About SoBo Cafe

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home. We are vegetarian & vegan friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on house made, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings
build a bowl
vegan & vegetarian friendly
We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.
http://sobocafe.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/SoBo-Catering-Menu-Business-Lunch-10262016.pdf

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $20.00

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Seafood Steamer Pot Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $20.00

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $20.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. house made fresh pasta, side salad & house wine or draft beer for $20. Special valid Dec 26, 2016 - Apr 25, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

$25 Select Wines Excludes Tax and Tip. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 28, 2016 - Apr 27, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Seafood Steamer Pot Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

seafood steamer pot & house wine or draft beer for $30. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 22, 2016 - Apr 21, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (36)
Casual (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Bar Seating (20)
Great for Brunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Fun (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Authentic (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Healthy (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great Beer (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (4)
Vegan (4)
Organic (4)
Romantic (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We really enjoyed having brunch at Sobo ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We really enjoyed having brunch at Sobo Cafe. The food was delicious, the service was great, and the atmosphere was relaxing. I would recommend calling in a reservation first to ensure a table will be available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, beautiful presentation. ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent food, beautiful presentation. Nice wine list, but server didn't know how to present and pour the wine properly. Great variety of menu items, and everything tasted wonderful. Now level very comfortable for easy conversation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always delicious. Care and passion in p ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always delicious. Care and passion in preparation. Best brunch spot. Love their smoked salmon omelette with their own in-house made hot sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing! Had the best Veggie Sc ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was amazing! Had the best Veggie Scramble.. so yummy! The homemade cinnamon roll was delicious! Will def be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owner of the B&B we were staying at ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

The owner of the B&B we were staying at recommended SoBo to my wife and I and we were very glad he did. Every item we ordered was awesome! The Mac and Cheese is the best I've ever ate. We had the steak and salmon and both were excellent and finished with apple bread pudding, also excellent. Not only was the food better but dinner was half the price compared to what our lunch cost 2 blocks away at the inner harbor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Sobo! This was our first t ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always enjoy Sobo! This was our first time for brunch and it was fantastic!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, , Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to restaurant for New Year's Eve di ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to restaurant for New Year's Eve dinner as we enjoyed everything!! We gave it an A+ and will be back!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sobo Cafe is always excellent. The food ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Sobo Cafe is always excellent. The food is fantastic, and the wine and beer cocktails are creative and delicious. Sit at he bar, and enjoy the staff and the regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu here adjusts to the seasons and ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

The menu here adjusts to the seasons and the dishes are always interesting, unexpected and delicious. A great value for my money. I always enjoy a great meal, great service and will keep going back for more. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Delicious, healthy food made from scratc ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious, healthy food made from scratch. The menu is varied to suit many tastes and diets. You must try the macaroni and cheese gratin! Fantastic service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was great.

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First the good news: nice room, clean re ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

First the good news: nice room, clean restroom, not too noisy (though that might have been because it was Tuesday night and they were more than 2/3 empty). Wait-staff attentive, though not particularly knowledgeable, and the place was convenient to the 8x10 club we were going to later.

Unfortunately, that's the end of the good news. The food was really bad. Everything we ordered was either too sweet, way too salty (how do you over salt a salad?!) or overcooked. If even some of the food had been any good, we'd probably give this place another try. As it is, There are just way too many better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We really enjoyed Sobo. The food was cre ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

We really enjoyed Sobo. The food was creative and the service excellent. I felt the prices were reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Happy Hour, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty comforting brunch, super friendly ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Tasty comforting brunch, super friendly and attentive staff, non-pretentious and warm ambiance. The cinammon rolls were amazing. Fresh housemade breads yum! The portions are generous for an affordable price. Gets packed during brunch so make reservations!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Christmas eve dinner. Everythi ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went for Christmas eve dinner. Everything was just right; food, service, ambiance. Try the scallops and/or the salmon dishes....both were excellent.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

SoBo never disappoints! Friendly staff a ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

SoBo never disappoints! Friendly staff and great food. Everything is flavorful and fresh. This is my go-to spot for friends in from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SOBO is a very nice restaurant in the Fe ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

SOBO is a very nice restaurant in the Federal Hill section of Baltimore. Fairly small, but a nice, fairly priced menu. The food was very good; the beer was equally tasty and the value is excellent. Strongly recommended for anyone in the area looking for a nice, affordable meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Came here for brunch before the Ravens g ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Came here for brunch before the Ravens game. Lovely little cafe, great drinks, really friendly helpful staff. Very good brunch. Would definitely recommend and would definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything I've had here has not only be ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Everything I've had here has not only been wonderfully prepared, but a great combination of tastes for the meal. Always friendly staff and a gently changing menu as the year goes by seem to be the norm. This time it was the Autumn Indian Chicken and Korean Chicken Fried Steak for us, both excellent and enjoyable.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Annual mother-daughter lunch before Chri ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Annual mother-daughter lunch before Christmas. Used Trip advisor to find a place for brunch/lunch... Highly rated. Food was delicious. Waitstaff extremely accommodating. Pitcher of Bellinis took the edge off of a stressful morning. We all felt cheerful and relaxed when we left. Will definitely go again soon!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quality, delicious food! Highly recommen ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Quality, delicious food! Highly recommend the Mac and cheese, Korean chicken fried steak and the chicken pot pie. Sangria was scrumptious. Will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, ambiance, and service!

