Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

Social - Ottawa

4.4
603 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Bistro
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
Opened in the summer of 1999, SOCIAL was conceived as the perfect blend of restaurant and bar. It was envisioned as a place where guests could enjoy an evening drink without feeling obligated to order dinner too, but where a sizzling menu meant that food was always an excellent option. When its doors first opened, SOCIAL was the first restaurant in the capital to regularly feature a live DJ, which instantly gave it a reputation for innovation. Ten years later, SOCIAL continues to deliver, known in the capital city for its imagination and its chic, modern vibe. With fifteen-foot ceilings, ultramodern decor and gorgeous exposed stone walls, the space offers an unparalleled atmosphere for a sit-down dinner or some after-work cocktails. Guests can expect high-quality professional service and a menu to match, proving that SOCIAL is truly a downtown destination that has it all.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Bistro, French / Canadian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Mon- Fri11:30am - 3:00pm
Social Hour Daily 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Dinner: Sun-Wed 5:00pm - 10:00
Thur-Sat 5:00pm- 11:00
Brunch: Sat-Sun 11:00- 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(613) 789-7355
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Martin Levesque
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Let us host your next corporate dinner or special occasion. We love to celebrate! Please call for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
George / York
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We are located between George St. and York St. on Sussex Drive. You can find meter parking and 2 parking garages on York Street. Parking is also available across the street at 700 Sussex Drive and around the market area.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There are public transit stops on Rideau street and at the Rideau Center (which is within walking distance).
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music can be heard every Wednesday night in the summer on the Courtyard - a mix of jazz, acid jazz and blues. An assortment of DJs are spinning on Friday and Saturday nights all year round.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Happy Hour every day!from 3:00 PM to 6:00 PM.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 603 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We had an excellent service and delicious food. Fresh oysters and fish, along with a great selection of wines. I strongly recommend it

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 26, 2018

I thought it was really overrated, thank God we had a really nice waitress

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Service was great, Patio was busy but calm, live music was good,not to loud food was 10/10

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Great hidden patio in the back courtyard was beautiful for a summer night of dinner and drinks. Service was exceptional, and I don't say that lightly. You can tell the people enjoy working there!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Chef's board was fantastic. Lots of food. Was too full to finish my entre. Servers were excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Five of us ate lunch at Social and we all enjoyed our food and the overall experience. I highly recommend the steak salad.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very enjoyable brunch and excellent service. Probably the nicest patio location in Ottawa

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Went as a group for a special occasion. Our server was knowledgeable and very helpful. Every one of us changed our orders after she described some of the dishes! Great time, would go back again when looking for a nicer dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Visites pour les tulipes en journée

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The creme brûlée has the texture of lumpy runny creme. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Excellent service and the food and drinks were delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Good service, the food was not memorable. Our dish was tasteless in spite of the beautiful piece of fish. Brussels sprouts were finally cooked after sending back twice. The restaurant was apologetic by not charging for them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I was really impress by the ambiance and the gastronomuc food. The wine is really good too. We try the oysters, and they were perfect. However I wouldn't recommand the foie gras.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We made a reservation for 11:00 on open table Sunday April 29th. On our arrival, we were told by the waiter that the restaurant opened at 11:30 that morning and they did not honnor the reservation we had made. Very dissapointing! Will definitely not return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Excellent service. Great food. Portions could be more generous for what you pay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great food, excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

We had a great business meal at Social. I was very impressed with our server's knowledge of the menu, including his knowledge of the beers on tap. Well done!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had a marvellous time at Social . The food ,service and ambience is excellent!
I will be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The decor and atmosphere was stunning with dimmed lighting and lots of candles. The background music for dinner was a mix of smooth jazz/euro jazz which made for a very relaxing feel. Then later in night music became more upbeat to feel more like a bar making you want to stay even longer. Salmon dish was amazing as was the steak frites. Service was great. Waiter made you feel like you weren’t being rushed. Definitely a higher end restaurant but well worth it! Can’t wait to return!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The ambience was nice at Social, but I was quite disappointed by both the quality of the food, which was overcooked and there was nothing really special about it. The pricing and setting were high end but the quality didn't match that. The service was also mediocre at best. Somewhat of a lack of attention paid to the clientele. If you're going to go high end, this wouldn't be my first choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Service and cocktails were wonderful! WE will return

