About Sofia - Margate

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Metaxa - Sofia - Margate, Margate, NJ
Metaxa - Sofia - Margate, Margate, NJ

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Music (2)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

With a beautiful ambiance and food to ma ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

With a beautiful ambiance and food to match, this was a wonderful night out. Add in a lounge singer and holiday decorations and it made it a special night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We have dined at Sofia's many times and ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

We have dined at Sofia's many times and as always, the quality of the food was very good and the atmosphere quite nice. My only complaint is that we received our appetizer and salads at the same time which was almost immediately after the bread arrived. We felt a bit rushed and requested that the main course not be put in until we finished our appetizers and salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The Chilean sea bass is one of the best ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

The Chilean sea bass is one of the best dishes!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a beautiful restaurant with a gr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant with a great bar and wonderful ambiance. Unfortunately the

food is not very good. Duck was extremely dry & my husband had trouble swallowing it.

Also - the special steak with shrimp was only fair. Reminded us of the quality of food served

in a diner.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Food is consist and and good with very i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food is consist and and good with very innovative specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and presentation is quite good. Ou ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food and presentation is quite good. Our waiter has a problem. We have had him before. He tends to hover and speak very loud. When it was time to get the check and leave, he was no where to be found.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Staff was friendly and professional. Foo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Staff was friendly and professional. Food was excellent. Overall a very excellent experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Family Style, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A bit rushed.salads came out fast, almos ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A bit rushed.salads came out fast, almost immediately,telegraphing that they wanted to turn the table quickly.

Was a Sat night,but after labor day.$38 entire bringing filet was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful dinner

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Wonderful dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food; Excellent service. Catered h ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food; Excellent service. Catered happily to my noumerous food allergies. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We haven't been to Sofia's in more than ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We haven't been to Sofia's in more than a year and when our group of 6 left after dinner all we kept asking ourselves: was why not? The night was a home run. Ken was a terrific server but the entire staff was very please and accommodating and the food and ambience was top notch, just like every time we have been there. Great job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at Sofia on Saturday September ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We dined at Sofia on Saturday September 10th for the first time. We will return for sure however I feel a need to express my thoughts on the hostess. We had a 8:15 reservation and did not get seated until 9:10. I felt like the "regulars" get seated right away and the reserved parties wait! The ambiance was nice so I really did mind waiting however the unpleasant hostess prompted me to write this review. Our waitress was very nice and pleasant. The food comes out quick once seated. The food was amazing, the ambiance was very nice but the hostess was terrible! She was rude and ignorant. I would recommend that she not be the first interaction with consumers. Had we not had other people with us I would have left the restaurant for sure based of my interactions with her. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and would return however I hope you take this feedback and place an appropriate person to greet your consumers! Also it is important for me to mention that the manager did make it up to us by offering dessert on the house but we opted for another round of drinks! Loved everything about my evening here except for the hostess! I Hope to see a more pleasant greeter when I return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Started out with fresh oysters. Served a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Started out with fresh oysters. Served at room temperature and on ice. When we told them about it, nothing was done. Had the whole Bronzino, great tasting fish. Lots of work, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I had a great experience for my 22 anniv ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I had a great experience for my 22 anniversary with my had a great experience the service was good the food was great

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good menu. Great drinks. Popular sp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very good menu. Great drinks. Popular spot so it is a bit noisy. Prompt service. This was my second visit and I would go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good and service was exceptional!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Good and service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great night at Sofia. In spite ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Another great night at Sofia. In spite of the pending storm, which never materialized, our server Vinny took great care of us. As usual, the drinks were perfectly mixed!! My wife ordered the Pasta Aphrodite which was chock full of lump crab meat. I ordered, at Vinny's recommendation, the Lamb Chops, which were terrific. We finished off with a dessert i cannot even begin to spell correctly. As i noted, in spite of the storm, we were not hurried out. We could have sat there all night, which we greatly appreciated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was so slow and the bar made ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service was so slow and the bar made our drinks wrong two times. The food was bland and in some cases over cooked. We waited over an hour and a half for our meals while other guests that arrived after us were served and finished before we even received our entree. Not going back here, too many other and better choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The food was exceptional and the service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was exceptional and the service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not have our Open Table reservation ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Did not have our Open Table reservation noted when we got there ! Was able to seat our party of 4 within 10-15 minutes .

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner and Angela as usual was mor ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great dinner and Angela as usual was mor than accommodating

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our dinner was excellent, wine, apps, en ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2016

our dinner was excellent, wine, apps, entree, desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been there numerous times and we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I have been there numerous times and we always have a wonderful experience

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for dinner the other night. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went here for dinner the other night. It was extremely noisy and the service was poor. Unfortunately, no one at the table enjoyed his/her meal either. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a wonderful experience at Sofia's ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Sofia's. Our reservation was for a Friday night @ 7:30.

We were taken to our table promptly. Our server was great (Ken). Food was outstanding.

Sofia never disappoints. My husband and I had the Pan seared Chilean Sea Bass with Lump Crab Meat. It was scrumptious!!! Our appetizer Spanotinika was delicious as well as our Greek Salads. Dessert was Coco Tartufo which was also delicious. Its prices are comparable to any fine dining restaurants. Well worth it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Seriously, amazing. Wife had the langost ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Seriously, amazing. Wife had the langostine entre, probably top 5 seafood dishes I've had, they were very sweet and fresh. I had the lamb osso bucco is awesome. The decor is great and our server Ken was helpful and always near by if we needed something.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times. This last time was a disappointment. I ordered "Seafood Palaki" and what I got was a warmed over pot of very little. One piece of fish, one scallop, three shrimp and a piece of potato that were all overcooked. This was very disappointing. As the saying in the restaurant business goes, "you are only as good as your last meal".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was extremely pleasant and the f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was extremely pleasant and the food was outstanding

The bar is fun, vibrant and the tree growing in the middle just adds to the ambiance

Great by the bay restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a nice time service was very good. I ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had a nice time service was very good. I had the shrimp and bass in the terra cotta pan. Did not know when I ordered it that is would have all that sauce on it. There was way to much sauce on the dish. The fish was lost in it. The sauce was very tastes but over powered the whole dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was horrible. I added grilled chic ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was horrible. I added grilled chicken to one of their regular salads. Soooo salty I couldn't eat it. My husband ordered a steak med rare and it came out med well. My friend ordered musaka which was burnt and her husbands lamb chops were over cooked. The only good thing was the humus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Best meal out of our four day vacation i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best meal out of our four day vacation in Ocean City! Really enjoyed, wish it were closer to home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner last year with our friends who we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dinner last year with our friends who were visiting from out of town for an Expo in Atlantic City was such a hit, they requested to come back for another wonderful dinner. We were NOT disappointed. Great food, great service and wonderful wait staff. We hope to return soon. :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Branzino was delicious paired w a "Atlan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Branzino was delicious paired w a "Atlantis" a nice Greek white blended grape wine. Very nice night out to dinner. TY!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food very good especially the salads

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food very good especially the salads

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

All of the dishes ordered were very tast ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

All of the dishes ordered were very tasty. The decor was beautiful as well. We would love to come back when we are in town again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Good food. Good Servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great evening. Good food. Good Service. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great night! Service and food w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a great night! Service and food were terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unfortunately I've had hit or miss meals ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Unfortunately I've had hit or miss meals there...love the atomsphere and bar...the food is inconsistent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our waiter was excellent. I am terrible ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waiter was excellent. I am terrible with names but I believe it was Jimmy or James.

I found that he was professional and added to the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.