About Sofia - Margate

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Non-Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Metaxa
Metaxa

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Value
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
Atlantic City
3 More
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Best Value
Atlantic City
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Margate ›

special occasion (42)
fit for foodies (39)
neighborhood gem (37)
See All
romantic (31)
good for groups (28)
vibrant bar scene (28)
hot spot (21)
notable wine list (19)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We arrived late for our reservation but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We arrived late for our reservation but were promptly taken care of. Our waiter was very informal but knowledgeable and helpful...the menu is broad and intriguing...Everything was good...the mixed plates appetizer was excellent, salads different but good and the Osso Bucco was outstanding.

Costly but worth it...ONLY complaint is very high noise level.

Great choice.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Read there often we love Sophia and her ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Read there often we love Sophia and her sister Angela. We are always greeted with warmth. It is excellent especially the tomato salad, the octopus, the baby lamb chops and so much more. It's a great spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

There was an arrogant little you know wh ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

There was an arrogant little you know what working the parking lot. He refused to allow us to park there because he could and on our way out after dropping $350 in the restaurant, he opened his big fat mouth to me and my husband again. #fireyourrelativesifyouwanttokeepcustomers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

Amazing...Sophia always recognizes us an ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing...Sophia always recognizes us and the food is amazing. Lucky we got a reservation! Gotta try the roof deck bar for a drink also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sofia's has a wonderful atmosphere. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Sofia's has a wonderful atmosphere. We have dined here a few times now and it's always been a great meal.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great appetizers! Pan fried branzino a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great appetizers! Pan fried branzino a little dry, but lamb and crab cakes spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very disappointing in all respects. Too ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very disappointing in all respects. Too loud; food mediocre; overpriced. Not authentic Greek/Mediterranean cuisine as we had expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

This is a fine upscale restaurant. Vale ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This is a fine upscale restaurant. Valet parking. Nice person. Food very good. Pricey. Worse part of the meal were eight loud mouth ladies who must have been deaf. They were so loud they made our experience uncomfortable. Wish they could sign. But the food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was one of the worst dinners I have ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was one of the worst dinners I have had in a long time. The room was noisy, the service was sloe, the food was less then mediocre. Instead of eating here everyone should go to the Cardinal Bistro and come here later for a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The start of the evening had a couple of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The start of the evening had a couple of issues. When we sat at the table one of the plates on the table was not clean. Once we ordered a bottle of wine the waiter brought wine glasses for the four of us. Every glass was dirty with either lipstick or a thick film with various marks. When we mentioned this the glasses were removed and brought back clean.

Once that was rectified the rest of the evening was good. The food was very good and well presented. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. We enjoyed talking to them. It turned out to be an excellent evening. We were happy it was since we were surprised to find the issues with the plate and glasses in a restaurant of this caliper. All in all it was very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance is very nice. The food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ambiance is very nice. The food was well prepared and delicious. Having said that, the food was not exceptional enough to justify the prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent! The noise level ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was excellent! The noise level was incredible. We made reservations and were seated in the bar area. Sometime we would like to try the dining area to see if it makes a difference. Have been here twice with the same experience. LOUD!!! Good food if you can tolerate the sound. At times, there is a band playing in the bar area...better than the voice noise which at times we can't hear the band.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Reservation was for dining room and init ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Reservation was for dining room and initially placed in the Bar. Had to wait an extra 15 minutest or dining room / finally seated 35 minutes after reservation. Waited another 10 minutes for server and another 15 for the bottle of wine to arrive. Our main course was delivered to our table literally and visibly burnt. (. Can't believe a chef would allow that to leave the kitchen ). Finally server returned and stated she could not find anyone in management to come to our table. The server was very apologetic. We informed her it obviously was not her fault. It was management''s place to remedy such a situation. To indicate that they cared about the quality of the food sent to the table and our very negative experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Stay Away Friday and Saturday in Summer ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Stay Away Friday and Saturday in Summer Season.... We've been going to Sofia's for years and really have enjoyed the food, service and everything the restaurant. All of a sudden this season - it seems to be attracting a raucous bar type crowd - lots of singles parading around in the place - large noisy and frankly, unrefined people and behavior. We will now only go off season or midweek. This past Friday people in the large group next to us kept on getting up and down, walking around, going out to smoke... couple with an endless stream of youngish girls and singles parading back and forth to the bathroom and to the bar - very crowded, very noisy, and tooo busy... Dining was as far from relaxed as you could be - the food is good but could not really enjoy it....

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Wonderful night! Terrific service, authe ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful night!

Terrific service, authentic food & drink.

Greek coffee with Ouzo...lots of fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the place for relaxed dining. We wer ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Not the place for relaxed dining. We were rushed and cocktails had barely arrived, not one sip taken, and salads and soups arrived. Service was good but over all too many questions about how we were doing. We were rushing to get out.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Been there before and will go back altho ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Been there before and will go back although I did find a hair in the calamari. Stuff happens.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Margate's gem for fine dining. Consisten ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Margate's gem for fine dining. Consistently our favorite in Atlantic City, and arguably one of the best in south Jersey.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter was home from college in TX ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My daughter was home from college in TX for a long holiday weekend. Whirlwind activities, commitments- we only had a two hour window to stop & talk. Told her I would take her anywhere... AC, Cape May, Philadelphia. She asked for Sofia Margate.

