About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: 7135270609x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Ambiance
Houston
2 More
Best Value
Houston
Italian
Houston
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Montrose ›

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (53)
Notable Wine List (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Lunch (15)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely delighted with the spectacul ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely delighted with the spectacular food and superb service. Could not have been more pleased.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tired and in need of a perking up. The f ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Tired and in need of a perking up. The food was so mediocre to poor if you are a food fan don't go. The veal piccata was paper thin, over salted, over lemon, and flour tasting without a nice seared crust. The arugula had that old slimy taste and the carpaccio was served on a room temperature plate and appeared to be ground meat of some sort not beautiful thin sliced steak. Maybe in its day it was a great place - not now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Friend's birthday, we were seated after ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Friend's birthday, we were seated after a few minutes delay. Corner table. Attentive waiter who had waited on us previously. Food was good value and delicious as it was Restaurant Week.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Their normal excellent food seemed to be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Their normal excellent food seemed to be compromised by taking too many reservations to accommodate HTW diners. It made the seating a bit crowded as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Our first visit to Sorrento was outstand ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our first visit to Sorrento was outstanding. Food was great, especially the salmon filet. Peter, our server, made the occasion. He was attentive, sharp and delightful. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the second birthday visit for m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was the second birthday visit for my girlfriend and I, and probably my fifth visit overall. NOT ONCE has Sorrento failed to impress. An elegant facility, it's obvious that the entire staff is well trained, takes pride in their jobs, and aims for customer satisfaction.

Is this an inexpensive venue? No. For a couple, expect to spend at least $100-$150 for a respectable dinner and a glass of wine each. However, the value is exceptional and is well worth it!

Never been here? Here's what to expect: a hip location, friendly valet parking, a clean, elegant, grand interior, a HUGE selection of complimentary breads to choose from, top-notch, professional service from a well-dressed staff, absolutely delicious food, and a thanks for your patronage on the way out.

The facility is fit for groups, business meetings, and romantic meals. Live piano music is sometimes available.

On the way out, the hostess said, "Come again."

We will.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You will not be disappointed with the fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

You will not be disappointed with the food and service in Sorrento. You pay the price though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We drive in from the suburbs to dine at ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We drive in from the suburbs to dine at Sorrento a couple times a year and they are consistently good. We've never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely delightful experience all aro ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Absolutely delightful experience all around—from being greeted by the owner upon arrival, to being seated at the exact table we requested near the pianist, to the delicious food, impeccable service and lovely ambience. The evening could not have been any better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite. Good and service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is our favorite. Good and service is well beyond what you normally get in Houston. Waiters know their stuff! We highly recommend Sorrento's for all of our friends. A true gem.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and ambiance. Food and s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Food and service were good and the restaurant is very nice for a quiet dinner on special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love everything about Sorrento's. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We love everything about Sorrento's. The bread, the menu selections, the specials, as well as the desserts. Our waiter was awesome and very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were outstanding. Felt ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service were outstanding. Felt the wine by the bottle was reasonable for the quality but by the glass was overpriced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was well prepared/ served hot. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was well prepared/ served hot. Great presentation - had lunch during HRW. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

wonderful lunch, beautiful atmosphere, g ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

wonderful lunch, beautiful atmosphere, great meal very tasty and perfect lunch experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, service and experience. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful food, service and experience. Will go back!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey, and we frequent some of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A little pricey, and we frequent some of the finest restaurants in Houston, so we know what is pricey and what is not, but overall the experience was very good. The food was great and the service attentive. Starting with my beet salad was excellent and my wife found the burrata salad fantastic. The veal chop and Chilean sea bass were both great. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I would of like for the manager or owner ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I would of like for the manager or owner whoever was there that day to be more attentive to all the tables not just certain ones.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very poor cut of salmon, ordered MR (as ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Very poor cut of salmon, ordered MR (as salmon should be) and got sushi. Next attempt was medium. Why bother. The quality of this salmon was similar to low end chains. I would have expected more from a restaurant that is fairly high-priced. Had to wait for service although traffic was light. On top of that the restaurant was overly hot. Granted it was 100 degrees outside, but again at these prices, you expect more.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Everything was great. Food, service and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was great. Food, service and atmosphere excellent!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Sunday brunch with great service. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely Sunday brunch with great service.Waiters tried hard to please all.Menu was perfect for our picky family.Something for everyone.We plan to return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first visit to Sorrento's. We sat in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our first visit to Sorrento's. We sat in the wine room, so ambiance and noise level were perfect. Service was outstanding throughout the evening. Food was wonderful--fish prepared as it should be--simple. Nice wine list. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful! The was perfect, the f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was wonderful! The was perfect, the food was delicious, it was a great experience

