About Songkran Thai Kitchen - Galleria

1101 - 8 Uptown Park
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Songkran Thai Kitchen, located in Uptown Park, is known for its authentic and fresh Thai cuisine, its prime Galleria location, and of course its talented and gifted Chef Jett! Songkran delivers mouth-watering dishes that are traditionally Thai, but distinctively Chef Jett. He brings a unique blend of spices and sauces to the table, along with his signature dishes like Heavenly Beef, Crispy Red Snapper, Pad Thai and Green Curry Chicken with Thai Basil, to name a few. Drinks, you say? Cozy up to the fully-loaded bar, boasting a dynamic wine, liquor and signature drink list!
Songkran is a celebration of food, drink and camaraderie in an upscale atmosphere!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday- Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

HAPPY HOUR: Monday - Friday: 3pm - 6pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 993-9096

Website:
http://www.songkranthaikitchen.com/

Catering:
We will help make your event extraordinary at an offsite location of your choice. Chef Jett and our events team will create a customized menu based on your vision. We also provide bartenders and complete staff to make your celebration or event an experience you will never forget. Our authentic Thai fare and exceptional service are ideal for a wide range of events.

Parking Details:
Songkran offers complimentary valet service at dining hours. Street parking is also available right outside the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Chef Junnajet "Jett" Hurapan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Songkran Thai Kitchen - Galleria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Casual (12)
Authentic (11)
See All
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Business Meals (8)
Spicy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Romantic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant with contaminated

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The restaurant with contaminated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great service and very cool vibe. Great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great service and very cool vibe. Great patio for a beautiful day outside. Food was very good.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was really good from the fish ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything was really good from the fish to the ribs and pad Thai! The house special was the salmon and it was very different but delicious which is exactly what I wanted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was wonderful as always. They wer ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was wonderful as always. They were very accommodating with my friiend who has allergies and avoids heavy spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend this restaurant . Food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Highly recommend this restaurant . Food and service were awesome!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food and excellent value Excellent ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

good food and excellent value

Excellent lunch vakue

Service good

Convenient Location

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place is great for a quiet and prod ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This place is great for a quiet and productive business meal.

We got to take care of business while enjoying some of the best Thai food in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time eating at Songkr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This was our first time eating at Songkran. The waitress was very helpful and steered us toward great dishes. The snapper was outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It is always a nice evening and great se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It is always a nice evening and great service. Jem has taken care of me twice now and I enjoy my evening every time.

Thank you,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful food with fresh and quality in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2016

wonderful food with fresh and quality ingredient. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I generally don't like Thai food, but th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I generally don't like Thai food, but the food here was very good and looked good too. I recommend this place. Great food, great wait staff & great atmosphere. I will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and value although I dete ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and value although I detected sugar in some of the dishes, which the chef could definitely leave out.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time here. This time during Houston ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2016

2nd time here. This time during Houston Restaurant Weeks 2016. Great value! Tried frog leg appetizer & was surprised how tasty & juicy. Wagyu beef so tender & flavorful. Ended with sticky rice dessert. All superb. Be warned that as evening progressed & space filled up, noise level increased to almost prevent me & my companion from hear each other. Too bad. But that did not diminish the food experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was awesome, really good tastin ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was awesome, really good tasting entrees and appetizers (we had shrimps and beef noodles of the Restaurant Weeks Menu). The place is a little noisy, because it is very open (one big room) and dining seating is next to the bar. Also, it was a Friday evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyed both food and service. Looking ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Enjoyed both food and service. Looking forward to cooler weather to enjoy patio. Looks inviting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average food and unattentive waitress. I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Average food and unattentive waitress. I was hoping to have a fast dinner. Ordering, getting the food and paying took 1:15 hrs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Our favorite Thai restaurant in Houston. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite Thai restaurant in Houston. Fortunately, it is walkable for us so it has become a go to place to have dinner. The food has character...multiple levels of taste. The curry Wagu beef is outstanding as well as the Singapore noodles. Heat is based on 1 thru 4. For those that like taste but not a mouth burning experience...2 is a good number to start with.

Nice wines and ice cold beer to go with the Thai cuisine. If you like last minute choices, dining at the bar is a great option. Nice bartenders and ESPN!

