About Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh

947 Penn Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine- 'Brillat Savarin'. Sonoma is a restaurant that is eclectic yet approachable, where food and wine are uniquely prepared side by side.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 697-1336

Website:
http://www.thesonomagrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and self-parking lot (next to restaurant).

Public Transit:
yes

Executive Chef:
Yves Carreau

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve Party: Please go directly to www.thesonomagrille.com to view our special NYE Menu selections. All reservations for this evening will be contacted to provide credit card information to hold their table. We look forward to ringing in the New Year with you!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

veal medallions - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Vegetarian French Onion Soup - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Duck - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Avocado And Crab Salad - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Salmon - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Sonoma Salad - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
North Coast Scrimshaw Pilsner - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Silverado Cabernet - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Grand Marnier - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
West Coast Wine Flights - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Amuse Bouche - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
White Wine Flight - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Wild Mushroom Flatbread - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Apple Neopolitan - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Study Of Hog - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Duo Of Beets - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
French Onion Soup - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Sonoma Grille can accommodate all your special event needs.

Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Casual (8)
Healthy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Romantic (7)
Tapas (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1986 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had only been to the Sonoma Grille on ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

We had only been to the Sonoma Grille once for a Christmas Party and received a gift card upon leaving from my husband's employer. Since we were coming into town anyway, we decided to use the gift card for dinner. The menu was "creative" so I ordered steak which was done perfectly! My husband ordered paella which had octopus, mussels, oysters, and other things I won't eat. He loved it. Our server was very pleasant and patient with us explaining some of the items on the menu. I believe her name is Vickery. All in all we had a most pleasant and delicious dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not very impressed with the menu and din ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Not very impressed with the menu and dinners were poor for the prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We went to Sonoma for New Years Eve. We ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Sonoma for New Years Eve. We have been here numerous times before without issues. This time our waiter was rude, flustered, slow and actually gave bad reviews for current menu items. He forgot several items/drinks and had to be frequently reminded. The food was not worth the price. Food was marginal. I would not recommend this for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Very limited Lunch menu

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very limited Lunch menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Food is somewhat different, interesting. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food is somewhat different, interesting. It arrived warm, not hot. Service was very slow. One member of our group order was never placed. His food arrived after we had all finished. Never the less, they did remove it from the bill.

Some of the staff seemed aloof as though they were passing through and not actually involved.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Very disappointing experience. Our serv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very disappointing experience. Our server was bumbling around, forgetting things and telling us (politely) how busy he was, just to give him "a minute to catch up". We waiting long to receive our drink order. Our soup came but we had no spoons. Items such as bread were forgotten from our main entrée until we asked for it. The restaurant was not particularly crowded so I'm not sure what the problem was. Also, we were celebrating a special occasion and it was noted in the reservation and confirmed on the 10:45pm confirmation call (that's really late at night to call to confirm a reservation!!) and the waiter either chose to ignore the birthday or was not informed as no candle or desert was offered. Very disappointed. For the price, I would not return when there are many other places to choose.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Waiter did not pay attention to request ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Waiter did not pay attention to request one meal. Had to redo meal and it took an additional 20 minutes. 2nd meal was ice cold, but did not send back.

Host was confused when entering which made for awkward seating.

Coffee only warm

Restaurant deducted meal from invoice, but the waiter has only one responsibility and that is to listen to the request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My five year old daughter and I came her ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My five year old daughter and I came here after seeing The Nutcracker. We were about 45 minutes early for our reservation and before they started serving from their dinner menu, but the manager and our waitress were so accommodating to the two of us and I feel they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and have a very nice meal. We shared an appetizer, she had mac and cheese from the kids menu, and I had the delicious ravioli and a glass of wine. We both had dessert. This was the third time I've been to Sonoma and the service keeps getting better each time. I normally wouldn't bring my kids to this nice a of a place, but it was 4:30 on a Saturday and it was a special pre-Christmas date girls date and it did not disappoint. It was a perfect meal for a special day and I hope to make it a yearly tradition for the two of us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a pre-concert dinner for thre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We enjoyed a pre-concert dinner for three. At first I was disappointed that the menu

had changed (again) and a few of my favorites weren't there but was impressed with

the newer creations, sampling my guests selections as well as thoroughly enjoying my own.

My guests were visiting foreign educators and enjoyed the experience.

