Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Sotto Sotto

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (58)
Romantic (53)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Notable Wine List (47)
Authentic (45)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Cozy (30)
Business Meals (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Fun (8)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Healthy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Historic (5)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We waited over 30 minutes for a 9:30 pm reservation after arriving on time. The bar service was awful and there was very little room to stand. You could tell everyone in the waiting area was annoyed and had been waiting longer than expected.

The service was nice and the patio atmosphere was supurb. The food tasted great but when i was torn between two pasta dishes the server suggested that i get an app portion of each instead, without telling me it would be an extra $5 (i've been many other places that do not charge extra for this option). I was annoyed by it upon receiving the bill.

Though the food and atmosphere are great, there are plenty of other places to go in Atlanta where i've had a better all-around experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I came here for a 2nd time. We enjoyed it so much the first time, we had to go back as soon, as we had a chance, after having 2 kids, since our first time here that was only less than 2 years ago. It did not disappoint, very romantic, cozy environment. The porch out back looks adorable, although we didn't request prior to coming so we sat inside, which was still great b/c the doors open completely to the back porch.

Our waiter Jimmy was amazing, Attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Food was amazing, authentic Italian dishes not your Americanize Italian dishes. We started with the Bufala mozzarella appetizer which was amazing and fresh. Then I had the cesar salad no complaints just your typical cesar, husband had Tricolore it was again just your typical arugula salad with lemon dressing. For our Entree we order the Spinach Gnocchi AMAZING, it was all spinach absolute delicious and fresh, my husband order the Bucatini All' Amatriciana he loved it, it was a little spicy for me and we also had the Cacio Pepe e Pancetta which was one of my favorite dishes in Italy, and again this local ATL restaurant did not disappoint. The dishes are so fresh and taste just as if you were in Italy. Cool this about this place is they have half portions so you can actually do your own little tasting.

We will DEFINITELY be back next time we are able to get away. Would definitely check this place out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Atmosphere lovely on outdoor patio. A bit pricey. Waitstaff efficient but cold & aloof.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I love this place so much! Food has always been great. We sat outside on our last visit and it was so nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We took a friend out for her birthday dinner. Our waiter was excellent. I recommend the gnudi, but the veal was average. I'd definitely go back: we had the best night!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Sotto Sotto is consistently on point. Excellent wine list and cocktails. One of the best caesar salads in town. Fresh pasta. Love the papardelle. Don't miss dessert. Outdoor seating is lovely in season.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Best authentic Italian food in Atlanta, fresh produce and great meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My favorite Italian restaurant. Food is wonderful!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food here is always delicious. I live for their Panna Cotta with the 12 yr aged balsamic, but their risotto and pastas are fantastic. Ordered their Veal Chop this time around and man was it delicious. Well seasoned and perfectly cooked to a med rare. This place just delivers every time!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent as usual. The food is always delicious and the service is professional and friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent service. Host seated us at a bigger table and nice location as the table they were planning to seat us the guests were not leaving. They were very accommodating and gave us a complimentary glass of champagne to toast our anniversary.

Food was very good, waiter was very friendly and gave some good wine recommendations. Very enjoyable evening with fantastic food, fine wine, wonderful ambience and simply comfortable cozy restaurant.

Cheers to Sotto Sotto

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Arrived just before closing time and they kept the kitchen open for us. Food was great and staff was super friendly. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Service was excellent, never had to wait for water, wine, etc. Did not feel rushed to turn over the table. Food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

great food, great experience , great service and I like the hip area of Inman Park

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

2nd visit to Sotto Sotto - this time at a table (although the bar is equally recommended). Great Italian wine list, fresh dishes and great gluten-free pasta options (even got the al dente right - that's not easy to do!). Finished off with season's first strawberries over vanilla gelato with aged balsamic!

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Outstanding service. Salmon prepared perfectly. Wide variety of pasta. Great Italian wine list. Limoncello made in house-very authentic.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

sotto sotto is easily the best restaurant in Atlanta. the restaurant is small and cozy, and the ambiance feels special and romantic. the food never fails to be absolutely amazing. When going out to dinner I normally would opt for seafood instead of pasta -- but here, you have to get the pasta. every bite is complete bliss. (note - seafood is equally delicious). I've recommended this place to no less than 10+ people and they all give it 5 star reviews. I will keep coming back again and again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Business meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Much smaller than I had anticipated, as I didn't do a lot of research coming into the dinner. Very nice server, very knowledgeable and he recommended a great wine for my beautiful lady friend and I. I accidentally left my Italian translator Giovanni back at my helicopter with his beloved bologense dog named Aldo but luckily our server suggested an amazing hand crafted authentic dish of Spaghettí with rèd sauce. I have never had anything quite so authentic and delicious in my life, that was of course after I consumed the restaurant grown salad that they had prepared for me. All salads from this day on will be judged off that amazing blend romaine lettuce, cucumbers picked from a golden cucumber tree in the back all neatly paired with two precisely cut radishes. On a serious note, excellent food, excellent service, definitely give it a shot

