About Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery

500 Burrowing Owl Place
Oliver, BC V0H 1T1
View Larger Map

The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Tapas: Daily: 3:00pm - 4:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm



Hours will vary between November and May please call to check during those dates.



Seasonal Closure - Mid December - Mid February

Cross Street:
Black Sage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 498-6202

Website:
http://www.bovwine.ca/the_restaurant.html

Executive Chef:
Damian Mischikinish

Private Party Facilities:
A number of options are available for private dining that include utilizing the penthouse suite of the onsite exclusive guesthouse, the wine shop and the Sonora Room itself. All options are based on availability and seasonality. Enquire for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sonora Room Manager: 2504980620x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
7 More
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Oliver ›

scenic view (59)
great for outdoor dining (47)
special occasion (44)
See All
notable wine list (40)
romantic (40)
fit for foodies (37)
great for lunch (28)
good for groups (17)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (4)
Sort By:
Newest
624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent lamb dish on the lunch menu. P ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent lamb dish on the lunch menu. Pasta dish was average as far as flavours go. Good pairing of wines to meals. Outside patio is excellent. We got the last patio table available even though we had a reservation. I would have very annoyed if we were seated inside as the inside dining experience does not come close to the patio experience. Perhaps Open Table could include an option giving users the opportunity to request a patio table when making an online reservation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were traveling across western Canada ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were traveling across western Canada from Calgary to Vancouver stopping in Banff and at Lake Louise. We ate only at top-rated Trip Advisor and Open Table restaurants. The Sonora Room was in a different league from the others for taste. The dining room is reminiscent of San Simeon. The view across the verdant valley to the giant rocks that are called hills around here is breath-taking. The sky is enormous. We had the pork and the lamb. Both are memorable. The homemade ice cream for dessert is killer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a very pleasant dining experienc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overall a very pleasant dining experience and impeccable service. I would definitely return to the Sonora room in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Travelled 2 hours to meet friends and di ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Travelled 2 hours to meet friends and dine here. Seated in patio and stared into the side of a player blocking the view. Not sure why you have these here. Menu looked interesting but after waiting an hour to finally get our main courses we were immediately disappointed. One had the lamb which was good the rest the Arctic char which needs to be re-thought. Would love to return but menu and service need at bit of an overhaul.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Outstanding dining experience

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Osoyos B.C. Enjoy the fabulous f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best in Osoyos B.C. Enjoy the fabulous food and wine. This restaurant/viniard is a must if you are looking for great Wine/Food

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an excellent dinner on the balcony. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Had an excellent dinner on the balcony. Service was first class. Menu has many options all listed with a wine pairing. Started with their house special salad, very good. Then main was the artic char - a little different, server did warn me, it is poached, served cool but was almost mushy, then with more salad - I would not order again - I would do it grilled. Everyone else enjoyed thier meals. I would defiantly recommend this place for dinner. It is a real treat to be sipping wine overlooking the valley. The service really made the dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous! We had dinner here both evenin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fabulous! We had dinner here both evenings when staying at the Burrowing Owl Gruest House. We will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous, it was our second t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Absolutely fabulous, it was our second time and it is consistently fantastic. Staff remembered us, food was amazing, views are beautiful, it's totally worth going a little off the main road for it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location, the view and food were ama ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The location, the view and food were amazing. The service was a little bit slow at times, but overall we had a great time!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful views of the winery. Small, se ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful views of the winery. Small, select, but amazing menu. Highly recommended for wine lovers and a sophisticated pallets. Server was very educated and knowledgeable on wines and menu. Excellent all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, wine and service were all great. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food, wine and service were all great.

Enjoyed sitting out on the patio looking over the great Vineyards.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There was a great selection of interesti ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

There was a great selection of interesting dishes, the food quality was very high and the wine is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was recommended by many peers as a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was recommended by many peers as a must-try restaurant & winery. It's a larger winery and restaurant compared to others we went to in the area. The dining experience was very traditional in the sense of menu and service offered. Menu and food can be classified as fine dinning with small portion with artistic presentation. Server was very knowledge and kind. She was a veteran and had been working there for over 7 years. I was put off by being charged extra for more bread for the table. Glad I experienced the restaurant and food but not worth returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

First time dining at Burrowing Owl and w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

