About Sorellina

One Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Contemporary Italian-Mediterranean cuisine served in an upbeat and sophisticated environment by a staff intent on providing you with a truly memorable dining experience. Sorellina, the 'kid sister' of acclaimed Chef Jamie Mammano's Mistral provides an intense look at regional Italian food with a modern twist. Sorellina's wine list focuses on some hidden Italian gems paired with an international selection creating an effortless opportunity to explore the unknown. The warm-modern design intertwined with the glow of the back wall mural and the floor to ceiling windows are a visually stunning combination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Dartmouth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 412-4600

Website:
http://www.sorellinaboston.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available from the Blagden Street entrance to Sorellina (next to Boston's public library). The public parking garages are a short stroll away. You can park at the Prudential garage on Exeter Street; the Copley place garage on Huntington and the Dartmouth Street garage. Street parking is an option.

Executive Chef:
Marga Raffucci

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sorellina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Boston
Best Food
Boston
3 More
Best Service
Boston
Best Ambiance
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (145)
fit for foodies (124)
romantic (123)
See All
notable wine list (86)
hot spot (42)
good for groups (41)
neighborhood gem (38)
vibrant bar scene (19)
late-night find (16)
great for lunch (7)
scenic view (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2478 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service was provided by our ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service was provided by our server. Will definitely go back!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is by far the best restaurant I've ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is by far the best restaurant I've been to in Boston. It delivers in all categories.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Splendid meal

Dined on May 20, 2016

We came there for a special occasion & it was worth every penny. The service was excellent, ambiance lovely, attention to detail impressive and above all the food was deliriously good. We were beyond pleased. Food was rich but oh so delicious. The verdure, the polpo & the lobster gnocchi, the foes gras, the fettuccine with mushrooms - all outstanding. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great night and a wonderful exp ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a great night and a wonderful experience. I had made a special request about where we wanted to sit and they accommodated all of my requests and it was a Thursday night which I know is a busy night so I really appreciate that. It had been about a month since we were in and had really missed it and had a really beautiful night. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5

One of Boston top restaurants

Dined on May 18, 2016

One of Boston top restaurants

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food here. Food doesn't hav ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We loved the food here. Food doesn't have that rich creamy feel, but it is still very delicous. Fetticini pasta was excellent, thin and al Dante (unlike the thick one you get in the frogeries stores). My husband is not a great fan of Italian food, but he enjoyed this food more than any other place in the US. ( I love Italian food, so we often choose to go for Italian type of restaurants). And I just loved the athmosphere there- very romantic. Perfect for some celebration, like wedding anniversary or similar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

Good but not great, we love to eat and t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Good but not great, we love to eat and try new places. Worth a visit but won't run back to try again.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very dark

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Lights were so low that all of us had hard time reading menu. Plus menu not what we thought it would be for a restaurant billed as Italian.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the scallops and filet mignon was the be ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

the scallops and filet mignon was the best we ever had! we look forward to trying the remainder of the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Was disappointed in the fact that the ho ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Was disappointed in the fact that the hostess took us to a table with a large column right next to the table, we arrived at opening time most tables were empty, plenty of other options available, had to ask to move. Food not spectacular, Caesar salad,mediocre at best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply great.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Everything that I ever had at Sorellina was very good. Worth the price. The food is excellent (all of it). The service was impeccable. And the general vibe at the restaurant was very pleasant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love it here! Always a terrif ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Absolutely love it here! Always a terrific dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Great! Table Was great And Food deliciou ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great! Table Was great And Food delicious

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lovely

Dined on April 26, 2016

I had dinner with a friend while visiting Boston--my second time at Sorellina. The food was quite good. I had a ravioli appetizer and lobster gnocchi--both very well-flavored. She had a spring salad (verdure) and halibut. they were both very generous servings and she thought both were excellent. our server was attentive and pleasant. When we arrived at 6:15 only a few tables were full--when we left an hour and some later, it was packed. the dining area is very comfortable and even when full seemed relaxed and good for quiet conversation. I'll go again sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding, was my fourth visit and can ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Outstanding, was my fourth visit and can't wait to see you again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Sorellina

