Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Soif Wine Bar Restaurant

The menu at Soif changes almost daily, and every dish – small plates, appetizers, entrées and desserts – emphasizes seasonal, sustainably grown, and intensely flavored ingredients primarily sourced from local farmers and provisioners.

Soif offers over 40 wines by the glass from small, artisanal producers, as well as some 400 selections by the bottle from our wine shop, available to diners for $20 over retail price.

We find our delight in discovering distinctive, expressive wines, sourcing and preparing delicious, wholesome food, and then putting it all together so when guests walk in the door, night after night, there is something here for them that is authentic – that satisfies their thirst for the soulful, the delicious, and the well made.

105 Walnut Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00

Cross Street:
Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 423-2020

Website:
http://www.soifwine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Monday as we welcome Gypsy Jazz all stars HOT CLUB PACIFIC from 7:00 to 9:00. We also host an eclectic array of musicians on a periodic and wholly unpredictable basis. There is never a cover for any show at Soif. Check our website for notice of upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking are available very near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mark Denham

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room which can accommodate 16 people seated or 25 people for a reception. Please contact us for additional options and information on facilities.

Private Party Contact:
Taylor Congdon: (831) 423-2020

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We periodically hold special dinners featuring winemakers from around the world as well as host wine tasting events in the afternoons. Please take a look at our website for all upcoming events.

Soif Wine Bar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (10)
Seasonal (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Casual (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (6)
Tapas (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Music (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great wine and tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food and service in the restaurant. The restaurant side seating layout doesn't allow much privacy. We would come again for the food and wine selections (and beer) but look for better seating options - recommend they move the seats a little further apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always, the quality of the service and food was exceptional. Alan

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Had the Pork Tenderloin. It was marvelous! The Black Eyed Pea Succotash it was paired with was just like I remember from North Carolina, great. Overall an excellent experience .

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very disappointed. Food not up to the usual standards I expect of Soif (with high prices).
Staff very uninterested and aloof. Will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I love Soif! There small plates are delicious, affordable and fun to share. Great service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Best restaurant in Santa Cruz, without question.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 14, 2017

It continues to be one of our favorite restaurants, even after they lost our favorite chef a few years back. We really love the remodel too, guys, good job! We love going early too to avoid the noise level. <3

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent place to taste unusual or infrequently found wines. Very good small plate and wine parings.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food is exquisite.

We enjoyed the Grilled Octopus appetizer. It was tender and melted in your mouth with great flavors. I am a Flexitarian and so when I see a vegetarian option that sound intriguing, I try it. What a great choice that night! The Pansini cakes (make with chickpea flour) were creamy and a great contrast to the summer vegetable stew.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Each dish (of six different things we ordered) was of the high caliber I've come to expect from Soif. I especially enjoyed the Grilled Octopus and the Corn Risotto--I'll order them again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Not impressed, won't return!

Only one Chardonnay available by the glass. The first Cabernet requested was unavailable.

Very limited menu!!!

This restaurant and wine bar received ones star from wine spectator. Therefore, we expected a extensive list of wines both by the glass and by the bottle; this was not the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our meal at Soif. Great downtown location, clever decorations (wine root stock on wall), well made drinks, etc. I thought I had lucked out and parked at a metered spot about 1/2 block from the restaurant. I had enough change for approx 45 min. After ordering drinks and appetizers I asked our server for change for a dollar so I could feed the meter. I couldn't believe it when I was informed that was against restaurant policy and that I would need to obtain change at a change station down the street. It really took the edge off an otherwise wonderful experience to have to leave my drink, leave my appetizer, leave my wife, and leave the restaurant to go in search of this change machine, then walk back to my car, feed the meter and then return to find a watered down drink, cold appetizer and annoyed wife. I understand not providing change for for non-customers (just as many businesses discourage the use of their rest room to non-customers), but really!! A seated, ordering, paying customer can't be accommodated? I'm fairly certain the server could obtain change for a tip. I would really encourage Soif to consider changing this policy. Although I could recommend Soif to friends, but it would come with this story.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Soif has great food and great service in a comfortable environment. Best for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Our dinner was excellent as always. We hadn't been in a while and didn't realize that they serve cocktails now! Definitely an added bonus. My husband had the burger and it was delicious - came with a GIANT side of fries. I had the trout and loved the dill/yogurt sauce it was on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent in every way! Great service, exceptional meal..
As always! I love that they have so many small plates to sample! And the trout...divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The risotto and asparagus salad were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Soif is one of my favorite places in Santa Cruz to get a really good bottle of wine and try lots of small plates. Since you can choose wine from their adjacent retail store, the opportunity to find something very different and special is always there. The food choices vary with each visit so each experience there is unique. The recent addition of cocktails has increased the possibilities as well.

