Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About SoBo Cafe

We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting to enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. A perennial favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home. We are vegetarian & vegan friendly.

6 W Cross Street
Baltimore, MD 21230
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between S. Charles & S. Hanover Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 752-1518

Website:
http://sobocafe.net/

Entertainment:
Music Tuesdays - join us for live music (acoustic or jazz) on select Tuesdays

Catering:
Our Business Lunch Platters feature
handcrafted sandwiches on house made, artisanal breads
house roasted & smoked meats
healthy salads with our freshly made dressings
build a bowl
vegan & vegetarian friendly
We will customize any order to suit your taste or diet.
Please contact us for more information.
http://sobocafe.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/SoBo-Catering-Menu-Business-Lunch-10262016.pdf

Parking Details:
Street (please read signs carefully)
Evenings - Shofer"s Furniture Parking Lot (Hamburg St entrance) - one block from SoBo Café - evening paid parking
West St Parking Garage - 40 E West Street - paid parking

Public Transit:
Charm City Circulator (Purple Line) Stops: Cross Street or Henrietta Street, MTA (1 or 64 Lines)

Private Party Facilities:
Our cozy, intimate dining room is the perfect setting for your event. Enjoy a seasonal dish and a glass of carefully chosen wine or beer. We pride ourselves on preparing our from-scratch menu with fresh ingredients and a whole lot of flavor. A favorite among neighbors and visitors, we go out of our way to make everyone feel at home.
Weekdays - Business Breakfast/Brunch Meetings
Happy Hours - Rehearsal Dinners

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $20.00

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Seafood Steamer Pot Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $20.00

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Two Course Prix Fixe Meal for $20.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. house made fresh pasta, side salad & house wine or draft beer for $20. Special valid Dec 26, 2016 - Apr 25, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

$25 Select Wines Excludes Tax and Tip. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 28, 2016 - Apr 27, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Seafood Steamer Pot Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

seafood steamer pot & house wine or draft beer for $30. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 22, 2016 - Apr 21, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

SoBo Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (39)
Casual (24)
Comfort Food (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Cozy (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Fun (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Healthy (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great Beer (5)
Vegan (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Live Music (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Historic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

I came here for a birthday brunch with a few friends. Just the kind of atmosphere I wanted, cozy and vibrant. We started off with a cinnamon roll which was the perfect bite. It was moist and doughy in the inside and the outside had a nice caramel color that was slightly crispy giving it a chewy texture. The cream cheese icing on top wasn't too sweet or heavy. We also were given complimentary banana bread slices while we were waiting for our food. I ordered the roasted tomato and biscuit with pesto. The homemade biscuit is one of the best I have. This is definitely one of their specialities which is why I always come here for brunch. The flakey, crumbly biscuit with eggs, roasted tomatoes and pesto spread is mouth-watering.

The food was great, however it took 35-40 minutes to get our food which was a little longer than expected. They did bring us more banana bread while we were waiting which was a nice gesture. Also I was not a huge fan of the cocktails they offered. They only have spirits so it really limited my options. When I asked some questions about the cocktails on the menu, our server was not able to explain the ingredients in the drink and had to get someone else to do so. However our server did make sure our water glasses were always filled.

Overall the food was delicious, service was decent and the atmosphere was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was outstanding, especially the mussels appetizer. Very generous portion and delightful melding of flavors.

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We would probably give this restaurant a second try. An overly busy brunch day like Sunday does not always bring out the best in a restaurant. The ambience is perfect for the younger set who are meeting up with friends. Sunny room with small tables and lovely flowers. The staff were friendly and tried to be attentive. However the staff could not make up for the overcooked, and in the case of my home fries and tofu (egg substitution), actually burnt food. My husband fared better with a veggie omelet, but even there, he felt that though acceptable, it was just fair. The onion soup was good and the gruyere had a nice flavor, but too many bread/croutons were stuffed into the bowl and made it seem more of a soaked bread dish than a soup dish.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great dinner with diverse group of friends. Something on the menu for everyone. Originally, our reservations were for 3 people, but Sobo was very accommodating when we had two last minute add ons to our group.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Came here for a business dinner with some colleagues. Food was outstanding. Service wasn't bad, but seemed a little confused. Young staff, but lovely. Owner came over more than once to check on things - she was great. Only downside was there was no hard liquor - just beer and wine. We really wanted a drink.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Beautiful meal with great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had a great experience and food what's great. Try the cinnamon buns with cream cheese! Will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We had a great time. Server was really nice and helpful on beer selections, and the food was yummy.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fun, Great Beer, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Four of us were seated at a tiny table with barely room for all of our plates. Service was mediocre-- we were seated for 15 minutes before someone took our order. We ordered the 3 spreads, and since the kitchen was out of plates put them on 3 plates so we barely had room on the table. Overall the service was slow and haphazard.
On the other hand the food was delicious with a nicely varied menu. I think on a less busy night it would have been better.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was an amazing find, recommended by a stranger on the train to Baltimore. The food was superb, great service, great value, and off the beaten track away from the Inner Harbor area, yet within an easy walk.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 24, 2017

