About Sol Grill

110 McFadden Place
Newport Beach, CA 92663
View Larger Map

Sol Grill is your destination for the quintessential Southern California dining experience. Family owned and operated. Small, quaint, cozy. Delicious award winning food, great wine and superb service. Candle lit tables, art adorned red walls and antique lighting create a warm environment. It's the perfect backdrop for any occasion. See what the locals have known and enjoyed for the last 10 years.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 723-4105

Website:
http://www.solgrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Happy Hour, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sol Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Orange County
American
Orange County
Best Value
South Orange County
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
South Orange County
American
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

neighborhood gem (20)
fit for foodies (19)
romantic (11)
See All
special occasion (8)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
good for groups (2)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
hot spot (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

Enjoyable experience. Great menu choices ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyable experience. Great menu choices and very well prepared. Attentive staff. We'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

We love going to Sol Grill. The food is ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love going to Sol Grill. The food is delicious and the service is always excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint & Yummy!

Dined on April 14, 2016

We visit here every year while vacationing in area. Great happy hour with sangria and delicious & unique small plates. Love the filet mignon meatballs & mushrooms!!! Great value & delcious food. Misty (owner) is so welcoming & friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Where's the beef?

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I had the 4 taco platter, chicken, carne asada, fish, and pork. I assumed I would be taking some home in a doggie bag. When they came I was surprised at how little meat was in the tacos, one to one and half bites of actual meat. The tacos where very good and flavorful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Definitely ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent food and service. Definitely one of best restaurants in Newport Beach.

food5
ambience4
service5

Had the meatball appetizer (awesome), ma ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Had the meatball appetizer (awesome), main course was seafood pasta which was hot, plentiful and full of flavor. Only downfall was the Sangrea was a bit week, but not a show stopper. Definately worth coming back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Super find. Great food and ambiance clos ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Super find. Great food and ambiance close to beach

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Terrible

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Everything about the restaurant was terrible. Server was nice but not professional. She worked 1 day every 2 weeks. Forgot to set the table, food came out cold and was spotty. Wine glasses were every shape and size. Need Restaurant Impossible!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is next level!!! Everythin ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food here is next level!!! Everything I've had is delicious!!!! If you're ever visiting Newport I highly suggest eating here and getting sangria with your meal! 😀

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent service and great food

Dined on March 13, 2016

we often passed by and never dined in this restaurant. when we finally visited, we were pleasantly surprised. we will go back again for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm so grateful to have found this gem! ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I'm so grateful to have found this gem! Misty and team make you feel as if your part of the family. Small, cozy, absolutely delicious, with terrific service! I'm so glad to be a distant "regular"!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food but noisy!

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food is top notch but unfortunately the noise from the bar next door dampened the overall experience. Small restuarant so you must make reservation. If you dont mind ALOT of noise this is the place for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A personal fav

Dined on February 18, 2016

Always make it a point to visit this whoever in the s cal area. Food is really fresh and well prepared. Ambiance and service are both lovely. It's clearly well loved by locals.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Rare Find

Dined on February 15, 2016

This precious artistic culinary find will not disappoint. Food is consistently great! Try the filet mignon meatballs....amazing! The owner, Misty, is down to earth, friendly and makes you feel at home. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hush hush, this is Newport's best kept secret

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very cozy and embracing ambiance and service... You just feel like you know the owner and are treated accordingly. As for the food... Oh man. I typically get the filet with portobello mushrooms and am always tempted to order another to go just so I can have it over the following days. Unreal, this place is the best. I feel like they are completely undercharging for the quality of food and experience that you receive.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

By far the best value restaurant in New Port Beach

Dined on February 6, 2016

What can I say. Great foot, large portions, friendly and attentive staff and all for a very reasonable price. We could not have been happier with our dinner and overall experience. Definitely will come back again and recommend to our friends. The mushroom appetizer was truly gargantuan and could easily have been split by 4 or 5 people. They told us about their 'No Corkage Fee Thursdays and we will definitely try to come for that next time. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific dinner !!

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

A real diamond of a place. Small and intimate but the food is also very very good. Started with Filet Mignon meatballs which I would HIGHLY recommend. The ahi tuna main course was wonderful as well. The waitress was extremely helpful and knowledgable about the wine and was perfect in giving our table the proper attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

just okay

Dined on January 31, 2016

It wasn't as good as I was hoping. Very casual feel. Food was just okay.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Misty's the sparkle on this diamond restaurant!

Dined on January 29, 2016

It is always such a treat to go to the Sol – whether with six or eight for a birthday or just for a relaxing dinner for one or two. Misty always treats each customer like a family friend. The drinks are wonderful and the food fantastic with three of my favorites being the Lobster Ravioli, the Meatloaf (yes I said Meatloaf!) and their signature Ahi Chowder! This savory soup delight says “cup” and “bowl” on the menu when it should say “large bowl” and “Tureen” as the portions are extraordinary! I highly recommend this local gem - the Sol Grill!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous As Usual!

Dined on January 24, 2016

We LOVE this place. Never a disappointment . Fabulous staff, food and location !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, everything on the menu is a must try!!!

Dined on January 24, 2016

This is my favorite place to go to for a romantic great dinner option night. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to try!

