Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

4.8
1877 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(713) 527-0609
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
See restaurant website for more information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Whitney & Taft
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Piano
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1877 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I just wanted to share my incredible experience at Sorrento. Everything from the food, to the service, and the dessert. Our waiter; Edgar was . He was so attentive to all of our needs, and genuinely cared that our experience was great. I would recommend Sorrento to all of my friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Love this restaurant! Great, romantic ambiance. Enjoyed the piano player. The waitstaff was outstanding !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Sergio our waiter, awesome

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Excellent meal and wonderful ambiance. Worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

What an outstanding restaurant! Best of all: It is walking distance to our place! From the second you walk in, the service was top-notch. Our server, Francisco, was super attentive and on point about his recommendations, though I doubt anything could have been described as a bad meal here. The vast majority of the plates we saw the staff taking away were completely empty.

I am not sure if it is an every dinne thing, but we had a live piano player, which made the meal very enjoyable.

My pasta melted in my mouth! It was absolutely the best pasta I have had in Houston, TX. No doubt we will be coming back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere! Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

excellent pianist; very expensive wine list (3x retail value not the traditional 2x)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Our overall experience at Sorrento’s was exceptional, from the moment we were greeted by the hostess, to receipt of the bill. The food was outstanding, and our waiter made sure every detail was to our satisfaction.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Salad was excellent. Sea bass was mediocre, but the spinach was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Very inexperienced waiter. First people there and we were made to feel very uncomfortable because they said they were not set up yet. First to be seated and tried put us at an undesirable table. Two women dining alone are usually offered a bad table. Food was just fair. I would go elsewhere next time. We always choose a different restaurant after the theatre but will not be returning to Sorrento's

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Excellent service and food! Will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Service is always fantastic. Food delicious. Mark was at the piano tonight playing the standards. Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Consistent and excellent! Raul and Sergio are the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Excellent evening. 2 people in our party of 6 were having birthdays. We did not tell the restaurant in advance but our wait staff learned of it and brought 2 very nice top shelf desserts without our asking for or expecting them. Everyone’s dinner was outstanding. Could not have had a better experience. First rate place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Hands down the BEST Italian in Houston. We ordered almost a bit of everything with our group and it was all spot on and delicious, we were overly impressed. Once if our guests felt cliche ordering the Alfredo sauced pasta but it was the highlight, as it was the best Alfredo sauce I’ve had out of Italy.

We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

When we are in Houston this is our first choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Overall a good restaurant. Food is very good, although a bit pricey. But worth the money because the whole experience is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

It was amazing, made my anniversary dinner a great success. We will definitely come back and visit

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Excellent service. Great ambience. Able to conduct a conversation. Bread tray superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We have multiple summer birthdays in our group and everyone scatters, so we celebrated Saturday night at Sorrento. Some of our group had never been. So glad we picked it. All of our choices were outstanding. The server was impeccable and the piano music was the icing on the cake. Some people don't drive down this far on Westheimer to realize what a great restaurant this is - it's in a strip center. Do not let that deter you. It's been amazing every time I've eaten there over the years. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Our first visit to this fine dining Italian restaurant. Service was outstanding. Our server was a pro. We weren't rushed along, and our need to avoid an allergen was cheerfully accommodated. Our meals were delicious, as well as beautifully presented. Portions were generous. We arrived on the earlier end of the evening, but as the restaurant filled up, it never became loud. Prices are moderately expensive, a lower priced entree was around $24, higher ones I noticed went up to around $42. We had a nice bottle of wine though and our evening for 2 was about $220. This would be a very nice place for a date with someone special, a birthday or anniversary. We will certainly come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Great lunch. The salads were excellent as was the scallops. Excellent wait staff, great table by ourselves by the windows.

