About Social Eatery & Bar

1219 First Street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

“Social Eatery & Bar offers unforgettable Italian-American comfort food in a unique indoor/outdoor setting with an exceptional style that is refined yet casual and invites spontaneity. Old World charm kisses New World sophistication. Eat. Drink. Socialize.”

OUR CONCEPT:

Social Eatery & Bar takes an inventive and original approach to traditional Italian-American comfort food that emphasizes the use of fresh-made and local ingredients.

For generations, Italian food has been amongst the most popular, if not the most popular, food in America. Today, those who dine at fine restaurants of every type continue to enjoy classic cuisine, and still demand creativity from the chef. Yet there is a new dynamic, an almost primal yearning for food that is healthy, fresh, local, delicious and fun.

Social Eatery & Bar hopes to combine our love for classic Italian comfort food with our desire for fresh and local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
US 41 & 1st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 444-7072

Website:
http://www.socialonfirst.com/

Catering:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is offered

Private Party Facilities:
Social Eatery & Bar offers a spectacularly unique and varied array of indoor and outdoor settings for you and your party to eat, drink and socialize.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 9413482781x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Social Eatery & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Tampa / Central Florida West
Outdoor Dining
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

great for outdoor dining (103)
fit for foodies (57)
neighborhood gem (55)
See All
good for groups (51)
hot spot (46)
vibrant bar scene (38)
special occasion (30)
romantic (29)
late-night find (26)
great for lunch (17)
notable wine list (16)
great for brunch (13)
kid-friendly (10)
scenic view (9)
Sort By:
Newest
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was very good . We are never disap ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good . We are never disappointed there. Wine selection , beer and mixed drinks are all super. Our waitress was so sweet and never pushy and very accommodating.

food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza was great, mac and cheese was awes ...

Dined 6 days ago

Pizza was great, mac and cheese was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant

vip
Dined 6 days ago

As always, our meal was exemplary, the service was perfect and the overall experience fabulous! A great downtown Sarasota restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The lamb meatballs were awful, which was ...

Dined 6 days ago

The lamb meatballs were awful, which was a surprise, as I had them before. The Volcano Beef was salty.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Social is an easy venue pre-theater (for ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Social is an easy venue pre-theater (for Florida Studio Theater). Dependable, good food. Nothing exceptional, but always OK.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely evening

Dined on May 14, 2016

We took out of town friends there for dinner and they loved it. The food was excellent as was the service. We were able to split a entree which was just right for my wife and I. The manager came by at the end of the meal to ask if everything was OK. I highly recommend the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food terrific, service excellent and the ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food terrific, service excellent and the ambience outstanding ! Can't wait to go back !!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good as usual-but the pizza was disappointing

Dined on May 11, 2016

We go to Social Eatery frequently when we are going to the theaters in the neighborhood. The food and service are always very good to excellent. On this particular evening, my wife ordered a pizza and was disappointed. It not only was unlike other dishes offered by the restaurant, but was actually somewhat tasteless. So be careful of the pizza, but everything else was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service1

Terrible service, slow and uncaring. Fo ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Terrible service, slow and uncaring. Food good but not good enough to overcome such a poor showing by the waiter. Lovely ambiance but there are much better options all over SRQ.

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Fun night but bar service slow

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food great but bar service slow. Only one person trying to do two peoples work ! The restrooms are crazy, a long wait outside the kitchen door, bad planning !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food great ambiance

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fun dining spot good for groups and to take people from out of town. The space is very pretty and modern, has a great fire place in the back to gather for casual cocktails. I would recommend the kale caesar salad and the pretzel dusted calamari. Also the shrimp scampi was delicious. We also ordered the meatballs but I would skip that it was nothing special. Overall had a great mea, service was lovely i would recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Was referred by a friend / restaurant owner, which should tell you something. Classy space and very young, which we like. Food is a great value all things considered. We will return

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Outdoor dining at its best!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The create your own Bloody Mary bar for the Saturday brunch was an outstanding experience and great value. Look forward to its return next season. It is truly the best!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On a very busy evening, our server was w ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

On a very busy evening, our server was without fault. An organized, "on top "professional. An easy, simple menu for all sorts of dining. Great food!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the Kale Cesar salad Very crispy ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Loved the Kale Cesar salad Very crispy and fresh Doesn't get soggy like regular Cesar salad My husband and I shared the meatball parmigiana skillet which was delicious We had it with fresh bread which the waitress told us we could have gratis on request - no need to pay extra for the banquette

food4
ambience4
service4

The idea of the different Meatballs is f ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

The idea of the different Meatballs is fantastic! Super tasty! We also had the shrimp scampi and filet! Cool spot downtown!

food5
ambience5
service1
value3

The food was really very tasty but we ha ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was really very tasty but we had to wait a really long time to get served, even after 2 reminders that we had theater tickets. Our drink order was also quite late in coming

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Buzzy place. Great pizza

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great casual restaurant. Good service, nice atmosphere. Lovely food. Would recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4

This place has a fun, modern vibe. Cockt ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

This place has a fun, modern vibe. Cocktails are excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

Dined on April 27, 2016

The fox and service were so great, we returned the following night!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our first time at Social's and we had a ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Our first time at Social's and we had a good meal and the service was attentive.Good options for small plates The meatballs were delicious. Don't be in a hurry if you eat here- come and relax and enjoy the food and service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service2
value5

Not good

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Food sub par. My tuna tartar starter ( $17) had almost no tuna. Chicken marsala way too thick & not much taste. Drinks quite small & not made as ordered.

