About SOL Cocina

15323 N. Scottsdale Rd Suite 195
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

The Best of Baja in the heart of North Scottsdale at the Scottsdale Quarter, SOL Cocina offers an upscale, yet inviting dining experience. Executive Chef Deborah Schneider, a James Beard nominated cookbook author and authority on authentic Mexican cuisine, has created a menu of contemporary and gourmet interpretations of coastal Baja dishes, including antojitos, street tacos, cocktels de mariscos and main entrees made with fresh seafood, wood grilled meats, local produce and salsas that are all made in-house daily. A variety of dishes are available vegetarian, vegan and gluten free. The vibrant bar offers inventive hand-made cocktails and more than 60 artisan tequilas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
Bar: Sunday - Thursday 11 am - 12:00 am, Friday & Saturday 11 am - 12:00 am
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00 to 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
Greenway Hayden Loop and Scottsdale Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 245-6708

Website:
http://solcocina.com/scottsdale/

Entertainment:
Live Acoustic Music:

Tuesday: 5:30 – 9:30 pm
Sunday: noon – 3:00 pm

Parking Details:
Parking is readily in the Scottsdale Quarter in the parking lot just south of SOL Cocina. There is also valet parking available directly across from SOL Cocina.

Executive Chef:
Deborah Schneider

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SOL Cocina has a private dining room, with a private bar. This room can be configured to accommodate large and small parties, up to 100 guests. For your event planning needs, please contact scottsdaleevents@solcocina.com.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you are planning a corporate dinner, a luncheon, or an intimate cocktail reception, SOL will deliver an unforgettable experience for you and your guests. We offer several private dining options including our patio, STONE private dining room, or the option of a full restaurant buyout.

SOL Cocina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Casual (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Romantic (4)
Tapas (4)
Spicy (4)
Authentic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (3)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Six of us for lunch at Sol Cocina. We we ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Six of us for lunch at Sol Cocina. We were not disappointed - great food, service and ambiance. We will be back. Highly recommend.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it! Always perfect. Great food, ta ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Loved it! Always perfect. Great food, tasty mexican, perfect service. You cannot complain here, but maybe a tad pricy for Mexican food. So just one complaint, but worth the price.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food and margaritas. We did a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious food and margaritas. We did a few of the tacos ala carte and enjoyed all of them. I don't like their chips but not a deal breaker.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Had heard good things about this restaur ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Had heard good things about this restaurant. Met friends for happy hour. Didn't have meals but ordered off the HH menu. Food was ok. So were drinks. Nothing outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great but lighting was a bit di ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was great but lighting was a bit dim, could barely read the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Awesome service, great food, yummy drink ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Awesome service, great food, yummy drinks, nice ambiance - overall a great restaurant! We've dined their twice, and will definitely go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful holiday season family ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a wonderful holiday season family dinner. Options for all veggie, beef eaters and calorie counters. Service outstanding, ask for Brittany, fully knowledgeable about menu and listens to what you like. Attentive but not interfearing. Liked it so much bought the gift card with bonus card. Authentic and well potioned. Will recommend and go back. Great location for walking around before or after. Enjoy!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a wonderful experience ... quali ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Overall a wonderful experience ... quality of food and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservations made, seated upon arrival i ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Reservations made, seated upon arrival in the bar area so we could enjoy happy hour pricing and menu. Server was top shelf and made great recommendations for us. Food was excellent and unique as usual. Always a great choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had my childhood friend in town for the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had my childhood friend in town for the weekend she absolutely loved it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the bar and enjoyed the chips ...

vip
·Dined on December 10, 2016

We sat at the bar and enjoyed the chips and salsas. We also ordered the chorizo, cheese and mushroom appetizer. It was very tasty. The margaritas were very good as well. Although, for 4 HOUSE margaritas and the appetizer, our check was $88. Not quite the "casual" lunch price we had in mind, but would recommend this restaurant as long as you don't mind to spend the $$$.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The only thing better than the service ( ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The only thing better than the service (top-notch) was the food which was excellent in all regards.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadly another Southwest cuisine fail. Le ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Sadly another Southwest cuisine fail. Let's start with my $15 Margarita...basically just their supposed homemade sour mix...maybe the bartender forgot the tequila. On to the food...the salsa's are bland at best, very little unique flavor, very little heat. Ordered 3 tacos, one shrimp, one yellowtail, one carnitas. Again nothing special flavor wise, in fact the dominant taste was that of a fried corn tortilla. At the end of the evening my wife and I had spent $122 on three tacos each and an order of very ordinary guacamole (includes the extra shots of tequila we had to order to make our margarita's drinkable).

The bummer here is that the menu IS creative and innovative...they just don't execute. And if the bar can't or won't make a better cocktail they won't last long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Tortilla soup disappointing.

