About Sol Grill

110 McFadden Place
Newport Beach, CA 92663
View Larger Map

Sol Grill is your destination for the quintessential Southern California dining experience. Family owned and operated. Small, quaint, cozy. Delicious award winning food, great wine and superb service. Candle lit tables, art adorned red walls and antique lighting create a warm environment. It's the perfect backdrop for any occasion. See what the locals have known and enjoyed for the last 10 years.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 723-4105

Website:
http://www.solgrill.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Happy Hour, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Sol Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Orange County
Best Value
South Orange County
Neighborhood Gem
South Orange County
1 More
American
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

neighborhood gem (18)
fit for foodies (15)
romantic (12)
See All
special occasion (8)
late-night find (3)
good for groups (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
hot spot (1)
great for brunch (1)
notable wine list (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The service was atrocious :-( ...

Dined 7 days ago

The service was atrocious :-( Zero Stars would be appropriate. We had made reservations for 5 people -- yet they put us on a table for 4 with an additional plastic chair. Then they supposedly lost our ticket in the kitchen and only realized that after not having brought ANY food except bread to the table for over an hour. When clearing the table the waitress dropped a mussel on one of our pants and instead of apologizing said "It's ok -- I'll pick it up later" They had promised us a free deserts to make up for it but never bothered to come ask us what we wanted or brought any. We had guests from overseas and utter disappointment basically sums up the experience of 2.5+ hours, that is the time it took from getting seated, appetizer,main course and getting the check.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mozzarella salad, seafood pasta & sword ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Mozzarella salad, seafood pasta & sword fish amazing.....steak just so so...will be back!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Wine could b ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent service and food. Wine could be more chilled.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on May 30, 2016

Fabulous again! My favorite neighborhood restaurant. We brought friends and now they love it too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Walk into SolGrill and you'll feel like ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Walk into SolGrill and you'll feel like you've been transported to a more laid back and yet hip establishment in a place far from the typical Newport Beach scene. Romantic and eclectic with it's warm decor, it feels stylish without pretense. We came for my daughter's 24th BDay and enjoyed the Sangria (perfectly refreshing, not too sweet) before dining on the Lobster Ravioli with shrimp, Jambalaya and Cioppino. Misty (the owner) and Adriana made our dining experience easy and delicious. I highly recommend their happy hour (all night) Tuesdays... $3 Sangrias and appetizers 1/2 price... The meatballs are a must. Go here!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Enjoyable experience. Great menu choices ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyable experience. Great menu choices and very well prepared. Attentive staff. We'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

We love going to Sol Grill. The food is ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love going to Sol Grill. The food is delicious and the service is always excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint & Yummy!

Dined on April 14, 2016

We visit here every year while vacationing in area. Great happy hour with sangria and delicious & unique small plates. Love the filet mignon meatballs & mushrooms!!! Great value & delcious food. Misty (owner) is so welcoming & friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Where's the beef?

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I had the 4 taco platter, chicken, carne asada, fish, and pork. I assumed I would be taking some home in a doggie bag. When they came I was surprised at how little meat was in the tacos, one to one and half bites of actual meat. The tacos where very good and flavorful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Definitely ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent food and service. Definitely one of best restaurants in Newport Beach.

food5
ambience4
service5

Had the meatball appetizer (awesome), ma ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Had the meatball appetizer (awesome), main course was seafood pasta which was hot, plentiful and full of flavor. Only downfall was the Sangrea was a bit week, but not a show stopper. Definately worth coming back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Super find. Great food and ambiance clos ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Super find. Great food and ambiance close to beach

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Terrible

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Everything about the restaurant was terrible. Server was nice but not professional. She worked 1 day every 2 weeks. Forgot to set the table, food came out cold and was spotty. Wine glasses were every shape and size. Need Restaurant Impossible!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food here is next level!!! Everythin ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food here is next level!!! Everything I've had is delicious!!!! If you're ever visiting Newport I highly suggest eating here and getting sangria with your meal! 😀

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent service and great food

Dined on March 13, 2016

we often passed by and never dined in this restaurant. when we finally visited, we were pleasantly surprised. we will go back again for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm so grateful to have found this gem! ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I'm so grateful to have found this gem! Misty and team make you feel as if your part of the family. Small, cozy, absolutely delicious, with terrific service! I'm so glad to be a distant "regular"!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food but noisy!

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food is top notch but unfortunately the noise from the bar next door dampened the overall experience. Small restuarant so you must make reservation. If you dont mind ALOT of noise this is the place for you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A personal fav

Dined on February 18, 2016

Always make it a point to visit this whoever in the s cal area. Food is really fresh and well prepared. Ambiance and service are both lovely. It's clearly well loved by locals.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Rare Find

Dined on February 15, 2016

This precious artistic culinary find will not disappoint. Food is consistently great! Try the filet mignon meatballs....amazing! The owner, Misty, is down to earth, friendly and makes you feel at home. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hush hush, this is Newport's best kept secret

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very cozy and embracing ambiance and service... You just feel like you know the owner and are treated accordingly. As for the food... Oh man. I typically get the filet with portobello mushrooms and am always tempted to order another to go just so I can have it over the following days. Unreal, this place is the best. I feel like they are completely undercharging for the quality of food and experience that you receive.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

By far the best value restaurant in New Port Beach

Dined on February 6, 2016

What can I say. Great foot, large portions, friendly and attentive staff and all for a very reasonable price. We could not have been happier with our dinner and overall experience. Definitely will come back again and recommend to our friends. The mushroom appetizer was truly gargantuan and could easily have been split by 4 or 5 people. They told us about their 'No Corkage Fee Thursdays and we will definitely try to come for that next time. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific dinner !!

