About Il Sogno

100 N Hale St
Wheaton, IL 60187
View Larger Map

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples. A true Italian restaurant with a true Italian chef.

"ROOF TOP IS FIRST COME FIRST SERVED! NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE HONORED! CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wed. - Fri. 11:30 - 2:30 Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 3:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
W Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 682-5900

Website:
http://www.ilsognoristorante.com/

Catering:
We will customize a menu for any catering order.

Parking Details:
Street parking and parking garage located on Front street.

Public Transit:
Metra

Executive Chef:
Nancy Longobardi

Private Party Facilities:
We have two rooms available. One that sits up to 45 customers the other is 90 which provides full bar. COMING SOON*** Outdoor roof top sits up to 70-80 customers.

Private Party Contact:
Rosaria Migliaccio: 6303419125x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mother's Day Brunch reservations are available from 1pm-8pm on May 10th. Book your reservation now!

Restaurant Photos

  • Il Sogno
  • Veal IL Sogno
  • Chicken Saltimboca
  • Stuffed Eggplant
  • Cavatelli con Salsicce
  • Lobster Fra Diavolo
  • Gnocchi Alla Vodka (off Menu)
  • Linguini With Clams And Spicy Spinach
  • Pork
Il Sogno
Veal IL Sogno
Chicken Saltimboca
Stuffed Eggplant
Cavatelli con Salsicce
Lobster Fra Diavolo
Gnocchi Alla Vodka (off Menu)
Linguini With Clams And Spicy Spinach
Pork

Il Sogno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
West Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheaton ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Romantic (26)
Scenic View (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Hot Spot (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ate outside on the rooftop and our ev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

We ate outside on the rooftop and our evening was nice. Had been before and food was good, bu had not had the opportunity for rooftop dining. everyone said they enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, delicious food, at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful restaurant, delicious food, attentive waitstaff. 5 STARS

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food here is amazing, and if you can ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food here is amazing, and if you can get a table on the roof, it's even more special! The menu is fantastic --always hard to choose! Portions are generous --usually have something left to take home.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great - service was a bit slow, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was great - service was a bit slow, but otherwise a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We came to celebrate 2 birthdays and sat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came to celebrate 2 birthdays and sat up on the roof deck. Good weather made a very pleasant dining experience. I especially liked the baked clams and the veal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

$26 for veal is a bit high for a meal th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

$26 for veal is a bit high for a meal that came with no sides, but was very tasty. All food was served nicely hot. The service was ploddingly slow with waitstaff who kept making excuses about not seeing us, which was odd in a completely open dining room. Since it was our first time in the restaurant, we asked for food recommendations, but our waiter had none. It was not explained to us that several entrees were served strictly ala carte and that side dishes were extra. Decent pours on wines. A decent enough restaurant, but it could be absolutely great if they'd try a little harder. One other mention; locating the hostess desk directly across from a steep set of stairs from the entry and directly in the path of waitstaff seemed incredibly dangerous. One was never sure if they'd be knocked down the stairs or have someone's drinks or dinner spilled on them while waiting for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Another excellent lunch at Il Sogno. Al ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Another excellent lunch at Il Sogno. Although they were out of clams that week, the substitute of mussels were fantastic - tender and delicious when coupled with the artichokes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing but we asked to be seat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was amazing but we asked to be seated on roof and was told there was no room, about 20 minutes after a group of 5 went up. I believe it was because we were teenagers and the other go up were adults, very rude. Our server was not the best and never asked for out opions on food/never checked up. Also bought a $3 drink and never got a refill. Sad because I liked the food and definatly would've gone again if I got better service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Great view of Wheaton. Great specialty d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great view of Wheaton. Great specialty drinks. 2 out of 4 dinners were great. Others average or overlooked. We were having fun but waitress seemed to want to move us out and get on to the next table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

GREAT HOMEMADE FOOD! THIS PLACE IS AMAZI ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

GREAT HOMEMADE FOOD! THIS PLACE IS AMAZING, VERY NICE STAFF.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good beal parm. Good veal marsala

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very good beal parm. Good veal marsala

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great atmosphere. Se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food and great atmosphere. Service was good, accommodated change of entree due to allergy of an ingredient not listed on description. Did not charge us for first entree. Will go back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice rooftop. I didn't get a box for my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice rooftop. I didn't get a box for my leftovers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

the outside deck was wonderful.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

the outside deck was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had been waiting for a really night n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had been waiting for a really night nice to try the restaurant and enjoy on their "roof top" dining. Finally the night came and we did so. The views of downtown Wheaton were enjoyable.

Food and wine was delightful and we enjoyed it immensely.

The only issue, which we understood, is they do not take reservations for the rooftop. We went early at 5:30 to increase our chance of being seated and it worked out fine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate the rooftop on a beautiful summer n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Ate the rooftop on a beautiful summer night at sunset- so romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Veal was tender. Seafood great as well a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Veal was tender. Seafood great as well as the service. Have visited many times in the past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Priced right for the food an ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food! Priced right for the food and service. They gave us a free desert for our anniversary!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK and service was very poor. N ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was OK and service was very poor. Not many patrons in the restaurant the night we went so I am puzzled by the lack of service. There was no attention paid to our table of four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The people are fantastic it is a Family ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The people are fantastic it is a Family run business. The food is even better. One of my favorite places to go in Wheaton. Love the meatballs and gravy and also the sausage, red peppers with capers and olives. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved every bite! One of the best meal ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Loved every bite! One of the best meals I have had in a restaurant in the past year!