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Tortilla soup disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Taco Tuesday! We used to sit outside to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Taco Tuesday! We used to sit outside to avoid the loud music, but now they're piping it out there. Oh well....

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

SOL Cucina WILL NOT disappoint! We were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

SOL Cucina WILL NOT disappoint! We were looking for a restaurant in Scottsdale and used Yelp for

our search. After reading the reviews we made a reservation and had dinner that night at SOL. Our server (Ben) was knowledgeable and attentative. The flavors were outstanding and they had a great variety of margaritas to choose from. I loved the menu. We can't to wait to go back!!

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great, she was attentive ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server was great, she was attentive and friendly. The food was decent but there are a lot of very good Mexican restaurants around. You go here for the location at the Scottsdale Quarter and the friendly vibe.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We went on a busy night and thety forgot ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went on a busy night and thety forgot our appetizer, which they comp'd after delivering it after our meals. Good food and drinks.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and drink. We loved everythi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food and drink. We loved everything we ordered. Our server was Gio and he was fantastic. Our only problem was the noise level....yikes! We had to shout at each other which made conversation very hard.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The food was not what I expected. Not r ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was not what I expected. Not really authentic Mexican food at all.

The Tres Leche Cake was nothing like the real Tres Leche Cake and at $9.00 a slice, it was a huge disappointment.

It was an okay evening. Glad we tried Sol. But I would not return. But it was packed, so obviously, other patrons have a different opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Liked this restaurant. The food was real ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Liked this restaurant. The food was really nice and satisfied everyone's tastebuds. Service was really good. Ambiance was really good. Totally recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love it! Had my Mom out from Seattle an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love it! Had my Mom out from Seattle and she thought it was fabulous. I'm just fortunate that I can go any day of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Starters and special are great the rest ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Starters and special are great the rest more average. Hot spicy is just average.

Nice cocktails, good wines but simple beer selection with just very few on draft.

... Happy Hour must be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Unique take on Mexican food and everyone ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Unique take on Mexican food and everyone liked their meals. The street tacos were excellent and just the right amount of food. The calamari appetizer was good as was the naked guacamole. Those that ordered burritos also gave high marks.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Guac, tacos are amazing but above ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great Guac, tacos are amazing but above all, the service was superb!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There food is excellent and the service ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 4, 2016

There food is excellent and the service was fabulous. The calamari and guacamole was super yummy. The Viper Taco was hot and delicious. Everything we tried was excellent flavor especially the corn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Nice atmosphere.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food! Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. Previous visit was v ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very disappointing. Previous visit was very positive. This time service was okay and seating way in the back was eh. Most importantly, food was bland. Not anxious to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is our go-to place for gourmet Mexi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This is our go-to place for gourmet Mexican food. Very interesting menu and good assortment of tacos.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a birthday celebration and was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Went for a birthday celebration and was a surprised to find it was Taco Tuesday!!! Great options and value. Margaritas are full sized, pint glass and perfectly balanced...refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The raw fish (hamachi and Ono) ceviche w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The raw fish (hamachi and Ono) ceviche was way too sour that Eve could not taste the freshness of the fishes. The chips that went with it was soft and not crispy.

The skin of the grilled prawns stuck to the meat firmly. Not under cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Met a friend at Sol Cocina for dinner an ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Met a friend at Sol Cocina for dinner and it was amazing we opted for a few different types of tacos and the quinoa, which is the best I have ever had!!! The margaritas are great, the chips are homemade and spectacular!

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Sol for an adult night out with ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went to Sol for an adult night out with my sister and brother in law.

Great food and awesome service!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal good service but way too nois ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great meal good service but way too noisy!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Clueless greeter and the person showing ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Clueless greeter and the person showing us let the door go in my wife's face. When my wife pointed that out she got a monotone "sorry". The music was so loud we couldn't talk and we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Love the Coconut Calamari! Service is v ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the Coconut Calamari!

Service is very mediocre!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Delicious tacos and margaritas! The gri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Delicious tacos and margaritas! The grilled corn is AMAZING! Our waitress was very friendly and took great care of us. On Tuesday night, they had live music, a solo guitarist, who was terrific. Great restaurant, great food, ambiance and service. Loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding! The guacamole SOL ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was outstanding! The guacamole SOL was delicious & the grilled fish tacos were tasty. The quinoa salad was to die for along with their cucumber jalapeño margarita!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was excellent though seemed to be ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Server was excellent though seemed to be covering so many tables that we were not attended to timely. Bar service too slow. We place an order for drinks and appet. Waiter came back for dinner order and we hadn't yet reviewed bar order.

One dinner ordered (shrimp taco) was extremely strong fish smell. Didn't eat. Waiter paid attention and noticed it hadn't been eaten and took off our bill. Unfortunately no one came to check on the table right after dinner entrees were served. It happened at the end of he meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food again. Have to try the Sol G ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food again. Have to try the Sol Guac. The fare is not heavy.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.