Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About SoBo Cafe

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home. We are vegetarian & vegan friendly.

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on house made, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings
build a bowl
vegan & vegetarian friendly
We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.
http://sobocafe.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/SoBo-Catering-Menu-Business-Lunch-10262016.pdf

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Brunch (24)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Fun (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Cozy (13)
Healthy (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Romantic (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Organic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great Beer (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vegan (3)
Live Music (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 19 hours ago

Cute place, good food but flies were swarming in the dining area because the door was open since it was a nice day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything we ordered was delicious. Excellent and friendly service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely awesome food every time! The French Onion Soup is AMAZING!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

great place -- great food! Such a nice restaurant...went here recently for a girls night celebration of a birthday and it was loads of fun and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good home-style soup, but spinach pie (phyllo) was a tad old and a tad greasy. (A meal there a few months ago was better.) The wine, however, was a surprise--excellent rose and an excellent white as well. Desserts very appealing. Will try them again .

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was good. I live on the other side of the city, but this is my go to restaurant in Fed Hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great restaurant! We always enjoy walking over to SOBO to enjoy a casual meal. The food is excellent and the service is friendly and efficient. We had the salmon spread appetizer (always a favorite of mine) before devouring our entrees -- the crusted catfish and the salmon. Both of which were delicious. We finished it off with a slice of carrot cake. A wonderful evening!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant. Best brunch I've had in years. Great Federal Hill location. Would love to go back for dinner. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Organic, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food- always very friendly service - and a great value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Fun, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I have been to SOBO Cafe several times and it's never disappointed me. The good is excellent, the servers are friendly and knowledgeable. The menu varies with exciting new flavors. So far, nothing on the menu has missed the mark.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Love the menu - its comfort food but with a foodie twist. Cozy, friendly atmosphere. 👍👍

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ate Easter brunch there with my family and we loved it. Amazing, authentic food!

Tags: Historic, Fun, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Friendly neighborhood restaurant. Kids made v welcome. Homely food, enjoyed burgers and Piri piri chicken.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This place is quaint and beautiful with outstanding service and delicious fresh food. They have vegan options which is why we went.I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The food is delicious, the live jazz was a nice surprise! The service and atmosphere are wonderful. Great local, neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Sobo is on my all time GO list always great. Went for lunch before openning day. We get to all of the notable restaurants and SOBO has always been one of my favs.
Chef George Batlas

Tags: Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 3, 2017

A very pleasant place with a creative menu and high quality presentation. I've eaten here twice and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really good food very tasty. The room can get kind of loud because it's fairly small, but the coziness adds to the charm and the food is well worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We went to Sobo based on reviews I had read on various sites - it was better than I could have imagined. My husband, son and I all enjoyed every single bite we had while dining at Sobo. We started with the House Salad and chicken liver mousse. The salad was fantastic, looking at it, it looks like lettuce with some pear, but the dressing is so tasty and had a bit of a kick, there wasn't a bite left. The mousse was very creamy and flavorful, with such a great start we were very excited for the rest of our meal, and it did not disappoint. My son had the mussels appetizer for his dinner - there were close to 40 mussels so we made him share them. The sauce was fantastic, when we ran out of bread to dip in it, we were eating it with a spoon. I had the Salmon, which I typically never order out. The salmon was cooked perfectly. The tomatillo quinoa was wonderful and the pico de gallo was so fresh. They do not miss a chance to enhance the flavor of every item on the plate - with great results. My husband had the Chicken Pot Pie - he said it was the best he's ever had. The sauce was very flavorful without being too heavy or overbearing. For dessert my husband and son split the Sundae (with homemade marshmallow fluff) and I had the lemon squares - just the perfect amount of lemon without being overpowering. We were told everything is made in house and you could tell. I HIGHLY recommend Sobo to anyone visiting Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I came here for a birthday brunch with a few friends. Just the kind of atmosphere I wanted, cozy and vibrant. We started off with a cinnamon roll which was the perfect bite. It was moist and doughy in the inside and the outside had a nice caramel color that was slightly crispy giving it a chewy texture. The cream cheese icing on top wasn't too sweet or heavy. We also were given complimentary banana bread slices while we were waiting for our food. I ordered the roasted tomato and biscuit with pesto. The homemade biscuit is one of the best I have. This is definitely one of their specialities which is why I always come here for brunch. The flakey, crumbly biscuit with eggs, roasted tomatoes and pesto spread is mouth-watering.

