About Il Sogno

100 N Hale St
Wheaton, IL 60187
View Larger Map

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples. A true Italian restaurant with a true Italian chef.

"ROOF TOP IS FIRST COME FIRST SERVED! NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE HONORED! CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wed. - Fri. 11:30 - 2:30 Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 3:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
W Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 682-5900

Website:
http://www.sognowheaton.com/

Catering:
We will customize a menu for any catering order.

Parking Details:
Street parking and parking garage located on Front street.

Public Transit:
Metra

Executive Chef:
Nancy Longobardi

Private Party Facilities:
We have two rooms available. One that sits up to 45 customers the other is 90 which provides full bar. COMING SOON*** Outdoor roof top sits up to 70-80 customers.

Private Party Contact:
Rosaria Migliaccio: 6303419125x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mother's Day Brunch reservations are available from 1pm-8pm on May 10th. Book your reservation now!

Restaurant Photos

  • Il Sogno
  • Chicken Saltimboca
  • Stuffed Eggplant
  • Cavatelli con Salsicce
  • Lobster Fra Diavolo
  • Veal IL Sogno
  • Gnocchi Alla Vodka (off Menu)
  • Linguini With Clams And Spicy Spinach
  • Pork
Il Sogno
Chicken Saltimboca
Stuffed Eggplant
Cavatelli con Salsicce
Lobster Fra Diavolo
Veal IL Sogno
Gnocchi Alla Vodka (off Menu)
Linguini With Clams And Spicy Spinach
Pork

Il Sogno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Romantic (26)
Scenic View (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Authentic (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Visiting out-of-state friends asked to t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Visiting out-of-state friends asked to take us out to dinner at a local restaurant. Il Sogno fit the bill perfectly. Full menu at reasonable prices. Nice second floor ambiance .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambiance, great service and de ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful ambiance, great service and delicious food. Loved the lobster stuffed pasta. Waiter brought over a delicious dessert for the birthday boy too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our reservation was at 7 and we have ere ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our reservation was at 7 and we have ere made to wait a half hour for a table... isn't being seated right away the purpose of a reservation? Does Il Sogno not realize their bread and butter isn't the 17 year olds who go there for homecoming but the 50 year olds who go out with their friends?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Dinner was great. We sat on the rooftop ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner was great. We sat on the rooftop and had a great meal of stuffed eggplant, braciole and lobster cappellacci. Marco, our server, was outstanding! We just got back from Italy and food rivaled what we ate there!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always first time on the r ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great food as always first time on the rooftop and it was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter seemed pretty annoyed by our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Our waiter seemed pretty annoyed by our group of 6 women who wanted to talk and enjoy company. And why was gratuity added automatically for a group of 6. Not the best experience for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Although the food was good and well prep ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Although the food was good and well prepared, it did seem highly priced for what we received. Became an expensive evening very quickly, and we didn't have appetizers, desserts or coffees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

If you bring your own bottle of wine th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

If you bring your own bottle of wine they charge $20.00 corkage fee. To much? The standard is &15.00. Never was charged $20.00. Some places are $10 and Emmetts is $7.00. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Custom cocktails and atmosphere were exc ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Custom cocktails and atmosphere were excellent, but food was just blah. Didn't really have any flavor to our dishes. We spent $100 for two of us, as did the couple we were with. I'd expect a good meal for that. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic food, service and what a view! ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic food, service and what a view! Worth every morsel

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great - a little pricey for w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Dinner was great - a little pricey for what you were getting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and most of dinner and appetizer ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service and most of dinner and appetizers were really good but salmon was overcooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Sat upstairs on the roof deck. Our waite ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Sat upstairs on the roof deck. Our waiter, Joe was great. Very helpful. The beet salad was fantastic. We love the risotto. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had been to Italy the year ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

My wife and I had been to Italy the year before to celebrate our 30th anniversary; so on our 31st anniversary we stayed in town for Italian food. The bottom line for me is that there was no "Wow" factor during the meal time. The food and service were good but nothing out of the ordinary for the high end price. It's not that there was anything wrong; I just didn't feel anything special about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent dinner. The Braciola and 8-fi ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent dinner. The Braciola and 8-finger Cavatelli was delicious! The server was knowledgeable about their wine choices and was pleasant. Great time will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and wine were excellent. This ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food and wine were excellent. This restaurant is on the second floor. We sat by a window where we could see downtown Wheaton, which was fun. Overall, this was a great experience and I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant always has great food. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This restaurant always has great food. I have never had a bad meal here. Nice second floor view of downtown historic Wheaton . Has an elevator to the second floor where the restaurant is located so it is handicap accessible and has a third-floor open air restaurant or a place to have a drink or two. Love it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Historic, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed that they would not serve c ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Disappointed that they would not serve coffee on the roof dining area. We were told that it was too dangerous for the waiters or bussers to carry hot coffee up there, so we suggested that they get some carafes or insulated coffee pots so that the diners can enjoy a cup of coffee with their dinner or dessert.

