About Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh

947 Penn Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine- 'Brillat Savarin'. Sonoma is a restaurant that is eclectic yet approachable, where food and wine are uniquely prepared side by side.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 697-1336

Website:
http://www.thesonomagrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and self-parking lot (next to restaurant).

Public Transit:
yes

Executive Chef:
Yves Carreau

Private Party Facilities:
Our private diningroom, the Russian River Room, hold up to 36 people. We offer many different menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica McCullough: 4124018306

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve Party: Please go directly to www.thesonomagrille.com to view our special NYE Menu selections. All reservations for this evening will be contacted to provide credit card information to hold their table. We look forward to ringing in the New Year with you!

Restaurant Photos

veal medallions - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Vegetarian French Onion Soup - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Duck - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Avocado And Crab Salad - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Salmon - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Sonoma Salad - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
North Coast Scrimshaw Pilsner - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Silverado Cabernet - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Grand Marnier - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
West Coast Wine Flights - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Amuse Bouche - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
White Wine Flight - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Wild Mushroom Flatbread - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Apple Neopolitan - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Study Of Hog - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
Duo Of Beets - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
French Onion Soup - Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (28)
Special Occasion (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Romantic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Tapas (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Healthy (8)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great Beer (4)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1875 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome. Service and food-- best in down ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome. Service and food-- best in downtown Pittsburgh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible! Sat for a full hour before ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Horrible! Sat for a full hour before our food came then it was cold and not very good. The people next to us, same problem with cold food. Seated us at 6:30 left at 7:45 for an 8:00 show. I WILL NOT GO BACK THERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Appetizers were excellent, but the famil ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Appetizers were excellent, but the family portion pork loin was cold. Service was good though our server was a bit flustered by the busy night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food we order was good starting with ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food we order was good starting with the delicious variety of breads. My husband who wanted to go elsewhere loved his pork chop and was glad we chose Sonoma. Our server seemed to be very busy trying to keep up. Seemed like they were understaffed. We sat for 10 minutes before being greeted and having our drink order taken. We told the server we had theater tickets. We allowed 1 hour 45 minutes for dinner. Our plates were cleared with plenty of time left for dessert and coffee. However it took 25 minutes for our server to come to our table and ask if we wanted dessert. Unfortunately we no longer had time. We have eaten here previously and don't remember having the same problem.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Selection and food were great but servic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Selection and food were great but service was very spotty. It was Light Up Night so it could have been just a fluke.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was terrific but the service was ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was terrific but the service was even better. Went back there for drinks after the theater.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Four of us often come to the Sonoma Gril ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Four of us often come to the Sonoma Grille before the Ballet. We enjoyed it again this week but found that the prices on the menu had increased greatly from last year; not the good value it was. And a traditional creme brulee would be welcome in addition to flavored ones.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great bar and friendly service. Had a ki ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great bar and friendly service. Had a kids menu and everyone was happy with our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We will be looking for a new favorite re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We will be looking for a new favorite restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh. After dining at Sonoma frequently over the past several years, we were disappointed three of the past four times we have dined there. The menu has been substantially redesigned and favorites, such as duck, have been removed. The management and staff has been nearly completely changed from what we could observe and the service has deteriorated with inattentive servers and specials sold out early and servers not advised. The quality of the food, if one does not mind waiting for extended periods, is still very good but overall, this restaurant in our estimation is no longer worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The tapas plate was delicious!!! Elizab ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The tapas plate was delicious!!! Elizabeth, the bar manager, is knowledgable and a delight!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally Sonoma is a perfect place, goni ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Normally Sonoma is a perfect place, gonice, friendly and good service, this time the service was very bad, ordered drinks didn't come, we waited very long for the main dish - unusual ...

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

I think it is terrible for 3 ounces of w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I think it is terrible for 3 ounces of wine , the charge is 6-12 dollars....I take my business elsewhere

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Our experience in the past with this res ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our experience in the past with this restaurant has always been very positive, but our experience recently was very different. The service was very poor as follows

  1. When we asked for another table (the one initially offered was in a high traffic area), the host was very off-putting about the request - basically stating that changing would mess up their seating plan (most tables were unoccupied at the time)

  2. We were seated near the back of the restaurant and we have been seated there before without any problem. But, that night it was like a 'keystone cops' routine with the servers being directed on what to do and where to go after they had exited the kitchen area. This is new and not at all pleasant - keep the dining area for diners not the staff and their handlers.

