Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Social Southern Table and Bar

Be real. Eat good. It"s all about being true to who you are: sharing with friends and family and enjoying each other's company over a good meal. The ingredients are always fresh and that is the cornerstone of our farm to table approach. It's talking about dinner when you're having lunch. Have you got some positive energy to share? Or maybe your grandmother's recipe for cobbler?

Leave here and create some more good in your world. We're all apart of it.

3901 Johnston St
Lafayette, LA 70503
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily Hours:
Kitchen
Tuesday-Saturday
11:00am-10:00pm
Sunday Brunch
10:30am-2:00pm

Bar:
Tuesday + Wednesday
11:00am-10:00pm

Thursday
11:00am-11:00pm

Saturday
11:00am-Midnight

Sunday
10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Marilyn Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(337) 456-3274

Website:
http://www.socialsouthern.com/

Catering:
off site catering available

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Marc Krampe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Social Southern Table and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Special Occasion (14)
Casual (12)
See All
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fun (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Great Beer (9)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (4)
Cozy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Romantic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Live Sports (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

First time guests, we were celebrating our anniversary and the whole night was perfect. Service was on point and the food was just right. We tried out multiple dishes one by one and enjoyed all of them especially the smoke fried chicken with honey and fried green tomatoes. Perfect atmosphere for a casual dressy date night or gno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined 6 days ago

Simone, our server, was friendly, attentive, but not invasive. We enjoyed the celebratory atmosphere. Creek water is the best drink. My husband said he had the best burger he's ever tasted. A fun place to go to celebrate with family and friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was exceptional and the service by our waiter, Chris, was outstanding. Chris, thanks for the candles and the light!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great dinner out! My husband & I came here for dinner, tried some of the excellent cocktails, and enjoyed the dinner menu. I had the wahoo special as well as the social wedge, and he had brussel sprouts with one of the flatbreads. Chocolate cake for dessert topped off a fantastic dinner. We had exceptional service & will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very good food. The food was different and everything we tried was excellent. I would suggest a more detailed information of the fiod on the menu. I couldnt really understand the different choices.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was good... however did not think there was enough selection - different ingredients put together - wasn't terrible but probably not my favorite spot to eat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent food in very creative ways! Started with the hamchi and the charcuterie board. Fish was prepared deliciously. The pimento cheese was great especially since that's not usually my favorite but the ghost honey was the star of the show - holy cow! The Orange Blossom on the happy hour menu was also a standout.

For entrees, our table had the shrimp and grits, the pulled pork and grits, the chicken plate and the steak. All were excellent choices but the grits topped any we've ever had anywhere - rich and creamy with whole corn mixed in, absolutely outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Brandon was our waiter and he was assisted by Scott. I brought my visiting inlaws out to my favorite place in Lafayette! It never disappoints! It's Scott...Not Scott!!! Smh!😉

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic, Disabled Access, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Awesome evening. Food was fantastic. Friendly environment. Great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our server was attentive and helpful. Food was delicious. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First date, vibe was very good. Bartender hooked us up with some great cocktails and Emily our waitress was very cordial, but not intrusive. Fried green tomatoes and flatbread special of the day were on point. Highly recommend Social for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

From Dallas, my guests and I were worried about our dining options in Lafayette on a recent sleepover. We found Social and it was an absolute gem. The menu, food options, drink menu and presentation were outstanding. The service and the wait staff (grooming) were perfect and orchestrated. Our eye and taste buds have been spoiled in Dallas by restaurants such as R&D, Hillstone, Ida Claire and Neighborhood Services, and this was on that level. When will you open a Social in Baton Rouge or Dallas?

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great evening with great food and an exceptional artist, Dirk Guidry, painting his version of Strawberry Fields Forever. Thanks!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I have never been disappointed when eating here. I think I've ordered different things each time, but its always good whatever I pick. Its my new favorite place to eat in Lafayette.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Atmosphere was good, reservations timely, hostess friendly, food very good. Server was rushing us, even trying to clean off the table while we were still eating. Server also tried to box remaining food while we were holding our utensils and chewing. Basically the dinner and evening evening was ruined by the server, a real shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was excellent and service was superb! Quiet enough to have conversation at the table. Great Cocktail selection .

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We are regulars and love the creativity that goes into the menu

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our server seemed to want to rush us thru our meal which was totally inappropriate since it was a celebration. The fact is you should never be rushed in order to turn a table. The excellent dishes were brought out so quickly we barely had time to enjoy the deliciousness.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Perfect atmosphere! The portions of food were big enough to share and the quality of the food (and drinks) was amazing! Would definitely recommend if you're looking for something new and good for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My first time for the Sunday Brunch menu and not a real fan. Other than the salads, the food was heavy and not inventive at all. All of the apps were heavy, and other than the smoked chicken, all the entrees were heavy, as well as the sides! The menu needs to work on some balance

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Visited with family for mother's day. Great brunch menu. As always: Food, service, drinks top drawer. Great local restaurant that can compete with any in Cajun country. Always fresh ingredients. And save room for desserts!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our first time to Social. We loved everything about it. The food and drinks were top notch. If I owed a restaurant I would want the inside to look just like Social. We loved it and will certainly be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Love everything about Social! Great atmosphere and good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Outstanding service. Server made recommendations and they turned out to be fantastic. Food was great! Had the smoke fried chicken and also the frites for appetizer. Wasn't the largest fan of the krab nachos but I highly recommend the frites!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great place to visit, dine , sip great variety of wines. Good is always consistently great just like Charley G's. A must place to dine at whether for a group or just 2 people

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always, just-right atmosphere, excellent staff, and good food. My special reservation request was accommodated.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and cocktails were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I ordered the shark special and it was not good. It wasn't a good combination with crawfish either.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Service, food all excellent. Would be nice to have a kids menu

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 30, 2017

One year anniversary. Great service, greater meal! One of our favorite spots.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great food, great service. The brown sugar mint tea was awesome. Noise level was perfect for a business meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Emily was a fantastic server. We've already reaquest her for our next trip in town. Food was delicious. Drinks were even better.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Everything was great! The restaurant has a sleek, modern feel inside. The food was delicious, especially the fried chicken! The portions are generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, great service and food! Grateful foeva very memorable evening!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

our server last night was FANTASTIC. we had our 5 year old daughter + 96 year old grandmother with us + we had a wonderful dinner! the food + cocktails were both amazing... but the service was the best part. thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great restaurant with good food, great service and a terrific bar. We will definitely return.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Perfect place to converse with friends or colleagues!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a post engagement party brunch today. Service was impeccable. Food was perfectly prepared & artfully presented.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always awesome food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.