About Sotto Sotto

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti A La Vongole
Caesar Salad
Cacio & Pepe With Black Truffle
Panna Cotta
Broasted Chicken
Poletto
Zuppa Ai Chocolatti
Linguini Ala Vongole
Cape Sante
mushroom risotto.
Antipasto Misto
Veal
Chocolate Soup
Salmon
Cacio e pepe @eataly 
Perfectly al dente pasta with cheese and black pepper. Perfecto!
Vitello
 Vongole
Veal Chop
Cape San
Beet Salad
Risotto ai Frutti di Mare
Pesce A Rosto
Bread Pudding
Risotto ai Funghi
Pesce Arosto
Buffala De Peperoni
The Best Italian Food In Atlanta
Dolce Al Mascarpone
Peppa Di Cozze
Bietole Salad
Desserts
Papardelle With Wild Boar
Tortelli Di Michelangelo
Pappardelle Al Sugo D' Anatra
Strawberry Risotto
Seared Jumbo Scallops, Cannellini Beans, Arugula And Truffle Oil
Budino di Pane

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Inman Park ›

Fit for Foodies (85)
Neighborhood Gem (80)
Special Occasion (76)
See All
Notable Wine List (73)
Romantic (65)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Groups (19)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1953 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We eat at Sotto Sotto pretty regularly ( ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

We eat at Sotto Sotto pretty regularly (every couple of months) and have since it opened. The food is always consistently excellent. It can be a bit noisy and you almost always have to wait 30 minutes on Saturday evenings to get your reserved table. The wait staff is professional and many have been there quite a while. Atlanta has a lot of very good restaurants but this is among the best and is our favorite. I don't review it every time we eat there because I don't want to get repetitive but this is a terrific spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

They have Atlanta's best pasta and a vea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

They have Atlanta's best pasta and a veal chop that is second to none complemented by a great wine list one of Atlantis top restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except the tables a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great except the tables are way to close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our waiter was fabulous and we always en ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was fabulous and we always enjoy the food. The hosts were fairly awkward about our baby and it would've been nice if they had been clear and considerate about the seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I adore Sotto Sotto. We alw ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My wife and I adore Sotto Sotto. We always go here for a special occasion or anniversary. The service, food and atmosphere is impeccable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood find! Full on a Mond ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great neighborhood find! Full on a Monday night is a good sign, but not so full that we can't be accommodated at the bar - Albert took great care of us. The service was personal, the food was great -it was clear that the clientele was a mix of "regulars" and newbies like us. Will definitely be back. Highly recommend the veal chop (we split between 2 of us) and an extensive wine list from all across Italy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good its just my son wasnt ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was very good its just my son wasnt happy with the amount of his food he ordered (tortelli di michelangelo bounarotti). We had a great expirienced though.. Definitely we'll be back again..

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always great pasta with an extensive win ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always great pasta with an extensive wine list. Start with an appetizer because they have 3 excellent ones including my favorite the mussels. I usually do 2 first course size portions of the pasta for a little variety. All the seafood pastas are worth a try. Enjoy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots and lots of wine to choose from. D ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lots and lots of wine to choose from. Desserts are awesome. Pastas were awesome. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. Service was grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was wonderful. Service was great! We will be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is no better Italian food in Atlan ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

There is no better Italian food in Atlanta. Some are close, but the sauces are worked to perfection and the protein is cooked perfectly. Long time menu favorite, Halibut makes it hard to venture to any other part of the menu, but each special is worth the trip. The veal special really was. Antipasti beef carpaccio melted in the mouth. The wine list covered all the bases and was reasonable with excellent advice from our server. It's noisy but dinner here is always special and well worth the trip from the north side of town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sotto Sotto is a gem. The food, the win ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Sotto Sotto is a gem. The food, the wine, the atmosphere are nothing short of fantastic. Rated one of the best, because it is one of the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was delicious, and our server (Je ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Dinner was delicious, and our server (Jenny?) was wonderful and her knowledge was a large factor in our wonderful dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tables are tightly packed. Food is good ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Tables are tightly packed. Food is good. Glass of Barolo a little small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the moment we stepped in the door w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

From the moment we stepped in the door we felt unwelcome at Sotto Sotto. The host was extremely disrespectful to the other half of our party who arrived 15 minutes early, and denied them our table even though the restaurant was empty. Once we arrived, he scolded us for walking in front of him, keep in mind we are 30 and 50 year-olds respectively. Once we sat down the service did not get any better. Our waiter expected us to know what we wanted to drink right away, and when we were not prepared he abandoned us for 15 minutes. He was very ornery every time we asked for something, and most of our refills were taken care of by the other waiters who noticed we were low on drinks. Our waiter did take care of our water refills, and he managed to stick his elbow in my face each time...totally unprofessional. The food was ok-the meat and cheese plate was good, but sparse. The pasta was decent, but not what I was expecting. Overall, I would expect so much more from this restaurant, and do not plan on returning after the poor service we received.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

