About Il Sogno

100 N Hale St
Wheaton, IL 60187
View Larger Map

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples. A true Italian restaurant with a true Italian chef.

"ROOF TOP IS FIRST COME FIRST SERVED! NO RESERVATIONS WILL BE HONORED! CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION"

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Wed. - Fri. 11:30 - 2:30 Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 3:00pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
W Front Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(630) 682-5900

Website:
http://www.sognowheaton.com/

Catering:
We will customize a menu for any catering order.

Parking Details:
Street parking and parking garage located on Front street.

Public Transit:
Metra

Executive Chef:
Nancy Longobardi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holiday Wine Dinner - December 15, 2016.

Restaurant Photos

  • Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Chicken Saltimboca  - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Stuffed Eggplant - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Cavatelli con Salsicce - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Lobster Fra Diavolo - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Veal IL Sogno - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Gnocchi Alla Vodka (off Menu)  - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Linguini With Clams And Spicy Spinach - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
  • Pork - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL

Report a photo problem

Chicken Saltimboca  - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Stuffed Eggplant - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Cavatelli con Salsicce - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Lobster Fra Diavolo - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Veal IL Sogno - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Gnocchi Alla Vodka (off Menu)  - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Linguini With Clams And Spicy Spinach - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL
Pork - Il Sogno, Wheaton, IL

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate the special day with your loved one at our family restaurant. Fresh seafood, homemade pasta and delicious wine.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Private Dining

Il Sogno Ristorante in Wheaton is known for our authentic Southern Italian cuisine along with fresh seafood and farm raised meats. Family owned for over 5 years with Mama Nancy as executive Chef bringing you homemade recipes with her special dishes from Naples.

Il Sogno Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Authentic (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Scenic View (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Historic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Romantic (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was fabulous and the cocktails were ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was fabulous and the cocktails were fun. Our waiter was fantastic and appreciated that we needed time with our friends before we ordered our dinner. Even though it was a busy night, we did not feel rushed. It did get a little loud in the main dining but we weren't truly bothered by it as our waiter was fun.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was amazing. My new favorite ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

This place was amazing. My new favorite restaurant. The service was great , the wait staff was very attentive, food was so delicious, authentic Italian ! I had the briciole, it was just what I was hoping for, like my momma used to make. The ambiance was perect for us meeting friends but I can't wait to go back for a special celebration for a romantic dinner. We had the table by the front windows, so cool to see the view of quaint Wheaton from the second floor. The noise level was low so we were easily able to talk. So many delicious dinners on the menu I want to try, mmm, mmmm. I love Il Sogno.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant! Service was excell ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! Service was excellent and the food was delicious. Will return many times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very tasty food. And a nice setting too ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

Very tasty food. And a nice setting too overlooking downtown Wheaton. Very, almost awkwardly quiet when we walked in, but as the evening progressed it developed into a humming atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The flavor combinations and re-imagining ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The flavor combinations and re-imagining of traditional Italian cuisine is always spectacular. The service is always wonderful and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to Sogno for NYE. Great time. Gre ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to Sogno for NYE. Great time. Great food. Good service and a fun time. Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner for New Year's Eve. The me ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great dinner for New Year's Eve. The menu was limited, as we told it would be, but excellent and plenty of diversity. Every dish was wonderful. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter added a 21 percent tip to our tab ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Waiter added a 21 percent tip to our tab despite it being only a party of two, steaks were cold on the inside, live music promised with special Nye meal was not performed until end of meal and even then extremely quiet no one could hear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Every time we take someone to II Sogno, ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Every time we take someone to II Sogno, they are very please.

From the minute we step into the place, the service was outstanding.

From the hostesses, bartender, servers, to the bus boys.

There was live music which the sound was perfect. We could hear the music and still hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place looks impressive and the servi ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

The place looks impressive and the service was great. The roof top is close for the winter. We'll surely come again when it opens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff, food & atmosphere sets Il Sogno a ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Staff, food & atmosphere sets Il Sogno above other local restaurants.

The staff is gratious and attentive. The food (my favorites include Veal Parmagiana, Spaghetti Puttanesca, and Risotto of the day) is great. Usually I bring back part and staff is great about asking if boxes are needed. The bartender remembers us (we go in every other week?) and knows what wine we want.

The holiday decorations could be seen through the windows. Very festive!

A local gem.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas Eve dinner was terrific. Very ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner was terrific. Very friendly staff, food was great and they even gave the ladies a gift!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent authentic Italian food. Fresh ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian food. Fresh, made and served by Italians.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Il Sogno since the day they opened. ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love Il Sogno since the day they opened. Awesome owners and love the staff; friendly and courteous. Did I say the food was fantastic? And great wine list. Thanks for adding the roof top. Too kewl. Will be up there this coming summer for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal but huge portions. Service pr ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great meal but huge portions.

Service prompt and attentive but not intrusive.

