About Social Eatery & Bar

1219 First Street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

“Social Eatery & Bar offers unforgettable Italian-American comfort food in a unique indoor/outdoor setting with an exceptional style that is refined yet casual and invites spontaneity. Old World charm kisses New World sophistication. Eat. Drink. Socialize.”

OUR CONCEPT:

Social Eatery & Bar takes an inventive and original approach to traditional Italian-American comfort food that emphasizes the use of fresh-made and local ingredients.

For generations, Italian food has been amongst the most popular, if not the most popular, food in America. Today, those who dine at fine restaurants of every type continue to enjoy classic cuisine, and still demand creativity from the chef. Yet there is a new dynamic, an almost primal yearning for food that is healthy, fresh, local, delicious and fun.

Social Eatery & Bar hopes to combine our love for classic Italian comfort food with our desire for fresh and local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
US 41 & 1st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 444-7072

Website:
http://www.socialonfirst.com/

Catering:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is offered

Private Party Facilities:
Social Eatery & Bar offers a spectacularly unique and varied array of indoor and outdoor settings for you and your party to eat, drink and socialize.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 941-348-2781x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Social Eatery & Bar
  • Social Eatery & Bar
  • Social Eatery & Bar
Social Eatery & Bar
Social Eatery & Bar
Social Eatery & Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Social Eatery & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Tampa / Central Florida West
Outdoor Dining
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

great for outdoor dining (50)
fit for foodies (34)
neighborhood gem (31)
See All
good for groups (30)
vibrant bar scene (27)
hot spot (23)
special occasion (23)
late-night find (16)
romantic (16)
great for lunch (10)
notable wine list (10)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
528 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite spots in downtown Sa ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of our favorite spots in downtown Sarasota. Excellent small plates. The meatballs are delicious! Great craft cocktails. When the weather is cooler, the back patio is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. Had reservations da ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very disappointing. Had reservations days in advance but when we arrived, they said only tables available were outside. It was oppesssively hot & humid outside and still wet from recent showers. I told them I did not want to sit outside but was told that they " had to accommodate a large group that " might" take up all the indoor space.... We grudgingly agreed to sit outside, feeling we had no other choice (too late to find another place to eat).

After 15-20 minutes of sitting outside (dripping from the humidity) and several discussions with the waiter and manager, they suddenly " found" a table for us inside. By the way, there were several empty tables inside and I never saw the "large group."

Menu was far more appealing than the actual food, which was overpriced for what it was. No bread was ever offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Menu was seasonal, choices pasta and sea ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Menu was seasonal, choices pasta and seafood, wood-fired pizzas. All very good. The open air design made for uncomfortably warm dining, even "inside", although it was, to be fair, July in Florida. Also, the noise level was such that you really cannot dine here for quiet conversation. The tables are very close and there are no plants, partitions, etc. to dampen noise. The women across from me at the next table was so loud I could hear her every word, even over that of my dining companion. Hence, I suppose, the "social" name. Good for groups, though.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

There's nothing negative I can say about ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

There's nothing negative I can say about this place. Exceeded in every way. Even the coffee was delicious. We'll definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were introduced to Social by friends ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were introduced to Social by friends and it was a find. I love the outdoor seating area and look forward to outdoor dining this fall and winter. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

SOCIAL is my favorite "go to" spot for e ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

SOCIAL is my favorite "go to" spot for excellent food in a fun, unique downtown environment. Young staff are energetic, friendly and accommodating. Menu features great variety along with daily specials. I always enjoy introducing SOCIAL to friends who have not been there - they always thank me and say "I'll be back!" The drink selection is inventive - I love the vanilla bean lemon drop martini. Be sure to try the calamari appetizer - best in town!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was excellent. Food this time an ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was excellent. Food this time and last time, was too salty (chicken dish) and too spicy (meatballs) and the salad dressing had an extreme amount of vinegar. Our first visit was very good when we ordered a cheese and dried meat platter, and pizza.

Ambiance is very nice, providing both indoor and outdoor seating.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoy Social and are frequent guest. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoy Social and are frequent guest. The service is outstanding and the food is excellent. We love the indoor and outdoor atmosphere and also enjoy the outdoor bar with modern fire pits. I look forward to the Lamb meatballs on our next visit. My grouper was perfect and recommend it as well. They have talented bartenders as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times in the past. This time service was slow even though the restaurant was not that busy. The cheese and meat platter was fair with cheeses that were very bland. We had to ask for the fig spread that normally comes with it. Our server was very slow and not very attentive. This used to be one of our go to restaurants prior to theater but will look for other options now

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Always good, but great if going to theat ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always good, but great if going to theater.

Calamari the BEST

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food taste and presentation was great. L ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food taste and presentation was great. Loved that there are small and shared plates,

gives lots of options to try more on the menu.

Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love Social but the noise level is no ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We love Social but the noise level is not good when you are a couple sitting next to a group.

