About Social Southern Table and Bar

3901 Johnston St
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Be real. Eat good. It"s all about being true to who you are: sharing with friends and family and enjoying each other's company over a good meal. The ingredients are always fresh and that is the cornerstone of our farm to table approach. It's talking about dinner when you're having lunch. Have you got some positive energy to share? Or maybe your grandmother's recipe for cobbler?

Leave here and create some more good in your world. We're all apart of it.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours:
Kitchen
Tuesday-Saturday
11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm

Bar:
Tuesday + Wednesday
11:00am-10:00pm

Thursday
11:00am-11:00pm

Saturday
11:00am-Midnight

Sunday
10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Marilyn Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 456-3274

Website:
http://www.socialsouthern.com/

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Marc Krampe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Social Southern Table and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
New Orleans / Louisiana
Vibrant Bar Scene
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
Lafayette
5 More
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

fit for foodies (30)
special occasion (25)
good for groups (22)
See All
vibrant bar scene (22)
hot spot (17)
great for brunch (15)
great for lunch (13)
romantic (11)
notable wine list (11)
late-night find (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We loved the fried green tomatoes, beet ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We loved the fried green tomatoes, beet salad and the carrot cake was the best we have ever eaten!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Local Favorite

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for friends, or just two of you. TRY the FRIED CHICKEN!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a win.....

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food-Excellent. Service-Great. Social Southern killed it. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. Our waitress was absolutel ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great dinner. Our waitress was absolutely wonderful.

food4
ambience5
service3

Disappointing experience. Once again, ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Disappointing experience. Once again, as an Open Table reservation, initially given a poor table assignment despite only two tables being seated. Hostess seemed stumped when we asked for a booth. Thought this would be a place to sit and visit. It is three blocks down the street where I lived as a child. Wanted aa place to sit and reminisce. Ordered frites, sweet potato biscuits, shredded pork sliders, a glass of wine and a cocktail. Frites arrived within minutes after ordering. Initially hot as if fresh out of the fryer, became soggy, cold and limp within minutes. Biscuits arrived a few minutes later. Had to ask for butter. Biscuits weren't warm. Sliders arrived next. Although outstanding, did not make up for the disappointment with the frites and the biscuits. Still waiting for our beverages. Those came after I had finished my first slider. Total time at the restaurant - 40 minutes. Not the relaxing meal I wanted and expected.

food4
ambience4
service5

The dishes were creative. Besides being ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The dishes were creative. Besides being overalls salty, each dish was cooked perfectly, came out warm and tasted delicious! I love the family style concept of sharing dishes. All 5 of us got appetizers , sides, entrees and cocktails! We all were able to eat plenty of each dish. The service was good! It was loud , but who cares! We were out to have fun and have a lively chat. It's not the first place if go if your wanting overall romance; however, it's fun, has great dishes and has a creative rustic vibe!

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great and service was excellent ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4

A terrific Experience! The Sword Fish wa ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

A terrific Experience! The Sword Fish was prepared Perfectly! On the waiters suggestion we tried the Squash and it was Phenomenal! Loved the Wine List! We will be Back! The Thealls

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great Brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food. General Manager was sup ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Fantastic food. General Manager was super. Met us at the door and visited our table for short conversation. Very attentive staff.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken!!! Brussels sprouts fried g ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The chicken!!! Brussels sprouts fried green tomatoes! I could just go on...

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food prepared creatively with supe ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food prepared creatively with super fresh ingredients. Defiantly recommend!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Hot Spot

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I knew this would be a great spot for my co-workers to have dinner. There were a few new items on the menu but no Lenten Special Entrée which we were very surprised to see. Luckily they had a fantastic scallop appetizer that we all enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A rare night without the kids and my hus ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

A rare night without the kids and my husband and I had a pleasant dining experience at Social. The food was great and we went before it got crowded so we got to talk and enjoy our dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Solid and good

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have dined at social southerns a few times and it has always been solid. I don't have any complaints, but it's also not something that generally 'WOW'ed me. I went there for brunch, and I had steak and egg, while the other person had Chicken and biscuits. As always, the portions were mostly huge, and I love that about them. The steak and egg was fantastic, however, the steak could probably be a little bigger. But from the brunch price tag, that's probably reasonably-sized. You can choose to have the eggs cooked any way you like, and my over-easy sunny-side ups were perfect with everything else on the plate. It also came with fries, which were made of home-cut russet potatoes. I LOVE their fries. If you have the stomach space, Frites+Gravy is also something you shouldn't miss. They come up with different variations of that dish every time they change the menu. VERY heavy though, so beware! Fried chicken and biscuits was solid but it could use a little bit more of the sweet drizzle. The cocktails were always good there as well. Overall, a very pleasant experience and we will definitely go back after we've been through our rounds.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Shared the Valentines Day special, good ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Shared the Valentines Day special, good mimosas, sweet potato biscuits were fabulous! And the main course of the smoked fried chicken was incredible, though one piece was a bit salty. Great service and great experience overall.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I absolutely love going to Social just by ourselves. We entertain large groups often, so this is a place that we love to goto and sit at bar and sample foods and drinks. We get to visit with each other and love the atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome first visit

Dined on February 12, 2016

I took my gf here to celebrate her birthday. It was both our first time and it was amazing! We were very impressed. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Put Off by Management!

