Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue- Chicago

4.0
131 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Scenic View
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

Named Chicago Magazine's Best Michigan Avenue Lunch Spot, Sophie's features Chef Ron Aleman’s seasonal menu and sweeping Magnificent Mile views. Situated on the 7th floor of Saks Fifth Avenue, Sophie’s offers innovative American cooking made from the finest available local ingredients. Creative daily specials complement a selection of entrees, salads, and sandwiches. Craft cocktails are also fresh and seasonal and we offer a thoughtfully curated list of wines by the glass. Stop by for lunch, cocktails, or weekend brunch. Saks' express elevator takes you directly to the 7th floor.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday – Wednesday
11:30am – 6:00pm
Thursday – Saturday
11:30am – 8:00pm
Saturday and Sunday
11:30am – 4:30pm Brunch
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 525-3400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ron Aleman
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Sophie's at Saks Fifth Avenue is a stylish and elegant setting for social and business functions. Fresh, seasonal cooking, and breathtaking Michigan Avenue views set the stage for a truly memorable event. The restaurant can accommodate 86 seated/120 standing, private dining room seats 18.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Chris Dunstatter: (312) 525-3400
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our locale and atmosphere provide a special backdrop a variety of corporate and social occasions. Saks Fifth Avenue is synonymous with luxury and style. Add exquisite food and drink you have the makings of a truly memorable event. Sophie's is available for morning, afternoon, and evening events. We offer versatile space for corporate and social occasions and accommodate everything from cocktail parties to elegant formal dinners. Chef Aleman and the Sophie's team will work with you to create an event that meets your specific needs. It is what we love to do!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Superior
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The closest parking lot is on Rush at Superior. It is not affiliated with Saks or Sophie's.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Red Line--Chicago Station (at State)
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
From 10 to 100 we will be more than happy to accommodate you. We can tailor a personal food and drink menu for you. Our open layout can change to your needs and the view is unparalleled. Please stop in or call for more details.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 131 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
3.0
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Really bad! The food was horrible, tasted like it came out of a box and tossed in a microwave. We were the only people in the restaurant for lunch at 12:45pm! Really disappointed, I wanted to like this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Hidden gem! Great food (the avacado toast was to die for!) and the raspbellini (sp?) cocktail was delish! Amazing views of Michigan Ave. We will be going back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 29, 2017

In contrast to my previous lunch at Sophies, I was very disappointed with the menu, which is already very limited, but was further constrained by three of eight entree options not being available. I reverted to eating a hamburger that was under cooked. Although there were several tables filled, it seems that there are far fewer guests than I have experienced in the past and it makes me wonder if the word is out that it is overpriced, with very limited options of food. The views of the Mag Mile are great, but I won't be going back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 24, 2017

I don’t know where to begin with this review because there were so many things that went wrong. First, we ordered truffle fries that were iced cold and was still charged for them. Then we were informed that the restaurant only had 3 buns for the 5 burgers we ordered. We were told they were very busy and ran out, although the restaurant was seemingly empty. According to other reviews, that seems to be the excuse quite frequently. My husband then opted for the chicken breast but received what looked like a half Cornish hen. The bright side is the server Kiara was very attentive and apologetic. Word of advice... Believe the bad reviews when you read them.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 14, 2017

I was disappointed and had been expecting a pleasant dining experience. I had not been to this restaurant before, but my lunch guest had recommended it based on her previous experiences. She too was disappointed and actually apologized to me for the unexpectedly poor experience. The restaurant was relatively empty, considering we had a 12:30pm reservation. While the employees were very cordial, welcoming, and attentive, the time it took for the food to actually arrive at our table was way too long. We had been hoping to have time for a leisurely meal with dessert and coffee, but had to forego the dessert and coffee since time got to be too tight.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 8, 2017

Open Table allowed me to make a reservation for Sophie's on a day they were closed! (11/8/17) I expect much better communication btw the restaurant and this website. Obviously it was a disappointment and a real inconvenience. Additionally, the man at Sophie's (waiter? manager?) only said I was free to make a reservation and come back any other day. Well thanks - I think I know that! Not really in a hurry to do so.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 7, 2017

The service was insanely slow (and there was barely anyone there). The waiter was unnecessarily snobby.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 6, 2017

Enjoyable experience mainly due to the gracious and charming waitperson of African-American descent who made us feel welcome.....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 6, 2017

