About Society Lounge

2063 E. 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Descending down the stairs to Society Lounge opens a passageway back in time to an era when socializing transpired face to face, men shined their shoes, hats were never worn inside and a door was always opened for a lady. We return to the essence of this reminiscent era through the cherished art of hand crafted cocktails. Our passion is for concocting cocktails with an acute attention to detail and creating an atmosphere where our guests can relax in an intimate social setting. The Society Lounge will ravish your senses with the finest spirits, freshly squeezed juices and unique syrups made from scratch. Visit us for one of a kind experiences filled with constant surprises that will always exceed your expectations.

Please note: Society Lounge is an award winning craft cocktail establishment offering a lite tapas menu and desserts. While our kitchen stays open until last call, we do not offer a full dinner menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Tapas / Small Plates, Dessert

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am.

Cross Street:
Prospect / E. 4th / Euclid

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 781-9050

Website:
http://www.societycleveland.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Every Weekend!

Check our website for all current bookings:
http://societycleveland.com/entertainment

Catering:
We work with Sushi 86 and Chinato on E. 4th for in-house catering of private and corporate events.

We offer off-site bar service and group cocktail / mixology lessons for special events. Call (216) 956-6161 for details.

Parking Details:
Several convenient parking options surround Society Lounge:

1. Discounted ($8) Valet on E. 4th Street when you present your receipt for Society Lounge.

1. Metered Parking on Street

3. Numerous Parking Garages

Public Transit:
We are located on E. 4th between Prospect and Euclid. You may catch the Euclid Corridor on the Euclid end, and any other downtown connection just a few blocks away at Public Square / Tower City.

Go to: http://www.riderta.com/
and enter our address for your exact routing details,
2063 E. 4th Street Cleveland, OH 44115

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Society Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (5)
special occasion (5)
hot spot (5)
See All
vibrant bar scene (5)
good for groups (4)
late-night find (4)
fit for foodies (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
Sort By:
Newest
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I LOVE speakeasys, and Society Lounge wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I LOVE speakeasys, and Society Lounge was a real gem of a find during my trip to Cleveland. The entire staff was fantastic, making sure we always had drinks and checking in on us. The drinks were creative and delicious, and we enjoyed it so much Friday night that we went back again on Saturday!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very interesting array of drinks. The mi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very interesting array of drinks. The mixologist was very knowledgable. We will definately go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had been here a few times before, jus ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had been here a few times before, just stopped in for drinks while we were out, but this time we made a reservation for my sister's 21st. I definitely recommend the reservation just for the seating since the drinks take a while, but they're worth the wait. We split the Scorpion Bowl between us and that was enough to get us started and on to the next place. It gets loud once the live music starts, but it only adds to the vibe. Definitely my favorite place on E. 4th. We didn't eat there but it's making me rate the food, so that's why I gave it 3 stars. The food menu is just a tapas menu so I can't imagine it is incredibly terrible nor incredibly great, honestly.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

A must in Cleveland

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great drinks and small plates. Atmosphere is speakeasy. Very quaint and great place for conversation. A must in Cleveland.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Society Lounge - Nice little speakeasy

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

They have a lot of drink options and small menu of tappas. Very comfortable and upbeat feel to it.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting secret bar with good ambiance

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Service was okay. Food is limited. Drinks were good. Our server didn't understand drink type that we requested, by recommending something that was nothing like what we were looking for. I'd go back, for a drink. Noise level is high, so not good for conversations. Band was very good (Madison Crawl).

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Outstanding hand-crafted cocktails

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

A friend and I wanted to plan a nice evening out where we would enjoy a cocktail or two before heading to dinner at a nearby restaurant. We were warmly welcomed for our reservation and told we could sit anywhere we wished (6:00pm on a Saturday...not too crowded). We sat at the bar and spent the next 1 1/2 enjoying our beverages expertly made by Leanne. We overheard her interactions with other patrons who maybe weren't certain what to drink...she asked pertinent questions and crafted cocktails specifically to suit their tastes. The whole staff seemed at ease and made our experience so enjoyable we actually returned after dinner for a nightcap and some live music. It was much more crowded at 10:45pm, but still manageable. Well done, Society Lounge. I will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Live music, great drinks, and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Excellent Live music, great drinks, and unique atmosphere!

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Cool place

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Great spot to have a drink and chill with some friends. Very classy, only complaint would be that drinks are kinda pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Birthday Celebration!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

I made reservations for 6 to celebrate my birthday. The menu was on point and the cocktails were great. Some of my friends ordered food which was delicious and reasonably priced. However, service was so SLOW I am a reasonable person and understand we were there on a Saturday night but waiting 25-30mins AFTER placing an order? It just seemed a bit much. Our server was friendly so it's no reflection on her...