We will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Based on Open Table reviews we had reasonably high expections that ended in disappointment. From valet to hostess to waiter and bread server, the staff was gracious and well trained. That initial impression, along with cocktails that were prompt and showed expertise, got the evening off to a fine start. Alas, the food was mediocre, uninspired, and over priced. Salads were underseasoned as was an appetizer of polenta and crabmeat which was presented as a white blob of mushy polenta that added nothing to a nice topping of crabmeat. The red snapper was overcooked and served with bland risotto, also cooked too long. That seemed to be a trend as the pasta dishes of others at our table were beyond al dente. We all wanted to like Sorrento, but there are too many excellent dining options in the city to settle for so-so food at fine dining prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We had another wonderful dinner at Sorrento, with excellent food, ambiance, and service. We tried the pappardelle with lobster, wild mushroom ravioli, and duck breast - all of which was delicious. Thank you. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

What a lovely restaurant. We hadn’t been here in years and are so glad we came back. Sorrento is going to be one of our all time favorites. Service was excellent, food delicious and great ambience with the piano player in the background in addition a pretty, well decorated dining room.
We were celebrating 3 birthdays and they surprised us with 3 delicious desserts.
Our server was Fernando and he was excellent, attentive but not overly so
Highly recommend this restaurant for very good Italian food and seafood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

My wife and I took our adult daughter there for her birthday. Everything was perfect. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel like you've been one of their best customers for a long time. The menu has all the traditional Italian options and they have "specials." They have a very good wine list with a very good by-the-glass selection as well as full bottle selections that are fairly priced. There is also a very talented pianist that played at just the right volume.
Sorrento is definitely worth coming back to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

The food was beyond amazing and the service was even better! The Pianist was talented! My boyfriend really enjoyed his birthday dinner there! Thank you Sorrento!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The crab cake is not typical preparation. Wife didn’t care for it. Just crab and polenta

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Loved the atmosphere , good food and waiter was very attentive to your needs

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went to Sorrento for my birthday a couple months ago and it was fantastic. This time we went for Mother's day. It was crowded and although we had a reservation we had to wait another 10-15 minutes. The service was slow. When we were offered bread it was picked over. It took a long time to get our food and 15-20 minutes after we placed our order the waiter came to say they were out of the dish we ordered. Once the restaurant cleared out a bit our service improved dramatically. I don't recommend this restaurant for busy holidays.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

They have valet parking which helps as the area has little parking. We asked the waiter for a pasta and chicken but with vodka rather than Alfredo. He said the meal was pre-made and no changes. I doubt pasta is floating in sauce all day. I then asked for a side of vodka sauce which he said ask. It never came. For an exclusive, expensive, high end restaurants expect better. There was a vodka dish on the menu so it’s not like they didn’t have sauce.

For Mother’s Day piano music was pleasant. The tables were a bit crowded but it is still a beautiful atmosphere. The food was very good. The lobster bisque was excellent. the escargot was good but not enough garlic sauce. The Osso boca was good. The sea bass was excellent. The lobster tortellini (I think that’s what it was) was a very small portion Just 5 tortellini be it a bit larger than your typical tortellini.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Sorrentos is my favorite restaurant in houston and it has been since they opened! Abass the owner is fantastic, Pedro is so wonderful, along with Raul, Sergio and all the other sweetheart that of been there forever. They all welcome you as family and make you feel so very special. The food is always amazing and so consistent. You will have favorite dishes that you crave always!
I want to thank them all for a wonderful Mother’s Day ! ❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I took my mother to Sorrento’s for Mother’s Day and all I can say is WOW! The food was superb and the service was better than any service I had ever received anywhere else. The waitstaff was so sweet and friendly to me and my mother and to my two kids. My mom loved her meal and loved the restaurant. I highly recommend this establishment, it’s wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always wonderful service and food. Our favorite Italian restaurant in Houston. Their Steak restaurant Bisteca is wonderful also

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

As usual great food and service. Worth the cost of a 5 star.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

First time there - everything was outstanding we will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Always an excellent dining experience. We love this restaurant. .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

As always this was a special evening introducing Austin friends to Sorrento, which is our favorite Italian restaurant in Houston. Jorge was a delightful young waiter, attentive but unobtrusive. I overindulged in escargot followed by cioppino, yummy! Friendsloved the different fish dishes Husband enjoyed the lobster and arugula tortellini topped with caviar , and of course dessert is always luscious as is their wonderful wine list. My favorite Dona Paola Malbec. Can’t wait to make the trek back from The Woodlands.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Sorrento's is our "go to" place when we want something special...both in food and experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great Service and attention to detail. Wait staff knew when to give us a couple of minutes while we were talking and enjoying the atmosphere before ordering dinner. Wait staff was not hesitant when asked for their recommendation when presented with two options. Would definitely recommend Sorrento, Great Experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
47