About Social Eatery & Bar

1219 First Street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

“Social Eatery & Bar offers unforgettable Italian-American comfort food in a unique indoor/outdoor setting with an exceptional style that is refined yet casual and invites spontaneity. Old World charm kisses New World sophistication. Eat. Drink. Socialize.”

OUR CONCEPT:

Social Eatery & Bar takes an inventive and original approach to traditional Italian-American comfort food that emphasizes the use of fresh-made and local ingredients.

For generations, Italian food has been amongst the most popular, if not the most popular, food in America. Today, those who dine at fine restaurants of every type continue to enjoy classic cuisine, and still demand creativity from the chef. Yet there is a new dynamic, an almost primal yearning for food that is healthy, fresh, local, delicious and fun.

Social Eatery & Bar hopes to combine our love for classic Italian comfort food with our desire for fresh and local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
US 41 & 1st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 444-7072

Website:
http://www.socialonfirst.com/

Catering:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is offered

Private Party Facilities:
Social Eatery & Bar offers a spectacularly unique and varied array of indoor and outdoor settings for you and your party to eat, drink and socialize.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 941-348-2781x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Social Eatery & Bar
  • Social Eatery & Bar
  • Social Eatery & Bar
Social Eatery & Bar
Social Eatery & Bar
Social Eatery & Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Social Eatery & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Tampa / Central Florida West
Outdoor Dining
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Romantic (12)
Late-night Find (7)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite Sarasota restaurants ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite Sarasota restaurants. Great food, great service and great atmosphere!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Social was recommended to us by friends, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Social was recommended to us by friends, and we went on Sunday evening. We had a lovely time and delicious food while celebrating our anniversary. Dessert was brought to us with a "Happy Anniversary" sign spelled out. Our server was attentive and provided superior service. Will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed some great craft cocktails and d ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Enjoyed some great craft cocktails and delicious appetizers, followed by dinner. The staff did not rush us to order everything at once, so we were able to take our time dining with our friends. There was hardly anyone there when we arrived for our 6:30 reservations, but the place was packed when we left at 10. The restaurant is a combination of outside and open air dining. We were originally seated in the outside dining area, but generously allowed to move into the inside open air dining section to stay cooler. Overall fun night, fantastic food, and superb service! Definitely going back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Social was a great restaurant find!! Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Social was a great restaurant find!!

The food was fabulous....chicken Parmesan meatballs were delicious, pizza was great (crust was a little droopy), the special pork chop of the night was cooked to perfection.

Overall a great dinner and excellent service by April!! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good attentive service and the food was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good attentive service and the food was very good. Unique venue with both interior and exterior seating including an exterior bar with ample seating. Will definitely go again but would recommend reservations as this is a popular venue.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good...as expected! Always dependable. A ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good...as expected! Always dependable. A great neighborhood find.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been here about a dozen times si ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been here about a dozen times since it opened. A great pre-theatre spot.

And, the nicest part it is frequented my young folks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for casual meal near theater ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place for casual meal near theaters and opera house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a cool vibe, beautiful bar area, in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Such a cool vibe, beautiful bar area, indoor/outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We love this restaurant and dine here wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We love this restaurant and dine here with friends and relatives as often as we are in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Atmosphere and fo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Atmosphere and food quality are top.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very busy and very noisy. Fish special v ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very busy and very noisy. Fish special very good. Chicken Parmesan meatballs mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

fun place Pizzas were especially good se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

fun place Pizzas were especially good

server got us out on time as we were trying to attend a show at nearby Florida Studio theatre

Nice ambiance

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous meal, wonderful ambiance and am ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fabulous meal, wonderful ambiance and amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

the only problem is the menu is the same ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

the only problem is the menu is the same, for the past 3 yrs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

No parking. I was really really put off ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

No parking. I was really really put off with the Valet Only parking when there was an open parking lot chained off next to the restaurant. The valet gave suggestions on where to park, but added "but they tow"... How is this a recommendation. The menu for food and drink were pretentious and not a great value for the portion size. Server only came by a few times to check on us. Poor first time experience and I don't think I will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

One of our favorite spots in downtown Sa ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of our favorite spots in downtown Sarasota. Excellent small plates. The meatballs are delicious! Great craft cocktails. When the weather is cooler, the back patio is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. Had reservations da ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very disappointing. Had reservations days in advance but when we arrived, they said only tables available were outside. It was oppesssively hot & humid outside and still wet from recent showers. I told them I did not want to sit outside but was told that they " had to accommodate a large group that " might" take up all the indoor space.... We grudgingly agreed to sit outside, feeling we had no other choice (too late to find another place to eat).

