About Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh

947 Penn Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine- 'Brillat Savarin'. Sonoma is a restaurant that is eclectic yet approachable, where food and wine are uniquely prepared side by side.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 697-1336

Website:
http://www.thesonomagrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and self-parking lot (next to restaurant).

Public Transit:
yes

Executive Chef:
Yves Carreau

Private Party Facilities:
Our private diningroom, the Russian River Room, hold up to 36 people. We offer many different menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica McCullough: 4124018306

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve Party: Please go directly to www.thesonomagrille.com to view our special NYE Menu selections. All reservations for this evening will be contacted to provide credit card information to hold their table. We look forward to ringing in the New Year with you!

Restaurant Photos

veal medallions
Vegetarian French Onion Soup
Salmon
Duck
Avocado And Crab Salad
West Coast Wine Flights
White Wine Flight
Sonoma Salad
Silverado Cabernet
Amuse Bouche
Grand Marnier
North Coast Scrimshaw Pilsner
Wild Mushroom Flatbread
Apple Neopolitan
French Onion Soup
Study Of Hog
Duo Of Beets

Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

notable wine list (53)
special occasion (49)
fit for foodies (44)
See All
good for groups (33)
romantic (23)
great for outdoor dining (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
hot spot (16)
great for lunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1822 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time back at Sonoma Grill in almos ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

First time back at Sonoma Grill in almost a year. Many changes to the menu. Gone are my favourites : Indonesian Duck and Trilogy . The dessert menu had nothing on it that tempted me. I had cappuccino and it tasted burnt. Sorry to note that change is not always for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The vegetarian onion soup was delish! I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The vegetarian onion soup was delish! I had the kabobs with Asian vegetables. Only criticism is veggies were a little soggy due to the sauce. My guest enjoyed her chix breast with pasta. Excellent grapefruit cake dessert. This is saying a lot as I do not care for grapefruit. Would definitely recommend dining here and will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

From being seated, we sat for 20 minutes ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

From being seated, we sat for 20 minutes before we even were served water. Not sure if it was a shift change but there seemed to be a lot of the serving staff standing around not waiting tables. The restaurant was not at all crowded at this time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We have enjoyed Sonoma more in the past. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have enjoyed Sonoma more in the past. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is very pleasant. We have been here for larger dinner groups, but usually for Sunday brunch. It seems the menu dos not have as much to offer as other times. even though the food is very good and the waiter/waitress are familiar with the menu, you never quite know what you're getting till it appears. Many people were walking by and looking at the posted menu outside, but did not choose to stay. It seems it should be a lighter, less confusing , and more relaxing /simpler menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Don't be fooled because this is hotel re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Don't be fooled because this is hotel restaurant; it's very unique and upscale. Everything was an unexpected delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent experience all around...wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

An excellent experience all around...will be back soon. Our waiter made great recommendations for both food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the salmon was outstanding and cooked pe ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

the salmon was outstanding and cooked perfectly; our waiter had a good knowledge of the wine list

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has been a special place for us for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This has been a special place for us for years. Will be back.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Server was very abrupt, and at times rud ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Server was very abrupt, and at times rude to us and other guests.

We had a party of 6, and 3 of us ordered chicken tacos. Very little sauce, and they were dry and bland. When we asked for hot sauce or salsa, the server told us "Everything you need is on the taco. we don't have salsa." The tacos had chicken and spring mix/cilantro, nothing else.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Once we were seated, everything was fine ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Once we were seated, everything was fine, but they have a policy where their outdoor seating is "first come first serve" even though I requested outdoor seating 2 days ago. Wouldn't that mean I got there first?!?!?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Worst dining experience ever. Poor servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Worst dining experience ever. Poor service with little regard for customer experience. 25 minute wait for drinks and over an hour wait without dinner. We left without ever eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

