About So Crepe

1506 South Street
Philadelphia, PA 19146
View Larger Map

The idea behind So Crêpe is simple: demonstrate that affordable food served fast doesn’t have to be a "fast-food" experience, even with the French touch! Our goal is to use simple yet high-quality raw ingredients, classic cooking methods, a distinctive interior design and have friendly people to take care of customers—features that are more frequently found in the world of fine dining. Quality ingredients are the key words for a true eating experience. Lyon, our home town is the world capital of gastronomy. We’ve been raised at a time (no, we’re not old!) where we take the time to eat and cook basic, natural, healthy ingredients. Therefore, we truly believe that good food starts with higher quality basic raw ingredients. Our cooking techniques along with traditional recipes can transform the most basic ingredients (eggs, flour, milk …) into a real new eating experience accessible at reasonable prices.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:


Lunch Only:
Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm


Lunch & Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
S. 15th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(267) 761-9310

Website:
http://www.socrepe.com/

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Liquor, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

So Crepe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
See All
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Special Occasion (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Romantic (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
83 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this place. Delicious crepes - e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I love this place. Delicious crepes - entrees and desserts. Great value. Yummy.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, it came very fast an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was excellent, it came very fast and our server was very good. BYOB which is nice for a change of pace. I would definitely recommend So Crepe!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was excellent, waitstaff was attent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was excellent, waitstaff was attentive and accommodating, restaurant was pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome little crepe place with the frie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Awesome little crepe place with the friendliest staff.

The "savory crepes" are huge and stuffed with the yummiest ingredients. Everything is made to order so if you're picky, like me, you can add or subtract ingredient every and the staff is more that happy to accommodate.

The desert crepes are just as yummy. Try the So Suzette, with the Grand Marnier drizzled on top and set aflame, and a French press!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 4 crepes - 2 entrees and 2 desser ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We had 4 crepes - 2 entrees and 2 desserts. Not much filling in the entrees which were relatively dry. Sodas are canned. Would go back for the delicious dessert crepes, skip the entrees, and bring your own drink or stick to water.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went there for a Sunday Brunch and fo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went there for a Sunday Brunch and found a charming although slightly stressed, hostess/waitress/bus person who let us know that they had been surprised on a, usually sleepy, Sunday morning by a large group and several more tables of diners than typical. This is a small place that is quite nice and the crepes are both creative and excellently presented. The toughest decision is whether to have a savory crepe, a dessert crepe or both. We chose both and left thoroughly gratified and greatly looking forward to the ensuing food coma! You will enjoy this restaurant and we will enjoy working our way through their menu!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice little joint that open table helped ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice little joint that open table helped a friend and I find in a neighborhood with which we were unfamiliar. The food was delicious and the chef/owner was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great tasting savory and sweet crepes an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great tasting savory and sweet crepes and very modestly priced espresso drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Like Brittany

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2016

A modest restaurant, delicious crepes from small menu. Cheerful service, great value. Bring your own hard cider or beer. Reminds us of little creperies in France.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not bad at all, but also nothing all tha ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Not bad at all, but also nothing all that special unless you have dietary restrictions. This is definitely a must go place if you are Gluten Free or Vegetarian (maybe Vegan too?).

Be aware that the savory crepes come on a Buckwheat crepe by default. This didn't bother me at all, but my wife hated them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always Fun and Affordable

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2016

So Crepe has delicious sweet and savory crepes at super affordable prices. We always love going to So Crepe and usually have 3 crepes between the 2 of us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Crepes delicious, Headache loud atmosphere

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2016

I would get takeout. Noise level beyond energetic - i had a headache afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I was promptly greeted and seated. I rec ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I was promptly greeted and seated. I received my delicious mocha latte with 2-3 minutes of ordering it, and my crepe within 5. The food had a great presentation temperature amount and flavor. The price was appropriate for the serving except the latte was about 4 oz I would expect 6. My server was pleasant but slightly forgetful. I would absolutely recommend dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Easy, quick and food was decent

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 31, 2016

You can BYOB which helped the food because there was too much blue cheese and little else in my crepe. The dessert crepe was a little better. Service was very friendly. Tables are well spaced so you get a little privacy and the restaurant was not crowded at all on a Saturday night. Very easy to get a reservation. Quick to get food and check and run around the corner to catch a show on Broad St.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

So Riviera is my favorite. They also hav ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2016

So Riviera is my favorite. They also have specials, which often includes So Prosciutto.

The dessert crepes are out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great owner, welcoming and kind staff. C ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2015

Great owner, welcoming and kind staff. Crepes are great, especially the goat cheese. Highlight is the homemade whipped ketchup, fresh orange juice, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very tasty simple meal. Seasonal creatio ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2015

Very tasty simple meal. Seasonal creations are a special treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

This is an authentic & inventive crepe restaurant

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2015

So Crepe has a standard menu with delightful classics, sweet and savory, as well as seasonal specials. So Crepe is also Veggie friendly and will modify any crepes if you're not interested in the standard veggies options.

We routinely go to the South Street So Crepe, and there is also one on Main Street in Manayunk.