Dined on April 22, 2016

wonderful dining, I have never had a poor experience while visiting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Loved the tuna tartare and the ravioli!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Loved the tuna tartare and the ravioli!

food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Excellent but...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Once again, ambience and quality of food can't be beat. But once again, we get stuck with the same waiter who wishes he was anywhere else but serving. us. At these type of prices, it is fair to expect more attentive and efficient service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. All 4 of us felt is was one ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great meal. All 4 of us felt is was one of the best meals we had in a long time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marathon Week-end

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our 3rd year visiting this restaurant during Marathon Week-end! We will return again next year. The Service is great and the food is amazing - good suggestion by our waitress for carving up!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Ribeye, over cooked

Dined on April 17, 2016

Ordered medium ribeye, first ribeye was well done, sent it back and the steak they brought back was even more well done. My boss ordered medium rare and it was fine.....I guess it was just a bad night between me and the chef...

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Overpriced and underwhelmed

Dined on April 17, 2016

Boring, bland, overpriced. The place is pretty and the servicer was nice, although not they attentive she could prob sense we were getting caught up over dinner. I was terribly underwhelmed. For almost $40 my halibut was boring. The pasta we got to share as a starter was also boring. He dessert where tiny but good. Even the bread they brought out wasn't good. Other than a pretty location I was so underwhelmed by the quality of the food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Boston favorite

Dined on April 17, 2016

Visiting for the marathon and extremely pleased with our second time visiting Sorellina's. The service (Amy was our waitperson) was impeccable. We brought our kids as a very special treat and had a wonderful time. The food was delicious and well worth the price. Can't wait to go back next year.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorrelina Delivers

Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been to Sorrelina a number of times and it is consistently excellent. The atmosphere is vibrant and not formal and staid. The food is delicious and always well presented. The scallops, rib eye and veal milanaise were quite popular at our table of six. The service was on point and not pretentious. The bar is also a nice spot to have a drink while you wait for a table. We had reservations and were seated immediately on arrival. The desserts are excellent as well, but I strongly recommend the doughnuts! As good as any restaurant in the city. You should go!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food, flavor, sauces outstanding. Portio ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food, flavor, sauces outstanding. Portions small. High end for cost. Staff friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice different Italian food

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

A very beautiful place for the last night in Boston. Sorellina is a very pretty and nice Italian restaurant. We were greeted and sat quickly The restaurant was fairly crowded. The service was excellent. To start with we had the Caesar salad, yellowtail tuna and arugula salad. The arugula dressing was too lemony. The tuna was wonderful it had a tremendous flavoring and great mix. For dinner which was quite different than the traditional Italian restaurant. Kathy had the fettuccine with mushrooms and truffle , it was great. Christopher and I had the Wagyu meatballs with ziti. It was quite different in a brown sauce. Good but not what was expected. We had a side of broocolini. Way to spicy too much red pepper. Overall pretty good.

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

An Entree Sure Would Hit the Spot!