The servers in my past visits were always were cordial, knowledgeable, and competent, and last Friday was no exception. The total experience of dining anywhere in the Cultural District, then a short walk to the theater makes for a pleasant and easy- to- plan evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were tough customers as we are on a c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We were tough customers as we are on a clean eating, organic, , non-dairy, etc diet and they accommodated us with no issue! Mike was awesome in ensuring everything adhered! We had the grass-fed roast with mushrooms and broccoli and a salad! Will definitely be back. Fantastic service!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there 3 years in a row now ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We have been there 3 years in a row now prior to attending the Nutcracker and we enjoy going there and having a wonderful lunch and drinks. We will be going back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Considerate place to eat. Why are so Ame ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Considerate place to eat. Why are so Americans so loud? A group of 8 women shrieked all evening. But other than that a nice place to eat.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome. Service and food-- best in down ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Awesome. Service and food-- best in downtown Pittsburgh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible! Sat for a full hour before ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Horrible! Sat for a full hour before our food came then it was cold and not very good. The people next to us, same problem with cold food. Seated us at 6:30 left at 7:45 for an 8:00 show. I WILL NOT GO BACK THERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Appetizers were excellent, but the famil ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Appetizers were excellent, but the family portion pork loin was cold. Service was good though our server was a bit flustered by the busy night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food we order was good starting with ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food we order was good starting with the delicious variety of breads. My husband who wanted to go elsewhere loved his pork chop and was glad we chose Sonoma. Our server seemed to be very busy trying to keep up. Seemed like they were understaffed. We sat for 10 minutes before being greeted and having our drink order taken. We told the server we had theater tickets. We allowed 1 hour 45 minutes for dinner. Our plates were cleared with plenty of time left for dessert and coffee. However it took 25 minutes for our server to come to our table and ask if we wanted dessert. Unfortunately we no longer had time. We have eaten here previously and don't remember having the same problem.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Selection and food were great but servic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Selection and food were great but service was very spotty. It was Light Up Night so it could have been just a fluke.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was terrific but the service was ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was terrific but the service was even better. Went back there for drinks after the theater.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Four of us often come to the Sonoma Gril ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Four of us often come to the Sonoma Grille before the Ballet. We enjoyed it again this week but found that the prices on the menu had increased greatly from last year; not the good value it was. And a traditional creme brulee would be welcome in addition to flavored ones.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great bar and friendly service. Had a ki ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great bar and friendly service. Had a kids menu and everyone was happy with our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We will be looking for a new favorite re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We will be looking for a new favorite restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh. After dining at Sonoma frequently over the past several years, we were disappointed three of the past four times we have dined there. The menu has been substantially redesigned and favorites, such as duck, have been removed. The management and staff has been nearly completely changed from what we could observe and the service has deteriorated with inattentive servers and specials sold out early and servers not advised. The quality of the food, if one does not mind waiting for extended periods, is still very good but overall, this restaurant in our estimation is no longer worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The tapas plate was delicious!!! Elizab ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The tapas plate was delicious!!! Elizabeth, the bar manager, is knowledgable and a delight!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally Sonoma is a perfect place, goni ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Normally Sonoma is a perfect place, gonice, friendly and good service, this time the service was very bad, ordered drinks didn't come, we waited very long for the main dish - unusual ...

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

I think it is terrible for 3 ounces of w ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I think it is terrible for 3 ounces of wine , the charge is 6-12 dollars....I take my business elsewhere

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Our experience in the past with this res ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our experience in the past with this restaurant has always been very positive, but our experience recently was very different. The service was very poor as follows

  1. When we asked for another table (the one initially offered was in a high traffic area), the host was very off-putting about the request - basically stating that changing would mess up their seating plan (most tables were unoccupied at the time)

  2. We were seated near the back of the restaurant and we have been seated there before without any problem. But, that night it was like a 'keystone cops' routine with the servers being directed on what to do and where to go after they had exited the kitchen area. This is new and not at all pleasant - keep the dining area for diners not the staff and their handlers.

  3. We were over-charged for the wine (not much but still) - the server said, 'oh the menu must be wrong' and then when to get the menu (we were correct) and instead of just offering to correct the problem, said he need to get the manager. We were getting past happy at that point and said never mind.

  4. Coffee was served that was cold - it was replaced but still required me to ask. This is something the server should have noticed before bringing it out.

