About Sotto Sopra

405 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
View Larger Map

Sotto Sopra is an Italian restaurant housed in a beautiful 19th century building just blocks north of Baltimore’s Harborplace on Charles Street. Sotto Sopra specializes in true contemporary Italian cuisine adapting farm to table. We buy local whenever it is possible. The perfect risotto, handmade pastas, roasted meats, local seafood, and regional produce are here for your total enjoyment.

Join us for our Power Lunch, featuring what's freshest and best in Italian cuisine. Two courses from our full lunch menu, $20.

Sotto Sopra invites you to dine for lunch, Monday through Saturdays and dinner every evening. Eat.Drink.Sleep.Dream--Italian

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am – 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 5:00 - 9:00pm Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm – 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm – 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry and Franklin St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 625-0534

Website:
http://www.sottosoprainc.com/

Entertainment:
Opera Night: Once a month on a Sunday evening, Sotto Sopra offers a multi-course pre-fixe menu along with live opera performances. Check our website for each month's menu.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Public Transit:
Downtown Trolley - Free Circulator

Executive Chef:
Riccardo Bosio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly Live Opera Nights with a multi course dinner.
Credit card secured reservations required at 410-625-0534 (credit cards will be charged for cancellations 48 hours or less).

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ambiance of Sotto Sopra's 19th century building in Baltimore's cultural district is the perfect partner with our contemporary Italian cuisine in creating special memories. Whether a rehearsal dinner,small wedding reception, family celebration or corporate events Sotto Sopra makes you the star.

Sotto Sopra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (52)
Romantic (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Authentic (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Historic (7)
Casual (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Live Music (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1540 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wait staff was friendly and professi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

The wait staff was friendly and professional. The meal timing was excellent. The cioppino was well put together with clams, mussels, fish, lobster, shrimp and just the right amount of vegetables with a delicious broth. Very nice. The room is gorgeous with murals, heavy drapes, and mirrors. Tables very close which made some of the serving difficult. All in all a delightful relaxing and delicious repas.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was great, and we've never h ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

Our service was great, and we've never had a bad meal here 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

They overbooked and we ended up going to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

They overbooked and we ended up going to another restaurant . We arrived and were told that they needed 15 minutes to seat us. We came back in 15 minutes and were advised that they needed 10 more minutes. We returned and were asked to wait another 10 minutes. Once 10 minutes passed, we returned to check on the table, and the hostess said that we were next on the list but couldn't let us know how long it would take to be seated. At this point we decided to dine elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

To be fair, I'll admit we did visit duri ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

To be fair, I'll admit we did visit during restaurant week. I arrived early for my reservation and was told I won't be seated for 30mins.

The layout of the restaurant lacks a formal waiting area and bar seating was limited that night. Fortunately we only had to wait for 10 mins.

Within ten minutes of being seated our waiter demanded we place our order for all three courses. Besides that the service was somewhat pleasant.

The best Gnocci di Ricotta I've had in downtown Baltimore is what comes to mind.

Thanks Chef Cohen!

All in all it was a good experience, I visit again in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This has been one of my most disappointi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

This has been one of my most disappointing experiences at a restaurant. Sotto Sopra was our favorite until this last experience. I came here with my son for his bday the night before he was leaving for a new job/new life/venture. I chose a restaurant I thought would create a special experience and I wrote this in advance. Omg, it was the opposite. We were seated in the worst area, worst table- by the bathroom and kitchen. Noisy with a wobbly table. I had no idea it was restaurant week but thought it would still be up to par- not! The beet salad I've had atleast a dozen times here was half the size and disappointing. I told my son, they have the best Branzino- not anymore - this was a minuscule portion and the dish was sooo disappointing. I'd rather have had the regular menu if this is what they do during restaurant week- but they shouldn't have. To me the $70 was a waste and it was not special. I feel bad writing this but I'm honest and I was disappointed and should have gone elsewhere for this last meal and a bday meal that turned out not as special as I requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

The ambiance was amazing, the food was s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The ambiance was amazing, the food was so well-made and delicious. Our waiter and the staff were so wonderful, genuine and sweet. They brought out an adorable dessert surprise for our anniversary. Definitely recommend! Thank you :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always wanted to go to Sotto Sopr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

I have always wanted to go to Sotto Sopra and finally went with a friend. Excellent food, beautifully presented, great service...did not realize it was restaurant week, so dessert was included in the deal...apple tart was delicious! I will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here many times- always gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

