Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.05mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue- Chicago

Named Chicago Magazine's Best Michigan Avenue Lunch Spot, Sophie's features Chef Ron Aleman’s seasonal menu and sweeping Magnificent Mile views. Situated on the 7th floor of Saks Fifth Avenue, Sophie’s offers innovative American cooking made from the finest available local ingredients. Creative daily specials complement a selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. Craft cocktails are also fresh and seasonal and we offer a thoughtfully curated list of wines by the glass. Stop by for lunch, cocktails, or weekend brunch. Saks' express elevator takes you directly to the 7th floor.

700 North Michigan Ave.
7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday
11:30am – 6:00pm
Thursday – Saturday
11:30am – 8:00pm
Saturday and Sunday
11:30am – 4:30pm Brunch

Cross Street:
Superior

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 525-3400

Website:
http://www.sophies.com/

Catering:
Our locale and atmosphere provide a special backdrop a variety of corporate and social occasions. Saks Fifth Avenue is synonymous with luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink you have the makings of a truly memorable event. Sophie's is available for morning, afternoon, and evening events. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions and accommodate everything from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners. Chef Aleman and the Sophie's team will work with you to create an event that meets your specific needs. It is what we love to do!

Parking Details:
The closest parking lot is on Rush at Superior. It is not affiliated with Saks or Sophie's.

Public Transit:
Red Line--Chicago Station (at State)

Executive Chef:
Ron Aleman

Private Party Facilities:
Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue is a stylish and elegant setting for social and business functions. Fresh, seasonal cooking, and breathtaking Michigan Avenue views set the stage for a truly memorable event. The restaurant can accommodate 86 seated/120 standing, private dining room seats 18.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Dunstatter: (312) 525-3400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
From 10 to 100 we will be more than happy to accommodate you. We can tailor a personal food and drink menu for you. Our open layout can change to your needs and the view is unparalleled. Please stop in or call for more details.

Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue- Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.4

ambience

4.0

value

2.8

noise

Quiet

44% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
See All
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

New menu is disappointing. Not one real salad. No more risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

pricey with great service food was good small portions

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Lovely Small plates, good service, wonderful view and delicious cocktails ...dessert too!

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I really wanted to like Sophie's, because I'd heard good things, so when I saw a TravelZoo offer for Sunday Brunch for 2 for $39, I bought two. We arrived at 11:30, which is the first Sunday Brunch reser available. Our server was sweet, friendly and completely overwhelmed, because she was alone (maybe they're not used to customers for Sunday Brunch?) The kitchen was slow and uneven - Crispy Shrimp & Grits and Chorizo Market Scramble were fabulous, Egg in a Hole was lame; half our party was served, then about 5 minutes later the rest of the food arrived. Coffee was good but not hot by the time we got cream. All in all, a disappointing outing for out-of-town guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Our server barely came over. Seemed like it took forever to order!! He also didn't explain ANYTHING & he seemed money hungry!! We wanted a cookie & he said in our face $3!! His eyes open wide! He brought it all broken in pieces. Never got more water!! Horrible service! Didn't come up our table at all!:( Very poor service & they weren't even busy!!:( Disappointed as I've wanted to try this place since I go to Mariposa @Niemans often. I'll definitely be going there & NOT here! We left him a good tip, but won't be coming back!!!!!!!!!!!:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The regular menu was replaced by a Mother's Day fixed menu. They ran out of items on a small fixed menu. More than one plate or cup was dirty. The coffee was cold. It was overall a huge disappointment.

The server tried hard, but it was a no win situation for him with the food and cleanliness issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Attentive service and a great special 3 selection lunch option.