  5. Servers hit my wife's chair with the device that they set the trays on - no apology.

  6. Another interaction with the host as we left was also unpleasant.

We have always looked forward to visiting this restaurant but now -- doubtful we'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Very enjoyable dinner before a concert i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner before a concert in downtown Pittsburgh. Decent wine list and some very reasonable bottles. Caesar salad was almost deconstructed; quite tasty!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It used to be a good restaurant. This t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It used to be a good restaurant. This time the food was not good at all. The two tiny pieces of fish with cheap noodles for 30$! The fish was tasteless and undercooked. I had stomach ache from that food. It was low quality and not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

The food was exceptional once again. We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was exceptional once again. We always visit this restaurant when visiting the 'burgh. + wine list/wine flights are great - they even have a make your own which can be a great value

  • food is so delicious, with garnishes and combinations you wouldn't think of, but taste great

  • service is always good, even when they get busy

  • Attached to Courtyard Marriott, they have delivered wine glasses to my room, they even asked what wines we had so they could bring the right glasses, since we had sparkling and red, that was a bonus

revised menu and wine list - it was all good!

Enjoy

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a delicious dinner before a conce ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a delicious dinner before a concert. The service was excellent, very personable wait staff. My husband had the strip steak, it was cooked to perfection. We shared a cheese tray, and I had the mixed grill, salmon with Thai vegetables. Lots of wine options and the bar was hopping!!! Great cocktails!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've always considered Sonoma Grille a r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I've always considered Sonoma Grille a reliable place to go with a big party or with people who are in from out of town. I was there in the spring and enjoyed it. Our experience on 10/1/16 was very disappointing, though. The service was pleasant, but the kitchen was a little slow, and the food was mostly boring and a bit bland. The appetizer of warm figs and fois gras was fabulous! However, the octopus in my octopus salad was mushy and flavorless. The fish crudo was exactly that: not ceviche, just some raw fish cut into small pieces and served with a lime or lemon. The beef cheek agnolotti were not available as a main course. We were told they were still available as an appetizer and in the Tapas for 2, but when the tapas arrived, the agnolotti were filled with seafood of some sort. The Chef's Roast was cooked properly, but it was nothing special. The fish special, baramundi, was slightly overdone, and was also very bland.

It will be a long time before I try Sonoma Grille again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was very good. Was disappointed in ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Food was very good. Was disappointed in the mixed drink. Martini very small for the price. Glass maybe two thirds filled .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Arrived several minutes early for our re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Arrived several minutes early for our reservation and was provided access to table of our choice. Service was spot on excellent as was all of the food. Great dining experience! And, was entirely my fault for not conveying we had a reservation as we were greeted and seated immediately upon entering the bar seating area.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, always. We had 9 people ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Delicious food, always. We had 9 people, so maybe that is why the wait was soooooooo long!!??

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was terrible! Was there 20 minut ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Service was terrible! Was there 20 minutes before a waiter ever came by!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent food and ambience. Always a go ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food and ambience. Always a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff was short and our drink o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The wait staff was short and our drink order arrived very late and one order was wrong. I ordered a wine flight of cabs and was brought Pinot noir. One person ordered red sangria and it most likely sat on the bar while the wine flights were delayed and it came very watered down. Nice food manager came out and talked to us. He knew someone we knew. Food was okay. Nothing notable except the rosemary frites. They were fabulous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A great place to meet friends or family ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A great place to meet friends or family downtown, before or after an event. Nice varied menu with healthy menu choices! Great food and wonderful service!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came into town and it was late - wanted ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Came into town and it was late - wanted something light and the tapas were all outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was slow, food was bland with li ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Service was slow, food was bland with little taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

I recently went to Sonoma with my husban ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I recently went to Sonoma with my husband to see their new renovations and try their new menu. We always enjoyed going there in the past, and thought this time would be no different. I'm not sure if the kinks were still getting worked out, but we were both really disappointed with our experience. The staff, while all very friendly, seemed rushed and very scattered. The food was definitely different in style, like it was trying to catch on to the gastropub trend instead of the more unique offerings it had before. The food was bland; my husband's pork chop and grits had almost no flavor (though cooked very well), and my agnolotti (which, after I ordered the beef agnolotti, I was told that it was actually seafood, maybe a fact that should have been previously communicated) had been cooked a bit too long and was fairly chewy. Like I said, perhaps everyone is still adjusting to the new menu and space, but we were disappointed with the new menu and the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.