About Soif Wine Bar Restaurant

105 Walnut Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
View Larger Map

The menu at Soif changes almost daily, and every dish – small plates, appetizers, entrées and desserts – emphasizes seasonal, sustainably grown, and intensely flavored ingredients primarily sourced from local farmers and provisioners.

Soif offers over 40 wines by the glass from small, artisanal producers, as well as some 400 selections by the bottle from our wine shop, available to diners for $20 over retail price.

We find our delight in discovering distinctive, expressive wines, sourcing and preparing delicious, wholesome food, and then putting it all together so when guests walk in the door, night after night, there is something here for them that is authentic – that satisfies their thirst for the soulful, the delicious, and the well made.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00

Cross Street:
Pacific Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 423-2020

Website:
http://www.soifwine.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Monday as we welcome Gypsy Jazz all stars HOT CLUB PACIFIC from 7:00 to 9:00. We also host an eclectic array of musicians on a periodic and wholly unpredictable basis. There is never a cover for any show at Soif. Check our website for notice of upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Street and public lot parking are available very near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mark Denham

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining room which can accommodate 16 people seated or 25 people for a reception. Please contact us for additional options and information on facilities.

Private Party Contact:
Christian Groon: 8314232020x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We periodically hold special dinners featuring winemakers from around the world as well as host wine tasting events in the afternoons. Please take a look at our website for all upcoming events.

Restaurant Photos

Soif Wine Bar Restaurant
Piquillos Rellenos
Garganelli
Seared King Salmon fillet
Chargrilled Octopus
Fennel Salad
Little Gem Lettuces
Fried O
Fava Bean Fritter
Oysters
Double Porterhouse of Lamb
pinot
Chicken & Creamy Polenta
Quail With Aragula Kumquat Salad
Ribs With Watercress And Coffee Bbq Sauce
Cheese Platter

Soif Wine Bar Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
San Francisco Bay Area
Notable Wine List
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
4 More
Best Ambiance
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Fit for Foodies
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Romantic
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Most Booked
Santa Cruz / Capitola / Aptos
Best Restaurants in Santa Cruz ›

Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Romantic (14)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
479 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love Soif. We have been here many tim ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I love Soif. We have been here many times and each time we are delighted with the originality and taste of the dishes as well as the fantastic wine selection. I love that they are okay with you just ordering a lot of appetizers or just having a glass of wine.

My only very small complaint (and I really hate to complain about this place)...my husband ordered a cocktail and I ordered a glass of wine when we ordered our dinner. Our starter plates (salads) were delivered very quickly to our table long before our wine and cocktail, in fact we had finished our salads before my husband's cocktail arrived. It wasn't terribly busy so we were a little perplexed why the delay (even more so for my glass of wine since that did not require any preparation!)

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was our third visit and food was go ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was our third visit and food was good. Our server was a bit "scattered" but overall a good meal and we would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic food, great price, really givi ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fantastic food, great price, really giving off a fine dining feel while keeping it casual. Definitely one of the better restaurants in Santa Cruz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Soif is over-priced. The main dishes we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Soif is over-priced. The main dishes were good, the white peach sorbet was so-so. The wine list has many high priced wines on it;few that are reasonably priced. The selection is also heavily European. California and West Coast wines are very under-represented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We went to Soif on a slow Sunday night, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We went to Soif on a slow Sunday night, and had a very good meal. Padron peppers fried with almonds were tasty, the almonds crisping back up as they cooled. My date had the special, which was a salmon dish on lentils. The fish was cooked just right, the sauce light and the dish well balanced. My pork tenderloin on polenta was delicious. A scattering of pickled mulberries gave just the right pungent punch to counterbalance the smooth softness of the polenta.

Dessert was less successful. Cheesecake with warm figs and some sweet red sauce was just too sweet to eat.

We are not wine drinkers, but there were suggested pairings for most dishes.

Generally speaking if you go somewhere that specializes in wine, the food tends to be a little "also ran." At Soif everything except the desserts was very well thought out, nicely prepared, and well worth the visit. We will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was outstanding. My entree was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was outstanding. My entree was the seared ahi tuna--one of the best I can remember. Unfortunately, the wine pairing that was recommended never came. I asked twice about it and the second time the answer was "the bar is backed up". That is entirely unsatisfactory. I suspect the server forgot to order it in a timely fashion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved Soif! I had the grilled pork tende ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loved Soif! I had the grilled pork tenderloin and my friend had the seared king salmon. Everything was delicious and cooked perfectly. Service was friendly and prompt. No complaints! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason this restaurant is getti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The only reason this restaurant is getting a two star because our waitress was sweet and recommend the halibut dish, which was lovely. The cheese plate cost $18 for 4 small slices of cheese that did not wow me at all. The grilled octopus dish felt like it was something I could make at home--nothing amazing. We ordered bubbles (allimant-launger) for the special occasion, which was recommend by our waitress, and it was very tasteful. For our entrees, we ordered the halibut and the pork tenderloin. The halibut dish was amazing- it came with a lentil and bean mixture that complimented the halibut nicely. The sauce/aioli that went on top of the fish was too heavy so my boyfriend and I scooped it aside. Our other dish was the pork tenderloin with polenta and broccoli. The pork was served RAW. You can not eat pork raw! I told our lovely waitress about it and she took it back. When she brought the dish back, the pork was over cooked and it was tough to chew. The flavor was actually yummy but I couldn't handle the rubbery meat texture. I felt that the chef was offend that I sent it back and carelessly threw it back in the oven or the stove top. The pork tenderloin dish cost $27... For that price, I expected excellent cooking. The polenta was okay but it was not something you would want to lick each drop off. It was my boyfriend's birthday... We would've ordered dessert of the chef did a better job. I spent a dissapponting $119 and I hope all the tip money went to the waitress. All the other times my boyfriend and I have been here for holiday dinners and dates, we have been amazed... And now, we plan to not ever return. (We went on a Sunday. It was quiet and not busy.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