SoBo has an eclectic, fun menu of scratch-made foods. My food requirements are a bit restricted due to some stomach problems, but I was able to find food simple enough to work: flank steak with creamed spinach and roasted potatoes. Yet my dinner companion found a dish that was exciting to try and that he really liked. So, there's a nice range even within a small menu. Everything was very fresh, well-seasoned, and tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Few had a large group meeting a friend in from out of town. The food was delicious, the service was friendly and personable, and everyone had a lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It is a great place for brunch. Food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great for brunch. Started with a mimosa and cinnamon buns. Should have shared one since the buns were large. Ordered the shakshuka and the tomato biscuit sandwich. Both were good but the sandwich was the better of the two. Street parking next to impossible but West Street garage was only $5 for 2 hours which allowed time for a stroll over to Federal Hill to take in the view. Fun time and will do again.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Showed up an hour early on a Sat night, but still got seated at bar. Mushroom flatbread was loaded with cheese and mushrooms. We split the Dry Rubbed Bavette Steak, which was plenty of food for two of us. Steak, potatoes and creamed spinach were all delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is my fave restaurant in Baltimore thus far for dates and special occasion. Definitely recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Organic, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Neat place, awesome food and great service! Went for brunch - Cinnamon rolls are a must! Back to Bed sandwich could easily be shared!! 👍🏻 Same with the Caesar salad! We'll be going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been here more than 6 or 7 times now, and never had a bad experience. Their carrot ginger vegan soup (seasonal?) is amazing and I'm not a vegan. From delicious vegetarian options to homemade out-of-this-world chicken pie (a staple on the menu), there's something on the menu for everyone. I always leave feeling relaxed and as though I just enjoyed comfort food, regardless of what I ordered.

Service never rushes you and is attentive. I love taking family, friends, and just this week I took a coworker. So good.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent hometown atmosphere, great comfort food and service, accommodating a pescatarian pallet with a relaxing noise level suitable for intimate conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect as always. Food and atmosphere are like nothing else in Federal Hill. Wish they had a bit higher end wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Disappointing. While my wife's salmon was excellent and she loved the sauce, I never received the salad I had ordered and the Mozambique chicken was tasty but very, very dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had fond memories of this place, but food ranged from forgettable to not good, at a relatively high price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great service, great food, great ambiance, not much more I could ask for. Def one of my favorite spots for brunch and dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been to SoBo Café more than a handful of times and it does not disappoint. Service is friendly and efficient, and the food is always wonderful. Had the seared scallops with cauliflower and pea puree this last time - really very, very good.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved the food. Great spot! Had a hard time getting seated because the hostess couldn't find my Open Table reservation in their computer system for five minutes. I definitely felt that I wasn't being treated well when the hostess started to see other people who came in with no reservation and she made me wait at the bar until she could find my reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and i went for brunch this past Sunday. The food was well done, with good portions for the money. One thing I didn't like was the hot sauce that was available, it was local but not much heat or depth of flavor

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place for brunch in a cozy creative atmosphere. Had a fantastic meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love this place! I like that you can make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed having brunch at Sobo Cafe. The food was delicious, the service was great, and the atmosphere was relaxing. I would recommend calling in a reservation first to ensure a table will be available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent food, beautiful presentation. Nice wine list, but server didn't know how to present and pour the wine properly. Great variety of menu items, and everything tasted wonderful. Now level very comfortable for easy conversation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always delicious. Care and passion in preparation. Best brunch spot. Love their smoked salmon omelette with their own in-house made hot sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was amazing! Had the best Veggie Scramble.. so yummy! The homemade cinnamon roll was delicious! Will def be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The owner of the B&B we were staying at recommended SoBo to my wife and I and we were very glad he did. Every item we ordered was awesome! The Mac and Cheese is the best I've ever ate. We had the steak and salmon and both were excellent and finished with apple bread pudding, also excellent. Not only was the food better but dinner was half the price compared to what our lunch cost 2 blocks away at the inner harbor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always enjoy Sobo! This was our first time for brunch and it was fantastic!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to restaurant for New Year's Eve dinner as we enjoyed everything!! We gave it an A+ and will be back!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Sobo Cafe is always excellent. The food is fantastic, and the wine and beer cocktails are creative and delicious. Sit at he bar, and enjoy the staff and the regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The menu here adjusts to the seasons and the dishes are always interesting, unexpected and delicious. A great value for my money. I always enjoy a great meal, great service and will keep going back for more. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious, healthy food made from scratch. The menu is varied to suit many tastes and diets. You must try the macaroni and cheese gratin! Fantastic service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

First the good news: nice room, clean restroom, not too noisy (though that might have been because it was Tuesday night and they were more than 2/3 empty). Wait-staff attentive, though not particularly knowledgeable, and the place was convenient to the 8x10 club we were going to later.

Unfortunately, that's the end of the good news. The food was really bad. Everything we ordered was either too sweet, way too salty (how do you over salt a salad?!) or overcooked. If even some of the food had been any good, we'd probably give this place another try. As it is, There are just way too many better options.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.