Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About Il Sogno

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples. A true Italian restaurant with a true Italian chef.

"ROOF TOP IS FIRST COME FIRST SERVED! NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE HONORED! CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION"

100 N Hale St
Wheaton, IL 60187
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wed. - Fri. 11:30 - 2:30 Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 3:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
W Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 682-5900

Website:
http://www.sognowheaton.com/

Catering:
We will customize a menu for any catering order.

Parking Details:
Street parking and parking garage located on Front street.

Public Transit:
Metra

Executive Chef:
Nancy Longobardi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact the restaurant and ask for Arian or Rosie for further information on private events.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Private Dining

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples.

Il Sogno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
See All
Authentic (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Casual (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Scenic View (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

This is probably my 6th visit to Il Sogno. It is some of the best Italian food in the area in my mind. The menu is creative and frequently updated. Service is attentive and knowledgeable. I like the space - I believe it is an old bank building. And if for some reason the dessert menu is not to your liking, there's a terrific candy and ice cream shop next door.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Sogno has a nice menu selection of pastas and meats. I've only had the pastas there but they are very good!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server Jonathan was awesome and our food was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The two of us went for lunch on Friday afternoon. We were told the rooftop deck was full so we had to eat inside. We had the lunch portions of Chicken Parmesan and Chicken Vesuvio, both were very good. Service was great. We will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was good. The outdoor seating is nice. Not too expensive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

As usual, it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great Italian restaurant. food was excellent. Calamari was perfect - lightly breaded and not at all greasy and with perfect texture. Our main courses were great as well. Didn't have desert - watching calories! Service was very good - right amount of attention especially since it was a business meal. I will definitely return with my wife sooner than later.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Best Italian restaurant in Wheaton area! Great food and service and love the rooftop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

It's tough to get the upstairs patio. We like that more. Great food and service.

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I expected more than I got. The reviews for this place were good so I expected a 4 star experience. The service was sub par. There were only 2 tables so there was no excuse. The food was mediocre. Mine was cold. They got one of our parties order wrong.
It's a very cute place but they need to bring their A game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great authentic Italian food with a great staff (and incredibly attractive as well). The daily fish specials are always excellent. The outdoor rooftop setting is outstanding and makes for a wonderful overall experience. They have a solid wine selection and make a nice Old Fashion as well. We love this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Came on a very busy night so service a little slow
and the noise level was quite high...........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very loud, some diners had too much to drink and were oblivious to the stares of everyone else in the room. All hard surfaces, bad for conversation. Overly greasy veal Dish.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The ambiance and service are outstanding . Everyone caters to your needs and they don't rush you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The potato-leek soup was amazing and the Bibb lettuce salad was refreshing. The table was split on the monkfish – one person thought it was great, but another felt that the tastes didn't quite mesh. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Love the gluten free pasta option for all the Italian pasta dishes.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We always have a wonderful meal with excellent service at Il Sogno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Il Sogno has so much potential.

On paper, the menu is appropriate. We were there for Mother's Day and, unlike most restaurants that are not typically open on a Sunday afternoon, they worked from their dinner menu and not from a fixed selection for the occasion. There is not another Italian restaurant in Wheaton of this size and the location is as good as it gets for views of the village with a panoramic view of the street below (particularly, if you love trains). The space is wonderful (although it good use a bit of attention) and the bar is expansive.

The service is also attentive. Our servers filled our requests with care and the manager was prompt to apologize and "comped" one of our entrees when she discovered that we were not happy with our experience.

The problem is the food: My wife and I shared the Misto Griglia and each of us ordered an entree with wine: the braciole and lobster cappellacci. The misto was grilled, as advertised, but was tough and unidimensional in flavor. The grass fed ribeye and salami in the braciole, lacked differentiation and tasted more or less like an over-cooked pot roast. The pine nuts had not toasted and, along with the raisins, they were almost impossible to distinguish. The pasta in the cappellacci was both doughy and had the taste of raw flour, suggesting that it had been undercooked. Perhaps the kitchen was "off its game," catering to a time and day that doesn't muster the "A Team," but -- of course -- if you are going to cater to an audience, then you owe them your best.