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

A real diamond of a place. Small and intimate but the food is also very very good. Started with Filet Mignon meatballs which I would HIGHLY recommend. The ahi tuna main course was wonderful as well. The waitress was extremely helpful and knowledgable about the wine and was perfect in giving our table the proper attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

just okay

Dined on January 31, 2016

It wasn't as good as I was hoping. Very casual feel. Food was just okay.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Misty's the sparkle on this diamond restaurant!

Dined on January 29, 2016

It is always such a treat to go to the Sol – whether with six or eight for a birthday or just for a relaxing dinner for one or two. Misty always treats each customer like a family friend. The drinks are wonderful and the food fantastic with three of my favorites being the Lobster Ravioli, the Meatloaf (yes I said Meatloaf!) and their signature Ahi Chowder! This savory soup delight says “cup” and “bowl” on the menu when it should say “large bowl” and “Tureen” as the portions are extraordinary! I highly recommend this local gem - the Sol Grill!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous As Usual!

Dined on January 24, 2016

We LOVE this place. Never a disappointment . Fabulous staff, food and location !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, everything on the menu is a must try!!!

Dined on January 24, 2016

This is my favorite place to go to for a romantic great dinner option night. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to try!

Dined on January 20, 2016

This place was a little hard to spot, but we found it and we're glad we did. Staff is great, appetizers and dinner were awesome. Try the fillet meatloaf if you like beef.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Ambience is on point

Dined on December 31, 2015

Right when you enter Sol Grill, you immediately get the feel of a comfy little restaurant. With the Newport pier right next to it, it's a perfect place for a date night or a group gathering. The food is priced well for its quality. I ordered the Chicken Penne which was delicious; their red sauce is really good. Friends ordered the linguine which the place is known for and agreed that it was also really delicious. Service was adequate. Overall I would visit again and I enjoyed dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

You cannot pick your neighbors

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

ecclectic place with noisy bar next door. Creative menu with good execution. Halibut well prepared. Large starter salad shared by two. well worth the trip. they plan on moving in the future to distance the noisey neighbors. Still worth having dinner there in present location

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A warm and cozy restaurant , especially ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

A warm and cozy restaurant , especially on a chilly n windy night. The food was pretty good, especially the ahi chowder, the mussels n clams in broth appetizer, the mahi mahi n cioppino entrees.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love love this place!

Dined on November 21, 2015

Awesome servers and everyone who works there so friendly and nice! Greg was our server this trip and he was awesome! We have been there several times and all the servers are great! Love the ambiance and the food is soooo good! Must try the fillet mignon meatballs and lobster ravioli! Can't go wrong with this place it's consistently fantastic! :)))

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and sangria!

Dined on November 8, 2015

We went here for our 2 year anniversary and it was excellent! We started with a pitcher of sangria and ordered the tiger shrimp as an appetizer. For dinner I my girlfriend had the salmon and I had the halibut. Everything was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The Sol meatballs were amazing and Gregg ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

The Sol meatballs were amazing and Gregg provided great service! Also, the sangria is a must have.

food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect, Intimate Date Spot.

Dined on November 7, 2015

Great, intimate first date spot. Enjoyed an amazing dinner and ambiance. Sangria was fantastic. Filet Mignon meatballs were a unique and enjoyable culinary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Nice

Dined on November 7, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Sol Grill. From beginning to end, food and service was all wonderful. We will definitely return and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

What a treat, a non-franchised restauran ...

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

What a treat, a non-franchised restaurant, with a chef that has great taste!!! Just a true gem.

food5
ambience5
service5

So Amazing

Dined on October 10, 2015

The parking situation is a bit of a pain, however, once this was settled we walked into a gorgeous, though tiny restaurant. My companion had her heart set on the meatballs as an appetizer, and I'm a fan of cheesy garlic bread. Together, they were amazing. Flat out the best meatballs I've had in an eternity. The service (provided, possibly by an owner) was outstanding, she was helpful and answered all of our questions. I settled on a cajun pasta and it was divine - so much chicken, sausage and vegetables I couldn't finish. The restaurant is small, so I would recommend a reservation (Open Table only had two left about three hours ahead of dinner hours), as the small space fills up quickly. http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g32780-d680022-r317899574-Sol_Grill-Newport_Beach_California.html#

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

A wonderful dining experience! The service was perfect, the Sangrias excellent, the food delectable and the atmosphere relaxing. We can't wait to return!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Sol Grill is always fabulous !

Dined on October 4, 2015

Sol Grill is always fabulous !

food5
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious. But the atmosphe ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

The food was delicious. But the atmosphere was very romantic...

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.