About Sotto Sopra

405 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Sotto Sopra is an Italian restaurant housed in a beautiful 19th century building just blocks north of Baltimore’s Harborplace on Charles Street. Sotto Sopra specializes in true contemporary Italian cuisine adapting farm to table. We buy local whenever it is possible. The perfect risotto, handmade pastas, roasted meats, local seafood, and regional produce are here for your total enjoyment.

Join us for our Power Lunch, featuring what's freshest and best in Italian cuisine. Two courses from our full lunch menu, $20.

Sotto Sopra invites you to dine for lunch, Monday through Saturdays and dinner every evening. Eat.Drink.Sleep.Dream--Italian

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am – 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm – 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry and Franklin St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 625-0534

Website:
http://www.sottosoprainc.com/

Entertainment:
Opera Night: Once a month on a Sunday evening, Sotto Sopra offers a multi-course pre-fixe menu along with live opera performances. Check our website for each month's menu.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Public Transit:
Downtown Trolley - Free Circulator

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bosio

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Live Opera Nights with a multi course dinner.
Credit card secured reservations required at 410-625-0534 (credit cards will be charged for cancellations 48 hours or less).

Restaurant Photos

Pappardelle With Smoked Mozzarella
Polenta Fritta
Tomato Bisque With Goat Cheese
Chocolate Molten Cake
Chicken With Crispy Mushrooms And Fennel Sausage
Mahi Mahi Mediterranean
Beef Carpaccio
Pumpkin Soup With Homemade Marshmallows
Flatbread
Prociutto And Melon
Polenta
Pappardelle
Gorgonzola Stuffed Figs
Raspberry Sorbet
Pan Seared Scallops
Hibiscus Blossom Cocktail
Rilke Martini
Polenta Fritto Bergamot
Chilled Plum Soup
Ceasar Salad
Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Artichoke Soup
Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans
Goat Cheese Salad
Caesar Salad
Pear Tart
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream
Moulard Duck Confit
Duck Prosciutto
Black Ink Chitarra
Risotto
Maki Fresh Mozzarella
Fettucini Alla Bolognese
Escargot Bolognese
Apple Strudel
Calamari and Watermelon Salad
Pappardelle Bolognese
fettuccine
Vanilla ice cream and berries
Short rib agnotti
Bread pudding with chocolate amaretto mouse
Lamb Tartare W/ Duck Egg
Trio Of Corn
The Prima Porta
Polenta Con Lumache Al Burro Aromatizzato
Il Cioppino Di Sotto Sopra
Gianduia Pot Du Crème
Lamb Ravioli
Lobster Raviolli
Tiramisu
polemta di Ricardo
Spaghetti Alla Bolognese
Fish
Winter Panzanella
Cioppino di Sotto Sopra
Panino di Vegetali alla Griglia
Lamb Tenderloin With Wild Mushroom Rissoto
Proscuitto And Mozzarella

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ambiance of Sotto Sopra's 19th century building in Baltimore's cultural district is the perfect partner with our contemporary Italian cuisine in creating special memories. Whether a rehearsal dinner,small wedding reception, family celebration or corporate events Sotto Sopra makes you the star.

Sotto Sopra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
5 More
Best Food
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Romantic
Baltimore
Special Occasion
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Mt. Vernon ›

Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (81)
Fit for Foodies (79)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Notable Wine List (42)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Late-night Find (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Brunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1362 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A wonderful Italian restaurant where th ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

A wonderful Italian restaurant where there is a delightful selection of meat, poultry, fish, and pasta. The service is excellent. Always a good choice, when we are in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience. I saw the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

What a wonderful experience. I saw the feature on WBAL need and had to experience opera might and great food. The meals was well presented and delicious, service was excellent and the music well....what can I say. I plan on joining Sotto Sopra in October for more opera

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We have been to Sotto Sopra a few times. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been to Sotto Sopra a few times....We had gone years ago, and for some reason we had just forgotten about it. We went again last spring and enjoyed it. I was "in the mood" for Italian food, and on a Thursday I took a chance and attempted to make a reservation..BOOM, done. We went on Saturday night and we were promptly greeted and seated. I wish I could remember our servers name.she was AWESOME! Attentive without being over the top, made some suggestions which we listened to. Our appetizers came out quickly and were superb. I then decided to get a bottle of wine..I was stuck between 2 choices and our server suggested the one I had been leaning to.It WAS NOT the most expensive of the 2 choices. It was a great choice and I totally enjoyed it. Our entrees were tremendous. I had the seafood on pasta that was perfectly cooked and very flavorful. My wife had the Salmon dish ( a WHITE SALMON)..her dish was the winner BY FAR. My ONY gripe was that the dessert my wife wanted was sold out for the evening.Our server then made a suggestion and we again went with it. GREAT CHOICE!!!!!

