Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.58mi
  3. Distance: 0.92mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Sorrento Ristorante Italiano

Sorrento Ristorante is a complete Italian experience located on the lower Westheimer strip. At Sorrento, receive attentive service from their experienced, knowledgeable, and professional staff. They serve a sophisticated, creative and contemporary Italian menu along with an extensive wine list that ranges from the rolling vineyards of Tuscany to California. The atmosphere is completed by their live piano bar.

415 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Whitney & Taft

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 527-0609

Website:
http://www.sorrentohouston.com/

Entertainment:
Piano

Catering:
See restaurant website for more information.

Private Party Facilities:
We have our wine room, fireplace room, atrium, and main dining room available for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Sami Bates: (713) 527-0609

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website to find details on our next Wine Dinner!

Sorrento Ristorante Italiano Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Romantic (31)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (13)
Live Music (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Private Room (9)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (2)
Fireplace (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our first time dining at Sorrento. We had a reservation for 6 people and they seated us in a small room off the main dining room which made us feel special. The service was very friendly, helpful, and attentive. The food was wonderful - a wide range of Italian dishes, both classics and fun twists on traditional. The portions are generous. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Saturday evening was our first visit to Sorrento and it was a great experience. The food was perfectly prepared and presented, and our waiter, Edgar provided perfect service. Cheers to bartender Frank, too! We will definitely return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food, and they are super freindly. I loved the service, and the waiter gave good recommendations for the menu. It makes a great date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

You can not beat Sorrento for a wonderful Sunday Brunch. First of all, their brunch special is an incredible value. Second, you get some of the best cuisine Houston has to offer.

My favorite soup in the State of Texas is their butternut squash soup. The taste is out of this world.

I had the filet mignon which was perfectly cooked medium rare. I normally have the Sea Bass or Lamb. All good.

Topped off with creme brulee and a spoon full of my wife's bread pudding. A wonderful coffee after and I was done. Perfect meal with a wonderful atmosphere and world class service. I love this place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 8, 2017

From the valet to the manager, everyone was VERY attentive and the food was excellent (especially the crab cake 😀)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great Service. Great food. On weekends they have a pianist play which makes a nice background atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Fantastic!!! Fantastic Food, service, atmosphere. Always a fun date night dinner with my hubby! Fresh, delicious food, great desserts and drinks!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Delicious and beautiful restaurant! My salad, the arugula and fig, was great and I could eat it every day. My husband enjoyed his Caesar and pronounced it excellent (and he has had a lot of Caesars). I had the mushroom raviolo and it was as good. My husband loved the pappardelle alfredo with the goat cheese stuffed chicken. The wine by the glass is a generous pour. A small vodka and tonic was pricey at $12 (our only complaint). So stick to wine! As wonderful as the food was, the additional star was the pianist. She is worth the trip. Her selections wonderfully complimented the elegant atmosphere of this very fine restaurant. She plays flawlessly and with just the right noise level. The music was a huge plus where in many restaurants, it's a negative. Kudos to her and we will definitely return to this lovely place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I had not been here in a long time and forgot how wonderful this place is. Very romantic, excellent service and outstanding food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Jesse was our waiter and was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great romantic spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Business meal. Great as always

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was the worst valentine's day experience I ever had the food was nasty and over price and the parking demand a tip which I'm going give them anyways

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day lunch and got the Executive Lunch fixed price menu. I had the steak frites and my husband got the salmon. Both entrees were wonderful. The price for the Executive Lunch makes it an outstanding value. Service was just right - friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed an early Valentines Day date and we both loved it! Food was great! Service was great! Even though it is a bit expensive, it is well worth it! Great for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sadly Disappointed in both the salmon & halibut -

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

All was great till we got an unexpected bill. Brunch was $35/person and you could have any entree on the menu plus salad/soup & desert. A great brunch. Except that the waiter told us the specials and did not explain that they were not "entrees". When that happened all of a sudden everything was a la carte. Since two of four took the special it added a lot to the bill. The bill should have been $195 plus tax & tip. It was $$266 plus tax & tip. The manager gave us a "bargain" and made the bill 223 plus tax & tip. Still overcharging by $28 plus tax.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is delicious! Pasta is hand made fresh daily. Wonderful and knowledgeable staff. Exquisite desserts and soothing piano music tops off the experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very expensive but a great place for a romantic date night if you want to spend about $50 bucks a person.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Another excellent dining experience: wonderful selection of Italian dishes, very attentive service. Veal medallions, mushroom raviolo and lobster bisque were delicious! As are the varied fresh bread basket and desserts. Upscale old world ambiance with live piano music. Easy to talk without straining. Not inexpensive but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