As usual, it was spectacular. We did tapas style appetizer dinner- olive tapenade, fresh hummus with homemade pitas, lollipop lamb chops, spring mix salad w/ walnuts, pears, haloumi cheese and spatikopita. Three really nice glasses of wine, including tax & tip- less than $90. We love the health benefits of the Mediterranean diet, and we both complimented ourselves on such a beautiful, fresh & healthy spread. You know when a twenty one year old takes a picture of the meal & posts it on Snapfish, that you chose well.

We saw beautiful singles, multi-generational families, couples... and live music in the bar. If you go, don't miss a chance to linger for an after dinner drink on the upstairs terrace. And the ladies rest room is insanely beautiful.

Book the table, and goto Sofia Margate.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great with kids.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great with kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Absolutely the best service in Margate. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely the best service in Margate. Everyone was on top of their game, they were attentive, yet we were not rushed out. Perfecto.

Drinks were just right.

I ordered the bone-in veal parm special. Quite honestly, best damn meal I've had. Period. It was like a Veal Parm Slice of pizza. Please keep it on the menu, I'll be 400 pounds, but worth it. I didn't think anybody could give Cookie a challenge for the Veal, but Sofia did it!!!

My wife had the crabs and spaghetti, which was excellent too. She loved it.

We finished off with the baklava which I can't wait to get again.

Overall, top notch from beginning to end.

Ciao

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment you walk in you feel you ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

From the moment you walk in you feel you are in paradise. Beautiful bar. The best is Sofia herself comes over to your table and makes sure everything is ok. Give Sofia a WOW factor. She accommodated me with changing my reservation to an earlier one on the busiest day of the year. Loved the food as well as the ambiance. The prices were good and the service was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE LOVE SOPHIA'S AND RETURN FREQUENTLY. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

WE LOVE SOPHIA'S AND RETURN FREQUENTLY. THE MENU IS CONSISTENT EVERY TIME. OF COURSE WE HAVE OUR FAVORITES BUT THE SPECIALS ARE USUALLY WORTH TRYING AS WELL. ASK HOW MUCH THE SPECIAL IS IF THE PRICE ISN'T OFFERED.

CAN GET QUITE LOUD AT PRIME TIME.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific meal and amazing ambiance. Thi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Terrific meal and amazing ambiance. This is clearly a neighborhood gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab cakes and flatbread was delicio ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The crab cakes and flatbread was delicious, but our server got slammed, forgot drinks, charged us too much on our check. He ruined our first and last experience. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great meal and great ambience. We weren ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great meal and great ambience. We weren't able to get a terrace tables because of the weather but other than that it was a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and ambiance Superior fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance

Superior food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat at Sophia often. The food is alwa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We eat at Sophia often. The food is always excellent the servers lovely and the ambience friendly and happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great experience overall!!! Wonderful f ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great experience overall!!! Wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. I loved the tzatziki ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great. I loved the tzatziki! Our waiter, Chris, was knowledgeable about food and drink items. The only negatives were the sautéed spinich had too much of some kind of spice that my husband and I think may have been oragano. And Sofia was a bit pricey.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were staying in Atlantic City for our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were staying in Atlantic City for our Anniversary weekend & couldn't get a reservation near AC so we decided to dine in Margate. To our Surprise we found an absolute GEM! We were greeted by many with Anniversary Wishes and the rest of the dining experience was incredible. Our waitress Lauren was very attentive & provided us with an exceptional dining experience. After dinner we were given offer a complimentary desert on Sofia's, WOW. Thank you to ALL at Sofia's for making our Anniversary dinner very memorable! Debi & Joe Oliver

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken dry, lamb chops overcooked.

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Chicken dry, lamb chops overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Favorite Restaurant in Margate Restaurant Row!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful ambiance but not too pretentious for that area. The staff makes you feel welcome and appreciated- unlike another restaurant close by that is somehow ALWAYS booked (ahem, Steve & C****s). We love it there. Outstanding food & service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. We had a reservation and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was great. We had a reservation and we had our table very quickly. Great for a holiday weekend at the shore. Food was great,.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

summer staple

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We love eating at Sofia's. The food is consistantly good along with a wide variety of wines and cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food & Drink

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We ate under the stars. All items on the menu were fantastic and with good service, the evening was fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love dining at SOFIA's . Always a gr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We love dining at SOFIA's . Always a great experience.

Most of all we had a Delicious Dinner as always!

Pleasant atmosphere, warm and friendly, and very attentive.

Consistency is a key factor. Service was great!

Thank you!!🙂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sofias is an all around great restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Sofias is an all around great restaurant. It's flare is derived from the Greek owners. Fresh seafood and meat dishes excel. Some of the appetizers such as several varieties of Greek salad, home made hummus, and grilled octopus are favorites.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good overall. Disappointed ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was very good overall. Disappointed in the grilled Octopus. Had no flavor and was a bit mushy. The Caesar salad was very bland. However the fish and the lamb were fabulous. Especially the fish. Nice local restaurant. A little bit on the noisy side. Staff was wonderful

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable evening

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed and shared a lot of small plates. All the food was delicious. Our whole party enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.