Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

About Sofia - Margate

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
See All
Good for Birthdays (38)
Authentic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Romantic (31)
Fun (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Happy Hour (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Casual (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Cozy (16)
Healthy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Live Music (10)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Waterfront (9)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (8)
Tapas (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

incredibly loud!!! food fair- not worth the wait for table!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the Greek salad! Tuna and pasta dishes are always delicious. Service is great! It can be a little noisy at times

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food and drinks were great. The hostess and the manager(I’m assuming she was also the owner) were great. Our waitress was the worst server ive ever had. Absolutely no care to make eye contact or conversation. Wasn’t even a busy night so can’t blame her lack of enthusiasm on that.

Food was great but our server was god awful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I had the seafood and it was delicious! The crab cocktail was the best I ever had. My husband had the Veal Chop Parmesan and he didn't care for it. He said there was too much breading and not enough veal. Service was very good and the ambiance was nice. We had a reservation and didn't have to wait very long for our table. I'd definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Will start by saying that the food was very good and very reasonably priced at Sofia's. Unfortunately, does not appear that they understand how reservations work. We had a 730 reservation however, we were not seated until 815. Wouldn't normally be as upset about this BUT the hostess proceeded to seat NUMEROUS parties that came in long after us and then after we informed both her and the manager that we would be in the bar area waiting, they proceeded to seat more parties in front of us. We know for a fact this happened because a party of 2 (We were a party of 2) who sat next to us at the bar told us that they had an 8 pm reservation and were sat before us! Literally, hostess came over and sat them knowing we were right there! Service aside, food was good and would recommend just be prepared to wait even with a reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful ambience...wonderful food...wonderful service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Love everything about Sophia's beginning with the warm bread and "Sophia's Olive Oil". Great, friendly service, on time seating (reservations), appetizer (Greek Salad), jumbo shrimp cocktail and perfectly prepared Bronzino with great fire roasted vegetables. It was difficult to choose an entrée; there are so many on the menu that we will have to keep returning. We would love to have dessert; one of these days we will save room.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We just left Sophia! The owners Sophia and Angela are the most accommodating and kindest women. They make you feel so special when you're walking. If Ute is exquisite and the service is always great. The restaurant itself is beautiful they have an outstanding outdoor space on the roof which she is so delightful and a lovely evening

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Service was excellent and food was outstanding .Room is relatively quiet and nicely decorated.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The hostesses are always extremely pleasant and accommodating and the service staff is very good. The food is wonderful and consistent.We LOVE the whole fish....SO good!!!!!!! We frequent Sofia's and are always pleased with our experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

While the food was superb, all of the servers were very inexperienced. The water server spilled on us then asked us if we needed a napkin to clean it up. The waiter was polite but it read clearly that this was his first job in wait service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent meal prompt and courteous service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very unpleased with the noise level and food. The tables were so close together that all you could hear were other people yelling over each other. I had one of Sofia's classic dish which was anything but classic. The shrimp and sea bass was completely overcooked. Just not what we expected in the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our go to place in margate. Food never disappoints. Service always excellent. Owners always present and vigilant. We go there weekly year round. Our highest recommendation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was excellent, server was also very good.

The experience "checking in" was less than stellar, poor communication above t what was going on, where we should wait, what the process was after we told the hostess our name and our reservation time.

There was a huge crowd of people at the hostess desk, not really clear if they were waiting to put their name down, if they had already checked in and were waiting to be seated, or what. Kind of a mess there for sure.

Eventually, we were seated at about 8:20 for an 8:00 reservation. What's the point of a reservation?

