Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About SoDo

We invite you to enjoy our comfortable, contemporary cuisine as we showcase the freshest local ingredients, prepared with style and innovation. Join us for a casual cocktail, an intimate night out, or a celebration of any kind. SoDo is not just a great restaurant and bar - it's our way of life.

275 Hill Street
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Friday 11 A.M to 9 P.M.
Saturday 4 P.M. to 9 P.M.
Sunday 4 P.M. to 8 P.M.

Cross Street:
Ridge St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 322-2710

Website:
http://sodoreno.com/

Catering:
Private Room Available
Off-Site Catering Available

Executive Chef:
David Stern

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

SoDo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Healthy (7)
Casual (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great dinner at SoDo! Food is delicious and beautifully presented, and the service is top notch. We're looking forward to coming back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent service. Food was amazing. The BLT with house cured jalapeño bacon is to die for.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

SoDo was disappointing, at best. Cocktails are terrible. Worst "Marg" I've ever had. Sent two cocktails back before ordering a bourbon on the rocks. Pretty tough to mess that up! Had the New York steak. It was smothered in a ginger sauce. I could not taste the meat because of the sauce and it was tough. Ceasar Salad was good. Lettuce was fresh and croutons was good. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was great, I love the menu, nice location and it is low key enough for business meals.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It's among the top restaurants in Reno. I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. We all loved the braised short rib, the burger since we shared tastes at the table. Everyone loved the flat iron steak. Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love this restaurant...always a good experience for service, food and atmosphere. We all enjoyed our meal but also felt all of the entrees were not quite warm enough. Otherwise perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Test Kitchen Tuesday - interesting food, good service, great value, and nice wine list! Entree selection included beef, pork, chicken and vegetarian. An easy week night out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were looking for a nice restaurant near Pioneer Theater to eat before catching a show. This is a trendy restaurant with very good food and excellent service. Those attributes also made it a very popular spot to eat, making my experience less than ideal simply due to the crowd. Fortunately, we made reservations and our table was waiting for us when we walked in. Unfortunately, our table was directly in front of the back door so every time someone walked out, we were blasted with an arctic breeze from outside. So...bottom line: the restaurant did everything right. I just need need to expect crowds near the theater on nights when there's a show. I would not hesitate to highly recommend SoDo to a friend who was looking for a good restaurant in town.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful service and delicious food. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent food, great service and nice ambiance. It was a nice place to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 23, 2017

SoDo isn't nearly as good as it was two years ago; took waiter 15 mins to come to our table and offer water; waiter brought sweet potato fries to our table instead of sweet potato lasagne; wine by glass selection is poor; New York steak cooked unevenly, garlic mashed potatoes weren't garlicky at all; desserts very mediocre; overpriced for the quality served. Will not take another chance on this overhyped Midtown restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Once again a very good meal with personable and efficient service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine Date. This is my second visit. The waitress was wonderful. The food was very good. Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best Valentine's Day Dinner experience ever. The entire staff was so professional (especially Tyler). For such a busy night everything was executed perfectly and with no drama. And the menu choices were great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very disappointed, as I previously heard this restaurant is excellent. Way over priced! The salad I ordered was tasteless. Save your money.

Tags: Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Seared Ahi was very good. 2nd meal was a seared Baramundi. The outside of it was so tough you couldn't cut it and when I tried to eat it I though it was a bone. There was no flavor. By the time I got another meal my husband was done and he had to sit and wait for me to eat. Not very impressive.
Attentive service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I could only compliment you by returning to your restaurant! And I shall with more friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our group of ten were well taken care of and everyone enjoyed our lunch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was good but a little expensive. I ordered the tuna which was tasty but it seemed like it was missing a side. The greens provided with it weren't enough. The meal did have a lot of tuna meat which was nice & we ordered several appetizers which were all delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was creative but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A friend and myself did your "tasting dinner" last week and were very pleased with most of the menu items. There were a couple we didn't care for. My favorite dish was your kale salad. It was spectacular! The soup was excellent as was the chocolate truffle dessert. We didn't have it but we heard the ahi lasagna was fantastic. Thank you.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We liked our table. I thought the Ahi salad was very good. The braised beef had very little flavor and the chocolate truffle was way too rich. The overall price was high for this meal. We do enjoy the Happy hour. Food is very good and price is very good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We did the Test Kitchen Tuesday on the last Tuesday of the month. It was a set menu for $30.00 with 3 courses with choices in each category. All our choices were very good but the standout was the Seared Ahi with miso ginger dressing. Great flavors and generous portion for an appetizer.