The food was absolutely phenomenal. I wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was absolutely phenomenal. I was there for a business dinner and we had tons of privacy and the noise level was low enough that we could hear each other very well. I'd highly recommend Sotto Sotto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, everything was perfect. We a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As always, everything was perfect. We always look forward to getting down here from Dunwoody. Best ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always excellent. Service can b ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food is always excellent. Service can be spotty, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Some of the best Italian food I have had ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Some of the best Italian food I have had oustside of Italy! All the pasta is homemade and the flavors of the sauces are fantastic. Make sure to try the "Priest Strangler".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server helped identify favorite item ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our server helped identify favorite items on the menu that all were fantastic, reflecting the best seasonal ingredients and flavors. We enjoyed a fabulous caprese salad, a farro, tomato and cucumber salad, a spinach gnocci dish that couldn't be more fresh, and excellent Scottish salmon. I hadn't visited Sotto Sotto in years and was pleased that it was as good - if not better - than I ever remembered. I will be back much sooner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thomas was a great waiter! He was throug ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Thomas was a great waiter! He was through with explaining the memo and very patient with my dad's incessant questions about sauce :)

The food was delicious! The pasta tasted homemade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this restaurant was inc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was incredible. Our server (oh I wish I could remember her name) was absolutely amazing. Never had a better one. The only thing I did not like was that I could barely hear my boyfriend over the sound of the people sitting two inches away from us. I wish we had more space to ourselves. The tables were way too cramped together. I felt like I was dining with the people sitting around us. Everything else though was a delight.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Admittedly, I was spoiled by a recent tr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Admittedly, I was spoiled by a recent trip to Montreal where the food was spectacular. However, although most of the meal was good, the salmon was poorly prepared: It was overdone on top, and raw underneath, and not very well-seasoned. Very disappointing main course, but the appetizers, salad, pasta, dessert, all else was very good. Because it's higher priced, and because of its atmosphere, I would recommend for a special occasion, but would definitely not recommend the salmon! Wished I'd ordered something else (probably should have sent it back).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our first dining e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our first dining experience at Sotto Sotto

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Sotto Sotto plenty of t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have eaten at Sotto Sotto plenty of times before. There are some new servers and it shows. The lasgnettes were dried out but they covered them with a sprinkling of freshly baked on mozzarella. Didn't fool me.

I will go here less and less in the future if they continue to drop in quality. This is not the first time they have served my meal like this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Always a favorite with our family! On t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always a favorite with our family! On this occasion we had just been visiting a family member in the hospital, and Sotto Sotto provided the comfort food we needed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, mostly pastas but very auth ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place, mostly pastas but very authentic and the service was great. I would have never guessed this place was a restaurant from the outside but when I walked in I was totally surprised

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

was my first time there with a special ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

was my first time there with a special person.Grant our waiter made the night even better.My date wanted cheese cake but you didn't have any.Dining was great but tables were alittle too close .FOOD AND APPS WERE GREAT. The sicilian wine grant help choose was very delicious and great on the palalet.Tell him i found the wine he said it would be difficult to find but i have friends, as i told him . Great time great food i will be back. yours truly ; Peter O. Fagnoni,Pres./CFO of Shamrock Towing LLC in florida

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants I ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever visited--in over 40 years of visiting restaurants!! The food is exceptional as is the friendly unintrusive service and the value for money--and talking of value, the owner is a gem by himself. Worth moving to Atlanta for

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service and food. Table took fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Terrible service and food. Table took forever with reservation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful service and attention. I loved ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful service and attention. I loved the patio as the inside noise level was higher. The patio was perfect and lovely. The food was awesome and the server very knowledgeable.

I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best risotto in Atlanta. Attentive serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best risotto in Atlanta. Attentive service without being overbearing. Very cool, in-town ambience, but not pretentious. Excellent wine list at all price points.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding & the service w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was outstanding & the service was great! Only complaint is the tightness of the tables...but no big deal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love it there!!! Everything is delici ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love it there!!! Everything is delicious. It is a bit tight and a bit loud. But the food makes up for that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time visiting and I ha ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was my first time visiting and I had a lovely experience both manager and server was super nice. The food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and good service. Have di ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent food and good service. Have dined here many times. Will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Homemade pasta was simply exceptional ag ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Homemade pasta was simply exceptional again. 4 "first course" size dishes make for an amazing tasting option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Atlanta's best kept secret's very ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

One of Atlanta's best kept secret's very romantic and a great choice for special occasion's The staff,food and wine list are the "Finest" you will find in this city.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently wonderful! The food and ser ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently wonderful! The food and service are impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.