About Social Southern Table and Bar

3901 Johnston St
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Be real. Eat good. It"s all about being true to who you are: sharing with friends and family and enjoying each other's company over a good meal. The ingredients are always fresh and that is the cornerstone of our farm to table approach. It's talking about dinner when you're having lunch. Have you got some positive energy to share? Or maybe your grandmother's recipe for cobbler?

Leave here and create some more good in your world. We're all apart of it.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours:
Kitchen
Tuesday-Saturday
11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm

Bar:
Tuesday + Wednesday
11:00am-10:00pm

Thursday
11:00am-11:00pm

Saturday
11:00am-Midnight

Sunday
10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Marilyn Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 456-3274

Website:
http://www.socialsouthern.com/

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Marc Krampe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Social Southern Table and Bar, Lafayette, LA
Social Southern Table and Bar, Lafayette, LA

Social Southern Table and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Food
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Service
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
3 More
Best Ambiance
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Best Value
Baton Rouge / Lafayette
Most Booked
Lafayette
Best Restaurants in Lafayette ›

Good for a Date (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great Beer (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Business Meals (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Spicy (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I's favorite rest. in Lafaye ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I's favorite rest. in Lafayette......Brandon has been our waiter for over 4 years, he is the best......the whole menu is great......Armando is a great manager.....we just LOVE Socials.....Thanks for keeping the food and service, and quality top notch....Mike B.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service as usual.

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fantastic food and service as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were more then pleased with our anniv ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were more then pleased with our anniversary dinner. Service was excellent and the food was on point.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined there multiple times, so I'd ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

I've dined there multiple times, so I'd say it's a solid choice. Their menu changes every season so there are always a few new things to try. Always love their fries :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a fantastic brunch experience at ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a fantastic brunch experience at Social Southern Table & Bar. Our server Kathleen was extremely accommodating and really made our first visit memorable. I applaud the restaurant for its deep and surprisingly diverse cocktail and spirits selection. We'll be back very soon-- thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for a couple or group. Nice ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great spot for a couple or group. Nice selection of food choices we don't get back in NY.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is good and the atmosphere is v ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food is good and the atmosphere is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

As usual the food, service and atmospher ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

As usual the food, service and atmosphere was fantastic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Socials has been our favorite Lafayette ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Socials has been our favorite Lafayette rest. since day one.........always pleased......best staff in Lafayette Rest. businessand always good fresh food and great bar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit. Really like the simple men ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

First visit. Really like the simple menu. Our waiter, Logan, was polite, knowledgeable and provided the perfect amount of attention. I like that he suggested that we wait to order our main course until we had been served the Frites. Wise choice as the Frites order was more than enough for the two of us; it waste a very flavorfull version of poutine, and not a bland gravy on soggy fries. We opted to just split the crisp wedge salad and roasted brussel sprouts for the remainder of the meal. The food was delicious and seasoned nicely. (So many restaurants throw in too much salt in search of flavor.) The setting was comfortable and the noise level within reason for the number of people there. Varied seating options ( booths, high tables an stools, bar) can accommodate any dining group while giving a feel of closeness.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I ate this at a friend's home, I woul ...

 
·Dined on October 25, 2016

If I ate this at a friend's home, I would say it was made by a very very good home cook. Ingredients were fresh;presentation was good; it was a terrific value. It was a place worth becoming a regular.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It was highly recommended and did not di ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was highly recommended and did not disappoint. Servers were professional and prompt. Manager stopped by our table. Food was wonderful. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived 30 min early for our reservat ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

We arrived 30 min early for our reservation so we sat at the bar and ordered drinks and appetizers. The bar service was wonderful and we could tell from the appetizers that dinner was going to be good. The Krab Nachos and Fried Green Tomato's were awesome.

Our dinner server was awful. We ordered and then he vanished. 30 minutes after we ordered he showed up to check on our drinks. I told him that we ordered 30 minutes ago and it seemed to be taking a long time and he challenged my timeline. Well...technology is a great thing. I sent a text to my husband just after ordering so I had a time stamp. Seriously...a server wants to argue about the amount of time we were waiting? Then he told us that our order went in behind a party of 30. I responded to him that that was not my problem. Honestly, had he checked in on us we may not have even noticed the 30 minutes.

When dinner did arrive the food was amazing. The chicken and biscuits and shrimp and grits were comfort food nirvana.

The next time I am in Lafayette I will eat here again. Only I hope that my server has found a vocation better suited to their skill set.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Absolutely phenomenal experience. Atmosp ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience. Atmosphere was well thought out. Service was excellent and the staff was very knowledgeable. Food was fantastic and proportioned well. Again, great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Great at ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Great atmosphere. Enjoy it every time we go

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, drinks, and service. Our se ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food, drinks, and service. Our server was hearing impaired, which might sound like a hindrance, but he might have given us the best service we've had all year. Food came out quickly, hot and delicious. The prices are a touch higher than similar places, but the quality is fantastic and they have a focus on local/seasonal delicacy worth the extra. Inside dining area is a bit loud, but we managed to carry our conversation well enough.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I love Social. The food i ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband and I love Social. The food is inventive and delicious. I tried a new dish on this occasion--a squash salad-- that was disappointing. It had very little flavor. Our waitress offered to replace it with a different dish, and I declined. I probably should have done that. I would not recommend the dish, nor would I order it again.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went there for dinner whil ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

My wife and I went there for dinner while in Lafayette. It was recommended by a friend, and we were satisfied. Though our server, Chris, was very good, the food was about as expected. The sauce on the drummettes was too salty, but the fried chicken was quite tasty. The sides were good, and the restaurant is hip. They have a nice selection of drinks and craft beer (which I always appreciate).

