About Sotto Sotto

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Atlanta / Georgia
Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Food
Atlanta
2 More
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Inman Park ›

fit for foodies (123)
special occasion (112)
neighborhood gem (108)
See All
notable wine list (107)
romantic (93)
great for outdoor dining (40)
hot spot (37)
good for groups (28)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5

Nice setting, but overall not too impres ...

Dined 3 days ago

Nice setting, but overall not too impressed. Clams had nice flavor, mozzarella was nothing special. We ordered three pasta dishes to try. One was great - mushroom, one was good - ravioli and one was bland. In fact not done even remember what I ordered. Chocolate soup was just warm chocolate sauce. No skill. Marscapone/amaretti dessert was wonderful! May or may not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Divine!

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We had the best meal, and the best server. Sat outside on the patio, recommend that 1,000%. Had a mixture of small plates since we could not decide on entrees, and recommend that also ... it was great to have a variety of risotto, lasaganette, and two completely different types of pasta. Cocktails were delicious ... have the Lovely Day. Or two.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful outdoor dining experience

Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful outdoor dining experience

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A few oops.....

Dined 5 days ago

We brought friends who were celebrating their 45th anniversary . Soto Soto was kind enough to bring them each a flute of presesco. A nice gesture, but so odd that they didn't bring us a glass.......we "toasted" with our water! The service and food were very good except too much dressing on the salad, too much sauce on the lamb and the wrong flavor gelato served ( not corrected or complemented). We will go back eventually for another try.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very interesting menu with delicious foo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very interesting menu with delicious food. Had a great piece of halibut and delicious risotto. Very nice wine list.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my fiancee there for her birthday a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Took my fiancee there for her birthday and was not disappointed. One of the better meals we have had in a while as well as great service. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quaint Place with Great Food & Wine

Dined on May 20, 2016

What a hidden gem. This was my first time to Atlanta and was looking for a good Italian Restaurant for a work dinner . I found this restaurant on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The food was MARVELOUS and the wine was SPECTACULAR. We started with the Buffalo Mozzarella and then for our entrees we chose-Tortelli di Michelangelo Buonaroti (Everyone's Favorite), Cacio, Pepe, e Pancetta ( Spaghetti with Pancetta), the third person in our party had a type of tortelloni (Large tortellini) stuffed with artichoke hearts and some other things. The portion sizes were small - or maybe the size they should be, and we all decided we could have ordered another round of the Tortelli di Michaelangelo Buonaroti. I will definitely return and refer others that will be visiting Atlanta in the near future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Italian food experience.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Outstanding Italian food experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent meal! Would be happy to go bac ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent meal! Would be happy to go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sotto Sotto is hard to spot from the str ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Sotto Sotto is hard to spot from the street until after dark, but it's well worth the effort (next door to Friti on Highland). Always good food, always friendly staff. On the expensive side, but not too. It's small so you'll want to get reservations well in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding! Great food, great service, ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding! Great food, great service, not too loud. Especially terrific pasta and risotto.

food4
ambience4
service1

Bad Service

Dined on May 15, 2016

Bad Service

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was great as usual. However, o ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was great as usual. However, our waiter was extremely slow and inattentive to our table. This was interesting, because he was quite attentive to the tables around us. However, there were multiple times he would speak with all tables around us then leave without even looking at us even while we tried to get his attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Kristina and the service was amazing!! ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Kristina and the service was amazing!! The food was amazing!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Quiet Atmosphere for Superb Food

Dined on May 10, 2016

When the time of our 20th Anniversary came, I thought my wife would enjoy a trip to Atlanta to dine at Sotto Sotto; long a favorite of ours. Before I could spring the idea on her, she mentioned that it would be nice to eat at Sotto Sotto again. Great minds think alike! Our meal was the usual superb event that it always is. My wife's artichoke and mascarpone tortellini were out of this world. I had the Risotto Mantecato. If I'm going to eat a risotto, this is the restaurant that I'm going to do it at. The desserts were also incredible. The pistachio gelato tasted as if the toasted pistachios had been rendered into luscious cream itself. The flavor was incredible. And the Panna Cotta was the usual taste of heaven. We traveled several hours to eat at this restaurant, and in five years of patronage, it's never failed us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was all very nice!

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was all very nice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Sotto Soto never disappoints! The service is always top cabin and the food is savory. They also have an excellent wine list. Our server was Chris, he was on top of everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian restaurant in Atlanta! Uniq ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Atlanta! Unique dishes, superbly prepared, and expertly served.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly recommend!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Small bistro neighborhood restaurant. 3rd visit over a couple of years when in Atlanta on business. Each time has been better than previous. Antipasto appetizer for the table a good way to start. Pasta outstanding... Priest Strangler with creamy meat sauce and fresh baked bread. Amazing Veal chops then ended with outstanding gelato. Only positive comments for the entire group! Service was outstanding!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

As always, the service was terrific and ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

As always, the service was terrific and the food was delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic date spot

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff are wonderful and the back patio is surprisingly serene for being in the middle of bustling Inman Park. The food is also fantastic.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A foodie find

