About Sofia - Margate

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Metaxa
Metaxa

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Fit for Foodies (47)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Romantic (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Hot Spot (33)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Scenic View (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Cozy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food; Excellent service. Catered h ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food; Excellent service. Catered happily to my noumerous food allergies. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We haven't been to Sofia's in more than ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We haven't been to Sofia's in more than a year and when our group of 6 left after dinner all we kept asking ourselves: was why not? The night was a home run. Ken was a terrific server but the entire staff was very please and accommodating and the food and ambience was top notch, just like every time we have been there. Great job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined at Sofia on Saturday September ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We dined at Sofia on Saturday September 10th for the first time. We will return for sure however I feel a need to express my thoughts on the hostess. We had a 8:15 reservation and did not get seated until 9:10. I felt like the "regulars" get seated right away and the reserved parties wait! The ambiance was nice so I really did mind waiting however the unpleasant hostess prompted me to write this review. Our waitress was very nice and pleasant. The food comes out quick once seated. The food was amazing, the ambiance was very nice but the hostess was terrible! She was rude and ignorant. I would recommend that she not be the first interaction with consumers. Had we not had other people with us I would have left the restaurant for sure based of my interactions with her. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and would return however I hope you take this feedback and place an appropriate person to greet your consumers! Also it is important for me to mention that the manager did make it up to us by offering dessert on the house but we opted for another round of drinks! Loved everything about my evening here except for the hostess! I Hope to see a more pleasant greeter when I return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Started out with fresh oysters. Served a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Started out with fresh oysters. Served at room temperature and on ice. When we told them about it, nothing was done. Had the whole Bronzino, great tasting fish. Lots of work, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I had a great experience for my 22 anniv ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I had a great experience for my 22 anniversary with my had a great experience the service was good the food was great

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good menu. Great drinks. Popular sp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very good menu. Great drinks. Popular spot so it is a bit noisy. Prompt service. This was my second visit and I would go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good and service was exceptional!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Good and service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great night at Sofia. In spite ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Another great night at Sofia. In spite of the pending storm, which never materialized, our server Vinny took great care of us. As usual, the drinks were perfectly mixed!! My wife ordered the Pasta Aphrodite which was chock full of lump crab meat. I ordered, at Vinny's recommendation, the Lamb Chops, which were terrific. We finished off with a dessert i cannot even begin to spell correctly. As i noted, in spite of the storm, we were not hurried out. We could have sat there all night, which we greatly appreciated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was so slow and the bar made ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The service was so slow and the bar made our drinks wrong two times. The food was bland and in some cases over cooked. We waited over an hour and a half for our meals while other guests that arrived after us were served and finished before we even received our entree. Not going back here, too many other and better choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The food was exceptional and the service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was exceptional and the service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not have our Open Table reservation ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Did not have our Open Table reservation noted when we got there ! Was able to seat our party of 4 within 10-15 minutes .

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner and Angela as usual was mor ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great dinner and Angela as usual was mor than accommodating

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our dinner was excellent, wine, apps, en ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

our dinner was excellent, wine, apps, entree, desert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been there numerous times and we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I have been there numerous times and we always have a wonderful experience

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for dinner the other night. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went here for dinner the other night. It was extremely noisy and the service was poor. Unfortunately, no one at the table enjoyed his/her meal either. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a wonderful experience at Sofia's ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Sofia's. Our reservation was for a Friday night @ 7:30.

We were taken to our table promptly. Our server was great (Ken). Food was outstanding.

Sofia never disappoints. My husband and I had the Pan seared Chilean Sea Bass with Lump Crab Meat. It was scrumptious!!! Our appetizer Spanotinika was delicious as well as our Greek Salads. Dessert was Coco Tartufo which was also delicious. Its prices are comparable to any fine dining restaurants. Well worth it!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Seriously, amazing. Wife had the langost ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Seriously, amazing. Wife had the langostine entre, probably top 5 seafood dishes I've had, they were very sweet and fresh. I had the lamb osso bucco is awesome. The decor is great and our server Ken was helpful and always near by if we needed something.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times. This last time was a disappointment. I ordered "Seafood Palaki" and what I got was a warmed over pot of very little. One piece of fish, one scallop, three shrimp and a piece of potato that were all overcooked. This was very disappointing. As the saying in the restaurant business goes, "you are only as good as your last meal".

