About SOL Cocina

15323 N. Scottsdale Rd Suite 195
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

The Best of Baja in the heart of North Scottsdale at the Scottsdale Quarter, SOL Cocina offers an upscale, yet inviting dining experience. Executive Chef Deborah Schneider, a James Beard nominated cookbook author and authority on authentic Mexican cuisine, has created a menu of contemporary and gourmet interpretations of coastal Baja dishes, including antojitos, street tacos, cocktels de mariscos and main entrees made with fresh seafood, wood grilled meats, local produce and salsas that are all made in-house daily. A variety of dishes are available vegetarian, vegan and gluten free. The vibrant bar offers inventive hand-made cocktails and more than 60 artisan tequilas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
Bar: Sunday - Thursday 11 am - 12:00 am, Friday & Saturday 11 am - 12:00 am
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00 to 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
Greenway Hayden Loop and Scottsdale Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 245-6708

Website:
http://solcocina.com/scottsdale/

Entertainment:
Live Acoustic Music:

Tuesday: 5:30 – 9:30 pm
Sunday: noon – 3:00 pm

Parking Details:
Parking is readily in the Scottsdale Quarter in the parking lot just south of SOL Cocina. There is also valet parking available directly across from SOL Cocina.

Executive Chef:
Deborah Schneider

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SOL Cocina has a private dining room, with a private bar. This room can be configured to accommodate large and small parties, up to 100 guests. For your event planning needs, please contact scottsdaleevents@solcocina.com.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you are planning a corporate dinner, a luncheon, or an intimate cocktail reception, SOL will deliver an unforgettable experience for you and your guests. We offer several private dining options including our patio, STONE private dining room, or the option of a full restaurant buyout.

SOL Cocina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (33)
fit for foodies (26)
great for lunch (24)
See All
good for groups (22)
hot spot (17)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for brunch (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
special occasion (12)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (6)
romantic (4)
 (3)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter Brandon was great. Food and d ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter Brandon was great. Food and drinks were amazing. The only negative I had was it was loud. There were 5 of us at our table located between the bar and kitchen and we couldn't hear each other. Other than that, it was a great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well prepared meals

Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I took out of town visitors here as they wanted Mexican food. This was our first visit and we found the service and food to be perfect for our occasion. Rather than the typical thrown together Mex food, we loved the food as it was with a high quality taste, fair value, well presented and a long satisfying taste. Loved the grilled corn... I think drink prices were a bit high and so our next visit will be at happy hour. Last, food had a bit of spice just as we all liked it, and the pickled and grilled jalapeños (on the side of the main dishes) were my favorite. We will return in a week or two just to see if this restaurant is consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4

The French toast is amazing, the shrimp ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The French toast is amazing, the shrimp and crab cake Benedict too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why did it take me so long to get to SOL?

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

I really don't know why it took me so long to eat at Sol. It is in my favorite area that I go to all of the time. Sol, in a word, is fantastic and the best "Mexican" food I have had in a long time. It is fresh, original, creative, good, just spicy enough, etc. We will go back....for sure. Oh..out server Rodrigo was so great. And fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is average

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The can do a lot better on food quality. We had the fish tacos. Could not taste the fish

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't wait to go back!!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Can't wait to go back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not your average Mexican restaurant....

Dined on April 15, 2016

Not the typical Sonoran Mexican cuisine covered in cheese and grease. If you're looking for an inspirational and original menu than Sol is your place. Creative, fresh, delicious and healthy selections are found throughout the menu. Blackberry ginger margarita is a nice drink. Handmade without any sugary mixers. The calamari appetizer was different from anything I've ever had - absolutely delicious! A beautiful interior plus a fun patio to enjoy the cool evenings. Not sure why restaurants think their guests enjoy a loud environment for dining. Lately we have noticed they are so loud you are shouting to talk at your table. I will say on the night we dined at Sol it was not overly crowded and thereby not too loud. We were able to converse with our guests fairly easily. A reservation is recommended to dine at the time of your choice. Enjoy!!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional in every way. What a find! Delicious!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Incredible restaurant, service, food. Attention given 110% and so appreciative of this.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Bloody Mary

Dined on April 2, 2016

The Bloody Mary was pretty good--and I'm picky about Bloody Mary's. The Michaelada was okay.. Huevos Rancheros was amazing and their chips and salsa are salty, crispy, and spicy (all meant positively). The waitress was a little over-eager, but I'm sure some people love that. It was a little pricy for Mexican food but that's the price you pay for being at The Quarter.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great meal!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were a group of nine. They accommodated us on the patio. It was a great experience all around.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was not as good as past experiences.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was not as good as previous experiences. Not as authentic.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Lukewarm All Around

