About Il Sogno

100 N Hale St
Wheaton, IL 60187
View Larger Map

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples. A true Italian restaurant with a true Italian chef.

"ROOF TOP IS FIRST COME FIRST SERVED! NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE HONORED! CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wed. - Fri. 11:30 - 2:30 Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 3:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
W Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 682-5900

Website:
http://www.sognowheaton.com/

Catering:
We will customize a menu for any catering order.

Parking Details:
Street parking and parking garage located on Front street.

Public Transit:
Metra

Executive Chef:
Nancy Longobardi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holiday Wine Dinner - December 15, 2016.

Restaurant Photos

  • Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Chicken Saltimboca  - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Stuffed Eggplant - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Cavatelli con Salsicce - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Lobster Fra Diavolo - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Veal IL Sogno - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Gnocchi Alla Vodka (off Menu)  - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Linguini With Clams And Spicy Spinach - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Pork - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Chicken Saltimboca  - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Stuffed Eggplant - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Cavatelli con Salsicce - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Lobster Fra Diavolo - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Veal IL Sogno - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Gnocchi Alla Vodka (off Menu)  - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Linguini With Clams And Spicy Spinach - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Pork - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Thursday Dec 15, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Thursday Dec 15, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Limited seating of 30 only please ask your server for details on your next visit. Special valid on Thursday Dec 15, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Private Dining

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples.

Il Sogno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
West Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Wheaton ›

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Scenic View (15)
Authentic (14)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (3)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have dined here many times and enjoye ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We have dined here many times and enjoyed it very much. This evening however was only fair. We were seated in a corner near a cold draft ( but to be fair we didn't ask to be moved). Our entrees were mediocre (pork loin and rotolo formaggi). We were surprised because every other meal here has been very good. Maybe it was an off night, but it's the first time we have felt the food was not worth the money spent. We will go back to see if this was just a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Waitstaff - Joe was outstanding in provi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Waitstaff - Joe was outstanding in providing service, suggestions for vegetarian food, and promptly checking in at the right time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant was beautiful and the foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and the food was pretty good, but the service was terrible. The waiters and busboys literally stood along a wall watching you and waiting to swoop in, which, you'd think would be excellent service. However, it was really awkward to have 8 guys just staring at you. Additionally, they rushed us through dinner so fast that it was a joke. They collected our plates before we were even finished! Reservations were for 6, and they had our check on the table at 6:32. It was supposed to be a classy night out with fine food and wine with a few friends. Instead, we ended up downstairs at Kilwin's chocolates and ice cream where they were more than happy to let us sit and chat for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

The staff makes this neighborhood gem a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff makes this neighborhood gem a standout. Solid menu, with lots of classics and a few surprises to keep things interesting. I'm still thinking about the gnocchi with sausage and peas in a gorgeous cream sauce.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a delicious meal...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a delicious meal...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We walked to the restaurant for my birth ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We walked to the restaurant for my birthday. Everyone was so friendly. The pumpkin ravioli and Osso Buco were amazing. I had a 20 year old port that was unbelievable. We had never been there before by will return again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The homemade pasta is too die for and th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The homemade pasta is too die for and the service is wonderful. Always taken care of! Will definitely be back for more gnocchi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful! Rosie is the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Everything was wonderful! Rosie is the best when it comes to suggestions, service, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. When we arrived we fel ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First time here.

When we arrived we felt like our waitress was in bad mood and was annoyed by us. I was not happy because we came here to celebrate my b- day.

But after while everything changed and we had great service actually from more servers!

Food was delicious! Really tasted as home cooking.

I had risotto with swordfish really good.

All my friends enjoys their meal and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great addition to Wheaton! Food and serv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great addition to Wheaton! Food and service is great. Too bad we were told it was too windy to eat on the rooftop. Highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was impeccable. The ambianc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The service was impeccable. The ambiance was great. The food was good but not the best I've ever had. My dish was lobster and shrimp over pasta. There was a lot of oil on the bottom of my plate and I had to salt the pasta as the sauce was a bit bland. But the seafood tasted amazing. The caesar salad was amazing, as was the warm bread served before the meal. I would go back but would order a different main dish for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food, service, hospitality, was A+ keep ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food, service, hospitality, was A+ keep up good work. Will come back there again with family. 👍 ps, great cannoli.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. One note, we felt rushe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was great. One note, we felt rushed the whole time, we would put our fork down and someone would approach to see if we were done. We weren't.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was outstanding as was our server, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was outstanding as was our server, Rosa! She made some wonderful recommendations and all four of us were very pleased with our choices. The cannelloni was excellent as was the short rib pasta and cavatelli. We will definitely return to Il Sogno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Il Sogno and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was my second visit to Il Sogno and it did not disappoint. My out of town visitors agreed with me that the food was terrific. All the food was delicious and hot. I will definitely be back to try out other things on the menu but the glazed pork tenderloin is tough to beat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been here several times, always try some ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Been here several times, always try something different and never disappointed, they will add or subtract whatever you want, service is wonderful

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta dishes are outstanding . Serv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The pasta dishes are outstanding . Service is frendly and know the products they serve . Well worth the price .

