About Sorellina

One Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Contemporary Italian-Mediterranean cuisine served in an upbeat and sophisticated environment by a staff intent on providing you with a truly memorable dining experience. Sorellina, the 'kid sister' of acclaimed Chef Jamie Mammano's Mistral provides an intense look at regional Italian food with a modern twist. Sorellina's wine list focuses on some hidden Italian gems paired with an international selection creating an effortless opportunity to explore the unknown. The warm-modern design intertwined with the glow of the back wall mural and the floor to ceiling windows are a visually stunning combination.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Dartmouth

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 412-4600

Website:
http://www.sorellinaboston.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available from the Blagden Street entrance to Sorellina (next to Boston's public library). The public parking garages are a short stroll away. You can park at the Prudential garage on Exeter Street; the Copley place garage on Huntington and the Dartmouth Street garage. Street parking is an option.

Executive Chef:
Marga Raffucci

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Maccheroncelli With Kobe Meatballs - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Exotic Mushroom Pasta In Truffle Oil - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Maine Lobster Gnocchi - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Sorellina, Boston, MA
White Chocolate Mousse W Tangerine - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Salmon And Peas - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Panna Cotta - Sorellina, Boston, MA
fettuccine - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Endive Salad - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Foie Gras With Blood Orange - Sorellina, Boston, MA
American Wagyu Beef - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Potato Gnocchi With Lobster - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Bread - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Caramello Pudding - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Grilled Salmon - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Oysters - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Veal Milanese - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Bacon scallops - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Cappellini - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Lobster - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Mozzarella Di Buffala And Heirloom Tomato - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Appetizers - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Soft Shell Crab - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Doughnuts - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Truffle Parmesan Fries - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Spaghetti With Shrimp - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Ceasar Salad - Sorellina, Boston, MA
veal piccata - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Beet Salad - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Apricot Torte With Honey Gelato - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Scallops - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Salmon Tartare - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Cavatelli - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Lemon Polenta Cake - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Ribeye - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Polenta - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Chocolata - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Baby Beets - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Polpo - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Sorbetto - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Ciambelle  - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Garganelli With Veal Ragu Bolognese - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Sausage - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Hand Cut Truffle Fries With Parmigiano - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Veal Saltimbocca - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Scottish Salmon Tartare - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Seared Scallops Pureed Celery Root Oyster Mushrooms - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Squash Blossoms - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Filet Mignon - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Torta di Cioccolato - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Chocolate Mousse - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Chocolate Mousse W/ Caramel Sauce - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Rib Eye Steak Special - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Gnocchi & Lobster - Sorellina, Boston, MA
Grilled Octopus Over Squid Ink Couscous - Sorellina, Boston, MA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sorellina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston
Romantic
Boston
Italian
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (67)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
See All
Fit for Foodies (58)
Notable Wine List (53)
Good for a Date (52)
Business Meals (39)
Modern Decor (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Worth the Drive (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Cozy (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Authentic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Family Style (1)
 (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
2654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I gave Sorellina 5 stars because I think ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

I gave Sorellina 5 stars because I think it is in the top of the top tier of Boston restaurants. Great food. Expensive, yes, but aren't they all at this level. If you're looking for $$ or $$$, look elsewhere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food, great service, but a bit pri ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, great service, but a bit pricey so save your pennies. What else is there to say?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I wanted a date night out ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My husband and I wanted a date night out and Sorrelina did not disappoint. Our cocktails (grapefruit martini and Harry's Peaches) were phenomenal. Our wine suggestion was perfect and the lobster gnocchi and mushroom fettuccine were divine. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and ambience. We ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, service and ambience. We wanted a special evening with our adult son and his wife and we certainly had it.!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous ravioli! Great service and nice ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fabulous ravioli! Great service and nice selection of wines. The staff was superb. Will definitely return