The place was hopping for a Tuesday and had a nice neighborhood atmosphere, people enjoying each others company, drinks and good food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The last Tuesday of the month they have a tasting menu which is a great value and it is fun to try new menu items.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food and even better service. WILSON, our server, was awesome!!!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went here for a second date, very pleased. Date was feeling under the weather so we did not explore the menu too much but the soup and salads were good. I've had the crab poppers in the past and love the sauce. Service was not overwhelming or absent, which is perfect when trying to chat. They brought us out the entire box of teas to choose from which was appreciated. They also put the flowers I brought in water while we ate. I want to say Hannah was our server but honestly I was paying attention to my date and missed that part. Would reccomend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had asparagus soup, the special for the night & the mushrooms raviolis as my entree . Both dishes were amazing! This is the 2nd time we have eaten at this restaurant and we haven't been disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

When I Reno SoDo is a must! Great creative menu, friendly staff- (Say hit to Kat for me!)
Wish that I lived closer- but would be there all of the time.
You MUST go!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My favorite thing about SoDo is the variety on the menu and price options. This is a great place for anyone who prefers more classic dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a fun, enjoyable meal on New Year's Eve. Everything was delicious: calamari, mushroom ravioli, endive salad, shortribs, salmon and the chocolate creme brûlée. Our server, Maria, was very sweet and attentive. The ambience is very pleasant. SoDo is one of our favorite local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding menu. Great service excellent neighborhood location. Had a wonderful New Years Eve dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The place was exquisite and had a particular elegance to it. My relative and I wanted our sons to experience a rare excellence of taste in a nice restaurant and SoDo was the place. It was excellent for what we wanted. From the entrance of being seated to the service of the food to the end of the night, we enjoyed fine dining at its best. The food and service was par excellence. I would recommend to anyone looking for that experience. The owner greeted us and we had the dining experience we wanted.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service this experience was less than stellar. The food was hit or miss and we really loved about half of the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

After meeting Joel on the mountain, we decided to attend Test Kitchen Tuesday to see how SoDo is these days. A delightful surprise, as the food was excellent, and the staff was great! We'll definitely be back as the regular entrees being delivered to near by tables also looked wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was really good but the service was marginal at best. The restaurant was not crowded and it took quite a while for our food to arrive. Our waitress never offered to re-fill our water glasses. We had to make the request at the end of our meal for more water.

Love the food but the service really needs to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Everyone loves the flat iron steak it is fabulous! Also, I really like the calamari appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Entrees were excellent but the appetizers were a big disappointment. We had the crab jalapenos and calamari which were, clearly, bought frozen from Restaurant Depot. Would definitely be back for the entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 8, 2016

SODO has superb food and a welcoming atmosphere. You'll never be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I have been coming to the chiropractor next door to the restaurant off and on for years - have been wanting to try this place out, but but just never have. Well we finally thought of it for my wife's B/D dinner and glad we did. Great menu selection with a number of interesting preparations. I think all the dinner prices were very reasonable. I had the Berkshire pork chop special, which I enjoyed very much. My wife had the Blackened Salmon. They were very receptive to my wife's cheese allergy and noted it on the order.

Overall a great experience and looking forward to come back and be able to sit outside.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We have always loved SoDo. We know we will get a delicious meal with wonderful service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.