About SoBo Cafe

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on our own, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings

We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Pasta Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

SoBo Hour @ The Bar & Outside Tables

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Pasta Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Enjoy a house made pasta dish, side salad and a glass of house wine or draft beer for only $20. Every Monday is a new pasta dish carefully crafted from seasonal ingredients. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 11, 2016 - Sep 11, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
SoBo Hour @ The Bar & Outside Tables

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
$1 off draft beers, $5 Sangrias and glasses of house wine. Small plate specials for $2, $4 & $5. Only at the bar and outdoor tables. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 11, 2016 - Sep 11, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Baltimore / Maryland
American
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Baltimore
2 More
Best Value
Baltimore
American
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Federal Hill ›

neighborhood gem (49)
fit for foodies (43)
great for brunch (35)
See All
great for lunch (21)
special occasion (18)
romantic (12)
good for groups (12)
notable wine list (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service2

Love the food here the staff is less tha ...

Dined a day ago

Love the food here the staff is less than attentive during brunch but the food and drinks are always amazing!

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our second visit--not as wonderful as ou ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our second visit--not as wonderful as our first due to lack of communication on our server's part. I ordered the same solo smoked salmon benedict as I did last month stating I didn't want the potatoes but the salad greens instead and the potatoes came out and no greens.but had spinach on my benedict-- and the server had the gull to say to me : "You didn't communicate that to me". Anyway--I found that disappointing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of our favorites! Delicious f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always one of our favorites! Delicious food, quality customer service and a neighborhood spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

Was expecting more from the food.. Sword ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Was expecting more from the food.. Swordfish was juicy which was great since it tends to be dry yet the butter on top was not intriguing.. Saw someone else at another table take the butter off as well. Heard so much about this place, did not meet expectations

food5
ambience5
service5

What a treat, good food, interesting men ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

What a treat, good food, interesting menu, great service and yummy cocktails - just what Brunch should be xox

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spot, fantastic food, wonderful staff

Dined on June 11, 2016

My friend and I biked up from DC and were looking for a great place to eat after our long ride. SoBo Cafe was perfect!! The food was amazing and the portions are generous; the staff were warm, welcoming, and lovely. Two thumbs way up.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food and drinks at Sobo Cafe were absolutely delicious. I had the fettuccine and it is some of the best I've ever had. Also, the sangria pops in champagne were a great treat. It was nice to find this gem on a trip to Baltimore. I'll definitely return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great second visit

Dined on June 8, 2016

Second time at SoBo Cafe and it was wonderful. Definitely recommend the grilled stuffed grape leaves as a starter and flourless chocolate cake for dessert (with a peanut butter sauce that makes the dish). In between, we had three different entrees amongst us and enjoyed each. I think the chicken pot pie was the biggest surprise hit.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat at SoBo!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Hubs & I decided on Sobo for brunch, as it had been a while since we visited (lately we've been hitting up the closer & equally as delish new SoBo Market!) As always, we were delighted with the menu choices, and our selections for brunch. I got the bacon & egg flatbread (yum!) and hubs got the "Back to Bed" which he couldn't finish, and subsequently ended up back in bed for a nap! :) Service was on point, atmosphere welcoming, and overall it was a pleasurable experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Perfection in every way. Cancel your re ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Perfection in every way. Cancel your reservation and come here instead.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had the Bavette Steak, Fettucini, Pot Pie, Salmon. All were excellent! Service was wonderful - very patient! Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food! Friendly wait staff. N ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent food! Friendly wait staff. Nice atmosphere!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and the service was a ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was delicious and the service was awesome. We sat outside which made our experience even more enjoyable

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic. The three of ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was fantastic. The three of us ate family style and they split everything in perfect threes. The service was excellent!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Get off the beaten path!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Was attending a meeting at the convention center but wanted to get away from the usual fare. Looked at the yelp review and decided to uber over. It was about a minute from the convention center and boy was this the right choice. Have a lot of comfort food options but also some healthy organic and delicious food. I had the quinoa salad w grilled chicken that was delicious. The flatbreads are good and the pot pie apparently was to die for for. Very fun cool vibe in a darling neighborhood. I recommended it to everyone i knew.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic night with relish pot pies and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic night with relish pot pies and Mac cheese

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service on a Saturday nig ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service on a Saturday night. Will definitely come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday Brunch

Dined on April 30, 2016

Four friends enjoyed a delicious brunch in a casual and cozy atmosphere. I could do this every Saturday. Great lemon ginger Mimosas!!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The homemade goodies that are complement ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The homemade goodies that are complementary. They never disappoint. I have eaten here numerous occasions for brunch and dinner. I always leave fully satisfied happy.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Brunch

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

This is one of my favorite brunch spots in Baltimore. It is bright and lively, with a quirky decor. The food is great. My favorites are the SoBo biscuit benedict, roasted tomato biscuit, chicken pot pie, and french dip. The service is informal but reliable, and the staff are friendly. Note: it can get quite loud during peak times.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience . The food is amazing ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing experience . The food is amazing , the space is cool and the staff matches it.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

