About Soif Wine Bar Restaurant

105 Walnut Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
View Larger Map

The menu at Soif changes almost daily, and every dish – small plates, appetizers, entrées and desserts – emphasizes seasonal, sustainably grown, and intensely flavored ingredients primarily sourced from local farmers and provisioners.

Soif offers over 40 wines by the glass from small, artisanal producers, as well as some 400 selections by the bottle from our wine shop, available to diners for $20 over retail price.

We find our delight in discovering distinctive, expressive wines, sourcing and preparing delicious, wholesome food, and then putting it all together so when guests walk in the door, night after night, there is something here for them that is authentic – that satisfies their thirst for the soulful, the delicious, and the well made.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00

Cross Street:
Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 423-2020

Website:
http://www.soifwine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Monday as we welcome Gypsy Jazz all stars HOT CLUB PACIFIC from 7:00 to 9:00. We also host an eclectic array of musicians on a periodic and wholly unpredictable basis. There is never a cover for any show at Soif. Check our website for notice of upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking are available very near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mark Denham

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room which can accommodate 16 people seated or 25 people for a reception. Please contact us for additional options and information on facilities.

Private Party Contact:
Taylor Congdon: 8314232020x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We periodically hold special dinners featuring winemakers from around the world as well as host wine tasting events in the afternoons. Please take a look at our website for all upcoming events.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Piquillos Rellenos - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Chargrilled Octopus - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Garganelli - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Seared King Salmon fillet - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Fennel Salad - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Little Gem Lettuces - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Fried O - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Fava Bean Fritter - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Oysters - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Double Porterhouse of Lamb - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
pinot - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Chicken & Creamy Polenta - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Quail With Aragula Kumquat Salad - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Ribs With Watercress And Coffee Bbq Sauce - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA
Cheese Platter - Soif Wine Bar Restaurant, Santa Cruz, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We would love to see you for Valentine's Day.
Soif Wine Bar will be accepting in-house reservations only. Please contact us directly.

Soif Wine Bar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tapas (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second time to this restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our second time to this restaurant. the food was even better than the first visit, service excellent. i enjoyed my duck dish.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious NYE menu! Had the most delicio ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious NYE menu! Had the most delicious fried quail and scallops. Also fresh honey comb for dessert

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. Great staff. Great wine. Gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food. Great staff. Great wine. Great ambience. What else does one need to enjoy a great meal?

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New year celebration with the kids.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New year celebration with the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent food, unusual salads endive w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

excellent food, unusual salads endive with burrata and pomegranate seeds, and excellent burrata, not just using the word. Courses were delivered with dispatch. Good wine list and amaros. Staff was attentive but not invasive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We haven't been to this restaurant for a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We haven't been to this restaurant for a year and forgotten what a great value it is. Our appetizers (fried squash with fontina cheese & the piquillo peppers):main courses (grilled octopus and chicken Milanese); and desert (chocolate torte) and wine selections were superb!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was ok. The staff seemed...a little " ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was ok. The staff seemed...a little "uncomfortable". Not the friendliest vibe. Overpriced, but lots of places are these days. I really disliked the the chick pea and clam stew, and it was tiny. My glass of bubbly was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was absolutely lovely. Great wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was absolutely lovely. Great wine selection. Waitress knew her wines and had a great smile. We weren't rushed and just enjoyed a great dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service in this restaurant was very ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The service in this restaurant was very bad. They did not bring plates and bread until we asked them. They brought a terrine without any bread and when I asked for it they charged us. They did not make us feel special even thought this was a very special occasion for us and they knew about it. The food was good and the band lovely. Since service at a high end restaurant is very important, I give a one star to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Went for a dinner (4) on Sunday and had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Went for a dinner (4) on Sunday and had a wonderful meal. One of us ordered dessert for the appetizer and the staff didn't blink, accommodating at every turn. With mostly small batch ingredients at the bar our waitress steered us toward the best combinations and wines to pair throughout the meal. We will definitely return!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food. Creative. Very good wine ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious food. Creative. Very good wine selection. Not many local wines. Expensive-they have been pushing the envelope in past several years.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Seems like the new Soif is less refined ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Seems like the new Soif is less refined than before and our server needed more training. We were not told that all wines can be brought from their wine shop into the restaurant . Server was ignorant of the wines also. Disappointed as this is my favorite spot in Santa Cruz

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Again and again our meals at Soif have b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Again and again our meals at Soif have been wonderful. Creative starters and lovely entres.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation for dinner and arr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We made a reservation for dinner and arrived on time. We were seated and looking forward to

good wine and good food like we had experienced in the past. Unfortunatel,y we were totally dissappointed . The Red flight of wine arrived and we started our tasting, each glass was as sour as the first. We decided maybe it was the flight we chose and decided to order glasses of wine.

After being told they were out of our first three choices, we settled on a couple of glasses, again dissapointed. What happened to all the choices of wine they use to offer?? And we got zero assistance on choosing other labels based on our preferences.

