About SoDo

275 Hill Street
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

We invite you to enjoy our comfortable, contemporary cuisine as we showcase the freshest local ingredients, prepared with style and innovation. Join us for a casual cocktail, an intimate night out, or a celebration of any kind. SoDo is not just a great restaurant and bar - it's our way of life.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Friday 11 A.M to 9 P.M.
Saturday 4 P.M. to 9 P.M.
Sunday 4 P.M. to 8 P.M.

Cross Street:
Ridge St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 322-2710

Website:
http://sodoreno.com/

Catering:
Private Room Available
Off-Site Catering Available

Executive Chef:
David Stern

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

SoDo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Authentic (7)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again a very good meal with persona ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Once again a very good meal with personable and efficient service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine Date. This is my second visit. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine Date. This is my second visit. The waitress was wonderful. The food was very good. Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best Valentine's Day Dinner experience e ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Best Valentine's Day Dinner experience ever. The entire staff was so professional (especially Tyler). For such a busy night everything was executed perfectly and with no drama. And the menu choices were great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed, as I previously ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was very disappointed, as I previously heard this restaurant is excellent. Way over priced! The salad I ordered was tasteless. Save your money.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Seared Ahi was very good. 2nd meal was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Seared Ahi was very good. 2nd meal was a seared Baramundi. The outside of it was so tough you couldn't cut it and when I tried to eat it I though it was a bone. There was no flavor. By the time I got another meal my husband was done and he had to sit and wait for me to eat. Not very impressive.

Attentive service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I could only compliment you by returnin ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I could only compliment you by returning to your restaurant! And I shall with more friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our group of ten were well taken care of ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our group of ten were well taken care of and everyone enjoyed our lunch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was good but a little expensive. I ordered the tuna which was tasty but it seemed like it was missing a side. The greens provided with it weren't enough. The meal did have a lot of tuna meat which was nice & we ordered several appetizers which were all delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was creative but not spectacula ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was creative but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A friend and myself did your "tasting di ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A friend and myself did your "tasting dinner" last week and were very pleased with most of the menu items. There were a couple we didn't care for. My favorite dish was your kale salad. It was spectacular! The soup was excellent as was the chocolate truffle dessert. We didn't have it but we heard the ahi lasagna was fantastic. Thank you.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We liked our table. I thought the Ahi s ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We liked our table. I thought the Ahi salad was very good. The braised beef had very little flavor and the chocolate truffle was way too rich. The overall price was high for this meal. We do enjoy the Happy hour. Food is very good and price is very good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We did the Test Kitchen Tuesday on the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We did the Test Kitchen Tuesday on the last Tuesday of the month. It was a set menu for $30.00 with 3 courses with choices in each category. All our choices were very good but the standout was the Seared Ahi with miso ginger dressing. Great flavors and generous portion for an appetizer.

The place was hopping for a Tuesday and had a nice neighborhood atmosphere, people enjoying each others company, drinks and good food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last Tuesday of the month they have ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The last Tuesday of the month they have a tasting menu which is a great value and it is fun to try new menu items.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, , Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and even better service. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food and even better service. WILSON, our server, was awesome!!!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for a second date, very please ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went here for a second date, very pleased. Date was feeling under the weather so we did not explore the menu too much but the soup and salads were good. I've had the crab poppers in the past and love the sauce. Service was not overwhelming or absent, which is perfect when trying to chat. They brought us out the entire box of teas to choose from which was appreciated. They also put the flowers I brought in water while we ate. I want to say Hannah was our server but honestly I was paying attention to my date and missed that part. Would reccomend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had asparagus soup, the special for th ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had asparagus soup, the special for the night & the mushrooms raviolis as my entree . Both dishes were amazing! This is the 2nd time we have eaten at this restaurant and we haven't been disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When I Reno SoDo is a must! Great creati ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

When I Reno SoDo is a must! Great creative menu, friendly staff- (Say hit to Kat for me!)

Wish that I lived closer- but would be there all of the time.

You MUST go!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite thing about SoDo is the vari ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My favorite thing about SoDo is the variety on the menu and price options. This is a great place for anyone who prefers more classic dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a fun, enjoyable meal on New Year ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a fun, enjoyable meal on New Year's Eve. Everything was delicious: calamari, mushroom ravioli, endive salad, shortribs, salmon and the chocolate creme brûlée. Our server, Maria, was very sweet and attentive. The ambience is very pleasant. SoDo is one of our favorite local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding menu. Great service excell ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding menu. Great service excellent neighborhood location. Had a wonderful New Years Eve dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was exquisite and had a partic ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The place was exquisite and had a particular elegance to it. My relative and I wanted our sons to experience a rare excellence of taste in a nice restaurant and SoDo was the place. It was excellent for what we wanted. From the entrance of being seated to the service of the food to the end of the night, we enjoyed fine dining at its best. The food and service was par excellence. I would recommend to anyone looking for that experience. The owner greeted us and we had the dining experience we wanted.