All that being said, Social Southern Table probably would not be on the top of my list for Lafayette restaurants to go back to, but it'd be in the top 10.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server was Kathleen, a charming woma ...

 
·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our server was Kathleen, a charming woman who couldn't have been more helpful and knowledgable about the menu. Her suggestions were right on. Good job to the bartender by the way, on the great sazerac. The Krab Nachos were light and delicious, the shrimp and grits were the best I have ever had, and the smoked chicken was cooked perfectly. The bread pudding was not as good as we have in New Orleans, so I'd pass on that if you are a bread pudding fan. But definitely one of the best restaurants I visited in the Lafayette area. More consistent than the sister restaurant, Charlie G's. Highly recommend...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We come here every time we travel to Laf ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We come here every time we travel to Lafayette. Food and service are excellent. A do not miss meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. Just wow. Some of the best food I'v ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wow. Just wow. Some of the best food I've had in the world not to mention Lafayette. The wait staff is also world class. Just... wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Organic, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we tried was awesome. The se ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Everything we tried was awesome. The service was great as well. I would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our meal. The setting ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal. The setting was nice. The service was great. The food was tasty.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a little warm, so it made it a littl ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Was a little warm, so it made it a little uncomfortable. However, the food, the service, and all other things were great!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good food. Slow service. Very loud

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good food. Slow service. Very loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Excellent service. Cool, relaxed atmosp ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent service. Cool, relaxed atmosphere. Food is on point! The pork belly sliders and the krab nachos were perfect starters and were absolutely delicious. We also had a special flatbread with farmers market veggies that was soooo good. You can never go wrong with the smoke fried chicken-n-biscuits, it's probably their most common dish. Our server, Rena, is hands down one of the best servers in any restaurant in the entire USA!! You won't be disappointed at Social!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Lafayette, we tend to visit at least once a month. I especially enjoy the smoked fried chicken, as well as other dishes. The collard greens are outstanding. I also really enjoy the specialty items from the bar. This is a great dining experience in a friendly and hip environment that has a lot of energy. It is definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although service was very good and clear ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Although service was very good and clearly this is a popular place, we were very disappointed with the food quality. We had the Szechuan pepper shrimp appetizer but the prawns were undercooked and we food the use of large chunks of crunchy black pepper over the top off-putting. Overall the flavor profile was just not right. My wife had the amber jack but the fish was over seasoned and lost in the spice. You could not taste the fish itself at all. Also, the bed of eggplant puree was an odd mix with the mashed potatoes that it comes with. Overall, the food was attractive but very heavy handed preparation work against the experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

creamy grits- wonderful!!! 2 soft scra ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

creamy grits- wonderful!!!

2 soft scrambled eggs--(please no black pepper or seasonings) maybe one egg -not two .

smoked pork very tender--( needed larger serving of hollandaise sauce).

our first time, noise ^

$$ price ^

maybe a senior citizen menu?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service. Awesome food. Manager is ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service. Awesome food. Manager is extremely nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mallory and Nathan at the bar were aweso ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Mallory and Nathan at the bar were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were so impressed. We frequently visi ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We were so impressed. We frequently visit but this time our waiter was hearing impaired... I am so happy that Social would make these reasonable accommodations... We had a wonderful dinner that was made better by an outstanding waiter who did an outstanding job who may have never had the chance sans Social management. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful service. Loved ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. Loved the cocktails too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique menu and delicious food. The serv ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Unique menu and delicious food. The service was awesome as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was truly wonderful. The foo ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our server was truly wonderful.

The food, service and atmosphere makes this a great place to have dinner with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Experience here was disappointing. I had ...

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Experience here was disappointing. I had read the reviews of Social and had high expectations. The oysters sliders were the best thing I had. The smoked fried chicken is very over rated. I didn't care for the taste. The sweet potato biscuits were the best part of the dinner. My buddy had the snapper special and liked it. One area of note is the wine by the bottle list. There are some fair prices on the list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Social is, well, social

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Social is a must visit in the city of Lafayette. Their food, ambiance, and drink list are absolutely impeccable. On a fully developed amazing menu the fried chicken shines brightest of them all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I and some friends had g ...

 
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I and some friends had gone when the the restaurant first opened but we hadn't had a chance to go back since then. The first time, the food and service was amazing...the bar was just popping. People were enjoying themselves with the unique drinks, service and atmosphere. My husband and I decided to go again this past weekend for our anniversary. The hostess was very accommodating when I asked for a booth instead of a table. Our waiter Brandon was very professional and the service was impeccable. I think the food had gotten even better since our last visit....it was excellent. We very much look forward to returning again, maybe to try lunch or brunch. If you haven't gone to Social yet, you're missing out!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the fried green tomatoes, beet ...

 
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We loved the fried green tomatoes, beet salad and the carrot cake was the best we have ever eaten!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place for brunch! The biscuits are ...

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for brunch! The biscuits are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.