Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery

4.6
801 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Northwest
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Scenic View
  • Worth the Drive
The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Northwest
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
April Hours of Operation
Thursday to Monday
LUNCH 12 - 4:30 PM
DINNER 5 - 8 PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(250) 498-6202
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Stephen Blackburn
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
A number of options are available for private dining that include utilizing the penthouse suite of the onsite exclusive guesthouse, the wine shop and the Sonora Room itself. All options are based on availability and seasonality. Enquire for further details.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Sonora Room Manager: (250) 498-0620 ext. 2
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Black Sage Road
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Celebrating our friends 40th wedding anniversary and we made a special meal request and the chef was so accommodating and knocked it out of the park for us!
Thank you!

Perfect setting, great food accompanied with great wine and service!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Pros: Food was amazing. Nice view out on patio. Good service overall.
Cons: We did have to wait slightly longer for entree course after first course. It's probably a reasonable pace for those are not too rushed or hungry but we did notice the table beside us getting their food way before us & almost finishing it despite they ordered after us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Great food and service. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Have been before with amazing service, gorgeous views and amazing food. This visit was a bit disappointing. Again gorgeous views and very good service but our main meal was disappointing. Had the venison. Over cooked for medium rare and sides were not appropriately pared. Sides were not complementary and small. Wine pairing was extremely well paired with the venison. the sommelier was entertaining and well versed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

We come to Burrowing Owl every year for either wine tastings, lunch, or dinner. It's always a good time with a great views.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Definitely not what it's cracked up to be on the reviews. The chefs need training to be sure. I had the chicken with truffles, ha-ha. The rolled chicken breast was bland and the truffles were the size of your trimmed thumbnail. There was one small trimming in each cut of the rolled breast. (7 or 8 pce). Boring and virtually tasteless, never, ever again, for the price I could have had an enjoyable evening in Osoyoos...

I lost out due to all the hype about Burrowing Owl, my advice go to A & W or Denny's, save your money. Plus the fact that when they ripped out the natural ground cover to plant their grape vines they made homeless many small desert owls (or killed the defenseless little critters).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Great views sitting on the outside deck. The service was attentive but not too much. Excellent food presentation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We live in the area and have been visitors to the Burrowing Owl over the years. This time, we were disappointed with the meals. I had the strip loin and the portions of four cubed tiny pieces that were completely unseasoned along with the white fish meal the guest/birthday girl received, equally as unseasoned, made it a discussion to choose from our other higher end establishments in Penticton and not bring people here for special occasions. We did mention to staff in hopes it was just a missed dish. But for the price and reputation of the Burrowing Owl, it shouldn't happen. The prices are high enough that we should be expecting excellence and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Lovely viewed, relaxed atmosphere, professionally presented food and excellent wine pairings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Loved! Great food, service, wine, view, everything was awesome!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Wish there were more veggies in the food. Hardly any at all in my entree. Otherwise very tasty and beautiful place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food on Mother’s Day was delicious. Our server was helpful and friendly!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very rich food, lovely setting!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Amazing staff. Amazing food. All in a beautiful vineyard setting. Ensure to ask for a table on the terrace. Never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great food, service and view! The fantastic dishes were described well which we love as foodies. Friendly staff. Overall fantastic evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

My husband and I’s weekend away from the kids. We were delayed for our reservation by 30 minutes (which was the last seat of the night) and the staff were SO Amazing!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We always enjoy our outings to Burrowing Owl .
You can’t beat the cuisine, wine, or the view!
We will definitely be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We enjoyed the first night of their Spring Wine Festival five course dinner paired with their wines. Great value and money well spent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

This is our favourite place to eat in the entirety of the Okanagan. Always a great pleasure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

It was a beautiful day to take our family including a little one for a lovely lunch at Burrowing Owl. Our server was friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious and the view was beautiful. Everyone ate every bit of their entrees and desserts. We hope to be back !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food, great service, delightful view, and all-around fun. We always enjoy eating at the Sonora Room Restaurant. It doesn't get much better than this.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

We were there on a quiet March evening.

Lovely view of the sunset.

The food and wine pairings were amazing.

High recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Dinner here was amazing from start to finish. Service by Ingela was excellent. The menu offered some very interesting choices plus there was an additional special which I enjoyed. Wonderful complimentary appetizer of smoked duck breast, pickled cauliflower on a beet,chocolate purée. The beet salad was so good, big enough to share and was accompanied by house made rolls/butter. The grilled bone in pork chop was served with green lentils, tourtière and roasted root vegetables. The special was a risotto topped with seared scallops, white asparagus and crispy bacon chunks. Presentation of the food was incredible. Wine list was good. Expensive evening but well worth it!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2018

I had the sablefish wrapped in proscuito. The proscuto overpowered the small portion of fish so you coudnt taste it and made the dish extremely over salted. The cutlery was inadequate for cutting through the proscuito. scallop and clam appetiser was cold but tasted ok. pork belly appetiser was good. The pasta dish one of our guests had was bland. Pork chop dish was good. Halibut collar dish was ok but the clams it was served with were sandy-gritty which happens understandably. A bottle of wine, two beer and these dishes plus one more appy the bill came to about $300 incl tip. Quite overpriced. I have had excellent meals there in the past but this visit was not great. Staff friendly and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great service, delicious food, welcoming staff and mort important an excellent wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wonderful evening with live music. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. Always pleased with our evenings at the Sonora Room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Excellent food! Live music provided by an accomplished harpist for Valentine's Day dining. Appropriate and current and easy listening. Crowd ranged from young adults to seniors, couples and a few singles; all well-dressed and respectful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2017

We live locally and consider ourselves fortunate to have such a fabulous restaurant so close to home. Duck confit grilled cheese.....who knew? We look forward to your re-opening in February.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 17, 2017

The food was well prepared & presented however the portions were quite small. The menu was very limited & did not offer sharing appetizers. The server was very pleasant & knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2017

There was nothing to complain about. Everything was perfect. Good food, good wine, good service, and comfortable surroundings. What else could anyone want?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Very reasonably priced, excellent service, very tasty

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2017

Amazing service! Manager was very attentive and went out of his way to make our night special !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

I think the restaurant would benefit from a bit of background music it’s such a beautiful setting but the background noice of chatter and heels on the bar wood floors is all you hear. I was also dissent with the variety of vegetables for the sides- just carrots was a bit underwhelming when there are some many beautiful root vegetables in season right now

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 10, 2017

Wonderful food, wonderful ambiance , excellent service, incredible views.... worth the drive to the area 😁

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Innovative cuisine. Excellent service. Stunning view. If you are in the area, lunch or dinner at Burrowing Owl is highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 7, 2017

I have been drinking Burrowing Owl Wines for years and it’s one of my favourites. I was really looking forward to lunch and wine tasting. The lunch was mediocre at best - the restaurant was full of flies and miserable staff. I asked to speak to their manager Shelby and was told she wasn’t in on the weekends. This makes no sense. The food was barely warm, a charcuterie plate cover on everything other than meat and cheese for $29 - there were literally 2 small bits of 3 meats and 2 small pieces of cheese, the braised beef MAC and cheese would have be nice served hot. We also had a duck grilled cheese- again not served hot and when I asked for something other than salad I was told “we don’t have fries- we’re not that kind of place”. Our server was terrible.
The wine shop was sold out of most wines and the staff were rude. After visiting a few other vineyards this was a real let down. It’s as though their ego has gotten too big and they’ve given up on decor, service and ambiance. The winery is old and very outdated. The dining room and furniture are tired. The prices do not reflect the ambiance. With so many great wineries in the area I’d never go back and will be hard pressed to make any further orders from Burrowing Owl.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2017

We had a really nice meal, our server did a great job of making us feel welcome and special without being obtrusive. Apparantly the restaurant has a new chef, really impressed with his new menu !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 2, 2017

Our server, Ingela, was a darling and did a fantastic job. She was attentive, professional, friendly and prompt.

The floor manager was cold and dismissed our disappointment over not getting a callback for any of our three unattended messages to book a private tasting and dinner. We called and left several messages with both tasting room and Sonora Room (as neither phone wa answered any time we attempted to call) and did not get a single callback despite there being 24hrs between our calls.

The hostess blatantly told us that "no messages were left" despite our insistence. She was abrasive dismissive and unaccommodating. We had travelled up specifically to experience this Winery and dining room as we had heard great things about Burrowing Owl, but, unfortunately, did not even get to taste more than the bottle we purchased with our dinner.

Will not recommend or refer friends to this Winery.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2017

The duck confit was delicious. And our server was super-friendly and fun.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2017

The whole experience was absolutely fantastic! I would not hesitate to go back or to recommend to friends.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21

Tweets by Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery