About Sofia - Margate

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Metaxa
Metaxa

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (61)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Good for Groups (38)
Romantic (38)
Hot Spot (30)
Notable Wine List (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Scenic View (8)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was extremely pleasant and the f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was extremely pleasant and the food was outstanding

The bar is fun, vibrant and the tree growing in the middle just adds to the ambiance

Great by the bay restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a nice time service was very good. I ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a nice time service was very good. I had the shrimp and bass in the terra cotta pan. Did not know when I ordered it that is would have all that sauce on it. There was way to much sauce on the dish. The fish was lost in it. The sauce was very tastes but over powered the whole dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was horrible. I added grilled chic ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was horrible. I added grilled chicken to one of their regular salads. Soooo salty I couldn't eat it. My husband ordered a steak med rare and it came out med well. My friend ordered musaka which was burnt and her husbands lamb chops were over cooked. The only good thing was the humus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Best meal out of our four day vacation i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best meal out of our four day vacation in Ocean City! Really enjoyed, wish it were closer to home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner last year with our friends who we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dinner last year with our friends who were visiting from out of town for an Expo in Atlantic City was such a hit, they requested to come back for another wonderful dinner. We were NOT disappointed. Great food, great service and wonderful wait staff. We hope to return soon. :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Branzino was delicious paired w a "Atlan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Branzino was delicious paired w a "Atlantis" a nice Greek white blended grape wine. Very nice night out to dinner. TY!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food very good especially the salads

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food very good especially the salads

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

All of the dishes ordered were very tast ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

All of the dishes ordered were very tasty. The decor was beautiful as well. We would love to come back when we are in town again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Good food. Good Servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great evening. Good food. Good Service. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great night! Service and food w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a great night! Service and food were terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unfortunately I've had hit or miss meals ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Unfortunately I've had hit or miss meals there...love the atomsphere and bar...the food is inconsistent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our waiter was excellent. I am terrible ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waiter was excellent. I am terrible with names but I believe it was Jimmy or James.

I found that he was professional and added to the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience. My husband and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great dining experience. My husband and I were on vacation and your restaurant was highly recommended. I'm delighted that I made the time to try Sofia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The main hostess is extremely rude. I ca ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The main hostess is extremely rude. I called to make sure they brought out cake for my best friends birthday. She didn't want to deal with it and told me to tell the waiter when we got there. When the whole point was to surprise my friend. They sat us on the second floor which barely had AC because it is the same floor their outside deck is on. Our waiter was the best part of our dinner experience. The appetizers were great but the Chilean sea bass we order was terrible with zero flavor. The hostess alone gave me a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

We were a party of four with reservation ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were a party of four with reservations at 9:15, but didn't get seated until about 9:45. Other than the delay, our experience was very good. Our server was very attentive and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Sophia's on multiple occ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been to Sophia's on multiple occasions. The food is very good with multiple choices. The portions are large and the salads excellent. It is best to be upstairs and outside as on weekends the noise level downstairs is considerably high. The service is good as is the wine list. We usually do not eat dessert. Excellent fish and beef. Great choice af appetizers and knowledgeable waitstaff. You are not rushed or ignored.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was very disappointed that when my par ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was very disappointed that when my party arrived 5 minutes before our reservation, we we were told that the wait would be about ten minutes. That is not a big deal except it was impossible to even get a drink from the bar. After waiting for 30 minutes we realized the woman in charge was directing the hostess to seat people who arrived after us. Basically, the woman was seating regulars and we were not given a table until one of the people in my party complained. After another 10 minutes we sat down. After speaking to those who summer in Margate, we were told regulars always had priority. Besides the awful first hour, the waiter was attentive and the food was delicious. I suggest you either become a regular or expect to wait. Or make a very early reservation around 7pm.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We both ordered pasta. One dish was supp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We both ordered pasta. One dish was supposed to be in a basil marinara sauce. The only basil in it was dried basil ( as from a jar ) sprinkled over the tomato sauce. In my over 50 yrs of eating Italian food this was the first time I ever saw dried basil used in an upscale restaurant . A completely different flavor and unacceptable at these prices. The server appeared to agree and merely shrugged. My wife's pasta would probably have been good but it was way too spicy which was not mentioned in the menu description. She was able to eat some but lost her appetite. The server brought our check which had a credit for one half the price of my wife's entrée only......Would rather have had a decent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Our server was not accommodating at all- ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our server was not accommodating at all-brought out the wrong entree and did not tell us -we had to ask "is this" what we ordered? Response from server: we ran out of that - is this ok? Not even an apology! However food was good '

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Fabulous as always!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fabulous as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!!!! Our waiter Vinny wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great experience!!!!

Our waiter Vinny was fantastic!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat on their roof top, which is the o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We sat on their roof top, which is the only place to sit. The ambience is great - lovely outdoor enclave. Inside, the noise level is beyond belief - you cannot hold a conversation. Going out with friends is more than the food - good conversation is an important component. Downstairs, you cannot hear across a table which immediately makes me not ever want to come back.

The food, however, is the redeeming factor and was fresh, well prepared and well presented. The staff alternated between trying to hurry us out, to forgetting we were there. Very inconsistent attention.

If you can get on the roof, it is worth going. Otherwise, not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We started with the grilled octopus and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We started with the grilled octopus and a beet salad which were very good. For an entree, my wife had the lamb-chops which were inedible because they were severely overcooked. I had the the Bronzino which I enjoyed. The place was crowded and noisy which we didn't mind so much but the service was terrible. The waiters were inexperienced and made several mistakes with our order. Overall it was OK, but not great. I much prefer Steve & Cookies 2 blocks away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I have been here several times this summ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I have been here several times this summer. The ambiance and food are terrific. Wait staff is very attentive. Love the grilled pita with red pepper and feta hummus. Moussaka is outstanding. Always too full for dessert, unfortunately.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely evening with our son and daught ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

A lovely evening with our son and daughter in law- the service and ambiance made conversation fun and relaxed. Food outstanding and authentic! A pleasure. Happy to see the owner all evening- a sure key to success and consistency!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Three and out. Third time at this place. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Three and out. Third time at this place. Looks beautiful, that's about it. Food is barely average, prices higher than a casino. I will not be back. No wonder it was half empty on a sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Always afunplace for us. Love the food a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Always afunplace for us. Love the food

andthe atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived late for our reservation but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We arrived late for our reservation but were promptly taken care of. Our waiter was very informal but knowledgeable and helpful...the menu is broad and intriguing...Everything was good...the mixed plates appetizer was excellent, salads different but good and the Osso Bucco was outstanding.

Costly but worth it...ONLY complaint is very high noise level.

Great choice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Read there often we love Sophia and her ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Read there often we love Sophia and her sister Angela. We are always greeted with warmth. It is excellent especially the tomato salad, the octopus, the baby lamb chops and so much more. It's a great spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

There was an arrogant little you know wh ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

There was an arrogant little you know what working the parking lot. He refused to allow us to park there because he could and on our way out after dropping $350 in the restaurant, he opened his big fat mouth to me and my husband again. #fireyourrelativesifyouwanttokeepcustomers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Amazing...Sophia always recognizes us an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing...Sophia always recognizes us and the food is amazing. Lucky we got a reservation! Gotta try the roof deck bar for a drink also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sofia's has a wonderful atmosphere. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Sofia's has a wonderful atmosphere. We have dined here a few times now and it's always been a great meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great appetizers! Pan fried branzino a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great appetizers! Pan fried branzino a little dry, but lamb and crab cakes spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very disappointing in all respects. Too ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very disappointing in all respects. Too loud; food mediocre; overpriced. Not authentic Greek/Mediterranean cuisine as we had expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

This is a fine upscale restaurant. Vale ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is a fine upscale restaurant. Valet parking. Nice person. Food very good. Pricey. Worse part of the meal were eight loud mouth ladies who must have been deaf. They were so loud they made our experience uncomfortable. Wish they could sign. But the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was one of the worst dinners I have ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was one of the worst dinners I have had in a long time. The room was noisy, the service was sloe, the food was less then mediocre. Instead of eating here everyone should go to the Cardinal Bistro and come here later for a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The start of the evening had a couple of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The start of the evening had a couple of issues. When we sat at the table one of the plates on the table was not clean. Once we ordered a bottle of wine the waiter brought wine glasses for the four of us. Every glass was dirty with either lipstick or a thick film with various marks. When we mentioned this the glasses were removed and brought back clean.

Once that was rectified the rest of the evening was good. The food was very good and well presented. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. We enjoyed talking to them. It turned out to be an excellent evening. We were happy it was since we were surprised to find the issues with the plate and glasses in a restaurant of this caliper. All in all it was very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance is very nice. The food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ambiance is very nice. The food was well prepared and delicious. Having said that, the food was not exceptional enough to justify the prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent! The noise level ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was excellent! The noise level was incredible. We made reservations and were seated in the bar area. Sometime we would like to try the dining area to see if it makes a difference. Have been here twice with the same experience. LOUD!!! Good food if you can tolerate the sound. At times, there is a band playing in the bar area...better than the voice noise which at times we can't hear the band.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Reservation was for dining room and init ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Reservation was for dining room and initially placed in the Bar. Had to wait an extra 15 minutest or dining room / finally seated 35 minutes after reservation. Waited another 10 minutes for server and another 15 for the bottle of wine to arrive. Our main course was delivered to our table literally and visibly burnt. (. Can't believe a chef would allow that to leave the kitchen ). Finally server returned and stated she could not find anyone in management to come to our table. The server was very apologetic. We informed her it obviously was not her fault. It was management''s place to remedy such a situation. To indicate that they cared about the quality of the food sent to the table and our very negative experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.