About Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach

189 Central Park Avenue
Virginia Beach, VA 23462
View Larger Map

Welcome to Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro, the foremost wine destination in Hampton Roads featuring a 400-bottle list, 70 wines available by the glass in both flight- and full-sized pours, and the highest quality cuisine in the area. Our highly knowledgeable staff’s friendly attitude engages both oenophiles and those just learning about wine, so come on in! Our culinary team offers a health-conscious signature blend of eclectic American foods prepared with a European bistro flair. Executive Chef Mackenzie Hess has a knack for offering creative dishes that are pleasing to all the senses and feature local ingredients whenever possible. Daily deliveries ensure the freshest and highest-quality ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Fusion / Eclectic, American

Hours of Operation:
Sonoma offers lunch and dinner daily. Lunch hours are 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM, and dinner begins at 3:00 PM. We also offer a Sunday brunch from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM.

Cross Street:
Commerce St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 490-9463

Website:
http://www.sonomatowncenter.com/

Catering:
Catering menu available for mixer-style events
Prix fixe dinner menus available at a variety of price points
Please contact us for more information

Parking Details:
Valet ($8 with validation), several complimentary garages and lots, and roadside parking (time limits may apply).

Executive Chef:
Chef Mackenzie Hess

Private Party Facilities:
Whether it’s a business function or celebration with friends, we can meet your dining needs. Our enclosed private dining room is perfect for business meetings and special occasions. The room can accommodate up to eighteen guests and can be decorated to your liking. With advanced notice, we also can easily accommodate seated groups of up to forty in a specially sectioned area of our dining room for private functions. Savor the benefits of controlling your own personal dining atmosphere. Contact us today for assistance in planning your special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Emily Ann Wagener, FOH Manager/Certified Sommelier: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sippin' Saturdays every other Saturday
2:00 to 3:00 at the bar | $15 per person
6 wines, light appetizers
Please call ahead.

Happy Hour 3PM to 6PM daily and all day Sunday (10AM to 9PM)
Half-priced appetizers, various drink specials

Restaurant Photos

steamed buns
Braised Pork Belly
Crab And Artichoke Dip
Prince Edward Mussels
Nicoise Olive Medley
charcuterie
Volcano Roll
Shrimp Bruschetta
Almond Crusted Scallops
Pasta With Chicken
Korean Inspired Pull Pork Sticky Bun
Caprese Salad
Spiced Apple & Brie Tart With Caramel Sauce
Colomé Torrontes 2011
Sonomatini
Pasta Sonoma
Butterscotch Bread Pudding
Steamed Mussels
Something Different Flight
Veal Cutlet
Turtle Parfait
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Turtles Parfait
Cioppino
Chai Tea Ni
Surf And Turf
Meat And Cheese Board
Cherry Pie Cheesecake
Olive Medley
Lemon Zest Scallops
Aromatics Wine Flight
French Onion Soup
Coffee Gelato
Spinach Salad
Pan Fried Flounder
Little Neck Clams
Bloody Mary
Black & Bleu Burger
Mussels In Pinot Noir Broth
Field Greens Salad
Pork Chop
Deconstructed Rabbit Stew
Burger With Tillamook Cheddar
Serrano Pasta
Wine Flight
Steamed Buns with pork
Currant Cobbler
Pan Seared Wahoo With Mustard Crust
Banana Stuffed French Toast
Eggs Benedict
Coffee
Conde De Valdemar Reserva 2005
Cheesecake Tiramisu
Smoked Duck Breast With Parsnip Puree And Broccolini
4 Oz. Filet

Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro - Virginia Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Virginia
Fit for Foodies
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Notable Wine List
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

notable wine list (17)
fit for foodies (14)
special occasion (11)
See All
romantic (10)
neighborhood gem (7)
good for groups (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and wine flights. We had ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food and wine flights. We had a few signature cocktails all were delicious. The service was very slow and the outdoor dining table was wobbly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I go to Sonoma about twice a year and us ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I go to Sonoma about twice a year and usually like it a lot. This time it was good but perhaps not as good as it usually is. I got Salmon and it was cooked just a shade more than I thought it should be. Other than that it was tasty but just a tad dry. Also the wine took a little while to make it to the table. I waited to eat the food until the wine arrived and then the food was starting to get a little less warm. Also, I think the prices have gone up a little more than I thought they should have. However, it was a good enough experience that I will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Unfortunately, it was a very disappointi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Unfortunately, it was a very disappointing experience. We had 6 PM dinner reservations, with plenty of time to enjoy a great meal and good wine prior to a evening of music at the Sandler Center. Our entre was delivered to our table at 7:10 - a full hour after ordering. We had 10 minutes to eat our meal before heading out to the Sandler. Every table around us, ordering after us, was served prior to our meal. All we kept hearing from our server is "it's coming", "its coming". We informed the server when we ordered that we had tickets to the show that evening. For the price of the meal ... a 10 minute dining experience was not want we anticipated and not why we made reservations at Sonoma.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

My tuna salad was just ho-hun, but the f ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My tuna salad was just ho-hun, but the filet mignon was great, and the desserts and Reisling wine was fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the location in the Virginia Beach ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Love the location in the Virginia Beach Town Center. Right in the middle of everything. I've eaten here several times. This time, it was just okay. Salmon was cooked as expected, but had no favor.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at Sonoma. Sta ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Sonoma. Starting with valet right outside the door, professional waitstaff, great wines, and good food. The grouper special was a piece of art. My roast beet salad with fried goat cheese a great blend of tastes.

