About SoDo

275 Hill Street
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

We invite you to enjoy our comfortable, contemporary cuisine as we showcase the freshest local ingredients, prepared with style and innovation. Join us for a casual cocktail, an intimate night out, or a celebration of any kind. SoDo is not just a great restaurant and bar - it's our way of life.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Friday 11 A.M to 9 P.M.
Saturday 4 P.M. to 9 P.M.
Sunday 4 P.M. to 8 P.M.

Cross Street:
Ridge St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 322-2710

Website:
http://sodoreno.com/

Catering:
Private Room Available
Off-Site Catering Available

Executive Chef:
David Stern

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Hanger Steak
Beef Tacos From Bar Bite Menu
Sodo Burger
Calimari
Rack Of Boar
Ahi
Flatbread
Pork Belly Sliders
Cabernet Sauvignon
Jim Beam & Water
Cheesesteak Sliders
Pulled Pork Sliders
Scallop
Chips & Dip
Skirt Steak
Tri-Tip
Crab Stuffed Jalapeno Poppers
fish tacos
My Sandwich Was Tasty But...
Sole
Tomato Parmesan Soup
Spanish Omlette
Chicken Sandwich
Champagne
Roasted Beet Salad
Turkey Sliders
Pork Chop
Breakfast Sandwich
House Salad
Proseco
Prosecco
Breakfast Burrito
Chicken Salad
Happy Slap
Turkey Burger
Fish and Chips
White Bbq Chicken Sandwich
Scallop Eggs Benedict
Cheeseburger
Coconut Thai Soup
Chocolate Creme Brulee
Salad
Tabasco Onions
Pastram
Venison Burger
Jalapeno Poppers
Heart String
Soup And Salad
Mimosa
Grilled Cheese
Pesto Chicken Sandwich
Ruben
Wine
French Dip Sandwich
Seafood benny
Eggs Benedict
Scallops
Chef Salad
Goat Cheese Ravioli With Brown Butter
Brownie with Ice Cream
Scollops On Sauted Spinach
Salted Carmel Brownie
Kale Salad
Turkey Sandwich
Caesar Salad
Filet
Spring Salad
Halibut And Steak Kabob
Latin Salad
Roasted Red Pepper Soup
Ribeye Steak
Beef Filet
Braised Short Ribs
Lamb Burger
Petite Filet
Cream Of Mushroom Soup
Chicken
French Toast
Baked Brie
Seared Ahi On Chorizo Hash
Red Snapper
Cafe Salad And Tomato Soup
Scallops, Strawberries And Spinach
Pork Belly and Polenta
Jerk Chicken
Creamy Mushroom Soup
Bacon Bloody Mary
Double Heidi Cocktail
Happy Hour Bar Bites
Hummus And Tapenade

SoDo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Tahoe / Reno Area
Neighborhood Gem
Tahoe / Reno Area
Outdoor Dining
Tahoe / Reno Area
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Reno
Neighborhood Gem
Reno
Most Booked
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

neighborhood gem (38)
fit for foodies (37)
great for outdoor dining (30)
See All
great for lunch (27)
special occasion (25)
good for groups (17)
hot spot (15)
notable wine list (10)
romantic (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was one of SoDo's Test Kitchen Tues ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was one of SoDo's Test Kitchen Tuesdays. Appetizers were very good - wife had a fruit-green salad, I had shrimp. Entrees wife had fish which was very good, I had tri-tip which was, in a word, TOUGH. I realize tri-tip is not the tenderest cut of meat, but it can be made reasonably tender. This was not. Flavor was good, with a tasty and spicy rice/beans side. Dessert was a chocolate-strawberry whoopee cake, that simply tasted like chocolate cake with strawberries on top. Nothing special. By far this was the least exciting meal we've had at SoDo. Certainly below our expectations, whether it was Test Kitchen or regular menu. Knowing their normal menu, it certainly won't be our last trip, it's one of our favorites. Service was, as always, superb.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

This was the first time we attended Sodo ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was the first time we attended Sodo's Taste Kitchen on Tuesday night. We've been there many times before for dinner. They stuck us in the back corner between 2 large parties. We had to yell at each other to have a conversation. Our waiter was rushed and it showed. He immediately came to the table to take our order without any pleasantries. He didn't listen to the instructions for a glass of water (No ice, no lemon) and seemed really annoyed when we asked for bread.

I ordered the chicken, bland, flavorless, stringy. The pasta would have been much better hot. What was that flavor, sour cream? He had the swordfish and said it was cooked just the way he likes it. He especially liked the black rice.

