Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Society Lounge

4.2
69 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service
Top Tags:
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
  • Hot Spot
  • Late-night Find

Similar Restaurants

About

Descending down the stairs to Society Lounge opens a passageway back in time to an era when socializing transpired face to face, men shined their shoes, hats were never worn inside and a door was always opened for a lady. We return to the essence of this reminiscent era through the cherished art of hand crafted cocktails. Our passion is for concocting cocktails with an acute attention to detail and creating an atmosphere where our guests can relax in an intimate social setting. The Society Lounge will ravish your senses with the finest spirits, freshly squeezed juices and unique syrups made from scratch. Visit us for one of a kind experiences filled with constant surprises that will always exceed your expectations.

Please note: Society Lounge is an award winning craft cocktail establishment offering a lite tapas menu and desserts. While our kitchen stays open until last call, we do not offer a full dinner menu.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Tapas / Small Plates, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(216) 781-9050
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We work with Sushi 86 and Chinato on E. 4th for in-house catering of private and corporate events.

We offer off-site bar service and group cocktail / mixology lessons for special events. Call (216) 956-6161 for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Prospect / E. 4th / Euclid
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Several convenient parking options surround Society Lounge:

1. Discounted ($8) Valet on E. 4th Street when you present your receipt for Society Lounge.

1. Metered Parking on Street

3. Numerous Parking Garages
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are located on E. 4th between Prospect and Euclid. You may catch the Euclid Corridor on the Euclid end, and any other downtown connection just a few blocks away at Public Square / Tower City.

Go to: http://www.riderta.com/
and enter our address for your exact routing details,
2063 E. 4th Street Cleveland, OH 44115
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music Every Weekend!

Check our website for all current bookings:
http://societycleveland.com/entertainment
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 69 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
3.6
food
3.9
service
4.3
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on December 21, 2016

The only negative was that we made a reservation through Open Table yet when we got there they had no hostess and no record of our reservation. Luckily it was a weekday night and kind of slow. Otherwise I would have been really upset as we had a party of 10. Don't understand why you'd have an Open Table reservation ability but then no hostess.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2016

Awesome option for drinks downtown! We reserved a table, which for a large party is a must! This was great and we had excellent service all night. Drinks were expensive, but strong and delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 1, 2016

Food might as well have been non existent. You don't serve high end alcohol drinks without giving someone more than one scallop to eat in a dish. The drinks however were good but I would not go back for even small plates and drinks. Just drinks.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 25, 2016

They denied us entry due to having my 16 year old with us which would have been nice to know when booking as we'd have booked elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 25, 2016

Incredibly awful experience! We had reservations no one seating people waited until someone tending a pop up bar was asked if we would be seated or if we should seat ourselves he sat us and we waited and no wait staff ever acknowledged us or attempted to take a drink or food order for the more that 1/2 hour we stayed there And our reserved table was in the middle of the main room! We eventually went out to the same pop up bar and purchased and brought them back to our reserved table have never experienced such poor service and will never return

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 18, 2016

Ended up walking out of our reservation. Service was absolutely terrible, walked in to the lounge and wasn't greeted by anyone. Finally figured we should go ahead and seat ourselves. When a waitress finally came over she was more than reluctant to give us a food menu (where the prices weren't even shown) sub par ambiance for even worse service. Probably will not be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2016

I LOVE speakeasys, and Society Lounge was a real gem of a find during my trip to Cleveland. The entire staff was fantastic, making sure we always had drinks and checking in on us. The drinks were creative and delicious, and we enjoyed it so much Friday night that we went back again on Saturday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2016

Very interesting array of drinks. The mixologist was very knowledgable. We will definately go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 18, 2016

We had been here a few times before, just stopped in for drinks while we were out, but this time we made a reservation for my sister's 21st. I definitely recommend the reservation just for the seating since the drinks take a while, but they're worth the wait. We split the Scorpion Bowl between us and that was enough to get us started and on to the next place. It gets loud once the live music starts, but it only adds to the vibe. Definitely my favorite place on E. 4th. We didn't eat there but it's making me rate the food, so that's why I gave it 3 stars. The food menu is just a tapas menu so I can't imagine it is incredibly terrible nor incredibly great, honestly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2016

Great drinks and small plates. Atmosphere is speakeasy. Very quaint and great place for conversation. A must in Cleveland.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2016

