About Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue- Chicago

Named Chicago Magazine's Best Michigan Avenue Lunch Spot, Sophie's features Chef Ron Aleman’s seasonal menu and sweeping Magnificent Mile views. Situated on the 7th floor of Saks Fifth Avenue, Sophie’s offers innovative American cooking made from the finest available local ingredients. Creative daily specials complement a selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. Craft cocktails are also fresh and seasonal and we offer a thoughtfully curated list of wines by the glass. Stop by for lunch, cocktails, or weekend brunch. Saks' express elevator takes you directly to the 7th floor.

700 North Michigan Ave.
7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday
11:30am – 3:00pm Lunch
3:00pm – 6:00pm Social Plates
Thursday – Saturday
11:30am – 3:00pm Lunch
3:00pm – 7:00pm Social Plates and Cocktails
7:00pm – 8:00pm Cocktails
Sundays
11:30am – 4:30pm Brunch

Cross Street:
East Huron

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 525-3400

Website:
http://www.sophies.com/

Catering:
Our locale and atmosphere provide a special backdrop a variety of corporate and social occasions. Saks Fifth Avenue is synonymous with luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink you have the makings of a truly memorable event. Sophie's is available for morning, afternoon, and evening events. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions and accommodate everything from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners. Chef Aleman and the Sophie's team will work with you to create an event that meets your specific needs. It is what we love to do!

Parking Details:
The closest parking lot is on Rush at Superior. It is not affiliated with Saks or Sophie's.

Public Transit:
Red Line--Chicago Station (at State)

Executive Chef:
Ron Aleman

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue is a stylish and elegant setting for social and business functions. Fresh, seasonal cooking, and breathtaking Michigan Avenue views set the stage for a truly memorable event. The restaurant can accommodate 86 seated/120 standing, private dining room seats 18.

Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue- Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.0

ambience

3.8

value

2.7

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (5)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for a Date (2)
See All
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Romantic (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a lovely surprise. Never know abo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a lovely surprise. Never know about it until we went. Food was quite good. It didn't feel particularly brunch-y (no mimosas, bread basket, only one egg plate) but well worth it nonetheless.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Usually like the food. I'm a healthy ea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Usually like the food. I'm a healthy eater but the kale caesar was too too much kale even for me. View always great,good service as usual but not when you consider value for price of food.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This restaurant has good food and it's v ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This restaurant has good food and it's very conversation friendly at lunch. However, it is a bit on the pricey side.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

This was my first visit to Sophie's whi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This was my first visit to Sophie's which was recommended by a friend...My first impression was how quiet the atmosphere was.. There was no loud music blaring the way teenagers or

20 somethings might want it. Altho the menu is small, there is enough variety even for my vegetarian tastes. ( I do eat fish. ) The food quality and portion size are excellent..The tuna sandwich is very hearty and half a sandwich was more than enough. The foamy maple flavored squash soup was tasty but too thin and watery for my taste.. I do feel the menu items are overpriced..$ 19 for half a sandwich and small cup of soup seems steep..But if you do not mind being a bit extravagant, this is a lovely place for conversation..

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Poor service Food was very good but po ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Poor service

Food was very good but poor service Never refilled water. Or coffee. Never asked how everything was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The view is nice, the food was alright, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The view is nice, the food was alright, and the waiter was rude. This was my second dining experience and it was completely different (worse) than the first time, unfortunately.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food and the ambiance was great. Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and the ambiance was great. The only thing was that the food took a long time to come out and we were the only ones there. Its a very pretty location with a great view of Magnificent Mile. Its nice for a nice meal with girlfriends.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We have been to Sophie's in the past and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We have been to Sophie's in the past and it was OK. This time it was not. The cocktails were made incorrectly AND it took awhile to get them. The food was below average and not acceptable. There didn't appear to be a manager around - at least not one that checked with us. Two servers were talking behind us and complaining using swear words! Completely inappropriate. My advice... pick a different restaurant!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Lunch was not good. Would not recommend ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Lunch was not good. Would not recommend and probably will not go back. There are so many more superior restaurants in the area. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my second time here. The first ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my second time here. The first time around was very pleasing; the food, service, and ambiance were perfect enough to warrant a return. Coming back after 5 months, however, I was dissapointed. The service was almost rude because of the waiter's (a different one) ambivalence and seemingly annoyed attitude. He was just being sassy for no reason. And the food wasn't as memorable. My dish was undercooked, but my friend's sandwich was delicious. Overall, I don't see a reason to come back until the service gets checked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I used to frequent your restaurant on a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I used to frequent your restaurant on a weekly basis. Over time the service has declined. The last several times I've been there I've had the same waiter. His service is lousy, he is slow, I find him aloof, unfriendly and pretentious. I have not been since last spring and decided to give it another try yesterday. Again I was disappointed. I will not be back for some time. I hope you could remedy this situation as the food is always good and the ambience if great.

