About SOL Cocina

15323 N. Scottsdale Rd Suite 195
Scottsdale, AZ 85254
View Larger Map

The Best of Baja in the heart of North Scottsdale at the Scottsdale Quarter, SOL Cocina offers an upscale, yet inviting dining experience. Executive Chef Deborah Schneider, a James Beard nominated cookbook author and authority on authentic Mexican cuisine, has created a menu of contemporary and gourmet interpretations of coastal Baja dishes, including antojitos, street tacos, cocktels de mariscos and main entrees made with fresh seafood, wood grilled meats, local produce and salsas that are all made in-house daily. A variety of dishes are available vegetarian, vegan and gluten free. The vibrant bar offers inventive hand-made cocktails and more than 60 artisan tequilas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10:00am - 3:00pm
Bar: Sunday - Thursday 11 am - 12:00 am, Friday & Saturday 11 am - 12:00 am
Happy Hour: Daily 3:00 to 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
Greenway Hayden Loop and Scottsdale Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 245-6708

Website:
http://solcocina.com/scottsdale/

Entertainment:
Live Acoustic Music:

Tuesday: 5:30 – 9:30 pm
Sunday: noon – 3:00 pm

Parking Details:
Parking is readily in the Scottsdale Quarter in the parking lot just south of SOL Cocina. There is also valet parking available directly across from SOL Cocina.

Executive Chef:
Deborah Schneider

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SOL Cocina has a private dining room, with a private bar. This room can be configured to accommodate large and small parties, up to 100 guests. For your event planning needs, please contact scottsdaleevents@solcocina.com.

Restaurant Photos

Chipotle Ribeye
Tacos
Coconut Calamari
Margarita
Chicken Burrito
Guacamole and Chips
Shrimp And Crab Cakes Benedict
Hot & Raw Tropical Ceviche
Peel & Eat Shrimp 'Cucarachas'
tortilla chips with special sauces
Grande Clase Azul Margarita
Tacos – fish taco gobernador, wild-caught yellowtail, cotija cheese, salsa gobernador, avoacado, onion, ciltaro, pico, lettuce; taco vampiro, double trotilla stuffed with melted cheese, serrano chile, scallions, carne asada, guacamole, chipotle sauce
Hot and raw tropical ceviche, hamachi, fresh lime, orange, habanero chiles, mango, avocado, cucumber, pico de gallo, sweet potato and red beet chips
Hibiscus crema quemada, crème brulee infused with hibiscus flower, vanilla, Citronage liqueur, whipped cream, galleta de chocolat and pistachios
Cranberry pumpkin seeds quinoa, spicy jalapeño cabbage coleslaw
Tortilla chips, habanero salsa, smoky black bean pepitas dip
Taste Of Baja Condiments
Grilled Sweet Corn
carnitas tacos
Carnitas Pork Tacos
Chorizo And Mushroom Con Queso
Pomegranate Guacamole
Gulf Shrimp Chili Relleno

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you are planning a corporate dinner, a luncheon, or an intimate cocktail reception, SOL will deliver an unforgettable experience for you and your guests. We offer several private dining options including our patio, STONE private dining room, or the option of a full restaurant buyout.

SOL Cocina Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our go-to place for gourmet Mexi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is our go-to place for gourmet Mexican food. Very interesting menu and good assortment of tacos.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a birthday celebration and was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Went for a birthday celebration and was a surprised to find it was Taco Tuesday!!! Great options and value. Margaritas are full sized, pint glass and perfectly balanced...refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The raw fish (hamachi and Ono) ceviche w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The raw fish (hamachi and Ono) ceviche was way too sour that Eve could not taste the freshness of the fishes. The chips that went with it was soft and not crispy.

The skin of the grilled prawns stuck to the meat firmly. Not under cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Met a friend at Sol Cocina for dinner an ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Met a friend at Sol Cocina for dinner and it was amazing we opted for a few different types of tacos and the quinoa, which is the best I have ever had!!! The margaritas are great, the chips are homemade and spectacular!

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Sol for an adult night out with ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went to Sol for an adult night out with my sister and brother in law.

Great food and awesome service!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal good service but way too nois ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great meal good service but way too noisy!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Clueless greeter and the person showing ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Clueless greeter and the person showing us let the door go in my wife's face. When my wife pointed that out she got a monotone "sorry". The music was so loud we couldn't talk and we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Love the Coconut Calamari! Service is v ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love the Coconut Calamari!

Service is very mediocre!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Delicious tacos and margaritas! The gri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Delicious tacos and margaritas! The grilled corn is AMAZING! Our waitress was very friendly and took great care of us. On Tuesday night, they had live music, a solo guitarist, who was terrific. Great restaurant, great food, ambiance and service. Loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was outstanding! The guacamole SOL ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was outstanding! The guacamole SOL was delicious & the grilled fish tacos were tasty. The quinoa salad was to die for along with their cucumber jalapeño margarita!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was excellent though seemed to be ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Server was excellent though seemed to be covering so many tables that we were not attended to timely. Bar service too slow. We place an order for drinks and appet. Waiter came back for dinner order and we hadn't yet reviewed bar order.