After 15-20 minutes of sitting outside (dripping from the humidity) and several discussions with the waiter and manager, they suddenly " found" a table for us inside. By the way, there were several empty tables inside and I never saw the "large group."

Menu was far more appealing than the actual food, which was overpriced for what it was. No bread was ever offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Menu was seasonal, choices pasta and sea ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Menu was seasonal, choices pasta and seafood, wood-fired pizzas. All very good. The open air design made for uncomfortably warm dining, even "inside", although it was, to be fair, July in Florida. Also, the noise level was such that you really cannot dine here for quiet conversation. The tables are very close and there are no plants, partitions, etc. to dampen noise. The women across from me at the next table was so loud I could hear her every word, even over that of my dining companion. Hence, I suppose, the "social" name. Good for groups, though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

There's nothing negative I can say about ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

There's nothing negative I can say about this place. Exceeded in every way. Even the coffee was delicious. We'll definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were introduced to Social by friends ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were introduced to Social by friends and it was a find. I love the outdoor seating area and look forward to outdoor dining this fall and winter. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

SOCIAL is my favorite "go to" spot for e ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

SOCIAL is my favorite "go to" spot for excellent food in a fun, unique downtown environment. Young staff are energetic, friendly and accommodating. Menu features great variety along with daily specials. I always enjoy introducing SOCIAL to friends who have not been there - they always thank me and say "I'll be back!" The drink selection is inventive - I love the vanilla bean lemon drop martini. Be sure to try the calamari appetizer - best in town!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was excellent. Food this time an ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was excellent. Food this time and last time, was too salty (chicken dish) and too spicy (meatballs) and the salad dressing had an extreme amount of vinegar. Our first visit was very good when we ordered a cheese and dried meat platter, and pizza.

Ambiance is very nice, providing both indoor and outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoy Social and are frequent guest. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoy Social and are frequent guest. The service is outstanding and the food is excellent. We love the indoor and outdoor atmosphere and also enjoy the outdoor bar with modern fire pits. I look forward to the Lamb meatballs on our next visit. My grouper was perfect and recommend it as well. They have talented bartenders as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times in the past. This time service was slow even though the restaurant was not that busy. The cheese and meat platter was fair with cheeses that were very bland. We had to ask for the fig spread that normally comes with it. Our server was very slow and not very attentive. This used to be one of our go to restaurants prior to theater but will look for other options now

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Always good, but great if going to theat ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always good, but great if going to theater.

Calamari the BEST

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food taste and presentation was great. L ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food taste and presentation was great. Loved that there are small and shared plates,

gives lots of options to try more on the menu.

Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love Social but the noise level is no ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We love Social but the noise level is not good when you are a couple sitting next to a group.

Common complaint.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We look forward to dinner at Social Eate ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We look forward to dinner at Social Eatery whenever we attend Florida Studio Theatre. It is a great combo which we are delighted to recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service, ambiance and location are ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food, service, ambiance and location are all amazing!

Incredible pizza and food all around! Service and valet were impeccable! Outdoor cooling fans allow for enjoyable outdoor dining on warm FL summer evenings! A true gem!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very average ho hum, one of the drinks w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very average ho hum, one of the drinks was awful. Noisy with A/C machine next to table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The food and drinks are not only very go ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food and drinks are not only very good but reasonable as well. They Have the best home made chips in town and the cuteist waitresses as well.

One can eat inside with air conditioning, outside but in the shade and in the back area by a fire pit.

All in all one of the niceist places for casual dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice neighborhood gem very close to down ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Nice neighborhood gem very close to downtown. Interesting cocktails and good beer/wine/spirits selection. Great service and excellent food! Bruschetta was amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent even though some of t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was excellent even though some of the menu items weren't available because of a busy w/e. I would think that they would have planned ahead for a holiday w/e.

Cocktails were creative and delicious. I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was very good . We are never disap ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was very good . We are never disappointed there. Wine selection , beer and mixed drinks are all super. Our waitress was so sweet and never pushy and very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pizza was great, mac and cheese was awes ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Pizza was great, mac and cheese was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

As always, our meal was exemplary, the service was perfect and the overall experience fabulous! A great downtown Sarasota restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lamb meatballs were awful, which was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The lamb meatballs were awful, which was a surprise, as I had them before. The Volcano Beef was salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Social is an easy venue pre-theater (for ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Social is an easy venue pre-theater (for Florida Studio Theater). Dependable, good food. Nothing exceptional, but always OK.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Lovely evening

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We took out of town friends there for dinner and they loved it. The food was excellent as was the service. We were able to split a entree which was just right for my wife and I. The manager came by at the end of the meal to ask if everything was OK. I highly recommend the place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.