About Social Eatery & Bar

1219 First Street
Sarasota, FL 34236
View Larger Map

“Social Eatery & Bar offers unforgettable Italian-American comfort food in a unique indoor/outdoor setting with an exceptional style that is refined yet casual and invites spontaneity. Old World charm kisses New World sophistication. Eat. Drink. Socialize.”

OUR CONCEPT:

Social Eatery & Bar takes an inventive and original approach to traditional Italian-American comfort food that emphasizes the use of fresh-made and local ingredients.

For generations, Italian food has been amongst the most popular, if not the most popular, food in America. Today, those who dine at fine restaurants of every type continue to enjoy classic cuisine, and still demand creativity from the chef. Yet there is a new dynamic, an almost primal yearning for food that is healthy, fresh, local, delicious and fun.

Social Eatery & Bar hopes to combine our love for classic Italian comfort food with our desire for fresh and local ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5pm - 11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm - 12am

Cross Street:
US 41 & 1st Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 444-7072

Website:
http://www.socialonfirst.com/

Catering:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Parking Details:
Complementary Valet is offered

Private Party Facilities:
Social Eatery & Bar offers a spectacularly unique and varied array of indoor and outdoor settings for you and your party to eat, drink and socialize.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 941-348-2781x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For details contact: events@socialonfirst.com

Restaurant Photos

  • Social Eatery & Bar, Sarasota, FL
  • Social Eatery & Bar, Sarasota, FL
  • Social Eatery & Bar, Sarasota, FL
Social Eatery & Bar, Sarasota, FL
Social Eatery & Bar, Sarasota, FL
Social Eatery & Bar, Sarasota, FL

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Pre-Fixed Menu $100 with Champagne add on packages.
3 Seatings at 5:00, 7:30 and 10:00pm.
Ball Drop, Champagne Toast and Party Favors

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Social Eatery & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Romantic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fireplace (5)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
People Watching (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Val, our server, was magnificent, friend ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Val, our server, was magnificent, friendly and professional, great suggestions, timed our meals perfectly so we could make the FST show on time! Presentation was lovely, our selections were delicious! It was an excellent dining experience ! Thanks, Social!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite Sarasota restaurant. They ha ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My favorite Sarasota restaurant. They have tremendous calamari, and the best Wild Mushroom Pizza I've had. The salads are amazing as are the entrees. It's a little noisy, but a fun place.

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Sarasota. It' ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Sarasota. It's always our first choice. The wait staff is fabulous, the food scrumptious and the ambiance fun and comfortable. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kale ceasar salad was delicious!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Kale ceasar salad was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had the perfect server, table we sat ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had the perfect server, table we sat at was perfect.

The pizzza and drinks are always the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I don't know if there was a chef change, ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I don't know if there was a chef change, but the food quality and prep was not as good as last year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We had a very enjoyable experience. Menu ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had a very enjoyable experience. Menu has some nice options, the food was good and the atmosphere is very cool. Easy to recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server was great just too many table ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our server was great just too many tables for one person.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great spot for pre-theater dining (among ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great spot for pre-theater dining (among other things). Outside space is gorgeous. Inside space is modern with a New York feel. Good food and service round out the experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A not overly creative menu, but somethin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A not overly creative menu, but something for everyone. Has a nice vibe, servers were very attentive. Can eat light or full meal, decent cocktail list - not a lot of wines by the glass, outdoor seating with fire pit.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been to Sarasota quite a few times ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We've been to Sarasota quite a few times. Found this gem online. Super-cool vibe. I think it would've been better if the area wasn't abandoned-looking (due to construction).

Food was great. Server was gods at the beginning of the night, then completely MIA. Which is weird, because it was dead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I like Social! It usually is very crowde ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I like Social! It usually is very crowded and vibrant. It was very quiet last night. There is construction going on all around it so maybe it's affecting the restaurant. One minor thing

my lamb meatballs came out warm not hot, I like my hot food to be hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

There were seats outside for 4 - we were ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

There were seats outside for 4 - we were a party of 3 - they refused to sit us outside even though there were seats available for over 2 hours --- instead we were seated inside in a wind tunnel with literally 8 fans blowing on us. They would not adjust the fans. They recommend a Sauvignon blanc that tasted like cheap box wine. It was awful. They refused to take it off the bill and 4 times the waitress insisted on us taking it home because "she was not going to pay for it " -we did not take it and still paid for it and left her a good tip despite the fact that she was simply unprofessional and dumb. The food was actually good but the place has gone downhill. I wish you better luck if you go but beware, the management and staff are pitiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

An absolutely horrible experience.Disjoi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

