Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach

Welcome to Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro, the foremost wine destination in Hampton Roads featuring a 400-bottle list, 70 wines available by the glass in both flight- and full-sized pours, and the highest quality cuisine in the area. Our highly knowledgeable staff’s friendly attitude engages both oenophiles and those just learning about wine, so come on in! Our culinary team offers a health-conscious signature blend of eclectic American foods prepared with a European bistro flair. Executive Chef Mackenzie Hess has a knack for offering creative dishes that are pleasing to all the senses and feature local ingredients whenever possible. Daily deliveries ensure the freshest and highest-quality ingredients available.

189 Central Park Avenue
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:
Sonoma offers lunch and dinner daily. Lunch hours are 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM, and dinner begins at 3:00 PM. We also offer a Sunday brunch from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM.

Cross Street:
Commerce St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 490-9463

Website:
http://www.sonomatowncenter.com/

Catering:
Catering menu available for mixer-style events
Prix fixe dinner menus available at a variety of price points
Please contact us for more information

Parking Details:
Valet ($8 with validation), several complimentary garages and lots, and roadside parking (time limits may apply).

Executive Chef:
Chef Mackenzie Hess

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s a business function or celebration with friends, we can meet your dining needs. Our enclosed private dining room is perfect for business meetings and special occasions. The room can accommodate up to eighteen guests and can be decorated to your liking. With advanced notice, we also can easily accommodate seated groups of up to forty in a specially sectioned area of our dining room for private functions. Savor the benefits of controlling your own personal dining atmosphere. Contact us today for assistance in planning your special occasion.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sippin' Saturdays every other Saturday
2:00 to 3:00 at the bar | $15 per person
6 wines, light appetizers
Please call ahead.

Happy Hour 3PM to 6PM daily and all day Sunday (10AM to 9PM)
Half-priced appetizers, various drink specials

Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
See All
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Sonoma many times but this was an off experience. We arrived at our reservation time of 7 pm and I told our waitress that we were going to the 8 pm show. Where we sat, the lighting was very dim, and I was having a hard time reading the wine menu. Asked the waitress about wines by the glass and she recommended a wine. I should have asked the price. We finished our meal by 7:45 but our waitress was no where to be found with the bill. By 7:55 I asked another server for our bill. And our waitress brought it...but we were in a rush to get to the 8pm show. Our bill was $130 plus dollars. Our appetizer was $12 and we both had the seafood risotto (scallops were not firm and other seafood hard to find) @ $30 each. So I was either overcharged or that was a VERY expensive wine recommendation for 2 glasses of wine. Should have raised the issue at the time but my date was worried about not being seated at the beginning of the show. So my fault for not challenging then and there, but I doubt we will be returning any time soon and if and when we do, I will bring my pocket flashlight so I know the prices!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Sonoma continues to be one of the best restaurants in Hampton Roads.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Delicious food. Extensive wine selection. Enjoyed music from the town center from the restaurant's patio. I will be going back again.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food is always very good. We had a nice, quiet table by the window.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food and service at Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro are both outstanding. We had the mussels in Pinot Noir sauce for an appetizer and Pan Roasted Flounder for the entree. The presentation for both was beautiful and the combination of ingredients was creative and delicious. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We sat in the bar area, which we prefer. The bartender, Mike, was very busy but gave our 4-top excellent service. The food was fantastic, the wine Mike recommended was fabulous. The entire evening was very, very nice. We will be back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great place....3rd time there...always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful brunch, we have been here many times and they never disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Not in love with Sonoma. I wanted to like it, but the cheeseboard was really sad at best, and food was just okay. A cheese and board full of crackers with the tiniest portions of meat and cheese. Don't get the cheese board or really anything, as it's overpriced for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I made the Open Table reservation with just enough time to change and drive to Sonoma--Ted parked. They were expecting me the moment I walked in the door, and offered me a choice of two tables. I told our server that we were heading to the Sandler Center for a performance. He knew exactly what time to get us out. We even had time to splurge on dessert & coffee!

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Cozy, Healthy, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This is always my go to for getting together with my friends. They have a lovely assortment of wines and a delicious charcuterie board. It's a must!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, amazing wine list! We played with a flight of wines, and ordered a bottle from the flight. Fun place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant decided to close early on Easter Sunday evening without reviewing existing reservations. When we arrived prior to our reservation time, the doors were locked and staff did not respond to our knocking despite being present and visible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Solid food, great service. Nice outdoor seating. Good place!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Scallops appetizer was very good but scallops were smaller than expected and pricey for the portion. Duck entrees were tast but not all that tender. Flounder was very good but somewhat over cooked. Bread pudding was dry and tasteless. We sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Reliable stand by. Decent wine list (little expensive) with solid entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

One of our favorite places to go!! Love the food and ambience!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our waiter Wallace took incredible care of us and was very knowledgeable about pairing wine with our meal!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I often eat at Sonoma's before a show at the Sandler Center. The location is great ( just across the street) and the food is consistently good. Seafood, meat or just appetizers you can't go wrong. The cocktails are quite generous and the staff is friendly, informative and very helpful in helping to decide what to order.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 14, 2017

