About Il Sogno

100 N Hale St
Wheaton, IL 60187
View Larger Map

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples. A true Italian restaurant with a true Italian chef.

"ROOF TOP IS FIRST COME FIRST SERVED! NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE HONORED! CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wed. - Fri. 11:30 - 2:30 Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 3:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
W Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 682-5900

Website:
http://www.sognowheaton.com/

Catering:
We will customize a menu for any catering order.

Parking Details:
Street parking and parking garage located on Front street.

Public Transit:
Metra

Executive Chef:
Nancy Longobardi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact the restaurant and ask for Arian or Rosie for further information on private events.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Private Dining

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples.

Il Sogno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Authentic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (12)
Scenic View (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (10)
Casual (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Historic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was very authentic! loved the pasta! service was great also.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Il Sogno is my favorite restaurant! Their gnocchi pomodoro is THE BEST gnocchi I will ever have! Most waiters are very polite and sociable. I wish that their rooftop was open more often, though because it is BEAUTIFUL seating.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Good food and great service! We've been to IL Sogno multiple times now for fun date nights.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have now come to Il Sogno 4 times. EVERY meal, EVERY experience, has been EXCEPTIONAL! The food is authentic and tastes like it's homemade. The service is warm and personable. The menu is exciting, while the atmosphere lends itself to whatever is best for you. NOT eating here is doing yourself a GREAT disservice.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They have improved very much. We had a great meal, good service and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food AND the people here are terrific! This is our go-to spot for fun night out with friends.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of the best dining experiences in or outside of Chicago. Top notch personal service combined with fantastic food. Atmosphere warm and welcoming with "home" feel. My wife and I just love it. Must try the rice balls!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Historic, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sogno is a great Italian restaurant! The food is cooked right when you order it and it's delicious. We celebrated my daughters birthday there and they were kind enough to give us a nutella focacia on the house and delicious as well. They treat you as if your family.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good but service was not great. Got there at 10:15 it's open till 11 the waiter told us we had two minutes to order. Few other things. Doubt I will go back especially after my wife left a message and they didn't call back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wish they had bigger portions

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Yummy as usual! I like that I can ask them to go light on the olive oil for my dish.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was good Italian with very flavorful sauces; ambiance is upbeat, cozy and enjoyable; service was terrific. Also, good cocktails and wine selection!

Tags: Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service and food were great. My only complaint is it was a bit chilly where we were seated in the restaurant (table at the end near a big window).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We haven't been to Sogno for a while, and thought it would be great to celebrate our friends birthday. We were not disappointed! Drinks were great. Food was hot and tasty. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Phenomenal food and great atmosphere, highly recommended

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This is only our second time to Il Sogno, and we will definitely be back. The food was absolutely outstanding - and generous portions also. The service is great - they will take you through the evening at whatever pace you choose. For some people in the suburbs it may seem a bit expensive. This is one of those special evenings out - well worth the cost.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great ravioli appetizer and very fine pasta choices for entree.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a lovely time. Really good food, nice wine, good service....all together a good experience. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was fabulous and the cocktails were fun. Our waiter was fantastic and appreciated that we needed time with our friends before we ordered our dinner. Even though it was a busy night, we did not feel rushed. It did get a little loud in the main dining but we weren't truly bothered by it as our waiter was fun.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This place was amazing. My new favorite restaurant. The service was great , the wait staff was very attentive, food was so delicious, authentic Italian ! I had the briciole, it was just what I was hoping for, like my momma used to make. The ambiance was perect for us meeting friends but I can't wait to go back for a special celebration for a romantic dinner. We had the table by the front windows, so cool to see the view of quaint Wheaton from the second floor. The noise level was low so we were easily able to talk. So many delicious dinners on the menu I want to try, mmm, mmmm. I love Il Sogno.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! Service was excellent and the food was delicious. Will return many times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our favorite neighborhood spot! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Very tasty food. And a nice setting too overlooking downtown Wheaton. Very, almost awkwardly quiet when we walked in, but as the evening progressed it developed into a humming atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The flavor combinations and re-imagining of traditional Italian cuisine is always spectacular. The service is always wonderful and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to Sogno for NYE. Great time. Great food. Good service and a fun time. Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great dinner for New Year's Eve. The menu was limited, as we told it would be, but excellent and plenty of diversity. Every dish was wonderful. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waiter added a 21 percent tip to our tab despite it being only a party of two, steaks were cold on the inside, live music promised with special Nye meal was not performed until end of meal and even then extremely quiet no one could hear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Every time we take someone to II Sogno, they are very please.

