About Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue- Chicago

700 North Michigan Ave.
7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Named Chicago Magazine's Best Michigan Avenue Lunch Spot, Sophie's features Chef Ron Aleman’s seasonal menu and sweeping Magnificent Mile views. Situated on the 7th floor of Saks Fifth Avenue, Sophie’s offers innovative American cooking made from the finest available local ingredients. Creative daily specials complement a selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. Craft cocktails are also fresh and seasonal and we offer a thoughtfully curated list of wines by the glass. Stop by for lunch, cocktails, or weekend brunch. Saks' express elevator takes you directly to the 7th floor.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday
11:30am – 3:00pm Lunch
3:00pm – 6:00pm Social Plates
Thursday – Saturday
11:30am – 3:00pm Lunch
3:00pm – 7:00pm Social Plates and Cocktails
7:00pm – 8:00pm Cocktails
Sundays
11:30am – 4:30pm Brunch

Cross Street:
East Huron

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 525-3400

Website:
http://www.sophies.com/

Catering:
Our locale and atmosphere provide a special backdrop a variety of corporate and social occasions. Saks Fifth Avenue is synonymous with luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink you have the makings of a truly memorable event. Sophie's is available for morning, afternoon, and evening events. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions and accommodate everything from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners. Chef Aleman and the Sophie's team will work with you to create an event that meets your specific needs. It is what we love to do!

Parking Details:
The closest parking lot is on Rush at Superior. It is not affiliated with Saks or Sophie's.

Public Transit:
Red Line--Chicago Station (at State)

Executive Chef:
Ron Aleman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue is a stylish and elegant setting for social and business functions. Fresh, seasonal cooking, and breathtaking Michigan Avenue views set the stage for a truly memorable event. The restaurant can accommodate 86 seated/120 standing, private dining room seats 18.

Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue- Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (11)
Scenic View (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Romantic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
96 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is still wonderful but the service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food is still wonderful but the service is getting worse. Not enough staff and I told them so. It's a pity this once fabulous restaurant at Saks is crumbling before our very eyes. It's almost empty, one waiter to wait on everyone and endless waits for everything from wine to each course.

Please add some staff and a few smiles or you won't make it through Christmas.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

I really enjoyed burrata salad and thoug ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I really enjoyed burrata salad and thought the portion was generous. My boyfriend absolutely loved the Croque Madame. We both got the lobster roll, but one had more lobster than the other.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I am only giving this restaurant 2 stars ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I am only giving this restaurant 2 stars because the service was so slow. When I dined here with a friend, there were only 2 other tables that were occupied, so I was a bit confused. Maybe it is the kitchen that is incredibly slow? I have no idea, but Daniel was our server and he was very good, engaging, and had a hand in helping us make our lunch selections. For drinks, we had the peachy palmer and basil gimlet which were both very refreshing, especially for such a hot day. For our meal, I chose the salmon caesar which was fantastic and my friend had the chicken avocado, which she enjoyed. For dessert, we chose the coconut bread pudding and rhubarb pie. I have had much better bread pudding, so I was not impressed. The rhubarb pie was runny and again, I was not impressed. It's not actually a slice of pie, but more of a crisp that is served in a mini cast iron skillet with a serving of ice cream. It was a bit tart, lacked enough crisp to absorb the liquid, and was very soupy within a couple of minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Sophie's never disappoints. It is truly ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Sophie's never disappoints. It is truly my lunch go to place. Menu and staff superb!!

I didn't pay this time do did not see the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am writing to let you know that both m ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I am writing to let you know that both my friend and I were extremely disappointed in Sophie's service. I will list out the number of things that went wrong with our visit. Please note that the restaurant wasn't busy and there were only 3 other tables occupied by couples. There was a staff of at least 5 people at the time.

- It took over a half hour to receive the drinks we ordered.

- Our drinks sat at the bar for 15 minutes as they got watered down.

- Our waiter never gave us a bread basket which should be provided to every customer who orders a meal.

- My friend ordered her burger without a fried egg, but yet forgot that and brought it to her with a fried egg anyway. She also requested aioli sauce with her meal and forgot to bring her that also.

- It took my waiter 10 minutes to bring me ground pepper that I requested for my salad.

- our waiter/staff did a horrible job of clearing the tables and ensuring that they were clean. Even the floor had spilled food that should have been cleaned up.

