About Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh

947 Penn Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine- 'Brillat Savarin'. Sonoma is a restaurant that is eclectic yet approachable, where food and wine are uniquely prepared side by side.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 697-1336

Website:
http://www.thesonomagrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and self-parking lot (next to restaurant).

Public Transit:
yes

Executive Chef:
Yves Carreau

Private Party Facilities:
Our private diningroom, the Russian River Room, hold up to 36 people. We offer many different menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica McCullough: 4124018306

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve Party: Please go directly to www.thesonomagrille.com to view our special NYE Menu selections. All reservations for this evening will be contacted to provide credit card information to hold their table. We look forward to ringing in the New Year with you!

Restaurant Photos

veal medallions
Vegetarian French Onion Soup
Duck
Avocado And Crab Salad
Salmon
Sonoma Salad
North Coast Scrimshaw Pilsner
Silverado Cabernet
Grand Marnier
West Coast Wine Flights
Amuse Bouche
White Wine Flight
Wild Mushroom Flatbread
Apple Neopolitan
Study Of Hog
Duo Of Beets
French Onion Soup

Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Notable Wine List (48)
Special Occasion (38)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tapas (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1854 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was terrible! Was there 20 minut ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was terrible! Was there 20 minutes before a waiter ever came by!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The wait staff was short and our drink o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The wait staff was short and our drink order arrived very late and one order was wrong. I ordered a wine flight of cabs and was brought Pinot noir. One person ordered red sangria and it most likely sat on the bar while the wine flights were delayed and it came very watered down. Nice food manager came out and talked to us. He knew someone we knew. Food was okay. Nothing notable except the rosemary frites. They were fabulous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A great place to meet friends or family ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

A great place to meet friends or family downtown, before or after an event. Nice varied menu with healthy menu choices! Great food and wonderful service!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came into town and it was late - wanted ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

Came into town and it was late - wanted something light and the tapas were all outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was slow, food was bland with li ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was slow, food was bland with little taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

I recently went to Sonoma with my husban ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I recently went to Sonoma with my husband to see their new renovations and try their new menu. We always enjoyed going there in the past, and thought this time would be no different. I'm not sure if the kinks were still getting worked out, but we were both really disappointed with our experience. The staff, while all very friendly, seemed rushed and very scattered. The food was definitely different in style, like it was trying to catch on to the gastropub trend instead of the more unique offerings it had before. The food was bland; my husband's pork chop and grits had almost no flavor (though cooked very well), and my agnolotti (which, after I ordered the beef agnolotti, I was told that it was actually seafood, maybe a fact that should have been previously communicated) had been cooked a bit too long and was fairly chewy. Like I said, perhaps everyone is still adjusting to the new menu and space, but we were disappointed with the new menu and the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

A disappointing dinner. My mom and I we ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

A disappointing dinner. My mom and I were celebrating her birthday before a show. Our salads came out without any dressing and were not at all enjoyable. We ordered something to share, which never came at all. The server was busy with a large table and neglected us and his other tables seated at the same time. No manager acknowledged our issue, and we had to beg to get the check in order to run out for the curtain. Upside? The wine flight was tasty...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Very disappointing night due to their co ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very disappointing night due to their computers were down. We had an 8:00 theater ticket..weren't served our meals until almost 7:30. We arrived around 5:45 ..had wine..and waited to order because they told us we had plenty of time. Salads came about 45 minutes prior to entrees. Table behind us came in after us and had their meals..has to be a way to work around computer glitch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Exceptionally prepared original dishes s ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Exceptionally prepared original dishes selected with expert and helpful wait staff ensures Sonoma Grill will be a key destination on all of our future trips to Pittsburgh.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New menu, but out of 3 entrees, so selec ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

New menu, but out of 3 entrees, so selections were limited.

Salads arrived after entrees.

Food was very salty.

Waitress was great.

They comped our salads, but we would have preferred to have them arrive on time.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our experience was awful. It took the wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our experience was awful. It took the waiter 15-20min to take our order, and the restaurant wasn't even full. It took another 40min for the food to arrive, and it wasn't even good. We will not be coming back to Sonoma Grille again. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Good meal, but the last several visits h ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good meal, but the last several visits have been underwhelming.

While the location remains great and the improvements to the property open the restaurant up nicely, the menu and food prep, in our opinion, has waned over the last 18-24 months. We still go back, hoping for the smells and tastes that had commanded our dining support 1-2 times per month, but lately that special pop of SG has waned.

