About Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery

500 Burrowing Owl Place
Oliver, BC V0H 1T1
View Larger Map

The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Tapas: Daily: 3:00pm - 4:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm



Hours will vary between November and May please call to check during those dates.



Seasonal Closure - Mid December - Mid February

Cross Street:
Black Sage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 498-6202

Website:
http://www.bovwine.ca/the_restaurant.html

Executive Chef:
Damian Mischikinish

Private Party Facilities:
A number of options are available for private dining that include utilizing the penthouse suite of the onsite exclusive guesthouse, the wine shop and the Sonora Room itself. All options are based on availability and seasonality. Enquire for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sonora Room Manager: 2504980620x

Additional:
Banquet, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
2 More
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Oliver ›

Scenic View (91)
Special Occasion (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (73)
See All
Notable Wine List (69)
Romantic (62)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Great for Lunch (38)
Good for Groups (23)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Casual (7)
Seasonal (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Cozy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
661 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great experience here. Service ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 7 days ago

Always a great experience here. Service was excellent. New menu for Fall is very good. We had appetizers, soup, main course and dessert. The difference between good and great is the temperature of the soup and main courses. Just a little warmer and you have the perfect meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Top notch food and an excellent wine lis ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Top notch food and an excellent wine list, highlighted by very reasonable prices on wines from Burrowing Owl's library.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had guests from out of town and were ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had guests from out of town and were pleased to show off our beautiful Okanagan. Burrowing Owl provided a lovely lunch stop and a great sampling of awesome wine!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sonora Room is expensive. The food i ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Sonora Room is expensive. The food is good, but you are paying for the view. The service is good and the restaurant isn't too noisy. I didn't mind paying high prices for the food and wine, but I did object to the two bottles of mineral water that somehow ended up on our table at $7 each. It's good for special occasions, if it isn't too sunny or windy and you manage to get a seat on the the patio (first come, first serve).

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

You can't beat the location. We had a Bu ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

You can't beat the location. We had a Burrowing Owl 2014 cab sauv and it was excellent. Food was what you would expect for this pricey restaurant. Portions are a good size and well presented but not overly pretencious. Service was excellent. Low key but very attentive. Overall a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a fantastic 3-cours ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My husband and I had a fantastic 3-course meal for our anniversary. The patio was a must as the view of the vineyard with the lake in the background is the best part of the experience. We had a bottle of wine tableside and our glasses were never empty. Service and ambience was above par alongside an impeccably prepared menu. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good meal with attentive service. H ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Very good meal with attentive service. However, quite overpriced in regards to value which creates a large disinclination to returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, amazing scenery, but the pri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food, amazing scenery, but the prices are high considering the portion. Value, for what you pay isn't quite present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

The scallops were delicious and paired w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The scallops were delicious and paired well with the suggested wine pairing. It was a Dining experience, the appetizers took some time to arrive but were worth the wait. Service was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service makes all the difference. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great service makes all the difference. Had dinner here the first night of our Okanagan vacation and it did not disappoint. Food was very good - my husband loved the lamb and my son the duck - and I had the scallop appetizer as I am watching my diet (bad idea on vacation, I know!)

Food was presented very nicely and nice wine choices including some from other wineries in the area and not just the Burrowing Owl ones. The view from the patio is second to none but unless they are really quiet, don't think you will get a patio table if you have not made reservations.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

What a pretty setting ! Our reservation ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

What a pretty setting ! Our reservation was honoured . We were warmly greeted , and our server

actually bubbled over with enthusiasm ! She was very good .

Four of us had the pasta of the day , and it was truly awesome ! The salad and curried chicken wrap were delicious , and very generous . All in all , we enjoyed our luncheon very much .

We liked the winery wine too !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best food ever! The combination of flavo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best food ever! The combination of flavors was a party for my mouth.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service Spectacular view! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good food and service

Spectacular view!

Nice ambiance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a high-end winery with a fine-d ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This is a high-end winery with a fine-dining restaurant, with fabulous out-door seating and exceptional views.

Tags: Historic, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu complemented the wine pairings ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The menu complemented the wine pairings perfectly. Delicious food and excellent wine what could be better. The service was OK but nothing special but we didn't let this get in the way of our enjoyment of the food and wine. Burrowing Owl Merlot was the first BC wine we tasted when we started visiting Canada and it has set the standard for us. Coming to their restaurant has been a long standing ambition which has now been realised and I am pleased to report that it met our expectations and some.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a place we have enjoyed for spec ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This is a place we have enjoyed for special occasions and it did not disappoint.

We were able to enjoy sitting on the deck. Our waitress was beyond good, very gracious and also interpreted the menu very thoughtfully. She was delightful.

the food was very good, and presented very nice.

