About Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh

947 Penn Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

A meal without wine is like a day without sunshine- 'Brillat Savarin'. Sonoma is a restaurant that is eclectic yet approachable, where food and wine are uniquely prepared side by side.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 697-1336

Website:
http://www.thesonomagrille.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking and self-parking lot (next to restaurant).

Public Transit:
yes

Executive Chef:
Yves Carreau

Private Party Facilities:
Our private diningroom, the Russian River Room, hold up to 36 people. We offer many different menus.

Private Party Contact:
Jessica McCullough: 4124018306

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
New Year's Eve Party: Please go directly to www.thesonomagrille.com to view our special NYE Menu selections. All reservations for this evening will be contacted to provide credit card information to hold their table. We look forward to ringing in the New Year with you!

Restaurant Photos

veal medallions
Vegetarian French Onion Soup
Salmon
Duck
Avocado And Crab Salad
West Coast Wine Flights
White Wine Flight
Sonoma Salad
Silverado Cabernet
Amuse Bouche
Grand Marnier
North Coast Scrimshaw Pilsner
Wild Mushroom Flatbread
Apple Neopolitan
French Onion Soup
Study Of Hog
Duo Of Beets

Sonoma Grille Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

notable wine list (55)
special occasion (50)
fit for foodies (46)
See All
good for groups (33)
romantic (21)
hot spot (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for outdoor dining (16)
great for lunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1806 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was in Pittsburgh for a wedding and ba ...

Dined 4 days ago

I was in Pittsburgh for a wedding and based on recommendations from the hotel and online, we went to Sonoma Grill. It is in the area known as the Cultural District and a jazz festival was going on. We had a great meal outside and enjoyed the ambiance. My husband enjoyed a striped bass dish and I enjoyed the mixed grill where you pick the meat, side and sauce. It was delicious! I loved the vegetable stir fry very very much! The chocolate creme brulee was amazing especially if you love chocolate. I have already recommended to my friends who live in Pittsburgh.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

The Mimosa bar is yummy

Dined 4 days ago

The Mimosa bar is yummy

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Made reservations specifically for a hig ...

Dined 5 days ago

Made reservations specifically for a high table for a good vantage point of the Pittsburgh Jazz Live after-jam band. A high table was confirmed by phone several hours before reservation. Arrived for reservation 15 minutes early and was told no high tops available and they were first come first serve. Argued briefly. They offered a low table. We were bumped into and our view was blocked the entire evening. Once seated the service was good and the food was good. Had a bad experience the night before as well. This place is to be avoided on Jazz Fest weekend unless you are one of the chose elite.

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing. Signature duck dish no lo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Disappointing. Signature duck dish no longer on the menu. Fantastic scallop dish no longer on menu. Obvious Chef change and not for the better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints! Even kept our lefto ...

Dined 5 days ago

Never disappoints! Even kept our leftovers to pickup after the show!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Sonoma Grill since ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have been going to Sonoma Grill since the original opening. We were apprehensive after we read the recent reviews. Seemed no one had a good thing to say! But we had a perfect evening there. Things are a little different, but, as they say, CHANGE IS GOOD!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Friday night post work/pre theater ...

Dined 6 days ago

Nice Friday night post work/pre theater spot. The doors were open on this warm day. We got a great high top table in the bar, ordered a nice bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and some dinner, and generally had a great time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We went to have dinner and enjoy the Jaz ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went to have dinner and enjoy the Jazz crawl. We had a reservation, but elected instead to have dinner at a small table in the bar, but adjacent to the outside area. The mixed grill is a favorite and allows some choice each time one orders it. The happy hour wine is always well chosen and a bargain. The service was slow, but to be fair it was very busy due to the baseball game and Jazz crawl (symphony too). Sonoma is one of our favorites.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

This was a disappointing experience. We ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This was a disappointing experience. We have been to the Sonoma Grille quite a few times and sadly it seems to be in decline, going from one of our favorite restaurants to one we probably won't go to again. Two of six entrees were unavailable. The meat in one order was inedible, the fish dish was dry, and the other two were okay but not great. Service ranged from quite good to quite bad.