By way of some background, I've been to Sonoma at least 2 dozen times and have hosted 3 private events there, since I work in Town Center (co-located). My experience last night was a horrible disappointment...my worst ever at Sonoma. Things have changed. I requested a private table (business discussion) and was nonetheless seated in the middle of the restaurant. The drinks were weak and the wine pours light. Requests for glasses of wine were accompanied by no suggestions or recommendations, only wine lists. Our waitress was nice but highly inexperienced. She recommended a single appetizer, which was "OK". Our entrees came 5-10 minutes after our starter menu items, and with no time for us to have eaten anything, a busboy asked to clean our table (of the complete appetizers just received). Tuna entrees were overcooked. Potatoes were not done. I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that Sonoma is no longer the wonderful restaurant that it once was. I won't be back soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Craig was a Terrific Waiter; very pleasant and knowledgeable about the new menu vs. the previous and made a nice evening all the better with Top Notch Service. I was a little disappointed that the menu had changed from my previous visit, but my disappointment soon turned to delight as the food was even better! The new Ahi dish was a home run and the cocktails and wine balanced the meal beautifully. Desserts were off the charts! Wow! Please keep up the great work!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food and wine were excellent. Service was slow (especially on drinks) but friendly. Price point is a tad high but the food is good. Not a place you can eat at on a regular basis but it was a nice treat. If the prices were a little more appropriate for the food it would rank much higher.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was just ok. We went for lunch to celebrate an anniversary. There seemed to be only one waiter in the entire restaurant, which was ok since it was mostly empty. He was definitely working hard covering inside and out and was extremely pleasant. The food was nothing exceptional, and I would certainly not plan to have dinner there. For those prices, I want the WOW experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The service was good and they were very prompt with the food. I think they were not very busy while we were there since we were there at an earlier time. However, I thought the portion sizes were small (we were there for restaurant week) and I ordered salmon and he ordered a steak. The server asked how he wanted the steak cooked and then proceeded on. About 15 mins later he comes to table and says the kitchen wants to know how you want your salmon. I said well and was wondering why he didn't ask me before. Immediately afterwards another server brings out our meals. Salmon was done medium. Not a big deal but don't ask if it's not going to come out that way. After our dessert the server immediately brings over our check. I guess we were done? By this time they were a lot busier, but it would have been nice if he asked if there was anything else we would like before just dropping off the check. Overall it was ok, but I will say I won't be rushing back anytime soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food and service were very good. Enjoyed an anniversary dinner. Not very busy at all on a Wednesday night at 730PM. For me, that subtracted a little from the vibe. Extensive wine selections by the bottle and glass if you are a wine fan. Both appetizers, crab dip and mussels, were very tasty and generous enough to be split. Wife enjoyed the seared ahi. I enjoyed the rib-eye. Sides were excellent. Only knock is the price point. I'm not sure that the dining experience at this price point is comparable to other venues in the area for a similar price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2017

When we arrived, we were sitting right away and only a few other tables were occupied. After we placed our order off the restaurant week menu , the place slowly started to get busier. It took 90 minutes for us to receive our entrées. 90 minutes. We could have watched the movie Office Space in that time. Or almost 4 episodes of Archer. Do you want to lose customers? Because this is how you lose customers!

Meanwhile, tables who arrived after us were already finished with dinner and leaving. Our waiter apologized for the delay and brought four bowls of complementary soup that turned out to be lukewarm. None of us finished the soup. We postponed our plans for after dinner because the whole meal was over two hours even though we were seated immediately. This was a low point for our restaurant week visits.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Great for a romantic evening or special occasion. Very good food with an exceptional drink menu. ....However, on the flip side, this restaurant fails when it comes to value. You pay a lot for a little.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating Valentine's Day, and , had an early supper. The restaurant is attractive , and , the service was good. My husband had the grilled romaine which was not enjoyable. It was simply two very large piece of slightly grilled romaine placed on small amount of blue cheese - that's it. It was incomplete , and , disappointing. My salad was the spinach salad . It was adequate, rather flavorless, and, I would not have it , again. We had the same entrees, the flounder. It was tasty, but, was warm, not hot. All in all, we were not unhappy enough to complain, but, we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I love this restaurant the food was great and the staff are wonderful so professional it's like something from a romantic movie... My Girl and I loved it !!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Casual, Outstanding Value, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great choice as usual. They just revamped the menu this month. No disappointment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic food and service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed a fantastic wine flight followed with an amazing meal and finished with a delicious dessert ... highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Sonoma has always been a favorite for a variety of occasions.....just wine and cheese after a movie, nice dinner, special occasion and brunch....BUT something seems very different. The menu is more limited and less creative. We recently enjoyed 2 nice bottles of wine and a "skimpy" 4 meet and cheese platter and mediocre salads and mussels. Very empty on a Friday night when other places are packed!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Entertaining friends in town for a funeral dinner gave them a lift and helped in lessening a somber occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great atmosphere for a romantic date. Fantastic service and food. Drinks were amazing as well and everyone was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Sunday quiet. Room and staff to ourselves. Enjoyed it. Thanks to waiter, good job.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Beautifully presented dishes. Exceptionally prepared. Service of the highest quality. We could not have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

All was very good, small food portions only gets 3 stars for value.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our brunch was yummy, came out of the kitchen quickly and was presented in a very attractive way. Drinks served with brunch were all good, as well. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly, he was certainly very comfortable in his roll and very professional at the same time. This is my second time at Sonoma, it has been great both times. I will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We all enjoyed our time and meal. The waiter, Jeffrey or Jeff, made really great suggestion for the our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.