About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: 7135270609x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Food
Houston
3 More
Best Ambiance
Houston
Romantic
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

special occasion (41)
romantic (40)
fit for foodies (26)
See All
notable wine list (25)
neighborhood gem (19)
good for groups (12)
great for brunch (11)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service good. Live Piano music ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food and service good. Live Piano music set's it apart from all of the other dinning places in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sorrento remains one of our favorite res ...

Dined 6 days ago

Sorrento remains one of our favorite restaurants in Houston. The food, service, and ambiance are terrific. We also enjoy the piano player, just right songs and volume.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My second time at Sorrentos and I wasn't ...

Dined 6 days ago

My second time at Sorrentos and I wasn't disappointed. It was a wonderful, relaxing evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I rarely go out for Itali ...

Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I rarely go out for Italian food since we love making it at home. However, we tried Sorrento this past weekend and were blown away. We started with the calamari which was good but nothing particularly special. Then we both got the caprese salad which was wonderful. For our entrees I had the lobster ravioli with lemon cream and caviar, this dish was excellent and light. My husband had the spicy sausage and vodka sauce pasta which was definitely the star of the night. It was one of the best pasta dishes we have ever eaten. We will definitely be back for the caprese salad and fresh pasta!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not sure why this restaurant got low ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm not sure why this restaurant got lower stars on other sites for bad service. The service was excellent. We took a chance because the reviews were really good on Open Table. We had an awesome time. We will be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. Ate the chef ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Ate the chefs tasting menu which was wonderful. Back room is very romantic. It's refreshing to see career wait staff that take obvious pride in their profession. This is one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food and service at Sorren ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

As usual, the food and service at Sorrento's was impeccable. One of my absolute favorites in Houston.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous as always.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Fabulous as always.

food3
ambience4
service4

Quiet until it becomes crowded. Food is ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Quiet until it becomes crowded. Food is good but could be better. Wine is way overpriced. Friendly service and staff. Piano player is nice touch. Decor is old European and comfortable. I'd go back, occasionally.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Sorrento

Dined on May 16, 2016

The food was very good but the service was poor. We had to ask several times to have olive oil and butter brought to the table. The servers English was poor and they often did not understand what we were asking.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy diner

Dined on May 15, 2016

The visit was our first but not our last. I found the wait staff very enthusiastic about there service and the pasta was superb. Thank you for helping to create a special day for my wife's birthday celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal here!! Sergio ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a wonderful meal here!! Sergio was our server and he is the best!! He takes great pride in what he does. We've been here multiple times, and now Sergio will make recommendations for us. We never look at a menu anymore.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always the best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We found this restaurant on my birthday, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We found this restaurant on my birthday, a month ago, and couldn't resist going back for Mother's Day. Excellent food and service on both occasions - our new favorite Houston restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Not to be missed

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our first time in Houston in a while. Look forward to visit is again!. Presentation was excellent and the food exquisite. Enjoy it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, excellent service, not rushed.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Waiter was great, make a reservation, great atmosphere and food. Wine selection is wonderful. Had a great time, and will return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Service

Dined on May 1, 2016

Met old friends for dinner and the food quality and service could not have been better. There was a great selection of wines and the Sea Bass I had was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre theater dinner

Dined on April 28, 2016

Perfect location to have a nice dinner and then get to the theater in time for a 7:30 curtain. The waiter was helpful actually watching our time for us so we would not be late.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorrento Ristorante is a Houston Institution!

Dined on April 25, 2016

I dine at Sorrento mainly for lunch meetings but sometimes for romantic evenings out with my wife. The quality of the food, service, atmosphere and overall quality makes Sorrento one of our favorites. The wine room during lunch is my favorite for corporate sales meetings, client and board meetings. Everyone I have ever invited to dine here says their experience and the cuisine is the finest in Houston. I have claimed, as do many of my friends, Sorrento is where I have had the best meals of my life! Seriously! I can not imagine someone having anything than a less than stellar experience at Sorrento but we all know things sometimes do go wrong. I am confident in the staff and the chefs that they would address an error or omission quickly and do everything to "make it right". The owner, his management and staff alike are committed to creating an "Amazing" dining experience for everyone who enters their door. If I could give them 10 stars, I would!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italian Gem in Montrose.

Dined on April 25, 2016

Sorrento is my favorite restaurant in Houston. I am lucky enough to be able to walk there. The staff are professional and courteous. The owner/manager always makes sure that the guests are completely satisfied. The food is amazing. I always tend to go for the amazing Sea Bass, but the pasta dishes are wonderful too. Don't leave without trying some expresso and some fantastic tiramisu. I almost forgot to mention, they have a piano player and sometimes a singer at 7pm (I am not sure if it is every night) A gem in Houston

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Saturday Dinner

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We had not been to Sorrento's in several years as our first experience was not the best but we decided to give it another try and we are glad that we did. The food was excellent, the service perfect-Sarah was great. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best Italian Reastaurants

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is one of the best Italian restaurants I've ever been too and one of the best restaurant experiences in Houston period. The food was really high quality, the service was excellent, and the ambience was very elegant. The wait staff continued to replenish our water glasses even after we paid which is a sign that they care! Great birthday dinner. Keep up the good work!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

UNFORTUNATELY VERY BAD EXPERIENCE AT SORRENTO

Dined on April 17, 2016

My husband and I have been to Sorrento's several times. It is actually our favorite Italian restaurant.. We invited two other couples, who were celebrating their birthdays, (the gals). We had to ask for a server SEVERAL TIMES before getting water, then our wine and cocktails, then finding out that our waiter was actually the Somalia, we had to ask him to bring our menus, come take our dinner order and find him to get the bill. When we did give him the bill, as he was walking by, he asked us to hold it until he returned. I had previously asked a staff worker who our server was and he told us that the Somalia was waiting on our table and the room as you walk in the door to the left. I actually received two phone calls that day from the restaurant, confirming if our party of 6 was STILL coming. (After dinner, this made us all wonder if Sorrento's was short of wait staff for the evening, as they were quite busy with customers.) My husband and friends, (who have also been to the Sorrento's several times) said they too would not return. I am truly disappointed, as we have never had a bad experience there. I have NEVER written a review with a "bad experience".