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose il sogno on a whim and really e ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We chose il sogno on a whim and really enjoyed it. Our service was great, it's an interesting space, very modern feel. Plenty of choices on the menu and we were pleased to find out if was half price bottles of wine night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Visiting out-of-state friends asked to t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Visiting out-of-state friends asked to take us out to dinner at a local restaurant. Il Sogno fit the bill perfectly. Full menu at reasonable prices. Nice second floor ambiance .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance, great service and de ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, great service and delicious food. Loved the lobster stuffed pasta. Waiter brought over a delicious dessert for the birthday boy too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our reservation was at 7 and we have ere ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our reservation was at 7 and we have ere made to wait a half hour for a table... isn't being seated right away the purpose of a reservation? Does Il Sogno not realize their bread and butter isn't the 17 year olds who go there for homecoming but the 50 year olds who go out with their friends?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner was great. We sat on the rooftop ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Dinner was great. We sat on the rooftop and had a great meal of stuffed eggplant, braciole and lobster cappellacci. Marco, our server, was outstanding! We just got back from Italy and food rivaled what we ate there!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always first time on the r ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great food as always first time on the rooftop and it was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter seemed pretty annoyed by our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Our waiter seemed pretty annoyed by our group of 6 women who wanted to talk and enjoy company. And why was gratuity added automatically for a group of 6. Not the best experience for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Although the food was good and well prep ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Although the food was good and well prepared, it did seem highly priced for what we received. Became an expensive evening very quickly, and we didn't have appetizers, desserts or coffees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

If you bring your own bottle of wine th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

If you bring your own bottle of wine they charge $20.00 corkage fee. To much? The standard is &15.00. Never was charged $20.00. Some places are $10 and Emmetts is $7.00. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Custom cocktails and atmosphere were exc ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Custom cocktails and atmosphere were excellent, but food was just blah. Didn't really have any flavor to our dishes. We spent $100 for two of us, as did the couple we were with. I'd expect a good meal for that. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic food, service and what a view! ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic food, service and what a view! Worth every morsel

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great - a little pricey for w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Dinner was great - a little pricey for what you were getting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and most of dinner and appetizer ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service and most of dinner and appetizers were really good but salmon was overcooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Sat upstairs on the roof deck. Our waite ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Sat upstairs on the roof deck. Our waiter, Joe was great. Very helpful. The beet salad was fantastic. We love the risotto. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had been to Italy the year ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

My wife and I had been to Italy the year before to celebrate our 30th anniversary; so on our 31st anniversary we stayed in town for Italian food. The bottom line for me is that there was no "Wow" factor during the meal time. The food and service were good but nothing out of the ordinary for the high end price. It's not that there was anything wrong; I just didn't feel anything special about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent dinner. The Braciola and 8-fi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent dinner. The Braciola and 8-finger Cavatelli was delicious! The server was knowledgeable about their wine choices and was pleasant. Great time will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and wine were excellent. This ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food and wine were excellent. This restaurant is on the second floor. We sat by a window where we could see downtown Wheaton, which was fun. Overall, this was a great experience and I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant always has great food. I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2016

This restaurant always has great food. I have never had a bad meal here. Nice second floor view of downtown historic Wheaton . Has an elevator to the second floor where the restaurant is located so it is handicap accessible and has a third-floor open air restaurant or a place to have a drink or two. Love it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Historic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed that they would not serve c ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Disappointed that they would not serve coffee on the roof dining area. We were told that it was too dangerous for the waiters or bussers to carry hot coffee up there, so we suggested that they get some carafes or insulated coffee pots so that the diners can enjoy a cup of coffee with their dinner or dessert.

This was disappointing for one of our diners especially, since she always has coffee. They said they would serve cappuccino or espresso but not coffee! How strange! Wonder how they are able to carry bowls of hot soup upstairs but not cups of hot coffee. Guess they'd rather just sell more expensive espresso and cappuccino. Guess we'll think twice before returning.

Not a pleasant experience. Plus, the quality of the food has diminished from our previous dining experiences there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

One of my favorite restaurants in Wheato ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Wheaton. I am a big foodie and lived in Italy for half a year. This food is excellent and authentic. Good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Patio was awesome! Food and cocktails we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Patio was awesome! Food and cocktails were great. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every dinner we've had at this restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Every dinner we've had at this restaurant has been wonderful. The service has been very friendly and attentive and the food has been very special. I would not go here during prefixe dinner menus for dinner, such as on New Year's Eve. Our one and only experience during a special event was not very good and we felt very rushed by our servers to leave the table immediately after eating. Will go back again and again!

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.