Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About Il Sogno

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples. A true Italian restaurant with a true Italian chef.

"ROOF TOP IS FIRST COME FIRST SERVED! NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE HONORED! CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION"

100 N Hale St
Wheaton, IL 60187
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday 3:00pm - 9:00pm.
At this time we are no longer serving lunch. Please check back soon.

Cross Street:
W Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 682-5900

Website:
http://www.sognowheaton.com/

Catering:
We will customize a menu for any catering order.

Parking Details:
Street parking and parking garage located on Front street.

Public Transit:
Metra

Executive Chef:
Nancy Longobardi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact the restaurant and ask for Arian or Rosie for further information on private events.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Private Dining

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples.

Il Sogno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Casual (19)
Authentic (17)
Scenic View (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (13)
Fun (10)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

My first visit and definitely will not be my last! The quality and taste of food was superb! Service was delightful and efficient but not disturbing. Value of meal and drinks is very good. The ambience certainly sets the mood for a delightful visit!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The people at Sogno were very accommodating. I made a reservation and requested a rooftop table, even though they don’t allow that in reservations. However, upon arrival, they made it work and had a spot up there for us. It’s a beautiful venue, with some of the best Italian food I’ve had in Wheaton.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Very good food. Arrancini are VERY tasty. Service was good, but a little confusing on who our server was. Noise level made it difficult to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Husband & I went out for dinner. Cute small place. It's was a little bit busy. Waitress took forever on ordering n didn't even ask if we wanted a second drink. The hostess saw we were empty before our meals came. Overall food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent meal!!! Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner here. We all had pasta and it was very good. I would recommend this place and we will be definitely dining there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This was our first time here. We came for our 40th wedding anniversary. Excellent Italian food
And good service. Restaurant is on the 2nd floor and there is an elevator. Very pretty with lovely domed ceiling. Nice children's menu. There was more casual rooftop dining that was also handicapped accessible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had an 8 o'clock reservation. We requested rooftop and were told that it is 1st come first serve. (Even if we had a reservation)
We arrived early and were put on wait list.
Staff were overly attentive. (Actually we found out later )that our waitress who 1st told us of the specials was intercepted by another waiter and waitress. Rooftop was NOISY. So much rushing that another waiter came running up the 3flights of stairs with food and dropped a plate of food at the top of the stairs. We waited 30 mins for 1appetizer and an additional 40 for our entrees to arrive. Food was nothing special. Certainly not worth the price !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was very good. Service was not. We waited more than a half hour for our order.
We had to literally flag down a staff member to ask to speak to our waiter (we saw our waiter only when he took our order and finally when he was told to bring the bill). The dining room was so loud that we could hardly have a conversation.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our first time back to this place in a couple of years. We really enjoyed the roof top dining and the view. The service was very good and the food was well priced. I had a pasta dish with "meatballs" and my wife enjoyed her pasta with white sauce. ( More cheese than meatballs unfortunately since they were very flavorful.) The wine list was good bit a little pricey for the pours. The salads were very fresh as well as the bread. If you have a disability it could be hard to navigate the roof dining. The rest rooms were exceptionally clean. All in all a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This is our favorite Wheaton restaurant! We try to eat here at least twice a month. The food is authentic and amazing! No cutting corners here as everything is freshly made including the pasta. We have NEVER had a bad meal. Rosie is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

A very nice dining experience. The food was very good and presented well. Our waiter Jonathan was very attentive and helped to accommodate a request to modify a dish that one of us ordered. The dining area is well lit and has great ambience. Occasional noise from passing trains, but that did not diminish the experience. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food! Have been here before and will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always a great meal and great service. We had the Osso Bucco and the Fruti di Mar. they didn't disappoint. The wait staff is amazing. We will be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent all around! Nice wine selection. Service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fun, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The staff and the service was awesome. Food was delicious. I will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

A friendly and enjoyable place to dine. Great food and drinks. A nice Italian family ( Mom runs the kitchen)runs it and they always make you feel at home and part of the "family"!! Recently recommended it to my nephew for his wife's birthday. They loved i,t and is now become one of his favorite restaurants in the Wheaton/Glen Ellyn area. Great roof top to visit and view on these awesome summer weekends we've ben having!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Made a reservation with Open Table and when we arrived we asked if we could go to the rooftop (since you can't reserve it). We waited about 5 minutes and then were seated! The staff was kind, food was excellent, and the general ambiance is relaxing. A great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great Restaurant, food is awesome and service is exceptional!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We wanted a new restaurant to try for our 12th anniversary. Sogno did not disappoint. The food was outstanding... best Italian we have had in quite some time. We ordered the eggplant bites, caprese salad, cannelloni, lobster capellacci and Ferero Rochere choc hazelnut ice cream.

The red sauce on the eggplant and cannelloni was so rich and flavorful. The lobster capellacci had a creamy tomato sauce and was just delicious.