Common complaint.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We look forward to dinner at Social Eate ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We look forward to dinner at Social Eatery whenever we attend Florida Studio Theatre. It is a great combo which we are delighted to recommend.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service, ambiance and location are ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food, service, ambiance and location are all amazing!

Incredible pizza and food all around! Service and valet were impeccable! Outdoor cooling fans allow for enjoyable outdoor dining on warm FL summer evenings! A true gem!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very average ho hum, one of the drinks w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very average ho hum, one of the drinks was awful. Noisy with A/C machine next to table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The food and drinks are not only very go ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food and drinks are not only very good but reasonable as well. They Have the best home made chips in town and the cuteist waitresses as well.

One can eat inside with air conditioning, outside but in the shade and in the back area by a fire pit.

All in all one of the niceist places for casual dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice neighborhood gem very close to down ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice neighborhood gem very close to downtown. Interesting cocktails and good beer/wine/spirits selection. Great service and excellent food! Bruschetta was amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent even though some of t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was excellent even though some of the menu items weren't available because of a busy w/e. I would think that they would have planned ahead for a holiday w/e.

Cocktails were creative and delicious. I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was very good . We are never disap ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was very good . We are never disappointed there. Wine selection , beer and mixed drinks are all super. Our waitress was so sweet and never pushy and very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pizza was great, mac and cheese was awes ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Pizza was great, mac and cheese was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

As always, our meal was exemplary, the service was perfect and the overall experience fabulous! A great downtown Sarasota restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lamb meatballs were awful, which was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The lamb meatballs were awful, which was a surprise, as I had them before. The Volcano Beef was salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Social is an easy venue pre-theater (for ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Social is an easy venue pre-theater (for Florida Studio Theater). Dependable, good food. Nothing exceptional, but always OK.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lovely evening

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We took out of town friends there for dinner and they loved it. The food was excellent as was the service. We were able to split a entree which was just right for my wife and I. The manager came by at the end of the meal to ask if everything was OK. I highly recommend the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food terrific, service excellent and the ...

 
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food terrific, service excellent and the ambience outstanding ! Can't wait to go back !!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good as usual-but the pizza was disappointing

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We go to Social Eatery frequently when we are going to the theaters in the neighborhood. The food and service are always very good to excellent. On this particular evening, my wife ordered a pizza and was disappointed. It not only was unlike other dishes offered by the restaurant, but was actually somewhat tasteless. So be careful of the pizza, but everything else was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible service, slow and uncaring. Fo ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Terrible service, slow and uncaring. Food good but not good enough to overcome such a poor showing by the waiter. Lovely ambiance but there are much better options all over SRQ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Fun night but bar service slow

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food great but bar service slow. Only one person trying to do two peoples work !

The restrooms are crazy, a long wait outside the kitchen door, bad planning !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Delicious food great ambiance

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Fun dining spot good for groups and to take people from out of town. The space is very pretty and modern, has a great fire place in the back to gather for casual cocktails. I would recommend the kale caesar salad and the pretzel dusted calamari. Also the shrimp scampi was delicious. We also ordered the meatballs but I would skip that it was nothing special. Overall had a great mea, service was lovely i would recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great downtown restaurant

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Was referred by a friend / restaurant owner, which should tell you something. Classy space and very young, which we like. Food is a great value all things considered. We will return

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor dining at its best!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The create your own Bloody Mary bar for the Saturday brunch was an outstanding experience and great value. Look forward to its return next season.

It is truly the best!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

On a very busy evening, our server was w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

On a very busy evening, our server was without fault. An organized, "on top "professional. An easy, simple menu for all sorts of dining. Great food!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Kale Cesar salad Very crispy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Loved the Kale Cesar salad Very crispy and fresh Doesn't get soggy like regular Cesar salad

My husband and I shared the meatball parmigiana skillet which was delicious We had it with fresh bread which the waitress told us we could have gratis on request - no need to pay extra for the banquette

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The idea of the different Meatballs is f ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

The idea of the different Meatballs is fantastic! Super tasty! We also had the shrimp scampi and filet! Cool spot downtown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was really very tasty but we ha ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was really very tasty but we had to wait a really long time to get served, even after 2 reminders that we had theater tickets. Our drink order was also quite late in coming

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Buzzy place. Great pizza

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great casual restaurant. Good service, nice atmosphere. Lovely food. Would recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place has a fun, modern vibe. Cockt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

This place has a fun, modern vibe. Cocktails are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The fox and service were so great, we returned the following night!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time at Social's and we had a ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Our first time at Social's and we had a good meal and the service was attentive.Good options for small plates The meatballs were delicious. Don't be in a hurry if you eat here- come and relax and enjoy the food and service.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not good

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food sub par. My tuna tartar starter ( $17) had almost no tuna. Chicken marsala way too thick & not much taste. Drinks quite small & not made as ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.