We ordered a couple of appetizers. The crab cakes were ok and the chicken liver pate was tasteless. We ordered a fennel salad( or we thought it was), not much fennel, but a lot of sour grapefruit on bitter greens. For the entree, we ordered the grilled octopus. The octopus was spot on, unfortunately the rest of the plate fell short. The staff was timely, but seemed uninterested in our experience.

We can only hope that Soif can get this turned around . We have always entertained out of town guests at Soif in the past, unfortunately we will be looking for other places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

What's with packing all three groups int ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

What's with packing all three groups into the same corner when 15 tables are free at 5:30pm?

... a young guy on a power trip st the hostess stand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a party of 3 for Santa Cruz Resta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We had a party of 3 for Santa Cruz Restaurant week - nice selection of 3 options for each course, all were delicious. We had a casual table in the new bar area, which worked well for us. I didn't know they serve cocktails now - they were innovative and delish!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like this place. I thought the food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I like this place. I thought the food was interesting and very good but I have had better at Soif. Interesting, the people next to me felt the same. I tried the restaurant week specials. I liked the pumpkin soup, good flavors but needed a bit of enrichment. The pork belly was well prepared, maybe a little chewy, loved the sauce and yams but did not like the peppers in the mix - my personal taste I am sure. I loved the rice pudding with nuts.

Usually I love to come to oyster night and listen to the Gypsy jazz band. I also love the burger - one of the best in town. I would definitely recommend Soif.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always creative, delicious, beautifully ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Always creative, delicious, beautifully presented and reasonably priced. My date and I shared several dishes: an appetizer, a salad, an entree ( pork belly--to die for) and fabulous dessert. Plenty of food, great service, and a quiet corner table. Consistently great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went during Restaurant Week and were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went during Restaurant Week and were disappointed with the menu. This is a neighborhood place for us; walking distance from home. We love the wine shop, the wine bar and the small bite tapas menus. But the dinner was disappointing. The salad was sub par...even the server said she does not like the salads; one of us had seafood stew...portion was super small, only a couple of shell fish, overpowered by a smoky sausage that just did not work. The other dish was chicken cannoli.... two in a bowl, pale and uninviting, tasty, but bland.... the pasta part was delicate and good, but the filling was disappointing..... just not up to what we expect at Soif. We do love the wine bar; love the wine store; John is amazing with the wine..... the small plates are great when you are doing the wine thing..... but the main dining room experience is not excellent. The noise level alone was soooo annoying! Everything echoed! Could not talk with each other at all! would only go for the wine bar and small plates.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I absolutely love Soif, but the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I absolutely love Soif, but the service this visit was terrible. Our server seemed like she couldn't be bothered to help us. We had to ask for our drinks twice after sitting there for 20 minutes and had only received one of three courses in 45 minutes.

I'm hoping this is an aberration, as I've had nothing but good experiences in the past.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

A great restaurant that is also a great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A great restaurant that is also a great wine bar. What more could you ask for? The servers are hip and knowledgeable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food - amazingly delicious! Went during ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food - amazingly delicious! Went during Santa Cruz Restaurant Week - very creative menu.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love Soif. We have been here many tim ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I love Soif. We have been here many times and each time we are delighted with the originality and taste of the dishes as well as the fantastic wine selection. I love that they are okay with you just ordering a lot of appetizers or just having a glass of wine.

My only very small complaint (and I really hate to complain about this place)...my husband ordered a cocktail and I ordered a glass of wine when we ordered our dinner. Our starter plates (salads) were delivered very quickly to our table long before our wine and cocktail, in fact we had finished our salads before my husband's cocktail arrived. It wasn't terribly busy so we were a little perplexed why the delay (even more so for my glass of wine since that did not require any preparation!)

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was our third visit and food was go ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was our third visit and food was good. Our server was a bit "scattered" but overall a good meal and we would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic food, great price, really givi ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fantastic food, great price, really giving off a fine dining feel while keeping it casual. Definitely one of the better restaurants in Santa Cruz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Soif is over-priced. The main dishes we ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Soif is over-priced. The main dishes were good, the white peach sorbet was so-so. The wine list has many high priced wines on it;few that are reasonably priced. The selection is also heavily European. California and West Coast wines are very under-represented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We went to Soif on a slow Sunday night, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

We went to Soif on a slow Sunday night, and had a very good meal. Padron peppers fried with almonds were tasty, the almonds crisping back up as they cooled. My date had the special, which was a salmon dish on lentils. The fish was cooked just right, the sauce light and the dish well balanced. My pork tenderloin on polenta was delicious. A scattering of pickled mulberries gave just the right pungent punch to counterbalance the smooth softness of the polenta.

Dessert was less successful. Cheesecake with warm figs and some sweet red sauce was just too sweet to eat.

We are not wine drinkers, but there were suggested pairings for most dishes.

