About Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach

189 Central Park Avenue
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
View Larger Map

Welcome to Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro, the foremost wine destination in Hampton Roads featuring a 400-bottle list, 70 wines available by the glass in both flight- and full-sized pours, and the highest quality cuisine in the area. Our highly knowledgeable staff’s friendly attitude engages both oenophiles and those just learning about wine, so come on in! Our culinary team offers a health-conscious signature blend of eclectic American foods prepared with a European bistro flair. Executive Chef Mackenzie Hess has a knack for offering creative dishes that are pleasing to all the senses and feature local ingredients whenever possible. Daily deliveries ensure the freshest and highest-quality ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:
Sonoma offers lunch and dinner daily. Lunch hours are 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM, and dinner begins at 3:00 PM. We also offer a Sunday brunch from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM.

Cross Street:
Commerce St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 490-9463

Website:
http://www.sonomatowncenter.com/

Catering:
Catering menu available for mixer-style events
Prix fixe dinner menus available at a variety of price points
Please contact us for more information

Parking Details:
Valet ($8 with validation), several complimentary garages and lots, and roadside parking (time limits may apply).

Executive Chef:
Chef Mackenzie Hess

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s a business function or celebration with friends, we can meet your dining needs. Our enclosed private dining room is perfect for business meetings and special occasions. The room can accommodate up to eighteen guests and can be decorated to your liking. With advanced notice, we also can easily accommodate seated groups of up to forty in a specially sectioned area of our dining room for private functions. Savor the benefits of controlling your own personal dining atmosphere. Contact us today for assistance in planning your special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Ann Wagener, FOH Manager/Certified Sommelier: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sippin' Saturdays every other Saturday
2:00 to 3:00 at the bar | $15 per person
6 wines, light appetizers
Please call ahead.

Happy Hour 3PM to 6PM daily and all day Sunday (10AM to 9PM)
Half-priced appetizers, various drink specials

Restaurant Photos

Almond Crusted Scallops - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Prince Edward Mussels - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Volcano Roll - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Crab And Artichoke Dip - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Shrimp Bruschetta - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Nicoise Olive Medley - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
steamed buns - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
charcuterie - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Pasta With Chicken  - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Korean Inspired Pull Pork Sticky Bun - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Caprese Salad - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Spiced Apple & Brie Tart With Caramel Sauce - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Colomé Torrontes 2011 - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Braised Pork Belly - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Pasta Sonoma - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Sonomatini - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Butterscotch Bread Pudding - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Steamed Mussels - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Turtle Parfait - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Veal Cutlet - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Something Different Flight - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Chai Tea Ni - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Turtles Parfait - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Cherry Pie Cheesecake - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Meat And Cheese Board - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Cioppino - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
White Chocolate Bread Pudding - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Surf And Turf - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Olive Medley - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Little Neck Clams - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Bloody Mary - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Spinach Salad - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Deconstructed Rabbit Stew  - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Currant Cobbler - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Aromatics Wine Flight  - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Pork Chop - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
French Onion Soup - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Coffee Gelato - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Pan Seared Wahoo With Mustard Crust - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Serrano Pasta  - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Pan Fried Flounder - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Wine Flight - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Black & Bleu Burger - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Lemon Zest Scallops  - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Steamed Buns with pork - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Mussels In Pinot Noir Broth - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Field Greens Salad - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Burger With Tillamook Cheddar - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Coffee - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Eggs Benedict - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Banana Stuffed French Toast - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Conde De Valdemar Reserva 2005 - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Cheesecake Tiramisu - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
Smoked Duck Breast With Parsnip Puree And Broccolini - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA
4 Oz. Filet - Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach, Virginia Beach, VA

Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (4)
See All
Good for Groups (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautifully presented dishes. Exceptiona ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautifully presented dishes. Exceptionally prepared. Service of the highest quality. We could not have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

All was very good, small food portions o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

