About Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery

500 Burrowing Owl Place
Oliver, BC V0H 1T1
View Larger Map

The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Tapas: Daily: 3:00pm - 4:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm



Hours will vary between November and May please call to check during those dates.



Seasonal Closure - Mid December - Mid February

Cross Street:
Black Sage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 498-6202

Website:
http://www.bovwine.ca/the_restaurant.html

Executive Chef:
Damian Mischikinish

Private Party Facilities:
A number of options are available for private dining that include utilizing the penthouse suite of the onsite exclusive guesthouse, the wine shop and the Sonora Room itself. All options are based on availability and seasonality. Enquire for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sonora Room Manager: 2504980620x

Additional:
Banquet, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
4 More
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Oliver ›

Scenic View (88)
Great for Outdoor Dining (70)
Special Occasion (66)
See All
Notable Wine List (59)
Romantic (57)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Great for Lunch (37)
Good for Groups (23)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Horrible service. 25 minutes and not eve ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 3 days ago

Horrible service. 25 minutes and not even a drink order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We weren't wowed by our food. Descriptio ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

We weren't wowed by our food. Description of meal was incorrect. View is amazing. Wine was delicious but we won't spend $$$ for what was served.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We found the food very tasty but the por ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We found the food very tasty but the portions small for the price. The ambience was nice, although it was so windy we weren't able to sit outside as we had planned. We would recommend the restaurant but would advise that while the food is good the portions are small and prices are expensive.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The waitress could have been more clear ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The waitress could have been more clear and explained options better. As a first time diner there, I did not understand all the options and was disappointed. Since I now know all the options and what is available, I would dine again, as the overall was good. Just not our waitress.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Lunch as part of our Okanagan holiday. F ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Lunch as part of our Okanagan holiday. Food and Ambience very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The overall experience was very good. We ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The overall experience was very good. We are repeat annual visitors and look forward to dining with our family once a year at your lovely winery. View is amazing. We had the charcuterie to share. It was filled with delicious bits of meat, cheese, etc. There were ten of us dining and everyone enjoyed their meal. We were there for an hour, 45 min. so the food delivery could have been a bit faster. Our server was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a lovely place to have lunch in the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Just a lovely place to have lunch in the Okanagan area. South of Oliver - wine capital of Canada - beautiful views of the vineyards; lake and mountains. Food was outstanding. Service impeccable. For those special outings - a real must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This year was the 4th year we visited Bu ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This year was the 4th year we visited Burrowing Owl for lunch while in wine country and was the first time we were disappointed. We had a reservation and were seated shortly after checking in with the host, the wait for service then began, after 10 minutes of being ignored we asked another server to have ours come out to take our wine order.

When the food arrived we were again disappointed, it certainly did not live up to our expectations from our previous visits. Not sure what has changed since last year but not the same service or food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Very good farm to table resto with pleas ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very good farm to table resto with pleasant friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Expensive but not worth the price. Food ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Expensive but not worth the price. Food is only average at best. Wine is acceptable, but pretty much "bad" when compared to the better ones (if you are lucky enough to find them). The only thing I appreciated about this place was the environment and view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We had a wonderful time at the Burrowing ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Burrowing Owl Restaurant. It was quiet inside, as many people were outside on the patio. The food and wine were excellent, and the staff knowledgeable about the wine and food brought to our table. I would recommend coming here if you are in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. We were seated next to a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was good. We were seated next to a very noisy air conditioning unit on the patio, the ambiance was pedestrian and the service was curt. I think the waitress was tired and impatient at the end of her shift. It was not worth the drive from Penticton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Having eaten every year for many years w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Having eaten every year for many years we were very disappointed and will not return.

The food adequate not as good as we've come expect. Our young waitress very polite one instance ruined experience.

We have daughter the wine business in Oliver area and she looking forward treating us to there. When she politely asked if there was an "industry discount" the senior server was abrupt and rude to her.

A simple and polite "No, I'm sorry don't would have been fine", instead the server terse and scolded her. My initial impression was that perhaps I misread the situation, but our lunch companions were very put off as well and commented that almost asked for the manager.