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time here and it was ok. The h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our first time here and it was ok. The hostess was preoccupied with getting things together and not greeting us, although it's understandable since we got there about 5 minutes before the restaurant opened officially. The food was average and the waiter was nice but nothing extraordinary. Maybe it was just an off night. Although we have nothing to compare it to because it was our first time dining there. I think my husband and I were just expecting something very special since the reviews were so wonderful. All the best to this restaurant but we probably won't be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I love Sorellina's. The atmosphere is w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I love Sorellina's. The atmosphere is wonderful. The food is consistently out of this world. I highly recommend it and I will return again and again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had warned them that my wife and I wou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I had warned them that my wife and I would arrive late (9:45pm) and we did. They took us in warmly, brought me my aperitif within 2-3 minutes, and invited us to choose broadly from the menu (though the kitchen would be closing at 10pm). We split a pair of appetizers--the polpo and the tuna tartare--and both were extraordinarily good. (We order polpo whenever we see it on the menu: this was the spiciest, most original version we've ever eaten. The tuna tartare was just as winning: served on a plate kept cold by a bed of ice beneath, and marvelously light and airy, as well as perfectly fresh.) For a main dish we shared the saltimbocca--likewise a dish we thought we knew upside-down, yet a surprise when we ate it here. Throughout, our attentive waitress had accurately characterized the dishes, emphasizing the tender freshness of the generous portion of veal at the center of this dish: that's how it appeared on our plate, succulent, surrounded by tasty potatoes and vegetables, with enough richly reduced brown sauce to keep the dish moist throughout. We left by 11:15, delighted to have been treated with such professional courtesy and expertise: it was (though we hadn't know it earlier) exactly the meal we were looking for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waiter and other staff are stressed and ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Waiter and other staff are stressed and rushing through things. Not a single smile. Great food but not happy with service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Always a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a wonderful dining experience at Sorellina. Atmosphere and decor: elegant yet soothing. Wonderful menu and remarkable wine list. Truly one of the most elegant and wonderful dining experience is in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the gnocchi with lobster and th ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We loved the gnocchi with lobster and the half-portions of pasta that are perfect for dinner with a salad. One of us ordered the chicken, which came with a delicious but rather small variety of seasonal vegetable. It was perfectly cooked. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and attentive and our evening was perfect. We let our waiter know we had to be out by a specific time and our bill was presented in plenty of time for us to pay and be on our way. The décor is very stylish and there was a nice number of patrons at the bar. We will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

They had a pasta with truffle special th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

They had a pasta with truffle special that was especially delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very chic, with lots of attention to det ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very chic, with lots of attention to detail. Service is outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Alba is attentive and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent service. Alba is attentive and great food knowledge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were shown to our seats that I had re ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We were shown to our seats that I had reserved. It was smooth, I ordered my veal, it was good as well, not outstanding. I then asked the waiter to give us separate checks. He conveyed it to another waiter, the other waiter than came back and rudely said, what do you want to do with the check, I said split it, he went away and came back and he asked me what I wanted him to do with the check, again I said separate the checks, I do not know if he was frustrated or just didn't understand me, I said just give it to me, I paid for my friend and I. Walked out annoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was outstanding. Front desk very or ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food was outstanding. Front desk very organized and courteous. Waiter seemed disconnected or disinterested and server assistant tried remove our plates before we were done eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Sorellina is one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Sorellina is one of the best restaurants we have tried recently and hope to return very soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal was outstanding. The unusual p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The meal was outstanding. The unusual preparation for veal saltimboca was the best ever. Oysters as an appetizer was very special. I'd go back just for the Oysters.

Excellent cocktails and desserts.

My wife and I are definitely big fans.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pricy for okay food... many far bet ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very pricy for okay food... many far better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Visited this restaurant on my last trip ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Visited this restaurant on my last trip to Boston and it blew me away. The wine list was extensive and the cocktails were delicious. The ambiance was modern romantic and the sever was very attentive. I would definitely recommend this restaurant when visiting Boston.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect from the moment w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Everything was perfect from the moment we walked in the door. The veal saltimbocca was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our dining experience a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Everything about our dining experience at Sorellina was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sorellina's is one of my favorite places ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Sorellina's is one of my favorite places in Boston, and around the country. It is elegant without pretension. The service is always very responsive, warm and helpful. The food is delicious and the wine list is expansive for all tastes and budgets (within reason).