Tags: Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Pros - Overall good food, interesting winelist. Considering it's Santa Cruz, in the top tier of foody spots.

Cons - Two guys in t-shirts nursing a glass of wine and order of fries seated right across from us. Playing cards. On a Saturday night. WTF? Tell 'em to go to the bar. No A/C. Also, WTF? Yeah I get it, there's not often a need in Santa Cruz. But when there is.... Adventurous food sometimes falls flat. Small portions. Pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My overall experience every time was excellent. The service was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband enjoyed his pork belly, and I loved my asparagus salad. The bacon- wrapped dates are a MUST! The wine was unique and the service was great. They were playing an acoustic, french music type channel and it was PERFECT! Romantic and soothing- just what you want for a casual yet romantic dinner. Well Done, Soif Wine Bar!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Best restaurant in Santa Cruz County! THE BEST restaurant in Santa Cruz County!

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Everything was great. Our server was the best. Everyone else were attentive and appropriate as well. The food was perfect. Nice job

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Nice place for a birthday celebration with my husband and father-in-law. We started with cocktails, each of us very happy with our selection. Then we shared three starters - lamb meatballs, chicken liver mousse, and a small salad. The salad was a bit uninspired, but the other two appetizers were fantastic. I had grilled octopus, which was wonderfully prepared (I appreciated this, because I know it is so easy to overcook), and the guys both had the yellowfin tuna, which was sashimi grade, but served in thick steaks, cooked on the outside and very rare inside. They both loved it. Finally, we shared profiteroles with coconut ice cream, bittersweet chocolate sauce and toasted almonds - lucky for us they came three to an order - the perfect ending!

Only mis-step was that we really had a hard time finding our waiter when we were ready to place our wine orders for dinner - so we were most of the way through our entrees before our wine finally arrived.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great friendly service and yummy food and delicious wine to be savored.
Amanda and Jesse were awesome!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We have friends who are MAJOR wine snobs -- wine collectors, in fact -- and even they absolutely loved the wine collection at Soif. They are also gluten-free and dairy-free and Soif did an amazing job accommodating them with delicious, healthy food. If you are looking for a tried & true restaurant in Santa Cruz, like to share small plates, have food allergies, and/or love wine..this place is a "must" hit.

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Service was excellent. Lovely wine selection. We loved that they offered organic wine which many restaurants to not.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch was great - - when are you doing a Father's Day brunch?!

Tags: Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wine and cocktails were excellent,!Good food but extremely slow , wait staff was attentive but for how slow it was I didn't exactly think the food would take that long . If they added more to there ambiance they would be the talk of the town .

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great ambiance, creative food. Chef has serious skills (we've eaten at Mark's restaurants in San Francisco). Superior dishes!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

wonderful menu selection. innovative, but no losers on the menu

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Experience was ok. By the glass wine selection seemed a little lacking and the food was mixed but ok. Service was ok and ambiance is good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great wine list, service, sommelier, food and ambiance. Accommodated our schedule with aplomb.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. A bit pricey, but I have to say worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Would recommend for drinks and apps but not entrees. Food is good but not amazing. Portions are small.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I always enjoy Soif except sometimes it s led. the night we were there a big party was seated. We worried about service but it was very good and the foods excellent as always. Sofia is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Cruz. I wish it was open for lunch several times a week

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

While one often thinks of soif as 'alcohol destination' the bartender made a delectable mock-tail on request. The plentiful vegetation options are always sublime.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I loved everything about this place . Every single dish wowed me , I highly recommend it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Soif is unique in that it offers wine flight tastings. If you don't like the presented pairs, you can build your own. Menu is not large, but offers a variety of unique tastes. Beet & orange sald with shaved fennel great, as was lamb cheeks on polenta. Hamburger & fries looked good, too.
Great service & fun spot.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A friend and I went to Soif for a quick bite before a concert. We shared piquillo peppers and a burger. I love the burger here in general and the fries. Some nights are better than others. This night was very good but I have had it better - same with the fries. It was still delicious - I am just being hyper critical. I would always recommend Soif. Their other dishes would likely be more representative of the skills of the chef and are usually tasty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.