This is a wonderful restaurant, with great service and very good wine list and AWESOME FOOD!

I would go back tomorrow without hesitation.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to this restaurant for ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been going to this restaurant for 20 years and have NEVER had a bad meal. Owner/chef Riccardo Bozio has great skill and imagination - evidenced by one of his new appetizers, polenta fries with gorgonzola sauce. What a knockout! The menu always has something new and never disappoints. Two of my friends had a fish dish and raved about it, cleaning their plates entirely. another friend had a home-made pasta dish with a mushroom sauce flavored also by a veal reduction. The accompaniments sparkled and desserts were terrific even though we were "stuffed" by the entrees. Northern Italian (Bozio is from Bergamo) food at its very best. if you don't try this restaurant, you miss a great eating eexperience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sotto Sopra is by the far the best resta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Sotto Sopra is by the far the best restaurant in the Baltimore area. The food is incredible, the ambience outstanding and the service impeccable.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute romantic little place. Amazing nort ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cute romantic little place. Amazing northern Italian food! Def would go back. Date night or couples date night

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was perfect for the four of u ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was perfect for the four of us. The waiter was superb, knowing obscure ingredients in the special alcoholic drinks. When I asked him to leave out two ingredients in a salad that I am allergic to, he fretted about whether I would be left with enough food. This enabled me to feel free to tell him to put in more of what I could eat. Our fish was wonderful, as was everything , starters to dessert.

The ambience is sophisticated and upscale. It is located in a historic building that is exciting and impressive to enter, and the picture window looks out on another historic building. The large wall murals/paintings are as beautiful and interesting as any place that we have ever experienced in New York- or even Europe.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, had lunch menu. Amazing ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Delicious food, had lunch menu. Amazing fried palentas, entrees were on point. Bread with olive oil (extra $3) is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant. Excellent bartende ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Excellent bartender, courteous waitstaff. Busy during Restaurant Week, but our service was still top-notch, and all of our needs were met quickly. The Restaurant Week menu had plenty of good choices, and there was no dissatisfaction within our party of five diners. Overall a great dining experience. Would not hesitate to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food with creative mining of i ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food with creative mining of ingredients and beautiful presentation. Server wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Great service. Gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent as always. Great service. Great food. This restaurant is a gem

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sotto Sopra is by far my favorite restau ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Sotto Sopra is by far my favorite restaurant in Baltimore. I have never left there thinking anything could've been done any better. The pork ossobuco is incredible. Our server this evening, Nicole, was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy my meal and time at Sotto ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I always enjoy my meal and time at Sotto Sopra. This was my 3rd visit and it certainly did not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reside in Florida and my sister who ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I reside in Florida and my sister who lives in New York came to visit me in Baltimore. A colleague of mine referred me to the restaurant and we were impressed with foodand the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great restaurant and we had a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is a great restaurant and we had a very good experience. The staff have good knowledge in the menu and can make excellent recommendations. Food was great and the place has an extensive wine choice. We will definitely be coming back and we will be going to the Opera Night event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great! All of the courses ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was great! All of the courses were amazing and the service was top notch. We will be

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best Italian food in Baltimo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is the best Italian food in Baltimore. The service is above and beyond. They went out of their way to accommodate our two extra people. Will eat here often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great, appropriate porti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was great, appropriate portion sizes too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went here for dinner la ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My husband and I went here for dinner last night. As it was Restaurant Week, we had a 3-course meal for only $35. Everything was amazing. We started off with a basket of their complimentary Focaccia and Breadsticks with olive oil. The Focaccia was freshly baked. So soft! My appetizer was their Flat Bread of the day. It was so good! Two pieces of perfectly crispy, big slices of flat bread topped with Mozarella, Provolone, Arugula and Prosciutto - heaven on a plate. My husband got the Goat Cheese Salad, which he loved tremendously. It had 2 big balls of fried, breaded goat cheese. My main course was the Veal Cheek Saltimbocca. It was so tender and full of flavor. I loved it! The size portion was just perfect for me. My husband ordered the Pork Osso Bucco (you have to add $10 for this). According to our waiter, this is their popular signature tomato-based dish. It was huge. It's pork shank on top of a bed of flavorful wild mushroom risotto. It was absolutely divine! The pork was falling off the bone. A must try indeed! He paired this dish with a glass of Super Tuscan wine (red). We were so full (and in gastronomic heaven) after our 2nd course, that we barely had room for dessert. I had the Pistachio Chocolate Creme Brulee. This was just okay for me. The chocolate was a nice twist though. Looking back, I should have ordered the Gelato and Sorbet of the day. My husband ordered the Apple Strudel with Vanilla Bean Gelato. It was so delicious! They did not skimp on size, that's for sure. It was filled with a variety of raisins and other fillings. All in all our dinner experience was superb. Some restaurants skimp on portions during Restaurant Week, but definitely not Sotto Sopra. Our waiter was so lovely and helpful as well. He patiently explained each and every item off the menu. This restaurant is definitely worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was under staffed and thu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The restaurant was under staffed and thus we did not get much attention from the staff and the menu was very limited for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I have eaten at Sotto Sopra several time ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I have eaten at Sotto Sopra several times, though this was my first time enjoying their restaurant week lunch menu. I had the butternut squash soup, which was divine and the mussels which were wonderful and came with delicious buttered toast. My dining companion also had the soup and the pappardelle, which was wonderful.

