About Sofia - Margate

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Non-Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Metaxa
Metaxa

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Notable Wine List
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Overall
Atlantic City
6 More
Best Food
Atlantic City
Best Service
Atlantic City
Best Ambiance
Atlantic City
Best Value
Atlantic City
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Margate ›

special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (41)
neighborhood gem (38)
See All
romantic (36)
good for groups (31)
vibrant bar scene (29)
notable wine list (21)
hot spot (16)
great for outdoor dining (10)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (8)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific meal and amazing ambiance. Thi ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Terrific meal and amazing ambiance. This is clearly a neighborhood gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The crab cakes and flatbread was delicio ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The crab cakes and flatbread was delicious, but our server got slammed, forgot drinks, charged us too much on our check. He ruined our first and last experience. Not going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and ambiance Superior fo ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance Superior food

food4
ambience3
service4

We eat at Sophia often. The food is alwa ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We eat at Sophia often. The food is always excellent the servers lovely and the ambience friendly and happy

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall!!! Wonderful f ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great experience overall!!! Wonderful food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. I loved the tzatziki ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great. I loved the tzatziki! Our waiter, Chris, was knowledgeable about food and drink items. The only negatives were the sautéed spinich had too much of some kind of spice that my husband and I think may have been oragano. And Sofia was a bit pricey.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying in Atlantic City for our ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were staying in Atlantic City for our Anniversary weekend & couldn't get a reservation near AC so we decided to dine in Margate. To our Surprise we found an absolute GEM! We were greeted by many with Anniversary Wishes and the rest of the dining experience was incredible. Our waitress Lauren was very attentive & provided us with an exceptional dining experience. After dinner we were given offer a complimentary desert on Sofia's, WOW. Thank you to ALL at Sofia's for making our Anniversary dinner very memorable! Debi & Joe Oliver

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Chicken dry, lamb chops overcooked.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Chicken dry, lamb chops overcooked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Restaurant in Margate Restaurant Row!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful ambiance but not too pretentious for that area. The staff makes you feel welcome and appreciated- unlike another restaurant close by that is somehow ALWAYS booked (ahem, Steve & C****s). We love it there. Outstanding food & service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. We had a reservation and ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was great. We had a reservation and we had our table very quickly. Great for a holiday weekend at the shore. Food was great,.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

summer staple

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We love eating at Sofia's. The food is consistantly good along with a wide variety of wines and cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Drink

Dined on May 28, 2016

We ate under the stars. All items on the menu were fantastic and with good service, the evening was fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We love dining at SOFIA's . Always a gr ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We love dining at SOFIA's . Always a great experience. Most of all we had a Delicious Dinner as always! Pleasant atmosphere, warm and friendly, and very attentive. Consistency is a key factor. Service was great! Thank you!!🙂

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sofias is an all around great restaurant ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Sofias is an all around great restaurant. It's flare is derived from the Greek owners. Fresh seafood and meat dishes excel. Some of the appetizers such as several varieties of Greek salad, home made hummus, and grilled octopus are favorites.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was very good overall. Disappointed ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was very good overall. Disappointed in the grilled Octopus. Had no flavor and was a bit mushy. The Caesar salad was very bland. However the fish and the lamb were fabulous. Especially the fish. Nice local restaurant. A little bit on the noisy side. Staff was wonderful

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening

Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoyed and shared a lot of small plates. All the food was delicious. Our whole party enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the spanikopita and always the Mous ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Love the spanikopita and always the Moussaka!! :) :) :)

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food in a beautiful Resturant.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food in a beautiful Resturant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular Meal at Sofia

Dined on May 8, 2016

My Mother's Day meal at Sofia Margate was wonderful! Atmosphere is nice and cozy and the chairs are ver comfortable. Our tapas (octopus, cheese, dips and oysters) were amazing and the portions were generous. My son and I both had the lobster tail, which was firm and flavorful. My husband had the special, which was bone-in veal parmesan. The veal was thick and tasty and the pasta was delicious. The baklava and cappuccinos were also delicious. It was a great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Occasion restaurant with atmosphere

Dined on May 7, 2016

What a plelasure to have dinner at Sofia's. The wait staff is so friendly and very professional. This neighborhood restaurant consistency makes us want to go back time and again. Prices are competative but you do get value because the portions are large. The salads are generous and sharing is encouraged. While we had dinner this time, we can completely recommend their bar menu or early 'bird special menu. Great selections, great staff - what a restaurant.!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was great, food was excellen ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our service was great, food was excellent and we had a great time listening to live music in the bar area

food5
ambience5
service4

We love Sofia restaurant, the atmosphere ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We love Sofia restaurant, the atmosphere is beautiful and food outstanding Greek . My only complaint is you have to ask for a stemmed glass for your martinis!!!! That's a Nono in my book otherwise great!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent night on the town

