Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Social Southern Table and Bar

Be real. Eat good. It"s all about being true to who you are: sharing with friends and family and enjoying each other's company over a good meal. The ingredients are always fresh and that is the cornerstone of our farm to table approach. It's talking about dinner when you're having lunch. Have you got some positive energy to share? Or maybe your grandmother's recipe for cobbler?

Leave here and create some more good in your world. We're all apart of it.

3901 Johnston St
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours:
Kitchen
Tuesday-Saturday
11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm

Bar:
Tuesday + Wednesday
11:00am-10:00pm

Thursday
11:00am-11:00pm

Saturday
11:00am-Midnight

Sunday
10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Marilyn Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 456-3274

Website:
http://www.socialsouthern.com/

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Marc Krampe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Social Southern Table and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Casual (10)
Great Beer (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Romantic (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Tapas (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My first time for the Sunday Brunch menu and not a real fan. Other than the salads, the food was heavy and not inventive at all. All of the apps were heavy, and other than the smoked chicken, all the entrees were heavy, as well as the sides! The menu needs to work on some balance

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Visited with family for mother's day. Great brunch menu. As always: Food, service, drinks top drawer. Great local restaurant that can compete with any in Cajun country. Always fresh ingredients. And save room for desserts!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our first time to Social. We loved everything about it. The food and drinks were top notch. If I owed a restaurant I would want the inside to look just like Social. We loved it and will certainly be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love everything about Social! Great atmosphere and good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Outstanding service. Server made recommendations and they turned out to be fantastic. Food was great! Had the smoke fried chicken and also the frites for appetizer. Wasn't the largest fan of the krab nachos but I highly recommend the frites!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great place to visit, dine , sip great variety of wines. Good is always consistently great just like Charley G's. A must place to dine at whether for a group or just 2 people

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always, just-right atmosphere, excellent staff, and good food. My special reservation request was accommodated.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and cocktails were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I ordered the shark special and it was not good. It wasn't a good combination with crawfish either.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Service, food all excellent. Would be nice to have a kids menu

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 30, 2017

One year anniversary. Great service, greater meal! One of our favorite spots.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great food, great service. The brown sugar mint tea was awesome. Noise level was perfect for a business meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Emily was a fantastic server. We've already reaquest her for our next trip in town. Food was delicious. Drinks were even better.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Spicy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Everything was great! The restaurant has a sleek, modern feel inside. The food was delicious, especially the fried chicken! The portions are generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

our server last night was FANTASTIC. we had our 5 year old daughter + 96 year old grandmother with us + we had a wonderful dinner! the food + cocktails were both amazing... but the service was the best part. thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great restaurant with good food, great service and a terrific bar. We will definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Perfect place to converse with friends or colleagues!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a post engagement party brunch today. Service was impeccable. Food was perfectly prepared & artfully presented.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always awesome food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was great. The mixed drinks, beer and spirits selection is very, very good.

My steak was cooked properly but wasn't a very good piece of meat.

My wife said her fish was excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had the Krab Nachos, the Pork Belly Sliders, Sweet Potato wedges and the Mac n Cheese. All were outstanding with the Krab Nachos being the star of the show. I loved the ambience and service was great. We will definitely be dining here again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service was almost too good. It was bothersome to have a waitress/server that was always checking in on us. Stop hovering, mom. We just want to eat.

Kidding. It was amazing.

You even listened to my memo about wanting a corner booth that we could people watch from, all creepy-like.

Amazing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was great and ambiance was, too. My filet that I decided to splurge on was medium well to well done when I asked for medium rare, which was also the recommended temperature. Other than that, everything was great, but that's a pretty big one.

Tags: Vegan, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best fried chicken I've ever had. The service was bar none, well with the drive!!

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The cast-iron grilled mahi was excellent, and the napa cabbage and carrot hash it was served on was even better. We will go back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Never a disappointment at Socials....from the big smile greeting we get from Armando to the best service you could get from your server (Brandon), to some of the best food Lafayette has to offer........always a treat for my wife and I. Our favorite restaurant in Lafayette......don"t miss it, it is a must!!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Tapas, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The fried chicken and sweet potatoe biscuits were the best i have EVER had

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food and greater wait staff. Our new favorite in Lafayette!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My dining experience was fabulous. The service was exceptional and the food was incredible!
I have found this to be my experience every time I go to dinner or Sunday brunch at Social. The menu items are so unique and the flavor of the food is incomparable and cooked to perfection. I also love the atmosphere! Overall, a great overall experience every time!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fun, Spicy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Organic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This must be my 6th visit. The food is always tasty and the service very good. A lot of people were out this Saturday night ( and it was early, 6:30 PM). The parking lot was packed and we had to drive around for almost 10 minutes looking for a spot. Ended up parking at a neighboring restaurant and walking across the street, but it was well worth it. Got the mahi mahi special and my buddy had the shrimp and grits. Tried two different drinks with satsuma; delicious. Will make it back again in the spring to see what's cooking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Waitress wasn't well versed with recommendations or alternatives for drink menu. Food was bland but not horrible. I have head many great reviews and Social, however I just think it isn't my cup of tea as for as flavor and menu options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This place was ahhhhmazing! The food was incredible and the service was LIKE NO OTHER! I couldn't wait to leave a review. Chatlain (sorry,I know I misspelled it!) and Victoria waited on us. We honestly felt like kings and queens. I love great service but this was top notch!! We regret not having been to Social before now. Do yourself a favor and get the FRIED GREEN TOMATOES, they were delicious! We ordered more to go. Tonight was hands down a night to remember for my husbands birthday... we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Had no idea what to expect and was pleasantly surprised!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Really great food and atmosphere. We would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was outstanding and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We made a reservation in advance for a holiday dinner date with an elderly family member. When we arrived at the restaurant, they seated us at a table in the back of the room, near the kitchen door. When we asked to be moved to a better table, we moved to a booth in the bar near the trash pile and coolers. Our meal was good, the restaurant was very loud. We will not go there again for special occasions or with friends or family that we want to converse with. The most disappointing thing about the evening was the poor service and uncaring attitude of the staff. Even if we had not finally been seated in the bar, overall this restaurant has more of a bar type feel.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent service and delicious brunch provided a pleasurable afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Sunday brunch was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Farm chop salad was outrageously good. Pumpkin soup made me actually like pumpkin, which I ordinarily don't like. Had little spicy drumsticks and pulled pork that were dreamy. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.