Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Live Music (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
1713 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Attractive dining setting, excellent service, inventive recipes for classic dishes. Very good Wine list with reasonable prices. That alone will bring me back. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We have dined here for years. The food and service are always excellent. Thank you for everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Took my wife for a lunch date. Great food .Great Service . Our server Alex was amazing all the way around from his intro and recommendation to the wine list and desert. Everything was above and beyond at Sorrento! We'll be back

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Our dinner was excellent. Service was complete and attentive. Sergio was our waiter. Food was very good. I had Chilean sea bass and it was delicious. Done to perfection, served over spinach. Everyone at our table said their food was delicious with no complaints. Live piano music made the evening relaxing.

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We very much enjoyed our HRW lunch here. The bread basket was such a nice touch. Our waiter, Alex, was most attentive as was the rest of the staff. Beautiful restaurant and delicious food.
On a side note, the parking. The valet parking had the best spots up front, and there wasn't much available parking in front of the restaurant unless you used valet since other businesses had signs in front of their doors for customer use only. Remember when the valet used to take your car and park it elsewhere when the spots near the restaurant were filled? The parking would be the only thing from keeping us from coming back next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

You can see and taste the care put into the food. Quite a selection from the menu. Can be considered as one of the best Italian Restaurants in Houston.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The G-Friend and I just love this place. The food is great, the service is great and the piano player is great. We always sit in the main dining room where the piano is. The mussel appetizer - the mussels are the largest and plumpest you'll ever find in any restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Disappointed with food, service and ambiance. Although seated on time for our reservation, it took forever to get menus and for food to be served. There were way too many fruit flies and other flies buzzing around and one ended up in my glass of wine (although replaced with a fresh glass from the bar, it certainly was not the same wine as the bottle we had for the table). Food was served cool and was subpar. Manager never came over to check on the table even after expressing dissatisfaction. Will likely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

A group of five ladies had a wonderful time at Sorrento! Stellar service, great wine, and the risotto prepared table-side was awesome!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

They had a serious fruit fly problem when we were there. They were getting in our drinks and food. Moved tables twice and was still a problem.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Sorrento never lets me down . Outstanding service and the food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great wine and even better dining experience. Best meal I have had in some time and I dine at four or five star restaurants

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent experience on a Friday before Hurricane Harvey hit! Best waiter and great food with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We have been enjoying Sorrentos for many years. The service and food were their usual excellence. This time we didn't even look at the menu as they had so many off menu specials that we simply did not need to see the regular menu which is always terrific too. We will return aga in and again I am sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had an amazing dining experience! The food was delicious and the service was the absolute best! Alex was the best server I've ever had! Piano player was such a nice touch to a beautiful evening out!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Alex was exceptional with his service. The food is better than expected and the chef was very accommodating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was my first time here. I went for Houston Restaurant Weeks and tried the special menu. The food I tried was all delicious. The service was ok, but when the hostess noticed I was looking for my server, she came over to find out what I needed and took care of it personally. It was nice to see the concern for patrons.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We were given a delightful dining experience during Houston Restaurant Week at Sorrentos. The waiter was very responsive and dedicated to making sure we were all taken care of. The food was absolutely fantastic and my whole family enjoyed a pleasurable get-together, able to visit together in an enjoyable venue!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was amazing. I'm sad to say that the service was very bad. I've heard so many great things about this place though that I'll just chaulk it up to the Server having a bad night. I don't want to go on a rant about why the service was so bad but I promise it was. Luckily the food made up for it and I still left a great tip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Everything was wonderful - especially sitting in the atrium where we could converse. The ambiance and service were outstanding and the food beautifully presented. The fig salad was yummy but the sauce for my lobster & arugula tortelloni needed some flavor boosting. Adding grated parmesan helped. We'll try other options on the well-constructed menu next time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was phenominal. I would recommend not going during Houston Restaurant Month. Wait staff were stretched thin. They did a good job considering the crowd. Will go back for sure. Sea bass was wonderful!!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Everything was amazing! Edgar was an excellent server and made the evening that much greater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service and food was excellent! Great way to spend my birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lovely restaurant with delightful service. The food is excellent (as is the enormous passed bread tray).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We always enjoy Sorrento, excellent food, attentive service and an outstanding bread tray. The Houston Restaurant Weeks brunch menu exceeded all expectations. We had Raul as our waiter for the second consecutive time. I will be sure to request a table in his section on the next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary here, food was superb. Staff was wonderful, although we did have to ask for bread oil and drink refills. Would definitely recommend and will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Excellent service. Perfect place for a special occasion. The server was friendly and helpful. Our guests really enjoyed it. Only negative, it was a little dark. Need to turn the lights up a little.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The black truffle risotto here is incredible. Seriously the best risotto I've ever had. I drive to Houston (from Austin) just to order it.

The mushroom and sage raviolo and the beef carpaccio were also very good.

I like the pianist that plays during brunch and hearing all the champagne corks being popped because I know their bubbles are fresh!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The selected dinner items were outstanding, however, the dressing used on their Caesar salad that evening did not meet the standards expected from this restaurant. There may have been an unusual number of this particular salad ordered that evening, and their staff may not have been able to maintain the pace of the demand. The dressing was basically mayo tossed with the salad greens, capers and croutons. I will not order that particular item from their menu again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Finally found an amazing Italian restaurant in Houston. The service was 5 star and the food was unbelievable. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

One of my Favorite. Food is consistent , service good, and piano enjoyable

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was fair. When we were first seated there were shards of glass (probably from a broken wine glass) on the table and chairs. My wife received a minor cut on her finger; only after we demanded to be reseated that we received another table; neither the waiter or manager made any attempt to seriously apologize or even offer a bandaid for my wife's bleeding finger. Not in keeping with a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wow! Best kept secret in Houston. Where else can you have impeccable service and a 3 course gourmet lunch for $24.95??? UTSD Chairs luncheon here today and it was perfect! We had the wine room that so pretty. I had salad, seared tuna with lump crab, risotto with a lemon and caper sauce and a Chocolate soufflé for dessert. Yum! My husband and I have also gone here for our anniversary. Romantic in the evening with music.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 19, 2017

By far one of my favorite places to eat in Houston!!! The souffle is the best desert in the country!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Instead of the normal "stick to the brunch menu" they offer entries on the regular menu on a great package deal with salad or soup, entry from the menu, and dessert at a great price. There was a party of women celebrating a birthday and they were a little loud (in a reserved way). We understood and did not mention it to anyone but our waiter was quite aware of the surroundings and politely asked us if he could move us to a more secluded location. Nice to have professional waiters - some there since the start of the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Well where do I start. They just brought my desert(i am still in the restaurant) and a candle and they said “Happy Anniversary” what a professionalism. They waited till the end until we ordered a desert. Food was great. Alex is a great server. This place has live piano player that adds a very romantic mood to the dinner. This is the best place I have been in around Houston area. I will make a tradition to come here for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always great restaurant. Very consistent with a great menu and specials.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Always great. Food is outstanding. No other words...... also Is delight.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Two of our party of three were violently ill after eating here, we believe the fois gras as they shared that dish. Tried contacting them via their website and email but they did not respond. Reported to Harris County Public Health
This used to be one of our recommended Italian restaurants but would not go back

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.