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Exceptional service, we enjoyed a quiet conversation for a while before ordering and never for a moment felt rushed. I would highly recommend this spot for catching up with old friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The woman working there was helpful & nice. However we found the gentleman to be snooty.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was blah and very pricey. $75 for two without alcohol. Much better places to lunch on mich Ave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a lovely surprise. Never know about it until we went. Food was quite good. It didn't feel particularly brunch-y (no mimosas, bread basket, only one egg plate) but well worth it nonetheless.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Usually like the food. I'm a healthy eater but the kale caesar was too too much kale even for me. View always great,good service as usual but not when you consider value for price of food.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This restaurant has good food and it's very conversation friendly at lunch. However, it is a bit on the pricey side.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was my first visit to Sophie's which was recommended by a friend...My first impression was how quiet the atmosphere was.. There was no loud music blaring the way teenagers or
20 somethings might want it. Altho the menu is small, there is enough variety even for my vegetarian tastes. ( I do eat fish. ) The food quality and portion size are excellent..The tuna sandwich is very hearty and half a sandwich was more than enough. The foamy maple flavored squash soup was tasty but too thin and watery for my taste.. I do feel the menu items are overpriced..$ 19 for half a sandwich and small cup of soup seems steep..But if you do not mind being a bit extravagant, this is a lovely place for conversation..

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Poor service


Food was very good but poor service Never refilled water. Or coffee. Never asked how everything was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The view is nice, the food was alright, and the waiter was rude. This was my second dining experience and it was completely different (worse) than the first time, unfortunately.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and the ambiance was great. The only thing was that the food took a long time to come out and we were the only ones there. Its a very pretty location with a great view of Magnificent Mile. Its nice for a nice meal with girlfriends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We have been to Sophie's in the past and it was OK. This time it was not. The cocktails were made incorrectly AND it took awhile to get them. The food was below average and not acceptable. There didn't appear to be a manager around - at least not one that checked with us. Two servers were talking behind us and complaining using swear words! Completely inappropriate. My advice... pick a different restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Lunch was not good. Would not recommend and probably will not go back. There are so many more superior restaurants in the area. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my second time here. The first time around was very pleasing; the food, service, and ambiance were perfect enough to warrant a return. Coming back after 5 months, however, I was dissapointed. The service was almost rude because of the waiter's (a different one) ambivalence and seemingly annoyed attitude. He was just being sassy for no reason. And the food wasn't as memorable. My dish was undercooked, but my friend's sandwich was delicious. Overall, I don't see a reason to come back until the service gets checked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I used to frequent your restaurant on a weekly basis. Over time the service has declined. The last several times I've been there I've had the same waiter. His service is lousy, he is slow, I find him aloof, unfriendly and pretentious. I have not been since last spring and decided to give it another try yesterday. Again I was disappointed. I will not be back for some time. I hope you could remedy this situation as the food is always good and the ambience if great.

Best,

Edward Durham
312.307.5812

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Never disappoints. Menu changes seasonally. Friendly staff. Never feel hurried. One of my favorite go to places.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food is still wonderful but the service is getting worse. Not enough staff and I told them so. It's a pity this once fabulous restaurant at Saks is crumbling before our very eyes. It's almost empty, one waiter to wait on everyone and endless waits for everything from wine to each course.
Please add some staff and a few smiles or you won't make it through Christmas.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I really enjoyed burrata salad and thought the portion was generous. My boyfriend absolutely loved the Croque Madame. We both got the lobster roll, but one had more lobster than the other.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I am only giving this restaurant 2 stars because the service was so slow. When I dined here with a friend, there were only 2 other tables that were occupied, so I was a bit confused. Maybe it is the kitchen that is incredibly slow? I have no idea, but Daniel was our server and he was very good, engaging, and had a hand in helping us make our lunch selections. For drinks, we had the peachy palmer and basil gimlet which were both very refreshing, especially for such a hot day. For our meal, I chose the salmon caesar which was fantastic and my friend had the chicken avocado, which she enjoyed. For dessert, we chose the coconut bread pudding and rhubarb pie. I have had much better bread pudding, so I was not impressed. The rhubarb pie was runny and again, I was not impressed. It's not actually a slice of pie, but more of a crisp that is served in a mini cast iron skillet with a serving of ice cream. It was a bit tart, lacked enough crisp to absorb the liquid, and was very soupy within a couple of minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Sophie's never disappoints. It is truly my lunch go to place. Menu and staff superb!!

