About Sol Grill

110 McFadden Place
Newport Beach, CA 92663
View Larger Map

Sol Grill is your destination for the quintessential Southern California dining experience. Family owned and operated. Small, quaint, cozy. Delicious award winning food, great wine and superb service. Candle lit tables, art adorned red walls and antique lighting create a warm environment. It's the perfect backdrop for any occasion. See what the locals have known and enjoyed for the last 10 years.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 723-4105

Website:
http://www.solgrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Happy Hour, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sol Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Orange County
Best Value
South Orange County
American
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

fit for foodies (16)
neighborhood gem (15)
romantic (14)
See All
special occasion (9)
good for groups (5)
scenic view (4)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
notable wine list (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Friendly staff always checking and makin ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Friendly staff always checking and making sure you are ok! Food was delicious!!! My husband and I will be going back!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here a few times it and gets better ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Been here a few times it and gets better and better. Staff is great and the food is better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was atrocious :-( ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was atrocious :-( Zero Stars would be appropriate.

We had made reservations for 5 people -- yet they put us on a table for 4 with an additional plastic chair.

Then they supposedly lost our ticket in the kitchen and only realized that after not having brought ANY food except bread to the table for over an hour.

When clearing the table the waitress dropped a mussel on one of our pants and instead of apologizing said "It's ok -- I'll pick it up later"

They had promised us a free deserts to make up for it but never bothered to come ask us what we wanted or brought any.

We had guests from overseas and utter disappointment basically sums up the experience of 2.5+ hours, that is the time it took from getting seated, appetizer,main course and getting the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Mozzarella salad, seafood pasta & sword ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Mozzarella salad, seafood pasta & sword fish amazing.....steak just so so...will be back!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Wine could b ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent service and food. Wine could be more chilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal of vacation. Our family went ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Best meal of vacation. Our family went here on our first day of vacation and celebrated my husband's birthday. Even though this place is tiny (only about 25 seats) the food and service were outstanding. We split the mussels and there could have been a few more for the portion. I had the Salmon and my husband had the Ahi tuna, both were fabulous. The kids had the lobster ravioli and fettuccine alfredo which they both loved . We got to try them as well and you could taste how fresh & homemade they were. There was a larger table celebrating a birthday as well so it got a little noisy but didn't mind.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Fabulous again! My favorite neighborhood restaurant. We brought friends and now they love it too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walk into SolGrill and you'll feel like ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Walk into SolGrill and you'll feel like you've been transported to a more laid back and yet hip establishment in a place far from the typical Newport Beach scene. Romantic and eclectic with it's warm decor, it feels stylish without pretense.

We came for my daughter's 24th BDay and enjoyed the Sangria (perfectly refreshing, not too sweet) before dining on the Lobster Ravioli with shrimp, Jambalaya and Cioppino.

Misty (the owner) and Adriana made our dining experience easy and delicious.

I highly recommend their happy hour (all night) Tuesdays... $3 Sangrias and appetizers 1/2 price... The meatballs are a must. Go here!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable experience. Great menu choices ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyable experience. Great menu choices and very well prepared. Attentive staff. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We love going to Sol Grill. The food is ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We love going to Sol Grill. The food is delicious and the service is always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint & Yummy!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

We visit here every year while vacationing in area. Great happy hour with sangria and delicious & unique small plates. Love the filet mignon meatballs & mushrooms!!! Great value & delcious food. Misty (owner) is so welcoming & friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where's the beef?

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I had the 4 taco platter, chicken, carne asada, fish, and pork. I assumed I would be taking some home in a doggie bag. When they came I was surprised at how little meat was in the tacos, one to one and half bites of actual meat. The tacos where very good and flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and service. Definitely ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent food and service. Definitely one of best restaurants in Newport Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the meatball appetizer (awesome), ma ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Had the meatball appetizer (awesome), main course was seafood pasta which was hot, plentiful and full of flavor. Only downfall was the Sangrea was a bit week, but not a show stopper. Definately worth coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Super find. Great food and ambiance clos ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Super find. Great food and ambiance close to beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrible

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Everything about the restaurant was terrible.

Server was nice but not professional. She worked 1 day every 2 weeks.

Forgot to set the table, food came out cold and was spotty.

Wine glasses were every shape and size. Need Restaurant Impossible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food here is next level!!! Everythin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The food here is next level!!! Everything I've had is delicious!!!! If you're ever visiting Newport I highly suggest eating here and getting sangria with your meal! 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent service and great food

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

we often passed by and never dined in this restaurant. when we finally visited, we were pleasantly surprised. we will go back again for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm so grateful to have found this gem! ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I'm so grateful to have found this gem! Misty and team make you feel as if your part of the family. Small, cozy, absolutely delicious, with terrific service!