Outside on the rooftop, beautiful night, great food, what could be better!

Thanks to Rose, and Nancy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, friendly staff, outstanding ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, friendly staff, outstanding place to enjoy dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. One of the be ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was excellent. One of the better meals my family and I have had in a very long time. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rooftop dining in the heart of Downtown ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Rooftop dining in the heart of Downtown Wheaton. The service is excellent, the food was very good except the hot dishes came out lukewarm. I could have complained and I'm certain it would have been fixed, as the servers are attentive. The rooftop is a great place to have an open air meal. The pasta is perfectly al dente, not an easy thing to do and the flavors are very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waiter!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was nothing special, would go back ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was nothing special, would go back for just drinks and appetizers on the rooftop.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We sat outside on a beautiful night. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We sat outside on a beautiful night. The outdoor patio is great. Our food (pork shoulder and vodka sauce pasta) was just very average. The pork shoulder was very dry and the vodka sauce had nothing that would make me say WOW. Three or four different servers not sure who was waiting on us was very frustrating. They got our drink order wrong all three times we ordered drinks. If not for the beauty of the summer night this would have been a total bust. Note: This was our second time here because the first time it was just so-so and we always give a place a second chance. There will be no third strike in this case!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Had a reservation, was not seated despit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a reservation, was not seated despite there being multiple open tables in the main dining area. Was told to wait and we could order a drink on the waiting bench. Nobody came to take our order. I've worked in the industry for 5 years so I'm usually pretty understanding. But to me the hosts seemed very overwhelmed and not organized even though it was not busy. Ended up waiting for 30 minutes past our reservation and decided to leave. We went to the bar across the street and we were served promptly just in time for our scheduled show.

It's a shame really, I saw the high ratings and was really looking forward to trying out this location. However I wasn't even given that chance, one star because of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

First time dining here and I'll be back! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

First time dining here and I'll be back!

Food, service and experience were all good. Seem a little under staffed but they handled it well. Only negative is that I submitted an email request wanting to know more about the private dining they offer a week ago and even mentioned it again while I was there. I still haven't heard from anyone regarding this. Maybe due to the holiday it's taking a little longer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious - a sliced pork e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was delicious - a sliced pork entree, excellent flavor, slow-cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We met friends at Il Sogno, never having ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We met friends at Il Sogno, never having been there previously. Our wait staff was very attentive and did a good job of making sure everything was okay. The hostess seemed to be a bit stand offish until I told her I had a reservation for four. My spouse's meal was very tasty according to her. My meal was very heavy and I found it to not be what I had thought it was going to be. We did have a pleasant table, right in the corner near all the windows so the atmosphere was delightful. I am not sure that I would return since my food entree was not what I had expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

service was very good, pasta was luke wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

service was very good, pasta was luke warm at best.

disapointing after several favorable visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

This was our first time dining at Il Sog ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time dining at Il Sogno. Wait staff was attentive without hovering. Service was very good, not rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I eat there often, food and service are ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I eat there often, food and service are always great. And they keep a tight reservation schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A family friend took me and my mom out t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

A family friend took me and my mom out to celebrate my recent graduation. We chose Il Sogno because my mom said the roof top dining was lovely, so we thought we'd try it out. We had a 6:30 reservation, and when we got there they said the roof top tables were still full, and it would be about 30 minutes if we wanted to wait. We weren't in a rush so we grabbed a drink at the bar while waiting. About 30 minutes later we were seated. Our actual waiter was nice, and the food was fine (good but not amazing). We ordered salads, entrees, and a dessert to split. While I was showing them pictures from a recent trip, a different waiter cleared our water glasses, silverware, and our half finished dessert (she didn't even ask if we were finished!). She then came over and told us that since there was a huge backlog of people, we'd have to leave immediately. We were in shock! We had gladly waited half an hour for our table, and spent almost $200 on the evening (drinks, food, and a 25% tip for our waiter). Not only that, but it was not even 8:30, so we had been at the table less than an hour and 30 minutes. It was unbelievably rude. We walked downstairs to leave and there wasn't even a line! I've never been asked to leave a restaurant before, even after spending several hours dining. I will not be returning. The food and our other waiter were okay, but not good enough to make up for the incredibly rude waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

We sat on the rooftop on a Friday night, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We sat on the rooftop on a Friday night, and while the weather was beautiful, it was clear they were very busy so the service was a little on the slow side. There were also some minor mistakes - a busboy brought us a check before our main course that belonged to another table, we ordered two glasses of wine and only got one - but nothing terrible. Food was great and atmosphere was fun. Definitely would go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We eat out at least 3 to 4 times per wee ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We eat out at least 3 to 4 times per week and was looking for something close to Bloomingdale without heading downtown or OakBrook. A friend suggested this place. The food was outstanding and location to our house was also great. The service was lacking as we waited over 40 min for our dinner but once we got it the quality made the service issue less of an issue.

I would give them 5 stars if the service was a bit better and the paper on the table was removed, a little old school with the paper when you're spending over $200 for a dinner for 4 with 2 of them being kids.

I will defiantly give them another try!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Sat on rooftop and it was great view jus ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Sat on rooftop and it was great view just a little hot. Service was slow but great food at a great price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and atmosphere, service was a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food and atmosphere, service was a little slow that night though

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I love Il Sogno! One of my favorites is ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I love Il Sogno! One of my favorites is the Salmon Putanesca, but I have had a Risotto of the Day that was fantastic. It has typical Italian dishes (not pizza), good waitstaff, and a view of the city either from indoors or on patio on roof.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.