Tags: , Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service this experience was less tha ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service this experience was less than stellar. The food was hit or miss and we really loved about half of the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

After meeting Joel on the mountain, we d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

After meeting Joel on the mountain, we decided to attend Test Kitchen Tuesday to see how SoDo is these days. A delightful surprise, as the food was excellent, and the staff was great! We'll definitely be back as the regular entrees being delivered to near by tables also looked wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was really good but the service ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was really good but the service was marginal at best. The restaurant was not crowded and it took quite a while for our food to arrive. Our waitress never offered to re-fill our water glasses. We had to make the request at the end of our meal for more water.

Love the food but the service really needs to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Everyone loves the flat iron steak it is ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Everyone loves the flat iron steak it is fabulous! Also, I really like the calamari appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Entrees were excellent but the appetizer ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Entrees were excellent but the appetizers were a big disappointment. We had the crab jalapenos and calamari which were, clearly, bought frozen from Restaurant Depot. Would definitely be back for the entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

SODO has superb food and a welcoming atm ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 8, 2016

SODO has superb food and a welcoming atmosphere. You'll never be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming to the chiropractor n ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I have been coming to the chiropractor next door to the restaurant off and on for years - have been wanting to try this place out, but but just never have. Well we finally thought of it for my wife's B/D dinner and glad we did. Great menu selection with a number of interesting preparations. I think all the dinner prices were very reasonable. I had the Berkshire pork chop special, which I enjoyed very much. My wife had the Blackened Salmon. They were very receptive to my wife's cheese allergy and noted it on the order.

Overall a great experience and looking forward to come back and be able to sit outside.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have always loved SoDo. We know we wi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We have always loved SoDo. We know we will get a delicious meal with wonderful service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I have been to SoDo sever ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 2, 2016

My husband and I have been to SoDo several times and have never been disappointed. The calamari appetizer was delicious and was quite a generous serving. We both had fish and chips, again wonderful and served with a heaping mound of fries (chips). Lunch time is usually very busy which only adds to the great atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was wonderful. The food was grea ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Dinner was wonderful. The food was great and the service was outstanding. Our server, Steve, had excellent recommendations and was attentive without being intrusive. Very nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SoDo is a good choice for a Friday night ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

SoDo is a good choice for a Friday night enjoyable meal

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation, but we still had t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a reservation, but we still had to wait. We had to get their attention for them to take our order.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The lamb burger had some flavor - the re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The lamb burger had some flavor - the regular hamburger had none & we do NOT recommend it. The marinated beef skewers as an appetizer were awful and we could not even eat them - the presentation was amateurish. The pulled pork sandwich was hard to find the little bit of pork under a huge helping of coleslaw placed on top of it. The spinach salad was boring and flavorless and was not even the "baby" spinach described on the menu. The bartender did not know how to make a negroni but she looked it up and made an attempt that was just ok. We did not order the calamari because we were told there were no tentacles and not even rings, but strips (seriously!). We will not be returning for a long long time, which is too bad because the location is good and the atmosphere & ambiance comfortable - we hope they take note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

They have an ever-changing menu but I wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 18, 2016

They have an ever-changing menu but I was happy the Jalapeno Pumpkin was still on the menu. We enjoy the steak and sides here. I didn't care for the spicy mustard sauce on the salmon but that was by bad for not reading the menu close enough. I thought it said honey mustard. We usually have a dessert and the cheesecake was delicious to end our date night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Food was amazing and wel ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great service. Food was amazing and well presented

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting friends in Reno and had ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were visiting friends in Reno and had no idea where to take them to dinner. We came across great reviews and an interesting menu online at SODO's website. Needless to say it did not disappoint! Our Server Wilson was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. Each of our meals was expertly prepared and uniquely delicious. The atmosphere was relaxing although there was a large group of extremely loud guys at an adjacent table. It appeared as if the staff did their best to feed the noisy group quickly and get them out so they didn't disrupt the other guests experience too much. I look forward to another meal at SODO next time we are in Reno!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy the time at SoDos. The lad ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always enjoy the time at SoDos. The ladies in my party were very happy with everything. It was the first time for some and they said they were impressed and will come back.

Thanks for a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and speedy,Nichole ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The service was great and speedy,Nichole was very friendly and knowledgable of the menu and her recommendations .My friend and I had the chocolate creme brule,which was excellent, we also had the salted caramel brownie alla mode Which it was also excellent. It's a great place to have coffee and dessert or appetizers and a glass of wine.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Lunch was really tasty. Our server was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Lunch was really tasty. Our server was excellent. We were celebrating a birthday so we wanted to have a leisurely lunch and we were able to do so!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.