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS ONCE AGAIN!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We ate there last Sat. evening for a special get together with family. The service, food, all of it just exceptional!!! It is a bit noisier sitting inside than in the patio/garden - but ignorable overall as everything else is just spectacular. Cannot wait to go again soon - easily my favorite in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I had thr veal ravioli....deeelish

Dined on April 14, 2016

I had thr veal ravioli....deeelish

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Occasion dinner

Dined on April 7, 2016

Great ambiance , wonderful music , very romantic setting . Food for the most part was excellent with one exception .. I ordered the bone-in rib eye and although it was perfectly cooked ( med rare) I found it to be tough as an old baseball glove . I was quite shocked as rib eyes are generally very tender .. If I go back I'll certainly order the filet instead .. The rib-eye should have been served with a hack saw instead of a steak knife . The service and atmosphere was beyond excellent .. Will go back ; I should have sent the steak back and next time I will if it doesn't measure up ..e

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meal was excellent and staff very attent ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Meal was excellent and staff very attentive. We were a group of 7 and were placed in the wine room which was very nice.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favoriit

Dined on March 30, 2016

When we want to be sure of good food and good service with great ambiance, we often end up at Sorrento. We consider is a good value and always an enjoyable evening. It is a favorite place to take guests because most nights, the noise level is very manageable. Sometimes, Saturdays are a bit louder.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was an Easter Brunch with friends that were there for the first time. It was very busy, the service was not at it's best and neither was the food. Hopefully they will be back to their normal good food and service next time we come.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening

Dined on March 25, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and it could not have been better. The atmosphere of the restaurant was excellent. Service was very attentive and helpful. The dinner was excellent - we chose the chef's tasting menu so as to sample several dishes. All was to the highest level. I would recommend this restaurant and I intend to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary date

Dined on March 23, 2016

Took my wife here for our 7th wedding anniversary and was very impresse. I had the red snapper which was excellent. My wife had the gnocchi and shrimp, also excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Love this place for date night! Sorrento ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Love this place for date night! Sorrento's has been around forever - the piano and live music add that special touch & the table side risotto is the best I have ever had!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely a wonderful experience!

Dined on February 22, 2016

Absolutely a wonderful experience!

food4
ambience4
service4

I went with my husband to this restauran ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I went with my husband to this restaurant on a Saturday night at 7:30. We are both from out of town and are vegetarians (which we mentioned in the notes), but I guess the hosts didn't get that memo to our server since he mentioned a special with meat in it. We were first brought out an enormous wooden board filled with an assortment of bread which looked delicious. The gentleman mumbled to us the different types in broken English where I only caught the word sourdough, so I asked for one piece of a couple of them, at which he sighed heavily and rolled his eyes. Our server, Diego, was excellent. There is a difference between normal service and genuine "I-like-what-I-do" service which Diego certainly showed. He was very courteous when coming up to the table when we were talking and gave us plenty of time to order. He coursed our appetizers so we were able to enjoy a longer meal and brought out our burrata salad split onto two plates so we wouldn't be dragging it across the table. We had a mushroom ravioli with Cremini mushrooms and a creamy sauce which was amazing and a gnocchi dish with arugula and cream sauce that was a little too doughy. Overall, a good restaurant for a night out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried and true.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food and great service. Table side risotto is a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delightful in every way!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Sorrento has it all ... valet parking, piano music great cocktails and wine list, fine food and good to great service!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Service sometimes makes the dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

It was very unfortunate that our waiter was very inattentive. He came by the table 3 times - to take our drink order, to take our dinner order, and to give us our check. We had 5 people, and it took us 3 hours when there were maybe 5 other tables at the restaurant. Thankfully we didn't have anywhere to be, but it was not worth the price when the service was bad and food was overpriced.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on February 15, 2016

When I made my reservation, I requested near the pianist. We were seated as far from the pianist that one could be seated in the restaurant....in the Sun Room at the far back. I've frequent this restaurant and was hoping for better seating...so the ambience was terrible. On a number of occasions we had to request water and we also requested more olive oil for our bread which we never received. The service was lacking...nothing like I've received in the past. Also, our portions on the side dinner salad and the appetizers were so small...not what they normally serve. The food tasted great. I just will not eat there during a Special Holiday like Valentines Day, Christmas or New Year's where they have a pre-fixed menu. This has happened before.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine menu

Dined on February 14, 2016

I absolutely love this restaurant. We have been there more than once and I feel in love with the restaurant as well as the food. One thing I can say is I wish that the valentines menu had more choices, the choices were limited and we know they offer more items, that are satisfying. This is by far my only complaint.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best modern Italian in Houston

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, attentive service and elegant setting. Why go anywhere else for a special evening...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.