  3. We were over-charged for the wine (not much but still) - the server said, 'oh the menu must be wrong' and then when to get the menu (we were correct) and instead of just offering to correct the problem, said he need to get the manager. We were getting past happy at that point and said never mind.

  4. Coffee was served that was cold - it was replaced but still required me to ask. This is something the server should have noticed before bringing it out.

  5. Servers hit my wife's chair with the device that they set the trays on - no apology.

  6. Another interaction with the host as we left was also unpleasant.

We have always looked forward to visiting this restaurant but now -- doubtful we'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Very enjoyable dinner before a concert i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner before a concert in downtown Pittsburgh. Decent wine list and some very reasonable bottles. Caesar salad was almost deconstructed; quite tasty!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It used to be a good restaurant. This t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 2, 2016

It used to be a good restaurant. This time the food was not good at all. The two tiny pieces of fish with cheap noodles for 30$! The fish was tasteless and undercooked. I had stomach ache from that food. It was low quality and not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

The food was exceptional once again. We ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was exceptional once again. We always visit this restaurant when visiting the 'burgh. + wine list/wine flights are great - they even have a make your own which can be a great value

  • food is so delicious, with garnishes and combinations you wouldn't think of, but taste great

  • service is always good, even when they get busy

  • Attached to Courtyard Marriott, they have delivered wine glasses to my room, they even asked what wines we had so they could bring the right glasses, since we had sparkling and red, that was a bonus

revised menu and wine list - it was all good!

Enjoy

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a delicious dinner before a conce ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a delicious dinner before a concert. The service was excellent, very personable wait staff. My husband had the strip steak, it was cooked to perfection. We shared a cheese tray, and I had the mixed grill, salmon with Thai vegetables. Lots of wine options and the bar was hopping!!! Great cocktails!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've always considered Sonoma Grille a r ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I've always considered Sonoma Grille a reliable place to go with a big party or with people who are in from out of town. I was there in the spring and enjoyed it. Our experience on 10/1/16 was very disappointing, though. The service was pleasant, but the kitchen was a little slow, and the food was mostly boring and a bit bland. The appetizer of warm figs and fois gras was fabulous! However, the octopus in my octopus salad was mushy and flavorless. The fish crudo was exactly that: not ceviche, just some raw fish cut into small pieces and served with a lime or lemon. The beef cheek agnolotti were not available as a main course. We were told they were still available as an appetizer and in the Tapas for 2, but when the tapas arrived, the agnolotti were filled with seafood of some sort. The Chef's Roast was cooked properly, but it was nothing special. The fish special, baramundi, was slightly overdone, and was also very bland.

It will be a long time before I try Sonoma Grille again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was very good. Was disappointed in ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Food was very good. Was disappointed in the mixed drink. Martini very small for the price. Glass maybe two thirds filled .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Arrived several minutes early for our re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Arrived several minutes early for our reservation and was provided access to table of our choice. Service was spot on excellent as was all of the food. Great dining experience! And, was entirely my fault for not conveying we had a reservation as we were greeted and seated immediately upon entering the bar seating area.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, always. We had 9 people ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Delicious food, always. We had 9 people, so maybe that is why the wait was soooooooo long!!??

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was terrible! Was there 20 minut ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Service was terrible! Was there 20 minutes before a waiter ever came by!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The wait staff was short and our drink o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The wait staff was short and our drink order arrived very late and one order was wrong. I ordered a wine flight of cabs and was brought Pinot noir. One person ordered red sangria and it most likely sat on the bar while the wine flights were delayed and it came very watered down. Nice food manager came out and talked to us. He knew someone we knew. Food was okay. Nothing notable except the rosemary frites. They were fabulous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A great place to meet friends or family ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A great place to meet friends or family downtown, before or after an event. Nice varied menu with healthy menu choices! Great food and wonderful service!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came into town and it was late - wanted ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Came into town and it was late - wanted something light and the tapas were all outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was slow, food was bland with li ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Service was slow, food was bland with little taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

I recently went to Sonoma with my husban ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I recently went to Sonoma with my husband to see their new renovations and try their new menu. We always enjoyed going there in the past, and thought this time would be no different. I'm not sure if the kinks were still getting worked out, but we were both really disappointed with our experience. The staff, while all very friendly, seemed rushed and very scattered. The food was definitely different in style, like it was trying to catch on to the gastropub trend instead of the more unique offerings it had before. The food was bland; my husband's pork chop and grits had almost no flavor (though cooked very well), and my agnolotti (which, after I ordered the beef agnolotti, I was told that it was actually seafood, maybe a fact that should have been previously communicated) had been cooked a bit too long and was fairly chewy. Like I said, perhaps everyone is still adjusting to the new menu and space, but we were disappointed with the new menu and the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

