Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: (713) 527-0609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (38)
GoodForDates (35)
Anniversaries (33)
See All
Romance (30)
QuietConversation (25)
Birthdays (23)
NotableWineList (19)
Foodies (18)
BusinessMeals (17)
Authentic (16)
NeighborhoodGem (15)
CreativeCuisine (15)
LiveMusic (12)
Cozy (11)
WorthTheDrive (10)
Brunch (9)
PrivateRoom (8)
Groups (8)
PrePostTheatre (8)
Lunch (7)
TastingMenu (6)
SundayLunch (6)
Casual (5)
HandcraftedCocktails (5)
HotSpot (4)
PeopleWatching (4)
Fun (3)
ComfortFood (3)
LocalIngredients (2)
GlutenFree (2)
Healthy (2)
ScenicView (1)
BarSeating (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
Seasonal (1)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our daughter's birthday. The food, service and ambiance was perfect. Ricardo took very good care of us as did the young waiter who brought the bread and refilled the tea.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of the best brunch meals I've ever had. The filets were AMAZING. I'd put them up against any restaurant. I ordered a mushroom omelet and it was the second best one I've ever had (the best had crabmeat, so it's not a fair comparison). The service was top notch. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was very good. The service was even better. They waited to bring me the check until I asked for it, which allowed me to hang out with my date for over an hour after we had finished eating. It was very enjoyable for both of us. Highly recommend this place. When I made my reservation through Open Table, I requested a secluded table for a romantic dinner, and that's what I got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service and atmosphere were outstanding. However, food was average. Doubt I will revisit restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is one of our favorite date night places. It's quiet enough that you can have a conversation and not feel like you're yelling at one another. The food is amazing. We love the torchetti and spicy sausage dish and the beef short rib is delicious. The service is always attentive but not intrusive. We would recommend this restaurant to any of our friends and family.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was professional and warm, the food was EXCELLENT. It is the best Italian food I have had in Houston. Sorrento also offers the best selection of homemade breads I have even seen. Everything was presented so nicely.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Lord of the flies. We ordered the tableside risotto and when our waiter opened the cheese wheel to pour the risotto in it was full of fruit flies. Then the rest of the evening we were strafed by them. Crawling on the table, buzzing our heads, dive bombing into our wine. We won't be back ever.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food, the bread basket was amazing!! Sergio was our waiter, and along with the other staff we were very well taken care of. This was a fun place for dinner and someplace I would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Alex Bautista gave top notch personal service and provided excellent chef special recommendations. Great ambiance and live piano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