I didn't pay this time do did not see the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I am writing to let you know that both my friend and I were extremely disappointed in Sophie's service. I will list out the number of things that went wrong with our visit. Please note that the restaurant wasn't busy and there were only 3 other tables occupied by couples. There was a staff of at least 5 people at the time.
- It took over a half hour to receive the drinks we ordered.
- Our drinks sat at the bar for 15 minutes as they got watered down.
- Our waiter never gave us a bread basket which should be provided to every customer who orders a meal.
- My friend ordered her burger without a fried egg, but yet forgot that and brought it to her with a fried egg anyway. She also requested aioli sauce with her meal and forgot to bring her that also.
- It took my waiter 10 minutes to bring me ground pepper that I requested for my salad.
- our waiter/staff did a horrible job of clearing the tables and ensuring that they were clean. Even the floor had spilled food that should have been cleaned up.
Based on how bad our service was, I gave our waiter a $10 tip for a $94.78 bill. I thought that was generous for the lousy service we received. We have no intention on ever returning to Sophie's. It has definitely gone down hill since it first opened and it shows due to it's lack of customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We have enjoyed this restaurant previously a couple of times but they didn't have our first menu item choice and the food we did order was only marginal. It took way too long as well. I will try it again but two stokes is an out for me.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2016

I love the location and the view is great my biggest problem is the of the food. I won't go into my previous visits but on this visit I ordered a simple salad. While beautiful it was a salt bomb and really not enjoyable. The mocktail was the best part of my meal and really the only reason for not swearing this place off entirely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Had the tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich. Delicious soup. Sandwich also delicious with leftovers. They don't have the chutney dip anymore. Too bad.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2016

A nice surprise, came in for brunch after reading the reviews. We made a last minute reservation for 3, but really didn't need to. It was nice and quiet, we had a table by the window facing east, can see the lake. Food is quick and delicious, we had the steak and eggs, Cobb salad, chicken avocado sandwich, and shared some fries. Definitely will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Good service, quiet environment during lunch hour. Food was very good but salad was a bit expensive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2016

When Sophies first opened up, the service wasn't the greatest, but the food and presentation was wonderful. I like bringing friends and clients here, because the view of Michigan Avenue is lovely and the restaurant is a place where you can relax and enjoy a conversation. (Unlike some trendier spots where the noise level is high).
This time the presentation was just okay, and the service I found to be less than stellar.
Too bad because it was a great lunch spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Pretense - missing menu items- pretty good But non creative food and a slow credit card machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Was so excited to go here, but came away VERY disappointed. My daughter had a hamburger that she said was very good. Her side was fries. They tasted very similar to McDonald fries and had about 20x's the salt on them. They were inedible. I opted for the Chicken Club sandwich. It was very good but the sandwich had maybe 3oz of chicken on it. It was mostly bread. My side was a salad. The dressing was awful. There was SO much Dijon mustard on it. You could not eat it.
The view is beautiful, unfortunately the food is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Food was excellent but the waiters have an attitude which in my opinion spoils the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Sophie's is cute and has an amazing view of Michigan Ave., which is pretty much what you're paying for (and the fact that you're eating in Saks Fifth Ave) It's to be expected that their menu will be priced higher than others, but the amount of food that you get for what you pay is pretty low and the fact that they can't split a check if you're in a group is unheard of. My friends and I had the most confusing time paying for our meals because of this. However, the service was good and even though there wasn't a ton of food for what you pay for, it was good. The bread, butter and jam they serve beforehand is delicious as well. Overall, Sophie's is a nice brunch location and although I won't go very often, I'll probably return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2015

I was on my own doing some after Christmas shopping and wanted lunch. I had a lovely solo lunch with an excellent view onto Michigan Ave, made to feel very welcome though alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Was an odd experience. . . in our table of 6, one person's desert that she ordered did not arrive, as the rest of us waited for it to come, we flagged down the waitress who checked on it, came back and told us they were out of it. Didn't tell us that when ordering, when delivering, just didn't bring it out.

Got even more crazy when the 2 kids meals were ordered, they both ordered chocolate ice cream. Instead, they brought out a plate of fruit. when we asked about the dessert, they said, "oh, we are out of chocolate ice cream, so we brought the fruit for dessert instead".

Great place, love gems like this, wish their wait staff and kitchen communicated better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2015

A wonderful respite, high above from hectic Michigan Avenue, with a fantastic view and creative food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.