About Sorellina

One Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Contemporary Italian-Mediterranean cuisine served in an upbeat and sophisticated environment by a staff intent on providing you with a truly memorable dining experience. Sorellina, the 'kid sister' of acclaimed Chef Jamie Mammano's Mistral provides an intense look at regional Italian food with a modern twist. Sorellina's wine list focuses on some hidden Italian gems paired with an international selection creating an effortless opportunity to explore the unknown. The warm-modern design intertwined with the glow of the back wall mural and the floor to ceiling windows are a visually stunning combination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Dartmouth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 412-4600

Website:
http://www.sorellinaboston.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available from the Blagden Street entrance to Sorellina (next to Boston's public library). The public parking garages are a short stroll away. You can park at the Prudential garage on Exeter Street; the Copley place garage on Huntington and the Dartmouth Street garage. Street parking is an option.

Executive Chef:
Marga Raffucci

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Panna Cotta
fettuccine
Endive Salad
Foie Gras With Blood Orange
American Wagyu Beef
Potato Gnocchi With Lobster
Bread
Exotic Mushroom Pasta In Truffle Oil
Caramello Pudding
Grilled Salmon
Oysters
Veal Milanese
Bacon scallops
Lobster
Cappellini
Mozzarella Di Buffala And Heirloom Tomato
Appetizers
Soft Shell Crab
Truffle Parmesan Fries
veal piccata
Spaghetti With Shrimp
Doughnuts
Ceasar Salad
Beet Salad
Apricot Torte With Honey Gelato
Scallops
Maccheroncelli With Kobe Meatballs
Salmon Tartare
Cavatelli
Lemon Polenta Cake
Ribeye
Chocolata
Polenta
Veal Saltimbocca
Polpo
Sausage
Sorbetto
Hand Cut Truffle Fries With Parmigiano
Garganelli With Veal Ragu Bolognese
Maine Lobster Gnocchi
Ciambelle
Baby Beets
Squash Blossoms
Scottish Salmon Tartare
Torta di Cioccolato
Seared Scallops Pureed Celery Root Oyster Mushrooms
Chocolate Mousse W/ Caramel Sauce
Chocolate Mousse
Filet Mignon
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Rib Eye Steak Special
Gnocchi & Lobster
Grilled Octopus Over Squid Ink Couscous

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sorellina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
Best Food
Boston
3 More
Best Service
Boston
Best Ambiance
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (152)
fit for foodies (127)
romantic (121)
See All
notable wine list (86)
good for groups (47)
hot spot (44)
neighborhood gem (40)
vibrant bar scene (17)
late-night find (16)
great for lunch (7)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sorrelina is a very special restaurant. ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Sorrelina is a very special restaurant. We took a friend for her birthday and she was thrilled. The Service and the food and drink were Outstanding. The valet parking right at the door is most helpful. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

upscale restaurant for adults. pleasant ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

upscale restaurant for adults. pleasant interior, professional service and an involved GM lovely seafood and pasta dishes with a well balanced and affordable wine list our 3rd visit here (we are from nyc and compare this to del Posto, Marea) and would certainly visit again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall, very nice decorating, a bit too ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Overall, very nice decorating, a bit too dark. I needed the flashlight on my phone in order to read the menu. The arugula salad with the pine nuts was really delicious, so was the bread and butter. The eggplant rotini and truffle fries are really good as well. My entree was truly disappointing. The halibut lacked in flavor & seemed like it was frozen? It didn't flake easily, as most white fish will do when its super fresh. For a $40 entree, it needed to deliver with a punch, which it didn't. The fettuccini with truffle oil was a good pick, but not for $37. Desserts were all very good, lemon, tiramisu and the donut. Our waitress was pleasant in a totally fake way. Almost borderline annoying. we would be talking and she would just come up and start asking us how were doing or to take our order. The proper way is to come up and pause and wait for us to look up at her.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a wonderful night. Our dishes were ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

Such a wonderful night. Our dishes were so beautifully plated and delicious. I had to ask our server to let the chef know how much we appreciated their efforts.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I arrived with clients at 5:30 for a bus ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