So Crepe offers a delightful meal at a very reasonable price. BYOB, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great authentic French crepes

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2015

I finally made it to So Crepe! This place was highly recommended to me by friends, one of whom is French. Everything they said about it is true: great crepes, large portions and very inexpensive. My friend and I had three crepes between us as well as coffee and tea and our bill was $28! Incredible! Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The owner was so friendly and refreshing ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2015

The owner was so friendly and refreshing making this dinner wonderful for a first time in Philadelphia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Great Crepes

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2015

This was my 3rd or 4th visit to So Crepe, and it was just as good as always. I ordered the So Prosciutto crepe special, and my boyfriend ordered the So Cocotte. Very filling and delicious. We had a great server until the restaurant got busy around 12:30 (Sunday). Then a new server pitched in to help. We ordered a sweet crepe for dessert and waited 25 minutes for it. This long wait was worth it, however, as the So Keylime is AMAZING! I hope they add this special to their regular menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Best crepes in town!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2015

I have been to many crepe restaurants but So Crepe is one of the best. Food is always very good and they have a good variety or both sweet and savory. I always think I will have one of each but find that one is quite filling. The fresh squeeze orange juice is also very good and you can get it by the pitcher!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

My friends and I went to So Crepe for a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2015

My friends and I went to So Crepe for a birthday celebration. I love So Crepe and have talked about it since I first went last year. They were thoroughly impressed. The crepes are thin, i.e. perfect, and the toppings are well prepared. It's like being in France while in South Philly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Basic but good

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2015

Crepes were decent. The speciality ones were so-so but the basic crepe with butter & sugar was really good. My hubs still needed to eat again afterwards, but they are a good choice as a light lunch or snack. Greal location and service.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good food, everything else was so-so

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2015

I took my family here for Saturday brunch, based on the recommendation of a Parisian friend. This is a small, quaint place on South street, simple decor and ambiance. We were greeted immediately and seated.

It took a while for the waitress/hostess to come by and take our order. When she finally approached our table, she said "Did you order 2 cappuccinos?"..... and it was immediately clear that the place was truly understaffed. We were treated pleasantly, yet service and follow up was very slow throughout our meal. The waitress/hostess was serving the entire restaurant by herself. Once the food arrived, it looked good and tasted great. We ordered the salmon and cream cheese crepe, the lemon and sugar crepe and the apple cinnamon crepe. All were great.

If I'm truly not in a rush, I may come back, but I think the substandard service will lead me to choose other brunch locations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great crepes

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2015

Delicious crepes at a reasonable price. There was only 1 waiter but he was very energetic and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

So Decadent

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2015

The highlight is, of course, the crêpes. The chef is welcoming, and the crêpes are consistently great. Love the So French and So Chèvre! They're very flexible. (Also, the added bonus of trustworthy - Left something important there once and they had it in safekeeping for me when I returned -- thank you!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Delicious crepes!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 25, 2015

Always great to be able to get good crepes, and this place does not disappoint

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great value and service

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2015

The first time I had food fro m So Crepe it was takeout that my girlfriend brought home and it was pretty good. The next time we decided to hit it on a weeknight for a dine-in and it was even better right off the griddle. For the money ($8-$12 for the savory crepes) you probably can't find better food in Manayunk. I wouldn't call it an everyday place but I'm going to be there quite a bit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine authentically French crepes.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2015

Was quiet Monday evening. Interesting twist: hot-dog crepe was tasty. Savory crepes made with healthy buckwheat. Dessert crepes were perfect. Friendly staff. Met the chef, who is originally from Lyon. Will go back again next time we are in Philly. Casual, neighborhood, low-key, comfortable spot, really fine crepes!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lex Coupe

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2015

Better try the Savory and then Sweet for desert and it's BYO!!!! Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

OMG. Fabrice and his co-chef we're welc ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2015

OMG. Fabrice and his co-chef we're welcoming, funny and fantastic! The crepes were all superb and Highly Highly French (we had a French native from Toulouse who verified the authenticity!). Love love love this place - support the arts and eat more crepes! Like Ricky Bobby says, they're just like little thin pancakes.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great brunch

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2015

OK, maybe they are "just crepes", but they are really good crepes. I had the So Cocotte and my wife had the So Blue. Both were delicious. And there are so many other good choices for next time that I can't wait to come back. Service was also very friendly and attentive. This is a must try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I really enjoyed my meal here. They use ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2015

I really enjoyed my meal here. They use La Colombe coffee, which is quite delicious. I had The Washington crepe, which was a spiced apple cream with caramel and French vanilla ice cream. It tasted great, only wish it had some larger apple slices for some crunch. But it was very nice. Staff was kind and quick, the restaurant itself was very clean. Only thing I'd say is that the restaurant is very minimalistic by design and you sit right next to the door, so it did get cold whenever someone entered. Overall, this is somewhere I'd return to in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Savoury and sweet. Tres Bien!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2015

You can never go wrong coming here for a great night out. The food is delicious, it's not crazy loud, dessert becomes a must, and it's a bright fresh interior. Oh ya, and Fabrice is a personable chef-owner that loves to chat and mingle with his customers. If you want to be satisfied from a great night out come to this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good lunch

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2015

This restaurant is not crowded at lunch and it's nice to go there for quiet conversation with a friend. My crepe was not what I expected. The filling was all on top and it tasted good but the crepe itself, under the filling, had no taste. In the past I ordered a different crepe with filling inside and it was delicious. Many of the crepes on the menu had cheese in them which I wanted to avoid.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

So Crepe - So Great

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2014

Didn't know what to expect at a crepe place. Was totally impressed. Staff was attentive. Even the chef came over to the table to ask us a question before he prepared the food.

All of us thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

So Good!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2014

My Granddaughter & I went for brunch and the menu selection was perfect. A huge crepe with many varieties from which to choose....she is a vegetarian and I had smoked salmon, cream cheese and onion. We shared dessert and the crepe was drizzled with caramel which is home made and the best I've ever tasted. We were there around 11:30 and only 2 other diners were there. Would certainly return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always excellent food & service

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2014

This visit was exactly the same as those in the past. The food was uniformly excellent, and the servers and owner are the most attentive, informative and pleasant in Philly. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome crepes

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2014

We went for brunch on a Sun morning. I'm a fan of this place! The crepes are excellent, we tried both the savory and the sweet ones, very reasonably priced. We were greeted by the owner, a very nice man. Overall very good experience, we cannot wait to go back !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.