They have a lot of drink options and small menu of tappas. Very comfortable and upbeat feel to it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 22, 2016

Service was okay. Food is limited. Drinks were good. Our server didn't understand drink type that we requested, by recommending something that was nothing like what we were looking for. I'd go back, for a drink. Noise level is high, so not good for conversations. Band was very good (Madison Crawl).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 16, 2016

A friend and I wanted to plan a nice evening out where we would enjoy a cocktail or two before heading to dinner at a nearby restaurant. We were warmly welcomed for our reservation and told we could sit anywhere we wished (6:00pm on a Saturday...not too crowded). We sat at the bar and spent the next 1 1/2 enjoying our beverages expertly made by Leanne. We overheard her interactions with other patrons who maybe weren't certain what to drink...she asked pertinent questions and crafted cocktails specifically to suit their tastes. The whole staff seemed at ease and made our experience so enjoyable we actually returned after dinner for a nightcap and some live music. It was much more crowded at 10:45pm, but still manageable. Well done, Society Lounge. I will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2015

Excellent Live music, great drinks, and unique atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2015

Great spot to have a drink and chill with some friends. Very classy, only complaint would be that drinks are kinda pricey.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 7, 2015

I made reservations for 6 to celebrate my birthday. The menu was on point and the cocktails were great. Some of my friends ordered food which was delicious and reasonably priced. However, service was so SLOW I am a reasonable person and understand we were there on a Saturday night but waiting 25-30mins AFTER placing an order? It just seemed a bit much. Our server was friendly so it's no reflection on her...

On a completely different note they had live entertainment. A singer and a pianist playing anything from classic rock to pop to r&b. The woman singing didn't have a horrible voice but the volume was way to loud and not only that but the speakers sounded like they had blown 3 years ago. I couldn't speak to anyone without repeating myself at least 2x.

My advice? Ditch the singer and keep the piano player. If I'm going out with my friends or on a date.... Or even if I was single and
trying to mingle I would like to be able to hear what someone is saying to me.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 26, 2015

Best for apps or after dinner. Definitely a kick back and hang our place to relax.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 19, 2015

The setting is nice, it's a good size location. Entertainment was ok. The song selections were all over the place. Drinks were not as good as expected. 2 of the drinks at our table were not good and sent back and the waitress had an attitude about it. We were served complimentary champagne which was nice but it was room temp. Overall experience was not good and it will not be a location we go back to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2015

Without doubt in the top 3 of Best Social locations and top 2 for Best bar. Service is good and drinks are top notch, especially for the moderate prices. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 8, 2015

The Lounge is a basement restaurant that has live music. It's a cool feel but after waiting 30 minutes for a glass of white wine, I don't think I will be going back again. Very limited wine selection as well.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 23, 2015

We tried to get a table at 8:30 on open table and there was only an opening at 6:30. We went and the place was dead. Came back around 9:00 still dead. The waitress gave us menus and we waited about 35 minutes and she never returned. We saw her when we were walking out. We told the manager of our poor experience and he had few words for us and didn't encourage is to stay. Wouldn't go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2015

I can not wait to come back. One recomendation. Go in thirsty with a group of friends and order one of the Punch Bowls. Spectacular, but it definently BEAT us! It was tasty and fresh.
The Singer was amazing. And our waitress was hi-class all the way. The bouncer/door man was a great guy that took reservations seriously.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 27, 2015

Food was excellent however the service was slow. Considering the level of patronage at the time, more staff was needed. Our server was very good even though she was swamped with customers. The bartender was aloof and looked angry.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 29, 2014

I've been to Society Lounge 4 or 5 times now and the experience has been consistent....interesting, well-made cocktails, but with incredibly slow and poor service. If you're in absolutely no hurry then this is the place for you.

My wife and I recently took 2 friends here to get a few drinks before dinner. It was a slow evening so seating was easy to find and readily available. The servers, however, were not as easy to fnd. We waited 20 minutes before someone finally came to take our drink order. 15 minutes after placing the order they still had not arrived. Long story short, over 1 1/2 hours before dinner, we only had the opportunit to have one drink.