I'm so glad to be a distant "regular"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but noisy!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The food is top notch but unfortunately the noise from the bar next door dampened the overall experience. Small restuarant so you must make reservation. If you dont mind ALOT of noise this is the place for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A personal fav

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Always make it a point to visit this whoever in the s cal area. Food is really fresh and well prepared. Ambiance and service are both lovely. It's clearly well loved by locals.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Rare Find

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This precious artistic culinary find will not disappoint. Food is consistently great! Try the filet mignon meatballs....amazing! The owner, Misty, is down to earth, friendly and makes you feel at home.

Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hush hush, this is Newport's best kept secret

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very cozy and embracing ambiance and service... You just feel like you know the owner and are treated accordingly. As for the food... Oh man. I typically get the filet with portobello mushrooms and am always tempted to order another to go just so I can have it over the following days.

Unreal, this place is the best. I feel like they are completely undercharging for the quality of food and experience that you receive.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best value restaurant in New Port Beach

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

What can I say. Great foot, large portions, friendly and attentive staff and all for a very reasonable price. We could not have been happier with our dinner and overall experience. Definitely will come back again and recommend to our friends. The mushroom appetizer was truly gargantuan and could easily have been split by 4 or 5 people. They told us about their 'No Corkage Fee Thursdays and we will definitely try to come for that next time. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific dinner !!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

A real diamond of a place. Small and intimate but the food is also very very good. Started with Filet Mignon meatballs which I would HIGHLY recommend. The ahi tuna main course was wonderful as well. The waitress was extremely helpful and knowledgable about the wine and was perfect in giving our table the proper attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

just okay

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

It wasn't as good as I was hoping. Very casual feel. Food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Misty's the sparkle on this diamond restaurant!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

It is always such a treat to go to the Sol – whether with six or eight for a birthday or just for a relaxing dinner for one or two. Misty always treats each customer like a family friend. The drinks are wonderful and the food fantastic with three of my favorites being the Lobster Ravioli, the Meatloaf (yes I said Meatloaf!) and their signature Ahi Chowder! This savory soup delight says “cup” and “bowl” on the menu when it should say “large bowl” and “Tureen” as the portions are extraordinary!

I highly recommend this local gem - the Sol Grill!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous As Usual!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We LOVE this place. Never a disappointment . Fabulous staff, food and location !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, everything on the menu is a must try!!!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

This is my favorite place to go to for a romantic great dinner option night. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to try!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

This place was a little hard to spot, but we found it and we're glad we did. Staff is great, appetizers and dinner were awesome. Try the fillet meatloaf if you like beef.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience is on point

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Right when you enter Sol Grill, you immediately get the feel of a comfy little restaurant. With the Newport pier right next to it, it's a perfect place for a date night or a group gathering. The food is priced well for its quality. I ordered the Chicken Penne which was delicious; their red sauce is really good. Friends ordered the linguine which the place is known for and agreed that it was also really delicious. Service was adequate. Overall I would visit again and I enjoyed dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

You cannot pick your neighbors

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

ecclectic place with noisy bar next door. Creative menu with good execution. Halibut well prepared. Large starter salad shared by two. well worth the trip. they plan on moving in the future to distance the noisey neighbors. Still worth having dinner there in present location

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A warm and cozy restaurant , especially ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

A warm and cozy restaurant , especially on a chilly n windy night. The food was pretty good, especially the ahi chowder, the mussels n clams in broth appetizer, the mahi mahi n cioppino entrees.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love love this place!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Awesome servers and everyone who works there so friendly and nice! Greg was our server this trip and he was awesome! We have been there several times and all the servers are great! Love the ambiance and the food is soooo good! Must try the fillet mignon meatballs and lobster ravioli! Can't go wrong with this place it's consistently fantastic! :)))

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and sangria!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We went here for our 2 year anniversary and it was excellent! We started with a pitcher of sangria and ordered the tiger shrimp as an appetizer. For dinner I my girlfriend had the salmon and I had the halibut. Everything was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Sol meatballs were amazing and Gregg ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The Sol meatballs were amazing and Gregg provided great service! Also, the sangria is a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect, Intimate Date Spot.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Great, intimate first date spot. Enjoyed an amazing dinner and ambiance. Sangria was fantastic. Filet Mignon meatballs were a unique and enjoyable culinary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very Nice

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Sol Grill. From beginning to end, food and service was all wonderful. We will definitely return and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a treat, a non-franchised restauran ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

What a treat, a non-franchised restaurant, with a chef that has great taste!!!

Just a true gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

So Amazing

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

The parking situation is a bit of a pain, however, once this was settled we walked into a gorgeous, though tiny restaurant. My companion had her heart set on the meatballs as an appetizer, and I'm a fan of cheesy garlic bread. Together, they were amazing. Flat out the best meatballs I've had in an eternity. The service (provided, possibly by an owner) was outstanding, she was helpful and answered all of our questions. I settled on a cajun pasta and it was divine - so much chicken, sausage and vegetables I couldn't finish. The restaurant is small, so I would recommend a reservation (Open Table only had two left about three hours ahead of dinner hours), as the small space fills up quickly.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g32780-d680022-r317899574-Sol_Grill-Newport_Beach_California.html#

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.