On a completely different note they had live entertainment. A singer and a pianist playing anything from classic rock to pop to r&b. The woman singing didn't have a horrible voice but the volume was way to loud and not only that but the speakers sounded like they had blown 3 years ago. I couldn't speak to anyone without repeating myself at least 2x.

My advice? Ditch the singer and keep the piano player. If I'm going out with my friends or on a date.... Or even if I was single and

trying to mingle I would like to be able to hear what someone is saying to me.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Best for apps or after dinner. Definitel ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Best for apps or after dinner. Definitely a kick back and hang our place to relax.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The setting is nice, it's a good size lo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

The setting is nice, it's a good size location. Entertainment was ok. The song selections were all over the place. Drinks were not as good as expected. 2 of the drinks at our table were not good and sent back and the waitress had an attitude about it. We were served complimentary champagne which was nice but it was room temp. Overall experience was not good and it will not be a location we go back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Without doubt in the top 3 of Best Socia ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Without doubt in the top 3 of Best Social locations and top 2 for Best bar. Service is good and drinks are top notch, especially for the moderate prices. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice if the place was better staffed.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

The Lounge is a basement restaurant that has live music. It's a cool feel but after waiting 30 minutes for a glass of white wine, I don't think I will be going back again. Very limited wine selection as well.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Sad excuse for a lounge

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

We tried to get a table at 8:30 on open table and there was only an opening at 6:30. We went and the place was dead. Came back around 9:00 still dead. The waitress gave us menus and we waited about 35 minutes and she never returned. We saw her when we were walking out. We told the manager of our poor experience and he had few words for us and didn't encourage is to stay. Wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The atmosphere was energetic and spectacular.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

I can not wait to come back. One recomendation. Go in thirsty with a group of friends and order one of the Punch Bowls. Spectacular, but it definently BEAT us! It was tasty and fresh.

The Singer was amazing. And our waitress was hi-class all the way. The bouncer/door man was a great guy that took reservations seriously.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent however the service was slow.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 27, 2015

Food was excellent however the service was slow. Considering the level of patronage at the time, more staff was needed. Our server was very good even though she was swamped with customers. The bartender was aloof and looked angry.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

"Speakeasy" feel, but with poor service.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 29, 2014

I've been to Society Lounge 4 or 5 times now and the experience has been consistent....interesting, well-made cocktails, but with incredibly slow and poor service. If you're in absolutely no hurry then this is the place for you.

My wife and I recently took 2 friends here to get a few drinks before dinner. It was a slow evening so seating was easy to find and readily available. The servers, however, were not as easy to fnd. We waited 20 minutes before someone finally came to take our drink order. 15 minutes after placing the order they still had not arrived. Long story short, over 1 1/2 hours before dinner, we only had the opportunit to have one drink.

So, it's a nice place if you have the patience of a saint. Otherwise, the poor service may leave you a little frustrated with this location.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The music killed the night

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

On sat dec. 13th, they had a guy who could not sing and the music was more a for a coffeehouse.

It would have been better if they had jazz...we left because of the music. This was my second visit.

If this is their idea of great music, I won't come back. I love the drinks, but not the music.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Tuvok

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 6, 2014

Society Lounge is great. I would recommend a reservation if your showing up at a peak time. Drinks are made with fresh ingredients and taste amazing. The attire of the staff and the live band set the mood. Great place for a fun night out. I want to go back !

Tags: romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, Chic Spot

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 6, 2014

We visited last on Repeal Day and it was so nice to see the servers, bartenders and other staff members in costume! Some of the customers dressed up but most were in casual, 'night on the town' wear.

We got a round of free Moscow Mules and enjoyed the 30's era drinks.

This place never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

relaxing..

