About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: (713) 527-0609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (32)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Private Room (13)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (13)
Live Music (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fireplace (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dinner with friends. Food was ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great dinner with friends. Food was very good and each of us had different items. Lamb with Goat Cheese is deadly!. Enjoyed wine and atmosphere. Very relaxed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought my work team in on a Friday fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

I brought my work team in on a Friday for our new year's lunch and everything was perfect. We were in what I would call the wine room (off to the left as you enter the restaurant). Our service team was attentive but unobtrusive. The food was delicious. The ambiance was lovely. I always enjoy my visits here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had reserved the dinner for an anniver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

I had reserved the dinner for an anniversary celebration. Raul made sure we had plenty of attention. The table and it's setting was romantic and quite comfortable. The live piano music added to the beauty of its environment. The whole Branzino was amazing ! Overall quite a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, , Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

GET THE PANNA COTTA!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

GET THE PANNA COTTA!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute restaurant, great food and exceptio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Cute restaurant, great food and exceptional service. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience! Wait staff was excelle ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great experience! Wait staff was excellent!!! Will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing risotto with mushrooms♥️

vip
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing risotto with mushrooms♥️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a great meal in a wonderful setti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Always a great meal in a wonderful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough good things about Sorre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Can't say enough good things about Sorrento! Our waiter Jorge was outstanding. It's a beautiful restaurant and very romantic. Our food was phenomenal. I ordered the Lobster Tortellini and my dining partner ordered the Gnocchi with Shrimp Spiedini. I will definitely be going back. Thanks Open Table for the recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere, expemplary service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, expemplary service. The food was excellent. I recommend the Branzino fish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good ambiance. Really nice p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food, good ambiance. Really nice place for a hot date. The waiters were very nice and we even received a free dessert!!

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, , Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service!! One of our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful food and service!! One of our favorite places in Houston!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful;staff was very ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything was wonderful;staff was very accommodating. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Went on New Years Eve Signif ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent

Went on New Years Eve

Significant number of choices on a four course menu

One of Houston's very best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of 4 on New Year's Eve. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were a party of 4 on New Year's Eve. We were rushed through our meal despite our repeated requests to slow down the pace. It's a shame that a restaurant as good as Sorrento does not realize the damage that they do to their reputation by treating customers in such a way. Food was as expected except for the pasta dish which was mushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Very pleasant dining experience, as usua ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very pleasant dining experience, as usual . One criticism: There was a telephone on the wall about 5 feet from our table (near the bar area). The volume on the ring tone was turned up high. Thus, every time the phone rang it, it made a loud and annoying ring sound that would momentarily distract us from our otherwise enjoyable dining experience. In the future, I would suggest turning down the ring tone on that particular phone during peak lunch and dinner hours. I presume that there is at least one other phone in the restaurant (perhaps near the hostess station in the lobby of the restaurant) where calls can be received during the peak hours. Otherwise, Sorrento is and remains one of our favorite restaurants in the Montrose area.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Asked for a quiet table for conversation ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Asked for a quiet table for conversation and the table we were given worked. Still close enough to the piano to enjoy the music. Service was excellent, the server was helpful with suggestions for food and wine. The menu had many interesting options and the food was very tasty. Highly recommended for a nice evening with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner for our daughter.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Birthday dinner for our daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It was wonderful! We all had great meal ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was wonderful! We all had great meals and everyone seemed enjoy each dish. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed lunch at this lovely restaura ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed lunch at this lovely restaurant a few days after Christmas. The restaurant was not crowded so we were able to carry on a conversation. The service was attentive, while not overbearing. The food was delicious, presentation was attractive, and the experience was most enjoyable. Would definitely return to this delightful spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked this for my Wife's birthday, an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I booked this for my Wife's birthday, and it was a complete success, from the food to the servers all of it was perfect. I will be recommending this place to anyone who asks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service from the host to bread server, w ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service from the host to bread server, water refills and waiter were all great. The menu is very authentic to what you see at restaurants in Sorrento, Italy and the food was incredible! The tiramisu for dessert was an amazing way to finish the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Christmas dinner

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing Christmas dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve tradition

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve tradition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with friends to celebrate Christ ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went with friends to celebrate Christmas eve 2016. We usually have a wonderful time at Sorento. This time the noise level was extremely loud and annoying making conversation impossible. When we sat down there was a large family with children at the bar carrying on conversations at the top of their voices punctuated by screaming laughter. They were eventually seated next to us at a very large put together table for the 10 or 12 of them and the noise level became even louder. To add insult to injury, as diners and staff were trying to squeeze their way around the large table they were not bumping one of my guest's chair over and over again. Not the experience we expect at Sorento.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Christmas Eve

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were seated at a table for 5 people w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were seated at a table for 5 people when our group consisted of 6 adults and a small child. We were in a back room where it was not so noisy and even though the ambience was not quite as nice as the front, it was easier to talk. The service was very slow and they only offered some bread once. The waiter seemed offended when I asked if we could have some menus. The food was ok but nothing special. No one asked how everything was until we were leaving. We were celebrating a birthday which I had noted when making the reservation and there was no acknowledgement at all. I don't think I will ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food and service were EXCELLENT. The e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food and service were EXCELLENT. The egg yolk raviolo was the highlight of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are never disappointed in this place. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We are never disappointed in this place. They are very attentive, great food and the presentations are spectacular. We had reservations at noon and called to add two more family members. Table was perfect and cannot say enough about the quality of food. This place rocks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch is an incredible value! Food was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Brunch is an incredible value! Food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent ambiance and service. Great fo ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent ambiance and service. Great food for brunch. Dinner is not bad.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We tried Sorento for the first time as a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We tried Sorento for the first time as a special dinner for our eldest daughter before heading to see the Houston Symphony. Any time a restaurant has a chef's tasting, or the like, we like to get that because it gives a good idea of the different varieties of food they have there. We were certainly not disappointed! Everything was just delicious! The only negative we found was that, as part of a 5-course meal, the fish dish was a bit heavy to go with everything else too.

Our particular waiter seemed a bit out of place, however, with his strange accent in the way he tried to say the names of the dishes; he shuffled his feet when he walked; and had a slightly unkempt appearance for a place of this caliber. But overall, most excellent! Definitely will be going back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Raúl our waiter was outstanding. Great s ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Raúl our waiter was outstanding. Great service !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service could be better

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service could be better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food failed to rise to the occasion ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food failed to rise to the occasion ie roasted garlic barely warm. No spoon for soup. No balsamic vinegar for caprese. Too salty gnocchi and shrimp dish.

True Italian should be light and fresh not heavy and salty.

Bread should be served warm w olive oil n vinegar.

Impeccable service and lovely ambiance made up for lacklusterish food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food; service by Francisco was ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful food; service by Francisco was impeccable and the food was magnificent... a great night all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant dining experience with attentiv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Pleasant dining experience with attentive service, warm atmosphere and food that while familiar is very well executed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. food and service are excellent. Unfortunately, they ran out of the halibut just before we got there, but the sea bass was good. I had the veal chop and it was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere for special occasions. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great atmosphere for special occasions. Waitstaff is very friendly, helpful, and attentive. Great food And wines.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

best italian in Houston

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

best italian in Houston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.