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

First time to Sonoma! Loved our cheese p ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

First time to Sonoma! Loved our cheese plate. Wonderful wine list. Entrees were amazing. The hostess was not overly friendly and I didn't find her dressed appropriately for the scale of restaurant it is. The wait staff were not super attentive, but I appreciated that they were genuine and very pleasant. What I was shocked about was the amount of dust on the middle railing that separates the 2 sides of the main dining room. Also both of our napkins as well as our bread napkin were totally unraveling on the edges. Shocked over the lack of attention to detail with the ambience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The Tian was fantastic. I also really e ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The Tian was fantastic. I also really enjoyed the wine flight I chose.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Went on recommendation of friend who had ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went on recommendation of friend who had been there when restaurant opened many years ago. Friend was in Pgh for the first time and wanted it to be a special dinner for her. Totally disappointed. Waiter uninformed and inattentive. Would not return.

food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, a fine dining experience. Had ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

As usual, a fine dining experience. Had crab and avocado tian, salmon soup, salmon and octopus and oysters appetizer plus a very nice Gewurtztraminer from Washington State. Didn't even have room for dessert.

food2
ambience5
service2

I had wahoo and it had a very fishy tast ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I had wahoo and it had a very fishy taste. I had the peach salad that was tasteless. Very disappointed with choices on menu. Love the wine, though

food1
ambience2
service2
value2

I heard this restaurant changed hands an ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

I heard this restaurant changed hands and, if so, that would explain my first bad visit here in the ten or so times I've eaten here. The soup was cold the meals were average at best. It will be sometime before I go back.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This place was a huge disappointment. S ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

This place was a huge disappointment. Service was bizarrely disinterested and food was not close to reputation. Would never return.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Manager had an attitude!!!! Server was g ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Manager had an attitude!!!! Server was great. Over priced.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful-Sonoma Salad with gri ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Food was wonderful-Sonoma Salad with grilled salmon. 2 Thumbs Up!

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The bartender did not know the Happy Hou ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The bartender did not know the Happy Hour items. She said there was no happy hour except for one particular drink. When I was given the bar menu it clearly listed the discounted wines and specialty drinks. She was clueless and did not apologize or give my aunt a better price on her wine. The water took our food and the bread away before we were finished and was not polite. My sister ordered a class of wine and I don't think it was even 3/4 of an inch. My pour was small but not as small as her pour. Inconsistent pours on the wine. I will not be back. It used to be one of my favorite places to eat before a show.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

It's a great place to celebrate! We wer ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

It's a great place to celebrate! We were having dinner for my daughters 21st birthday. While we were there, a couple was celebrating an anniversary and a group of young women came in for a bachelorette party dinner! It is truly a place not to be missed.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Good for Happy Hour...but need to fix menu issue

Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a 7pm reservation and elected to arrive early for the Friday happy hour free tapas (which was just ok) and $5 cocktails (one may note in their cocktail menu, $5 cocktails are listed without restriction on house cocktails). I ordered a cocktail from their menu and my wife ordered one off menu. We were both charged $10 for our cocktails and directed to look at the partial list of house cocktails on the blackboard. The menu is plainly misleading. The bill should have had my house cocktail at $5. It should be noted that the bar was half full with three (at least) bartenders and we waited several minutes to even be addressed. Once seated we were treated to very slow service, the feature wine flight for the summer is Rose and they were already out of one of the wines so the solution by the server was to double up on one of them. Tapas combo was pretty good but the shrimp were way over seasoned with a chili powder crusting that overpowered everything else. My entree, a striped bass, was pretty good and my wife's mixed grill (I think this used to be on the old menu) was also good but nothing really stood out as great. The new menu is very similar to the old menu. Bottom line, I'd recommend for happy hour but don't read the menu just the chalkboard...

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Our expectations were high, but in reali ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Our expectations were high, but in reality the food was mediocre and overpriced. Ambiance and service was good.

food5
ambience5
service3

Definitely recommend. Great food in a gr ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Definitely recommend. Great food in a great environment.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The waiter was abysmal but the food was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The waiter was abysmal but the food was very good. I have been here a half a dozen times and the food never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Such a sad experience

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We used to love the Sonoma Grill, but I don't know what has happened to it. It seems to me to be from a drop in diners and the resulting drop in service and experience. Our waiter couldn't explain the menu, the food arrived cool, the waiter never returned to see how it was, we couldn't get bread for the entrees or appetizers for 20 minutes, one of us waited another 20 minutes to get parmesan cheese for her pasta, and when asked about the fish on the menu, the waiter left and returned with only the description that the bag It came in said Canada. They had no idea of where, how raised, or even age. The only thing that saved the night was their good menu of California wines, which fortunately, would be much harder for them to ruin. I was embarrassed that I chose the restaurant for our business dinner.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Overall Experience

Dined on May 16, 2016

Our waitress (Sara(h)) was attentive and made good recommendations on what to order. Service can be very hit or miss in the city and she was definitely one of the best.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I like the Ida of having a pre fix menu for special occasions but I think the regular menu should also be an option as well.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Mother's Day Outing

Dined on May 8, 2016

We did the Pre Fix brunch and while we enjoyed the food and thought the value was decent, it was not the wow experience I was expecting. Will go back again as the 1st time I had ever gone it was spectacular, I think I'll avoid the Pre Fix menu in the future. I liked a lot of the food options but not