I was so disappointed in our dinner last ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I was so disappointed in our dinner last Friday night at the Sonoma Grille. I have eaten there several times before, but will probably not return after our experience. We had a 5:45 pm reservation since we were walking to the Billy Joel concert after dinner. Our poor waiter was trying very hard to provide reasonable service (I think his name was Steve) and he enlisted the help of another waitress to get our drink order. We had to wait quite a while for the drinks, and even though we put our order in early for food, it took a really long time. The very sad thing is the quality of the food was not good. My husband had the rib-eye steak, and the presentation was nice on the plate. However, the steak was very fatty and hard to cut and eat. My sister and I had the Panzanella Salad and the bread was soggy and pretty inedible. My other sister had the Coconut Shrimp, and I think it was just ok. I had read a few bad reviews prior to our dining experience that complained mostly about the service. As I said earlier, our waiter really tried to keep things moving, but the bar and kitchen were not keeping up with the demand. I hope they can turn things around because it is a great location and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We always enjoy lunch at Sonoma but this ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We always enjoy lunch at Sonoma but this time for some reason it took way longer than normal. Our reservation was at 11:45 and it wasn't until after 12:30 that we got our lunch. We had to hurry and eat to get back to work on time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a very nice dinner with a custome ...

 
 (Berlin)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had a very nice dinner with a customer. Perfect service, quiet, so that we were able to have a good conversation.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was in Pittsburgh for a wedding and ba ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I was in Pittsburgh for a wedding and based on recommendations from the hotel and online, we went to Sonoma Grill. It is in the area known as the Cultural District and a jazz festival was going on. We had a great meal outside and enjoyed the ambiance. My husband enjoyed a striped bass dish and I enjoyed the mixed grill where you pick the meat, side and sauce. It was delicious! I loved the vegetable stir fry very very much! The chocolate creme brulee was amazing especially if you love chocolate. I have already recommended to my friends who live in Pittsburgh.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Mimosa bar is yummy

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The Mimosa bar is yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Made reservations specifically for a hig ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Made reservations specifically for a high table for a good vantage point of the Pittsburgh Jazz Live after-jam band. A high table was confirmed by phone several hours before reservation. Arrived for reservation 15 minutes early and was told no high tops available and they were first come first serve. Argued briefly. They offered a low table. We were bumped into and our view was blocked the entire evening. Once seated the service was good and the food was good. Had a bad experience the night before as well. This place is to be avoided on Jazz Fest weekend unless you are one of the chose elite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing. Signature duck dish no lo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Disappointing. Signature duck dish no longer on the menu. Fantastic scallop dish no longer on menu. Obvious Chef change and not for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Never disappoints! Even kept our lefto ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Never disappoints! Even kept our leftovers to pickup after the show!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Sonoma Grill since ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have been going to Sonoma Grill since the original opening. We were apprehensive after we read the recent reviews. Seemed no one had a good thing to say!

But we had a perfect evening there. Things are a little different, but, as they say, CHANGE IS GOOD!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Friday night post work/pre theater ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Nice Friday night post work/pre theater spot. The doors were open on this warm day. We got a great high top table in the bar, ordered a nice bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and some dinner, and generally had a great time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to have dinner and enjoy the Jaz ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We went to have dinner and enjoy the Jazz crawl. We had a reservation, but elected instead to have dinner at a small table in the bar, but adjacent to the outside area. The mixed grill is a favorite and allows some choice each time one orders it. The happy hour wine is always well chosen and a bargain. The service was slow, but to be fair it was very busy due to the baseball game and Jazz crawl (symphony too). Sonoma is one of our favorites.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This was a disappointing experience. We ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This was a disappointing experience. We have been to the Sonoma Grille quite a few times and sadly it seems to be in decline, going from one of our favorite restaurants to one we probably won't go to again. Two of six entrees were unavailable. The meat in one order was inedible, the fish dish was dry, and the other two were okay but not great. Service ranged from quite good to quite bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Once again, great experience at Sonoma G ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Once again, great experience at Sonoma Grille. My special request was fulfilled and my niece had a wonderful dinner experience for her sixteenth birthday. We also made it to the show on time. See you next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to Sonoma! Loved our cheese p ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First time to Sonoma! Loved our cheese plate. Wonderful wine list. Entrees were amazing. The hostess was not overly friendly and I didn't find her dressed appropriately for the scale of restaurant it is. The wait staff were not super attentive, but I appreciated that they were genuine and very pleasant. What I was shocked about was the amount of dust on the middle railing that separates the 2 sides of the main dining room. Also both of our napkins as well as our bread napkin were totally unraveling on the edges. Shocked over the lack of attention to detail with the ambience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