First time visit but will definitely return. Service impeccable and food, delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My girlfriend and I were in town for the Super Bowl and wanted a great meal and a few cocktails before the game. Sorrento was perfect!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always on point ... from service to food. Excellent choice for dining!

Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic restaurant!! Service is top notch!!
I highly recommend you visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Private Room, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A classic high-class Italian dining experience within easy reach of Houston Midtown. Genuinely enjoyed our experience from the perfectly prepared Lobster Bisk to the Sorbet. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

There were only two things I liked about this restaurant: the décor and the pianist. Everything else was truly disappointing and such a waste of an evening out – which is something I don’t get very often. The restaurant was extremely noisy, so much so that we literally had to scream and say things twice to have a conversation. How on earth can Sorrento call themselves a romantic restaurant with this noise level? We honestly didn't understand a word our waiter said to us. I don't know which country he is from but his English was poor which was frustrating for such an expensive restaurant. Also, the young man who gave us bread didn't speak English very well either so we couldn't understand what the different types of breads were. The only word I understood was sourdough so that's the one I got. Unfortunately it was cold in the middle as if it had just come from the refrigerator. He also put something on our table but didn't tell us what it was. We honestly had no clue but knew there were garlic cloves. Our service was not what we were expecting whatsoever and this was not a fine dining restaurant. People were in jeans and we were the only ones who actually dressed up. So much for the dress code. For our appetizers we had the "crab cake" and calamari. I put the crab cake in parentheses because it was not a crab cake at all. It was just chunks of crab meat (some with shells on them by the way) mixed with flavorless polenta. It was edible, not tasty, and certainly shouldn't be called a crab cake. The calamari was light and fluffy and was the only edible thing we had. For our entrees we had the mushroom raviolo and scallops. The scallops weren't cooked properly and were dark pink in the middle and lacked flavor. Another disappointment. The mushroom raviolo was not edible. We each tried to eat one and hated it. I don't think the mushrooms were cooked and there was no cheese in the middle nor any flavor. No one refilled my water. Bad service, bad food. Great pianist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was excellent. Our Italian wine was outstanding. We loved the scallops but we're unimpressed with the pasta. The seasoning was lacking. But the bread was outstanding

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent as always. This particular evening somewhat noisy but able to carry on a conversation. Impecable service

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Scallops were perfectly prepared. The risotto was good as

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went for brunch and thought the restaurant was lovely. They have a wonderful inexpensive three course lunch that was beautiful and contained a large amount of choices. The brunch items were well presented and very tasty. The wine list was nice and the atmosphere was beautiful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great dinner with friends. Food was very good and each of us had different items. Lamb with Goat Cheese is deadly!. Enjoyed wine and atmosphere. Very relaxed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I brought my work team in on a Friday for our new year's lunch and everything was perfect. We were in what I would call the wine room (off to the left as you enter the restaurant). Our service team was attentive but unobtrusive. The food was delicious. The ambiance was lovely. I always enjoy my visits here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I had reserved the dinner for an anniversary celebration. Raul made sure we had plenty of attention. The table and it's setting was romantic and quite comfortable. The live piano music added to the beauty of its environment. The whole Branzino was amazing ! Overall quite a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

GET THE PANNA COTTA!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Cute restaurant, great food and exceptional service. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great experience! Wait staff was excellent!!! Will definitely return!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Amazing risotto with mushrooms♥️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Always a great meal in a wonderful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Can't say enough good things about Sorrento! Our waiter Jorge was outstanding. It's a beautiful restaurant and very romantic. Our food was phenomenal. I ordered the Lobster Tortellini and my dining partner ordered the Gnocchi with Shrimp Spiedini. I will definitely be going back. Thanks Open Table for the recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, expemplary service. The food was excellent. I recommend the Branzino fish.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.