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall very good, but I have had better ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Overall very good, but I have had better steak. For the price I would default to Brennan's.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

in today's age, I find the service the b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

in today's age, I find the service the best. the food was outstanding and beautifully presented while being extremely tasteful. Go!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, food, and atmosphere were a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The service, food, and atmosphere were all lovely and I had a very enjoyable business dinner. I plan to come back with friends. I can see how it could be romantic with a date, but there were plenty of groups of people as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This restaurant was our second choice wh ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This restaurant was our second choice when we realized that Masraf's was not open on Sunday evening. It turned out to be fantastic. My wife's filet was a top 3 that I have tasted ever and I am not a big steak guy. My sea bass was delicious. We had a calamari appetizer and it was the best I have had at any restaurant, actually tender with light tight breading. The piano player was talented and accommodating. The service and management was attentive without being overbearing. The chef and cooks knew what they were doing in the kitchen. It was very enjoyable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is probably one of my worst dining ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is probably one of my worst dining experiences ever. The server got the bread basket but I had to ask for butter twice. How can I eat bread with out butter? Is that something I have to ask about twice? Then the bread was stale and probably a few days old. On a Saturday night at 8pm the bread is stale? How shameful. The escargot and foie gras were tasteless and terrible. I ordered the filet and lobster tail with gnocchi, for $45 it deserves to be a lot better tasting. My hubby ordered the special Bronzino fish which was the only good thing about this restaurant. The side of vegetables he ordered consisted of one thin slice of eggplant, zucchini and squash. All in all a terrible experience will never ever visit this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

By far my favorite place in Houston. Th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

By far my favorite place in Houston. The staff and food are both amazing!!!!! Best customer service of any place I go in town. Just can't say enough good things about this amazing place!!! If its your first time in Houston or you just need a great place for a meal, Make Sorrento your spot, you won't regret it!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and overall experience was good ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food and overall experience was good, although we did notice the tables near us who ordered drinks getting more attention than we did. :(

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I've visited the restaurant several time ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've visited the restaurant several times before and I am always impressed with the tentative staff and very warm welcome we received Every time we have the pleasure to dine with Abass and his talented kitchen crew. They are amazing! The different entree selections to choose from are very satisfying and if its not on the menu, just ask and they will accommodate your special request with a smile.

I assure you that if you are fortunate enough to have experienced Sorrento Ristorante Italiano, you will be a visitor for life as we are.

Thank you for always making us feel like family.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great place to dine in Houston! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a great place to dine in Houston! Sorrento is my "Go-To" place to dine and entertain for small intimate dinners or group events.

The food is always 5 star and the wait staff very attentive. Sergio is the best waiter in Houston!

Can not say enough! Two thumbs way up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorrento is my favorite restuarnt when c ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Sorrento is my favorite restuarnt when come to special occasion. We were there for Sunday brunch to celebrate my step-daughter's birthday. We always enjoy the music, the good food and excellent service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect and the food was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was perfect and the food was incredible! Sergio was the most attentive, knowledgable, accommodating and kind server we've ever had. I can't believe we didn't come here sooner, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone knew it was our anniversary - g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everyone knew it was our anniversary - great attention to detail

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Sorrento's was outstanding. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food at Sorrento's was outstanding. This is my new favorite Italian Restaurant in Houston.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful environment, excellent service ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Wonderful environment, excellent service and well prepared and presented food.

Have had repeated exceptional delight eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic, Service was fantasti ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was fantastic, Service was fantastic, even the valet was wonderful, didn't even pass out a ticket he remembered me and my wife and the car we came in. Experience was great and worth the money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.