Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.78mi
  4. Distance: 0.92mi

About Il Sogno

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples. A true Italian restaurant with a true Italian chef.

"ROOF TOP IS FIRST COME FIRST SERVED! NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE HONORED! CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION"

100 N Hale St
Wheaton, IL 60187
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm,
Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm,
Sunday 3:00pm - 9:00pm.
At this time we are no longer serving lunch. Please check back soon.

Cross Street:
W Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 682-5900

Website:
http://www.sognowheaton.com/

Catering:
We will customize a menu for any catering order.

Parking Details:
Street parking and parking garage located on Front street.

Public Transit:
Metra

Executive Chef:
Nancy Longobardi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact the restaurant and ask for Arian or Rosie for further information on private events.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Private Dining

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples.

Il Sogno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Good for Birthdays (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Authentic (21)
Casual (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Fun (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Scenic View (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Entrees are pricey ($24 for chicken parm?). Staff was friendly but could stand to be more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We love the food at Il Sogno --we always try something new, and we are always wowed by the taste! So fresh and flavorful --every single time! Fantastic... If you are fortunate enough to score a table on the roof, then it becomes the perfect night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

I was underwhelmed with the food and feel of the rooftop experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We were there on a Friday night. Expected it to be noisy but it was beyond load. Service was very poor. Waiter just kept apologizing but didn't do anything to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I made reservations for 7:30. As soon as I knew we would be late I went to the open table app and tapped "modify reservations". The must have been a problem because the app froze and wouldn't complete the modification. I then called the restaurant and got an automatic reply that didn't give me an option to speak to someone. In fact there were no options to speak to someone. So there was no way for me to modify my reservation

We got there at 8:00. They seated us right away so it told me that our not being there at 7:30 had no impact on their operations.

The noise level was unbelievable. We were seated next to each other and had trouble talking. I could hardly hear he server talk to us about the menu. We then waited an hour for our food with minimal communication from the staff. We were finally told that The kitchen gets backed up. I don't understand why that would happen since they know how many people they concerned based on how many tables today and available. I expect that the kitchen is prepared each night.

Today I received an email from OpenTable telling me that I missed my reservation and giving me a link to their cancellation policy. It said that they would clarify with the restaurant directly by my clicking the let us know but that let me no where that there was an option to actually communicate with OpenTable. I don't know if this is a problem with the B application but I know that I did everything I could to communicate through the restaurant and open table.

I have been using this app for years and I was very disappointed with this experience and with my experience at the restaurant as well. There appears to be no recourse day again on the open table for the restaurant but at this point I don't want to continue doing business with either party.

All in all this was a waste of time and money, not to mention the fact that we've had to pay a babysitter the same amount that we paid for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Waaaaay too loud. Couldn't hear my dining companion across the table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2017

EXCELLENT meal as always! Their daily specials are always a delight and the regular menu has MANY fabulous choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance. Rooftop patio is nice in summer.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The 6 of us we're celebrating our summer birthdays with a dinner at one of our favorite local restaurants. IL Sogno did not disappoint. The meals were superb as was our server. When she learned what the occasion was we were treated to a lovely little dessert. A great dinner at a lovely place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Foccacia flatbread was great, with seasonal corn and burrata. Rooftop patio is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fresh, fantastic, flavorful food with a taste of Italy at the rooftop tables.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and great service... Happy we sat by the front window... the inside was very noisy.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great meal! This was my first time at the restaurant. Nice atmosphere, great drinks and great food. I will be back again with my family.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The freshest, best Italian cuisine around! Great service! Great prices! Love Sogno!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Located in downtown Wheaton, Il Sogno is only a few steps away from the Metra train station.

+ Free downtown parking (3 hrs)
+ Efficient service
+ Very good food (We ate everything on our plate because it was soooo good!)
+ Nice rooftop dining (See the trains that pass by.)
+ Nice ambiance inside and on the rooftop. Good for date night or celebrating special occasions.
+ Very clean: restrooms, dining room, rooftop, etc.