Based on how bad our service was, I gave our waiter a $10 tip for a $94.78 bill. I thought that was generous for the lousy service we received. We have no intention on ever returning to Sophie's. It has definitely gone down hill since it first opened and it shows due to it's lack of customers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

We have enjoyed this restaurant previous ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We have enjoyed this restaurant previously a couple of times but they didn't have our first menu item choice and the food we did order was only marginal. It took way too long as well. I will try it again but two stokes is an out for me.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I love the location and the view is grea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I love the location and the view is great my biggest problem is the of the food. I won't go into my previous visits but on this visit I ordered a simple salad. While beautiful it was a salt bomb and really not enjoyable. The mocktail was the best part of my meal and really the only reason for not swearing this place off entirely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Had the tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich. Delicious soup. Sandwich also delicious with leftovers. They don't have the chutney dip anymore. Too bad.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

A nice surprise, came in for brunch afte ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

A nice surprise, came in for brunch after reading the reviews. We made a last minute reservation for 3, but really didn't need to. It was nice and quiet, we had a table by the window facing east, can see the lake. Food is quick and delicious, we had the steak and eggs, Cobb salad, chicken avocado sandwich, and shared some fries. Definitely will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall, a positive experience.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Good service, quiet environment during lunch hour. Food was very good but salad was a bit expensive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sophies used to be better.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

When Sophies first opened up, the service wasn't the greatest, but the food and presentation was wonderful. I like bringing friends and clients here, because the view of Michigan Avenue is lovely and the restaurant is a place where you can relax and enjoy a conversation. (Unlike some trendier spots where the noise level is high).

This time the presentation was just okay, and the service I found to be less than stellar.

Too bad because it was a great lunch spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Pretense - missing menu items- pretty go ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Pretense - missing menu items- pretty good But non creative food and a slow credit card machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Nice view, but that's it.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Was so excited to go here, but came away VERY disappointed. My daughter had a hamburger that she said was very good. Her side was fries. They tasted very similar to McDonald fries and had about 20x's the salt on them. They were inedible. I opted for the Chicken Club sandwich. It was very good but the sandwich had maybe 3oz of chicken on it. It was mostly bread. My side was a salad. The dressing was awful. There was SO much Dijon mustard on it. You could not eat it.

The view is beautiful, unfortunately the food is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was excellent but the waiters have ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Food was excellent but the waiters have an attitude which in my opinion spoils the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

High price, low food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Sophie's is cute and has an amazing view of Michigan Ave., which is pretty much what you're paying for (and the fact that you're eating in Saks Fifth Ave) It's to be expected that their menu will be priced higher than others, but the amount of food that you get for what you pay is pretty low and the fact that they can't split a check if you're in a group is unheard of. My friends and I had the most confusing time paying for our meals because of this. However, the service was good and even though there wasn't a ton of food for what you pay for, it was good. The bread, butter and jam they serve beforehand is delicious as well. Overall, Sophie's is a nice brunch location and although I won't go very often, I'll probably return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Lovely for lunch break

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

I was on my own doing some after Christmas shopping and wanted lunch. I had a lovely solo lunch with an excellent view onto Michigan Ave, made to feel very welcome though alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

cute little gem at the top level of Saks.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Was an odd experience. . . in our table of 6, one person's desert that she ordered did not arrive, as the rest of us waited for it to come, we flagged down the waitress who checked on it, came back and told us they were out of it. Didn't tell us that when ordering, when delivering, just didn't bring it out.

Got even more crazy when the 2 kids meals were ordered, they both ordered chocolate ice cream. Instead, they brought out a plate of fruit. when we asked about the dessert, they said, "oh, we are out of chocolate ice cream, so we brought the fruit for dessert instead".

Great place, love gems like this, wish their wait staff and kitchen communicated better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A wonderful respite, high above from hec ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 1, 2015

A wonderful respite, high above from hectic Michigan Avenue, with a fantastic view and creative food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

overpriced

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

I've eaten here before and enjoyed it even with the high prices. This time I had the petite lunch, for a cost of $21. A small cup of soup, a small salad and a small l/2 of grilled cheese sandwich. Way overpriced and not that great. The bread overpowered the sandwich. Hard to compare but I was recently at the new 3 arts club cafe and had a fabulous grilled cheese sandwich and salad for $12. It is never busy so that means it is overpriced because it is a pleasant restaurant. Too many better places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Good food, a little over priced.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was solid, service was ok and the view was great. It was just a bit overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Lunch at Sophie's

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

I love going to Sophie's. Ron, the head chef , does an amazing job. The menu is wonderful for lunch and they will change anything to make sure you are happy with your meal. The food is delicious and served very nicely by the very well-trained and pleasant waitstaff. Of course, since the restaurant overlooks Michigan Ave., the view is fabulous. What a great combination for all of us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