The food was great, however it took 35-40 minutes to get our food which was a little longer than expected. They did bring us more banana bread while we were waiting which was a nice gesture. Also I was not a huge fan of the cocktails they offered. They only have spirits so it really limited my options. When I asked some questions about the cocktails on the menu, our server was not able to explain the ingredients in the drink and had to get someone else to do so. However our server did make sure our water glasses were always filled.

Overall the food was delicious, service was decent and the atmosphere was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was outstanding, especially the mussels appetizer. Very generous portion and delightful melding of flavors.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Totally enjoyed this gem... The food was amazing and the service was great! Definitely will be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We would probably give this restaurant a second try. An overly busy brunch day like Sunday does not always bring out the best in a restaurant. The ambience is perfect for the younger set who are meeting up with friends. Sunny room with small tables and lovely flowers. The staff were friendly and tried to be attentive. However the staff could not make up for the overcooked, and in the case of my home fries and tofu (egg substitution), actually burnt food. My husband fared better with a veggie omelet, but even there, he felt that though acceptable, it was just fair. The onion soup was good and the gruyere had a nice flavor, but too many bread/croutons were stuffed into the bowl and made it seem more of a soaked bread dish than a soup dish.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great dinner with diverse group of friends. Something on the menu for everyone. Originally, our reservations were for 3 people, but Sobo was very accommodating when we had two last minute add ons to our group.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Came here for a business dinner with some colleagues. Food was outstanding. Service wasn't bad, but seemed a little confused. Young staff, but lovely. Owner came over more than once to check on things - she was great. Only downside was there was no hard liquor - just beer and wine. We really wanted a drink.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Beautiful meal with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a great experience and food what's great. Try the cinnamon buns with cream cheese! Will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We had a great time. Server was really nice and helpful on beer selections, and the food was yummy.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Great Beer, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Four of us were seated at a tiny table with barely room for all of our plates. Service was mediocre-- we were seated for 15 minutes before someone took our order. We ordered the 3 spreads, and since the kitchen was out of plates put them on 3 plates so we barely had room on the table. Overall the service was slow and haphazard.
On the other hand the food was delicious with a nicely varied menu. I think on a less busy night it would have been better.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was an amazing find, recommended by a stranger on the train to Baltimore. The food was superb, great service, great value, and off the beaten track away from the Inner Harbor area, yet within an easy walk.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 24, 2017

SoBo has an eclectic, fun menu of scratch-made foods. My food requirements are a bit restricted due to some stomach problems, but I was able to find food simple enough to work: flank steak with creamed spinach and roasted potatoes. Yet my dinner companion found a dish that was exciting to try and that he really liked. So, there's a nice range even within a small menu. Everything was very fresh, well-seasoned, and tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Few had a large group meeting a friend in from out of town. The food was delicious, the service was friendly and personable, and everyone had a lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It is a great place for brunch. Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great for brunch. Started with a mimosa and cinnamon buns. Should have shared one since the buns were large. Ordered the shakshuka and the tomato biscuit sandwich. Both were good but the sandwich was the better of the two. Street parking next to impossible but West Street garage was only $5 for 2 hours which allowed time for a stroll over to Federal Hill to take in the view. Fun time and will do again.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Showed up an hour early on a Sat night, but still got seated at bar. Mushroom flatbread was loaded with cheese and mushrooms. We split the Dry Rubbed Bavette Steak, which was plenty of food for two of us. Steak, potatoes and creamed spinach were all delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is my fave restaurant in Baltimore thus far for dates and special occasion. Definitely recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Organic, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Neat place, awesome food and great service! Went for brunch - Cinnamon rolls are a must! Back to Bed sandwich could easily be shared!! 👍🏻 Same with the Caesar salad! We'll be going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been here more than 6 or 7 times now, and never had a bad experience. Their carrot ginger vegan soup (seasonal?) is amazing and I'm not a vegan. From delicious vegetarian options to homemade out-of-this-world chicken pie (a staple on the menu), there's something on the menu for everyone. I always leave feeling relaxed and as though I just enjoyed comfort food, regardless of what I ordered.

Service never rushes you and is attentive. I love taking family, friends, and just this week I took a coworker. So good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent hometown atmosphere, great comfort food and service, accommodating a pescatarian pallet with a relaxing noise level suitable for intimate conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect as always. Food and atmosphere are like nothing else in Federal Hill. Wish they had a bit higher end wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.