All was very good, small food portions only gets 3 stars for value.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our brunch was yummy, came out of the ki ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our brunch was yummy, came out of the kitchen quickly and was presented in a very attractive way. Drinks served with brunch were all good, as well. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly, he was certainly very comfortable in his roll and very professional at the same time. This is my second time at Sonoma, it has been great both times. I will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We all enjoyed our time and meal. The w ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We all enjoyed our time and meal. The waiter, Jeffrey or Jeff, made really great suggestion for the our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic again. Been many times and lik ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fantastic again. Been many times and like always, definitely exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Disabled Access, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with a soup for one and a ver ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We started with a soup for one and a very bland and low grade caesar salad for the other. The flounder was just ok and not at all satisfying, left still hungry. The ribeye was good and the mashed potatoes quite sweet, not enough vegetables on the plate, 5 skinny asparagus. Only food with water to drink still cost $95 plus $20 tip. Not close to worth it. Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Our waiter Jeff was very attentive and k ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our waiter Jeff was very attentive and knowledgable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like Sonoma. We go to VA Beach twice a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I like Sonoma. We go to VA Beach twice a year and hit this place every time we come. The food is always good, sometimes exceptionally good. Drinks are generous and also tasty. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is that this was one of those time the meal was merely good but not exceptional. It was the fish special and the fish was very good and fresh. I just thought the combinations used didn't always mesh for me. Probably just personal preference. On the other hand it won't keep me from coming back. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone coming to VA Beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh foods in reasonable size dishes. E ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Fresh foods in reasonable size dishes. Excellent wine selection. Our waiter was experienced, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We came to Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We came to Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro with another couple, this was our first time there. They have a wonderful wine list and selections for by the glass wines or wine flights. All of our entrees were well prepared, fresh ingredients, nicely seasoned, with beautiful presentations. Our server was very knowledgeable and attentive. We will be back our next time through Virginia Beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was awesome! The wine lis ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The wait staff was awesome! The wine list was too pricy-- very limited for wines around 35 dollars--- my salmon was cooked well but very small for the price of 28 dollars--- we have been here before but not impressed with wine selection or food---

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was excellent, but VERY expensi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was excellent, but VERY expensive--two iced teas, two field green salads, and three appetizers were $87.00! We were seated at a window table and, as there were several events going on at Town Center, that evening, the people-watching made for great entertainment and conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and wine flights. We had ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and wine flights. We had a few signature cocktails all were delicious. The service was very slow and the outdoor dining table was wobbly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I go to Sonoma about twice a year and us ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2016

I go to Sonoma about twice a year and usually like it a lot. This time it was good but perhaps not as good as it usually is. I got Salmon and it was cooked just a shade more than I thought it should be. Other than that it was tasty but just a tad dry. Also the wine took a little while to make it to the table. I waited to eat the food until the wine arrived and then the food was starting to get a little less warm. Also, I think the prices have gone up a little more than I thought they should have. However, it was a good enough experience that I will return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Unfortunately, it was a very disappointi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Unfortunately, it was a very disappointing experience. We had 6 PM dinner reservations, with plenty of time to enjoy a great meal and good wine prior to a evening of music at the Sandler Center. Our entre was delivered to our table at 7:10 - a full hour after ordering. We had 10 minutes to eat our meal before heading out to the Sandler. Every table around us, ordering after us, was served prior to our meal. All we kept hearing from our server is "it's coming", "its coming". We informed the server when we ordered that we had tickets to the show that evening. For the price of the meal ... a 10 minute dining experience was not want we anticipated and not why we made reservations at Sonoma.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

My tuna salad was just ho-hun, but the f ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 19, 2016

My tuna salad was just ho-hun, but the filet mignon was great, and the desserts and Reisling wine was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the location in the Virginia Beach ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Love the location in the Virginia Beach Town Center. Right in the middle of everything. I've eaten here several times. This time, it was just okay. Salmon was cooked as expected, but had no favor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at Sonoma. Sta ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Sonoma. Starting with valet right outside the door, professional waitstaff, great wines, and good food. The grouper special was a piece of art. My roast beet salad with fried goat cheese a great blend of tastes.

There is a reason us Payday Payroll guys like to dine with clients. They're great restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good and pricey

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2016

it was our anniversary and wanted some place nice we had not been to in a while. we had a 6:45 reservation so it was not crowded at all. Everything was good, thankfully we were prepared to spend more for the occasion! Honestly, $17-25 for a glass of cab is a bit much for me, but it was a special night!

The crab and artichoke dip was delicious and we had the lobster and crab mac-n-cheese. it was pretty good, a little too bland for my taste but still good. again, over priced at $29 IMHO.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Atmosphere was fabulous! Our waiter knew ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Atmosphere was fabulous! Our waiter knew his wines. We will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I've been in a few times now and every t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2016

I've been in a few times now and every time has been fantastic. I love it. One of my favorite places. Looking forward to going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service for leisurely lunch- delicious!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent service, perfect lunch! Perfect spot for a leisurely lunch, perfect crab cake sandwich on toasted brioche!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Smoke

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2016

The one thing I absolutely hated was the smoke area was right outside the front door and we could smell it. It just about ruined my meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We were unimpressed by the food, everyth ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were unimpressed by the food, everything was under seasoned. The waitstaff were less than attentive. Unfortunately that was our first and last time at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Always amazing. We come here a couple ti ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Always amazing. We come here a couple times a month at minimum and it never, ever fails! Introduced our parents to it tonight and they loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, drinks, and service.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great food, drinks, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Attentive Service