The service remains great and all of the people are wonderful...there's no drop in appeal there. Unfortunately, we (my wife and I) just can't tell our friends that SG is a MUST GO restaurant right now. Its a great compliment to the restaurant scene in downtown but we'd love for it to be a leader again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was good to very good but I was dis ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was good to very good but I was disappointed as they did not have any Tuna which was my first choice. My soup was luke warm but my friends soup was piping hot. Our waitress was not able to accurately describe the dinner special (we had no idea of what it was even after she tried to explain). Overall, we had a very nice evening attributable more to friends than service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Sonoma has a very limited menu. If I ha ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Sonoma has a very limited menu. If I had reviewed their menu online I probably would not have dined there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great service. Very personable and prom ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great service. Very personable and prompt. Knowledgable about the menu.

Food was great and provided in perfect portions.

This was my 2nd visit and I'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Reservations were easy and quick and con ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Reservations were easy and quick and confirmed through OpenTable. The restaurant called me in advance also. The service was professional and friendly. The wait staff (both of them) attended to our dinning needs. They explained the dishes and the special of the night - Carbonara - was exquisite. It was light for this dish and approriate for a summer evening. The other dishes - double port chop and hen looked delicious. It was our twin son's and daughter's birthday and the candle with a song was a nice touch - thank you.

We've been her before, first with the Slovak group and then on a quiet dinner before the opera.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lunch menu was very limited . I need ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The lunch menu was very limited .

I needed a drink refill and had to call out to the server.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

Disappointed. we'd had dinner here a f ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Disappointed. we'd had dinner here a few times before. From out of town, our daughter attends college in the city. We got to dinner on a Saturday night at 8pm, and were told by server that they were out of 2 of the 6 main menu entrees--hard to understand that one! Strip steak and tuna steak--. So we ended up having a few appetizers, and a tapas for 2. the choices we made resulted in really good food, so it helped ease the fact that we'd actually wanted to order those 2 items that were missing in action. Server Steve was very accommodating, and made sure that we had a good dinner after the initial speed bump. we'll return, but ask prior to showing up if there is anything missing from the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoy dinner at Sonoma Grill about 1 t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I enjoy dinner at Sonoma Grill about 1 time per week but this pat weekend it was just not good. It was as if someone had spilled salt in everything. The restaurant did remove it from my bill and I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

It had bee several years since my previo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It had bee several years since my previous visit to the Sonoma Grill. Apparently both the decor and the menu have had an extensive makeover. I liked the menu and the new decor. The dark chocolate creme brûlée was memorable. Our server was very personable, but she did forget the gazpacho I had ordered. She was quite apologetic, but the lapse did not impair my enjoyment of my meal. I anticipate a return sooner rather than later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The personnel at Sonoma were excellent. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The personnel at Sonoma were excellent. Very helpful and attentive. But Sonoma's website directions land you in a BAD part of Pittsburgh! Do not use the website for directions. The food was o.k. Sounded great and looked good but the flavors and quality seemed lacking for the money that is charged.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had made reservations for 5:00. Had f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had made reservations for 5:00. Had family in from Texas. We arrived about 10 mins early, which seemed to be an issue for the gal seating us. She said multiple times that she could seat us but service in the dining room didn't begin until 5:00 and there was no Happy Hour in the dining room. So we asked if we could just sit in the bar area, and once again she said we could sit in there, but Happy Hour didn't begin until 5:00. We asked if it would be ok if we just had dinner in the bar, and she again told us that was fine, but Happy Hour didn't begin until 5:00! At this point, it was only 5 minutes until 5:00, so we were having a difficult time figuring out why she kept telling us it wasn't HH yet. I think she really ticked off my brother in law! Anyway, we finally got some drinks. The house wine was very good. I think the two men in our party were disappointed in the beer selections, but oh well. The food we ordered for dinner was also very, very good with great presentation. But I think the initial impression of the place (with the hostess acting so ridiculous about the time) sort of ruined the mood. Oh, well, I guess every experience can't be a terrific one!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

My friend and I had a delicious evening ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My friend and I had a delicious evening meal at the Sonoma Grill Pittsburgh before going to the theater! It was deliciously quiet with no Muzak to spoil the quiet atmosphere. Our server was attentive and helpful. The rolls were warm and tasty and the tasting sauces with my salmon were perfect. We two ordered the same entrée with different accompaniments and shared a portion of each other's noodles and veggies. Yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Ate outside and watched people go by on ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Ate outside and watched people go by on a Sunday morning. Food was excellent. Fair Price. Exceptionally sweet and warm waitress.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New menu did not impress. This is one o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

