About Sotto Sotto

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Spaghetti A La Vongole - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Caesar Salad - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Cacio & Pepe With Black Truffle - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Panna Cotta - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Broasted Chicken - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Poletto - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Zuppa Ai Chocolatti - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Linguini Ala Vongole - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Cape Sante - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Vitello - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
 Vongole - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Veal Chop - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
mushroom risotto. - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Cacio e pepe @eataly 
Perfectly al dente pasta with cheese and black pepper. Perfecto! - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Salmon - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Cape San - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Beet Salad - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Risotto ai Frutti di Mare - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Pesce A Rosto - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Bread Pudding - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Veal - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Risotto ai Funghi - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Pesce Arosto - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Buffala De Peperoni - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Chocolate Soup - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
The Best Italian Food In Atlanta - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Dolce Al Mascarpone - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Antipasto Misto - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Peppa Di Cozze - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Bietole Salad - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Desserts - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Papardelle With Wild Boar - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Tortelli Di Michelangelo - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Pappardelle Al Sugo D' Anatra - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Strawberry Risotto - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Seared Jumbo Scallops, Cannellini Beans, Arugula And Truffle Oil - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA
Budino di Pane - Sotto Sotto, Atlanta, GA

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Romantic (45)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Authentic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Notable Wine List (40)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Worth the Drive (28)
Cozy (27)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Business Meals (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Fun (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Casual (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Historic (3)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

everyday Italian with Delish fresh twist

 
 (Naples)·Dined 2 days ago

everyday Italian with Delish fresh twist

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

By far probably the best Italian restaur ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

By far probably the best Italian restaurant in Atlanta, great atmosphere, fantastic food and a superb wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, delicious! This restaurant do ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, delicious! This restaurant does not disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was absolutely incredible. Ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

This place was absolutely incredible. Every dish was unbelievable, service was impeccable, atmosphere was excellent. 5 stars. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent-- we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The service and food were excellent-- well worth making a reservation weeks in advance

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant was busy so we decided to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant was busy so we decided to eat at the bar. That was a good decision and had great service. Maybe more wine than planned but perfect. The back door was cold as people came in and held the door open. NOW on a warm day, this is beautiful and I will be back to eat in the back. The food was lovely. Tasty . And even stayed for dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant and last nights ...

 
 (London)·Dined 7 days ago

We love this restaurant and last nights email was excellent. We had s wonderful wine selected by the sommelier. We ordered the antipasti misti and the meats and cheeses were superb. We also ordered the cheese with the fennel salad (we left the sardines off) and the salad was fresh, crunchy and delicious. I ordered the lasaganette bolganese which was excellent. The pasta was so tender. My husband ordered the spicy pasta which was also excellent. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average food and poor service

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Average food and poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Sotto Sotto did not disappoint-- again! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sotto Sotto did not disappoint-- again!

My favorite Atlanta restaurant delivered again. On this very cold Sunday, the crowd was less than usual, so you could actually hear (which is a plus!) Everything we ordered was perfect, and of course delicious. And I've found my new favorite drink: a French 75. The bartender makes it great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was great

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was exceptionally polite, att ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our server was exceptionally polite, attentive, and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!!

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Love this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Atlanta. Service was sub-par for the first time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Consistently excellent food and service! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Consistently excellent food and service! We have been enjoying this neighborhood restaurant for many many years. The Italian food is simple, well-prepared and authentic. On New Year's Eve we savored delicious mussels, seafood risotto, whole roasted fish deboned tableside and the chocolate soup. Every bite was delicious and the service was friendly and efficient, even on this busy night.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great authentic Italian restaurant. Nic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great authentic Italian restaurant.

Nice hidden location.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! The restaurant is a little o ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great meal! The restaurant is a little overcrowded, and it felt like they were trying to push us out of the door. Not the best place for a lingering date, but the food is truly excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Always delicious!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awsome Italian food. The service was gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Awsome Italian food. The service was great. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A celebration for us and everything was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A celebration for us and everything was lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Italian in Atlanta, hands down.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Best Italian in Atlanta, hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat. The food is some of the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Always a treat. The food is some of the best in Atlanta. They pay attention to detail and rarely miss a beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful, as always. Service spectacula ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Wonderful, as always. Service spectacular. Food fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, as always.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fantastic, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sotto Sotto is one of those restaurants ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Sotto Sotto is one of those restaurants that you just know will be great every time you go. Everything about the meal from service to the wine to they have the scotch I drink to outstanding food is superb. There really is no need for a long review.....Just go and enjoy this great restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to Sotto Sotto several times. Orig ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Been to Sotto Sotto several times. Original pasta offerings. Great Italian wine list. Nice appetizers. Good authentic Italian food in a charming setting