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

I had the lamb chops, medium rare, excellent with marinade. My companions had the tuna, the branzino and the shrimp appetizer. They were happy. We shared the greek salad, enough for 4. Angela suggested a greek white wine. It was excellent. The server was attentive and helpful. The ambiance was great despite more noise than I would like. I recommend highly.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very disappointed

Dined on March 27, 2016

We came from cherry hill NJ. Very little Greek items. I'm a gourmet cook. The moussaka was small n burned on bottom and on sauce top. Instead of half chicken item only got a split breast w uncooked hard veggies would not go there again or recommend it to anyone. Food was not worth the high end prices for inadequate food. We were extremely disappointed. Had to travel back home 1 n half hrs. Not worth time/trip👎🏿

food5
ambience5
service5

Dave our sever is great as was the food ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Dave our sever is great as was the food and service! Love the place

food5
ambience5
service5

As always, great service. Food was amaz ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

As always, great service. Food was amazing. Love this place.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sofias

Dined on March 12, 2016

First time at Sofia's and it won't be the last! Great Greek food and service. We went during AC Restaurant week so it was extremely busy and noisy -. must make reservations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Not as good as last year's dish

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We did Sofia again because last year it was the best restaurant we selected for Restaurant Week. However, while my partner liked his selection, I was disappointed with my dish. It appeared to be burnt however the waiter said that's how it's prepared. Doubtful???? Plus the sauce was overpowering & there was no pasta to compliment the dish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lovefondue

Dined on March 12, 2016

Outstanding restaurant!!!! From the time you walk thru the doors you know you are in for a great experience!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Restaurant Week 2016

Dined on March 12, 2016

Our group was two couples out for an early Saturday evening dinner during Restaurant Week. We asked to be seated in the room they refer to as the atrium, where there are the four long gas fireplaces lining one wall. It took awhile for the dinner crowd to fully materialize, so we had easy conversation. My husband and I both had the Saginaki appetizer, flamed at the table, and enjoyed it quite a bit. We both then moved on to the braised lamb shank with orzo, and not only were we satisfied in the restaurant, we had enough leftovers to make dinner the next night at home. David, our waiter, was helpful without intruding on our conversations, and his positive attitude reflects very well on the management of the restaurant. We had been to Sofia's only one time before and ordered from the regular menu, and we will certainly go back again, happy with both experiences. (And kudos to all the Margate restaurants who use Open Table to take reservations. We were coming from Ocean City, and hardly ANYONE takes a reservation, not to mention that it's a dry town, which certainly dampens the festivity of a dinner out!)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Delicious, Lingering Dining Pleasure

Dined on March 11, 2016

Our diner at Sofia's was a delicious, dining pleasure. The staff is warm, friendly, and accommodating. The food is clean, fresh, and deliciously prepared. The kind of meal that brings a smile when you think about it. The restaurant is sophisticated and classy, but not stuffy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for a Relaxing Dinner

Dined on March 10, 2016

The service at Sophia's was outstanding. Everyone was friendly. The food came out very quickly. Our server was extremely attentive. The owner even gave us a personal tour and a little history of the decor. Definitely going to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, service and experience wer ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Awesome food, service and experience were all A++

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem

Dined on March 9, 2016

Sophia's was wonderful, dinner, service and atmosphere. Lauren was super. Would surely recommend to others. Had a great dinner and overall experience !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Greek Food

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

We went here during Restaurant Week. I really enjoyed my Spanakopita, Char-Grilled Petit Filet Mignon and Tourta Mocha. My husband had the Saganaki, which was okay, Yiouvetsi (a lamb dish) which I did not care for and the Galaktobouriko, which was very good. I do have to be honest, I don't like lamb, but my husband said it was just okay. The service was Excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Mediterranean food

Dined on March 8, 2016

If you're a fan of Greek food go here! And get the baklava for dessert! Delicious! Service was okay, felt a little rushed (and the hostesses were rude!) They were busy for AC restaurant week. It won't stop me from going back though!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We wanted to try Sofia's after staying a ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

We wanted to try Sofia's after staying away for a period of time. We went with friends and all of we're very pleasantly surprised by the food, service and atmosphere of Sofia's. Definitely plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Restaurant Week Dinner!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Ordered the Greek salad for my appetizer, the Seafood Plaki for my entree & the phyllo dough with custard inside for dessert. Each course did not disappoint & was quite tasty. Have enjoyed several Restaurant Week dinners here before & the food is consistently good. The ambiance is lovely and the waitstaff professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

The salmon special was fabulous with tom ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The salmon special was fabulous with tomato and spinach risotto

food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Should've stayed home!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

3 out of 4 dinners were bad. One so much that the waiter immediately said I'll take it off of the bill. Once I pointed out my dinner was too embarrassed to complain about the other 2 bad dinners. Food should never have left the kitchen. Bar is awesome here, too bad food is not.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.