About Sotto Sopra

405 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Sotto Sopra is an Italian restaurant housed in a beautiful 19th century building just blocks north of Baltimore’s Harborplace on Charles Street. Sotto Sopra specializes in true contemporary Italian cuisine adapting farm to table. We buy local whenever it is possible. The perfect risotto, handmade pastas, roasted meats, local seafood, and regional produce are here for your total enjoyment.

Join us for our Power Lunch, featuring what's freshest and best in Italian cuisine. Two courses from our full lunch menu, $20.

Sotto Sopra invites you to dine for lunch, Monday through Saturdays and dinner every evening. Eat.Drink.Sleep.Dream--Italian

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am – 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm – 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry and Franklin St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 625-0534

Website:
http://www.sottosoprainc.com/

Entertainment:
Opera Night: Once a month on a Sunday evening, Sotto Sopra offers a multi-course pre-fixe menu along with live opera performances. Check our website for each month's menu.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Public Transit:
Downtown Trolley - Free Circulator

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bosio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Live Opera Nights with a multi course dinner.
Credit card secured reservations required at 410-625-0534 (credit cards will be charged for cancellations 48 hours or less).

Restaurant Photos

Pappardelle With Smoked Mozzarella
Polenta Fritta
Tomato Bisque With Goat Cheese
Chocolate Molten Cake
Chicken With Crispy Mushrooms And Fennel Sausage
Mahi Mahi Mediterranean
Beef Carpaccio
Pumpkin Soup With Homemade Marshmallows
Flatbread
Hibiscus Blossom Cocktail
Polenta Fritto Bergamot
Gorgonzola Stuffed Figs
Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Artichoke Soup
Pappardelle
Pan Seared Scallops
Ceasar Salad
Polenta
Chilled Plum Soup
Prociutto And Melon
Rilke Martini
Raspberry Sorbet
Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans
Goat Cheese Salad
Caesar Salad
Escargot Bolognese
fettuccine
Risotto
Calamari and Watermelon Salad
Pappardelle Bolognese
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream
Apple Strudel
Black Ink Chitarra
Pear Tart
Vanilla ice cream and berries
Maki Fresh Mozzarella
Fettucini Alla Bolognese
Duck Prosciutto
Moulard Duck Confit
Lamb Tartare W/ Duck Egg
Short rib agnotti
Bread pudding with chocolate amaretto mouse
Trio Of Corn
Il Cioppino Di Sotto Sopra
The Prima Porta
Gianduia Pot Du Crème
Polenta Con Lumache Al Burro Aromatizzato
Lamb Ravioli
Lobster Raviolli
Fish
Spaghetti Alla Bolognese
Tiramisu
polemta di Ricardo
Panino di Vegetali alla Griglia
Cioppino di Sotto Sopra
Lamb Tenderloin With Wild Mushroom Rissoto
Winter Panzanella
Proscuitto And Mozzarella

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ambiance of Sotto Sopra's 19th century building in Baltimore's cultural district is the perfect partner with our contemporary Italian cuisine in creating special memories. Whether a rehearsal dinner,small wedding reception, family celebration or corporate events Sotto Sopra makes you the star.

Sotto Sopra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
7 More
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Food
Baltimore
Best Service
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore
Romantic
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Mt. Vernon ›

special occasion (91)
fit for foodies (85)
romantic (79)
See All
neighborhood gem (57)
notable wine list (41)
great for lunch (23)
good for groups (17)
late-night find (12)
hot spot (10)
great for brunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very smart restaurant. Nice space and gr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very smart restaurant. Nice space and great food too. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic service, food was absolutely d ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic service, food was absolutely delicious from start to finish. Cocktails were perfectly mixed, great wine selection. We will be back, many times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't usually dine out during Restsurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Don't usually dine out during Restsurant Week when it's usually like the return of the 17 year locusts, but since I've been here on other times in the past, took a chance for a casual lunch in an elegant setting with great food.