The Tian was fantastic. I also really e ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Tian was fantastic. I also really enjoyed the wine flight I chose.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went on recommendation of friend who had ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went on recommendation of friend who had been there when restaurant opened many years ago. Friend was in Pgh for the first time and wanted it to be a special dinner for her. Totally disappointed. Waiter uninformed and inattentive. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

First time - very impressed. Made reser ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

First time - very impressed. Made reservation (thanks Open Table) on short notice. Food was excellent, waiter was top notch. Highly recommend it. Only possible negative comment was parking - I think the valet parking was associated with the hotel, but not sure. It may apply to the restaurant as well. Full disclosure, I did not look into this, so it could be "operator error"

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual, a fine dining experience. Had ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

As usual, a fine dining experience. Had crab and avocado tian, salmon soup, salmon and octopus and oysters appetizer plus a very nice Gewurtztraminer from Washington State. Didn't even have room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had wahoo and it had a very fishy tast ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I had wahoo and it had a very fishy taste. I had the peach salad that was tasteless. Very disappointed with choices on menu. Love the wine, though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

I heard this restaurant changed hands an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I heard this restaurant changed hands and, if so, that would explain my first bad visit here in the ten or so times I've eaten here. The soup was cold the meals were average at best. It will be sometime before I go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

This place was a huge disappointment. S ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place was a huge disappointment. Service was bizarrely disinterested and food was not close to reputation. Would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Manager had an attitude!!!! Server was g ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Manager had an attitude!!!!

Server was great.

Over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food was wonderful-Sonoma Salad with gri ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was wonderful-Sonoma Salad with grilled salmon. 2 Thumbs Up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bartender did not know the Happy Hou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The bartender did not know the Happy Hour items. She said there was no happy hour except for one particular drink. When I was given the bar menu it clearly listed the discounted wines and specialty drinks. She was clueless and did not apologize or give my aunt a better price on her wine.

The water took our food and the bread away before we were finished and was not polite.

My sister ordered a class of wine and I don't think it was even 3/4 of an inch. My pour was small but not as small as her pour. Inconsistent pours on the wine.

I will not be back. It used to be one of my favorite places to eat before a show.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

It's a great place to celebrate! We wer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It's a great place to celebrate! We were having dinner for my daughters 21st birthday. While we were there, a couple was celebrating an anniversary and a group of young women came in for a bachelorette party dinner! It is truly a place not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good for Happy Hour...but need to fix menu issue

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a 7pm reservation and elected to arrive early for the Friday happy hour free tapas (which was just ok) and $5 cocktails (one may note in their cocktail menu, $5 cocktails are listed without restriction on house cocktails). I ordered a cocktail from their menu and my wife ordered one off menu. We were both charged $10 for our cocktails and directed to look at the partial list of house cocktails on the blackboard. The menu is plainly misleading. The bill should have had my house cocktail at $5. It should be noted that the bar was half full with three (at least) bartenders and we waited several minutes to even be addressed.

Once seated we were treated to very slow service, the feature wine flight for the summer is Rose and they were already out of one of the wines so the solution by the server was to double up on one of them. Tapas combo was pretty good but the shrimp were way over seasoned with a chili powder crusting that overpowered everything else.

My entree, a striped bass, was pretty good and my wife's mixed grill (I think this used to be on the old menu) was also good but nothing really stood out as great.

The new menu is very similar to the old menu.

Bottom line, I'd recommend for happy hour but don't read the menu just the chalkboard...

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Our expectations were high, but in reali ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Our expectations were high, but in reality the food was mediocre and overpriced. Ambiance and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Definitely recommend. Great food in a gr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Definitely recommend. Great food in a great environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The waiter was abysmal but the food was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The waiter was abysmal but the food was very good. I have been here a half a dozen times and the food never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.