DISAPPOINTING

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

EXPECTED THE MENU TO BE MORE CREATIVE- EXPECTED THE SERVICE TO BE FRIENDLIER- EXPECTED IT TO BE NOT QUITE SO NOISY- DID NOT GET WhAT I EXPECTED!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

prices are too high for what is offered.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2015

if it is going to compete with the other many other locations in the neighborhood, they need to lower their prices and offer something unique. Great view, but they need more than a view!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Shrimp salad

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

My shrimp salad sandwich was tiny a about a tablespoon of salad on a huge bun. Ridiculous.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

All around excellent place for lunch.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2015

Very nice, but simple menu. Good food, service and scenic view down Michigan Avenue. And it is quiet--easy to have a conversation. Sophie's has become my favorite neighborhood luncheon establishment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Saks is known for its upscale operations ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2015

Saks is known for its upscale operations. Sophie's at Sacks is no exception. Located on the seventh floor you can get a nice look of the area. The lunch menu is limited but well rounded. The food was outstanding. They also have a good wine list. The service is friendly and professional. This is one place we always stop to eat lunch while in Chicago.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Lovely ambience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 4, 2015

Beautiful room and views. Great starter of bread and toppings. Food delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

so disappointing!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 17, 2015

I have been meaning to go to Sophie for lunch so I met two of my girlfriends on a lunch break ,we waited over an hour to be served. We ordered from the lunch menu , We then decided to split a lava cake for dessert and there was no lava but an overcooked dessert. The service was below standard and the food mediocre we had truffle fries for start and they taste like fastfood .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Quite an improvement over my last visit. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 3, 2015

Quite an improvement over my last visit. Service was excellent as well as the food. Still a bit pricier than most in the area for lunch. Lovely view!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely AMAZING food and staff!!!!! FAVORITE!!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

The BEST place to eat---even gluten free diners have the MOST DELICIOUS options and the staff is knowledgeable and attentive !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Avoid window seats in cold weather

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 16, 2015

A seat adjacent to the window can be very uncomfortable on Chicago's coldest days.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

yummy food with a view!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

We had an awesome time at Sophie's. The food was very good and we had the lobster roll and the burger. The view of Michigan Ave was a bonus! ♡

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

michigan ave gem

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 10, 2015

The perfect place to enjoy and delicious lunch on the avenue. The food is light and perfect for lunch. The room itself is is light and bright and has a pretty view of Michigan Ave. The staff could not be more helpful and attentive. I have been 5 times already and will definitely go back. I highly recommend Sophie's for lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

Gluten free knowledgeable Great staff! Wonderful service

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

don't let SOPHIES be a SECRET

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

oh my what a fabulous surprise...deeelish charming great view yumm food and wine

cappucino was made perfectly deeelish too love this spot for a girlfriend day lunch in the city

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Love it!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 20, 2014

Gluten free knowledgeable. Accommodating !! Delicious soups as well!! Lobster roll (without the bun of course) is also a favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for lunch on the Magnificent Mile

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 19, 2014

Secluded spot with a great view! Very friendly staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Maria

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 11, 2014

Pleasant surprise! Fine dining in one of my favorite stores SFA on Michigan Avenue.

The wait service was very knowledgeable. I have gluten/lactose sensitivity. They were able to assist me in dietary needs.

I appreciated the foods I received and experienced no problems as a result.

I recommend Sophie's to people who have these concerns.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely room and view

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 11, 2014

I love the toppings for the bread. Food is very good but pricey, especially for lunch. Coffee is $5 and cappicinos $6, above the norm. They never are too busy whenever I eat there so price may be the issue, since the area has many choices.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

A Private Holiday Dinner

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 7, 2014

I booked the private dining room for holiday/birthday dinner for my ladies group.

With high ceilings, walls of curtains, and ample seating and tables, it is truly an elegant yet very relaxing and cozy space, just like being at someone's home.

We received a personalized menu printed out just for us, which was tweaked from the regular Prix Fixe menu. For starters, Jumbo Lump Crab Cake and Cornmeal-dusted Calamari was the favorite for majority of our party. Our entree choice included Braised Beef Short Rib/Diver Scallops/Red Kuri Squash Risotto which were tasty and beautifully presented. I do have to note that the Braised Beef Short Rib was visually not appealing (it looked somewhat different from what I saw on Facebook), but it tasted really good. The Risotto was not too salty (which I liked) and the cannellini beans with Diver Scallops was a great match. Our menu included a choice of coffee/tea service instead of the individual desserts. We did share couple of desserts - among the 3 different ones we ordered, I highly recommend the Michigan Apple Crisp. We ordered 2 bottles of white wines but they were not chilled properly. I prefer whites to be served at much lower temperature. Our server did make an effort to correct this.

Overall, everyone really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. The service was very pleasant throughout the evening and we really loved having dinner at Sophie's Chicago. I definitely look forward to coming back for future events/dinners.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.