Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: (713) 527-0609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Romantic (30)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Business Meals (17)
Authentic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Live Music (12)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Private Room (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service at Sorrento are always incredible. All of the food is delicious, but the homemade pastas are a must try! You can't go wrong!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We celebrated our daughter's birthday. The food, service and ambiance was perfect. Ricardo took very good care of us as did the young waiter who brought the bread and refilled the tea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of the best brunch meals I've ever had. The filets were AMAZING. I'd put them up against any restaurant. I ordered a mushroom omelet and it was the second best one I've ever had (the best had crabmeat, so it's not a fair comparison). The service was top notch. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was very good. The service was even better. They waited to bring me the check until I asked for it, which allowed me to hang out with my date for over an hour after we had finished eating. It was very enjoyable for both of us. Highly recommend this place. When I made my reservation through Open Table, I requested a secluded table for a romantic dinner, and that's what I got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service and atmosphere were outstanding. However, food was average. Doubt I will revisit restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is one of our favorite date night places. It's quiet enough that you can have a conversation and not feel like you're yelling at one another. The food is amazing. We love the torchetti and spicy sausage dish and the beef short rib is delicious. The service is always attentive but not intrusive. We would recommend this restaurant to any of our friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was professional and warm, the food was EXCELLENT. It is the best Italian food I have had in Houston. Sorrento also offers the best selection of homemade breads I have even seen. Everything was presented so nicely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Haven't been here in a while and it was outstanding as usual. Friendly personnel and the food is always great. Steve our waiter was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Lord of the flies. We ordered the tableside risotto and when our waiter opened the cheese wheel to pour the risotto in it was full of fruit flies. Then the rest of the evening we were strafed by them. Crawling on the table, buzzing our heads, dive bombing into our wine. We won't be back ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food, the bread basket was amazing!! Sergio was our waiter, and along with the other staff we were very well taken care of. This was a fun place for dinner and someplace I would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Alex Bautista gave top notch personal service and provided excellent chef special recommendations. Great ambiance and live piano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

As always, high quality tasty food and good service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I don't think the pasta was handmade and I asked the waiter if the pasta was hand made but didn't get a response. The pasta dishes didn't have much taste but the Alfredo sauce. The best part was the desert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day. Our server was fantastic and the music from the piano was nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Italian in Houston!! Live piano player really adds that special touch. Our fourth time for Mother's Day. The food is always fresh and consistent. Excellent varieties of bread.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time at Sorrento's and it was memorable. We had the tasting menu along with the wine pairings and everything was wonderful!!! Our waiter Edgar had perfectly timed attentiveness. Highly recommend and will definitely return. Highlight was the egg ravioli, the blood orange "cosmos" (that Edgar suggested over a cosmo), and the Chambord cream with the panacotta.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful food & service in a beautiful restaurant. Great piano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Came here for a nice dinner before prom, best decision ever. The food was amazing ordered gnocchi and my date ordered the classic lasagna both were spectacular. For desert we had an apple tarte with vanilla gelato that was fantastic. The only downside I could find to was that it's almost uncomfortable being there because all the dining guests are so stiff and serious, throws the romantic vibe off. If you're young like we are you might get a couple judgemental stares so be mindful of that. Also, we believe the only nonalcoholic drink they have is water because that's what they served us, no questions asked. Overall, it was a nice experience for the two of us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and I had an amazing dinner here! Perfect ambience and the food was outstanding! Great service from all staff .... could not fault this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Thank you very for a great evening. Service was amazing and food delicious !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent food and service. The staff was helpful in finding us an out of the way table we requested to accommodate the baby we brought.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband, my daughter, and myself dined at Sorrento's last Saturday. We were seated in the middle of the restaurant which was nice. It wasn't that busy so all of the servers ended up standing around in the room and I felt like we were in full display. I don't know about my family but I felt uncomfortable. Our waiter was nice but constantly coming up to us asking how we liked our food. We had 3 salads, 2 entree's, a half a bottle of wine, and 1 cup of coffee. No dessert. That totaled $178. Including the tip our dinner was well over $200. I'm very confused why our bill was so high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It has been a while since we had been there. We forgot just how great it is. Fantastic food and good wine list. Great service and perfect for a date night with live piano. One of the best restaurants in Houston for sure.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Really enjoyed the food. Everyone was very nice and the live piano added a romantic ambiance. Can we get labels on the silverware? I don't know if i used the right fork for my dessert LOL

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Came to Sorrento's for lunch.
Service was outstanding.
Food was good, ordered lamb chops, 4/5 stars.
Cocktails fantastic, had blood orange martini and another that was custom made, fabulous!
Dessert was good, ambiance very nice.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My favorite place in Houston!!! Best food and staff!! I look forward to every meal here!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our second time visiting Sorrento and it didn't disappoint. The wait staff is very attentive and helpful. Great ambiance with a piano player. The meat dishes are OK, but the pastas really stand out. Highlight on this visit was the gnocchi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, great ambiance, piano player set the mood. Great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Had a wonderful experience. I was hosting a group of 5 retirees and former coworkers. We were seated in the wine room. Everyone was impressed with the restaurant - the room - the food - and the service. Our waiter Edgar was terrific and very attentive to our needs. I truly recommend Sorrento's. Have been there numerous times before. Great menu selections and the kitchen does a wonderful job with all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and service was, and has been before excellent. The egg yolk raviolo was the highlight of the meal. The wine selection that goes with the Chef's Tasting Menu is spot on.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always hesitate to eat out on a holiday for many reasons - small, fixed menus, overcrowding, waiting time, etc. but we know that we can always count on Sorrento, no matter what the day or time of year. We were there for Easter and although they did have a special Easter menu, it was very extensive and it was a la carte. So much better than a fixed "choose this or that, choose from 3 courses for x amount of dollars. The food is always amazing and the service is always beyond wonderful. The atmosphere is always lovely and having live music in the background adds to the ambiance. We have eaten at many fine dining restaurants in Houston, especially as new ones come on board but always go back to Sorrento because we know they will never fail us. The owner is very caring and takes time to visit tables and really listens to comments about the restaurant, the food, etc. The manager, who has become dear to us, is one of the many reasons we continue to go back to the restaurant. His work is exemplary. All the waiters, not just the one waiting on us, stop to see how we are doing, how the food is, adjust napkins, ask about drinks, and the overall impression is, that they all work so well as a team and all care about their customers. I truly believe they all know the magic is repeat business and they all work on that very hard.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Was there for Easter brunch. The Classic Eggs benedict was equisit - perfectly prepared! Get it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sorrento is a long time stand-by choice... and the reason is that it has delivered an outstanding dining experience for a long time. We are always impressed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

In the overall it is a good place to eat. Only regret is the over price, it is really expensive, however the food is creative and great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Outstanding for business lunch or fine dining. Food, service and atmosphere are excellent quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Love sitting in the atrium for its lower noise level than the main dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Raoul was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food and service were superb!!!! I will return and recommend friends and family.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

A place to be reminded how Europe lives and eats. Never hurried to clear you out after you have eaten and the staff is wonderful. They recommend wine or food only when asked and if you like a dish but one something left out it is not a problem. I discovered it by accident one day at lunch and have been back every chance I get. Any celebration for a friend I take them there to experience good food, and lovely service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.