I have eaten here many times- always great!! Went for restaurant week and it did not disappoint!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, excellent food and gr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, excellent food and great ambiance! Despite it being a more upscale restaurant, they were very welcoming to my well behaved 4yr old. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and can't wait to dine there again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From their namesake drink to the last bi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

From their namesake drink to the last bite of dessert, it was a wonderful experience. Everyone who came to my table was gracious as well. It would be an ideal place for a date or special evening out.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the butternut squash lasagna, osso ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the butternut squash lasagna, osso buco, delmonico steak with ribeye...all the entrees pretty much and the desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sotto Sopra is a neighborhood institutio ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Sotto Sopra is a neighborhood institution in Baltimore's central Historic district. The menu is Italian, but eclectic and changing with frequent chef's choice special offerings. This was our first time there, so we went for lunch to give it a try. The ambience is wonderful, with old world very high ceilings, subdued elegant decor, and a quiet environment. The service is very good - friendly but professional. We each had a glass of their "house" (that's not their terminology) Chardonnay, and it was very good. My wife had grilled salmon, which she declared "excellent" (we were assured it was wild caught and fresh), and I had Pappardelle pasta with house made light tomato sauce and cubes of smoked mozzarella, which I had never tried before. The pasta was wonderful, the sauce was OK, and the smoked mozzarella was interesting, but not something I'd order again. They do have "European" portions, so don't expect overflowing plates, but the quality and preparation is first rate. We enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I have visited Sotta Sopra on a numerous ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

I have visited Sotta Sopra on a numerous occasions but boy ole boy were they busy this Sunday evening.. Although busy, the hostesses (I remember one's name being Lindsay) were spectacular - nice, professional, beautiful smiles all throughout the night. I would like to commend the wait staff for maneuvering through such tight spacing however never breaking stride and ensuring food was dropped off hot from the kitchen. I LOVE THIS RESTAURANT - I always have and my experience the other night has made me fall in love with it even more. The duck confit melted in my mouth and Lindsay's wine selection made my taste buds dance. Great staff, awesome food and one kick a$$ ambiance.. Thank you Sotta Sopra for a great night ...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fantastic. Great food, service, a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Always fantastic. Great food, service, and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, friendly and efficient serve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful, friendly and efficient server. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived on time, Saturday, January 14 ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived on time, Saturday, January 14, 2017, 1:45 pm. Though, the restaurant was not crowded, we had to wait for someone to come up front to seat us. The decor was nice with a huge Comedian del Art wall mural and chunks of mirror below. We ordered Papperadella and salmon for entrees and soft polenta snail rugout and salad appetizers. The food was good; but the salmon was small in portion (1" wide by 3" long). Disappointingly, bread was not served -- unless you paid $3! And the waiter did not seem to know much about the menu. For instance, I asked if tomatoes came with the salad. He said, "no". Yet several grape tomatoes accompanied the salad. I also asked if meat came with any of the pastas, again, "no". Then, he acknowledged pancetta is like bacon, and that came with several pastas. He was also slow to initially engage our table. Summing it up, I'd say the food was good. The service needs improvement.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

My girlfriend and I had a great time at ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

