About Social Southern Table and Bar

3901 Johnston St
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Be real. Eat good. It"s all about being true to who you are: sharing with friends and family and enjoying each other's company over a good meal. The ingredients are always fresh and that is the cornerstone of our farm to table approach. It's talking about dinner when you're having lunch. Have you got some positive energy to share? Or maybe your grandmother's recipe for cobbler?

Leave here and create some more good in your world. We're all apart of it.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours:
Kitchen
Tuesday-Saturday
11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm

Bar:
Tuesday + Wednesday
11:00am-10:00pm

Thursday
11:00am-11:00pm

Saturday
11:00am-Midnight

Sunday
10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Marilyn Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 456-3274

Website:
http://www.socialsouthern.com/

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Marc Krampe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Social Southern Table and Bar
Social Southern Table and Bar

Social Southern Table and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
2 More
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wow. Just wow. Some of the best food I'v ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wow. Just wow. Some of the best food I've had in the world not to mention Lafayette. The wait staff is also world class. Just... wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Organic, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we tried was awesome. The se ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Everything we tried was awesome. The service was great as well. I would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our meal. The setting ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal. The setting was nice. The service was great. The food was tasty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a little warm, so it made it a littl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Was a little warm, so it made it a little uncomfortable. However, the food, the service, and all other things were great!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good food. Slow service. Very loud

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food. Slow service. Very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent service. Cool, relaxed atmosp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent service. Cool, relaxed atmosphere. Food is on point! The pork belly sliders and the krab nachos were perfect starters and were absolutely delicious. We also had a special flatbread with farmers market veggies that was soooo good. You can never go wrong with the smoke fried chicken-n-biscuits, it's probably their most common dish. Our server, Rena, is hands down one of the best servers in any restaurant in the entire USA!! You won't be disappointed at Social!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Lafayette, we tend to visit at least once a month. I especially enjoy the smoked fried chicken, as well as other dishes. The collard greens are outstanding. I also really enjoy the specialty items from the bar. This is a great dining experience in a friendly and hip environment that has a lot of energy. It is definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although service was very good and clear ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Although service was very good and clearly this is a popular place, we were very disappointed with the food quality. We had the Szechuan pepper shrimp appetizer but the prawns were undercooked and we food the use of large chunks of crunchy black pepper over the top off-putting. Overall the flavor profile was just not right. My wife had the amber jack but the fish was over seasoned and lost in the spice. You could not taste the fish itself at all. Also, the bed of eggplant puree was an odd mix with the mashed potatoes that it comes with. Overall, the food was attractive but very heavy handed preparation work against the experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

creamy grits- wonderful!!! 2 soft scra ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

creamy grits- wonderful!!!

2 soft scrambled eggs--(please no black pepper or seasonings) maybe one egg -not two .

smoked pork very tender--( needed larger serving of hollandaise sauce).

our first time, noise ^

$$ price ^

maybe a senior citizen menu?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service. Awesome food. Manager is ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service. Awesome food. Manager is extremely nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mallory and Nathan at the bar were aweso ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Mallory and Nathan at the bar were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were so impressed. We frequently visi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were so impressed. We frequently visit but this time our waiter was hearing impaired... I am so happy that Social would make these reasonable accommodations... We had a wonderful dinner that was made better by an outstanding waiter who did an outstanding job who may have never had the chance sans Social management. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful service. Loved ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Loved the cocktails too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique menu and delicious food. The serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Unique menu and delicious food. The service was awesome as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was truly wonderful. The foo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was truly wonderful.

The food, service and atmosphere makes this a great place to have dinner with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Experience here was disappointing. I had ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Experience here was disappointing. I had read the reviews of Social and had high expectations. The oysters sliders were the best thing I had. The smoked fried chicken is very over rated. I didn't care for the taste. The sweet potato biscuits were the best part of the dinner. My buddy had the snapper special and liked it. One area of note is the wine by the bottle list. There are some fair prices on the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Social is, well, social

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Social is a must visit in the city of Lafayette. Their food, ambiance, and drink list are absolutely impeccable. On a fully developed amazing menu the fried chicken shines brightest of them all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I and some friends had g ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I and some friends had gone when the the restaurant first opened but we hadn't had a chance to go back since then. The first time, the food and service was amazing...the bar was just popping. People were enjoying themselves with the unique drinks, service and atmosphere. My husband and I decided to go again this past weekend for our anniversary. The hostess was very accommodating when I asked for a booth instead of a table. Our waiter Brandon was very professional and the service was impeccable. I think the food had gotten even better since our last visit....it was excellent. We very much look forward to returning again, maybe to try lunch or brunch. If you haven't gone to Social yet, you're missing out!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the fried green tomatoes, beet ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We loved the fried green tomatoes, beet salad and the carrot cake was the best we have ever eaten!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place for brunch! The biscuits are ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for brunch! The biscuits are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Local Favorite

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for friends, or just two of you. TRY the FRIED CHICKEN!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a win.....

