About Social Eatery & Bar

1219 First Street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

“Social Eatery & Bar offers unforgettable Italian-American comfort food in a unique indoor/outdoor setting with an exceptional style that is refined yet casual and invites spontaneity. Old World charm kisses New World sophistication. Eat. Drink. Socialize.”

OUR CONCEPT:

Social Eatery & Bar takes an inventive and original approach to traditional Italian-American comfort food that emphasizes the use of fresh-made and local ingredients.

For generations, Italian food has been amongst the most popular, if not the most popular, food in America. Today, those who dine at fine restaurants of every type continue to enjoy classic cuisine, and still demand creativity from the chef. Yet there is a new dynamic, an almost primal yearning for food that is healthy, fresh, local, delicious and fun.

Social Eatery & Bar hopes to combine our love for classic Italian comfort food with our desire for fresh and local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
US 41 & 1st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 444-7072

Website:
http://www.socialonfirst.com/

Catering:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is offered

Private Party Facilities:
Social Eatery & Bar offers a spectacularly unique and varied array of indoor and outdoor settings for you and your party to eat, drink and socialize.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 941-348-2781x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Social Eatery & Bar, Sarasota, FL
  • Social Eatery & Bar, Sarasota, FL
  • Social Eatery & Bar, Sarasota, FL

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Social Eatery & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Modern Decor (18)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Fun (9)
Romantic (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Fireplace (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (3)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Business Meals (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Noisy!!!!! Get table outside or wear ear ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Noisy!!!!! Get table outside or wear ear plugs. Food and service are fine.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

We had a great time and since we had to ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time and since we had to leave early for Symphony, we all were sorry to not have longer to just enjoy our time and the good wine.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here before and really liked ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

We've eaten here before and really liked it. But, it's changed. No more premium cocktails (Kettle One/Grey Goose or local and IPA beers etc) Also, it took way too long for drink orders to be delivered. And, waiter didn't listen well. We had to ask, twice, for extra plates for shared salads. Most restaurants do this automatically. And, because we were going to a show our waiter said we were eligible for their pre-show 15% discount. But, when checks came discount was not included so we had to remind waiter. He brought corrected checks.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Absolutely amazing atmosphere and food! ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Absolutely amazing atmosphere and food! The staff was very knowledgeable and professional, I will definitely be back over and over again!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gathered there for pre-theatre show with ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Gathered there for pre-theatre show with six other friends. The fish was outstanding and the other meals enjoyable as well. Very pleased that the wait staff was attentive to the fact that we had a show to catch. I will recommend Social to other friends

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Meatballs are their specialty and they d ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Meatballs are their specialty and they didn't disappoint! The lamb meatballs were fabulous. Pizza was also good. If you get there before 7 take advantage of their happy hour two for $15.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When the weather is good, there's no pla ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 3, 2017

When the weather is good, there's no place in town that can match Social's outside dining and lounging areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Service from the time we sat down until ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service from the time we sat down until drinks ordered was slow after which we asked for a few minutes to consider what to order. That few minutes turned into at least 10 after which I got up to find our server. I ordered the classic meatballs with pasta! Lots of meatballs - good! Sauce over cooked. Pasta ok. Prices seemed high. Very convenient to Florida Studio Theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Went for New Years Eve and was really di ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years Eve and was really disappointed. Had never been. The restaurant design was great, aesthetically it was very hip; but food was extremely overpriced for the quality. We should have gone to a restaurant that we already knew and come here for drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

One of the worst meals I've ever had! fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of the worst meals I've ever had! food came up cold, we sent it back, it came back cold again! the potatoes au gratin were cold and like rubber. The vegetables were rock hard. The waitress was very apologetic but the manager not so much. This was a set meal on New Years Eve so they knew in advance what they had to book do there was no excuse for the appalling food they served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Very nice!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not the best experience this time. The ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Not the best experience this time. The kitchen was backed up, the food was either cold or over cooked. The waiter tried his best to accommodate. Overall not our best experience at Social Eatery especially since we chose this location for a Birthday Dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Nice restaurant, I made reservations and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Nice restaurant, I made reservations and unfortunately were seated outside on the coolest night thus far. Had I known we were outside, I would have found a different venue and tried this place another time when it is warmer outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Farm fresh food. Good menu. Good variety ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Farm fresh food. Good menu. Good variety....great wine list and creative designer drinks!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Kitchen more backed up than normal. Need ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Kitchen more backed up than normal. Need another wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

They take great pride in their menu and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

They take great pride in their menu and the food they serve.

