About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: 7135270609x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Houston
Best Ambiance
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Special Occasion (61)
Romantic (58)
Notable Wine List (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for a Date (12)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Live Music (6)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Houston has a gem of a Italian Restauran ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Houston has a gem of a Italian Restaurant in Sorrento.

Located a few blocks in Montrose from downtown. this elegant restaurant with great food, service and atmosphere has become on of our family's favorite meeting spots.

Their Sunday Brunch special is incredible with all of their signature dishes available on special pricing.

I believe I have eaten everything on their menu during the last 4 years and everything was incredible.

I tell all my friends that I have eaten the best meal of my life at Sorrento. Seriously!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Sorrentos several times ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been to Sorrentos several times in the past and found the restaurant, food and service very good. That was not the case this particular Saturday night - the tables seemed crowded together, the sound level was loud and I believe our waiter was overwhelmed. The food from the kitchen was unevenly timed and certainly uneven in quality and taste. Although the shortrib dish was tasty, the lamb chops were heavily dosed with cheese and the fish was inedible - Don't think we will be returning. When we mentioned our concerns to the concierge on the way out, her response was that "it was Saturday night"....seems all the more reason to have your A game going and not sending in the B, or shall I say C team!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The ambiance is charming and the menu is ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The ambiance is charming and the menu is diverse with a wide range of choices. There are solid classic Italian choices mixed with some nice innovative choices. That was what drew us there to begin with. The food was hit or miss. Salad was overdressed but the duck was underseasoned. The service was wonderful and the bread was a nice touch. The veal meatballs were quite good. We will give them another try. All in all a good night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, excellent meal, just the righ ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

As always, excellent meal, just the right amount of attention from the owner and wait staff, and all had a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday at the Sunday Brunch. The food, wine and service were outstanding. The Osso Bucco, Snapper and the Veal Piccata were each excellent as was the Tuscany Bean Soup, Lobster Bisque and the Escargot. The older gentleman at the door waited on us and he knew his wines and suggested two bottles for our celebration that were outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Private Room, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance. Beautiful piano music. O ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great ambiance. Beautiful piano music. Outstanding service. And the food really good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you like great northern Italian cooki ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

If you like great northern Italian cooking, there is none better in Houston. Our group of four enjoyed appetizers of salad, carpaccio, butternut squash soup, and mushroom risotto, all absolutely delicious. One diner had the veal rib, and the other three had the halibut, and all raved about the dishes and the accompanying accompaniments. Dessert included one of the best gelatos we have had in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tried the HRW menu for lunch. Did not di ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Tried the HRW menu for lunch. Did not disappoint .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sorrento is a great place for a power lu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Sorrento is a great place for a power lunch. Great food and wait staff. This is one of my favorite places to take clients. My close rate after lunch is very high!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I discovered this restaurant on a busine ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I discovered this restaurant on a business trip a year ago and It is on my radar every time I travel to Houston

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic! They are a high class place.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Fantastic! They are a high class place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend and I went for Sunday brunch d ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My friend and I went for Sunday brunch during Houston Restaurant Week. The food was very good. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu and offered good suggestions. The restaurant is very nice; however, the noise level was, in my opinion, high. The dining areas seemed a little crowded. I've not been there before so I don't know if this is the standard set-up or if extra tables were available due to HRW.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was slow but pretty good foo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was slow but pretty good food. My friend ordered the chicken dish from hrw which was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food is outstanding and the service ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food is outstanding and the service impeccable. I've dined here several times and love the atmosphere, the food, and the service. It's consistently a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time to have dinner ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our second time to have dinner at Sorrento and it did not disappoint. The two other couples we invited to join us before the theater had never been there and loved it. The wait staff was quite prompt and met our needs totally.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our all time favorite thi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is one of our all time favorite things to do in Houston. It's the Westheimer pick of the liter. I love the food and the presentation is amazing. Takes me right back to Italy from the artisan crafted breads to the desserts your engaged with conversation with your waiter who knows the menu, the wine and anything you want to know about preperations. If your wanting to impress this is the place to go. The item I love the best has to be the sea bass. They are known for it and well deserved reviews are totally on the mark. Just go and be pleasantly pleased.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening with delicious food an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Wonderful evening with delicious food and friends! The only negative about the entire evening is that it was a bit warm. Could have been the corner we were tucked into (and there were 10 of us). It would have been nice if the piano player would have played more too. Sadly, he had quite a few intermissions that evening. We will definitely go back to Sorrentos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely delighted with the spectacul ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Absolutely delighted with the spectacular food and superb service. Could not have been more pleased.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tired and in need of a perking up. The f ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Tired and in need of a perking up. The food was so mediocre to poor if you are a food fan don't go. The veal piccata was paper thin, over salted, over lemon, and flour tasting without a nice seared crust. The arugula had that old slimy taste and the carpaccio was served on a room temperature plate and appeared to be ground meat of some sort not beautiful thin sliced steak. Maybe in its day it was a great place - not now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Friend's birthday, we were seated after ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Friend's birthday, we were seated after a few minutes delay. Corner table. Attentive waiter who had waited on us previously. Food was good value and delicious as it was Restaurant Week.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Their normal excellent food seemed to be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Their normal excellent food seemed to be compromised by taking too many reservations to accommodate HTW diners. It made the seating a bit crowded as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Our first visit to Sorrento was outstand ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our first visit to Sorrento was outstanding. Food was great, especially the salmon filet. Peter, our server, made the occasion. He was attentive, sharp and delightful. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the second birthday visit for m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was the second birthday visit for my girlfriend and I, and probably my fifth visit overall. NOT ONCE has Sorrento failed to impress. An elegant facility, it's obvious that the entire staff is well trained, takes pride in their jobs, and aims for customer satisfaction.