They earn their great reviews.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

OUTSTANDING Thai food matched with warm, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

OUTSTANDING Thai food matched with warm, and gracious service. They were exceedingly accomodating and sincere. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Thai food. Not westernized

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Authentic Thai food. Not westernized

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Delicious! We thoroughly enjo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Absolutely Delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful 😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good. Whenever I have vis ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food is always good. Whenever I have visitors, I bring them to Songkran all the time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service!!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Fantastic food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome veggie menu and fantastic green ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Awesome veggie menu and fantastic green curry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Songkran had been our "to try" list for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Songkran had been our "to try" list for awhile after hearing positive reviews from friends that had experienced the restaurant. The Thai menu does a great job of staying authentic to the country, but without doing anything that feels too unexpected or uncomfortable. It's progressive, flavorful and modern, while retaining traditional flavors and dishes. We started with two appetizers: a soft shell crab with chili glaze (only complaint here was that there wasn't enough glaze - we could have asked for more sauce, but didn't), and a beef dish with sriracha sauce & egg on top. My husband ordered Pad Si-ew (one of his faves) for the main course and I chose a Yellow Curry - both were fantastic. Coupled with a great cocktail menu, and service to go along, we are definitely coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we love the food at this restaurant. th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 17, 2016

we love the food at this restaurant. this is my fourth time here and even recommended to co workers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the innovative yet recognizable ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Enjoyed the innovative yet recognizable dishes. Definitely coming back. Wish the waiter had been more attentive but he eventually found his service hat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

The chicken curry was pretty good. The ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The chicken curry was pretty good. The service was subpar.. The server seemed disconnected, uninterested, and unfamiliar with the menu and wine list.. The food had to be auctioned (major pet peeve). It seemed that we had to look around for the server, despite the place being half empty.. Overall, the food was good, while the service could use some improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Fantastic meal. We went with another co ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Fantastic meal. We went with another couple, shared four appetizers and four small entrees. They were all great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lunch specials are a good value and ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2016

The lunch specials are a good value and reasonable amount of food. The salad is especially good and fresh. The waitress recommended the short rib but my guest said the Heavenly Beef was better. There was nothing particularly Thai about the short rib.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I love coming to Songkran. W ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I love coming to Songkran. We enjoyed the food and our waiter (Phillip). We recommend coming here for good food and fun atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Mothers Day on the patio

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We visited the Sugar Land location not too long after it opened and that place is a disaster. However, the Galleria location is good enough for another visit. Food was flavorful and well prepared. Service wasnt horrible, but could have been better. Not bad for a last minute Mothers Day reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The waiter was nice but not efficient. W ...

vip
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The waiter was nice but not efficient. We sat down at 7:15 and ordered wine which we did not get until 8:50 (after finishing our meal) because the restaurant was out of clean wine glasses, the only "option" we got was to drink our red wine in champagne flutes. The manager did not think this was a big deal and did not offer apologies or for the wine to be complimentary. The kitchen is very slow and the restaurant loud. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Great food & service. Went for lunch. Th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food & service. Went for lunch. The server was Awsm, food was cooked to your spice liking, it was quick & delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food But not kid friendly- atmosph ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2016

great food But not kid friendly- atmosphere became like a bar- noisy too

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely phenomenal food, we were blow ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal food, we were blown away. Dined here on an opentable gift certificate and was glad I did!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

solid choice

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Have been looking for a go to Thai place in Houston and I think this is it. Food was tasty and brought out quickly. Atmosphere was upscale but casual and setting of restaurant is in high end part of the Galleria.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nothing exceptional. Anothai beats Songk ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Nothing exceptional. Anothai beats Songkran on every level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

In a word, SUPERB!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Every time that I have visited Songkran Thai Kitchen, I give the establishment five stars. The food is always great, the service exemplary. Songkran is the kind of place that even on the worst of days, you can visit and feel welcomed, and well fed, all in the same time and space.

Keep doing what you are doing. An idea: expand your dessert menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor all around

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2016

It was really poor service, very slow and the order was wrong. For such a long wait we expected the food to be good and we were very disappointed in the quality (or lack there of)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Dining!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2016

We love Songkran Thai Kitchen for the delicious dishes, wonderful service, lovely ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.