They were very gracious about my food allergy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our evening at social eatery and bar wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our evening at social eatery and bar was less than ideal. The service was very slow. We waited a very long time to get our drinks. We did order appetizers but the main one we wanted they were out of. My brother tried to order a drink and they were out of two of his first choices. The waiter was also unaware of what was available so he was going back and forth a lot. We ordered our entrees and everything seemed fine. After sitting for about 30-40 minutes after ordering our meals the waiter informed me that they were out of the filet and could I choose something else. There were no other steak options so I chose to just go without an entree. I assumed and asked about the other entrees being ready. I didn't want the rest of the meals to get cold. Another 10-15 minutes went by before the rest of the food came out and surprisingly they had made a mistake and there was a filet left. We had a 7:00 seating which in my opinion is a reasonable time for dinner. It's a little early to be running out of so many things. The restaurant stated in the menu about it being a relaxed place and to not rush through the dinner but the environment we experienced was not pleasant. The lack of organization and communication really showed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Service is a serious issue here. My seco ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Service is a serious issue here. My second time here and the first was ok but thus visit was nearly 2 hours of delays. Ordered a couple of appetizers. The calamari and volcano ( a large meatball with wise noodles draping the sides and a tasty Boulanese sauce. Also a pretzel dusted fried calamari. Both were pretty good. That was the first hour; and getting the entrees was as frustrating as the traffic that night. Bottom line the fillet was a far cry over cooked from medium rare and the half chicken special wasn't very special at all. The dark meat was ok but the breast was dry and overdone. Had a better roast chicken at the Publix. The server. (Amber) was nice but apologizing often. I know they are good at meatballs and pizza; I will know better if I return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food was cold service was bad. Place is ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was cold service was bad. Place is cute

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We have been to Social at least 5 previo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We have been to Social at least 5 previous times. The food is wonderful and usually the service is excellent but not this time. Our waiter wrote down an incorrect dish and could not be found. Since we had requested two separate checks for three people, when we complained, we were given two complementary cocktail tickets for our next visit. Since the individual who received the wrong order does not drink, this was not much of an apology. Why not remove the appetizer from the bill for the individual who received the wrong order. This server need more training. If we had not been to the restaurant before and liked it, we would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

One of our favorite spots with attentive ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

One of our favorite spots with attentive staff, good food and drink!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the attitude of all of the st ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We enjoyed the attitude of all of the staff, and, in particular, Amber made our experience the best that it could be.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great evening at this place. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a great evening at this place. They have indoor, transition, and patio dining. Delicious food, great service, and modern inviting decor

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Side salad very nice...however the pizza ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Side salad very nice...however the pizzas were only half cooked..very disappointing ..

we were with friends so complaining was not an option without spoiling the evening

have been many times before..as we live locally..and have always been satisfied

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Outside seating is lovely at this time o ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Outside seating is lovely at this time of year! We went of the spur-of-the-moment before the theatre. We were there at Happy Hour, which made our purchase a bargain. Food was good; service was excellent. We had a great time and look forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent location, in the heart of Sara ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent location, in the heart of Sarasota,s theatre district. Food is eclectic and wonderful. Service also excellent. If dining on the patio be aware the awning must fully open or close before it functions properly.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We keep giving Social a try because its ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We keep giving Social a try because its is so convenient to Florida Studio Theater, but it always disappoints. Wine by the glass is a half-pour at full pour prices and the selection is mediocre. The food is never better than OK. Grouper was flavorless. Chicken was flavorless. Kale was not real fresh. Not anything more to say!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

great casual, hip atmosphere - varied , ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

great casual, hip atmosphere - varied , modern menu - healthy and decadent choices both.

would go back again - love the vibe

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, , Casual, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every restaurant should have a "Val". S ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Every restaurant should have a "Val". She was our waitstaff. We requested her because we had her the first time and is excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Val, our server, was magnificent, friend ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Val, our server, was magnificent, friendly and professional, great suggestions, timed our meals perfectly so we could make the FST show on time! Presentation was lovely, our selections were delicious! It was an excellent dining experience ! Thanks, Social!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite Sarasota restaurant. They ha ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My favorite Sarasota restaurant. They have tremendous calamari, and the best Wild Mushroom Pizza I've had. The salads are amazing as are the entrees. It's a little noisy, but a fun place.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Sarasota. It' ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Sarasota. It's always our first choice. The wait staff is fabulous, the food scrumptious and the ambiance fun and comfortable. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kale ceasar salad was delicious!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Kale ceasar salad was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had the perfect server, table we sat ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had the perfect server, table we sat at was perfect.

The pizzza and drinks are always the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I don't know if there was a chef change, ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I don't know if there was a chef change, but the food quality and prep was not as good as last year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We had a very enjoyable experience. Menu ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had a very enjoyable experience. Menu has some nice options, the food was good and the atmosphere is very cool. Easy to recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server was great just too many table ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our server was great just too many tables for one person.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, , Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great spot for pre-theater dining (among ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great spot for pre-theater dining (among other things). Outside space is gorgeous. Inside space is modern with a New York feel. Good food and service round out the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was outstanding. The food, se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This place was outstanding. The food, service, and ambiance were much different that I was use to. I would go back when traveling through again. I found the dishes to be creative and tasty, and the drinks to be fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A not overly creative menu, but somethin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A not overly creative menu, but something for everyone. Has a nice vibe, servers were very attentive. Can eat light or full meal, decent cocktail list - not a lot of wines by the glass, outdoor seating with fire pit.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.