About SoBo Cafe

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on our own, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings

We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Baltimore / Maryland
Neighborhood Gem
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Federal Hill ›

Neighborhood Gem (64)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Great for Brunch (35)
See All
Great for Lunch (30)
Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (17)
Kid-friendly (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lunch with friends, one of whom is vegan ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 2 days ago

Lunch with friends, one of whom is vegan. Everything was delicious as always. The mushroom Bahn Mi was a big hit with the non- meat eater

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well prepared food and excellent service ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Well prepared food and excellent service. A little pricey...

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and creative menu. Great servi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious and creative menu. Great service, very helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sobo was able to easily accommodate our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Sobo was able to easily accommodate our large group and provided details about food preparation which was important as a number of people in our group were vegetarians.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, good service... Best restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good food, good service... Best restaurant in federal hill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Corn chowder was delicious. Like wine We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Corn chowder was delicious. Like wine Wednesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sobo is a great casual dining spot with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Sobo is a great casual dining spot with an interesting and healthy menu. New and imaginative items are regularly added to the menu. Service is always excellent and friendly. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My FAVORITE place to eat! I love their f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My FAVORITE place to eat! I love their food. It's fresh, full of flavor and caters to all pallets. I went for my birthday but forgot to tell them it was my birthday =( because j would have loved to try their excellent list of desserts. Love their wine selections and their mojito is quite tasty! Definitely recommend for any occasion. I keep sending folks to Sobo cuz it's a one of a kind eatery. Plus Monday's are pasta nights and one can never pass up a good pasta night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was here on Saturday before a Raven's ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was here on Saturday before a Raven's night game. The staff was very friendly; we arrived a few minutes before they opened and they brought us in and gave us drinks while they were setting up.

I thought the Thai Mussels were some of the best flavored mussels I have had.

The burger was really good and the flatbread was tasty as well.

A small but nice selection of craft beers and we will definitely be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I liked the SoBo Cafe a lot. The staff i ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I liked the SoBo Cafe a lot. The staff is very efficient and friendly but not overbearing. I ordered the ribs and they were delicious. The piece of cornbread that came with them was dry and hard--too bad. I ordered the dessert of peach bread pudding: the pudding part was lovely and soft, with nice bits of peach, but the peach slices on top were dry and not sweet--which is odd, at the height of peach season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, never disappointed with SoBo. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

As always, never disappointed with SoBo. I went there with a supplier for a business meal. They requested this place as they have been here a couple of times before and really enjoyed it. Definitely delicious food with local ingredients. Impeccable place! One of my favorite restaurants for all meals, brunch, lunch or dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have not been to SoBo Café in years. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have not been to SoBo Café in years. So we were looking forward to our dinner there. Not much has changed, the place looks the same. Artist works for sale on the wall, brightly painted walls, tables with bistro chairs (which are still uncomfortable) and a small bar area. The dining area is not large. When the place is full, the noise level goes up quite a bit – all hard surfaces. The dinner did not start out well. We asked Krystin, our server, for separate checks. She informed us that it was impossible to give separate checks. Not sure I really understand what the difficulty is in giving separate checks to two couples. But she insisted that they could not do it. Oh well. Two of us had the burgers – perfectly cooked to our specifications. They were huge and came with a side salad and fingerling potatoes. We both thought the fingerling potatoes were an odd accompaniment. My husband enjoyed the Chicken Pot Pie. Our friend ordered the Mussels and a Caesar salad. The Caesar salad had a bitter after-taste. My husband and I had a bottle of Viognier Cline Pinot Grigio which was crisp and fresh. Our friends enjoyed a glass of Rosato, Vinho Verde, So Berry Good cocktail and an iced coffee. We finished the meal by sharing a Sobo Sundae. The food was delicious, although pricey. Our total bill was $135.21 plus tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Sobo is always delicious, with friendly ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Sobo is always delicious, with friendly and helpful service! I had a small brunch here for a friend and they could not have been kinder or more accommodating, and everyone raved about the food and drinks too! One of my favorite restaurants in Baltimore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Limited menu for vegans during Restauran ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Limited menu for vegans during Restaurant Week. Granddaughter had to have pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Went here for a date night with my husba ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Went here for a date night with my husband during restaurant week. Nice restaurant. Reasonable prices. Everything we got was delicious: Peach sangria, ribs, chicken fried steak. Grape Leave appetizer is good but small. Mac and cheese was delicious but when we were almost to the end of eating it we found a dark hair in it which was a little bit of a put-off. Other than that was a good experience and would go again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sobo was a fantastic find. So many home ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sobo was a fantastic find. So many homemade items such as pancakes, peanut butter cream, strawberry marmalade. Even the fruit cup as a side item was fresh and delicious. The service was courteous and prompt. Would go back again for dinner and lunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Sobo Café during Restaurant We ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I went to Sobo Café during Restaurant Week to try somewhere new. I absolutely loved it! The food was amazing, with a laot of great, fresh options. The atmosphere was cozy and ambient, and the waitress was so nice! This is my favorite restaurant that I've been to in the city so far.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SoBo Cafe an excellent Baltimore neighbo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

SoBo Cafe an excellent Baltimore neighborhood restaurant. Food was very well executed, clever blends of classic techniques with modern themes blending ingredients and flavor profiles.