Dined on March 24, 2016

The service was very fast, maybe a little too fast, as our food was just warm. If you're looking for traditional Mexican food, this isn't it. They seem to pride themselves on that, but the results were so-so. It was hard to find the avocado in their signature guacamole, for example, but there was plenty of trendy ingredients. The drinks weren't bad, but clearly the alcoholic parts were very measured. This is really just another chain restaurant with young, cocky wait staff, mediocre food and lines out the door. Next time, I'll be looking for some real food served by wait staff that takes a genuine interest in more than just turning tables over. P.S. I have to be suspicious about the number of 5-star reviews with very short, one or two line reviews, with no specifics.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect as always!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Perfect as always!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

SOL Disappoints

Dined on March 16, 2016

we arrived on time (4:15 pm) and were seated. sat for several minutes while a small group of servers looked at us several times but never came to take an order for drinks or provide any greeting. I finally got up, went to the bartender and ordered drinks for us. I returned to the table with the drinks just as a server was engaging the rest of my party. time elapsed since we arrived was more than 20 minutes by now. reviewed the menu and was very surprised to see that a Mexican restaurant did not have any enchiladas other than goat cheese. the server finally attending to our table advised that the person assigned to our area was late and she was finally asked to look after us. she was very good and did her best to remove our initial impression of SOL. however, we were still extremely disappointed for being ignored for over 20 minutes and not being able to get the chicken enchiladas we had been salivating for. I suggest finding a different Mexican restaurant if looking for good service and typical Mexican food.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food - love the mango margaritas

Dined on March 10, 2016

A great Mexican in Scottsdale - definitely worth a visit. Busy, great atmosphere with fabulous food and great mango margaritas

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the first time here, so obviously we are fans.

Dined on March 9, 2016

A couple of friends joined us this visit and they were impressed with their meals as well as the ambiance. Staff were attentive and helpful. We keep coming back for the amazing calamari. This is the best calamari we have ever had, bar none. All the food is good and we purposely oder enough to take home. Food seems to be even better the next day after spending a night in the frig!.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

okay

Dined on March 7, 2016

Our sever was excellent, but the attempt to up sell on each item was annoying...just doing his job I suppose. Food was okay for the price, nothing outstanding. Outdoor dining area looks nice. Tortilla chips and salsa at beginning are delicious!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience1
service3

The food was very salty , nothing specia ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

The food was very salty , nothing special there are many better Mexican restaurants in ax

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Right ingredients, but not quite the right result.

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

In Phoenix area on business, craving Mexican food. 745 pm reservation for one on a Friday night. Boisterous crowd, suspect many had arrived during happy hour much earlier. Seated promptly, greeted promptly by server. Ordered a margarita, then ordered appetizer (chile gordo) and main (grouper on esquites). Waiting. Waiting. Waiting. Ordered another margarita which arrived about the same time as the app & main did. Bad timing is a pet peeve of mine; the POINT of appetizers is to come before the main, not crowd the table. And while the grouper was tasty, it was the largest piece of fish I have ever been served in my life. Not even close to finishing. And of course the size showed in the price: $42 (perhaps reflecting the scarcity of local grouper in Arizona). All in all, a tasty but very pricy meal that didn't quite hit the mark.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

Was excited to try Sol Cocina! Firstly, ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Was excited to try Sol Cocina! Firstly, we were a wee bit disappointed to have been told outdoor tables book up months in advance (just so you know). Our server, Ben, was okay....we had to ask for water refills and he wasn't very helpful with gluten free direction other than telling us the pork carnitas are safe. The cocktails were super yummy as was the food! The pork carnitas were excellent! We will try again!

food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Not very happy with service and food

Dined on February 15, 2016

* our server took such a long time taking order and we felt like we were ignored * he wasn't trained enough to I guess when we asked for salsa he forgot to bring it and we needed to tell him couple times to bring salsa * for main course - they ran out of black bean * dessert :- we ordered blondie la guera and in the description it says it is served with ice cream and when we asked about ice cream he told us that this location doesn't carry ice cream which was very hard to believe

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's day treat

Dined on February 15, 2016

Reservation honored immediately, several high top tables in the middle, we were near the windows in the front, nice view of the sunset. Server had a great personality and made many recommendations which were all very good. The a la carte tacos were excellent. Tried 4 different kinds. Cadillac Margarita was excellent. Great value as well. Make reservations early, tough to get a table between 6 and 7:30.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service2

Hey yelpers! How the heck Did this place ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Hey yelpers! How the heck Did this place get an average of four stars..... Our experience on 2/13/16 certainly wasn't anywhere close-even my two star rating is GENEROUS. In our reservation we asked for a quiet booth (it seems that many restaurants think it is trendy to be loud). The hostess didn't have one but said she'd seat us in a "quiet corner". Her definition and mine certainly aren't in alignment because to my right was a table of 12 (including 4 kids running around), behind me a table with a crying baby and two more tables with little kids completed the circle. Don't misunderstand, I'm not anti-kid but being surrounded by young restless families does not qualify as a "quiet corner." Next the food: we ordered two of their specialty margaritas and they tasted like the supermarket margarita mix over ice. Not at all what we were expecting. We ordered the acclaimed goat cheese appetizer (basically a scoop of low end cheese with a handful of peanuts on top)-VERY AVERAGE. At this point we decided to cut our losses and try to salvage the night some place else. After all why make a bad evening worse. I asked to speak with the manager, and he came to our table, just to give him a little feedback on our experience. That was also a bit disappointing. In most cases I've experienced, the manager tries to make some accommodation in a situation like this one. Instead he just made excuses for the average food and poorly trained staff. DISAPPOINTING ALL AROUND. I cannot recommend this restaurant, unless you are a family with small kids OR want to eat at the Mexican equivalent of Chuckee Cheese.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Simply the best