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is very creative and well prepared. The menu offers plenty of choices and not just the usual fare. We enjoyed the favas with romano and evoo & a farro salad. We ordered 3 different pastas which were wonderful. Dessert was tasty. Server was knowledgeable . Prices were reasonable for the high quality. It was a memorable dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good dinner date place

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was great. Little salty to my palate, but it was full of flavors. Risotto was cooked right. The complimentary bread was really good. Crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. The restaurant is cozy. The waitress was friendly. We chose her recommendation on menu and we were satisfied with the choices.

food4
ambience5
service4

We ate in the garden on a beautiful even ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

We ate in the garden on a beautiful evening. It was a very romantic setting. The hot bread was especially good. The food was delicious with fresh high quality ingredients. Noise level very acceptable. I would definitely return.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Terrible hostess

Dined on April 22, 2016

Out of 6 people, we 4 arrived first. Howtess said either we wait at the bar or we should order food if we sit at the table right away even before our guest arrives. We had to order few appetizers and drinks, and it came out almost immediately, and we had to wait for rhw guest watching the appetizers... Food was good. However, for a restaurant that we spent over $500, the reception was very cold, impersonal and unprofessional. Even the cloethes that the hostess wore was not suitable at all. Bad feeling at the entrance lasts until the end.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasantly Surprised

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our first visit to Soto Soto and won't be the last. We went on a whim without a recommendation on a pleasant Sunday evening. We sat on the patio which allowed us to enjoy the perfect weather with only moderate noise levels so we could have a good conversation with our friends. We already knew the menu from looking online and were pleased with the extensive wine list. Now the best part, the service was some of the best we've had anywhere. The server was extremely knowledgeable, helpful, prompt, and courteous. The four of us tried 4 different entrees and each tried each one. We all voted for the Strozzapreti alla Salsiccia as the favorite, although all were very good. We had the chocolate soup and the mascarpone layered desserts, both excellent as well. We consider ourselves foodies and are generally disappointed with the food at restaurants. Soto Soto was a pleasant surprise and a welcome addition to our preferred restaurants list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything about Sotto Sotto was unbelievable! The food, service, wine list and staff were absolutely perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Pasta was fresh and tend ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Delicious food. Pasta was fresh and tender. The duck Ragu was rich and flavorful. Great wine list. Personable and informative waiter.

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Great Food, Not So Good Service

Dined on April 9, 2016

I had the sear scallops appetizer and grilled veal chop. My wife had the grilled chicken. All of the food was excellent. The service on the other hand was poor. Here are the shortfalls: 1. Ordered a caesar salad but was brought the garden salad. 2. Our waiter topped off my wife's bottled water with tap water. I pointed this out to our waiter and he said he would bring another bottled water but never did. 3. I was drinking wine and bottled water. I spent close to half the meal without any water. 4. My wife ordered a cappuccino and it was lukewarm. The waiter said he must not have heated up the milk enough. A restaurant of this caliber should provide a higher level of service to match their prices. As I pointed out at the beginning, the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Perhaps my favorite Atlanta restaurant! ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Perhaps my favorite Atlanta restaurant! Neighborhood gem!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic fresh pasta. The veal chop was ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Fantastic fresh pasta. The veal chop was cooked perfectly and everything was delicious. The atmosphere was nice and our server was excellent. We will definitely be going back to Sotto Sotto!

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Waiter worst part

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was okay but the waiter was condescending .

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing as usual

Dined on April 3, 2016

Went with a group of 8 for restaurant week. The food is always wonderful, the restaurant is beautiful and the staff is so accommodating. One of the best restaurants in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

I love their pasta dishes. One of the be ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

I love their pasta dishes. One of the best Italian restaurant in Atlanta. Service is inconsistent. Hostess was inexperienced and rude. Manager had to come and recuse us the night we went.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Inman Park Restaurant Week

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The food at Sotto Sotto is always great. We were taking advantage of Inman Park Restaurant week. The service was not up to par and we were disappointed that we were put in the space above Fritti. We will be back because we know this is not how the experience is normally at Sotto Sotto.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All time Atlanta favorite

Dined on March 31, 2016

Sotto Sotto remains an Atlanta tradition while equally vibrant and current. Always a first choice for an occasion, celebration, out of town friends or a casual night. Thank you, Sotto Sotto!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Food wasn't anything special. Chocolate "soup" dish sounded wonderful but was ordinary. Service was confused and unfriendly.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent selections for prix fixe meals.

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Went there during Inman Park Restaurant Week. There were three types of prix fixe dinners and the restaurant was willing to make substitutions to meet diners' choices. Waiter was helpful describing various dishes. Very good wine list. Food was very well prepared, presentation was appealing and courses were adequately spaced to enjoy. Only complaint about the restaurant is it gets very noisy and conversations can be difficult.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a treat! In all the years we've ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Always a treat! In all the years we've been coming we've never had a bad meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Authentic Northern Italian food. This is ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Authentic Northern Italian food. This is definitely one of my favorite Atlanta restaurants. I don't think it would be possible to have a bad meal here.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.