Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

About Sofia - Margate

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (27)
Romantic (26)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Authentic (20)
Cozy (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Live Music (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Fireplace (12)
Wood Oven (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Casual (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Healthy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tapas (5)
Private Room (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Waterfront (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 14 hours ago

Great meal. Our server Vinny was superb and, as usual, Sofia rose to the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a wonderful meal. All 7 of us enjoyed the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fabulous food, fabulous menu selection, fabulous drinks, fabulous atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very disappointed. Steve and Cookies prices but not quality. Avoid this place if your looking for any value or taste. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Service was delightful and the food, especially the pasta was delicious. We all loved the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great ambiance and a hopping bar with a tasty sounding bar menu. We enjoyed a lovely fine dining experience. My only negative comment would be that the food seemed a little more Italian in flavor than Greek. Nonetheless, delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice location, great service everyone very friendly and great food.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Another wonderful dinner all the way through; from the warm greeting through to the check. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Have been to Sofia's a number of times and have never been disappointed. The servers are friendly and knowledgeable, the food is superb and there's a good wine list. Will be going back again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

As always, everything was delightful. Service, food,drinks and friends were perfect..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Another wonderful experience from greeting all the way through.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Request to be seated on the upstairs outside patio You really feel as if you are in Greece. It's has amazing ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Grilled Octopus is my favorite and always perfect. Ahi Tuna is among the best I've had. Live singer always there on weekends and she is VERY talented. Beautiful voice, and not too loud. In fact, she's so good I have to keep looking at her to remind myself she's not the original vocalist on whatever song she's performing. The bar is very large, friendly and cozy. There is a large sprawling tree in the center of it, with white lights on it like Christmas. Sounds cheesy but it's not; it works very well. I've eaten at the bar by myself and I've eaten at a table with my family. In both areas, the service is pleasant, friendly, prompt and efficient which is a rarity these days. I waited no time for the check to arrive and to come back with my credit card which is a test most restaurants fail miserably. The prices are on the high side, but it's a high rent area and competitive with the others in the area so I can't blame them for that.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Live Music, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always improving in food quality and service. We have been extremely satisfied each time we go. It has become a favorite restaurant for us. The staff and owners are very attentive to all of your needs and they work very hard to create a satisfying and enjoyable experience. We recommend it highly

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is fabulous. Everything is fresh and presented nicely. The lamb chops are to die for!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sophia's is a favorite of ours. Weekends can get a tad loud but it still doesn't interfere with your dining experience. Service is top notch, food is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We really enjoy coming to Sofia's. It is always a wonderful experience-the food, music, service and Angela always makes us feel at home!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband and I dined here last saturday evening. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was tasty. We decided to do small plates, and as always seems to happen, they all arrived at the table at the same time making for a bit of a crowded table. other than that, we enjoyed a lovely evening.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always enjoy Sofias. Great menu. The hostess was very friendly. Service was great. No complaints.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Sofia's is always a favorite for fresh, Mediterranean cuisine. Many appetizers are large enough to sample as entrees. The decor is beautiful and parking is adequate nearby.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Sofia's is absolutely delicious! We were going to Atlantic City later and decided to just pick a random place we had never heard of to try and boy am I glad we did! The decor was very Mediterranean with a good vibe. They have live music which was away from the diners so you could actually enjoy both your date and the music. The filet mignon was cooked perfect and the asparagus was spot on. My husband had the fire roasted chicken which came with roasted vegetables in a clay pot and it was amazing! I can't wait to go back and try other dishes - A great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner. Kenny, our server, was very good and made the experience all the better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Used to be a very classy place, not anymore... People in sinkers, sportswear, with small children at nighttime... more like a sport bar than classy expensive restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food at Sofia's is consistently fresh and delicious , with many authentic Greek dishes and great seafood. The service is terrific. The owners, Angela and Sofia are usually there greeting their guests and the night we were there, Angela very generously sent over a dessert platter for my parent's anniversary. The decor is very pretty--especially the rooftop in the summer. And I love happy hour (or any hour) at the bar, which has a tree in the middle of it--great place also watch TV and listen to live music. One of my favorite places in Margate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Live Music, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So nice to have an upscale Greek restaurant in the neighborhood. I had high expectations, but I wasn't bowled over. Just so-so, strictly a one-time visit for me, though I was going with 2 friends who had been there before.

Service was informative & attentive. We were given warm bread w/ olive tapenade which was nice to start. Passing on wine as were were all driving, we started with a cheese platter that was kind of flat in offering & presentation. Moussaka was supposed to have spinach & feta but was more like a soggy scrambled egg texture with leeks sandwiched between limp but warm filo dough. Bummer!


Spinach salad with apples and cider vinaigrette was chosen after being warned not to order the fresh tuna with wasabi slaw salad. My friends split the fish cooked in tomato sauce with potatoes, feta and olives. They enjoyed it.

After our entrees, we were offered a complimentary platter with a small amount of grapes, cut pineapple and mini Greek pastries with honey and nuts. Nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent food service
All waiteRe bartenders and staff including owners are friendly and more than accommodating
Probably the best restaurant on that he island

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great to say the most always a pleasure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The meal was great!! The business was very understanding when my party was running late, and Dave our server was very sociable.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a great time at Sophia, enjoyed the bar before dinner. The ambience is great, food and service very good excellent bartenders all around great night.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The service was outstanding and so was the food. The entire place is unique and very beautiful. It's one of the coolest restaurants I've ever been to

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Wood Oven, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our first time to Sofia..will not be our last. Fantastic meal and service. Octopus was off the charts delicious as well as the rest of our meals. Party of 4 left very happy! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went for restaurant week. Excellent experience . Will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our first time there and it will not be our the last. The food and service were exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My first time here and it won't be my last. Absolutely wonderful service, not to be outdone by the food and atmosphere. The stunning decor just added to a great night. Our server found the perfect spot between feeling comfortable without being rushed during dinner. Just a lovely experience.......

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent food, Good Atmosphere, friendly staff, very cozy sitting by the fire place especially in cold winter days, delicious wines from Greece!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Sophia never fails to impress!! The food is fresh and consistently excellent. The Branzino is the best I've ever had and is full of so much flavor. The detailed decor is beautiful right down to the bathrooms. The busboys and waiters are always observant and friendly. I can't wait until Summer so I can eat at Sophia as much as possible when I am in Margate.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Modern Decor, Casual, Fireplace, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great place off season, gets crowded in the summer months.. awesome food and service was outstanding! Beautiful decor inside and out. Parking can be tough, expect a short walk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Very good place and recommend reservations. The branzini was very fresh and tasty

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.