As always, high quality tasty food and good service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day. Our server was fantastic and the music from the piano was nice!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Italian in Houston!! Live piano player really adds that special touch. Our fourth time for Mother's Day. The food is always fresh and consistent. Excellent varieties of bread.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time at Sorrento's and it was memorable. We had the tasting menu along with the wine pairings and everything was wonderful!!! Our waiter Edgar had perfectly timed attentiveness. Highly recommend and will definitely return. Highlight was the egg ravioli, the blood orange "cosmos" (that Edgar suggested over a cosmo), and the Chambord cream with the panacotta.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful food & service in a beautiful restaurant. Great piano.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Came here for a nice dinner before prom, best decision ever. The food was amazing ordered gnocchi and my date ordered the classic lasagna both were spectacular. For desert we had an apple tarte with vanilla gelato that was fantastic. The only downside I could find to was that it's almost uncomfortable being there because all the dining guests are so stiff and serious, throws the romantic vibe off. If you're young like we are you might get a couple judgemental stares so be mindful of that. Also, we believe the only nonalcoholic drink they have is water because that's what they served us, no questions asked. Overall, it was a nice experience for the two of us.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I had an amazing dinner here! Perfect ambience and the food was outstanding! Great service from all staff .... could not fault this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Thank you very for a great evening. Service was amazing and food delicious !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food and service. The staff was helpful in finding us an out of the way table we requested to accommodate the baby we brought.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband, my daughter, and myself dined at Sorrento's last Saturday. We were seated in the middle of the restaurant which was nice. It wasn't that busy so all of the servers ended up standing around in the room and I felt like we were in full display. I don't know about my family but I felt uncomfortable. Our waiter was nice but constantly coming up to us asking how we liked our food. We had 3 salads, 2 entree's, a half a bottle of wine, and 1 cup of coffee. No dessert. That totaled $178. Including the tip our dinner was well over $200. I'm very confused why our bill was so high.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Came to Sorrento's for lunch.
Service was outstanding.
Food was good, ordered lamb chops, 4/5 stars.
Cocktails fantastic, had blood orange martini and another that was custom made, fabulous!
Dessert was good, ambiance very nice.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My favorite place in Houston!!! Best food and staff!! I look forward to every meal here!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our second time visiting Sorrento and it didn't disappoint. The wait staff is very attentive and helpful. Great ambiance with a piano player. The meat dishes are OK, but the pastas really stand out. Highlight on this visit was the gnocchi.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, great ambiance, piano player set the mood. Great dinner.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and service was, and has been before excellent. The egg yolk raviolo was the highlight of the meal. The wine selection that goes with the Chef's Tasting Menu is spot on.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always hesitate to eat out on a holiday for many reasons - small, fixed menus, overcrowding, waiting time, etc. but we know that we can always count on Sorrento, no matter what the day or time of year. We were there for Easter and although they did have a special Easter menu, it was very extensive and it was a la carte. So much better than a fixed "choose this or that, choose from 3 courses for x amount of dollars. The food is always amazing and the service is always beyond wonderful. The atmosphere is always lovely and having live music in the background adds to the ambiance. We have eaten at many fine dining restaurants in Houston, especially as new ones come on board but always go back to Sorrento because we know they will never fail us. The owner is very caring and takes time to visit tables and really listens to comments about the restaurant, the food, etc. The manager, who has become dear to us, is one of the many reasons we continue to go back to the restaurant. His work is exemplary. All the waiters, not just the one waiting on us, stop to see how we are doing, how the food is, adjust napkins, ask about drinks, and the overall impression is, that they all work so well as a team and all care about their customers. I truly believe they all know the magic is repeat business and they all work on that very hard.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Was there for Easter brunch. The Classic Eggs benedict was equisit - perfectly prepared! Get it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sorrento is a long time stand-by choice... and the reason is that it has delivered an outstanding dining experience for a long time. We are always impressed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

In the overall it is a good place to eat. Only regret is the over price, it is really expensive, however the food is creative and great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Outstanding for business lunch or fine dining. Food, service and atmosphere are excellent quality.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Raoul was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food and service were superb!!!! I will return and recommend friends and family.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Once again, Sorrento hits a home run. We celebrated a birthday with great cuisine, fantastic wine, and service beyond belief.

This has become a "Must Experience" for every Houstonian and their out-of-town guests. Incredible and enjoyable. I would give it 15 stars if I could

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went for dinner before the symphony. Great bread selection and roasted garlic with oil/vinegar to start things off. Everyone loved their appetizers--the mushroom risotto was a big hit. Entrees (loved their handmade pasta) and dessert were also great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food is excellent. Service is alway great. I enjoy eating there a lot.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Saturday evening was our first visit to Sorrento and it was a great experience. The food was perfectly prepared and presented, and our waiter, Edgar provided perfect service. Cheers to bartender Frank, too! We will definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food, and they are super freindly. I loved the service, and the waiter gave good recommendations for the menu. It makes a great date night.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

You can not beat Sorrento for a wonderful Sunday Brunch. First of all, their brunch special is an incredible value. Second, you get some of the best cuisine Houston has to offer.

My favorite soup in the State of Texas is their butternut squash soup. The taste is out of this world.

I had the filet mignon which was perfectly cooked medium rare. I normally have the Sea Bass or Lamb. All good.

Topped off with creme brulee and a spoon full of my wife's bread pudding. A wonderful coffee after and I was done. Perfect meal with a wonderful atmosphere and world class service. I love this place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great Service. Great food. On weekends they have a pianist play which makes a nice background atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I had not been here in a long time and forgot how wonderful this place is. Very romantic, excellent service and outstanding food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Jesse was our waiter and was great.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.