About SOL Cocina

15323 N. Scottsdale Rd Suite 195
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

The Best of Baja in the heart of North Scottsdale at the Scottsdale Quarter, SOL Cocina offers an upscale, yet inviting dining experience. Executive Chef Deborah Schneider, a James Beard nominated cookbook author and authority on authentic Mexican cuisine, has created a menu of contemporary and gourmet interpretations of coastal Baja dishes, including antojitos, street tacos, cocktels de mariscos and main entrees made with fresh seafood, wood grilled meats, local produce and salsas that are all made in-house daily. A variety of dishes are available vegetarian, vegan and gluten free. The vibrant bar offers inventive hand-made cocktails and more than 60 artisan tequilas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
Bar: Sunday - Thursday 11 am - 12:00 am, Friday & Saturday 11 am - 12:00 am
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00 to 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
Greenway Hayden Loop and Scottsdale Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 245-6708

Website:
http://solcocina.com/scottsdale/

Entertainment:
Live Acoustic Music:

Tuesday: 5:30 – 9:30 pm
Sunday: noon – 3:00 pm

Parking Details:
Parking is readily in the Scottsdale Quarter in the parking lot just south of SOL Cocina. There is also valet parking available directly across from SOL Cocina.

Executive Chef:
Deborah Schneider

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SOL Cocina has a private dining room, with a private bar. This room can be configured to accommodate large and small parties, up to 100 guests. For your event planning needs, please contact scottsdaleevents@solcocina.com.

Restaurant Photos

Chipotle Ribeye - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Tacos - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Coconut Calamari - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Margarita - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Chicken Burrito - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Guacamole and Chips - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Shrimp And Crab Cakes Benedict - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Hot & Raw Tropical Ceviche - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Peel & Eat Shrimp 'Cucarachas' - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
tortilla chips with special sauces - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Grande Clase Azul Margarita - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Tacos – fish taco gobernador, wild-caught yellowtail, cotija cheese, salsa gobernador, avoacado, onion, ciltaro, pico, lettuce; taco vampiro, double trotilla stuffed with melted cheese, serrano chile, scallions, carne asada, guacamole, chipotle sauce - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Hot and raw tropical ceviche, hamachi, fresh lime, orange, habanero chiles, mango, avocado, cucumber, pico de gallo, sweet potato and red beet chips - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Hibiscus crema quemada, crème brulee infused with hibiscus flower, vanilla, Citronage liqueur, whipped cream, galleta de chocolat and pistachios - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Cranberry pumpkin seeds quinoa, spicy jalapeño cabbage coleslaw - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Tortilla chips, habanero salsa, smoky black bean pepitas dip - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Taste Of Baja Condiments - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Grilled Sweet Corn - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
carnitas tacos - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Carnitas Pork Tacos - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Chorizo And Mushroom Con Queso - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomegranate Guacamole - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ
Gulf Shrimp Chili Relleno - SOL Cocina, Scottsdale, AZ

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you are planning a corporate dinner, a luncheon, or an intimate cocktail reception, SOL will deliver an unforgettable experience for you and your guests. We offer several private dining options including our patio, STONE private dining room, or the option of a full restaurant buyout.

SOL Cocina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Special Occasion (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (4)
Spicy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (2)
Romantic (2)
Live Music (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tortilla soup disappointing.

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Tortilla soup disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Taco Tuesday! We used to sit outside to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Taco Tuesday! We used to sit outside to avoid the loud music, but now they're piping it out there. Oh well....

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

SOL Cucina WILL NOT disappoint! We were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

SOL Cucina WILL NOT disappoint! We were looking for a restaurant in Scottsdale and used Yelp for

our search. After reading the reviews we made a reservation and had dinner that night at SOL. Our server (Ben) was knowledgeable and attentative. The flavors were outstanding and they had a great variety of margaritas to choose from. I loved the menu. We can't to wait to go back!!

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great, she was attentive ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server was great, she was attentive and friendly. The food was decent but there are a lot of very good Mexican restaurants around. You go here for the location at the Scottsdale Quarter and the friendly vibe.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We went on a busy night and thety forgot ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went on a busy night and thety forgot our appetizer, which they comp'd after delivering it after our meals. Good food and drinks.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and drink. We loved everythi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food and drink. We loved everything we ordered. Our server was Gio and he was fantastic. Our only problem was the noise level....yikes! We had to shout at each other which made conversation very hard.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The food was not what I expected. Not r ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was not what I expected. Not really authentic Mexican food at all.

The Tres Leche Cake was nothing like the real Tres Leche Cake and at $9.00 a slice, it was a huge disappointment.

It was an okay evening. Glad we tried Sol. But I would not return. But it was packed, so obviously, other patrons have a different opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Liked this restaurant. The food was real ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Liked this restaurant. The food was really nice and satisfied everyone's tastebuds. Service was really good. Ambiance was really good. Totally recommend this restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot, Spicy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love it! Had my Mom out from Seattle an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love it! Had my Mom out from Seattle and she thought it was fabulous. I'm just fortunate that I can go any day of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Starters and special are great the rest ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Starters and special are great the rest more average. Hot spicy is just average.

Nice cocktails, good wines but simple beer selection with just very few on draft.