I was a little disappointed with the cho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was a little disappointed with the choices for dinner... it wasn't a bad selection, but nothing really appealed. I ended up getting a burger, which was huge and well-seasoned. It was perfectly cooked and the fries were delicious.

Wine selection is fun; we shared the multicolored flight, and ended up getting a glass of the excellent rose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We went as a family to Soif on a Tuesday ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went as a family to Soif on a Tuesday night. It was about 1/3 full. We booked a table with 15 minutes notice using Opentable. My main complaint about the experience was the service. The kitchen was really slow that night. We waited about 30 minutes between finishing our appetizers and receiving the main course. They never provided our table bread - even though we could see other tables receiving bread. They left our appetizer plates on the table with the used silverware until our main course arrived. We then had to re-use the same silverware for the main course. In general the food was OK, not great. Since the bill was at the $50/head, the real problem was the quality of the service and the value for the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Really delicious in Santa Cruz! We will ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Really delicious in Santa Cruz! We will definitely be back as her son will be in college in this town for the next four years. Go there ready to eat some amazing food!

Highly recommend the fried carrots (sounds funny but was great) it uses the carrot tops in a really creative manner. The burger was also delicious and very different from the standard burger. We also loved the terrine...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hands down, the food was superb. We wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Hands down, the food was superb. We were extremely happy with our dinner. My only complaint is for a $90 meal (that's with no drinks) the seating was not comfortable. We were placed on the bar side and sat at tall table, it was very uncomfortable. I reqested to sit at another table and the host said no :( That was disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect for an anniversary. The waitress ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Perfect for an anniversary. The waitress was especially helpful in finding the perfect wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Soif is our go to restaurant in Santa Cr ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Soif is our go to restaurant in Santa Cruz. The food is fantastic as is their wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time going into this ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This was my second time going into this building. I made a reservation to ensure I got a spot. The menu was short and simple while everything sounded delicious. I went out with the girlfriend for her birthday and she loved it as well. The first time I went in was just to try some wine. This time I came in for dinner and had a great time!. The food was delicious and the wine was too!. They gave us a glass of complimentary Chardonnay for our celebration which I thought was very nice and generous. The waitress was quite friendly and happy to take our order and answer any questions we had. I got some duck breast with red rice while the lady got pork tenderloin. Both of the dishes were of great portions and delicious from the first to last bites. To end the night we shared two scoops of apricot and plum sorbet. Both scoops were delicious and sweet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wine list. Perfect for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great service and wine list. Perfect for aromatic evening with your loved one or a couple friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like Soif and go there often after mo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We like Soif and go there often after movies but are feeling that it is too expensive . A fairly light after movie supper for two with three glasses of wine cost $150 including tip. We just had an anniversary dinner at Au Midi in Aptos, with a dessert, for the same price, which seemed like much better value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent Food and Excellent service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We have been to this wonderful place before and this trip was the best yet. Their food was and still is incredible. I had the cannelloni with green garlic sauce that was probably the best pasta dish I've ever had, and I have an Italian grandmother who could really cook! My wife had the fried quail that she couldn't stop eating until she was stuffed. But even beyond the food, the service was impeccable. We had an amazing and attentive waitress that was superb, professional and friendly. We felt like we were being treated special and we walked away from the restaurant in an elated state because of the wonderful experience we had. I highly recommend this great restaurant, one of the best in Santa Cruz or anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WINE

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Just love the wine focus - excellent food is a plus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husbands burger was delicious as alwa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

My husbands burger was delicious as always. I had the special ramen and it was awful. No flavor, no meat, came with egg I specifically asked to not have. I left most of it and the waitress didn't even ask why. I said there was no meat and she said that's how it comes. Very disappointing from one of our favorite places in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

It's so easily accessible right in downt ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