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We dined there for Valentines 2018. A fixed menu. We were seated at a wonderful table. The service was delightful and friendly. The food was delicious. Good selection of Wine. Knowledgeable staff. They have a summer patio located at the back of the restaurant in this beautiful stone courtyard. Very Quebec City-ish... We would go there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Quality of food was good.
They need work on veggie options. The set menu app was just the meat removed (half the value). Staff was really nice. Our waitor disappeared for a while and none of our food for such great dishes were explained to us. It was alright. Nothing was bad. Just missing the details to make it special. The bartender and the cocktails were epic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The Valentine's day menu was more limited than I thought. The food was good, not great for the price. The cheese souffle was warm, not hot. I'm not sure if the rating for the food is fair considering this isn't your typical menu but we were disappointed in the food unfortunately.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We shared the Oysters and salad but we each had the Duck confit, it was just perfectly delicious. As we were full and satiated we did not have a chance to experience the desserts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Great food, great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Visiting my daughter . The food was yummy and the waitress was very nice . She was pleasant not pushy and very attentive st the same time. Excellent bonding with my adult children.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2018

The staff are wonderful and friendly and the food was great. The ambience is beautiful at night with the candles at every table. I would absolutely recommend for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2018

Great spot- food was amazing. Not a lot on the menu which is fine and most of the dishes are quite rich. Lovely overall and would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

They treated us like old friends. Great service and delicious food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

The food was delicious and the ambiance amazing. We will return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Food was awesome and service was terrific. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu. The ambience was warm and friendly. We will definately go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

I have been going to social for a while now and was very excited to take my sister there for her first time. The food was out of this world, delicious and well presented.

Our waiter on the other hand is a different story. Several times throughout the night we had to ask a different server, the hostess and the people delivering water for assistance. She was very cold towards us and I stead of seeing if we wanted dessert after our meal we watched her do a shot at one table and share wine at another. Extremely frustrating when all you would like is a dessert menu. It also took more than 10 minutes for her to come with the machine to pay, we ended up asking the hostess walking by.

It's really left a sour taste in my mouth because I was so excited to take my sister there. If it wasn't for the food I wouldn't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Went to Social about one month ago for the first time. I had heard about the place before and wanted to try it out. I was very empressed with the ambiance, the food, the service, the dj.
Pleasantly surprised that the girl who served us spoke french.
We asked for wine suggestions (red and light tasting wine) and she knew exactly what to recommend !
We had the tartare and the charcuterie plate. It was awesome !

We went back for a second time last Friday to celebrate one of my 2 daughter's birthday. We decided to go again with the tartare and charcuterie plate. I was a bit disappointed with the tartare, looked like hamburger meat! It was tasty but not as good as our first time.

The girl that served us also spoke a little bit of french and I was pleased by her making the effort. A bit disappointed on her knowledge of the wine list. Again we asked for her suggestion to recommend a light red wine. She didn't seem to know what to tell us, hesitating, her choice was disappointing.
My daugher had the steak and fries, one word for the steak : WOW! It melted in your mouth and the side garlic sauce for the fries was awesome !
My other daughter had the lamb which was very tasty and tender.
And I almost forgot the warm raisin bread !!!! It's to die for!!!!

The Social is a bit pricy (especialy the wine list) we went with the glass 20$ per 8 oz, because the bottle starts at around 70 $ and up.

It's a great place to go to for a special occasion.
We will go back for sure ;)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2017

I just love this place, one of my constant Ottawa faves. I had to go and test out the new chef and loved everything from our amazing waiter, to the food, gorgeous ambiance...no no complaints.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 7, 2017

My only complaint was with the service. There was no problem with the ordering of the food but we were engaged in a conversation between friends who hadn't seen each other for some time and were interrupted every five minutes with did we want this? Did we have enoigh bread? How were the first bites? Etc. And it wasn't the aame person but at least three different people. And I was trying to send off, politely, please leave is alone vibes. The table needs to be "read" better. Otherwise the occasion loses some of its enjoyment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 6, 2017

Great - booked a table for 13 only 10 mins before arriving. Couldn't have been more accommodating, seated our large table with minimal fuss quickly after we arrived. Both the food and the service were very good, everyone had an enjoyable evening. I would definitely return should I visit Ottawa again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

A few of us arrived early and they seated us right away. Server was courteous and knowledgeable. Service was quick without rushing us, server was around but didn’t hover. Food was excellent as were the drinks. They didn’t rush us out the door. We stayed for over two hours. Ambiance was good. Music wasn’t too loud as to impede conversation. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 4, 2017

I selected Social to impress a visitor. It is an impressive space but almost empty for Saturday lunch. Good service. I ordered a warm beet salad. Beets were not warm and rest of salad tasteless. It seemed not to have any dressing. Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 26, 2017

Excellent spot for a birthday. Ambiance was great! Quiet enough to have conversations as well.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16

Tweets by Social - Ottawa