Pleasantly surprised that it wasn't overcrowded, and everything great. Food delicious; service outstanding; atmosphere great. Couldn't be more pleased.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ignore Little Italy and go here. Great p ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ignore Little Italy and go here. Great portions, classic service, and good wine list.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cold food served twice. Had to order piz ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Cold food served twice. Had to order pizza which was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

From Ft. Lauderdale to Chicago, this was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

From Ft. Lauderdale to Chicago, this was the best meal ever! We were truly amazed at the quality, authenticity, service, and professionalism. Top notch. Inspired restaurant. Highly recommended!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service from the hostess and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional service from the hostess and our waiter, Leo. The food was excellent - halibut, shrimp risotto, pasta and branzino for entrees and the assorted cheese and sliced meats for appetizers; excellent wine selections. Leo's dining and wine recommendations were spot on. Since it was a belated birthday celebration for me, the hostess gave us a choice of a table for in a corner, or a table in the corner next to the window. We chose the window. It was the perfect spot and even though there were diners next to us, we were a table of 4 "happy" old friends, there was no noise-crossover which made for a very pleasant dining experience. I have always wanted to come during opera night, but we have never been able to fit in into our plans. After this wonderful dining experience, we will definitely make the effort to return for opera night. Ciao!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The caprese is absolutely the best my wi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The caprese is absolutely the best my wife and I have ever had. The ravioli is also amazing. The Branzino was luscious. There are a few tables outside, across from the beautiful Basillica. Great although just a bit pricey.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for Opera Night, which they have ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for Opera Night, which they have once a month on a Sunday evening. We were so happy with everything and the live singing of arias was moving and captivating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for dinner for our first time an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went for dinner for our first time and to celebrate my wife's birthday. We couldn't have been more pleased with the wine, food, and service. After two years of trying different restaurants in B'more, this is one of our top two favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Better use open table because they defin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Better use open table because they definitely wont email you back or return phone calls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Good period from a owner in the biz for ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good period from a owner in the biz for 35 yrs. good job sotto

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant. We come for spe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. We come for special occasions and holidays. If you want authentic Italian food, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply... stellar in atmosphere, food, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Simply... stellar in atmosphere, food, wine list and impeccable service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Second time dinning here, it was awesome ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Second time dinning here, it was awesome as usual. If I could give it 10 stars I would!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful space, simple and elegant food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Beautiful space, simple and elegant food. Ordered the calamari as an appetizer and it was incredible. Service was excellent. The server knew that we were celebrating my girlfriend's birthday and brought out complimentary champagne.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here. I was with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This was my first time here. I was with a party of 5 and all our food was excellent. We had veal, squid ink pasta, duck, and spinach lasagna. The waiter was fantastic as was the wine. I ordered a Tiramisu for desert--it was great, but I had already had so much to eat, I couldn't finish it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In my opinion, it's the best restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

In my opinion, it's the best restaurant in Baltimore! Authentic Italian/ Sicilian cuisine. Delicious food, friendly staff, beautiful ambience. What more could you ask for??? I will go here with my wife as much as possible, for as long as the restaurant is open!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been wanting to go there for a l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been wanting to go there for a long time and we were happy to get a spontaneous reservation through open table. The menu was just what I hoped for and the wine pairings were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There are a number of very fine restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

There are a number of very fine restaurants in the Baltimore Inner Harbor/downtown area but Sotto Sopra is far and away our favorite. I travel quite a bit on business out of state, but I rarely have found food as tasty and thoughtfully prepared as I find here. All the fine restaurant descriptions fit: great appetizers and entrees, soups to die for, attentive but not pretentious service, and a fine wine list. In fact, since the Magnolia Grill closed down in Durham NC, I have to say that Sotto Sopra is my favorite restaurant in the country. My wife and I dine with friends there about 6-8 times a year. Although not inexpensive, I have paid a lot more for meals that cannot match what I find at Sotto Sopra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attention to detail and creativity in ev ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Attention to detail and creativity in every appetizer and entree made this a very special evening. Could not have imagined any better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent fish dishes - great ambiance.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The special was a risotto with more seafood variety than I can recall, and the regular menu included a similar potpourri of seafood. Both were well enjoyed by the guests at my table. Cocktails were excellently prepared, and the service was attentive without hovering. I left something at the restaurant, and got a prompt call (thanks open table for giving them access to my number through reservation) and I was able to retrieve it without incident.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional Dining Experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were warmly greeted by the owner, Ricardo, and his hostess. Authentic Italian food prepared with perfection and delicious; served in a cozy quiet atmosphere and our waitress was knowledgeable, friendly, attentive but not bothersome. We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regular Lunch

