About Social Southern Table and Bar

3901 Johnston St
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Be real. Eat good. It"s all about being true to who you are: sharing with friends and family and enjoying each other's company over a good meal. The ingredients are always fresh and that is the cornerstone of our farm to table approach. It's talking about dinner when you're having lunch. Have you got some positive energy to share? Or maybe your grandmother's recipe for cobbler?

Leave here and create some more good in your world. We're all apart of it.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours:
Kitchen
Tuesday-Saturday
11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm

Bar:
Tuesday + Wednesday
11:00am-10:00pm

Thursday
11:00am-11:00pm

Saturday
11:00am-Midnight

Sunday
10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Marilyn Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 456-3274

Website:
http://www.socialsouthern.com/

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Marc Krampe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Social Southern Table and Bar, Lafayette, LA

Report a photo problem

Social Southern Table and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
See All
Local Ingredients (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (7)
Great Beer (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Romantic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This must be my 6th visit. The food is ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

This must be my 6th visit. The food is always tasty and the service very good. A lot of people were out this Saturday night ( and it was early, 6:30 PM). The parking lot was packed and we had to drive around for almost 10 minutes looking for a spot. Ended up parking at a neighboring restaurant and walking across the street, but it was well worth it. Got the mahi mahi special and my buddy had the shrimp and grits. Tried two different drinks with satsuma; delicious. Will make it back again in the spring to see what's cooking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Waitress wasn't well versed with recomme ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined 3 days ago

Waitress wasn't well versed with recommendations or alternatives for drink menu. Food was bland but not horrible. I have head many great reviews and Social, however I just think it isn't my cup of tea as for as flavor and menu options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This place was ahhhhmazing! The food was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This place was ahhhhmazing! The food was incredible and the service was LIKE NO OTHER! I couldn't wait to leave a review. Chatlain (sorry,I know I misspelled it!) and Victoria waited on us. We honestly felt like kings and queens. I love great service but this was top notch!! We regret not having been to Social before now. Do yourself a favor and get the FRIED GREEN TOMATOES, they were delicious! We ordered more to go. Tonight was hands down a night to remember for my husbands birthday... we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful! Had no idea what ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Had no idea what to expect and was pleasantly surprised!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really great food and atmosphere. We wou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Really great food and atmosphere. We would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding and great service

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was outstanding and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation in advance for a h ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We made a reservation in advance for a holiday dinner date with an elderly family member. When we arrived at the restaurant, they seated us at a table in the back of the room, near the kitchen door. When we asked to be moved to a better table, we moved to a booth in the bar near the trash pile and coolers. Our meal was good, the restaurant was very loud. We will not go there again for special occasions or with friends or family that we want to converse with. The most disappointing thing about the evening was the poor service and uncaring attitude of the staff. Even if we had not finally been seated in the bar, overall this restaurant has more of a bar type feel.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Excellent service and delicious brunch p ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent service and delicious brunch provided a pleasurable afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday brunch was exceptional!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Sunday brunch was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Farm chop salad was outrageously good. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Farm chop salad was outrageously good. Pumpkin soup made me actually like pumpkin, which I ordinarily don't like. Had little spicy drumsticks and pulled pork that were dreamy. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I's favorite rest. in Lafaye ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I's favorite rest. in Lafayette......Brandon has been our waiter for over 4 years, he is the best......the whole menu is great......Armando is a great manager.....we just LOVE Socials.....Thanks for keeping the food and service, and quality top notch....Mike B.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service as usual.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fantastic food and service as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were more then pleased with our anniv ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were more then pleased with our anniversary dinner. Service was excellent and the food was on point.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined there multiple times, so I'd ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I've dined there multiple times, so I'd say it's a solid choice. Their menu changes every season so there are always a few new things to try. Always love their fries :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a fantastic brunch experience at ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a fantastic brunch experience at Social Southern Table & Bar. Our server Kathleen was extremely accommodating and really made our first visit memorable. I applaud the restaurant for its deep and surprisingly diverse cocktail and spirits selection. We'll be back very soon-- thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a couple or group. Nice ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great spot for a couple or group. Nice selection of food choices we don't get back in NY.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is good and the atmosphere is v ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food is good and the atmosphere is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

As usual the food, service and atmospher ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As usual the food, service and atmosphere was fantastic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Socials has been our favorite Lafayette ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Socials has been our favorite Lafayette rest. since day one.........always pleased......best staff in Lafayette Rest. businessand always good fresh food and great bar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit. Really like the simple men ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

First visit. Really like the simple menu. Our waiter, Logan, was polite, knowledgeable and provided the perfect amount of attention. I like that he suggested that we wait to order our main course until we had been served the Frites. Wise choice as the Frites order was more than enough for the two of us; it waste a very flavorfull version of poutine, and not a bland gravy on soggy fries. We opted to just split the crisp wedge salad and roasted brussel sprouts for the remainder of the meal. The food was delicious and seasoned nicely. (So many restaurants throw in too much salt in search of flavor.) The setting was comfortable and the noise level within reason for the number of people there. Varied seating options ( booths, high tables an stools, bar) can accommodate any dining group while giving a feel of closeness.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I ate this at a friend's home, I woul ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 25, 2016

If I ate this at a friend's home, I would say it was made by a very very good home cook. Ingredients were fresh;presentation was good; it was a terrific value. It was a place worth becoming a regular.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It was highly recommended and did not di ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was highly recommended and did not disappoint. Servers were professional and prompt. Manager stopped by our table. Food was wonderful. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived 30 min early for our reservat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We arrived 30 min early for our reservation so we sat at the bar and ordered drinks and appetizers. The bar service was wonderful and we could tell from the appetizers that dinner was going to be good. The Krab Nachos and Fried Green Tomato's were awesome.