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was extremely pleasant and the f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was extremely pleasant and the food was outstanding

The bar is fun, vibrant and the tree growing in the middle just adds to the ambiance

Great by the bay restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a nice time service was very good. I ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had a nice time service was very good. I had the shrimp and bass in the terra cotta pan. Did not know when I ordered it that is would have all that sauce on it. There was way to much sauce on the dish. The fish was lost in it. The sauce was very tastes but over powered the whole dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was horrible. I added grilled chic ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was horrible. I added grilled chicken to one of their regular salads. Soooo salty I couldn't eat it. My husband ordered a steak med rare and it came out med well. My friend ordered musaka which was burnt and her husbands lamb chops were over cooked. The only good thing was the humus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Best meal out of our four day vacation i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Best meal out of our four day vacation in Ocean City! Really enjoyed, wish it were closer to home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner last year with our friends who we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Dinner last year with our friends who were visiting from out of town for an Expo in Atlantic City was such a hit, they requested to come back for another wonderful dinner. We were NOT disappointed. Great food, great service and wonderful wait staff. We hope to return soon. :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Branzino was delicious paired w a "Atlan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Branzino was delicious paired w a "Atlantis" a nice Greek white blended grape wine. Very nice night out to dinner. TY!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food very good especially the salads

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food very good especially the salads

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

All of the dishes ordered were very tast ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

All of the dishes ordered were very tasty. The decor was beautiful as well. We would love to come back when we are in town again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Good food. Good Servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great evening. Good food. Good Service. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great night! Service and food w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a great night! Service and food were terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unfortunately I've had hit or miss meals ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Unfortunately I've had hit or miss meals there...love the atomsphere and bar...the food is inconsistent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our waiter was excellent. I am terrible ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waiter was excellent. I am terrible with names but I believe it was Jimmy or James.

I found that he was professional and added to the ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience. My husband and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great dining experience. My husband and I were on vacation and your restaurant was highly recommended. I'm delighted that I made the time to try Sofia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The main hostess is extremely rude. I ca ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The main hostess is extremely rude. I called to make sure they brought out cake for my best friends birthday. She didn't want to deal with it and told me to tell the waiter when we got there. When the whole point was to surprise my friend. They sat us on the second floor which barely had AC because it is the same floor their outside deck is on. Our waiter was the best part of our dinner experience. The appetizers were great but the Chilean sea bass we order was terrible with zero flavor. The hostess alone gave me a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

We were a party of four with reservation ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were a party of four with reservations at 9:15, but didn't get seated until about 9:45. Other than the delay, our experience was very good. Our server was very attentive and the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Sophia's on multiple occ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been to Sophia's on multiple occasions. The food is very good with multiple choices. The portions are large and the salads excellent. It is best to be upstairs and outside as on weekends the noise level downstairs is considerably high. The service is good as is the wine list. We usually do not eat dessert. Excellent fish and beef. Great choice af appetizers and knowledgeable waitstaff. You are not rushed or ignored.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was very disappointed that when my par ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was very disappointed that when my party arrived 5 minutes before our reservation, we we were told that the wait would be about ten minutes. That is not a big deal except it was impossible to even get a drink from the bar. After waiting for 30 minutes we realized the woman in charge was directing the hostess to seat people who arrived after us. Basically, the woman was seating regulars and we were not given a table until one of the people in my party complained. After another 10 minutes we sat down. After speaking to those who summer in Margate, we were told regulars always had priority. Besides the awful first hour, the waiter was attentive and the food was delicious. I suggest you either become a regular or expect to wait. Or make a very early reservation around 7pm.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We both ordered pasta. One dish was supp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We both ordered pasta. One dish was supposed to be in a basil marinara sauce. The only basil in it was dried basil ( as from a jar ) sprinkled over the tomato sauce. In my over 50 yrs of eating Italian food this was the first time I ever saw dried basil used in an upscale restaurant . A completely different flavor and unacceptable at these prices. The server appeared to agree and merely shrugged. My wife's pasta would probably have been good but it was way too spicy which was not mentioned in the menu description. She was able to eat some but lost her appetite. The server brought our check which had a credit for one half the price of my wife's entrée only......Would rather have had a decent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Our server was not accommodating at all- ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our server was not accommodating at all-brought out the wrong entree and did not tell us -we had to ask "is this" what we ordered? Response from server: we ran out of that - is this ok? Not even an apology! However food was good '

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Fabulous as always!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fabulous as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!!!! Our waiter Vinny wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great experience!!!!

Our waiter Vinny was fantastic!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat on their roof top, which is the o ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We sat on their roof top, which is the only place to sit. The ambience is great - lovely outdoor enclave. Inside, the noise level is beyond belief - you cannot hold a conversation. Going out with friends is more than the food - good conversation is an important component. Downstairs, you cannot hear across a table which immediately makes me not ever want to come back.

The food, however, is the redeeming factor and was fresh, well prepared and well presented. The staff alternated between trying to hurry us out, to forgetting we were there. Very inconsistent attention.

If you can get on the roof, it is worth going. Otherwise, not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.