Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

About Sofia - Margate

Our diverse menu features a plethora of fresh fish and sensational seafood along with numerous Mediterranean eclectic dishes, premium aged steaks, chops, vegetarian selections, grilled entrées and mezes (Greek-style tapas).
Sofia is now open 7 days a week starting with "Happy Hour" featuring specialty cocktails, premium spirits and a wine list ranging from mainstream vintages to opulent varietals.

9314 Amherst Avenue
Margate, NJ 08402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm – 11:00pm; Sunset Menu ($15.95): Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm – 6:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 822-9111

Website:
http://www.sofiaofmargate.com/

Entertainment:
Live jazz on Saturday nights starting at 8:00pm.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sofia - Margate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (41)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Romantic (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Authentic (30)
Bar Seating (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Fun (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Casual (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Cozy (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Live Music (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Healthy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Waterfront (7)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (7)
Fireplace (6)
Tapas (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and ambiance . Waiter staff good as well. We will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a good meal and Sofia runs a tight together dinning experience .

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

delicious but very noisy and busy. Will be back other than on a Sat. night!
Nonnie

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Was rushed from the moment we sat. Entrees delivered literally while we were eating salad and apps. Was told by a sweating out of breath waiter that "the restaurant is busy tonight". No idea what that meant. Clearly wanted to turn tables. Food was delicious although not sure the branzino we ordered was the special described. At that point we didn't care. Been there a few other times and had better experience so hope it was just an off night with a sub-par waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Received a warm greeting by Sofia herself @ the hostess stand. We were early & wanted to have a drink @ the bar which was vibrant on a summer Friday night. Great bartenders, cozy bar & very friendly people. We were seated @ our table upstairs after our cocktail, a nice intimidate room. Appetizers were grilled octopus, clams casino & a greek shrimp parm type of dish served in a crock w/ a flatbread (sorry, couldn't spell it). All were delish!! Entrees were the halibut special, lump crabmeat w/ tomatoes over angel hair pasta, veal chop butterfield, & pounded served as parm over angel hair & I had the bronzino. All were tremendous. We ate 1/2 the veal the next day! Angela brought us a lovely bottle of wine which we thoroughly enjoyed. Maria gave us fabulous service, we couldn't ask for anything more. We enjoyed a lovely dessert sampler w/ fresh fruit. Perfect! Highly recommended for any foodies. One of the best restaurant's in the area.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

All the food was excellent
our server was a little confused
We got our dishes all at different times and one of them we got wrong the right one arrived very late

Our server cane over to our table no less than three times to introduce himself

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We dine here often and we love Greek food and wine although they have something for everyone. Great mezzethes. (Greek small plates), beautiful decor, great bar area, awesome raw bar selections and Greek salad, bronzino, lamb chops, pita and eggplant dips and delicious warm pita, spanakopita a personal fave, wonderful Greek coffee. Recently they added tuna poke bowl which I did not like.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Delicious! Everything from appetizers to dessert. Easy to have a conversation. Lovely ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Worst service - waited forever for entrees that were cold and bland. Do not recommend unless you want an over priced tasteless meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service food ambiance impeccable
Can't wait to return!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Was very disappointed with the service and my wife's food came out wrong and cold. At the bar it would be nice to see the bartenders look up to see if customers need drinks. Sofia is a wonderful host but her staff is not the great.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was delicious, service was excellent, and location fabulous!! We come back every year.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Angela and Sophia do an excellent job running the BEST restaurant in Margate and South Jersey. The Mediterranean cuisine is excellent; every dish.. The service and care received is the very best in all of South Jersey. We have been there many times and Sophia's will continue to be our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

True greek cuisine, in Margate. The owner, Sofia greeted us and she was very engaging. The ambience is very authentic. The food is fantastic, we shared the grilled octopus for an appetizer and the Bronzino as our entree . The Bronzino is served whole, which meant I got to deehead and detailed it as well as filet it myself (fun experience). Martinit's are awesome and we had a nice bottle of Greek Atlantis, red table wine (excellent value for the price). We enjoyed it so much we are going back this evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food consistently fresh and fabulous. Love this place. One of my favorites

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Unfortunately it was not a good experience. While we had a reservation and arrived 10 mins early, we still waited 45 minutes post reservation time for a table. We were seated outside next to the loud airconditoner unit. Our meals were over cooked, but the wine was divine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Usually our go-to place at the Jersey shore. Food is always excellent. Unfortunately, this particular Wednesday after the 4th, the place was so jammed and noisy--and the service sketchy--that it detracted from our dining experience, even though the food was as good as ever.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We gave this place a second chance. Several years ago were turned off by the lousy bar
service but this dinner was delicious, our server pleasant and informative, and quality
of food very good

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

First time for me, loved atmosphere, very Mediterranean. Had the Bronzino, excellent ! Timely w food & service. Wonderful desserts too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Sophia's was very accommodating , the service was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Favorite restaurant in margate nj visit whenever we are in town

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Everything was wonderful and our server David was so nice and helpful with helping with our selections. He made its feel welcome. An excellent experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our waitress was the best

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

One of many turns here at Sofia and always impressed with the gastronomy and drinks. Started Eith a Hendricks martini with gin and cucumber which was stronger than needed. But the second was better constructed
Appetizers inckuded grilled lamb chops which were perfectly cooked and tasty, and the four course Greek mixtures were divine with grilled pita
Entrees including branzino well prepared and moist and grilled shrimp perfectly done
The only disappointment was their special PLAKI which was not well presented in a slew of red spicy sauce e with three small shrimp and a small portion of fish
It had one potato and for $38 was NOT worth it for taste or price point and should be prepared In A lighter wine sauce with feta and tomatoes
Overall a margate standard continues to shine and beats its. Eughbit doen the street hands down to me for gentle service and demeanor deserving of patronage

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The restaurant was a little chilly, but we had a great time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very enjoyable. David was very attentive and the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We are always accommodated ( with pleasure ) by the hostess staff if we request a certain area of seating. They try very hard to please. The wait staff is also very good, kind and efficient. The atmosphere is wonderful both inside and out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great ambience especially upstairs roof
Deck. Feels like you are in greece!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went for our anniversary as we do each year. We actually were Married up on the deck there 8 years ago. We will continue to eat at Sophia's especially upstairs very romantic...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Tapas, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Consistently fabulous. One of my favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We love Sophia we go there about once a week during the summer the food is always excellent fresh the servers are terrific and the owners are wonderful

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a very nice table near a window with the sun shining in.
The food and drinks were very good, and the menu has something
for everyone. We have eaten at the bar many times in this
restaurant and only once at a table. Our friends, who had never
been there, enjoyed as much as we did.
We will go again!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Overall average meal a little disappointed based on what we have read. Everything from the apps to dinner was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

All four of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal! Our waitress was perfect!!! Can't wait to go back! Baby Octopus is one of my favorites!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food. Excellent service. Very nice Mediterranean decor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Everything was outstanding - great food, great service and beautiful atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had a solid good dinner at Sophia's. The branzino and the lamb osso buco were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Octopus was the best I've ever had. All three meals we had were very tasty. My only complaint was the two dollar charge for "rocks" i. e. ice cubes with my drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

atmosphere pretty, food was terrific. Waiter forgot our appetizer and our side dish (brussle sprouts) We kept having to ask for things. UGH

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The spanokopita flatbread and the dips with pita were good; Greek salad was a disappointment; other entrees were average. Nice decor, great location.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.