I arrived with clients at 5:30 for a business dinner and was greeted with a 'welcome back'. We were taken to a table in the rear but wanted some more light as I had brought some documents to review and asked to sit in one of the window tables. The girl seating us had to go check with the hostess and came back and said they were all taken. We said really? and the answer was yes. It wasn't until a little after 8 PM that the last window table filled up just as we were leaving. It's unfortunate that Sorellina couldn't have been more accommodating. My clients who live in the area had never been to Sorellina before and were quite surprised.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed a very nice evening at this p ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice evening at this popular restaurant. The only disappointment was where we were seated. Our table was next to the Exit door, and this was used as a handicapped entrance/exit. If you are trying to enjoy a quiet or romantic dinner, this is not the place to be seated. It is unfortunate that the restaurant is not able to offer a different place for people to enter or exit at the front of their establishment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Just wish they hadn't seated us next to ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Just wish they hadn't seated us next to a bus station, but food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The restaurant is a "see and be seen" pl ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The restaurant is a "see and be seen" place and it is quite lovely inside. We were a group of four and our menu selections were all different. I'll mention the outstanding dishes only. Verdure appetizer - beautifully presented using in-season produce. Delicious! Foie-gras appetizer - Outstanding! Veal Saltimbocca - beautiful presentation and excellent flavor Fettuccine with wild mushrooms and truffle butter - Stunning! Cornish hen - my husband loved it. All portions are very generous, and, as is usual in a fine dining establishment, some dishes were quite rich. Excellent meal had by all!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding top to bottom. There is a q ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding top to bottom. There is a quiet elegance without pretention. The food was beautifully prepared and presented. The service was impeccable without overindulgence. The maître d'hôtel brought an additional dessert to the table for our anniversary. It was a virtually perfect experience that has rarely been rivaled in our memories.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Boston on vacation and believ ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

We were in Boston on vacation and believe it or not, wanted something other than a lobster roll for dinner. Hard to believe, right? A friend had told us about this place and I'm glad we followed his recommendation. The food was phenomenal as was the service. The octopus and fois gras were fantastic apps. The haddock and ribeye were great for mains. I'll be back the next time I'm in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

this is a four star plus restaurant for ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

this is a four star plus restaurant for food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything from beginning to end was per ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Everything from beginning to end was perfect. The rave reviews held up and we couldn't have been happier with the dining choice. Impeccable service, quality of food and ambiance. If I could give more stars, I would.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The decor of the restaurant is interesti ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The decor of the restaurant is interesting and novel. I had the veal saltimbocca which was more like a veal chop (without the bone) than other saltimbocca meals I have had. I felt I didn't get what I ordered. My husband had the Cornish Hen and said it was adequate. All in all, we left with the impression that it is over rated.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Having lived in TX my whole life, and i ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Having lived in TX my whole life, and in Houston for most of my adulthood, we have eaten at our fair share of nice restaurants and good food. The food here was average. Definitely not worth the price. Would not go to again or recommend.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is great. We go very often. It ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food is great. We go very often. It will be nice adding new dishes to the menu

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eveerything great

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great ambiance and service. Food outstanding; especially the salmon. Try the cioccolato for dessert, it's worth the 10 min. wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely dinner

Dined on June 9, 2016

Visited Sorellina while in Boston for business. Service was excellent, attentive, and knowledgable. Menu was very nice with options for all. The Salmon Tartare with creme fraiche was delicious and several of the pasta courses were excellent. Nice and not overwhelming wine list. Certainly a dining experience fit for foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great wine selection

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food and wine selection where amazing. The filet was one of the best steaks I have had in years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined on June 6, 2016

The tuna tartare was outstanding, the ravioli heavenly, the gnoochi delicious. I was with a large group so got to sample a variety of different plates. The service was outstanding. Loved the décor and the ambience. I have been coming to Boston for years and never knew this place existed ... I will definitely stop in again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a dime. Epitome of fine dining.

