Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.48mi
  2. Distance: 5.08mi
  3. Distance: 6.21mi
  4. Distance: 7.05mi

About Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery

The South Okanagan has gained a well deserved reputation as a desirable destination for tourists seeking an agricultural and culinary experience. The Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl Estate Winery features prominently in this regard with its epicurean excellence, superb service, relaxed style and scenic splendour. The restaurant overlooks 146 acres of picturesque vineyard from the patio or inside the warm and inviting dining room. The philosophy of the talented culinary team is to embrace the opportunity to showcase many of the South Okanagan’s local producers. Dishes are created that utilize an array of local organic produce, seasonal fruits and artisan cheeses, and pair perfectly with Burrowing Owl's award winning wines. The exclusive wine list includes a selection of Burrowing Owl's current vintages, and library wines that are no longer publicly available for sale. Creative cuisine, impeccable service and a beautiful venue highlight the great agricultural diversity of the region.

500 Burrowing Owl Place
Oliver, BC V0H 1T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Tapas: Daily: 3:00pm - 4:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm



Hours will vary between November and May please call to check during those dates.



Seasonal Closure - Mid December - Mid February

Cross Street:
Black Sage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 498-6202

Website:
http://www.bovwine.ca/the_restaurant.html

Executive Chef:
Damian Mischikinish

Private Party Facilities:
A number of options are available for private dining that include utilizing the penthouse suite of the onsite exclusive guesthouse, the wine shop and the Sonora Room itself. All options are based on availability and seasonality. Enquire for further details.

Private Party Contact:
Sonora Room Manager: (250) 498-0620

Additional:
Banquet, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Sonora Room Restaurant - Burrowing Owl Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

A meal at the Sonora Room Restaurant at the Burrowing Owl Estate Winery is always perfect; whether dining with a close friend or celebrating a birthday with a group of great friends; there is truly no better place in the South Okanagan.

I look forward to many more memorable meals at this Restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The ambience and service were exceptional.
Beautiful location overlooking vineyard.
Our dinner and appetizer were exceptional. Great presentation, extremely full of excellent flavours and cooked to perfection.
It is becoming rare to get a beautiful meal like this, but Sonora Room Restaurant provided us this amazing experience
Thank you!!!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fabulous dining experience for the Okanagan. Great service with attentive staff. Did not feel ignored considering it was pretty busy for the off season. A good time to go is Spring for the BC locals as the tourists haven't come in hoards yet !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always another excellent evening and meal .Will continue to return whenever possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

If you are looking for a special evening this is the place. Awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Top notch for taste and presentation . Would definitely go again .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was very good. We were there for Valentine's Day and they had a special menu. Would have been nice to see the menu on their website before booking. Service we exceptional and we had a great evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food awesome, Service awesome, Sonora Room awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Terrific food, service exceptional, cozy, quaint and a european feel.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service at the Sonora Room at Burrowing Owl winery was very attentive but the quality and taste of food has been very disappointing over the past two years. I keep hoping that perhaps I visited on a "off night" but the 3 or 4 destination dining experiences have been very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very knowledgeable server. Fantastic selection of library wines. We arrived an hour early for our reservation and were seated immediately, which was nice. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Terrific food and service, really delicious. Perhaps a little pricey, but worth it I think. Maybe salmon and filet mignon would have rounded out the menu nicely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Second time here did not disappoint! Food was spot on and the service went right along with it. The ambiance in this place is really nice (even up against all the other wineries around here). We will be back again next time we need to stock up on their terrific wines!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The resturant/winery was nice but they overcharge for thier own wine especially when they encourage you to pair wines with your meal. If they did it would encourage people to buy more of their own wines.

