About Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh

947 Penn Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine- 'Brillat Savarin'. Sonoma is a restaurant that is eclectic yet approachable, where food and wine are uniquely prepared side by side.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 697-1336

Website:
http://www.thesonomagrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and self-parking lot (next to restaurant).

Public Transit:
yes

Executive Chef:
Yves Carreau

Private Party Facilities:
Our private diningroom, the Russian River Room, hold up to 36 people. We offer many different menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica McCullough: 4124018306

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve Party: Please go directly to www.thesonomagrille.com to view our special NYE Menu selections. All reservations for this evening will be contacted to provide credit card information to hold their table. We look forward to ringing in the New Year with you!

Restaurant Photos

Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

notable wine list (70)
fit for foodies (65)
special occasion (62)
See All
good for groups (37)
romantic (31)
great for brunch (19)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for lunch (17)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (9)
great for outdoor dining (9)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3

Definitely recommend. Great food in a gr ...

Dined 6 days ago

Definitely recommend. Great food in a great environment.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The waiter was abysmal but the food was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The waiter was abysmal but the food was very good. I have been here a half a dozen times and the food never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Such a sad experience

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We used to love the Sonoma Grill, but I don't know what has happened to it. It seems to me to be from a drop in diners and the resulting drop in service and experience. Our waiter couldn't explain the menu, the food arrived cool, the waiter never returned to see how it was, we couldn't get bread for the entrees or appetizers for 20 minutes, one of us waited another 20 minutes to get parmesan cheese for her pasta, and when asked about the fish on the menu, the waiter left and returned with only the description that the bag It came in said Canada. They had no idea of where, how raised, or even age. The only thing that saved the night was their good menu of California wines, which fortunately, would be much harder for them to ruin. I was embarrassed that I chose the restaurant for our business dinner.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Overall Experience

Dined on May 16, 2016

Our waitress (Sara(h)) was attentive and made good recommendations on what to order. Service can be very hit or miss in the city and she was definitely one of the best.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I like the Ida of having a pre fix menu for special occasions but I think the regular menu should also be an option as well.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mother's Day Outing

Dined on May 8, 2016

We did the Pre Fix brunch and while we enjoyed the food and thought the value was decent, it was not the wow experience I was expecting. Will go back again as the 1st time I had ever gone it was spectacular, I think I'll avoid the Pre Fix menu in the future. I liked a lot of the food options but not

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as usual. Had the Sonoma salad ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent as usual. Had the Sonoma salad with tempura shrimp. Yum!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Neat location-street. Terrible service.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Neat location-street! Terrible service! Fine dining, and got a warm bottle of beer, no glass! Expensive, dull food! Small portions but big price tag. Waitress left for over 40 minutes and never came back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Sonoma review

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had heard and read very good reviews for Sonoma and the chef when we were looking for places to go for graduation dinner. While the food and the drinks were very good and we would recommend it, the service is in real need of an overhaul. It took a very long time to get everything (including the tables on either side of us being bussed after the diners left) and we weren't sure if it was the bar or the kitchen keeping things at a crawl. If the service can catch up to the quality of the food then Sonoma really has something. Especially with the competition on Penn Ave, speed up and take note. The food was really good though!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

Really disappointed in my latest visit t ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Really disappointed in my latest visit to Sonoma Grille. The service was non-existent. We have to look for our server each time we needed something, from getting seated, to receiving our food, to paying the check. We sat in the bar for 15 minutes before someone asked if we wanted drink. Downtown Pittsburgh now has many amazing restaurants, so SG needs to up its game to compete.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Bad night at a good spot

Dined on April 24, 2016

My friends and I met for the 5 course wine pairing dinner, part of the 'grand re-opening'. The staff was overwhelmed, as was the kitchen, and bartender. apparently so was the dishwasher, since it took a while for our server to find wine and water glasses. I was really disappointed in the unpreparedness. As it was my suggestion, I was also a bit embarrassed. it will be a while before I go back, and certainly hesitate to recommend to others right now. On the bright side, the food was interesting and tasty, and well paired (when the wines arrived with the food, which was occasionally). At $65, it was a great value!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Gave it one last try and.....FAIL

Dined on April 23, 2016

I love the location, ambiance, and bar service, but every time I try to eat dinner here, I end up disappointed. Let me count thy ways... 1) Under staffed 2) waited 15 minutes to get water and a drink order, then another 30 to get the drink (45 min) 3) once the drink arrived, we went ahead and ordered another round and sure enough, another 30 minutes and we received our wine when mid way through the meal. 4) The food was ok 5) We had to bus our own food and pour our own water The manager was made aware and comped one of our rounds of drinks. We were appreciative of the apology. It appeared there wasn't enough help. his place has everything it needs to be great.....accept extra people to assure the delivery of the product. Recommendation to management.. Hire more bar staff, hire more people to be there during high volume times. Of note: I did go to the bar to get help, and they tended to quickly respond to those seated at the bar. If I went again, I would sit directly at the bar to ensure good service.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Was there a few years ago and loved it. ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Was there a few years ago and loved it. Since they have remodeled I feel their menu is much more limited and it was super noisy. I didn't think the food was not great. The last few times I was there a year or so ago the food was wonderful.