There is a reason us Payday Payroll guys like to dine with clients. They're great restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good and pricey

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

it was our anniversary and wanted some place nice we had not been to in a while. we had a 6:45 reservation so it was not crowded at all. Everything was good, thankfully we were prepared to spend more for the occasion! Honestly, $17-25 for a glass of cab is a bit much for me, but it was a special night!

The crab and artichoke dip was delicious and we had the lobster and crab mac-n-cheese. it was pretty good, a little too bland for my taste but still good. again, over priced at $29 IMHO.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Atmosphere was fabulous! Our waiter knew ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Atmosphere was fabulous! Our waiter knew his wines. We will be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I've been in a few times now and every t ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I've been in a few times now and every time has been fantastic. I love it. One of my favorite places. Looking forward to going again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service for leisurely lunch- delicious!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Excellent service, perfect lunch! Perfect spot for a leisurely lunch, perfect crab cake sandwich on toasted brioche!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Smoke

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The one thing I absolutely hated was the smoke area was right outside the front door and we could smell it. It just about ruined my meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We were unimpressed by the food, everyth ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were unimpressed by the food, everything was under seasoned. The waitstaff were less than attentive. Unfortunately that was our first and last time at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Always amazing. We come here a couple ti ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Always amazing. We come here a couple times a month at minimum and it never, ever fails! Introduced our parents to it tonight and they loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, drinks, and service.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great food, drinks, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Attentive Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

First time at Sonoma. Our assigned wait staff also had a large party and so handed us off to another wait staff person. It was seamless! Commendable. Because we had a specific time to be at the Performing Arts Center, the staff was also cognizant of this and without any sense of urgency, had our wine and food selections to us with plenty of time to eat and enjoy. We definitely will be back when in Virginia Beach again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Ashley at Sonoma is top notch! Very hel ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Ashley at Sonoma is top notch! Very helpful with both the food and wine menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place for a date

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Awesome place for a date, food was great, mood is great there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New wait staff

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I have been to here many times before always thrilled with the level of service and menu.

The wait staff is new and young. The menu has changed and several favories are no longer there (Pasta Sonoma is one) The wine list is half the size it once was.. Overall still a nice place to dine. However the attention to detail with the staff needs to improve to warrant the average price per plate.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Good, but not great.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Good food, great wine list, but highly overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

One of our favorites. Excellent food and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

One of our favorites. Excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sonoma Wine Bar

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was excellent. Server was very knowldgeable and helpful with picking out wine. Appetizers were very good (half-board/charcuterie) and mushrooms...wine was spot-on with what Server stated.

Main dish - $45 steak was cooked well done when we asked for medium. $29 Pork Osso-bucco was a little dry. Sides and broth/sauce were flavorful, but the pork itself was not.

Spent $266 (with tip) on dinner for 2, which i do not mind occassionally spending on good, quality food; however, when i am spending that kind of money, i expect that my steak is cooked exactly to specified level or at least close. Huge difference between medium and well done. Main dishes were disappointing.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My wife & I had never been here before. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife & I had never been here before. Food, atmosphere & service was phenomenal! If you go, ask for Brendan (if I'm not mistaken) he's a good guy & made sure we were taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love coming to Sonoma! I must say the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I love coming to Sonoma! I must say the server Alexa was not at all

Welcoming! She did not tell us the specials I have to basically pull it out of her. The persons that saved her from me making a complaint

To the manager was Doug. He felt that o was not getting the service need. I appreciate him for that. Other than tonight's service we will

Still Come back as Sonoma is an awesome restaurant. I just not sure if it was a off night for Alexa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Great for a special occassion

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food, wine, and service at Sonoma are excellent. They have a varied menu and every time we have eaten there it has been memorable. We choose to not spend what it costs to eat at Sonoma except on special occasions, but we always feel that we got our money's worth when we do eat at Sonoma..... We will continue to go to Sonoma when the occasion is special, because we have learned that the experience will be most definitely be special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second time here and it is j ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

This was my second time here and it is just amazing. The rib eye is absolute perfection. So is the petite filet with truffled corn risotto. The spinach salad with the passion fruit vinaigrette is truly amazing. The cheese boards are very ample- even though 1 oz servings, there is plenty to share. The accompaniments are very generous, as well. You can't go wrong here. Beautiful atmosphere. Great for dinner with friends or a romantic dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined here many times and the fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

