Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About SoBo Cafe

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home. We are vegetarian & vegan friendly.

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on house made, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings
build a bowl
vegan & vegetarian friendly
We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.
http://sobocafe.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/SoBo-Catering-Menu-Business-Lunch-10262016.pdf

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (26)
Casual (24)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Healthy (13)
Authentic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Romantic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 10 hours ago

Charming gem in the heart of Federal Hill. The food is immaculately prepared with enormous attention to detail and tastes like the best meal you've ever had. The staff is kind and gracious like they are always happy to see you. We had our first date here almost 5 years ago and it's still our favorite restaurant to return to and enjoy an intimate, delicious meal with a side of exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice little place. Food was executed very well. The hearts of palm puree was delicious. Glad we picked for a spur of the moment dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We love having this elegant little restaurant with tasty food and friendly staff in our neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We always enjoy our time at Sobo. Service is exceptional. They honor us and make us feel at home.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service and food were very good. Really only a few issues; coffee was warm, not hot; fried potatoes were overcooked. But most food very, very fresh and very tasty.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent food. The seasonal pasta dish was rich, vibrant and incredibly tasty. The service was great, wine list abundant and the food was top notch. The only complaint I would have would be the Brussels sprouts. They were definitely still "good" but definitely brought the meal down from its 5 star pedestal. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I loved it! The staff was great and took great care with us, yet did not hover. The food was great and not too weird for me! I sort of felt I was at home eating, yet in a very elegant setting. That is amazing. My friend recommended SoBo and I loved it! I will recommend it and also dine there again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were in Baltimore for a wedding and wanted to eat brunch before hand. I'm so glad I found this restaurant. It was walking distance from our hotel and out of the touristy areas. The table next to us were definitely regulars. This is the type of place we look for .... the neighborhood gems. We found it this time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My sister and I brought our dad their to celebrate Father's Day. The old man thoroughly enjoyed the Mozambique Piri Piri Chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Amazing brunch food with amazing recommendations from our server/bartender. He was right about the cream chipped beef - it was one of the best things I've eaten. Also the banana pancakes with peanut butter were fantastic. Really happy that we randomly stumbled into this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I went with my family and it was lovely, very child friendly. Their steak is delicious! The chick my mom thought was a bit overcooked but overall we really loved it!

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

SoBo Cafe was a great find to meet old friends. Great brunch -- delicious food and great, attentive service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Really imaginative cuisine and a super-friendly wait staff. Cozy, unpretentious atmosphere. You'd be hard pressed to beat this place, including price for the quality. Our second trip here was even better than our first.

On a quiet weeknight before an Orioles game it was (surprisingly) uncrowded. Tasty beer flights and perfectly-sized portions left us full without being stuffed. It would be hard to improve on their winning formula. Curb appeal is lacking, but if they had some it would quickly be too crowded.

Real neighborhood gem here, one block west of Cross Street Market and on the other side of Cross Street.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Cute place, good food but flies were swarming in the dining area because the door was open since it was a nice day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything we ordered was delicious. Excellent and friendly service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely awesome food every time! The French Onion Soup is AMAZING!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Sobo Café. It's our go to place for Sunday Brunch. When I realized on Saturday night that I hadn't made any plans for Mother's Day brunch I went on Sobo's website and discovered that there was no problem getting a reservation for Sunday morning. The food was great as always, the restaurant comfortable, the service great. Since they take reservations, there's never any problem getting a group in. While we were there we saw at least 2 fairly large (more than 6) family groups, which fit in easily, even though Sobo's space is limited. When we had family visiting from out of town and needed a place that could accommodate 8 people on a Saturday at lunchtime with one vegetarian and one gluten free, we immediately thought of Sobo. Every item on the menu is annotated if it's vegetarian, vegan or gluten free. Perfect choice all around.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

great place -- great food! Such a nice restaurant...went here recently for a girls night celebration of a birthday and it was loads of fun and delicious food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good home-style soup, but spinach pie (phyllo) was a tad old and a tad greasy. (A meal there a few months ago was better.) The wine, however, was a surprise--excellent rose and an excellent white as well. Desserts very appealing. Will try them again .

