About Sorellina

One Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Contemporary Italian-Mediterranean cuisine served in an upbeat and sophisticated environment by a staff intent on providing you with a truly memorable dining experience. Sorellina, the 'kid sister' of acclaimed Chef Jamie Mammano's Mistral provides an intense look at regional Italian food with a modern twist. Sorellina's wine list focuses on some hidden Italian gems paired with an international selection creating an effortless opportunity to explore the unknown. The warm-modern design intertwined with the glow of the back wall mural and the floor to ceiling windows are a visually stunning combination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Dartmouth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 412-4600

Website:
http://www.sorellinaboston.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available from the Blagden Street entrance to Sorellina (next to Boston's public library). The public parking garages are a short stroll away. You can park at the Prudential garage on Exeter Street; the Copley place garage on Huntington and the Dartmouth Street garage. Street parking is an option.

Executive Chef:
Marga Raffucci

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Maccheroncelli With Kobe Meatballs
Exotic Mushroom Pasta In Truffle Oil
Maine Lobster Gnocchi
Ahi Tuna Tartare
White Chocolate Mousse W Tangerine
Salmon And Peas
Panna Cotta
fettuccine
Endive Salad
Foie Gras With Blood Orange
American Wagyu Beef
Potato Gnocchi With Lobster
Bread
Caramello Pudding
Grilled Salmon
Oysters
Veal Milanese
Bacon scallops
Cappellini
Lobster
Mozzarella Di Buffala And Heirloom Tomato
Appetizers
Soft Shell Crab
Doughnuts
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Spaghetti With Shrimp
Ceasar Salad
veal piccata
Beet Salad
Apricot Torte With Honey Gelato
Scallops
Salmon Tartare
Cavatelli
Lemon Polenta Cake
Ribeye
Polenta
Chocolata
Baby Beets
Polpo
Sorbetto
Ciambelle
Garganelli With Veal Ragu Bolognese
Sausage
Hand Cut Truffle Fries With Parmigiano
Veal Saltimbocca
Scottish Salmon Tartare
Seared Scallops Pureed Celery Root Oyster Mushrooms
Squash Blossoms
Filet Mignon
Torta di Cioccolato
Chocolate Mousse
Chocolate Mousse W/ Caramel Sauce
Rib Eye Steak Special
Gnocchi & Lobster
Grilled Octopus Over Squid Ink Couscous

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sorellina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
Best Ambiance
Boston
1 More
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (147)
Fit for Foodies (127)
Romantic (122)
See All
Notable Wine List (91)
Hot Spot (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for Groups (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Lunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The octopus was amazing. As was the gnoc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

The octopus was amazing. As was the gnocchi and the chocolate lava cake. Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at this restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first time at this restaurant but not our last. The room is beautiful, the service was excellent and the food was delicious. Definitely an upscale experience and not inexpensive but well worth it for a special evening. We tried the home made pastas and would order them again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My waiter was terribly rude, rarely appe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

My waiter was terribly rude, rarely appeared and didn't do a thing except take my order. The gentleman in charge of cleaning and making sure things were great was awesome. Wish I could've tipped him instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The food and service was tremendous. A g ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service was tremendous. A great wine list complimented the food and the staff was very polite, efficient and knowledgable. The restauRant is elegant and comfortable with adequate spacing that provided for a pleasant experience. We had the grilled vegetables and fettuccine with mushrooms. Both Were excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. The Tuna tartare is ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great. The Tuna tartare is a must try. Our was great, and explained & answered alm of our questions. I highly recommend Sorellina

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food in a lovely setting -- fu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food in a lovely setting -- fun for a special event or just for an evening out. Very relaxed but elegant atmosphere. The pasta is the best! So, too, are other dishes. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very nice ambiance but a little dark whe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very nice ambiance but a little dark where we were seated. The service was impeccable.

We shared two starters, the tuna and the octopus. Both excellent. We also both had the veal entree, which again, was delicious. Our one criticism was with the dress code. Their web site stated casual elegant but there was one person in cutoff jeans and others in jeans.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

great atmosphere and all around vibe. F ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

great atmosphere and all around vibe. Food was good though one of the entrees was a bit too salty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Your hostesses were great, holding open ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Your hostesses were great, holding open the doors for an old guy coming in on a walker. Our server was perfect w/everything, going one step beyond to bring outside the take-home bag that our guest forgot @ the table. Please thank her for me. It was an xtra that you should be aware of. It was great. We'll be back, either by our selves or w/friends. Valk

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tables are too close to each other... I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Tables are too close to each other... I felt like everyone was Eve's dropping on our conversation. Food and service was excellent as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We were somewhat disappointed. Reputati ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We were somewhat disappointed. Reputation was high price but very good quality. We would rate it as high price, good (not great) quality. Service was attentive, knowledgeable, responsive. Menu was not very imaginative - veal Milanese was tender and tasty, but not exceptional. Filet mignon was a bit over cooked - appetizers were standard fare.

