About SoBo Cafe

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on our own, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings

We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Pasta Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

SoBo Hour @ The Bar & Outside Tables

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Pasta Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Enjoy a house made pasta dish, side salad and a glass of house wine or draft beer for only $20. Every Monday is a new pasta dish carefully crafted from seasonal ingredients. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 11, 2016 - Sep 11, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
SoBo Hour @ The Bar & Outside Tables

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
$1 off draft beers, $5 Sangrias and glasses of house wine. Small plate specials for $2, $4 & $5. Only at the bar and outdoor tables. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 11, 2016 - Sep 11, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
Best Value
Baltimore
2 More
Great for Brunch
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Federal Hill ›

neighborhood gem (60)
fit for foodies (54)
great for brunch (38)
See All
great for lunch (24)
special occasion (19)
good for groups (14)
romantic (13)
notable wine list (12)
great for outdoor dining (10)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great ribs and spinach pie! Diverse cho ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined a day ago

Great ribs and spinach pie! Diverse choice without being overwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and great service even th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food and great service even though it was busy because of restaurant week. We've eaten here several times and I love that they update the menu seasonally, but also have some excellent standards. The chocolate peanut butter cake was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite place in the neighborhood-- ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our favorite place in the neighborhood-- consistently stellar service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken pot pie was delicious. We've ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

The chicken pot pie was delicious. We've been here for brunch and dinner and both are really good. Awesome spot for restaurant week!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the restaurants in the Cross Stre ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the restaurants in the Cross Street Market area, we stopped in due to some good reviews. It pretty much lived up to the hype. Interesting selections which we all thought were delicious. A smallish place with a good wine list and beers ( no cocktails ), we'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice atmosphere. Seems popular with loca ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Seems popular with local folks. Good food (brunch). Great cinnamon buns to get started. Charging over a dollar for extra maple syrup seemed weirdly chintzy!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Standouts on the summer menu are the gaz ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Standouts on the summer menu are the gazpacho to start and the key line pudding to end. And the Peruvian chicken in between. Sobo Cafe is your neighborhood hangout with upscale food. And fabulous people working there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time trying Shakshuka ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was my first time trying Shakshuka and SoBo Cafe definitely nailed it.

Overall I really appreciated the diversity of offerings on their menu - rather than the traditional fare (though there are still plenty of options there), SoBo Cafe experiments with playful new additions that reimagine the brunch experience. Definitely will be coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been to SoBo for brunch, lunch, an ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We've been to SoBo for brunch, lunch, and dinner and have been very satisfied each time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The SoBo chicken pot pie lives up to its ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The SoBo chicken pot pie lives up to its reputation. My husband loved it. I was pleased with the Caesar salad which was perfectly dressed and topped with a succulent piece of salmon. A perfect dinner. Wish we had room for dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We took our amity here the morning g of ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We took our amity here the morning g of our youngest sons wedding day. The raff was very attentive and gave us awesome service. The food was amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite mid-week setting perfect for busin ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Quite mid-week setting perfect for business dinner--delicious appetizers and perfect scallops and salmon. Only disappointment was the brussel sprouts which were non-descript and a little tough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the food here the staff is less tha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Love the food here the staff is less than attentive during brunch but the food and drinks are always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The food was delicious!! All appetizers ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was delicious!! All appetizers and meals were fresh, appealing to look at, and delicious to eat. Service was excellent. The general feel was welcoming and warm. It was our first time and we will definitely be back and recommend it to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our second visit--not as wonderful as ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our second visit--not as wonderful as our first due to lack of communication on our server's part. I ordered the same solo smoked salmon benedict as I did last month stating I didn't want the potatoes but the salad greens instead and the potatoes came out and no greens.but had spinach on my benedict-- and the server had the gull to say to me : "You didn't communicate that to me". Anyway--I found that disappointing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Always one of our favorites! Delicious f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always one of our favorites! Delicious food, quality customer service and a neighborhood spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was expecting more from the food.. Sword ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Was expecting more from the food.. Swordfish was juicy which was great since it tends to be dry yet the butter on top was not intriguing.. Saw someone else at another table take the butter off as well. Heard so much about this place, did not meet expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

What a treat, good food, interesting men ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

What a treat, good food, interesting menu, great service and yummy cocktails - just what Brunch should be xox

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch spot, fantastic food, wonderful staff

