About SoBo Cafe

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home. We are vegetarian & vegan friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on house made, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings
build a bowl
vegan & vegetarian friendly
We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.
http://sobocafe.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/SoBo-Catering-Menu-Business-Lunch-10262016.pdf

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for Christmas Eve dinner. We're offering our regular menu and a Bouillabaisse special. We're also featuring wine pairings with our regular menu.

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Baltimore / Maryland
American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
2 More
Best Value
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Federal Hill ›

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
See All
Casual (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Fun (15)
Authentic (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (11)
Healthy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great Beer (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Organic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vegan (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for the first time and Sobo has del ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for the first time and Sobo has delicious food, great service, and a cozy atmosphere! The perfect mix of fine dining with a neighborhood feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Sobo Cafe the oth ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great time at Sobo Cafe the other night! We always enjoy the chicken pot pie and the carrot cake was truly exceptional. The happy hour drink and wine selections at the bar were very good and very reasonably priced. Overall a great night out!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Live Music, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've only been to Sobo Cafe twice and e ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We've only been to Sobo Cafe twice and each time it's been well worth the visit. The food is delicious, the staff friendly and efficient and theres a good atmosphere. The only reason we haven't been more often, is because we live in Scotland , U.k. We can't wait to go back to Baltimore to visit Sobo again.

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal with our family ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful meal with our family from Vancouver. food was terrific, especially the new salmon entre with pesto. Our guests loved the pate platter andd the bread pudding. great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I have rarely felt so comfortable and we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I have rarely felt so comfortable and welcome taking a group of six to dinner. Everyone was impressed with their meals. It was a wonderful casual setting for a family pre-Thanksgiving event. Thanks for your warm reception and making us feel special.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service! Neighborhoo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic food and service! Neighborhood gem for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awmazing food!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Awmazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Recommended by Bradie who I gave an UBER ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Recommended by Bradie who I gave an UBER ride to.

Pot pie was delicious. Soup, too. Friendly go-to restaurant in FedHill.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with 3 spreads, which were de ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We started with 3 spreads, which were delicious (especially the spicy feta), and the waiter happily brought us more crostinis. The steak salad was wonderful, and the mushroom ravioli had a rich cream sauce. Service and atmosphere were excellent! Always a great experience at this place. The sister restaurant (Sobo Market) is also a terrific neighborhood gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here for the first ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband and I came here for the first time last Saturday night, and plan to come back soon! Everything was just right, from the window-front table waiting for us, to our friendly server with great beer and food recommendations, to the food itself. We ordered two things each from the appetizer/soup/salad section and shared a dessert, and found it to be just the right amount of food. We had difficulty choosing just this much food from all of the interesting and appealing choices, and will come back to try the potpie, burgers, and more another time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu was varied. Had the pot pie which w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Menu was varied. Had the pot pie which was very good comfort food.

A bit noisy and tight seating but overall a very good evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious. Home made cinn ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything was delicious. Home made cinnamon bun to-die-for !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our evening! Fantastic food, gre ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Enjoyed our evening! Fantastic food, great service and good price!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good. Excellent Mimosa varieties. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food good. Excellent Mimosa varieties. Service friendly. Great neighborhood place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything we ordered was fantastic, and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything we ordered was fantastic, and the service was great. My only complaint is that the seating is a little close. It felt like we were dining with the couple at the table next to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've been to SoBo many times over the y ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We've been to SoBo many times over the years since it first opened. While we've always enjoyed it, I would say this last visit was the best ever. The food was simply fantastic. It's a friendly place and they happily allowed us to linger. Go. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was wonderful. My 2 friends ord ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was wonderful. My 2 friends ordered the pot pie and loved it. I purchased the Salmon which was delicious. Also loved the art work. Very pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've had three stellar meals here. Thoug ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I've had three stellar meals here. Thoughtful and adventurous dishes on the menu alongside staples, so this spot has something to please everyone. Staff is so friendly. Their pasta night was not only an awesome deal, but also delicious so I think I'll make that a regular outing ($20 for chef's homemade pasta creation, side salad, glass of wine). Really pleased with this place all around, and definitely encourage others to check it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Reserved a table for five during a busy ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Reserved a table for five during a busy Saturday brunch. The table was ready early, service was great, and food was better.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I always have an incredible ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My wife and I always have an incredible experience each time we visit. The staff has always been kind and helpful. The impeccable food, cocktails, and ambiance are the reasons why we return for most of our special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I dine here every time we ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I dine here every time we visit Baltimore.

