Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Soif Wine Bar Restaurant

The menu at Soif changes almost daily, and every dish – small plates, appetizers, entrées and desserts – emphasizes seasonal, sustainably grown, and intensely flavored ingredients primarily sourced from local farmers and provisioners.

Soif offers over 40 wines by the glass from small, artisanal producers, as well as some 400 selections by the bottle from our wine shop, available to diners for $20 over retail price.

We find our delight in discovering distinctive, expressive wines, sourcing and preparing delicious, wholesome food, and then putting it all together so when guests walk in the door, night after night, there is something here for them that is authentic – that satisfies their thirst for the soulful, the delicious, and the well made.

105 Walnut Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00

Cross Street:
Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 423-2020

Website:
http://www.soifwine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Monday as we welcome Gypsy Jazz all stars HOT CLUB PACIFIC from 7:00 to 9:00. We also host an eclectic array of musicians on a periodic and wholly unpredictable basis. There is never a cover for any show at Soif. Check our website for notice of upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking are available very near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mark Denham

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room which can accommodate 16 people seated or 25 people for a reception. Please contact us for additional options and information on facilities.

Private Party Contact:
Taylor Congdon: (831) 423-2020

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We periodically hold special dinners featuring winemakers from around the world as well as host wine tasting events in the afternoons. Please take a look at our website for all upcoming events.

Soif Wine Bar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Casual (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Healthy (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Live Music (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Romantic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband enjoyed his pork belly, and I loved my asparagus salad. The bacon- wrapped dates are a MUST! The wine was unique and the service was great. They were playing an acoustic, french music type channel and it was PERFECT! Romantic and soothing- just what you want for a casual yet romantic dinner. Well Done, Soif Wine Bar!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best restaurant in Santa Cruz County! THE BEST restaurant in Santa Cruz County!

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We have friends who are MAJOR wine snobs -- wine collectors, in fact -- and even they absolutely loved the wine collection at Soif. They are also gluten-free and dairy-free and Soif did an amazing job accommodating them with delicious, healthy food. If you are looking for a tried & true restaurant in Santa Cruz, like to share small plates, have food allergies, and/or love wine..this place is a "must" hit.

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Service was excellent. Lovely wine selection. We loved that they offered organic wine which many restaurants to not.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch was great - - when are you doing a Father's Day brunch?!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Wine and cocktails were excellent,!Good food but extremely slow , wait staff was attentive but for how slow it was I didn't exactly think the food would take that long . If they added more to there ambiance they would be the talk of the town .

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great ambiance, creative food. Chef has serious skills (we've eaten at Mark's restaurants in San Francisco). Superior dishes!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

wonderful menu selection. innovative, but no losers on the menu

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Experience was ok. By the glass wine selection seemed a little lacking and the food was mixed but ok. Service was ok and ambiance is good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great wine list, service, sommelier, food and ambiance. Accommodated our schedule with aplomb.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. A bit pricey, but I have to say worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Would recommend for drinks and apps but not entrees. Food is good but not amazing. Portions are small.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I always enjoy Soif except sometimes it s led. the night we were there a big party was seated. We worried about service but it was very good and the foods excellent as always. Sofia is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Cruz. I wish it was open for lunch several times a week

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

While one often thinks of soif as 'alcohol destination' the bartender made a delectable mock-tail on request. The plentiful vegetation options are always sublime.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I loved everything about this place . Every single dish wowed me , I highly recommend it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Soif is unique in that it offers wine flight tastings. If you don't like the presented pairs, you can build your own. Menu is not large, but offers a variety of unique tastes. Beet & orange sald with shaved fennel great, as was lamb cheeks on polenta. Hamburger & fries looked good, too.
Great service & fun spot.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