It's so easily accessible right in downtown Santa Cruz. With great wines, delicious & adventuresome menu items & specials, attentive & highly knowledgable service, and truly tasty desserts it's going to be one of our prime "go to" spots from now on. The value-added element to dining here is the very nice wine shop next door.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Foodies place in Santa Cruz!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved the tapa style appetizers! Great wine list, superb customer service, highly recommend it to foodies!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good but the portions ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was very good but the portions were small, especially for the price. Service was inconsistent as the restaurant became busier. Our waiter did recommend a very nice wine, which we appreciated. Dessert was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Roasted beet salad was my favorite tonig ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Roasted beet salad was my favorite tonight, maybe ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Soif has upped it's food game.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Had a fabulous meal at Soif from start to finish. I don't know if the chef is new or not, but this restaurant totally exceeded our experience for excellence in Santa Cruz. We'll plan to return often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal of the 3-4 times we've been to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Best meal of the 3-4 times we've been to Soif. Wine pairings were good, one rosé in particular was superb. Octopus and tuna were excellent. Braised pork was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great apps and salad. Brussels were medi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great apps and salad. Brussels were mediocre. Nice atmosphere. Service was "blah" but not terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Ladies Night

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great wine and food. Although food is a bit overpriced for the portions you get. Just get apps and wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food used to be more small plates. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The food used to be more small plates. Now there is a nice selection of main courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Attentive service, great meal

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We came in a bit cautiously because of the atrocious wait time one of us had when the restaurant reopened. This time we were shown right to our table, the waiter got to us promptly, and food and drink flowed in a timely manner. We enjoyed everything, and must recommend the profiteroles for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Uneven service detracts from the experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We've dined at Soif a lot and like it. Unfortunately we find the service uneven and often a distraction from the high quality of the food and wine. On this last occasion the waitress seemed to be rushing, not checking in with us, missing empty water glasses, etc. The food was very good and the wine list, as usual, was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Best wine, cheese & conversation spot in town

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great service -- our server gave us lots of samples so we could decide on the right bottle. Much appreciated for grad students who want to splurge! We got a bottle of wine and lingered over a cheese plate-- Soif is a great date spot to have a long conversation with a loved one!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Shared tasting

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Had a terrific girl's night out - shared 2 flights between 3 of us - then 2 glasses of champagne with dessert! We loved the manchego stuffed piquillo peppers and the amazing ricotta beignets with honey and peppers. We also enjoyed the gnocchi, the homemade garganelli with chicken ragu and the lovely roasted mini potatoes. The bread pudding was lovely but the piece de resistance was the pot de creme with salted caramel on top!

We had excellent service where they accommodated us sharing the flights and when there got to be so many plates and glasses, pulled up the empty table next to us!

We are looking forward to next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not impressed at all

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

When I checked in the host didn't even note that I was an Open Table customer so I received the "naughty patron who doesn't keep reservations" letter from OT. Wine bar?

Imported wines.... what about our great CA wines? Food? There wasn't a single entree that appealed to me so I left after olives and salad. The positives? Kristen, my server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The February 22nd visit was perfect end- ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

The February 22nd visit was perfect end-to-end. The hostess was incredibly friendly and approachable; the atmosphere was welcoming; the band was awesome; our table service associate was super attentive and delivered service with a smile plus she provided excellent cuisine and wine recommendations; dessert was decadent; and overall dollar value was excellent. Perfect evening at Soif!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little touch of class in the heart of Santa Cruz

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Immediately upon entering I was welcomed with high ceilings and a warmly lit dining room. The tables were equipped with small candles and a simplistic setting, promoting a tableside intamacy to balance out the open space and movement of the building. For me, first impression really sets the whole mood for the meal. I was enthralled with the extensive wine list that, contrary to the tourist driven lists around town, did not solely focus on local wines. In fact, I had the option to be transported around the globe, making stops at uncommon places such as hungary and South Africa. Even though I had never heard of a lot of the grape varietals, my server Sophia was kind enough to explain what I was in for as well as allowing me to sample once I had narrowed down my interests. The food was spectacular. The colors and plating became a beautifully artistic masterpiece that was an adventure for both the eye and the palate. The portion sizes were moderate and classy, allowing me to enjoy the richness and flavor combinations without overfilling myself. I left with a full belly, and a little jump to my step. Definitely will be returning to this little diamond in the rough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Valentine's Day Pre-Fixed Meal

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I went to Soif for Valentine's Day. As someone who loves great food I was excited for a chance to enjoy something high quality in Santa Cruz. They had a prefixed dinner menu and the courses seemed like they had potential. I would say we maybe had two dishes out of six that we enjoyed even a little bit. Although, the ingredients were fresh, there was hardly any food on the plate and the flavors weren't paired well.

I understand food won't be excellent all the time, but if you are charging 65 dollars a person the food should be high quality and leave you full.

Overall, it was an expensive and disappointing experience. I even felt the need to apologize to my parter for picking this restaurant. I wouldn't recommend this place unless you were coming exclusively for the wine and the cheese plates.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Extra special

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Thank you to the entire Soif staff for making our anniversary extra special.

As usual the wine and meal was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic birthday

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Every plate was tasty and great quality. We went on Monday which was oyster & live jazz night. Great music and fresh oysters. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion to try appetizers through dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fried oyster appetizer was delicious ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

The fried oyster appetizer was delicious! The recommended champagne was tasty too. Really good recommendations, food, service, and experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.