About Sotto Sopra

405 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Sotto Sopra is an Italian restaurant housed in a beautiful 19th century building just blocks north of Baltimore’s Harborplace on Charles Street. Sotto Sopra specializes in true contemporary Italian cuisine adapting farm to table. We buy local whenever it is possible. The perfect risotto, handmade pastas, roasted meats, local seafood, and regional produce are here for your total enjoyment.

Join us for our Power Lunch, featuring what's freshest and best in Italian cuisine. Two courses from our full lunch menu, $20.

Sotto Sopra invites you to dine for lunch, Monday through Saturdays and dinner every evening. Eat.Drink.Sleep.Dream--Italian

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am – 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm – 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry and Franklin St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 625-0534

Website:
http://www.sottosoprainc.com/

Entertainment:
Opera Night: Once a month on a Sunday evening, Sotto Sopra offers a multi-course pre-fixe menu along with live opera performances. Check our website for each month's menu.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Public Transit:
Downtown Trolley - Free Circulator

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bosio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Live Opera Nights with a multi course dinner.
Credit card secured reservations required at 410-625-0534 (credit cards will be charged for cancellations 48 hours or less).

Restaurant Photos

Pappardelle With Smoked Mozzarella
Polenta Fritta
Tomato Bisque With Goat Cheese
Chocolate Molten Cake
Chicken With Crispy Mushrooms And Fennel Sausage
Mahi Mahi Mediterranean
Beef Carpaccio
Pumpkin Soup With Homemade Marshmallows
Flatbread
Hibiscus Blossom Cocktail
Polenta Fritto Bergamot
Gorgonzola Stuffed Figs
Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Artichoke Soup
Pappardelle
Pan Seared Scallops
Ceasar Salad
Polenta
Chilled Plum Soup
Prociutto And Melon
Rilke Martini
Raspberry Sorbet
Pan-roasted Salmon w/ Mushroom Risotto & Green Beans
Goat Cheese Salad
Caesar Salad
Escargot Bolognese
fettuccine
Risotto
Calamari and Watermelon Salad
Pappardelle Bolognese
Peach Tart With Vanilla Ice Cream
Apple Strudel
Black Ink Chitarra
Pear Tart
Vanilla ice cream and berries
Maki Fresh Mozzarella
Fettucini Alla Bolognese
Duck Prosciutto
Moulard Duck Confit
Lamb Tartare W/ Duck Egg
Short rib agnotti
Bread pudding with chocolate amaretto mouse
Trio Of Corn
Il Cioppino Di Sotto Sopra
The Prima Porta
Gianduia Pot Du Crème
Polenta Con Lumache Al Burro Aromatizzato
Lamb Ravioli
Lobster Raviolli
Fish
Spaghetti Alla Bolognese
Tiramisu
polemta di Ricardo
Panino di Vegetali alla Griglia
Cioppino di Sotto Sopra
Lamb Tenderloin With Wild Mushroom Rissoto
Winter Panzanella
Proscuitto And Mozzarella

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ambiance of Sotto Sopra's 19th century building in Baltimore's cultural district is the perfect partner with our contemporary Italian cuisine in creating special memories. Whether a rehearsal dinner,small wedding reception, family celebration or corporate events Sotto Sopra makes you the star.

Sotto Sopra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Ambiance
Baltimore / Maryland
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore / Maryland
8 More
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Italian
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Service
Baltimore
Best Ambiance
Baltimore
Fit for Foodies
Baltimore
Romantic
Baltimore
Italian
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Mt. Vernon ›

fit for foodies (88)
special occasion (83)
romantic (72)
See All
neighborhood gem (55)
notable wine list (40)
great for lunch (21)
good for groups (19)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time here. I was with ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time here. I was with a party of 5 and all our food was excellent. We had veal, squid ink pasta, duck, and spinach lasagna. The waiter was fantastic as was the wine. I ordered a Tiramisu for desert--it was great, but I had already had so much to eat, I couldn't finish it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

In my opinion, it's the best restaurant ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

In my opinion, it's the best restaurant in Baltimore! Authentic Italian/ Sicilian cuisine. Delicious food, friendly staff, beautiful ambience. What more could you ask for??? I will go here with my wife as much as possible, for as long as the restaurant is open!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been wanting to go there for a l ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We have been wanting to go there for a long time and we were happy to get a spontaneous reservation through open table. The menu was just what I hoped for and the wine pairings were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are a number of very fine restaura ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

There are a number of very fine restaurants in the Baltimore Inner Harbor/downtown area but Sotto Sopra is far and away our favorite. I travel quite a bit on business out of state, but I rarely have found food as tasty and thoughtfully prepared as I find here. All the fine restaurant descriptions fit: great appetizers and entrees, soups to die for, attentive but not pretentious service, and a fine wine list. In fact, since the Magnolia Grill closed down in Durham NC, I have to say that Sotto Sopra is my favorite restaurant in the country. My wife and I dine with friends there about 6-8 times a year. Although not inexpensive, I have paid a lot more for meals that cannot match what I find at Sotto Sopra.