Generally speaking if you go somewhere that specializes in wine, the food tends to be a little "also ran." At Soif everything except the desserts was very well thought out, nicely prepared, and well worth the visit. We will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding. My entree was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was outstanding. My entree was the seared ahi tuna--one of the best I can remember. Unfortunately, the wine pairing that was recommended never came. I asked twice about it and the second time the answer was "the bar is backed up". That is entirely unsatisfactory. I suspect the server forgot to order it in a timely fashion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved Soif! I had the grilled pork tende ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loved Soif! I had the grilled pork tenderloin and my friend had the seared king salmon. Everything was delicious and cooked perfectly. Service was friendly and prompt. No complaints! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason this restaurant is getti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The only reason this restaurant is getting a two star because our waitress was sweet and recommend the halibut dish, which was lovely. The cheese plate cost $18 for 4 small slices of cheese that did not wow me at all. The grilled octopus dish felt like it was something I could make at home--nothing amazing. We ordered bubbles (allimant-launger) for the special occasion, which was recommend by our waitress, and it was very tasteful. For our entrees, we ordered the halibut and the pork tenderloin. The halibut dish was amazing- it came with a lentil and bean mixture that complimented the halibut nicely. The sauce/aioli that went on top of the fish was too heavy so my boyfriend and I scooped it aside. Our other dish was the pork tenderloin with polenta and broccoli. The pork was served RAW. You can not eat pork raw! I told our lovely waitress about it and she took it back. When she brought the dish back, the pork was over cooked and it was tough to chew. The flavor was actually yummy but I couldn't handle the rubbery meat texture. I felt that the chef was offend that I sent it back and carelessly threw it back in the oven or the stove top. The pork tenderloin dish cost $27... For that price, I expected excellent cooking. The polenta was okay but it was not something you would want to lick each drop off. It was my boyfriend's birthday... We would've ordered dessert of the chef did a better job. I spent a dissapponting $119 and I hope all the tip money went to the waitress. All the other times my boyfriend and I have been here for holiday dinners and dates, we have been amazed... And now, we plan to not ever return. (We went on a Sunday. It was quiet and not busy.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

I was a little disappointed with the cho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was a little disappointed with the choices for dinner... it wasn't a bad selection, but nothing really appealed. I ended up getting a burger, which was huge and well-seasoned. It was perfectly cooked and the fries were delicious.

Wine selection is fun; we shared the multicolored flight, and ended up getting a glass of the excellent rose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We went as a family to Soif on a Tuesday ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went as a family to Soif on a Tuesday night. It was about 1/3 full. We booked a table with 15 minutes notice using Opentable. My main complaint about the experience was the service. The kitchen was really slow that night. We waited about 30 minutes between finishing our appetizers and receiving the main course. They never provided our table bread - even though we could see other tables receiving bread. They left our appetizer plates on the table with the used silverware until our main course arrived. We then had to re-use the same silverware for the main course. In general the food was OK, not great. Since the bill was at the $50/head, the real problem was the quality of the service and the value for the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Really delicious in Santa Cruz! We will ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Really delicious in Santa Cruz! We will definitely be back as her son will be in college in this town for the next four years. Go there ready to eat some amazing food!

Highly recommend the fried carrots (sounds funny but was great) it uses the carrot tops in a really creative manner. The burger was also delicious and very different from the standard burger. We also loved the terrine...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hands down, the food was superb. We wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Hands down, the food was superb. We were extremely happy with our dinner. My only complaint is for a $90 meal (that's with no drinks) the seating was not comfortable. We were placed on the bar side and sat at tall table, it was very uncomfortable. I reqested to sit at another table and the host said no :( That was disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect for an anniversary. The waitress ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Perfect for an anniversary. The waitress was especially helpful in finding the perfect wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Soif is our go to restaurant in Santa Cr ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Soif is our go to restaurant in Santa Cruz. The food is fantastic as is their wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time going into this ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was my second time going into this building. I made a reservation to ensure I got a spot. The menu was short and simple while everything sounded delicious. I went out with the girlfriend for her birthday and she loved it as well. The first time I went in was just to try some wine. This time I came in for dinner and had a great time!. The food was delicious and the wine was too!. They gave us a glass of complimentary Chardonnay for our celebration which I thought was very nice and generous. The waitress was quite friendly and happy to take our order and answer any questions we had. I got some duck breast with red rice while the lady got pork tenderloin. Both of the dishes were of great portions and delicious from the first to last bites. To end the night we shared two scoops of apricot and plum sorbet. Both scoops were delicious and sweet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wine list. Perfect for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great service and wine list. Perfect for aromatic evening with your loved one or a couple friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like Soif and go there often after mo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We like Soif and go there often after movies but are feeling that it is too expensive . A fairly light after movie supper for two with three glasses of wine cost $150 including tip. We just had an anniversary dinner at Au Midi in Aptos, with a dessert, for the same price, which seemed like much better value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent Food and Excellent service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2016

We have been to this wonderful place before and this trip was the best yet. Their food was and still is incredible. I had the cannelloni with green garlic sauce that was probably the best pasta dish I've ever had, and I have an Italian grandmother who could really cook! My wife had the fried quail that she couldn't stop eating until she was stuffed. But even beyond the food, the service was impeccable. We had an amazing and attentive waitress that was superb, professional and friendly. We felt like we were being treated special and we walked away from the restaurant in an elated state because of the wonderful experience we had. I highly recommend this great restaurant, one of the best in Santa Cruz or anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.