizer with fav beans delightful with perfectly cooked scallops. Risotto with mushrooms in an appetizer portion was wonderful - incredibly flavorful mushrooms. The farro salad with seasonal vegetables and sherry vinegar dressing is hearty but light. We both had the tagliatelle with cotton ham and peas in a very light cream sauce. Tasted wonderful. I would ask that the entree portion be increased a bit - kind of on the small side.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Birthday dinner wasexcellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Sotto Sotto is our go-to restaurant for celebrations. This was a double birthdat and as usual they didn't disappoint. Great food, impeccable wine selections and gelat with expresso made for a great evening. Now is the season to sit on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Delicious food. Great service. And at a great price.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was good as always, but service was a little rushed. Felt like the waitress was in "turn and burn" mode. We were lucky to secure a good table by the window, instead of on the banquette, which is cramped and lacks privacy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Waiter seemed a bit to inappropriately "interested" in my partner...made us both uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went to Sotto Sotto for the first time during Inman Park Restaurant Week. Great atmosphere, amazing food! Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food and wait staff were excellent! The patio was lovely.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I believe this is the best Italian restaurant in Atlanta. I have visited Italy on multiple occasions, and I can't find pasta anywhere outside of Italy that comes so close to the original. I dream about the Michelangelo pasta, and the pasta with mushrooms is unreal. You won't be disappointed with this dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I selected this restaurant to try during Restaurant Week because there is a dish on the menu that I have been trying to find ever since I visited Rome. Since it is also on the regular menu, I will probably be back the next time I visit Atlanta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.