About Sotto Sotto

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Notable Wine List (44)
Special Occasion (43)
Authentic (42)
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Cozy (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Business Meals (21)
Comfort Food (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Casual (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Healthy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Place was crowded and seats are very clo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Place was crowded and seats are very close to other tables but you could still talk and have a good time. Had the muscles, Caesar salad, risotto with onions and 16th century veal ravioli and the chocolate soup. Everything was delicious and top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic fine Italian cooking not typ ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Authentic fine Italian cooking not typical for Atlanta. Comfortable, great service and a terrific choice of wines and craft cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated girl's night out at my favor ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Celebrated girl's night out at my favorite neighborhood restaurant. Dinner was delicious as usual. Service was superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For Valentine's I wanted to change this ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

For Valentine's I wanted to change this up from our normal go-to place and this year Italian was on the menu. I found Sotto Sotto while researching places and decided we'd give it a try based on its reviews and rating. Overall, it was great and we'll definitely be back. The food was outstanding! We started with the Bufala e Peperoni which was fantastic. I had a caesar salad which was good but typical. My wife and I shared a small portion of the funghi risotto which was excellent and she had the Veal chop while I had the Strozzapreti alla Salsiccia pasta and we had nothing left to box and take home it was that good! Our server was on point and very attentive. The only improvements/suggestions to get to a full 5/5 star would be to not stuff in so many tables. Yes it's Valentines and you're looking to maximize revenue but when your staff has to pull tables out to let guests reach their seat, it's way too close. We felt like we were rubbing shoulders with other patrons and it made conversation a little bit more awkward being so close to others. Finally, upon arriving, the hostess didn't greet us and it took her forever to look up from what she was doing. She asked someone else to seat us, never really looked at us or smiled. That was our first impression upon arriving so it wasn't a good one and was disappointing. However, it wasn't enough to make us not want to dine there or return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Go often and this was the first sub par ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Go often and this was the first sub par experience with our server.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Perfect for a date night! Delicious food ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect for a date night! Delicious food and amazing service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Friend showed up and put. And in for an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Friend showed up and put. And in for an hour wait. Pulled up open table and had a reservation in 10 minutes. Waiter didn't bag food to go home, forgot.

On the plus side the dinners were very good mushroom and seafood risotto and lemon chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Seriously, when I say everything was gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Seriously, when I say everything was great, it really was. And I am cynical about restaurants. The food was amazing, the signature cocktails were grear, the waiter was attentive and extremely knowledgeable, ambiance was nice,etc. We had the scallops, pasta and duck dish (sorry don't recall the Italian translation, a seafood pasta dish, and the veal parm. All was absolutely delicious. Followed this with chocolate soup and a snickers gelato with a shot of grand marnier and espresso. Geez, for us to be slim we sound super greedy, but I digress. Everything was reasonably priced. Definitely heading back soon.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I picked this place through more than on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I picked this place through more than one recommendation. I took my parents for their 50th anniversary. They loved it and I think they will never forget it. The food and wine were on point.

Tags: , Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to visit this amazing restaur ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

First time to visit this amazing restaurant. A friend recommended this restaurant. The food is wonderful. The service is great. Our server was accommodating. She suggested several items on the menu as well as a the wine. Next visit to Atlanta we will certainly visit this restaurant again. A+++

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, , Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Italian food, fairly basic, but a s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good Italian food, fairly basic, but a solid meal with moderate pricing. I was visiting from out of town so I do not think that I would go back if I were to find myself in Atlanta again. However the neighborhood was cool and we found a cute/awesome cocktail bar down the street. I had the risotto which cooked well and very tasty but nothing that went above and beyond.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb quality for food and classy servi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Superb quality for food and classy service without any pretense. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good, but the space is very cra ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was good, but the space is very cramped. You are sitting right next to other diners with only a few inches between tables. It was distracting during dinner as you were so close to the other diners that you could hear their entire conversation. Probably will not return. Too many other good Italian restaurants in town with better ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I really like sotto sotto and the food i ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I really like sotto sotto and the food is always good but for some reason the service had taken a nose dive. So it just felt noisy and crowded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This is absolutely one of my favorite re ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is absolutely one of my favorite restaurants! Food is always delicious, and ambiance is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the pre dinner cocktails through de ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