An absolutely horrible experience.Disjointed at best. Save your money.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

disappointed in the size of the wine pou ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

disappointed in the size of the wine pour. it was represeted as 5oz but no way as if the bartender finished the bottle and that was what was served.....no way 5 oz.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food, and the Oaxaca cocktail was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food, and the Oaxaca cocktail was amazing! And the weather was perfect for the retractable roof. We'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Social was a great experience! From the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Social was a great experience! From the drinks to the food... this place is amazing! Our server was very knowledgeable! 5 stars all the way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant but you have to accept ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great Restaurant but you have to accept the noise level. Food is good but slow coming out of the kitchen

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food is excellent. And waitstaff charmin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food is excellent. And waitstaff charming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with friends. Food was gre ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great dinner with friends. Food was great as well as the wait staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Met three friends for dinner at Social. ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Met three friends for dinner at Social. Chic decor, lively atmosphere, though was challenging at times to carry on a conversation because of how loud the music was. We all really enjoyed our food. I eat plant-based and was happy to have some options on the menu. I had the roasted vegetables appetizer and then the quinoa kale salad, both were delicious. One friend had the special meatballs and enjoyed them. Overall I'd say this is a great addition to downtown Sarasota's dining scene. I look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant with superior service ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Lovely restaurant with superior service and wonderful food. Wish the menu was better written to adequately describe the up-to-date and thoughtful preparation. Dishes are presented so well that you can't wait to dig in.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite Sarasota restaurants ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 26, 2016

One of our favorite Sarasota restaurants. Great food, great service and great atmosphere!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Social was recommended to us by friends, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Social was recommended to us by friends, and we went on Sunday evening. We had a lovely time and delicious food while celebrating our anniversary. Dessert was brought to us with a "Happy Anniversary" sign spelled out. Our server was attentive and provided superior service. Will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was great! Her description ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our waitress was great! Her description of the menu items were spot on! I had the Free Range Chicken & it was amaaaazing. I'm not a desert person, but the way she described the Key Lime Pie, I had to try it. And again, the touchdown was scored:) My friends also really enjoyed their meals & desserts. Worth the price for quality food & an expertise waitress! Really wish I could remember her name! Will def be back! #EatSocial

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed some great craft cocktails and d ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Enjoyed some great craft cocktails and delicious appetizers, followed by dinner. The staff did not rush us to order everything at once, so we were able to take our time dining with our friends. There was hardly anyone there when we arrived for our 6:30 reservations, but the place was packed when we left at 10. The restaurant is a combination of outside and open air dining. We were originally seated in the outside dining area, but generously allowed to move into the inside open air dining section to stay cooler. Overall fun night, fantastic food, and superb service! Definitely going back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Social was a great restaurant find!! Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Social was a great restaurant find!!

The food was fabulous....chicken Parmesan meatballs were delicious, pizza was great (crust was a little droopy), the special pork chop of the night was cooked to perfection.

Overall a great dinner and excellent service by April!! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good attentive service and the food was ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good attentive service and the food was very good. Unique venue with both interior and exterior seating including an exterior bar with ample seating. Will definitely go again but would recommend reservations as this is a popular venue.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good...as expected! Always dependable. A ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Good...as expected! Always dependable. A great neighborhood find.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been here about a dozen times si ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been here about a dozen times since it opened. A great pre-theatre spot.

And, the nicest part it is frequented my young folks.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for casual meal near theater ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great place for casual meal near theaters and opera house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a cool vibe, beautiful bar area, in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Such a cool vibe, beautiful bar area, indoor/outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We love this restaurant and dine here wi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We love this restaurant and dine here with friends and relatives as often as we are in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Atmosphere and fo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed it. Atmosphere and food quality are top.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very busy and very noisy. Fish special v ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very busy and very noisy. Fish special very good. Chicken Parmesan meatballs mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

fun place Pizzas were especially good se ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2016

fun place Pizzas were especially good

server got us out on time as we were trying to attend a show at nearby Florida Studio theatre

Nice ambiance

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous meal, wonderful ambiance and am ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fabulous meal, wonderful ambiance and amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

the only problem is the menu is the same ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 4, 2016

the only problem is the menu is the same, for the past 3 yrs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

No parking. I was really really put off ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2016

No parking. I was really really put off with the Valet Only parking when there was an open parking lot chained off next to the restaurant. The valet gave suggestions on where to park, but added "but they tow"... How is this a recommendation. The menu for food and drink were pretentious and not a great value for the portion size. Server only came by a few times to check on us. Poor first time experience and I don't think I will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

One of our favorite spots in downtown Sa ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of our favorite spots in downtown Sarasota. Excellent small plates. The meatballs are delicious! Great craft cocktails. When the weather is cooler, the back patio is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.