Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach

Welcome to Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro, the foremost wine destination in Hampton Roads featuring a 400-bottle list, 70 wines available by the glass in both flight- and full-sized pours, and the highest quality cuisine in the area. Our highly knowledgeable staff’s friendly attitude engages both oenophiles and those just learning about wine, so come on in! Our culinary team offers a health-conscious signature blend of eclectic American foods prepared with a European bistro flair. Executive Chef Mackenzie Hess has a knack for offering creative dishes that are pleasing to all the senses and feature local ingredients whenever possible. Daily deliveries ensure the freshest and highest-quality ingredients available.

189 Central Park Avenue
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:
Sonoma offers lunch and dinner daily. Lunch hours are 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM, and dinner begins at 3:00 PM. We also offer a Sunday brunch from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM.

Cross Street:
Commerce St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 490-9463

Website:
http://www.sonomatowncenter.com/

Catering:
Catering menu available for mixer-style events
Prix fixe dinner menus available at a variety of price points
Please contact us for more information

Parking Details:
Valet ($8 with validation), several complimentary garages and lots, and roadside parking (time limits may apply).

Executive Chef:
Chef Mackenzie Hess

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s a business function or celebration with friends, we can meet your dining needs. Our enclosed private dining room is perfect for business meetings and special occasions. The room can accommodate up to eighteen guests and can be decorated to your liking. With advanced notice, we also can easily accommodate seated groups of up to forty in a specially sectioned area of our dining room for private functions. Savor the benefits of controlling your own personal dining atmosphere. Contact us today for assistance in planning your special occasion.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sippin' Saturdays every other Saturday
2:00 to 3:00 at the bar | $15 per person
6 wines, light appetizers
Please call ahead.

Happy Hour 3PM to 6PM daily and all day Sunday (10AM to 9PM)
Half-priced appetizers, various drink specials

Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I often eat at Sonoma's before a show at the Sandler Center. The location is great ( just across the street) and the food is consistently good. Seafood, meat or just appetizers you can't go wrong. The cocktails are quite generous and the staff is friendly, informative and very helpful in helping to decide what to order.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2017

By way of some background, I've been to Sonoma at least 2 dozen times and have hosted 3 private events there, since I work in Town Center (co-located). My experience last night was a horrible disappointment...my worst ever at Sonoma. Things have changed. I requested a private table (business discussion) and was nonetheless seated in the middle of the restaurant. The drinks were weak and the wine pours light. Requests for glasses of wine were accompanied by no suggestions or recommendations, only wine lists. Our waitress was nice but highly inexperienced. She recommended a single appetizer, which was "OK". Our entrees came 5-10 minutes after our starter menu items, and with no time for us to have eaten anything, a busboy asked to clean our table (of the complete appetizers just received). Tuna entrees were overcooked. Potatoes were not done. I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that Sonoma is no longer the wonderful restaurant that it once was. I won't be back soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Craig was a Terrific Waiter; very pleasant and knowledgeable about the new menu vs. the previous and made a nice evening all the better with Top Notch Service. I was a little disappointed that the menu had changed from my previous visit, but my disappointment soon turned to delight as the food was even better! The new Ahi dish was a home run and the cocktails and wine balanced the meal beautifully. Desserts were off the charts! Wow! Please keep up the great work!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food and wine were excellent. Service was slow (especially on drinks) but friendly. Price point is a tad high but the food is good. Not a place you can eat at on a regular basis but it was a nice treat. If the prices were a little more appropriate for the food it would rank much higher.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was just ok. We went for lunch to celebrate an anniversary. There seemed to be only one waiter in the entire restaurant, which was ok since it was mostly empty. He was definitely working hard covering inside and out and was extremely pleasant. The food was nothing exceptional, and I would certainly not plan to have dinner there. For those prices, I want the WOW experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The service was good and they were very prompt with the food. I think they were not very busy while we were there since we were there at an earlier time. However, I thought the portion sizes were small (we were there for restaurant week) and I ordered salmon and he ordered a steak. The server asked how he wanted the steak cooked and then proceeded on. About 15 mins later he comes to table and says the kitchen wants to know how you want your salmon. I said well and was wondering why he didn't ask me before. Immediately afterwards another server brings out our meals. Salmon was done medium. Not a big deal but don't ask if it's not going to come out that way. After our dessert the server immediately brings over our check. I guess we were done? By this time they were a lot busier, but it would have been nice if he asked if there was anything else we would like before just dropping off the check. Overall it was ok, but I will say I won't be rushing back anytime soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food and service were very good. Enjoyed an anniversary dinner. Not very busy at all on a Wednesday night at 730PM. For me, that subtracted a little from the vibe. Extensive wine selections by the bottle and glass if you are a wine fan. Both appetizers, crab dip and mussels, were very tasty and generous enough to be split. Wife enjoyed the seared ahi. I enjoyed the rib-eye. Sides were excellent. Only knock is the price point. I'm not sure that the dining experience at this price point is comparable to other venues in the area for a similar price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

When we arrived, we were sitting right away and only a few other tables were occupied. After we placed our order off the restaurant week menu , the place slowly started to get busier. It took 90 minutes for us to receive our entrées. 90 minutes. We could have watched the movie Office Space in that time. Or almost 4 episodes of Archer. Do you want to lose customers? Because this is how you lose customers!

