Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Social Southern Table and Bar

Be real. Eat good. It"s all about being true to who you are: sharing with friends and family and enjoying each other's company over a good meal. The ingredients are always fresh and that is the cornerstone of our farm to table approach. It's talking about dinner when you're having lunch. Have you got some positive energy to share? Or maybe your grandmother's recipe for cobbler?

Leave here and create some more good in your world. We're all apart of it.

3901 Johnston St
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours:
Kitchen
Tuesday-Saturday
11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm

Bar:
Tuesday + Wednesday
11:00am-10:00pm

Thursday
11:00am-11:00pm

Saturday
11:00am-Midnight

Sunday
10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Marilyn Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 456-3274

Website:
http://www.socialsouthern.com/

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Marc Krampe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Social Southern Table and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Bar Seating (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Local Ingredients (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great Beer (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Fun (5)
Organic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tapas (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

our server last night was FANTASTIC. we had our 5 year old daughter + 96 year old grandmother with us + we had a wonderful dinner! the food + cocktails were both amazing... but the service was the best part. thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great restaurant with good food, great service and a terrific bar. We will definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a post engagement party brunch today. Service was impeccable. Food was perfectly prepared & artfully presented.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always awesome food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was great. The mixed drinks, beer and spirits selection is very, very good.

My steak was cooked properly but wasn't a very good piece of meat.

My wife said her fish was excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had the Krab Nachos, the Pork Belly Sliders, Sweet Potato wedges and the Mac n Cheese. All were outstanding with the Krab Nachos being the star of the show. I loved the ambience and service was great. We will definitely be dining here again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service was almost too good. It was bothersome to have a waitress/server that was always checking in on us. Stop hovering, mom. We just want to eat.

Kidding. It was amazing.

You even listened to my memo about wanting a corner booth that we could people watch from, all creepy-like.

Amazing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was great and ambiance was, too. My filet that I decided to splurge on was medium well to well done when I asked for medium rare, which was also the recommended temperature. Other than that, everything was great, but that's a pretty big one.

Tags: Vegan, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best fried chicken I've ever had. The service was bar none, well with the drive!!

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The cast-iron grilled mahi was excellent, and the napa cabbage and carrot hash it was served on was even better. We will go back.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Never a disappointment at Socials....from the big smile greeting we get from Armando to the best service you could get from your server (Brandon), to some of the best food Lafayette has to offer........always a treat for my wife and I. Our favorite restaurant in Lafayette......don"t miss it, it is a must!!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Tapas, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The fried chicken and sweet potatoe biscuits were the best i have EVER had

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food and greater wait staff. Our new favorite in Lafayette!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My dining experience was fabulous. The service was exceptional and the food was incredible!
I have found this to be my experience every time I go to dinner or Sunday brunch at Social. The menu items are so unique and the flavor of the food is incomparable and cooked to perfection. I also love the atmosphere! Overall, a great overall experience every time!