Our dinner server was awful. We ordered and then he vanished. 30 minutes after we ordered he showed up to check on our drinks. I told him that we ordered 30 minutes ago and it seemed to be taking a long time and he challenged my timeline. Well...technology is a great thing. I sent a text to my husband just after ordering so I had a time stamp. Seriously...a server wants to argue about the amount of time we were waiting? Then he told us that our order went in behind a party of 30. I responded to him that that was not my problem. Honestly, had he checked in on us we may not have even noticed the 30 minutes.

When dinner did arrive the food was amazing. The chicken and biscuits and shrimp and grits were comfort food nirvana.

The next time I am in Lafayette I will eat here again. Only I hope that my server has found a vocation better suited to their skill set.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Absolutely phenomenal experience. Atmosp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience. Atmosphere was well thought out. Service was excellent and the staff was very knowledgeable. Food was fantastic and proportioned well. Again, great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Modern Decor, , Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Great at ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Great atmosphere. Enjoy it every time we go

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, drinks, and service. Our se ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food, drinks, and service. Our server was hearing impaired, which might sound like a hindrance, but he might have given us the best service we've had all year. Food came out quickly, hot and delicious. The prices are a touch higher than similar places, but the quality is fantastic and they have a focus on local/seasonal delicacy worth the extra. Inside dining area is a bit loud, but we managed to carry our conversation well enough.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I love Social. The food i ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and I love Social. The food is inventive and delicious. I tried a new dish on this occasion--a squash salad-- that was disappointing. It had very little flavor. Our waitress offered to replace it with a different dish, and I declined. I probably should have done that. I would not recommend the dish, nor would I order it again.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went there for dinner whil ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My wife and I went there for dinner while in Lafayette. It was recommended by a friend, and we were satisfied. Though our server, Chris, was very good, the food was about as expected. The sauce on the drummettes was too salty, but the fried chicken was quite tasty. The sides were good, and the restaurant is hip. They have a nice selection of drinks and craft beer (which I always appreciate).

All that being said, Social Southern Table probably would not be on the top of my list for Lafayette restaurants to go back to, but it'd be in the top 10.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was Kathleen, a charming woma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our server was Kathleen, a charming woman who couldn't have been more helpful and knowledgable about the menu. Her suggestions were right on. Good job to the bartender by the way, on the great sazerac. The Krab Nachos were light and delicious, the shrimp and grits were the best I have ever had, and the smoked chicken was cooked perfectly. The bread pudding was not as good as we have in New Orleans, so I'd pass on that if you are a bread pudding fan. But definitely one of the best restaurants I visited in the Lafayette area. More consistent than the sister restaurant, Charlie G's. Highly recommend...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We come here every time we travel to Laf ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We come here every time we travel to Lafayette. Food and service are excellent. A do not miss meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. Just wow. Some of the best food I'v ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wow. Just wow. Some of the best food I've had in the world not to mention Lafayette. The wait staff is also world class. Just... wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Organic, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, , Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we tried was awesome. The se ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Everything we tried was awesome. The service was great as well. I would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our meal. The setting ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal. The setting was nice. The service was great. The food was tasty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a little warm, so it made it a littl ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Was a little warm, so it made it a little uncomfortable. However, the food, the service, and all other things were great!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good food. Slow service. Very loud

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food. Slow service. Very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent service. Cool, relaxed atmosp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent service. Cool, relaxed atmosphere. Food is on point! The pork belly sliders and the krab nachos were perfect starters and were absolutely delicious. We also had a special flatbread with farmers market veggies that was soooo good. You can never go wrong with the smoke fried chicken-n-biscuits, it's probably their most common dish. Our server, Rena, is hands down one of the best servers in any restaurant in the entire USA!! You won't be disappointed at Social!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Lafayette, we tend to visit at least once a month. I especially enjoy the smoked fried chicken, as well as other dishes. The collard greens are outstanding. I also really enjoy the specialty items from the bar. This is a great dining experience in a friendly and hip environment that has a lot of energy. It is definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although service was very good and clear ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Although service was very good and clearly this is a popular place, we were very disappointed with the food quality. We had the Szechuan pepper shrimp appetizer but the prawns were undercooked and we food the use of large chunks of crunchy black pepper over the top off-putting. Overall the flavor profile was just not right. My wife had the amber jack but the fish was over seasoned and lost in the spice. You could not taste the fish itself at all. Also, the bed of eggplant puree was an odd mix with the mashed potatoes that it comes with. Overall, the food was attractive but very heavy handed preparation work against the experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

creamy grits- wonderful!!! 2 soft scra ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2016

creamy grits- wonderful!!!

2 soft scrambled eggs--(please no black pepper or seasonings) maybe one egg -not two .

smoked pork very tender--( needed larger serving of hollandaise sauce).

our first time, noise ^

$$ price ^

maybe a senior citizen menu?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service. Awesome food. Manager is ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service. Awesome food. Manager is extremely nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.