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My friend and I biked up from DC and were looking for a great place to eat after our long ride. SoBo Cafe was perfect!! The food was amazing and the portions are generous; the staff were warm, welcoming, and lovely. Two thumbs way up.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food and drinks at Sobo Cafe were absolutely delicious. I had the fettuccine and it is some of the best I've ever had. Also, the sangria pops in champagne were a great treat. It was nice to find this gem on a trip to Baltimore. I'll definitely return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great second visit

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Second time at SoBo Cafe and it was wonderful. Definitely recommend the grilled stuffed grape leaves as a starter and flourless chocolate cake for dessert (with a peanut butter sauce that makes the dish). In between, we had three different entrees amongst us and enjoyed each. I think the chicken pot pie was the biggest surprise hit.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a treat at SoBo!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Hubs & I decided on Sobo for brunch, as it had been a while since we visited (lately we've been hitting up the closer & equally as delish new SoBo Market!) As always, we were delighted with the menu choices, and our selections for brunch. I got the bacon & egg flatbread (yum!) and hubs got the "Back to Bed" which he couldn't finish, and subsequently ended up back in bed for a nap! :) Service was on point, atmosphere welcoming, and overall it was a pleasurable experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection in every way. Cancel your re ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Perfection in every way. Cancel your reservation and come here instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We had the Bavette Steak, Fettucini, Pot Pie, Salmon. All were excellent! Service was wonderful - very patient! Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! Friendly wait staff. N ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food! Friendly wait staff. Nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and the service was a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was awesome. We sat outside which made our experience even more enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic. The three of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was fantastic. The three of us ate family style and they split everything in perfect threes. The service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Get off the beaten path!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Was attending a meeting at the convention center but wanted to get away from the usual fare. Looked at the yelp review and decided to uber over. It was about a minute from the convention center and boy was this the right choice. Have a lot of comfort food options but also some healthy organic and delicious food. I had the quinoa salad w grilled chicken that was delicious. The flatbreads are good and the pot pie apparently was to die for for. Very fun cool vibe in a darling neighborhood. I recommended it to everyone i knew.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic night with relish pot pies and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic night with relish pot pies and Mac cheese

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service on a Saturday nig ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service on a Saturday night. Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Saturday Brunch

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Four friends enjoyed a delicious brunch in a casual and cozy atmosphere. I could do this every Saturday. Great lemon ginger Mimosas!!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The homemade goodies that are complement ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The homemade goodies that are complementary. They never disappoint. I have eaten here numerous occasions for brunch and dinner. I always leave fully satisfied happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Brunch

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This is one of my favorite brunch spots in Baltimore. It is bright and lively, with a quirky decor. The food is great. My favorites are the SoBo biscuit benedict, roasted tomato biscuit, chicken pot pie, and french dip. The service is informal but reliable, and the staff are friendly. Note: it can get quite loud during peak times.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing experience . The food is amazing ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing experience . The food is amazing , the space is cool and the staff matches it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BOSO

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

This neighborhood restaurant is a nice and quaint place for lunch or dinner with a great wine and beer bar. The food was fresh and well prepared. Especially noteworthy was the chicken and hash dish. I will return to this place again especially since it is walking distance from our condo at the Ritz.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I haven't been in the city for years, wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

I haven't been in the city for years, wasn't sure where to dine. After I did some research, and consulted the concierge, SOBO was our pick. What an experience! From the appetizers to the dessert wine, the meal was delicious. Started with a white sangria that had an interesting infusion of mint and cucumber, and an Amber ale on tap. The fried dolmades left something to be desired, but he meatball flat bread appitzer was outstanding, and should be offered as an entre. Speaking of entres, the pan seared scallops melt in your mouth. The daily pasta special consisted of a perfectly done homemade pasta with an amazing mushroom carbonara. We finished with aSOBO sundae - crisp freshly made brownie with marshmallow topping added as a twist, and a glass of Bertrand. Amazing experience in food. Average experience in service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My husband and I visited SoBo on Monday ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

My husband and I visited SoBo on Monday for lunch. I ordered Brussels sprouts flatbread with white anchovies and prosecco...what could be better and it met expectations! I love this neighborhood eatery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet date spot in BMore

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

First time going. Quiet little place off the main road. Parking was kinda tough to find, but the food and experience was great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

SoBo has become a new favorite of my wife and I. The staff is great, works as a team and really seem to enjoy one another. We love watching servers interact joyfully with young children. Families are welcome. With an ever-changing menu, there is always something new, interesting and pleasing. We are especially grateful that the food is always super fresh. On my recent visit I enjoyed the Scallops with white bean ragout and spinach. Also loved the house salad with spiced apples and pickled onions. Thanks SoBo!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here several times and alw ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We have eaten here several times and always enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.