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The snail ragu is always good as was the caesar salad. Both pasta second courses were enjoyed. This is a favorite lunch stop in mid town Baltimore. The rosemary bread/bread sticks with oil are always great. The server was particularly friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Christa is fabulous

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We walked away from Sotta Sopra for a couple of years. But now the Christa is bartending there - fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Sotta Sopra Never Disappoints

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I have been going to Sotta Sopra for 8 years now and have never been disappointed. The service is consistently top notch and they food has never been anything short of excellent. We love the 642 Tuscan wine and ANY pasta on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was amazing! The food wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant was amazing! The food was so fresh and authentic! Our waiter Cameron was so knowledgable and enthusiastic! He was awesome! We were in town for the Preakness from philly! Our hotel, The Monaco recommended the restaurant. It was a great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great dinner

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Have been here a few times and it has yet to disappoint. My new favorite restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was amazing. I took friends who had not been and they can't wait to go back and take others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After 20 years, better and better

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We became diners at Sotto Sopra from the time it opened until last week. The food is always superb, and the service exceptional. There is reliable valet parking , essential in a very busy area. We have had groups come with us, and our guests are always delighted. I can't recommend Sotto Sopra strongly enough. To us it's among the very best restaurants anywhere in the world.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Hands down my favorite restaurant in Baltimore. The pork ossobuco is not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner there and o ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner there and our friends from out of town thought it was wonderful also!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not the meal we expected/ We have been c ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Not the meal we expected/ We have been coming to Sotta Sopra since they 1st opened (maybe 10-15 years ago) several times a year. We have always had a wonderful meal. Everything was just average. Also our 1st course came out much to fast. Don't know if there is a new chef, new management. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Sotto Sopra has been my go to Italian Re ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Sotto Sopra has been my go to Italian Restaurant for about 15 years, the food is consistent and excellent, always very fresh and only rarely a questionable night in the kitchen. This dinner was no exception, a unique baked brie that we have never had there, an excellent lobster risotto that has not been on the menu previously, ravioli that is as always light and tasty, and good desserts, sorbet and a fabulous pannacotta. This is a really special place

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is by far our favorite Italian restaurant i

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Being Italian I am selective about where I dine for Italian food..this is my most favorite. It was my husbands birthday and not only was the food excellent but the staff was so very attentive and made the celebration special. We are grateful

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected great lunch

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Based on the reviews I thought it would be a good experience, my expectations were exceeded. Food was excellent as was the service. Will be back for dinner soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Sotto Sopra. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

This was my first time at Sotto Sopra. It had a cozy atmosphere and reminded me of my favorite NYC restaurant. Loved the goat cheese and beet salad. The food, wine, and desert were excellent. The outstanding service from our awesome waiter, Sean, made the experience of going to Sotto Sopra all the more special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is NOT your spaghetti and meatballs ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is NOT your spaghetti and meatballs corner pizza place! This IS a distinctive, haute cuisine, continuously evolving, funky European / New York ambiance, northern Italian bistro with well mannered service, very good wines, upbeat attitude and super great kitchen. The octopus app was outstanding. The goat cheese arugula salad unique and delicious. The

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best of the best

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day with a picky 13 year-old boy, a woman in a wheelchair, an elderly diner with limited hearing and me, which can be a challenge. However, the staff, from our greeting, to the explanation of the menu items to the care of the waitstaff for our courses was outstanding. The pasta dishes are some of the best I have had the pleasure of enjoying- the pappardelle was even a hit with the 13year old. Kudos to all for making a special day delicious and relaxing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to Sotto Sopra on and o ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been going to Sotto Sopra on and off for years. The food and the service continue to shine but I do have to say that I think the prices have gotten too high. Spending $24 and $26 on a basic pasta dish is just not warranted for Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.