No complaints. Nothing negative to say. Highly recommended!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was awful. From the time we got there the server and busboys were in a rush to get us out. We couldn't even enjoy our appetizers and dinner. They were taking plates and glasses away before we were finished. Then to top it off the server asked us outright to leave because there were so many people waiting for tables. There wee not. We had maybe stayed 15 min past being finished with our food and it's a nicer restaurant, you should be able to go that. I do like their food but will not return because of the awful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My fiance and I tried this restaurant one evening while we were downtown Wheaton. We sat on the room which was beautiful. The food is excellent. We had an appetizer and two entrees-- lobster gnocci is SO GOOD! Everything was so fresh, you could tell it was just prepared. Waitstaff was so attentive and friendly. Loved the historic charm.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Nice ambiance. Great rooftop seating, especially in the evening with a beautiful sunset. The service was average. The appetizers we had were delicious. The warm bread served with dinner was great. The mixed seafood grill was well presented and had a nice variety of octopus, shrimp and calamari. The baked eggplant was excellent with an excellent sauce. Based on those experiences, I took my chances and ordered the ossobuco which our server said was excellent. It scored a D-. The vegetables it was served with and also the polenta were delicious. But the meat was extremely dry and not very tasty. Cutting into it to the bone, the white fat gave away that it had been previously cooked, refrigerated and reheated. This, along with a somewhat slow service, really spoiled what started out as an excellent dining experience. I'm not sure if we'll go back. Certainly not worth the drive from our home. If we do, I won't order the ossobuco.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love the food and service. One of my favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a very enjoyable evening. Our main dishes were very good, but our appetizers were just OK. There wasn't anything wrong with them, but they tasted just average.

We were able to sit outside on the roof, which was also very nice.

This restaurant is always in our rotation when we visit Wheaton.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

my wife and i went there for the first time to celebrate our anniversary and found it to be a great choice we were very pleased with everything from appetizers to after dinner drinks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was good, as was the wine. The service was a little less consistent and pleasant than I was expecting. Despite having a reservation, the hostess took a while to seat us, even with our full party there. The waiter sounded like he was reading from a script and wasn't very genuine in general. He would break face every once in a while to talk to the waitstaff helping him (bossy, direct) and then would turn to us with a completely different attitude (overly enthusiastic), which was not professional. He didn't ask if we wanted separate checks when we were ordering and then acted like we should have known that we had to mention it before we ordered. It ended up being totally fine to split the check. Everyone working there seemed tense and unhappy, especially when talking to each other, but the moment they interacted with customers they were compensating for it by being too friendly, which came off as fake. Maybe I caught them on a bad night?

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food not bad...a little salty in a couple of entrees....a little pricey..and service was fair....felt rushed and not really very attentive...appetizer, salad, 2 entrees one glass of wine $100 and one dessert

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My only complaint we have was my wife's pork tenderloin was over cooked. However, we didn't
mention anything the the waiter since it was still enjoyable. Next time she will definitely tell the waitress or waiter how she prefers it cooked.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and food! We shared appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts - everything was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

3 of 4 meals were excellent - veal Marsala and tortellini. Special red snapper with risotto was so-so. Risotto was ok but snapper was very dry and tough. Cooked too long? Hard to find red snapper in restaurants so I was very disappointed in the quality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Outstanding food and service, as good as any in the Chicagoland.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was not good. No flavor at all. Nadic across the board.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent food and drinks! Rooftop dining was a great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We've been here before and will probably come back. However...this time we were done with our after dinner drinks and were still waiting for our coffee - ordered at the same time (we had to cancel the coffee). Not the server's fault - she kept reminding us that the order was in.

Rooftop dinning..aside from the fact that it's outside, there's really nothing to see. There's a solid fence around the roof that's eye level so that you see nothing but the top of the fence and beyond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We waited over an hour for rooftop when told it would be 30 min in end had to eat inside
Poorly organized

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This is probably my 6th visit to Il Sogno. It is some of the best Italian food in the area in my mind. The menu is creative and frequently updated. Service is attentive and knowledgeable. I like the space - I believe it is an old bank building. And if for some reason the dessert menu is not to your liking, there's a terrific candy and ice cream shop next door.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Sogno has a nice menu selection of pastas and meats. I've only had the pastas there but they are very good!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server Jonathan was awesome and our food was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The two of us went for lunch on Friday afternoon. We were told the rooftop deck was full so we had to eat inside. We had the lunch portions of Chicken Parmesan and Chicken Vesuvio, both were very good. Service was great. We will return!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The food was good. The outdoor seating is nice. Not too expensive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was fantastic. Sitting on the rooftop was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

As usual, it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great Italian restaurant. food was excellent. Calamari was perfect - lightly breaded and not at all greasy and with perfect texture. Our main courses were great as well. Didn't have desert - watching calories! Service was very good - right amount of attention especially since it was a business meal. I will definitely return with my wife sooner than later.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Best Italian restaurant in Wheaton area! Great food and service and love the rooftop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.