It's on the 7th floor with views over Michigan Avenue. Small dining room so not able to be overly busy. Almost entire audience were ladies who lunch crowd. Some nice cocktail options and food choices. Server was very personable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 6, 2017

I am very fond of Sophie’s for lunch with friends and especially to celebrate birthdays. The view above the Water Tower and Michigan Avenue is classic Chicago. The restaurant is fresh, crisp, small and comfortable making for easy conversation. I always like the food but sometimes find the menu is limited or over priced for the quantity. Nonetheless I feel I have been somewhere special when I have lunch there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Perfect for a mid-shopping lunch

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 19, 2017

When making the reservation and again when I arrived before my client, I asked for a quiet table, which I got because the restaurant was almost empty. But five minutes after my client arrived, a mother with crying infant was seated at the next table -- even though only one other table in the entire restaurant was occupied! Although I sympathize with the mother, I did not think the host/waiter did his job by seating them next to my table. Although my client and I were early for the lunch service -- arriving at about 11.30 -- the restaurant was out of at least three menu items we wanted to order. And although the restaurant was almost empty, the service was erratic. Also, I think they charged me for two coffees for $7 although we had ordered only one. I did not question the bill because, by that time, I just wanted to leave.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 22, 2017

New menu is disappointing. Not one real salad. No more risotto.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 22, 2017

pricey with great service food was good small portions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Lovely Small plates, good service, wonderful view and delicious cocktails ...dessert too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 6, 2017

I really wanted to like Sophie's, because I'd heard good things, so when I saw a TravelZoo offer for Sunday Brunch for 2 for $39, I bought two. We arrived at 11:30, which is the first Sunday Brunch reser available. Our server was sweet, friendly and completely overwhelmed, because she was alone (maybe they're not used to customers for Sunday Brunch?) The kitchen was slow and uneven - Crispy Shrimp & Grits and Chorizo Market Scramble were fabulous, Egg in a Hole was lame; half our party was served, then about 5 minutes later the rest of the food arrived. Coffee was good but not hot by the time we got cream. All in all, a disappointing outing for out-of-town guests.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 6, 2017

Our server barely came over. Seemed like it took forever to order!! He also didn't explain ANYTHING & he seemed money hungry!! We wanted a cookie & he said in our face $3!! His eyes open wide! He brought it all broken in pieces. Never got more water!! Horrible service! Didn't come up our table at all!:( Very poor service & they weren't even busy!!:( Disappointed as I've wanted to try this place since I go to Mariposa @Niemans often. I'll definitely be going there & NOT here! We left him a good tip, but won't be coming back!!!!!!!!!!!:(

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2017

The regular menu was replaced by a Mother's Day fixed menu. They ran out of items on a small fixed menu. More than one plate or cup was dirty. The coffee was cold. It was overall a huge disappointment.

The server tried hard, but it was a no win situation for him with the food and cleanliness issues.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2017

Attentive service and a great special 3 selection lunch option.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2017

Exceptional service, we enjoyed a quiet conversation for a while before ordering and never for a moment felt rushed. I would highly recommend this spot for catching up with old friends.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2017

The woman working there was helpful & nice. However we found the gentleman to be snooty.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was blah and very pricey. $75 for two without alcohol. Much better places to lunch on mich Ave.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 5, 2017

It was a lovely surprise. Never know about it until we went. Food was quite good. It didn't feel particularly brunch-y (no mimosas, bread basket, only one egg plate) but well worth it nonetheless.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 30, 2017

Usually like the food. I'm a healthy eater but the kale caesar was too too much kale even for me. View always great,good service as usual but not when you consider value for price of food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2017

This restaurant has good food and it's very conversation friendly at lunch. However, it is a bit on the pricey side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2016

This was my first visit to Sophie's which was recommended by a friend...My first impression was how quiet the atmosphere was.. There was no loud music blaring the way teenagers or
20 somethings might want it. Altho the menu is small, there is enough variety even for my vegetarian tastes. ( I do eat fish. ) The food quality and portion size are excellent..The tuna sandwich is very hearty and half a sandwich was more than enough. The foamy maple flavored squash soup was tasty but too thin and watery for my taste.. I do feel the menu items are overpriced..$ 19 for half a sandwich and small cup of soup seems steep..But if you do not mind being a bit extravagant, this is a lovely place for conversation..

