About Sotto Sotto

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spaghetti A La Vongole
Caesar Salad
Cacio & Pepe With Black Truffle
Panna Cotta
Broasted Chicken
Poletto
Zuppa Ai Chocolatti
Linguini Ala Vongole
Cape Sante
mushroom risotto.
Antipasto Misto
Veal
Chocolate Soup
Vitello
 Vongole
Veal Chop
Cacio e pepe @eataly 
Perfectly al dente pasta with cheese and black pepper. Perfecto!
Salmon
Cape San
Beet Salad
Risotto ai Frutti di Mare
Pesce A Rosto
Bread Pudding
Risotto ai Funghi
Pesce Arosto
Buffala De Peperoni
The Best Italian Food In Atlanta
Dolce Al Mascarpone
Peppa Di Cozze
Bietole Salad
Desserts
Papardelle With Wild Boar
Tortelli Di Michelangelo
Pappardelle Al Sugo D' Anatra
Strawberry Risotto
Seared Jumbo Scallops, Cannellini Beans, Arugula And Truffle Oil
Budino di Pane

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Atlanta / Georgia
Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
1 More
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Inman Park ›

Neighborhood Gem (70)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (69)
See All
Notable Wine List (60)
Romantic (60)
Hot Spot (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Authentic (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, extensive wine list. Ser ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, extensive wine list. Service was good, the waiter was very knowledgeable on the wine list and menu items.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Parking around back is very limited to a ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Parking around back is very limited to about ten spaces. Seating leaves one feeling claustrophobic as the hostess had to move our table out of the way and then move it back after we sat down. If you have to use the restroom when you're there you would interrupt someone's meal to get up as the seating is just that tight. The calamari was not good though the meals look pretty. The beef tenderloin was cold and very small though it was okay. The salmon was cooked properly however this salad that it is served with was missing a few ingredients.

Wife and I went on our anniversary I would not recommend this for an anniversary but maybe lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

We really like Sotto Sotto and have been ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We really like Sotto Sotto and have been celebrating our anniversary there for years, but will request a separate table next time. We were squeezed in between 2 other tables and it is impossible to have a private conversation. We were forced to hear a conversation from our neighbors on one side about religion the entire time we were trying to enjoy our meal. Next time we will request a separate table outside.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at Sotto Sot ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at Sotto Sotto. Our server was excellent, welcoming, very attentive and helpful answering questions. We selected a delicious red wine for our meal. We started with Antipasto Misto that had tasty Italian meats, cheeses, olives and mushrooms. The melded flavors were terrific, and the wine was perfect with the appetizer and our entrees. We chose Tortelli di Michelangelo Buonaroti and Lasagnette alla Bolognese. The ravioli were filled with veal, pork and chicken in a butter and sage sauce. The lasagna was made with bolognese and a bechamel sauce that gave a mouthful of great flavors that blended together well without one overpowering another. The pasta for both dishes was homemade, very light, tender and delicious; and the sauces were light and subtle, providing sophisticated dishes that surpass any Italian food I've ever had. This is a great restaurant. Parking is limited, but valet parking is available off of Elizabeth St. Seating in the lower dining room can become crowded if you have a later reservation, and the restaurant becomes noisy later in the evening. We had a 6:30 pm reservation and sat on the entrance level that has less crowding, and the early hour resulted in less noise so it was easy to talk. We highly recommend this restaurant. We have never been disappointed at this restaurant! Treat yourself and someone special!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating on the back patio during summer i ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Eating on the back patio during summer is divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good at Sotto Sotto. I ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was very good at Sotto Sotto. I had the scallops and the lasagna and they were both outstanding. However, we were seated at a table just inside the door ad the humidity and cigar smoke from the street made it an uncomfortable experience. I know it is an urban restaurant but getting blasts of humidity and cigar smoke was disappointing. Service was also slow on a very busy night. "We don't have any specials tonight, I'll be back for your orders in a few minutes" was not the normal welcome and service we expected. We didn't feel special and I hope this was just an off-night and not the new normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed cele ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our anniversary dinner at Sotto Sotto. The wine list was extensive and the service was impeccable. Our meals were delicious, particularly the seafood risotto. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had not been to Sotto S ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My husband and I had not been to Sotto Sotto in a really long time. There are just so many great restaurants in town to choose from now. Before we were through our first course, we realized that we have been missing out by not dining here more often. We had such an amazing meal. The food was incredible! Happy to be back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service; the limoncel ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

excellent food and service; the limoncello cosmopolitan was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Staple of Atlanta for a reason. Consist ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Staple of Atlanta for a reason. Consistent. Excellent. Open late. An absolute gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sotto Sotto is one of the best places I ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Sotto Sotto is one of the best places I have been in a very long while. Pasta is made fresh and all of the food was absolutely delicious. The chicken was out of this world as was the Rissoto. The house Chianti was also excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, tiny (like really tiny) Italian ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Lovely, tiny (like really tiny) Italian restaurant perfect for an anniversary or other intimate celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sotto Sotto is hands down the best Itali ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Sotto Sotto is hands down the best Italian restaurant in Atlanta. The service is impeccable, the food is devine, and with an atmosphere to match. I will go back again and again and again.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the top 5 restaurants in Atlanta. ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

One of the top 5 restaurants in Atlanta. Best pasta in the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Always delicious, professional, courteo ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always delicious, professional, courteous staff. I've lived in Atlanta for 23 years and have recently moved to Florida. It is still my favorite restaurant in Atlanta and I flew up for a girls get together dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Italian restaurant in the city; ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The best Italian restaurant in the city; food always delicious, service great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place. Excellent food and serv ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Love this place. Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was first class. Food & Ambiance ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was first class. Food & Ambiance was exquisitely tasteful.