So, it's a nice place if you have the patience of a saint. Otherwise, the poor service may leave you a little frustrated with this location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 13, 2014

On sat dec. 13th, they had a guy who could not sing and the music was more a for a coffeehouse.
It would have been better if they had jazz...we left because of the music. This was my second visit.
If this is their idea of great music, I won't come back. I love the drinks, but not the music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 5, 2014

Society Lounge is great. I would recommend a reservation if your showing up at a peak time. Drinks are made with fresh ingredients and taste amazing. The attire of the staff and the live band set the mood. Great place for a fun night out. I want to go back !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 5, 2014

We visited last on Repeal Day and it was so nice to see the servers, bartenders and other staff members in costume! Some of the customers dressed up but most were in casual, 'night on the town' wear.

We got a round of free Moscow Mules and enjoyed the 30's era drinks.

This place never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 12, 2014

It was a great find especially during a weekday. The option of cigars really got me interested however it was a bummer to learn that I couldn't smoke it in there. The cocktails were really good and would like to come back to try some more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2014

We had a party of six, and our nite out was outstanding. We can't stop talking about it. The hostess who served us was fabulous -- friendly, outgoing, engaging, knowledgeable, and had us coming back for more. Give yourselves a big hug for a great place, outstanding food and drinks; a great nite out in our favorite city and truly, one of the best nite spots we've been to. Who needs full dining, when what we really wanted, you guys delivered -- quality, variety -- Bruschetta, outstanding Cheese and Meat Platter, Brandy, Pinot Noir, Mexican Monk, Death in New York! Yes, share the finger foods, order more, share more, and keep the great drinks coming! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 18, 2014

Planned a birthday outing to Society Lounge with a group of 12. Not enough room around the table to accommodate that large a group. Service was good at the being but declined as the evening went on and became non-existent by 10:00pm. Had to leave because of poor service. Music was good, but would be nice if a place to dance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2014

The greatest way to start/end an evening, drinks are fantastic, staff is absolutely knowledgeable (a slew of bitters are out for your use), it's gorgeous. The only problem was that the music didn't seem to fit the scene: it seemed like a prohibition-era local due to the basement setting, but the music was too loud and 80s-90s wrap.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2014

This place has great drinks and a fun atmosphere. The prices are a bit high by Cleveland standards, but the drinks are worth every penny. Definitely a find!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 12, 2014

The ambiance was cool and hip ... like being in a 30's after hours bar ... Moss and Ace Piano and Vocals were fantastic ... they made the evening ... drinks were very well done ... the place to go if you want to try out some vintage cocktails ... they do them well!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 23, 2014

Fantastic drinks. Was there early on Saturday, bartender was lovely, but she was the only one there until 6:30, and she was getting crushed. We would've loved to have another round!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 9, 2014

We had an amazing time. The service & cast were the most friendly. We were treated as if we were long lost friends. Music set the mood. Flavors of the food would make any foodie happy. Their cocktails are sensuous to your taste buds. A hidden gem!!! Young to old the "Society" will make your night special

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2014

Cool vibe and excellent choices for drinkers. Cocktails are pricey but worth it when looking for something special. Appetizer options are few but quite good. Great location on East 4th.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 15, 2014

We reserved a table for a special occasion, my husband's 55th birthday, but were very disappointed. Our service was slow to non-existent; we had to seek out the manager to remind our waitress that two of our parties' drinks had never been delivered. I requested a dessert and cocktail flight ahead of time with birthday candles that was totally forgotten. It might be understandable is the place was packed, but it was not. We won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2014

I booked a small gathering with close friends, we wanted something other than the typical bar scene, I must say we had a great time. The cast were awesome and the food was delicate and delicious, just enough for a lite taste at night. I would definitely recommend my others to give Society Lounge a try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2014

I love this place! We came down to a reserved table (we were a little late and they actually called despite a crowded bar). The atmosphere was amazing, the cocktails were very interesting and refreshing and we ended up staying for 5-6 hours. I would 100% recommend Society for a great experience and date night. The music, vibe and everything about this place was great. We did have to wait a little long on the drinks (specialty drinks are tough so I recommend staggering). Reservations are key, unless you do not mind standing...I love it, will be back and most certainly recommend this!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2014

This place is terrific for drinks and mingling. The atmosphere is both lively and romantic. It's dimly lit, very dimly lit, with both intimate areas and social areas. The drinks are amazing. Sure, it takes a little to get them but once you see what goes into making them you'll understand! Always a return trip for me when I'm in Cleveland

Report
Helpful
1
2

Tweets by Society Lounge