BOSO

Dined on April 21, 2016

This neighborhood restaurant is a nice and quaint place for lunch or dinner with a great wine and beer bar. The food was fresh and well prepared. Especially noteworthy was the chicken and hash dish. I will return to this place again especially since it is walking distance from our condo at the Ritz.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I haven't been in the city for years, wa ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

I haven't been in the city for years, wasn't sure where to dine. After I did some research, and consulted the concierge, SOBO was our pick. What an experience! From the appetizers to the dessert wine, the meal was delicious. Started with a white sangria that had an interesting infusion of mint and cucumber, and an Amber ale on tap. The fried dolmades left something to be desired, but he meatball flat bread appitzer was outstanding, and should be offered as an entre. Speaking of entres, the pan seared scallops melt in your mouth. The daily pasta special consisted of a perfectly done homemade pasta with an amazing mushroom carbonara. We finished with aSOBO sundae - crisp freshly made brownie with marshmallow topping added as a twist, and a glass of Bertrand. Amazing experience in food. Average experience in service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I visited SoBo on Monday ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

My husband and I visited SoBo on Monday for lunch. I ordered Brussels sprouts flatbread with white anchovies and prosecco...what could be better and it met expectations! I love this neighborhood eatery.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet date spot in BMore

Dined on April 7, 2016

First time going. Quiet little place off the main road. Parking was kinda tough to find, but the food and experience was great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

Dined on April 3, 2016

SoBo has become a new favorite of my wife and I. The staff is great, works as a team and really seem to enjoy one another. We love watching servers interact joyfully with young children. Families are welcome. With an ever-changing menu, there is always something new, interesting and pleasing. We are especially grateful that the food is always super fresh. On my recent visit I enjoyed the Scallops with white bean ragout and spinach. Also loved the house salad with spiced apples and pickled onions. Thanks SoBo!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here several times and alw ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We have eaten here several times and always enjoy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Probably one of the best meals and the b ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Probably one of the best meals and the best service I have ever had!! I had only visited for brunch but dinner was just as good!!

food4
ambience3
service4

Nice food. Music and noise level, not so ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Nice food. Music and noise level, not so much.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sobo does not disappoint

Dined on March 3, 2016

This was my second visit to Sobo Restaurant. The first time, I had an incredible beet salad - not the typical beets on top of greens. For the entrée, I had the scallops which were perfection. I had read about the chicken pot pie, but honestly, thought, how great can a chicken pot pie be? On my second visit to Sobo, we had the chicken liver mousse which was just delicious. And, since it was frigid outside, I did have the chicken pot pie which was scrumptious! Clearly all the ingredients inside the 'pie' were fresh, and the pastry topper was just wonderful. Two out of two - this restaurant does not disappoint and there are many more menu items I cannot wait to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic brunch!

Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I were in town for the weekend and decided to give this place a try for brunch. It was amazing! I had the basic 3 eggs, toast, potatoes, and fruit breakfast, and my wife had the tomato biscuit - both dishes were scrumptious. We also ordered a cinnamon roll to start, and that was also fabulous. The raspberry mimosa was great too. We will definitely go back next time we are in Baltimore.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SOBO Cafe never disappoints.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Love the food here. Always delicious. The service is friendly and attentive. Good beef and wine selections too.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was phenomenal. Every dish, fro ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was phenomenal. Every dish, from soup to nuts, literally, was exceptional. And the vegetarian dishes are creative, unlike most places. My husband said his salmon was the second best in his life (and those in on that joke know you never pick a favorite). Really worth trying.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Would go back!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Very cute and cozy spot! Entrees and sangrias were great! However, the Mac and cheese was a little disappointing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cinnamon Buns!

Dined on February 6, 2016

The cinnamon buns are fantastic of course! This was my 2nd time going for brunch and I've been extremely impressed both times. Both the Shakshuka and the roasted tomato biscuit are great. I look forward to going again and hopefully trying their dinner menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great brunch! Loved the biscuits and cinnamon roll.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

Dined on January 29, 2016

We're never disappointed at SOBO -- always a great dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good as always! One friend had ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Food was good as always! One friend had the cream chipped beef which had little beef but still had a good flavor. Very consistent food otherwise!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SOBO Cafe gets it right...and then some

Dined on January 16, 2016

A true neighborhood gem in the popular Federal Hill section of Baltimore. Attentive, friendly wait staff, good wine and beer selection and everyone at our table left raving about the food. On all accounts, the most enjoyable dining experience I've had in quite a while. Skip the big name chains and book a table at SOBO, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

Four of us decided to try SoBo Café for the first time and we were not disappointed. The café is a warm and inviting place that makes you feel instantly welcome. Our server was quirky but knowledgeable, and described the menu with loving care, identifying several dishes that were particularly popular. We then proceeded to over-order, but we didn't regret it. We tried the white bean soup, the meatball flat bread, the chicken liver mousse, and the beet salad, and all were excellent. For entrees, we ordered the mussels, the salmon and the chicken pot pie plus the brussel sprout side. Again, all were terrific. With drinks all around and post-dinner coffee, the check was reasonable. We all agreed that this café was a find and that we would enthusiastically return. Well done! Incidentally, we noticed that many dining that evening seemed to be regulars and from the Federal Hill neighborhood. This café appears to have a loyal following.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.