About Sotto Sotto

313 N. Highland Ave.
Atlanta, GA 30307
View Larger Map

The shortest route to Sotto Sotto's charms lies through its fresh pasta, with "simple" and "traditional" being the bywords.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm-11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm-12:00am, Sunday: 5:30pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Elizabeth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 523-6678

Website:
http://www.sottosottorestaurant.com/

Catering:
Will accommodate most party sizes, please call for details.

Parking Details:
Street parking also available.

Public Transit:
MARTA East Line

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Ullio

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cacio & Pepe With Black Truffle
Panna Cotta
Caesar Salad
Zuppa Ai Chocolatti
Poletto
Linguini Ala Vongole
Cape Sante
mushroom risotto.
Spaghetti A La Vongole
Antipasto Misto
Veal
Chocolate Soup
Cacio e pepe @eataly 
Perfectly al dente pasta with cheese and black pepper. Perfecto!
Salmon
 Vongole
Beet Salad
Vitello
Cape San
Veal Chop
Risotto ai Frutti di Mare
Papardelle With Wild Boar
Risotto ai Funghi
The Best Italian Food In Atlanta
Bietole Salad
Pesce Arosto
Desserts
Bread Pudding
Dolce Al Mascarpone
Buffala De Peperoni
Pesce A Rosto
Peppa Di Cozze
Tortelli Di Michelangelo
Pappardelle Al Sugo D' Anatra
Strawberry Risotto
Seared Jumbo Scallops, Cannellini Beans, Arugula And Truffle Oil
Budino di Pane

Private Dining

Whether celebrating with family and friends or entertaining clients, Sotto Sotto is the ideal location for your next private event. We will accommodate any size party up to 100 people.

Sotto Sotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Notable Wine List
Atlanta
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Inman Park ›

fit for foodies (91)
neighborhood gem (88)
special occasion (88)
See All
notable wine list (74)
romantic (71)
great for outdoor dining (39)
hot spot (28)
good for groups (28)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always excellent. Service can b ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food is always excellent. Service can be spotty, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Thomas was a great waiter! He was throug ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Thomas was a great waiter! He was through with explaining the memo and very patient with my dad's incessant questions about sauce :)

The food was delicious! The pasta tasted homemade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this restaurant was inc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything about this restaurant was incredible. Our server (oh I wish I could remember her name) was absolutely amazing. Never had a better one. The only thing I did not like was that I could barely hear my boyfriend over the sound of the people sitting two inches away from us. I wish we had more space to ourselves. The tables were way too cramped together. I felt like I was dining with the people sitting around us. Everything else though was a delight.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Admittedly, I was spoiled by a recent tr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Admittedly, I was spoiled by a recent trip to Montreal where the food was spectacular. However, although most of the meal was good, the salmon was poorly prepared: It was overdone on top, and raw underneath, and not very well-seasoned. Very disappointing main course, but the appetizers, salad, pasta, dessert, all else was very good. Because it's higher priced, and because of its atmosphere, I would recommend for a special occasion, but would definitely not recommend the salmon! Wished I'd ordered something else (probably should have sent it back).

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed our first dining e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our first dining experience at Sotto Sotto

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Sotto Sotto plenty of t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have eaten at Sotto Sotto plenty of times before. There are some new servers and it shows. The lasgnettes were dried out but they covered them with a sprinkling of freshly baked on mozzarella. Didn't fool me.

I will go here less and less in the future if they continue to drop in quality. This is not the first time they have served my meal like this.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Always a favorite with our family! On t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always a favorite with our family! On this occasion we had just been visiting a family member in the hospital, and Sotto Sotto provided the comfort food we needed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, mostly pastas but very auth ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place, mostly pastas but very authentic and the service was great. I would have never guessed this place was a restaurant from the outside but when I walked in I was totally surprised

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

was my first time there with a special ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

was my first time there with a special person.Grant our waiter made the night even better.My date wanted cheese cake but you didn't have any.Dining was great but tables were alittle too close .FOOD AND APPS WERE GREAT. The sicilian wine grant help choose was very delicious and great on the palalet.Tell him i found the wine he said it would be difficult to find but i have friends, as i told him . Great time great food i will be back. yours truly ; Peter O. Fagnoni,Pres./CFO of Shamrock Towing LLC in florida

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants I ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever visited--in over 40 years of visiting restaurants!! The food is exceptional as is the friendly unintrusive service and the value for money--and talking of value, the owner is a gem by himself. Worth moving to Atlanta for

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service and food. Table took fo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Terrible service and food. Table took forever with reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful service and attention. I loved ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful service and attention. I loved the patio as the inside noise level was higher. The patio was perfect and lovely. The food was awesome and the server very knowledgeable.