Tags: Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The view is beautiful and the food is very good. Our service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were excellent"

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Fabulous location and service. The food was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Went there with my son and his lady partner. We all enjoyed the ambience - view was spectacular. Food was great with service being above average- and the desserts were to die for! Wine was sumptuous.
We all really enjoyed our lunch/afternoon.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was amazing, from presentation to flavors. The location is beautiful. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food was delicious and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The Syrah is the best in the world in my opinion the food is excellent we always book a table when we come to Canada

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Organic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

From the moment we arrived we were treated to 1st class, friendly service and seated next to windows with a view of vineyards, mountains and Canada's pocket desert (an extension of the Sonara desert.
My wife and I had a tasty soup appetizer and then delicious entrees of lamb and pork tenderloin.
We ordered a bottle of Burrowing Owl malbec to go with the meal and it was rich &full bodied red with excellent flavours.
We would definitely recommend dining at the Sonora room restaurant and hope to try it again before departing the Okanagan Valley.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The food was greatly present on plates. Full of flavors and creativities.
Unfortunately, the service was not professional. The house was not full, but we kept turning our heads to look for server when we needed. It took a long time waiting in between each courses. We ordered a bottle of vintage 2008 red wine as what the server said but it wasnt filtered. Typically, 1/3 of the bottle of wine was wasted. All our wine glasses were left with clumps. We wanted to have dessert but we skipped it because we didnt want to sit there and wait for another 45 mins maybe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Enjoyed dining at the Sonora Rest. while vacationing in the Kelowna area. Food was Great, very well presented. Our server Malie was terrific. View was Gorgeous! Would certainly dine here again.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The staff was arrogant and condecending - they also called us repeatedly when we were 5 minutes late for our 8pm reservation. The restaurant closes at 9 so I can only assume they wanted to go home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Always a great experience here. Service was excellent. New menu for Fall is very good. We had appetizers, soup, main course and dessert. The difference between good and great is the temperature of the soup and main courses. Just a little warmer and you have the perfect meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Top notch food and an excellent wine list, highlighted by very reasonable prices on wines from Burrowing Owl's library.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had guests from out of town and were pleased to show off our beautiful Okanagan. Burrowing Owl provided a lovely lunch stop and a great sampling of awesome wine!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The Sonora Room is expensive. The food is good, but you are paying for the view. The service is good and the restaurant isn't too noisy. I didn't mind paying high prices for the food and wine, but I did object to the two bottles of mineral water that somehow ended up on our table at $7 each. It's good for special occasions, if it isn't too sunny or windy and you manage to get a seat on the the patio (first come, first serve).

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 13, 2016

You can't beat the location. We had a Burrowing Owl 2014 cab sauv and it was excellent. Food was what you would expect for this pricey restaurant. Portions are a good size and well presented but not overly pretencious. Service was excellent. Low key but very attentive. Overall a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 12, 2016

My husband and I had a fantastic 3-course meal for our anniversary. The patio was a must as the view of the vineyard with the lake in the background is the best part of the experience. We had a bottle of wine tableside and our glasses were never empty. Service and ambience was above par alongside an impeccably prepared menu. We will be back again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Very good meal with attentive service. However, quite overpriced in regards to value which creates a large disinclination to returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food, amazing scenery, but the prices are high considering the portion. Value, for what you pay isn't quite present.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The scallops were delicious and paired well with the suggested wine pairing. It was a Dining experience, the appetizers took some time to arrive but were worth the wait. Service was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fabulous venue fabulous good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great service makes all the difference. Had dinner here the first night of our Okanagan vacation and it did not disappoint. Food was very good - my husband loved the lamb and my son the duck - and I had the scallop appetizer as I am watching my diet (bad idea on vacation, I know!)
Food was presented very nicely and nice wine choices including some from other wineries in the area and not just the Burrowing Owl ones. The view from the patio is second to none but unless they are really quiet, don't think you will get a patio table if you have not made reservations.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2016

What a pretty setting ! Our reservation was honoured . We were warmly greeted , and our server
actually bubbled over with enthusiasm ! She was very good .
Four of us had the pasta of the day , and it was truly awesome ! The salad and curried chicken wrap were delicious , and very generous . All in all , we enjoyed our luncheon very much .
We liked the winery wine too !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best food ever! The combination of flavors was a party for my mouth.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good food and service
Spectacular view!
Nice ambiance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.