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food-Excellent. Service-Great. Social Southern killed it. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner. Our waitress was absolutel ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great dinner. Our waitress was absolutely wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing experience. Once again, ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Disappointing experience.

Once again, as an Open Table reservation, initially given a poor table assignment despite only two tables being seated. Hostess seemed stumped when we asked for a booth.

Thought this would be a place to sit and visit. It is three blocks down the street where I lived as a child. Wanted aa place to sit and reminisce.

Ordered frites, sweet potato biscuits, shredded pork sliders, a glass of wine and a cocktail. Frites arrived within minutes after ordering. Initially hot as if fresh out of the fryer, became soggy, cold and limp within minutes. Biscuits arrived a few minutes later. Had to ask for butter. Biscuits weren't warm. Sliders arrived next. Although outstanding, did not make up for the disappointment with the frites and the biscuits. Still waiting for our beverages. Those came after I had finished my first slider. Total time at the restaurant - 40 minutes. Not the relaxing meal I wanted and expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The dishes were creative. Besides being ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The dishes were creative. Besides being overalls salty, each dish was cooked perfectly, came out warm and tasted delicious! I love the family style concept of sharing dishes. All 5 of us got appetizers , sides, entrees and cocktails! We all were able to eat plenty of each dish. The service was good! It was loud , but who cares! We were out to have fun and have a lively chat. It's not the first place if go if your wanting overall romance; however, it's fun, has great dishes and has a creative rustic vibe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was great and service was excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A terrific Experience! The Sword Fish wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

A terrific Experience! The Sword Fish was prepared Perfectly! On the waiters suggestion we tried the Squash and it was Phenomenal! Loved the Wine List! We will be Back!

The Thealls

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Brunch!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great Brunch!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food. General Manager was sup ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Fantastic food. General Manager was super. Met us at the door and visited our table for short conversation. Very attentive staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken!!! Brussels sprouts fried g ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The chicken!!! Brussels sprouts fried green tomatoes! I could just go on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food prepared creatively with supe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food prepared creatively with super fresh ingredients. Defiantly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hot Spot

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I knew this would be a great spot for my co-workers to have dinner. There were a few new items on the menu but no Lenten Special Entrée which we were very surprised to see. Luckily they had a fantastic scallop appetizer that we all enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A rare night without the kids and my hus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

A rare night without the kids and my husband and I had a pleasant dining experience at Social. The food was great and we went before it got crowded so we got to talk and enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid and good

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have dined at social southerns a few times and it has always been solid. I don't have any complaints, but it's also not something that generally 'WOW'ed me.

I went there for brunch, and I had steak and egg, while the other person had Chicken and biscuits. As always, the portions were mostly huge, and I love that about them.

The steak and egg was fantastic, however, the steak could probably be a little bigger. But from the brunch price tag, that's probably reasonably-sized. You can choose to have the eggs cooked any way you like, and my over-easy sunny-side ups were perfect with everything else on the plate. It also came with fries, which were made of home-cut russet potatoes. I LOVE their fries. If you have the stomach space, Frites+Gravy is also something you shouldn't miss. They come up with different variations of that dish every time they change the menu. VERY heavy though, so beware! Fried chicken and biscuits was solid but it could use a little bit more of the sweet drizzle. The cocktails were always good there as well. Overall, a very pleasant experience and we will definitely go back after we've been through our rounds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Shared the Valentines Day special, good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Shared the Valentines Day special, good mimosas, sweet potato biscuits were fabulous! And the main course of the smoked fried chicken was incredible, though one piece was a bit salty. Great service and great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Date Night

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I absolutely love going to Social just by ourselves. We entertain large groups often, so this is a place that we love to goto and sit at bar and sample foods and drinks. We get to visit with each other and love the atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome first visit

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I took my gf here to celebrate her birthday. It was both our first time and it was amazing! We were very impressed. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Put Off by Management!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

I have been to social numerous times, However, I can say that the last time we went there, will be the last time. Our table that the server told us would be ours was given away to someone else after we had been waiting a total of 2:30 hours. Then the manager finally came out after having to ask for him multiple times and instead of addressing the problem he attempted to patronize me and say "This is Social, there is going to be a wait". I own a business with over 150 employees and if I employee managers like him, I would be out of business!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Krab nachos and redfish wings, great! En ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Krab nachos and redfish wings, great! Entrees of chicken and biscuits and shrimp and grits! Also, great service from waiter that was hearing impaired, he was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This group pays attention to details.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The entire group here knows customer service. We made reservations at 8:45 and arrived 45minutes early. (i thought reservations were at 8:15). They were very accommodating and sat us as soon as possible. The waiter (Brandon) was very attentive and made sure everyone liked their meals. The food was outstanding. (although really big portions - something every restaurant in Lafayette almost has to do). The wine recommendations were perfect.

It's a loud restaurant - don't go here to propose to (or divorce from) your partner. Don't do business meetings here. But the feel is very energetic and fun. The management has paid close attention to detail in all aspects of this restaurant.

One of the best places to eat in Lafayette!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.