The desserts were amazing. I wish the service was better. It dampened the evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

Varied menu, attentive staff, outdoor se ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Varied menu, attentive staff, outdoor seating merely street side so preferred indoors, not inexpensive but the food was excellent

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had dinner here to celebrate my Dad's ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had dinner here to celebrate my Dad's birthday. They comped us a dessert, which was really generous, and my Dad said it was the best flan he's ever had. Our server said they make it themselves. The dinners were okay. As a vegan, there were only a couple of options for me, salad (hold the cheese), or the orzo pasta (again, hold the cheese). I was disappointed that their tomato soup and southwest bean soup (soup of the day) were made with chicken broth even though they could have easily been made with vegetable broth. I chose the pasta and they "veganized" it for me and added extra vegetables. It was good and the portion was very big--I had leftovers for lunch the next day.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

SoDo is a charming restaurant tucked in ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

SoDo is a charming restaurant tucked in a residential area. We sat outside and the ambiance was lovely. The menu had just changed the week before, which means there are some kinks are they adjust to the new offerings, but it is a fun menu. We had: Scallop and Crispy Pork Belly app -- scallop was perfect, peach marmalade yummy but strange, waffle croutons were great in concept but poorly executed, and the pork belly was low quality. Hanger Steak - awesome chimichurri, good quality meat, tasty sides. Sea Bass - a little overcooked but lovely caper sauce.

Overall we found the menu to be adventurous and tasty - they just need to get in their groove. Couldn't find any wine we loved by the glass, but it was all drinkable. Service by Wilson was a little manic but very attentive. We had a great meal. The best part was enjoying the outdoor patio!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good, fresh and nice servin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was good, fresh and nice serving size. Waiter was friendly and professional. Nice outdoor and indoor seating.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Steven our waiter was excellent, as alwa ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Steven our waiter was excellent, as always. He is such a treasure for your business. I will also compliment your chef Justin that night who found out that the boar was not to what my brother had requested (medium rare) and he came to the table to personally apologize and presented the boar as requested. We were all thoroughly impressed and it makes an outstanding statement of your business and your standards. Many thanks. We had a terrific meal and time at your establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carlos was a great waiter. The scallpos ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Carlos was a great waiter. The scallpos and wild boar were very good. We love going there

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and Steven, our ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was outstanding and Steven, our waiter, was very helpful and knowledgable on the menu and it's preparation. Both my husband and I ordered seafood entrees and were pleasantly surprised with a " mid-course" of short ribs and mashed potatoes. The portions were so generous, we had no room for desert .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally had a chance to return for dinne ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Finally had a chance to return for dinner, as it's my usual lunch go-to. After visiting the Nevada Museum of Art (another downtown gem), we headed over for a late dinner (8:45). A perfect night topped by a perfect dinner. The calamari app is almost a meal in itself, always done to perfection. Our mains were a perfectly cooked hangar steak and a pork tenderloin. Washed it down with a nice cab franc. Service only outdone by the food. Cheers!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

consistently good; always enjoyable. w ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

consistently good; always enjoyable.

we love Test Kitchen Tuesdays!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food quality for a ridiculously ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Amazing food quality for a ridiculously low price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal with clients in from ou ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Had a great meal with clients in from out of town. I am looking forward to taking my family.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always my go-to spot for downtown lunch ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always my go-to spot for downtown lunch as well as the occasional dinner. The excellent service is only outdone by the dishes. Too many dishes to recommend, but the lamburger is certainly a favorite of mine. Great seen and be seen spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They seated us comfortably away from the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

They seated us comfortably away from the busiest area of the restaurant so we could have a

meeting. Our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service for 8.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service for 8.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ladie's lunch

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Always great tabasco onion strings and the Asian salad w/Ahi was just right.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The menu had great selections for everyo ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

The menu had great selections for everyone in our party and the new house wine was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

pre pioneer

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our waiter was awesome. perfect pre pioneer date night. Steak was awesome. would totally do again

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but not great, fun evening!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Our swordfish was miserably over-cooked, but Pork Tenderloin was superb. The Tuna tartare was AMAZING.

The acoustics/noise level was off the charts. It was sooooooo loud.

$10 for a glass of King Estate Pinot Gris? A whole bottle is $15.99. I'd suggest. $8.00/glass

To appeal to true Foodies, there may need to be a few improvements in overall food prep/offerings.

