Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About SoBo Cafe

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home. We are gluten-free, vegetarian & vegan friendly.

We are a short walk from Camden Yards/Oriole Park & M&T/Ravens Stadium. We are very close to the Convention Center, Downtown & the Inner Harbor.

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:30 am–3:00 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:30 am–2:30 pm
Dinner
Mon–Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on house made, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings
build a bowl
vegan & vegetarian friendly
We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.
http://sobocafe.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/SoBo-Catering-Menu-Business-Lunch-10262016.pdf

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (19)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Casual (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Authentic (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Healthy (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Romantic (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Vegan (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great Beer (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for restaurant week and the food was delicious! The lentil soup was very flavorful and the salmon was well-seasoned and cooked perfectly. The service was also excellent. Our water glasses were never empty and our waitress checked in with us numerous times to make sure we had everything we needed. We had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2018

The service was truly outstanding. The food was all delicious. The menu had something for everyone. Pork chops, fresh dinner salad, Thai noodles with tofu. Desserts are made in house from scratch. Bread was baked in house. We loved the ambiance. Sound panels on the ceiling are a thoughtful accent so that we could have great dinner conversation without shooting even though the place was packed. We brought friends here from out of town and it was a huge hit. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2018

This restaurant is usually fantastic, but on this occasion, it was not. I ordered their special of Prime Rib for $30. I love Prime Rib. It's really so easy to make and is almost always great. This serving, however, was pretty awful. It was not juicy, flavorful, and the texture was chewy. In addition, it was barely warm. I did not complain because I had already complained about the baked potato, which must have been made the day before and reheated. The worst I'd ever had. I also did not want to disturb my party, whose meals were good. The waiter was great. He did me comp a free dessert. All in all, I'll return, but I will stick to their regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We met friends for dinner at Sobo Cafe. When our server (Linda) learned that one of us had food allergies, she talked with the chef and returned with a menu that highlighted all of the "safe" choices. Our friend was blown away! On top of that, we all had great food, including vegan. Sobo is a favorite of ours in Baltimore and never disappoints. It's definitely a gem.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Another great time st SoBo! New Year’s Day brunch was outstanding and we both enjoyed our chicken pot pies — our favorite meal at SoBo! Always a friendly atmosphere and a true neighborhood gem!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Food, atmosphere and service could not have been any better. Highly recommend

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Absolutely charming. Wonderful service, wonderful food, bright and beautiful space! Love it!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Great service and the food was very good. Beef Bacon Flatbread was super. Pork Chop with applesauce...can't go wrong with that one! SoBo Burger was fantastic.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at SoBo! Service is fabulous and food is wonderful. Don’t miss it if you are in Baltimore!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2017

We loved the good.....all of it! From the appetizers to the entrees and one person even had room for a great sundae for desert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

This was our first time dining at SoBo Cafe and we enjoyed every second! The spreads were a great way to get the meal started - the spicy feta was AMAZING. We both followed that up with the steak which was out of this world. We will return!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Always a great time. Excellent food and service. The scallops were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2017

We enjoyed our brunch very much. It was our first time here and we went with the waitress's recommendation and they were delicious . Would love to go again soon.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food is superb. The portions are generous. And for the price, it's one of the best deals in Baltimore, hands down.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Everything about our meal was fantastic. Each portion of the meal was delicious and the service was attentive. I hope to get back again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

We went here for my birthday earlier in the week and loved it so much we took my parents 4 days later! The food is amazing! The mac and cheese on the starter is the best mac and cheese I've ever had! I had it for my meal this visit! My husband loved the salmon and everyone else loved their dishes. The atmosphere is unique and inviting. It is not the bar scene but a lovely place for dinner and conversation. We will definitely become regulars!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Fun, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

Dinner before a play at the hippodrome , staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was great! Will be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Prompt, friendly service and good food. Perfect for a quick but delicious weekday lunch.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Great place
Been there several times and is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Another great experience. Chicken Pot Pie is the best in town!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Great dinner before the Monday night Ravens Game. First time for dinner (multiple times for lunch). Great spot, excellent food, reasonable wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Live Sports, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2017

As always the brunch was delicious and the service was attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2017

The ambiance is welcoming and cozy. Food was very good, especially the soup. Service, very professional and nice. The server did not come to interrupt our conversation all the time, as in other places. The menu had something for everyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We picked SoBo based on reviews and we were so happy we did! Everything was fresh and delicious. Started with the white wine sangria with apples and cinnamon, which was perfect for the fall. The humus with veggies was light and creamy. And, the chicken pot pie was the best I'd ever had. The homemade crust was outstanding! I'm only sorry we weren't hungry enough to have dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Love love SoBo Cafe. They make their own bread and desserts. The French onion soup was absolutely amazing. Bottom line everything rocks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was excellent - creative locally sourced cuisine tastefully presented.

One drawback was that we were sat very close to front door and there is nothing between the table and hostess stand/front door. A folding screen or divider would do wonders for the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Sobo Cafe is South Baltimore at its best. The food is great and the bar is lively (in an adult way) and the ambiance is very nice, but I think what makes Sobo really stand out is it’s service. I always feel warmly welcomed there, always! That’s important to me.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Brunch at SoBo never disappoints. The food is interesting and delicious. We had the biscuit Benedict and eggs shaksuka— both delicious. It does get a bit loud but the food is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2017

We always enjoy SoBo. Owner is wonderful and the food is very good. This time the chicken fried steaks came out way overdone. When brought to the owner's attention she immediately took the meals off the check. Aside from that problem everything else was great. Will go back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

One of our party is a vegetarian, so there were a sufficient number of options for her. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal and dessert. The music was a bonus, greta group.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We have eaten at SoBo twice. Both times we greatly enjoyed the food. The service was friendly and good. The Tuesday live music was good and the musicians were fun.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2017

I hesitate to write this because I want to keep SoBo all to myself. This is a neighborhood gem with great food, good wine (with a generous pour), and great service. We sat at the bar (always our first choice). He had salmon that he still raves about and I had the Korean fried steak that I still dream about. Appetizers were chicken liver pate (delish!!) and the yummy spiced nuts. We will be back in Baltimore in February and cannot wait to return. Thanks, SoBo!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

4th time we've eaten at SoBo....always enjoy the delicious freshly prepared apps and entrees.... beverage selection is also very good...wait staff has always been courteous and efficient.....will be eating at SoBo many more occasions.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Loved the food. Had a great time with friends wine was great. Can't wait to have dinner at Sobos

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Healthy, Vegan, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

My best friend came from out of town she loved it food and beer excellence

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing food with a chanfing menu and fast service make this a perfect pregame stop on the way to a Ravens game

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great job!
Four of us went there pre game for Ravens. Even though they were packed, they did a good job of getting drinks in front of us and some delicious homemade zucchini bread to tide us over til our entrees arrived. I absolutely love the caesar salad with their very own smoked salmon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

In town for one night looking for "upscale casual" on short notice with kids. Jackpot. This place was perfect. Great atmosphere. Excellent staff. Limited menu, but tons of variety. Able to find something for everyone, including the vegetarian, the allergy guy and the two year old. Selection of local craft beers was again limited, but the few drafts they had were tasty. Would absolutely eat here again next time we are in Baltimore.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Another good meal at Sobo Cafe. The dinner menu seems more limited than I remember. Everyone liked their food, although I found the pasta with vegetables and tomatoes rather bland. The portions are generous, and two out of the table of four went home with food. The service was pleasant and prompt.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.