About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: 7135270609x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Service
Houston
1 More
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (42)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Private Room (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Business Meals (13)
Live Music (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Authentic (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Cozy (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fireplace (5)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I celebrated our 7 year W ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 7 year Wedding Anniversary at Sorrento's and the staff was EXCELLENT.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El ambiente está totalmente pasado de mo ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on November 20, 2016

El ambiente está totalmente pasado de moda, la comida de regular a mala, recetas muy viejas y la preparación deficiente.

Los meseros son serviciales, pero muy ruidosos (lo que más nos molestó es el escándalo cuando meten los cubiertos a los cajones).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Top of the food chain restaurant here. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Top of the food chain restaurant here. Sorrento is definitely one of my favorites.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasting menu was perfect and the service ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Tasting menu was perfect and the service was, as always, amazing. Thank you Steve, you were a great server.

Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance, Service Staff, Food and Wine.. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ambiance, Service Staff, Food and Wine...The entire experience was wonderful!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem, I can't believe we've ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Neighborhood gem, I can't believe we've not been here before, the service from door to table is phenomenal, food was exceptional, and the wine we had was out of this world.

There seems to be a bit of off the menu things we are going to try next time, with table side preparations of risotto to impress your friends and will try to leave some room for desserts.

A great restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a wonderful place to dine. Food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This is a wonderful place to dine. Food and service are exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a new restaurant to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were looking for a new restaurant to try with some friends and saw Sorrento on Open Table. The menu was interesting and we were pleasantly surprised at the size and ambiance of the restaurant. We had a comfortable, well located table and the service was excellent and well paced. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience. The service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great experience. The service was great and the food wonderful. Of course I will back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I can not say enough about Sorrento Hous ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I can not say enough about Sorrento Houston. If you have never tried dining at this true Houston treasure, you have to get here as soon as you can.

Start with the butter nut squash soup, followed by a great salad (I love the mediterranean) and then your favorite. Mine is the Sea Bass or Lobster and Steak. Really, I am serious, I have tried everything and have not had anything that was not stellar.

You have to try the risotto served in the parmesan wheel. A classic. Dessert, take your choice. Mine is the creme brulee. If you are in the Greater Houston area, YOU HAVE to try Sorrento!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A truly exceptional Italian restaurant w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A truly exceptional Italian restaurant with a fantastic waitstaff. There is so much to like about this romantic restaurant. The food is spectacular, with many different kinds of dishes to satisfy every taste. Terrific wine list and desserts. A great pick for a special evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful evening. Our server, Steven, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A wonderful evening. Our server, Steven, was amazing. His timing was great and his recommendations made for a great dining experience. The quality and the temperature of the food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a find! We were in Houston for one ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

What a find! We were in Houston for one night and found this restaurant thru Open Table. On a Monday night no less, we walked in to beautiful piano music, were greeted by name, and seated at a candle-lit table. The waiter, Steve, was very helpful in suggesting menu items such as the mushroom risotto prepared table side inside a large cheese wheel. The duck was cooked in a sabayon sauce (delicious) and my partner enjoyed the chicken gnocchi. No room for dessert, but the choices looked fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Try the Arugula and crab stu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food. Try the Arugula and crab stuffed pasta!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, service was great, atm ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was amazing, service was great, atmosphere was awesome. Will definitely be going back and also recommending this place to friends.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This fifth or sixth time there. Always h ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This fifth or sixth time there. Always have a good time and great food. Oh yes, the service is outstanding.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good and service were very good, as alwa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Good and service were very good, as always. The pianist was outstanding, nice touch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All the pasta is handmade and tastes ver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

All the pasta is handmade and tastes very fresh. The food is outstanding and the ambiance is nice. This is a good date spot or a nice night out. The service is attentive as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sorrento is probably the closest I've ev ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Sorrento is probably the closest I've ever gotten to feeling like I'm back in Rome. The food, atmosphere, and the service is all reminiscent of Rome. If you want to eat the best Italian food in the city, go here.