This was disappointing for one of our diners especially, since she always has coffee. They said they would serve cappuccino or espresso but not coffee! How strange! Wonder how they are able to carry bowls of hot soup upstairs but not cups of hot coffee. Guess they'd rather just sell more expensive espresso and cappuccino. Guess we'll think twice before returning.

Not a pleasant experience. Plus, the quality of the food has diminished from our previous dining experiences there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

One of my favorite restaurants in Wheato ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Wheaton. I am a big foodie and lived in Italy for half a year. This food is excellent and authentic. Good service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Patio was awesome! Food and cocktails we ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Patio was awesome! Food and cocktails were great. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every dinner we've had at this restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Every dinner we've had at this restaurant has been wonderful. The service has been very friendly and attentive and the food has been very special. I would not go here during prefixe dinner menus for dinner, such as on New Year's Eve. Our one and only experience during a special event was not very good and we felt very rushed by our servers to leave the table immediately after eating. Will go back again and again!

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten there a couple of times and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Have eaten there a couple of times and haven't quite found the right dish. Tomato sauce isn't thrilling -- not a lot of flavor to it and isn't spice enough. The Italian sausage should have been better, which is inexcusable since we have great sources for it in the area. Eating on the roof is wonderful on a summer evening. Service was solid.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We ate outside on the rooftop and our ev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We ate outside on the rooftop and our evening was nice. Had been before and food was good, bu had not had the opportunity for rooftop dining. everyone said they enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, delicious food, at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, delicious food, attentive waitstaff. 5 STARS

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food here is amazing, and if you can ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food here is amazing, and if you can get a table on the roof, it's even more special! The menu is fantastic --always hard to choose! Portions are generous --usually have something left to take home.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great - service was a bit slow, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was great - service was a bit slow, but otherwise a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We came to celebrate 2 birthdays and sat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came to celebrate 2 birthdays and sat up on the roof deck. Good weather made a very pleasant dining experience. I especially liked the baked clams and the veal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

$26 for veal is a bit high for a meal th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

$26 for veal is a bit high for a meal that came with no sides, but was very tasty. All food was served nicely hot. The service was ploddingly slow with waitstaff who kept making excuses about not seeing us, which was odd in a completely open dining room. Since it was our first time in the restaurant, we asked for food recommendations, but our waiter had none. It was not explained to us that several entrees were served strictly ala carte and that side dishes were extra. Decent pours on wines. A decent enough restaurant, but it could be absolutely great if they'd try a little harder. One other mention; locating the hostess desk directly across from a steep set of stairs from the entry and directly in the path of waitstaff seemed incredibly dangerous. One was never sure if they'd be knocked down the stairs or have someone's drinks or dinner spilled on them while waiting for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Another excellent lunch at Il Sogno. Al ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Another excellent lunch at Il Sogno. Although they were out of clams that week, the substitute of mussels were fantastic - tender and delicious when coupled with the artichokes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing but we asked to be seat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was amazing but we asked to be seated on roof and was told there was no room, about 20 minutes after a group of 5 went up. I believe it was because we were teenagers and the other go up were adults, very rude. Our server was not the best and never asked for out opions on food/never checked up. Also bought a $3 drink and never got a refill. Sad because I liked the food and definatly would've gone again if I got better service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Typical suburban Italian. Bruschetta wit ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Typical suburban Italian. Bruschetta with a comical amount of ricotta, overcooked pasta (although, my shortrib dish was quite flavorful) questionable seafood, and tiramisu that cannot have been homemade. All in the most awkwardly laid-out room we've ever been in. Service was a bright spot – friendly, patient, handling of wine – until other servers began cleaning and setting chairs atop tables while several groups were still finishing meals. Nothing says Western Suburbs like "Seriously: we close at ten."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great view of Wheaton. Great specialty d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great view of Wheaton. Great specialty drinks. 2 out of 4 dinners were great. Others average or overlooked. We were having fun but waitress seemed to want to move us out and get on to the next table.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

GREAT HOMEMADE FOOD! THIS PLACE IS AMAZI ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

GREAT HOMEMADE FOOD! THIS PLACE IS AMAZING, VERY NICE STAFF.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good beal parm. Good veal marsala

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very good beal parm. Good veal marsala

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great atmosphere. Se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food and great atmosphere. Service was good, accommodated change of entree due to allergy of an ingredient not listed on description. Did not charge us for first entree. Will go back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice rooftop. I didn't get a box for my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Nice rooftop. I didn't get a box for my leftovers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

the outside deck was wonderful.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

the outside deck was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had been waiting for a really night n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had been waiting for a really night nice to try the restaurant and enjoy on their "roof top" dining. Finally the night came and we did so. The views of downtown Wheaton were enjoyable.

Food and wine was delightful and we enjoyed it immensely.

The only issue, which we understood, is they do not take reservations for the rooftop. We went early at 5:30 to increase our chance of being seated and it worked out fine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate the rooftop on a beautiful summer n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Ate the rooftop on a beautiful summer night at sunset- so romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Veal was tender. Seafood great as well a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Veal was tender. Seafood great as well as the service. Have visited many times in the past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.