food1
ambience4
service3
value2

New menu not nearly as good as ever befo ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

New menu not nearly as good as ever before. Flatbread skimpy and tasteless. Salads skimpy and overpriced. Menu not enough variations. Food simply not as good as previously.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

sadly gone downhill

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Recently had brunch there on a gorgeous Sunday. The restaurant was not at all crowded and plenty of tables near the fresh open doors. The hostess however, rushed us to the very back of the restaurant and seemed perturbed when we asked to be seated near a window. It took forever to get coffee, my salmon has was a lot of fingerling potatoes not even cut up but almost whole, and the bill took forever. They bloody mary and mimosa serve yourself bar was nice but no one though to mention it to us. There is lots of competition on the street and Sonoma was so very good and the staff so excellent I was sad to experience Sunday

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

Food was fantastic! Really empty for Sat ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was fantastic! Really empty for Saturday night. Ate outside, and pretty slow service. Seemed like only one waitress in the whole bar area. That said, food & drinks were good enough I'd come back!

food4
ambience5
service4

Nice lunch. Was able to sit outside. It ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Nice lunch. Was able to sit outside. It was great to experience the city.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

best restaurant I've been to in a while

Dined on April 8, 2016

I live for food & good eating. Sonoma did not disappoint. I've been to many restaurants in the area & Sonoma is getting it right. My husband has an onion allergy & the staff was very accommodating and gracious. This was the first time at a restaurant that it seemed the staff genuinely cared that my husband get a good meal & not just exist as a problem diner. The wait staff was quick, gracious & knowledgeable. Management explained the menu items that would work for my husband. The food was absolutely delicious. My husband had the lamb- I had the ribeye. Portions were surprisingly huge! Appetizer of the mesce- which my husband loved. Chocolate creme brûlée for dessert- rich, creamy & decadent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The staff, food, ambiance and overall experience was worth every penny. Surprisingly affordable for such a great night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

new lunch menu

Dined on April 1, 2016

I have ate here many time, and they now have a new menu. Was not a fan, small menu and the food selection wa sol at best. I liked Sonoma grill better a few weeks ago. Hope they go back to the old lunch menu

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on March 26, 2016

I have been a long time patron of the Sonoma Grille. I've been going there on a fairly regular basis for about 7 years. I'm sorry to say that this time I was extremely disappointed. Apparently they have hired a new chef and the food just is not as good. The way they do their service has changed and it is not as efficient or friendly as it used to be. Anyone going there for the duck which was the best EVER will be disappointed as it is no longer on the menu. I ordered the mixed grille with the beef kabob and it disappointed. This item was once my go to item and the Sonoma Grille was my go to place. Sorry to say it is unlikely I will be returning.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites

Dined on March 25, 2016

always impressed with the great service and impressive pairing of food selections. enjoyed the scallops and fresh garden salad and CA wine.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

After renovations

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

This is our first visit back to Sonoma Grille since it reopened following a short remodeling last fall. We have been enjoying this restaurant for many years. It is always fresh and local selections. Interesting changes seasonally to the menu. The new menu has good additions. The wine list appears shorter than previous but also has some new choices. The wine flights are fun and very good. Good place to have dinner and valet park prior to a show. I recommend it highly. My only negative comment is about the decor. I was looking forward to seeing the improvements following the remodel. They moved the door for the restaurant so it does not enter through the bar area. We liked to stop for a drink before dinner in the bar. We didn't this time because it seemed awkward. It needed an interior redo but not the one they did. It is very dark and heavy feeling. Love the food, wine and service. Hate the new dark interior.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good value; great food; great service.

Dined on March 19, 2016

The bar had run out of cranberry juice, so there was a bit of a wait for my wife's Cosmopolitan. Our waitress/server was outstanding - personable, respectful, helpful and attentive.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Wait staff I'll trained.

Dined on March 12, 2016

The waiter reached across my plate three times. I wanted to ask him where he received his training. It left a lot to be desired.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

A big disappointment

Dined on March 12, 2016

The Sonoma grill has little to offer. The menu is limited in all areas. I had the duck entree. It was over cooked and the vegetables were this side of burned. The appetizers and desserts Were uninteresting. The server tried to push a French wine as superior to the Californias. This Really puzzled me. I was sorry I selected this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wondeful evening with my sister!