Overall though we had a fun evening and our dinner was tasty. I would recommend but would advise friends to ask for their fish to be less done?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Had tasting menu. Very good.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Had tasting menu. Very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

SoDo never disappoints!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We love coming to SoDo for any occasion. Big thanks to Joel and the team for all the care they take with every part of the experience. Always excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but nothing to Rave about

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was good but for the price I wanted it to be excellent. I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass and the side dish, the risotto with Langostino was a little gummy and the langostino was over cooked. My husband got a Cheese burger and it was okay. Should be awesome for $18.00. The waiter awas excellent. There are better restaurants in the area for the price though.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We were seated in the back area. It was loud, no ambiance, and hot (on a cool rainy evening). We were there for my husband's birthday but the food was not that good. And it took a long time to arrive. He got the grilled tuna and thought it was way overcooked. My burger was nothing special. I was bummed because it seemed like it would have been a better destination than it turned out to be. I feel badly writing this, because I am sure they were trying. It just didn't all come together for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Absolutely recommend!!!great food. Grea ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Absolutely recommend!!!great food. Great atmosphere. Great service. What a find. !!! Asian short rib to die for!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great costumer service and the Parmesan calamari is so good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Test Kitchen Tuesdays a hit

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

This is our third Test Kitchen Tuesday at SoDo, and all have been just wonderful. The prix Fixe menus have all been excellent - three courses: appetizer/salad or soup, entrée choice, and dessert choice. We started with a shrimp appetizer and a vegetable-sausage soup, and for entrees had pork tenderloin, and a ribeye steak. Dessert was a very tasty cheesecake or banana crème crepes, both excellent. The quality is everything we've come to expect from SoDo. Now all they have to do is start incorporating some of the more popular special items into their regular menu!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Big Fans

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

We are big fans of SoDo and go as often as we can. We especially enjoy the last Tuesday Test Kitchen, great value and fabulous menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day dinner, was our first vi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Day dinner, was our first visit there. Service was great, food fabulous! Tables for two were very close together, didn't like that, felt like I was in my neighbors lap, made the experience less intimate for Valentines Day! Will go again and probably enjoy the outside dining area more . Overall a good find, and we have been to most restaurants in Teno!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A very disappointing Valentine's dinne ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

A very disappointing Valentine's dinner. Food was just not that good. Server was great.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Steve and Kat was the best as always gre ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Steve and Kat was the best as always great food and the most amazing service The best restaurants in SF should tip their hats

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and staff

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

wonderful time again food was great the staff even better (Steve and Kat), and even though it was crazy busy you would have never know it by the quality of the staff and food

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was exemplary, food was classic

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Return visit found an even more delightful ambience, food selection and service level.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Richard of Incline

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Excellent food and service. Quality experience and presentation.. worth every penny. Thought I was in the city. Clearly one of Reno's best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good stuff!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Will definitely be back. Service was great and the food was even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience, once again!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in Reno. Wilson our server was above and beyond with everything. Great food and the cocktails by Katt are the best. Can't wait to come back. The short ribs were the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food, Terrific Service

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

If you're looking for a chic or romantic place to hang or dine, or like memorable décor or theme-style establishments, SoDo is not your place. Really appreciate good food and service? SoDo is for you. We dine at SoDo fairly regularly, both as casual walk-ins, and lately for their Test Kitchen Tuesdays. Their regular menu, though not extensive, is quite varied, appealing to a wide range of tastes. The food has never disappointed: always well prepared, cooked as you request, innovatively presented, and a good value for the money. Entrees always include the main star, plus sides (or unders) of veggies, or potatoes, rice, etc., all cooked to perfection. Soups and salads are tasty, and like the entrees, a cut away from the ordinary. Portions while ample are not enormous, but I've never left hungry, and their prices are well in line for quality dining in the Reno area.

The wait staff has always been friendly, down to earth, attentive, and very knowledgeable. They remember who you are, welcoming you back like old friends. Other restaurants might do well to emulate the waiters and waitresses here.

The combination of very good food and the great wait staff makes SoDo a place to put on your list. Don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice Food

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Food is very good. Service was pretty good. Unfortunately, the noise level gets really loud as the restaurant fills up. Really nice Mid Town location. Go early for a quieter meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

SODO - Getting Better...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I have been here a few times in the past and it wasn't perfect. I didn't have high expectations and only went because it had been a while.

PROS: The food was very good. Everything from the jalapeno popper appetizer to the pumpkin/jalapeno soup was spot on. My ribeye was actually better than most local steakhouses.

CONS: The bar is too small and there really isn't an area to gather with friends in the bar where you're not standing on top of the hostess. The restaurant is very narrow and laid out kinda funky.

Overall, I will be back. Hoping it remains consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Love SoDo been there many times. Service ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Love SoDo been there many times. Service is always impeccable and great ambiance. I've never been disappointed except this evening. Our appetizer, the skewers,were delicious. I got the chicken Marsala and my husband the scallops. My Marsala was so salty. Like drink a gallon of water and still not satisfied salty. The scallops were good but small portions.

I should have said something to the manager then. Didn't. So my fault.

We'll try SoDo again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.