Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About SoBo Cafe

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home. We are gluten-free, vegetarian & vegan friendly.

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday- Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on house made, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings
build a bowl
vegan & vegetarian friendly
We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.
http://sobocafe.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/SoBo-Catering-Menu-Business-Lunch-10262016.pdf

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour @ the Bar & Outdoor Tables

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Wednesdays & Sundays - $25 Select Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Pasta Mondays

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour @ the Bar & Outdoor Tables

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

$5 sangria, draft beers & house wines by the glass $2, $4 & $5 select appetizers. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 9, 2017 - Dec 9, 2017 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Wednesdays & Sundays - $25 Select Bottles of Wine

Wednesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 9, 2017 - Dec 9, 2017 on Wednesdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Pasta Mondays

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

house made pasta, side salad & house wine or draft beer for $25 Check Facebook & Twitter on Monday afternoons to find out our pasta Monday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 9, 2017 - Dec 9, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Casual (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fun (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great Beer (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Romantic (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Music (3)
Live Sports (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Another good meal at Sobo Cafe. The dinner menu seems more limited than I remember. Everyone liked their food, although I found the pasta with vegetables and tomatoes rather bland. The portions are generous, and two out of the table of four went home with food. The service was pleasant and prompt.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I have never had a bad thing to eat here. Staff is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great Brunch menu and creative low-alcohol (non-liquor) cocktails.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Quick Bite, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We definitely enjoyed our meal at Sobo before heading to a concert. Food and service were both very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Delicious! I had the salmon, I don't remember the topping was but it worked perfectly. Everyone else was very pleased with their meals as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I went with a group of girlfriends for one of their birthdays and we had a blast. I put a note in the reservation request that it was for a birthday and they went out of their way to make sure she (and our whole group) had a good time! Would definitely come back to try new things! Most of us went with the pasta special and it didn't disappoint!

Tags: Live Music, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Pasta night. Generous serving of pasta, a good salad and a glass of wine. All this for $20? Unheard of. Good food and great value. Who could ask for more?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in the area. The food is delicious and the people are incredibly wonderful. It's like dining with family... if your family is gifted in the kitchen! I always look forward to my next meal at Sobo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2017

After a great Restaurant Week meal we decided to try brunch. We are so glad we did.

SoBo had my wife from the Cinnamon roll. She had the SoBo Biscuit Benedict and it was done perfectly. I had the Salmon Omelette. No way could I ever make one that fluffy.

And yes, the biscuits are excellent. No extra hype on that item.

Glad we went. Pasta Monday is calling for the next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We loved it. Took my grown kids and ate family style. I didn't try anything that I disliked and we had 6 dishes on the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of the best brunches I've ever experienced. Excellent spot!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

A nice quaint spot with great good. Service was great...our waitress was very knowledgeable and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The atmosphere and ambiance was a great part of the experience, the food being so good was just extra

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had the chicken fried steak and summer spaghetti. Delicious food, comfortable, warm atmosphere, and delightful service from Ghordan

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

I took a good friend here for Restaurant Week and we were both very pleasantly surprised. I looked online at a bunch of menus and this one looked both inexpensive and creative. We arrived for our 7:30 reservation and were seated right away at a little table toward the back - it's a small space, but it seems to work. The acoustics were not wonderful once it started to get busy, but my guest and I were still able to hear each other without yelling. We ordered a delicious and reasonably priced Cotes du Rhone, which was gone by dessert. I got the honeydew soup to start which packed some nice heat but the portion could have been cut in half and it would've been perfect. My friend ordered the spinach pie and it was a very small portion so it could've been doubled and it would've been perfect. We both ordered the bavette and they were absolutely wonderful and cooked to perfection. I had the strawberry shortcake for dessert and she had the carrot cake, and we both practically licked our plates. All in all, it was a really lovely night out and I would definitely go back for brunch or basically any other meal. The service could have been stepped up just a bit, but it was busy and thankfully the gentleman refilling the water glasses came by very often. I definitely recommend Sobo Cafe!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Had a great time at Sobo! It was our first time at dinner (usually brunch) for restaurant week and the food was great! Loooove the grape leaves app and the strawberry shortcake. The hostess (who's name I missed ;( ) was so accommodating and our server Jordan was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 1, 2017

The Restaurant Week menu was extensive and the food quality was also. We had the Bavette Steak (which was prepared "just right") and Korean Chicken Fried Steak (which had a great kick to it).

The service was excellent - Ghordan was attentive and had good recommendations.