From the minute we step into the place, the service was outstanding.

From the hostesses, bartender, servers, to the bus boys.

There was live music which the sound was perfect. We could hear the music and still hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The place looks impressive and the service was great. The roof top is close for the winter. We'll surely come again when it opens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Staff, food & atmosphere sets Il Sogno above other local restaurants.

The staff is gratious and attentive. The food (my favorites include Veal Parmagiana, Spaghetti Puttanesca, and Risotto of the day) is great. Usually I bring back part and staff is great about asking if boxes are needed. The bartender remembers us (we go in every other week?) and knows what wine we want.

The holiday decorations could be seen through the windows. Very festive!

A local gem.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner was terrific. Very friendly staff, food was great and they even gave the ladies a gift!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian food. Fresh, made and served by Italians.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love Il Sogno since the day they opened. Awesome owners and love the staff; friendly and courteous. Did I say the food was fantastic? And great wine list. Thanks for adding the roof top. Too kewl. Will be up there this coming summer for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great meal but huge portions.

Service prompt and attentive but not intrusive.

Nice spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The restaurant is on the second floor, but there is a convenient elevator for those who can't do stairs. I had the gnocchi special which was ok. My friend had the fish special with risotto which he said was very tasty. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Came for birthday dinner. Food was wonderful, as was the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The was our first visit to Sogno. The atmosphere was pleasant. We were seated immediately in a nice table near the windows. Our waitress was excellent at the beginning of our dinner but as the evening progressed we received less and less attention as she was waiting several other tables. I ordered a second glass of wine which I never received. The food was excellent. The wine choices were good as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The restaurant was highly recommended to us and we could not wait to attend but it was unfortunately not what we had anticipated regarding the menu and service for lunch.

The lunch menu was scant with very limited selections and our waitress for only 3 tables filled had to make an effort to be nice. We found her to be a little curt and upon ordering an entree to go when asked for our bread to go could have offered to give us fresh bread as it was a full meal.

The side salad was only a small bowl of greens with balsamic, no tomatoes, olives or anything that made it look and taste appealing

Not sure what the hype was about this place and a bit pricey too for the portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Il Sogno waitstaff go out of their way for you. Last time we went in it was not crowded due to winter storm coming into the area. I had Risotto with Red Snapper mushrooms and spinach in light white wine cream sauce. My husband had salmon with spinach and a corn salsa/salad? which was delicious.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent Italian cuisine , family owned

Mussels with artichoke hearts was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We have dined here many times and enjoyed it very much. This evening however was only fair. We were seated in a corner near a cold draft ( but to be fair we didn't ask to be moved). Our entrees were mediocre (pork loin and rotolo formaggi). We were surprised because every other meal here has been very good. Maybe it was an off night, but it's the first time we have felt the food was not worth the money spent. We will go back to see if this was just a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Waitstaff - Joe was outstanding in providing service, suggestions for vegetarian food, and promptly checking in at the right time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and the food was pretty good, but the service was terrible. The waiters and busboys literally stood along a wall watching you and waiting to swoop in, which, you'd think would be excellent service. However, it was really awkward to have 8 guys just staring at you. Additionally, they rushed us through dinner so fast that it was a joke. They collected our plates before we were even finished! Reservations were for 6, and they had our check on the table at 6:32. It was supposed to be a classy night out with fine food and wine with a few friends. Instead, we ended up downstairs at Kilwin's chocolates and ice cream where they were more than happy to let us sit and chat for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff makes this neighborhood gem a standout. Solid menu, with lots of classics and a few surprises to keep things interesting. I'm still thinking about the gnocchi with sausage and peas in a gorgeous cream sauce.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a delicious meal...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We walked to the restaurant for my birthday. Everyone was so friendly. The pumpkin ravioli and Osso Buco were amazing. I had a 20 year old port that was unbelievable. We had never been there before by will return again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The homemade pasta is too die for and the service is wonderful. Always taken care of! Will definitely be back for more gnocchi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Everything was wonderful! Rosie is the best when it comes to suggestions, service, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

First time here.

When we arrived we felt like our waitress was in bad mood and was annoyed by us. I was not happy because we came here to celebrate my b- day.

But after while everything changed and we had great service actually from more servers!

Food was delicious! Really tasted as home cooking.

I had risotto with swordfish really good.

All my friends enjoys their meal and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.