Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi

About Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery

The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.

500 Burrowing Owl Place
Oliver, BC V0H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Tapas: Daily: 3:00pm - 4:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm



Hours will vary between November and May please call to check during those dates.



Seasonal Closure - Mid December - Mid February

Cross Street:
Black Sage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 498-6202

Website:
http://www.bovwine.ca/the_restaurant.html

Executive Chef:
Damian Mischikinish

Private Party Facilities:
A number of options are available for private dining that include utilizing the penthouse suite of the onsite exclusive guesthouse, the wine shop and the Sonora Room itself. All options are based on availability and seasonality. Enquire for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sonora Room Manager: (250) 498-0620

Additional:
Banquet, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (19)
Special Occasion (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Romantic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Casual (5)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely fantastic! Creative & tasty Me My with fabulous wine & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Are a lot of the one time great restaurants trying too hard to please everyone? With people being gluten free, salt free, garlic free- I have noticed that the food presentation is still amazing- but the actual food is bland. When 3 days later I cant remember what I had for an appetizer, means it did not register as being worthy of remembering. There are so many great fresh herbs out there- chefs need to start using them. I was very disappointed when my husband had to ask for salt and pepper.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have been to this restaurant a number of times and once again, it did not disappoint !!
The waitress / waiter staff and chefs are 5-star. Meals are elegantly presented and are the perfect portion size - not too big, not too small. Of course being part of the winery doesn't hurt - what a wine list from the Burrowing Owl winery as well as competitors wines from the region and cocktails and beer. The price is fair and the value is excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was outstanding as was the presentation. Situated at The Burrowing Owl winery, the view was beautiful. I recommend for an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a very nice dinner at Burrowing owl. The food was very good. The portions were deceptive. Surprisingly filling, but we're kind of light eaters . Very good wine. A bit on the pricy side, but a great location for a special dinner. Great views from the patio. Be sure to check out the observatory tower and cellar. And there is a great little gazebo in the vineyard to walk to. A little buggy at dusk though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great meal on the patio overlooking a scenic view of the regional vineyards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wanted to go to eat here for many years. Very disappointed with everything except View. Hostess very irritated with lack of decision on where we wanted to sit due to extreme heat temperature. She showed her anouance. The food description and what arrived was a complete contradiction. Food quality a terrible disappoint. A lack of flavor and presentation. One meal was tasty and decent. The quiche and soup was lovely. The view and facilities far out weigh the food very sad that such a great place has come to this. Must be most expensive wine in the entire province made locally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We liked the food, though some details of the meal were imperfect. I think it's good value, and their wine is superlative. Staff are great, and service is exemplary.

I thought some of the preparation is a bit too busy - meaning that there's a disconnect between the simplicity of the room and the relative complexity of the dishes. For instance, the Arctic Char was in a lemon broth, and might have been simpler with just a froth on the side instead of losing that pan fried crispness in a bowl of liquid. Similarly, the Lamb two ways also was well prepared for the sirloin, but the cheeks were a bit rich and detracted a bit from the overall impression.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We have visited you several times and always enjoyed it very much. HOWEVER this time our table was right above or near a very loud machinery noise (air conditioning????) which drowned out any hope of hearing the conversation from across the table. We would never want again to sit near that machine. Middle of the balcony, quite near the door from the main dining hall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We spent Canada 150 at The Sonora Room and enjoyed amazing food, views and top tier service by Eric and company. The Burrowing Owl wines are ethereal and pair incredibly with a creative, delicious and well presented array of courses. We particularly loved the Arctic Char. The view and setting made this date night very special and memorable for years to come. It was so good, we ended up having FOUR desserts!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We frequent Burrowing Owl multiple times a year. This particular trip we shared it with family from out east. Food was excellent as always, but the outdoor eating was spoiled by the very loud AC units that are by the balcony, and the service was sub-par to our usual standard at this location. The older gentleman waiter and female waitress are truly the cherry on top of the cake when eating here, we had a younger waitress that was inexperienced and lacked the finesse required for this establishment, in all honesty next time we go we will ensure that we aren't in her zone, even if it means we have a less then ideal seating location. When you ask your waitress about a meat/fish dish and she turns to you and say "I have no idea because I'm a vegan", it doesn't promote a sense that she's invested in the restaurant, there were a lot of different ways to have answered that question, as an example "I've heard from other patrons that it is very tender and the perfect amount of spices". It is amazing how much of a dampener the service can impart to a typically wonderful food experience. We're going to take a break from going to Sonora and try some other eating venues in the area on our next trip, but we would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves food, just be sure you come for dinner and request the more experienced waiter or waitress.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Amazing food, amazing views and the staff were beyond good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Beautiful place to have either lunch or dinner with good foods and wine, excellent services.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very lovely evening. All the staff was very pleasant and efficiently saw to our needs. Started with the Butternut Squash Soup that was delicious. Followed by the Beef Tenderloin with potato and onion textures, that was not only presented in a creative way, but was incredibly yummy. Would definitely return for another enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We came to Oliver for 3 nights from Canmore Alberta to do certain wine tastings and restaurants. Did private tasting first followed by lunch at your restaurant. Wonderful food, nice wine list and great service. Will definitely be back next year.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We were able to sit out on the patio because it has patio heaters, so it was a beautiful place to sit with a great view.
The maitre d' was great in that upon arrival he wished my husband a "happy birthday" and again when my husband received his dessert "happy birthday" was written on his plate in chocolate sauce ( nice touch ).
The service was great the wine was excellent and the food was tasty.
My only complaint is the very small portion size. The appetizer was little more than one bite. I knew the main course would be small but this was so small it was very disappointing, as we are not big eaters but were still hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Absolutely excellent food, excellent service and presentation with recommended wine pairing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Disappointing-5 light-eating women who were still hungry following the mains chosen for lunch. Dietary restrictions of diners -celiac, nut allergy and lactose intolerant -almost regarded as inconvenient and a nuisance to the chef-according to the waiter. Very slow service-1 1/2 hours, no time for coffee, dessert as private driver on hourly charge waited for us to continue tour.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