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sotto Sotto has been around for years an ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Sotto Sotto has been around for years and improves with age!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I went in for our first date ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My wife and I went in for our first date since having our first child. We had just gone to see a matinee showing of "The Nutcracker " at the Fox Theatre and were dressed for the occasion. I had made a 5:30 reservation as we had to get home early enough to relieve our babysitter. As is usually encouraged at many restaurants, we arrived 5 minutes early at approx. 5:25pm. It was a cold cold and raining outside. We eagerly walked to the front of the restaurant, not wanting our clothes (my wife's dress and my camel hair blazer) to get any more wet than necessary. When we arrived at the door to the restaurant, we found that it was locked. We looked in the window to find several members of the wait staff standing and sitting around having conversations while watching us stand in the rain. After knocking several times, someone came to the door and informed us that they do not open until 5:30. At this point it was 5:27. They said we would have to wait until 5:30 to come in as they have a strict policy.

So my wife and I stood in the rain for 3 more minutes until they came and opened the door and acted like they were greeting us for the first time. The rest of the evening our service was awkward. The staff was stand-off ish making us feel like we should consider ourselves lucky to get to spend over $100 dollars in their establishment.

While the food was very good, the service as the lack of common sense when it comes customers was inexcusable. Why book 5:30 reservations if you don't want people coming prior? Why not offer us a seat at the bar (giving us an opportunity to spend more money) instead of making us stand in the rain for literally 5 minutes?! Why treat customers this way when you are in the "service industry "?! These are all questions that I am left with. Instead of a romantic ending to our evening, we were left feeling belittled and awkward.

We will never go back and will discourage our friends from going as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Had a small company holiday dinner there ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had a small company holiday dinner there and everything start to finish was well done. Service was top notch, the food was solid (everyone loved what they had) and the risotto was fantastic. Bartender gave us a great wine suggestion that everyone loved. I would highly recommend Sotto Sotto to anyone for any occasion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone in our party was very impressed ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everyone in our party was very impressed with the excellent service and the delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We walked in with 2 children, and they d ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We walked in with 2 children, and they didn't bat an eyelash. Our server was extremely attentive of anything we could possibly need, and made recommendations any time we needed it. We appreciated this level of accommodation, and we would recommend Sotto Sotto to anyone. We ate the tricolore salad, Caesar salad, veal, various pastas, desserts, and coffee as well as some excellent wines by recommendation of our server. All the dishes were prepared perfectly. The homemade pasta was excellent. Would absolutely go back, and next time try something from the truffle menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious as always! Love the atmosphere ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Delicious as always! Love the atmosphere and best of all, in the neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was great. The server was alittle str ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It was great. The server was alittle strange, but he was kind. The portions were alittle small for the price. But it was very good. The pasta was little dry though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We go to Sotto Sotto frequently and it i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We go to Sotto Sotto frequently and it is consistently fantastic. One of Atlanta's top.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and very refined Italian fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Good service and very refined Italian food. Nicely prepared.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sotto Sotto is just the best! The resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Sotto Sotto is just the best!

The restaurant atmosphere is so inviting and warm . We had a large party for a birthday celebration - the staff was so accommodating and gratuitous. We had a fabulous time.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sotto Sotto was perfect and delicious as ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Sotto Sotto was perfect and delicious as always! From lovely drinks at the bar to our wonderful waiter and fabulous meal. I can't wait to go back soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sotto Sotto was just as delicious as the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Sotto Sotto was just as delicious as the last time I was there. It's one of my favorite Italian restaurants in Atlanta. The service is always great and the waiters are super helpful with the wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood restaurant. The vibe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant. The vibe felt more of a place to be seen than having a great meal. Excellent value for the quality of food. Parking is very difficult so plan to arrive a little early.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Unbelievable meal. Took a friend's advi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Unbelievable meal. Took a friend's advice and booked it for a ladies night for 6 thirty something year old women that like excellent food and good wine and it was a perfect spot. We ordered 6 different dishes and all 6 were spectacular. We asked for a recommendation for wine and it was excellent and only $54 for a bottle. Will go back again soon!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ask for Mr, he gave my girlfriend and I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Ask for Mr, he gave my girlfriend and I a great experience. Food was OK. My only negative is the small portions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.