The service was a little slow, but we were not in a rush and so it was not a problem. And our server kept thanking us for our patience and was attentive as he could be. All in all another wonderful experience at Sotto Sopra.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Somewhat disappointed in food. Came high ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Somewhat disappointed in food. Came highly recommended and while the presentation was pretty the food itself was boring, nothing special, especially for the price. Nice ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Very smart restaurant. Nice space and gr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very smart restaurant. Nice space and great food too. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic service, food was absolutely d ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fantastic service, food was absolutely delicious from start to finish. Cocktails were perfectly mixed, great wine selection. We will be back, many times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Is one of our favorite places in Baltimo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Is one of our favorite places in Baltimore. The food is always good and the menu is quite varied usually with choices to please everyone from the vegetarian to the carnivore

On this occasion it was restaurant week to the meal choices were limited but the values were great and the food itself was as always amazingly tasty.

I would not take to recommend this restaurant to just not anybody who favors good quality food at reasonable prices even when it's not restaurant week

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Don't usually dine out during Restsurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Don't usually dine out during Restsurant Week when it's usually like the return of the 17 year locusts, but since I've been here on other times in the past, took a chance for a casual lunch in an elegant setting with great food.

Pleasantly surprised that it wasn't overcrowded, and everything great. Food delicious; service outstanding; atmosphere great. Couldn't be more pleased.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ignore Little Italy and go here. Great p ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Ignore Little Italy and go here. Great portions, classic service, and good wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cold food served twice. Had to order piz ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Cold food served twice. Had to order pizza which was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

From Ft. Lauderdale to Chicago, this was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

From Ft. Lauderdale to Chicago, this was the best meal ever! We were truly amazed at the quality, authenticity, service, and professionalism. Top notch. Inspired restaurant. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service from the hostess and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Exceptional service from the hostess and our waiter, Leo. The food was excellent - halibut, shrimp risotto, pasta and branzino for entrees and the assorted cheese and sliced meats for appetizers; excellent wine selections. Leo's dining and wine recommendations were spot on. Since it was a belated birthday celebration for me, the hostess gave us a choice of a table for in a corner, or a table in the corner next to the window. We chose the window. It was the perfect spot and even though there were diners next to us, we were a table of 4 "happy" old friends, there was no noise-crossover which made for a very pleasant dining experience. I have always wanted to come during opera night, but we have never been able to fit in into our plans. After this wonderful dining experience, we will definitely make the effort to return for opera night. Ciao!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The caprese is absolutely the best my wi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The caprese is absolutely the best my wife and I have ever had. The ravioli is also amazing. The Branzino was luscious. There are a few tables outside, across from the beautiful Basillica. Great although just a bit pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for Opera Night, which they have ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for Opera Night, which they have once a month on a Sunday evening. We were so happy with everything and the live singing of arias was moving and captivating.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for dinner for our first time an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went for dinner for our first time and to celebrate my wife's birthday. We couldn't have been more pleased with the wine, food, and service. After two years of trying different restaurants in B'more, this is one of our top two favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Better use open table because they defin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Better use open table because they definitely wont email you back or return phone calls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Good period from a owner in the biz for ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Good period from a owner in the biz for 35 yrs. good job sotto

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant. We come for spe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our favorite restaurant. We come for special occasions and holidays. If you want authentic Italian food, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply... stellar in atmosphere, food, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Simply... stellar in atmosphere, food, wine list and impeccable service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Second time dinning here, it was awesome ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Second time dinning here, it was awesome as usual. If I could give it 10 stars I would!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful space, simple and elegant food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Beautiful space, simple and elegant food. Ordered the calamari as an appetizer and it was incredible. Service was excellent. The server knew that we were celebrating my girlfriend's birthday and brought out complimentary champagne.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here. I was with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This was my first time here. I was with a party of 5 and all our food was excellent. We had veal, squid ink pasta, duck, and spinach lasagna. The waiter was fantastic as was the wine. I ordered a Tiramisu for desert--it was great, but I had already had so much to eat, I couldn't finish it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.