Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Sotto Sotto

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (62)
Special Occasion (59)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
See All
Authentic (55)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Romantic (53)
Notable Wine List (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Cozy (33)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Business Meals (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (12)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food outstanding service. We will return soo

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice meal. We have always enjoyed the food here, as we think that this is one of the best restaurants in the city. The service was not as good this time as in the past, no major problems just it seemed a few times that the server has forgotten us. Food was outstanding as always.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Comfortable/casual but still elegant atmosphere. Delicious from starter to wine to dessert. Helpful but not overbearing service. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

A wonderful neighborhood gem, When planning dinner times after 8 p.m. is when the crowd begins to dissipate and the bar has seating available. Small simple menu with delicious pasta choices. Friendly staff who are knowledgeable of the menu items, A must try when in the area.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Still, after all of these years, best Italian in Atlanta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Sotto Sotto is one of our favorite restaurants
in Atlanta. It is a great Italian restaurant that we would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Not only is the food excellent and the ambience striking, you are greeted and treated like an old friend. The owner really appreciates your business and sets out to reward you with great food and great treatment and very attentive service

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

sotto sotto never disappoints. great wait staff, delicious food and wonderful atmosphere

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Always love our time and the food at Sotto Sotto!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Our server Chris was outstanding! We were a party of 6 with a lot of questions about the menu He steered each of us to the right meals and portions. He also helped with the perfect wine selection as well. Highly recommend Sotto Sotto!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food is amazing! All homemade pasta dishes and very authentic Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Normally, I would give Sotto Sotto a 5 on everything, but this particular night our service was extremely slow. It took our server about 30min to even approach us. Maybe he was just extremely busy, b/c we ended up getting another server who was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Good food as always. The lasagna was delicious. Carpaccio was a little skimpy on the serving size but good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

By far the best Italian restaurant in the Southeast. Consistently excellent in food and service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food at Sotto Sotto was outstanding, as always. After experiencing nothing less than impeccable service during the many years I've dined there, I was a bit disappointed this time. It could have just been an off night. The server was distracted. We had to call him over to order apps, beverages and our entree. Unusual for this restaurant so hopefully just a fluke. The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

After all these years, still one of the best restaurants in ATL. I have never been disappointed. Outstanding food, service and wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Sotto Sotto never disappoints and this evening was no different. The highlight of the night was the amazing Halibut Acqua Pazza that was recommended by our talented server, Thomas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent as usual!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was excellent especially the pasta. Service was also very good

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Visited from Birmingham, AL. Two words: heavenly delicious! The service was great. The atmosphere was great. It was quiet and available late at night. The food was outstanding!! The food was also very authentic. Many times we visit restaurants that claim to be authentic but are actually Americanized versions of food. This place is the real deal!! Highly recommend you visit. I would drive back from Birmingham just for dinner. Thank you for exceeding my expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Sat outside on the patio. Service was attentive, but not over bearing. Food was fantastic!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Excellent food Excellent Service, Can't say enough good things!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

ALWAYS amazing!!!!! Can't say enough great things!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Took my daughter here to celebrate her birthday. She is an Emory student and picked the restaurant as I am from PA. What a great choice. Sat outside. Waiter very attentive and had a thorough knowledge of the menu . He was able to make specific recommendations that were fantastic. Had appetizer sized portion of a pasta and a risotto that were lick the plate good. Had a perfectly prepared halibut for the meal that was a generous portion. Home made gelato for desert was the perfect ending. Has an extensive Italian wine list that is fairly priced. I had a wonderful Barolo available by the glass. Best Italian food I've had in Atlanta and I have dined out a lot. The vibe in Inman Park area very hip and friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Took out-of-town guests here. Did not disappoint, as it never does. Very good-to-excellent overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Generally great food, this time mediocre unfortunately. Had a small arugula salad and ravioli entre. The salad was drowned in lemon juice; the ravioli was drowned in butter. Both were tiny portions. The wine and the service were excellent. The restaurant is technically located in Old 4th Ward, which is a transitional neighborhood popular with millennials and locals from adjacent neighborhoods.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Always ask for a Ruby-Doo... best cocktail ever!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Sotto sotto is just plain ... Good. Mushroom rissoto was outstanding, sweet sausage pasta...outstanding...paired perfectly with wine suggestion by server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

All of us at our table were slightly disappointed. The portions were small, especially for the price. And the food was OK. I had the lasgnaette and was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great place, cool ambience, the food is good but I wouldn't go there just to eat for a typical evening out bc it's a little too pricey for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Went Saturday night for a low key anniversary dinner. Have to say first off I am on crutches right now and the maitre'd staff could not have been more accommodating. We had to wait a couple minutes for a table but they got us bar seats and assured us they would seat us asap, which they did. This afforded us the chance to get a fantastic Sprtiz Aperol! After we were seated and had a chance to look at the wine menu (which is wonderful, has lots of small vintage Italian wines at a really reasonable prices) we were brought great bread and olive oil. for our dinners we had a roasted beet salad to start which was really fresh and great citrus dressing, then I had a first course of cacio ,pepe y pancetta pasta and the seared ahi with fava beans and arugula. My husband got a full order of bucatini alla amatriciana which was good, but after he tried my pasta he ended up getting a small order of that too because it was outrageously good! My tuna was perfect as well, and we were both so full we did not have room for desserts which was unfortunate because they looked fantastic. And the price was really reasonable too. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Sotto Sotto has consistently among the best food, service, and value in the city. You simply can't go wrong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Came with mum. Loved it. Server was exceptional, and sexy to boot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Went there for a birthday dinner. It was lovely. I dropped off the present in advance and pre-ordered the drinks to start with; Present was nicely set up on the table; drink surprise worked 'more or less'. Service was good. The Scallops were super delicious! All in all a great location, tasty food and the Prosecco was very smooth and perfectly chilled, too ;)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wonderful service all night long, despite the fact we ordered our entrees and apps separately. Our group of 4 ordered the scallop appetizer (3 come with the app). Our waitress had four sent and we all had individual plates. Very nice touch.

Dinners (the fish of the day, which was descaled at table side), the veal chop, halibut and ravioli dinners were all tremendous.

Ambiance was excellent, the staff clearly liked each other and working there. Heartily recommend for Italian. And this is coming from a Jersey Boy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent meal, excellent service, perfect ambiance!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Had read a lot of very favorable reviews on the restaurant. Was underwhelmed with the dining experience. The restaurant is very small and we were crammed into a small booth by the kitchen for my birthday dinner. The food was good but not great. If I had to do it again, I would have eaten at Pricci's, a much better choice for Italian, in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Chris was an excellent server. Food was excellent. We had family from out of town and two birthdays to celebrate.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Thanks to Jimmy for a very nice service! Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Amazing as always. Sat outside on the patio for the first time and loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.