Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

SoBo Cafe

4.8
550 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
  • Comfort Food
We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home. We are gluten-free, vegetarian & vegan friendly.

We are a short walk from Camden Yards/Oriole Park & M&T/Ravens Stadium. We are very close to the Convention Center, Downtown & the Inner Harbor.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:30 am–3:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–2:30 pm
Dinner
Mon–Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(410) 752-1518
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on house made, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings
build a bowl
vegan & vegetarian friendly
We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.
http://sobocafe.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/SoBo-Catering-Menu-Business-Lunch-10262016.pdf
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays
Additional
Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 550 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

SoBo Cafe is one of our favorites in the city. It’s small and has a mellow vibe. Love Anna, the owner. She remembered me from months ago! The food is so good. I had the roast chicken - spaghetti squash fritters and arugula pesto orzo were so,tasty. The other entrees at our table were salad with grilled chicken, chicken pot pie and the burger. Every entree was great. The pot pie is a generous portion , our son finished all of it !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

cute small restaurant in downtown Baltimore, nice quaint ambience, really yummy Mac and cheese and seafood is good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Incredible meals and wonderful staff!. We were there for Mother's Day and they were gracious and the food was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great for breakfast or a light brunch. Very good service and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great waitstaff , food and wine! Would like better quality wine glasses, but that’s just me . Exceptional value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was amazing as usual. Service was good but there weren’t enough servers I think they may have been overwhelmed. But still it was a fab dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

SoBo rarely disappoints. We had a wonderful dinner with friends...everything was excellent. Loved the new preparation of Scallops. Our friends are vegetarians and they absolutely loved the spinach pie. Great place in Federal Hill!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We hadn't been there in quite a while.
We went for a birthday dinner.
Food was excellent as was the way Spencer took care of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food is consistently very good here. I don’t know if I can explain through writing that even their salad is amazing but it is just that. All of the food is good. Clearly they’re using fresh and high quality ingredients in addition to the chef taking pride in what gets served. Great service too. We will be back again and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Solid Federal Hill restaurant, I was surprised that the place was not that crowded. Good value, good drinks good place to hang out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Another delightful experience!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Had a nice casual dinner with out of town friends, service and atmosphere were great, as was the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Always perfect for a delicious lunch or dinner with coworkers, colleagues, or friends. Staff is lovely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Service was great. Everyone on staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food, everything made from scratch is remarkable. I have enjoyed a few meals here and enjoy the seasonal changes to the menu. I have yet to be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Good family brunch with an 18 month toddler.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Sunday Brunch was great! Food / service/ drinks and music was wonderful. The complimentary blueberry bread was soooo good. The owners really know what they’re doing. My husband and I can’t wait to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Very friendly
Great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great service. We were late and the restaurant was wonderful honoring our reservation. Food was delicious. We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

One of our favorite spots for a great meal. Excellent service, fantastic food, at reasonable prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

My husband and I go to SoBo as frequently as possible. We are extremely lucky to have access to SoBo as a neighborhood restaurant. The service is outstanding and the food is delicious - All around it is a fabulous experience with a warm and friendly atmosphere. The price point is reasonable - especially for the quality and freshness of the food that is excellently prepared. We take our children and grandchildren (all grown up) there as often as possible and enjoy introducing SoBo and it's magnificent staff to our friends when it is our turn to choose. The menu is extensive - not huge - but extensive and by that I mean that there is something for everyone. And, oh my ... if you want the best hamburger in town, this is the spot. Did I mention the Chicken Pot Pie? Well, I could go on and on and on. But better than that, try SoBo for yourself. It is a win/win.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This place was a great find for my friend from out of town and I. I drove from DC to meet her for brunch. The Eggs benedict biscuits were delish and her salad with chicken also terrific. But the most notable thing was the entire wait staff and owner (I believe) were so attentive and welcoming. I'll be back next time I'm in Baltimore. Great neighborhood location, too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

SoBo was very friendly and accommodating. It took a while to get our food, but everything was good, and they made accommodations for food allergies. Our host was very sweet and looked after every detail. It is cozy and a little noisy, but worth it. I loved in Baltimore long ago, and South Bmore was not hip. Clearly that has changed. We visited for a funeral and met up with friends from DC for dinner at SoBo, and it was great spot to meet and see how this part of Baltimore has changed. Parking was a challenge. You can pay for parking off Hanover and Charles in a furniture store parking lot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Sobo is one of my favorite restaurants. Our most recent visit was for Easter brunch. The staff is extremely nice and the food is very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Overall, our experience was just okay this time. :( The pancakes were underwhelming, flat and lackluster. I make better ones at home from a box. Also, one person at our table ordered scrambled eggs, and they arrived covered completely in melted cheddar cheese. He did not ask for, nor did he want, the cheese. But since we had waited a bit for the entrees to arrive, we didn't say anything. Needless to say, the eggs didn't get eaten. The biscuit, however, was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Fabulous menu options and service. All four of us were members of the clean plate club! Thank you for a delightful evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

SoBo Cafe is great as always! Maybe my favorite restaurant in Baltimore.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

This place is awesome. There is something for everyone and all the food is delicious! We loved the French onion soup and the spinach pie. The salad is always so fresh. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

So steady, so consitently good. Hard to believe they've kept it up year after year. Service always smoth from the seating to the service to the exit. Kitchen turns out nice mix of favorites and specials. Make a reservation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Perfect neighborhood spot with good food and local art. Don't miss it if you're in Federal Hill/South Baltimore!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Really great food! The service was great and everyone was very friendly. I was able to order a vegan meal without feeling weird around my meat eating friends because vegan choices are clearly listed on the menu. We had an Open Table reservation and were seated right away. Everyone loved their food. The only thing I would say is that for me the Soba noodles had a little too much sauce but that is a personal preference. I would still order them but ask for less sauce. We were there for music night and the music was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Went for Sunday Brunch. I enjoyed this place and will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Brunch at Sobo is a great way to start a weekend. The restaurant was buzzing and everybody happy to share space and to enjoy the experience. I went with my adult children and we all had something different, food was exceptional. We shared and enjoyed the experience. BTW, the baked zucchini bread was a wonderful start!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Lovely little place in Fed hill. Great that they take Sunday brunch reservations. Tasty and nice variety of breakfast and lunch choices. Hard to go wrong

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Cinnamon roll remains outstanding. Eggs benedict biscuit seemed a bit stale and sauce without flavor/ Have eaten here for brunch repeatedly over the years and is regularly outstanding. Just a bad day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

We always love SoBo. We took friends for the first time and they felt the same way.

Service - Amy was very attentive when she needed to be and made several good recommendations.

It was a cold, comfort food night. I had the chicken pot pie and it was as wonderful as it was hyped to be. My wife had the salmon and she said it was the best she'd ever had. She is very picky about fish dishes so this was a serious compliment.

One of our friends had the SoBo noodles and it's at the top of my next visit list.

We were treated as family and that is one of the reasons we keep going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Tables are pretty close together which was awkward at first.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Perfect place to go for a nice meal but not over-the-top fussy or outrageously expensive. Quiet, great service, lots of healthy and delicious choices. Wish I lived nearby - I would go often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My family and I really enjoyed SoBo. We all got different meals and we were all very pleased. I highly recommend the Hot Chocolate and the Smoked Salmon Omlette!
Sandy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I’m new to the neighborhood and felt at home as soon as I walked in. Great menu, great vibe and our server Stephanie was awesome. I will be back and have already sent others there!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great service. Very attentive. Food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by SoBo Cafe