Nice spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The restaurant is on the second floor, b ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

The restaurant is on the second floor, but there is a convenient elevator for those who can't do stairs. I had the gnocchi special which was ok. My friend had the fish special with risotto which he said was very tasty. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Came for birthday dinner. Food was wonde ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Came for birthday dinner. Food was wonderful, as was the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The was our first visit to Sogno. The a ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

The was our first visit to Sogno. The atmosphere was pleasant. We were seated immediately in a nice table near the windows. Our waitress was excellent at the beginning of our dinner but as the evening progressed we received less and less attention as she was waiting several other tables. I ordered a second glass of wine which I never received. The food was excellent. The wine choices were good as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant was highly recommended to ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

The restaurant was highly recommended to us and we could not wait to attend but it was unfortunately not what we had anticipated regarding the menu and service for lunch.

The lunch menu was scant with very limited selections and our waitress for only 3 tables filled had to make an effort to be nice. We found her to be a little curt and upon ordering an entree to go when asked for our bread to go could have offered to give us fresh bread as it was a full meal.

The side salad was only a small bowl of greens with balsamic, no tomatoes, olives or anything that made it look and taste appealing

Not sure what the hype was about this place and a bit pricey too for the portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Il Sogno waitstaff go out of their way f ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Il Sogno waitstaff go out of their way for you. Last time we went in it was not crowded due to winter storm coming into the area. I had Risotto with Red Snapper mushrooms and spinach in light white wine cream sauce. My husband had salmon with spinach and a corn salsa/salad? which was delicious.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian cuisine , family owned ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent Italian cuisine , family owned

Mussels with artichoke hearts was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined here many times and enjoye ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

We have dined here many times and enjoyed it very much. This evening however was only fair. We were seated in a corner near a cold draft ( but to be fair we didn't ask to be moved). Our entrees were mediocre (pork loin and rotolo formaggi). We were surprised because every other meal here has been very good. Maybe it was an off night, but it's the first time we have felt the food was not worth the money spent. We will go back to see if this was just a fluke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Waitstaff - Joe was outstanding in provi ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Waitstaff - Joe was outstanding in providing service, suggestions for vegetarian food, and promptly checking in at the right time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, , Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant was beautiful and the foo ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful and the food was pretty good, but the service was terrible. The waiters and busboys literally stood along a wall watching you and waiting to swoop in, which, you'd think would be excellent service. However, it was really awkward to have 8 guys just staring at you. Additionally, they rushed us through dinner so fast that it was a joke. They collected our plates before we were even finished! Reservations were for 6, and they had our check on the table at 6:32. It was supposed to be a classy night out with fine food and wine with a few friends. Instead, we ended up downstairs at Kilwin's chocolates and ice cream where they were more than happy to let us sit and chat for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

The staff makes this neighborhood gem a ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff makes this neighborhood gem a standout. Solid menu, with lots of classics and a few surprises to keep things interesting. I'm still thinking about the gnocchi with sausage and peas in a gorgeous cream sauce.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a delicious meal...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a delicious meal...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We walked to the restaurant for my birth ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

We walked to the restaurant for my birthday. Everyone was so friendly. The pumpkin ravioli and Osso Buco were amazing. I had a 20 year old port that was unbelievable. We had never been there before by will return again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The homemade pasta is too die for and th ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

The homemade pasta is too die for and the service is wonderful. Always taken care of! Will definitely be back for more gnocchi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful! Rosie is the ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Everything was wonderful! Rosie is the best when it comes to suggestions, service, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. When we arrived we fel ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

First time here.

When we arrived we felt like our waitress was in bad mood and was annoyed by us. I was not happy because we came here to celebrate my b- day.

But after while everything changed and we had great service actually from more servers!

Food was delicious! Really tasted as home cooking.

I had risotto with swordfish really good.

All my friends enjoys their meal and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great addition to Wheaton! Food and serv ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great addition to Wheaton! Food and service is great. Too bad we were told it was too windy to eat on the rooftop. Highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was impeccable. The ambianc ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

The service was impeccable. The ambiance was great. The food was good but not the best I've ever had. My dish was lobster and shrimp over pasta. There was a lot of oil on the bottom of my plate and I had to salt the pasta as the sauce was a bit bland. But the seafood tasted amazing. The caesar salad was amazing, as was the warm bread served before the meal. I would go back but would order a different main dish for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great. One note, we felt rushe ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was great. One note, we felt rushed the whole time, we would put our fork down and someone would approach to see if we were done. We weren't.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food, service, hospitality, was A+ keep ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food, service, hospitality, was A+ keep up good work. Will come back there again with family. 👍 ps, great cannoli.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding as was our server, ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food was outstanding as was our server, Rosa! She made some wonderful recommendations and all four of us were very pleased with our choices. The cannelloni was excellent as was the short rib pasta and cavatelli. We will definitely return to Il Sogno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Il Sogno and ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was my second visit to Il Sogno and it did not disappoint. My out of town visitors agreed with me that the food was terrific. All the food was delicious and hot. I will definitely be back to try out other things on the menu but the glazed pork tenderloin is tough to beat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been here several times, always try some ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Been here several times, always try something different and never disappointed, they will add or subtract whatever you want, service is wonderful

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pasta dishes are outstanding . Serv ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

The pasta dishes are outstanding . Service is frendly and know the products they serve . Well worth the price .

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose il sogno on a whim and really e ...

 
·Dined on September 28, 2016

We chose il sogno on a whim and really enjoyed it. Our service was great, it's an interesting space, very modern feel. Plenty of choices on the menu and we were pleased to find out if was half price bottles of wine night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.