Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: (713) 527-0609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Authentic (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Live Music (12)
Cozy (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Came to Sorrento's for lunch.
Service was outstanding.
Food was good, ordered lamb chops, 4/5 stars.
Cocktails fantastic, had blood orange martini and another that was custom made, fabulous!
Dessert was good, ambiance very nice.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My favorite place in Houston!!! Best food and staff!! I look forward to every meal here!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our second time visiting Sorrento and it didn't disappoint. The wait staff is very attentive and helpful. Great ambiance with a piano player. The meat dishes are OK, but the pastas really stand out. Highlight on this visit was the gnocchi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, great ambiance, piano player set the mood. Great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Had a wonderful experience. I was hosting a group of 5 retirees and former coworkers. We were seated in the wine room. Everyone was impressed with the restaurant - the room - the food - and the service. Our waiter Edgar was terrific and very attentive to our needs. I truly recommend Sorrento's. Have been there numerous times before. Great menu selections and the kitchen does a wonderful job with all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and service was, and has been before excellent. The egg yolk raviolo was the highlight of the meal. The wine selection that goes with the Chef's Tasting Menu is spot on.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always hesitate to eat out on a holiday for many reasons - small, fixed menus, overcrowding, waiting time, etc. but we know that we can always count on Sorrento, no matter what the day or time of year. We were there for Easter and although they did have a special Easter menu, it was very extensive and it was a la carte. So much better than a fixed "choose this or that, choose from 3 courses for x amount of dollars. The food is always amazing and the service is always beyond wonderful. The atmosphere is always lovely and having live music in the background adds to the ambiance. We have eaten at many fine dining restaurants in Houston, especially as new ones come on board but always go back to Sorrento because we know they will never fail us. The owner is very caring and takes time to visit tables and really listens to comments about the restaurant, the food, etc. The manager, who has become dear to us, is one of the many reasons we continue to go back to the restaurant. His work is exemplary. All the waiters, not just the one waiting on us, stop to see how we are doing, how the food is, adjust napkins, ask about drinks, and the overall impression is, that they all work so well as a team and all care about their customers. I truly believe they all know the magic is repeat business and they all work on that very hard.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Was there for Easter brunch. The Classic Eggs benedict was equisit - perfectly prepared! Get it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sorrento is a long time stand-by choice... and the reason is that it has delivered an outstanding dining experience for a long time. We are always impressed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

In the overall it is a good place to eat. Only regret is the over price, it is really expensive, however the food is creative and great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Outstanding for business lunch or fine dining. Food, service and atmosphere are excellent quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Love sitting in the atrium for its lower noise level than the main dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Raoul was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food and service were superb!!!! I will return and recommend friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

A place to be reminded how Europe lives and eats. Never hurried to clear you out after you have eaten and the staff is wonderful. They recommend wine or food only when asked and if you like a dish but one something left out it is not a problem. I discovered it by accident one day at lunch and have been back every chance I get. Any celebration for a friend I take them there to experience good food, and lovely service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Once again, Sorrento hits a home run. We celebrated a birthday with great cuisine, fantastic wine, and service beyond belief.

This has become a "Must Experience" for every Houstonian and their out-of-town guests. Incredible and enjoyable. I would give it 15 stars if I could

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Went for dinner before the symphony. Great bread selection and roasted garlic with oil/vinegar to start things off. Everyone loved their appetizers--the mushroom risotto was a big hit. Entrees (loved their handmade pasta) and dessert were also great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was our first time dining at Sorrento. We had a reservation for 6 people and they seated us in a small room off the main dining room which made us feel special. The service was very friendly, helpful, and attentive. The food was wonderful - a wide range of Italian dishes, both classics and fun twists on traditional. The portions are generous. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food is excellent. Service is alway great. I enjoy eating there a lot.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Saturday evening was our first visit to Sorrento and it was a great experience. The food was perfectly prepared and presented, and our waiter, Edgar provided perfect service. Cheers to bartender Frank, too! We will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food, and they are super freindly. I loved the service, and the waiter gave good recommendations for the menu. It makes a great date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

You can not beat Sorrento for a wonderful Sunday Brunch. First of all, their brunch special is an incredible value. Second, you get some of the best cuisine Houston has to offer.

My favorite soup in the State of Texas is their butternut squash soup. The taste is out of this world.

I had the filet mignon which was perfectly cooked medium rare. I normally have the Sea Bass or Lamb. All good.

Topped off with creme brulee and a spoon full of my wife's bread pudding. A wonderful coffee after and I was done. Perfect meal with a wonderful atmosphere and world class service. I love this place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

From the valet to the manager, everyone was VERY attentive and the food was excellent (especially the crab cake 😀)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great Service. Great food. On weekends they have a pianist play which makes a nice background atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Fantastic!!! Fantastic Food, service, atmosphere. Always a fun date night dinner with my hubby! Fresh, delicious food, great desserts and drinks!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Delicious and beautiful restaurant! My salad, the arugula and fig, was great and I could eat it every day. My husband enjoyed his Caesar and pronounced it excellent (and he has had a lot of Caesars). I had the mushroom raviolo and it was as good. My husband loved the pappardelle alfredo with the goat cheese stuffed chicken. The wine by the glass is a generous pour. A small vodka and tonic was pricey at $12 (our only complaint). So stick to wine! As wonderful as the food was, the additional star was the pianist. She is worth the trip. Her selections wonderfully complimented the elegant atmosphere of this very fine restaurant. She plays flawlessly and with just the right noise level. The music was a huge plus where in many restaurants, it's a negative. Kudos to her and we will definitely return to this lovely place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I had not been here in a long time and forgot how wonderful this place is. Very romantic, excellent service and outstanding food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Jesse was our waiter and was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great romantic spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Business meal. Great as always

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was the worst valentine's day experience I ever had the food was nasty and over price and the parking demand a tip which I'm going give them anyways

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day lunch and got the Executive Lunch fixed price menu. I had the steak frites and my husband got the salmon. Both entrees were wonderful. The price for the Executive Lunch makes it an outstanding value. Service was just right - friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed an early Valentines Day date and we both loved it! Food was great! Service was great! Even though it is a bit expensive, it is well worth it! Great for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sadly Disappointed in both the salmon & halibut -

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

All was great till we got an unexpected bill. Brunch was $35/person and you could have any entree on the menu plus salad/soup & desert. A great brunch. Except that the waiter told us the specials and did not explain that they were not "entrees". When that happened all of a sudden everything was a la carte. Since two of four took the special it added a lot to the bill. The bill should have been $195 plus tax & tip. It was $$266 plus tax & tip. The manager gave us a "bargain" and made the bill 223 plus tax & tip. Still overcharging by $28 plus tax.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is delicious! Pasta is hand made fresh daily. Wonderful and knowledgeable staff. Exquisite desserts and soothing piano music tops off the experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very expensive but a great place for a romantic date night if you want to spend about $50 bucks a person.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Another excellent dining experience: wonderful selection of Italian dishes, very attentive service. Veal medallions, mushroom raviolo and lobster bisque were delicious! As are the varied fresh bread basket and desserts. Upscale old world ambiance with live piano music. Easy to talk without straining. Not inexpensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

First time visit but will definitely return. Service impeccable and food, delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My girlfriend and I were in town for the Super Bowl and wanted a great meal and a few cocktails before the game. Sorrento was perfect!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.