A friend and I went to Soif for a quick bite before a concert. We shared piquillo peppers and a burger. I love the burger here in general and the fries. Some nights are better than others. This night was very good but I have had it better - same with the fries. It was still delicious - I am just being hyper critical. I would always recommend Soif. Their other dishes would likely be more representative of the skills of the chef and are usually tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always love the foods here but lately the menu haven't been change, wondering because of the rain? Would love to see different menu and foods in the future. The staffs are great. Great champagne and wines but wish to see more of CA wines.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Unfortunately this restaurant has now turned into a place that is meant for tourists that have few options for fine dining in Santa Cruz. In other words, this restaurant would fail in San Francisco or even in Los Gatos. The food wasn't prepared properly and their attempt at making it right also failed. We had to send the wine and fish back. The Creme Brulee was "comp'ed" at a fraction of what we paid for the fish. Please don't frequent/visit this restaurant - it really needs to just go away or get a new chef/manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We are frequent Soif diners and are never disappointed. Last Saturday I had the special scallops that was accompanied by a very tasty accompaniment of romanesco and cauliflower. Absolutely delicious. And there's always an interesting variety of wo
Ines to compliment the fine food offerings

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband surprised me for Valentine's Day. We had been wanting to try Soif for the longest time. I am so glad we did. We had a lovely evening. The wine pairing was amazing and the food was delish!! I would enthusiastically recommend Soif to my friends and family. We will be back and we won't wait for a special occasion.
KC

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Organic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Refreshing specialty cocktails. Great wine pairing. Timing for food and wine a little off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always pleasantly surprised by the creative food twists. Always appreciate the wine pairing. Always love the atmosphere.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second time at Soif and enjoyed it very much. Staff is quite attentive and attuned to food preference sort of inquiries. Very nice selection of wines, wine flight options, and great staff advice.

Veggie options are good. The entree on the mene time was not appealing and they offer great veggie appetizers which on combination can make for a good meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Appetizer great...mains not good. And the server obviously doesn't like her job or people! We were very disappointed as Soif has been a favorite for years

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Chef seems burnt out. Menu has become dull with cheap cuts of meat and under seasoned. Used to be excellent. Expensive now for dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Glad we can count on good food every time we go to Soif!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our second time to this restaurant. the food was even better than the first visit, service excellent. i enjoyed my duck dish.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious NYE menu! Had the most delicious fried quail and scallops. Also fresh honey comb for dessert

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Great staff. Great wine. Great ambience. What else does one need to enjoy a great meal?

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New year celebration with the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

excellent food, unusual salads endive with burrata and pomegranate seeds, and excellent burrata, not just using the word. Courses were delivered with dispatch. Good wine list and amaros. Staff was attentive but not invasive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We haven't been to this restaurant for a year and forgotten what a great value it is. Our appetizers (fried squash with fontina cheese & the piquillo peppers):main courses (grilled octopus and chicken Milanese); and desert (chocolate torte) and wine selections were superb!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was ok. The staff seemed...a little "uncomfortable". Not the friendliest vibe. Overpriced, but lots of places are these days. I really disliked the the chick pea and clam stew, and it was tiny. My glass of bubbly was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was absolutely lovely. Great wine selection. Waitress knew her wines and had a great smile. We weren't rushed and just enjoyed a great dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The service in this restaurant was very bad. They did not bring plates and bread until we asked them. They brought a terrine without any bread and when I asked for it they charged us. They did not make us feel special even thought this was a very special occasion for us and they knew about it. The food was good and the band lovely. Since service at a high end restaurant is very important, I give a one star to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Went for a dinner (4) on Sunday and had a wonderful meal. One of us ordered dessert for the appetizer and the staff didn't blink, accommodating at every turn. With mostly small batch ingredients at the bar our waitress steered us toward the best combinations and wines to pair throughout the meal. We will definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious food. Creative. Very good wine selection. Not many local wines. Expensive-they have been pushing the envelope in past several years.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Seems like the new Soif is less refined than before and our server needed more training. We were not told that all wines can be brought from their wine shop into the restaurant . Server was ignorant of the wines also. Disappointed as this is my favorite spot in Santa Cruz

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Again and again our meals at Soif have been wonderful. Creative starters and lovely entres.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.