Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

About Sofia - Margate

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Bar Seating (19)
See All
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Happy Hour (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Live Music (8)
Fireplace (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Sofia's is absolutely delicious! We were going to Atlantic City later and decided to just pick a random place we had never heard of to try and boy am I glad we did! The decor was very Mediterranean with a good vibe. They have live music which was away from the diners so you could actually enjoy both your date and the music. The filet mignon was cooked perfect and the asparagus was spot on. My husband had the fire roasted chicken which came with roasted vegetables in a clay pot and it was amazing! I can't wait to go back and try other dishes - A great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed our dinner. Kenny, our server, was very good and made the experience all the better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Used to be a very classy place, not anymore... People in sinkers, sportswear, with small children at nighttime... more like a sport bar than classy expensive restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The food at Sofia's is consistently fresh and delicious , with many authentic Greek dishes and great seafood. The service is terrific. The owners, Angela and Sofia are usually there greeting their guests and the night we were there, Angela very generously sent over a dessert platter for my parent's anniversary. The decor is very pretty--especially the rooftop in the summer. And I love happy hour (or any hour) at the bar, which has a tree in the middle of it--great place also watch TV and listen to live music. One of my favorite places in Margate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Live Music, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So nice to have an upscale Greek restaurant in the neighborhood. I had high expectations, but I wasn't bowled over. Just so-so, strictly a one-time visit for me, though I was going with 2 friends who had been there before.

Service was informative & attentive. We were given warm bread w/ olive tapenade which was nice to start. Passing on wine as were were all driving, we started with a cheese platter that was kind of flat in offering & presentation. Moussaka was supposed to have spinach & feta but was more like a soggy scrambled egg texture with leeks sandwiched between limp but warm filo dough. Bummer!


Spinach salad with apples and cider vinaigrette was chosen after being warned not to order the fresh tuna with wasabi slaw salad. My friends split the fish cooked in tomato sauce with potatoes, feta and olives. They enjoyed it.

After our entrees, we were offered a complimentary platter with a small amount of grapes, cut pineapple and mini Greek pastries with honey and nuts. Nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food service
All waiteRe bartenders and staff including owners are friendly and more than accommodating
Probably the best restaurant on that he island

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great to say the most always a pleasure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The meal was great!! The business was very understanding when my party was running late, and Dave our server was very sociable.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a great time at Sophia, enjoyed the bar before dinner. The ambience is great, food and service very good excellent bartenders all around great night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was outstanding and so was the food. The entire place is unique and very beautiful. It's one of the coolest restaurants I've ever been to

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Wood Oven, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our first time to Sofia..will not be our last. Fantastic meal and service. Octopus was off the charts delicious as well as the rest of our meals. Party of 4 left very happy! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went for restaurant week. Excellent experience . Will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our first time there and it will not be our the last. The food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My first time here and it won't be my last. Absolutely wonderful service, not to be outdone by the food and atmosphere. The stunning decor just added to a great night. Our server found the perfect spot between feeling comfortable without being rushed during dinner. Just a lovely experience.......

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent food, Good Atmosphere, friendly staff, very cozy sitting by the fire place especially in cold winter days, delicious wines from Greece!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Sophia never fails to impress!! The food is fresh and consistently excellent. The Branzino is the best I've ever had and is full of so much flavor. The detailed decor is beautiful right down to the bathrooms. The busboys and waiters are always observant and friendly. I can't wait until Summer so I can eat at Sophia as much as possible when I am in Margate.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Modern Decor, Casual, Fireplace, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great place off season, gets crowded in the summer months.. awesome food and service was outstanding! Beautiful decor inside and out. Parking can be tough, expect a short walk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very good place and recommend reservations. The branzini was very fresh and tasty

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was excellent,wait staff was excellent. Ambiance was awesome

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Healthy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We do Sofia's every year for Restaurant Week. Just wish there was more than one. Our waiter, David, is the best!!! The octopus appetizer was fantastic and the branzino fish was out of this world. Never had either fish but highly recommend both. Thank you to all.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We visited Sofia for AC Restaurant week. It has great atmosphere, food and service. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We were a party of 8 on Saturday night. Everything was delicious, the waiter, Dave, was great and I can't wait to do it again!!!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Sofia never disappoints. Service is always impeccable and the food outstanding. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent! Food and service got lucky it was a Sunday evening with no crowds!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our meal was excellent. The only problem was that the server had to juggle too many duties. I don't think there was a bus boy on duty yet. The server also had a large party that included children in another part of the restaurant, and he had to spend more time with them than just the two of us. Despite that, we thoroughly enjoyed our late Valentine's Day dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love this place I go all the time.... wonderful food and service. Great atmosphere.
Highly Recommend!!!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner was special at Sofia's. The restaurant was warm and cozy on a chilly and windy night as we settled into one of the nooks in the restaurant. The food tasted wonderful, our server was attentive and helpful with recommendations from the menu and in selecting wines to accompany our dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Live Music, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was our first visit. We had heard many good things and they were all true. The staff was very attentive and did a great job of explainning the dishes. I enjoyed the Fire Roasted Chicked Breast with grilled veggies. It was very tasty and athe portions large.

We are planning a return visit next month.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food , awesome service, beautiful decor and ambiance, but a little disappointed with our 2 cappucinos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was perfect from start to finish. Ken our waiter was as gracious and friendly as always. The grilled octopus and osso bucco are a must have. Absolutely love this place. Sofia is a 10 out of 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I feel like I am in Europe when I go to Sofia in Margate. Greek influenced menu, the grilled pita with the "trio" is a great starter. Attentive service, waiter willing to make suggestions. We had the Seafood Plaki (don't miss this!), sea bass, crabcakes, and lamb chops. Our party of 4 had a delightful time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Intimate, cozy atmosphere, great food (be sure to order the 4-dip combo appetizer), excellent live music at a volume that still allows quiet conversation, and professional, attentive, friendly service (Ken is awesome!)! Will definitely be a return customer.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent meal! Server Kenny was fantastic! Great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Live Music, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food, drinks, atmosphere and service were excellent. Was a little pricey, but other than that it was a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Would not return for dinner.
Steaks not cooked as requested , came with too much sauce, flaming cheese had no flavor, crab cakes were mostly filler although it stated it was jumbo lump crabmeat, Caesar salad was requested but never brought to the table .
Expensive! Disappointed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My favorite restaurant on the island👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Beautifully decorated for Christmas! Nice menu, wide selection - advertised as Greek restaurant but there's so much more to choose from than just Greek.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

With a beautiful ambiance and food to match, this was a wonderful night out. Add in a lounge singer and holiday decorations and it made it a special night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have dined at Sofia's many times and as always, the quality of the food was very good and the atmosphere quite nice. My only complaint is that we received our appetizer and salads at the same time which was almost immediately after the bread arrived. We felt a bit rushed and requested that the main course not be put in until we finished our appetizers and salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.