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Seemed to be having trouble with temperature going from hot to cool in restaurant.
Food was outstanding however!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This place is so nice. It's one of my favorite meals. The place is beautiful, however it is cozy and intimate.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I don't know what going on with restaurant it used to be my fav Italian !!! staff looked very unhappy, Mediocre Food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Sotto Sotto never disappoints! It was a lovely night so we sat on the patio. My only comment would be that the food came quickly, I did tell the server when we ordered the carpaccio that i was very hungry though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 1, 2017

What a wonderful meal! Loved the extended, all-Italian wine list. Fantastic, attentive staff -- a great night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

When we arrived we told the gentleman at the podium who we were and what time our reservation was for. We were early. He told us our table won't be ready for a while. So we sat at the bar when the lady came and told us our table is ready she Took us to our table and the seating that they have against the wall is just very unacceptable you're sitting literally within a foot of each other . For my wife that was very uncomfortable and I didn't quite like it myself. So I went up to the gentleman that we talk to when we arrived at the restaurant and the lady was also standing there that took us to our table. I asked them could we please sit somewhere that is not literally on top of someone that my wife was very uncomfortable sitting there. He said to me to sit at a table we would have to wait for someone to cancel to sit alone two people at a four-person table . So they just moved it over two places and then sat another group at the two tables that were in between us which didn't make any difference. Very simple request that could've been accommodated. I would never recommend this restaurant or go there again and spend my money .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Waitress seemed annoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Dinner and service were great! Our server, James, was exceptional! Only down side is the table spacing and trying to keep your neighboring table out of your conversation...especially if they have had too much wine. Otherwise, our new fav for a great meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were lucky that the weather was nice and a table on the back patio was open! The ambiance outside is great. It was much more comfortable than the inside seating, which has tables super close to one another and would've made private conversation difficult. The caramelized onion risotto was delicious, and I enjoyed the spinach and ricotta gnocchi as well. Didn't love the fennel salad, which is pretty small for what you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Totally loved the ambience and food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Where do I begin...Sotto Sotto NEVER disappoints. The food is always consistently phenomenal, service is too. It's always my go to for Italian food. Keep up the good work! I'll be a regular for life!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had drinks at the small bar which was very nice. The first table we were seated at was right in the walkway and under the kitchen. I opted to wait for a nicer table so we could enjoy our meal. Our waiter was very pleasant and gave good service. We asked for more bread and it didn't come until we were done eating. Also he did not ask if we wanted coffee or an after dinner drink. Otherwise it was fine. The food was not quite as good as I had expected. We had the mussels and the antipasto appetizers which were very good. I ordered the mushroom risotto which was pretty good but a little salty. My husband ordered a ravioli which he did not like. He said it was too sweet. Our wine was fine and the dessert of gelatos was great. All in all we enjoyed the experience and would return but there are other restaurants I prefer for the price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Place was crowded and seats are very close to other tables but you could still talk and have a good time. Had the muscles, Caesar salad, risotto with onions and 16th century veal ravioli and the chocolate soup. Everything was delicious and top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had reservation and was seated immediately. Dinner was delicious. Service was attentive. Skip the chocolate soup for dessert!!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Most of the indoor two person tables are the half booth thing, where the booth runs the length of the wall. The spaces between the tables is so small, they literally have to pull your table out for the booth person to get out of their seat. They were also seating people outside in February.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Authentic fine Italian cooking not typical for Atlanta. Comfortable, great service and a terrific choice of wines and craft cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Celebrated girl's night out at my favorite neighborhood restaurant. Dinner was delicious as usual. Service was superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

For Valentine's I wanted to change this up from our normal go-to place and this year Italian was on the menu. I found Sotto Sotto while researching places and decided we'd give it a try based on its reviews and rating. Overall, it was great and we'll definitely be back. The food was outstanding! We started with the Bufala e Peperoni which was fantastic. I had a caesar salad which was good but typical. My wife and I shared a small portion of the funghi risotto which was excellent and she had the Veal chop while I had the Strozzapreti alla Salsiccia pasta and we had nothing left to box and take home it was that good! Our server was on point and very attentive. The only improvements/suggestions to get to a full 5/5 star would be to not stuff in so many tables. Yes it's Valentines and you're looking to maximize revenue but when your staff has to pull tables out to let guests reach their seat, it's way too close. We felt like we were rubbing shoulders with other patrons and it made conversation a little bit more awkward being so close to others. Finally, upon arriving, the hostess didn't greet us and it took her forever to look up from what she was doing. She asked someone else to seat us, never really looked at us or smiled. That was our first impression upon arriving so it wasn't a good one and was disappointing. However, it wasn't enough to make us not want to dine there or return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We are regulars and Sotto is one of our favorites. Always 100%. Creative, high quality and always well executed. If in doubt, just go to Sotto Sotto!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Go often and this was the first sub par experience with our server.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect for a date night! Delicious food and amazing service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.