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was good. I live on the other side of the city, but this is my go to restaurant in Fed Hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great restaurant! We always enjoy walking over to SOBO to enjoy a casual meal. The food is excellent and the service is friendly and efficient. We had the salmon spread appetizer (always a favorite of mine) before devouring our entrees -- the crusted catfish and the salmon. Both of which were delicious. We finished it off with a slice of carrot cake. A wonderful evening!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant. Best brunch I've had in years. Great Federal Hill location. Would love to go back for dinner. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Organic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food- always very friendly service - and a great value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Fun, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I have been to SOBO Cafe several times and it's never disappointed me. The good is excellent, the servers are friendly and knowledgeable. The menu varies with exciting new flavors. So far, nothing on the menu has missed the mark.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Love the menu - its comfort food but with a foodie twist. Cozy, friendly atmosphere. 👍👍

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ate Easter brunch there with my family and we loved it. Amazing, authentic food!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Friendly neighborhood restaurant. Kids made v welcome. Homely food, enjoyed burgers and Piri piri chicken.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This place is quaint and beautiful with outstanding service and delicious fresh food. They have vegan options which is why we went.I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The food is delicious, the live jazz was a nice surprise! The service and atmosphere are wonderful. Great local, neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Sobo is on my all time GO list always great. Went for lunch before openning day. We get to all of the notable restaurants and SOBO has always been one of my favs.
Chef George Batlas

Tags: Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 3, 2017

A very pleasant place with a creative menu and high quality presentation. I've eaten here twice and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Really good food very tasty. The room can get kind of loud because it's fairly small, but the coziness adds to the charm and the food is well worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We went to Sobo based on reviews I had read on various sites - it was better than I could have imagined. My husband, son and I all enjoyed every single bite we had while dining at Sobo. We started with the House Salad and chicken liver mousse. The salad was fantastic, looking at it, it looks like lettuce with some pear, but the dressing is so tasty and had a bit of a kick, there wasn't a bite left. The mousse was very creamy and flavorful, with such a great start we were very excited for the rest of our meal, and it did not disappoint. My son had the mussels appetizer for his dinner - there were close to 40 mussels so we made him share them. The sauce was fantastic, when we ran out of bread to dip in it, we were eating it with a spoon. I had the Salmon, which I typically never order out. The salmon was cooked perfectly. The tomatillo quinoa was wonderful and the pico de gallo was so fresh. They do not miss a chance to enhance the flavor of every item on the plate - with great results. My husband had the Chicken Pot Pie - he said it was the best he's ever had. The sauce was very flavorful without being too heavy or overbearing. For dessert my husband and son split the Sundae (with homemade marshmallow fluff) and I had the lemon squares - just the perfect amount of lemon without being overpowering. We were told everything is made in house and you could tell. I HIGHLY recommend Sobo to anyone visiting Baltimore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I came here for a birthday brunch with a few friends. Just the kind of atmosphere I wanted, cozy and vibrant. We started off with a cinnamon roll which was the perfect bite. It was moist and doughy in the inside and the outside had a nice caramel color that was slightly crispy giving it a chewy texture. The cream cheese icing on top wasn't too sweet or heavy. We also were given complimentary banana bread slices while we were waiting for our food. I ordered the roasted tomato and biscuit with pesto. The homemade biscuit is one of the best I have. This is definitely one of their specialities which is why I always come here for brunch. The flakey, crumbly biscuit with eggs, roasted tomatoes and pesto spread is mouth-watering.

The food was great, however it took 35-40 minutes to get our food which was a little longer than expected. They did bring us more banana bread while we were waiting which was a nice gesture. Also I was not a huge fan of the cocktails they offered. They only have spirits so it really limited my options. When I asked some questions about the cocktails on the menu, our server was not able to explain the ingredients in the drink and had to get someone else to do so. However our server did make sure our water glasses were always filled.

Overall the food was delicious, service was decent and the atmosphere was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was outstanding, especially the mussels appetizer. Very generous portion and delightful melding of flavors.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Totally enjoyed this gem... The food was amazing and the service was great! Definitely will be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We would probably give this restaurant a second try. An overly busy brunch day like Sunday does not always bring out the best in a restaurant. The ambience is perfect for the younger set who are meeting up with friends. Sunny room with small tables and lovely flowers. The staff were friendly and tried to be attentive. However the staff could not make up for the overcooked, and in the case of my home fries and tofu (egg substitution), actually burnt food. My husband fared better with a veggie omelet, but even there, he felt that though acceptable, it was just fair. The onion soup was good and the gruyere had a nice flavor, but too many bread/croutons were stuffed into the bowl and made it seem more of a soaked bread dish than a soup dish.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great dinner with diverse group of friends. Something on the menu for everyone. Originally, our reservations were for 3 people, but Sobo was very accommodating when we had two last minute add ons to our group.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Came here for a business dinner with some colleagues. Food was outstanding. Service wasn't bad, but seemed a little confused. Young staff, but lovely. Owner came over more than once to check on things - she was great. Only downside was there was no hard liquor - just beer and wine. We really wanted a drink.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Beautiful meal with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.