Dined on January 28, 2016

I have been to social numerous times, However, I can say that the last time we went there, will be the last time. Our table that the server told us would be ours was given away to someone else after we had been waiting a total of 2:30 hours. Then the manager finally came out after having to ask for him multiple times and instead of addressing the problem he attempted to patronize me and say "This is Social, there is going to be a wait". I own a business with over 150 employees and if I employee managers like him, I would be out of business!

food5
ambience5
service5

Krab nachos and redfish wings, great! En ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Krab nachos and redfish wings, great! Entrees of chicken and biscuits and shrimp and grits! Also, great service from waiter that was hearing impaired, he was awesome!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This group pays attention to details.

Dined on January 16, 2016

The entire group here knows customer service. We made reservations at 8:45 and arrived 45minutes early. (i thought reservations were at 8:15). They were very accommodating and sat us as soon as possible. The waiter (Brandon) was very attentive and made sure everyone liked their meals. The food was outstanding. (although really big portions - something every restaurant in Lafayette almost has to do). The wine recommendations were perfect. It's a loud restaurant - don't go here to propose to (or divorce from) your partner. Don't do business meetings here. But the feel is very energetic and fun. The management has paid close attention to detail in all aspects of this restaurant. One of the best places to eat in Lafayette!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great Food with Subpar Service

Dined on December 25, 2015

We have dined with this restaraunt multiple times. The food is always wonderful and usually the service is good. This visit's service was terrible and the place wasn't nearly as busy as usual. We waited 10 minutes after being seated before we were even offered water. Our waiter never checked on us after finally bringing our food and never offered refills or asked about ordering another drink from the bar. Again, this would be semi-understandable if it was as packed as usual but there were multiple empty tables! Hopefully this was a one time occurrence because we really enjoy dining at Social.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on December 19, 2015

The food was amazing & the staff is equally as helpful. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Social lived up to expectations.

Dined on November 21, 2015

My fiancee took me to Social for a date night and we had a blast. Our server was actually deaf but he did a great job. Food was tasty and the scenery was very comfortable. I enjoyed my time there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on November 15, 2015

My husband and I loved this experience. Our table was ready twenty minute before our reservation. Our waiter was phenomenal. We loved that Social recognized that the hearing impairment the waiter happened to have did not stop amazing service. The food was unique, flavorful and just the right portion. Definitely going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for dinner while visiting f ...

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

We came here for dinner while visiting from out of town. The food was fresh, local and delicious. Our service was friendly and professional. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here and would definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4

Looks nice

Dined on November 14, 2015

Set reservation, still waited 45 min... Food was ok, but for the price it should have been wonderful. Staff was nice and place had a good vibe.

food5
ambience4
service5

Eater Friendly

Dined on November 8, 2015

Social has a variety of drinks, desserts, menu choices very different from most local eateries. Brunch menu is not all eggs and biscuits although these are available. Exceptional salads-good for freshness. Special event dinners with a variety of beverages+matching food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always

Dined on November 1, 2015

I have never been disappointed here. Great food, great service, just plan on making a reservation on the weekend...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Has a hipster feel to it. Great food, gr ...

Dined on September 22, 2015

Has a hipster feel to it. Great food, great service. They have specialty brunches. Their specialty drinks will cure any hangover

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

social my favorite!

Dined on September 20, 2015

I, and my wife, eat all over town in as many different places we can discover. We always seem to come back to and with others in tow to enjoy everything Social. You have the best Bar keeps and wait staff. Always my go to place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun place

Dined on September 12, 2015

Fried green tomatoes were delicious as well as the smoked fried chicken and mushroom soup. Our bartender was great and our waitress, Britney did a fantastic job. I highly recommend Social. Fun place, vibrant, good find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was great and so was the food ...

Dined on September 4, 2015

Our server was great and so was the food. We had the fried green tomatoes as an appetizer and shared a salad and chicken and biscuits for the entree. We were too full for dessert! Overall great experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excitement for your Taste Buds

vip
Dined on August 22, 2015

The food is a unique blend of Cajun seasoning without excessive use of pepper. The condiment tray allow each diner to accent the meat to their taste. Always good and friendly service. If you enjoy beer they have a wide selection and provide taster trays.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere! Outstanding service! P ...

Dined on August 19, 2015

Great atmosphere! Outstanding service! Phenomenal food!

food2
ambience5
service4

Southern social

Dined on August 8, 2015

The place is really cool. Great whiskey selection. Food was good, but needed more seasoning. I'm from south Louisiana and we like our food with a kick. This was good, but no kick.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great menu. Great wine.

vip
Dined on August 1, 2015

Great menu. Great wine.

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing and the service was excellent!

Dined on July 31, 2015

Very pleased with the online reservation that was available. Greeted quickly and received drinks soon after. Our server was excellent! The Flounder with carrot purée and roasted tomatoes was so delicious I wanted a bigger portion! The dessert was yummy too! I wanted to go back the next day!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Pappy van winkle was in stock. Easily t ...

Dined on July 18, 2015

Pappy van winkle was in stock. Easily the best bourbon I have ever tasted. Service was excellent.

food3
ambience4
service5

will try again.

Dined on June 26, 2015

First time here. Atmosphere interesting. too busy to be romantic but service was excellent. food was ok....Not over the top but above average. Will give it another chance....And I would recommend others trying...

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.