About Sorellina

One Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Contemporary Italian-Mediterranean cuisine served in an upbeat and sophisticated environment by a staff intent on providing you with a truly memorable dining experience. Sorellina, the 'kid sister' of acclaimed Chef Jamie Mammano's Mistral provides an intense look at regional Italian food with a modern twist. Sorellina's wine list focuses on some hidden Italian gems paired with an international selection creating an effortless opportunity to explore the unknown. The warm-modern design intertwined with the glow of the back wall mural and the floor to ceiling windows are a visually stunning combination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Dartmouth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 412-4600

Website:
http://www.sorellinaboston.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available from the Blagden Street entrance to Sorellina (next to Boston's public library). The public parking garages are a short stroll away. You can park at the Prudential garage on Exeter Street; the Copley place garage on Huntington and the Dartmouth Street garage. Street parking is an option.

Executive Chef:
Marga Raffucci

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Panna Cotta
fettuccine
Endive Salad
Foie Gras With Blood Orange
American Wagyu Beef
Potato Gnocchi With Lobster
Bread
Exotic Mushroom Pasta In Truffle Oil
Caramello Pudding
Grilled Salmon
Oysters
Veal Milanese
Bacon scallops
Lobster
Cappellini
Mozzarella Di Buffala And Heirloom Tomato
Appetizers
Soft Shell Crab
Truffle Parmesan Fries
veal piccata
Spaghetti With Shrimp
Doughnuts
Ceasar Salad
Beet Salad
Apricot Torte With Honey Gelato
Scallops
Maccheroncelli With Kobe Meatballs
Salmon Tartare
Cavatelli
Lemon Polenta Cake
Ribeye
Chocolata
Polenta
Veal Saltimbocca
Polpo
Sausage
Sorbetto
Hand Cut Truffle Fries With Parmigiano
Garganelli With Veal Ragu Bolognese
Maine Lobster Gnocchi
Ciambelle
Baby Beets
Squash Blossoms
Scottish Salmon Tartare
Torta di Cioccolato
Seared Scallops Pureed Celery Root Oyster Mushrooms
Chocolate Mousse W/ Caramel Sauce
Chocolate Mousse
Filet Mignon
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Rib Eye Steak Special
Gnocchi & Lobster
Grilled Octopus Over Squid Ink Couscous

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sorellina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (153)
fit for foodies (135)
romantic (126)
See All
notable wine list (90)
hot spot (47)
good for groups (46)
neighborhood gem (44)
late-night find (16)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall very good restaurant. Food was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall very good restaurant. Food was very good; oysters were superb; prices were appropriate for the quality.

The wine list is extensive but ridiculously expensive. Very limited wines by the glass which makes it challenging for a couple that has only one wine drinker.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An eclectic crowd, and excellent service ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 4 days ago

An eclectic crowd, and excellent service. However, the food was bland and uninteresting. Some of it didn't even look good. Even the basics (warm bread, gelato) were bland and underwhelming. For the price, I expect flavors, presentation. The restaurant puts on all the airs of a fancy eatery, but doesn't deliver.

Tags: romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

How could I have forgotten about this wo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

How could I have forgotten about this wonderful gem in the center of Back Bay. Everything about it is ideal. The location, the staff, the food, the decor..even the valet parking guys! With so many new restaurants opening up over the past 10 years, I have not been back to Sorellina in far too long. I have been back twice in the past 30 days and no doubt will be making a habit of that over the next months and years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Boston! The f ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Boston! The food, service and atmosphere are impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and presented in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was delicious and presented in a beautiful way. The wine list was extensive, and albeit a bit pricey was a good match to our food. The service was unobtrusive, yet attentive which was very much appreciated. Overall a very nice dining experience in Boston!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal and excellent service. A bit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great meal and excellent service. A bit pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Boston. G ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Boston. Good wine list. I highly recommend the tuna tartare.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not much noise very formal, fresh food, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Not much noise very formal, fresh food, you get what you pay for, staff will accommodate as much as you need.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous service and flavor

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fabulous service and flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was great but $16 for a wedge o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our food was great but $16 for a wedge od romaine? Ridiculous. Our wine selection was great as was the halibut and salmon. It was our 30th anniversary. You would think they would have comped the $10 dessert. Not worth the price here

