About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: (713) 527-0609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Romantic (34)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Cozy (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Live Music (15)
Authentic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Business Meals (11)
Private Room (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fireplace (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1614 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jesse was our waiter and was great.

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Jesse was our waiter and was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great romantic spot.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great romantic spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business meal. Great as always

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Business meal. Great as always

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the worst valentine's day experie ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

It was the worst valentine's day experience I ever had the food was nasty and over price and the parking demand a tip which I'm going give them anyways

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My wife and I enjoyed an early Valentine ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed an early Valentines Day date and we both loved it! Food was great! Service was great! Even though it is a bit expensive, it is well worth it! Great for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly Disappointed in both the salmon & ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sadly Disappointed in both the salmon & halibut -

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

All was great till we got an unexpected ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

All was great till we got an unexpected bill. Brunch was $35/person and you could have any entree on the menu plus salad/soup & desert. A great brunch. Except that the waiter told us the specials and did not explain that they were not "entrees". When that happened all of a sudden everything was a la carte. Since two of four took the special it added a lot to the bill. The bill should have been $195 plus tax & tip. It was $$266 plus tax & tip. The manager gave us a "bargain" and made the bill 223 plus tax & tip. Still overcharging by $28 plus tax.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food is delicious! Pasta is hand made fr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is delicious! Pasta is hand made fresh daily. Wonderful and knowledgeable staff. Exquisite desserts and soothing piano music tops off the experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive but a great place for a r ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very expensive but a great place for a romantic date night if you want to spend about $50 bucks a person.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another excellent dining experience: won ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Another excellent dining experience: wonderful selection of Italian dishes, very attentive service. Veal medallions, mushroom raviolo and lobster bisque were delicious! As are the varied fresh bread basket and desserts. Upscale old world ambiance with live piano music. Easy to talk without straining. Not inexpensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time visit but will definitely ret ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

First time visit but will definitely return. Service impeccable and food, delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, , Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I were in town for the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My girlfriend and I were in town for the Super Bowl and wanted a great meal and a few cocktails before the game. Sorrento was perfect!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always on point ... from service to food ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always on point ... from service to food. Excellent choice for dining!

Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant!! Service is top no ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic restaurant!! Service is top notch!!

I highly recommend you visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A classic high-class Italian dining expe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A classic high-class Italian dining experience within easy reach of Houston Midtown. Genuinely enjoyed our experience from the perfectly prepared Lobster Bisk to the Sorbet. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were only two things I liked about ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

There were only two things I liked about this restaurant: the décor and the pianist. Everything else was truly disappointing and such a waste of an evening out – which is something I don’t get very often. The restaurant was extremely noisy, so much so that we literally had to scream and say things twice to have a conversation. How on earth can Sorrento call themselves a romantic restaurant with this noise level? We honestly didn't understand a word our waiter said to us. I don't know which country he is from but his English was poor which was frustrating for such an expensive restaurant. Also, the young man who gave us bread didn't speak English very well either so we couldn't understand what the different types of breads were. The only word I understood was sourdough so that's the one I got. Unfortunately it was cold in the middle as if it had just come from the refrigerator. He also put something on our table but didn't tell us what it was. We honestly had no clue but knew there were garlic cloves. Our service was not what we were expecting whatsoever and this was not a fine dining restaurant. People were in jeans and we were the only ones who actually dressed up. So much for the dress code. For our appetizers we had the "crab cake" and calamari. I put the crab cake in parentheses because it was not a crab cake at all. It was just chunks of crab meat (some with shells on them by the way) mixed with flavorless polenta. It was edible, not tasty, and certainly shouldn't be called a crab cake. The calamari was light and fluffy and was the only edible thing we had. For our entrees we had the mushroom raviolo and scallops. The scallops weren't cooked properly and were dark pink in the middle and lacked flavor. Another disappointment. The mushroom raviolo was not edible. We each tried to eat one and hated it. I don't think the mushrooms were cooked and there was no cheese in the middle nor any flavor. No one refilled my water. Bad service, bad food. Great pianist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Service was excellent. Our Italian wine ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was excellent. Our Italian wine was outstanding. We loved the scallops but we're unimpressed with the pasta. The seasoning was lacking. But the bread was outstanding