A disappointing dinner. My mom and I we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

A disappointing dinner. My mom and I were celebrating her birthday before a show. Our salads came out without any dressing and were not at all enjoyable. We ordered something to share, which never came at all. The server was busy with a large table and neglected us and his other tables seated at the same time. No manager acknowledged our issue, and we had to beg to get the check in order to run out for the curtain. Upside? The wine flight was tasty...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Very disappointing night due to their co ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very disappointing night due to their computers were down. We had an 8:00 theater ticket..weren't served our meals until almost 7:30. We arrived around 5:45 ..had wine..and waited to order because they told us we had plenty of time. Salads came about 45 minutes prior to entrees. Table behind us came in after us and had their meals..has to be a way to work around computer glitch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Exceptionally prepared original dishes s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Exceptionally prepared original dishes selected with expert and helpful wait staff ensures Sonoma Grill will be a key destination on all of our future trips to Pittsburgh.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New menu, but out of 3 entrees, so selec ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

New menu, but out of 3 entrees, so selections were limited.

Salads arrived after entrees.

Food was very salty.

Waitress was great.

They comped our salads, but we would have preferred to have them arrive on time.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our experience was awful. It took the wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Our experience was awful. It took the waiter 15-20min to take our order, and the restaurant wasn't even full. It took another 40min for the food to arrive, and it wasn't even good. We will not be coming back to Sonoma Grille again. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Good meal, but the last several visits h ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good meal, but the last several visits have been underwhelming.

While the location remains great and the improvements to the property open the restaurant up nicely, the menu and food prep, in our opinion, has waned over the last 18-24 months. We still go back, hoping for the smells and tastes that had commanded our dining support 1-2 times per month, but lately that special pop of SG has waned.

The service remains great and all of the people are wonderful...there's no drop in appeal there. Unfortunately, we (my wife and I) just can't tell our friends that SG is a MUST GO restaurant right now. Its a great compliment to the restaurant scene in downtown but we'd love for it to be a leader again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was good to very good but I was dis ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was good to very good but I was disappointed as they did not have any Tuna which was my first choice. My soup was luke warm but my friends soup was piping hot. Our waitress was not able to accurately describe the dinner special (we had no idea of what it was even after she tried to explain). Overall, we had a very nice evening attributable more to friends than service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Sonoma has a very limited menu. If I ha ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Sonoma has a very limited menu. If I had reviewed their menu online I probably would not have dined there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great service. Very personable and prom ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great service. Very personable and prompt. Knowledgable about the menu.

Food was great and provided in perfect portions.

This was my 2nd visit and I'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Reservations were easy and quick and con ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Reservations were easy and quick and confirmed through OpenTable. The restaurant called me in advance also. The service was professional and friendly. The wait staff (both of them) attended to our dinning needs. They explained the dishes and the special of the night - Carbonara - was exquisite. It was light for this dish and approriate for a summer evening. The other dishes - double port chop and hen looked delicious. It was our twin son's and daughter's birthday and the candle with a song was a nice touch - thank you.

We've been her before, first with the Slovak group and then on a quiet dinner before the opera.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lunch menu was very limited . I need ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The lunch menu was very limited .

I needed a drink refill and had to call out to the server.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

Disappointed. we'd had dinner here a f ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Disappointed. we'd had dinner here a few times before. From out of town, our daughter attends college in the city. We got to dinner on a Saturday night at 8pm, and were told by server that they were out of 2 of the 6 main menu entrees--hard to understand that one! Strip steak and tuna steak--. So we ended up having a few appetizers, and a tapas for 2. the choices we made resulted in really good food, so it helped ease the fact that we'd actually wanted to order those 2 items that were missing in action. Server Steve was very accommodating, and made sure that we had a good dinner after the initial speed bump. we'll return, but ask prior to showing up if there is anything missing from the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoy dinner at Sonoma Grill about 1 t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I enjoy dinner at Sonoma Grill about 1 time per week but this pat weekend it was just not good. It was as if someone had spilled salt in everything. The restaurant did remove it from my bill and I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.