New menu did not impress. This is one of my friend group's favorite spots, but were hesitant to go back. Crab Titian isn't the same anymore; bring the old one back! I loved how fresh it used to taste. Now, the avocado is fried, which is just odd, and it doesn't taste healthy anymore--lime juice was replaced with chipotle mayo. Dishes were room temperature at best and flavorless. Our waiter was nice enough to adjust our bill, though. Bring back the old Sonoma!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

S.G. is great for lunch meetings, as the ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

S.G. is great for lunch meetings, as the noise level is very low, so you can actually carry on a conversation without shouting (unlike some of the newer venues on Penn Ave.) I rated the noise level as moderate on this review because even though there were very few diners in the restaurant, the hostess sat a party of 3 directly across from us, who had friends who either worked at the restaurant or were also dining there. And they came over to the table and were standing in the aisle right behind our table and were very loud and noisy. This was very distracting. I don't understand why they have to sit parties on top of each other when clearly the restaurant was almost empty and they could have sat the other group a table or two away from my party.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our meals was normal portion size ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of our meals was normal portion size and all others were small but not labeled small plates. They very attentive to gluten sensitivities. The food was not flavorful as i expected it would be. Service was great. Drinks were good. Overall better average but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderfull meal, good service, front of ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderfull meal, good service, front of restaurant was open to street so it was a bit warm, humid even with air conditioning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was much more efficient and atte ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was much more efficient and attentive when compared to other venues.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took over an hour for food to be served. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Took over an hour for food to be served. Requested for bread , took 45 minutes to arrive. The wait could have been ok if food was great, but it wasn't. Ordered grilled kebab & salmon with stir fry veggies. Not even good at all .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I was so disappointed. I have been to th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I was so disappointed. I have been to the Sonoma Grille many times before, and was taking my daughter. But they had just changed their menu, and nothing on it was very interesting. They said that they did the fancy bread samples, but all the little breads were stale. The hot water tasted like coffee, the mug had lipstick on it, the food was arranged in a pretty fashion but was too heavy (because roast tastes like roast no matter what you call it) and even the cheesecake dessert was room temperature instead of cold. It wasn't awful - I just wouldn't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

First time back at Sonoma Grill in almos ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

First time back at Sonoma Grill in almost a year. Many changes to the menu. Gone are my favourites : Indonesian Duck and Trilogy . The dessert menu had nothing on it that tempted me. I had cappuccino and it tasted burnt. Sorry to note that change is not always for the better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The vegetarian onion soup was delish! I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The vegetarian onion soup was delish! I had the kabobs with Asian vegetables. Only criticism is veggies were a little soggy due to the sauce. My guest enjoyed her chix breast with pasta. Excellent grapefruit cake dessert. This is saying a lot as I do not care for grapefruit. Would definitely recommend dining here and will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

From being seated, we sat for 20 minutes ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

From being seated, we sat for 20 minutes before we even were served water. Not sure if it was a shift change but there seemed to be a lot of the serving staff standing around not waiting tables. The restaurant was not at all crowded at this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We have enjoyed Sonoma more in the past. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have enjoyed Sonoma more in the past. The service is excellent and the atmosphere is very pleasant. We have been here for larger dinner groups, but usually for Sunday brunch. It seems the menu dos not have as much to offer as other times. even though the food is very good and the waiter/waitress are familiar with the menu, you never quite know what you're getting till it appears. Many people were walking by and looking at the posted menu outside, but did not choose to stay. It seems it should be a lighter, less confusing , and more relaxing /simpler menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Don't be fooled because this is hotel re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Don't be fooled because this is hotel restaurant; it's very unique and upscale. Everything was an unexpected delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent experience all around...wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

An excellent experience all around...will be back soon. Our waiter made great recommendations for both food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the salmon was outstanding and cooked pe ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

the salmon was outstanding and cooked perfectly; our waiter had a good knowledge of the wine list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has been a special place for us for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This has been a special place for us for years. Will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Server was very abrupt, and at times rud ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Server was very abrupt, and at times rude to us and other guests.

We had a party of 6, and 3 of us ordered chicken tacos. Very little sauce, and they were dry and bland. When we asked for hot sauce or salsa, the server told us "Everything you need is on the taco. we don't have salsa." The tacos had chicken and spring mix/cilantro, nothing else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.