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent as always. This particular e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent as always. This particular evening somewhat noisy but able to carry on a conversation. Impecable service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scallops were perfectly prepared. The ri ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Scallops were perfectly prepared. The risotto was good as

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went for brunch and thought the resta ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went for brunch and thought the restaurant was lovely. They have a wonderful inexpensive three course lunch that was beautiful and contained a large amount of choices. The brunch items were well presented and very tasty. The wine list was nice and the atmosphere was beautiful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with friends. Food was ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great dinner with friends. Food was very good and each of us had different items. Lamb with Goat Cheese is deadly!. Enjoyed wine and atmosphere. Very relaxed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought my work team in on a Friday fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I brought my work team in on a Friday for our new year's lunch and everything was perfect. We were in what I would call the wine room (off to the left as you enter the restaurant). Our service team was attentive but unobtrusive. The food was delicious. The ambiance was lovely. I always enjoy my visits here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had reserved the dinner for an anniver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I had reserved the dinner for an anniversary celebration. Raul made sure we had plenty of attention. The table and it's setting was romantic and quite comfortable. The live piano music added to the beauty of its environment. The whole Branzino was amazing ! Overall quite a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, , Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

GET THE PANNA COTTA!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

GET THE PANNA COTTA!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute restaurant, great food and exceptio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Cute restaurant, great food and exceptional service. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience! Wait staff was excelle ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great experience! Wait staff was excellent!!! Will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing risotto with mushrooms♥️

vip
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing risotto with mushrooms♥️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a great meal in a wonderful setti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Always a great meal in a wonderful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough good things about Sorre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Can't say enough good things about Sorrento! Our waiter Jorge was outstanding. It's a beautiful restaurant and very romantic. Our food was phenomenal. I ordered the Lobster Tortellini and my dining partner ordered the Gnocchi with Shrimp Spiedini. I will definitely be going back. Thanks Open Table for the recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere, expemplary service ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, expemplary service. The food was excellent. I recommend the Branzino fish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good ambiance. Really nice p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food, good ambiance. Really nice place for a hot date. The waiters were very nice and we even received a free dessert!!

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, , Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service!! One of our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful food and service!! One of our favorite places in Houston!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful;staff was very ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything was wonderful;staff was very accommodating. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Went on New Years Eve Signif ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent

Went on New Years Eve

Significant number of choices on a four course menu

One of Houston's very best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of 4 on New Year's Eve. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were a party of 4 on New Year's Eve. We were rushed through our meal despite our repeated requests to slow down the pace. It's a shame that a restaurant as good as Sorrento does not realize the damage that they do to their reputation by treating customers in such a way. Food was as expected except for the pasta dish which was mushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Very pleasant dining experience, as usua ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very pleasant dining experience, as usual . One criticism: There was a telephone on the wall about 5 feet from our table (near the bar area). The volume on the ring tone was turned up high. Thus, every time the phone rang it, it made a loud and annoying ring sound that would momentarily distract us from our otherwise enjoyable dining experience. In the future, I would suggest turning down the ring tone on that particular phone during peak lunch and dinner hours. I presume that there is at least one other phone in the restaurant (perhaps near the hostess station in the lobby of the restaurant) where calls can be received during the peak hours. Otherwise, Sorrento is and remains one of our favorite restaurants in the Montrose area.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Asked for a quiet table for conversation ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Asked for a quiet table for conversation and the table we were given worked. Still close enough to the piano to enjoy the music. Service was excellent, the server was helpful with suggestions for food and wine. The menu had many interesting options and the food was very tasty. Highly recommended for a nice evening with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner for our daughter.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Birthday dinner for our daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

It was wonderful! We all had great meal ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was wonderful! We all had great meals and everyone seemed enjoy each dish. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed lunch at this lovely restaura ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We enjoyed lunch at this lovely restaurant a few days after Christmas. The restaurant was not crowded so we were able to carry on a conversation. The service was attentive, while not overbearing. The food was delicious, presentation was attractive, and the experience was most enjoyable. Would definitely return to this delightful spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.