My fiancé had the fish of the day with mushroom risotto. I had the gnocchi with shrimp. Everything about the meal was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I were there for a pre-the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My friend and I were there for a pre-theatre dinner. The service and attention to detail was excellent. The food, I had the duck breast and my friend had a ravioli dish, was quite delicious and of reasonable value. The ambiance was perfect for conversing and the piano player added a special touch. I will definitely return and recommend Sorrento to my friends.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fresh and delicious. Parking is ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was fresh and delicious. Parking is my only real complaint; I don't like being forced to valet. I would come back as food & service were very good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My second time here, and it was amazing ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My second time here, and it was amazing again. I still can't believe it has not been on my radar in the past. But it's moved into my top 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch was way beyond our expecta ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Sunday brunch was way beyond our expectation. Ambiance was romantic, and service was prompt, professional, and friendly. The value was great. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Great food, good wine, good cocktails, excellent service, nice ambiance.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Read previous reviews, and they made me ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Read previous reviews, and they made me want to try this place. It lived up to the reviews; the good was very good and the service was excellent. It was a Sunday evening, so the noise level was minimal. The live music (piano) added to the overall ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Houston has a gem of a Italian Restauran ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Houston has a gem of a Italian Restaurant in Sorrento.

Located a few blocks in Montrose from downtown. this elegant restaurant with great food, service and atmosphere has become on of our family's favorite meeting spots.

Their Sunday Brunch special is incredible with all of their signature dishes available on special pricing.

I believe I have eaten everything on their menu during the last 4 years and everything was incredible.

I tell all my friends that I have eaten the best meal of my life at Sorrento. Seriously!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Sorrentos several times ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have been to Sorrentos several times in the past and found the restaurant, food and service very good. That was not the case this particular Saturday night - the tables seemed crowded together, the sound level was loud and I believe our waiter was overwhelmed. The food from the kitchen was unevenly timed and certainly uneven in quality and taste. Although the shortrib dish was tasty, the lamb chops were heavily dosed with cheese and the fish was inedible - Don't think we will be returning. When we mentioned our concerns to the concierge on the way out, her response was that "it was Saturday night"....seems all the more reason to have your A game going and not sending in the B, or shall I say C team!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The ambiance is charming and the menu is ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The ambiance is charming and the menu is diverse with a wide range of choices. There are solid classic Italian choices mixed with some nice innovative choices. That was what drew us there to begin with. The food was hit or miss. Salad was overdressed but the duck was underseasoned. The service was wonderful and the bread was a nice touch. The veal meatballs were quite good. We will give them another try. All in all a good night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, excellent meal, just the righ ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

As always, excellent meal, just the right amount of attention from the owner and wait staff, and all had a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far our favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This is by far our favorite restaurant in Houston. Food is delicious and the service is great. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my husband's birthda ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's birthday at the Sunday Brunch. The food, wine and service were outstanding. The Osso Bucco, Snapper and the Veal Piccata were each excellent as was the Tuscany Bean Soup, Lobster Bisque and the Escargot. The older gentleman at the door waited on us and he knew his wines and suggested two bottles for our celebration that were outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Private Room, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance. Beautiful piano music. O ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great ambiance. Beautiful piano music. Outstanding service. And the food really good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you like great northern Italian cooki ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

If you like great northern Italian cooking, there is none better in Houston. Our group of four enjoyed appetizers of salad, carpaccio, butternut squash soup, and mushroom risotto, all absolutely delicious. One diner had the veal rib, and the other three had the halibut, and all raved about the dishes and the accompanying accompaniments. Dessert included one of the best gelatos we have had in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tried the HRW menu for lunch. Did not di ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Tried the HRW menu for lunch. Did not disappoint .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sorrento is a great place for a power lu ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Sorrento is a great place for a power lunch. Great food and wait staff. This is one of my favorite places to take clients. My close rate after lunch is very high!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I discovered this restaurant on a busine ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I discovered this restaurant on a business trip a year ago and It is on my radar every time I travel to Houston

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic! They are a high class place.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Fantastic! They are a high class place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend and I went for Sunday brunch d ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My friend and I went for Sunday brunch during Houston Restaurant Week. The food was very good. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the menu and offered good suggestions. The restaurant is very nice; however, the noise level was, in my opinion, high. The dining areas seemed a little crowded. I've not been there before so I don't know if this is the standard set-up or if extra tables were available due to HRW.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was slow but pretty good foo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was slow but pretty good food. My friend ordered the chicken dish from hrw which was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food is outstanding and the service ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food is outstanding and the service impeccable. I've dined here several times and love the atmosphere, the food, and the service. It's consistently a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.