About Social Southern Table and Bar

3901 Johnston St
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Be real. Eat good. It"s all about being true to who you are: sharing with friends and family and enjoying each other's company over a good meal. The ingredients are always fresh and that is the cornerstone of our farm to table approach. It's talking about dinner when you're having lunch. Have you got some positive energy to share? Or maybe your grandmother's recipe for cobbler?

Leave here and create some more good in your world. We're all apart of it.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours:
Kitchen
Tuesday-Saturday
11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm

Bar:
Tuesday + Wednesday
11:00am-10:00pm

Thursday
11:00am-11:00pm

Saturday
11:00am-Midnight

Sunday
10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Marilyn Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 456-3274

Website:
http://www.socialsouthern.com/

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Marc Krampe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Social Southern Table and Bar
Social Southern Table and Bar

Promotions

TUESDAY CHOP NIGH

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

TUESDAY CHOP NIGH

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Social Southern Table and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lafayette
Best Food
Lafayette
Best Service
Lafayette
3 More
Best Ambiance
Lafayette
Special Occasion
Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

fit for foodies (23)
special occasion (19)
good for groups (15)
See All
great for brunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for lunch (10)
hot spot (9)
notable wine list (8)
romantic (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Although service was very good and clear ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Although service was very good and clearly this is a popular place, we were very disappointed with the food quality. We had the Szechuan pepper shrimp appetizer but the prawns were undercooked and we food the use of large chunks of crunchy black pepper over the top off-putting. Overall the flavor profile was just not right. My wife had the amber jack but the fish was over seasoned and lost in the spice. You could not taste the fish itself at all. Also, the bed of eggplant puree was an odd mix with the mashed potatoes that it comes with. Overall, the food was attractive but very heavy handed preparation work against the experience.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

creamy grits- wonderful!!! 2 soft scra ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

creamy grits- wonderful!!!

2 soft scrambled eggs--(please no black pepper or seasonings) maybe one egg -not two .

smoked pork very tender--( needed larger serving of hollandaise sauce).

our first time, noise ^

$$ price ^

maybe a senior citizen menu?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service. Awesome food. Manager is ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service. Awesome food. Manager is extremely nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mallory and Nathan at the bar were aweso ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Mallory and Nathan at the bar were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were so impressed. We frequently visi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were so impressed. We frequently visit but this time our waiter was hearing impaired... I am so happy that Social would make these reasonable accommodations... We had a wonderful dinner that was made better by an outstanding waiter who did an outstanding job who may have never had the chance sans Social management. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful service. Loved ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Loved the cocktails too!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique menu and delicious food. The serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Unique menu and delicious food. The service was awesome as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was truly wonderful. The foo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was truly wonderful.

The food, service and atmosphere makes this a great place to have dinner with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Experience here was disappointing. I had ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Experience here was disappointing. I had read the reviews of Social and had high expectations. The oysters sliders were the best thing I had. The smoked fried chicken is very over rated. I didn't care for the taste. The sweet potato biscuits were the best part of the dinner. My buddy had the snapper special and liked it. One area of note is the wine by the bottle list. There are some fair prices on the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Social is, well, social

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Social is a must visit in the city of Lafayette. Their food, ambiance, and drink list are absolutely impeccable. On a fully developed amazing menu the fried chicken shines brightest of them all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I and some friends had g ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I and some friends had gone when the the restaurant first opened but we hadn't had a chance to go back since then. The first time, the food and service was amazing...the bar was just popping. People were enjoying themselves with the unique drinks, service and atmosphere. My husband and I decided to go again this past weekend for our anniversary. The hostess was very accommodating when I asked for a booth instead of a table. Our waiter Brandon was very professional and the service was impeccable. I think the food had gotten even better since our last visit....it was excellent. We very much look forward to returning again, maybe to try lunch or brunch. If you haven't gone to Social yet, you're missing out!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the fried green tomatoes, beet ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We loved the fried green tomatoes, beet salad and the carrot cake was the best we have ever eaten!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place for brunch! The biscuits are ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for brunch! The biscuits are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Local Favorite

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for friends, or just two of you. TRY the FRIED CHICKEN!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a win.....

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food-Excellent. Service-Great. Social Southern killed it. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner. Our waitress was absolutel ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great dinner. Our waitress was absolutely wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing experience. Once again, ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Disappointing experience.

Once again, as an Open Table reservation, initially given a poor table assignment despite only two tables being seated. Hostess seemed stumped when we asked for a booth.

Thought this would be a place to sit and visit. It is three blocks down the street where I lived as a child. Wanted aa place to sit and reminisce.

Ordered frites, sweet potato biscuits, shredded pork sliders, a glass of wine and a cocktail. Frites arrived within minutes after ordering. Initially hot as if fresh out of the fryer, became soggy, cold and limp within minutes. Biscuits arrived a few minutes later. Had to ask for butter. Biscuits weren't warm. Sliders arrived next. Although outstanding, did not make up for the disappointment with the frites and the biscuits. Still waiting for our beverages. Those came after I had finished my first slider. Total time at the restaurant - 40 minutes. Not the relaxing meal I wanted and expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The dishes were creative. Besides being ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The dishes were creative. Besides being overalls salty, each dish was cooked perfectly, came out warm and tasted delicious! I love the family style concept of sharing dishes. All 5 of us got appetizers , sides, entrees and cocktails! We all were able to eat plenty of each dish. The service was good! It was loud , but who cares! We were out to have fun and have a lively chat. It's not the first place if go if your wanting overall romance; however, it's fun, has great dishes and has a creative rustic vibe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was great and service was excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A terrific Experience! The Sword Fish wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

A terrific Experience! The Sword Fish was prepared Perfectly! On the waiters suggestion we tried the Squash and it was Phenomenal! Loved the Wine List! We will be Back!

