About Sofia - Margate

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Non-Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Service
Atlantic City
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City
1 More
Notable Wine List
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Margate ›

special occasion (38)
fit for foodies (32)
romantic (29)
See All
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (26)
vibrant bar scene (22)
notable wine list (20)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was very good overall. Disappointed ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good overall. Disappointed in the grilled Octopus. Had no flavor and was a bit mushy. The Caesar salad was very bland. However the fish and the lamb were fabulous. Especially the fish. Nice local restaurant. A little bit on the noisy side. Staff was wonderful

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening

Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed and shared a lot of small plates. All the food was delicious. Our whole party enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the spanikopita and always the Mous ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Love the spanikopita and always the Moussaka!! :) :) :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food in a beautiful Resturant.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food in a beautiful Resturant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular Meal at Sofia

Dined on May 8, 2016

My Mother's Day meal at Sofia Margate was wonderful! Atmosphere is nice and cozy and the chairs are ver comfortable. Our tapas (octopus, cheese, dips and oysters) were amazing and the portions were generous. My son and I both had the lobster tail, which was firm and flavorful. My husband had the special, which was bone-in veal parmesan. The veal was thick and tasty and the pasta was delicious. The baklava and cappuccinos were also delicious. It was a great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion restaurant with atmosphere

Dined on May 7, 2016

What a plelasure to have dinner at Sofia's. The wait staff is so friendly and very professional. This neighborhood restaurant consistency makes us want to go back time and again. Prices are competative but you do get value because the portions are large. The salads are generous and sharing is encouraged. While we had dinner this time, we can completely recommend their bar menu or early 'bird special menu. Great selections, great staff - what a restaurant.!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was great, food was excellen ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our service was great, food was excellent and we had a great time listening to live music in the bar area

food5
ambience5
service4

We love Sofia restaurant, the atmosphere ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We love Sofia restaurant, the atmosphere is beautiful and food outstanding Greek . My only complaint is you have to ask for a stemmed glass for your martinis!!!! That's a Nono in my book otherwise great!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent night on the town

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

I had the lamb chops, medium rare, excellent with marinade. My companions had the tuna, the branzino and the shrimp appetizer. They were happy. We shared the greek salad, enough for 4. Angela suggested a greek white wine. It was excellent. The server was attentive and helpful. The ambiance was great despite more noise than I would like. I recommend highly.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very disappointed

Dined on March 27, 2016

We came from cherry hill NJ. Very little Greek items. I'm a gourmet cook. The moussaka was small n burned on bottom and on sauce top. Instead of half chicken item only got a split breast w uncooked hard veggies would not go there again or recommend it to anyone. Food was not worth the high end prices for inadequate food. We were extremely disappointed. Had to travel back home 1 n half hrs. Not worth time/trip👎🏿

food5
ambience5
service5

Dave our sever is great as was the food ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Dave our sever is great as was the food and service! Love the place

food5
ambience5
service5

As always, great service. Food was amaz ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

As always, great service. Food was amazing. Love this place.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sofias

Dined on March 12, 2016

First time at Sofia's and it won't be the last! Great Greek food and service. We went during AC Restaurant week so it was extremely busy and noisy -. must make reservations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Not as good as last year's dish

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We did Sofia again because last year it was the best restaurant we selected for Restaurant Week. However, while my partner liked his selection, I was disappointed with my dish. It appeared to be burnt however the waiter said that's how it's prepared. Doubtful???? Plus the sauce was overpowering & there was no pasta to compliment the dish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovefondue

Dined on March 12, 2016

Outstanding restaurant!!!! From the time you walk thru the doors you know you are in for a great experience!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Restaurant Week 2016

Dined on March 12, 2016

Our group was two couples out for an early Saturday evening dinner during Restaurant Week. We asked to be seated in the room they refer to as the atrium, where there are the four long gas fireplaces lining one wall. It took awhile for the dinner crowd to fully materialize, so we had easy conversation. My husband and I both had the Saginaki appetizer, flamed at the table, and enjoyed it quite a bit. We both then moved on to the braised lamb shank with orzo, and not only were we satisfied in the restaurant, we had enough leftovers to make dinner the next night at home. David, our waiter, was helpful without intruding on our conversations, and his positive attitude reflects very well on the management of the restaurant. We had been to Sofia's only one time before and ordered from the regular menu, and we will certainly go back again, happy with both experiences. (And kudos to all the Margate restaurants who use Open Table to take reservations. We were coming from Ocean City, and hardly ANYONE takes a reservation, not to mention that it's a dry town, which certainly dampens the festivity of a dinner out!)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Delicious, Lingering Dining Pleasure

Dined on March 11, 2016

Our diner at Sofia's was a delicious, dining pleasure. The staff is warm, friendly, and accommodating. The food is clean, fresh, and deliciously prepared. The kind of meal that brings a smile when you think about it. The restaurant is sophisticated and classy, but not stuffy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for a Relaxing Dinner