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fun, Spicy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Organic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This must be my 6th visit. The food is always tasty and the service very good. A lot of people were out this Saturday night ( and it was early, 6:30 PM). The parking lot was packed and we had to drive around for almost 10 minutes looking for a spot. Ended up parking at a neighboring restaurant and walking across the street, but it was well worth it. Got the mahi mahi special and my buddy had the shrimp and grits. Tried two different drinks with satsuma; delicious. Will make it back again in the spring to see what's cooking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Waitress wasn't well versed with recommendations or alternatives for drink menu. Food was bland but not horrible. I have head many great reviews and Social, however I just think it isn't my cup of tea as for as flavor and menu options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This place was ahhhhmazing! The food was incredible and the service was LIKE NO OTHER! I couldn't wait to leave a review. Chatlain (sorry,I know I misspelled it!) and Victoria waited on us. We honestly felt like kings and queens. I love great service but this was top notch!! We regret not having been to Social before now. Do yourself a favor and get the FRIED GREEN TOMATOES, they were delicious! We ordered more to go. Tonight was hands down a night to remember for my husbands birthday... we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Had no idea what to expect and was pleasantly surprised!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Really great food and atmosphere. We would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was outstanding and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We made a reservation in advance for a holiday dinner date with an elderly family member. When we arrived at the restaurant, they seated us at a table in the back of the room, near the kitchen door. When we asked to be moved to a better table, we moved to a booth in the bar near the trash pile and coolers. Our meal was good, the restaurant was very loud. We will not go there again for special occasions or with friends or family that we want to converse with. The most disappointing thing about the evening was the poor service and uncaring attitude of the staff. Even if we had not finally been seated in the bar, overall this restaurant has more of a bar type feel.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent service and delicious brunch provided a pleasurable afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Sunday brunch was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Farm chop salad was outrageously good. Pumpkin soup made me actually like pumpkin, which I ordinarily don't like. Had little spicy drumsticks and pulled pork that were dreamy. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My wife and I's favorite rest. in Lafayette......Brandon has been our waiter for over 4 years, he is the best......the whole menu is great......Armando is a great manager.....we just LOVE Socials.....Thanks for keeping the food and service, and quality top notch....Mike B.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Fantastic food and service as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were more then pleased with our anniversary dinner. Service was excellent and the food was on point.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I've dined there multiple times, so I'd say it's a solid choice. Their menu changes every season so there are always a few new things to try. Always love their fries :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a fantastic brunch experience at Social Southern Table & Bar. Our server Kathleen was extremely accommodating and really made our first visit memorable. I applaud the restaurant for its deep and surprisingly diverse cocktail and spirits selection. We'll be back very soon-- thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great spot for a couple or group. Nice selection of food choices we don't get back in NY.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food is good and the atmosphere is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As usual the food, service and atmosphere was fantastic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Socials has been our favorite Lafayette rest. since day one.........always pleased......best staff in Lafayette Rest. businessand always good fresh food and great bar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

First visit. Really like the simple menu. Our waiter, Logan, was polite, knowledgeable and provided the perfect amount of attention. I like that he suggested that we wait to order our main course until we had been served the Frites. Wise choice as the Frites order was more than enough for the two of us; it waste a very flavorfull version of poutine, and not a bland gravy on soggy fries. We opted to just split the crisp wedge salad and roasted brussel sprouts for the remainder of the meal. The food was delicious and seasoned nicely. (So many restaurants throw in too much salt in search of flavor.) The setting was comfortable and the noise level within reason for the number of people there. Varied seating options ( booths, high tables an stools, bar) can accommodate any dining group while giving a feel of closeness.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 25, 2016

If I ate this at a friend's home, I would say it was made by a very very good home cook. Ingredients were fresh;presentation was good; it was a terrific value. It was a place worth becoming a regular.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

It was highly recommended and did not disappoint. Servers were professional and prompt. Manager stopped by our table. Food was wonderful. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We arrived 30 min early for our reservation so we sat at the bar and ordered drinks and appetizers. The bar service was wonderful and we could tell from the appetizers that dinner was going to be good. The Krab Nachos and Fried Green Tomato's were awesome.

Our dinner server was awful. We ordered and then he vanished. 30 minutes after we ordered he showed up to check on our drinks. I told him that we ordered 30 minutes ago and it seemed to be taking a long time and he challenged my timeline. Well...technology is a great thing. I sent a text to my husband just after ordering so I had a time stamp. Seriously...a server wants to argue about the amount of time we were waiting? Then he told us that our order went in behind a party of 30. I responded to him that that was not my problem. Honestly, had he checked in on us we may not have even noticed the 30 minutes.

When dinner did arrive the food was amazing. The chicken and biscuits and shrimp and grits were comfort food nirvana.

The next time I am in Lafayette I will eat here again. Only I hope that my server has found a vocation better suited to their skill set.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal experience. Atmosphere was well thought out. Service was excellent and the staff was very knowledgeable. Food was fantastic and proportioned well. Again, great experience!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Great atmosphere. Enjoy it every time we go

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food, drinks, and service. Our server was hearing impaired, which might sound like a hindrance, but he might have given us the best service we've had all year. Food came out quickly, hot and delicious. The prices are a touch higher than similar places, but the quality is fantastic and they have a focus on local/seasonal delicacy worth the extra. Inside dining area is a bit loud, but we managed to carry our conversation well enough.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.