Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Soif Wine Bar Restaurant

The menu at Soif changes almost daily, and every dish – small plates, appetizers, entrées and desserts – emphasizes seasonal, sustainably grown, and intensely flavored ingredients primarily sourced from local farmers and provisioners.

Soif offers over 40 wines by the glass from small, artisanal producers, as well as some 400 selections by the bottle from our wine shop, available to diners for $20 over retail price.

We find our delight in discovering distinctive, expressive wines, sourcing and preparing delicious, wholesome food, and then putting it all together so when guests walk in the door, night after night, there is something here for them that is authentic – that satisfies their thirst for the soulful, the delicious, and the well made.

105 Walnut Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00

Cross Street:
Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 423-2020

Website:
http://www.soifwine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Monday as we welcome Gypsy Jazz all stars HOT CLUB PACIFIC from 7:00 to 9:00. We also host an eclectic array of musicians on a periodic and wholly unpredictable basis. There is never a cover for any show at Soif. Check our website for notice of upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking are available very near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mark Denham

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room which can accommodate 16 people seated or 25 people for a reception. Please contact us for additional options and information on facilities.

Private Party Contact:
Taylor Congdon: (831) 423-2020

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We periodically hold special dinners featuring winemakers from around the world as well as host wine tasting events in the afternoons. Please take a look at our website for all upcoming events.

Soif Wine Bar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Organic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fun (2)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Dancing (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I always enjoy Soif except sometimes it s led. the night we were there a big party was seated. We worried about service but it was very good and the foods excellent as always. Sofia is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Cruz. I wish it was open for lunch several times a week

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

While one often thinks of soif as 'alcohol destination' the bartender made a delectable mock-tail on request. The plentiful vegetation options are always sublime.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I loved everything about this place . Every single dish wowed me , I highly recommend it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Soif is unique in that it offers wine flight tastings. If you don't like the presented pairs, you can build your own. Menu is not large, but offers a variety of unique tastes. Beet & orange sald with shaved fennel great, as was lamb cheeks on polenta. Hamburger & fries looked good, too.
Great service & fun spot.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A friend and I went to Soif for a quick bite before a concert. We shared piquillo peppers and a burger. I love the burger here in general and the fries. Some nights are better than others. This night was very good but I have had it better - same with the fries. It was still delicious - I am just being hyper critical. I would always recommend Soif. Their other dishes would likely be more representative of the skills of the chef and are usually tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always love the foods here but lately the menu haven't been change, wondering because of the rain? Would love to see different menu and foods in the future. The staffs are great. Great champagne and wines but wish to see more of CA wines.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Unfortunately this restaurant has now turned into a place that is meant for tourists that have few options for fine dining in Santa Cruz. In other words, this restaurant would fail in San Francisco or even in Los Gatos. The food wasn't prepared properly and their attempt at making it right also failed. We had to send the wine and fish back. The Creme Brulee was "comp'ed" at a fraction of what we paid for the fish. Please don't frequent/visit this restaurant - it really needs to just go away or get a new chef/manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We are frequent Soif diners and are never disappointed. Last Saturday I had the special scallops that was accompanied by a very tasty accompaniment of romanesco and cauliflower. Absolutely delicious. And there's always an interesting variety of wo
Ines to compliment the fine food offerings

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband surprised me for Valentine's Day. We had been wanting to try Soif for the longest time. I am so glad we did. We had a lovely evening. The wine pairing was amazing and the food was delish!! I would enthusiastically recommend Soif to my friends and family. We will be back and we won't wait for a special occasion.
KC

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Organic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Refreshing specialty cocktails. Great wine pairing. Timing for food and wine a little off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always pleasantly surprised by the creative food twists. Always appreciate the wine pairing. Always love the atmosphere.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second time at Soif and enjoyed it very much. Staff is quite attentive and attuned to food preference sort of inquiries. Very nice selection of wines, wine flight options, and great staff advice.

Veggie options are good. The entree on the mene time was not appealing and they offer great veggie appetizers which on combination can make for a good meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Appetizer great...mains not good. And the server obviously doesn't like her job or people! We were very disappointed as Soif has been a favorite for years

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Chef seems burnt out. Menu has become dull with cheap cuts of meat and under seasoned. Used to be excellent. Expensive now for dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Glad we can count on good food every time we go to Soif!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our second time to this restaurant. the food was even better than the first visit, service excellent. i enjoyed my duck dish.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious NYE menu! Had the most delicious fried quail and scallops. Also fresh honey comb for dessert

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Great staff. Great wine. Great ambience. What else does one need to enjoy a great meal?