Dined on March 10, 2016

The service at Sophia's was outstanding. Everyone was friendly. The food came out very quickly. Our server was extremely attentive. The owner even gave us a personal tour and a little history of the decor. Definitely going to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, service and experience wer ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Awesome food, service and experience were all A++

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on March 9, 2016

Sophia's was wonderful, dinner, service and atmosphere. Lauren was super. Would surely recommend to others. Had a great dinner and overall experience !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Greek Food

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

We went here during Restaurant Week. I really enjoyed my Spanakopita, Char-Grilled Petit Filet Mignon and Tourta Mocha. My husband had the Saganaki, which was okay, Yiouvetsi (a lamb dish) which I did not care for and the Galaktobouriko, which was very good. I do have to be honest, I don't like lamb, but my husband said it was just okay. The service was Excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Mediterranean food

Dined on March 8, 2016

If you're a fan of Greek food go here! And get the baklava for dessert! Delicious! Service was okay, felt a little rushed (and the hostesses were rude!) They were busy for AC restaurant week. It won't stop me from going back though!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We wanted to try Sofia's after staying a ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

We wanted to try Sofia's after staying away for a period of time. We went with friends and all of we're very pleasantly surprised by the food, service and atmosphere of Sofia's. Definitely plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Restaurant Week Dinner!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Ordered the Greek salad for my appetizer, the Seafood Plaki for my entree & the phyllo dough with custard inside for dessert. Each course did not disappoint & was quite tasty. Have enjoyed several Restaurant Week dinners here before & the food is consistently good. The ambiance is lovely and the waitstaff professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

The salmon special was fabulous with tom ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The salmon special was fabulous with tomato and spinach risotto

food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Should've stayed home!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

3 out of 4 dinners were bad. One so much that the waiter immediately said I'll take it off of the bill. Once I pointed out my dinner was too embarrassed to complain about the other 2 bad dinners. Food should never have left the kitchen. Bar is awesome here, too bad food is not.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding ambience, excellent food and ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Outstanding ambience, excellent food and top quality service Dave our waiter was tremendous

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I should have ordered the always perfect ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

I should have ordered the always perfect bronzino. Instead I had a crab cake which was average. My husband's seafood combo was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Valentine Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We booked a nice Valentine dinner on Saturday February 13, 2016 here at this restaurant for 3 couples and each of us had a delightful dinner. The service was very pleasant and more than accommodating to each of our requests. We will not only recommend this restaurant but will frequent it often ourselves.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Bartender

Dined on February 9, 2016

We had a great experience. The bartender was great (David) We ended up eating at the bar since it was a slow nice, nasty weather, and quiet. The bartender took very good care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Bad moussaka.

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

Have had some good dinners here, but this time was not good. Duck was just ok but moussaka was horrible. Would go back for bar menu but not dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Sophia Margate Nj

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

The food is just ok. But the service and atmosphere is pretty good.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Sofia was terrific

Dined on December 30, 2015

We went to Sofia on Wednesday 12/30. The service was great. Our waiter made us feel like we were the only table he was responsible for. He was personable, knowledgeable about the menu items and very attentive. The food was pricey, but worth it for the special occasion we were celebrating. The sangria was delicious. The waiter had recommended that we share two salads among the four of it. They were each excellent, and more then enough for four people. The entrees were excellent, the sides well thought out for each entrée. The only disappointment was we didn't have room for dessert.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on December 13, 2015

Sophia's exceeded all our expectations. The menue has many interesting Mediterranean dishes. I had the lamb chops. The entree contained three double lamb chops cooked to perfection. The service was top notch and the restaurant was beautifully decorated for the holidays. Great place for that special occasion dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always special

Dined on November 15, 2015

Been going there since they opened and have always enjoyed it. My wife is Greek as are the owners and it makes it all that more special. The place itself is simple elegant and the food is always wonderful....Thank you Sofia,always a pleasure.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were top notch. Our ser ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Food and service were top notch. Our server, Nick, paid close attention to our needs without being intrusive.

food4
ambience3
service4

good food off the beaten path

Dined on October 11, 2015

We decided to try a local restaurant away from the casinos and found Sofia's and I'm glad we did. I love Greek and Mediterranean food and Sofia's did not disappoint. The food was delicious. The wine list was also good. The clientele seemed to be an older, local crowd, but the staff was very friendly and attentive. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything with the food was excellent a ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Everything with the food was excellent and service was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on September 28, 2015

A group of neighbors got together and went to this restaurant and had a wonderful time. Food was fantastic, our waiter David was exceptional, and the owner Introduced herself and made sure we were having a good time. Gratefully this gem is in our own back yard.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always!!!

vip
Dined on September 26, 2015

Sofia's was completely packed on a Saturday night, and although the noise level was excruciating, the food was exceptional as usual, the crabcakes santorini and the four dip trio were amazing as always!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.