Best,

Edward Durham

312.307.5812

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Never disappoints. Menu changes seasonal ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Never disappoints. Menu changes seasonally. Friendly staff. Never feel hurried. One of my favorite go to places.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is still wonderful but the service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food is still wonderful but the service is getting worse. Not enough staff and I told them so. It's a pity this once fabulous restaurant at Saks is crumbling before our very eyes. It's almost empty, one waiter to wait on everyone and endless waits for everything from wine to each course.

Please add some staff and a few smiles or you won't make it through Christmas.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

I really enjoyed burrata salad and thoug ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I really enjoyed burrata salad and thought the portion was generous. My boyfriend absolutely loved the Croque Madame. We both got the lobster roll, but one had more lobster than the other.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I am only giving this restaurant 2 stars ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2016

I am only giving this restaurant 2 stars because the service was so slow. When I dined here with a friend, there were only 2 other tables that were occupied, so I was a bit confused. Maybe it is the kitchen that is incredibly slow? I have no idea, but Daniel was our server and he was very good, engaging, and had a hand in helping us make our lunch selections. For drinks, we had the peachy palmer and basil gimlet which were both very refreshing, especially for such a hot day. For our meal, I chose the salmon caesar which was fantastic and my friend had the chicken avocado, which she enjoyed. For dessert, we chose the coconut bread pudding and rhubarb pie. I have had much better bread pudding, so I was not impressed. The rhubarb pie was runny and again, I was not impressed. It's not actually a slice of pie, but more of a crisp that is served in a mini cast iron skillet with a serving of ice cream. It was a bit tart, lacked enough crisp to absorb the liquid, and was very soupy within a couple of minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Sophie's never disappoints. It is truly ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Sophie's never disappoints. It is truly my lunch go to place. Menu and staff superb!!

I didn't pay this time do did not see the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am writing to let you know that both m ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I am writing to let you know that both my friend and I were extremely disappointed in Sophie's service. I will list out the number of things that went wrong with our visit. Please note that the restaurant wasn't busy and there were only 3 other tables occupied by couples. There was a staff of at least 5 people at the time.

  • It took over a half hour to receive the drinks we ordered.

  • Our drinks sat at the bar for 15 minutes as they got watered down.

  • Our waiter never gave us a bread basket which should be provided to every customer who orders a meal.

  • My friend ordered her burger without a fried egg, but yet forgot that and brought it to her with a fried egg anyway. She also requested aioli sauce with her meal and forgot to bring her that also.

  • It took my waiter 10 minutes to bring me ground pepper that I requested for my salad.

  • our waiter/staff did a horrible job of clearing the tables and ensuring that they were clean. Even the floor had spilled food that should have been cleaned up.

Based on how bad our service was, I gave our waiter a $10 tip for a $94.78 bill. I thought that was generous for the lousy service we received. We have no intention on ever returning to Sophie's. It has definitely gone down hill since it first opened and it shows due to it's lack of customers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

We have enjoyed this restaurant previous ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We have enjoyed this restaurant previously a couple of times but they didn't have our first menu item choice and the food we did order was only marginal. It took way too long as well. I will try it again but two stokes is an out for me.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I love the location and the view is grea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2016

I love the location and the view is great my biggest problem is the of the food. I won't go into my previous visits but on this visit I ordered a simple salad. While beautiful it was a salt bomb and really not enjoyable. The mocktail was the best part of my meal and really the only reason for not swearing this place off entirely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Had the tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwich. Delicious soup. Sandwich also delicious with leftovers. They don't have the chutney dip anymore. Too bad.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

A nice surprise, came in for brunch afte ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2016

A nice surprise, came in for brunch after reading the reviews. We made a last minute reservation for 3, but really didn't need to. It was nice and quiet, we had a table by the window facing east, can see the lake. Food is quick and delicious, we had the steak and eggs, Cobb salad, chicken avocado sandwich, and shared some fries. Definitely will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall, a positive experience.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Good service, quiet environment during lunch hour. Food was very good but salad was a bit expensive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sophies used to be better.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2016

When Sophies first opened up, the service wasn't the greatest, but the food and presentation was wonderful. I like bringing friends and clients here, because the view of Michigan Avenue is lovely and the restaurant is a place where you can relax and enjoy a conversation. (Unlike some trendier spots where the noise level is high).

This time the presentation was just okay, and the service I found to be less than stellar.