Is this an inexpensive venue? No. For a couple, expect to spend at least $100-$150 for a respectable dinner and a glass of wine each. However, the value is exceptional and is well worth it!

Never been here? Here's what to expect: a hip location, friendly valet parking, a clean, elegant, grand interior, a HUGE selection of complimentary breads to choose from, top-notch, professional service from a well-dressed staff, absolutely delicious food, and a thanks for your patronage on the way out.

The facility is fit for groups, business meetings, and romantic meals. Live piano music is sometimes available.

On the way out, the hostess said, "Come again."

We will.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You will not be disappointed with the fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

You will not be disappointed with the food and service in Sorrento. You pay the price though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The bread basket was just outstanding an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The bread basket was just outstanding and the portions were really good. Very fresh taste and quite flavorful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We drive in from the suburbs to dine at ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We drive in from the suburbs to dine at Sorrento a couple times a year and they are consistently good. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely delightful experience all aro ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Absolutely delightful experience all around—from being greeted by the owner upon arrival, to being seated at the exact table we requested near the pianist, to the delicious food, impeccable service and lovely ambience. The evening could not have been any better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite. Good and service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is our favorite. Good and service is well beyond what you normally get in Houston. Waiters know their stuff! We highly recommend Sorrento's for all of our friends. A true gem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and ambiance. Food and s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Food and service were good and the restaurant is very nice for a quiet dinner on special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love everything about Sorrento's. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We love everything about Sorrento's. The bread, the menu selections, the specials, as well as the desserts. Our waiter was awesome and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were outstanding. Felt ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Felt the wine by the bottle was reasonable for the quality but by the glass was overpriced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was well prepared/ served hot. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was well prepared/ served hot. Great presentation - had lunch during HRW. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

wonderful lunch, beautiful atmosphere, g ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

wonderful lunch, beautiful atmosphere, great meal very tasty and perfect lunch experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, service and experience. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful food, service and experience. Will go back!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey, and we frequent some of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A little pricey, and we frequent some of the finest restaurants in Houston, so we know what is pricey and what is not, but overall the experience was very good. The food was great and the service attentive. Starting with my beet salad was excellent and my wife found the burrata salad fantastic. The veal chop and Chilean sea bass were both great. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I would of like for the manager or owner ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I would of like for the manager or owner whoever was there that day to be more attentive to all the tables not just certain ones.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very poor cut of salmon, ordered MR (as ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very poor cut of salmon, ordered MR (as salmon should be) and got sushi. Next attempt was medium. Why bother. The quality of this salmon was similar to low end chains. I would have expected more from a restaurant that is fairly high-priced. Had to wait for service although traffic was light. On top of that the restaurant was overly hot. Granted it was 100 degrees outside, but again at these prices, you expect more.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Everything was great. Food, service and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was great. Food, service and atmosphere excellent!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Sunday brunch with great service. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely Sunday brunch with great service.Waiters tried hard to please all.Menu was perfect for our picky family.Something for everyone.We plan to return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.