First time dining at Burrowing Owl and we were really looking forward to it. Unfortunately we left very disappointed. Both our dishes were underwhelming and lacked flavour. When our server checked in on us we told him our dishes weren't great and he simply walked away without returning. We finished the meal because we were starving but vowed not to return. The whole experience was disappointing. For the price, you can find much better value in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Portions are a bit small (French style). ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Portions are a bit small (French style). Entres and salads were both very good but both centred on tomatoes with many slices on both. The cocoa bread was a bit weird but the sourdough was very good. Portions very small.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

great resturaunt, was under construction ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

great resturaunt, was under construction at the time of our meal added to a very noisy air conditioning unit above us made for a hard to hear lunch. but the food was good and view was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined here on a number of previo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have dined here on a number of previous occasions, and in the past it has always been excellent. However, this time we were disappointed all around. The service was extremely slow. Staff should have been more polite and responsive.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Our server was most informative and help ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server was most informative and helpful. The food and wine was superb, as has been our experience on all previous visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view overlooking the vineyards! Re ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great view overlooking the vineyards! Relaxing, perfect for families, friends, couples. If you can catch the sunset during dinner even more beautiful :) Love their wines, and pairs well with the carefully curated menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine! Loved the house lunch speci ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great wine! Loved the house lunch special (lamb pasta)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant and winery and probably ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great restaurant and winery and probably the best service I've had in awhile.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to the restaurant several ti ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to the restaurant several times and while the food is good, it is overpriced for what it is. My biggest complaint is that there are no vegetarian options. I don't think I will go again. I do eat fish occasionally so that becomes my only choice there and this time I had the poached char which was not very good. Also had a panzanella salad and the tomatoes were pretty tasteless. Since tomatoes are not in season at this time it was a bad choice on my part, but the choices were limited for a non-meateater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The service was excellent and the wine w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was excellent and the wine was excellent. While the food was tasty it was not great value, and the portion sizes are very small.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The sirloin steak was good but the sauce ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The sirloin steak was good but the sauce was way too thick and salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal all around, and perfect ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Outstanding meal all around, and perfect wine pairings!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent lunch!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Good menu selections, uniquely prepared and delicious. The best service!! Price range on high side overall; a good special get together experience.

Absolutely would fine there again, when in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What an awesome place !

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

What an awesome place !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very special afternoon

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Booked our reservation through Open Table and were treated like royalty from the time we entered the door until we walked out after a fabulous luncheon with good friends Will be back without a doubt...btw they are known for their duck dish and if you are a fan you will not be disappointed. Great wait staff, great food, great wine

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at the Sonora Room Restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food at the Sonora Room Restaurant was very good. For someone that does not eat seafood the menu can be limited. Had a great evening, the views are beautiful & if it had been warmer we would have dined on the patio.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Living on the name

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The somelier took 15 minutes to respond to a question the waiter could not answer despite there were only 3 tables being served. The meal service was extreeeeemely slow, the mushroom soup was very good, the rest of the food was ordinary. The merlot 2009 was outstanding and as it is not available elsewhere was a silver lining..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was good our waitress was wonde ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was good our waitress was wonderful. Tables were a little small and room a little over crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have been here many times before and ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been here many times before and always enjoyed the food and the service but this time it was a joke! We chose the Taster's menu - which presumably they were prepared for - and yet it took 2 hours for us to receive our food - an issue that no one seemed to feel was a problem despite our constant questioning of what was happening. When it arrived the halibut was over cooked.

They did comp the wine but frankly for a restaurant like this it was really poor and I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was decent but...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was reasonably good but the service was dreadfully slow. Certainly not what you would respect at this price point.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was slow. Some other people cam ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was slow. Some other people came in after us and got there meals before us.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

What an amazing experience! Great food, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

What an amazing experience! Great food, drinks, ambiance, and company!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A spectacular find on the back roads near Osoyoos

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We had one of the best meals ever at this gorgeous restaurant, which manages to give a sense of both coziness and spaciousness. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, the ambiance was delightful, and the food (especially the duck confit) and view (across the valley, overlooking vineyards) were exquisite. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sonora Room brunch a culinary treat

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Really enjoyed the food, wine and the view. The service was pleasant, but slow, despite the restaurant not being very busy.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Lamb salad!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a delicious lunch at Burrowing Owl. The lamb salad and charcuterie platter were excellent and the waiter was delightful. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Poor Quality Food

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Though the service was excellent and the food was displayed in a very attractive manner, it was about the worst chicken ensemble we have ever tasted, and at the highest price we have ever paid for chicken. Only one type of beer was available . . . a lager from an Oliver brewery. No ales, and no bottled beer. Great service and a scenic view cannot make up for low-quality food. We will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.