... Happy Hour must be nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Unique take on Mexican food and everyone ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Unique take on Mexican food and everyone liked their meals. The street tacos were excellent and just the right amount of food. The calamari appetizer was good as was the naked guacamole. Those that ordered burritos also gave high marks.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Guac, tacos are amazing but above ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great Guac, tacos are amazing but above all, the service was superb!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There food is excellent and the service ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 4, 2016

There food is excellent and the service was fabulous. The calamari and guacamole was super yummy. The Viper Taco was hot and delicious. Everything we tried was excellent flavor especially the corn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Nice atmosphere.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food! Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. Previous visit was v ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very disappointing. Previous visit was very positive. This time service was okay and seating way in the back was eh. Most importantly, food was bland. Not anxious to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is our go-to place for gourmet Mexi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This is our go-to place for gourmet Mexican food. Very interesting menu and good assortment of tacos.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a birthday celebration and was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Went for a birthday celebration and was a surprised to find it was Taco Tuesday!!! Great options and value. Margaritas are full sized, pint glass and perfectly balanced...refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The raw fish (hamachi and Ono) ceviche w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The raw fish (hamachi and Ono) ceviche was way too sour that Eve could not taste the freshness of the fishes. The chips that went with it was soft and not crispy.

The skin of the grilled prawns stuck to the meat firmly. Not under cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Met a friend at Sol Cocina for dinner an ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Met a friend at Sol Cocina for dinner and it was amazing we opted for a few different types of tacos and the quinoa, which is the best I have ever had!!! The margaritas are great, the chips are homemade and spectacular!

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Sol for an adult night out with ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went to Sol for an adult night out with my sister and brother in law.

Great food and awesome service!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal good service but way too nois ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great meal good service but way too noisy!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Clueless greeter and the person showing ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Clueless greeter and the person showing us let the door go in my wife's face. When my wife pointed that out she got a monotone "sorry". The music was so loud we couldn't talk and we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Love the Coconut Calamari! Service is v ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the Coconut Calamari!

Service is very mediocre!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Delicious tacos and margaritas! The gri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Delicious tacos and margaritas! The grilled corn is AMAZING! Our waitress was very friendly and took great care of us. On Tuesday night, they had live music, a solo guitarist, who was terrific. Great restaurant, great food, ambiance and service. Loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding! The guacamole SOL ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was outstanding! The guacamole SOL was delicious & the grilled fish tacos were tasty. The quinoa salad was to die for along with their cucumber jalapeño margarita!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was excellent though seemed to be ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Server was excellent though seemed to be covering so many tables that we were not attended to timely. Bar service too slow. We place an order for drinks and appet. Waiter came back for dinner order and we hadn't yet reviewed bar order.

One dinner ordered (shrimp taco) was extremely strong fish smell. Didn't eat. Waiter paid attention and noticed it hadn't been eaten and took off our bill. Unfortunately no one came to check on the table right after dinner entrees were served. It happened at the end of he meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food again. Have to try the Sol G ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food again. Have to try the Sol Guac. The fare is not heavy.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great take on authentic food with great ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great take on authentic food with great and friendly staff. Love music from local musicians but extremely loud which makes it hard to carry a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Overpriced for what you get. Flavors we ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overpriced for what you get. Flavors were not there and we left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The flavors were excellent. Try the SOL ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The flavors were excellent. Try the SOL Guacamole with mango and tequila. There really isn't a bad choice on the menu. We went with friends for a night out and had a great time visiting and enjoying great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I am a frequent customer of SOL. That i ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 15, 2016

I am a frequent customer of SOL. That is why I was so disappointed with my last experience. It took 45 minutes to get our food out. That is unacceptable. Our waiter was great but the wait ruined the experience. Also, your tacos Govvenador seemed to have gotten smaller.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Portions should be a bit larger for the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Portions should be a bit larger for the price. The coconut calamari was outstanding and well priced. The guacamole sol tasted wonderful but horribly over priced and small; we had four adults and we each only got a couple chips worth. The chips and bean dip was amazing

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Every thing was great! A group of 12 me ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Every thing was great! A group of 12 men came in, and they were very LOUD! I understand they were just having fun, but I wish the restaurant had built a separate room for large parties. Next time I will try and sit outside, as long as it isn't too hot!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food! Delicious cocktails! We ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious food! Delicious cocktails! We will definitely go back .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I would not suggest this place...esp wit ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2016

I would not suggest this place...esp with so may great Mexican places around the area. This place is in a great location, and is cool inside, but the food is terrible. First piece of chicken was fatty and it was one of many that were.

I picked all the chicken out of my burrito and ate the beans and rice only.

I found it odd that the waiter never asked what was wrong considering that my plate had a neat pile of chicken on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server was AMAZING 😊

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server was AMAZING 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Veronica, our server, was so wonderful. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Veronica, our server, was so wonderful. She was knowledgable, pleasant, and really made the evening great. The food was basically good, but the enchiladas were especially tasty. I would never order the cole slaw or salad again as my choice for sides. Both were terrible, but the beans and rice were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great service. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Need to have a few seats somewhere up fr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Need to have a few seats somewhere up front when waiting for guest to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Enjoyable experience. Brought a friend w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Enjoyable experience. Brought a friend who had not visited before, and she found the food and environment delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.