Tavaris

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at Sotto Sotto pretty regularly ( ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We eat at Sotto Sotto pretty regularly (every couple of months) and have since it opened. The food is always consistently excellent. It can be a bit noisy and you almost always have to wait 30 minutes on Saturday evenings to get your reserved table. The wait staff is professional and many have been there quite a while. Atlanta has a lot of very good restaurants but this is among the best and is our favorite. I don't review it every time we eat there because I don't want to get repetitive but this is a terrific spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

They have Atlanta's best pasta and a vea ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

They have Atlanta's best pasta and a veal chop that is second to none complemented by a great wine list one of Atlantis top restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great except the tables a ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything was great except the tables are way to close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our waiter was fabulous and we always en ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter was fabulous and we always enjoy the food. The hosts were fairly awkward about our baby and it would've been nice if they had been clear and considerate about the seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sotto Sotto might be the best restaurant ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Sotto Sotto might be the best restaurant in Atlanta. Marvelous modern creative Italian cuisine. Eric is one of the top bartenders in the world! Amazing Italian wine list. And amazing gluten free pastas too if that's your thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I adore Sotto Sotto. We alw ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

My wife and I adore Sotto Sotto. We always go here for a special occasion or anniversary. The service, food and atmosphere is impeccable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood find! Full on a Mond ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great neighborhood find! Full on a Monday night is a good sign, but not so full that we can't be accommodated at the bar - Albert took great care of us. The service was personal, the food was great -it was clear that the clientele was a mix of "regulars" and newbies like us. Will definitely be back. Highly recommend the veal chop (we split between 2 of us) and an extensive wine list from all across Italy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good its just my son wasnt ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was very good its just my son wasnt happy with the amount of his food he ordered (tortelli di michelangelo bounarotti). We had a great expirienced though.. Definitely we'll be back again..

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always great pasta with an extensive win ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always great pasta with an extensive wine list. Start with an appetizer because they have 3 excellent ones including my favorite the mussels. I usually do 2 first course size portions of the pasta for a little variety. All the seafood pastas are worth a try. Enjoy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots and lots of wine to choose from. D ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lots and lots of wine to choose from. Desserts are awesome. Pastas were awesome. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. Service was grea ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was wonderful. Service was great! We will be back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There is no better Italian food in Atlan ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

There is no better Italian food in Atlanta. Some are close, but the sauces are worked to perfection and the protein is cooked perfectly. Long time menu favorite, Halibut makes it hard to venture to any other part of the menu, but each special is worth the trip. The veal special really was. Antipasti beef carpaccio melted in the mouth. The wine list covered all the bases and was reasonable with excellent advice from our server. It's noisy but dinner here is always special and well worth the trip from the north side of town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sotto Sotto is a gem. The food, the win ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Sotto Sotto is a gem. The food, the wine, the atmosphere are nothing short of fantastic. Rated one of the best, because it is one of the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was delicious, and our server (Je ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Dinner was delicious, and our server (Jenny?) was wonderful and her knowledge was a large factor in our wonderful dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tables are tightly packed. Food is good ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Tables are tightly packed. Food is good. Glass of Barolo a little small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

From the moment we stepped in the door w ...

 
·Dined on August 5, 2016

From the moment we stepped in the door we felt unwelcome at Sotto Sotto. The host was extremely disrespectful to the other half of our party who arrived 15 minutes early, and denied them our table even though the restaurant was empty. Once we arrived, he scolded us for walking in front of him, keep in mind we are 30 and 50 year-olds respectively. Once we sat down the service did not get any better. Our waiter expected us to know what we wanted to drink right away, and when we were not prepared he abandoned us for 15 minutes. He was very ornery every time we asked for something, and most of our refills were taken care of by the other waiters who noticed we were low on drinks. Our waiter did take care of our water refills, and he managed to stick his elbow in my face each time...totally unprofessional. The food was ok-the meat and cheese plate was good, but sparse. The pasta was decent, but not what I was expecting. Overall, I would expect so much more from this restaurant, and do not plan on returning after the poor service we received.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

The food was absolutely phenomenal. I wa ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was absolutely phenomenal. I was there for a business dinner and we had tons of privacy and the noise level was low enough that we could hear each other very well. I'd highly recommend Sotto Sotto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, everything was perfect. We a ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As always, everything was perfect. We always look forward to getting down here from Dunwoody. Best ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always excellent. Service can b ...

 
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food is always excellent. Service can be spotty, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Some of the best Italian food I have had ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Some of the best Italian food I have had oustside of Italy! All the pasta is homemade and the flavors of the sauces are fantastic. Make sure to try the "Priest Strangler".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server helped identify favorite item ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our server helped identify favorite items on the menu that all were fantastic, reflecting the best seasonal ingredients and flavors. We enjoyed a fabulous caprese salad, a farro, tomato and cucumber salad, a spinach gnocci dish that couldn't be more fresh, and excellent Scottish salmon. I hadn't visited Sotto Sotto in years and was pleased that it was as good - if not better - than I ever remembered. I will be back much sooner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thomas was a great waiter! He was throug ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Thomas was a great waiter! He was through with explaining the memo and very patient with my dad's incessant questions about sauce :)

The food was delicious! The pasta tasted homemade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.