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

My sister was in from Sydney and we needed a quiet place to catch up - dinner at Sonoma Grille fit the bill! Food was great, atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

The atmosphere was good; a little noisy ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The atmosphere was good; a little noisy though. Food taste was very good but the entree portion was appitizer size. NOT good for the price! Service was so so; could have been snappier. Overall, won't be back.....

food3
ambience4
service1

We've been coming here for years before ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We've been coming here for years before shows and loved it in the past. This time, the service was atrocious!! My friend asked for a glass of wine 3 times and never received it from our server. He wouldn't speak either!! When we ordered something, we had no idea if he heard us or not. He made no indication.. Just walked away every time. I received a Corona beer with a non-twist off cap on it. When I walked it to the bartender to open, she made a sarcastic remark. Food was good, but I doubt we'll go back. We had dinner before a show on March 5. We were about to walk out when our food finally arrived. Shoved it down and left. We went there 2 hours early just FYI. Very bad experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food - close to theaters

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a very good meal at this restaurant. Service was not fast but we don't go out to a good restaurant for "fast food." Our waiter was accommodating and the crab and avocado appetizer was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Good Service - Bad Food

Dined on February 27, 2016

The service was very good at Sonoma Grille. The food wasn't very good and the portions were super small. I had the $18 shrimp mixed grill and it was 4 quarter-sized shrimp and a scoop of potatoes. It left me very hungry. My wife had the $18 kabob mixed grille. It was 1 very small kabob and a scoop of potatoes. Wouldn't go back.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Menu mania!

Dined on February 24, 2016

We went to Sonoma specifically for the filet, that was no longer in the menu. I had booked a reservation only days before. Low and behold, we were told by our attentive. Waitress that the menu had changed several times over the last 8 months; however, no one bothered to update the online menu. Unfortunately, when your mind is set for a particular meal everything pales in comparison. Due to the pricey new menu, and decreased portions ; I would not feel comfortable recommending this restaurant without disclosing that information.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

This restaurant was just ok.

Dined on February 21, 2016

This restaurant goes to a lot of trouble to be pretentious. Chairs where incredibly uncomfortable and considering it took forever to get our food this became a real issue by the end of the evening. The dinner selection was fairly limited but the appetizers were fantastic. If I had to go again would just order an appetizer and a salad.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous meal, excellent wine & service ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Fabulous meal, excellent wine & service and to top it all off...they offer valet parking!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good service, tuna ahi specialwas g ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Very good service, tuna ahi specialwas good, but nothing very exciting. Convenient dining option close to Theater District

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good for Happy Hour

Dined on February 16, 2016

We made a reservation for dinner but decided we would rather have drinks in the bar since it was happy hour. Then we decided we'd try the Tapas and appetizers rather than have dinner. The drinks were small and not very strong and the appetizers were alright - but you have to be careful because what they imply are half-price items are not. You have to specifically ask the waiter/waitress which drinks and appetizers are truly included on the happy hour list. It was fun once but we won't go back. Too many other places to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Valentine's Day Disappointment

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Although we had reservations and the restaurant was not full, there was great confusion where to seat us. At one point, the hostess tried to seat us at a high top (that wasn't clean) in the bar area. When we were finally seated, the waitress was good. The appetizer was also very good. The main meal however was not. The vegetable mix was saturated in soy sauce and the steak was tough and chewy - I'm not sure that it was filet. The scallops were very good as I'm told was the dessert. Overall, disappointing for the money.

food5
ambience4
service5

Our go to place! Creative and delicious ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our go to place! Creative and delicious cocktails served with delicious food. Never disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Terrible Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

My fiance and I went to Sonoma Grille for Valentine's Day brunch this year. Unfortunately, after our experience, I do not think we will ever be going back to Sonoma Grille again. When we arrived we were seated promptly. We were asked our drink orders by one server, then another came to the table to ask for our drink orders again and inform us that we would most likely have multiple servers throughout our experience, which would have been fine had any of these servers actually attended to our needs. We received our our first course and entree without incident. When we were finished we waited for approximately 10 minutes for someone to come over to clear our plates and wrap our left overs. After our left over food was brought back we waited for about 20 minutes with no one coming over to check on us to ask if we were prepared to have our final dessert course of the prefixe meal. Frustrated, we asked for our bill. We waited another 10 minutes for another server to drop off our bill without a word said to us (typically you are asked if you enjoyed your meal, if you would like dessert, etc.). It would be mildly understandable to have a minor delay in services if the restaurant was busy, but it wasn't at all. We also noticed that the table to our right left without being served their 3rd course either, and the table to the left of us had been sitting for about 15 minutes before they asked someone to please take their order. For what we paid for this brunch ($35 for 3 course prefixe) we would expect much better service, and in addition we would expect to actually receive all 3 courses we paid for. We would absolutely not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is superb; I love the decor ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The ambiance is superb; I love the decor and background music they play. The service was fast and polite. They were out of a wine I wanted, and offered a more expensive bottle as substitute. The food was fantastic as usual!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.