Hesitant to broach an awkward conversation, when the manager asked us, what we thought of the food, I answered (lamely), "It was OK." To her credit, the manager instantly noted that "OK" was not what she wanted to hear and asked for our evaluation.

That bodes well for the future of Il Sogno and, for the sake of diners looking for quality in the western suburbs, one can certainly wish them success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best gnocchi ever!! It's family owned so it's very friendly and it's very affordable especially for the high quality food! My favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always a contest between which is better - the food or the service. As always, the both were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were disappointed with the service at Il Sogno. The staff seemed chaotic and disorganized. Our waitress hardly followed up with us and at a few points the hostess was taking orders for us since the waitress was no where to be found. Also - the hostess was chewing gum and her "lax" attitude did not come across professional.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love this place! REALLY good Italian food and cozy and trendy atmosphere. The building is historic and the restaurant is on the 2nd floor overlooking downtown Wheaton. Decent wine list too, but really it is all about the food. I am a huge fan of Italian food and this is by far one of my favorite places.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Historic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Attended The Love Your Neighbor event and came her for dinner afterwards. Had great service by Chris, great food, loved the bread too!! A little to cold to go out on outdoor patio, but will be back when it's warmer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Really, really good. The food was great and the service was fantastic. Definitely heading beck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was good. The special was poorly priced for a fish dish. Also the special was not printed and the waitress did not tell the price. Felt rushed by the bus staff.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Little noisy. Food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was delicious! I had the pappardelle, and definitely would order again. Great spot for a date night or dinner with the family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My family and I always enjoy our dining experience here. Great food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Servers were inexperienced. Lacking server training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Everything was very good from the décor to the wait staff to the food & wine. The only problem, I would say, is that the noise level was very high. Plenty of noise and people talking over each other and their children. I guess hard to avoid.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We dined prior to a concert. Service was knowledgeable and prompt. Portions were generous allowing for take-home-for-lunch-tomorrow! Three different protein and carb entrees, each tender, flavorful and delicious. We look forward to warmer weather and outside dining!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food, service, drinks. Our third visit in as many months. The braciole is spectacular!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The two of us went for dinner at 6 PM on a Saturday evening. We started with the meatball appetizer and the rice balls – both were excellent! For my main course I had the lobster gnocchi appetizer which I found to be very good and very rich. It was served in an Au gratin dish with a lot of sauce, delicious! My partner had the Orecchiette pasta dish with Italian sausage, which he enjoyed very much. He had a beer to start and I had a glass of Cabernet which was a very generous pour. We finished sharing a dessert- the limoncello flute-very refreshing. Looking forward to coming back and trying some other dishes! Our server Tiffany was fabulous-very attentive and not intrusive - excellent service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Can't say enough. Nancy and Rose are wonderful. More menu than your typical Italian with some just great flavors. The best Italian you will have this side of the pond. Try and save room for dessert!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Was in for an early Saturday dinner with the kids. Staff was outstanding- even with a decent spill. Really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

While our food was good and presented well, our server seemed overwhelmed and uninformed. He checked in with us right when we sat, but then did not come back for almost 20 minutes, as he had trouble with one table paying their check and then was sat three tables all at once, including a large party. Also, we were going to be sat at the window, but as we approached the table the hostess told us it was sat for three, not two, so we could not have that table. In less than 5 minutes the same hostess sat another couple at the very same window table. Maybe it was because we had an Open Table reservation that we did not rate a window seat? Either way it made me feel inferior and unwelcome. Open Table helps us to experience and spend money at restaurants I might not normally go to, so if that was the case not a good move on their part.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food and ambiance were wonderful, as was the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Really enjoyed this restaurant .
Great and authentic Italian food , best gnocchi anywhere, made from scratch, highly recommended .Warm bread and great appetizers selection .Service was on point .
We wish the pasta bowls were more traditional, for better display of the food but mostly for a better eating experience. Can't wait to try the rooftop in the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Hostess and staff were so eager to please, so accommodating.
Much of the cuisine is prepared by a family member from Italy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food! Ambience is warm and friendly; patrons are polite and respectful; pasta is made fresh; sauces are outstanding! As a family-owned restaurant, where mom is the head chef and daughter is the operations manager, it is a smoothly run restaurant with very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.