I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best risotto in Atlanta. Attentive serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best risotto in Atlanta. Attentive service without being overbearing. Very cool, in-town ambience, but not pretentious. Excellent wine list at all price points.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding & the service w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was outstanding & the service was great! Only complaint is the tightness of the tables...but no big deal

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love it there!!! Everything is delici ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We love it there!!! Everything is delicious. It is a bit tight and a bit loud. But the food makes up for that.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time visiting and I ha ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was my first time visiting and I had a lovely experience both manager and server was super nice. The food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and good service. Have di ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent food and good service. Have dined here many times. Will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Homemade pasta was simply exceptional ag ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Homemade pasta was simply exceptional again. 4 "first course" size dishes make for an amazing tasting option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of Atlanta's best kept secret's very ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

One of Atlanta's best kept secret's very romantic and a great choice for special occasion's The staff,food and wine list are the "Finest" you will find in this city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently wonderful! The food and ser ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently wonderful! The food and service are impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great restaurant all the way arou ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Such a great restaurant all the way around. With so many new options, it is easy to forget such a treasure like Sotto Sotto. One of my all time favorites. Some of the best service in the city to match the amazing cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great (other than bread-not so ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was great (other than bread-not so good)! Twice we were served someone else's meal. Beautiful outside dining!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing restaurant! Great food, service, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing restaurant! Great food, service, wine list... Everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sotto Sotto is an excellent Italian rest ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Sotto Sotto is an excellent Italian restaurant with fresh pastas and delicious appetizers and salads.

My dish, the tagliatelle de funghi, came out slightly behind my mother in laws, caciode pepe, I tried my first bite and thought it was quite under cooked, I tried another bite and knew it was underdone. I LOVE al dente pasts but, this had a crunch. The waiter immediately resolved the situation and while my new pasta was slightly overdone the flavors were all on point and delicious. The server made an amazing impression on the two of us and saved the dinner when the meal didn't live up to expectations. I've been to Sotto Sotto many times and never had a dish issue. I am thrilled to report the restaurant made the experience right as soon as I mentioned my issue. Another great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I had reservations for @ 3 wks and yet w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I had reservations for @ 3 wks and yet we were seated on the patio in 90' weather. The patio has no ambience. The food was not as good as I had remembered in years before. I would not dine here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Best Italian in Atlanta. Consistently am ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best Italian in Atlanta. Consistently amazing food, wine, and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, food was so outstanding I hat ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

As always, food was so outstanding I hated finishing. The steak was the best I ever had.

Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best Italian restaurant we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was the best Italian restaurant we have tried in Atlanta in the eight years we have been here. The spicy seafood pasta was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as Always

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Once again Sotto Sotto was outstanding in every was. The server was wonderful, the app(fava bean and pecorino) was outstanding and the entrees were exceptional.

Great wine and great choices on the list. My only suggestion is the martinis should really be served in a martini glass, not a tumbler, but that is a minor complaint in an otherwise exceptional dining experience. Kind os a pet peeve of mine and I see it more and more in restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very rude and not attenti ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server was very rude and not attentive enough to us. I love the food but our server turned us off btw it was a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This is one, if not my favorite, Italian restaurant in Atlanta. This restaurant never disappoints and is consistently great. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Atlanta!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I've long said that Sotto Sotto is the best restaurant in Atlanta, and this visit proved me right yet again. I went with cousins from Dallas, GA, and they loved it! The food is simply outstanding. And the service is a cut above! Once again, I had the Tortelli di Michaelangelo, and once again, I wasn't disappointed. It's like I'm in Italy -- the pasta is that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Almost Flawless Experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I were quite pleased with our experience. The food was excellent and priced reasonably. The ambience just right for elegant yet informal dining, and the service quite attentive. All the food items, from the bread to salad to appetizer to the main course were excellent. Drinks and water were filled as soon as they reached close to bottom, and the waiter kept us informed of the readiness of our order. The only slight shortcoming was that the waiter was somewhat brusque at the beginning - he had could explained the menu a bit more clearly, and did not quite address my questions, but the was competent and friendly towards the end, describing to us some history of the area.

I would highly recommend this for special occasions, and simply for good Italian food. The area of Inman Park is also very charming, with a young crowd, and a great walking trail just close-by to work off the extra calories, as we did.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It never disappoints

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

As always, Sotto Sotto delivers great food and service. Our meal was outstanding with a great bottle of reasonably priced wine. Never had a bad meal at this spot and highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in Atlanta

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had the sea scallops as an appetizer and the lasagna as an entree with blueberry crisp ice-cream for dessert. It was a fabulous meal! Everything was perfect, recommend highly!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sotto Sotto remains, in my opinion, the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Sotto Sotto remains, in my opinion, the most authentic Italian meal in Atlanta. Some people seem to have moved on from it only because the menu basically never changes, but what it does it does better than anyone else in town. The mushroom tagliatelle are off the charts and in general if you closed your eyes and just tasted the food you would be heard pressed to believe you were not in Italy. I can think of no better recommendation than that.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice setting, but overall not too impres ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Nice setting, but overall not too impressed. Clams had nice flavor, mozzarella was nothing special. We ordered three pasta dishes to try. One was great - mushroom, one was good - ravioli and one was bland. In fact not done even remember what I ordered. Chocolate soup was just warm chocolate sauce. No skill. Marscapone/amaretti dessert was wonderful! May or may not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Divine!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We had the best meal, and the best server. Sat outside on the patio, recommend that 1,000%. Had a mixture of small plates since we could not decide on entrees, and recommend that also ... it was great to have a variety of risotto, lasaganette, and two completely different types of pasta. Cocktails were delicious ... have the Lovely Day. Or two.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful outdoor dining experience

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Beautiful outdoor dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.