The food and service are consistently reliable and one of the better meals during our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service. Great wine l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food, great service. Great wine list. Just a lovely friendly neighborhood place to have dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in SOBO- food is ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My favorite restaurant in SOBO- food is always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I travel for business and have 2-3 busin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I travel for business and have 2-3 business dinners each week. The quality of the food was very good but the portion sizes were the smallest I have seen in years. My customers and I were quite shocked and not impressed. We made a comment to the waiter and he pretended he did not hear us. We are all women on the slender side so not heavy eaters. I personally went for a snack when I returned to the hotel as I was still hungry. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Although the place was very busy, the st ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Although the place was very busy, the staff did a nice job making sure our party had everything we needed. The ribs were very good and the portion size was generous. A special shout out to the bartender who made a champagne cocktail with blueberries and pomegranate juice. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here 3 times while in town for a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We ate here 3 times while in town for a few days. The food was delicious and the services was great 2 out of the 3 times. We did hit them during an incredibly busy day the second time for brunch but it took forever for someone to even acknowledge we'd been seated and then she forgot to get our drinks and had to come back & ask again what drinks we ordered. No one refilled our water or other drinks that visit either. But the other 2 times, everything was perfect so I'm chalking it up to business (even though our server had plenty of time to stand around talking to customers & other employees).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

BRF brunch . Make server was good then w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

BRF brunch . Make server was good then woman took over and she was a bit abrasive

I will return !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were running late for a 6:30 reservat ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We were running late for a 6:30 reservation Friday night. I called 40 minutes before and they were able to seat us at 7:30. They did everything possible to accommodate us. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Even on a busy night with our changes they didn't miss a beat.

The food was Amazing and all three meals perfect as described!! I had the Scallops and an IPA. The ladies had Steak and Chicken Pot Pie. Both meals were Delicious!!

The prices fair and portions were a good size. We will be back again soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, great menu options, frie ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Delicious food, great menu options, friendly service. 👍

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine here three to four times per yea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We dine here three to four times per year here. Always a great experience! If you like mussels they are a must try here! Service always friendly and consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fyi...My first time eating and Sobo. I ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Fyi...My first time eating and Sobo. I had the Indian autumn chicken as an entree and the bread pudding for dessert. Both were so tasty and filled with flavor...my compliments to the chef. I'm anxiously looking forward to my next meal at Sobo and trying other menu selections. Great environment as well.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fun, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with friends, one of whom is vegan ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Lunch with friends, one of whom is vegan. Everything was delicious as always. The mushroom Bahn Mi was a big hit with the non- meat eater

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well prepared food and excellent service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Well prepared food and excellent service. A little pricey...

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and creative menu. Great servi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Delicious and creative menu. Great service, very helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sobo was able to easily accommodate our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Sobo was able to easily accommodate our large group and provided details about food preparation which was important as a number of people in our group were vegetarians.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, good service... Best restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good food, good service... Best restaurant in federal hill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Corn chowder was delicious. Like wine We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Corn chowder was delicious. Like wine Wednesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sobo is a great casual dining spot with ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Sobo is a great casual dining spot with an interesting and healthy menu. New and imaginative items are regularly added to the menu. Service is always excellent and friendly. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My FAVORITE place to eat! I love their f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My FAVORITE place to eat! I love their food. It's fresh, full of flavor and caters to all pallets. I went for my birthday but forgot to tell them it was my birthday =( because j would have loved to try their excellent list of desserts. Love their wine selections and their mojito is quite tasty! Definitely recommend for any occasion. I keep sending folks to Sobo cuz it's a one of a kind eatery. Plus Monday's are pasta nights and one can never pass up a good pasta night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was here on Saturday before a Raven's ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was here on Saturday before a Raven's night game. The staff was very friendly; we arrived a few minutes before they opened and they brought us in and gave us drinks while they were setting up.

I thought the Thai Mussels were some of the best flavored mussels I have had.

The burger was really good and the flatbread was tasty as well.

A small but nice selection of craft beers and we will definitely be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.