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2016

First time at Sonoma. Our assigned wait staff also had a large party and so handed us off to another wait staff person. It was seamless! Commendable. Because we had a specific time to be at the Performing Arts Center, the staff was also cognizant of this and without any sense of urgency, had our wine and food selections to us with plenty of time to eat and enjoy. We definitely will be back when in Virginia Beach again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Ashley at Sonoma is top notch! Very hel ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Ashley at Sonoma is top notch! Very helpful with both the food and wine menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place for a date

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Awesome place for a date, food was great, mood is great there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New wait staff

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 21, 2016

I have been to here many times before always thrilled with the level of service and menu.

The wait staff is new and young. The menu has changed and several favories are no longer there (Pasta Sonoma is one) The wine list is half the size it once was.. Overall still a nice place to dine. However the attention to detail with the staff needs to improve to warrant the average price per plate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Good, but not great.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good food, great wine list, but highly overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

One of our favorites. Excellent food and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

One of our favorites. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sonoma Wine Bar

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was excellent. Server was very knowldgeable and helpful with picking out wine. Appetizers were very good (half-board/charcuterie) and mushrooms...wine was spot-on with what Server stated.

Main dish - $45 steak was cooked well done when we asked for medium. $29 Pork Osso-bucco was a little dry. Sides and broth/sauce were flavorful, but the pork itself was not.

Spent $266 (with tip) on dinner for 2, which i do not mind occassionally spending on good, quality food; however, when i am spending that kind of money, i expect that my steak is cooked exactly to specified level or at least close. Huge difference between medium and well done. Main dishes were disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My wife & I had never been here before. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife & I had never been here before. Food, atmosphere & service was phenomenal! If you go, ask for Brendan (if I'm not mistaken) he's a good guy & made sure we were taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love coming to Sonoma! I must say the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I love coming to Sonoma! I must say the server Alexa was not at all

Welcoming! She did not tell us the specials I have to basically pull it out of her. The persons that saved her from me making a complaint

To the manager was Doug. He felt that o was not getting the service need. I appreciate him for that. Other than tonight's service we will

Still Come back as Sonoma is an awesome restaurant. I just not sure if it was a off night for Alexa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Great for a special occassion

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food, wine, and service at Sonoma are excellent. They have a varied menu and every time we have eaten there it has been memorable. We choose to not spend what it costs to eat at Sonoma except on special occasions, but we always feel that we got our money's worth when we do eat at Sonoma..... We will continue to go to Sonoma when the occasion is special, because we have learned that the experience will be most definitely be special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second time here and it is j ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2016

This was my second time here and it is just amazing. The rib eye is absolute perfection. So is the petite filet with truffled corn risotto. The spinach salad with the passion fruit vinaigrette is truly amazing. The cheese boards are very ample- even though 1 oz servings, there is plenty to share. The accompaniments are very generous, as well. You can't go wrong here. Beautiful atmosphere. Great for dinner with friends or a romantic dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined here many times and the fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2016

We have dined here many times and the food is quite good (although a bit pricey). This time we were underwhelmed by a few things. Bread is $3.00 and it is a tiny piece of a baguette with butter. We asked for some more and brought another small piece and charged an additional $3.00!!! We ordered a special flight of reds that was posted on a board outside the restaurant. It was a nice assortment of Spanish wines we had never tried. Sticker shock when we got our check and each one was $22! So now we are at $50/ for just a piece of a plain baguette and a sampling of wine. Salads were good. Next our filet mignon dinners arrived. Husband ordered his medium and it was well done and dry. Waitress took it back and offered to bring another. So now I am sitting with my dinner which i did not wish to eat cold, so I ate very slowly while waiting for his to arrive. After I took my last bite, he received a steak and nothing else on the plate. This time was cooked perfectly, but not the experience of enjoying our meal together that we expected. Ordered the special cheesecake and cappuccinos. No offer to adjust the bill or comp dessert. Not looking for major freebies, but a small token to compensate for the snafu. Even taking the bread charge off would have been better than nothing! So when we saw the check with bread charges, wine flights, etc., we were displeased and agreed that we are not likely to return. Shame on you, Sonoma.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Way too expensive for what you get.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Unless you have money to burn then I wouldn't eat here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Food good but wine prices high

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2015

Food was quite good but the price for wine was very high. On a Tuesday night, the service wasn't bas but tried to go on a Friday once and we never got served so we left.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.