The Thealls

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Brunch!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great Brunch!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food. General Manager was sup ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Fantastic food. General Manager was super. Met us at the door and visited our table for short conversation. Very attentive staff.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken!!! Brussels sprouts fried g ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The chicken!!! Brussels sprouts fried green tomatoes! I could just go on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food prepared creatively with supe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food prepared creatively with super fresh ingredients. Defiantly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hot Spot

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I knew this would be a great spot for my co-workers to have dinner. There were a few new items on the menu but no Lenten Special Entrée which we were very surprised to see. Luckily they had a fantastic scallop appetizer that we all enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A rare night without the kids and my hus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

A rare night without the kids and my husband and I had a pleasant dining experience at Social. The food was great and we went before it got crowded so we got to talk and enjoy our dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid and good

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have dined at social southerns a few times and it has always been solid. I don't have any complaints, but it's also not something that generally 'WOW'ed me.

I went there for brunch, and I had steak and egg, while the other person had Chicken and biscuits. As always, the portions were mostly huge, and I love that about them.

The steak and egg was fantastic, however, the steak could probably be a little bigger. But from the brunch price tag, that's probably reasonably-sized. You can choose to have the eggs cooked any way you like, and my over-easy sunny-side ups were perfect with everything else on the plate. It also came with fries, which were made of home-cut russet potatoes. I LOVE their fries. If you have the stomach space, Frites+Gravy is also something you shouldn't miss. They come up with different variations of that dish every time they change the menu. VERY heavy though, so beware! Fried chicken and biscuits was solid but it could use a little bit more of the sweet drizzle. The cocktails were always good there as well. Overall, a very pleasant experience and we will definitely go back after we've been through our rounds.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Shared the Valentines Day special, good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Shared the Valentines Day special, good mimosas, sweet potato biscuits were fabulous! And the main course of the smoked fried chicken was incredible, though one piece was a bit salty. Great service and great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Date Night

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I absolutely love going to Social just by ourselves. We entertain large groups often, so this is a place that we love to goto and sit at bar and sample foods and drinks. We get to visit with each other and love the atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome first visit

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I took my gf here to celebrate her birthday. It was both our first time and it was amazing! We were very impressed. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Put Off by Management!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

I have been to social numerous times, However, I can say that the last time we went there, will be the last time. Our table that the server told us would be ours was given away to someone else after we had been waiting a total of 2:30 hours. Then the manager finally came out after having to ask for him multiple times and instead of addressing the problem he attempted to patronize me and say "This is Social, there is going to be a wait". I own a business with over 150 employees and if I employee managers like him, I would be out of business!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Krab nachos and redfish wings, great! En ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Krab nachos and redfish wings, great! Entrees of chicken and biscuits and shrimp and grits! Also, great service from waiter that was hearing impaired, he was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This group pays attention to details.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The entire group here knows customer service. We made reservations at 8:45 and arrived 45minutes early. (i thought reservations were at 8:15). They were very accommodating and sat us as soon as possible. The waiter (Brandon) was very attentive and made sure everyone liked their meals. The food was outstanding. (although really big portions - something every restaurant in Lafayette almost has to do). The wine recommendations were perfect.

It's a loud restaurant - don't go here to propose to (or divorce from) your partner. Don't do business meetings here. But the feel is very energetic and fun. The management has paid close attention to detail in all aspects of this restaurant.

One of the best places to eat in Lafayette!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food with Subpar Service

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We have dined with this restaraunt multiple times. The food is always wonderful and usually the service is good. This visit's service was terrible and the place wasn't nearly as busy as usual. We waited 10 minutes after being seated before we were even offered water. Our waiter never checked on us after finally bringing our food and never offered refills or asked about ordering another drink from the bar. Again, this would be semi-understandable if it was as packed as usual but there were multiple empty tables! Hopefully this was a one time occurrence because we really enjoy dining at Social.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great food!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

The food was amazing & the staff is equally as helpful. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Social lived up to expectations.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

My fiancee took me to Social for a date night and we had a blast. Our server was actually deaf but he did a great job. Food was tasty and the scenery was very comfortable. I enjoyed my time there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

My husband and I loved this experience. Our table was ready twenty minute before our reservation. Our waiter was phenomenal. We loved that Social recognized that the hearing impairment the waiter happened to have did not stop amazing service. The food was unique, flavorful and just the right portion. Definitely going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came here for dinner while visiting f ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

We came here for dinner while visiting from out of town. The food was fresh, local and delicious. Our service was friendly and professional. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here and would definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Looks nice

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Set reservation, still waited 45 min...

Food was ok, but for the price it should have been wonderful.

Staff was nice and place had a good vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Eater Friendly

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Social has a variety of drinks, desserts, menu choices very different from most

local eateries.

Brunch menu is not all eggs and biscuits although these are available.

Exceptional salads-good for freshness.

Special event dinners with a variety of beverages+matching food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.