Good wine, relaxed atmosphere, lovely staff.

we will go again as able and have and will continue to send our friends and family here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great presentation of dishes, friendly a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

great presentation of dishes, friendly and efficient service, will recommend to friends

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible service. 25 minutes and not eve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Horrible service. 25 minutes and not even a drink order.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The service was slow between the starter ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was slow between the starter and main course. The main course of pulled lamb was not as described. To start with the lamb was not pulled but consisted of two bread buns with two small pieces of lamb in each bun, definitely not pulled! A significant amount of the lamb was fatty. The lamb itself was smeared with a small quantity of sauce which was insufficient given the size of the bread buns. On the plate to the side was a glass jar (which appeared to be a small reused jam jar) containing pork scratching (you can purchase this product in many pubs in a packet: basically deep fried pig skin. None of us ate the pork scratching which did not complement the lamb in any way. After this experience with the main course we ask for the bill and left. This was an expensive disappointment given some of the positive reviews we have seen for this restaurant. Will not return and will not recommend to friends. Will also write this experience up for Trip Advisor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We weren't wowed by our food. Descriptio ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We weren't wowed by our food. Description of meal was incorrect. View is amazing. Wine was delicious but we won't spend $$$ for what was served.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Was not impressed with the service or th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Was not impressed with the service or the meal. Size of meal (for price...and knowing it was going to be expensive) was small. Wait staff were not friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We found the food very tasty but the por ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We found the food very tasty but the portions small for the price. The ambience was nice, although it was so windy we weren't able to sit outside as we had planned. We would recommend the restaurant but would advise that while the food is good the portions are small and prices are expensive.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The waitress could have been more clear ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The waitress could have been more clear and explained options better. As a first time diner there, I did not understand all the options and was disappointed. Since I now know all the options and what is available, I would dine again, as the overall was good. Just not our waitress.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Lunch as part of our Okanagan holiday. F ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Lunch as part of our Okanagan holiday. Food and Ambience very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The overall experience was very good. We ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The overall experience was very good. We are repeat annual visitors and look forward to dining with our family once a year at your lovely winery. View is amazing. We had the charcuterie to share. It was filled with delicious bits of meat, cheese, etc. There were ten of us dining and everyone enjoyed their meal. We were there for an hour, 45 min. so the food delivery could have been a bit faster. Our server was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a lovely place to have lunch in the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Just a lovely place to have lunch in the Okanagan area. South of Oliver - wine capital of Canada - beautiful views of the vineyards; lake and mountains. Food was outstanding. Service impeccable. For those special outings - a real must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This year was the 4th year we visited Bu ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This year was the 4th year we visited Burrowing Owl for lunch while in wine country and was the first time we were disappointed. We had a reservation and were seated shortly after checking in with the host, the wait for service then began, after 10 minutes of being ignored we asked another server to have ours come out to take our wine order.

When the food arrived we were again disappointed, it certainly did not live up to our expectations from our previous visits. Not sure what has changed since last year but not the same service or food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Very good farm to table resto with pleas ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good farm to table resto with pleasant friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Expensive but not worth the price. Food ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Expensive but not worth the price. Food is only average at best. Wine is acceptable, but pretty much "bad" when compared to the better ones (if you are lucky enough to find them). The only thing I appreciated about this place was the environment and view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We had a wonderful time at the Burrowing ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Burrowing Owl Restaurant. It was quiet inside, as many people were outside on the patio. The food and wine were excellent, and the staff knowledgeable about the wine and food brought to our table. I would recommend coming here if you are in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. We were seated next to a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was good. We were seated next to a very noisy air conditioning unit on the patio, the ambiance was pedestrian and the service was curt. I think the waitress was tired and impatient at the end of her shift. It was not worth the drive from Penticton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Having eaten every year for many years w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Having eaten every year for many years we were very disappointed and will not return.

The food adequate not as good as we've come expect. Our young waitress very polite one instance ruined experience.

We have daughter the wine business in Oliver area and she looking forward treating us to there. When she politely asked if there was an "industry discount" the senior server was abrupt and rude to her.

A simple and polite "No, I'm sorry don't would have been fine", instead the server terse and scolded her. My initial impression was that perhaps I misread the situation, but our lunch companions were very put off as well and commented that almost asked for the manager.

Together the 4 of us have spent thousands of dollars at Burrowing Owl overm the years but we will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We had a patio table overlooking the vin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a patio table overlooking the vinyard with sun setting, I think it's the best table! Food was great as always, too full to try the dessert, wish we had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience on all levels including ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great experience on all levels including the views and surroundings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view and food. Can't wait to go ba ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great view and food. Can't wait to go back! Would definitely recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent lamb dish on the lunch menu. P ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent lamb dish on the lunch menu. Pasta dish was average as far as flavours go. Good pairing of wines to meals. Outside patio is excellent. We got the last patio table available even though we had a reservation. I would have very annoyed if we were seated inside as the inside dining experience does not come close to the patio experience. Perhaps Open Table could include an option giving users the opportunity to request a patio table when making an online reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were traveling across western Canada ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were traveling across western Canada from Calgary to Vancouver stopping in Banff and at Lake Louise. We ate only at top-rated Trip Advisor and Open Table restaurants. The Sonora Room was in a different league from the others for taste. The dining room is reminiscent of San Simeon. The view across the verdant valley to the giant rocks that are called hills around here is breath-taking. The sky is enormous. We had the pork and the lamb. Both are memorable. The homemade ice cream for dessert is killer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a very pleasant dining experienc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Overall a very pleasant dining experience and impeccable service. I would definitely return to the Sonora room in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Travelled 2 hours to meet friends and di ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Travelled 2 hours to meet friends and dine here. Seated in patio and stared into the side of a player blocking the view. Not sure why you have these here. Menu looked interesting but after waiting an hour to finally get our main courses we were immediately disappointed. One had the lamb which was good the rest the Arctic char which needs to be re-thought. Would love to return but menu and service need at bit of an overhaul.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Outstanding dining experience

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.