About Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery

500 Burrowing Owl Place
Oliver, BC V0H 1T1
View Larger Map

The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Tapas: Daily: 3:00pm - 4:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm



Hours will vary between November and May please call to check during those dates.



Seasonal Closure - Mid December - Mid February

Cross Street:
Black Sage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 498-6202

Website:
http://www.bovwine.ca/the_restaurant.html

Executive Chef:
Damian Mischikinish

Private Party Facilities:
A number of options are available for private dining that include utilizing the penthouse suite of the onsite exclusive guesthouse, the wine shop and the Sonora Room itself. All options are based on availability and seasonality. Enquire for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sonora Room Manager: 2504980620x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
5 More
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Oliver ›

scenic view (45)
special occasion (37)
romantic (33)
See All
great for outdoor dining (33)
notable wine list (30)
fit for foodies (29)
great for lunch (16)
good for groups (15)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view overlooking the vineyards! Re ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great view overlooking the vineyards! Relaxing, perfect for families, friends, couples. If you can catch the sunset during dinner even more beautiful :) Love their wines, and pairs well with the carefully curated menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant and winery and probably ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great restaurant and winery and probably the best service I've had in awhile.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I have been to the restaurant several ti ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to the restaurant several times and while the food is good, it is overpriced for what it is. My biggest complaint is that there are no vegetarian options. I don't think I will go again. I do eat fish occasionally so that becomes my only choice there and this time I had the poached char which was not very good. Also had a panzanella salad and the tomatoes were pretty tasteless. Since tomatoes are not in season at this time it was a bad choice on my part, but the choices were limited for a non-meateater.

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The service was excellent and the wine w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was excellent and the wine was excellent. While the food was tasty it was not great value, and the portion sizes are very small.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

The sirloin steak was good but the sauce ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The sirloin steak was good but the sauce was way too thick and salty

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal all around, and perfect ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Outstanding meal all around, and perfect wine pairings!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent lunch!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Good menu selections, uniquely prepared and delicious. The best service!! Price range on high side overall; a good special get together experience. Absolutely would fine there again, when in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very special afternoon

Dined on June 5, 2016

Booked our reservation through Open Table and were treated like royalty from the time we entered the door until we walked out after a fabulous luncheon with good friends Will be back without a doubt...btw they are known for their duck dish and if you are a fan you will not be disappointed. Great wait staff, great food, great wine

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at the Sonora Room Restaurant ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food at the Sonora Room Restaurant was very good. For someone that does not eat seafood the menu can be limited. Had a great evening, the views are beautiful & if it had been warmer we would have dined on the patio.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Living on the name

Dined on May 25, 2016

The somelier took 15 minutes to respond to a question the waiter could not answer despite there were only 3 tables being served. The meal service was extreeeeemely slow, the mushroom soup was very good, the rest of the food was ordinary. The merlot 2009 was outstanding and as it is not available elsewhere was a silver lining..

food5
ambience5
service4

The food was good our waitress was wonde ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was good our waitress was wonderful. Tables were a little small and room a little over crowded.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We have been here many times before and ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been here many times before and always enjoyed the food and the service but this time it was a joke! We chose the Taster's menu - which presumably they were prepared for - and yet it took 2 hours for us to receive our food - an issue that no one seemed to feel was a problem despite our constant questioning of what was happening. When it arrived the halibut was over cooked. They did comp the wine but frankly for a restaurant like this it was really poor and I would not return.

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was decent but...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was reasonably good but the service was dreadfully slow. Certainly not what you would respect at this price point.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Service was slow. Some other people cam ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was slow. Some other people came in after us and got there meals before us.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What an amazing experience! Great food, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

What an amazing experience! Great food, drinks, ambiance, and company!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A spectacular find on the back roads near Osoyoos

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had one of the best meals ever at this gorgeous restaurant, which manages to give a sense of both coziness and spaciousness. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable, the ambiance was delightful, and the food (especially the duck confit) and view (across the valley, overlooking vineyards) were exquisite. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Sonora Room brunch a culinary treat

Dined on May 8, 2016

Really enjoyed the food, wine and the view. The service was pleasant, but slow, despite the restaurant not being very busy.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lamb salad!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a delicious lunch at Burrowing Owl. The lamb salad and charcuterie platter were excellent and the waiter was delightful. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Poor Quality Food

Dined on April 26, 2016

Though the service was excellent and the food was displayed in a very attractive manner, it was about the worst chicken ensemble we have ever tasted, and at the highest price we have ever paid for chicken. Only one type of beer was available . . . a lager from an Oliver brewery. No ales, and no bottled beer. Great service and a scenic view cannot make up for low-quality food. We will never return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic night with my lovely wife.