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as usual. Had the Sonoma salad ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent as usual. Had the Sonoma salad with tempura shrimp. Yum!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Neat location-street. Terrible service.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Neat location-street! Terrible service! Fine dining, and got a warm bottle of beer, no glass! Expensive, dull food! Small portions but big price tag. Waitress left for over 40 minutes and never came back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Sonoma review

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had heard and read very good reviews for Sonoma and the chef when we were looking for places to go for graduation dinner. While the food and the drinks were very good and we would recommend it, the service is in real need of an overhaul. It took a very long time to get everything (including the tables on either side of us being bussed after the diners left) and we weren't sure if it was the bar or the kitchen keeping things at a crawl. If the service can catch up to the quality of the food then Sonoma really has something. Especially with the competition on Penn Ave, speed up and take note. The food was really good though!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

Really disappointed in my latest visit t ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Really disappointed in my latest visit to Sonoma Grille. The service was non-existent. We have to look for our server each time we needed something, from getting seated, to receiving our food, to paying the check. We sat in the bar for 15 minutes before someone asked if we wanted drink. Downtown Pittsburgh now has many amazing restaurants, so SG needs to up its game to compete.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Bad night at a good spot

Dined on April 24, 2016

My friends and I met for the 5 course wine pairing dinner, part of the 'grand re-opening'. The staff was overwhelmed, as was the kitchen, and bartender. apparently so was the dishwasher, since it took a while for our server to find wine and water glasses. I was really disappointed in the unpreparedness. As it was my suggestion, I was also a bit embarrassed. it will be a while before I go back, and certainly hesitate to recommend to others right now. On the bright side, the food was interesting and tasty, and well paired (when the wines arrived with the food, which was occasionally). At $65, it was a great value!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Gave it one last try and.....FAIL

Dined on April 23, 2016

I love the location, ambiance, and bar service, but every time I try to eat dinner here, I end up disappointed. Let me count thy ways... 1) Under staffed 2) waited 15 minutes to get water and a drink order, then another 30 to get the drink (45 min) 3) once the drink arrived, we went ahead and ordered another round and sure enough, another 30 minutes and we received our wine when mid way through the meal. 4) The food was ok 5) We had to bus our own food and pour our own water The manager was made aware and comped one of our rounds of drinks. We were appreciative of the apology. It appeared there wasn't enough help. his place has everything it needs to be great.....accept extra people to assure the delivery of the product. Recommendation to management.. Hire more bar staff, hire more people to be there during high volume times. Of note: I did go to the bar to get help, and they tended to quickly respond to those seated at the bar. If I went again, I would sit directly at the bar to ensure good service.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Was there a few years ago and loved it. ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Was there a few years ago and loved it. Since they have remodeled I feel their menu is much more limited and it was super noisy. I didn't think the food was not great. The last few times I was there a year or so ago the food was wonderful.

food1
ambience4
service3
value2

New menu not nearly as good as ever befo ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

New menu not nearly as good as ever before. Flatbread skimpy and tasteless. Salads skimpy and overpriced. Menu not enough variations. Food simply not as good as previously.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

sadly gone downhill

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Recently had brunch there on a gorgeous Sunday. The restaurant was not at all crowded and plenty of tables near the fresh open doors. The hostess however, rushed us to the very back of the restaurant and seemed perturbed when we asked to be seated near a window. It took forever to get coffee, my salmon has was a lot of fingerling potatoes not even cut up but almost whole, and the bill took forever. They bloody mary and mimosa serve yourself bar was nice but no one though to mention it to us. There is lots of competition on the street and Sonoma was so very good and the staff so excellent I was sad to experience Sunday

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

Food was fantastic! Really empty for Sat ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was fantastic! Really empty for Saturday night. Ate outside, and pretty slow service. Seemed like only one waitress in the whole bar area. That said, food & drinks were good enough I'd come back!

food4
ambience5
service4

Nice lunch. Was able to sit outside. It ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Nice lunch. Was able to sit outside. It was great to experience the city.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

best restaurant I've been to in a while

Dined on April 8, 2016

I live for food & good eating. Sonoma did not disappoint. I've been to many restaurants in the area & Sonoma is getting it right. My husband has an onion allergy & the staff was very accommodating and gracious. This was the first time at a restaurant that it seemed the staff genuinely cared that my husband get a good meal & not just exist as a problem diner. The wait staff was quick, gracious & knowledgeable. Management explained the menu items that would work for my husband. The food was absolutely delicious. My husband had the lamb- I had the ribeye. Portions were surprisingly huge! Appetizer of the mesce- which my husband loved. Chocolate creme brûlée for dessert- rich, creamy & decadent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.