food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Disappointing

Dined on April 13, 2016

This was our third visit. The first two visits were wonderful with great service, great food and great ambiance; especially the outdoor dining. This visit was marred by poor service. Our waiter was very non-nonchalant. When asked for a recommendation on a wine we were told he didn't drink and therefore was unable to recommend a wine. A better educated server might have told us what other diners liked or brought someone over who might be able to make a recommendation. He seemed more interested in talking about himself. When he came to check on how the salads were one diner mentioned how her salad had way to much dressing when she had asked for very light on the dressing. There was no concern whatever. She was merely told "Well I asked for light dressing" and then walked away. At the end of the meal we all agreed that the food didn't seem up to par with previous visits. I'm not sure any of us will return or recommend Social.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service2

As locals, we have all been here before ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

As locals, we have all been here before and hoping for better service than what we have experienced in the past. They are well past that "opening" period where they are still working out the kinks. Yet it seems they still are addressing lengthy delays from the kitchen and sporadic service. For the price point, they really need to get this under control and kick up their service more than just a notch.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good scene

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We returned to Social with friends who took us there last year. We chose it because last time it was friendly, had a great bartender and the food was good. The bartender wasn't there but everything else was and it was great. I'll be back again for sure.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2

The dining experience overall was good. ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

The dining experience overall was good. Unfortunately our first experience was the drinks we ordered 3 out of 4 were wrong. Service was slow.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Sarasota gem!

Dined on April 7, 2016

Absolutely loved Social Eatery! We are from Toronto, Canada, our friends had heard of this restaurant, and we booked it for Thursday night last week. The service was excellent, greeted beautifully at the door, the food was delicious, great traditional Italian, penne carbonara to die for! The ambience for dinner, or for drinks has a great cool vibe. I would recommend this to every one! Lawrence

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy meeting out of town guest for a great time

Dined on April 6, 2016

Whenever someone is in town and want a fun place to be with good food and an outdoor patio for a lovely evening, I always want to go to Social.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Terribly disappointing food but great atmosphere

Dined on April 3, 2016

What a bunch of overhype on the food here. They could not even cook a chicken breast without drying it out. The grains in the quinoa salad were so fine you could not chew them - they just dispersed in your mouth and hid between your teeth before you could swallow them. But if you want to meet a date for late night drinks, that back patio cannot be a better hook-up spot. Oh well.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We when to order drinks and 3 of the 4 d ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We when to order drinks and 3 of the 4 drinks we wanted they did not have. No Jameson , no Belvedere and no Lagunitas. The atmosphere was good. Service was good. Our reservation was honored and we were seated on time. Food was good not exceptional. Place was a little load and was not full. I am not sure if we will go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Goat

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Great place for a group of friends to meet & eat. Outdoor dining, indoor dining, & a lounge area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Came for ravioli's but were out of them. ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Came for ravioli's but were out of them. Meatballs were a good substitute. Nice wine selections.

food2
ambience3
service3

We went on a recent Tuesday night. The w ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

We went on a recent Tuesday night. The waiter recommended the black ink pasta which myself and a first time guest ordered. For a starter we both ordered the beet salad. Both items were suddenly not available!! So I then ordered the Grouper which was small and over cooked. My friends pizza was nearly burnt. We decided not to order dessert as two of 5 were also not available. Very disappointed.

food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Nice place for meatballs with friends

Dined on March 19, 2016

We got a reservation here for 10 just 24 hours ahead. The ambiance was very nice. We ate outdoors and were very comfortable. It was not too noisy so we could enjoy each other's conversation. It was very conveniently located for the opera performance we'd come to town to enjoy. The parking was also excellent. They let us park there through the show. After the show, the bar was still lively. The food was fine. But the gnocchi was an odd dish. Italians would never put jalapenos in gnocchi and my husband missed that. In fact the gnocchi didn't look anything like something I'd eat. But my husband is not Italian and he enjoyed it. The tagliatelle was good and the portion was generous. Everything is alla carte though. So you can get as much or as little as you'd like. Though this meant I went without vegetables because I didn't think I'd be able to eat all the food so it wouldn't have been a good value for me. Also, the only side veggies I saw were salads which I didn't want. The service kind of fell off by the time we left. We had to wait quite a bit for our checks and my coffee was stone cold. But it was warmed up and the check was delivered well in time for us to make the show with time to spare.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food in an excellent location

Dined on March 16, 2016

Enjoyed a very good meal before the theater. Nice selection of small plates as well as full dinners with items not seen on every other menu. Polenta and salad made a full meal for me while husband enjoyed his meatball with penne and the salad that came with it. All very tasty and nice wine selection as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Food OK But Where Was The Service?

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Several menu items were unavailable. We had to beg for bread (The server does not offer it. Customer must request it) Although restaurant was mostly empty, food took a very long time to appear. No explanations given. Server was very good at disappearing for extended periods. It appears management doesn’t have operational systems in place and employees are not trained. The food was good, but the main thing I will remember was how bad the service was. I hope management reads this and acts.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Our first visit to this fabulous restaurant...the food was great (the calamari appetizer unique and wonderful and one of the best desserts we've ever had). The four of us enjoyed everything... the food, the ambiance (loved the outside patio and it is quieter out there) and most surprising for Sarasota...the service. We WILL be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Outdoor Dining

Dined on March 7, 2016

Great outdoor dining. Tables on the porch provide privacy and a great place to enjoy food and drinks with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful space, great ingredients and p ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Beautiful space, great ingredients and portion options.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointing

Dined on March 5, 2016

Unimaginative food, poor wine list. Fish was overcooked and same vegetable melée was listed and served as grilled vegetable starter and vegetable with ragout main and also served as accompaniment to the fish dishes. Guess they make one big pot fits all, not exactly the mark of a good restaurant.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.