Dined on February 13, 2016

Have been before and will be back Love the menu-so many great options! Servers are well trained. Fun spot, loud but like that here too-it all works We'll be back

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful food. Interesting favors

Dined on February 12, 2016

Wonderful food. Interesting favors

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

2 nd time here and 1 at visit much better

Dined on February 7, 2016

I am here from Chicago for a month, a Scottsdale friend invited me here in Jan., and we had a wonderful experience! Service was spot on, food and drink excellent. This made me take 2 friends. Server seemed friendly yet didn't listen well, so we had a few errors. The patio where we sat wasn't as nice as when I previously sat inside.

food5
ambience4
service4

Sol has taken a unique approach to Mexic ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Sol has taken a unique approach to Mexican cuisine and they continue to impress with seafood and fresh flavor. Drinks are a bit expensive (I suppose that's to be expected in Scottsdale). The hot n raw ceviche with house made beet & sweet potato chips is the best. Goat cheese enchiladas are also a welcome surprise. They have a fun weekend brunch menu.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on February 1, 2016

Dined here with friends from out of town. We enjoyed the guacamole, sampled several delicious tacos, and happily sipped the house margaritas. The service was outstanding. I will surely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

MEDIOCRE FOOD. RAPID FIRE DELIVERY

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Based on reviews and looking at their extensive & wonderfully varied menu online, we were excited to go to SOL Cocina for our first time. However, upon arrival, they couldn't find our reservation (made on OpenTable) but after further search the came up with it. Then they took us to a high top table in the bar. I indicated that we didn't want to sit in the bar (there were plenty of open tables in the dining room) and after some discussion at the front desk we were given a dining room table. My ceviche, was mostly chopped tomatoes and chilies. My wife's tacos had to be eaten with a knife & fork (vs picking up) and my mojo de ajo shrimp contained only 4 shrimp for $29. We passed on dessert. While our server was very pleasant and helpful, the food delivery was so rapid fire that we were barely taking our last bite of one course when the next arrived. It felt like a glorified fast-food restaurant but definitely with upscale restaurant prices. We won't be back

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

This place was awful! We were seated and ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

This place was awful! We were seated and given our drinks. There was no chips or salsa in the entire restaurant. We ordered our food... Including guacamole which was a small portion for the price, think a cup and a half maybe for close to $10... All the food was super salty, just terrible. We see others getting served chips and salsa and our server tells us again there were none.... Finally arrives at the end of our meals. Find somewhere better!

food3
ambience1
service1

Horrible management. Don't ask for extr ...

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Horrible management. Don't ask for extra chips or salsa. Not a place to take friends or family for an enjoyable time. Worse dining experience in Phoenix/Scottsdale!

food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best Mexican food I have eve ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Some of the best Mexican food I have ever eaten. I highly recommend going to SOL Cocina.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite upscale Mexican food.

Dined on January 13, 2016

We love ceviche, gourmet tacos, and fantastic margaritas - this place ALL 3!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Unexpected...

vip
Dined on January 11, 2016

What a surprise...in a Mall! Beautiful poeple with beautiful food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best Mexican food

Dined on January 4, 2016

Best Mexican food restaurant in Scottsdale quarter!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice suprise!

Dined on January 3, 2016

After reading mixed reviews, we decided to take our group of 6 there for dinner. Our waiter - Israel - was awesome. He was so enthusiastic about the menu and our enjoyment that we mistook him for the manager. We ordered the calamari and their special guacamole - and both were outstanding. My 17 year old son - and calamari expert - said it was the best he'd ever had. Everyone was happy with their meal. We would definitely go back and would recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time there was a little warm but o ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Great time there was a little warm but overall vibe was good!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Surprised

Dined on January 1, 2016

Went here for New Year's Eve. It was a restaurant I chose after having to cancel a reservation elsewhere. The reason I wanted to come here was the fact they didn't have a set menu for this evening. The food was great, the drinks were weak, the desserts were yummy. Great service and we're pleased overall!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on January 1, 2016

This has become one of our favorite restaurants in Scottsdale. The food quality is always consistently above average. They offer a nice diverse menu. Service is always exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5

Not busy the night we had reservations, ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Not busy the night we had reservations, but they seated us next to a sliding glass walk that no one could apparently close and it was cold out. We asked to move and our server was super and moved us without question. Rest of the evening was awesome.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.