Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: (713) 527-0609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Romantic (41)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Business Meals (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (18)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Live Music (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Private Room (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

We had an amazing dining experience! The food was delicious and the service was the absolute best! Alex was the best server I've ever had! Piano player was such a nice touch to a beautiful evening out!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Alex was exceptional with his service. The food is better than expected and the chef was very accommodating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We were given a delightful dining experience during Houston Restaurant Week at Sorrentos. The waiter was very responsive and dedicated to making sure we were all taken care of. The food was absolutely fantastic and my whole family enjoyed a pleasurable get-together, able to visit together in an enjoyable venue!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was amazing. I'm sad to say that the service was very bad. I've heard so many great things about this place though that I'll just chaulk it up to the Server having a bad night. I don't want to go on a rant about why the service was so bad but I promise it was. Luckily the food made up for it and I still left a great tip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was wonderful - especially sitting in the atrium where we could converse. The ambiance and service were outstanding and the food beautifully presented. The fig salad was yummy but the sauce for my lobster & arugula tortelloni needed some flavor boosting. Adding grated parmesan helped. We'll try other options on the well-constructed menu next time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was phenominal. I would recommend not going during Houston Restaurant Month. Wait staff were stretched thin. They did a good job considering the crowd. Will go back for sure. Sea bass was wonderful!!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Everything was amazing! Edgar was an excellent server and made the evening that much greater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service and food was excellent! Great way to spend my birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lovely restaurant with delightful service. The food is excellent (as is the enormous passed bread tray).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We always enjoy Sorrento, excellent food, attentive service and an outstanding bread tray. The Houston Restaurant Weeks brunch menu exceeded all expectations. We had Raul as our waiter for the second consecutive time. I will be sure to request a table in his section on the next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary here, food was superb. Staff was wonderful, although we did have to ask for bread oil and drink refills. Would definitely recommend and will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Excellent service. Perfect place for a special occasion. The server was friendly and helpful. Our guests really enjoyed it. Only negative, it was a little dark. Need to turn the lights up a little.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The black truffle risotto here is incredible. Seriously the best risotto I've ever had. I drive to Houston (from Austin) just to order it.

The mushroom and sage raviolo and the beef carpaccio were also very good.

I like the pianist that plays during brunch and hearing all the champagne corks being popped because I know their bubbles are fresh!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The selected dinner items were outstanding, however, the dressing used on their Caesar salad that evening did not meet the standards expected from this restaurant. There may have been an unusual number of this particular salad ordered that evening, and their staff may not have been able to maintain the pace of the demand. The dressing was basically mayo tossed with the salad greens, capers and croutons. I will not order that particular item from their menu again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Finally found an amazing Italian restaurant in Houston. The service was 5 star and the food was unbelievable. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

One of my Favorite. Food is consistent , service good, and piano enjoyable

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was fair. When we were first seated there were shards of glass (probably from a broken wine glass) on the table and chairs. My wife received a minor cut on her finger; only after we demanded to be reseated that we received another table; neither the waiter or manager made any attempt to seriously apologize or even offer a bandaid for my wife's bleeding finger. Not in keeping with a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wow! Best kept secret in Houston. Where else can you have impeccable service and a 3 course gourmet lunch for $24.95??? UTSD Chairs luncheon here today and it was perfect! We had the wine room that so pretty. I had salad, seared tuna with lump crab, risotto with a lemon and caper sauce and a Chocolate soufflé for dessert. Yum! My husband and I have also gone here for our anniversary. Romantic in the evening with music.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 19, 2017

By far one of my favorite places to eat in Houston!!! The souffle is the best desert in the country!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Instead of the normal "stick to the brunch menu" they offer entries on the regular menu on a great package deal with salad or soup, entry from the menu, and dessert at a great price. There was a party of women celebrating a birthday and they were a little loud (in a reserved way). We understood and did not mention it to anyone but our waiter was quite aware of the surroundings and politely asked us if he could move us to a more secluded location. Nice to have professional waiters - some there since the start of the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Well where do I start. They just brought my desert(i am still in the restaurant) and a candle and they said “Happy Anniversary” what a professionalism. They waited till the end until we ordered a desert. Food was great. Alex is a great server. This place has live piano player that adds a very romantic mood to the dinner. This is the best place I have been in around Houston area. I will make a tradition to come here for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always great restaurant. Very consistent with a great menu and specials.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always great. Food is outstanding. No other words...... also Is delight.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Two of our party of three were violently ill after eating here, we believe the fois gras as they shared that dish. Tried contacting them via their website and email but they did not respond. Reported to Harris County Public Health
This used to be one of our recommended Italian restaurants but would not go back

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The staff was amazing!! Everything was brought to us at the perfect time. We weren't bothered at all. My date and i were left to enjoy great conversation with one another while the staff took care of our every need. The waiter was so polite (as was all the staff). The waiter asked us our reason for the evening before saying that it seemed as though we were celebrating something special. After i had told him it was a much anticipated first date he came out with this amazing dessert. 6 out of 5 stars for this place. Best meal experience durring a date hands down! Thank you all staff that was present the night of july 3rd 2017!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had an amazing 1st anniversary dinner on Saturday night. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional. I wish we lived in the area and could frequent more often. We will definitely be back when we return to Houston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Wonderful food and the staff took great care of us as we were the only ones left in the restaurant having a very late lunch before dinner crowd began. They made my mom and I feel very special.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food and service at Sorrento are always incredible. All of the food is delicious, but the homemade pastas are a must try! You can't go wrong!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We celebrated our daughter's birthday. The food, service and ambiance was perfect. Ricardo took very good care of us as did the young waiter who brought the bread and refilled the tea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of the best brunch meals I've ever had. The filets were AMAZING. I'd put them up against any restaurant. I ordered a mushroom omelet and it was the second best one I've ever had (the best had crabmeat, so it's not a fair comparison). The service was top notch. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was very good. The service was even better. They waited to bring me the check until I asked for it, which allowed me to hang out with my date for over an hour after we had finished eating. It was very enjoyable for both of us. Highly recommend this place. When I made my reservation through Open Table, I requested a secluded table for a romantic dinner, and that's what I got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service and atmosphere were outstanding. However, food was average. Doubt I will revisit restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is one of our favorite date night places. It's quiet enough that you can have a conversation and not feel like you're yelling at one another. The food is amazing. We love the torchetti and spicy sausage dish and the beef short rib is delicious. The service is always attentive but not intrusive. We would recommend this restaurant to any of our friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was professional and warm, the food was EXCELLENT. It is the best Italian food I have had in Houston. Sorrento also offers the best selection of homemade breads I have even seen. Everything was presented so nicely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Usually good food, perhaps was a slow Sunday and quiet kitchen but food quality was lousy this time. Entrees were cold and tasteless. Surprising give past visits were good experiences. I chalk it up to a slow Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Haven't been here in a while and it was outstanding as usual. Friendly personnel and the food is always great. Steve our waiter was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Lord of the flies. We ordered the tableside risotto and when our waiter opened the cheese wheel to pour the risotto in it was full of fruit flies. Then the rest of the evening we were strafed by them. Crawling on the table, buzzing our heads, dive bombing into our wine. We won't be back ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food, the bread basket was amazing!! Sergio was our waiter, and along with the other staff we were very well taken care of. This was a fun place for dinner and someplace I would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.