food5
ambience5
service5

Attention to detail and creativity in ev ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Attention to detail and creativity in every appetizer and entree made this a very special evening. Could not have imagined any better service.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent fish dishes - great ambiance.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

The special was a risotto with more seafood variety than I can recall, and the regular menu included a similar potpourri of seafood. Both were well enjoyed by the guests at my table. Cocktails were excellently prepared, and the service was attentive without hovering. I left something at the restaurant, and got a prompt call (thanks open table for giving them access to my number through reservation) and I was able to retrieve it without incident.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Dining Experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

We were warmly greeted by the owner, Ricardo, and his hostess. Authentic Italian food prepared with perfection and delicious; served in a cozy quiet atmosphere and our waitress was knowledgeable, friendly, attentive but not bothersome. We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Regular Lunch

Dined on June 2, 2016

The snail ragu is always good as was the caesar salad. Both pasta second courses were enjoyed. This is a favorite lunch stop in mid town Baltimore. The rosemary bread/bread sticks with oil are always great. The server was particularly friendly and helpful.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Christa is fabulous

Dined on May 28, 2016

We walked away from Sotta Sopra for a couple of years. But now the Christa is bartending there - fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sotta Sopra Never Disappoints

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I have been going to Sotta Sopra for 8 years now and have never been disappointed. The service is consistently top notch and they food has never been anything short of excellent. We love the 642 Tuscan wine and ANY pasta on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was amazing! The food wa ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant was amazing! The food was so fresh and authentic! Our waiter Cameron was so knowledgable and enthusiastic! He was awesome! We were in town for the Preakness from philly! Our hotel, The Monaco recommended the restaurant. It was a great choice!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great dinner

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Have been here a few times and it has yet to disappoint. My new favorite restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was amazing. I took friends who had not been and they can't wait to go back and take others.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After 20 years, better and better

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We became diners at Sotto Sopra from the time it opened until last week. The food is always superb, and the service exceptional. There is reliable valet parking , essential in a very busy area. We have had groups come with us, and our guests are always delighted. I can't recommend Sotto Sopra strongly enough. To us it's among the very best restaurants anywhere in the world.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Hands down my favorite restaurant in Baltimore. The pork ossobuco is not to be missed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner there and o ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner there and our friends from out of town thought it was wonderful also!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Not the meal we expected/ We have been c ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Not the meal we expected/ We have been coming to Sotta Sopra since they 1st opened (maybe 10-15 years ago) several times a year. We have always had a wonderful meal. Everything was just average. Also our 1st course came out much to fast. Don't know if there is a new chef, new management. We were very disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sotto Sopra has been my go to Italian Re ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Sotto Sopra has been my go to Italian Restaurant for about 15 years, the food is consistent and excellent, always very fresh and only rarely a questionable night in the kitchen. This dinner was no exception, a unique baked brie that we have never had there, an excellent lobster risotto that has not been on the menu previously, ravioli that is as always light and tasty, and good desserts, sorbet and a fabulous pannacotta. This is a really special place

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far our favorite Italian restaurant i

Dined on May 12, 2016

Being Italian I am selective about where I dine for Italian food..this is my most favorite. It was my husbands birthday and not only was the food excellent but the staff was so very attentive and made the celebration special. We are grateful

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected great lunch

Dined on May 12, 2016

Based on the reviews I thought it would be a good experience, my expectations were exceeded. Food was excellent as was the service. Will be back for dinner soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Sotto Sopra. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

This was my first time at Sotto Sopra. It had a cozy atmosphere and reminded me of my favorite NYC restaurant. Loved the goat cheese and beet salad. The food, wine, and desert were excellent. The outstanding service from our awesome waiter, Sean, made the experience of going to Sotto Sopra all the more special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is NOT your spaghetti and meatballs ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is NOT your spaghetti and meatballs corner pizza place! This IS a distinctive, haute cuisine, continuously evolving, funky European / New York ambiance, northern Italian bistro with well mannered service, very good wines, upbeat attitude and super great kitchen. The octopus app was outstanding. The goat cheese arugula salad unique and delicious. The

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the best

Dined on May 8, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day with a picky 13 year-old boy, a woman in a wheelchair, an elderly diner with limited hearing and me, which can be a challenge. However, the staff, from our greeting, to the explanation of the menu items to the care of the waitstaff for our courses was outstanding. The pasta dishes are some of the best I have had the pleasure of enjoying- the pappardelle was even a hit with the 13year old. Kudos to all for making a special day delicious and relaxing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We've been going to Sotto Sopra on and o ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We've been going to Sotto Sopra on and off for years. The food and the service continue to shine but I do have to say that I think the prices have gotten too high. Spending $24 and $26 on a basic pasta dish is just not warranted for Baltimore.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious. The seafood Ri ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Everything was delicious. The seafood Risotto was full of all kinds of wonderful seafood. Just perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

So accommodating!