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 12, 2014

It was a great find especially during a weekday. The option of cigars really got me interested however it was a bummer to learn that I couldn't smoke it in there. The cocktails were really good and would like to come back to try some more.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Memories are made of this!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

We had a party of six, and our nite out was outstanding. We can't stop talking about it. The hostess who served us was fabulous -- friendly, outgoing, engaging, knowledgeable, and had us coming back for more. Give yourselves a big hug for a great place, outstanding food and drinks; a great nite out in our favorite city and truly, one of the best nite spots we've been to. Who needs full dining, when what we really wanted, you guys delivered -- quality, variety -- Bruschetta, outstanding Cheese and Meat Platter, Brandy, Pinot Noir, Mexican Monk, Death in New York! Yes, share the finger foods, order more, share more, and keep the great drinks coming! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Think twice

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 19, 2014

Planned a birthday outing to Society Lounge with a group of 12. Not enough room around the table to accommodate that large a group. Service was good at the being but declined as the evening went on and became non-existent by 10:00pm. Had to leave because of poor service. Music was good, but would be nice if a place to dance.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Loved, will be back

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

The greatest way to start/end an evening, drinks are fantastic, staff is absolutely knowledgeable (a slew of bitters are out for your use), it's gorgeous. The only problem was that the music didn't seem to fit the scene: it seemed like a prohibition-era local due to the basement setting, but the music was too loud and 80s-90s wrap.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Awesome vibe

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

This place has great drinks and a fun atmosphere. The prices are a bit high by Cleveland standards, but the drinks are worth every penny. Definitely a find!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great after or before dinner spot

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

The ambiance was cool and hip ... like being in a 30's after hours bar ... Moss and Ace Piano and Vocals were fantastic ... they made the evening ... drinks were very well done ... the place to go if you want to try out some vintage cocktails ... they do them well!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Fantastic drinks. Was there early on Sat ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

Fantastic drinks. Was there early on Saturday, bartender was lovely, but she was the only one there until 6:30, and she was getting crushed. We would've loved to have another round!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Society Lounge

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2014

We had an amazing time. The service & cast were the most friendly. We were treated as if we were long lost friends. Music set the mood. Flavors of the food would make any foodie happy. Their cocktails are sensuous to your taste buds. A hidden gem!!! Young to old the "Society" will make your night special

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a date

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 17, 2014

Cool vibe and excellent choices for drinkers. Cocktails are pricey but worth it when looking for something special. Appetizer options are few but quite good. Great location on East 4th.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 16, 2014

We reserved a table for a special occasion, my husband's 55th birthday, but were very disappointed. Our service was slow to non-existent; we had to seek out the manager to remind our waitress that two of our parties' drinks had never been delivered. I requested a dessert and cocktail flight ahead of time with birthday candles that was totally forgotten. It might be understandable is the place was packed, but it was not. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

birthday gathering

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

I booked a small gathering with close friends, we wanted something other than the typical bar scene, I must say we had a great time. The cast were awesome and the food was delicate and delicious, just enough for a lite taste at night. I would definitely recommend my others to give Society Lounge a try.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

top notch-this is the place!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 27, 2014

I love this place! We came down to a reserved table (we were a little late and they actually called despite a crowded bar). The atmosphere was amazing, the cocktails were very interesting and refreshing and we ended up staying for 5-6 hours. I would 100% recommend Society for a great experience and date night. The music, vibe and everything about this place was great. We did have to wait a little long on the drinks (specialty drinks are tough so I recommend staggering). Reservations are key, unless you do not mind standing...I love it, will be back and most certainly recommend this!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great cocktails

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 22, 2014

This place is terrific for drinks and mingling. The atmosphere is both lively and romantic. It's dimly lit, very dimly lit, with both intimate areas and social areas. The drinks are amazing. Sure, it takes a little to get them but once you see what goes into making them you'll understand! Always a return trip for me when I'm in Cleveland

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Drinks and Live Singer

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 9, 2014

Great place for hand-crafted cocktail and listening to live music! Wonderful

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere was excellent.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 6, 2014

The atmosphere was excellent. The wait staff is top class and the beverages were great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great spot to celebrate a birthday!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 2, 2014

When I called to book a party of 10 for a Saturday night, the man I spoke to at Society Lounge was very helpful and accommodating. I was so impressed that he took the time to help me plan the event. We had an excellent time and experienced excellent service. Also, they have large batch cocktail bowls!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 2, 2014

Lee Ann surved us our drinks, she is very sweet and cute! Amazing drinks. We will go back. Thank you for a fun night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Birthday Party

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 1, 2014

Reserved a table for a friend's birthday, for after dinner drinks.

Service-a little slow considering there weren't that people may people there when we arrived.

Music-weird choice of music playing when we arrived, but loved that live music performance (Frank Sinatra).

Drinks-wonderful, that's why we keep coming back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Really Impressive

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 26, 2014

Decided to visit Society Lounge to grab a drink and relax after eating down the street and was really impressed by the vast selection of unique libations. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly and made several recommendations (must try the 4th Street Sour!!). Really enjoyed the live music too (cant remember the singers name) as it was relaxing and not too loud. Looking forward to going back again next time we are downtown.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.