We have always liked Sobo. There are only two issues: parking is atrocious and it can get pretty loud. It was time we got to know the newer menu and will be coming back for brunch soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Terrific food and friendly service. Every time I've dined here, it has been wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food is delicious and very fresh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Tried Sobo for Restaurant Week after reading many positive reviews. It lived up to those reviews and our expectations. The atmosphere/ambiance is upscale casual - white table cloths, but in a big room, wood floor, more casual setting. The menu is hot huge, but everything is excellent, and is definitely not your usual run of the mill offerings (e.g. Korean Chicken Fried Steak). Their chef does an excellent job of putting a new twist on the meals. My Korean Chicken Fried Steak comes with Kimchi-Spinach, soy-garlic mashed potatoes, and a lovely mild but flavorful Asian infused sauce/gravy - excellent. My wife had the seared Salmon (wild caught, fresh) on a bed of couscous and an interesting salsa. Our pre-dinner salads (she had the House, I had the Arugula) were a clear step above what you normally get. The house-made dressings were perfect, and the mixing in of fruit, asparagus, and other sort of "non-salad" ingredients was spot on. The portion sizes are more European - which is a good thing. Not the sometimes normal "quantity" more than "quality". The deserts were again right sized - just a few bites, but those few were decadent. And we were able to take our dog. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our first visit - cannot wait to return. The window boxes & sign outside are so inviting , upon entry the ambiance was very clear. beautiful dining area & bar - great servers with great welcoming smiles. Five of us all ordered five different brunch items & all of our selections were exquisite. The preparation & blend of flavors were so fine. Our dishes were all so aesthetically pleasing, beautiful presentation. The BEST part of our brunch - the carefully crafted cinnamon pastries - so so good. Thank you SoBo - what a great find in Federal Hill.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2017

As always, another great meal at Sobo Café. Never disappointed. Will continue to return the place for either weekend brunch or weekday dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Charming gem in the heart of Federal Hill. The food is immaculately prepared with enormous attention to detail and tastes like the best meal you've ever had. The staff is kind and gracious like they are always happy to see you. We had our first date here almost 5 years ago and it's still our favorite restaurant to return to and enjoy an intimate, delicious meal with a side of exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Nice little place. Food was executed very well. The hearts of palm puree was delicious. Glad we picked for a spur of the moment dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We love having this elegant little restaurant with tasty food and friendly staff in our neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We always enjoy our time at Sobo. Service is exceptional. They honor us and make us feel at home.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service and food were very good. Really only a few issues; coffee was warm, not hot; fried potatoes were overcooked. But most food very, very fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent food. The seasonal pasta dish was rich, vibrant and incredibly tasty. The service was great, wine list abundant and the food was top notch. The only complaint I would have would be the Brussels sprouts. They were definitely still "good" but definitely brought the meal down from its 5 star pedestal. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I loved it! The staff was great and took great care with us, yet did not hover. The food was great and not too weird for me! I sort of felt I was at home eating, yet in a very elegant setting. That is amazing. My friend recommended SoBo and I loved it! I will recommend it and also dine there again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were in Baltimore for a wedding and wanted to eat brunch before hand. I'm so glad I found this restaurant. It was walking distance from our hotel and out of the touristy areas. The table next to us were definitely regulars. This is the type of place we look for .... the neighborhood gems. We found it this time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My sister and I brought our dad their to celebrate Father's Day. The old man thoroughly enjoyed the Mozambique Piri Piri Chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Amazing brunch food with amazing recommendations from our server/bartender. He was right about the cream chipped beef - it was one of the best things I've eaten. Also the banana pancakes with peanut butter were fantastic. Really happy that we randomly stumbled into this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I went with my family and it was lovely, very child friendly. Their steak is delicious! The chick my mom thought was a bit overcooked but overall we really loved it!

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

SoBo Cafe was a great find to meet old friends. Great brunch -- delicious food and great, attentive service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Really imaginative cuisine and a super-friendly wait staff. Cozy, unpretentious atmosphere. You'd be hard pressed to beat this place, including price for the quality. Our second trip here was even better than our first.

On a quiet weeknight before an Orioles game it was (surprisingly) uncrowded. Tasty beer flights and perfectly-sized portions left us full without being stuffed. It would be hard to improve on their winning formula. Curb appeal is lacking, but if they had some it would quickly be too crowded.

Real neighborhood gem here, one block west of Cross Street Market and on the other side of Cross Street.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Cute place, good food but flies were swarming in the dining area because the door was open since it was a nice day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything we ordered was delicious. Excellent and friendly service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely awesome food every time! The French Onion Soup is AMAZING!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Sobo Café. It's our go to place for Sunday Brunch. When I realized on Saturday night that I hadn't made any plans for Mother's Day brunch I went on Sobo's website and discovered that there was no problem getting a reservation for Sunday morning. The food was great as always, the restaurant comfortable, the service great. Since they take reservations, there's never any problem getting a group in. While we were there we saw at least 2 fairly large (more than 6) family groups, which fit in easily, even though Sobo's space is limited. When we had family visiting from out of town and needed a place that could accommodate 8 people on a Saturday at lunchtime with one vegetarian and one gluten free, we immediately thought of Sobo. Every item on the menu is annotated if it's vegetarian, vegan or gluten free. Perfect choice all around.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.