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I were out for Oyster Fest in Osoyoos and I had planned to bring her to the Burrowing Owl due to a friends recommendation. We ended up having a lovely 1/2 bottle of champagne. 4 appetizers, a main and dessert. Each dish that came out, it was tremendous! No matter what we ordered we loved it, perfectly cooked and just a symphony of flavors. Can't wait for our next visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and the food were outstanding!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server was really nice and went that extra mile., definitely would return,.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine with a view

Dined on April 5, 2016

Love this restaurant, it never disappoints. Food, service, wine and the view were exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

for serious food lovers

Dined on March 11, 2016

We had the pleasure of dining here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The service was professional, and attentive. The food was creative and very fresh, with wonderful wine pairings. The atmosphere was regal, and stately with breathtaking sunset views over the valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was very good...efficient, y ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

The service was very good...efficient, yet friendly and very knowledgeable about the food and drink. Very pleasant room Will come again in spring

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Fantastic food

Dined on November 23, 2015

Some of the best food we've had in the Okanagan. If money if of no concern, you can't beat this place in the south Okanagan. The room however is hideous. It looks like a bad 80's taqueria. Service was spot on as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Make this spot your yearly tradition !

Dined on November 15, 2015

My husband and I come every year for our anniversary. Wonderful staff. Incredible good. Gorgeous view. The best wine around!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

Dined on October 23, 2015

On a girls wine trip, we came here for dinner. It was delicious! Enjoyed the scallop appetizer as well as the cheese tray, both were great. The arctic char was fantastic as was my friends lamb. The Burrowing Owl wine is a high quality wine in the area and we tried many pairings with our meal. Ended up purchasing several bottles the next day. I would highly recommend coming to the winery as well as enjoying the Sonora Room for a great dinner. The view of the vineyards and the mountains is fantastic. Try to book a sunset time, it was spectacular. We had excellent service as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

fabulous food experience

Dined on October 12, 2015

the food was fantastic and the presentation was a work of art. the fusion of flavors was wonderful . the restaurant overlooks the vineyards and beautiful countryside

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A very Special Treat

Dined on October 9, 2015

We enjoyed a lovey harvest lunch with good friends. Everything was just perfect and our server was lots of fun. It is nice a dine in a special restaurant that isn't pretentious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous

Dined on October 8, 2015

The service was excellent. The food was amazing. We started an appetizer from the chef a prosciutto, apple and goat chesse rosette with pear butter so yummy. Then we received the curatiture platter that had some many delicious goodies. The enters were to die for. I had the lamb with eggplant puree and local vegetables so delicious. I finished with a flour chocolate torte and a friend had the carrot cake which he said was amazing. The wine selection was superb. The final bite from the chef was a stewed plum with chocolate genach and Chantilly cream. The last bite left you with such a wonderful last bite making you want to schedule your next experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat on the deck. Sunshine and overlooki ...

Dined on October 5, 2015

Sat on the deck. Sunshine and overlooking the vineyard what could be better

food5
ambience4
service3

as expected and still amazing

vip
Dined on October 5, 2015

This vineyard dining spot is one of the best on the wine trail. The food is outstanding with local area wines to match. Try to book a table on the patio overlooking the vineyard and lake. I highly recommend a visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2

same time as last year

Dined on October 4, 2015

ambiance very appealing, service was friendly but slow chicken was a bit dry and overcooked flight of red wine ,3 merlots and a cab, we would have enjoyed more variety and it was overpriced. meal generally overpriced including the wine list last year's meal here was much better. Price should be part of your checklist above.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

gift

Dined on October 4, 2015

received a gift certificate from my son for Christmas...had old school friends visiting from California so decided to take them up there for dinner...we enjoyed it very much

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a gorgeous sunny day on the patio ...

Dined on September 28, 2015

It was a gorgeous sunny day on the patio. Our waitress was awesome, very attentive. We couldn't ask for more in late September. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambience and views

Dined on September 28, 2015

Beautiful restaurant. Great views. Food was excellent and great to know it's local. Only downfall, need a larger selection of cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1

Fabulous food.

Dined on September 22, 2015

Every bite was delicious. Best food we've eaten in some time. Exquisite wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, service and views! Cant ...

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

Fantastic food, service and views! Cant wait to visit again - and hopefully stay in one of the vineyard suites too!

food4
ambience4
service5

We had a lovely meal at Sonora Room - In ...

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

We had a lovely meal at Sonora Room - Ingel made our meal very memorable and the Syrah 2012 was delicious!!

food3
ambience3
service3

Good food and service as always

Dined on September 16, 2015

Always consistent food and service. Nice view looking over vineyards.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.