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fantastic food, ambiance, and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a periodic visitor (3-4 times per ye ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

I'm a periodic visitor (3-4 times per year over 15 years, and counting, to Baltimore, and this is one of my favourite eating places! I really like the overall atmosphere of Sobo and the food and wine are delicious. Well priced - not the cheapest, but not the most expensive. If you want quality then it is worth paying a little extra. I always look forward to going to Sobo and there is an option to sit outside in the summer.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute place, seating about 30 people at a ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Cute place, seating about 30 people at a turn, plus a bar that would sit about 10 people. The menu is somewhat limited but creative and everything ordered received rave reviews from each diner in my party. The hummus appetizer was delicious, accompanied by toasted bread rounds and slightly pickled vegetables (sliced carrots and cucumbers). As for the entrees: Chicken Fried Korean Steak was a standout. The perfectly cooked beef was well-complemented by the seasoning in the batter the kimchee topping. The seared scallops, delicious as was the Bavette Steak. The wait-staff is friendly and competent. The bar does not have a license to serve distilled spirits, but the beer and wine choices were more than sufficient for our needs. SoBo has a friendly neighborhood vibe. The majority of the diners were between 30-60. We happened to be there on a Tuesday night, when the restaurant has live music. The music was a two person combo, primarily guitar and two vocals. Not too loud. Great place great night.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking for a quaint experience with foo ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Looking for a quaint experience with food geared towards a foodie then this is your place. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for the first time and Sobo has del ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

Went for the first time and Sobo has delicious food, great service, and a cozy atmosphere! The perfect mix of fine dining with a neighborhood feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Sobo Cafe the oth ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

We had a great time at Sobo Cafe the other night! We always enjoy the chicken pot pie and the carrot cake was truly exceptional. The happy hour drink and wine selections at the bar were very good and very reasonably priced. Overall a great night out!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Live Music, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, , Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've only been to Sobo Cafe twice and e ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

We've only been to Sobo Cafe twice and each time it's been well worth the visit. The food is delicious, the staff friendly and efficient and theres a good atmosphere. The only reason we haven't been more often, is because we live in Scotland , U.k. We can't wait to go back to Baltimore to visit Sobo again.

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal with our family ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with our family from Vancouver. food was terrific, especially the new salmon entre with pesto. Our guests loved the pate platter andd the bread pudding. great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I have rarely felt so comfortable and we ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

I have rarely felt so comfortable and welcome taking a group of six to dinner. Everyone was impressed with their meals. It was a wonderful casual setting for a family pre-Thanksgiving event. Thanks for your warm reception and making us feel special.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service! Neighborhoo ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic food and service! Neighborhood gem for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awmazing food!

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Awmazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Recommended by Bradie who I gave an UBER ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Recommended by Bradie who I gave an UBER ride to.

Pot pie was delicious. Soup, too. Friendly go-to restaurant in FedHill.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with 3 spreads, which were de ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

We started with 3 spreads, which were delicious (especially the spicy feta), and the waiter happily brought us more crostinis. The steak salad was wonderful, and the mushroom ravioli had a rich cream sauce. Service and atmosphere were excellent! Always a great experience at this place. The sister restaurant (Sobo Market) is also a terrific neighborhood gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for the first ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband and I came here for the first time last Saturday night, and plan to come back soon! Everything was just right, from the window-front table waiting for us, to our friendly server with great beer and food recommendations, to the food itself. We ordered two things each from the appetizer/soup/salad section and shared a dessert, and found it to be just the right amount of food. We had difficulty choosing just this much food from all of the interesting and appealing choices, and will come back to try the potpie, burgers, and more another time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu was varied. Had the pot pie which w ...

 
·Dined on November 14, 2016

Menu was varied. Had the pot pie which was very good comfort food.

A bit noisy and tight seating but overall a very good evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious. Home made cinn ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything was delicious. Home made cinnamon bun to-die-for !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our evening! Fantastic food, gre ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed our evening! Fantastic food, great service and good price!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good. Excellent Mimosa varieties. ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food good. Excellent Mimosa varieties. Service friendly. Great neighborhood place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything we ordered was fantastic, and ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything we ordered was fantastic, and the service was great. My only complaint is that the seating is a little close. It felt like we were dining with the couple at the table next to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.