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always great. We love the steak-it's coo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always great. We love the steak-it's cooked so perfectly. (Not the scorched earth salt lick or raw slab so common in steakhouses). A great preparation sitting atop mashed potatoes. Had the green salad to start. Bottle of 2009 Margaux.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding meal. waiter a mite bit crus ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

outstanding meal. waiter a mite bit crusty. would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I tend to dine at Sorellina with special ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I tend to dine at Sorellina with special friends, for special occasions. Recently, my experience was as good as ever. We had the corner bar seats overlooking the peaceful, upscale, low-lit ambience of the exquisitely designed room; quiet groups of dinners either reveling, or in tete-a-tete. As usual, the food was exquisite, and the service impeccable. Hidden away between, the Westin hotel and the public library in Back Bay, Sorellina is a top-tier gem of an oasis that will not disappoint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Underwhelmed, given its high reviews. Sa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Underwhelmed, given its high reviews. Sat at the bar and ordered app, entree and dessert. All were less than expected. The halibut main course tasted fishy. Darn:-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Waiter was a bit snooty but other than t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Waiter was a bit snooty but other than that one of the best meals I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dinner, great service, very nice a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great dinner, great service, very nice ambiance and we all commented how nice it was to be able to hear each other talk!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Definitely one of the best restaurants i ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Definitely one of the best restaurants in Boston. The food and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really enjoyed our dining experience a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I really enjoyed our dining experience at Sorellina last night. Staff were very nice and considerate, gnocchi and rib eye were both delicious. Good selection of wines too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visiting Boston for first time in 15 yea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Visiting Boston for first time in 15 years; meeting up with an old friend and wanting a place where we could hear each other talk (becoming more of a problem every day in many restaurants).

Sorrelina was fabulous in every way imagineable! The food was outstanding and quantity enough to be filling but not leave you feeling bloated. Server was fantastic -- friendly but not pushy or hovering. We'd asked for an out-of-the-way table to accommodate one diner's hearing aid and the restaurant located us perfectly!

A true find....will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tuna tartare was extradinary, scallo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The tuna tartare was extradinary, scallops superb and the fetuccine with truffles was tres magnigique...seriously one of the best meals I have ever had....incidentally it was my first time there and I can't stop raving about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorellina is one of our favorite dining ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sorellina is one of our favorite dining experiences when visiting Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Extraordinary that this place is so good ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Extraordinary that this place is so good, that it would merit only one of the categories above! Fit for foodies? Well, of course! Food is one reason for going to Sorellina, but great food is just pert of the rationale. Caveat: Neither of our party of two are drinkers, so I didn't tick off the wine list, although I am sure that it is magnificent. Sorellina is an all-indoors, stately, serene place, with modern classic, clean lines, high ceilings dressed mostly in white with black accents. The whole place has an air of being extremely well-run, and it is. The service is attentive without being cloying. Our waiter came by twice to see if we were ready to order, and when we weren't he cheerfully left us alone. Most places, that means you have to really make a fuss to get him to come back when you finally are ready. Not so. Our waiter was busy with other diners, but he was keeping his eye on us, and he appeared at our table within a minute after I raised my head to look for him. The food was deliriously good, and the timing of the dishes was exactly balanced to the flow of our appetites as well as the segues in our conversation. No need to say which dishes we liked - I have never had anything but a memorable dining experience at Sorellina, well, except for the time that the valet lost the keys to my car, but that is another story and not a reflection on the restaurant. Sorellina is pretty hard to beat when you are looking for a well orchestrated evening of imaginative and beautifully crafted dishes, served by staff who's mastery of timing and disinclination toward intrusion could well inform the conductors of several of our national symphony orchestras.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorrelina is a very special restaurant. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Sorrelina is a very special restaurant. We took a friend for her birthday and she was thrilled.

The Service and the food and drink were Outstanding. The valet parking right at the door is most helpful. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

upscale restaurant for adults. pleasant ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

upscale restaurant for adults. pleasant interior, professional service and an involved GM

lovely seafood and pasta dishes with a well balanced and affordable wine list

our 3rd visit here (we are from nyc and compare this to del Posto, Marea) and would

certainly visit again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, very nice decorating, a bit too ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Overall, very nice decorating, a bit too dark. I needed the flashlight on my phone in order to read the menu.