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New year celebration with the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

excellent food, unusual salads endive with burrata and pomegranate seeds, and excellent burrata, not just using the word. Courses were delivered with dispatch. Good wine list and amaros. Staff was attentive but not invasive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We haven't been to this restaurant for a year and forgotten what a great value it is. Our appetizers (fried squash with fontina cheese & the piquillo peppers):main courses (grilled octopus and chicken Milanese); and desert (chocolate torte) and wine selections were superb!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was ok. The staff seemed...a little "uncomfortable". Not the friendliest vibe. Overpriced, but lots of places are these days. I really disliked the the chick pea and clam stew, and it was tiny. My glass of bubbly was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was absolutely lovely. Great wine selection. Waitress knew her wines and had a great smile. We weren't rushed and just enjoyed a great dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The service in this restaurant was very bad. They did not bring plates and bread until we asked them. They brought a terrine without any bread and when I asked for it they charged us. They did not make us feel special even thought this was a very special occasion for us and they knew about it. The food was good and the band lovely. Since service at a high end restaurant is very important, I give a one star to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Went for a dinner (4) on Sunday and had a wonderful meal. One of us ordered dessert for the appetizer and the staff didn't blink, accommodating at every turn. With mostly small batch ingredients at the bar our waitress steered us toward the best combinations and wines to pair throughout the meal. We will definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious food. Creative. Very good wine selection. Not many local wines. Expensive-they have been pushing the envelope in past several years.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Seems like the new Soif is less refined than before and our server needed more training. We were not told that all wines can be brought from their wine shop into the restaurant . Server was ignorant of the wines also. Disappointed as this is my favorite spot in Santa Cruz

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Again and again our meals at Soif have been wonderful. Creative starters and lovely entres.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We made a reservation for dinner and arrived on time. We were seated and looking forward to
good wine and good food like we had experienced in the past. Unfortunatel,y we were totally dissappointed . The Red flight of wine arrived and we started our tasting, each glass was as sour as the first. We decided maybe it was the flight we chose and decided to order glasses of wine.
After being told they were out of our first three choices, we settled on a couple of glasses, again dissapointed. What happened to all the choices of wine they use to offer?? And we got zero assistance on choosing other labels based on our preferences.
We ordered a couple of appetizers. The crab cakes were ok and the chicken liver pate was tasteless. We ordered a fennel salad( or we thought it was), not much fennel, but a lot of sour grapefruit on bitter greens. For the entree, we ordered the grilled octopus. The octopus was spot on, unfortunately the rest of the plate fell short. The staff was timely, but seemed uninterested in our experience.
We can only hope that Soif can get this turned around . We have always entertained out of town guests at Soif in the past, unfortunately we will be looking for other places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

What's with packing all three groups into the same corner when 15 tables are free at 5:30pm?
... a young guy on a power trip st the hostess stand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had a party of 3 for Santa Cruz Restaurant week - nice selection of 3 options for each course, all were delicious. We had a casual table in the new bar area, which worked well for us. I didn't know they serve cocktails now - they were innovative and delish!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I like this place. I thought the food was interesting and very good but I have had better at Soif. Interesting, the people next to me felt the same. I tried the restaurant week specials. I liked the pumpkin soup, good flavors but needed a bit of enrichment. The pork belly was well prepared, maybe a little chewy, loved the sauce and yams but did not like the peppers in the mix - my personal taste I am sure. I loved the rice pudding with nuts.
Usually I love to come to oyster night and listen to the Gypsy jazz band. I also love the burger - one of the best in town. I would definitely recommend Soif.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Always creative, delicious, beautifully presented and reasonably priced. My date and I shared several dishes: an appetizer, a salad, an entree ( pork belly--to die for) and fabulous dessert. Plenty of food, great service, and a quiet corner table. Consistently great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went during Restaurant Week and were disappointed with the menu. This is a neighborhood place for us; walking distance from home. We love the wine shop, the wine bar and the small bite tapas menus. But the dinner was disappointing. The salad was sub par...even the server said she does not like the salads; one of us had seafood stew...portion was super small, only a couple of shell fish, overpowered by a smoky sausage that just did not work. The other dish was chicken cannoli.... two in a bowl, pale and uninviting, tasty, but bland.... the pasta part was delicate and good, but the filling was disappointing..... just not up to what we expect at Soif. We do love the wine bar; love the wine store; John is amazing with the wine..... the small plates are great when you are doing the wine thing..... but the main dining room experience is not excellent. The noise level alone was soooo annoying! Everything echoed! Could not talk with each other at all! would only go for the wine bar and small plates.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I absolutely love Soif, but the service this visit was terrible. Our server seemed like she couldn't be bothered to help us. We had to ask for our drinks twice after sitting there for 20 minutes and had only received one of three courses in 45 minutes.

I'm hoping this is an aberration, as I've had nothing but good experiences in the past.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A great restaurant that is also a great wine bar. What more could you ask for? The servers are hip and knowledgeable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food - amazingly delicious! Went during Santa Cruz Restaurant Week - very creative menu.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I love Soif. We have been here many times and each time we are delighted with the originality and taste of the dishes as well as the fantastic wine selection. I love that they are okay with you just ordering a lot of appetizers or just having a glass of wine.

My only very small complaint (and I really hate to complain about this place)...my husband ordered a cocktail and I ordered a glass of wine when we ordered our dinner. Our starter plates (salads) were delivered very quickly to our table long before our wine and cocktail, in fact we had finished our salads before my husband's cocktail arrived. It wasn't terribly busy so we were a little perplexed why the delay (even more so for my glass of wine since that did not require any preparation!)

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was our third visit and food was good. Our server was a bit "scattered" but overall a good meal and we would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fantastic food, great price, really giving off a fine dining feel while keeping it casual. Definitely one of the better restaurants in Santa Cruz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.