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 26, 2016

Poor service


Food was very good but poor service Never refilled water. Or coffee. Never asked how everything was.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 18, 2016

The view is nice, the food was alright, and the waiter was rude. This was my second dining experience and it was completely different (worse) than the first time, unfortunately.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and the ambiance was great. The only thing was that the food took a long time to come out and we were the only ones there. Its a very pretty location with a great view of Magnificent Mile. Its nice for a nice meal with girlfriends.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 3, 2016

We have been to Sophie's in the past and it was OK. This time it was not. The cocktails were made incorrectly AND it took awhile to get them. The food was below average and not acceptable. There didn't appear to be a manager around - at least not one that checked with us. Two servers were talking behind us and complaining using swear words! Completely inappropriate. My advice... pick a different restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 20, 2016

Lunch was not good. Would not recommend and probably will not go back. There are so many more superior restaurants in the area. Sorry.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my second time here. The first time around was very pleasing; the food, service, and ambiance were perfect enough to warrant a return. Coming back after 5 months, however, I was dissapointed. The service was almost rude because of the waiter's (a different one) ambivalence and seemingly annoyed attitude. He was just being sassy for no reason. And the food wasn't as memorable. My dish was undercooked, but my friend's sandwich was delicious. Overall, I don't see a reason to come back until the service gets checked.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 19, 2016

I used to frequent your restaurant on a weekly basis. Over time the service has declined. The last several times I've been there I've had the same waiter. His service is lousy, he is slow, I find him aloof, unfriendly and pretentious. I have not been since last spring and decided to give it another try yesterday. Again I was disappointed. I will not be back for some time. I hope you could remedy this situation as the food is always good and the ambience if great.

Best,

Edward Durham
312.307.5812

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2016

Never disappoints. Menu changes seasonally. Friendly staff. Never feel hurried. One of my favorite go to places.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 16, 2016

Food is still wonderful but the service is getting worse. Not enough staff and I told them so. It's a pity this once fabulous restaurant at Saks is crumbling before our very eyes. It's almost empty, one waiter to wait on everyone and endless waits for everything from wine to each course.
Please add some staff and a few smiles or you won't make it through Christmas.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 14, 2016

I really enjoyed burrata salad and thought the portion was generous. My boyfriend absolutely loved the Croque Madame. We both got the lobster roll, but one had more lobster than the other.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 12, 2016

I am only giving this restaurant 2 stars because the service was so slow. When I dined here with a friend, there were only 2 other tables that were occupied, so I was a bit confused. Maybe it is the kitchen that is incredibly slow? I have no idea, but Daniel was our server and he was very good, engaging, and had a hand in helping us make our lunch selections. For drinks, we had the peachy palmer and basil gimlet which were both very refreshing, especially for such a hot day. For our meal, I chose the salmon caesar which was fantastic and my friend had the chicken avocado, which she enjoyed. For dessert, we chose the coconut bread pudding and rhubarb pie. I have had much better bread pudding, so I was not impressed. The rhubarb pie was runny and again, I was not impressed. It's not actually a slice of pie, but more of a crisp that is served in a mini cast iron skillet with a serving of ice cream. It was a bit tart, lacked enough crisp to absorb the liquid, and was very soupy within a couple of minutes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 3, 2016

Sophie's never disappoints. It is truly my lunch go to place. Menu and staff superb!!

I didn't pay this time do did not see the bill.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 24, 2016

I am writing to let you know that both my friend and I were extremely disappointed in Sophie's service. I will list out the number of things that went wrong with our visit. Please note that the restaurant wasn't busy and there were only 3 other tables occupied by couples. There was a staff of at least 5 people at the time.
- It took over a half hour to receive the drinks we ordered.
- Our drinks sat at the bar for 15 minutes as they got watered down.
- Our waiter never gave us a bread basket which should be provided to every customer who orders a meal.
- My friend ordered her burger without a fried egg, but yet forgot that and brought it to her with a fried egg anyway. She also requested aioli sauce with her meal and forgot to bring her that also.
- It took my waiter 10 minutes to bring me ground pepper that I requested for my salad.
- our waiter/staff did a horrible job of clearing the tables and ensuring that they were clean. Even the floor had spilled food that should have been cleaned up.
Based on how bad our service was, I gave our waiter a $10 tip for a $94.78 bill. I thought that was generous for the lousy service we received. We have no intention on ever returning to Sophie's. It has definitely gone down hill since it first opened and it shows due to it's lack of customers.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 21, 2016

We have enjoyed this restaurant previously a couple of times but they didn't have our first menu item choice and the food we did order was only marginal. It took way too long as well. I will try it again but two stokes is an out for me.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4