My girlfriend and I had a great time at Sotto Sopra. We went for restaurant week and the food and cocktails were fantastic. However, there were two drawbacks: 1. We made a reservation for 8:15 and then we had to wait 30-45 minutes to be seated. What is the point of a reservation if you have to wait that long? 2. The dining area was freezing. However, the food and drinks made up for both and I definitely would recommend the restaurant to others.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Oh my gosh. I have been living in the Mo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Oh my gosh. I have been living in the Mount Vernon area for 6 years and am now officially kicking myself in the butt for not coming to Sotto Sopra much sooner! My partner and I came for Restaurant Week and the menu was epic! I started with truffled polenta with snail ragout- HOMERUN. I continued with the pork ossobucco on wild mushroom risotto- seriously the most incredible meal I've ever had! I finished with the chocolate pistachio creme brûlée- not usually much of a dessert person but it was light and ridiculously full of flavor. The $35 bottles of wine were an excellent addition, too! As a person who was in the service industry for a decade, I will recommend and sing the praises of this establishment for a long time to come! I'm extra appreciative of our server, Anna K. for delivering top notch service. I know how servers can get during restaurant week and Anna was absolutely incredible every step of the way! I'll definitely be attending one of the live opera events in the coming months!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best... better than all the r ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Simply the best... better than all the rest! NEVER disappoints! Restaurant week deals are amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had their Restaurant Week menu, which ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had their Restaurant Week menu, which was only $20 per person ($15 if you only have the appetizer and main course). The mussels were excellent, although I'm not sure they were served in "Indian Curry" as indicated in the menu. The salmon was seared just right and the lavender honey sauce complemented it nicely. For dessert, we had their chocolate lava cake and tiramisu, both of which were solid, though unspectacular. We enjoyed the restaurant's decor as well.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great time at Sotto Sop ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We always have a great time at Sotto Sopra. I would give it 6 stars if I could. Food is exceptional, service is great, and overall it's just one of the best restaurants here in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent as usual. Went th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was excellent as usual. Went there NYE with friends and was not disappointed. Service was good, atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as always!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, the staff is very acco ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great restaurant, the staff is very accomodating and kind. The setting is great as well. We went there for new year's eve. The wine I wanted was not available so I had to settle and the food was lukewarm, I had to ask them to warm it for me. Other than that the place is great, I would recommend it.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant and have never h ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We love this restaurant and have never had a bad meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner with live music. Never ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious dinner with live music. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service and delicious food. Risott ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great service and delicious food. Risotto was amazing and the red sauces were very fresh and flavorful. Everything was great-thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took forever for cocktails to arrive, br ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Took forever for cocktails to arrive, brought on incorrect entree, brought an incorrect dessert and brought ice cold coffee. Extremely disappointing. Won't be returning.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The server was delightful and exceptiona ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The server was delightful and exceptionally knowledgeable as regards not only the menu items but the ingredients of which they are composed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding neighborhood gem! Phenomenal ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Outstanding neighborhood gem! Phenomenal service, food and atmosphere! A "must" for all foodies!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Sotto for Christmas dinner wit ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I went to Sotto for Christmas dinner with my family as I am 38 weeks pregnant and didn't have the energy to cook. We arrived and were told they were behind 10-20 minutes. We were not seated until 45 minutes after our reservation. Their apologies rang hollow as I dealt with my cranky 4 year old and my own growing hunger. Our entrees took way too long come out considering we just ordered pasta. The restaurant offered nothing for our horrible experience besides hollow apologies and charging us $15 for a half portion of pasta for my 4 year old.

I have been going to Sotto for years and I am done. Given it was Christmas, we tipped and left but we will never return. There are a plethora of great choices in Baltimore for a special dinner. Sotto needs to step it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent meal. Wonderful recommendatio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent meal. Wonderful recommendations. One of the best dirty Martinis and Perfect Manhattans we've ever enjoyed. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent friendly service. Wonderfully ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent friendly service. Wonderfully hip host. Bartender amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place, fantastic food, all good

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great place, fantastic food, all good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Sotto Sopra throughout the year ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We go to Sotto Sopra throughout the year; however, it is our Christmas place. We always feel welcome, the food is good, the service is always friendly and attentive, and the ambience is excellent. This year they even had valet service early in the day. What could be more wonderful than all of this with my special man at Christmas.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Christmas tradition for my husband and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A Christmas tradition for my husband and me. The salads were fresh. Entrees didn't seem as tasty as in the past. Desserts were delicious. Great wine selection. We missed the white table cloths! Staff is always friendly and helpful. Always pleased to share a few moments of Christmas with Sotto Sopra!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the bread and olive oil to start. I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love the bread and olive oil to start. I had the goat cheese beet salad and my son had the warm octopus salad. Fantastic! He also started with the Sotto Sopra cocktail - very good. We both had the whole Branzino. Best I've ever had! Too full for dessert but we've had their fabulous desserts in the past and will have dessert next trip to Baltimore. Sotto Sopra is our favorite Baltimore restaurant!!! Worth the drive from Frederick!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was extremely busy and the staff was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was extremely busy and the staff was setting up for a party on both sides of us for a long time, so that was disconcerting. And the head maitre'd and the wait staff and the reception lady were going over where to seat people, right at my elbow, and over my shoulder when I was eating my entree, which I found disturbing, so I waited till they were done. They could have been somewhere else, not right at a diner's table. We were not asked if we wanted to order a vegetable side dish, so were surprised when there wasn't a vegetable with our meals. So, we ordered a side of broccolini, but when it came, we had long finished our meals, so we sent it back. The server would be wise to ask us when we ordered if we'd like to order a side vegetable, since we didn't see it listed on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

It is consistently one of the top restau ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It is consistently one of the top restaurants in Baltimore. There are many good choices in Baltimore, nowadays, but SottoSopra remains my favorite.

You start with the service, when you walk in and you meet your waiter/waitress. Pleasant, well mannered, smiling (and funny), attentive but not obtrusive. You continue with the menu selection, from simple to more elaborate. All ingredients are outstanding and the combination of flavors delightful.

If you haven't been there yet, you're missing out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.