Together the 4 of us have spent thousands of dollars at Burrowing Owl overm the years but we will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We had a patio table overlooking the vin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a patio table overlooking the vinyard with sun setting, I think it's the best table! Food was great as always, too full to try the dessert, wish we had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience on all levels including ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great experience on all levels including the views and surroundings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view and food. Can't wait to go ba ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great view and food. Can't wait to go back! Would definitely recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent lamb dish on the lunch menu. P ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent lamb dish on the lunch menu. Pasta dish was average as far as flavours go. Good pairing of wines to meals. Outside patio is excellent. We got the last patio table available even though we had a reservation. I would have very annoyed if we were seated inside as the inside dining experience does not come close to the patio experience. Perhaps Open Table could include an option giving users the opportunity to request a patio table when making an online reservation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were traveling across western Canada ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were traveling across western Canada from Calgary to Vancouver stopping in Banff and at Lake Louise. We ate only at top-rated Trip Advisor and Open Table restaurants. The Sonora Room was in a different league from the others for taste. The dining room is reminiscent of San Simeon. The view across the verdant valley to the giant rocks that are called hills around here is breath-taking. The sky is enormous. We had the pork and the lamb. Both are memorable. The homemade ice cream for dessert is killer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a very pleasant dining experienc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Overall a very pleasant dining experience and impeccable service. I would definitely return to the Sonora room in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Travelled 2 hours to meet friends and di ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Travelled 2 hours to meet friends and dine here. Seated in patio and stared into the side of a player blocking the view. Not sure why you have these here. Menu looked interesting but after waiting an hour to finally get our main courses we were immediately disappointed. One had the lamb which was good the rest the Arctic char which needs to be re-thought. Would love to return but menu and service need at bit of an overhaul.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Outstanding dining experience

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Outstanding dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Osoyos B.C. Enjoy the fabulous f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best in Osoyos B.C. Enjoy the fabulous food and wine. This restaurant/viniard is a must if you are looking for great Wine/Food

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an excellent dinner on the balcony. ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Had an excellent dinner on the balcony. Service was first class. Menu has many options all listed with a wine pairing. Started with their house special salad, very good. Then main was the artic char - a little different, server did warn me, it is poached, served cool but was almost mushy, then with more salad - I would not order again - I would do it grilled. Everyone else enjoyed thier meals. I would defiantly recommend this place for dinner. It is a real treat to be sipping wine overlooking the valley. The service really made the dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous! We had dinner here both evenin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fabulous! We had dinner here both evenings when staying at the Burrowing Owl Gruest House. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous, it was our second t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Absolutely fabulous, it was our second time and it is consistently fantastic. Staff remembered us, food was amazing, views are beautiful, it's totally worth going a little off the main road for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location, the view and food were ama ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The location, the view and food were amazing. The service was a little bit slow at times, but overall we had a great time!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful views of the winery. Small, se ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful views of the winery. Small, select, but amazing menu. Highly recommended for wine lovers and a sophisticated pallets. Server was very educated and knowledgeable on wines and menu. Excellent all around!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, wine and service were all great. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food, wine and service were all great.

Enjoyed sitting out on the patio looking over the great Vineyards.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

There was a great selection of interesti ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

There was a great selection of interesting dishes, the food quality was very high and the wine is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was recommended by many peers as a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was recommended by many peers as a must-try restaurant & winery. It's a larger winery and restaurant compared to others we went to in the area. The dining experience was very traditional in the sense of menu and service offered. Menu and food can be classified as fine dinning with small portion with artistic presentation. Server was very knowledge and kind. She was a veteran and had been working there for over 7 years. I was put off by being charged extra for more bread for the table. Glad I experienced the restaurant and food but not worth returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

First time dining at Burrowing Owl and w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

First time dining at Burrowing Owl and we were really looking forward to it. Unfortunately we left very disappointed. Both our dishes were underwhelming and lacked flavour. When our server checked in on us we told him our dishes weren't great and he simply walked away without returning. We finished the meal because we were starving but vowed not to return. The whole experience was disappointing. For the price, you can find much better value in the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Portions are a bit small (French style). ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Portions are a bit small (French style). Entres and salads were both very good but both centred on tomatoes with many slices on both. The cocoa bread was a bit weird but the sourdough was very good. Portions very small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

great resturaunt, was under construction ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

great resturaunt, was under construction at the time of our meal added to a very noisy air conditioning unit above us made for a hard to hear lunch. but the food was good and view was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined here on a number of previo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have dined here on a number of previous occasions, and in the past it has always been excellent. However, this time we were disappointed all around. The service was extremely slow. Staff should have been more polite and responsive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Our server was most informative and help ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server was most informative and helpful. The food and wine was superb, as has been our experience on all previous visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view overlooking the vineyards! Re ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great view overlooking the vineyards! Relaxing, perfect for families, friends, couples. If you can catch the sunset during dinner even more beautiful :) Love their wines, and pairs well with the carefully curated menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine! Loved the house lunch speci ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great wine! Loved the house lunch special (lamb pasta)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant and winery and probably ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great restaurant and winery and probably the best service I've had in awhile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to the restaurant several ti ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I have been to the restaurant several times and while the food is good, it is overpriced for what it is. My biggest complaint is that there are no vegetarian options. I don't think I will go again. I do eat fish occasionally so that becomes my only choice there and this time I had the poached char which was not very good. Also had a panzanella salad and the tomatoes were pretty tasteless. Since tomatoes are not in season at this time it was a bad choice on my part, but the choices were limited for a non-meateater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Beautiful setting, and a wonderful pairi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful setting, and a wonderful pairing menu, with artful presentation. The lamb was

disappointingly fatty however, and when advised, there was no response from waitstaff or chef- that was the only disappointing part.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.