Dined on April 10, 2016

First visit. A Saturday evening. Had been looking forward to it. And everything was great, right up until it wasn't. Nice place, interesting menu, great wine list (really great), good service, but... After we had ordered all of our food, a party of four (self described regulars, we couldn't help but overhear) sat down next to us. When their entrees (ordered from the same server as us) hit the table, we had been sitting with zero food in front of us for thirty minutes (really). The manager - I assume - had already been by our table to help our server, who clearly was bogged down by a large party a couple tables away from us. When I mentioned the issue to our server - who remained polite and professional throughout - the manager came back to apologize and comped the wine-by-the-glass we were then drinking. Shortly thereafter, our entrees arrived - without the side dishes we had ordered with them, way back when. At that point, we cancelled the side dish order, finished the entrees and the wine and left quickly, meal incomplete. What to say? Somebody screwed up big time and our order fell through the cracks at what, it must be said, is a very expensive restaurant. I must ad that all of the food - save for one item - was very good. When our elusive fish entrees ($40 each, ala carte) came out, my wife loved the halibut, but I found the scallops far too salty. That couldn't have been due to anyone in the kitchen hurrying a bit too much, could it? Having lived in Boston for thirty years, I've seen the number of good-to-great area restaurants skyrocket. Lots of great food, and lots of competition - a buyers market. So, can I recommend this place? Yes, but only - and pointlessly - to it's regular customers. Evidently, the rest of us aren't quite as welcome.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Spectacular as usual

Dined on April 8, 2016

We love Sorellina. Have for years...they always accommodate any special requests we have and the service is always some of the best in Boston. The food is tuna tartare is truly the best. Everything is well executed. We love this place for special occasions or for a date night out. Even grabbing a few seats at the bar is a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were fantastic. Pr ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

The food and service were fantastic. Prices were extremely high and portions were small. However, it was a positive experience.

food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Poor lighting

Dined on April 1, 2016

The lighting was so dim the food was not able to be seen and enjoyed.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner spot!

Dined on March 27, 2016

My mother and I walked into Sorellina on a whim and had a wonderful evening. The atmosphere was quiet and inviting, the service was stellar, and the food was phenomenal. We were especially happy with the range of tasty and interesting vegetarian options (not always an easy thing to find)!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have dined here quite often. It is one of the best restaurants in the city. The service is outstanding. Mark was our server and he is amazing. We have had him before in the past and he remembered us. The food is beyond delicious. This was the second time we have gone for Easter and it was the best. Thank you for being consistent for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sorrelina never disappoints. The service ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Sorrelina never disappoints. The service was excellent, the food was outstanding and the atmosphere is classic. The waitstaff could not have been more polite or efficient. There was no rushing the service. Instead, we were able to enjoy a leisurely dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding flavors in both sauces for t ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Outstanding flavors in both sauces for the appetizer and the main course. Very memorable.

food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was extremely accommodat ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

This restaurant was extremely accommodating to our large group. They were kind and flexible and food was delicious. We had an amazing time. Thank you so much

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Overpriced

Dined on March 21, 2016

Sorrelina presents very refined food at very high prices, but they have refined all the taste out of the food. It is beautiful but all the earthiness of a dish like saltimboca is just lost. Great wines and excellent service, but price to value is not there. Would not return.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Quiet night. Great service and great foo ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Quiet night. Great service and great food. Good portion sizes, attentive and personable staff. Food and drink menus are a bit above the price point for the quality/quantity, that is probably due to the location (near major hotels and convention center). The food did come out perfectly cooked and nicely plated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous every time

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Sorellina is one of the best places in Boston, along with sister restaurants Ostra and Mooo. There's a nice quiet vibe and the food is always top notch. Had dinner on St. Patrick's Day and there wasn't a hint of green in the place and the rest of the mess in Boston was shut out once we entered through the front doors.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Setting beautiful. Noise level very acceptable.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food delicious. So costly. Not sure about the value. $40 for four scallops?? Although the sauce was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Had to wait for and 8pm reservation. Was ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Had to wait for and 8pm reservation. Was told that the table had to finish paying which is reasonable. However, after the 20 wait when we were take to our table at 8:20 there were multiple other four top tables that were sitting open. I could use a litany of choice words here but it will suffice to say that my experience was sub standard. No matter how attractive the room and delicious the food I feel we were treated poorly and would not recommend. We dropped close to $400 for four people and being made to wait when there were open seats is inexcusable. Per Se was nailed for a complete loss of direction. Is Sorellina falling into the same trap? A shame for a restaurant we have enjoyed in the past.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.