From the pre dinner cocktails through dessert, everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Todala comida estuvo realmente excelente ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Todala comida estuvo realmente excelente de verdad que eñ que te ga oportunidad de estar en Atlanta debe ir a comer aqui

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my neighborhood favs, I can alway ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 30, 2017

One of my neighborhood favs, I can always count on Sotto Sotto for a great meal experience. Authentic Italian creative foods in a close intimate environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We love to visit for our good friend's b ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love to visit for our good friend's birthday each year. We think it is worth the long drive across town for the excellent food and superior service.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent. Was not to noisy this time wh ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent. Was not to noisy this time which made for a much more enjoyable evening. Sometimes really loud but not this time🙂

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sotto sotto continues to be one of our a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Sotto sotto continues to be one of our all time favorite Atlanta restaurants since we first went almost 15 years ago!! Always good to see Blake, and although I forgot her name from sat night, our waitress was great as well. We had an awesome meal, we were not rushed, and sotto sotto lived up to the wonderful reputation it has! It was once again a great experience all around!! Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had come across Sotto Sotto through Op ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had come across Sotto Sotto through Open Table when searching for a spot for dinner for my husband's birthday. I can not say enough about how great the food was! Authentic Italian food with real flavors other than just being smothered in garlic and red sauce. Beautifully plated, exquisite flavors. This will be my new go-to for a nice evening out in Atlanta

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and delicious meal with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great experience and delicious meal with a sensible service.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly rated but disappointed. Would not ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Highly rated but disappointed. Would not recommend.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Sotto Sotto is always a good bet - great ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Sotto Sotto is always a good bet - great food and service and a nice neighborhood feel.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant that's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant that's been around for almost 20 years. Food is amazing, service is great, but can be quite busy so reservations are recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous! Staff is great and food is ALW ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fabulous! Staff is great and food is ALWAYS perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

everyday Italian with Delish fresh twist

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 15, 2017

everyday Italian with Delish fresh twist

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

By far probably the best Italian restaur ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

By far probably the best Italian restaurant in Atlanta, great atmosphere, fantastic food and a superb wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, delicious! This restaurant do ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

As always, delicious! This restaurant does not disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was absolutely incredible. Ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This place was absolutely incredible. Every dish was unbelievable, service was impeccable, atmosphere was excellent. 5 stars. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent-- we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The service and food were excellent-- well worth making a reservation weeks in advance

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love this restaurant and last nights ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We love this restaurant and last nights email was excellent. We had s wonderful wine selected by the sommelier. We ordered the antipasti misti and the meats and cheeses were superb. We also ordered the cheese with the fennel salad (we left the sardines off) and the salad was fresh, crunchy and delicious. I ordered the lasaganette bolganese which was excellent. The pasta was so tender. My husband ordered the spicy pasta which was also excellent. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was busy so we decided to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The restaurant was busy so we decided to eat at the bar. That was a good decision and had great service. Maybe more wine than planned but perfect. The back door was cold as people came in and held the door open. NOW on a warm day, this is beautiful and I will be back to eat in the back. The food was lovely. Tasty . And even stayed for dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Average food and poor service

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Average food and poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Sotto Sotto did not disappoint-- again! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sotto Sotto did not disappoint-- again!

My favorite Atlanta restaurant delivered again. On this very cold Sunday, the crowd was less than usual, so you could actually hear (which is a plus!) Everything we ordered was perfect, and of course delicious. And I've found my new favorite drink: a French 75. The bartender makes it great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was exceptionally polite, att ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our server was exceptionally polite, attentive, and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!!

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Love this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Service was sub-par for the first time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.