One dinner ordered (shrimp taco) was extremely strong fish smell. Didn't eat. Waiter paid attention and noticed it hadn't been eaten and took off our bill. Unfortunately no one came to check on the table right after dinner entrees were served. It happened at the end of he meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food again. Have to try the Sol G ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food again. Have to try the Sol Guac. The fare is not heavy.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great take on authentic food with great ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great take on authentic food with great and friendly staff. Love music from local musicians but extremely loud which makes it hard to carry a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Overpriced for what you get. Flavors we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overpriced for what you get. Flavors were not there and we left hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The flavors were excellent. Try the SOL ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The flavors were excellent. Try the SOL Guacamole with mango and tequila. There really isn't a bad choice on the menu. We went with friends for a night out and had a great time visiting and enjoying great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I am a frequent customer of SOL. That i ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I am a frequent customer of SOL. That is why I was so disappointed with my last experience. It took 45 minutes to get our food out. That is unacceptable. Our waiter was great but the wait ruined the experience. Also, your tacos Govvenador seemed to have gotten smaller.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Portions should be a bit larger for the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Portions should be a bit larger for the price. The coconut calamari was outstanding and well priced. The guacamole sol tasted wonderful but horribly over priced and small; we had four adults and we each only got a couple chips worth. The chips and bean dip was amazing

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Every thing was great! A group of 12 me ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Every thing was great! A group of 12 men came in, and they were very LOUD! I understand they were just having fun, but I wish the restaurant had built a separate room for large parties. Next time I will try and sit outside, as long as it isn't too hot!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food! Delicious cocktails! We ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Delicious food! Delicious cocktails! We will definitely go back .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I would not suggest this place...esp wit ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

I would not suggest this place...esp with so may great Mexican places around the area. This place is in a great location, and is cool inside, but the food is terrible. First piece of chicken was fatty and it was one of many that were.

I picked all the chicken out of my burrito and ate the beans and rice only.

I found it odd that the waiter never asked what was wrong considering that my plate had a neat pile of chicken on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Our server was AMAZING 😊

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server was AMAZING 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Veronica, our server, was so wonderful. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Veronica, our server, was so wonderful. She was knowledgable, pleasant, and really made the evening great. The food was basically good, but the enchiladas were especially tasty. I would never order the cole slaw or salad again as my choice for sides. Both were terrible, but the beans and rice were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great service. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Need to have a few seats somewhere up fr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Need to have a few seats somewhere up front when waiting for guest to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Enjoyable experience. Brought a friend w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Enjoyable experience. Brought a friend who had not visited before, and she found the food and environment delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, drinks and food as always ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service, drinks and food as always. Only issue seemed to be the AC as the area we sat in was rather warm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequently eat at this wonderful rest ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We frequently eat at this wonderful restaurant. The taco I ordered was supposed to have fillet in it and the piece of beef that was in it was nothing but grissel. Very disappointing as this had never happened before.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, great atmosphere, good peopl ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, good people. I love the tacos and I'm not a taco person. It's filling as well.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar service ✔️✔️👍🏻

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Bar service ✔️✔️👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good time here. And the best ma ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always a good time here. And the best margaritas. Happy hour tequila flight is the bomb. And those tortilla chips and dip, dang so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service at the bar was excellent!!! Nick ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Service at the bar was excellent!!!

Nick and Veronica were really knowledgeable and super bartenders.

We returned the next day!

Food is always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jacob was an awesome server and very attentive!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I would go back to try all the great varieties they have from shrimp tacos to French toast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Sol Cocina on an evening when ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We went to Sol Cocina on an evening when it was 117 degrees in Scottsdale. The service was fantastic, the ambiance was pleasant and the food and drink wonderfully refreshing. Portion sizes are reasonable, too. On a taco platter you can get a single taco or the full platter with three. Servers were attentive to our need for water! Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mexican Cuisine in Scottsdale

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I really enjoy my experience at Sol Cucina's and we repeatedly go to this restaurant. The food is great and the atmosphere is lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh is Best

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I will order the coconut calimari again. Tender, well seasoned but not over spiced. The crab cake eggs Benedict was disappointing. Cakes were extremely dense and the flavour of the fresh seafood was lost in the mixture. I will try their ceviche next time. Mimosas were unremarkable. Waiter was attentive but did not anticipate, eg ice tea but no sugar brought.

Overall a pleasant experience which deserves another chance with different menu choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our waiter Brandon was great. Food and d ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter Brandon was great. Food and drinks were amazing. The only negative I had was it was loud. There were 5 of us at our table located between the bar and kitchen and we couldn't hear each other. Other than that, it was a great time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well prepared meals

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I took out of town visitors here as they wanted Mexican food. This was our first visit and we found the service and food to be perfect for our occasion. Rather than the typical thrown together Mex food, we loved the food as it was with a high quality taste, fair value, well presented and a long satisfying taste. Loved the grilled corn... I think drink prices were a bit high and so our next visit will be at happy hour. Last, food had a bit of spice just as we all liked it, and the pickled and grilled jalapeños (on the side of the main dishes) were my favorite. We will return in a week or two just to see if this restaurant is consistent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The French toast is amazing, the shrimp ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The French toast is amazing, the shrimp and crab cake Benedict too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Why did it take me so long to get to SOL?

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I really don't know why it took me so long to eat at Sol. It is in my favorite area that I go to all of the time. Sol, in a word, is fantastic and the best "Mexican" food I have had in a long time. It is fresh, original, creative, good, just spicy enough, etc. We will go back....for sure. Oh..out server Rodrigo was so great. And fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is average

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The can do a lot better on food quality. We had the fish tacos. Could not taste the fish

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.