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Great ambiance. Food was amazing. One of my new favorite spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there a ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there and the service, Sebastian, he was so wonderful, attentive yet not overbearing and knew just when to ask if any more food etc. was needed. Almost a perfect ten. There is no real privacy area, tables are near to one another so if someone speaks loudly you can easily hear them. However it still remains one of our favorite restaurants....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Server was very extremely helpful.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Server was very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Very chic ambiance and the food was exceptionally good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All the dishes were outstanding

Dined on June 3, 2016

All the dishes were outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, only very expensive and sma ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Great place, only very expensive and small portions

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review.

Dined on May 29, 2016

I took my husband there is past Sunday for his 70th birthday. Food and service we exceptional . Mark was out waiter and he was outstanding……….We will be back. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Just meh. I failed to impress some old friends.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Waiter with water interrupted conversations when refilling glasses - which was frequent, thus became obnoxious. Menu was disappointing. While I enjoy trying new variations, there was a serious lack of choice for our quests who expected Italian food - well presented. The broccoli rabe was so tough I could not cut it. Very embarrassing to have to bit off a hunk of vegetable and chew, chew, chew. Finally my desert, while tasty, was placed in a large, lightly colored bowl which overwhelmed the presentation:...the meringue topping was the same color as the interior of the bowl and lay flat upon the desert. It gave the illusion that they forgot to put the desert in the bowl leaving me to think they only gave me a few bits of fruit. I recommend using a small glass cup to display the product ! Guest greeting and wait service were stellar but, where were the chefs' eyes that night? I noticed many empty tables. Perhaps management could consider recrafting the menu and give the staff and chef some thing to work with that will appeal to a wider crowd. You have a captive audience with folks staying at the Westin - work that without compromising your corporate culture. Best wishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another delicious meal!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Sorellina is one of our go-to restaurants for special family occasions and it never disappoints. We celebrated our son's 16th birthday and had another fabulous meal. The gnocchi with lobster was incredible, the ahi tuna appetizer is always a favorite and the meatballs are amazing. Best of all, my son had a beautiful chocolate happy birthday message written on his dessert plate complete with candle. We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant. Great for a special occ ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Best restaurant. Great for a special occasion. Food and service is outstanding. Beautiful ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service was provided by our ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding service was provided by our server. Will definitely go back!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is by far the best restaurant I've ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is by far the best restaurant I've been to in Boston. It delivers in all categories.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Splendid meal

Dined on May 20, 2016

We came there for a special occasion & it was worth every penny. The service was excellent, ambiance lovely, attention to detail impressive and above all the food was deliriously good. We were beyond pleased. Food was rich but oh so delicious. The verdure, the polpo & the lobster gnocchi, the foes gras, the fettuccine with mushrooms - all outstanding. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great night and a wonderful exp ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a great night and a wonderful experience. I had made a special request about where we wanted to sit and they accommodated all of my requests and it was a Thursday night which I know is a busy night so I really appreciate that. It had been about a month since we were in and had really missed it and had a really beautiful night. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5

One of Boston top restaurants

Dined on May 18, 2016

One of Boston top restaurants

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food here. Food doesn't hav ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We loved the food here. Food doesn't have that rich creamy feel, but it is still very delicous. Fetticini pasta was excellent, thin and al Dante (unlike the thick one you get in the frogeries stores). My husband is not a great fan of Italian food, but he enjoyed this food more than any other place in the US. ( I love Italian food, so we often choose to go for Italian type of restaurants). And I just loved the athmosphere there- very romantic. Perfect for some celebration, like wedding anniversary or similar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

Good but not great, we love to eat and t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Good but not great, we love to eat and try new places. Worth a visit but won't run back to try again.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very dark

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Lights were so low that all of us had hard time reading menu. Plus menu not what we thought it would be for a restaurant billed as Italian.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the scallops and filet mignon was the be ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

the scallops and filet mignon was the best we ever had! we look forward to trying the remainder of the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was disappointed in the fact that the ho ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Was disappointed in the fact that the hostess took us to a table with a large column right next to the table, we arrived at opening time most tables were empty, plenty of other options available, had to ask to move. Food not spectacular, Caesar salad,mediocre at best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply great.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything that I ever had at Sorellina was very good. Worth the price. The food is excellent (all of it). The service was impeccable. And the general vibe at the restaurant was very pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love it here! Always a terrif ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Absolutely love it here! Always a terrific dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.