About Songkran Thai Kitchen - Galleria

1101 - 8 Uptown Park
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Songkran Thai Kitchen, located in Uptown Park, is known for its authentic and fresh Thai cuisine, its prime Galleria location, and of course its talented and gifted Chef Jett! Songkran delivers mouth-watering dishes that are traditionally Thai, but distinctively Chef Jett. He brings a unique blend of spices and sauces to the table, along with his signature dishes like Heavenly Beef, Crispy Red Snapper, Pad Thai and Green Curry Chicken with Thai Basil, to name a few. Drinks, you say? Cozy up to the fully-loaded bar, boasting a dynamic wine, liquor and signature drink list!
Songkran is a celebration of food, drink and camaraderie in an upscale atmosphere!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday - Friday: 3pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 993-9096

Website:
http://www.songkranthaikitchen.com/

Catering:
We will help make your event extraordinary at an offsite location of your choice. Chef Jett and our events team will create a customized menu based on your vision. We also provide bartenders and complete staff to make your celebration or event an experience you will never forget. Our authentic Thai fare and exceptional service are ideal for a wide range of events.

Parking Details:
Songkran offers complimentary valet service at dining hours. Street parking is also available right outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Junnajet "Jett" Hurapan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Songkran Thai Kitchen - Galleria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Hot Spot (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Casual (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (4)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I generally don't like Thai food, but th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I generally don't like Thai food, but the food here was very good and looked good too. I recommend this place. Great food, great wait staff & great atmosphere. I will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and value although I dete ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and value although I detected sugar in some of the dishes, which the chef could definitely leave out.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time here. This time during Houston ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

2nd time here. This time during Houston Restaurant Weeks 2016. Great value! Tried frog leg appetizer & was surprised how tasty & juicy. Wagyu beef so tender & flavorful. Ended with sticky rice dessert. All superb. Be warned that as evening progressed & space filled up, noise level increased to almost prevent me & my companion from hear each other. Too bad. But that did not diminish the food experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome, really good tastin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was awesome, really good tasting entrees and appetizers (we had shrimps and beef noodles of the Restaurant Weeks Menu). The place is a little noisy, because it is very open (one big room) and dining seating is next to the bar. Also, it was a Friday evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyed both food and service. Looking ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Enjoyed both food and service. Looking forward to cooler weather to enjoy patio. Looks inviting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average food and unattentive waitress. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Average food and unattentive waitress. I was hoping to have a fast dinner. Ordering, getting the food and paying took 1:15 hrs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Our favorite Thai restaurant in Houston. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite Thai restaurant in Houston. Fortunately, it is walkable for us so it has become a go to place to have dinner. The food has character...multiple levels of taste. The curry Wagu beef is outstanding as well as the Singapore noodles. Heat is based on 1 thru 4. For those that like taste but not a mouth burning experience...2 is a good number to start with.

Nice wines and ice cold beer to go with the Thai cuisine. If you like last minute choices, dining at the bar is a great option. Nice bartenders and ESPN!

They earn their great reviews.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

OUTSTANDING Thai food matched with warm, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

OUTSTANDING Thai food matched with warm, and gracious service. They were exceedingly accomodating and sincere. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Thai food. Not westernized

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Authentic Thai food. Not westernized

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Delicious! We thoroughly enjo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Absolutely Delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful 😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good. Whenever I have vis ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food is always good. Whenever I have visitors, I bring them to Songkran all the time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Fantastic food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome veggie menu and fantastic green ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome veggie menu and fantastic green curry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Songkran had been our "to try" list for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Songkran had been our "to try" list for awhile after hearing positive reviews from friends that had experienced the restaurant. The Thai menu does a great job of staying authentic to the country, but without doing anything that feels too unexpected or uncomfortable. It's progressive, flavorful and modern, while retaining traditional flavors and dishes. We started with two appetizers: a soft shell crab with chili glaze (only complaint here was that there wasn't enough glaze - we could have asked for more sauce, but didn't), and a beef dish with sriracha sauce & egg on top. My husband ordered Pad Si-ew (one of his faves) for the main course and I chose a Yellow Curry - both were fantastic. Coupled with a great cocktail menu, and service to go along, we are definitely coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we love the food at this restaurant. th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

we love the food at this restaurant. this is my fourth time here and even recommended to co workers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the innovative yet recognizable ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Enjoyed the innovative yet recognizable dishes. Definitely coming back. Wish the waiter had been more attentive but he eventually found his service hat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