Great place for conversation one on one, or with a small group.

Always a treat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dinner! Great staff great food g ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing dinner! Great staff great food great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum! Everything was great and so delici ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Yum! Everything was great and so delicious! Highly recommended! Mark was our waiter and he was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Pasta and Eggplant Rollatini. ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent Pasta and Eggplant Rollatini. Deserts were fabulous. As someone who no longer drinks I loved the fact that they had plenty of non-alcoholic dessert options. My date was over the moon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sorellina was very good. The food is fai ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Sorellina was very good. The food is fairly simple but tasty. They have things like Spaghetti and Meatballs, or Gnocchi, but done in a more high end way. The Meatballs have Wagyu beef and the Gnocchi has lobster. The food is the biggest reason to go to Sorellina. The biggest issue with Sorellina is the seating. I understand that at any restaurant space = $$ but the tables are just too close together. For example, I was at a table for 2 and the table next to me was so close that getting in and out involved physically moving the table. Moreover, the couple next to us overheard the conversation I was having and the town that I was from. We actually started a really nice conversation with them. They live a few blocks from where I grew up, etc etc. As nice as the conversation was, the fact that they could so easily hear me even over the music and we could have a nice conversation should tell you how close they were. Considering they serve Italian food, the price was a little but high (My Gnocchi was about $30, and the appetizer portion of the spaghetti and meatballs was $20). All in all, the food was really good, the service was solid, and we had a really fun time. If/when I go back, I am definitely going to request a different table. Oh, one more thing, if you're not from Boston, the location is a bit difficult to get to because it's right next to the entrance to the Mass Pike. I would suggest parking in the Pru/Copley and walking over. I can definitely see someone accidentally getting on the Pike and having it take 20 minutes to turn around and get back to Sorellina.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a lovely anniversary dinner here. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had a lovely anniversary dinner here. Great food, great service, nice ambience. Will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a delicious meal involving appeti ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a delicious meal involving appetizers, entrees and dessert. Our server, Kirk, gave us excellent service and made a particularly great call on a wine recommendation. He also took the time to suggest some sites to visit while in town. The restaurant itself is beautiful. It was a wonderful experience and we will definitely plan on returning when we are back in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my boyfriend there for his birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Took my boyfriend there for his birthday dinner, it was amazing and he liked it.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

overall experience was great but the foo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

overall experience was great but the food could have been better

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was good, not great. Expected more ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food was good, not great. Expected more for the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

as good as ever, we always enjoy. Especi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

as good as ever, we always enjoy. Especially the oysters

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of Boston's best restaurants ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is one of Boston's best restaurants. Great service, great food, gorgeous interior

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined here for our anni ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

My husband and I dined here for our anniversary. We were seated at a makeshift booth, corner table, which was uncomfortable and awkward. My husband was cornered in the booth so when he had to use the restroom we either had to move the table or scoot around the booth. Not what I was expecting at a 5 star restaurant. Especially when there were several open window tables available. Once we were seated, we waited about 15 minutes for our drink order to be taken. All in all it was an average experience. I feel as if we were treated differently because we are a young couple. Maybe if I had CEO written across my forehead things would have been different.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Fantastic food with great service; comfy ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Fantastic food with great service; comfy couches and chairs make for a relaxed evening. Hefty price tag but worth every cent

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very very good food. It was perfect for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very very good food. It was perfect for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

outstanding food - excellent service - a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2016

outstanding food - excellent service - an overall great example of the "best of Boston"

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They did not have Our reservation table ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

They did not have Our reservation table ready for another time I called to changed and left us standing for 15 minutes not nicely

Expensive for the portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Beautiful, elegant restaurant. Very good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Beautiful, elegant restaurant. Very good and knowledgeable staff. Good quality ingredients, but the food lacks a "wow" factor. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.