Dined on May 6, 2016

I changed my reservation twice and they didn't even blink. The food was fantastic. The service was superb, and the drinks were lovely...would highly recommend for any occasion. The octopus salad was the best I've had in a long while.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than Little Italy...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Was in Bmore for three weeks on business. Was hands down the best Italian food I had while there, and the added bonus was a fantatsic staff, great setting, and availability of non reservation seats if you came when it opened. if back in Bmore to celebrate any business deal, will be using them as the venue as I also noticed they hosted large groups quite nicely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic. Cameron our wai ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was fantastic. Cameron our waiter was also superb. Hadn't been there in years and can't wait to go back. Perfect place to celebrate our 33rd anniversary. Delicious!

food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for a family member's birth ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went here for a family member's birthday. It was fantastic. Excellent service, recommendations from our server Sean, and atmosphere. We had the calamari saltati to start and there was plenty split amongst the four of us. With the excellent bread that was enough for an appetizer. We had particularly enjoyed the veal agnolotti and ravioli dell'amore. I had and enjoyed the salmolina cake and we also enjoyed the apple strudel a la mode with a salted caramel gelato. My only complaint is that I did not understand why such an upscale restaurant needed a TV at the bar and found it distracting.

food4
ambience5
service4

Our waiter was very personable. He knew ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waiter was very personable. He knew alot about the menu .The food was excellent. Prepared well with a great presentation.

food5
ambience5
service5

Haven't been there in a while but will d ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Haven't been there in a while but will definitely return. Great service and delicious food.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This was my second visit and I went back ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

This was my second visit and I went back to use the gift card I received from the first visit because of a bad dessert. This was a less pleasing experience. The atmosphere is generally snobby and the staff and clientele are less than welcoming if you don't look the part. I won't go back even though the food is pretty good. Go if you are snobby and condescending or can tolerate those people.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I dined at sotto sopra ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

My boyfriend and I dined at sotto sopra for my birthday. It was wonderful! Our server was very sweet as he greeted us with a glass of prosecco! We started with the Brie special..it was amazing! And for our entrees I had the pumpkin pasta (i get it everytime) it is soooo yummy !! My boyfriend had the Bronzino which he enjoyed as well. To finish the night our server was also kind enough to bring out a chocolate molten cake with a candle for me! Over all it was a very nice evening and I would defiantly recommend to all my friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

Gnocchi were tiny. Never seen this. Ca ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Gnocchi were tiny. Never seen this. Carbonara is cooked with cream which is a big no no. Fish selection was scant

food5
ambience5
service5

The octopus appetizer was excellent alon ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The octopus appetizer was excellent along with the polenta. Additionally, the wine list was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful birthday celebration. One of t ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful birthday celebration. One of the best meals we've ever had. Sotto Sopra was an outstanding restaurant.The ambience is more Italian, as you sit close to other tables. The wait staff were very genial and led us through a nice slow-paced meal. The meal was absolutely delicious. Highly recommend, especially for a celebratory meal.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Meh, was ok. Tight and expensive

Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was decent, but for the price, I expected more. Nice looking place though. $11 drinks is high. $35-$40 entrees was high.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably excellent

Dined on April 16, 2016

All of our dishes were excellent, richly flavorful. The squid-ink pasta with crab and crayfish, and the fettucine with osso buco ragu, were especially good. Home made pasta is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Evening at Sotta Sopra

Dined on April 13, 2016

We have dined at SS often, this time to celebrate two birthdays. Everything was outstanding, and extra care was shown to honor the birthday celebration, from a special welcome card to the way in which they handled our bringing in of our own cake. Food was spectacular, wine was even better, and the service very attentive. This IS our go-to special occasion restaurant in Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfetto!!!

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Also, the wait-staff -- including the person at the register who enthusiastically opened the door for us and was attentive throughout -- was positively superb and should receive special applause!!! I live in Montgomery County and come into Baltimore/Mt. Vernon frequently for their cultural offerings. I ALWAYS have either lunch or dinner at Sotta Sopra, although I am quite familiar with almost all of that area's other wonderful restaurants, having dined at them for various occasions! But Sotta Sopra always looms far ahead of the crowd!!! This time I brought a highly-discriminating neighborhood friend who was extremely impressed with the European vibe of the restaurant, its culinary wonders and, yes, it's talented and solicitous servers!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.