The chicken curry was pretty good. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The chicken curry was pretty good. The service was subpar.. The server seemed disconnected, uninterested, and unfamiliar with the menu and wine list.. The food had to be auctioned (major pet peeve). It seemed that we had to look around for the server, despite the place being half empty.. Overall, the food was good, while the service could use some improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Fantastic meal. We went with another co ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic meal. We went with another couple, shared four appetizers and four small entrees. They were all great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lunch specials are a good value and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The lunch specials are a good value and reasonable amount of food. The salad is especially good and fresh. The waitress recommended the short rib but my guest said the Heavenly Beef was better. There was nothing particularly Thai about the short rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I love coming to Songkran. W ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I love coming to Songkran. We enjoyed the food and our waiter (Phillip). We recommend coming here for good food and fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Mothers Day on the patio

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We visited the Sugar Land location not too long after it opened and that place is a disaster. However, the Galleria location is good enough for another visit. Food was flavorful and well prepared. Service wasnt horrible, but could have been better. Not bad for a last minute Mothers Day reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The waiter was nice but not efficient. W ...

vip
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The waiter was nice but not efficient. We sat down at 7:15 and ordered wine which we did not get until 8:50 (after finishing our meal) because the restaurant was out of clean wine glasses, the only "option" we got was to drink our red wine in champagne flutes. The manager did not think this was a big deal and did not offer apologies or for the wine to be complimentary. The kitchen is very slow and the restaurant loud. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Great food & service. Went for lunch. Th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food & service. Went for lunch. The server was Awsm, food was cooked to your spice liking, it was quick & delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food But not kid friendly- atmosph ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

great food But not kid friendly- atmosphere became like a bar- noisy too

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely phenomenal food, we were blow ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal food, we were blown away. Dined here on an opentable gift certificate and was glad I did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

solid choice

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Have been looking for a go to Thai place in Houston and I think this is it. Food was tasty and brought out quickly. Atmosphere was upscale but casual and setting of restaurant is in high end part of the Galleria.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nothing exceptional. Anothai beats Songk ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Nothing exceptional. Anothai beats Songkran on every level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

In a word, SUPERB!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Every time that I have visited Songkran Thai Kitchen, I give the establishment five stars. The food is always great, the service exemplary. Songkran is the kind of place that even on the worst of days, you can visit and feel welcomed, and well fed, all in the same time and space.

Keep doing what you are doing. An idea: expand your dessert menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor all around

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

It was really poor service, very slow and the order was wrong. For such a long wait we expected the food to be good and we were very disappointed in the quality (or lack there of)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Dining!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We love Songkran Thai Kitchen for the delicious dishes, wonderful service, lovely ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced, But Nice Atmosphere

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

This restaurant is overpriced and it is not traditional Thai food as well. However the atmosphere was pleasant. I would not spend $120 there again for two person dinner with two glasses of wine.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Poor service

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Have been here 4 times and never disappo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Have been here 4 times and never disappointed ! Food quality and consistency are unsurpassed. They have great adult beverages as well. Reasonable priced for the location in UpTown Park. Can't wait until our next visit !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

nice place, tasty

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We liked our food, but were disappointed that almost everything on their vegetarian menu wasn't available because they'd run out of key ingredients! But what we did have tasted great, and the service was very good. I think it was b/c it was a special occasion and they're not used to that many people in one night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible experience. Great food and t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Incredible experience. Great food and the atmosphere was sleek ,sexy, modern and inviting.

The food was authentic and full of flavor.

Plating was on point , colorful and vibrant.

Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been here twice. One planned and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I have been here twice. One planned and the other time was just a quick stop. The flavors of the dishes are AMAZING...Started with the chicken satay, then the curry lamb and duck dish! YUMYUMYUMMY! The second visit, we ordered the fried rice and a few drinks. So, why the 3stars? It was the service! Drinks were NOT good and SLOW coming out! Waitress did not know or have a good understanding of the menu! Hard to communicate with waitress, language barrier!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

delicious food, but tables/ambiance not optimal...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was delicious I must say, and some of the best Thai food I've had in Houston in the last 5 years! The tables are very close together and it took 45 minutes for us to be seated despite having a reservation, so could use some improvement there - also very loud. Good food though so worth trying out and prices are reasonable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Very good food and excellent service!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Very good food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great find in an overpriced neighborhood.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

3 course lunch a must. Great service & exceptional, fresh flavors. Creamy house made ice cream yummy. Chef/owner made sure all ran smoothly. Sit outside in back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always great! Staff is so fr ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The food is always great! Staff is so friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.