It has been almost 10 years since I was last here. The quality in food and excellent service remains the same. Came in for lunch and was greeted promptly by the host. Our server was friendly and professional. We shared the squid risotto which was delicious. Portion size was on the smaller size, but presentation was beautiful and it was delicious! My duck confit was perfectly done. The stand-alone lavender creme brûlée was visually exquisite and tasted amazing. This meal was the highlight of my trip to the okanagon. It's a must visit if you enjoy great food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Beautiful view, average food - both entrees very dry. Waitress not concerned!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were a group of six. The food was pretty good - two of the meals were overcooked, but four were happy with their entrees. Server was friendly and attentive, but the food took close to a hour to arrive after we were seated (arriving for our reservation exactly on time). This was too long for us! 5 of us had glasses of the Burrowing Owl wines which were enjoyed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Stunning setting, wonderfully helpful servers, fantastic food. It's an outstanding wine country treat!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

37 years with a very Beautiful Lady

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A meal at the Sonora Room Restaurant at the Burrowing Owl Estate Winery is always perfect; whether dining with a close friend or celebrating a birthday with a group of great friends; there is truly no better place in the South Okanagan.

I look forward to many more memorable meals at this Restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The ambience and service were exceptional.
Beautiful location overlooking vineyard.
Our dinner and appetizer were exceptional. Great presentation, extremely full of excellent flavours and cooked to perfection.
It is becoming rare to get a beautiful meal like this, but Sonora Room Restaurant provided us this amazing experience
Thank you!!!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fabulous dining experience for the Okanagan. Great service with attentive staff. Did not feel ignored considering it was pretty busy for the off season. A good time to go is Spring for the BC locals as the tourists haven't come in hoards yet !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always another excellent evening and meal .Will continue to return whenever possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

If you are looking for a special evening this is the place. Awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Top notch for taste and presentation . Would definitely go again .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was very good. We were there for Valentine's Day and they had a special menu. Would have been nice to see the menu on their website before booking. Service we exceptional and we had a great evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food awesome, Service awesome, Sonora Room awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Terrific food, service exceptional, cozy, quaint and a european feel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The service at the Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl winery was very attentive but the quality and taste of food has been very disappointing over the past two years. I keep hoping that perhaps I visited on a "off night" but the 3 or 4 destination dining experiences have been very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very knowledgeable server. Fantastic selection of library wines. We arrived an hour early for our reservation and were seated immediately, which was nice. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Terrific food and service, really delicious. Perhaps a little pricey, but worth it I think. Maybe salmon and filet mignon would have rounded out the menu nicely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Second time here did not disappoint! Food was spot on and the service went right along with it. The ambiance in this place is really nice (even up against all the other wineries around here). We will be back again next time we need to stock up on their terrific wines!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The resturant/winery was nice but they overcharge for thier own wine especially when they encourage you to pair wines with your meal. If they did it would encourage people to buy more of their own wines.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The view is beautiful and the food is very good. Our service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were excellent"

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.