Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi

About Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery

The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.

500 Burrowing Owl Place
Oliver, BC V0H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Tapas: Daily: 3:00pm - 4:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm



Hours will vary between November and May please call to check during those dates.



Seasonal Closure - Mid December - Mid February

Cross Street:
Black Sage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 498-6202

Website:
http://www.bovwine.ca/the_restaurant.html

Executive Chef:
Damian Mischikinish

Private Party Facilities:
A number of options are available for private dining that include utilizing the penthouse suite of the onsite exclusive guesthouse, the wine shop and the Sonora Room itself. All options are based on availability and seasonality. Enquire for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sonora Room Manager: (250) 498-0620

Additional:
Banquet, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (39)
Notable Wine List (28)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Worth the Drive (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Seasonal (9)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Oh how disappointed we were after visiting the Sonora Room Restaurant! Two of our four dinners were less than stellar to say the least. Someone should look up in a dictionary what Cioppino means and get the recipe! "Fish stew" is the common description btw. Mine was a mix of tasteless fish and a few clams with a few (at best) tablespoons of tasteless red sauce in the bottom of the bowl. Toasted bread usually comes with the dish but not this time. Then when I asked for a "slice of bread" to lap up the puddle of sauce we were charged for another full serving of bread. Fish on top of a very slim layer of light red tasteless red sauce! Unbelievable! My wife's scallops were on the smaller size and mediocre at best although cooked nicely. On to our waiter... OMG, if you don't like your job find another profession! Condescending, rude and confrontational to put it in a nutshell! ALL agreed he was nothing short of awful! Every request was met by a condescending comment or rude interaction. I loved how he sat over my shoulder when I had to enter a tip amount! OGG! Awful waiter to say the least! We will leave it at that. We will definitely let the Sonora Room management know of our experience as they are certainly known to be one of the best restaurants in the Osoyoos area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

always a great meal whenever we visit, we have spent several years coming there

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Tapas, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food is not bad, service only OK. Happy we can say we've eaten at this winery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a wonderful evening dining in the balcony overlooking the valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always exceptional dining experience.

Once again we had an exceptional dinner. We decided to try some different dishes and wow! They were delicious. The starter salad was spectacular, with heirloom tomatoes, crispy pancetta, chunky blue cheese and a lemon purée. Then tried the melon ginger cold soup that was quite simply amazing. Then had the roast chicken dish that had baby heirloom carrots, onion and potatoes. I rarely order chick as a main, but this was so good, I wanted the same dish today for lunch!

We then shared a creamed brûlée and trio of home made ice cream.

The staff was as expected, excellent and well versed on the specials.

If your in the Okanagan and wanting a superb culinary experience, this is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

A special place to reacquaint with good friends. Overlooking the vineyard from the patio we enjoyed lunch. The quiche and sandwich were made of fresh ingredients and the zucchini basil soup was excellent. The crowning glory was sharing the chocolate dessert platter...no take out boxes needed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent as always. A little pricey, so we use for special occasions. Duck Confit is excellent. Fabulous views. Wine bottles start about $50. Staff know and explain the selections very well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food lacked flavor from my starter thru to the dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

World class cuisine . Exceptional flavours made with locally sourced ingredients
Grilled apricot salad on arugula with blueberry glaze was fresh and in seasonal.. the charcuterie plate had two turriemes with exquisite flavours and local cheeses fruit honey and olives
The char plate had local fresh fish with crust and smooth creamy cauliflower pureee accompanied by roasted cauliflower and kale.
For desert a first class stone fruit napoleaon with soft as air biscuit marscapone like filling fresh cherries droplets of mint and mango purée. This was a taste like no other dessert, light and fresh.
The service was exceptional. A recent server from the Whistler Fairmont Kevin made the evening first rate with attention to detail that surpasses expectation
If you are in the south Okanagan and are seeking a world class experience overlooking a vineyard you must eat here
The chefs prepare the most tasteful cuisine
We will remember this dinner always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our second visit to the fabulous Burrowing Owl Vineyard's restaurant did not disappoint! We enjoyed our meal so much last summer it was a must for our annual visit to Penticton and area. My friend Heidi and I waited all year for this amazing view and delicious food. We managed to bring another friend Jenny this time. When we were seated in the veranda Jenny just stopped overwhelmed and took in the view. It was so good to see another Mom taking time for herself and we knew her expertince would be equally as good as we had experienced. Our server was outstanding and the food was a memorable. Thanks again, oh and we came because of the Chardonnay to begin with but now we leave with it all! Thanks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food and wine were amazing. Very friendly staff. Our server was very knowledgeable of menu

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Every experience at this lovely restaurant has been positive. The value and view is outstanding and the staff work very hard to please. I highly recommend the quiche - best I've ever had. We all went with the suggested wine pairings which makes decisions easier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Organic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

I have been to Burrowing Owl many times over the years. The restaurant's deck has a great view over the Okanagan Valley and the interior has great ambiance. Unfortunately, the food and service has been hit or miss over the years. Some friends and family have given up visiting due to the misses. However, we thought we'd give it another try to show a visiting relative the great view from the patio. Glad we did as this visit was definitely a hit! best yet! I would like to think that this restaurant has found its stride and can keep it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

très bonne bouffe, accueil très chaleureux, ingrédients de qualité et locaux, très bel accord mets vin. Nous avons adoré notre expérience et recommandons chaudement cet endroit pour toute occasion spéciale à souligner