Too bad because it was a great lunch spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Pretense - missing menu items- pretty go ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2016

Pretense - missing menu items- pretty good But non creative food and a slow credit card machine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Nice view, but that's it.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Was so excited to go here, but came away VERY disappointed. My daughter had a hamburger that she said was very good. Her side was fries. They tasted very similar to McDonald fries and had about 20x's the salt on them. They were inedible. I opted for the Chicken Club sandwich. It was very good but the sandwich had maybe 3oz of chicken on it. It was mostly bread. My side was a salad. The dressing was awful. There was SO much Dijon mustard on it. You could not eat it.

The view is beautiful, unfortunately the food is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was excellent but the waiters have ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Food was excellent but the waiters have an attitude which in my opinion spoils the experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

High price, low food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Sophie's is cute and has an amazing view of Michigan Ave., which is pretty much what you're paying for (and the fact that you're eating in Saks Fifth Ave) It's to be expected that their menu will be priced higher than others, but the amount of food that you get for what you pay is pretty low and the fact that they can't split a check if you're in a group is unheard of. My friends and I had the most confusing time paying for our meals because of this. However, the service was good and even though there wasn't a ton of food for what you pay for, it was good. The bread, butter and jam they serve beforehand is delicious as well. Overall, Sophie's is a nice brunch location and although I won't go very often, I'll probably return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Lovely for lunch break

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 29, 2015

I was on my own doing some after Christmas shopping and wanted lunch. I had a lovely solo lunch with an excellent view onto Michigan Ave, made to feel very welcome though alone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

cute little gem at the top level of Saks.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Was an odd experience. . . in our table of 6, one person's desert that she ordered did not arrive, as the rest of us waited for it to come, we flagged down the waitress who checked on it, came back and told us they were out of it. Didn't tell us that when ordering, when delivering, just didn't bring it out.

Got even more crazy when the 2 kids meals were ordered, they both ordered chocolate ice cream. Instead, they brought out a plate of fruit. when we asked about the dessert, they said, "oh, we are out of chocolate ice cream, so we brought the fruit for dessert instead".

Great place, love gems like this, wish their wait staff and kitchen communicated better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A wonderful respite, high above from hec ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2015

A wonderful respite, high above from hectic Michigan Avenue, with a fantastic view and creative food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

overpriced

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2015

I've eaten here before and enjoyed it even with the high prices. This time I had the petite lunch, for a cost of $21. A small cup of soup, a small salad and a small l/2 of grilled cheese sandwich. Way overpriced and not that great. The bread overpowered the sandwich. Hard to compare but I was recently at the new 3 arts club cafe and had a fabulous grilled cheese sandwich and salad for $12. It is never busy so that means it is overpriced because it is a pleasant restaurant. Too many better places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Good food, a little over priced.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2015

The food was solid, service was ok and the view was great. It was just a bit overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Lunch at Sophie's

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2015

I love going to Sophie's. Ron, the head chef , does an amazing job. The menu is wonderful for lunch and they will change anything to make sure you are happy with your meal. The food is delicious and served very nicely by the very well-trained and pleasant waitstaff. Of course, since the restaurant overlooks Michigan Ave., the view is fabulous. What a great combination for all of us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

DISAPPOINTING

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2015

EXPECTED THE MENU TO BE MORE CREATIVE- EXPECTED THE SERVICE TO BE FRIENDLIER- EXPECTED IT TO BE NOT QUITE SO NOISY- DID NOT GET WhAT I EXPECTED!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

prices are too high for what is offered.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2015

if it is going to compete with the other many other locations in the neighborhood, they need to lower their prices and offer something unique. Great view, but they need more than a view!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Shrimp salad

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2015

My shrimp salad sandwich was tiny a about a tablespoon of salad on a huge bun. Ridiculous.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

All around excellent place for lunch.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2015

Very nice, but simple menu. Good food, service and scenic view down Michigan Avenue. And it is quiet--easy to have a conversation. Sophie's has become my favorite neighborhood luncheon establishment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Saks is known for its upscale operations ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 8, 2015

Saks is known for its upscale operations. Sophie's at Sacks is no exception. Located on the seventh floor you can get a nice look of the area. The lunch menu is limited but well rounded. The food was outstanding. They also have a good wine list. The service is friendly and professional. This is one place we always stop to eat lunch while in Chicago.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Lovely ambience

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2015

Beautiful room and views. Great starter of bread and toppings. Food delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

so disappointing!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2015

I have been meaning to go to Sophie for lunch so I met two of my girlfriends on a lunch break ,we waited over an hour to be served. We ordered from the lunch menu , We then decided to split a lava cake for dessert and there was no lava but an overcooked dessert. The service was below standard and the food mediocre we had truffle fries for start and they taste like fastfood .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.