Meanwhile, tables who arrived after us were already finished with dinner and leaving. Our waiter apologized for the delay and brought four bowls of complementary soup that turned out to be lukewarm. None of us finished the soup. We postponed our plans for after dinner because the whole meal was over two hours even though we were seated immediately. This was a low point for our restaurant week visits.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Great for a romantic evening or special occasion. Very good food with an exceptional drink menu. ....However, on the flip side, this restaurant fails when it comes to value. You pay a lot for a little.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating Valentine's Day, and , had an early supper. The restaurant is attractive , and , the service was good. My husband had the grilled romaine which was not enjoyable. It was simply two very large piece of slightly grilled romaine placed on small amount of blue cheese - that's it. It was incomplete , and , disappointing. My salad was the spinach salad . It was adequate, rather flavorless, and, I would not have it , again. We had the same entrees, the flounder. It was tasty, but, was warm, not hot. All in all, we were not unhappy enough to complain, but, we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I love this restaurant the food was great and the staff are wonderful so professional it's like something from a romantic movie... My Girl and I loved it !!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great choice as usual. They just revamped the menu this month. No disappointment.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic food and service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Enjoyed a fantastic wine flight followed with an amazing meal and finished with a delicious dessert ... highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Sonoma has always been a favorite for a variety of occasions.....just wine and cheese after a movie, nice dinner, special occasion and brunch....BUT something seems very different. The menu is more limited and less creative. We recently enjoyed 2 nice bottles of wine and a "skimpy" 4 meet and cheese platter and mediocre salads and mussels. Very empty on a Friday night when other places are packed!

Tags: Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Entertaining friends in town for a funeral dinner gave them a lift and helped in lessening a somber occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great atmosphere for a romantic date. Fantastic service and food. Drinks were amazing as well and everyone was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Sunday quiet. Room and staff to ourselves. Enjoyed it. Thanks to waiter, good job.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautifully presented dishes. Exceptionally prepared. Service of the highest quality. We could not have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

All was very good, small food portions only gets 3 stars for value.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our brunch was yummy, came out of the kitchen quickly and was presented in a very attractive way. Drinks served with brunch were all good, as well. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly, he was certainly very comfortable in his roll and very professional at the same time. This is my second time at Sonoma, it has been great both times. I will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We all enjoyed our time and meal. The waiter, Jeffrey or Jeff, made really great suggestion for the our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fantastic again. Been many times and like always, definitely exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We started with a soup for one and a very bland and low grade caesar salad for the other. The flounder was just ok and not at all satisfying, left still hungry. The ribeye was good and the mashed potatoes quite sweet, not enough vegetables on the plate, 5 skinny asparagus. Only food with water to drink still cost $95 plus $20 tip. Not close to worth it. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our waiter Jeff was very attentive and knowledgable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I like Sonoma. We go to VA Beach twice a year and hit this place every time we come. The food is always good, sometimes exceptionally good. Drinks are generous and also tasty. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is that this was one of those time the meal was merely good but not exceptional. It was the fish special and the fish was very good and fresh. I just thought the combinations used didn't always mesh for me. Probably just personal preference. On the other hand it won't keep me from coming back. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone coming to VA Beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Fresh foods in reasonable size dishes. Excellent wine selection. Our waiter was experienced, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We came to Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro with another couple, this was our first time there. They have a wonderful wine list and selections for by the glass wines or wine flights. All of our entrees were well prepared, fresh ingredients, nicely seasoned, with beautiful presentations. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. We will be back our next time through Virginia Beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The wait staff was awesome! The wine list was too pricy-- very limited for wines around 35 dollars--- my salmon was cooked well but very small for the price of 28 dollars--- we have been here before but not impressed with wine selection or food---

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was excellent, but VERY expensive--two iced teas, two field green salads, and three appetizers were $87.00! We were seated at a window table and, as there were several events going on at Town Center, that evening, the people-watching made for great entertainment and conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and wine flights. We had a few signature cocktails all were delicious. The service was very slow and the outdoor dining table was wobbly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2016

I go to Sonoma about twice a year and usually like it a lot. This time it was good but perhaps not as good as it usually is. I got Salmon and it was cooked just a shade more than I thought it should be. Other than that it was tasty but just a tad dry. Also the wine took a little while to make it to the table. I waited to eat the food until the wine arrived and then the food was starting to get a little less warm. Also, I think the prices have gone up a little more than I thought they should have. However, it was a good enough experience that I will return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Unfortunately, it was a very disappointing experience. We had 6 PM dinner reservations, with plenty of time to enjoy a great meal and good wine prior to a evening of music at the Sandler Center. Our entre was delivered to our table at 7:10 - a full hour after ordering. We had 10 minutes to eat our meal before heading out to the Sandler. Every table around us, ordering after us, was served prior to our meal. All we kept hearing from our server is "it's coming", "its coming". We informed the server when we ordered that we had tickets to the show that evening. For the price of the meal ... a 10 minute dining experience was not want we anticipated and not why we made reservations at Sonoma.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 19, 2016

My tuna salad was just ho-hun, but the filet mignon was great, and the desserts and Reisling wine was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Love the location in the Virginia Beach Town Center. Right in the middle of everything. I've eaten here several times. This time, it was just okay. Salmon was cooked as expected, but had no favor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Sonoma. Starting with valet right outside the door, professional waitstaff, great wines, and good food. The grouper special was a piece of art. My roast beet salad with fried goat cheese a great blend of tastes.
There is a reason us Payday Payroll guys like to dine with clients. They're great restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2016

it was our anniversary and wanted some place nice we had not been to in a while. we had a 6:45 reservation so it was not crowded at all. Everything was good, thankfully we were prepared to spend more for the occasion! Honestly, $17-25 for a glass of cab is a bit much for me, but it was a special night!

The crab and artichoke dip was delicious and we had the lobster and crab mac-n-cheese. it was pretty good, a little too bland for my taste but still good. again, over priced at $29 IMHO.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Atmosphere was fabulous! Our waiter knew his wines. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2016

I've been in a few times now and every time has been fantastic. I love it. One of my favorite places. Looking forward to going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent service, perfect lunch! Perfect spot for a leisurely lunch, perfect crab cake sandwich on toasted brioche!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.