In our opinion, kitchen needs dose of menu imagination to bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely loved my experience...will co ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Absolutely loved my experience...will come back next time I'm in town. The gnocchi with lobster was absolutely amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in every way, friendly ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great restaurant in every way, friendly staff , beautiful decor, amazing service and fabulous food. we took our family 6 people to celebrate the birth of our grandchild, they gave us a nice table with room for the stroller and even wrote (congratulations) in chocolate on the dessert plate!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I see my brother and sister in law only ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I see my brother and sister in law only once a year and want the venue to be very special. Fabulous but fading into the background so you can focus on each other. The service is so great that all my expectations were hit. Thank you so much for everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thought the food was outstanding. Con ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We thought the food was outstanding. Congratulation to the culinary team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service and food. A bit noisy ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent service and food. A bit noisy because of weeknight business dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food overpriced and underwhelming. Seems ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food overpriced and underwhelming. Seems to cater to a business expense account crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

My husband and I were celebrating our 17 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 17th yr anniversary. We liked everything, we just felt it was a little too dark to read the menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was amazing. The Halibut and v ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was amazing. The Halibut and veal medallions were perfectly cooked. The server was friendly and informative. Our pinot noir went perfect with our meal as well. one of the best restaurants in the city. I highly recommend. Don't waste your money on most of the other restaurants in Boston when you can spend it at this gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lobster gnocchi was the best thing I've ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lobster gnocchi was the best thing I've eaten in 10 years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very good restaurant. Food was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Overall very good restaurant. Food was very good; oysters were superb; prices were appropriate for the quality.

The wine list is extensive but ridiculously expensive. Very limited wines by the glass which makes it challenging for a couple that has only one wine drinker.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was quite good. More authentic Ital ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was quite good. More authentic Italian food that the average American Italian restaurant. Wine was fantastic with a great selection. Service was friendly and helpful but didn't check in often enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

This was the best meal we've had in a re ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This was the best meal we've had in a restaurant for some time. We were a party of four and every dish was outstanding. The tuna tartar was especially wonderful. The waitperson was a gem. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An eclectic crowd, and excellent service ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

An eclectic crowd, and excellent service. However, the food was bland and uninteresting. Some of it didn't even look good. Even the basics (warm bread, gelato) were bland and underwhelming. For the price, I expect flavors, presentation. The restaurant puts on all the airs of a fancy eatery, but doesn't deliver.

Tags: Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

How could I have forgotten about this wo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

How could I have forgotten about this wonderful gem in the center of Back Bay. Everything about it is ideal. The location, the staff, the food, the decor..even the valet parking guys! With so many new restaurants opening up over the past 10 years, I have not been back to Sorellina in far too long. I have been back twice in the past 30 days and no doubt will be making a habit of that over the next months and years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Boston! The f ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Boston! The food, service and atmosphere are impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and presented in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was delicious and presented in a beautiful way. The wine list was extensive, and albeit a bit pricey was a good match to our food. The service was unobtrusive, yet attentive which was very much appreciated. Overall a very nice dining experience in Boston!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal and excellent service. A bit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great meal and excellent service. A bit pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Boston. G ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Boston. Good wine list. I highly recommend the tuna tartare.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not much noise very formal, fresh food, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Not much noise very formal, fresh food, you get what you pay for, staff will accommodate as much as you need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous service and flavor

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fabulous service and flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was great but $16 for a wedge o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our food was great but $16 for a wedge od romaine? Ridiculous. Our wine selection was great as was the halibut and salmon. It was our 30th anniversary. You would think they would have comped the $10 dessert. Not worth the price here

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always great. We love the steak-it's coo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always great. We love the steak-it's cooked so perfectly. (Not the scorched earth salt lick or raw slab so common in steakhouses). A great preparation sitting atop mashed potatoes. Had the green salad to start. Bottle of 2009 Margaux.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding meal. waiter a mite bit crus ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

outstanding meal. waiter a mite bit crusty. would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I tend to dine at Sorellina with special ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I tend to dine at Sorellina with special friends, for special occasions. Recently, my experience was as good as ever. We had the corner bar seats overlooking the peaceful, upscale, low-lit ambience of the exquisitely designed room; quiet groups of dinners either reveling, or in tete-a-tete. As usual, the food was exquisite, and the service impeccable. Hidden away between, the Westin hotel and the public library in Back Bay, Sorellina is a top-tier gem of an oasis that will not disappoint.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Underwhelmed, given its high reviews. Sa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Underwhelmed, given its high reviews. Sat at the bar and ordered app, entree and dessert. All were less than expected. The halibut main course tasted fishy. Darn:-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Waiter was a bit snooty but other than t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Waiter was a bit snooty but other than that one of the best meals I have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dinner, great service, very nice a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great dinner, great service, very nice ambiance and we all commented how nice it was to be able to hear each other talk!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Definitely one of the best restaurants i ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Definitely one of the best restaurants in Boston. The food and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.