The only thing we were not too thrilled about was the rooftop dining... we thought it would be romantic and something different but was very noisy because the train tracks were right below and the train came through no less than six times... several being freight trains. Great atmosphere otherwise if you can deal with the train noise.

The staff was extremely attentive and friendly. We had one small goof up where the computer went down after our waiter loaded our order in and he couldn't remember my order... it delayed the dinner a bit but he was so apologetic and gave my husband a larger 2nd glass of moscato to compensate.

We will definitely return but will eat in the dining room downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had the skate fish with with risotto .... heavenly! Tender, tasty with great rice! Loved every bite! It was the special on Saturday evening🍷

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food is really good and the rooftop location over downtown Wheaton is great. We enjoyed our cocktails, baked clams and the homemade pasta. The desserts looked great but we were too full to indulge. On our two visits, we have been most impressed with the appetizers so I think we will probably just split a few of those next time. The service was very good. We were so thankful that our waiter found us walking down the sidewalk after our meal and returned my daughter's phone and book, which she had left under her chair. It was so thoughtful of him to go out of his way like that.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was great until the lobster was missing in my shrimp and lobster dish. The server didn't know how to answer where it was so manager came over and told me that the lobster was in the broth. Then said, ok I lied. We actually ran out of lobster??? Still charged $34 for pasta with 4 large shrimp. Brought us dessert on the house which was pizza crust with Nutella spread on top.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Delightful family operated business with excellent service and tasty preparations of classic Italian cuisine. A rustic interpretation of arancini with a flavorful crushed tomato sauce is a great start. Tortellini with mushroom and prosciutto pasta was perfectly done. The Osso Bucco was a real treat with bold flavor and paired well with the polenta. We will definitely be back to enjoy the roof top seating and share the experience with friends!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Entrees are pricey ($24 for chicken parm?). Staff was friendly but could stand to be more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We love the food at Il Sogno --we always try something new, and we are always wowed by the taste! So fresh and flavorful --every single time! Fantastic... If you are fortunate enough to score a table on the roof, then it becomes the perfect night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food, good service. The variety of offerings made choosing an entre difficult. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I was underwhelmed with the food and feel of the rooftop experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were there on a Friday night. Expected it to be noisy but it was beyond load. Service was very poor. Waiter just kept apologizing but didn't do anything to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I made reservations for 7:30. As soon as I knew we would be late I went to the open table app and tapped "modify reservations". The must have been a problem because the app froze and wouldn't complete the modification. I then called the restaurant and got an automatic reply that didn't give me an option to speak to someone. In fact there were no options to speak to someone. So there was no way for me to modify my reservation

We got there at 8:00. They seated us right away so it told me that our not being there at 7:30 had no impact on their operations.

The noise level was unbelievable. We were seated next to each other and had trouble talking. I could hardly hear he server talk to us about the menu. We then waited an hour for our food with minimal communication from the staff. We were finally told that The kitchen gets backed up. I don't understand why that would happen since they know how many people they concerned based on how many tables today and available. I expect that the kitchen is prepared each night.

Today I received an email from OpenTable telling me that I missed my reservation and giving me a link to their cancellation policy. It said that they would clarify with the restaurant directly by my clicking the let us know but that let me no where that there was an option to actually communicate with OpenTable. I don't know if this is a problem with the B application but I know that I did everything I could to communicate through the restaurant and open table.

I have been using this app for years and I was very disappointed with this experience and with my experience at the restaurant as well. There appears to be no recourse day again on the open table for the restaurant but at this point I don't want to continue doing business with either party.

All in all this was a waste of time and money, not to mention the fact that we've had to pay a babysitter the same amount that we paid for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Waaaaay too loud. Couldn't hear my dining companion across the table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

EXCELLENT meal as always! Their daily specials are always a delight and the regular menu has MANY fabulous choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance. Rooftop patio is nice in summer.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The 6 of us we're celebrating our summer birthdays with a dinner at one of our favorite local restaurants. IL Sogno did not disappoint. The meals were superb as was our server. When she learned what the occasion was we were treated to a lovely little dessert. A great dinner at a lovely place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Foccacia flatbread was great, with seasonal corn and burrata. Rooftop patio is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fresh, fantastic, flavorful food with a taste of Italy at the rooftop tables.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and great service... Happy we sat by the front window... the inside was very noisy.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great meal! This was my first time at the restaurant. Nice atmosphere, great drinks and great food. I will be back again with my family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The freshest, best Italian cuisine around! Great service! Great prices! Love Sogno!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Located in downtown Wheaton, Il Sogno is only a few steps away from the Metra train station.

+ Free downtown parking (3 hrs)
+ Efficient service
+ Very good food (We ate everything on our plate because it was soooo good!)
+ Nice rooftop dining (See the trains that pass by.)
+ Nice ambiance inside and on the rooftop. Good for date night or celebrating special occasions.
+ Very clean: restrooms, dining room, rooftop, etc.

No complaints. Nothing negative to say. Highly recommended!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.