Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Social Southern Table and Bar

Be real. Eat good. It"s all about being true to who you are: sharing with friends and family and enjoying each other's company over a good meal. The ingredients are always fresh and that is the cornerstone of our farm to table approach. It's talking about dinner when you're having lunch. Have you got some positive energy to share? Or maybe your grandmother's recipe for cobbler?

Leave here and create some more good in your world. We're all apart of it.

3901 Johnston St
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours:
Kitchen
Tuesday-Saturday
11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm

Bar:
Tuesday + Wednesday
11:00am-10:00pm

Thursday
11:00am-11:00pm

Saturday
11:00am-Midnight

Sunday
10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Marilyn Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 456-3274

Website:
http://www.socialsouthern.com/

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Marc Krampe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Social Southern Table and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Food
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Service
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
19 More
Best Ambiance
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Value
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Fit for Foodies
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Healthy
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Hot Spot
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Notable Wine List
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Vibrant Bar Scene
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Best Value
Lafayette
Fit for Foodies
Lafayette
Great for Lunch
Lafayette
Notable Wine List
Lafayette
Romantic
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Vibrant Bar Scene
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Good for Birthdays (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Great Beer (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

What a special place!! Went with a group of friends for brunch. Service, food, drinks = all fabulous! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Always have a great time here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Lafayette. The food has been consistently good. My favorites are the Bread and Spread, those sweet potato biscuits are fantastic, and the Smoke Fried Chicken. This is from a guy who isn't a biscuit or Fried Chicken fan. The flat bread are also great.
Great cocktails with some of the best bartenders in the city. Worth the price of a cocktail.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Fantastic meal. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The food descriptions are misleading. Got a wedge. Expected a wedge of iceberg, got grilled romaine, expected bacon.. got deyhidrated pork belly. Turned into dust on crunch. Not pleasant . The chicken meal was delightful, cauliflower madras for a meat eater was the best. Chicken fried green tomatoes... hide them from me. Loud ambience. I would return, as the waitress was delightful, I regret not remembering her name

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Really nice, I highly recommend this eatery when you are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

As always the food was so delicious! Really enjoy the chicken and biscuits, mac and cheese, and fried green tomatoes. Also, the cocktail selections are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Incredible food and great cocktails. Will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Food was very good and the service was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We went for brunch on Sunday. Our server was fabulous, even gave us fried green tomatoes for it being our first time. They were great. All of us enjoyed our meals. Everything was also priced well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This restaurant is one of the best in the Lafayette area. Very unique and an atmosphere that's unmistakably social!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Really really good food! The service was great also.
Tvs and good local beers also. Their manhattan version was delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Excellent, highly recommend the smoked fried chicken...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We had a very unique and savory meal at Social. The smoked and fried chicken with sweet potato biscuits was outstanding, and the mac and cheese sand Brussels sprouts were the best we have ever had! The attentive waiter iced the cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great location but parking limited. Restaurant was a little noisy but the first is and service made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The food was delicious. Good variety. Baked chicken to fish to fancy burger! Drinks are amazing! Service is top-notch, nothing like it in the area!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were four people dining together. One of us ordered flank steak medium however the steak was undercooked. Another group ordered the filet medium rare and it was overcooked.rather than send the steaks back we just switched them. When the management became aware of what happened they were very gracious and comped a dessert for us. We are very happy with their service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our server was excellent!! If you like great beer then you must go on Saturday for lunch when it's two-for-one any beer. They have a great selection. We had the mussels which paired well with Ghost in the Machine on draught.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Six of us went - none of us liked our entrees. They either lacked flavor, were over-cooked, or both. The only thing we liked were the fried green tomatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Social never disappoints. The menu is always up to season and interesting.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fun, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I love social! Everything I've ordered has always been fresh and delicious. We love to order sweet potato biscuits, Brussels sprouts, and Mac and cheese to share! I also love their fried green tomatoes, pork belly sliders, flat breads, and salads. I almost never order an entree because we fill up on all the other goodies. One of my favorite spots!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was excellent as always. Service was a little slow but nothing unreasonable. Seemed to be mainly for bar items. Server (Jeremy) was great. Acknowledged birthday celebration.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 26, 2017

First time guests, we were celebrating our anniversary and the whole night was perfect. Service was on point and the food was just right. We tried out multiple dishes one by one and enjoyed all of them especially the smoke fried chicken with honey and fried green tomatoes. Perfect atmosphere for a casual dressy date night or gno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Simone, our server, was friendly, attentive, but not invasive. We enjoyed the celebratory atmosphere. Creek water is the best drink. My husband said he had the best burger he's ever tasted. A fun place to go to celebrate with family and friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was exceptional and the service by our waiter, Chris, was outstanding. Chris, thanks for the candles and the light!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great dinner out! My husband & I came here for dinner, tried some of the excellent cocktails, and enjoyed the dinner menu. I had the wahoo special as well as the social wedge, and he had brussel sprouts with one of the flatbreads. Chocolate cake for dessert topped off a fantastic dinner. We had exceptional service & will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very good food. The food was different and everything we tried was excellent. I would suggest a more detailed information of the fiod on the menu. I couldnt really understand the different choices.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was good... however did not think there was enough selection - different ingredients put together - wasn't terrible but probably not my favorite spot to eat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent food in very creative ways! Started with the hamchi and the charcuterie board. Fish was prepared deliciously. The pimento cheese was great especially since that's not usually my favorite but the ghost honey was the star of the show - holy cow! The Orange Blossom on the happy hour menu was also a standout.

For entrees, our table had the shrimp and grits, the pulled pork and grits, the chicken plate and the steak. All were excellent choices but the grits topped any we've ever had anywhere - rich and creamy with whole corn mixed in, absolutely outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Brandon was our waiter and he was assisted by Scott. I brought my visiting inlaws out to my favorite place in Lafayette! It never disappoints! It's Scott...Not Scott!!! Smh!😉

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Disabled Access, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Awesome evening. Food was fantastic. Friendly environment. Great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our server was attentive and helpful. Food was delicious. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First date, vibe was very good. Bartender hooked us up with some great cocktails and Emily our waitress was very cordial, but not intrusive. Fried green tomatoes and flatbread special of the day were on point. Highly recommend Social for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

From Dallas, my guests and I were worried about our dining options in Lafayette on a recent sleepover. We found Social and it was an absolute gem. The menu, food options, drink menu and presentation were outstanding. The service and the wait staff (grooming) were perfect and orchestrated. Our eye and taste buds have been spoiled in Dallas by restaurants such as R&D, Hillstone, Ida Claire and Neighborhood Services, and this was on that level. When will you open a Social in Baton Rouge or Dallas?

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great evening with great food and an exceptional artist, Dirk Guidry, painting his version of Strawberry Fields Forever. Thanks!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I have never been disappointed when eating here. I think I've ordered different things each time, but its always good whatever I pick. Its my new favorite place to eat in Lafayette.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Atmosphere was good, reservations timely, hostess friendly, food very good. Server was rushing us, even trying to clean off the table while we were still eating. Server also tried to box remaining food while we were holding our utensils and chewing. Basically the dinner and evening evening was ruined by the server, a real shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was excellent and service was superb! Quiet enough to have conversation at the table. Great Cocktail selection .

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We are regulars and love the creativity that goes into the menu

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server seemed to want to rush us thru our meal which was totally inappropriate since it was a celebration. The fact is you should never be rushed in order to turn a table. The excellent dishes were brought out so quickly we barely had time to enjoy the deliciousness.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.