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The views of winery were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Meals were lovely with fresh ingredients, presented beautifully.
A food allergy for one guest in the group was respectively acknowleged in every course presented.
Fabulous wine list, would recommend Sonora room for every occasion! We will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Service was ok, 1 appetizer was incorrect and 1 main was incorrect. Overall it was very underwhelming!
At the end of the day the wine was the star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Very knowledgeable waiter, excellent food and service. Amazing view.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Exceptional food. Unfortunately the service was pretentious and detracted from the overall experience. I'm not sure I would return as there are many other winery restaurants to choose from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great restaurant with a beautiful location and view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Organic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Was an absolute brilliant meal - food and service were spectacular. The dessert platter was heaven!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The atmosphere and scenery from the outside patio was amazing. The food and service was excellent, it was a great way to end our mini-honeymoon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Delicious fresh ingredients creatively prepared. Extensive wine list of many BurrowingOwl varieties and vintages. The flight of library wines is a real treat. Patio has a lovely view of the vineyards. Inside is cosy and more suited to when it is dark out I think. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. They were accommodating too when we wanted a late dinner at 9:00 pm.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent been going for years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our waitress was amazing, food was good wine was great. Not a super friendly kid restaurant as the do not allow strollers.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! Creative & tasty Me My with fabulous wine & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Are a lot of the one time great restaurants trying too hard to please everyone? With people being gluten free, salt free, garlic free- I have noticed that the food presentation is still amazing- but the actual food is bland. When 3 days later I cant remember what I had for an appetizer, means it did not register as being worthy of remembering. There are so many great fresh herbs out there- chefs need to start using them. I was very disappointed when my husband had to ask for salt and pepper.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 19, 2017

excellent winery and view spectacular However very disappointed in restaurant experience. Menu not the same as on line menu. Before ordering meal we had coffee and wine. coffee was stale and cold. began meal with soup as not yet interested in menu delayed main course selection. Only good decision we made that day soup was horrible. paid bill and politely left.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have been to this restaurant a number of times and once again, it did not disappoint !!
The waitress / waiter staff and chefs are 5-star. Meals are elegantly presented and are the perfect portion size - not too big, not too small. Of course being part of the winery doesn't hurt - what a wine list from the Burrowing Owl winery as well as competitors wines from the region and cocktails and beer. The price is fair and the value is excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was outstanding as was the presentation. Situated at The Burrowing Owl winery, the view was beautiful. I recommend for an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had a very nice dinner at Burrowing owl. The food was very good. The portions were deceptive. Surprisingly filling, but we're kind of light eaters . Very good wine. A bit on the pricy side, but a great location for a special dinner. Great views from the patio. Be sure to check out the observatory tower and cellar. And there is a great little gazebo in the vineyard to walk to. A little buggy at dusk though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great meal on the patio overlooking a scenic view of the regional vineyards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wanted to go to eat here for many years. Very disappointed with everything except View. Hostess very irritated with lack of decision on where we wanted to sit due to extreme heat temperature. She showed her anouance. The food description and what arrived was a complete contradiction. Food quality a terrible disappoint. A lack of flavor and presentation. One meal was tasty and decent. The quiche and soup was lovely. The view and facilities far out weigh the food very sad that such a great place has come to this. Must be most expensive wine in the entire province made locally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We liked the food, though some details of the meal were imperfect. I think it's good value, and their wine is superlative. Staff are great, and service is exemplary.

I thought some of the preparation is a bit too busy - meaning that there's a disconnect between the simplicity of the room and the relative complexity of the dishes. For instance, the Arctic Char was in a lemon broth, and might have been simpler with just a froth on the side instead of losing that pan fried crispness in a bowl of liquid. Similarly, the Lamb two ways also was well prepared for the sirloin, but the cheeks were a bit rich and detracted a bit from the overall impression.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We have visited you several times and always enjoyed it very much. HOWEVER this time our table was right above or near a very loud machinery noise (air conditioning????) which drowned out any hope of hearing the conversation from across the table. We would never want again to sit near that machine. Middle of the balcony, quite near the door from the main dining hall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We spent Canada 150 at The Sonora Room and enjoyed amazing food, views and top tier service by Eric and company. The Burrowing Owl wines are ethereal and pair incredibly with a creative, delicious and well presented array of courses. We particularly loved the Arctic Char. The view and setting made this date night very special and memorable for years to come. It was so good, we ended up having FOUR desserts!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We frequent Burrowing Owl multiple times a year. This particular trip we shared it with family from out east. Food was excellent as always, but the outdoor eating was spoiled by the very loud AC units that are by the balcony, and the service was sub-par to our usual standard at this location. The older gentleman waiter and female waitress are truly the cherry on top of the cake when eating here, we had a younger waitress that was inexperienced and lacked the finesse required for this establishment, in all honesty next time we go we will ensure that we aren't in her zone, even if it means we have a less then ideal seating location. When you ask your waitress about a meat/fish dish and she turns to you and say "I have no idea because I'm a vegan", it doesn't promote a sense that she's invested in the restaurant, there were a lot of different ways to have answered that question, as an example "I've heard from other patrons that it is very tender and the perfect amount of spices". It is amazing how much of a dampener the service can impart to a typically wonderful food experience. We're going to take a break from going to Sonora and try some other eating venues in the area on our next trip, but we would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves food, just be sure you come for dinner and request the more experienced waiter or waitress.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Amazing food, amazing views and the staff were beyond good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Beautiful place to have either lunch or dinner with good foods and wine, excellent services.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very lovely evening. All the staff was very pleasant and efficiently saw to our needs. Started with the Butternut Squash Soup that was delicious. Followed by the Beef Tenderloin with potato and onion textures, that was not only presented in a creative way, but was incredibly yummy. Would definitely return for another enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.