We have dined here many times and the food is quite good (although a bit pricey). This time we were underwhelmed by a few things. Bread is $3.00 and it is a tiny piece of a baguette with butter. We asked for some more and brought another small piece and charged an additional $3.00!!! We ordered a special flight of reds that was posted on a board outside the restaurant. It was a nice assortment of Spanish wines we had never tried. Sticker shock when we got our check and each one was $22! So now we are at $50/ for just a piece of a plain baguette and a sampling of wine. Salads were good. Next our filet mignon dinners arrived. Husband ordered his medium and it was well done and dry. Waitress took it back and offered to bring another. So now I am sitting with my dinner which i did not wish to eat cold, so I ate very slowly while waiting for his to arrive. After I took my last bite, he received a steak and nothing else on the plate. This time was cooked perfectly, but not the experience of enjoying our meal together that we expected. Ordered the special cheesecake and cappuccinos. No offer to adjust the bill or comp dessert. Not looking for major freebies, but a small token to compensate for the snafu. Even taking the bread charge off would have been better than nothing! So when we saw the check with bread charges, wine flights, etc., we were displeased and agreed that we are not likely to return. Shame on you, Sonoma.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Way too expensive for what you get.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Unless you have money to burn then I wouldn't eat here.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Food good but wine prices high

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

Food was quite good but the price for wine was very high. On a Tuesday night, the service wasn't bas but tried to go on a Friday once and we never got served so we left.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

1st time at this restaurant. My son and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

1st time at this restaurant. My son and I are walking to the front door, passing the outdoor seating when a female waitress cuts in front of us. She opens the door and does not hold it open. It starts to close on us and then she goes through the next door and does the same. There was absolutely no way she did not see us because she cut right in front of us. I make the statement to my son, I hope we do not get that waitress because I will not leave her a tip. We stand at the entrance waiting for someone to say something to us. Several wait staff walked past us and did not say hello, have you been helped or anything. Finally the hostess comes to us and says she will be with us in a minute. She seats us and guess what? The waitress who cut us off is our waitress. She doesn't ask have we ever been here before or anything. We only drink water. She brings us the water, takes our order. She walks past our table at least 8 different times and never comes to us and ask do we want anymore water. My son's glass was empty and I purposely put it at the edge of the table so she could see it. After about 10 minutes or so she comes back and fills our glasses. Another 10 minutes goes by and a different waiter brings our food. Our waitress never comes back until we have finished the meal. I talked to my son about what took place and he said I know you are going to leave her a tip because I know how you are. I said you are right, I cannot bring myself to not leave a tip even though the service was absolutely horrible. It was a good teaching lesson for him. I told him service can make or break a restaurant. I left a 10% tip, which is extremely low for me. I usually leave 20% or more. The food was excellent except the serving sizes were very small. My son ordered the crab, lobster mac n cheese. It was so small, I ended up taking him by Burger King when we left. I kid you not. I did notice the staff was not very friendly so that is another reason why I cannot recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Ralph & Regina

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Dinner was excellent. Food and service were great as was the wine. Would recommend highly !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Personal attention from the secondary st ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Personal attention from the secondary staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sunday find

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Sonoma is a nice relaxed spot for Sunday brunch, and with their all-day Sunday happy hour not a bad choice for later in the day, too. Good selection of entrees and an attentive staff. Food was a little slow to arrive, but came out hot and all at the same time. Extra staff pitched in to deliver all the plates at once, which was a nice touch. We've been coming hear since they openned, and have always had a good meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

wine and food both outstanding.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

The steak was outstanding and I appreciated the fact that the beef at the restaurant is grass-fed. The salmon was prepared to perfection.

We really appreciated the advice of the sommelier as to the choice of wine. As always, the food was well prepared and presented in a creative way. Cudos to chef Mackenzie.

However, it seemed to take a long time for the food to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Disappointing

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Previous meals here have been good but this was a major disappointment primarily in the service area. My two guests got their food and were nearly done eating by the time my entree arrived; and this only after repeated inquiries of the wait staff. In addition, my guests ordered a second glass of wine as the entree course was served and it didn't arrive until the meal was nearly over. It's axiomatic in a decent restaurant that the food for the table comes "up" at the same time and it's unforgivable in a restaurant where the tab is typically $40-$60/person. In their defense, they recognized the error and removed the charge for my entree but I cam to enjoy the meal not save a little money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Not the regular old chain restaurant.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Food is perfect in presentation and taste. Excellent service. Great wine menu. We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Adult Dining Experience

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Sonoma has a great menu and expansive wine list. I would recommend for an adult evening out. Definitely not kid friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Sonoma Wine Bar & Bistro

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

I would recommend this restaraunt to anyone looking to have a romantic date. My girl loved it

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem of a local find!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Emily Ann Wagener is amazing! She made our birthday celebration a memorable one with impeccable service, excellent food and some of the best champagne we have ever had. Thank you so much for all of your kind attention and service. We'll be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicius appetizers and a very good wine ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Delicius appetizers and a very good wines selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Underwhelmed

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

We have been here a few times and absolutely loved it. This last time we went was nowhere close to the service we have received before. We had a different server who was not very warm and the wines that we normally like were gone and there was no special. I will still recommend it because there are other servers who are great but this particular time was a let down.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.