Dined on January 20, 2016

This place was a little hard to spot, but we found it and we're glad we did. Staff is great, appetizers and dinner were awesome. Try the fillet meatloaf if you like beef.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Ambience is on point

Dined on December 31, 2015

Right when you enter Sol Grill, you immediately get the feel of a comfy little restaurant. With the Newport pier right next to it, it's a perfect place for a date night or a group gathering. The food is priced well for its quality. I ordered the Chicken Penne which was delicious; their red sauce is really good. Friends ordered the linguine which the place is known for and agreed that it was also really delicious. Service was adequate. Overall I would visit again and I enjoyed dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

You cannot pick your neighbors

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

ecclectic place with noisy bar next door. Creative menu with good execution. Halibut well prepared. Large starter salad shared by two. well worth the trip. they plan on moving in the future to distance the noisey neighbors. Still worth having dinner there in present location

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A warm and cozy restaurant , especially ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

A warm and cozy restaurant , especially on a chilly n windy night. The food was pretty good, especially the ahi chowder, the mussels n clams in broth appetizer, the mahi mahi n cioppino entrees.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love this place!

Dined on November 21, 2015

Awesome servers and everyone who works there so friendly and nice! Greg was our server this trip and he was awesome! We have been there several times and all the servers are great! Love the ambiance and the food is soooo good! Must try the fillet mignon meatballs and lobster ravioli! Can't go wrong with this place it's consistently fantastic! :)))

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and sangria!

Dined on November 8, 2015

We went here for our 2 year anniversary and it was excellent! We started with a pitcher of sangria and ordered the tiger shrimp as an appetizer. For dinner I my girlfriend had the salmon and I had the halibut. Everything was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The Sol meatballs were amazing and Gregg ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

The Sol meatballs were amazing and Gregg provided great service! Also, the sangria is a must have.

food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect, Intimate Date Spot.

Dined on November 7, 2015

Great, intimate first date spot. Enjoyed an amazing dinner and ambiance. Sangria was fantastic. Filet Mignon meatballs were a unique and enjoyable culinary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Nice

Dined on November 7, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Sol Grill. From beginning to end, food and service was all wonderful. We will definitely return and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

What a treat, a non-franchised restauran ...

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

What a treat, a non-franchised restaurant, with a chef that has great taste!!! Just a true gem.

food5
ambience5
service5

So Amazing

Dined on October 10, 2015

The parking situation is a bit of a pain, however, once this was settled we walked into a gorgeous, though tiny restaurant. My companion had her heart set on the meatballs as an appetizer, and I'm a fan of cheesy garlic bread. Together, they were amazing. Flat out the best meatballs I've had in an eternity. The service (provided, possibly by an owner) was outstanding, she was helpful and answered all of our questions. I settled on a cajun pasta and it was divine - so much chicken, sausage and vegetables I couldn't finish. The restaurant is small, so I would recommend a reservation (Open Table only had two left about three hours ahead of dinner hours), as the small space fills up quickly. http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g32780-d680022-r317899574-Sol_Grill-Newport_Beach_California.html#

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

A wonderful dining experience! The service was perfect, the Sangrias excellent, the food delectable and the atmosphere relaxing. We can't wait to return!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Sol Grill is always fabulous !

Dined on October 4, 2015

Sol Grill is always fabulous !

food5
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious. But the atmosphe ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

The food was delicious. But the atmosphere was very romantic...

food5
ambience5
service5

We could only choose one place.

Dined on September 7, 2015

We could only choose one place to have a nice dinner on our short trip to Newport Beach. One evening for a nice relaxing dinner instead of the younger bar scene that was happening all around. This place nailed it for us. It was quieter than expected and the atmosphere was nice. This place was all about great friendly service. The food was awesome with all of our choices being a surprise of great taste. Delicious! Prices were very fair. Don't hesitate to try it.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Never lets us down!

Dined on September 6, 2015

Fabulous as usual! Great food, service, love this place! We are always satisfied here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

Good meatball appetizers

Dined on August 17, 2015

Reservations are a must! No parking, plan to walk and pay 20.00 for lot or metered cheaper. Its very tiny inside. Its interesting decor for the beach! There is a large bar that seats about 5 but its a pretty tight squeeze next to 2 long tables that seat 10-12 people each, also 2 to 3 tables that seat 4 people and about 4 tables that seat 2 people. Its not great for large parties or kids because it will get loud quickly. Plan on sharing a table. 4 ceiling fans, no open windows and it got hot quickly...appetizers good, feticini alfredo was tasty, just soupy.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for our date night

Dined on August 16, 2015

My wife and I don't get a lot of alone time having 2 children and no family in SoCal so we value our alone time when we can get it. Sol Kitchen was perfect for a recent date night. Food was great, drinks were great, and it has the feel of a small hole in the wall (with a great atmosphere) in a very busy area. The staff was also very friendly. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience2
service3

Good food and that's about it

Dined on August 2, 2015

We went there on a recommendation and it has good reviews on yelp. I was a little concerned by the the look of it. It appeared a little run down, old, faded, etc. Upon entering my group noticed that it was extremely hot, no air conditioning on. We thought about leaving but decided to stick it out. My kids ordered sprite and my husband a beer. They had no sprite and not the beer my husband asked for. My kids had to drink water bc they didn't have anything else without caffeine and I don't allow them caffeine. My husband ordered his second beer that they didn't have. He ended up with one he really didn't want but it's what they had. The server was kind enough to give it to him free. The food took a long time coming but once it finally got to us it was good. I probably wouldn't go again even tho the food is worth another visit. The ambience and service is not. Sorry Sol Grill. You gotta step it up!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.