The arugula salad with the pine nuts was really delicious, so was the bread and butter. The eggplant rotini and truffle fries are really good as well.

My entree was truly disappointing. The halibut lacked in flavor & seemed like it was frozen? It didn't flake easily, as most white fish will do when its super fresh. For a $40 entree, it needed to deliver with a punch, which it didn't.

The fettuccini with truffle oil was a good pick, but not for $37.

Desserts were all very good, lemon, tiramisu and the donut.

Our waitress was pleasant in a totally fake way. Almost borderline annoying. we would be talking and she would just come up and start asking us how were doing or to take our order. The proper way is to come up and pause and wait for us to look up at her.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Such a wonderful night. Our dishes were ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Such a wonderful night. Our dishes were so beautifully plated and delicious. I had to ask our server to let the chef know how much we appreciated their efforts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I arrived with clients at 5:30 for a bus ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I arrived with clients at 5:30 for a business dinner and was greeted with a 'welcome back'. We were taken to a table in the rear but wanted some more light as I had brought some documents to review and asked to sit in one of the window tables. The girl seating us had to go check with the hostess and came back and said they were all taken. We said really? and the answer was yes. It wasn't until a little after 8 PM that the last window table filled up just as we were leaving. It's unfortunate that Sorellina couldn't have been more accommodating. My clients who live in the area had never been to Sorellina before and were quite surprised.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a very nice evening at this p ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice evening at this popular restaurant. The only disappointment was where we were seated. Our table was next to the Exit door, and this was used as a handicapped entrance/exit. If you are trying to enjoy a quiet or romantic dinner, this is not the place to be seated. It is unfortunate that the restaurant is not able to offer a different place for people to enter or exit at the front of their establishment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a list of things to celebrate and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a list of things to celebrate and had an absolutely memorable dining experience. The food was fantastic and the wines by the glass were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Just wish they hadn't seated us next to ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Just wish they hadn't seated us next to a bus station, but food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The restaurant is a "see and be seen" pl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The restaurant is a "see and be seen" place and it is quite lovely inside. We were a group of four and our menu selections were all different. I'll mention the outstanding dishes only.

Verdure appetizer - beautifully presented using in-season produce. Delicious!

Foie-gras appetizer - Outstanding!

Veal Saltimbocca - beautiful presentation and excellent flavor

Fettuccine with wild mushrooms and truffle butter - Stunning!

Cornish hen - my husband loved it.

All portions are very generous, and, as is usual in a fine dining establishment, some dishes were quite rich.

Excellent meal had by all!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding top to bottom. There is a q ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Outstanding top to bottom. There is a quiet elegance without pretention. The food was beautifully prepared and presented. The service was impeccable without overindulgence. The maître d'hôtel brought an additional dessert to the table for our anniversary. It was a virtually perfect experience that has rarely been rivaled in our memories.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Boston on vacation and believ ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were in Boston on vacation and believe it or not, wanted something other than a lobster roll for dinner. Hard to believe, right? A friend had told us about this place and I'm glad we followed his recommendation. The food was phenomenal as was the service. The octopus and fois gras were fantastic apps. The haddock and ribeye were great for mains. I'll be back the next time I'm in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is a four star plus restaurant for ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

this is a four star plus restaurant for food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything from beginning to end was per ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Everything from beginning to end was perfect. The rave reviews held up and we couldn't have been happier with the dining choice. Impeccable service, quality of food and ambiance. If I could give more stars, I would.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The decor of the restaurant is interesti ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The decor of the restaurant is interesting and novel. I had the veal saltimbocca which was more like a veal chop (without the bone) than other saltimbocca meals I have had. I felt I didn't get what I ordered. My husband had the Cornish Hen and said it was adequate. All in all, we left with the impression that it is over rated.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Having lived in TX my whole life, and i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Having lived in TX my whole life, and in Houston for most of my adulthood, we have eaten at our fair share of nice restaurants and good food. The food here was average. Definitely not worth the price. Would not go to again or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food is great. We go very often. It ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food is great. We go very often. It will be nice adding new dishes to the menu

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Eveerything great

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great ambiance and service. Food outstanding; especially the salmon. Try the cioccolato for dessert, it's worth the 10 min. wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.