Finnish (yes, from Finland, not a typo) summer cream soup with fresh veg and smoked salmon, very fresh roasted summer veg papardelle with a superior subtle tomato sauce, and succulent braised ribs were the evening standout entrees. Service was charming, friendly, honest advice, and professional. We went on a busy Saturday night during Restaurant Week in Baltimore and the staff and kitchen did an excellent job with all facets of our experience, presentation, timing, and tastes. The course selections for our prix fixe dinner were thoughtful and diverse, including real options for our vegan friend. We were impressed that the owner was present to make sure everything ran "just so", nice touch. Ask her about the John Wayne portrait in the Men's Room, funny story. We wished that the award winning biscuits were available for dinner as well, not just Sunday Brunch, but can imagine the cost of time and labor this would cause on a daily basis. The only slight disappointment was with the featured cocktails on the menu, too bland, too watery, too old schoolish trying to seem hip. The wines were a much better choice. Maybe the drinks sat at the service bar too long before being presented but they were not up to caliber with the rest of the fine experience.

The decor and original art on the walls are comfortable and tasteful, making the diner feel like we were in a warm vibrant room full of friends having a good time. Absolutely going back, for brunch too someday, based on the evening's wonderful experience - just skipping the missteps on mixology.

Go tonight, you deserve it, and it's worth the trip.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with our first visi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were very pleased with our first visit to SoBo. The food was delicious, fresh, perfectly cooked to our liking and well-portioned. We visited as part of Baltimore Restaurant Week and will certainly return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was amazing! Went here for th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place was amazing! Went here for the first time during restaurant week and it was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love SOBO! The food is always consist ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We love SOBO! The food is always consistent and worth the price. The wines and beers are always on target. They are always really careful and good about marking the menu and modifying dishes to accommodate allergies, vegan, or vegetarian requests. My favorite dish is the steak w/ creamed spinach (which is amazing and gluten free!). Thanks Sobo for being an amazing spot in Fed Hill and Baltimore.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and relaxed.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Delicious and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great ribs and spinach pie! Diverse cho ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great ribs and spinach pie! Diverse choice without being overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we felt immediately welcome and at home ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

we felt immediately welcome and at home almost. the table was super small for 4 people but the food was super delicious, fresh and creative. we shared the spread plate, had salmon salad and salmon sandwich and the kids had the burgers, all very fresh and good. I had a homemade cocktail which was delicious. our waiter was super attentive. I thought the bill was a little high however...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was great and the food was a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The service was great and the food was amazing. It was no joke the best chicken pot pie I've ever had...and I'm a girl who eats a lot of chicken pot pie.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service even th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Delicious food and great service even though it was busy because of restaurant week. We've eaten here several times and I love that they update the menu seasonally, but also have some excellent standards. The chocolate peanut butter cake was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm so happy we chose SoBo as our "try i ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I'm so happy we chose SoBo as our "try it because it's Restaurant Week" find this year. You can go casual or dressy and won't feel out of place. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars throughout is because the location is small. Maybe they added tables to accommodate Restaurant Week. It wasn't unbearable...just a little tight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food. Really suburb and fres ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent food. Really suburb and fresh and original. Lovely service. Great atmosphere. Did I say the food was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Low keyed but excellent menu. Hard to c ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Low keyed but excellent menu. Hard to choose among many excellent choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite place in the neighborhood-- ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our favorite place in the neighborhood-- consistently stellar service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken pot pie was delicious. We've ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The chicken pot pie was delicious. We've been here for brunch and dinner and both are really good. Awesome spot for restaurant week!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the restaurants in the Cross Stre ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the restaurants in the Cross Street Market area, we stopped in due to some good reviews. It pretty much lived up to the hype. Interesting selections which we all thought were delicious. A smallish place with a good wine list and beers ( no cocktails ), we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere. Seems popular with loca ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Seems popular with local folks. Good food (brunch). Great cinnamon buns to get started. Charging over a dollar for extra maple syrup seemed weirdly chintzy!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Standouts on the summer menu are the gaz ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Standouts on the summer menu are the gazpacho to start and the key line pudding to end. And the Peruvian chicken in between. Sobo Cafe is your neighborhood hangout with upscale food. And fabulous people working there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time trying Shakshuka ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was my first time trying Shakshuka and SoBo Cafe definitely nailed it.

Overall I really appreciated the diversity of offerings on their menu - rather than the traditional fare (though there are still plenty of options there), SoBo Cafe experiments with playful new additions that reimagine the brunch experience. Definitely will be coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been to SoBo for brunch, lunch, an ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We've been to SoBo for brunch, lunch, and dinner and have been very satisfied each time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The SoBo chicken pot pie lives up to its ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The SoBo chicken pot pie lives up to its reputation. My husband loved it. I was pleased with the Caesar salad which was perfectly dressed and topped with a succulent piece of salmon. A perfect dinner. Wish we had room for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We took our amity here the morning g of ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We took our amity here the morning g of our youngest sons wedding day. The raff was very attentive and gave us awesome service. The food was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite mid-week setting perfect for busin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Quite mid-week setting perfect for business dinner--delicious appetizers and perfect scallops and salmon. Only disappointment was the brussel sprouts which were non-descript and a little tough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the food here the staff is less tha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Love the food here the staff is less than attentive during brunch but the food and drinks are always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.