Atmosphere was VERY lovey, high noise level all through go our meal, lots of activity and tight space, if you enjoy a hustling/bustling meal, this is sure to please in that regard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful, and the service was excellent. The food was
decent, but grossly overpriced for the quality and quantity. We had a nice evening for a special occasion, but won't go back for at least another year as there are too many other options in the area with far better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great find in Margate. Great food, great service. I wish I had known there was a patio but the inside is very nice too. We loved the flaming cheese and dips as appetizers and the seafood was delicious. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We sat upstairs outside. It is the second time we were there in one week.
Last week we sat downstairs.
Great food
Seats uncomfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was ok but the restaurant is super noisy! They made us wait 20 minutes after our reservation for our table and the owner was incredibly rude to my brother while we were waiting.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Waitress was nice and tried really hard, but it was an All around terrible dining experience. Bad food, tables all on top of each other, so loud, just terrible!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Reservation for 8pm and wasn't seated until 8:30pm. Apparently the hostess at the desk doesn't seat customers so had to wait for someone for almost 30 minutes. Heard many patrons complaining so we were apprehensive about our dining experience. Ordered an appetizer that was never brought out. Had to tell our server after she brought out salads. Finally came out. She told us they had no more specials because they were all sold out. Asked about authentici Greek dishes since it is a Greek restaurant and the menu only listed 4 dishes that were Greek. She said other dishes made with Greek seasonings. Not sure that's true. Felt sorry for our server because she looked rushed and harried. Not sure we'll be back. Other restaurants in area have given us a better dining experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Definitely OVER RATED and definitely OVER PRICED. Better to go to MAYNARD's next door!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent! Service was great we have not been here in a while and were nervous. But it did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Enjoyed my first visit to Sofia's - excellent menu with a wide variety of choices.....the Branzino was tasty and nicely prepared. Wait staff was very responsive and I will definitely go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Unfortunately, had an awful experience. The food was good but the service was really horrible. Went for dinner during happy hour and waited an hour and a half for our food. Other tables around us who ordered after us had already eaten and left way before we were served. Two diners in our party got their food and then the rest of the party waited another 15-20 minutes. Service staff was not accommodating about the delay which was probably an error on their part or the kitchen. Wouldn't recommend or go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Very nice anniversary meal. Reservation was at 7PM and we were immediately seated. Service was very good. The waiter was there anticipating our needs. Pleased withthe meal and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Consistently good. Nice ambience. Great happy hour.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The outdoor deck was very nice and the restaurant was accommodating for big parties. The food was mediocre and expensive. The best value and tastiest items were the spanakopita and moussaka.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The criticism is we do not like being rushed into ordering every course at one time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

It was very easy and convenient to make a reservation at Open Table. Sophia's was highly recommended by our family members who enjoyed great meals there and suggested it for an anniversary celebration. We loved our experience there from the friendly and attentive service to the delicious appetizers , salads, and entrees. The crab cakes and lamb chops were wonderful! An anniversary dessert made the evening extra special! We will definitely return to Sophia's and highly recommend it!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food and service! The manager/owner was extremely nice and even bought us a drink! Kudos to this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

My husband and I had a date at Sofia's and went upon the suggestion of a friend. Our server was very accommodating, good humored and knowledgeable. The food was delicious, cocktails were great and the ambiance was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Unfortunately the table near us was extremely loud and was hard to hear my dinner companions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Fabulous meal! From appetizers to dessert. Our server was both knowledgeable and cordial. Took his recommendations and he was spot on. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Such a pretty place!THe Greek food is authentic and presented so nicely! Attention is paid to details and it is lovely sitting up on the roof garden.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was very good but the noise volume made it difficult to have a conversation. It was difficult to hear the waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Another great meal at Sofia's. It was a beautiful, summer evening & we were seated at an outside table, upstairs as we requested. We ordered drinks and shared appetizers and salads. Delicious. Can't think of a better place to spend a Friday night with friends!

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Every time we go, all the food from appetizers to dessert, is always delicious.
We have been there many times and it's always consistently good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Beautiful interior. Great location. Service was ok. When asked to make substitutions, were told what you see on the menu is what you get. Seriously? The food was tasteless and extremely overpriced for its quality. My wife's tuna steak was too chewy. I ordered mako steak and it had no flavor whatsoever. My one daughter got pasta with shrimp and she said it was ok. My other daughter got a salad and said it was ok. I was not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.